# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Drum v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1756%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 477 U.S. 905

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1985
Renn Drum, Jr., )
)
Petitioner, )
)
V5 )
)
United States of America, )
)
Respondent. )
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
Norman B. Smith
Smith, Patterson, Follin,
Curtis, James & Harkavy
700 Southeastern Building
Greensboro, NC 27401
(919) 274-2992

Counsel of Record

LEI eal ee eee eae

sen haahitntdandad
— BAG huaZe Seg», ‘ port gies tae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

bs Does a defendant who testifies
in his own behalf in a criminal con-
Spiracy case, and admits engaging in
overt acts, but denies he did so with
Criminal intent, forfeit his right to
have the jury consider the defense cf
entrapment?

r If a defendant must forfeit his
right to have the defense of entrapment
considered by the jury, as the price of
testifying in his own behalf, (a) 1S an
unconstitutional presumption thereby
created, and (b) is the defendant's right
to testify for himself impermissibly

burdened?

ane i ti 3s Sieh lo

PARTIES
The parties to this proceeding are
the petitioner Renn Drum, Jr., and the

United States of America.

1i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ......... i
8 eS ye ee eet eS & ye wee
we@pe@ Of Authorities .....+%... ¥
EE |
ee
Constitutional Provision Involved .. 2
meece@ment Of the Case ..:...s..2.3

A Defendant Who Testifies

On His Own Behalf in a Criminal
Conspiracy Case, and Admits
Engaging in Overt Acts, But
Denies That He Did So With
Criminal Intent, Does Not
Thereby Forfeit His Right to
Have the Jury Consider the

Defense of Entrapment. .... .10

II. If a Defendant Must Forfeit
His Right to Have the Defense

of Entrapment Considered by the
Jury, as the Price of Testify-
ing in His Own Behalf, (a) an
Unconstitutional Presumption is
Created, and (b) the Defend-
ant's Right to Testify for

Himself is Impermissibly
ae De

a An Unconstitutional Pre-

Sumption Against Petitioner Was
ee eT

lii

i

B. Petitioner's Right to
Testify for Himself Was Im-
permissib]y Burdened. ... -

Conclusion .« « « « «

lv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Brown v. United States, 356 U.S.
ee i | ee re Poe cro

Crisp v. United States, 262 F.2d 68
Cie Weed t Pee 6 | rrr cre Pee)

Faretta v. California, 422 U.S.
Bue Ch eee talks eo el eta eee eee

Hampton v. United States, 435 U.S.
Ss | err rer ne ae

Harris v. New York, 401 U.S. 222
eo 2s 6 er re ee ee ae ae ee ee ee

Johnson v. United States, 426 F.2d
Ss. {Osu0Cees LOT ey & 4s teh eee ae

Morisette v. United States, 342
Wows £OO LASSA) * %. & 4 6 ace eee ee

Munroe v. United States, 424 F.2d
“O02 {Aver Clik, Berar a a see ee

North Carolina Utilities Commis-
sion v. Federal Communications
Commission, 552 F.2d 1036 (1977). .10

Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S.
360 TASISe 4) wwe te hae ee ce eee

Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S.
JOe QESSET & kk oe eS eee

Simmons v. United States, 390 U.S.
S77 U290G! 42.6 & & a ee ee eee

Sorrells v. United States, 287
U.S. 435 (1932) . .« « © « «© « LS, 16
Fa -28
i3, 22
30

Timmreck v. United States, 577 F.2d
372 (6th Cir. 1978) ....... .10

Turner v. United States, 396 U.S.
398 (1970) . 2. 2» © © os we ts we lll AG

Uliman v. United States, 350 U.S.
@Z2 (iS5d6) « «© 6 os he eh eu eC Uw ee

United States v. Annese, 631 F.2d
104i (ist Cir. 1980) .... . 412, 15
293

United States v. Demma, 523 F.2d
981 (9th Cir. 1975) ..... .11, 17
> ae

United States v. DeVore, 423 F.2d
1069 (4th Cir. 1970) ....... 219

United States v. Henry, 749 F.2d
203 (Sth Cir. 1984) . ... . «14, 15
19, 20
25, 29

United States v. Hill, 655 F.2d
Si2Zd (3rd Cir. i981) .« »« « © « sh@e 4S

United States v. Kelly, 748 F.2d
6091 (D.C.Cir. 1984) . 2. 2 «6 © 2 @ sil

United States v. Liparota, 735 F.2d
1044 (7th Cir. 1984) . .... 11, 15

vi

United States v. Mayo, 705 F.2d
CF {2G USES EB POEP Var eke eee tae

United States v. Perl, 584 F.2d
SEO CACM Clits aerel e-s ek ew we ee oe

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S.
Ras Capers. sh bee eee eee

United States v. Smith, 757 F.2d
£202 Qlser Gils 2eeet & & w & whe

United States v. Whitley, 734 F.2d
Sige (Stem Cif, L9eet s 6. & ws ws ERD
15

Ware v. United States, 259 F.2d
Sia (GGn- Clits Aseee ss 2 ak 4 ede a8

Whittaker v. United States, 281
Come Sse. Ceeeccies LOG. «a ee 2

Statutes

oo UsGsC. Sec. 195441). 3 kw ke Oe

Miscellaneous

Groot, "The Serpent Beguiled Me ana
I (Without Scienter) Did Fat --
Denial of Crime and the Entrapment
Defense," 1973 U.111.L.Forum 254. .23

54 A.L.R.Fed. 644, Sec. 3(c)
[aeen) & & & Ae & OS eS Aw Se

vil

S A.L.R.4th 1126, Sec. 3(c}
R9GR) 6 ke 4 Se Se eee 8 eee aS

21 Am.Jur.2d Criminal Law Sec.
i} ee Tiere es or ne ee eee eee a 2

Za: ©¢.3.8. Criminal Law Bec. 34 « « «43

vili

No. 85 =
SUPREME COURT OF TKE UNITED STATES
October Term 1985
Renn Drum, Jr., )
)
Petitioner, )
)
Vv. )
)
United States of America, )
)
Respondent. )
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
‘OR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
Petitioner respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
entered in this cause on February 21,

1986.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals
will be, but is not yet, reported. It

appears at pp. la-23a of this petition.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals
was entered on February 21, 1986. This
petition 1s filed within 60 days of that
date. This Court has jurisdiction to
review the judgment in question by writ
of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sec.
L25401} =

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion of the United States:

No person shall be held to aaswer
for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases
arising in the land or naval forces, or
in the Militia, when in actual service in
time of War or public danger; nor shall
any person be subject for the same
offense to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb; nor shall be compelled in
any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liber-
ty, Or property without due process of
law; nor shall private property be taken
for public use, without just compensa-
tion.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was one of several co-
defendants indicted for conspiracy to
distribute cocaine and various drug-
related substantive offenses in the
United States District Court for the
Middle District of North Carolina.
Petitioner was found guilty of the con-
Spiracy count, but was acquitted of the
Substantive counts of traveling in, and
using instrumentalities of, interstate
commerce for criminal purposes. Peti-
tioner was sentenced to an active sen-
tence of confinement and a fine.

The trial ccurt refused petitioner's
request to instruct the jury on the
defense of entrapment.

Petitioner is an attorney. The
government's theory was that petitioner

first became involved in the cocaine

conspiracy in early August, 1983, when he
was retained to represent Jones, Weeks,
and Foelker, following their arrest for
possession of cocaine and a large quanti-
ty of cash at Atlantic Beach, North
Carolina. Petitioner visited his clients
in a North Carolina Jail, and then after
they were transferred to the Southern
District of Georgia to stand trial for
assault on an F.B.I. officer, in Georgia
jails, during the period of August
through October, 1983.

Petitioner's clients entered guilty
pleas in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Georgia in
November, 1983, for assaulting an F.B.I.
officer. Weeks was released from custody
pending sentencing, ostensibly for the

purpose of establishing a home and busi-

ness near petitioner's location in North

Carolina. Unbeknown to

the me

Georgia co-counsel, anc

Bureau

antime, Jones, Weeks, petitioner

Of Investigation en!

scheme whereby Jones and

GOovernment agents to Carry

another

n

them make conteéect

+

1ls co-defendant in the

Client of petitioner's ance

| the Fe.

With Wa

Weeks had Warden's telephone number

knew how to reach him. Nevertheless

repeatedly asked

dialing Warden's number

reaching him.

M

>

for petitioner's he

<

an

a

n

or otnhnerwi

Ost of the conversations be

petitioner and Weeks, anda

Jones

phone)

(the latter by long

were tape recorded.

petitione
distance

Weeks

twe

te

08

efi

intimated to petitioner on December 14,
1983, that she was trying to make drug
deliveries to Warden. At this point, and
on several later occasions, petitioner
told her that he did not want to hear
about it and did not want to become in-
volved. Petitioner warned Weeks and
Warden to stop the drug business, anda
stated that if they did not, they would
get in trouble. Petitioner urged Weeks
to set up a legitimate business that
would pay for itself rather than an
illegal business through twhhich drug money
could be laundered. Petitioner told
Weeks that he would not accept any drug
money.

Rebuffed in this fashion by peti-
tioner, Weeks sought to break down his
resistance through the use of her sex

appeal. She suggested, for example, that

her boyfriend Jones was jealous of peti-
tioner, as a means of inducing petitioner
to call Warden for her. itt “Spite of
these blandishments by Weeks, petitioner
refused on one occasion to convey some.
information to Warden about Gdrugs; re-
fused on a second occasion to call Warden
to tell him that drugs were ready to pick
up, but stood by while Weeks got hold of
Warden herself; and on a third occasion
refused Weeks' impassioned request that
he deliver a bag to Warden which he sus-
pected contained drugs, Saying he wanted
his "clients to be straight and to clean
up their act.* Nevertheless, on three
occasions petitioner telephoned Warden
at the behest of Weeks; those phone calls
were the sum total of any activity on
petitioner's part that could be regarded

aS contributing tc a conspiracy.

Petitioner's expert psychologist
testified that he had diagnosed him as
suffering from a mental abnormality,
narcissistic personality disorder. This
witness explained that the personality
disorder manifested itself in fantasiz-
ing, exhibitionism, and a grandiose sense
of self-importance, and was celated to a
deep seated feeling of inadequacy. This
witness found from the government's
secretly-taped conversations of petition-
er, Clear evidence of a compulsive need
on his part to please others, which was
another manifestation of the personality
disorder. Thus, on account of his mental
condition, petitioner was particularly
susceptible to the efforts of Weeks and
Jones to get him involved in their con-

spiracy.

Petitioner testified on his own
behalf that he did not travel or use
communication facilities for illegal
purposes. He testified that he did nct
engage in any discussions with Warden,
Jones, Foelker, Weeks, or others relating
to any illegal drug business. He ad-
mitted that he made contact with Warden
at the request of Weeks to tell him that
she wanted to see him, but denied that he
did so for the purpose of assisting druq
trafficking by them.

The Court of Appeais affirmed peti-
tioner's conviction on a theory not
raised by the government, or discussed by
the parties in their briefs or at oral
argument, holding that by taking the
stand in his own defense, petitioner
forfeited his right to have the jury

consider the cefense of entrapment.

at

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A DEFENDANT WHO TESTIFIES ON HIS

. OWN BEHALF IN A CRIMINAL CONSPIRACY CASE,

AND ADMITS ENGAGING IN OVERT ACTS, BUT
DENIES THAT HE DID SO WITH CRIMINAL
INTENT, DOES NOT THEREBY FORFEIT HIS
RIGHT TO HAVE THE JURY CONSIDER THE
DEFENSE OF ENTRAPMENT.

The Court of Appeals overruled the
Fourth Circuit's former rule established

in Crisp v. United States, 262 F.2d 68,

70 (4th Cir. 1958), in contravention of
the well-established principle that the
Court of Appeals must sit en banc if it

\
is toe overrule an earlier decision of the

court. North Carolina Utilities Commis-

sion v. Federal Communications Commis-

sion, 552 F.2d 1036 (1977); Timmreck v.

United States, 577 F.2d 372 (6th Cir.

1978), rev'd. o.g., 441 U.S. 780 (1979).

The Court of Appeals correctly
discerned that there is a split of au-

thority among the courts of appeals on

10

the general question of whether or not a
defendant may testify that he is innocent
of the crime charged, and at the same
time contend that he was entrapped.
Cases holding that a defendant is not
precluded from testifying as to his
innocence and at the same time contending

he was entrapped, include United States

V. Demma, 523 F.2d 981, 982 {Sth Cir.

1975) (en banc); and United States v.

Kelly, 748 F.2d 691, 701 nv2d (6.6.Cir.
1984). Cases holding, on the other hand,
that a defendant may not testify he did
not commit the crime and at the same time
Claim the entrapment defense include

United States v. Smith, 757 F.2d Liti«

1167-69 (llth Cir. 1985); United States

Vv. Liparota, 735 F.2d 1044, 1048 (7th

Cix. 1964), rev'd. 6.8. , U.S. ’

105 S.Ct. 2084 (1985); United States

11

v. Whitley, 734 F.2d 1129, 1139 (6th

Cir. 1984); United States v. Mayo, 705

F.2d 62, 72-73 (2d Cir. 1983); United

States v. Hill, 655 F.2d 512, 514 (3rd

Cir. 1981); United States v. Annese, 631

F.2d 1041, 1046-47 (1st Cir. 1980);

Munroe v. United States, 424 F.2d 243,

244 (10tn Cir. 1970) (en banc); Ware

v. United States, 259 F.2d 442, 445 (8th

Cir. 1958).

The position which the Court of
Appeals purported to adopt is based
primarily on the rationale that it is
inappropriately inconsistent for a de-
fendant to deny guilt and at the same
time assert entrapment. See United

States v. Smith, supra, 757 F.2d at

1167-68. This rationale does not square

with the general rule that a defendant in

a criminal prosecution may assert incon-
Sistent defenses, leaving it to the jury
to determine where the truth lies. 21
Am.Jur.2d Criminal Law Sec. 142: 22
C.J.S. Criminal Law Sec. 54. See, €.9.,

Johnson v. United States, 426 F.2d GSi.

656 (D.C.Cir. 1970) (denial of sexual]
intercourse and claim of consent); Whit-

taker v. United States, 281 F.2d 631

(D.C.Cir. 1960) (denial of underlying
acts and claim of insanity).

The Court of Appeals, rather than
subscribing to a majority position as it
claimed to be doing in its opinion,
instead pronounced a uniquely erroneous
rule that is inconsistent with the deci-
Slons of all of the other courts of
appeals. The Court of Appeals failed to
recognize that the facts of the instant

case come within a well-estabiisheea

13

exception to the rule that it purported
to adopt. The exception is that a de-
fendant- in a conspiracy case is permitted
to admit that he did the acts that are
Charged, but to deny that he acted with
conspiratorial intent, and at the same
time rely on the defense of entrapment.
See Annots., 54 A.L.R.Fed. 644, 655-656,
Sec. 3(c) (1981); 5 A.L.R.4th 1128, 1140,
Sec. 3(c) (1981).

In an en banc decision, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit very recently explained why the
rule preserving the defense of entrap-
ment when the defendant denies an essen-
tial mental element of the crime, in
spite of his admission of performing the
act in question, is mandated by leading

decisions of this Court. United States

14

V. Henry, 749 F.2d 203 (5th Cir. 1984) ,1

The law of entrapment as developed in

this Court stems Primarily from the

Opinion of Chief Justice Hughes in Sor-

rells v. United States, 287 U.S. 425

(1932)... There the Court characterized
entrapment as an affirmative defense,
inconsistent with guilt. The majority

Opinion rejected the government's conten-

1 In none of the cases relied on by
the Court of Appeals in the instant case,
was there an issue concerning conspira-
cOrlal intent, since in each case the
defendant denied any involvement with the
Substantive offenses in question. United
States v. Liparota, supra (unlawfol
possession of food Stamps); United States
Vv. Whitley, supra (purchase of cocaine);
Uniced States v. MayO, supra (sale of
.-machine guns); United States v. Hill,
Supra (distribution of heroin); United
States v. Annese, Supra (manufacturing
controlled substance); Munroe Vv. United
States, Supra (sales of amphetamines) ;
Ware v. United States, supra (purchase,
Possession, and sale of heroin); United
States v. Smith, Supra (admission of drug
conspiracy with government agents, but
denial of conspiracy with non-agents).

tion that entrapment should be treated as
a plea in bar, which would absolve the
defendant regardless of guilt or inno-
cence. "It is assumed that the accused
is not denying his guilt but is setting
up special facts in bar upon which he
relies regardless of his guilt or inno-
cence of the crime charged. This, as we
have seen, is a misconception. The
defense is available, not in the view
that the accused though guilty may go
free, but that the Government cannot be
permitted to contend that he is guilty of
a crime where the government officials
are the instigators of his conduct." 287

0.6. at 452.2

2 The Court further emphasized that
entrapment is an affirmative defense
inconsistent with guilt, when it said,
"We are unable to approve the view that
the court, although treating the statute
as applicable despite the entrapment, and
the defendant as guilty, has authority to

16

The Court adopted the same reasoning

in Sherman v. Uniteed scates, 356 Us.

369, 377 (1958), where it was stated
that, "the issue of whether a defendant
has been entrapped is for the jury as a
part of its function of determining the
guilt or innocence cf the accused." The
Court reiterated in the more recent cases

of United States v. BUSSE1!, 613 U.S.

423, 434-435 (1973) and Hampton v. United

states, 435 U.S. 484, 488-490 (1976),
that entrapment remains an affirmative
cdefense by which the defendant's guilt or’
innocence is determined on the basis of
his mental state, and is not a due pro-
cess conception by which criminal prose-

Cutions are to be dismissed on account of

grant immunity, or to adopt a procedure
to that end." 287 U.S. at 449.

Li?

police misconduct. As Judge Hufstedler
of the Ninth Circuit, explained:

Under Sorrells, whenever the element
of non-entrapment is put in issue the
Government must prove beyond a reasonable
doubt that the acts charged were non-
entrapped acts. The Government bears
this burden whether or not the crime
charged involves a subjective, mental
element and whether or not the defendant
concedes any mental element involved.
wea we Relieving the Government of the
burden of proving that the necessary acts
were non-entrapped, conflicts funda-
mentally with the Sorrells conception of
entrapment. -- United States v. Demma,
523 F.2d 981, 383 (9th Cir. 1LF75).

The central inguiry in an entrapment
defense is whether the criminal conduct
was the product of the accused's intent,
or whether it was produced by the crea-
tive activity of law enforcement of-
ficers. “The predisposition and criminal
design of the defendant are relevant.
But the issues raised and the evidence
adduced must be pertinent to the con-

trolling question whether the defendant

18

is a person otherwise innocent whom the
Government is seeking to punish for an
alleged offense which is the product of
the creative activity of its own offi-

ae FOR lg Sorrells v. United States, 287

U.S. at 451. Consistent with this analy-
Sis, and prior to its decision in the
instant case, the Fourth Circuit's rule
had been that in order to carry the
entrapment defense to the jury, the
defendant must produce "more than a

scintilla", United States v. Perl, 584

Poem eee eee eer Cir. 1978), of “some
evidence of unreadiness on his part, or
Of persuasion by the agent." United

States v. DeVore, 423 F.2d 1069, 1071

(4tn Cis. 2970).
As stated by the Fifth Circuit in

United States v. Henry, 749 F.2d 203, 211

(Sth Cir. 1984), in light of the forego-

19

ing analysis of the defense of entrap-
ment, it is not “impermissibly incon-
sistent for an accused both to claim that
his admitted acts were without criminal
intent, but that nevertheless any act he
so committed was induced by governmental
entrapment. Did he intend to commit the
crime? If so, what was the origin of
that intent?” The court went on to
observe that "proof of lack of criminal
intent often may be much of the proof of
both inducement and lack of predisposi-
tion. ». « « The Jury's Ceacitionses Toie
should not be pared down simply because a
defendant expresses a personal belief in
his lack of criminal intent.” 749 F.2d
at 213-214.

In the instant case it was not
logically inconsistent, and it was well

within the conception of entrapment as

20

developed by this Court for petitioner to
Maintain his innocence of criminal intent
and at the same time to contend that he
had been entrapped into committing acts
that could be regarded as carrying out
the objectives of the drug conspiracy.
The jury obviously believed petitioner's
testimony that he did not travel or use
instrumentalities of interstate commerce
for criminal purposes, because he was
acquitted of these counts of the indict-
ment. Petitioner was convicted of con-
spiracy on the basis of his overt acts
consisting cf assisting the undercover
government agent tc make contact with his
co-defendant Warden. Testifying in his
own behalf, petitioner freely admitted
having rendered this assistance, but
denied that he did so for any illegal

purpose or with the intent to forward a

criminal enterprise. On these facts, it
was inconsistent with this Court's deci-

sion in Sorrells v. United States, for

the Court of Appeals to withdraw the
entrapment defense from the jury.

II. IF A DEFENDANT MUST FORFEIT HIS
RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEFENSE OF ENTRAPMENT
CONSIDERED BY THE JURY, AS THE PRICE OF
TESTIFYING IN HIS OWN BEHALF, (a) AN
UNCONSTITUTIONAL PRESUMPTION IS CREATED,
AND (b) THE DEFENDANT'S RIGHT TO TESTIFY
FOR HIMSELF IS IMPERMISSIBLY BURDENED.

The Court of Appeals in the instant
case faiied to take account of the con-
stitutional dimensions of its decision.
Since the point decided by the court had
not been briefed or argued by the par-
ties, neither the government nor peti-
tioner had an opportunity to address
their views on the constitutional issues
implicit in the decision.

The United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in United States

22

¥V. Demma, 523 F.2d 981, 986 (9th Cir.

1975), noted that there are sericus
constitutional objections to rejecting
the entrapment defense of a defendant who
testifies that he is innocent. In the
present case, the constitutional objec-
tions are twofold. First, an unconsti-
tutional presumption against petitioner
was created. Second, petitioner's right
to testify for himself was improperly
burdened. The constitutional arguments
are set forth in Groot, "The Serpent
Beguiled Me and I (Without Scienter) Dia
Eat -- Denial of Crime and the Entrapment
Defense,” 1973 U.111.L.Forum 254, 269-75.

A. An Unconstitutional Presumption

Against Petitioner Was Created.

The Court of Appeals held in this
Case that if petitioner wished to main-

tain that he had been entrapped, and at

23

the same time testify im his own behalf,
he could not testify that his actions
were without criminal intent. The clear
effect of this holding was tc create an
icrebuttable presumption that whenever
one is entrapped, he must be guilty of
the crime.

There are a great many factual
settings, including that of the present
case, in which this presumption 1s un-
reasonable. Petitioner would not have
done the acts, i.e., made the telephone
calls, that the government relied upon to
secure his conviction of conspiracy, had
he not been induced by the undercover
government agent. Nevertheless, when he
did these acts, even though to paraphrase
his testimony he suspected he was getting
Gangerously close to the drug dealing

business, he did not intend to become,

24

and did not believe he was becomina,
personally involved. 3

The presumption imposed by the court
below is unconstitutionally invaliad
because it collides with the constitu-
tionally mandated presumption of innc-

cence in criminal cases. Sandstrom v.

Montana, 442 U.S. 510 (1979): Morisette

Vv. United States, 342 U.S. 246 t83321%

Petitioner would have had to surrender
his presumption of innocence and freely
admit to guilty acts with guilty know-
ledge, in order to rely on the entrapment
cefense, according to the court below.
"A conclusive presumpticn which testimony
could not overthrow would effectively

eliminate intent as an ingredient of the

3 See United States v. Henry, 749
F.2d 203, 213 -(1984) {"ingeed, proort ot
lack of criminal intent often may be much
of the proof of both inducement and lack
of predisposition.")

25

offense. . .. [T]his presumption would
conflict with the overriding presumption
of innocence with which the law endows
the accused and which extends to every

element of the crime." Morisette v.

United States, 342 U.S. at 274-275.4

B. Petitioner's Right to Testify

for Himself Was Impermissibly Burdened.

The court below held that the price
to petitioner of taking the stand in his
own behalf, was surrender of his entrap-
ment defense. The right of one accused
of a crime to testify in his own behalf

is well-established. Harris v. New York,

4 The lower court's presumption,
even if it were only a permissive and not
a mandatory one, would not pass constitu-
tional muster, since it cannot be said
that the presumed fact, i.e., possession
of criminal intent, more likely than not
flows from the proven fact, i.e., entrap-
ment. Turner v. United States, 396
U.S. 398, 404-405 (1970). See Sandstrom
v. Montana, Supra, 442 U.S. at 519, n. 9.

26

401 U.S. 222, 225 {1971)3 Faretta v.

California, €22 U.S O06, 819% fa 2S

(1975). This is a fundamental right on
which the government must not place
burdens and conditions. Petitioner's
testimony was honest; he was not decep-
tive. He believed that his acts were
free of criminal intent, yet he would not
have acted in the way that he did without
having been persuaded by the government
agent. The Court of Appeals' rule would
force a false confession from petiticner
as the price cf submitting the entrapment

defense.» Under these circumstances,

5 petitioner's dilemma is markedly
Gifferent from that of the defendants in
cases like Harris v. New York, supra, and
Brown v. United States, 356 U.S. 148
(1958), who were required to face truth
determination cGevices like cross examina-
tion and impeachment in return for taking
the stand in their own defense, whereas
petitioner was deprived of a benefit
because he told what he regarded to be
the truth.

a@

there is no basis for exacting the relin-
quishment of petitioner's entrapment
defense, as the price of his testimony in

self-defense. Cf., Simmons v. United

otates, 390 U.S. 377 (1968).
~ @ & 2 a2 2 ©
The iower court's retroactive over-
ruling of its prior decision was uniquely
prejudicial to petitioner. Had- he known

that Crisp v. United States, 262 F.2d 68

(4th Cir. 1958), was to be overruled, he
could have made a reasoned decision as to
whether or not to take the stand in his
own defense. Had he known that the price
of testifying truthfully would have been
the loss of his entrapment defense, he
might have elected to adhere to his
constitutional right of maintaining his

Silence. Ullman v. United States, 350

U.S. 422 (1956). Strategically this

28

would not have been unreascnable, since
the government's recorded tapes were
replete with instances in which peti-
tioner cautioned the government under-
cover agent against doing anything ille-
gal, and in which petitioner refused to
engage in various actions that he stated
were improper. ©

Because petitioner could not foresee
the Court of Appeals' reversing the
existing authority of the circuit, he
unwittingly, unintentionally exercised
his right to testify in his own behalf,

and by testifying created an irrebuttable

6 Cases on both sides of the ques-
tion of whether one can testify as to
innocence and at the same time maintain
he was entrapped, are in agreement that
the defendant who does not take the stand
in his own defense is free to rely on the
defense of entrapment. United States v.
Henry, 749 F.2d 203, 205, 207-208 (5th
Cir. 1984); United States v. Annese, 631
F.2d 1041, 1045-1047 (lst Cir. 1980).

29

presumption, resulting in his loss of the
right to present the entrapment defense
to the jury.
CONCLUSION

This Court should grant certiorari
in this case, and should reverse the
decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit holding
that denial of conspiratorial intent
works a forfeiture of the entrapment
defense, for the reasons that this deci-
sion is fundamentally inconsistent with
the substantive law of entrapment as

developed by this Court in Sorrells v.

United States and its progeny, and that

the decision imposes unconstitutional
burdens on the presumption of innocence
and the right to testify in one's own

behalf.

30

Respectfully submitted,

Norman B. Smith

Smith, Patterson, Follin,
Curtis, James & Harkavy

700 Southeastern Building

Greensboro, NC 27401

Telephone: (919) 274-2992

Counsel of Record

31

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NO. 84-5291 (L)

United States of America,
Appellee,
versus

Ramon Elesvan Dorta,,
a/k/a Raymond. Dorchester,

Appellant.

NO. 84-5294

United States of America,
Appellee,
versus
Luis German Laverde,

Appellant.

NO. 64-5295

App. 1

United States of America,
Appellee,
versus
Donald Bruce Knight,

Appellant.

NO. 84-5296

United States of America,
Appellee,
versus
Renn Drum, Jr.,
Appellant.
Appeal from the United States District
Court for the Middle District of North
Carolina, at Greensboro. Recnara cC.

Erwin,’ District Judge. (CR 84-31-01-G;
O2-G; 03-G; O7/-G)

Argued: November 4, 1985
Decided: February 21, 1986

Before WINTER, Chief Judge, SNEEDEN,
Circuit Judge and HILTON, United States
District Judge for the Eastern District
of Virginia, sitting by designation.

Age. 2

Norman B. Smith for Appellant Renn Drum,
Jr.; A. Wayne Harrison for Apvellant
Donald Bruce Knight; Michael Burnbaum for
Appellant Luis German Laverde (Smith,
Patterson, Follin, Curtis, James and
Harkavy; Bronis & Portela, P.A.; Robert
Kalter, P.A. on brief) for Appellant
Ramon Elesvan Dorta; David B. Smith,
Assistant United States Attorney (Kenneth
W. McAllister, United States Attorney;
Becky M. Strickland on brief) for
Appellee.

SNEEDEN, Circuit Judge:

Appellants Dorta, LaVerde, Knight,
and Drum were indicted for numerous drug
related offenses arising out of an al-
leged cocaine distribution operation.

They appeal their subsequent convictionsl

.\ Jury found Dorta guilty of one
count of conspiracy to distribute cocaine
in violation of 21 U.S.C. Sec. 846, five
counts of using a telephone to carry on
illegal drug activities in Violation of
is 0.8.C. See. 1952(a) (2), (a) (3), ana
five counts of possessing cocaine with
the intent to distribute in violation of
el U.S. See. G@41(a) (1). LaVerde was
found guilty of one count of conspiracy

App. 3

On numerous grounds. Finding no merit in
appellants' contentions, we affirm.
Ae

On August 5, 1983, federal agents
arrested Donald Jones and Susan Weeks at
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, and
Charged them with possession of cocaine.
As part of an eventual plea bargaining
agreement, Jones and Weeks agreed to
testify against appellants.

The evidence introduced by the
government at trial can be briefly sum-
marized. The testimony by Jones, Weeks,

and other witnesses implicated appellants

to distribute cocaine and one count of
uSing the telephone to carry on illegal
drug activities. The jury found Knight
guilty of one count of conspiracy to
distribute cocaine, three counts of using
the telephone to further illegal drug
activities, and two counts of possession
of cocaine with intent to distribute.
Drum was convicted of conspiring to
distribute cocaine.

App. 4

Dorta, LaVerde, and Knight in a drug
distribution operation dating from 1981.
The distribution network involved cocaine
pick-ups in Florida and deliveries in
North and South Carolina. Their testi-
mony also implicated Henry Warden (a
co-defendant not involved in this appeal)
as playing a key role in the drug distri-
bution ring. Appellant Drum was Warden's
attorney. Jones and Weeks testified
that, after their arrest, Drum visited
them in jail on Warden's behalf in order
to arrange for the continuation of co-
Caine deliveries.

As part of their agreement with the
government, Jones and Weeks pretended to
continue their illegal drug activities
after their release from jail. THis
effort, in which Jones and Weeks were, in

effect, government agents, commenced

App. 5

Sometime in November, 1983. As a result
of their cooperation, the government
introduced additional evidence implicat-
ing Drum in the distribution conspiracy.
Appellants were arrested on February 7,
1984.

ik.

The first issue we will discuss is
Drum's assertion that the trial court
committed reversible error by refusing to
instruct the jury on the entrapment
Gefense. Drum claims that nenatdetabie
evidence was introduced which demon-
strates that Weeks induced Drum fo join
the drug conspiracy during the time she
was acting as a government agent. Citing

our decision in United States Vv. Hunt,

749 F.2d 1078 (4th Cir. 1984), Drum
asserts that the trial court was required

to instruct the jury on entrapment.

Apr. 6

However, we do not need to decide
this issue because the record reveals
that in his testimony before the jury,
Drum unequivocally and repeatedly denied
any involvement in the cocaine conspira-
cy. Thus, Drum is claiming in one breath
that he did not commit the crime, and in
the next that even if he did commit it,
the government entrapped him. 2

The vast majority of the circuit
courts of appeals have adopted the rule
that defendants may not testify that they
did not commit the crime charged and also

assert the -entrapment defense. See,

2 The reason for the district
court's refusal to instruct the jury on
entrapment is not entirely clear from the
record. The government took the position
at trial that an entrapment instruction
should not ke given in this case because
it would be inconsistent with Drum's
denial of wrongdoing. Accordingly, this
inconsistency may have been the basis for
the court's ruling.

-

App. Fi

e.qg., Uaited States Vv, Guitth,--7ot-P.ea

1161, 1267-69 (lith- Cir. 1985)3. Carre

States v. Liparota, 735 F.2d 1644, 1C48

(7th Cir. 1984), rev'd. on other grounds,

105 §.Ct. 2084 (1985): United States

v. Whitley, 734 F.2@ 1123) £257 etn

Cir. 1984); United States v. Mayo, 7/05

F.2d 62, 72-73 (2nd Cir. 1983)? United

States v. Hill, 655 F.2d Si2, S314: 42r¢

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 699

(1984); United States v. Annese, 631

F.2d 1041, 1046-47 (ist Cir. 1980);

Munroe v. United States, 424 F.2d 243,

244 (10th Cir. 1970) (en banc); Ware

v. United States, 259 F.2d 442, 445 (8th

Cir. 1958).3 The primary rationale for

3 The Fifth Circuit has recently
adopted a hybrid position in which a
testifying defendant may not deny that he
has committed the acts charged and also
claim entrapment, but the defendant may
deny having criminal intent and still be
entitled to assert the entrapment de-

App. 8

this rule is the unacceptable incorsis-
tency that arises when a defendant both
denies guilt and asserts entrapment.

see, @.g., United States v. Smith, 757

F.2d at 11€7-68; Munroe v. United States,
424 F.2d at 244.

This circuit's holdings on whether
defendants may assert an entrapment
defense inconsistent with their denial of
committing the crime have been sparse and

inconsistent. In Nutter v. United

States, 289 F. 484, 485 (4th Cir. 1923),
this court took the position that a
defendant may not succeed on a claim of

entrapment when he has testified that he

fense. United States v. Henry, 749 F.2d
203, 205 (5th Cir. 1984) (en banc).

Only two circuits permit a defendant
to deny all elements of the crime and
Still claim entrapment. United States
V¥. Kelly, 523 F.2d 691, 7O0L ni 24 (0.C.
Cir. 1984); United States v. Demma, 523
F.2c 981, 982 (9th Cir. 1975) (en banc).

App. 9

did not commit the crime.4 In 1958 we
took the opposite position in Crisp

v. United States, 262 F.2d 68, 79 (4th

Cif. £P7Sh« The opinion in Crisp does
not cite or discuss Nutter, which another
court had two years earlier interpreted
to support the rule that the entrapment
defense is not available when the defend-

ant denies commission of the crime,

Henderson v. United States, 232 F.2d 169,

172-73 (5th Cir. 1956). Our research has
failed to locate any Fourth Circuit
opinion citing Crisp with approval on the

issue in question here.

4 As an alternative holding, the
court's opinion in Nutter also relied
on evidence of the defendant's predis-
position to commit the crime. 289 F. at
485. We note, however, that other courts
have interpreted Nutter to be consistent
with the proposition that a defendant may
not raise the entrapment defense when he
has denied commission of the crime. See,
e.g., Henderson v. United States, 237
P.420 169, 2f2°7f3 (Sth Cifs FSSS3 «

App. 10

We must choose between our conflict-

ing positions in Crisp and Nutter. We
conclude that the better rule is that
defendants are not entitled to a jury
instruction on entrapment when they
testify that they have not committed the
Crime charged. Not only is this the much
more recent position of the overwhelming
majority of other Circuits, but more
importantly, it is also in the interest
of protecting the integrity and the
truth-finding function of Our Criminal
trials. "A criminal prosecution ... is
not a game, It ~incorporates a mora]
content and an ultimate concern with
guilt or innocence that are inconsistent
with permitting the accused to say, 'I
didn't do it, but if I did, the govern-

ment tricked me into it.'" United States

Vv. Rey, 706 F.2d 145, 147 (5th Cir. 1983)

App. 11

(citation omitted). Accordingly, the
Sraai COUrt:, Gad not “err in reftasinc
Drum's request that the jury ce
instructed on entrapment.

tif.

We next address the claim by all the
appellants that the trial court erred in
refusing to allow their counsel to cross-
examine the government's chief witness,
Jones, concerning his belief as to what
his maximum sentence could have been had
he not cooperatec with the government.
Appellants contend that this ruling
violated their constitutional right to
confront adverse witnesses.

We recognize that a witness' unaer-
etanding of what benefits he will receive
as a result of his cooperation with the

government is relevant and that the

defendant is constitutionally entitled to

App. 12

explore this subject during cross-exami-

nation. Davis Vv. Alapka,. 4235 U.8.. 308

(1974); Hoover v. Maryland, 714 F.2d 301

(4th Cir. 1983). In Hoover v. Maryland,

we held that a state trial court had
unconstitutionally abridged the defend-
ant's right to confront an adverse wit-
ness by a “sustained and effective re-
Fusal to permit inquiry into [the wit-
ness'] understanding of his bargain with
the government." 714 F.2d at 306. In
that case we concluded that the court's
"interference" with defense counsel's
cross-examination on the bias issue was

: e &
“pervasive.” Id.°?

9 In Hoover, the trial judge had
"indicated his belief that the letter
Granting immunity was the only evidence
on the contents of the immunity agreement
neeaed by the jury." 714 F.2d at 306.

App. 13

A careful review of the record here
reveals that appellants' counsel cross-
examined Jones thoroughly, if not exhaus-
tively, concerning his possible bias
arising out of his agreement with the
government. Appellants' counsel ex-
plored, for example, Jones' conviction
for assaulting an FBI agent; his past
Criminal conduct, including the number of
times he possessed cocaine; his under-
standing of the use immunity he was
granted for his grand jury testimony; his
understanding of the implications of his
plea agreement; and his motivation for
testifying. The trial court clearly did
not impose "Substantial limitations on
the attempts of a defendant to undermine
as biased a witness' testimony." Hoover

v. State of Maryland, 714 F.2d at 305.

App. 14

The “defendants in this case ob-
tained from the witness a clear anda
complete statement of [the witness']
understanding of the plea bargain and of
what benefits [the witness] would receive

as a result." United States v. Odom, 736

F.2d 104, 108-09 (4th Cir. 1984).
Accordingly, we find no error in the

trial court's ruling.®

6 The information which appellants
Claim that the district court improperly
prevented them for eliciting -- namely,
Jones' understanding of the total possi-
ble sentence he would have faced for all
the crimes he had committed that were
covered by his plea agreement -- was
readily ascertainable from Jones' testi-
mony On cross-examinaton. Jones testi-
fied on cross-examination that he had
possessed cocaine in North Caroilna 50 to
100 times and that it was his understand-
ing that fifteen years was the maximum
sentence for each possession. Thus,
while relevant, this evidence was proper-
ly excludable as repetitive. Davis v.
Alaska, 415 U.S. at 316.

App. 15

IV.

Appellants' remaining four conten-
tions do not reaguire detailed discus-
sion. The first of these is that the
trial court erred in allowing two govern-
ment charts into evidence that appellants
allege inaccurately and unfairly sum-
marized telephone toll records. The
lengthy telephone records had already
been introduced into evidence, and the
Charts in question summarized the calls
that were relevant to the government's
case.

Rule 1006 of the Federal Rules of
Evidence provides that the "contents of
voluminous writings, recordings, or
photographs which cannot conveniently be
examined in court may be presented in the
form of a chart, summary, or calcula-

tion." Since the charts in question here

App. 16

accurately summarized evidence already
before the jury, we find no €rror in the
district court's exercise of discretion
is admitting the charts into evidence.

See United States Vv. Kettner, 675 F.24 at

602, 605-06 (4th Cig. ), Cert. denied,

T5938 c--839 (1982).

The appellants also assert error in
the trial court's refusal to give
Appellant Drum's requested jury instruc-
tions on the elements of conspiracy. 4
Careful comparison of the instructions on
conspiracy given by the district court
and those requested by Drum, however,
reveals that the instructions Given by
the court, as « whole, included the
substance of Drum's requested conspiracy
Charge and were "sufficiently precise to
instruct the jury in the defendant's

theory of defense." United States y.

App. 17

Miller, 658 F.2d 235, 237 (4th Cir. 1981)

(quoting United States v. Mitchell, 495

F.2G 285, 268 €4tH Cir. 19773). We
therefore find no error in the district
court's charge to the jury on the ele-
ments of conspiracy.

Next, Appellate LaVerde claims that
the trial court erred in refusing to
Suppress Diane Palas' in-court identifi-
cation of him. After LaVerde's arrest,
Palas was shown the pictures of the seven
individuals arrested in this case. She
identified the individuals in the picture
by name. LaVerde contends that the photo
display was unduly suggestive in that he
was the only foreigner in the pictures.

Even assuming, without deciding,
that the photo display was unduly sugges-
tive, we find no error because the

totality of the circumstances in this

App. 18

———— tC ttt‘ C;S;tr”™;é‘SCé;CO~™;

case -- including Palas' several previous
encounters with LaVerde -- “fall far
short of the 'very substantial likelihood
of irreparable misidentification'
standard that is required." United

States v. Hughes, 716 F.2d 234, 241 {4th

Cir. 1983) (quoting Simmons v. United

States, 390 U.S. 377, 384 (1968)).
Finally, Appellant Knight urges that
the district ccurt erred in failing to
grant his request for a jury instruction
on the law of multiple conspiracies. The
indictment alleged a single conspiracy
existing from March, 1981, until February
ts USS: Knight's position is that the
evidence establishes two conspiracies: a
minor conspiracy, in which he is impli-
cated, that began in March of 1981 and
ended on August 5, 1983, and a separate

conspiracy, in which he has not been

App. 19

implicated, that began on August 5, 1983,
and continued until February 7, 1984.
The bulk of the government's evidence
concerned the period of time beginning in
August, 1983, and ending in February,
1984.

Our initial inquiry is "whether the
evidence, when viewed in the light most

favorable to the government, Glasser

otter strates, 315 U.S. 60, 80, 62

Daun Sor, S69, 86 L.EG. 680 (1942),
supports the jury's finding of a single

conspiracy." United States v. Hines, 71/7

F.20 1481, 1489 (4th Cir. 1983). Apply-
ing this standard, the evidence clearly
supports the jury's verdict. Evidence
introduced at trial implicated Knight as
an active member of a cocaine distribu-

tion ring whose core members remained

App. 20

—----

basically unchanged during the approxi-
mately three-year period alleged in the

indictment. Even assuming that the jury

could not have found that Knight partici-

pated in the specific drug transactions
occurring during the last six months of
the cocaine distribution scheme, there
was no evidence that Knight had withdrawn
from the conspiracy or that it had termi-
nated and a new conspiracy had begun.
Since the other core members of the
conspiracy and its basic operation re-
mained unchanged, a new conspiracy did
not arise simply because two former co-
conspirators began to act as government
agents. "To separate the drug conspiracy
at issue into multiple conspiracies
pertaining to each drug transaction would
not only be artificial, but would distort

the common goal of the conspiracy."

App. 21

United States v. Adams, 759 F.2d 19099,

R210 “(2e4. Cites 298s a Accordingly,
Knight's assertion of error based on the
existence of multiple conspiracies has
no merit./
= Ws

After carefully considering all of
appellants' contentions, we conclude that

the judgments entered pursuant to the

jury's verdict should be affirmed.

7 Contrary to the position taken in
appellants' brief, at oral argument
counsel for Knight contended that the
evidence showed not two, but four, con-
Spiracies. While we do not feel com-
pelled to address this contention made
only at oral argument, we note that it is
likewise meritless.

Knight also contends that the trial
court erred in denying his motion to
sever, which was based on the existence
of multiple conspiracies. Clearly, the
court did not abuse its discretion. See
United States v. Spoone, 741 F.2d 680,
688 (4th Cir. 1984) (denial of motion to
sever reviewed under abuse of discretion
standard).

App. 22

AFFIRMED.

23

App.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1756%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
