# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Azima v. Florida Department of Professional Regulation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1793%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1183

## Text

B5°1757

CASE NO.

Suprenie Court, U.S.
FILED

APR 23 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, i985

ALI A. AZIMA, M.D., PETITIONER,
v.

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION,
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS,
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE FIRST DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

BERNARD H. DEMPSEY, JR., ESQ.

(Counsel of Record)

FERDINAND M. ROMANO,

ESQ. —

RICHARD LEE BARRETT, ESQ.

DEMPSEY & GOLDSMITH,
Suite 500, Day Building

605 East Robinson Street
Post Office Box 1980
Orlando, Florida 32802

(305) 422-5166

Attorneys for Petitioner,
ALI A. AZIMA, M.D.

PA.

CASE NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

ALI A. AZIMA, M.D., PETITIONER,
Vv.

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION,
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS,
RESPONDENT.

PETITLON FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE FIRS? DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

BERNARD H. DEMPSEY, JR., ESQ.
FERDINAND M. ROMANO, ESQ.
RICHARD LEE BARRETT, ESQ.
DEMPSEY & GOLDSMITH, P.A.
Suite 500, Day Building

605 East Robinson Street

Post Office Box 1980

Oriando, Florida 32802

(305) 422-5166

Attorneys for Petitioner,
ALI A. AZIMA, M.D.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Section 458.331(1)(t),
Florida Statutes, is violative of the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendinent to
the United States Constitution because it is
so vague that it fails to provide physicians
with adequate notice of what medical malprac-
tice standards will be applied in administra-
tive proceedings to determine whether a medi-
cal license may be suspended.

r Whether a statute which author-
izes a state administrative agency to revoke
a physician's license to practice medicine
comports with the due process provision of
the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution when that statute requires only
that, as a threshold standard of proof, there
exist some competent substantial evidence of
a violation and the level of that competent

Substantial evidence is not substantially

greater than that required to support conven-

tional administrative action.

-ii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINION BELOW
JURISDICTION
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary of Findings
and Recommendations

B. Summary of Issues
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. SECTION 458.331(1)(t), FLA.
STAT. , IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL
BECAUSE IT LACKS REASON-
ABLY CLEAR GUIDELINES SO AS
TO PREVENT OFFICIAL ARBI-
TRARINESS IN THE REVOCATION
OF CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECT-
ED PROPERTY INTEREST AND HAS
BEEN APPLIED IN A MANNER
WHICH IS SO VAGUE THAT IT
DENIED PETITIONER ADEQUATE
NOTICE OF THE STANDARDS FOR
ENFORCEMENT.

II. THE DECISIONS BELOW ARE BASED
ON A THRESHOLD STANDARD OF
SUBSTANTIAL COMPETENT EVI~
DENCE WHICH STANDARD IS VIOLA-
TIVE OF PETITIONER'S RIGHT TO

“$i i-

16

16

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont'd. )

DUE PROCESS BECAUSE IT HAS
RESULTED IN THE SUSPENSION OF
HIS PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL
LICENSE IN THE ABSENCE OF THE
MINIMALLY SUFFICIENT QUANTUM
OF PROOF NECESSARY UNDER THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF TRL
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

SECTION I.
Opinion of the District
Court of Appeal, First Dis-
trict, State of Florida.

SECTION II.
Final Order of the Board of
Medical Examiners, State of
Florida.

SECTION III.
Text of Statutes, Regulations
and Constitutional Provisions
Which the Case Involves.

§390.001(7), Fia. Stat.,
Termination of Pregnancies.

§458.331, Fla. Stat., Grounds

for Disciplinary Action;
Action by the Board.

§768.45, Fla. Stat., Medical
Negligence; Standards of
Recovery.

Florida Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, Chapter 120,
Fla. Stat.

-iv-

42

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont'd. )

§120.57, Fla. Stat.,
Decisisions Which Affect
Substantial Interests.

§120.68, Fla. Stat.,
Judicial Review.

Fla. Admin. Code,
Rule 10D-72.16.

U.S. Const., Amend. XIV, §1
Citizenship; Privileges and
Immunities; Due Process; Equal
Protection; Apportionment of
Representation; Disqualification
of Officers; Public Debt; En-
forcement.

SECTION IV.
Portion of Record Demonstrating
That Both Federal Questions
Were Timely and Properly Raised.

SECTION V.
Summary of the Case.

The Petitioner.

The Petitioner's Medical
Procedures.

Case History and Testimony
Relating to Holli Schmidt.

Case History and Testimony
on Christine Sellers Kuchar.

Case History and Testimony
Relating to Darlene Baker.

-YV=

A-101

A-116

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont'd. )

6. Conclusion. A-124

-vVvil-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited

Aiello v. City of Wilmington,
Delaware
623 F.2d 845 (3d Cir. 1980

Baggett v. Bullitt
377 U.S. 362, 84 S.Ct. 1316 (1964)

Barry v. Barchi
443 U.S. 55, 99 S.Ct. 2642 (1979)

Beil v. Burson
402 U.S. S3a- 92 S.Ct. F588 (1971)

Bellotti v. Baird
428 U.S. 132 96 S.Ch. 2857 (1976)

Board of Regents of State
Colleges v. Roth
408 U.S. 564, 92 S.Ct. 2701 (1972)

Bowling v. Department of Insurance
394 So.2d 165 (Fla. Ist DCA 1981)

Boyette v. State, Professional
Practices Council
346 So.2d 598 (Fla. lst DCA 1977)

Coates v. City of Cincinnati
402 U.S. 611, 91 S.Ct. 1686 (1971)

Connally v. General Construction Co.

269 U.S. 385, 46 S.Ct. 126, 70 L.Ed.
322 (1926)

Diebold, Inc. v. Marshal
585 F.2d 1327 (6th Cir. 1978)

Grayned v. City of Rockford
408 U.S. 104, 92 S.Ct. 2294,
33 L.Ed.2d 222 (1972)

-vii-

Page

39

41

17, 42

18, 48

46, 47

36, 39

40

18-19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd. )

Harman v. Forssenius
380 U.S. 528, 85 S.Ct. 1177 (1965)

Harris County Commissioners Court
v. Moore
4€z0 U.S. 77, 95 8.Ct. S70 (1975)

Intern. Soc. For Krishna Consc.
v. Rochford
585 F.2d 263 (7th Cir. 1978)

Kramer v. Santosky
102 S.Ct. 1388, 455 U.S. 745,
71 L.Ed.2d 599 (1982)

Lake Carriers' Association v.
MacMullan
406 U.S. 498 92 S.Ct. 1749 (1972)

Mathews v. Eldridge
424 U.S. 319, 96 S.Ct. 893 (1976)

McDonald v. Department of Banking
and Finance
346 So.2d 569 (Fla. lst DCA 1977)

Murray v. Norberg
423 F.Supp. 795 (1976)

Musser v. State of Utah
333 U.Be Fa, OB BCE. 397 (1948)

Peden v. State Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalm.
189 So.2d 526 (Fla. 3d DCA 1966)

Procunier v. Martinez
416 U.S. 396, 94 S.Ct. 1800 (1974)

Reid v. Florida Real Estate Com-
mission
188 So.2d 846 (Fla. 2d DCA 1966)

-vili-

50

50

19,

48

50

48

45

22

23

47,

41

44

23

49

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd. )

Robinson v. Florida Board of
Dentistry
477 So.2d 930 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984) 46, 47

Smith v. Goguen
415 U.S. 566, 94 S.Ct. 1242,
39 L.Ed.2d 605 (1974) 18

Southern Pacific Terminal Co.

v. Interstate Commerce Commission

219 U.S. 498 31 S.Ct. 279,

55 L.Ed 310 (1911) 51-52

United States v. Professional Air
Traffic Controllers
6/8 F.2d 1 (Ist Cir. i982) 36

Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB
340 U.S. 474, 71 S.Ct. 456,
95 L.Ed. 456 (1951) . 45

Village of Hoffman Est. v.
Flipside, Hoffman Est.
455 U.S. 489, 102 S.Ct. 1186 (1982) 16, 22

United States v. National Dairy
Products Corp.
372 U.S. 49, G3 8.Ct. 594 (1963) 21-22

Zwickler v. Koota
389 U.S. 241, 88 S.Ct. 391 (1967) 49-50

Other Authorities

U.S. Const. Amend. XIV 34, 40
42,
28 U.S.C. §2101(c) 3

Rule 20, Revised Rules of the
Supreme Court 3

-ix-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd. )

$120.57, Fla. Stat. 43
§120.68, Fla. Stat. 43
§390.001, Fla. Stat. Zig ae
§458.331, Fla. Stat. i ee
36, 38
§458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat. 4-10,
13, 16
4, 33
37, 3
39,
§466.028(1)(y), Fla. Stat. 46
§768.45, Fla. Stat. 19, 20
§768.50(2)(b), Fla. Stat. 20
Rule 10D-72.16, Fla. Admin. Code 27

Standards for Obstetric-Gynecologic

Services, American College of

Obstetrics and Gynecologists

(5th ed. 1982) 1) ae
25, 26
28, 31
34, 37

Davis, Kenneth Culp, Administrative
Law Treatise, West Publishing Cc.,
St. Paul, Minn. 1958 45

CASE NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

ALI A. AZIMA, M.D., PETITIONER,
V.

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION,
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS,
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
FOR THE FIRST DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

‘The Petitioner, ALI A. AZIMA, M.D.,
respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the judgment and opinion of
the District Court of Appeal for the First
District of Florida entered in his case on

July 15, 1985.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the District Court of
Appeal for the First District of Florida ap-
pears in the appendix hereto. The record of
the Board of Medical Examiners and the record
of the hearing are not included.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the First District
Court of Appeal of Florida, which affirmed
the final order issued by the Florida Board
of Medical Examiners suspending Petitioner's
medical license, was entered on July 15, 1985.
Petitioner sought a rehearing which was de-
nied on August 26, 1985. Petitioner then
timely filed his notice to invoke discretion-
ary jurisdiction of the Florida Supreme Court
on September 23, 1985. On January 24, 1986,
the Supreme Court of Florida denied certi-
Orari and refused to entertain a motion for

rehearing. This Petition for Writ of Certio-

rari was filed within ninety (90) days of
that date as required by Rule 20 of the Revis-
ed Rules of the Supreme Court of the United

States and 28 U.S.C. §210l(c).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary of Findings and Recommendations

This petition arises from the suspen-
sion of Petitioner's medical license by the
Florida Board of Medical Examiners and Depart-
ment of Professional Regulation, based upon a
finding that his treatment of three patients
violated §458.331(1)(t), Florida Statutes,
which authorizes such suspension for medical
malpractice.

On February 7 and 8, 1984, an admin-
istrative hearing was held in Ft. Myers, Flor-
ida, before Diane D. Tremor, Hearing Officer
for the Florida Department of Administrative
Hearings. On July 24, 1984, Ms. Tremor sub-
mitted a Recommended Order to the Board of
Medical Examiners (hereinafter "BOME") in
which Hearing Officer Tremor found Respon-
dent/Petitioner's (hereinafter "Petitioner" )

treatment of three patients to be in viola-

tion of §458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., and con-
cluded that such treatment constituted medi-
cal malpractice. She recommended a one-year
suspension of Petitioner's medical license.

A short hearing was conducted before
the BOME on December 1, 1984, in which the
Board adopted the Hearing Officer's findings
of fact and conclusions of law in toto. The
BOME increased the recommended penalty and
specifically ordered that:

Respondent's li-
cense to practice medicine in
Florida shall be suspended
for a period of one year,
with the specific provision
that in six months Respondent
may request that the Board
Stay the second six months of
the suspension.

as Upon the termina-
tion or stay of the suspen-
sion, Respondent's license to
practice medicine in Florida
Shall be placed on probation
for a period of three years,
Subject to the term and condi-
tion that Respondent make

semi-annual appearances be-
fore the Board.

Se During the periods
of suspension and probation,
Respondent shall earn fifty
(50) hours of Category 1 con-
tinuing medical education

annually.
im, Faes TSA).

B. Summary of Issues

By administrative complaints filed on
March 15, 1983 (Case No. 83-1205) and August
2, 1983 (Case No. 83-2589), the Department of
Professional Regulation (hereinafter "DPR")
charged ALI A. AZIMA, M.D., with violating
§458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., with regard to
his medical treatment of five patients. The
Complaint filed on March 15 contained four
counts and related to patients Christine Ann
Sellers (now Christine Kuchar) (Count 1),
Holli Schmidt (Count II), Coleen Lundy (Count
III), and Kathy Holloway (Count IV). The

Complaint filed on August 2, 1983, contained

two counts, both of which related to patient
Darlene Baker.

Count IV of the Complaint filed on
March 15, 1983, and Count II of the Complaint
filed on August 2, 1983, were voluntarily
dismissed, with prejudice, at the commence-
ment of the final hearing. Therefore, only
the first three counts of the March 15 Com-
plaint and Count I of the August 2 Complaint
were considered by the Hearing Officer and
the BOME.

Issues

Based on Count I of the Complaint
filed on March 15, 1983, the Hearing Officer
found that in performing a termination of
pregnancy procedure on Christine Sellers
Kuchar (hereinafter "Kuchar"), Petitioner
violated §458.331(1)(t), Florida Statutes,
because he failed to obtain a patient medical

history, including a determination of the

patient's Rh factor, and failed to send the
tissue specimen to a pathologist.

Count II of the March 15, 1983, Com-
plaint charged that with respect to patient
Holli Schmidt, Petitioner negligently insert-
ed an intrauterine contraceptive device (IUD)
when she was twelve weeks pregnant, failed to
take vital signs, failed to perform blood
work and that on two subsequent occasions
counseled her without performing any examina-
tion to ensure that she was not pregnant.

The Hearing Officer concluded that
the evidence did not establish that the tak-
ing of vital signs or the perfocmance of
blood work were necessary prior to the inser-
tion of an IUD, or that the patient was
twelve weeks pregnant when she last saw the
Petitioner. The Hearing Officer did, how-
ever, find that Petitioner, in violation of

§458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., inserted an IUD

into patient Schmidt without taking adequate
precautions to ensure that the patient was
not pregnant at the time of insertion.

Petitioner was found not guilty of
the allegations contained in Count III of the
March 15, 1983, Complaint. Count IV of the
same Complaint was voluntarily dismissed.

As to Count I of the Complaint filed
on August 2, 1983, the Hearing Officer deter-
mined that in performing a termination of
pregnancy procedure on patient Darlene Baker,
Petitioner violated §458.331(l)(t), Fla.
Stat., by failing to send the tissue specimen
to a pathologist for evaluation. Count II of
this Complaint was voluntarily dismissed.

In summary, it was found that Peti-
tioner's conduct constituted the commission
of "gross or repeated malpractice or the fail-
ure to practice medicine with that level of

care, skill and treatment which is recognized

by a reasonably prudent similar physician as
being acceptable under similar conditions and
circumstances." §458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat.
This finding was based on the Hearing Offi-
cer's conclusions that Petitioner failed to
send tissue specimens to a pathologist for
examination after performing termination of
pregnancy procedures on patients Kuchar and
Baker, failed to determine the Rh factor of
patient Kuchar, and did insert an IUD into
patient Schmidt without taking adequate pre-
cautions to ensure that she was not pregnant
at the time of insertion. The remaining char-
ges in the two Complaints were either dismiss-
ed or were insufficiently established by com-
petent substantial evidence. (R. 700-703).

In support of the findings against
Petitioner, the DPR presented the testimony
of patients Baker and Kuchar; Drs. Constan-

tine Yankopolus, Randall Paul Cowdin, and

=10-

Philip F. Waterman, II, each of whom practice
together in the same office in Fort Myers,
Florida, and each of whom are in direct compe-
tition with the Women's Health Clinic oper-
ated by Petitioner. The DPR also put on Dr.
Craig B. Sibley, who also practices in Fort
Myers, Florida, and is a direct competitor of
Petitioner's Women's Health Clinic. All of
the expert medical witnesses who testified
against Petitioner treated one or more of the
complaining patients. The DPR also presented
the testimony of Theodore M. Purcell, an in-
vestigator for the DPR,

The crux of Petitioner's position is
that all ot the testimony elicited at the
hearing established that his procedures were
in full compliance with the published Ameri-
can College of Obstetrics and Gynecology
(hereinafter "“OB/GYN") standards. There is

absolutely no testimony that Petitioner viola-

-ll-

ted or fell below any published or uniformly

recognized standards. The testimony at best
established that his practices and pro-
cedures, while admittedly meeting the publish-
ed standards, fell below medical standards
established solely by the testimony of four
physicians, all of whom were direct competi-
tors of Petitioner's Women's Health Clinic.

Petitioner testified on his own be-
half. He also presented the testimony of
George Chiu, the Director of Medical Informa-
tion at Fort Myers Community Hospital, and
Anne Wilke, the Executive Secretary for the
Lee County Medical Association.

The DPR's Exhibits A through D and F
through H were received into evidence as well
as Petitioner's Exhibits 1, 2 and 3.

Petitioner refers the Court to Sec-
tion V of the Appendix which contains a sum-

mary of facts material to this Court's consid-

=—s =

eration of the questions presented. In this
summary, Petitioner has attempted to present
portions of the record in an objective manner
in order to demonstrate that Petitioner had
no prior notice of the medical standards by
which it was held that he violated
§438.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., and to demon-
strate that the DPR did not prove essential
allegations of law and fact by a preponder-
ance of competent substantial evidence.

Specifically, Petitioner contests
findings that:

a. He was legally obligated

to determine the Rh factor of

Ms. Kuchar's blood;

b. He did not determine the

Rh factor of Ms. Kuchar's

blood; and

Ce He was required by law

to send the abortion tissue

-13-

for a pathological examina-

tion when Petitioner, in

accordance with the only stan-

dards of his profession which

he could have been aware of,

clearly determined through a

detailed visual examination

that fetal remains were pre-

sent and the abortion was

successful.

The federal questions presented for
this Court's review were not raised until
Petitioner's appeal from the final order of
the BOME. This is because the state admin-
istrative agency had no jurisdiction to deal
with constitutional issues. Both federal
questions were presented for the first time
in Petitioner's briefs to the District Court
of Appeal for the First District of Florida.

Pertinent quotations from specific portions

Fo

of Petitioner's briefs, showing that the
federal questions were timely and properly
raised, are presented in Section IV of the
Appendix. The District Court of Appeal did
not pass directly on either constitutional
issue.

If there remains uncertainty that
each federal question was adequately raised
before the state court, Petitioner refers
this Court to his discussion of each reason
for granting the writ. In that discussion,
Petitioner presents reasons why this Court

should not invoke the abstention doctrine.

wih

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. SECTION 458.331(1)(t), FLA. STAT., IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL BECAUSE IT LACKS REA-
SONABLY CLEAR GUIDELINES SO AS TO PRE-
VENT OFFICIAL ARBITRAPINESS IN THE
REVOCATION OF A CONSTITUTIONALLY PRO-
TECTED PROPERTY INTEREST AND HAS BEEN
APPLIED IN A MANNER WHICH IS SO VAGUE

' THAT IT DENIED PETITIONER ADEQUATE
NOTICE OF THE STANDARDS FOR ENFORCE-
MENT.

This Court has stated that "perhaps
the most important factor affecting the clar-
ity that the constitution demands of a law is
whether it threatens to inhibit the exercise
of constitutionally protected rights." Vil-

lage of Hoffman Est. v. Flipside, Hoffman

Est., 455 U.S. 489, 499, 102 S.Ct. 1186, 1193
(1982).

Petitioner, as a physician licensed
to practice medicine by the State of Florida,
holds a sufficient claim of entitlement to
his license to invoke the protection of the

due process clause because that license can

only be suspended upon a satisfactory showing
that he has committed an act in violation of

$458.331, Fie. Stat. Barry v. Barchi, 443

U.8. $35, 64, 99 S.Ct. 2642, 2649 (i1979)3

Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth,
406 G.8. 364,377) 32 8.Ct. 2701, &797
(1972).

Florida law has provided Petitioner
with a property interest in his license be-
cause revocation or other disciplinary action
regarding his medical license is not discre-
tionary. Rather, all disciplinary action
taken by the DPR and the BOME against a medi-
cal license must occur pursuant to §458.331,

Fla. Stat. See Barry v. Barchi, 443 U.S. 55

at 64, 99 S.Ct. 2642 at 2649.

Once a license is issued, as in Peti-
tioner's case, its continued possession may
become essential to the pursuit of a liveli-

hood. The suspension of Dr. AZIMA's license

a) Pn

involves state action that adjudicates a most
important interest of this licensee: employ-

ment in his medical profession. Bell v.

Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 539, 3i &.Ct. i566,
1589 (1971). Petitioner's constitutional
protections provided by the fourteenth amend-
ment limit the state's power to terminate
this entitlement regardless of whether his
interest is denominated a "right" or a “privi-
lege." Id.

When a statute is challenged under
the due process doctrine of vagueness, a
court must determine: (1) whether the stat-
ute provides sufficient notice of what may
not be done, and (2) whether it contains rea-
sonadly clear guidelines so as to prevent
official arbitrariness or discrimination in

its enforcement. Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S.

566, 573, 94 S.Ct. 1242, 1247, 39 L.Ed.2d 605

(1974); Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S.

~}8=

104, 108, 392 S.Ct. 2294, 2298, 33 L.Ed.2d 222

(1972); Intern. Soc. For Krishna Consc. v.

Rochford, 5t5 F.2d 263, 269 (7th Cir. 1978).

Section 458.331, Fla. Stat., pro-
vides,! in part:

(1) The following acts shall
constitute grounds for which
the disciplinary actions spe-
cified in subsection (2) may
be taken:

* * *

(t) Gross or repeated
malpractice or the failure to
practice medicine with that
level of care, skill, and
treatment which is recognized
by a reasonably prudent simi-
lar physician as being
acceptable under similar con-
ditions and circumstances.
The board shall give great
weight to the provisions of
Ss. 768.45 when enforcing this
paragraph. (Emphasis added).

lBoth §458.331 and §768.45, Fla. Stat., were
modified during 1985. See Section III of the
Appendix for the fully revised text and an
explanation of the changes.

-~19-

Section 768.45, Fla. Stat., which
governs civil standards for recovery in medi-
cal malpractice actions, provides in part:

(1) In any action for re-
covery of damages based on
the death or personal injury
of any person in which it is
alleged that such death or
injury resulted from the neg-
ligence of a health care pro-
vider as defined in s.
768.50(2)(b), the claimant
Shall have the burden of prov-
ing by the greater weight of
evidence that the alleged
actions of the health care
provider represented a breach
of the accepted standard of
care for that health care
provider. The accepted stan-
dard of care for a given
health care provider shall be
that level of care, skill,
and treatment which 1s recog-
nized by a reasonably prudent
Similar health care provider
as being acceptable under
Similar conditions and circum-
Stances. (Emphasis added).

* * *

(2). £5) If the health care
provider whose negligence is
claimed to have created the
cause of action is certified

~20«

by the appropriate American

board as a specialist, is

trained and experienced ina

medical speciality, or holds
himself out as a specialist,

a "Similar health care pro-

vider" is one who:

1. Is trained and experi-
enced in the same specialty;
and

as Is certified by the
appropriate American board in

the same specialty.

These interrelated statutory standards give a
physician absolutely no warning, guidance or
notice of what conduct will render him sub-
ject to administrative sanctions.

The constitutionality of a statute,
with regard to vagueness or overbreadth is
generally not considered by this Court in
terms of the statute "on its face," but ra-
ther is reviewed within the context of specif-

ic conduct to which the statute has been ap-

plied. United States v. National Dairy Pro-

ducts Corp., 372 U.S. 29, 83 S.Ct. 594, 595

ee

(1963). Recognizing that the speculative
danger of arbitrary enforcement may not in
and of itself render a statute void for vague-

ness, see Village of Hoffman Est. v. Flip-

side, Hoffman Est., 455 U.S. 457, 102 S.Ct.

1196; and Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402

U.S. 611, 91 S.Ct. 1686 (1971), Petitioner is
aggrieved because the application of the stat-
utory standard to his conduct did violate his

rights to due process. Murray v. Norberg,

423 F.Supp. 795, 801 (1976). "Vagueness ...
ordinarily constitutes a violation of due
process only where the aggrieved party can
show that the statute ... fails to give ade-
quate notice of some duty that government
imposes...." Id.

This Court has consistently heid that
a limiting construction, by state courts, of
_ what would otherwise constitute an unconstitu-

tionally vague statute, can render the stat-

-22-

ute constitutional. Musser v. State of Utah,

333 U.S. 95, 68 S.Ct. 397 (1948). However,
no limiting construction has been given to
§458.331, Fla. Stat. Rather, in the case at
bar the First District Court of Appeal affirm-
ed a decision of the BOME which was founded
upon a statute so lacking in reasonably clear
guidelines that it fails to prevent official
arbitrariness in enforcement or to put physi-
cians on notice as to what conduct is pro-

scribed or subject to discipline. Krishna v.

Rochford at 269. In fact, the standards by

which Petitioner was judged were contrary to
his reasonable expectations. The unrefuted
testimony is that Petitioner complied with

all published American College of OB/GYN stan-

dards. The only standards which he failed to
follow were those arbitrary standards estab-
lished solely by the self-serving testimony

of those doctors who provide his only competi-

=23<

tion and who do not share his opinion regard-
ing the community benefits of a women's
health clinic.

For example, Petitioner was specifi-
cally disciplined for his failure to send Ms.
Kuchar's products of conception for a patholo-
gical analysis. This finding of guilt was
based wholly upon expert witness testimony
that all products of conception must be sent
to pathology. (R. 232, 249, 271 and 278).
Petitioner, however, testified that there was
no need to send Ms. Kuchar's tissue for path-
Clogical analysis because fetai parts were
readily recognizable, a fact which was in no
way contradicted. (R. 428). Rather than
contradict his factual testimony, the expert
witnesses testified that regardless of whe-

ther fetal parts are recognized, all tissue

must be submitted for pathological analysis.

(R. 232, 249, 271 and 278). This expert tes-

=) oe

timony, which established the standards under
which Petitioner's license was suspended, was

in direct conflict with the published Ameri-

can College of OB/GYN standards. (R. 232,
249, 271 and 278). Those standards provide
in part as follows:

At page 52, the Standards reveal:

In the situation of elective
termination of pregnancy, the
attending physician should
record a description of the
gross products. Unless defin-
ite embryonic or fetal parts

can be identified, the pro-
ducts of elective interrup-
tions of pregnancy must be
submitted to a pathologist
for gross and microscopic
examination. (Emphasis add-
ed).

At page 54, under the heading "Abortion," the
Standards specifically state:

If villi or fetal parts are
not identified with certain-
ty, the tissue specimen must
be sent for further patholo-
gic examination, and the pa-
tient must be alerted to the
possibility of ectopic preg-
nancy. (Emphasis added).

-25-

At page 66 of the Standards, under the head-
ing "Gynecologic Surgery,” is the following:

Tissue removed should be
submitted to a pathologist
for examination. The patient
should be informed of the
tissue diagnosis. An excep-
tion to the practice may be
in elective terminations of
pregnancy in which definitive
embryonic or fetal parts can
be identified. In such in-
stances, the physician should
record a description of the
gross products. Unless defi-
nite embryonic or fetal parts
can be identified, the pro-
ducts of elective interrup-
tions of pregnancy must be
submitted to a pathologist
for gross and microscopic
examination. (Emphasis add-
ed).

(R. £232, 278).

Standards for Obstetric-Gynecologic Services,

American College of Obstetrics and Gynecolo-
gists (5th ed. 1982).
Given that there were, as per the

Standards' dictates, recognizable fetal

parts, Petitioner did not send those speci-

~ 26a

mens to pathology but, rather, disposed of
them in. a Sanitary manner. Petitioner

performed all that was required of him by the

2All that is required by the Florida legisla-
ture is that fetal remains be disposed of in
a sanitary and appropriate manner. Section
390.001, Fla. Stat., provides in part:

(7) FETAL REMAINS.--
Fetal remains shall be dis-
posed of in a sanitary and
appropriate manner and in
accordance with standard
health practices, as provided
by rule of the Department of
Health and Rehabilitative
Services....

The Department of Health and Rehabilitative
Services' rules promulgated pursuant to
§390.001, Fla. Stat., similarly require no
more than disposal in a sanitary, nuisance
free manner. Fla. Admin. Code, Rule
10D-72.16 provides:

10D-72.16 Disposal of
Fetal Remains. All fetal
remains shall be disposed of
in a sanitary, nuisance free
manner. Incineration cr buri-
al of such remains, as well
as other nuisance free meth-
ods, are acceptable so long
as the licensing agency is

FOOTNOTE CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE.

~2 Fm

American College of OB/GYN standards and Flor-
ida law.

When these standards are juxtaposed
alongside the testimony of the doctors pre-
sented by the DPR as experts, the constitu-
tional infirmity is laid bare:

Dr. Cowdin not only disagreed with

the published standards on this matter, but
went so far as to find the very standards
which govern his profession to be below ac-
ceptable medical standards. He testified as
follows:

Q. I will read you the Standards
for Obstetric-Gynecologic
Services, published by the
American College of Obstetri-
cians and Gynecologists, Page
52: In the situation of elec-
tive termination of pregnan-

assured that the disposal
method utilized is nuisance
free.

As such, Petitioner's procedures regarding

termination of pregnancies is fully in compli-
ance with §390.001, Fla. Stat.

~-28—

cy, the attending physician
should record a description
of the gross products.

Now, you Gon't do that
in all cases, right?

Correct,

Unless definite embryonic or
fetal parts can be identi-
fied, the products of concep-
tion must be submitted to a
pathologist for gross and
microscopic examination.

Do you agree with that?

No, I think all tissues

should be submitted. P

So you disagree with those

Standards?

Correct, because whether or
not there is embrionic [sic]
tissue present does not rule
out a concomitant hydatiform
[sic] or a carcinoma.

Do you think you or someone
else has or should inform
them of this?

I think it would be a good
idea.

(R. 278)

(Emphasis added).

~29—

When Dr. Yankopolus was asked about

the standards, this dialogue followed:

Q. If a patient comes to see an
OBGYN for the purpose of ter-
Minating a pregnancy and the
pregnancy is in fact or the
abortion procedure is per-
formed and the products of
conception are not forwarded
to a pathologist for examina-
tion although the doctor has
visually examined the pro-
ducts of conception, in your
opinion would that doctor's
treatment, medical treatment
of that patient, fall below
an acceptable standard of
care?

A. Absolutely.
Q. Why is that?

A. I don't feel that visual exam-
ination of tissue is adequate
for the determination as to
whether or not there are chor-
ionic villi present. In cer-
tain cases the documentation
of that requires microscopic
examination by a trained path-
Ologist.

(R. 249).

-30-

Later during the hearing when the
published OB/GYN standards were brought to
his attention, Dr. Yankopolus responded as

follows:

Q. What does it say; what does
it say here?

A. 1981 Committee on Profession-
al Standards.

Q. Now, can you 1ook on Page 52.
There is something underlined
in yellow. Could you read it
to the hearing officer?

A. In a situation of selective
termination of pregnancy, a
physician should record a
description of the gross pro-
ducts definitely being identi-
fied as products of elective
interruptions, and if not
easily identifiable, they
must be submitted to a pathol-
ogist for gross and microscop-
ic examination.

Q. Does this say that you should
record the gross examination?
And you don't? Because you
feel that you are not capable
of doing this.

-3]-

A. That's correct.

Q. Does this mean that you fall
below the standards, Doctor?

A. In fact, I am above the stan-
dards.

Q. Above the standards? Okay.

(R. 232).
(Emphasis added).

While Dr. Yankopolus may choose to
practice above the standards required by his
profession, certainly Dr. AZIMA should not be
denied his right to practice medicine for
scrupulously following the published stan-
dards dictated by his profession.

Perhaps the most telling testimony of
all came from Dr. Cowdin and it speaks direct-
ly to, and emphasizes, the arbitrary stan-
dards employed against Petitioner:

Q. Does the Lee County Medical

Society have any standards

that you know of?

A. With regards to what?

-32-

Falling below the standard if the Rh
Factor is not determined by the doc-
tor; sending the results to a pathol-
ogy [sic]; taking the hemoglobin
count. All of those things that you
said if it wasn't done it falls below
the standard; does the Lee County
Medical Society have those standards?

As to whether or not they have them
formally stated out, I am not cer-
tain.

Why aren't you certain? You know
they don't. Why are you alleging--

I think the standard of care, if I
may so state, 1S something that is
dictated by the practicing physicians
in that community and the manners in
which they practice their medicine.

Do they tell each other, then, what
they do?

Certainly.

When did you tell Dr. Azima what your
Standards are?

I never have.

When did he tell you what his stan-
dards are?

He never has.

-33-

Q. But that's how they are determined,
by one doctor telling another; is
that what you have testified to?

A. I think that's a reasonable state-
ment.

GO. ALL. vight. Let's go on. You have
stated that it falls below the stan-
dards if the remains of the abortion
are not sent to pathology. I think
we have established that about 10
times, right?

A. Right.

(Emphasis added).

It was this testimony, and not the

published American College of OB/GYN stan-

dards or any other reasonably objective stan-
dards, by which Petitioner was found guilty
of violating §458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., and
it is this arbitrary method of establishing
Standards of enforcement which renders
§458.331(1)(t) violative of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

—

The most disturbing factor regarding
prosecutions under §458.331(1)(t), Fla.
Stat., is that a doctor may be denied the
right to practice medicine based on unwritten
and uncodified standards. These standards
may be established by a loosely assembled
group of his ostensible peers who are his
competitors or who may disagree with his poli-
tical or societal views, e.g., the propriety
of operating a women's health clinic. As
such, medical licensees are put on no notice
whatsoever regarding what conduct is prohibit-
ed. This leaves the DPR free to create and
enforce standards which are developed at
will, promulgated ad hoc, and enforced ex
post facto. If a physician cannot be assured
of the continued possession of his license by
following to the letter the published stan-

dards of his profession, then no physician

-~35-

can fully serve his profession, nor practice
with confidence.

Petitioner was never provided any
warning of the standards which were used to
judge his medical practice. Government regu-
lation cannot proscribe the doing of an act
in terms so vague that men of Common intelli-
gence must necessarily guess at its meaning

and differ as to its application. Connally

v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385,

391, 46 S.Ct. 126, 127, 70 L.Ed. 322 (1926);

United States v. Professional Air Traffic

Concrollers, 678 F.2d 1, 3 (list Ge. 1962).

Petitioner has had a valuable proper-
ty right taken from him for behavior which he
could not reasonably understand to be pro-
scribed and which he had no way of knowing
constituted a violation of §458.331, Fla.

Stat. (R. 369-421).

=36-

The standard which is required by
§458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat., is "that level of
care, Skill, and treatment which is recog-
nized by a reasonably prudent similar physi-
cian as being acceptable under similar condi-
tions and circumstances." Petitioner has
demonstrated that his treatment of Christine
Sellers, Holli Schmidt and Darlene Baker
fully complied with the only recognized and

published standards applicable to his special-

ty, i.e., those standards set by the American
College of OB/GYN. (See Appendix Section V).
But the Hearing Officer and the BOME, instead
of relying on these published standards, re-
lied solely upon the testimony of competitors
to establish arbitrary standards, more strin-
gent than those established by the American
College of OB/GYN. Petitioner had no notice
whatsoever of these arbitrary standards. (R.

692-708, 709-751).

=37-

It is evident from the record that
Petitioner has had a valuable property right
taken from him for behavior which he could
not reasonably understand to be proscribed.
The DPR presented expert testimony of four
interested witnesses to establish a new stan-
dard of care, skill and treatment, which is
above that set by the American College of
Obstetrics and Gynecology; and the testimony
of these same witnesses is so inconsistent as
to cause great doubt that a reasonably pru-
dent similar physician could be expected to
recognize this new standard as the minimally
acceptable standard of care, skill and treat-
ment required by §458.331, Fla. Stat. (See
Appendix Section V for a synopsis of the sig-
nificant conflict among the experts regarding
standards of medical practice).

This application of §458.331(1)(t),

Fla. Stat., to Petitioner's practice clearly

=-38-

violated the first essential of due process
of the law because men of common intelligence
differed in opinion as to its application.

Connally v. General Construction Co., 269

U.S. 385, 391, 46 S.Ct. 126, 127, 70 L.Ed.

322 (1926); see also Aiello v. City of Wilm-

ington, Delaware, 623 F.2d 845, 850 (3d Cir.

1980. (See Appendix Section V). The only
relevant standards of practice which Petition-
er had notice of were the written standards
promulgated by the American College of OB/GYN
and, therefore, these were the only standards
by which Petitioner could determine “that
level of care, skill, and treatment which is
recognized by a reasonably prudent similar
physician as being acceptable under similar
conditions and circumstances."
§458.331(1)(t), Fla. Stat. There was no tes-

timony that Petitioner violated the written

published standards; to the contrary, the

=39-

testimony revealed that he followed these
standards scrupulously.

Because the DPR chose to apply new
and arbitrary criteria which have never been
published or otherwise communicated, the deci-
sion below is violative of Petitioner's due

process rights. Diebold, Inc. v. Marshal,

585 F.2d 1327 (6th Cir. 1978). The statute
in question has been applied in an arbitrary
and otherwise constitutionally invalid manner.
This vague application of the statute in ques-
tion has resulted in an unconstitutional tak-
ing of Petitioner's property interests in
violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution.

If there remains doubt that Petition-
er sufficiently presented this federal due
process question before the state courts,
Petitioner prays for the foilowing reasons

that this Court not invoke the abstention

~40-

doctrine. The statute in question is vague
to individuals to whom it plainly applies
because these licensees cannot understand
what is required of them. Nor is it in the
public interest that medical doctors fore-
swear all activity which is arguably within
the scope of the statute's vague terms,

Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396, 94 S.Ct.

1800 (1974). The abstention doctrine is not
appropriate because the statute is lacking in
terms susceptible of objective measurement.

Baggett v. Seta aee, 377 GiB... 362, 84 B.CE.

1316 (1964).

@4)-

II. THE DECISIONS BELOW ARE BASED
ON A THRESHOLD STANDARD OF SUB-
STANTIAL COMPETENT EVIDENCE,
WHICH STANDARD IS VIOLATIVE OF
PETITIONER'S RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS
BECAUSE IT HAS RESULTED IN THE
SUSPENSION OF HIS PROFESSIONAL
MEDICAL LICENSE IN THE ABSENCE
OF THE MINIMALLY SUFFICIENT QUAN-
TUM OF PROOF NECESSARY UNDER THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTIOY.

As noted above, the continued posses-
sion of Petitioner's medical license is essen-
tial to his livelihood such that a suspension
of that license is an adjudication of a valu-
able and important interest. (See p. 7, in-
fra). Any suspension of Petitioner's license
must be in accord with the procedural due

process required by the Fourteenth Amendment

of the United States Constitution. Barry v.

Barchi, 443 U.S. 55, 99 S.Ct. 2642 (1979).
For the administrative adjudication
of rights, the State of Florida utilizes a

vague, "Sliding scale" standard of substan-

~42-

tial competent evidence, §§120.57(1)(b)(9)
and 120.68(10), Fla. Stat.,3 which requir-
es that a licensee's violation be proven "by
evidence which weighs as 'substantially' on a
scale suitable for evidence as the penalty

does on the scale of penalties." Bowling v.

Department of Insurance, 394 So.2d 165, 172

(Fla. lst DCA 1981). Notwithstanding the
artful nature of this analogy, it is a sub-
jective standard whose threshold requirements
are not commensurate with the protections
afforded Petitioner's property rights under
the fourteenth amendment. In adopting this
standard of substantial competent evidence,
the State of Florida has retreated from the
higher standard of “clear and convincing

proof" which was applied in license revoca-

3§§120.57 and 120.68, Fla. Stat., are relevant
portions of the Florida Administrative Pro-
cedure Act and have been reproduced in Sec-
tion III of the Appendix.

=43-

tion proceedings prior to the adoption of the
Florida Administrative Procedure Act. See

Bowling v. Department of Insurance, supra, at

171; see also Reid v. Florida Real Estate

Commission, 188 So.2d 846, 851 (Fla. 2d DCA

1966).
The deficiencies of this vague eviden-
tiary standard have not been remedied by the

courts of Florida. The Bowling court acknowi-

edged that when a proceeding may result in
the loss of a professional license, "the cri-
tical matters in issue must be shown by evi-
dence which is indubitably as ‘'substantial'

as the consequences," Bowling, supra, at

172, but that court's allegiance to the due
process standard was not put to the test
under the facts in Bowling. In cases which
do not envelop due process questions of con-
stitutional proportion, the courts of Florida

have recited Justice Frankfurter's statement

_ yo

made in Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340

U.S. 474, 488, 71 S.Ct. 456, 464, 95 L.Ed.
456, 467 (1951):

Th~ substantiality of evi-

dence must take into account
whatever in the record fairly
detracts from its weight.

See Bowling at 172 and McDon-

ald v. Department of Banking

and Finance, 346 So.2d 569,

579 (Fla. Jst DCA 1977).

But, as noted by Professor Kenneth C.

Davis, "{T]Jhe plain reality is that the sub-
stantial evidence rule as the courts apply it
is a variable." 4 Administrative Law Trea-
tise, sec. 29.02, p. 126.

Petitioner contends that essential
proof of guilt must be established by more
than mere substantial competent evidence be-
Fore his license can be taken by an adminis-
trative board. The case at bar is distin-
guishable from other Florida appellate hold-
ings which, under Florida's substantial compe-

tent evidence standard, have resulted in the

+45

reversal of similar license revocations. See

Boyette v. State, Professional Practices Coun-

cil, 346 So.2d 598, 599-560 (Fla. lst DCA
1977), where an administrative order revoking
a teacher's certificate was held to be unsup-
ported by substantial competent evidence
because it was determined that the order was
not even supported by a preponderance of the

evidence. In Robinson v. Florida Board of

Dentistry, 477 So.2d 930 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984),

a license suspension was reversed upon a find-
ing that "[o]ne professional's opposing
opinion, without more, on a particular treat-
ment is neither substantial competent evi-
dence nor a measure of ‘generally prevailing
peer performance.' Cf. §466.028(1)(y), Fla.
Stat." Id. at 932.

The issues raised by both Boyette and

Robinson are distinguishable from the issue

raised herein by Petitioner. Both the

-_T

Boyette and Robinson courts merely addressed

whether there was a clear preponderance of
evidence upon which to support a license revo-
cation. While Petitioner also denies that
his license revocation was Supported by a
preponderance of evidence, the issue he
raises here is that the vague standard of
competent substantial evidence, which was
applied to Petitioner's license revocation
proceedings, does not satisfy procedural due
process requirements.

This precise issue was presented in

Peden v. State Board of Funeral Directors and

Embalm., 189 So.2d 526, 527-529 (Fla. 3d DCA

1966), but the reviewing court refused to

address it.4

4In his concurring opinion to the Peden case,
Justice Carroll suggested that in a license
revocation proceeding, due process requires
at a minimum "that such charges must be prov-
ed by a preponderance of the evidence." Id.
at 329.

=47—

Petitioner contends that under Flor-
ida law, the standard requiring some substan-
tial competent evidence as a predicate to
license revocation by an administrative
board, is a vague standard which does not
satisfy constitutional requirements of due
process. This Court's earlier holdings which
deal with licenses, property interests and
individual rights suggest that the evidence
against Petitioner must be so clear, strong,
and unequivocal as to remove reasonable doubt

as to the guilt of the Petitioner. Bell v.

Burson, supra, 91 S.Ct. 1586 at 1589-1590,

402 U.S. 535 at 539-441 (driver license revo-

cation); Mathews Vv. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319,

96 S.Ct. 893 (1976) (revocation of Social

Security benefits); Kramer v. Santosky, 102

S.Ct. 2396, 43535 0.8. 7O35 FA £288.24 399
(1982) (revocation of parental interests in

natural child). In contrast, the subjective

-48-

standard, calling only for some competent
substantial evidence to support penal sanc-
tions against Petitioner, borders on the same
criteria applied in ordinary civil proceed-
ings and amounts to a taking of an important
interest based on little more than a prepon-
derance of the evidence.

Petitioner contends that this federal
due process question has been sufficiently
presented before the state courts. The due
process implications of this vague "sliding
scale" standard of evidence have also been

presented in Peden, supra. Therefore, the

state courts have been given an opportunity
to vindicate the federal claim.

Furthermore, abstention is not to be
ordered unless the state statute is of an
uncertain nature and subject to a limiting

construction. Zwickler v. Koota, 389 U.S.

~~

241, 251, 88 S.Ct. 391, 397 (1967); Harman v.

Forssenius, 380 U.S. 528, 534, 85 S.Ct. 1177,

L203 (2h 0437% The applicability of the
statute challenged herein, however, is not

uncertain, Lake Carriers' Association v.

MacMullan, 406 U.S. 498, 511, 92 S.Ct. 1749,

1757-1758 (1972), because the state courts
have interpreted this statute. Yet, the
Florida judiciary has not construed the
statute in a manner which avoids in whole or

in part the federal constitutional infirmity.

Bellotti v. Baird, 428 U.S. 132, 132-133, 96
S.Ct. 2857, 2859 (1976). Furthermore, the
vagueness claim goes to the obligatory stan-
dards imposed by the statute. Due to the
above factors, the abstention doctrine is not

appropriate. Harris County Commissioners

Court v. Moore, 420 U.S. 77, 86, 95 S.Ct.

870, 876-877 (1975).

-50-

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certior-
ari should be granted to review the judgment
and opinion of the District Court of Appeal
for the First District of Florida.

The issues presented to this Court
are of great importance not only to medical
practitioners in Florida, but to all licensed
professionals and the peopie they serve.
This Court has not heretofore addressed the
notice requirements and evidence standards
which are required to revoke such an impor-
tant property interest.

Petitioner's license was suspended
for one year ending January 15, 1986, at
which time he began a three year probationary
period. The unconstitutional suspension of
professional licenses for brief periods of
time is a repetitive state action which may

evade review. Southern Pacific Terminal Co.

=$)-

v. Interstate Commerce Commission, 2iS U.S.

498, 51S, 33 8.Ct. 279, 283, 35 &.84@ 310
(1911).

The sanctions imposed by the Florida
Board of Medical Examiners prevent Petitioner
from practicing medicine in a reasonable and
constitutionally protected fashion. Further-
more, the stigma of the disciplinary actions
has and will continue to have a detrimental
effect on his ability to earn a living.

These sanctions have caused and con-
tinue to cause Petitioner's patients to lose
confidence in his ability to practice medi-~
cine. This suspension, while relatively
short in duration, has also made it impos-

Sible for Petitioner to obtain medical mal-

-52-

practice insurance at reasonable rates and to
be granted hospital privileges.
Respectfully submitted,

BERNARD H.. DEMPSEY, JR., ESQ.
FERDINAND M. ROMANO, ESQ.
RICHARD LEE BARRETT, ESQ.
DEMPSEY & GOLDSMITH, P.A.
Suite 500, Day Building

605 East Robinson Street
Post Office Box 1980

Orlando, Florida 32802

(305) 422-5166

Attorneys for Petitioner,
ALI A. AZIMA, M.D.

-53-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1793%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
