# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Berger v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1888%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 478 U.S. 1006

## Text

; (
No. 25-85 186 )

Supreme Court, U.S.
~ BILE D

| MAY 8 1986

JOSEPH F. SFANIOL, JR,
CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COU

OF THE f
he

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

MARC LEE BERGER,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MEL GRIMES, JR.

Attorney at Law

706 Forest Avenue

P.O. Box 37

Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Telephore: (408) 373-4338

Attorney for Petitioner
Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Should marijuana be excluded at trial
where the marijuana is discovered
during an illegal warrantless aerial
search and where the officers use

the discovery to obtain and execute

a search warrant; and

Did Petitioner have an objectively
reasonable expectation of privacy in
the area within 40-80 yards of his

rural home?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

OPINION BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

CONCLUSION

PAGE

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Fourth Amendment to the
United States Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution

28 United States Code §1257(3)

Oliver v. United States (1984)
SOG Uses 27G—e S08 Be CEe L73D0
80 L. Ed. 2d 214

People v. Sneed (1973)
32 Cal. App. 3d 535,
108 Cal. Rptr. 146

No. 85-

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

MARC LEE BERGER,
Petitioner,
Vv.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Resvondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

Petitioner, Marc Lee Berger,
respectfully prays that a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the majority
opinion of the California Court of Appeal

which affirmed the Superior Court's

\ holding that the challenged overflight

did not violate Petitioner's rights under
the United States Constitution.

OPINION BELOW

The Court of Appeal opinion in
this case was filed on December 23, 1985,
and was unpublished.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner invokes the
jurisdiction of this Court under 28 U.S.C.
§1257(3) on the ground that his rights
under the Fourth Amendment to the United
States Constitution were violated.

The California Court of Appeal
entered its order rejecting Petitioner's

Fourth Amendment claim on December 23,

1985. (Appendix at p. l).

The California Supreme Court
denied a hearing in this case on March 20,
1986. (Appendix at pd. 26). The instant

Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed

within 60 days of that order.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and
seizures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, supported
by Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place
to be searched, and the persons
or things to be seized.

U.S. Const. Amend. IV.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

During the summer of 1982,
rural areas of Monterey County,
California, were used by law enforcement
agencies as an area in which to train
officers in the skill of aerial
surveillance for marijuana cultivation
(RT 75:3; 258:12).2/ This area included
Petitioner's property, a ranch of

approximately 360 acres. Prior to the

l/ "RT" refers to the Reporter's
Transcript from the Preliminary
Examination which is contained in the
record in the Court of Appeal.

overflights, law enforcement had
uncorroborated information from an
unknown informant indicating that
marijuana was being grown in a greenhouse
in the area of Petitioner's property (RT
32:19; 47:12; 216:22).

After sighting what they
believed to be marijuana, officers made
several more investigative passes over
the property to confirm their suspicions
and to educate the officer-students
(RT 31:20; 64:25; 408:21; 413:9; 476:7).
On the basis of the information thus
obtained, a search warrant was obvained;
its execution yielded over 70 marijuana
plants (RT 377:7-379:13).

Petitioner's Fourth Amendment
claim was made in, and rejected by, both
the Superior Court and the Court of
Appeal. In his motion to suppress
evidence in Superior Court, Petitioner

stated, quoting People v. Sneed (1973)

"
2

pasa li ac
~ 4
oy a @
° = =" Se
= ce { * 84

> 7

: SS Fi
» ae us” & einer oe nor «

{

* 7 - ds a a

ramet Set See

Oe ine Mets wey
| AS eat fe

>
q

or 4¥ :

32 Cal. App. 3d 535, 108 Cal. Rptr. 146
[emphasis supplied]:

Though a person may have
consented to observations from
some sources and by some persons
and therefore cannot have a
reasonable expectation of privacy
as to those sources or persons,
he does not thereby forego his
Fourth Amendment protection as
to intrusions from all sources
and by all persons, and
particularly has not waived his
right to privacy as to government
agents.

The Superior Court denied the
motion to suppress on November 15, 1983.
See Appendix at p. 24.

In the Court of Appeal,
Petitioner raised his Fourth Amendment
claim at page 5 of his opening brief by
"contend[ing] that the warrantless aerial
surveillances of his residence and
adjacent property constitute[d] an
infringement on his right to be free from
governmental intrusions that violate the

Fourth Amendment of the United States

Constitution, made applicable to the

Ee ee SEE ee eee a

a Ee Ee Ee EOL aS REE ee eS LNG EGET pas” ORES Gn Monn MADE DS nme Bale ee

states through the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution..."

Petitioner contended that the
searched area in question was not an
"open field" within the meaning of

Oliver v. United States (1984) 466 U.S.

170, 104 S. Ct. 1735, 80 L. Ed. 2d 214,
and that therefore "that area is to
‘remain private'."

Petitioner's conviction was
affirmed on December 23, 1985. See

Appendix at p. l.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents an intriguing
issue, one of widespread importance to
the bench, bar, and law enforcement
nationwide. That issue is the inter-
relationship of the "fruit of the
poisonous tree" doctrine and the "good
faith" exception to the exclusionary rule.

In this case the marijuana was

discovered during an allegedly unlawful

ee, © nin | ell

De on

aerial search of the Petitioner's

property. Based on the information thus
obtained, officers obtained a search
warrant. Execution of the warrant turned
up contraband, including the very marijuana
plants first viewed (without a warrant)
from the air.

Assuming the aerial surveillance
constituted an illegal search, all
evidence obtained as a result thereof
should be excluded from trial as "fruit
or the poisonous tree." Will the result

be different when a search warrant is the

result of an illegal search (i.e., the
"poisoned fruit”)? Isn't reliance on the
"good faith" exception misplaced where
the challenged search is not the search
pursuant to the warrant, but rather the

original warrantless search (which directly

led to the warrant) ?
In this case both Petitioner

and Respondent are correct in their

Ne ome ei nina alent lilly ine

a, em eee

a ne Sle SS at Sh

OEE I GO ORIOL, Ee EE, II I eS et

assertions. Yes, the warrant was, in
fact, obtained as a direct result of an
illegal search; and yes, the officers
acted in good faith on a facially valid
search warrant. The tension thus
presented is clear, as is the need for
a definitive resolution.

The legality of the original
discovery is, of course, a key issue.
The property herein is situated in an
area that can be characterized as neither
Suburban nor as a vast expanse of ranch
or undeveloped woods. The instant
property is something between those poles,
as are many properties in this country to
which people move to avoid intrusions
into their privacy. The extent of the
privacy rights of such people is open to
question, as noted in the opinion of the
Court of Appeal at footnote 2 (Appendix

at p. 8) [Propriety of curtilage/non-

curtilage distinction in analysis of

reasonableness of aerial surveillance is
open to question].

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this
Court is respectfully requested to grant
a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment and opinion of the California
Court of Appeal.

Dated: April 30, 1986

MEL GRIMES; “JR.
Attorney for Petitioner

FR ES SF eT oe BER nos,

APPENDIX

RM ®RST a eee

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

THE PEOPLE,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
Vv.
MARC LEE BERGER,

Defendant and Appellant.

(A026332)

(Monterey County
Sup. Ct. No. MCR 4878)

A criminal defendant, convicted
by plea of cultivating marijuana and
possessing hashish, complains on appeai
that the evidence seized in a law
enforcement raid on defendant's ranch

should have been suppressed, because

| 4: 70D “te Se Soe ee
ee ©

| eee: een

te

ite
7 7
| * i

| x
1 ‘
| ; a.
| - :
‘ 7
i

~——=;4

sheriff's officers had made observations
on which a search warrant for defendant's
ranch was based by means of warrantless
airplane flights over the ranch, and
because television news crews accompanied
the officers who participated in the
execution of that search warrant.

The judgment is affirmed.

Statement of Facts

Testimony at the preliminary
hearing in this case revealed the
following facts.

On July 27 and 28, 1982,
Monterey County sheriff's officers, acting
on a tip, used airplanes to fly over
defendant's property, a 360-acre ranch
in the upper Carmel Valley, at estimated
altitudes of 500 feet to 2,000 feet above
the ground. The officers saw marijuana
plants growing there. After consultation
with a deputy district attorney, the

officers obtained a search warrant for

. - . 7

non
a ere om 3 re

a ee ne een ee ee ee Seer ee ee 7 pal es er =

defendant's property.

On July 29, 1982, numerous
officers went to defendant's property
to serve the search warrant. Film crews
from the American Broadcasting Company
accompanied the officers and filmed their
activities, which included the arrest of
defendant and two other persons who were
on the property. The officers found and
seized hashish which was on defendant's
person, cocaine which was in a jar under
an abandoned building, and over 70
marijuana plants which were growing in
three gardens connected to each other
and to defendant's trailer home by
footpaths.

Procedural History

An information filed August 15,
1983, accused defendant of cultivation
of marijuana (Health & Saf. Code, §11358),
possession of marijuana for sale (Health

& Saf. Code, §11359), and possession of

Ss i ee ee a ee ee -
a mM 7) = € = _

a iSes

concentrated cannabis (Health & Saf. Code,
§11357, subd. (a)). On November 15, 1983,
after consideration of the preliminary
hearing transcript and live testimony,

the superior court denied defendant's
motion for suppression of all the
evidence seized in the July 29, 1982,

raid on defendant's ranch.

On December 5, 1983, pursuant
to a plea bargain, defendant pleaded
guilty to the courts of the information
charging him with cultivation of marijuana
and possession of concentrated cannabis.
The trial court, thereafter, suspended
imposition of defendant's sentence and
placed him on probation for five years,
with conditions, including payment of a
$5,000 fine and service of 100 days in
the county jail. The count of the
information charging defendant with
possession of marijuana for sale was

dismissed pursuant to the plea bargain.

The trial court allowed the defendant to
remain free on bail pending the outcome
of this appeal.

Aerial Surveillance

Defendant contends that
officers looking at his ranch from the
air was a warrantless general search,
violative of the state and federal
Constitutions. Defendant relies
particularly on People v. Ciraolo (1984)
161 Cal.App.3d 1081, cert. granted
June 3, 1985, _U.S.__—__—s« (86 L.Ed. 2d

691, 105 S.Ct. 2672]; Dow Chemical Co. v.

U.S., by and through Gorsuch (E.D.Mich.

1982) 536 F.Supp. 1355; and People v.
Sneed (1973) 32 Cal.App.3d 535.

The People trace the development
of California decisional law on aerial
surveillance, and conclude that this body

1/

of law= overwhelmingly supports the

1/ People v. Sneed, supra, 32 Cal.App.3d
| 535 (reversing conviction based on

warrantless seizure after helicopter
surveillance); Dean v. Superior Court
(1973) 35 Cal.App.3d 112 (refusing to
mandate superior court to set aside
indictment based on warrantless seizure
after airplane surveillance); People v.
Superior Court (Stroud) (1974) Cal.
App.3d 836 (mandating superior court to
set aside its order suppressing evidence
seized without warrant after helicopter
surveillance); Burkholder v. Superior
Court (1979) 96 Cal.App.3d 421 (upholding
reasonableness of aircraft surveillance,
but mandating superior court to suppress
evidence seized in ensuing ground search
without warrant); People v. Sti. Amour
(1980) 104 Cal.App.3d 886 (affirming
conviction based on seizure pursuant to
search warrant after plane surveillance) ;
People v. Joubert (1981) 118 Cal.App.3d
637, Opinion after remand (1983) 140 Cal.
App.3d 946 (upholding reasonableness of
airplane surveillance, but remanding for
hearing on omissions from affidavit in
support of a search warrent); Tuttle v.
Superior Court (1981) 120 Val.App.3d 320,
cert. den. (1981) 454 U.S. 1033 [70 L.
Ed.2d 477, 102 S.Ct. 571] (upholding
reasonableness of aerial surveillance,
but prohibiting prosecution because of
improper nighttime service of search
warrant); People v. Egan (1983) 141 Cal.
App.3d 798 (reversing judgment of
dismissal entered after suppression of
evidence seized pursuant to search warrant
ensuing from aerial surveillance); People
v. Ciraolo, supra, 161 Cal.App.3d 1081

(reversing conviction based on seizure
pursuant to search warrant after airplane
surveillance).

reasonableness of such surveillance.

The seizure found to be

unreasonable in People v. Sneed, supra,

32 Cal.App.3d 535, was without warrant

and, therefore, presumptively unreasonable.
The seizures in this case were pursuant

to search warrant and, therefore,
presumptively reasonable. Sneed is thus
distinguishable from this case and does
not aid defendant.

In Dow Chemical Co. v. U.S., by

and through Gorsuch, supra, 536 F.Supp.

1355, the federal district court enjoined
aerial surveillance which the Environmental
Protection Agency ordered to investigate
suspected violations of the Clean Air Act.
However, reversal by the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals has stripped the district
court's opinion of its precedential

value. (Dow Chemical Co. v. United

States (1984) 749 F.2d 307, cert. granted
June 10, 1985, U.S. [86 L.Ed.2d

People v. Ciraolo, supra, 161

Cal.App.3d 1081, is aiso distinguishable
from this case. The aerial observation
under attack in Ciraolo was of "the back
yard of a Santa Clara home." (Id., at
p. 1085.) The Ciraolo court uses a
classical curtilage analysis to conclude
that an urban backyard enjoys consti-
tutional protection from police
overflights.2/ (Id. at pp. 1087-1090;
cf. Oliver v. United States (1984) 466

U.S. 170 [80 L.Ed.2d 214, 224-225, 104
S.Ct. 1735, 1741-1742] [cited by both
parties].) The geographical setting in
this case, a ranch, is significantly

different.

2/ Whether a distinction between
curtilage and noncurtilage areas is an
appropriate approach from which to
analyze the reasonableness of aerial
surveillance is open to question. (See
United States v. Bassford (D.Me. 1985)

601 F. Supp. 1324, 1331.)

- » « The appellate courts of
this state have consistently upheld
aerial surveillance from lawful altitudes
over rural and relatively unpopulated

property." (People v. Egan, supra, 141

Cal.App.3d at p. 806.) We are in
agreement with these holdings.

Defendant's ranch was
unquestionably rural property. Therefore,
safety-conducted airplane flights at
altitudes of 500 feet or more over the
ranch surface were lawful. (Pub. Util.
Code, §21403; 14 C.F.R. §91.79, subd.
(c).) The evidence before the trial
court in this case abundantly supported
a finding that the flights of the officers
were at lawful altitudes. Although one
defense witness testified that an
airplane circled over defendant's ranch
as low as two or three hundred feet above
the top of a hill, that witness could not

identify the plane in question as being

aioe
a ©

Aa

2
re te

| ol py TPT

10

similar to either of the airplanes used
by the officers, and conceded, "There is
[sic] planes flying over there all the
CAMP whe «¢ ”

We conclude that the aerial
surveillance in this case violated no
constitutional proscription.

We are aware that cases
involving attacks on the constitutionality
of aerial surveillance are now pending
before the California Supreme Court , 2/
but even should it rule that aerial
surveillance such as occurred in this
case violates the state or the federal
Constitution, that determination would
not compel suppression of evidence or

reversal of defendant's conviction.

3/ People v. Mayoff (1983) 150 Cal.App.
3d 7 g. granted March 22, 1984, Crim.
23608); People v. Cook (1984) 151 Cal.
App. 3d {SOT the. granted April 19, 1984,
Crim. 23651); People v. Agee (1984) 153
Cal.App.3d 1169 (hg. granted May 24,
1984, Crim. 23738).

11

Inasmuch as the search and
seizures of which defendant complains,
and the crimes of which he was convicted,
all took place after June 8, 1982,
article I, section 28, subdivision (d)
(the “truth-in-evidence” provision) of
the California Constitution applies to
this case. (People v. Smith (1983) 34
Cal.3d 251, 262.) Under truth-in~-evidence,
there are no independent state grounds
for suppression of evidence, and only the
federal exclusionary rule applies. (In

re Lance W. (1985) 37 Cal.3a 873, 890.4/

Under the federal exclusionary rule,
evidence seized in objective good faith
reliance on an invalid search warrant is

admissible. (United States v. Leon (1984)

4/ In his opening brief, defendant makes
a strenuous argument for exclusion of
evidence on independent state grounds in
this case. In re Lance W. which was
filed after defendant filed his opening
brief, refutes all of defendant's
argument, as we see no more of it in

defendant's reply brief.

12

__U.S.. —s—s- (82 L.Ed@.2d 677, 104 S.Ct.
3405].) The rule announced in Leon
applies in all federal prosecutions,
through the supervisory power of the
United States Supreme Court over the

federal trial courts. (See Weeks v.

United States (1914) 232 U.S. 383 [58

L.Ed. 652, 34 S.Ct. 341].) The same
federal rule applies to state criminal
prosecutions as well, through the
operation of the Fourteenth Amendment.

(Massachusetts v. Sheppard (1984)

U.S. [82 L.Ed.2d 737, 104 S.Ct. 3424];

cf. Mapp v. Ohio (1961) 367 U.S. 643, 655.)

This rule operates retroactively, to allow
admission of evidence seized before the

rule was announced. (United States v.

Henderson (9th Cir. 1984) 746 F.2d 619,

625, cert. granted Oct. 15, 1985 [ L.Ed.

2d , 106 S.Ct. 225]; United States v.

Hendricks (9th Cir. 1984) 743 F.2d 653,

cert. den. (1985) B.8s [84 L.Ed.

= +.

etna ek innair

13

2d 382, 105 S.Ct. 1362).)

People v. Ciraolo, supra, 161

Cal.App.3d at pp. 1085-1086, holds that
the rule announced in Leon cannot anply
when a search warrant is invalid because
that warrant is based on information
which is the fruit of a warrantless
overflight which constitutes an unconsti-
tutional search, relying on Segura v.

United States (1984) 3.8. [82 L.

Ed.2d 599, 104 S.Ct. 3380]. This holding
is incorrect. It misperceives the reason
why the Segura court did not apply Leon.

In Segura v. United States the

court did not apply Leon because there
was no need to do so. The search warrant
pursuant to which officers seized
evidence in Segura, unlike the search
warrant in Ciraolo, was valid, and the
United States Supreme Court logically
concluded that the Fourth Amendment did

not require suppression of evidence

14

discovered and seized during execution of
the valid warrant. On the other hand,
when a search warrant is invalid, Leon
can apply in a variety of situations
which leads to the invalidity. In Leon
itself, the warrant was invalid because
unsupported by probable cause. In

Massachusetts v. Sheppard, supra,

U.S. , the warrant was invalid because
of a completely inaccurate description of
the evidence to be seized. In United

States v. Henderson, supra, 746 F.2d 619,

the warrant was arguably invalid, if

United States v. Karo (1984) oa

[82 L.Ed. 530, 104 S.Ct. 3296]
(limiting the use of beeper surveillance;

cf. United States v. Knotts (1983) 460

U.S. 276) were to be given retroactive
effect.

In this case, if the warrantless
overflights of defendant's ranch were

unreasonable searches, the fruits of

15

those unconstitutional activities could
not support a valid search warrant, and
the issuing magistrate would have made a
mistake by issuing an invalid warrant.

(See People v. St. Amour, supra, 104 Cal.

App.3d at p. 891.) Under these circum-
stances, in applying Leon, a reviewing
court would need to determine whether

the officers who raided defendant's ranch
were behaving reasonably in relying on
such an invalid warrant. Leon formulates
the test of reasonableness as follows:
“whether a reasonably well-trained
officer would have known that the search
was illegal despite the magistrate's

authorization." (United States v. Leon,

supra, U.S. at p._, fn. 23 [82 L.Ed.

2d at p. 698, fn. 23, 104 S.Ct. at p.
3421, fn. 23).) As of July, 1982, when
the search in this case took place, a
reasonably well-trained officer might have

known the following.

16

Such an officer could have been
reasonably confident that a search warrant
based on information obtained by means of
an unreasonable search from an airplane
or helicopter was no good. (See People

v. St. Amour, supra, 104 Cal.App.3d at p.

891.) He or she would also have known

that in recent years appellate court
decisions had consistently upheld the
reasonableness of aerial surveillance
conducted from lawful altitudes. If the
officer were unusually knowledgeable, he

|! or she would know that the then most

f recent published appellate court discussion

of the constitutionality of aerial

surveillance in California, People v.

Joubert, supra, 118 Cal.App.3d 637, had

made the following pronouncements.
"({A)Jnyone who grows marijuana in the open
today does so at the risk of being spotted
by flying police officers." (Id., at p.

646.) "“{A]nyone who grows marijuana in

” ey
ia aaa a Bia

17

an open field does not have an objectively
reasonable expectation of privacy insofar
as overflight at lawful altitudes." (Id.,
at p. 647.) The officer might have known

that a more recent case, Tuttle v. Superior

Court, supra, 120 Cal.App.3d 320, 327, had
disposed of the aerial surveillance issue
without discussion, in a single sentence,
saying, "The contention by petitioners that
the aerial surveillance violated
petitioners’ reasonable expectations of

privacy is without merit,” citing Joubert

and St. Amour. The officer might have

known that in United States v. DeBacker

(W.D.Mich. 1980) 493 F.Supp. 1078 the
federal district court upholds a seizure

of marijuana pursuant to search warrants
issued on the basis of information obtained
by state police officers flying in a plane
at an altitude of 50 feet above a farm.

The officer might have known that in

United States v. Allen (9th Cir. 1980)

18

675 F.2d 1373, cert. den. (1981) 454 U.S.
833 (70 L.Ed.2d 112, 102 S.Ct. 133], the
federal circuit court upholds an aerial
Surveillance from a Coast Guard

helicopter which led to interdiction
(without warrant) of an amphibious
operation to import marijuana on the
Oregon coast. The officer might have
known that the seizure condemned in People

v. Sneed, supra, 32 Cal.App.3d 535, was

not only without warrant, but resulted
from observations from a helicopter
hovering 20 to 25 feet above Sneed's
backyard. (Id., at pp. 540, 542.) In
short, a reasonably weli-trained officer
would be fully iaemehith ih in believing in
the validity of the search warrant issued
in this case, and the more knowledgeable
that officer was, the more justified his
or her belief would be.

In accord with Leon, the trial

court in this case committed no error in

19

refusing to suppress evidence, even if the
California or United States Supreme Court
were to announce a new rule compelling

the conclusion that the officers acted

in violation of the federal Constitution
in flying over defendant's ranch.

Presence of ABC Camera Crews

Defendant contends that the
presence of news crews at the time the
officers searched his ranch violated Penal
Code section 15302/ and compels suppression
of the evidence then seized. Defendant
cites no case law in support of this
contention.

The People make a multiphase,
“even if" argument, as follows. Section
1530 was not violated, the presence of

news cameras is nothing to complain about

5/ Penal Code section 1530 provides:
"A search warrant may in all cases be
served by any of the officers mentioned
in its directions, but by no other
person, except in aid of the officer on
his requiring it, he being present and
acting in its execution."

~

otis lo ume -eenebies $89 32408 of -eniagta=

-

‘ me one ew

toa on

a; PeIae PAC bak Lt Ol Sy Bsr eS

+ oa 7
ihe .

a Fs > rs — 4 @ Wp ’ } a > - é
; i le, Soh, et kes eg) ea LL SF |e pene . fit ELBE? eS

es
tie

<T r P - ‘ a * = ~- +
“ay Te * i * Let Py Le rae GBZAs

- ee = a ~~

‘a

a x po kit ASC eis 2 a

1g

73

ig x * : a

BY

Te

ij

i .
a * r AAG : ha F
7,

20

because it benefited defendant, serving
to deter potential unlawful behavior by
the officers. Even if the violation
worked to defendant's detriment, rather
than his benefit, it would not rise to
constitutional stature. Even if the
violation did achieve constitutional
stature, it had no causal relationship
| with the seizures about which defendant
complains.

The first phase of the People's
multiphased argument is enough. Penal
Code section 1530 prohibited the news
crews from participating in the service
of the search warrant. Defendant concedes,
"No claim can be made here that ABC News
provided even the slightest bit of
assistance to the executing officers."
Thus, defendant's own concession
establishes the lack of merit to his
contention that the presence of the news

crews, in and of itself, constituted a

21

violation of statute.

x et

The judgment is affirmed.

Holmdahl, J.

I CONCUR:

Elkington, J.

22

People v. Berger
AO 55332

Concurring Opinion

Given the overriding circum-
stance that the constitutional validity
of aerial overflights is currently under
review in our state and federal high
courts (see, e.g., People v. Mayoff
(Crim. 23608, hg. granted March 22, 1984);
People v. Cook (Crim. 23651, hg. granted
April 19, 1984); People v. Agee (Crim.
23738, hg. granted May 24, 1984); People
v. Ciraolo (1984) 161 Cal.App.3d 1081,
cert. granted June 3, 1985, _—U.S.
[86 L.Ed.2d 691]), considerations of
judicial economy alone justify deferral
herein, as the parties expressly
acknowledged during argument. Pending
further authoritative enlightenment, it
would appear that the challenged search
meets constitutional muster under existing

controlling precedents. (See United

23

States v. Leon (1984) 468 U.S. [82
L.Ed.2d 677, 104 S.Ct. 3405], rehg. den.,
82 L.Ed.2d 942; In re Lance W. (1985) 37

Cal.3d 873, 890.)
Accordingly, I concur in the

result.

Racanelli, P. J.

FILED

Dec 23 1985

Court of Appeal - First Dist.
Ron D. Barrow, Clerk

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

24

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF MONTEREY

Date: November 15, 1983

Hon. Robert A. O'Farrell, Judge;
, Bailiff;
, Deputy Clerk;
, Reporter

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Plaintiff,
vs.

SAUDJIE SHOSHANNA BERGER and
MARC LEE BERGER,

Defendants.

No. MCR 4878

Minute Order: ,
DECISION RE MOTION PURSUANT
TO SEC. 1538.5 PENAL CODE

Appearances: None
Motion to Suppress under

Section 1538.5 Penal Code is denied.

25

John Northcoat

Deputy District Attorney
1200 Aguajito Road
Monterey, CA 93940

Richard Draper, Esq.
544 Pacific Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94133

Frank R. Ubhaus, Esq.
2 North Second Street
#1300

San Jose, CA 95113

26

ORDER DENYING REVIEW
AFTER JUDGMENT BY THE COURT OF APPEAL
lst District, Division l

No. A026332

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN BANK

PEOPLE

Vv.

MARC LEE BERGER

Appellant's petition for review
DENIED.

Bird, C.J., Broussard, J. and
Reynoso, J., are of the opinion the

petition should be granted.

Bird

Chief Justice

27

Supreme Court

FILED

Mar 20 1986

Laurence P. Gill, Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1888%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
