# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Owens v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2019%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 822

## Text

bas 5 = 20 1 6 | Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED
IN THE MAY 31 1966
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITE STATESLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 19897 = ~~

WAYNE T. OWENS, Petitioner

Ve

THE BALTIMORE & OHIO R.R. CO., Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WAYNE T. OWENS
1751 Covington Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Telephone: (301) 962-8581
INPROPER PERSON

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the charge of “employment

Miscrimination because of a physical
londition, "filed by the petitioner
gainst his employer, the Baltimore &
Bhio R.R. Co. was timely filed.

@. Whether the act of denying the
etitioner, his return to active
mployment, was a single and complete
ct (a one time occurence) or was it
continuing act, that has occurred

d continues .to occur each day the
bmpany continues to deny the petitioner

is return to employment.

INDEX

PAGE
Questions Presented I
Opinion Below +
Jurisdiction +
Statutory Provisions Involved >
Statement of the Case 5
Reasons for Granting of Writ
1. The Decision Below Conflicts 10
with Supreme Court Language
and Findings, that there are
Illegal Acts that are Deemed
"Continuing"
2. The Decision Below Affords 11
an Umbrella of Protection,
or Loophole, for Illegal and
Discriminatory Acts, and
Circumvents the Spirit and
Intent of the Law
3. It Would Be In the Public 12
Interest for This Writ to
be Granted
Conclusion 13
Appendix
(A) Opinion of Baltimore Community APP-1
Relations Commission Public
Hearing
(B) Opinion of Master Tockman of APP-6
Baltimore Circuit Court
(C) Opinion of Judge Marshall Levin APP=1¢

of Baltimore Circuit Court

Oe

INDEX, Continued

PAGE
Appendix, Continued
(D) Opinion of Court of Appeals APP-20
of Maryland
(E) Medical Examination, Canton APP-21
R.R. Co.
CITATIONS
Mobley v. Acme Foods, 4/73 Fed. C-]

Supp 851, Page 857, Par. B (6&7),
Continuing Violation

Now comes the petitioner, Wayne T. Owens,
te plea The Honorable Supreme Court of the
United States of America, to issue a Writ
of Certiorari to review the opinion and judge-
ment of The Court of Appeals of Maryland,
petition docket no. 562, September Term, 1985.
Entered on March 10, 1986.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of The Court of Appeals of
Maryland, and the District Court of Baltimore,
Maryland, neither of which were published,
appear in the Appendix hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgement of the Maryland Court of
Appeals was entered on March 10, 1986, and
this petition of Certiorari is filed within —

90 days of that date.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Article 4, of The Baltimore City Charter,
clearly and undisputibly declares that it is

illegal for a company doing business in the

\
\

City of Baltimore, to discriminatein employment
practices because of a physical condition of a

employee, or applicant for employment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Owens, and employee of the Baltimore &
Ohio R.R. Co., suffered serious injuries in a
off duty traffic accident.

Owens was hospitalized and underwent
extensive and numerous surgeries to repair
the sustained injuries. In accordance with
the Labor Management Agreement in effect at
the B & O R.R. Co., Owens was placed on sick
leave status with his employer and would remain
in that status until such time that his
recuperation allowed him to returgp to active

employment status.

When it was decided by the Orthapedic
Specialists that performed the surgery and
follow-up treatment of Owens, that he was
physically able to return to the physical
duties of his job, he was released to return
to work.

Upon presenting. himself along with the
Surgeons Release, to the B & O R.R. Co.,
the company through it's medical department
would not allow Owens to return to work at

that time. But there was the possibility that

at a later date he would be re-examined, re-
evaluated and another decision would be made
at that time , to either allow Owens to return
to work, or continue to deny him return to
active employment.

This action in no way severed or terminate:
the employmentof Owens, he continued in the
employment of the railroad, maintaining his

position on the yearly postings of the company

seniority roster, and would resume as an active
employee when the company's medical department
was finally satisfied and in agreement with
Owens' doctor that he was able to return

to work. Subsequent visits to the company's
medical department failed to alter their
opinion of Owens’ ability to funciton as a
machinist at Riverside Shops, the Diesel Repair
Facilities of the B & O R.R. Co. in Baltimore,
Maryland.

In 1978, Owens had come aware of an employ-
ment opening, as a machinist with the Canton
R.R. Co. of Baltimore, MD. Owens applied for
the job, noting his prior injuries on the
employment application, and was examined by
the medical department for the Canton R.R. Co.
was declared physically fit and was hired as a
machinist at the Diesel Repair Facility of the
Canton R.R. CO. Owens accepted the job and
became an employee of the Canton R.R.

Ownes felt that being able to pass a
physical with this railroad for the job of

machinist, would most surely convince

the B & O R.R. Co. medical department that
they had misjudged him. So he again presented
himself to the B & O R.R. Co. and expressed
his desire to return tc his job with them.

He was again examined by the B & O R.R. Co
medical department, and again turned down. It
was at this time Owens felt that the B & O
R.R. Co. had no intention of ever admitting he
was physically able to return to work. Since
Owens felt that by passing a physical on
anotner railroad for identical position
(machinist) he had proven his physical cap-
abilities, and by the B &0) R.R. Co. stiil
denying retura to work, that now, they were
being discriminatory, and he filed charges of
discrimination against the company, through.
the Baltimore Community Relations Comminssion,
since the Baltimore City Charter, ART-4, makes
such an act illegal in Baltimore.

After extensive investigation, findings
and repeated efforts to resolve the matter with
the B & O R.R. Co., the Baltimore Community

Relations Commission, finally brought the matte

8

to a Tribunal Public Hearing.

The decision of the public Hearing, was
that in fact the B & O R.R. Co. “was guilty of
discrimaiton,™ and ordered to return Owens to
active employment.

The B & O R.R. CO. ignored the order of
Baltimore City Community Relations Commission.
The Commission through its legal arm, The City
Solicitors office, sought compliance, the
railroad resisted, and the matter was heard
before Master Shirley Tochman of the Baltimore
City Court, the Master upheld the order of the
Community Relations Commision. The case then
went befo.e Judge Marshall A. Levin of Baltimore
Circuit Court, who ruled that the charge was
time barred because it was not filed within
180 days, he ruled in this manner even though the
issue of “timely filing” had been addressed
by the Community Relaations Commission Public
Hearing, and Master Tockman, in both instances
it was ruled that Owens' Charges of Discrimination
were timely filed and for that matter in fact

not time-barred.

The petition seeking enforcement of the order was
filed on November 30, 1983. Given the deliberatel|
vague and flexible standard chosen by the City
Council, it is not appropriate to read into the |
ordinance a definite time period based on analogie
from other administrative agencies. The two-year
delay is unusual and may be considered at trial |
according to normal estoppel principles. Since
prejudice to the employer base on the delay is a |

factual matter, this objection cannot be resolved |

on the pleadings.

The final objection noted by defedant is that

Owens is not within the class of person afforded

protection by Article IV of the City Code. Secti
10 of Article IV prohibits employment discriminat
based on "race, color, religion, national origin,
ancestry, sex, age, or physical or mental capacit)
Physical disability is defined in seciotn 9(13) o!
Article IV as “any physical condition, infirmity,
malformation, or disfigurement which is caused
by bodily injury, birth defect, trama, or ill-
"

nesS .« « » The fact that Owens in his complaint

states that he is physically able to work as a

mechanic and has been employed by other companies -

in that capacity does not negate his charge that

defendant refused to reinstate him based on the
employer's perception that he was not physically
disqualified.

Counsel during argument on the motion referred
to the testimony and exhibits presented to the

Community Relations Commission. Plantiff's con-

tention that the employer rejected Owens because he
might be more susceptible to injury due to

residual ankle problems sounds much like the
complaint of discrimination considered in B& O
Railroad v. Bowen, Csa, No. 1595, Sept. Term 1983,
Daily Record, Nov. 13, 1984. The court affirmed a
back pay award by the State Commission on Human
Relations to a rejected job applicant. The company
had reject Bowen based on its doctor's opinion

that the applicant would suffer a back injury

on the job because he had a bullet lodged in one
vertebrae. Teh applicant had received a gunshot
while serving in the Army. At issue was the burden
of proof. The Court of Special Appeals held that
once a prima facie case is establish ed the
employer has the burden to show a "resonable

probability" of future hazard to the employee's

APP-13

aii.

health or safety because of the handicap. The
existence of a handicap was assumed based on the |
reason given by the employer for rejection of the

applicant. Whether a physical condition as

defined in Article IV of the City Code constitutes

funcitonal handicap is a matter of proof. Owens
was perceived by the employer as being nandicappes
because of a physical condition. Therefore, Owen:
falls within the protected class under the city
ordinance.

Rule 2-541 (h) allows ten (10) days from the
date of filing of this Report and Recommendation

for exceptions.

Date of filing General Master
and mailing

APP-14

IN THE

BALTIMORE COMMUNITY
RELATIONS COMMISSION
CIRCUIT COURT

VS.

BALTIMORE AND: OHIO
RAILROAD COMPANY BALTIMORE CITY

)

)

5

)

) FOR
)

CASE: 83334006/E13758
)

ORDER

No exceptions having been filed and the
Report and Recommendaiton of the General Master
having been reviewed and approved, theis Court
adopts the Report and Recommendaiotn as its Opinion.

It is this day of , 1984 by the

Circuit Court for Baltimore City.

ORDERED that the motion to dismiss is granted
unless the Mayor & City Council of Baltimore is
substituted as plaintiff in place of the Baltimore
Community Relations Commission;

ORDERED that the preliminary objection to

subject matter jurisdiction is denied.

Judge

APP-15

APPENDIX C

fa ACAI har id cr

BCRC IN THE |
AND CIRCUIT COURT |
WAYNE OWENS FOR |
PETITIONERS BALTIMORE CITY
V. 83334006/E13758 4

THE B & O R.R. CO.

RESPONDENT

Nee Ne a of Re” OY SY a’

{EMORANDLUM OPINION AND ORDER

-
The petition of the BCRC should be dismissed —

because it must be brought in the name of the
"Mayor and City Council of Baltimore” and it has
not been. It has been brought in the name of the
"RCRC Ai

However, counsel informed this Court that

the petition shall be amended to be brought in

the proper name, i.e., "Mayor and City Council

of Baltimore City." Hence the petition will not

be dismissed for this reason.

APP=-16

2.

The petition must be dismissed because it
was not brought "within 180 days of (such) alleged
unlawful proceeding." Art. IV, Sec. 16 (5) of
the Baltimore City Code. It may have been actually
brought within 18 days of B & O determination in
1978 that Owens was unfit to return to work, if
that determination is consideredita be a dis-
Criminatory act, i.e., an "unlawful practice,"
But it was not timely brought. B & O determined
that Owens was not able to work in 1962 when it
placed him on open-ended disability leave of
absence. Again in 1966, B & O determined that
Owens could not return to work (t=cause he still
had “hardware" in his leg). In 1971, the hardware
was removed but Owens made no move to seek
reinstatement until 1978.

It is true that Owens did not have a right
to complain about disability discrimination until
1976, the year Article IV was amended. But it
is equally true that the acts of the B & O in
refusing to rehire Owens were not unlawful prior
to 1976. When the ability to complain about

an unlawful practice arose in 1976, Owens could

APP-17

then have re-applied. He then had no hardware

in his leg. But he waited until 1978 to complain,
His complaint dealt with a situation that had
existed since 1962.

The argument that B & O's failure to rehire ‘
(or recall) is not tenable. In layoff cases, the}

Courts have rejected this theory. Law v. United, |

519 F. 2d 171 (10th Circuit 1975) (age

discrimination); United v. Evans, 431 U.S. 332

(1977) (gender discrimination); Mobley v. Acme,

|
473 F. Supp. 851 (D. MD 1977).
Assuming that the refusal of B & O to recall!

"|

Owens in 1962 and 1966 were “unlawful practices

Owens failed to seek reinstatement until 1978. I
the 18't day clock runs from 1978 why may it not
until1988 or even 1998? If he felt that B & O wa

{
quilty of an unlawful practice when it was first |

*
i‘? 3

possible to complain about such unlawful practice
in 1976 he should have sought recalithen. He knell
or should have known that the refusal of B & O
to recall him was an unlawful practive. If he

wanted to put B & O to the test, he should have

App-18

applied for recall. It may well have been that
B & O would have recalled him. After all,

the hardware had been removed. If not, then

he had 18Q days to assert the unlawful practice,

Since he did not do so in 180 days he is to late,

Marshall A. Levin
Judge

This document has been altered by
eliminating Judge's signature

APPENDIX D

WAYNE T. OWENS

THE BALTIMORE AND
OHIO RAILROAD COMPANY

March 10,1 986

a a a he he

)
)
)

ORDER
Upon consideration of the petition for a
writ of certiorari to the Court of Special Appeal
in the above entitle case,
ORDERED, by the court of Appeals of Maryland
that the petition be, and it is hereby, denied |
as there has been no showing that review by

-erttorari is desireable: and in the public interef

COURT OF APPEALS
OF MARYLAND

Petition Docket No.
september Term,

(No. 329, Septmeber Term!
1985 Court of Special
Appeals)

/S/ Robert C. Murphy

Chief Judge

APP=20

APPENDIX E

CENTRAL MEDICAL CENTER,

Yorthpoint Boulevard

16 S. Eutaw Street NI3SO McCormick Road
ee Seen Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031
pate & Y- JF

EMPLOYMENT & RETURN TO WORK APPROVAL SLIPS

above persan was examined in this ~ today and(is}iamact approved tor
(+ Employment ) RetwemteWesk

Pending results of Ce, Pa
Pending results of A a X-ray
an results of EKG
ith the following restrictions

rae Aaah? a A. lg thay LLL A
7 DR'S. sonatune £ Let a VG

CITATIONS

Mobley v. Acme Foods, 473 Fed. Supp 851, Page 857

par. B (6 & 7), Continuing Violation

Seketetetesehe eke KR

(b)

Continuing Violation
(6 & 7) Plaintiff next contends that his claim of
a discriminatory layoff constitutes a continuing
violation of Title VII and thus is not barred by
limitiations. This Court is satisfied that this
contention is without merit.

It is well settled that a typical layoff is

not a continuing violation but is a completed act}

at the time it occurs. See e.g., Griffin v.

Pacific Maritime Ass'n, 478 F.2d 1118, 1120 (9th

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 359, 49 S. Ct.

69, 38 L.Ed.2d 1'9 (1973). As was recently made

clear in United Air Lines, Ince. v. Evans, 431

U.S. 553, 97 S.Ct. 1885, 52 L.Ed.2d 571 (1977):
-.-the emphasis should not be placed

on mere continuity (of ae from
the act of discrimination); the

critical question is whether any
present violation exists. (Emphasis
in original) 431 U.S. at 558, 97 S.
Ct. at 1889,

Most often, continuing violation are found
where the plaintiff alleges a failure to hire or
promote followed by the hiring and promotion of
others. See Moore v. Sunbeam Corp., 459 P. 2d
811, 828 (7th Cir. 1972); Law v. United Air Lines,
Inc. 519 F.2d 170 (10th Cir. 1975). Another typical
continuing violation is the payment of a discrim-
inatory wage. See, e.g., Corbin v. Pan American
World Airways, Inc., 432 F.Supp.939 (N.D.Cal.1977).
What these violations have in common is thatthey
repeat Title VII. See Moore v. Sunbeam Corp., 459
F.2d 811, 828 (7th Cir. 1972); Law v. United Air
Lines, Inc., 519 F.2d 170 (10th Cir. 1975). CE.
United Air Lines v. Evans, 431, U.S. 953, 558
97 S. CT. 1885, 52 L. ED. 2d 571 (1977).

C-2

Accordingly, for the reasons state, this Court
will deny plaintiff's motion for reconsiderati
of the Court's Order of June 1, 1979, insofar
such Order dismissed plaintiff's individual

claim of discrimination with respect to hiring

The finding of the Court of Appeals of

Maryland affirmed the judgement of the District

Court of Baltimore City.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

1. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
W LA
AND FINDINGS, THAT THERE ARE
ILLEGAL ACTS THAT ARE CONTINUING

IN NATURE,

The Supreme Court in Evans v. U.S. Airline
and Mobley v. Acme Foods, said that lay-off
situations are single and complete acts and
therefore are bound by the 180 day clock, but
went on to say that there are cases of illegal
action that are deemed to be continuing in
nature and cited such as; denying employment
while hiring and promoting others, and since th
type of act is continuing in nature, the 180
days statues are not applicable. See Moore v.
Sunbeam Corp. 459 F2d811 and Law v. United Air
Lines 529 F2d1/70.

Since Owens was not laid off by the B & O
R.R. Co. the single and complete act mentioned
above does not apply in this case, but rather,

since Owens was continually disqualified

1(y

on numerous visits to the B & O R.R.Co. medical

department, and during this time the company
hired others to perform the work of Owens, and
promoted others, that the act is continuing,
and therefore any time statues for filing charges
would be null and void.

2. THE DECISION BELOW AFFORDS AN |

UMBRELLA OF PROTECTTON, OR
LOOPHOLE, FOR ILLEGAL AND

DISCRIMINATORY ACTS, AND
CIRCUMVENTS THE SPIRIT AND
INTENT OF THE LAW.

It was certainly not the intent of the
Baltimore City Council and Mayor, when they
enacted ART-4 of the City Charter to on one hand
declare it illegal to discriminate in physical
rejection of employees, and at the same stroke
of the pen mean for someone like the B & O R.R.
Co. to violate the law and evade compliance
through the 180 day statute. The issues are
clear in the case of Owens v. B & O R.R. Co., the
railroad is continually and still to this very
day continues on a daily basis to discriminate,
by saying “we are not allowing Owens to return

to work because of his physical condition.’

11

Their illegal act must therefore be of a

continuous nature, and not that of a onetime
single and complete act, so they cannot invoke
any time-barring action.

3. IT WOULD BE IN THE PUBLIC

INTEREST FOR THIS WRIT TO
BE GRANTED,

If a segment of our population, the physical]
handicapped, cannot pursue active gainful and
self-supporting employment, then it becomes the
financial burden of the bannewane to support the
handicapped person and dependent family (if he
has any) through tax-supported social programs.

So it would be in the public interest if people
with injuries are allowed an equal opportunity

to employment, it lets the individual lead a

more useful and productive life, and spares
society as a whole from being taxed. It is

the moral if not legal responsibility of employers
to hire handicapped people for their abilities,

not their disabilities.

12

CONCLUSION

The Baltimore Circuit Court erred when it
ruled Owens' charge of discrimination was time-
barred, and the Maryland Court of Appeals also
was wrong when it affirmed the decision. The
only way these decisons are fair, is if Owens
was discriminatory laid-off, for then it would
be a single and complete act, and the charge
would then be time-barred. But Owens is not held
out of his job because of lay-off, but rather
a continuing physical disqualification.

Judge Marshall A. Levin relied on case
histories in his decison, (Law v. United 519
F2d171 10th circuit 1975) and (United v. Evans
431 U.S. 553 1977) and (Mobley v. Acme 473 F.
Supp. 851 D MD 1977). Quoting Judge Levin,

"In lay off situations" as he referred to all of
the above. He was in error when he applied these
cases to Owens as Owens was not laid off. Rather

he was held out of service for physical injuries

he sustained in a traffic accident.

13

Clearly continuing discrimination and
therefore the discrimination charges by Owens

cannot be time-barred.

Respectfully Submitted,

Wayne T. Owens
1751 Covington Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21230
INPROPER PERSON

14

APPENDIX A

BEFORE THE BALTIMORE
COMMUNITY RELATIONS COMMISSION

BALTIMORE COMMUNITY
RELATIONS COMMISSION,

In the Matter of:

Case No.
E78C103(PD)-29

Wayne Owens,
Complainant,
Ve

THE BALTIMORE AND
OHIO RAILROAD COMPANY,

Ne ee a a a

Respondent.

FINDINGS OF THE HEARING TRIBUNAL

In the matter of Wayne Owens, Complainant, vs.

The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company, Respondent,
the panel of commissioners (Dorsey, Chairperson,
Parrish and Wright) find in support of the
Complainant's claim of discrimination because

of his physical disability in the terms and
conditions of his employ. The panel finds

that this discrimination has been ‘continuous

since January 26, 1978, in that:

APP-1

1. Reinstate Mr. Owens inhis job as Machinist.

2. Place him on the Journeyman roster at the
first level above the first person to be
moved from the apprentice roster to the
Journeyman roster after January 30, 1978,
and to return to him all benefits and
privileges which may have accured from the
date of that individual's move up on the
roster (in other words the person whose place
Mr. Owens should have had at the head of
the apprentice roster) including but not

limited to retirement, sick leave and vacatic

APP=4

Mr. Elias Dorsey
Chairperson

Mc. William Parrish
Commissioner

Mrs. Nancy Wright
Commissioner

APP=5

APPENDIX B

BALTIMORE COMMUNITY IN THE

RELATIONS COMMISSION
VS. CIRCUIT COURT

BALTIMORE AND OHIO

RAILROAD COMPANY FOR

BALTIMORE CITY

CASE: 83334006/E13758 |

wD ed a a a a a ad

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

Subject of Hearing: Motion Raising Preliminary
Objection (Paper No. 4)

Date of hearing: March 7, 1984

Recommendation: Grant motion as to lack of
capacity unless Petition is amended to
substitute Mayor & City Council as plaintif §

Deny as to subject matter jurisdiction.

APP-6

REPORT

The Baltimore Community Relations Commission
is an agency of the City of Baltimore under Article
IV of the Baltimore City Code. It seeks to
enforce an order passed by its hearing tribunal
that directs the B & O Railroad Company to rein-
state an employee. Seciton 20 (Enforcement) of
Article IV provides:

(a) Certification of Complaint. In the
event any respondent refuses to comply with
an order of the Commssion (as to any matter other
than those covered by Section 161(11) of this
subtitle), or in the event, at any time after
the filing of a complaint the Commission
determines that the alledged unlawful practice
will have become final and unrectifiable unless
restrained, the Commission may certify the
matter to the City Law Department.

(b) Court Proceedings. The City Law Depart-
ment shall thereupon proceed, in the name of the
Maynor and City Council of Baltimore as soon
as reasonably possible, to invoke the aid of an

appropriate court to secure compliance with

the Commissions's order and with the provisions of

this subtitle, or to prevent final unrectifiable
accomplishment of a practice designated as unlawf;
by this subtitle, as the case may be. The court
shall have power to grant such temporary relief ~—
or restraining order as it deems just and proper
and to make and enter an order enforcing, mod-
ifying, and enforcing as so modified, or setting
aside, in whole or in part, the order of the

Commission. )

The provision of the City Code clearly requi’
that the enforcement action be brought by the May:
and City Council. Unless the proper plantiff_is
substituted the Petition should be dismissed
because of the Commission's lack of capacity to
bring the action in its own name.

Several jurisdictional objections are raised
by defendant. The first is that the complaint
was filed and received by the Commission well
beyond the 18Q day limitation period set forth
in Article IV, section 16(5) of the Baltimore
City Code. Wayne Thomas Owens filed his complain
of employment discrimination base on physical

disability with the Commission on March 31, 1978.

(Exhibit A to the Petition.) He asserted the
APP-8

following: I am a Mechanic and I have been on
sick disability leave since 1962. Prior to going
on leave, I had been employed for approximately
eight years. In 1962 I was injured in accident
(non-occupational) and was unable to work for
approximately 14 months. Following this 14 month
pericd, mypersonal physician, Dr. David Weinberg,
who was familiar with my duties as a m&achanic
issued a release for my return to work. The
company's medical department, after examining me
told me that I had to remain on sick disability
Status because I still had hardware (pin, plates,
etc.) in my leg.

Since 1962, I have made several attempts to
return to work. My most recent attempt was made
during February and March, 1978. I made this
attempt because all of the hardware that was
present in myleg had been removed. I was
examined by Dr. Mendel, company medical department,
and Dr. Filtzer, Orthopedic Surgeon. Dr. Carouge,
who is head of the company medical department
told me that I coult not return to work because
Dr. Filtzdr did not feel that I could perform
the work of a mechanic.

APP=9

Owens was employed by B & O railroad in 195°
and held the position of machinist's helper when
F

he was placed on (unpaid) disability leave in

JULy, 1962. He suffered numerous fractures to hij

right leg and ankle in a motorcycle accicent.
In February 1966 Owens attempted to return to
work, but the company refused to accept him back |
at that time based on the condition of his
right leg. The employer contends that this 1966 |

|
decision not to reinstate Owens triggered the

running of the 18¢-day responds that the limit- ©
;
ation period for Owens’ complaint should date Erg

January 1978 (less than two months prior to his
filing a complaiit when Owens again requested |

reinstatement and was rejected after another |
physical examination. |

B & O Railroad argues that its refusal to i
reinstate Owens in 1978 was merely a inceiineedl
of its 1966 decision, It relies on several fedent
cases in which employers’ not re- |
instate employees were held to be time-barred, —
rather than continuing acts. Layoffs and

terminations are completed acts on a definite

APP-10

date, while hiring and Promotion refusals may
be continuing in nature.

Placement on disability status and refusal
to recall an employee may be analogous to layoff
if the disability is an unchanging conditions,
such as permanent blindness or paralysis. However
Owens'leg injury has healed ot some degree since
his 1962 injury. A factual issue exists regarding
the degree of impairment in 1978. When Owens was
rejected for reinstatement in 1966 he still
had pins and plates in his right leg. This
"hardware" was removed in 1971. It is concluded
by the Master that the possibility of a significant
improvement in Owens physical condition between
1966 and 1978 presents a situation distinguishable
from the reinstatement cases cited by defendant,
It cannot be concluded based on the pleadings that
Owens' complaint filed in March 1978, soon after
the January rejection of his bid for reinstatement,
is time-barred.

Section 20 of Article IV of the Baltimore
City Code requires that enforcement proceedings
be brought by the Mayor and City Council "as soon
as reasonably possible." The Community Rleations

Commission issued its order on December 21, 1981,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2019%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
