# Reply Brief — Arkon Shipping Agency, Inc. v. Kassapas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2300%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 940

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

tad, OCT 28 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL,

No. 86-195 CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1986

ARKON SHIPPING AGENCY, INC., KONKAR SHIPPING
AGENCIES, S.A. AND KONKAR RESOLUTE CORPORATION,
Petitioners,
vi

AMALIA KASSAPAS, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PERSONAL
REPRESENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF GEORGIOS _
KASSAPAS, AND AS TuTRIX OF THE ESTATES OF THE
MINOR CHILDREN, NIKOLAS KASSAPAS AND
CONSTANTINOS KASSAPAS; DESPINA KASSAPAS;
CONSTANTINOS KASSAPAS; GEORGIOUS LAMBOU,
INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE OF
THE ESTATE OF ANDREAS LAMBOU; VASILIKI LAMBOU;
Soria LAMBOU; AND VASILIKI LAMBOU,
Respondents.

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

GERARD T. GELPI

Counsel of Record

RoBERT P. MCCLESKEY, JR.

GELPI, SULLIVAN, CARROLL AND LABORDE
430 Notre Dame Street

New Orleans, LA 70130

(504) 524-9714

Counsel for Petitioners

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .u.......ccccesccoosesessscensees

ARGUMENT
CONCLUSION

POSSE ESESEEEETEHEHEHESEEEEEEHEEESEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEHESES

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Gulf Oil Corporation v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 67
S.Ct. 839, 91 L.Ed. 1055 (1947) ...............44 2, 5,

Hellenic Lines, Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90
S.Ct. 1731, 26 L.Ed.2d 252 (1970) ......... 2, 4, 5,

Just v. Chambers, 312 U.S. 388, 61 S.Ct. 687, 85
EBB. DOG CERT) ccccccnsiniccsscsedsstsnecctingemscnenntes 4,

Koupetoris v. Konkar Intrepid Corp., 402 F.Supp.
951 (S.D. NY 1975), aff'd, 535 F.2d 1392 (2nd
Che, TOT. vn scivescnrsniscniacerscenriansmenenennmsensignnin oi

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 73 S.Ct. 921,
OF TBE. BEBE CEGGR) occsciescctiennnsccsratecssanees z, 4, &,
Missouri ex. rel. Southern Ratiway Company v.
Mayfield, 340 U.S. 1, 71 S.Ct. 1, 95 L.Ed. 3
CTBT) oveserinisscenessssesenncevimimionsespabrennenmaniiintines 3, 4,

Norfolk and Western Railway Company v. Beatty,
400 F.Supp. 234 (S.D. Ill . 1975), aff'd, 423
U.S. 1009, 96 S.Ct. 439, 46 L.Ed.2d 381
(TOTE) vececssentasesseecesnanonsesnenennsaavemeeninntabesenanves 4,

Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Company, 264
U.S. 109, 44 S.Ct. 274, 68 L.Ed. 582
(TOBE) occenciseresssccsescocenasnsvasensensnanentcmsennonneteatees 4,
STATUTES

ZB U.S.C. SU4OMR) — «..cerrcnrrecccecccoscsnscnoseccnssnoenecenees 2,

ARTICLES:

Currie, “Change of Venue and the Conflict of
Laws,” 22 U.Chicago L.Rev. 405 (1955) _......

6

6

‘lita

IN THE
Sipreme Court of the Gnited Hates

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

Number 86-195

ARKON SHIPPING AGENCY, INC., KONKAR SHIPPING
AGENCIES, S.A. AND KONKAR RESOLUTE CORPORATION,
Petitioners,
i

AMALIA KASSAPAS, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS PERSONAL
REPRESENTATIVE OF THE EsTATE Or GEorcios KASSAPAS,
AnD As TuTrix OF THE EstaTES Or THE MINOR
CHILDREN, NIKOLAS KaASSAPAS AND CONSTANTINOS
KASSAPAS; DESPINA KASSAPAS; CONSTANTINOS KASSAPAS;
GEORGIOUS LAMBOU, INDIVIDUALLY AND
As PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF
ANDREAS LAMBOU; VASILIKI LAMBOU; SorIA LAMBOU; AND
VASILIKI LAMBOU,
Respondents.

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF

ARGUMENT

In respondents’ brief they make certain preliminary
assertions which they term ‘‘corrections” to the State-
ment Of The Case set forth at pages 4 through 8 of
the petition for writ of certiorari. The first of these
‘corrections’ evidences respondents’ confusion as to
the special application of forum non conveniens in

foreign seamen claims and in a maritime setting. The
refusal to recognize the difference between the doc-
trine of forum non conveniens, which is akin to simple
change of venue (like 28 U.S.C. §1404[a]), and the
doctrine as applied in maritime and foreign seamen
claims, is the core of the dispute before this Hon-
orable Court.

Respondents argue that the federal district court
in New York and the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit did not determine that the laws
of the United States were inapplicable to plaintiffs’
claims. Respondents attempt to support this state-
ment by pointing out that the opinions of those courts
contain ‘‘only traditional forum non conveniens anal-
ysis and no definitive choice of law analysis or holding
demonstrating inapplicability of United States law.”
(Brief in opposition, at 2). From this statement it
appears respondents admit that the doctrine of forum
non conveniens as applied in maritime and foreign
seamen claims is different and more complex than
the ‘traditional forum non conveniens analysis.”’ This
is precisely the position urged by petitioners. As this
Honorable Court has long held, a detailed choice of
law analysis is the first step in determining the pro-
priety of dismissing a foreign seaman’s claim on the
basis of forum non conveniens. Lauritzen v. Larsen,
345 U.S. 571, 73 S.Ct. 921, 97 L.Ed. 1254 (19583);
Hellenic Lines, Ltd. v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306, 90
S.Ct. 1731, 26 L.Ed.2d 252 (1970). Once that choice
of law question is resolved, then the balancing test
mandated by Gulf Oil Corporation v. Gilbert, 330 U.S.
501, 67 S.Ct. 839, 91 L.Ed. 1055 (1947), and its prog-
eny, is applied to determine whether the case should
be dismissed in favor of a more appropriate forum.

Although the choice of law analysis was not specifi-
cally outlined in the opinions of the New York courts,
the outcome of that choice of law analysis is implicit
in their holdings. The New York federal district court
cited Koupetoris v. Konkar Intrepid Corp., 402
F.Supp. 951 (S.D. NY 1975), affd, 5385 F.2d 1392
(2nd Cir. 1976) as the appropriate analysis which it
followed (Appendix, at 17a and 18a). Koupetoris ap-
plied the mandated choice of law analysis and deter-
mined that neither the Jones Act nor the general
maritime law of the United States was applicable to
plaintiff’s claims. The Court of Appeals for the Sec-
ond Circuit affirmed the analysis of the district court,
and also cited Koupetoris (Appendix, at 19a and 20a).
The choice of law analysis outlined by this Honorable
Court for resolving the plea of forum non conveniens
in foreign seamen claims was followed by the New
York courts and the Louisiana trial court, as this
matter involves much more than simply a transfer of
litigation when it is clear United States law will apply.

Fueled by loose jurisprudential language which fails
to distinguish between the various applications of
forum non conveniens, respondents argue that foreign
seamen claims should be treated just as FELA and
other claims insofar as the doctrine of “forum non
conveniens’”’ is concerned. In support of their position,
respondents rely heavily upon the decision in Missouri
ex. rel. Southern Railway Company v. Mayfield, 340
U.S. 1, 71 S.Ct. 1, 95 L.Ed. 3 (1950). Even a cursory
reading of Mayfield reveals that it did not address
the issue presented by the instant litigation. The doc-
trine of forum non conveniens as it relates to foreign
seamen claims clearly is distinguishable and vastly
more extensive than the very limited issue presented

sented in Mayfield—whether a FELA cause of action
could be brought in Missouri state court by a plaintiff
who was not a resident of Missouri. There was never
any question as to whether FELA, or any other law
of the United States, was applicable. In foreign sea-
men claims, such as those scrutinized by Lawritzen,
Rhoditis and their progeny, the core issue is whether
or not U.S. law and the Jones Act should even apply.
This is an analysis which is peculiar to the admiralty
and maritime law and its treatment of forwm non
conveniens. This issue was never addressed in May-
field. Unlike foreign seamen claims, Mayfield never
had to decide whether FELA, as opposed to the law
of a foreign sovereign, was applicable.

Respondents next cite Norfolk and Western Rail-
way Company v. Beatty, 400 F.Supp. 234 (S.D. Il.
1975), affd, 423 U.S. 1009, 96 S.Ct. 489, 46 L.Ed.2d
381 (1975), for the proposition that Mayfteld ‘‘held”’
that state rules on forum non conveniens govern
FELA and Jones Act matters. This is not the holding
of either Beatty or Mayfield. The language quoted
from Beatty is nothing more than dicta which mis-
construes the Mayfield decision. Neither Mayfield nor
Beatty stand for the proposition that a state is free
to reject the long established doctrine of forum non
conveniens as it relates to choice of law and the treat-
ment of maritime and foreign seamen claims. Such a
rejection would fly in the face of our courts’ efforts
to preserve uniformity in maritime matters.

Respondents end their opposition by citing Red
Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Company, 264 U.S. 109,
44 §.Ct. 274, 68 L.Ed. 582 (1924) and Just v. Cham-
bers, 312 U.S. 383, 61 S.Ct. 687, 85 L.Ed. 903 (1941)
for the proposition that uniformity of decision in mar-

itime matters is not of grave importance and should
not be a factor in the instant litigation. However,
both Red Cross and Chambers recognize, and do not
alter, the long established rule that restricts a state
from taking any action to ‘‘contravene any acts of
Congress, nor work any prejudice to the characteristic
features of the maritime law, nor interfere with its
proper harmony and uniformity in its international
and interstate relations.’”’ Chambers, 312 U.S. at 389.

CONCLUSION

Much of the problem encountered throughout the
course of the instant litigation stems from the fact
that the term ‘‘forum non conveniens’’ has been used
very loosely in the jurisprudence and by respondents.
The term has been used to describe the change of
venue provision contained in 28 U.S.C. §1404(a), as
well as the more extensive doctrine which has been
fashioned to apply to foreign seamen claims. This is
evidenced by the fact that the law review article,
Currie, “‘Change of Venue and the Conflict of Laws,”’
22 U.Chicago L.Rev. 405, 415 (1955), cited at pages
6 and 7 of respondents’ opposition deals with §1404(a)
and not the doctrine of forum non conveniens which
is applied to claims involving foreign seamen. Because
of this inconsistency, cases exist which can be cited
for the proposition that “forwm non conveniens”’ is a
matter for the states to apply, or not apply, as they
see fit. However, these cases, like Mayfield and
Beatty, do not deal with foreign seamen claims or the
detailed Lauritzen/Rhoditis/Gilbert analysis. Clearly,
Lauritzen/Rhoditis/Gilbert use the term “forum non
conveniens’’ to encompass more than a venue deter-
mination. Forum non conveniens as discussed by

Lauritzen/Rhoditis/Gilbert involves a detailed choice
of law analysis which has been fashioned by the fed-
eral courts and must be applied by the state courts
hearing foreign seamen claims. It is an analysis which
has become a characteristic feature of the maritime
law, and which properly was applied by the Louisiana
trial court. Failure of the Louisiana appellate court
to uphold the trial court’s application of that doctrine
establishes an impermissible conflict between state and
federal courts hearing identical maritime claims.

Respectfully submitted,

GERARD T. GELPI

Counsel of Record

ROBERT P. MCCLESKEY, JR.

GELPI, SULLIVAN, CARROLL
AND LABORDE

430 Notre Dame Street

New Orleans, LA 70130

Telephone: (504) 524-9714

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2300%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
