# Opposition Brief — Wilsmann v. Upjohn Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1755%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1171

## Text

: Supreme Court, U.S,
) ‘is EILED
J {
sal : i MAY 19 1906
No. 85-1712 | | 'yoscptt F. SPANIOL, JR,
A A
IN THE a aa

Supreme Court of the GQnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

EDWARD J. WILSMANN,

Petitioner,
.
THE UPJOHN COMPANY
and
UPJOHN HEALTH CARE SERVICES, INC.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE UPJOHN COMPANY AND UPJOHN
HEALTH CARE SERVICES, INC., IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES LISTER*

Covington & Burling

1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
P.O. Box 7566

Washington, D.C. 20044

(202) 662-5168

THOMAS G. PARACHINI

DirK J. HOLKEBOER

Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone
444 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49007

(616) 381-7030

Attorneys for Respondents
The Upjohn Company and
Upjohn Health Care Services, Inc.

*Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals erred in unanimously
holding that the trial court should have granted judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict regarding ‘‘implau-
sible’ and ‘“‘conflicting’’ claims that required the jury
to indulge in “‘sheer speculation,” and as to which
the jury could not “within reason” have found for
plaintiff.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SOOTHE HH TET HHT HEHEHE TEETER EEEEEEEETEEEEEEESE EEE EEEEEES

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Aaron Ferer & Sons Ltd. v. Chase Manhattan Bank,

Pe Ee Me I, BED Snsicesensencvcccvesssscese 6
Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., —_U.S.

, 105 Sup. Ct. 1504 (1984) SORES NOT 7

nin v. Commerce Tankers Corp., 423 F.2d 957

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 833 (1970)... 6
Brady v. Southern Railroad, 320 U.S. 476

RIE tacaneeesceppniecstsnccsnnerevsssenncenesinsrsnesecscceesseees 6

Campus Sweater & Sportswear Co. v. M.B. Kahn
Construc. Co. 515 F. Supp. 64 (D.S.C. 1979),
affd, 644 F.2d 877 (4th Cir. 1981)...

9
Denneny v. Siegei, 407 F.2d 433 (8d Cir. 1969) _... 6
Galloway v. United States, 319 U.S. 372 (1943) ..... a 7
Johnson v. Rogers, 621 F.2d 300 (8th Cir. 1980) 9
Juhnke v. EIG Corp., 444 F.2d 1323 (9th Cir.

La. castiatshusatecnssessoinons 9
Mattivi v. South African Marine Corp., 618 F.2d 163

se SSS FSA 6
Minton v. Southern Ry. Co., 368 F.2d 719 (6th Cir.

aa scsdatnicdbvcedsathsinencaakeesexessnsvee 9

Ricker v. Textilmaschinen GmBH, 506 F. Supp. 3
(E.D. Tenn. 1978), aff'd, 633 F.2d 918 (6th Cir.
i adiseehehickebsbiedenhsnbdirvchneaiveneneatess 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-1712

EDWARD J. WILSMANN,

Petitioner,
Vv.
THE UPJOHN COMPANY
and
UPJOHN HEALTH CARE SERVICES, INC.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE UPJOHN COMPANY AND UPJOHN
HEALTH CARE SERVICES, INC., IN OPPOSITION’

Pursuant to Rule 22.1 of the Rules of this Court,
respondents The Upjohn Company and Upjohn Health

1In accordance with Rule 28.1, respondents state that Upjohn
Health Care Services, Inc., is a wholly-owned subsidiary of The
Upjohn Company, which in turn has no parent company. The
two companies have various subsidiaries and affiliates that are
not wholly-owned, but most of those exist outside the United
States. Within the United States, such companies include Ar-
kansas Breeders Corp., North Coast Hospital Home Care, Inc.,
and CARETEC, Inc.

Care Services, Inc. (collectively ‘‘Upjohn’’) oppose the
petition for certiorari filed by Edward J. Wilsmann.?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves claims of federal securities fraud
and breach of contract asserted by Wilsmann in con-
nection with Upjohn’s acquisition of Homemakers in
1969 and an accompanying employment contract be-
tween Upjohn and Wilsmann. Wilsmann’s statement
of the case is inaccurate and incomplete, but the rel-
evant facts are conveniently summarized in the unan-
imous opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit. See the Appendix to the Petition (“‘Pet. App.’’)
at Al. The following statement therefore includes only
a brief description of the lengthy record.

Wilsmann is an experienced accountant and busi-
nessman who in 1969 was president of Homemakers,
a small company then selling franchises for the pro-
vision of home health care. By Wilsmann’s own es-
timate, the company was “broke.’* When Wilsmann
was unable to arrange a public offering of Home-
makers’ stock, he negotiated the company’s acquisi-
tion by Upjohn. The parties first contemplated an
arrangement under which Wilsmann would have been
given an investment interest in Upjohn’s new Home-
makers subsidiary, which Upjohn would have had a
later option to purchase. This proposal was abandoned

2 Wilsmann’s petition includes ‘Homemakers, Inc.,” as a
respondent. Homemakers was the company’s name in 1969 at
the time of its acquisition by Upjohn, but its name has subse-
quently been altered, and it now exists under the name of Up-
john Health Care Services, Inc.

* Trial transcript (‘‘Tr.”) 207.

after Upjohn was compelled to lend large sums to
satisfy Homemakers’ urgent financial needs. The par-
ties instead adopted a different arrangement later in
1969, under which Homemakers became a wholly-
owned subsidiary of Upjohn and Wilsmann’s proposed
investment interest was eliminated. The terms of the
acquisition were embodied in a detailed written agree-
ment that was expressly declared to be the parties’
“entire” agreement, superseding ‘‘all prior agree-
ments and understandings.’’* Wilsmann executed the
agreement on behalf of Homemakers.

The parties also agreed that Wilsmann would be-
come an employee of the new subsidiary. Upjohn and
Wilsmann entered into a written employment contract
that again represented their ‘“‘entire’’ agreement, ex-
pressly superseding all prior understandings.’ In ad-
dition to salary and other benefits, the employment
contract permitted Wilsmann to earn employment bo-
nuses contingent upon the sufficiency of Homemak-
ers’ post-acquisition earnings, as determined by an
eligibility formula set forth in the contract.®

Wilsmann brought this action in 1977, alleging vi-
olations of the federal securities laws and breach of
contract. His claims were vague and inconsistent, but
included allegations that Upjohn had breached the em-
ployment contract by failing to pay employment bo-
nuses and had violated the securities laws by failing
to make a “back-end’”’ payment assertedly promised
to him orally in 1969. At trial, Upjohn moved un-
successfully for a directed verdict regarding Wils-

‘ Plaintiff's trial exhibit 2, at page 26.
5 Plaintiff's trial exhibit 28, at pages 6-7.
Pet. App. at A7, n.13.

mann’s securities claim, based in part upon the
insufficiency of the evidence. The jury returned a ver-
dict for Wilsmann regarding his claim under the se-
curities laws, but did not reach his contract claims.
Following trial, Upjohn filed a timely motion for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict. Upon appeal, Up-
john argued in part that the trial court erred in
denying a directed verdict and judgment n.o.v. be-
cause of the insufficiency of the evidence.’

The Sixth Circuit held unanimously that the trial
court erred in not granting judgment n.o.v., and re-
manded the case for further consideration of Wils-
mann’s contract claims. The court held that
Wilsmann’s unsupported testimony*® regarding the al-
leged oral promise was ‘‘in conflict,” requiring the
jury to indulge in “sheer speculation.”’ Pet. App. Al4.
It emphasized that Wilsmann’s contentions were not

7 Upjohn also contended that Wilsmann’s claim was outside
the scope of the federal securities laws, that it was barred by
the statute of limitations, and that the trial court erred in award-
ing prejudgment interest. The Sixth Circuit did not reach the
last two contentions.

* Wilsmann’s claim that in 1969 he was orally promised a
“back-end” payment rests upon his own testimony, without cor-
roborative documentary evidence of any kind. To the contrary,
in addition to denying formally such oral understandings in both
the acquisition agreement and his employment contract, Wils-
mann prepared a lengthy memorandum describing his claims, in
which he never suggested that ne had been orally promised any
“back-end” payment. See Pet. App. at Al8. Similarly, Wils-
mann’s claim in the petition that he was supported at trial by
Upjohn’s witnesses is without basis. To the contrary, Upjohn’s
chief negotiator in 1969 testified that Wilsmann’s investment
interest in the abandoned first plan was replaced in the final
agreement by an “incentive” based on contingent employment
bonuses. Tr. 529.

ee a ee

5

only ‘‘totally implausible” but ‘‘also in conflict each
with the other.” Jd. at A19. Accordingly, the court
of appeals held that a jury “could not within reason”
have found that fraud occurred. Jd.

Wilsmann sought rehearing en banc, arguing for the
first time that Upjohn had not properly preserved the
sufficiency issue for appellate review. The court of
appeals unanimously denied rehearing, and this
petition for certiorari foliowed.®

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

In accordance with Rule 17.1 of the Rules of this
Court, certiorari should plainly be denied. The court
of appeals did nothing except apply long-established
standards for directed verdicts and motions for judg-
ment n.o.v. No relevant conflict regarding those
standards exists among the Circuits or with prior de-
cisions of this Court. No other question of federal law
is involved, and the matters about which Wilsmann
purportedly seeks the Court’s guidance are irrelevant
to this case. He seeks certiorari merely because he
disagrees with the unanimous opinion of the court of
appeals regarding the insufficiency of his ‘‘conflict-
ing’ and ‘‘implausible’’ evidence. Pet. App. Al4, A19-
20. In these circumstances, there are no ‘“‘special’’ or
‘“important”’ reasons within the meaning of Rule 17.1
that justify certiorari.

® After the mandate of the court of appeals had issued but
before this petition was filed, Upjohn moved for summary judg-
ment in the district court regarding Wilsmann’s remaining con-
tract claims. Wilsmann filed a cross-motion for summary
judgment, arguing in the alternative that the district court should
relinquish penc'»< jurisdiction over the contract claims. Th> mo-
tions are now awaiting decision.

I.

The court of appeals concluded that Wilsmann’s se-
curities claim required the jury to engage in ‘“‘sheer
speculation.” Pet. App. A19-20. It held that a jury
“could not within reason‘‘ have found that fraud oc-
curred. Jd. Based upon these conclusions, it ruled that
the trial court erred in denying judgment n.o.v., and
remanded the case for consideration of Wilsmann’s
contract claims. In so doing, the court of appeals
applied familiar rules established in numerous deci-
sions by this Court and the courts of appeals.

This Court long ago held that, however the stand-
ard for directed verdicts and judgments n.o.v. may
be articulated, the ‘‘essential requirement is that mere
speculation” may not ‘‘do duty for probative facts.”’
Galloway v. United States, 319 U.S. 372, 395 (1948).
Accordingly, directed verdicts should be granted
whenever necessary to prevent the “mischance of
speculation.” Brady v. Southern Railroad, 320 U.S.
476, 480 (1948). Consistent with this Court’s instruc-
tions, the courts of appeals have repeatedly held that
“surmise and conjecture” cannot support a jury ver-
dict. H.g., Armstrong v. Commerce Tankers Corp., 423
F.2d 957, 959-60 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 833
(1970); Matti v. South African Marine Corp., 618
F.2d 163, 167-68 (2d Cir. 1980); Aaron Ferer & Sons
Ltd. v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 731 F.2d 112, 121
(2d Cir. 1984). See also Denneny v. Siegel, 407 F.2d
433, 440 (3d Cir. 1969) Gury may not act on “‘spec-
ulation and conjecture’’). In this case, the court of
appeals unanimously held that this well-settled prin-
ciple had been violated.

Wilsmann’s efforts to postulate some broader issue
worthy of review are without basis. In particular, his
effort to adduce some “‘implied’”’ misapplication of An-
derson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., __U.S. __,
105 Sup. Ct. 1504 (1985), is frivolous. The decision
in Anderson was not even referred to by the court
of appeals. It was not cited in briefs or argument by
the parties. The passage in Anderson on which Wils-
mann unaccountably relies declares merely that spec-
ulation cannot support factual findings in non-jury
cases. This rule parallels the similar principle declared
40 years earlier for jury cases in Galloway +. United
States, supra, and certainly affords no justification
for review of this case. Similarly, Wilsmanr.’s claim
that this case offers a suitable vehicle for deciding
whether directed verdicts should be judged by the
narrow standard suggested in some FELA cases, or
by some less rigid standard, is without merit. The
court of appeals heid that Wilsmann’s claims required
the jury to engage in ‘‘sheer speculation,” which war-
rants a directed verdict under even the most restric-
tive standard. No question arises here regarding any
broader standard.

II.

Wilsmann’s petition mistakenly assumes that Up-
john failed to preserve the sufficiency issue for ap-
pellate review. As the court of appeals unanimously
held, the claim is without merit.!° At the close of

10 Wilsmann did not assert that the sufficiency issue had not
properly been preserved until rehearing in the court of appeals,
after the issue had already been briefed, argued and decided.
Upon rehearing, the court of appeals issued a brief order noting
that it had already considere’ Wilsmann’s arguments and that

8

\

Wilsmann’s case, Upjohn moved for a directed verdict
regarding numerous issues, including the sufficiency
of the evidence with respect to Wilsmann’s securities
claim. Counsel analyzed at length the evidence offered
by Wilsmann and specifically urged that ‘there is not
sufficient testimony to bring a claim for fraud to the
jury. ...”! Counsel went on to argue that the fraud
claim was also deficient because Wilsmann’s evidence
as to reliance was insufficient. In denying the mo-
tion, the trial court clearly recognized that the suf-
ficiency issue was before it. The court held specifically
that

“there is sufficient evidence from which a
jury could find ... for the plaintiff on the

allegations set forth in ... [the securities
fraud claim] and ... the motion ... is de-
nied,’’}8

Upjohn again presented the sufficiency issue at the
close of all the evidence. Upjohn’s counsel offered to
reiterate the earlier contentions ‘‘iJn order to pre-
serve our motion for directed verdict.’’* The trial
court responded that no further argument was needed,
but assured counsel that “the arguments that you
made previously” in support of the motion “are pre-
served.’’> The trial court thereupon again denied the

“no judge of this Court” had even “‘requested a vote on the
suggestion for rehearing en banc.”’ Pet. App. A22.

Tr, 889-90.
2 Tr, 890.
3 Tr. 918.
“Tr. 1277.

18 Td.

motion ‘‘for the reasons previously stated on the re-
cord.’

Following trial, Upjohn filed a timely motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict. While the mo-
tion did not specifically reiterate the sufficiency issue,
there was no need for repetition. Unlike Rule 50(a),
Rule 50(b) does nct require a statement of the grounds
for relief, but instead provides that the denial of a
directed verdict is ‘“‘deemed”’ to have submitted the
issue to the jury ‘“‘subject to a later determination of
the legal questions raised by the motion.”” Judgment
n.o.v. may thereafter be entered ‘‘in accordance with
... [the] motion for a directed verdict.”” The motion
for judgment n.o.v. is therefore a ‘‘renewal’’ of the
motion for directed verdict, Minton v. Southern Ry.
Co., 368 F.2d 719, 720 (6th Cir. 1966),!” in which the
legal issues presented by the motion for directed ver-
dict are deemed to be reiterated.

In any event, the preservation issue provides no
basis for certiorari. No conflict exists regarding the
relevant standards, and Wilsmann’s only coinplaint is
the application of those standards to the particular
facts of this case. The court of appeals unanimously
rejected Wilsmann’s last-minute contention, and no
“special” or “important” reascas within the meaning
of Rule 17.1 justify further review.

16 Tr, 1278.

17 See also Johnson v. Rogers, 621 F.2d 300, 305 (8th Cir.
1980); Juhnke v. EIG Corp., 444 F.2d 1323, 13825 (9th Cir. 1971);
Ricker .. Zinser Textilmaschinen GmbH, 506 F. Supp. 3, 6 (E.D.
Tenn. 1978), aff'd, 633 F.2d 918 (6th Cir. 1980); Campus Sweater
& Sportswear Co. v. M.B. Kahn Construc. Co., 515 F. Supp. 64,
74 (D.S.C. 1979), aff'd, 644 F.2d 877 (4th Cir. 1981).

10

CONCLUSION

No substantial issue of federal law exists here, and
the petition for writ of certiorari should therefore be
denied. The district court’s pending proceedings to
adjudicate Wiilsmann’s remaining claims should be
permitted to go forward without additional delay.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES LISTER*

COVINGTON & BURLING

1201 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
P.O. Box 7566

Washington, D.C. 20044

(202) 662-5168

THOMAS G. PARACHINI

DIRK J. HOLKEBOER

MILLER, CANFIELD, PADDOCK & STONE
444 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49007

(616) 381-7030

Attorneys for Respondents
The Upjohn Company and
Upjohn Health Care Services, Inc.

*Counsel of record
May 20, 1986

E.
F

C

se |

\ °
\
\ >

iN

7 aia a cla
‘ 4 1
\ (ak

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1755%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
