# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wagner v. Office of Personnel Management

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1918%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 477 U.S. 906

## Text

. F m | ) pms ‘
85 oo | 2m Supreme Court, U.S,
898 is RILED
MAY 192 i986
JOSERH-F. SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE U =

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

JOSEPH C. WAGNER, JR. AND JEFFERY L. ATCHLEY,
Petitioners,
V.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DAN M. NORWOOD

BYRD, COBB, NORWOOD, LAIT, DIX
AND BABAOGLU

99 North Third Street

Memphis, Tennessee 33103

(901) 523-0301

Attorneys for Petitioners

ree net ewe ee oo ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Office of Personnel Management (OPM)
interpretation and application of the Presidential
Directive of December 9, 1981 barring former air traffic
controllers fired for striking in August, 1981 from
reemployment with the Federal Aviation Administration
so aS to impose the bar for more than three years was
unreasonable or in excess of its authority under 5

U.S.C. $7311.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EE i tee eee eesecesey 2
ee on ep beac escesseees 2
CA as Wek 65 obs ee we nes c's 2
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS, ................ 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE,.................. 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 7
I. OPM's Imposition of an Indefinite
Bar Against Former Employees Fired
for Striking Against the Federal
Government is Contrary to Law.............. 8
Il. OPM's Interpretation of 5 U.S.C.
§7311 as Imposing an Indefinite Bar
Against Former Employees Fired for
Striking Against the Federal
Government Is Not Reasonable Since
Such an Interpretation Is_ In
Contradiction of Previous OPM
Interpretatins that the Statute Only
Imposed a Maximum Three Year Bar... 18
Ee 23
EO ere TTTCere 25

atin

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGES
CASES
Fleischman Construction Co. v.
United States
ek Se BG PN eee ere Se eee ee 11
Harrison v. Northern Trust Co.
BEe Cee ee COs ih he bb ube ek eee eaeas )
Holy Trinity Church v. United States
Se Se Oe SOON 6g vce ced eee edckxn i ee
Howe v. Smith, 452 U.S. 473 (1981)........ 16,17
Law Ow Bew v. United States,
a Se nines bee weeestaeen ne 1l
McLaren v. Fleischer,
Se Wy EE ch cg ea ence ee 19,21
Oates v. National Bank,
thins Bas Mh cco hn: cutsinn st CTC TER PTE eee 15
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965)... 6... 20
United States v. American Trucking
Association, 310 U.S. 534 (1940)... .... 0... 12
United States v. Brown,
eS eB er ee ar 13
United States v. Dickerson,
Fee ee ee a ea eee eae 9
United States v. Dotterweich,
oe | er ll
United States v. Fisher,
6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 358 (1805)... ...... wd... 10

-iii-

PAGES
CASES

United States v. Kirby,
74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 482 (1869) 10,12

United States v. Public Utilities
Comm., 345 U.S. 295 (1953) .. ee 10

United States v. Turkette,

Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co.
v. Sawyer, 345 U.S. 579 (1952) 22

Zenith Radio Corp. v. United States,
437 U.S. 443 (1978) 21

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Se cs hic awe teks cae 3
Scr caernncneg CORE TORT 3,5,6,7,8,13,18, 20,22
ag ogi Magy EOC ES I PE LT Loo 6
29 U.S.C. 188 (Repealed 1955) °° 0 8,14
Federal Personnel Manual, Chapter 731,

ee eg or i ewcewaneaues 18
Federal Personnel Manual, Chapter 731,

eee © TO ea kidcceuackscuewn 18
ee eee 7
Becta Bian ruan scl PRC TORO Te OEE 3,7

EXECUTIVE ORDERS AND STATEMENTS

President Ronald Reagan, Statement on
Federal Employment of Discharged Air
Traffic Controllers, 17 Weekly Comp. of
Pres. Doc. 1364 (Dec. 9, 1981), .6,7,18,19, 21, 22

-iv-

PAGES
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Hearings before the Committee on Post
Office and Civil Service, U. S. House of
Representatives, 84th Congress, June 22,
1955 14

"VS 8 Beee@ttrtse sie gsee~1@ect £28 8686 86882 68.8 6 2 6

U. S. Code and Cong. & Admn. News, 84th
Congress, Ist Sess., 1955

-V-

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1985

JOSEPH C. WAGNER, JR. AND JEFFERY L. ATCHLEY,

Petitioners,

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Joseph C. Wagner, et al, petition for a writ of
Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in this case.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Office of Personnel Management (OPM)
interpretation and application of the Presidential
Directive of December 9, 1981 barring former air traffic
controllers fired for striking in August, 1981 from
reemployment with the Federal Aviation Administration
so as to impose the bar for more than three years was
unreasonable or in excess of its authority under 5

U.S.C. $7311.

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit is reprinted as Appendix A to
this petition and is published at 783 F.2d 1042 (1986).
The opinion of the United States Merit Systems
Protection Board is reprinted as Appendix B to this

Petition.

JURISDICTION
The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals
was entered on February 18, 1986 (Appendix A). The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).
= =

ee

“a act jt

= apr

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

5 U.S.C. §3301. Civil Service; generally

The President may -
(1) prescribe such regulations for the admission
of individuals into the civil service into the
executive branch as will best promote the
efficiency of that service;
(2) ascertain the fitness of applicants as to age,
health, character, knowledge, and ability for the
employment sought; and

(3) appoint and prescribe the duties of individuals
to make inquiries for the purpose of this section.

5 U.S.C. §7311 - Loyalty and striking
An individual may not accept or hold a position
in the Government of the United States... if

he ...- (3) participates in a strike ... against
the Government of the United States...

5 C.F.R. §731.303 - Debarment
When a person is disqualified for any reason
named in § 731.202, OPM, in its discretion, may
deny that person examination for and
appointment to a competitive position for a
period of not more than 3 years from the date
of determination of disqualification. On

expiration of the period of debarment, the person

7

who has been debarred may not be appointed to
any position in the competitive service until his
fitness for appointment has been redetermined

by OPM.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The named Petitioners Wagner and Atchley applied
to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) for
appointment as air traffie controllers. The FAA
forwarded their applications to the OPM, which denied
them a favorable suitability determination. The effect
of the denial was to bar them from obtaining positions
as air traffic controllers with the FAA.

The OPM denied the petitioners a favorable
suitability determination based on a December 9, 1981
Presidential directive which OPM _ interpreted as
imposing an indefinite bar against former air traffic
controllers fired for striking in August, 1981 from
reemployment with the FAA. Wagner and Atchley
appealed the OPM action to the Merit Systems
Protection Board where the case was certified as a

class action on behalf of more than 400 former air

4

oo ae
»
;

traffic controllers who, after their discharge for
participation in the 1981 strike, were denied favorable
suitability determinations by OPM.

Before the Board the case was submitted to the
presiding official based upon written submissions by
the parties. The parties stipulated that "OPM found
each of the appellants to be unsuitable based solely on
a determination that they had been removed from their
positions with the FAA for striking in August 1981"
and "based on its interpretation of the President's
directive of December 9, 1981."

The presiding official affirmed the OPM decision
indefinitely debarring appellants as unsuitable for FAA
employment. The presiding official held (1) that the
bar upon employment by persons who struck against
the government that 5 U.S.C. § 7311 (1982) imposes is
not limited to three years, and (2) that OPM correctly
interpreted the President's December 9, 1981 directive
as imposing an indefinite bar upon employment by the
FAA of former air traffic controllers who were fired
for striking.

Since petitioners did not seek review by the Board,
the presiding official's decision became a final decision

-5-

- I
-
:

‘Seun ete wing

,

and petitioners then filed a petition for review of the
Board's decision by the Court of Appeals pursuant to
5 U.S.C. §7703.

Petitioners challenged the Board's decision on the
grounds (which are the issues the parties stipulated
the Board was to decide) (A) that OPM incorrectly
interpreted the presidential directive as imposing an ind
efinite ban upon the employment by the Administration
of the former controllers, and (B) that if the
presidential directive did impose such a ban, it was
illegal because it was inconsistent with 5 U.S.C. §
7311, which the petitioners interpret as barring strikers
from federal employment for only three years.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the Board decision
by ruling there was "no basis for rejecting the OPM's
interpretation of the presidential directive as imposing
an indefinite ban upon employment of the striking
controllers by the Administration". In addition, the
Court ruled that 5 U.S.C. § 7311 does not limit the
prohibition against reemployment of strikers to three

years as petitioners contend.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals below decided on important
question of federal law which has not, but should be,
settled by this court. After reviewing 5 U.S.C. § 7311,
its legislative history and 5 C.F.R. Part 731
implementing § 7311, the court found that OPM's
barring former air traffic controllers fired for striking
in August, 1981 from reemployment with the FAA for
more than three years was not contrary to the intent
of Congress found in 5 U.S.C. § 7311. The court
likewise found that OPM's interpretation of the

presidential directive of December 9, 1981 as lifting

the normal three year bar for non-FAA jobs but
imposing an indefinite bar from FAA jobs’ was
reasonable. Petitioners submit that the court erred
by not finding that for the OPM to interpret the
presidential directive so as to impose an "indefinite"
bar was to act contrary to law since congress in
enacting 5 U.S.C. § 7311 intended only a three year
bar. Indeed, even OPM, prior to the December 9, 1981
presidential directive, had interpreted § 7311 as
imposing a maximum three year bar. 5 C.F.R. 731.303.

For these reasons, the court below should have found

-_—

years by the United States or any such agency.
Section 188 was repealed on August 9, 1985 and was
replaced by 5 U.S.C. § 7311. The clear words of 5
U.S.C. § 7311 authorized no indefinite bar and nothing
whatsoever in the legislative history of the repeal of
this section indicates that Congress ever intended to
eliminate the prior three year limitation or to blacklist
any federal employees for life.

The Court and MSPB below, adhering to a literal
and constricted view of the "plain meaning rule"
legislative history that is contrary to OPM's imposition
of an indefinite bar. In the controllers' case, just as

the Supreme Court said in United States v. Dickerson,

310 U.S. 554, 562, (1943), "The very legislative
materials" which Defendants "would exclude [from
consideration) refute [their] assumption" about the
meaning of the words of the statute. This Court went
on in Diekerson to say

It would be anomalous to close our minds to
persuasive evidence of intention on the ground that
reasonable men could not differ as to the meaning
of the words. Legislative materials may be without
probative value, or contradictory or ambiguous, it
is true, and in such cases will not be permitted to
control the customary meaning of words or overcome
rules of syntx or construction found by experience
to be workable; [Emphasis added and citation
omitted.]

-9-

The meaning to be ascribed to an Act of Congress can
only be derived from a considerable weighing of every
relevant aid to construction."

As Chief Justive John Marshall wrote in United

States v. Fisher, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 358, 386 (1805):

"Where the mind labours to discover the design of the
legislature, it seizes everything from which it can be
derived..." The age-old, outworn rule of "strict
constructionism" or the "plain meaning rule", has long
been supplanted byes restrictive rules of federal
statutory construction. Use of legislative history to
determine Congressional intent is appropriate where
"the literal words would bring about an end completely

at variance with the statute." United States v. Public

Utilities Commission, 345 U.S. 295, 315, (1953). "All

laws should receive a sensible construction," avoiding
"injustice, oppression or an absurd consequence. It
will always, therefore, be presumed that the legislature
intended exceptions to its language, which would avoid
results of this character. The reason of the law in

such cases should prevail over its letter." United States

v. Kirby, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 482, 486-87 (1869). "Nothing

is better settled than that statutes should receive a

~ii-

————e

Jat “Vipt wet a
_ ee "ath

a —_

La

ah -<

J

’

| _— = -

. . ’ Cae eat
eT

aaa) rs
Fe
r - «
=6OMa = 5 ae
:
s~ ’ >! hs an | 7

rn Aik '- mM

bas Ti Se") i ob
| | |
a Ay ~* ‘ Cj" My fave
} : 3
7 7 | : |
| | : 7 > <-
L. “A. he . a ' ’ ! °? ss - Ves y t nS : -

sensible construction, such as will effectuate the

unjust or absurd conclusion." Law Ow Bew v. United

States, 144 U.S. 47, 12 S.Ct. at 520 (1892). See also

Fleischmann Construction Co. v. United States, 270

U.S. 349, 360, 46 S.Ct. at 289 (1926).

In light of its application to the nation's air traffic
control system, the application in this case of this
legislation "touchles] phases of the lives and health of
people which, in the circumstances of modern
industrialism, are largely beyond self-protection.
Regard for these [implications] should infuse
construction of the legislation if it is to be treated as
a working instrument of government and not merely as

a collection of English words. United States v.

Dotterweich, 320 U.S. 277, 280, 64 S.Ct. 134, 136 (1943).

When plain meaning "has led to absurd or futile
results ... the Supreme Court has looked beyond the
words to the purpose of the act. Frequently, however,
even when the plain meaning did not produce absurd
results but merely an unreasonable one 'plainly at
variance with the policy of the legislation as a whole’,

this Court has followed that purpose, rather than the

-11-

ae

literal words." When aid to construction of the meaning
of words, as used in the statute, is available, there
certainly can be no ‘rule of law' which forbids its use,
however clear the words may appear on ‘superficial

examination.'" United States v. American Trucking

Associations, 310 U.S. 534, 543-44 (1940).

Often federal courts have declined overzealous
government invitations to follow rigid and overly literal
interpretations of statutes, thus preventing and avoiding
harsh, unfair, unjust and absurd results. See, e.g. Holy

Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457 (1892),

reversing a prosecution for an employment contract
with a British cleric alleged to violate a law intended
only to combat alien contract labor. In the same spirit

is the case of United States v. Kirby, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.)

483 (1868), involving a prosecution for interference
with the U. S. Mails of State law enforcement officers
who were doing their duty by arresting a mail carrier
for murder.

Though using only the literal language of laws

considered in Holy Trinity Church and Kirby would

have called for Draconian measures and resulting unjust

and absurd results from the U. S. Government, the

-12-

ee See ae

= ih : =
coo tt

- 5

ae! itis j — —<
7 nee) = a a@ = =~ an a —
La! ~ 2 = a 5 aa
or wil) (ie - 2 .
aie ee = Wye 7 a :
; 7 wee | —
7 a

Lear 7 : om ei 7 > - ay 7
- mt - ene fe) i ae ear
NE See bt Ucn eh
: 7 - — _ - - [co i.
ors er - it Pe an al 7 7 Poe § fal c 7 -
. = ay Tee et eS on Fe a

nk o| ey a

: yee | a
a aes
ve as % a 7 =”

aes 9 © ;
Pane ae e% _
mn a — a ey |
_ _ 7 Ss a
==. . UP 7 a a Ro
rae = ca aad "oa ee

a - -- a
a = . Fant a
= aa
a aa au a = =
- =~ de 7 vas o 7
: ny 7 - , Pa
7 : . a =) At. - vo oui
7 a 8 on
7
= ee any. a. vi 7

: -
ere ara
<4 uu |

path ny a ~ 4:
Oe la!’

“> eas ,

ee

ve

<? fr . a st } Pi
_ ey atts
i — +, ;

Se ee, bi oe # “andy

males * eae ah =

4
-—-

| es
ae
3

United States Supreme Court in its wise and often-
used words, found that "a thing may be within the
letter of the statute and yet not within the statute,
because not within its spirit, nor within the intention

of its makers." Holy Trinity Church, 143 U.S. at 459.

So, too, the OPM's interpretation of § 7311 in this
ease is "not within [§7311's] spirit, nor within the
intention of its makers." Id.

"The liberty of the individual must be scrupulously
protected ... the safeguards of cherished rights are not
to be found in the doctrinaire application of the tenet

of strict constructin." United States v. Brown, 333

U.S. 18, 27 (1947), (holding "no rule of construction
necessitates our acceptance or an_ interpretation
resulting in patently absurd consequences.") As the

Supreme Court said in Harrison v. Northern Trust Co.,

317 U. S. 476, 479 (1943), "words are inexact tools at
best and for that reason there is wisely no rule of law
forbidding resort to explanatory legislative history no
matter how 'clear the words may appear on superficial
examination."

In the hearing before the House of Representatives'

Committee on Post Office and Civil Service on the

-13-

proposal to replace 29 U.S.C. § 188 with 5 U.S.C. §
7311, Congressman Bennett, the sponsor of H.R. 6590
(the bill which ultimately became 5 U.S.C. § 7311) said:

"I urge the committee to report favorably on

H.R. 6590, which puts in permanent form the

policy of Congress which is now found in

temporary legislation passed from time to time

in the last 15 years. H.R. 6590 also corrects

imperfections in previous. legislation and

reasserts the fundamental principle that the
appropriate legislative committee should
supervise the enactment of all legislation under
its jurisdiction. Preserving this principle is in
the public and national interest."
Hearing before the Committee on Post Office and Civil
Service, U. S. House of Representatives, 84th Congress,
June 22, 1955 at 10.

Throughout the committee's consideration of the
measure, there were statements by legislators that
establish that Congress' intent in repealing 29 U.S.C.
§ 188 was only to codify this section permanently and
not to change the three-year limitation. Congressional
intent is also evidenced by the letter from the Chairman
of the U. S. Civil Service Commission to the House
Chairman of the Committee on the Post Office and
Civil Service, in which the following reasoning appears:

Section 305 of the Labor Management Relations

Act forbids striking by Government employees,
requires the discharging of an employee who

-14-

strikes and the forfeiture of his civil service
status, if any, and makes him ineligible for
employment for 3 years.
For some years provisions similar to the proposed
legislation have appeared in appropriation acts
each year. The Commission believes that HR
6590 [now 5 U.S.C. § 7311] represents desirable
legislation, since it would put such legislation
into permanent form, and would also consolidate
and supersede the several statutes which now
partially cover the subject. [emphasis added.]
U. S. Code Cong. & Adm. News, 84th Congress, Ist
Session, 1955, 2874-2876. Very persuasively, even the
Department of Justice, in an opinion sent to the House
Committee Chairman from the then Attorney general
William P. Rogers, found that 29 U.S.C. § 188 would
remain unchanged. U. S. Code Cong. & Adm. News,
48th Congress, Ist Session, 1955, 2876. in summary,
the legislative history plainly proves Congress intended
the bar from employment with the FAA to be limited
to three years.
In light of the manifest intent of Congress, the
court below should have avoided "adhering too rigidly

to the mere letter of the statute or to technical rules

of construction," Oates v. National Bank, 100 U.S. 239,

244 (1879), and, therefore, the court's interpretation

should be reversed. The Controllers respectfully

*

contend the clear, unequivocal purpose of the Congress
in passing the section of law relied upon by OPM was

merely to codify existing law -—- and not to impose a

lifetime "blacklist" on government employment upon a

class of individuals, like the former controllers, who
were led to believe, by government regulations and by
reasonable reliance on representations of government
officials, that any strike-related debarment from
employment as an FAA air traffic controller would be
for a period of "not more than 3 years from the date
of termination or disqualification." 5 C.F.R. 731.303.

The case at hand presents a manifest and strong
showing of "rare and exceptional circumstances"
requiring a different interpretation of the literal words
of a federal statute. Howe v. Smith, 452 U.S. 473,
483 (1981). For in the contollers' case, not only does
the legislative history show a contrary intent and
interpretation on the part of the Congressional drafters

of the enactment, but the enforcers of the statute also

shared that very same contrary interpretation — that

the statute provided for a three year bar. 5 C.F.R. §

731.303. It is precisely in the compelling combination

of the contemporary Congressional interpretation and

a -16-

:

the longstanding agency interpretation of the
Congressional acts, that, working hand-in-hand,
presents exactly the sort of "rare and exceptional"
circumstances that mandate going beyond the "plain

meaning" rule of the enactment. Howe v. Smith, supra.

-17-

Il. OPM's Interpretation Of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 As Imposing
An Indefinite Bar Against Former Employees Fired For
Striking Against The Federal Government Is Not
Reasonable Since Such An Interpretation Is In
Contradiction Of Previous Office Of Personnel
Management Interpretations That The Statute Only
Imposed A Maximum Three Year Bar.

The OPM's significant weight should be given to
OPM's prior interpretation that Section 7311 only
allowed a maximum three year bar. This three year
limitation is reflected in the Office of Personnel
Management's own current regulations. Not only do
OPM's regulations establish that the bar is to be limited
to three years, but the Federal Personnel Manual also
States clearly that the bar from employment is to be

limited to three years. Federal Personnel Manual,

Chapter 731, Subchapter 3, §3-6, and Subchapter 4, §4-
2 (1965). In short, the administrative agency regulations
incorporating a maximum three-year bar clearly
recognized the three year limitation intended by
Congress and acknowledged in the first sentence of

the Presidential directive of December 9, 1981.

-18-

eee EEE

"Authoritative administrative constructions" — like
those of U.S. Attorney General William P. Rogers, and
of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management's own
Federal Personnel Manual and OPM Regulations, supra,
— "should be given the deference to which they are

entitled..." United States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576,

580 (1980). Petitioners relied to their detriment on
the earlier federal administrative determination of the
penalties for violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 as being a
maximum three year bar. Only when the Agency
unilaterally interpreted the Presidential directive to
mean a blacklisting for life did the Petitioners learn
there was any contrary interpretation. This is indeed
the sort of unfair, harsh and oppressive results of
federal legislation and its interpretation which the
federal courts and federal agencies have protected
against for nearly 200 years, as was done in the long

line of cases following Holy Trinity Church, supra.

"In the practical administration of the act" McLaren

v. Fleischer, 256 U.S. 477, 480 (1921), the U.S.

Government itself has long interpreted the statute as
containing a three year bar. "It therefore comes within
the rule that the practical construction given to an

act of Congress, fairly susceptible of different

mon 1% 2; 4
~ Tih Wigth 4 ts
: 5

S44

= oiu “a wi)

e a:
s

5
4
— .
Pe
6
.
*
i}
an
»
A
.
—
”

constructions [,] by those charged with the duty of
executing it [,] is entitled to great respect and if acted

upon for a number of years, will not be disturbed

except for cogent reasons. Id. at 481. [Emphasis

added] As the Supreme Court said in Udall v. Tallman,

380 U.S. 1, 16 (1965).

When faced with a problem of _ statutory
construction, this Court shows great deference to
the interpretation given the statute by the officers
or agency charged with its administration. To
sustain the Commission's application of this
statutory term, we need not find that its
construction is the only reasonable one or even that
it is the result we would have reached had the
question arisen in the first judicial proceedings
— particularly is this respect due when the
administrative practice at stake involves a
contemporaneous construction of a statute by the
men charged with the responsibility of setting its
machinery in motion; of making the parts work
efficiently and smoothly while they are yet untried
and new. [citations omitted and emphasis added].

The Court of Appeals below should have given "great
deference" to the OPM's first interpretation of 5 U.S.C.
§ 7311 as it chose to do to OPM's more recent
interpretation of the section. Petitioners strongly
contend that the agency's newest intrepretation of
Section 7311 as imposing an indefinite bar in
contradiction of its prior longstanding interpretation
that the maximum bar was three years is clearly not

reasonable as the Court below found.

-20-

2

ee -7 . alba ia

:

In the controllers' case, as the United States

Supreme Court found in Zenith Radio Corp. vs. United St

ates, 437 U.S. 443, 457-58 (1978), "LiJn light of these

substantial reliance interests, the longstanding

administrative construction of the statute should 'not

be disturbed except for cogent reasons". [Emphasis

added]. There are no "cogent reasons" (cf. McLaren,

supra) for disturbing the longstanding agency
construction of Section 7311 to impose a maximum three
year bar against federal employees who strike against
the government since the Presidential directive did not
alter the normal bar other than to reduce from three
years to only a few months the bar period for all non-
FAA jobs in the federal government. By radically
altering OPM's own interpretation and by interpreting
the Presidential directive as imposing an indefinite bar,
OPM acted contrary to law in its imposition of an
indefinite bar against Petitioners. Accordingly, the
Court of Appeals erroneous upholding of OPM's new
interpretation of § 7311 should be reversed.

While Petitioners do not deny the President had
the power to issue his executive order, that power is

also limited by other Acts of Congress, including §

-91-

“that | en a tounge ane

wah

ee oe ee wenn — ee tt AF

a. —— Pies) 4' Beak leet oir. Ad Ro Sal ag’ 4S

oe re
=

= ne i ; a .
eel CP, COO pe av) ame reece beet A) ced avda “te *_ 6,

7
OP rr
= =
a)
_
y

a a a é a ~~ = é ¢ 4
Loa,

=

fa

| — > ~ye | a _-=- a5 fie

‘ U
= 4
rhe s _ , ; ; iv - : d j

red, Ye cal sal Te i= = : : 4 ¥ : : r “> <

ey 7 eas a ae G48! eel

PTR Y. a ee oar ee) re aly Th

a= -
me el ep
— “a a a _ en

7311, which limits the ability to bar individuals fired
as strikers to three years. The fundamentally important
separation of powers ordained by the United States
Constitution plainly prohibits lawmaking by the
President. Accordingly, if the Chief Executive had in
his directive acted to invade the province of Congress,
the Courts would have to invalidate the action.

Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 345 U.S.

579 (1952) (commonly referred to as the "Steel Seizure
Case").

Both the Merit Systems Protection Board and the
Court of Appeals found that OPM's interpretation of
the Presidential directive was to be given great weight.
This "places the cart before the horse", because the
December 9, 1981 Presidential directive — like OPM's
prior interpretation — found there was only a three
year bar provided by § 7311. To find OPM's new
interpr2tation is reasonable is to engage in fancy logic-
chopping and say that "three years" now means
"forever". Such a ruling ignores the intent of Congress
in enacting § 7311, as well as the intent of the

President's directive.

«S2=

CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated above, Petitioners
respectfully request this Court to grant their petition
in this ease for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.
Respectfully submitted,

an Mh. I)

Dan M. Norwood

BYRD, COBB, NORWOOD,
LAIT, DIX & BABAOGLU
99 North Third Street
Memphis, Tennessee 38103
(901) 523-0301

May, 1986

=, =

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Petition
for Writ of Certiorari was sent by regular mail, postage

prepaid, this (7%4 day of Way , 1986 to:

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

Robert A. Reutershan

Civil Division, Commercial Litigation Branch
Department of Justice

Attention: Ciassification Unit

2nd Floor - Todd Building

Washington, D.C. 20530

Dan M. NorWood

APPENDIX

<)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Decision of the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit, Dated
February 18, 1986................. 2

Decision of The Merit Systems
Protection Board, Dated January
31, 1985, 14

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Joseph C. Wagner, Jr. and

JEFFREY L. ATCHLEY Appeal No. 85-2389

)
)
)
Petitioners, )
)
v. )
) MSPB Nos.
OFFICE OF PERSONNEL )
MANAGEMENT ) ATO731810709
) ATO731810626
Respondent. )

DECIDED: February 18, 1986

Before MARKEY, Chief Judge, FRIEDMAN, Circuit
Judge, and MILLER, Senior Circuit Judge.

FIREDMAN, Circuit Judge.

This petition for review challenges the decision of
the Merit Systems Protection Board (Board) affirming
the ruling of the Office of Personnel Management
(OPM) that former air traffic controllers who had been
discharged * r striking against the United States were
not suitable for employment with the Federal Aviation
Administration (Administration). We affirm.

I

The petitioners are former air traffic controllers

who were discharged for participating in the illegal

air traffic controllers' strike in August of 1981. Shortly

after the strike, OPM determined that the discharged
strikers would be debarred from any federal employment
for three years. On December 9, 1981, the President
issued the following directive to the Director of OPM:

The Office of Personnel
Management has established the
position that the former air
traffic controllers who were
discharged for participating in a
strike against the Government
initiated on August 3, 1982 shall
be debarred from _ federal
employment for a period of three
years. Upon deliberation I have
eoneluded that such individuals,
despite their strike participation,
should be permitted to apply for
federal employment outside the
scope of their former employing
agency.

Therefore, pursuant to my
authority to regulate federal
employment, I have determined
that the Office of Personnel
Management should permit
federal agencies to receive
applications for employment from
these individuals and _ process
them according to established
civil service procedures. Your
office should perform suitability
determinations with respect to
all such applicants according to
established standards and
procedures under 5 CFR, Part
731.

After reviewing reports from the
Secretary of Transportation and
the Administrator of the Federal
Aviation Administration, I have

further determined that it would
be detrimental to the efficiency
of operations at the Federal
Aviation Administration and to
the safe and effective
performance of our national air
traffie control system to permit
the discharged air _ traffic
controllers to return to
employment with that agency.
Therefore, these former federal
employees should not be deemed
suitable for employment with the
Federal Aviation Administration.

I direct you to process their
applications for re-employment
with the federal government
accordingly.
17 Weekly Comp. of Pres. Doc. 1364 (Dec. 9, 1981).
On January 6, 1982, the Director of OPM issued a
bulletin to the heads of all executive departments and
independent agencies which, after quoting the foregoing
presidential directive, instructed that agencies
considering employment applications from former air
traffie controllers should submit the application and
additional information to OPM. The Director further
stated:
(b) All persons whose
employment was terminated on
account of the strike by air
traffic controllers, which began
on or about August 3, 1981, shall

be determined not to be suitable
for reinstatement or appointment

in any position in the Federal
Aviation Administration, because
it would be detrimental to the
efficiency of that agency by
interfering with or preventing its
effective performance of its
duties and responsibilities (5
CFR 731.202(a)(2)).

(ce) The Office of Personnel
Management shall consider, on a
case-by-case basis, applications
for Federal employment, other
than in the Federal Aviation
Administration, from air traffic
controllers whose employment
was terminated on account of
striking, and shall make
appropriate determinations of
their suitability for the
particular employment for which
they may apply....

The named petitioners Wagner and Atchley applied
to the Administration for appointment as air traffic
controllers. The Administration forwarded the
applications to OPM, which denied favorable suitability
determinations. The effect of the denial was to bar
them from obtaining positions with the Administration.

Wagner and Atchley appealed the OPM action to
the Board. The presiding official of the Board certified
the case as a class action on behalf of all former air
traffic controllers who, after their discharge for

participation in the illegal strike, were denied favorable

suitability determinations by OPM. The class comprised

more than 400 former controllers.

The petitioners waived a hearing, and the case was
submitted to the presiding official based upon written
submissions by the parties. The parties stipulated that
"OPM found each of the appellants to be unsuitabie
based solely on a determination that they had been
removed from their positions with the FAA for striking
in August 1982" and "based on its interpretation of
the President's directive of December 9, 1981."

The presiding official affirmed the "OPM decision
indefinitely debarring appellants as unsuitable for FAA
employment..." The presiding official held (1) that the
bar upon employment by persons who struck against
the government that 5 U.S.C. § 7311 (1982) imposes,
discussed below, is not limited to three years, and (2)
that OPM correctly interpreted the President's October
9, 1981 directive as imposing an indefinite and not just
a three-year bar upon employment by the Administration
of former air traffic controllers who had struck.

The petitioners did not seek review by the Board
of the presiding official's decision, which became the

decision of the Board. The petitioners then filed the

present petition for review of the Board's decision.

ll

The petitioners challenge the Board's decision on
the grounds (which are the issues the parties stipulated
the Board was to decide) (A) that OPM incorrectly
interpreted the presidential directive as imposing an
indefinite ban upon the employment by _ the
Administration of the former controllers, and (B) that
if the presidential directive did impose such a ban, it
was illegal because it was inconsistent with 5 U.S.C.
§ 7311, which the petitioners interpret as barring
strikers from federal employment for only three years.

A. The presidential directive explicitly imposed an
indefinite ban upon the employment of striking
controllers by the Administration. After stating in the
first paragraph that the President had concluded that
"such individuals, despite their strike participation,
should be permitted to apply for federal employment
outside the scope of their former employing agency,"
it provided:

I have further determined that it would be

detrimental to the efficiency of operations at the

Federal Aviation Administration and to the safe and

effective performance of our national air traffic

control system to permit the discharged air traffic

controllers to return to employment with that

agency. Therefore, these former federal employees

should not be deemed suitable for employment with
the Federal Aviation Administration.

as

It is difficult to imagine more precise or explicit

language to state that the striking controllers were
not to be employed by the Administration.

The petitioners contend, however, that in light of
the first paragraph of the directive, which referred to
the three-year bar on federal employment and waived
that bar for employment outside the Administration,
the subsequent provisions of the directive should be
construed as continuing that bar upon employment with
the Administration only for the three-year period that
there.ofore had covered all federal employment. That
is not what the directive said, however. Moreover,
that interpretation is inconsistent with the reasons the
President gave for barring employment with the
Administration, namely, that employment "would be
detrimental to the efficiency of operations at the
Federal Aviation Administration and to the safe and
effective performance of our national air traffic control
system...." There is no indication that the President
believed that the adverse consequences of permitting
the striking controllers to return to the Administration
would continue for only three years after the strike.

Finally, we need not ourselves determine the

meaning of the presidential directive. Our inquiry is
a narrower one: whether the Director's interpretation
of the directive is arbitrary and capricious or otherwise
legally erroneous. The Director has broad discretion
in interpreting a presidential directive relating to
federal personnel matters. Like the Ninth Circuit, we

give "great deference" to that interpretation. Kester

v. Campbell, 652 F. 2d 13, 15 (9th Cir. 1981), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 1146 (1982) (Civil Service Commission
interpretation of Executive order of President). "To
be sustained, the agency's interpretation need not be
be the only reasonable interpretation... All that is
required is that the interpretation adopted by the
agency be reasonable... [and it is] considered reasonable
‘unless it is plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the
lorder]."" Id. at 15-16. (Citations omitted).

Under these standards we have no basis for rejecting
the Director's interpretation of the _ presidential
directive as imposing an indefinite ban upon employment
of the striking controllers by the Administration.

B. The statute that makes it a crime to strike

against the government, 5 U.S.C. § 7311, also provides

nevertheless intended to limit the new ban to three
years. Such conclusion would require at a minimum a
clear, unequivocal, and explicit statement by Congress
that it so intended. The legislative history not only
contains no such indication but, to the contrary, is
fully consistent with the conclusion that the present
Statute provides an indefinite ban upon government
employment by strikers.

The predecessor of the present statute was the Act
of August 9, 1955, Ch. 690, sec. 1, 69 stat. 624. That
Statute, like the present one, provided that no person
who participates in a strike against the United States
"Shall accept or hold office in the Government of the
United States." Prior to that statute, various federal
statutes barred strikers from government employment.
Those statutes included section 305 of the Taft-Hartley
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 188 (1952), which the petitioners treat
as the predecessor of the present statute. Another of
those statutes, however, section 612 of the Housing
Government and contained no time limit on the length
of the bar.

The Senate Committee Report of the 1955 Act

explained that "[tJhis legislation will clarify and

consolidate in a single, permanent, penal statute the
rider reenacted each year in appropriacion acts as well
as certain similar permanent provisions in existing law,
which in effect prohibit the employment by the
Government of . .. any person who strikes against
Government..." The provisions that the committee
stated the new law would "clarify and consolidate in
a single statute” included section 305 of the Taft-
Hartley Act, which limited the ban on employment of
strikers to three years, and section 612 of the Housing
Act of 1947, which did not so limit the bar. The
Senate Committee stated that the bill "will prohibit
the employment in the Federal Government... of any
person who... participates in any strike against the
Act of 1949, ch. 338, 63 stat. 413, 444, barred the
expenditure of appropriated funds to pay the salaries
or wages or individuals employed by the Housing and
Home Finance Agency or by the Department of
Agriculture who engaged in a strike against the
Government..." S. Rep. No. 1256, 84th Cong., Ist
Sess. 1, 2, reprinted in 1955 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

News 2873, 2874.

In light of this history, it is most unlikely that if
Congress intended the broad and unequivocal ban upon
employment by persons who participated in a strike
against the government to be limited to three years,
it would not have said so — either in the statute itself,
as section 305 of the Taft-Hartley Act did, or in the
legislative history. It did neither. The conclusion is
inescapable that Congress meant exactly what it said
— that persons who participated in a strike against
the government are barred indefinitely from employment
in the government.

The fact that, in a compassionate exercise of
clemency, OPM limited the bar on employment other
than with the Administration to three years and the
President reduced the bar on such employment to less
than three years, provides no basis for concluding that
the statutory bar itself is limited ‘a years. Since
no question has been raised about the authority of the
President and OPM to take such action, we need not
and do not consider that issue.

The decision of the Merit Systems Protection Board

is affirmed.

AFFIRMED

~13-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD
ATLANTA REGIONAL OFFICE

IN THE MATTER OF: °
”
JOSEPH C. WAGNER *
AND JEFFREY L. ATCHLEY,* DECISION NUMBER
On behalf of themselves * No.ATO7318410709
and all others similarly * DECISION NUMBER
situated, * ATO7318410626
* (CLASS APPEAL)
Appellants, *
of
v. * Date January 31, 1985
OFFICE OF PERSONNEL .
MANAGEMENT, *
”
Agency. °
INTRODUCTION

By petition filed in May and June, 1984, appellants

Atchley and Wagner, former Air Traffic Controllers,!

appealed decisions by the Office of

1. Appellants were removed from employment with
the Federal Aviation Administration based on charges
of participation in a 1981 strike against the United
States, in violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311, and absence
without leave. For a historical background of the

strike, see Schapansky v. Department of

Transportation, 735 F. 2d 477 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 105 S.Ct. 432 (1984).

7

Personnel Management (OPM) denying them favorable
suitability determinations based on referrals submitted
to OPM by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).
The referrals resulted from employment applications
appellants filed with the FAA following their removal
from FAA employment.

Because the appellants were not notifed by OPM of
any appeal rights (including a time limit for filing an
appeal), and the appellants exercised due diligence in
pursuing their appeals upon learning of OPM's actions,
waiver of any time limits for filing appeals of the
Suitability actions at issue in these appeals is

appropriate. 2 Casey v. Merit Systems Protection

Board, 748 F.2d 685, 686 (Fed. Cir. 1984). OPM initially
moved for dismissal of the appeals for lack of
jursidiction based on the fact that OPM had not issued
adverse Suitability determinations pursuant to 5 C.F.R.

§ 731.202, but subsequently acceded to the Board's

2. Appellants have not raied any harmful error issues.

“ai

jurisdiction. OPM's failure to make a _ Suitability
determination, by closing the suitability referrals
without action and indefinitely debarring the appellants,
is tantamount to an adverse determination and is,
therefore, subject to the Board's jurisdiction. Cf.

Mortensen v. Department of the Army, 13 MSPB 242

(1983) (Board found that an improper denial of a
reconsideration opportunity is sufficient to allow it
assume jursidiction). Accordingly, the actions are
appealable to the Board pursuant to 5 C.F.R. § 731.401.

Stewart v. Office of Personnel Management, 7 MSPB

746, 747 (1981).

As a result of discovery initiated by appellants'
counsel to determine the class action prerequisite of
numerosity, it was ascertained that OPM had closed
without action (CWOA), as it had in the cases of
Wagner and Atchley, several hundred applications
referred to it by FAA for suitability determinations.
Appellants' motion that the appeals be maintained as
a class action was unopposed by OPM. Based on a
finding that the prerequisites for a class action were

met, the appeals were certified as a class action

maintainable on behalf of a class comprised of the

The class representatives provided individual notices
to identified class members. Class members were
afforded until January 1, 1985, to exercise the option
to be excluded from the class, at which time the class
membership closed, except for three appellants (Peter
J. Lepari, Gerald M. Kibildis, and John Soucek) who,
based on their written requests, were subsequently
permitted to join the class. As a result of discovery,
409 class members have been specifically identified.
Because a hearing was waived, the class appeal has
been decided on the basis of written submissions by
the parties.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

OPM must prove, by preponderant evidence, the
reason for its decisions to find the appellants unsuitable
for federal employment. 5 U.S.C. § 7701(¢)(1)(B).
Further, OPM must show that the actions were for
such cause as will promote the efficiency of the service.
5 C.F.R. § 731.201. This determination must be based
on whether the conduct of the appellants may
reasonably be expected to interfere with or prevent
effective performance in the positions applied for or

whether the conduct of the appellants may reasonably

-17-

be expected to interfere with or prevent effective
performance by the employing agency of its duties and
responsibilities. 5 C.F.R. § 731.202(a).

The Board in Caruso v. Office of Personnel

Management, MSPB Dkt. No. SFO77318210987, slip op.
at 7 (July 17, 1984), coneluded that in light of the
seriousness of strike participation, suitability
disqualification of such former air traffic controllers
for employment in positins having interrelationship with
FAA controllers was supported by _ preponderant
evidence and promoted the efficiency of the service.
The suitability findings in Caruso are binding on the
appellants in this class since the class is composed of
former air traffic controllers removed for 1981 strike
participation. Because of OPM's application of an
indefinite bar, that issue remains to be decided.

The undisputed record shows that on December 9,
1981, President Ronald Reagan issued a memorandum
to the Director of OPM. The memorandum reads as
follows:

The Office of Personnel Management has

established ‘the position that the former air

traffic controllers who were discharged for

-18-

participating in a strike against the Government
initiated on August 3, 1981 shall be debarred
from federal employment for a period of 3 years.
Upon deliberation I have concluded that such
individuals, despite their strike participation,
should be permitted to apply for federal
employment outside the scope of their former
employing agency.

Therefore, pursuant to my authority to
regulate federal employment, I have determined
that the Office of Personnel Management should
permit federal agencies to receive applications
for employment from these individuals and
process them according to established civil
service procedures. Your office should perform
suitability determinations with respect to all
such applicants according to established
standards and procedures under 5 C.F.R., Part
731.

After reviewing reports from the Secretary
of Transportation and Administrator of the

Federal Aviation Administration, I have further

determined that it would be detrimental to the

efficiency of operations at the Federal Aviation

Administration and to the safe and effective

performance of our national air traffic

controllers to return to employment with that
agency. Therefore, these former federal
employees should not be deemed suitable for
employment with the Federal Aviation

Administration.

I direct you to process their applications for

reemployment with the Federal Government

accordingly.

Thereafter, OPM Director Donald Devine issued
Federal Personnel Manual Bulletin No. 731-6, dated
Janury 6, 1982, quoting President Reagan's memorandum
in its entirety. In that bulletin, Devine noitified federal
agencies that, pursuant to his authority as Director of
the OPM, and by delegation of authority from the
President of the United States:

All persons whose employment was terminated

on account of the strike by air traffic

controllers, which began on or about August 3,

_9ne

1981, shall be determined not to be suitable for

reinstatement or appointment in any position in
the Federal Aviation Administration, because it
would be detrimentai to the efficiency of that
agency by interfering with or preventing its
effective performance of its duties and
responsibilities (C.F.R. 731.202(a)(2).

The undisputed record also shows that OPM has
since adhered to the policy enunciated in FPM Bulletin
731-6 concerning applicants for employment with the
FAA. Generally, OPM hs implemented that policy by
closing without action suitability referrals submitted
to OPM by FAA.

The parties have stipulated to the following facts:

1. OPM did not conduct a background investigation

on any of the appellants other than to determine
that each appellant had been removed from their
positions with the FAA for striking in August

1981.

2. OPM found each of the appellants to be
unsuitable based solely on a determination that
they had been removed from their positions with

the FAA for striking in August 1981.

Din

3. The above-stated actions were taken by OPM

based on its interpretation of the President's
directive of December 9, 1981.
The stipulated issues? to be resolved in this class
action are as follows:
1. Whether the Presidential directive of December
9, 1981, barring former air traffic controllers
fired for striking in August 1981 from
reemployment with the FAA _ imposed an
indefinite bar.
2. Whether OPM exceeded its authority in applying
the Presidential directive.
The appellants aver that an indefinite bar, in excess
of three years, is contrary to law. In this regard, the
appellants argue that the congressional intent of 5

U.S.C. § 7311, prohibiting federal employment for

3. Although appellants initially made general
prohibited personnel practice claims, in light of the
Stipulated issues, those claims, as they might relate to
OPM, are deemed abandoned.

4. Tht section was repealed on August 9, 1955

-22-

persons striking against the government, was to

continue the prior provision of 29 U.S.C. § 188, 4
which imposed a three-year Dar to reemployment with
the government.

Appellants have cited two legislative history items
in an attempt to show that 5 U.S.C. § 7311 is ambiguous.
Appellants' first legislative history reference is a letter
from the Chairman of the United States Civil Service
Commission to the Chairman of the Committee on the
Post Office and Civil Service which reads, in pertinent
part, as follows:

Section 305 [29 U.S.C. § 188] of the Labor

Management Relations Act forbids striking by

Government employees, requires the discharging

of an employee who strikes and the forfeiture

of his civil service status, if any, and makes

him ineligible for employment for 3 years.

For some years provisions similar to the proposed

legislation have appeared in appropriation acts

each year. The Commission believes that HR

65490 [now 5 U.S.C. § 7311] represents desirable

legislation, since it would put such legislation

into permanent form, and would also consolidate

-23-

and supersede the several statutes which now partially
cover the subject.

Appellants also point to a letter to the Committee
Chairman from William P. Rogers, Department of
Justice, indicating that 29 U.S.C. § 188 would remain
unchanged. Finally, appellants argue that Federal
Personnel Manual, Chapter 731, as well as 5 C.F.R. §
731.303, reflecting OPM's policy and practice of
imposing a maximum three-year bar, is in recognition
of congressinal intent in the 5 U.S.C. § 7311.

OPM counters that an_ indefinite debarment,
pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 7311, is not contrary to
congressional intent, and cites a Senate committee
report describing the effect of the enabiing legislation
(Public Law 84-330). That report makes no mention of
a debarment limit. OPM also points out that Public
Law 84-330 incorporated prior statutes dealing with
disloyalty and striking which imposed no time restriction
on debarments.

Where a matter of statutory interpretation is at
issue, the responsibility of the court is to begin with
the language of the statute and to hew closely to it.

Martel v. Department of Transportation, 735 Fed. Cir.

904, 507, n. 6 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 105 S.Ct. 432

(1984). Where a statute's scope is narrow, its langu
precise, and its application foreseeably mechanical,
would take a strong showing or rare and excepti
circumstances to convince the court that it should
be applied as written. Ciampa v. Secretary of Healt!

and Human Services, 687 F. 2d 518 (list Cir. 198:

(citing Howe v. Smith, 452 U.S. 473, 483 (1981)). Tw
circumstances in which the court may look beyond the
express language of a statute in order to give force:
to congressional intent are: where the statutory
language is ambiguous; and where a_ litera!
interpretation would thwart the purpose of the overa!
Statutory scheme or iead to an absurd result. Unitec

States v. Tex-Tow, Inc., 589 F.2d 1310 (7th Cir. 1978).

See also International Telephone and _ Telegrap!

Corporation v. General Telephoine and Electronic

Corporation, 518 F. 2d 913, 917-18 (9th Cir. 1975

Neither of these circumstances are shown to be present
in 5 U.S.C. § 7311.
In construing a statute not yet judicially interpreted,

the court is guided by the plain meaning of the language

as well as congressional intent. Janowski Vv.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters Local 710

Pension Fund, 673 F. 2d 931 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

103 S. Ct. 130 (1982). While the issue of the length of
a debarment has not been specifically decided by the
courts, the matter of debarment has been addressed.

In United States v. McDonald, 553 F. Supp. 1003 (S.D.

Tex. 1983), the court, in construing 5 U.S.C. § 7311,
held that the section providing that whoever violates
the enactment specifying an individusl may not "accept"
or "hold" a position in the United States government
if he participates in or asserts right to strike against
the Government is not void for vagueness. See also

United States v. Haggerty, 528 F. Supp. 1286 (D.C.

Colo. 1981). Finding that reinstatement would violate
5 U.S.C. § 7311, the court reversed an arbitration

award reinstating a striking postal employee. American

Postal Workers Union AFL-CIO vy. United States Postal

Service, 682 F. 2d 1280 (9th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

103 S.Ct. 1183 (1983). That the penalty [of removal of
a striking air traffic controller) includes a barrier to
reemployment as a controller is not unreasonable in

view of 5 U.S.C. § 7311. Schapansky, 735 F. 2d at 486.

The language of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 is precise, clearly

understandable, unambiguous, and unequivocal in

expressing A prohibition against Government
employment for an individual who participates in a
strike against the United States Government. Nor does
that section limit debarment to three years. Thus, an
examination of legislative history of that section is
unwarrantea. Courts do not turn to legislative history
to shed light on meaning of easily understandable and

unambiguous statutory anactments. Dow Chemical Co.

v. United States Environmental Protection Agency, 635

F. 2d 559 (6th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 939

(1981). See also Deluxe Check Printers, Inc. v. United

States, 5 Ct. Cl. 478 (1984). Generally, legisiative
history is an inadequate substitute for congressional

action. United States v. Devall, 704 F. 2d 1513 (5th

Cir. 1983). See also Aronsen v. Crown Zellerbach, 662

F. 2d 584 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 103 S.Ct. 1183

(1983).

Having found that 5 U.S.C. § 7311 does not impose
a maximum three-year debarment, I turn now to the
issue of President Reagan's December 9, 1981 directive
to OPM.

The Appellants aver that an indefinite debarment

-27-

exceeds the intent of the President's directive.
Appellants correctly point out that in paragraph one
of his directive, President Reagan noted that OPM had
established the position that a three-year debarment
was applicable to air traffic controllers terminated for
Striking. Appeilants essentially argue that because the
directive did not specifically provide that the three-
year bar should not be applied, it is reasonable to
conclude that such was the expected maximum period
of debarment, and that the main purpose of the
directive was to waive the three-year bar _ to
employment with federal agencies other than the FAA.

As with 5 U.S.C. § 7311, the President's directive
concerning the reemployment of striking air traffic
controllers, is explicit —- such former federal employees
should not be deemed suitable for employment with the
FAA. That statement was preceded in the directive
by the President's observation that such employment
would be detrimental to the efficiency of operations
at the FAA and to the safe and effective performance
of our national air traffic control system. I am guided
by the plain meaning of the President's language and

conclude, accordingly, that the President intended that

Striking air traffic controllers should not be reemployed
with the FAA. Thus, an indefinite debarment would
not be contrary to the President's directive.
Appellants argue that the President's directive, if
an indefinite debarment was’ intended, exceeds
Congressional authorization and is, therefore, invalid.

Jalil v. Hampton, 460 F.2d 923 (D.C. Cir.), Cert. denied,

409 U.S. 887 (1972).

The President may, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 3391,
(1) prescribe such regulations for the admission of
individuals into the civil service; (2) ascertain the
fitness of applicants as to age, health, character,
knowledge, and ability for employment sought; and (3)
appoint and prescribe the duties of individuals to make
inquiries for the purpose of that section. The courts
have held that Executive Orders concerning employment
within the competitive service are within’ the
President's constitutional and statutory authority
pursuant to 5 U.S.C. §§3301 and 3302. Vergara v.

Hampton, 581 F. 2d 1281 (7th Cir. 1978), cert. denied,

sub nom Vergara v. Chairman, Merit Systems Protection

Board, 441 U.S. 905 (1979). See also Jalii v. Hampton,

590 F. 2d 1120, 1123 n. 3 (D.C. Cir. 1978). In light of

9 U.S.C. § 3301, and the case law concerning the
President's authority with respect to employment, I
find that appellants' assertion that the President
exceeded his authority is without foundation.

OPM regulations concerning employment’ are
promulgated pursuant to delegation of authority by the
President pursuant to 5 U.S.C. §§ 1104 and 3301. In
accordance with his authority under those sections,
President Reagan's directive superseded the provisions
of OPM's reguiations limiting debarments to three years
(5 C.F.R. § 731.303), as they related to air traffic
controllers terminated for striking. Presidential
Proclamations and Orders have the same force and
effect of laws when issued pursuant to a statutory
mandate or delegation of authority from Congress.

Independent Meat Packers Assoc. v. Butz, 526 F. 2d

228 (8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 966 (1976).

An Executive Order of the President is to be accorded
the force and effect given to a statute enacted by

Congress. Farkas v. Texas Instrument, Inc., 375 F. 2d

629 (5th Cir.) cert. denied, 389 U.S. 977 (1967). The

promulgation of a national policy by the President is

in the nature of the promulgation of a regulation which

-30-

is binding on the executive department to which it is

directed. McArthur Mining Company v. United States,

167 Ct. Cl. 143 (1964). Cf. National Treasury

Employees Union v. Reagan, 653 F. 2d 239 (D.C. Cir.

1981) (President's imposition of a federal hiring freeze
was permissible.)

In the closing paragraph of the December 9, 1981
message to OPM, the President directed that any
applications for reemployment be processed in
accordance with the provisions of that message. The

court held in Schapansky, 725 F. 2d at 487, that the

President acted within his official responsibility in
ordering air traffie controllers to return to work by a
deadline, or be fired. Similarly, the President acted
within his official responsibility in barring striking air
traffie controllers from reemployment with FAA. An
executive department is normally required to implement
any Presidential policy directive, absent some explicit,

legally binding authority to the contrary. American

Federation of Government Employees, AFL-CIO v.

Brown, 481 F. Supp.. 711 (D.C. Cir. 1979), rev'd and

remanded (on other grounds), National Federation of

Federal Employees, Local 1622 v. Brown, 645 F. 2d

1017 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (also reversing National

Federation of Federal Employees, Local 1622 v. Brown,

481 F. Supp. 704 (D.D.C. 1979)). Because the
President's directive, as it relates to the appellants,
is not shown to be contrary to law, it is to be afforded
the force and effect given to a statute and is binding
on OPM.

OPM asserts that its. interpretation of the
President's message is in accordance with 5 U.S.C. §
7311, which provides that an individual may not accept
or hold a position in the Government of the United
States if he participates in a strike against the
Government of the United States.

OPM's decision to implement the President's
directive through the application of an_ indefinite
debarment is within the scope of that directive and is
not shown to be inconsistent with the language or
purpose of the directive. An _ administrative
interpretation of a Presidential Proclamation is
supported by a general presumption of validity.

Pancoastal Petroleum, Ltd. v. Udall, 348 F.2d 805 (D.C.

Cir. 1965). See also Kester v. Campbell, 652 F. 2d

13 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, sub nom Kester v.

-32-

Devine, 454 U.S. 1146 (1982) (in light of its presumed
expertise in interpreting executive orders charged to
its administration, an agency's interpretation is
reviewed with great deference). I find no basis for
concluding that OPM's interpretation of the President's
message is in error.

Based on the President's authority, pursuant to 5
U.S.C. § 3301, OPM's’ responsibility concerning
personnel management delegated to it by the President
pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 1104, the provisions of 5 U.S.C.
§ 7311, and the unambiguous instructions in the
President's message, I conclude that OPM's indefinite
debarment of the appellants from FAA employment, on
the basis of suitability, is not contrary to law, rule,
or regulation; is supported by preponderant evidence;
and is for such cause as will promote the efficiency
of the service.

DECISION

The OPM decision indefinitely debarring appellants
as unsuitable for FAA employment is AFFIRMED.
NOTICE
This decision is an initial decision of the Merit

Systems Protection Board and will become a final

-33-

decision of the Board on March 7, 1985 unlss a petition
for review is filed with the Board or the Board reopens
the case on its own motion. 5 C.F.R. §§ 1201.113 and
0117.

Any party to the proceeding, the Director of the
Office of Personnel Management, and the Special
Counsel may file a petition for review of this decision
with the Merit Systems Protection Board. The petition
for review must set forth objections to the initial
decision, supported by references to applicable laws or
regulations, and with specific reference to the record.

One original and two copies of the petition for
review must be filed with the Clerk of the Merit
Systems Protection Board, 1120 Vermont Avenue, N.
W., Washington, D. C. 20419, no later than the date
set forth above.

After providing an opportunity for response by other
parties, the Board may grant a petition for review
when it is established that:

(a) New and material evidence is available

that, despite due diligence, was not
available when the record was closed;

or

-34-

(b) The decision of the presiding official

is based upon an erroneous
interpretation of statute or regulation.

Any appellant adversely affected or aggrieved by the
Board's final decision may obtain judicial review, if
the Court has jurisdiction, by filing a petition with
the U. S. Court of Appeais for the Federal Circuit,
717 Madison Place, N. W., Washington, D. C. 20439.
Such a petition may not be filed while the case is
pending before the Board. To be timely, the petition
for judicial review must be received by the court within
30 days of the final Board decision. 5 U.S.C. §
7703(b)(1).

For the Board:

S. F. VESSER
Presiding Official

-35-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1918%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
