# Reply Brief — Utah v. Ute Indian Tribe

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1851%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 994

## Text

No. 85-1821

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anite
OCTOBER TERM, 1985

ig

JOM 13 199g:

State Or UTAH, DUCHESNE County, UTaH, UmntaH County, UTAH,
ROOSEVELT City and DUCHESNE City, UTAH

Ws

Petitioners,

Ute INDIAN TRIBE,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF

Davip L. WILKINSON

Utah Attorney General
DALLIN W. JENSEN
Solicitor General

MICHAEL M. QUEALY

R. DouGLas CREDILLE
Assistants Attorney General
1636 West North Temple
Suite 300

Salt Lake City, Utah 84116
(801) 583-4446

Attorneys for the State of
Utah

A. RAYMOND RANDOLPH
Counsel of Record
Special Assistant
Attorney General for the
State of Utah

RANDOLPH & TRUITT
1752 N Street, N.W.
Suite 801

Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-8100

Tom D. Tosin

Tobin Law Offices, P.C.

422 Main Street

Winner, South Dakota 57580
(605) 842-2500

DENNIS L. DRANEY
Duchesne County Attorney
Roosevelt City Attorney
P.O. Box 206

Duchesne, Utah 84021

Mark W. NAsH

Uintah County Attorney
State and County Building
Vernal, Utah 84078

ROLAND URESK
Duchesne City Attorney
Roosevelt, Utah 84066

Attorneys for the County
and City Petitioners

PRESS OF BYRON 8S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

‘Stat ‘en JR.

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128
(SB TED neces cxecnsvieosieonsidcalanaeeeanneakamnirniaiadas 2, 3, 6
Andrus v. Utah, 446 U.S. 500 (1980) — ......... ee eeeeeeee 3
DeCouteau v. District County Court, 416 U.S. 966
CEDTO) | ncreiceconicnsiiaiaenaanaiemmabagaas 1
Mattz v. Arnett, 409 U.S. 819 (1972) ...........eeeeeeees 1

Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath
Indian Tribe, __U.S.__,, 105 S.Ct. 3420
CRUD wcsssvsssnsscensetieemmmmascebaieauesameas aaa 3

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 423 U.S. 1047

CRTED vanicsnsssseessiesinscelaaeaiialaniabiianielin 1
Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351 (1962) 1
Solem v. Bartlett, 460 U.S. 1035 (1983) _ ............... 1
Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) .................. 3, 4, 6
Uintah and White River Bands of Ute Indians v.

United States, 1389 Ct. Cl. 1 (1957) ................04. 6, 7

Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reser-
vation v. United States, 14 Ind. Cl. Comm. 707

(ROTI xnicsnsnnsscinciossinbieaannciacdectaataaaiianianne tees 3
STATUTES:
USC: OO sia ee ee 1
Oe TE. OA AITO | aeccccinciccsin a aes 2
OO Vas. Ol6, Ee cic 4
46 Stat. 1092, Act of Feb. 13, 1931 ...........eeeeee 6

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIAL:

S. Rep. No. 1632, 83d Cong., 2d Sess. (1954) ..... 1

Hearings on S. 3532 and H.R. 9398, 83d Cong., 2d
: TA -ckccialbenenetenss 1

1. In light of the Tribe’s response, Petitioners sug-
gest that it may be appropriate for the Court to invite
_the United States to express its views in this case.
Since Seymour, the Court has issued such orders prior
to granting certiorari in each of the reservation
boundary cases it has decided.’

The court below held that the Tribe’s original 4-
million acre reservation had not been diminished to
a 1-million acre reservation as Petitioners had ar-
gued.? But in 1954, the Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah
and Ouray Reservation*—the Respondent here—stated
in congressional hearings that its reservation only
“embraces an area of some 1,065,000 acres... .’’* Re-
lying on that representation,’ Congress enacted the

1 See the Orders in Solem v. Bartlett, 460 U.S. 1035 (1983);
Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 423 U.S. 1047 (1976); DeCouteau
v. District County Court, 416 U.S. 966 (1974); Mattz v. Arnett,
409 U.S. 819 (1972); Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351,
352 (1962).

2 The original Uncompahgre and Uintah reservations, which
the court of appeals held still exist undiminished, contained ap-
proximately 4 million acres. Pet. 2. What had been considered
the Tribe’s reservation until this case comprised approximately
1 million acres of trust lands. Pet. 5.

’ The Tribe’s reservation today, whatever its exterior bound-
aries may be, is called the ‘Uintah and Ouray Reservation” and
the respondent Tribe is officially designated the “Ute Indian
Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation” (e.g. 25 U.S.C.
§ 671). See Pet. App. 118a-114a.

‘ Hearings on S. 3532 and H.R. 9398 before the Subcommittee
of the Senate Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, 83d
Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (June 9, 1954) (unpublished) (testimony of the
Chairman of the Tribe’s Business Committee). See note 8 infra.

5 See S. Rep. No. 1632, 83d Cong., 2d Sess. 6 (1954), which
was part of the record in this case (L.D. 193).

Ute Partition Act (68 Stat. 868, as amended, 25
U.S.C. §§ 677-677aa), dividing the Tribe’s assets be-
tween its full-blood and mixed-blood members.

When a case involving the Ute Partition Act
reached this Court, the United States also took the
position, consistent with the Tribe’s submission to
Congress but contrary to the decision here, that the
Tribe’s reservation consisted of trust lands*—some 1
million acres.’ As the Petition points out (at p.9), this
Court relied on the representations of the Tribe® and
the United States and stated in Affiliated Ute Citizens
v. United States, 406 U.S. 128, 141 (1972), that “There
is, and can be, no dispute that the United States holds
title to the land, including mineral interests, consti-
tuting the Uintah and Ouray Reservation.”’ 406 U.S.
at 141. The Court’s statement is, as the Petition fur-
ther indicated, directly contradicted by the decision
below.

Thus, prior to the instant case, this Court, the
United States and the Tribe itself had taken the po-
sition that the Ute Tribe’s reservation consisted of 1
million acres, not the 4 million acres encompassed
within the boundaries of the original Uncompahgre
and Uintah reservations, as the court below held. But
the Tribe, in opposing certiorari, says not a word

6 See Brief for the United States and Brief for the Securities
and Exchange Commission as Amicus Curiae in Reyos, at p.28,
No.70-78, October Term 1971, in Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United
States, 406 U.S. 128 (1972).

7 See note 2 supra.

®The Hearings (note 4 supra) were part of the record in
Affiliated Ute Citizens. See Brief for the United States, note 6
supra, at p.33 n.28.

about Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States. It fails
to confront the federal government’s representations
to this Court in Andrus v. Utah, 446 U.S. 500 (1980),
that the original Uncompaghre reservation does not
exist and has not existed since 1897. See Pet. 9; Pet.
App. 366a-369a. And it does not, indeed cannot, ex-
plain why—if the decision below is correct—the Tribe
was entitled to recover damages, as it did, against
the United States in 1965 on the basis of its claim
that the Uncompahgre Band of Utes “have lost the
reservation set aside for their use,’ that the federal
government “refused to provide any reservation for
said Indians,” and that the government did not main-
tain the original ‘‘Uncompahgre Reservation in Utah
as a reservation.”® See Pet. 10-11 n.22; Oregon Dep’t
of Fish & Wildlife v. Klamath Indian Tribe, __ U.S.
—, 105 S.Ct. 3420, 3432 (1985).

Petitioners therefore respectfully suggest that the
Court may wish to invite the United States to file a
brief expressing its view in this case.

2. The Tribe does not question that at least 18,000
non-Indians live in the disputed area while the total
membership of the Tribe is only 1,500. See Pet. 10.
The Tribe says, however, that one area—the disputed

® See the Tribe’s Petition, at p.7, in Ute Indian Tribe of the
Uintah and Ouray Reservation v. United States, No. 349, 14
Ind. Cl. Comm. 707 (1965).

10 The Tribe also says that Petitioners have attempted to ‘“‘re-
shape” the decision below.“‘from a decision that addresses land
status to one that impacts people.” Brief in Opp., at 3. One of
the fundamental errors of the court of appeals is that it never
considered the impact on people, which it was required to do.
See Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 471-72 & n.12 (1984), and
the Petition in this case, at p.21.

4

portion of the original Uncompaghre reservation—is
thinly populated. Brief in Opp., at 3. What the Tribe
does not explain is why this area, which has not been
treated as a reservation since 1897, should now be
deemed such when there is no evidence that even a
single tribal member lives there, when there is not
even one acre of Indian land there", when in the
words of Solem the area “has long since lost its In-
dian character’”’ (465 U.S. at 471).

On the other hand, it is not true that this area
plays no “significant role in the lives of the non-
Indian residents of the Unita Basin’’ (Brief in Opp.,
at p.3). The record lends no support to such an as-
sertion and, to the contrary, shows that the area con-
tains major mining and other industrial interests,
including those involving gilsonite. See Pet. App. 22a-
23a; Joint Ex. 479; and Appendix C & D, to the Supp.
Brief filed by Petitioners Counties and Cities in the
court below. The area, moreover, is also part of the
Vernal Grazing District established pursuant to the
Taylor Grazing Act, 48 U.S.C. 315, et seqg.2 Yet if,
as the court below held, the area should now be con-
sidered an Indian reservation, all grazing permits
would have to be cancelled. The Taylor Grazing Act
specifically provides that the Secretary of the Interior
may not establish grazing districts in ‘Indian reser-
vations.” 43 U.S.C. § 315.

This is a matter of major significance. Indeed, when
Congress extended the Tribe’s reservation in 1948 to

11 See the map lodged with this Court (Pet. 2 n.1) (Ex. I-1B).
The map shows that there are substantial amounts of State and
private lands within this area.

12 See the map lodged with the Court (Pet. 2 n.1), which de-
picts the “District Boundary”’ in gray lines.

encompass part of the former Uncompahgre reser-
vation—the ‘Hill Creek Extension’’"—it carefully
“reserved ... for the benefit of and use of grazing
district permittees, a free right-of-way for trailing and
watering purposes” through the newly-added portion
of the reservation to the area in dispute here. (Pet.
App. 362a). Under the decision below, however, those
“stock driveways” (Pet. App. 362a) will no longer
lead to Taylor Grazing Act areas, but to an Indian
reservation where grazing permits will not be valid
despite the absence of any Indian presence in the

region.

8. The Tribe contends that the ‘‘public domain”
language in the 1894 Act (Uncompahgre) and the 1902
Act (Uintah) had no effect because two later stat-
utes—the 1897 Act (Uncompahgre) and the 1905 Act
(Uintah)—were the operative legislation and these
contained no such language (Brief in Opp., at 14-15).
Not even the court below adopted this argument with
respect to the original Uncompahgre reservation. As-
suming the restored-to-the-public domain provision of
the 1894 Act was implemented by the 1897 Act,® the

18 See Pet. 4-5 & n.11. The reservation status of the Hill Creek
Extension is not at issue.

4 This is a further reason why the United States should be
called upon to express its views in this case. The issuance of
Taylor Grazing Act permits by the Department of the Interior,
which it has been doing for more than 40 years (Pet. App. 362a),
is flatly inconsistent with the decision of the court below that
the area is part of an Indian reservation.

16 There has never been any doubt on this score. The United
States, for example, answered the Tribe’s petition in the Indian
Claims Commission (see note 9 supra) by stating that with re-
spect to the original Uncompahgre reservation—which the Tribe

court’s point instead was that Solem v. Bartlett, su-
pra, altered the settled rule that such language con-
stituted a clear and unequivocal expression of
disestablishment. See Pet. App. 1la-12a. As discussed
in the Petition, it is on that point that en banc ma-
jority erred and rendered a decision in conflict with
the decisions of this Court and the lower federal
courts. See Pet. 14-21.'*

4. The Tribe’s remaining argument appears to be
that because the Tribe was compensated for lands
within the original Uintah reservation that, in 1905,
were reserved for a national forest,!” this shows that
the reservation was not disestablished. Brief in Opp.,
at 18. To the contrary, it shows instead that the
reservation ceased to exist.

The Tribe was compensated twice for the 1 million
acres that is now a national forest, first pursuant to
the Act of February 13, 1931, 46 Stat. 1092, in the

itself alleged had been disestablished—the Tribe ‘“‘suffered no
loss by the restoration to the public domain . . . of the unallotted
lands within the area. ...” Answer of the United States, at
p.17 (March 9, 1954), in Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah and
Ouray Reservation v. United States, note 9 supra.

16 In regard to the original Uintah reservation, the legislative
history clearly shows, as the Petition discusses (Pet. 25-27), that
the 1905 Act implemented the 1902 Act. The Tribe has no re-
sponse. Moreover, the Court of Claims—accepting the Tribe’s
arguments—held that the 1905 Act implemented the 1902 Act
and that pursuant to the 1902 Act allotments were made to
tribal members ‘“‘and surplus lands (with the exception of forest
reserve and reclamation withdrawals and certain minimal en-
tries) were restored to the public domain. .. .”’ Uintah and White
River Bands of Ute Indians v. United States, 139 Ct. Cl. 1, 22
(1957).

17 See Pet., at 28-29.

4

7

amount of $1.2 million. Dissatisfied with that pay-
ment, the Tribe sued the United States in the Court
of Claims and—again contradicting the decision below
and its position here—claimed “‘just compensation for
973,777 acres of the former Uintah Indian Reserva-
tion in Utah, taken by the United States on July 14,
1905, by incorporation into the Uintah National For-
est.”” Uintah and White River Bands of Ute Indians
v. United States, supra, 139 Ct. Cl. at 2-5 (emphasis
added). The Court of Claims in that case awarded the
Tribe an additional $879,000 plus interest from 1905
on the basis, in part, that the area had formerly been
part of the Tribe’s reservation; indeed, throughout its
findings of fact, the Court of Claims referred to the
“former Uintah Indian Reservation” (e.g. 189 Ct. Cl.
at 28, 56, 64, 69, 70).

Thus, although “[tJhere is, and can be, no dispute’’®
that the Tribe’s reservation consists only of trust
lands, the court below ruled to the contrary and in
doing so has rendered a decision warranting review
by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and the reasons stated
in the Petition, the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be granted. In addition, it may be appropriate
for the Court to invite the United States to express
its views in this case.

184 ffiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, supra, 406 U.S. at
141.

DAVID L. WILKINSON

Utah Attorney General
DALLIN W. JENSEN
Solicitor General

MICHAEL M. QUEALY

R. DOUGLAS CREDILLE
Assistants Attorney General
1636 West North Temple
Suite 300

Salt Lake City, Utah 84116
(801) 533-4446

Attorneys for the State of Utah

A. RAYMOND RANDOLPH
Counsel of Record
Special Assistant
Attorney General for the
State of Utah
RANDOLPH & TRUITT
1752 N Street, N.W.
Suite 801
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-3100

Dated: June 13, 1986

Respectfully submitted,

Tom D. ToBIN

Tobin Law Offices, P.C.

422 Main Street

Winner, South Dakota 57580
(605) 842-2500

DENNIS L. DRANEY
Duchesne County Attorney
Roosevelt City Attorney
P.O. Box 206

Duchesne, Utah 84021

MarK W. NASH

Uintah County Attorney
State and County Building
Vernal, Utah 84078

ROLAND URESK
Duchesne City Attorney
Roosevelt, Utah 84066

Attorneys for the County
and City Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1851%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
