# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nisiotakis v. Columbus Aircraft Division of Rockwell International Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2131%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 829

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, CONSTANDINOS NISIOTAKIS, and
STELLA NISIOTAKIS, individually; CHRISTOS NISIOTAKIS,
a minor, and KOosTAS NISIOTAKIS, a minor, by and
through their Guardian ad Litem, EUGENE J. MAR-
SHALL; as heirs of THEODOROS NISIOTAKIS, deceased,

. Petitioners,

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, a corporation

and

STENCEL AERO ENGINEERING CORPORATION, a subsidiary
of TALLEY INDUSTRIES, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JAMES H. Toms

(Counsel of Record)
TOMS & BAZZLE, P. A.
P.O. Box 988
201 North Main Street
Hendersonville, NC 287938
(704) 693-0421

MELVIN M. BELLI, SR.

PAUL M. MONZIONE

LAW OFFICES OF MELVIN M. BELLI
722 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-1849

Attorneys for Appellant

WiILson - Eras Printine Co.. inc. - 789-0096 - WasHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The questions presented are whether the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals erred in failing to defer to the presiding
District Court Judge for the Southern District of Ohio[,]
Eastern Division in his interpretation and construction of
Ohio law; and whether this failure to defer resulted in
a denial of due process of law.

(i) (

ee anneal

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......................... 8
TABLE OF AUTHORIT IE

4 ˙ TT

JURISDICTION

STATUTES INVOLVED ................

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .....................

I. The Court of Appeals should have upheld the de-
cision of the Ohio United States District Judge.

II. Plaintiffs are denied due process of law, by an
ex post facto amendment to the Ohio statute,
taking away their rights, if the interpretation
of Ohio law by the Court of Appeals is sustained..

, ..

,,

F ESSENSE SES AR Sa

/r

APPENDIX E (ß „„ „„
APPENDIX F.

APPENDIX G.

J 1. SSH indian aca

(i)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, —— U.S. ——.
105 S.Ct. 1504, 84 L.Ed.2d 518 (1985) 9,14

Ball v. Victor K.\Browning & Co., Inc., et al.;
Union Carbide Corp., 21 Ohio App. 3d 175, 487

N.E. 2d 326 (1984) 12
Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 314, 49 L.Ed.2d 684, 96

00 Ee ome er ar oy Ree 10, 14
French v. Dwiggins, 9 Ohio St. 8d 32, 458 N.E. 2d

827 (1984) ........ — than
Propper v. Clark, 337 U.S. 472, 93 L.Ed. 1480, 69

%% —V—V—V——Vdd ae eee 10

Taylor v. Black & Decker Mfg. Co., a.k.a. Black &
Decker (U.S.), Inc., 21 Ohio App. 3d 186, 486

N. E. 2d 1173 (1984) por ae 12
United States v. Durham Lumber Co., 363 U.S. 522,
4 L.Ed.2d 1371, 80 S.Ct. 1282 (1960) 10
OTHER AUTHORITIES
28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1) 8 . 2
28 U.S.C. § 1406 (a) 8
Ohio Revised Code Annotated Section 2125. . 2, 4, 7

Ohio Revised Code Annotated Section 2125.02 3, 5, 11
Rule 56, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 7

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No.

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, CONSTANDINOS NISIOTAKIS, and
STELLA NISIOTAKIS, individually; CHRISTOS NISIOTAKIS,
a minor, and Kostas NISIOTAKIS, a minor, by and
through their Guardian ad Litem, EUGENE J. Mar-
SHALL; as heirs of THEODOROS NISIOTAKIS, deceased,
Petitioners,
v.

\

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, a corporation

and

STENCEL AERO ENGINEERING CORPORATION, a subsidiary
of TALLEY INDUSTRIES, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit is an unpublished opinion entered on
February 27, 1986 (App. A, infra, pp. la-10a).

2

Petition suggesting hearing by the Court of Appeals
in bane was filed on March 13, 1986 (App. B, infra, pp.
11a-14a), and this petition was denied by the Court of
Appeals in unpublished order entered on April 1, 1986
(App. C, infra, pp. 15a-16a).

Further opinions below, necessary to consider the is-
sues in this petition, are the unpublished opinion and
order of Woodrow W. Jones, United States District
Judge, W.D., N.C., filed December 17, 1984 (App. D,
infra, pp. 17a-24a); and four orders and opinions of
Joseph P. Kinneary, United States District Judge, S. D.,
Ohio: (a) Order of October 27, 1982, applying the wrong-
ful death statute of limitations of Greece in Ohio, under
Ohio choice of law rules, and thus denying summary
judgment to Defendant Rockwell (App. E, infra, pp.
25a-32a) ; (b) Opinion and order of April 6, 1988, deny-
ing Defendant Rockwell’s motion to reconsider the pre-
vious denial of summary judgment (App. F, infra, pp.
33a-35a); (e) Opinion and order of June 27, 1984, in
response to motion of Defendant Stencel to dismiss or in
the alternative, for summary judgment (App. G, infra,
pp. 36a-48a); (d) Order of July 31, 1984, transferring
the lawsuit from the United States District Court for
the Southern District of Chio, to the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Western District of North Carolina
(App. H, infra, p. 44a).

JURISDICTION

Denial of petitioners’ suggestion for hearing in banc to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cir-
cuit was entered on April 1, 1986. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Sec. 2125.01 of the Ohio Revised Code states as follows:

When the death of a person is caused by wrongful
act, neglect, or default which would have entitled the
party injured to maintain an action and recover dam-

had not ensued, the corporation which
or the person who would have been liable if death had

to an action for damages, not-

thstanding death of the person injured and
although the death was caused under circumstances
which make it murder in the first or second degree,
or manslaughter. When the action is against such
administrator or executor the damages recovered
shall be a valid claim against the estate of such de-

When death is caused by a wrongful act, neglect,
or default in another state, territory, or foreign
country, for which a right to maintain an action and
recover damages is given by a statute of such other
state, territory, or foreign country, such right of
action may be enforced in this state. Every such ;
action shall be commenced within the time prescribed
for the commencement of such actions by the statute
of such other state, territory, or foreign country.

The same remedy shall apply to any such cause of
action now existing and to any such action commenced
before January 1, 1932, or attempted to be com-
menced in proper time and now appearing on the files
of any court within this state, and no prior law of
this state shall prevent the maintenance thereof.

Sec. 2125.02 of the Ohio Revised Code states as follows: |

An action for wrongful death must be brought in
the name of the personal representative of the de-
ceased person, but shall be for the exclusive benefit
of the yo eine. Se eg the children, and other next
of kin of the t. The jury may give such dam-

Wers

ages as it thinks proportioned to the pecuniary in-
jury resulting from such death to the persons, re-
spectively, for whose benefit the action was brought,
and the reasonable funeral expenses incurred as a
result of the wrongful death. In its verdict the jury
shall set forth separately the amount of damages, if

4

any, awarded for reasonable funeral expenses. Ex-
cept as otherwise provided by law, very such action
must be commenced within two years after the death
of such deceased person. Such personal representa-
tive, if he was appointed in this state, with the con-
sent of the court making such appointment may, at
any time before or after the commencement of the
suit, settle with the defendant the amount to be paid.

Section 2125.01 of the Ohio Revised Code was amended
on February 5, 1982, and reads as follows:

When the death of a person is caused by wrongful
act, neglect, or default which would have entitled
the party injured to maintain an action and recover
damages if death had not ensued, the person who
would have been liable if death had not ensued, or
the administrator or executor of the estate of such
person, as such administrator or executor, shall be
liable to an action for damages, notwithstanding the
death of the person injured and although the death
was caused under circumstances which make it ag-
gravated murder, murder, or manslaughter. When
the action is against such administrator or executor,
the damages recovered shall be a valid claim against
the estate of such deceased person. No action for the
wrongful death of a person may be maintained
against the owner or lessee of the real property upon
which the death occurred if the cause of the death
was the violent unprovoked act of a party other than
the owner, lessee, or a person under the control of
the owner or lessee, unless the acts or omissions of
the owner, lessee, or person under the control of the
owner or lessee constitute gross negligence.

When death is caused by a wrongful act, neglect,
or default in another state or foreign country, for
which a right to maintain an action and recover
damages is given by a statute of such other state or
foreign country, such right of action may be en-
forced in this state. Every such action shall be com-

5

menced within the time prescribed for the com-
mencement of such actions by the statute of such
other state or foreign country.

The same remedy shall apply to any such cause of
action now existing and to any such action com-
menced before January 1, 1932, or attempted to be
commenced in proper time and now appearing on
the files of any court within this state, and no prior
law of this state shall prevent the maintenance of
such cause of action.

Section 2125.02 of the Ohio Revised Code was amended
on February 5, 1982, and reads as follows:

(A) (1) An action for wrongful death shall be
brought in the name of the personal representative
of the decedent for the exclusive benefit of the sur-
viving spouse, the children, and the parents of the
decedent, all of whom are rebuttably presumed to
have suffered damages by reason of the wrongful
death, and for the exclusive benefit of the other next
of kin of the decedent.

(2) The jury, or the court if the action is not tried
to a jury, may award damages authorized by divi-
sions (B) and (C) of this section, as it determines
are proportioned to the injury and loss resulting to
these beneficiaries by reasun of the wrongful death,
and may award the reasonable funeral and burial
expenses incurred as a result of the wrongful death.
In its verdict, the jury or court shall set forth sepa-
rately the amount, if any, awarded for the reasonable
funeral and burial expenses incurred as a result of
the wrongful death.

(3) The date of the decedent’s death fixes the
status of all beneficiaries of the action for purposes
of determining the damages suffered by them and the
amount of damages to be awarded. A person who is
conceived prior to the decedent’s death and who is

born alive after his death is a beneficiary of the
action.

In determining the amount of damages to be
awarded, the jury or court may consider all factors
existing at the time of the decedent’s death that are
relevant to a determination of the damages suffered
by reason of the wrongful death.

(B) Compensatory damages may be awarded in
an action for wrongful death and may include dam-

ages for the following:

(1) Loss of support from the reasonably expected
earning capacity of the decedent;

(2) Loss of services of the decedent ;

(3) Loss of the society of the decedent, including
loss of companionship, consortium, care, assistance,
attention, protection, advice, guidance, counsel, in-
struction, training, and education, suffered by the
Surviving SOUR, BUNGE Geen ROAR OF. HOOF

(4) Loss of prospective inheritance, to the dece-
dent’s heirs at law at the time of his death;

(5) The mental anguish incurred by the surviving
spouse, minor children, parents, or next of kin.

(C) A personal representative appointed in this
state, with the consent of the court making the ap-
pointment, may, at any time before or after the
commencement of an action for wrongful death,
settle with the defendant the amount to be paid.

(D) All actions for wrongful death sball be com-
menced within two years after a decedent's death.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiffs initially filed suit on August 29, 1978, in
the Superior Court of the State of California, alleging
that the deceased Theodoro Nisiotakis, a citizen of
Greece and a pilot in the Greek Armed Forces, was killed

7

when the ejection seat for the T-2E jet aircraft he was
flying malfunctioned and the aircraft subsequently
crashed on July 8, 1977. On March 10, 1980, all proceed-
ings were stayed pending initiation of further proceed-
ings in a more convenient forum. On November 2, 1981,
Plaintiffs instituted suit in the Common Pleas Court,
Franklin County, Ohio, seeking to recover damages for
the alleged wrongful! death of Theodoros Nisiotakis. Serv-
ice of process was had on the Defendant, the Columbus
Division of Rockwell International Corporation. The case
was removed to the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Ohio, Eastern Division, on December
8, 1981, upon the request of the Defendant Rockwell.

Rockwell filed its answer on February 4, 1982, and
moved for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56, Fed-
eral Rules of Civil Procedure on May 12, 1982, on the
grounds that the Ohio two-year statute of limitations had
run and was a bar to the Plaintiffs’ claim, even though
the accident and death of Nisiotakis had occurred in
Greece, not in Ohio.

On August 9, 1982, Defendant Stencel Aero Engineer-
ing Corporation was served with process. On September
20, 1982, Defendant Stencel filed its answer.

On October 27, 1982, the Ohio court ruled on Defend-
ant Rockwell’s motion for summary judgment and held
that under the Ohio Revised Code, Section 2125.01, the
court must look to the relevant statute of limitations
applicable to the wrongful death action under Greek law.
The court thereafter found that the Greek statute allowed
five years from the time the victim learned of the damage
and of the person obligated to make reparations, in which
to file suit. In that the death occurred on July 8, 1977,
and suit was filed on November 2, 1981, the court ruled
that the action had been timely filed and denied Rock-

well’s motion for summary judgment (App. E, infra, pp.
25a-82a). Defendant Rockwell’s subsequent motion for

8

econsideration of the denial of its motion for summary
udgment was denied. (App. F, infra, pp. 38a-35a).

On June 20, 1982, Defendant Stencel moved to dismiss
he action based upon lack of jurisdiction and moved for
ummary judgment, alleging that the action was barred
y the Ohio two-year statute of limitations. The court,
n its order (App. F, infra, pp. 33a-35a), found that the
laintiffs had failed to sustain their burden in showing
hat the Defendant Stencel was transacting business in
he state of Ohio and, therefore, amenable to the personal
urisdiction of that court. The court, however, did not
lismiss the action as to Defendant Stencel; it denied the
Plaintiffs’ motion to transfer the action back to Cali-
‘ornia and indicated it would favorably entertain a mo-
ion to transfer the action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1406
(a) te some other forum where personal jurisdiction may
xist.

On July 81, 1984, Judge Joseph Kinneary transferred
he lawsuit to the United States District Court, Western
District of North Carolina, Asheville Division, “in the
nterests of justice” (App. H, infra, p. 44a).

On Wovember 6, 1984, in North Carolina, Defendant
Rockwell moved for summary judgment, alleging that
the lawsuit was barred by the applicable statute of
imitations of North Carolina.

On November 9, 1984, in North Carolina, Defendant
Stencel moved to dismiss, alleging lack of jurisdiction
over the Defendant or the subject matter, insufficiency of
process and service of process, and failure to state a
claim upon which relief may be granted. Defendant
Stencel also moved for summary judgment, alleging that
the claim was barred by the statute of limitations of
North Carolina.

On December 17, 1984, Woodrow W. Jones, United
States District Judge, granted the Defendants’ motions
for summary judgment and dismissed the action against

Defendant Rockwell and Defendant Stencel, applying
North Carolina law to the case (App. D, infre, pp. 17a-
24a).

On appeal from Judge Jones’ dismissal, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, in its
opinion, reevaluated the law of Ohio that had previously
been ruled upon by the United States District Judge sit-
ting in Ohio. The court determined that the two-year
Ohio statute of limitations for wrongful death overrode
the “borrowing” section of the Ohio Code and ruled that
the actions against Defendant Rockwell and Defendant
Stencel were thus barred by the two-year Ohio statute of
limitations (App. A, infra, pp. Ia-10a)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

In this case, the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit, reviewing the case after it arrived in
the Fourth Cireuit under a transfer order from the
federal trial court in Ohio, disposed of the case by in-
terpreting the Ohio conflict of laws rules differently from
the interpretation given by the United States District
Judge sitting in Ohio, regarding the laws of his state.

In its evaluation of Ohio law, the Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit was incorrect, apparently overlook-
ing controlling decisions by the Ohio courts interpreting
the same laws.

Petition should be granted in this case to emphasize
further the desirability of having federal appellate courts
defer to trial courts sitting in the states whose laws are
being interpreted, on questions of interpretation of state
law. Only by such a wise deferral to the expertise of the
trial courts, reviewing these decisions under the “clearly
erroneous” standard set out by this Court in Anderson v.
City of Bessemer City, —— U.S. ——, 105 S.Ct. 1504,
84 L.Ed.2d 518 (1985), can an orderly functioning of the

10

federal court system be assured and errors of interpreta-
tion of state law affecting federal litigants be minimized.

I. The Court of Appeals should have upheld the decision
of the Ohio United States District Judge.

In the decision by the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit, it is stated that

the Ohio district judge erred by failing to give
proper consideration to a recent, retroactive amend-
fling of all wrongful death galt in Ohio within tre
sui within two
years 185 the decedent’s death. (App. A, infra,

at p. 5a
This Court has held that there is a strong presumption
that a decision by a district court judge, presiding in
the state where the action originally was heard, is the
correct interpretation of the state law. Bishop v. Wood,
426 U.S. 314, 49 L.Ed.2d 684, 96 S.Ct. 2074 (1976). In
that decision, this-Court referred to United States v.
Durham Lumber Co., 363 U.S. 522, 4 L.Ed.2d 1371, 80
S.Ct. 1282 (1960) and Propper v. Clark, 387 US. 472,
93 L.Ed. 1480, 69 S.Ct. 1333 (1949). In footnote 10,
in Bishop, supra, the Court citing Propper, supra, at 486-

487, stated

It is suggested that a United States District Judge
knows the law of the state in which he sits far better

than a federai trial or appellate judge sitting in a differ-

11

ent state or circuit. Further, judicial economy and a
desire to minimize friction on transfer of cases support
appellate courts’ deference to lower court decisions.

The decision by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals
appears to be incorrect as it interprets Ohio law. The
case cited in the opinion of the court as controlling is
French v. Dwiggins, 9 Ohio St. 3d 32, 458 N.E. 2d 827
(1984). Judge Sneeden, in the opinion of the United
States Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, stated that he
believed in reading the 1982 amendment to the Ohio Code,
as well as French, supra, that the Legislature clearly in-
tended to “place a two-year cap on the amount of time
within which all wrongful death actions may be com-
menced” (App. A, infra, at p. 8a). However, in looking
at the decision of the Ohio Supreme Court in French,
supra, we find that that decision in that case centered
on a controversy as to whether an expansion of the dam-
ages a party could recover in a wrongful death action
would be allowed. Under the 1982 amendment to the
Ohio Code, the amount of damages allowed in a wrongful
death action was greatly expanded. The Ohic Supreme
Court, in looking at the facts in that case, stated that it
interpreted legislative intent to be such that the measure
of damages should be expanded, thereby applying the
statute retroactively to a case that was pending at the
time of the amendment to the Ohio Code, Section 2125.02.
The Ohio Supreme Court did not address the issue of
whether the amended statute would apply to other cases
pending at that time in determining what statute of
limitations should apply in wrongful death actions. The
Ohio Supreme Court stated in French, supra, that the
1982 amendment would allow greater damages than the
pre-existing statutes.

The Court of Appeals, in its evaluation of Ohio law,
apparently missed other relevant case law of Ohio, which
it did not cite. In speaking to the effect of the amend-
ment to the Ohio Code Section 2125.02, the Court of

12

Appeals of Ohio stated on December 17, 1984, in Taylor
v. Black & Decker Mfg. Co., a.k.a. Black & Decker (U.S.),
Inc., 21 Ohio App. 3d 186, 486 N.E. 2d 1173 (1984),
that “the Court in Dwiggins, supra, held that the amended
version of the statute amply provided for the scope of
recovery for those entitled to receive damages in a wrong-
ful death action. RC 2125.02 as amended, was remedial
in nature due to a change in the existing duties, rights,
obligations and elements in order to impose additional
ones. The legislative amendments did not alter any of
the substantive aspects of the wrongful death action.”
See aiso Ball v. Victor K. Browning & Co., Inc., et al.;
Union Carbide Corp., 21 Ohio App. 3d 175, 487 N.E. 2d
326 (1984).

The Court of Appeals ignored the fact that Section
2125.01 of the Ohio Revised Code, as amended in 1982,
specifically provides for the use of a foreign statute of
limitations in Ohio for actions arising in that foreign
country. This section of the Ohio Revised Code is sub-
stantially the same as the provision prior to 1982 and
was the basis of Judge Kinneary’s decision. If the Ohio
legislature had intended to place a two-year cap on all
wrongful death actions, Section 2125.01 would have been
omitted.

The theoretical basis, history, public policy, and inter-
pretation of the relevant Ohio Statutes were carefully
evaluated by United States District Judge Joseph P.
Kinneary, in his orders and opinions, App. E, F, and G,
infra. It is regrettable that the Fourth Cireuit Court of
Appeals disposed of the case by simply disagreeing with
the interpretation of Ohio’s laws, reached by the federal
judge sitting in that state. Such practice does not pro-
mote judicial economy and uniformity, nor does it do
justice to litigants by having the courts with the most
expertise in matters of state law speak with authority
on those matters.

13

II. Plaintiffs are denied due process of law, by an ex post
facto amendment to the Ohio statute, taking away their
rights, if the interpretation of Ohio law by the Court
of Appeals is sustained.

At the time of the filing of their lawsuit in Ohio, in
November, 1981, Section 2125.01 of the Ohio Revised Code
clearly provided for the “borrowing” of the five-year
Greek statute of limitations, since the wrongful death
elaini arose under the laws of Greece. The Court of
Appeals is taking the position that the Ohio legislature
subsequently changed the law. As suggested above, it is
argued that the Court of Appeals has misapplied Ohio law
in this regard.

The effect of what the Court of Appeals has done is to
take away from the Plaintiffs a property right, the right
to pursue a Greek cause of action for wrongful death in
Ohio, vested under Ohio law when their lawsuit was
filed.

- Such an unjust result, and the consequent denial of
procedural due process of law predicated in the loss of
a valuable property right, are wholly unnecessary, if the
Court of Appeals would wisely defer to the expertise of
the Ohio court, in interpreting the laws of Ohio, as ar-
gued herein.

14

CONCLUSION

The Court should review this case to assure uniformity
of interpretation of matters of unique state law applica-
tion among the federal courts by ciearly re-emphasizing
the principle of deference to the expertise of trial courts
sitting in the state whose laws are being interpreted, as
set out by this Court in Anderson v. City of Bessemer
City, —— U.S. ——, 105 S.Ct. 1504, 84 L.Ed.2d 518
(1985) and Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 314, 49 L.Ed.2d
684, 96 S.Ct. 2074 (1976).

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES H. Toms

(Counsel of Record)
Toms & BAZZLE, P. A.
P. O. Box 988
201 North Main Street
Hendersonville, NC 28793
(704) 693-0421

MELVIN M. BELLI, SR.

PAUL M. MONZIONE

LAW OFFICES OF MELVIN M. BELLI
722 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-1849

Attorneys for Appellant

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

85-1006 (L)

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS; CONSTANDINOS NISIOTAKIS and
STELLA NISIOTAKIS, individually; CHRISTOS NISIOTAKIS,
a minor, and Kosta NISIOTAKIS, a minor by and through
their Guardian ad Litem, EUGENE J. MARSHALL; as
heirs of THEODOROS NISIOTAKIS, deceased,
Appellants,
versus

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL INTER-
NATIONAL CORPORATION, a corp.; STENCEL AERO ENGI-
NEERING CorP., a subsidiary of TALLEY INDUSTRIES,
INC., a corp., Appellees.

85-1040

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS; CONSTANDINOS NISIOTAKIS and
STELLA NISIOTAKIS, individually; CHRISTOS NISIOTAKIS,
a minor, and Kosta NISIOTAKIS, a minor by and through
their Guardian ad Litem, EUGENE J. MARSHALL; as
heirs of THECDOROS NISIOTAKIS, deceased,
Appellants,

versus

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, a corp.,

and Appellant,

STENCEL AERO ENGINEERING Cokp., a subsidiary of

TALLEY INDUSTRIES, INC., a corp.,
Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of North Carolina, at Asheville
Woodrow W. Jones, District Judge
(C/A 84-294)

Argued: July 31, 1985 Decided: February 27, 1986

Before WIDENER, CHAPMAN, and SNEEDEN, Cir-
cuit Judges.

James H. Toms; Ervin W. Bazzle (Toms and Bazzle, P.A.
on brief) for Appellants; Harry Dumont; Hada V. Haul-
see (Theodore M. Munsell; Collis Gundy Lane; Lane,
Alton & Rice on brief) for Appellees.

SNEEDEN, Circuit Judge:
This is a complicated conflict of laws case stemming

Plaintiffs appealed the North Carolina court’s ruling.
A cross appeal was filed by the defendants, alleging the
trial judge in Ohio erred in refusing to find the suit time

barred in that state. For the following reasons, we affirm
the dismissal of the action.

i
f
5

venient form. However, in July of 1980, plaintiffs filed
a suit in Federal District Court for the Central District
of California. This action was never served on Rockwell.
The district court, on its own motion, dismissed the case
for lack of prosecution on March 3, 1981.

On November 2, 1981, the plaintiffs initiated the pres-

the federal court dismiss the claim. On May 12, 1982,
the company moved for summary judgment, claiming that
the action was barred by Ohio’s two-year statute of limi-
tations for wrongful death. This motion was denied in
October of 1982. The trial court determined that, under
Ohio choice of law rules, the five-year Greek statute of
limitations applied. Applying the Greek statute, the trial
judge held the suit was timely.

1 Stencel is a corporation organized under North Carolina laws.

Hurricane Mesa, Utah. All of Stencel’s products are designed and
manufactured in North Carolina. The Utah facility is used solely
for product testing. Stencel therefore claimed th. it did not have
sufficient minimum contacts with Ohio such that maintenance of

F
E
5
L
;
.
=F
i
8 5

Co
2 Section 1406 states in pertinent part that It Ihe district
of a district in which is filed a case laying venue in the
division or district shall dismiss, or if it be in the interest

could have been brought.” 28 U.S.C. § 1408 (a).

Section 1404 provides in pertinent part that [lor the con-
venience of parties and witnesses, in the interest of justice, a dis-
trict court may transfer any civil action to any other district or
division where it might have bee a brought.” 28 U.S.C. 1404(a).

* Stencel also filed a motien for judgment on the pleadings, a
motion to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction over the defendant and

5

ral

Sb f th
en i (h
i 121 215 3] 4 * 14
SEE . ia
mitt 11345 f JURY a
ie Hite Hi
45 — 15 * Ha
ea goers 137 S38
1 11 1111 15
1155 fi i e ei

b
:
é
2

tlt
ii”

Defendant Rockwell insists that Ohio Revised Code

Section 2125.02 is the controlling statute of limita-
. ˙ thet alaintifs cause

1115

the subject matter, a motion to dismiss for insufficiency of process
and service of process as well as 1 motion to dismiss for failure

to state a claim for which relief could be granted. Joint Appendix

at pp. 118-120.

5 See Appellant’s Brief at 7; Appellee’s Brief at 25.

fore, Section 2125.02 is not
Section 2125.02 states in relevant part:

Except as otherwise provided by law, every such

:

10
Mil
zt
gt
i
+

However, Section 2125.02 does not
instant case because the law clearly
wise.

ii
fe

a
it

;
:
:

1
f
2

i
J
i
i

FLEE
sf
ne
Rae
=
ae
12
8
e

state, territory, or foreign country. Ohio Re-
vised Code § 2125.01 (emphasis added).

Thus, Section 2125.01 requires that the Court look
to the relevant statute of limitations applicable to
wrongful death actions under Greek law.

Joint Appendix at 58-59 (emphasis supplied by court).
The court found that, under Greek law, plaintiffs had
five years in which to file a wrongful death suit.“

The district court’s analysis is flawed in one important
respect, however, the court relies on a statutory provi
sion, section 2125.01, that was altered by a
1982 amendment. See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02
(Page 1985). The Ohio Supreme Court has ruled the

Joint Appendix at 60.

7a

amended version of the statute is to be applied retro-
„„ See French v.
Dwiggins, 9 Ohio St. 3d 32, 458 N. E. 2d 827 (1984).
A comparison of the old and new versions of section
2125.02 demonstrates the Ohio legislature’s efforts to
clarify the controlling nature of that provision.

Before it was amended, section 2125.02 stated in
pertinent part that “[e]xcept as otherwise provided by
law, every such action [for wrongful death] must be
commenced within two years after the death of such
deceased person.” See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02
(Anderson 1981). In his October 27, 1982 order, the

after a decedent’s death.” Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02
(d) (Page 1985) (emphasis added).

7 The legislative amendment to section 2125.02 became effective
February 5, 1982. This action was filed in state court in Ohio on
November 2, 1981. Although at first blush it may appear that the
amendment could not affect a suit filed before its effective date,
the Ohio Supreme Court has clearly stated that the amended section
2125.02 “applies to all wrongful death actions tried in any forum
on or after that [February 5, 1982] date.“ French, 458 N.E.2d
at 831 (emphasis added). This case was actually tried months later
than February of 1982. Defendant Stencel was not served with
process until August 9, 1982. Furthermore, it was not until October
of 1982 that the Ohio district court rejected Rockwell’s assertion
that section 2125.02 made the plaintiffs’ suit untimely and refused
to grant the defendant’s motion for summary judgment. See also
Jones v. VIP Development Co., 15 Ohio St. 3d 90, 472 N.E.2d 1046
(1984) (holding that in an action filed before, but tried after, the
1982 effective date of amended section 2125.02, the trial court erred
in denying the plaintiff an opportunity to prove damages under the
amended version of the statute.)

Joint Appendix at 59.

8a

We believe the 1982 amendment clearly indicates the
Ohio legislature’s intent to place a two-year cap on the
amount of time within which all wrongful death actions
may be commenced. Plaintiffs have argued that this in-
terpretation of the 1982 amendment would, in effect,
render void the statutory section that permits the bor-
rowing of a foreign country’s statute of limitations.
Section 2125.01 states, however, that when a foreign
country’s right of action is enforced in Ohio, “[e]very
such action shall be commenced within the time pre-
scribed by the commencement of such action by the
statute of such other state or foreign country.” (em-
phasis added). We believe a common sense reading of
the “within the time prescribed” language of Section
2125.01 merely prevents a plaintiff from prosecuting a
suit in Ohio if his right to do so has lapsed in the
foreign country. Thus, the foreign statute of limitations
could only serve to shorten the period of time in which a
plaintiff would be required to file suit in Ohio. Giving
effect to both the Ohio and the Greek statutes of limita-

prescribed by Greek law, but in no event may it be
pursued in Ohio more than two years after the decedent’s
death.“

To support tLeir argument that section 2125.01 dictates the
adoption of a five-year statute of limitations in this case, appellants
cite Fox v. Motor Freight, 25 Ohio St. 2d 198, 267 N.E.2d 405
(1971). In Foz, the Ohio Supreme Court uses language which
suggests that a foreign state or country’s statute of limitations
would be incorporated into section 2125.02. Foz, 25 Ohio St. 2d at
197. However, Fox was decided eleven years before the Ohio
General Assembly amended section 2125.02 to declare that all
wrongful death actions must be brought within two years in that
state. Furthermore, the language in Fox upon which appellants
rely states only that the Ohio legislature intended to incorporate
the foreign state or country’s statute of limitations into section
2125.01. The incorporation would not exclude Ohio’s statute of
limitations. Rather, as we have explained, both statutory pro-
visions must be complied with.

9a

plain language, and providing no exceptions, the
legislature of Ohio mandated in section 2125.02 that all
wrongful death actions must be filed e bene.

m
of the decedent’s 33 state. The plaintiffs filed
this elaim more e e ears after Theodoros Nisio-
takis’ death. I “a age time barred under the Ohio
bias ater ge e

III.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the dismissal of
the plaintiffs’ claims.
Affirmed.

10a

WIDENER, Circuit Judge, concurring:
I concur in the result reached by the panel.

I also concur in the opinion of the panel as to the
defendant Rockweli.

As to the defendant Stencel I believe that North Caro-
lina’s choice of law rules apply and would affirm the
district court’s judgment for the reasons stated in its
opinion.

lla
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Record Nos. 84-1006 (L)
85-1040

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS; CONSTANDINOS NISIOTAKIS and
STELLA NISIOTAKS, individually; CHRISTOS NISIOTAKIS,
a minor, and Kosta NISIOTAKIS, a minor by and through
their Guardian ad Litem, EUGENE J. MARSHALL; as
heirs of THEODOROS NISIOTAKIS, deceased,

a Appellants,

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL INTER-
NATIONAL CORPORATION, a corp., and STENCEL AERO
ENGINEERING CorRP., a subsidiary of TALLEY INDUS-

TRIES, INC., a corp., Appellees,
[Filed Mar. 14, 1986]

PETITION SUGGESTING HEARING BY THE
COURT OF APPEALS IN BANC UNDER FRAP 35

JAMES F. Toms

ERVIN W. BAZZLE

TOMS AND BAZZLE, P.A.
Post Office Box 988
Hendersonville, NC 28739
(704) 693-0421

PAUL M. MONZIONE

Law Offices of Melvin Belli
722 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 981-1849

12a

Now come the Plaintiff / Appellants, who respectfully
petition that the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit rehear this case in banc, as provided
in Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure. We
respectfully suggest that the present proceeding involves
a question of exceptional importance, that is, whether a
cause of action for wrongful death arising under the
laws of Greece may be denied enforcement in the United
States against a United States defendant, by construing
Ohio law retrospectively to prevent the prosecution of the
claim. The present suit was initiated in the courts of
Ohio, and removed to the Federal District Court in Ohio,
wherein the Defendant Rockwell sought unsuccessfully to
have the Federal Court dismiss the claim, asserting that
the action was barred by Ohio’s two year statute of
limitations for wrongful death. Rockwell sought this
dismissal even though the five year Greek statute of
limitations had not run. The trial court determined that
under Ohio choice of law rules, the five year Greek statute
of limitations applied and thus held that the suit was
timely filed in Ohio. The law suit then was transferred
to the Western District of North Carolina, due to lack
of in personam jurisdiction over Stencel Aero Engineer-
ing Corporation, the other defendant, a sub-assembler of
the aircraft in which Theodoris Nisiotakis, a Greek Air
Force Officer, was killed in Greece. In North Carolina,
the United States District Court applied North Carolina
law to the case and dismissed the iaw suits against Rock-

well and Stencel, and an appeal then followed to this
Court.

The panel of this Court which issued its opinion on
February 27, 1986, in this law suit, re-evaluated the law
of Ohio which had previously been considered by the
United States District Judge sitting in Ohio when he
denied Rockwell’s Motion for Summary Judgment, and
the appellate court determined that the two year Ohio
statute of limitations for wrongful death overrides the

the books as the law of Ohio.

The effect of this Court’s opinion is to construe Ohio
law as establishing an absolute cap of two years on the
filing of any law suit in Ohio for wrongful death, no
matter where the cause of action may have arisen, even
though the Legislature of Ohio has passed and has in
continued effect the “borrowing” statute which provides
expressly as follows:

When death is caused by a wrongful act, neglect, or
default in another state, territory, or foreign country,
for which a right to maintain an action and recover
damages is given by a statute of such other state,
territory, or foreign country, such right of action
may be enforced in this state. Every such action
shall be commenced within the time prescribed for
the commencement of such action by the statute of
such other state, territory, cr foreign country. Ohio
Revised Code § 2125.01.

To give effect to the panel’s interpretation of Ohio law,
is to in effect say that the Ohio Legislature intended
to repeal the above quoted section of the Ohio law, even
though the Ohio Legislature clearly did not do so.

A further troubling issue presented is whether an
enforceable cause of action for wrongful death, properly
filed and pending under Ohio law, may be destroyed by an
act of the Legislature, subsequent to the filing of the
claim in the Ohio Courts. It is suggested that such a

14a

construction of the Ohio law gives violence to the express
enactment of the “borrowing” statute, and further creates
an ex post facto abolition of a ciaim lawfully established
and pending in the Ohio courts.

For our United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit to construe the laws of Ohio as the panel in this
case has done thus far, would be to interpret the laws of
that State in such a way as to permit the Nisiotakis
heirs to enter the courts of that State and establish a
cause of action for wrongful death, and then determine
that after they have done so, by inference, the Legislature
has cut off their right to be heard and that they shall
never have their day in court to determine the merits of
their controversy against the Defendant Rockwell. Such
a construction of the Ohio laws surely does violence to
fundamental American concepts of due process and fair
play, and we respectfully suggest may even amount to a
deprivation of equal protection of the laws.

We thus most earnestly request and suggest recon-
sideration of this claim in bane, and an opportunity to
further brief these important issues now presented by this
case in its present posture.

Respectfully submitted.

March 13, 1986.
Toms & BAZZLE, P.A.

By: /s/ James H. Toms
JAMES H. Tous

By: /s/ Ervin W. Bazzle
P. O. Box 988
Hendersonville, N.C. 28793
704-693-0421

[Certificate Omitted in Printing]

15a
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-1006

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
Appellants,
versus

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, ETC., et al.,
Appellees.

No, 85-1040

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
Appellees,
versus

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, ETC., et al.,
Appellant,
and

STENCEL AERO ENGINEERING CORP., ETC.,
Defendant.

[Filed Apr. 1, 1986]

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Western Distriet of North Carolina, at Asheville
Woodrow W. Jones, District Judge

is of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

Entered at the direction of Judge Chapman, with the
concurrence of Judge Widener.

For the Court,

/s/ John M. Greacen
Clerk

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
v.

THE CoLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL IN-
TERNATIONAL CORPORATION and STENCEL AERO ENGI-
NEERING CORPORATION, a subsidiary of TALLEY INDUS-
TRIES, INC.,

Defendants.

Filed Dec. 17, 1984]

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION
Plaintiffs instituted this action in the Common Pleas

18a

cel Aero Engineering Corporation (Stencel). In his opin-
ion Judge Kinneary stated that while he could not trans-
fer the action to California as requested by Plaintiffs’
motion, he would “favorably entertain a motion to trans-
fer this action, pursuant to 28 U.S. C. A. 1406 (a), to
sore other forum where personal jurisdiction may exist.”
Plaintiffs thereafter filed a motion for change of venue
and the action was transferred to this Court by order
of Judge Kinneary entered July 31, 1984.

The matter is presently before the Court on Defend-
ants’ motions for summary judgment on grounds that the
action is barred by the statute of limitations. The Court
heard the motions ia Asheville, North Carolina on No-
vember 16, 1984. After careful consideration of the file,
briefs and arguments of counsel the Court now enters
its findings and conclusions.

The deceased, Theodoros Nisiotakis, was a citizen of
Greece and a pilot in the Greek armed forces. On July
8, 1977 he was piloting a T-2E jet aircraft near Cala-
mata, Greece when the aircraft crashed resulting in his
death. The aircraft was manufactured by Defendant
Rockwell. Plaintiffs allege that Nisiotakis was able to
eject from the aireraft prior to the crash but that the
ejection seat malfunctioned and was therefore a contrib-
uting proximate cause of the decedent’s death. The ejec-
tion seat which was installed in the T-2E aircraft the
decedent was piloting had been designed and manufac-
tured by the Defendant Stencel.

This action was filed on November 2, 1981. Service
of process was promptly had on Defendant Rockwell.
However, as to Defendant Stencel, summons was not is-
sued until August 5, 1982. Defendent Stencel was served
by certified mail at its offices in Asheville, North Caro-
lina on August 9, 1982. It is therefore undisputed that
service of process was not made on the Defendant Stencel
until more than five years after the death of Theodoros
Nisiotakis.

Eat te e pee
Ht file N ee dealt ill
HET Ht Hain Sn ay

Aden Pe es ity

1 HARE e

aH 15 1 TH Hie 12115 117055
2113 1115 ul 141. sd 11

8 5 a 59 825

Ati ii Hine eae

outcome which could not have achieved in the courts
of the state where the action was filed. Plaintiffs would
thus be encouraged to file stale claims in states having
liberal limitations periods even though the defendant was
not subject to that state’s jurisdiction, knowing that the
action could later be transferred to a federal court in

5
i
pal
al
IE

i
i
:

Moreover, the Court concludes, as of
Appeals for the Third Circuit in Reyno v. Piper Aircraft
Co., 630 F.2d 149, 165 (8rd Cir. 1980), rev’d on other
grounds, 454 U.S. 235, 102 S.Ct. 252, 70 L.Ed.2d 419
(1981), that to permit the application of the transferor
forum’s choice of law to a defendant over
transferor forum lacked jurisdiction would

8
N
1

i
ff

decision. North Carolina law provides that actions for
damages on account of the wrongful death of a person
must be filed within two years of the date of death. N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 1-53. This action was not filed within two
years of the decedent’s death and must therefore be dis-
missed as to Defendant Stencel.

e A W te oe oe

21a

merits of a General Motors’ defense.

The issue presently before the Court is the issue the
Court did not address in In re Cragar Industries, Inc.
That issue is whether the choice of law rules of the
transferor or the transferee forum must be applied when
the transferor court has jurisdiction over one of two or
more defendants but lacks jurisdiction over one or more
of the remaining defendants.

The most direct guidance the Court has located con-
cerning this issue is the decision of the Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit in Ellis v. Great Southwestern
Corp., supra, the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Cireuit in Martin v. Stokes, 623 F.2d 469 (6th
Cir. 1980), and the Supreme Court’s decision in Van

22a

Dusen, swpra. In Ellis the Court held that following a
section 1406 (a) transfer, regardless of which party re-
quested the transfer or the purpose behind the transfer,
the transferee court must apply the choice of law rules of
the state in which it sits.” 646 F.2d at 1110. See also,
623 F.2d at 472-73. In Van Dusen the Supreme Court
concluded that, under the Erie! doctrine, a substantially
different result should not be reached whether the case

in which the action was filed. 376 U.S. at 638-39, 84
S. Ct. at 830. Both Ellis and Martin relied principally on
Van Dusen’s rationale that the results should be similar
whether the action was heard in state or federal court.

In the instant case, assuming Judge Kinneary’s in-
terpretation of Ohio choice of law rules was correct, the

Plaintiffs would not have been barred from prosecuting
their claims against Rockwell in the
of Ohio. However they would not have been permitted to

the

sarily have been that the action could have proceeded as
to Rockwell and all claims against

been dismissed. In order to maintain their entire action

tained over both Defendants. Both Defendants have suffi-
cient contacts with North Carolina that subjecting them
to the jurisdiction of this State does not violate due
process.

Plaintiffs predictably availed themselves of Judge Kin-
neary’s invitation to transfer this action in order that
this action might continue as to both Defendants and
so that Stencel would not be relieved from potential lia-

1 Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed.2d
1188 (1988).

bility. In so doing the Plaintiffs made a tactical error
which offered a limitations defense not previously avail-
able to Rockwell. Were the Court writing on a clean
slate it would be inclined to retransfer this action to
Ohio. Although the Court is not bound by the decision in
In re Cragar Industries, Inc., supra, it appears likely,
based upon the logic of that decision, that a retransfer
would constitute an abuse of discretion.

The Court therefore concludes that North Carolina
choice of law rules must apply with respect to Rockwell
as well as to Stencel. As previously discussed Plaintiffs’
action is barred by the North Carolina statute of limita-
tions. The motions of both Rockwell and Stencel should
therefore be allowed.

A judgment in accordance with these findings and con-
clusions shall be entered simultaneously herewith.

This the 14th day of December, 1984.

/s/ Woodrow H. Jones
United States District Judge

24a

IN THE DISTRICT COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT
OF NORTH CAROLINA
ASHEVILLE DIVISION

A-C-84-294
VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
a Plaintiffs,

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL INTER-
NATIONAL CORPORATION and STENCEL AERO ENGINEER-
ING CORPORATION, a subsidiary of TALLEY INDUSTRIES,
INC., Defendants.

[Filed Dec. 17, 1984]

JUDGMENT

THIS MATTER having come before the Court upon
the Defendants’ motions for summary judgment pursu-
ant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
and the issues having been determined as shown by a
Memorandum of Decision entered simultaneously here-
with;

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that Defendants’ motions for summary judg-
ment be and the same are hereby granted and this action
is hereby dismissed with prejudice.

The Clerk is directed to send a copy of the Memo-
randum of Decision and this Judgment to the attorneys
for the parties.

This the 14th day of December, 1984.

/8/ Woodrow H. Jones
United States District Judge

25a
APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES. DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

C-2-81-1437

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al., ETC.,
Plaintiffs
vs.

TRE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, et al.,
Defendants

[Filed Oct. 27, 1982]

ORDER

This matter is before the Court upon the motion of
defendant Rockwell International Corporation (Rockwell)
for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56 of the Fed-
eral Rules of Civil Procedure. The defendant seeks
summary judgment on the ground that the statute limi-
tations is a bar to the plaintiffs’ claims.

This action for wrongful death is brought by certain
dependents of the late Theodoros Nisiotakis, who was a
pilot and officer in the Greek Air Force. Mr. Nisiotakis
was killed in an airplane crash on July 8, 1977, some-
where near Calamata, Greece. At the time of the acci-
dent he was operating a Rockwell T-2E jet aircraft. He
ejected himself from the aircraft before it crashed, but
he fell to the earth and died. Defendant Rockwell ad-

26a

mits that it designed and assembled the aircraft flown
by Mr. Nisiotakis at the time of his death and also
admits that it provided field engineering services in
Greece with respect to that aircraft. The other defend-
ant in this action, Stencel Aero Engineering Corporation,
designed, manufactured, and supplied parts for the ejec-
tion system of the aircraft. The plaintiffs brought this
wrongful death action against both defendants asserting
several products liability theories. Suit was commenced
on November 12, 1981 by the filing of a complaint with
the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas. Subse-
quently, the action was removed to this Court on the
motion of Rockwell on the basis of diversity of citizen- .
ship jurisdiction.

Rockwell first contends that the plaintiffs’ cause of
action is barred by Ohio Revised Code Section 2125.02
that provides a two year statute of limitations for cer-
tain wrongful death actions, as over four years have
elapsed between the demise of the decedent and the filing
of this lawsuit. The plaintiffs, on the other hand, con-
tend that because Greece was the locus delicti of the ac-
cide... the five year statute of limitations provided by
Article 937 of the Greek Civil Code is the applicable
statute and that the plaintiffs’ cause of action is there-
fore not barred. Rockwell also asserts that the action
must be dismissed because it was not brought in the
name of the real party in interest, the personal rep-
resentative.

I. The Conflict of Laws Problem

In this diversity case the Court sits as an Ohio Court,
and is bound to apply Ohio law. The Court must as a
threshold matter of Ohio conflict of laws principles de-
cide whether Ohio law or Greek law is controlling with
respect to the relevant statute of limitations.

“The . . long established rule in Ohio is that limi-
tation provisions are remedial in nature and are there-

han those specified in our statute are governed
as to limitation by the Ohio Statute in like manner as
causes of action accruing within the state.” Pinney v.
Cummings, 26 Ohio St. 46 (1875). “Statutes of limita-
tion relate to remedy and are and must be governed by
the law of the forum... A Court has the power to say
when its doors shall be open, and also has the power to
say when they shail be closed.” Kerper v. Wood, 48 Chio
St. 613, 622 (1891).

Some cases suggest an apparent exception to this rule,
and state that where the statute of limitations in the
foreign state terminates the right rather than the rem-
edy, the foreign statute is controlling. E.g., see Maki
v. George V. Cook Co., 124 F.2d 663, 665 (6th Cir.
1942}. But the cases warrant application of this rule
only where the foreign statute terminates the substan-
tive right of action before the forum state’s statute of
limitations has run. Where the foreign state whose sub-
stantive law is being applied defines the substantive
right of a party as to extinguish the right after a given
lapse of time, the forum state by application of its own
purely procedural statute of limitations cannot enlarge
the duration of the substantive right. This rule merely
restates the lex loci delicti rule that the law of the for-
eign state where the wrong occurred governs substan-
tive rights. The Court notes that this approach is con-
sistent with §§ 142-143 of the Restatement (2d) of the
Confliet of Laws:

“§ 143. Foreign Statute of Limitations Barring the
Right

An action will not be entertained in another state
if it is barred in the state of the otherwise appli-

28a

cable law by a statute of limitations which bars the
right and not merely the remedy.”

Under the Restatement’s approach, the law of the for-
eign state governs substantive rights, and the law of the
forum state may terminate the remedy. Cf. Kerper v.
Wood, supra. Thus, the Court must look to Ohio law
to determine the appropriate statute of limitations.

II. The Relevant Statute of Limitations

_ Defendant Rockwell insists that Ohio Revised Code
Section 2125.02 is the controlling statute of limitations.
Rockwell correctly states that plaintiff’s cause of action
under Ohio law has expired. See Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
§ 2125.02 (Anderson 1981). However, the plaintiff’s
cause of action is brought under the Greek Wrongful
Death Act and not the Ohio Act. Therefore, Section
2125.02 is not necessarily controlling. Section 2125.02
states in relevant part: :

Except as otherwise provided by law, every such ac-
tion [for wrongful death} must be commenced within
two years after the death of such deceased person.
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02 (emphasis added).

However, Section 2125.02 does not apply in the instant
case because the law clearly provides otherwise.

“When death is caused by a wrongful act, neglect,
or default in another state, territory, or foreign
country, for which a right to maintain an action and
recover damages is given by a statute of such other
state, territory, or foreign country, such right of
action may be enforced in this state. Every such
action shall be commenced within the time prescribed
for the commencement of such actions by the statute
of such other state, territory, or foreign country.”
Ohio Revised Code § 2125.01 (emphasis added).

Thus, Section 2125.01 requires that the Court look to the
relevant statute of limitations applicable to wrongful

29a

death actions under Greek law. Even though the Greek
statute of limitations for wrongful death is purely pro-
cedural as Professor John Kozyris undoubtedly correctly
states in his affidavit, Ohio law mandates the application
of the Greek statute." The Greek statute applicable to
wrongful death actions provides that

[a] tort claim is barred at the end of five years
from the time that the victim learned of the dam-
age and of the person obligated to make repara-
tions; in any event, the claim is barred after the
lapse of twenty years since the act occurred.” Ar-
ticle 987 Civil Code of Greece (current text, transla-
tion by Professor John Kozyris, Professor of Law,
Ohio State University College of Law).

The defendant does not contend nor can it seriously ar-
gue that this five years statute of limitations if ap-
plicable would not allow the plaintiffs to maintain their
cause of action. Rockwell’s own expert in Greek law,
Professor Kozyris, admitted in his affidavit concerning
Greek law that Greek Civil Code Article 937 applies to
wrongful death actions. The Court must therefore con-

1The Court notes that neither of the two parties that briefed
this issue brought this matter to the attention of the Court. How-
ever, in its memorandum in support of its motion for summary
judgment, defendant Rockwell stated, quoting a sentence from
Section 2125.01 of the Ohio Revised Code:

“When death is caused by a wrongful act, neglect or default
in another state, territory, or foreign country, for which a
right to maintain an action and recover damages is given by a
statute of such other state, territory, or foreign country, such
right of action may be enforced in this state.”

Nevertheless, Rockwell's counsel! mentions nowhere in its argument
er memorandum the very next sentence of the statute that states:

„Every such action shall be commenced within the time pre-
scribed for the commencement of such actions by the statute of
such other state, territory, or foreign country.” Ohio Rev,
Code Ann. § 2125.01.

.
3

clude that the plaintiffs’ cause of action is not barred by
the statute of limitations.

IV. The Real Party in Interest

The defendant also seeks dismissal of the action on
the ground that it was not brought in the name of the
real party in interest. Under Ohio law, the “personal

name
representative of the deceased. Thus, they have not
in-

Nevertheless, neither dismissal of the action nor sum-
mary judgment in favor of the defendants are appropri-
ate remedies for failure to bring on action in
of the real party in interest. Under Rule 17 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

no action shall be dismissed on the ground that it
is not prosecuted in the name of the real party in
interest until a reasonable time has been allowed
after objection for ratification of commencement
of the action by, or joinder or substitution of, the
real party in interest; and such ratification, joinder,
or substitution shall have the same effect as if the
action had been commenced in the name of the real

matter to the attention of the Court is most perplexing.

31a

unwarranted at this juncture in the proceedings. Id. See
3A Moore’s Federal Practice 17.151 (1981). If an
executor or administrator of the estate of Theodoros
Nisiotakis has been appointed under the laws of Greece,

§ 2129.04. Ancillary administration of the estate
be had upon the application of any interested per-
in Ohio in which is located property

the decedent. Id. “An action for wrongful death is
an decedent’s estate and is, therefore, suffi-
cient to justify the appointment of an administrator or
ancillary administrator in this state, even though there
existed no other necessity for such an appointment, and
the deceased was not domiciled in the state, and left no
roperty [other than the action for wrongful death] in
this state.” De Garza v. Chetister, 62 Ohio App. 2d 149
(Lucas County App. 1978). Thus, an ancillary adminis-
trator may be appointed to administrate the decedent’s

;
1

cs

tion over the matter appoints an administrator, he or
she could be joined or substituted in this action.

The Court determines that a period of ninety (90)
days is a reasonable time for the plaintiffs to obtain the
ratification of the action by, or joinder or substitution
of, the real party in interest, this period being subject,
of course, to such extensions of time as the Court may
deem necessary to advance the cause of justice. If the

11 finger,
1 1
4 be
33 oH 1215
if Tat

i 215 3
13 4 1
at 31335225

HTT 1131

7s Joseph P. Kinneary
United States Distriet Judge

IT IS SO ORDERED.

weren ? ER ad bes he! , . eee or | eee |

38a
APPENDIX F
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

C-2-81-1437

VASILIKI NISIOTAKI, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
V.
THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL

INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, et al.,
Defendants.

OPINION AND ORDER

¥
aHe
11
it
i
et

H
ii
f
i
i
8
15
f

ee

the Supreme Court of Ohio in Fox v. Morrison Motor
Freight, Inc., 54 Ohio Ops. 2d 301, 304-305 (1971)
(Duncan, J.). There the Court stated that:

The simple meaning of [Ohio Revised Code!
2125.01 is that a right to sue for an alleged wrong-
ful death occurring in another state may be enforced
in the courts of Ohio, While the General Assembly
did, in effect, incorporate the statute of limitations
of the situs state; its failure to specifically require
any further application of foreign law supports our
conclusion that there is no intended requirement that
the entire Illinois statute be utilized ... (emphasis

changed).

Thus, the Ohio Supreme Court holds that where an action
is brought in Ohio under Ohio Revised Code § 2125.01 to
enforce the wrongful death statute of a foreign situs,
the Court must apply the statute of limitations of that
situs.’ Fox, supra, at 304. In its Opinion and Order of

Ohio Revised Code § 2125.01 provides in part:

Every such action [brought under the statute of a foreign
state, territory, or country] shall be commenced within the
time prescribed for the commencement of such actions by the
statute of such cther state, territory, or foreign country.

The Supreme Court of Ohio in Foz, supra, 54 Ohio Ops. 2d at 304,
stated in unambiguous terms that this provision is intended to

fendant’s request for certification for interlocutory ap-
peal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1202 (b) is contrary to the
interests of justice, and the request is therefore DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Joseph P. Kinneary
United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

C-2-81-1437

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
Plaintiffs
V.

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, et al.,
Defendants

Filed June 27, 1984}

OPINION AND ORDER

This matter is currently before the Court on a mo-
tion to dismiss or, in the alternative, for summary judg-
ment filed by the defendant, Stencel Aero E
Corporation. Defendant’s motion to dismiss is predicated
upon its belief that this Court lacks personal jurisdiction
with respect to defendant. Defendant’s motion for sum-
mary judgment is predicated upon its belief that this
action, as it relates to defendant, is time-barred by the
applicable statute of limitations. Plaintiffs in this action
are seeking to recover monetary relief from the defend-
ants, The Columbus Division of Rockwell International
Corp. and Stencel Aero Engineering Corp., for the death,

87a
allegedly caused by the defendants, of Theodoros Nisio-
takis.*

RELEVANT FACTS

Stencel Aero Engineering Corp. (hereinafter “Sten-
cel”) is a corporation organized and existing under the
laws cf North Carolina. It is a manufacturer of com-
ponent parts used in aircrafts which contain an ejection
escape system. Its only facilities are located in Asheville,
North Carolina and Hurricane Mesa, Utah. Its prod-
ucts are designed and manufactured solely at its North
Carolina facility. The facility in Utah is used solely for

the purpose of testing its products.

Stencel’s work is done pursuant to contracts entered
inte with the United States Defense Department. The
resulting products are delivered to the United States
Military at the North Carolina plant. The Military is
then responsible for the later incorporation of Stencel’s
component parts into Military aircraft. In the context
of this case, it is apparent that the Military delivered
Stencel’s ejection escape system to the defendant, The
Columbus Aircraft Division of Rockwell International
Corp. (hereinafter Rockwell“), for incorporation into
Rockwell’s airplanes, specifically an airplane known as
the T-2E.

The deceased, Theodoras Nisiotakis, was a citizen of
Greece and a member of the Greek military. It is al-
leged, by the plaintiffs, that Nisiotakis, on July 8, 1977,
was piloting a Rockwell T-2E airplane near Calamata,
Greece when the aircraft crashed causing his death.
Plaintiffs further alleged that the resulting death was
caused by the manufacturing and design defects of the
T-2E. With respect to Stencel, plaintiffs specifically al-

1 The facts relevant to the issues which this Court must consider
herein are not substantially in dispute. Therefore, the Court need
not conduct an evidentiary hearing. Welsh v. Gibbs, 631 F.2d 436

lege that the T-2E’s ejection system, allegedly manufac-
tured by Stencel, malfunctioned because of a manufac-
turing and/or design defect and was, therefore, at least
partially the proximate cause of Nisiotakis’ death.

Plaintiffs’ cause of action arose on July 8, 1977, the
date upon which the aircraft Nisiotakis was piloting
crashed causing his death. This action was filed on No-
vember 2, 1981 in the Common Pleas Court of Franklin
County, Ohio. It was subsequently removed, upon the
request of the defendant Rockwell, to this Court on De-
cember 3, 1981. Plaintiffs served Stencel with a copy
of the Complaint in this case on August 9, 1982.

DISCUSSION

The Court will initially discuss Stencel’s motion to dis-
miss. That motion is predicated upon Stencel’s belief
that this Court lacks personal jurisdiction. A ruling
in favor of Stencel, with respect to this motion, will elimi-
nate the need for this court to consider Stencel’s alterna-
tive motion for summary judgment.

J.

The law governing personal jurisdiction is, although
difficult to apply, well established. It is clear that Ohio’s
long-arm statute, Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2307.382, per-
mits the exercise of personal jurisdiction to the limits
allowed by due process. In order to subject a defendant
to the personal jurisdiction of the Court, due process re-
quires that there exist certain “minimum contacts” with
the forum “such that maintenance of the suit does not
offend ‘traditional notions of fair play and substantial
justice.’” International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326
U.S. 310, 316 (1945).

In considering Ohio’s requirements for invoking its
jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant, pursuant to
§ 2307.382, the Ohio courts have formulated the following
three-part test:

39a

First, the defendant must purposefully avail himself
of the privilege of acting in the forum state or caus-
ing a consequence in the forum state. Second, the
cause of action must arise from the defendant’s ac-
tivities there. Finally, the acts of the defendant
must have a substantial enough connection with the
forum state to make the exercise of jurisdiction over
the defendant reasonable. (citations omitted).

Southern Machine Co. v. Mohasco Industries, Inc., 401
F.2d 874, 381 (6th Cir. 1968). In order to determine
whether plaintiffs have met their burden under the rule
enunciated herein, the Court must closely evaluate the
particular facts of this case.

The only contact which Stencel has with the State of
Ohio is that certain parts manufactured at its plant in
North Carolina were installed in airplanes manufactured
in Ohio by defendant Rockwell. There is no evidence that
Stencel is authorized te do business in Ohio or that it
solicits business in Ohio. Further, there is no evidence
that employees of Stencel have ever travelled to Ohio
for the purpose of soliciting or carrying on business.
Nor does the record indicate that Stencel regularly, or
even occasionally, sells its products directly to Ohio cus-
tomers. Aside from the incorporation of Stencel’s com-
ponent parts into Rockwell’s airplanes, there is no evi-
dence to suggest that Stencel has any contacts with
Ohio.

Stencel’s contact with the State of Ohio, through Rock-
well, is made even more tenuous in that the parts ulti-
mately used by Rockwell were not directly purchased
from Stencel. Rather, such parts were received by Rock-
well from the United States Military. It was the Mili-
tary that purchased such parts from Stencel and those
purchases were made in North Carolina. Nonetheless,
plaintiffs contend that Stencel is subject to the personal
jurisdiction of this Court, pursuant to § 2307.382 (A)

40a

(1), because it is, and has been, “. . . transacting. . .
business in this state.” ?

Plaintiffs, to a considerable degree, rely upon Gray v.
American Radiator & Standard Sanitary Corp., 22 III. 2d
432, 176 N. E. 2d 761 (1961), and its progeny for their
argument that Stencel, because it should reasonably have
foreseen that its products would travel to Ohio, was “...
transacting . . . business in this state.” Gray and its
progeny, however, are distinguishable in one very im-
portant respect. In all of those cases, the tortious injury
of which the plaintiff or plaintiffs complained occurred
in the state in which the suit was brought. Here, how-
ever, the tortious injury of which plaintiffs complain
occurred in Greece.“ In Gray, the Court stated:

As a general proposition, if a corporation elects to
to sell its products for ultimate use in another State,
it is not unjust to hold it answerable there for any

damage caused by defects in those products.
176 N. E. ad at 766. In this case, the product at issue was

not “ultimately used” in Ohio. P uther, it was “ultimately
used” in Greece.

It is clear that the only plausible subsection of § 2807.382(A)
under which plaintiffs may argue that personal jurisdiction exists
is subsection (1). Subsections (3), (4) and (5), the alternative
subsectioms under which plaintiffs argue that personal jurisdiction
exists witth respect to Stencel, require that the “tortious injury”
have occurred in Ohio. Busch v. Service Plastics, Inc., 261 F.Supp.
136 (N. D. Ohio 1966). The tortious injury of which the plaiutiffs
complain herein clearly did not occur in Ohio. In Gray v. American
Radiator & Standard Sanitary Corp., 22 III. 2d 432, 176 N.E.2d 761
(1961), the court stated:

It is well established. .. that in law the place of a wrong is

where the last event takes place which is necessary to render

the actor liable. Restatement of Conflict of Laws, sec. 77.
Id. at 762. In this case, the place of the wrong was, and, there-
fore, the tortious injury occurred in, Greece. It was in Greece
where the crash giving rise to potential liability occurred.

3 See note 2, supra.

4la

The importance of the distinction between this case
P
give, with respect to the issue of personal jurisdiction, to

orum state’s interests in maintaining jurisdiction
foreign corporation. If a foreign corporation has,
through its business contacts with the forum state,
availed itself of the laws of that state, or if a product
manufactured by such a corporation injured a resident
of the forum state, or merely injured a person present
in the forum state, the forum state’s interest in resolv-
ing the subsequent controversy is obvious. In this case,
however, it is difficult to speculate in what manner the
Ohio courts would be at all interested in resolving the
existing dispute between plaintiffs and Stencel. The
products manufactured by Stencel were never used by
a consumer in this state. Nor would such use have been
reasonably foreseeable by Stencel. Neither did Stencel
seek to avail itself of the protections and benefits of Ohio
law. For example, Stencel could not sue Rockwell for
nonpayment of a debt arising with respect to the prod-
ucts at issue. Stencel was presumably paid in full by the
United States Military.

The Court, in its consideration of the issue herein
presented, must held that it does not have personal juris-
diction over defendant Stencel. The contacts which Sten-
cel has, or has had, with the State of Ohio, if such can
be appropriately termed contacts, are not sufficient to
meet the three-part test delineated in Southern Machine
Co. v. Mohasco Industries, Inc., supra, or, for that mat-
ter, the strict requirements of due process. With re-
spect to the first part of the Southern Machine test, it
is fairly clear that Stencel did not “. . . purposefully
avail [itself] of the privilege of acting in the forum
state or causing a consequence in the forum state.”
Stencel did not derive incume from customers of its
products in Ohio. Rather, Stencel derived its income
from the United States Military. While it may be ar-

ate

42a

gued that Stencel indirectly derived income from goods
from Stencel if such goods were not to be used in Rock-
well aircraft manufactured in Ohio, such is, in the
Court’s opinion, insufficient to confer personal jurisdic-
tion over Stencel. The type of impact to which the court
in Southern Machine refers is of a considerably greater
magnitude than that which is present here.

If the Court were to take plaintiffs’ foreseeability
theory to its logical conclusion, Stencel would be amen-
able to suit in every state or country in which the
United States Military delivered Stencel products for
incorporation into military machinery. This Court is not
inclined to adopt the notion that a product sold by the
manufacturer or seller of such product is, in effect, the
agent of such manufacturer or seller for purposes of
service of process. World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v.
Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 296 (1980). It is the Court’s
opinion, therefore, that plaintiffs have failed to show,
to the requisite degree, that defendant Stencel has, or
has had, sufficient contacts with the State of Ohio to
make it amenable to suit in the Courts of Ohio. Plain-
tiffs are required, with respect to issue of personal juris-
diction,

. . . to make a prima facie case of jurisdiction,
that is [they] need only “demonstrate facts which
support a finding of jurisdiction in order to avoid a
motion to dismiss.”

631 F.2d 436, 438 (6th Cir. 1980). Plaintiffs have
failed to sustain their burden. In the langne~e of Ohio
Rev. Code Ann. § 2307.882(A) (1), plaintiffs nave failed
to show that Stencel was ,and is, . . transacting any
business in this state.”

II.

The Court, because of its findings herein, need not con-
sider Stencel’s alternative motion for summary judgment.
It must, however, consider plaintiff’s motion to transfer

43a

this action back to California. This action had initially
been filed in California. However, it was determined by
the Superior Court of California that California was not
a convenient forum for the adjudication of this case.
In light of this finding, the Court cannot consent to send
this action, as it relates to defendant Stencel, back to
California. The Court would, however, favorably enter-
tain a motion to transfer this action, pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1406 (a), to some other forum where personal
jurisdiction may exist.

WHEREUPON, the Court shall refrain from ruling
upon the motions discussed herein until such time as
plaintiffs have had an opportunity to request a transfer
of this action to an appropriate forum.

Plaintiffs are hereby given leave to file a motion for
change of venue, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1406, within
30 days from the date of this order.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Js, Joseph P. Kinneary
United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

C-2-81-1437

VASILIKI NISIOTAKIS, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
V.

THE COLUMBUS AIRCRAFT DIVISION OF ROCKWELL
INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION, et al.,
Defendants.

[Filed July 2, 1984]

ORDER

This matter is currently before the Court on the motion
of plaintiffs, Vasiliki Nisiotakis, et al., for change of
venue. Specifically, plaintiff’s request, in the interests of
justice, that this action be transferred to the United
States District Court, Western District of North Caro-
lina, Asheville Division. Upon consideration and being
rey Maric Pye Racism: oe Bw

be meritorious and it is, therefore, GRANTED. This ac-
tion, in its entirety, hereby tr transferred to the United
States District Court, Western District of North Caro-
lina, Asheville Division.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Joseph P. Kinneary
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2131%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
