# Opposition Brief — Arnebergh v. E. F. Hutton & Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1673%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1141

## Text

Supreme
2) FILED

No. 85-1611 APR 20 1986 |
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK
IN THE . ae

SUPREME COURT —
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

ROGER ARNEBERGH,
Petitioner,
vs.
E.F. HUTTON & COMPANY, INC.,
Respondent.
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ADAMS, DUQUE & HAZELTINE
MARTHA G. BANNE MAN
523 West Sixth Street
Los Angeles, California

Attorneys for Respondent
E.F. dutton & Company, Inc.

wee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

l. Where the jury has announced its ver-
dict and been dismissed, and the
parties disagree as to the meaning of
that verdict, did the District Court
act improperly when, pursuant to
stipulation, it conducted a post-
trial interview of the former jurors
in order to ascertain the jury's true
verdict?

2. Whether the District Court acted
improperly when it entered judgment
in accordance with the jury's
understanding of its own verdict as
expressed in the post-trial
proceeding?

3. Whether the minimal post-trial con-
tact between E.F. Hutton's counsel
and two of the jurors somehow influ-
enced the jury's ability to recall

its intended verdict?

RESPONDENT’S CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS

E.F. Hutton & Company, Inc. is a subsidi-
ary of the E.F. Hutton Group, Inc. The E.F.
Hutton Group, Inc.'s other major subsidiary is

The E.F. Hutton Insurance Group, Inc.

No. 85-1611

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

ROGER ARNEBERGH
Petitioner,

vs.

E.F. HUTTON & COMPANY, INC.
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

I. INTRODUCTION

This litigation arises from two transac~-

tions in commodities trading accounts

maintained by Roger Arnebergh with E.F. Hutton
& Company, Inc. ("E.F. Hutton"). Judgment was
entered in the district court against Arnebergh
in the amount of $168,307. That judgment was
affirmed by the Ninth Circuit. Now, ina last
ditch effort to avoid the judgment, Arnebergh
has filed a Petition For A Writ of Certiorari
to this Court. The Petition is wholly without
merit. |

II. OPINIONS BELOW.

l. The opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit for the
consolidated cases Nos. 83-6195/6222 is pub-

lished as E.F. Hutton & Company, Inc. v.

Arnebergh, 775 F.2d 1061 (9th Cir. 1985), and

appears in Petitioner's Appendix page A-l.

2. The Ninth Circuit's Order amending
its Opinion and denying rehearing and hearing
en banc appears in Petitioner's Appendix page

A-22.

3. The District Court's Order Re Entry
of Judgment, and Judgment of General and
Special Verdicts were not published but appear
in Petitioner's Appendix pages A-29 and A-24,
respectively.

4. The Special Verdict in Favor of Roger
Arnebergh appears in Petitioner's Appendix page
A-36.

5. The Verdict in Favor of E.F. Hutton
appears in Petitioner's Appendix page A-56.

6. The District Court's Order Denying
Motion For Judgment Notwithstanding The Verdict
Or For New Trial And Denying Motion To Alter Or
Amend The Judgment Or For New Trial appears in
Petitioner's Appendix page A-58.

III. JURISDICTION.

Respondent E.F. Hutton agrees with Peti-
tfoner's statement of jurisdiction. The Ninth
Circuit opinion was filed November 5, 1985.
The Ninth Circuit denied Arnebergh's Petition

For Rehearing, together with a Request For

-3-

Hearing En Banc on January 23, 1986.

Arnebergh's Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
was received by E.F. Hutton on March 31, 1986.
The jurisdiction of this Court was invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

le The Seventh Amendment to the United
States Constitution states:

"In Suits at common law, where
the value in controversy shall exceed
twenty dollars, the right of trial by
jury shall be preserved, and no fact
tried by a jury, shall be otherwise
reexamined in any Court of the United
States, than according to the rules
of the common law.”

2. Rule 606(b) of The Federal Rules of

Evidence states:

"Upon an inquiry into the validity of
a verdict or indictment, a juror may
not testify as to any matter or
statement occurring during the course
of the jury's deliberations or to the
effect of anything upon his or any
other juror's mind or emotions as
influencing him to assent to or dis-
sent from the verdict or indictment
or concerning his mental processes in

-4-

connection therewith, except that a
juror may testify on the question
whether extraneous prejudicial infor-
mation was improperly brought to the
jury's attention or whether any
outside influence was improperly
brought to bear upon any juror. Nor
may his affidavit or evidence of any
statement by him concerning a matter
about which he would be precluded
from testifying be received for these
purposes.”

V. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

l. Pactual Background.

On March 7, 1980, Arnebergh bought five
December 1980 silver futures contracts through
E.F. Hutton. (RT 130, 199, 404) This
transaction required a total consideration of
more than $930,000. Under the margin require-
ments, however, Arnebergh was required to
deposit only approximately $225,000. (CR 17 at
5) At the time of his purchases, Arnebergh
believed that silver would increase in value.
This belief turned out to be wrong. For nine

consecutive trading days after Arnebergh's

purchase silver was “down limit.” (RT 133-134,

258) “Down limit" means that there was so much
downward pressure on the price of silver that
the exchange did not allow free trading but
rather allowed the price to fall only by a
particular prescribed limited amount. During
this period, Arnebergh lost approximately
$25,000 per day and by March 13, 1980 his
margin deposit was insufficient to secure the
balance of the required consideration.
(RT 205, 333-334, 406; CR 17 at 5) Orders to
liquidate the trades were entered, but could
not be executed because the market continued
"down limit” each day and there were no buyets.
On about March 17, 1980, it appeared that
trading might resume. (RT 413) Arnebergh
maintained his belief that silver would go up,
so he endeavored to provide E.F. Hutton with
more collateral to prevent his positions from
being liquidated. Arnebergh gave E.F. Hutton a
post-dated check for $100,000, but he did not

have sufficient funds to cover the check.

-6§-

(RT 136) Arnebergh also gave E.F. Hutton a
promissory note and a deed of trust on certain
real estate he owned. (RT 140-142, 143-144)
The market continued down limit for
several days until it experienced a very brief
rally on April 8, i980, at which time Arnebergh
and E.F. Hutton agreed to a "stop loss" sales
order. (RT 240, 443-44) When the market con-
tinued its downward trend, that order was exe-
cuted and Arnebergh's five December 1980 silver
contracts, purchased at $37.27 per ounce, were
sold at $16 40 per ounce. (RT 152-3, 453)
Arnebergh attempted to recoup his losses
with the purchase of one contract for silver in
the spot market (current month). (RT 149)
When his promissory note matured on May 27,
1980, Arnebergh was unable to pay it or other-
wise pay for the losses he sustained. (RT 241)
Accordingly, his spot contract was liquidated,
leaving a balance of approximately $267,500
Owing from him to E.F. Hutton in May 1980.

(RT 355)
-J-

E.F. Hutton filed its Complaint in the
federal district court for the Central District
of California on May 29, 1980 to recover the
balance due from Arnebergh, plus interest.

(CR 1) Arnebergh filed a separate Complaint in
California state court on May 20, 1980 which
sought both to avoid paying the amount owing on
his account through an offset, and to recover
other claimed damages. Arnebergh's theories
were based on his allegation that E.F. Hutton
had promised not to liquidate his silver posi-
tions in spite of the growing deficit in his
account. (CR 1A)

Y Procedural Background.

Arnebergh's Complaint was removed to fed-
eral court on June 25, 1980. (CRi1) Shortly
thereafter, the two cases were consolidated and
in February 1983, the consolidated cases were
tried to a jury in an eight-day trial. (CR
33) Contrary to Arnebergh's contentions at

page 27, these cases were not “separate and

distinct" since they involved the same set of
facts. The parties stipulated that Arnebergh
owed E.F. Hutton an account balance of
$336,614, which represented the $267,500 defi-
ciency plus interest. Counsel for E.F. Hutton
requested that the jury form include the fact
that the parties had stipulated to that amount.
Arnebergh objected and such a statement was
omitted. The stipulated amount, however, was
included in jury instruction No. 16 (CR 72).
Therefore, the jury knew that Arnebergh had
stipulated that he owed E.F. Hutton $336,614.
The jury was given a special verdict form as to
Arnebergh's claims and a general verdict form
as to E.F. Hutton's claims. (CR 77, 78)

In its verdicts, the jury awarded
Arnebergh half of the stipulated damages plus
punitive damages in the amount of $100,000.

The jury found that E.F. Hutton breached an
express contract and the implied covenant of

good faith and fair dealing. (CR 77 at 2, 3)

-9-

The jury further found both Arnebergh and E.F.
Hutton were equally negligent and that E.F.
Hutton had converted Arnebergh's property.

(CR 77 at 5, 7) The jury found E.F. Hutton
committed no fraud, did not violate the
Commodity Exchange Act, and did not breach a
fiduciary duty owed to Arnebergh. (CR 77 at 5,
6, 8)

The jury awarded compensatory damages in
favor of E.F. Hutton against Arnebergh and
compensatory and punitive damages in favor of
Arnebergh against E.F. Hutton. (CR 77, 78)
Contrary to Arnebergh's contention at page 17,
however, the amount of compensatory damages
awarded to each party is very much in dispute.

After the verdicts were announced, E.F.
Hutton's counsel, Edward Simpson, asked that
the jury be polled. Arnebergh's attempt to
characterize (page 33) the polling of the jury
as somehow indicative of a belief that E.F.

Hutton has lost the case is absurd. As every

-~10-

trial lawyer knows, it would be more unusual

for the jury not to be polled.

Confusion arose as to the meaning of the
jury's compensatory damage award. On February
9, 1983, the day after the trial, the District
Court clerk telephoned Mr. Simpson and stated
he was uncertain as to the form of the judgment
to be entered. (CR 82 at 16) Mr. Simpson told
the clerk that he believed the verdicts
reflected an equal division of the account
deficiency, and that the net judgment was in
favor of E.F. Hutton in the amount of $168,307,
from which the punitive damage award would be
subtracted. (Id.) The clerk suggested that
Mr. Simpson call Arnebergh's attorney and agree
on the form of the verdict. (Id.) Mr. Simpson
attempted to do so only to discover that
Arnebergh believed the account debit balance
owing to E.F. Hutton had been wiped out and

that Arnebergh owed E.F. Hutton nothing. (Id.)

-lli-

These conflicting interpretations of the
jury's verdicts led Mr. Simpson to initiate
contact with two former jurors to determine the
true meaning of their verdict. (CR 82 at 19
419) Four days after the trial, one juror,
Mrs. Adams, told Mr. Simpson that the jury had
agreed that Arnebergh was to pay back half of
the deficiency in his E£.F. Hutton account. (CR
82 at 20-21 9422) The second juror,

Mr. Hamilton, told Mr. Simpson that he did not
believe the verdicts were intended to cancel
each other out but that he would have to check
his notes to be sure. Before Mr. Simpson could
get back to Mr. Hamilton, District Court Judge
Malcolm M. Lucas ordered Mr. Simpson to show
cause why he should not desist from jury
interviews. (CR 80)

After the hearing on the Order to Show
Cause, Judge Lucas called all parties toa
conference. At that conference, Judge Lucas

acknowledged that there was confusion

-12-

oe endo

Oe Oe OR ie A en el

surrounding the meaning of the verdict. The
parties could not determine whether the jury's
verdicts were gross figures, to be applied
against each other, or net figures after off-
sets, or some combination of the two (CR 82 at
16-17). Judge Lucas suggested an in camera
meeting between the Judge and the jurors.

Contrary to Arnebergh's argument at page
35, both counsel agreed to the in camera
proceeding. Though Arnebergh's attorney ini-
tially objected to examination of the jurors,
he did sign a stipulation for an in camera
examination. Judge Lucas approved the stipula-
tion and on March 2, 1983, ordered the in
camera examination. (CR 85)

The in camera proceeding was held on
March 15, 1983. At this time, Judge Lucas told
the jurors that the purpose of the proceeding
was to “assist the Court in understanding the
meaning of the verdicts that you [the jury]

rendered on February the 8th." (Reporter's

-13-

Transcript of in camera proceedings, herein-
after "RT-in camera," at 3)1/ The jurors were
then handed copies of the verdict. Judge Lucas
reminded the jurors that they had returned a
verdict in favor of E.F. Hutton and against
Arnebergh in the amount of $168,307 and also
returned a verdict in favor of Arnebergh in the
exact same amount. (RT-in camera at 3, 4)
Judge Lucas also reminded the jurors that
$168,307 was exactly one-half of the sum of
$336,614, the stipulated amount of E.F.
Hutton's damages. (RT-in camera at 4)

Judge Lucas told the jurors that their
verdicts had caused confusion because the
awards could be interpreted in two ways. The
verdicts could mean that Arnebergh was to pay
half of the deficiency in his account, i.e.,

Arnebergh would owe E.F. Hutton $168,307, and

1/ The Reporter's Transcript of the in camera
proceedings is included in the Appendix.

-14-

ee i sete

a ee

TE AA an I eS ee ec ill Vio

ee a ee ee on ee

E.F. Hutton would absorb the other half and
incur a $168,307 loss. In the alternative, the
verdicts could mean that Arnebergh was to pay
E.F. Hutton $168,307 and E.F. Hutton was to pay
damages of the same amount to Arnebergh, thus
cancelling out the money owed by Arnebergh.
(RT-in camera at 5)

Judge Lucas asked the jurors to determine
whether they were in agreement as to their
verdict and if so, what the verdict meant.
(RT-in camera at 6, 7) Judge Lucas warned the
jurors that if they disagreed as to what was
intended, they should simply determine that
there was disagreement. (RT-in camera at 6)
Judge Lucas specifically told the jurors that
this proceeding "is not a period for further
deliberation." (RT-in camera at 7)

The jurors took less than five minutes to
determine that they were in accord as to the
meaning of their verdict. (RT-in camera at

7) Their verdict had always been intended to

“a

;
&
:

ee i +

Ci ee Ae A:

mean that Arnebergh was to pay back half of his
account deficiency, and E.F. Hutton was to
absorb the other half. (RT-in camera at 7-8)
Judge Lucas entered judgment in accordance with
the verdict on March 25, 1983. (CR 91)
Arnebergh made a Motion to Alter or Amend
the Judgment, Or in the Alternative, for a New
Trial. (CR 93) The Motion was denied.
Arnebergh then filed his Appeal to the Ninth
Circuit. (CR 103) In his Appellant's Brief,
Arnebergh contended that the District Court
erred in its examination of the jury by mis-
representing the facts, erred by doubling the
amount of compensatory damages awarded E.F.
Hutton and erred by denying Arnebergh's costs
and attorneys' fees. (Arnebergh Brief at 2-3)
E.F. Hutton Filed a cross appea] to the
Ninth Circuit. (CR 104) E.F. Hutton contended
that the District Court erred in awarding puni-
tive damages to Arnebergh because there was

insufficient evidence to establish the

-16-

requisite “oppression, fraud or malice" and
that the punitive damage award was contrary to
law. E.F. Hutton also contended that the jury
instruction on breach of the implied covenant
of good faith and fair dealing in a commercial
setting was improper.

The Ninth Circuit found Judge Lucas'
actions to be proper and affirmed the decision
of the District Court. In a concurring
opinion, Judge Fletcher stated that the origi-
nal verdict was unambiguous and was consistent
with the District Court's ultimate judgment.

VI. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit's opinion is consistent
with opinions in other circuits which allow
juror testimony to ascertain the intended ver-
dict. The in camera proceeding was fair and
reasonable. The jurors did not impeach their
verdict, but rather indicated that Arnebergh
had misinterpreted that verdict. At no time

did the jury re-examine their original factual

-l7-

determinations. Judge Lucas did not double the

amount of compensatory damages awarded, he
entered judgment in conformity with the jury's
understanding of its own verdict. Arnebergh
has not been deprived of his Seventh Amendment
right to trial by jury. Accordingly,
Arnebergh's Petition should be denied.

VII. REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A. Arnebergh Was Not Denied His Right To
A Jury Trial.

l. Post-Trial Examination Of The
Jury Was Proper, Fair And Rea-
sonable and in No Way Violated
Rule 606(b) Of The Federal Rules
of Evidence.

Arnebergh's Petition is based entirely on
the erroneous proposition that the District
Court examined the jurors to impeach their
verdicts, or to require further deliberation.
Contrary to Arnebergh's contentions at page 19
that the jury re-examined its factual deter-
minations, Judge Lucas specifically told the

jurors that the in camera proceeding was “not a

-~18-

;

priod for further deliberations.” (RT in

ameia at 7) At no time were the jurors asked
> impeach their verdicts.

Rule 606(b) of the Federal Rules of Evi-

ence prohibits use of juror testimony to
npeach a verdict. Arnebergh claims that Rule
06(b}) prohibited Judge Lucas from conducting
ne in camera proceedings. The federal rules,
owever, provide no prohibition against a dis-
rict court judge asking the jury to clearly
rate its verdict.

The federal courts’ central concern
>garding Rule 606(b) is the insulation and
rotection of the processes through which the
iry reaches its verdict. 10 J. Moore, Moore's
2deral Practice § 606.01(6). Since the in
amera examination of the jurors in no way
iquired into the jury's decision-making pro-
2>sses, it did not violate Rule 606(b).

Jurors are competent witnesses for the

irpose of showing that the verdict returned to

-19-

rhe court was not the agreement actually
reached in the jury room and not the verdict

actually agreed upon. Continental Baking Co.

7. Old Homestead Bread Co., 476 F.2d 97, 110

(10th Cir. 1973); Fox v. United States, 417

*,2d 84, 88-89 (Sth Cir. 1969); Young v. United

states, 163 F.2d 187, 189 (10th Cir.), cert.
Jenied, 332 U.S. 770, 68 S. Ct. 83, 92 L. Ed.
355 (1947) and 334 U.S. 859, 68 S. Ct. 1533,

92 L. Ed. 1779 (1948).2/

2/ See also, United States v. Love, 597 F.2d
31 (6th Cir. 1979); University Computing Co. v.
uykes-Youngstown Corp., 504 F.2d 518, 547 n.43
(‘Sth Cir. 1974); Freid v. McGrath, 135 F.2d
333, 834 (D.C. Cir. 1943); Hamburg-Bremen Fire
[ns. Co. v. Pelzer Manuf'g. Co., 76 F. 479,
181-482 (4th Cir. 1896); Rose v. Thau, 45
\pp.Div.2d 182, 357 N.Y.S.2d 201, 203-204
(1974); Moulton v. Staats, 83 Utah 197, 27 P.2d
155, 459 (1933); McCabe Lumber Co. v. Beaufort
>ounty Lumber Co., 187 N.C. 417, 121 S.E. 755,
155-756 (1924); Carlson v. Adix, 144 Iowa 653,
L123 N.W. 321, 321-322 (1909); Peters v.
fogarty, 55 N.J.L. 386, 26 A. 855, 855-856
(1893); 76 American Jurisprudence Second,
Trial, Section 1225, page 179; Annotation

-20-

Mii

In Continental Baking Co. v. Old Homestead

read Co., supra, 476 F.2d 97, the jury

eturned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff on
ach of four claims in the amount of $262,125.
n response to a question posed by plaintiff's
ttorney, the foreman stated that it was the
ntention of the jury that the amounts awarded
n each of the four claims were to be added
ogether to arrive at the total amount of dam-
ges. The Judge submitted a supplemental
nterrogatory to the jury inquiring as to the
nount of total damages suffered by plaintiff
> which the jury responded $1,048,500. The
riginal four verdicts were then returned to
ne jury and the jury crossed out the amounts
F $262,125 and inserted $1,048,500 on each of
ne four verdicts. On appeal, defendant claims
ne interrogatory allowed the jury to impeach
ts verdict.

The Tenth Circuit affirmed the district

ourt's action and, citing Young v. United

-2l1-

states, supra, 163 F.2d at 189, stated at page

1103

"{J]jurors are competent witnesses for
the purpose of showing that... . the
substance of the verdict returned
into court, was not the verdict on
which agreement was actually reached
in the jury room..."

In goung v. United States, supra, 163 F.2d

87, three defendants were tried for various
triminal violations relating to liquor sales.
‘the jury returned guilty verdicts as to each
lefendant but on different counts. After the
jury was discharged, individual jurors realized
that the verdicts announced in open court were
liot the verdicts arrived at in the jury room.
‘ertain defendants had been found guilty of
‘ertain counts when the jurors intended that
they be found innocent and innocent when the
jurors intended that they be found guilty.
Though the Tenth Circuit stated that juror
iffidavits were impermissible to impeach the

rerdict, it allowed the juror affidavits to

-22-

correct the verdict. The Court stated at 189:
"Correction or reformation of a verdict is one
thing. Impeachment is quite another." The
Court also stated that the exclusion of juror
testimony for impeachment
"does not prevent the reception of
evidence of jurors to show that
through mistake, the real verdict on
which agreement was reached in the
jury room was not correctly expressed
in the verdict returned into open
court.”
Where the agreement actually reached by the
jury is incorrectly expressed in the verdicts,
juror testimony may be used to rectify the
Situation without violating the rule against

impeachment.

In Fox v. United States, supra, 417 F.2d

B4, the United States government filed a libel
oF information which alleged that defendant was
in possession of substantial quantities of a
condemned and mislabeled drug product. The
jury returned a verdict in favor of the govern-

nent. After the verdict was announced, the

-23-

clerk polled the jury by calling each juror's
name “in rapid succession." Each juror
answered with an audible "yes" except the
eighth juror who gave no audible response.
Immediately after the jury was discharged,
defendant's counsel approached the juror who
had given no response and inquired whether he
had in fact voted for the government. The
juror stated that he had not.

Defendant's counsel moved for a new trial
and attached the affidavits of five jurors to
his motion. The district court denied the
motion because it was of the opinion that the
affidavits could not be considered without
violating the rule against allowing a juror to
impeach his verdict. The Fifth Circuit
reversed the district court and stated: "It
has long been weli settied that the affidavit
of a juror is admissible to show the true ver-

Giet. « « o GE? Pi ze Ge Ge

—-24-

The case at bar did not involve a quotient
verdict or a verdict that was the result of a
compromise as Arnebergh suggests at pages 24-
26. At no time did Judge Lucas did not inquire
into the jury's decision-making processes.
Therefore, the cases cited by Arnebergh at
pages 24-26 are irrelevant.

In addition, Arnebergh cites Traver v.

Meshriy, 627 F.2d 934 (9th Cir. 1980), and

People v. Romero, 31 Cal. 3d 685, 646 P.2d 824

(1982), for the proposition that the in camera
proceeding was improper. Though the Traver
case correctly states the law regarding
impeachment, Arnebergh has missed the critical
distinction between ascertaining the jury's
"true verdict” and impeachment of that verdict.
Judge Lucas did not inquire into the jury's
deliberations as was the case in Traver.
Rather, Judge Lucas inquired as to the jurors’
intended meaning. At no time did he ask the

jurors to alter their verdict.

-25-

Furthermore, Arnebergh fails to address

the strong dissent in Romero in which the Chief

Justice of the California Supreme Court states

at 696-97:

"In the courts of virtually all of
our sister states and the federal
Circuits, juror affidavits are admis-
sible to prove that a recorded ver-
dict does not conform to the actual
verdict agreed to by the jury after
deliberations. This doctrine is so
well settled that a complete listing
of the cases so holding would fill a
page." (citations omitted)

The majority opinion in People v. Romero is an

aberration of both state and federal law and

therefore

should not be considered.

The in camera procedure was fair to

211 parties. There had been disagreement among

-he parties as to the meaning of the jury's

jerdict.

As a result of this disagreement, the

Jistrict Court ordered an in camera examination

9—€ the for

mer jurors. The only question put to

-he jurors was whether they agreed on what

-heir verdict meant, not how they arrived at it

-26-

or whether it should be reconsidered. (RT-in
camera at 6) The District Court informed the
jurors of the source of confusion and allowed
them to discuss the issue in private. (RT-in
camera at 5-6) In less than five minutes, the
jury informed the Court that its verdict was
always intended to mean that Arnebergh and E.F.
Hutton were each responsible for one half of
the total debt of $336,614: Arnebergh was to
pay $168,307 to E.F. Hutton and E.F. Hutton was
to absorb the other $168,307 loss. (RT-in
camera at 7-8) The jurors did not intend the
verdict to mean the amounts cancelled each
other out, thereby resulting in Arnebergh owing
E.F. Hutton zero. Nothing in the law precludes
the District Court from asking jurors to deter-
nine whether they were in agreement as to the
neaning of their verdict. Judge Lucas inquired
into the jury's true verdict and his actions

were proper.

-27-

2 The Judgment Entered By The District
Court Conforms To The Verdicts
Returned By The Jury.

Arnebergh's contention that the District
Sourt's judgment does not conform to verdicts
returned is directly contradicted by the jury's
inderstanding of its own verdict. The jurors
themselves intended the effect of their verdict
ro be a 50/50 split of the total damages. (RT-
in camera at 7-8) This decision is presumably
nased on the jury's attribution of 50% of the
1egligence to Arnebergh. Jury instruction No.
l6 informed the jury that the total amount of
lamages owed to E.F. Hutton claimed was stipu-
lated to be $336,614. The compensatory damages
yerdicts rendered by the jury were for identi-
“al amounts, $168,307. This amount is 50% of
the stipulated total.

The District Court did not double the
mount of compensatory damages as Arnebergh
2rroneously claims at page 19. Rather, the

Jistrict Court entered judgment exactly as the

-2?8-

jury intended. While Arnebergh may be dis-

satisfied with the judgment of the District

Court, his argument that the judgment is incon-

sistent with the jury's verdicts is meritless.
3 Post-Trial Contact With The Jurors

Was Permissible And Did Not Influence
The In-Camera Proceeding.

There is nothing wrong with an attorney
initiating communication with jurors after a
case has been completed. The only restriction
placed upon trial counsel's right to communi-
cate with jurors is the prohibition against
asking harassing and embarassing questions.

California Rules of Court, West Annotated

California Codes Civil and Criminal Court Rules

Part II, page 579-580; Martindale-Hubbell Law

Directory, Volume IIV, ABA Codes, Part IIIV,

page 27.

Furthermore, an attorney has an obligation
cf zealous representation to his or her client.
Oftentimes this duty cannot be fulfilled unless

the attorney speaks to former jurors. Ethical

-29-

Consideration 7-29 of the ABA Code of Profes-

sional Responsibility, Martindale-Hubbell,

Volume IIV, Part IIIV, American Bar Association
Codes, page 25 states:

"Were a lawyer to be prohibited from
communicating after trial with a
juror, he could not ascertain if the
verdict might be subject to legal
challenge, in which event the
invalidity of a verdict might go
undetected."

Further, ABA Opinion 319 (1968) states that

where:
"the testimony and affidavits of
jurors may be received in support of
Or against the motion for a new
trial, a lawyer, in his obligation to
protect his client, must have the
tools for ascertaining whether or not
grounds for a new trial exist and it
is not unethical for him to talk to
and question jurors."

Restrictions placed upon trial counsel in
his ability to interview jurors beyond the
prohibition against harassment or embarrassment
would interfere with counsel's obligation to
represent his client with zeal. The jurors who

served on the panel of this case served an

-30-

important public function. A juror's duty to
the judicial system, just as a lawyer's duty to
his client, however, does not end upon the
juror's discharge. Talking to counsel is not
an unreasonable burden to impose on a juror
where counsel is concerned that the basis for a
new trial may exist or, as in this case, the
verdict returned was not the verdict on which
agreement was reached. Jurors are as inter-
ested in ultimate justice as is the Court.
Mr. Simpson initiated contact with the jurors
for the sole purpose of exploring whether
grounds existed for a new trial for his client
and for the purpose of determining whether the
verdict, as interpreted by Arnebergh's
attorney, was actually the verdict reached by
the jury in the jury zoom. Such inquiry is not
only proper but, if not pursued, tantamount to
the abandonment of one's client.

Contrary to Arnebergh's contentions at

pages 33-35, Mr. Simpson's contact with the

-3l-

jurors did not “taint” their opinions. Immedi-

ately after the jury was dismissed, Mr. Simpson
spoke to three jurors in the hallway of the
courthouse. (CR 82 at 15 4 8) After some
general discussion, Mr. Simpson asked the
jurors whether the compensatory damage award
relieved Arnebergh of his $336,614 account
deficiency or whether he was to pay half of
that deficiency and E.F. Hutton was to absorb
the other half. Id. Before the jurors could
answer, Arnebergh and his attorney arrived in
an “ecstatic and exuberant” mood and thanked
the jurors for their decision. Id. One of the
jurors appeared to be confused. Id. There-
fore, if anyone's actions served to “taint” the
jurors’ impression, they were the actions of
Arnebergh.

Mr. Simpson's only other contacts were
short telephone calls. Seven days after the
trial, Mr. Simpson telephoned Mr. Hamilton and

left a message on his answering machine. (CR

-32-

82 at 19 4 17) The same evening Mr. Simpson

spoke to Mr. Hamilton who said he would call
Mr. Simpson the following day. (CR 82 at 19

4 18) On February 16, 1983 Mr. Hamilton tele-
phoned Mr. Simpson and stated that he did not
believe the verdicts were intended to cancel
each other out but that he would have to check
his notes to determine what was intended. (CR
82 at 19-20 4 20) Mr. Simpson had no further
contact with Mr. Hamilton.

On February 15, 1983, Mr. Simpson left a
message for Mrs. Adams who returned the call
the following day. (CR 82 at 19 ¥ 19 and 20 at
@ 21) Mr. Simpson told Mrs. Adams there was
"confusion to what the verdicts meant and that
perhaps the verdicts did not mean what the jury

intended."3/ Mrs. Adams stated that the jury

(1968) 18 A.L.R.3d 1132, 1137-1138, section 3
and cases cited; 8 Wigmore, Evidence
(McNaughton rev. ed. 1961) Section 2355, pp.
718-721; Model Code of Evidence, Rule 301, com.
ap. 175.

-33-

intended that Arnebergh pay half of the defi-
ciency in his account and that he was to pay
E.F. Hutton $168,307. (CR 82 at 20-21 ¥ 22)

On February 16, 1983, eight days after the
verdicts were announced, Mr. Simpson was
informed that Judge Lucas had issued an Order
to Show Cause re Jury Interviews. (CR 82 at 21
{ 25) At that time, Mr. Simpson ceased all
contact with the jurors.

Mr. Simpson's contact with the jurors was
considerate, professional and objective. He
only sought information. He in no way influ-
enced the jurors’ recollection of their
intended verdict. Arnebergh's arguments to the
contrary are without support.

VII. CONCLUSION

Arnebergh's Petition is without merit and
should be denied. His contention that the
District Court's effort to ascertain the true
meaning of the jury's verdict rendered and to

enter a judgment in accordance with those

-34-

verdicts was impermissible simply ignores the
District Court's intention and actions. It
also ignores the overwhelming authority which
permits the use of juror testimony to ascertain
the intended verdict. A review of the record
indicates that the judgment entered was exactly
consistent with the jury's true verdict.
Dated: May 1, 1986

Respectfully submitted,

ADAMS, DUQUE & HAZELTINE
MARTHA G. BANNERMAN

oy Maxhe. ae
g etude Se dace iise
Attorneys for Appellee

E.F. Hutton & Company, Inc.

-35-

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reporter's Transcript,
In Camera Proceeding....... oeccoroncseeees A-1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

HONORABLE MALCOLM M. LUCAS, JUDGE PRESIDING

E. F. HUTTON & COMPANY, ) Nos. CV 80-2273-MML
INC., etc. )
) CV 80-2721-MML
Plaintiff, )
)
vs. )
)
ROGER ARNEBERGH, et al., )
Defendants.
)
ROGER ARNEBERGH,
Plaintiff,
)
VS, )
)
E.F. HUTTON & COMPANY, )
INC., etc., )
Defendants.
)

REPORTER'S TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

Los Angeles, California

Tuesday, March, 1983

DON MEHLER, CSR

Official Court Reporter

442 United States Courthouse
312 North Spring Street

Los Angeles, California 90012
(213) 628-4687

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL:

For Roger Arnebergh:

MARCUS CRAHAN, JR.

ROGER ARNEBERGH

707 Wilshire Boulevard

Los Angeles, California 90017
(NOT PRESENT)

For E.F. Hutton & Company, Inc.:

JONES, BELL & SIMPSON
BY: C. EDWARD SIMPSON

G. THOMAS FLEMING III
800 Wilshire Boulevard
Suite 580
Los Angeles, California 90017
(NOT PRESENT)

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA; TUESDAY, MARCH 15,
1983; 8:40 A.M.

---600---

(The following proceedings were had
between the Court and the jurors in cham-
bers, with no counsel present: )

THE COURT: Well, we are meeting again

with the express intent and, for that matter, I
suppose, desire of counsel, and it's to assist
the Court in understanding the meaning of the
verdicts that you rendered on February the 8th.
This, of course, is a somewhat unusual proce-
duie as cases go, but it’s necessary in this
case. I believe that several of you have been
contracted by counsel in this case earlier, and
then the Court met with counsel, and we finally
determined together that it would be better and
necessary for the Court to make inquiry to
determine what the correct interpretation of

your verdict was.

So of course, as I say, counsel have

agreed that the court can and should meet with
you and discuss this matter. You've been given
a package here this morning. It has a copy of
the verdicts; I think it's all the verdicts,
some of which you, of course, didn’t fill out,
some of which you did, but a copy of all the
verdicts you were given, and your verdicts, of
course, that you returned on February the 8th.

Now, the apparent difficulty in this case
is in the interpretation as it concerns the
compensatory damages, thet is, damages other
than the punitive damages. We're not going to
concern ourselves at all today with the ques-
tion of the punitive damages; only with the
compensatory damages.

Now, you've been given a copy of jury
instruction No. 16, which I gave in this case,
and as you will see, on the bottom portion of
16, it provided as follows, and I'll read that

portion that I'm referring to: "In this case,

A-4

the parties have agreed that E.F. Hutton has

established by a preponderance of the evidence
all of the facts necessary to prove that the
amount of the deficiency in Roger Arnebergh's
commodity account maintained by him at E.F.
Hutton's Farmer's Market office is $336,614.11.
If you find that Roger Arnebergh has failed to
establish all of the facts necessary to prove
any of his several defenses or claims by a pre-
ponderance of the evidence, then you should
render your verdict for that amount against the
defendant Roger Arnebergh."

That's the end of the quotation on 16.
Now, as you will note, of course, or I'm sure
you remember, you returned a verdict in favor
of E.F. Hutton and against Roger Arnebergh in
the amount of $168,307, and you'll also remem-
ber that you returned a verdict in favor of
Roger Arnebergh in the same amount. This
amount, that is, $168,307, is half of the defi-

ciency in Roger Arnebergh's account.

A-5

So against the background of the Court's
jury instruction No. 16, which, of course, I
just read to you, one could interpret these
awards in one of two ways. On the one hand,
the verdicts could mean that Arnebergh is only
to pay half of the deficiency in his account.
Under this interpretation, Roger Arnebergh
would owe to Hutton $168,307, and E.F. Hutton
must absorb the other half, that is, $168,307,
as a loss.

On the other hand, these verdicts could
mean that Roger Arnebergh is to pay to E.F.
Hutton $168,307, and E.F. Hutton, or one or
more of its employees, is to pay damages of the
same amount to Roger Arnebergh, thus cancelling
out the money Roger Arnebergh is to pay, and
under the second interpretation, Roger
Arnebergh effectively pays no money to E.F.
Hutton on his deficiency account.

Now, there may be other interpretations of

your verdicts that were rendered as well as

A-6

this, and I'm not attempting to in any way

foreclose this possibility by suagesting that

there are only two interpretations. However,

these two alternate interpretations as I have

suggested them to you are those that I see, at
least, in the verdicts.

Now, I know it's been some time since you
returned your verdicts, and so I think it would
be appropriate for you to be able to discuss
alone among yourselves briefly what your
thoughts are and how you meant the verdicts to
be understood. So I'm going to ask that my law
clerk, reporter, and Duane, leave the room, and
give you a period of time for further delibera-
tion, or at least contemplation, about this.
And again, you should simply determine whether
Or not you alli meant the same thing by your
verdicts when you returned them on February the
8th, 1983, and, if so, what that meaning was.
If there is a disagreement among you now as to

what you intended, don't attempt to convince

A-7

one another of the correctness of a different
meaning. Simply determine that there is dis-
agreement. And once you have determined
whether or not you agree or disagree, then
Mr. Anderson, your foreman, should come out
into the secretary's office, tell us that you
are ready to discuss your findings, and then
we'll go back again on the record and discuss
your conclusion.

So to summarize, remember you're to ignore
the question of punitive damages at this time.
You are only to consider the meaning of the
verdicts concerning the so-called compensatory
damages. I have suggested two understandings
of the verdicts. Under the one, Roger
Arnebergh was to pay half of his account defi-
ciency, and E.F. Hutton was to absorb the other
half. Under the other understanding, Roger

Arnebergh was to receive from E.F. Hutton an

amount equal to the amount he was to pay to

E.F. Hutton, thus leaving the parties owing
each 1er nothing.

Now, again, you may also possibly conclude
that something different was intended than
these two interpretations. But, at any rate,
as soon as you have determined whether or not
you agree as to an interpretation, Mr. Anderson
should inform the secretary, and then I'll
return, and we'll discuss the matter together.
This, I should emphasize, is not a period for
further deliberation. We're really not reopen-
ing the case. We're trying to simply decide
what you meant when the verdicts were returned
on February the 8th.

Okay. We're going to withdraw, and you're
now, in the judge's chamber, judges of the
facts again, insofar as your verdicts, at any

rate. You let us know when you're ready.

(Recess taken.)

THE COURT: Well, I'd say that less than

five minutes is pretty speedy thinking on this
case.

JUROR ANDERSON: We pretty much thought it
out when we first deliberated. Just needed to
Clarify it. So it was number one of which you
had said, really.

THE COURT: Okay. For the record, then,
number one, as I described it, was that Roger
Arnebergh was to pay half of his account defi-
ciency, and E.F. Hutton was to absorb the other
half?

JUROR ANDERSON: Yes.

THE COURT: All right. Perhaps I
should --

JUROR ANDERSON: Because we worked on a
50-50 basis pretty much. So back on this one
question, I noticed --

JUROR ADAMS: We got confused with the
forms. We didn't realize they were going to

cancel each other out.

THE COURT: Okay. Let me --

JUROR HAMILTON: May I say one thing, your
Honor?

THE COURT: Sure. Perhaps, just for the
record, you should identify yourself.

JUROR HAMILTON: Okay. Warren Hamilton.

The reason we didn't fill out the -- I
think the guilty/not guilty with Robbins and
Weinman was, we felt that the verdict we
brought back basically superseded those. So
that's why we didn't. And I think there was
confusion on our part with that situation.

THE COURT: All right. At any rate, then,
finally, and again in summation, your verdict
is that Roger Arnebergh owed E.F. Hutton the
$168,307, and E.F. Hutton absorbs the other
half, that is $168,307; is that correct?

JUROR ANDERSON: That's correct.

THE COURT: Let me just go down the line
and ask each one of you, so we have a com-

pletely clear record.

A-11

Pauline Adams, is that your understanding

of the meaning of the jury verdict?

JUROR ADAMS: Yes, that's correct.
THE COURT: And Glen Anderson?
JUROR ANDERSON: Yes, it is.

THE COURT: Thank you. And Dana Hinman?
JUROR HINMAN: Yes.

THE COURT: And Albert Bocanegra?
JUROR BOCANEGRA: Yes, it is.

THE COURT: And Warren Hamilton?
JUROR HAMILTON: Yes, your Honor.
THE COURT: And Joyce Houle?
JUROR HOULE: Yes.

THE COURT: Thank you.

Well, we appreciate very much your coming

in, and we're sorry to have inconvenienced you.

I hope it's been made clear that those of you

who are still not on jury duty will receive, of

course, compensation, the usual daily compensa-

tion, for coming in today. I understood that

A-12

three of you are still on the panel and will be
going possibly for another jury service today.

Is that correct, Duane?

THE CLERK: At the time we talked, it was.
I understand from Mrs. Adams that her panel was
aut over, and i think that the others may be
desired upstairs. They weren't listed on
panels, but may F2 plugged in as balances if
they're available.

JUROR ANDERSON: Yes, because I never got
a notice except from you.

THE CLERK: ‘That was Frank's upstairs
decision as an easier way to deal with it.

THE COURT: All right. Well, thank you
again very much for coming in.

JUROR HAMILTON: You're welcome. Thank
you.

---000---

A-13

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

HONORABLE MALCOLM M. LUCAS, JUDGE PRESIDING

E. F. HUTTON & COMPANY, Nos. CV 80-2273-MML

INC., etc.
CV 80-2721-MML
Plaintiff,
vs.
ROGER ARNEBERGH, et al.,

Defendants.

AND RELATED CROSS-ACTION.

me er ee ee ee Se ee ee ee ee eee See”

CERTIFICATE
I hereby certify that I am a duly
appointed, qualified and acting official court
reporter of the United States District Court
for the Central District of California.
I further certify that the foregoing is a

true and correct transcript of the proceedings

had in the above-entitled cause on Tuesday,

March 15, 1983, and that said transcript is
true and correct transcription of my steno-
graphic notes.

Dated at Los Angeles, California, this

day of March, 1983.

Official Reporter

VERIFICATION
STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
I have read the foregoing

and know its contents.

@ CHECK APPLICABLE PARAGRAPH

Oo I am a party to this action. The matters stated in the foregoing document are true of my own knowledge except as to
those matters which are stated on information and belief, and as to those matters | believe them to be truc.
Oo 1 am CD an Officer 2 a partner____—_—_[Ja of

& party to this action, and am authorized to make this verification for and on its behalf, and | make this verification for that
reason. () | am informed and believe and on that ground allege that the matters stated in the foregoing document are
true. [[j The matters stated in the foregoing document are true of my own knowledge except as to those matiers which are
stated on information and belief, and as to those matters | believe them to be true.

0 1 am one of the attorneys for
a party to this action. Such party is absent from the county of aforesaid where such attorneys have their offices, and | make
this verification for and on behaif of that party for that reason. | am informed and believe end on that ground allege that
the matiers stated in the foregoing document are true.

Executed on a California.
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Type or Print Name Signature
ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RECEIPT OF DOCUMENT
(other than summons and complaint)

Received copy of document described as.

Type or Print Name Signature
PROOF OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,
1 am employed in the county of Los Angeles, ___, State of California.
I am over the age of 18 and not # party to the within action; my business address is_223 West Sixth Street
Los Angeles, CA 90014
On_May 1 __1986 | 1 served the foregoing document described as RESPONDENT'S BRIEF _
IN OPPOSITION

on__interested parties
in this action by placing a true copy thereof enclosed in a sealed envelope addressed as follows:

Marcus E. Crahan, Jr., Esq.
707 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 400
Los Angeles, CA 90017

ps) (BY MAIL) | caused such envelope with postage thereon fully prepaid to be placed in the United States mail
a._Los Angeles, California.
Executed on. _May 1, 19 B86 Los Angeles, ._, California.
O (BY PERSONAL SERVICE) ! caused such envelope to be delivered by hand to the offices of the addressee.
Exccuted on 19, at . California.
LD (State) —I deciare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the above is true and correct.
be: (Federal) 1 declare that | am employed in the office of a member of the bar of this court at whose Girection the service was

made. J :
LW

Signature
STUARTS EMBROOn Ta SAVER (REVIBED O63)
re 0 eet 9 Corre Sam @ fegere Corn

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1673%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
