# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Winfield v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1666%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1141

## Text

85-1601 | FTCED

MAR, 28 1986
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK
CASE NO. A
in the
Supreme Court
of the
Wnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
NIGEL WINFIELD,
Petitioner,
vS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR ISSUANCE OF
WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Law Offices of

MILTON E. GRUSMARK, P. A.
12550 Biscayne Boulevard
Suite 804

North Miami, Florida 33181
Tel: (305) 895-0803

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I.

IS A RIGHT TO A FAIR TRIAL THWARTED
WHEN A PROSECUTING ATTORNEY FAILS
TO DISCLOSE TO THE TRIAL COURT OR
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS THAT HE
LEARNED THROUGH THE UNITED STATES
MARSHALLS SERVICE THAT:

A) HIS MOST IMPORTANT WITNESS IS
COMMITTING PERJURY AND HAS
BEEN CITED ON ALLEGATIONS OF
CRIMINAL FRAUD.

B) THE RELIABILITY OF THAT WITNESS
MAY WELL BE DETERMINATIVE OF
GUILT OR INNOCENCE OF THE
DEFENDANT.

AND WHEN:

THE SUPPRESSION OF THE INFORMATION
CONCERNING THE WITNESS WOULD
UNDERMINE CONFIDENCE IN THE OUT-
COME OF THE TRIAL.

LIST OF THE PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Nigel Winfield
Gabriel Robert Caggiano
Raymond W. Baszner

J. Laurence Wolfson (deceased)

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ae
LIST OF THE PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING il
TABLE OF CONTENTS ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iV
OPINIONS BELOW 2
JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION 3
STATUTORY PROVISION 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS 6
THE MOTIONS FOR NEW TRIAL 11
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 14
CONCLUSION 23

APPENDIX 24

«t=

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Giglio v. United States,
405 U.S. 150, 154, 92 S.Ct. 763, 766 (1972) .. 18

United States v. Bagley,
WOR Re SITS TO a coe ns 15, 17, 18

OTHER AUTHORITIES CITED:
The United States Supreme Court Rules,
5 ass a okie > ate eee ea ee ee ke 2

The United States Code,

py ee ek | ne Ore eae 2
ee ee as he ra a eee 3
(cg ey: re ee 4
See ae CE Ee ha ke oes a eee Se 4
Te: Be Ce vie a eee es wR Re a

United States Constitution,

SR ee eek Va ata eek 3

le ee

CASE NO.

in the
Supreme Court

of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

NIGEL WINFIELD,
Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR ISSUANCE OF
WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Law Offices of

MILTON E. GRUSMARK, P. A.
12550 Biscayne Boulevard
Suite 804

North Miami, Florida 33181
Tel: (305) 895-0803

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Sixth Circuit, reproduced and
attached hereto as Appendix “A”, is unreported. The
judgment and sentence of the United States District
Court, Western District of Tennessee, was entered on
September 8, 1982.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment and the opinion of the Sixth Circuit
was entered on December 2, 1985. A petition for
rehearing and a petition for rehearing en banc were
timely filed and an order denying the petition for
rehearing and rehearing en banc was filed january 28,
1986. A copy of that order is attached as Appendix “B”.

Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this Court under
Title 28, Section 1254(1) and Supreme Court Rule 17.1
(c).

Rule 17.1(c):

“(c) When a state court or a federal court of
appeals, has decided an important question of
federal law which has not been, but should be,
settled by this Court, or has decided a federal

question in a way in conflict with applicable
decisions of this Court.”

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution:

“No person shail be held to answer for a
capital or otherwise infamous crime, unless on
a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury,
except in cases arising in the !and or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the offense to be twice put
in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,
Or property, without due process of law; nor
shall private property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.”

STATUTORY PROVISION

Title 18, United States Code, Section 2:

“(a) Whoever commits an offense against the
United States or aids, abets, counsels,

commands, induces or procures its commission,
is punishable as a principal.

(b) Whoever willfully causes an act to be done
which if directly performed by him or another
would be an offense against the United States,
is punishable as a principal.”

Title 18, United States Code, Section 371:

“If two Or more persons conspire either to
commit any offense against the United States,
or to defraud the United States, or any agency
thereof in any manner or for any purpose, and
one or more of such persons do any act to
effect the object of the conspiracy, each shall
be fined mst more than $10,000 or imprisoned
not more than five years, or both.

If, however, the offense, the commission of
which is the object of the conspiracy, is a
misdemeanor only, the punishment for such
conspiracy shall not exceed the maximum
punishment provided for such misdemeanor.”

Title 18, United States Code, Section 1343:

“Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any
scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money or

property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,
representations, or promises, transmits or causes to be
transmitted by means of wire, radio, or television
communication in interstate or foreign commerce, any
writings, signs, signals, pictures, or sounds for the
purpose of executing such scheme or artifice, shall be
fined not more than $1,000. or imprisoned not more than
five years, or both.”

Title 18, United States Code, Section 2314:

“Whoever transports in interstate or foreign
commerce any goods, wares, merchandise,
securities or money, of the value of $5,000. or
more, knowing the same to have been stolen,
converted or taken by fraud; or...”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACT

Petitioner (together with Raymond Baszner, Robert
Caggiano, and J. Laurence Wolfson) was charged on
November 17, 1978 with four counts of wire fraud,
aiding and abetting in wire fraud, conspiracy to commit
wire fraud, and transportation of stolen property in
interstate property. He was found not guilty on June 15,
1982 of five of the counts, but was found guilty as to
count five; Title 18, Section 2314.

Appeals followed.

On December 7, 1983 motions for new trial were
filed by Petitioner and the other defendants, basically
charging misconduct in not revealing perjury, which was
committed by the chief prosecutorial witness, Fred Pro.

On May 18, 1984, the motions for new trial were
denied.

The appeal of the convictions and the denial of
motion for new trial were consolidated. The Sixth
Circuit affirmed both the conviction and the denial of the
motion for new trial.

This Petition is addressed to the opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

~* ee Hh *

Nigel Winfield is an aircraft broker.

He had sold pianes to and for Elvis Presley. Presley
owned an airplane known as a Lockheed Jetstar which he
had bought for personal uses.

At the time of the events involved in this case, a
great deal of money was owed on the plane to the
American National Bank of Morristown, New Jersey.
Foreclosure was imminent.

Vernon Presley, Elvis’ father, was handling all the
business affairs concerning the plane and negotiations
for proposing financing.

Vernon Presley devised a plan to save the plane, and
turn it into a source of income. The plane was to be sold
to a leasing company called W.W.P., and operated by
one, Hans Achtman. The purchase price was to be Nine
Hundred Fifty Thousand Dollars ($950,000.00). The
money was to be secured by Achtman_ through
refinancing with the Chemical Bank of New York, with
the plane to be used as collateral.

In order to make the plane worth the loan value, it
was intended that the plane would be “upgraded” to
permit commercial use after paying off the loan in New

Jersey. The remaining funds, Three Hundred Thirty
Eight Thousand Dollars ($338,000.00) would be used in
doing the necessary upgrading work.

Presley leased the plane from W. W. P. for a period
of seven years, and then in turn subleased to Air Cargo
for a period of ten years. Air Cargo was a company
owned and operated by a Fred Pro.

The sublease agreement to Air Cargo (Pro) was for
One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) a month more than
the lease from W. W. P. At the end of the seven year
lease, the plane was to revert to Presley for One Dollar
($1.00), and the bank would have been paid off.

Under the agreement, Air Cargo was to be
responsible for doing the upgrading of the plane. World
Aircraft Exchange, Inc. was to be responsible for the
supervision of the upgrading. A corporation known as
Trans World Industries was to do part of the upgrading.
That corporation was controlled by J. Laurence Wolfson.

Neither Winfield nor Commercial Air Transport
(Winfield’s corporation) was to be paid anything.
Winfield, as the broker for the plane, would only receive
money after the plane had started producing profits
through the arrangement. The agreement was executed.

An addendum to the lease was executed on June 235,
1976.

It provided that W.W.P. would release funds in a
specified order.

First, the bank in Morristown, New Jersey would be
paid off; then Air Cargo Express would be paid money
for upgrading and World Aircraft Exchange would be
paid for supervising the upgrading.

It also provided that no fees or commissions would
be paid by W.W.P. to Nigel Winfield or Commercial Air
Transport Sales.

On July 13, 1976, in accordance with the
agreements, invoices were presented for payment.

Winfield was not present.

Presley approved payment of the amounts requested
on the invoices.

A check for Three Hundred Thirty Eight Thousand
Dollars ($338,000.00) was taken from W.W.P. to Vernon
Presley. Six Hundred Thousand Dollars ($600,000.00)
was paid to the bank in Morristown, New Jersey.

Presley then directed his banker to make out the
checks in payment of the invoices he had been given.
Checks were then drawn to Air Cargo Express, Trans
World Industries, and World Aircraft Exchange.

No invoices were presented by Winfield or
Commercial Air Transport.

No check was drawn or paid to either Winfield or
Commercial Air Transport.

At the time the checks were drawn, Fred Pro gave
the check payable to Trans World Industries to Winfield
in Wolfson’s absence.

No testimony was introduced indicating what was
done with that check. The checks all cleared. No
payment was ever made to Nigel Winfield or his
corporation. A check for Forty Thousand Dollars
($40,000.00) was paid by Trans World Industries to one,
Ena Winfield.

No evidence was ever introduced identifying Ena
Winfield or explaining what that check to Ena Winfield
was for.

Since the jury found Winfield not guilty of all
conspiracy or mail fraud charges, the evidence related

10

above is the only evidence pertinent to the Count on
which Winfield was found guilty and sentenced.

Fred Pro testified that the defendants had agreed not
to do the upgrading. No other witness testified to such
an agreement.

THE MOTIONS FOR NEW TRIAL

On June 1, 1982, the prosecutor, Joe Dycus, knew
that a temporary restraining order had been entered
against Fred Pro by the Securities and Exchange
Commission. Pro was served with that order during a
noon break, and while he was testifying as a Government
witness.

The order of the Securities Exchange Commission
disclosed that Pro was charged with fraud, deception,
looting of the assets of companies in Texas, and
diverting a One Million Dollar ($1,000,000.00) check
belonging to a corporation known as Jet Industries, Inc.,
to his own constructive possession. That information
was shown by an Affidavit attached to the S.E.C.’S
temporary restraining order.

It was also revealed that prior to that, in 1981, Pro
had then been operating under the name of DeVeau
while free from custody under the Witness Protection
Program, had looted the assets of a company known as

11

Electric Car Company and transferred those assets from
California to Texas.

Serious concern about Pro/DeVeau and possible
renewed criminal activity arose in 1981. Members of the
F.B.I. and the U.S. Probation Department were involved
from that time on.

A week before he testified in this case, Pro/DeVeau
was deposed in San Antonio. At that time, his activities
(leading to criminal conviction) were revealed. Present
were the F.B.I., U.S. Probation, a member of the UV. S.
Department of Energy, and others. It was also known
that Pro would be testifying in Memphis.

On May 31, 1982, the U. S. District Court in Texas
issued the temporary restraining order against Pro, which
both Pro and Dycus were aware of while Pro was on the
stand in this case.

At the trial, Pro was relied on by the Government as
the major witness.

At the trial Pro lied and said that he had not
committed criminal acts since his release from custody.

On October 5, 1982, Pro was adjudicated guilty of
criminal and civil contempt before the U. S. District

12

Court in San Antonio and sentenced to serve one
hundred seventy-nine (179) days.

He was indicted, tried, found guilty, and sentenced
to serve twenty (20) years.

That conviction was for crimes committed after his
plea, but before his testimony in this case.

The Assistant United States Attorney trying the case
never informed counsel for the defendants or the Court
of the information he had received during the time Pro
was testifying.

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

IS A RIGHT TO A FAIR TRIAL THWARTED
WHEN A PROSECUTING ATTORNEY FAILS
TO DISCLOSE TO THE TRIAL COURT OR
COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS THAT HE
LEARNED THROUGH THE UNITED STATES
MARSHALLS SERVICE THAT:

A) HIS MOST IMPORTANT WITNESS IS
COMMITTING PERJURY AND HAS
BEEN CITED ON ALLEGATIONS OF
CRIMINAL FRAUD.

B) THE RELIABILITY OF THAT WITNESS
MAY WELL BE DETERMINATIVE OF
GUILT OR INNOCENCE OF THE
DEFENDANT.

AND WHEN:

THE SUPPRESSION OF THE INFORMATION
CONCERNING THE WITNESS WOULD
UNDERMINE CONFIDENCE IN-~ THE
OUTCOME OF THE TRIAL.

14

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in its
opinion made short shrift of the misconduct contention.

“With respect to the assertion that the
government wrongfully withheld information
concerning Fredrick Pro’s more_ recent
fraudulent activity, contrary to the principles set
forth in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)
we acknowledge that the issue is not without
difficulty. Nevertheless, we are constrained to
agree with the trial judge that there is no
reasonable probability that had the information
in question been disclosed to defense counsel,
the result of the proceedings would have been
different. See, United States v. Bagley, 53
U.S.L.U. 5084 (U.S. July 2, 1985) especially
given the extensive defense cross—examination
going to the impeachment of Pro during the
course of the trial.”

The charge of interstate transportation of
fraudulently taken checks, knowing they had been
secured, through fraud was the only charge on which
Petitioner was convicted. He was acquitted of five other
counts. The only witness who testified as to knowledge
of fraud was Fred Pro. He was the only witness who
said that Petitioner had no intention of performing the
work for which the check was received. Without his

15

testimony on that count, no relevant evidence would have
been presented.

The cross-examination of Pro was extensive. It was
directed at showing that he alone was the culprit. It was
directed at showing that he was still engaged in
fraudulent activities, doing the same thing he had done
in the instant case.

He insisted that though he had done wrong in the
past, he had reformed, was honest, and had committed
no crimes since imprisonment. He insisted he was
telling the truth that day.

MR. PRO: “I committed a crime and I’m sorry
I done it, I wouldn’t want to do it again. I don’t
ever want to commit a crime again.”
(November 17 - p. 1850-51).

MR. COLLINS ON CROSS: “Mr. Pro, to the
best of your present recollection have you been
truthful and candid to this court and jury on the
question put to you by counsel in this case. . .”

MR. PRO: “Yes.” (Vol. 21, p. 23-49)

MR. GRUSMARK: “. . .The difference in this
situation is that perjury is now _ being
committed. We are not concerned with past

16

acts. He has sworn here today to be telling the
truth. If the government knows now, if it knows
now that what he has said from the stand is not
the truth, it has an obligation to speak up, not
to permit perjury to be told to this jury, .. .”
(Vol. 19, p. 2097)

The Circuit Court completely overlooked the
meaning of United States v. Bagley, 105 S.Ct. 3375
(1985). Here, the Assistant U.S. Attorney trying the
case, had actual physical possession of a rule to show
cause issued by the Securities and Exchange
Commission clearly showing Pro’s involvement in the
same type of criminal activities for which he had been
convicted.

The Assistant U.S. Attorney was given that subpoena
on the day that Pro began testifying.

He had actual knowledge then that perjury was being
committed by Pro.

He did not inform the attorneys for the defendants.

He did not even inform the Court in camera.

17

* * * * KX *

This petition is based solely on United States v.
Bagley, supra. In the opinion of the Court, in Part I, note
4, p. 3378 it is stated:

“The Assistant United States Attorney who
prosecuted respondent stated in_ stipulated
testimony that he had not known that the
contracts existed and that he would have
furnished them to respondent had he known of
them.” See App. to Pet. for Cert. 13a.

Here the Assistant U. S. Attorney did know, but did
not furnish the information to Petitioner or even to the
Court.

Since Pro was the only witness to the necessary
element of knowledge in the transportation charge, his
truthfulness was crucial.

As this Court stated in Bagley:

“Impeachment evidence, however, as well as
exculpatory evidence, falls within the Brady
rule. See Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150,
154, 92 S.Ct. 763, 766, 31 L.Ed.2d 104 (1972).
Such evidence is ‘evidence favorable to an
accused,’ Brady, 373 U.S., at 87, 83 S.Ct., at

18

1196, so that, if disclosed and used effectively,
it may make the difference between conviction
and acquittal. Cf. Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S.
264, 269, 79 S.Ct. 1173, 1177, 3 L.Ed.2d 1217
(1959) (‘The jury’s estimate of the truthfulness
and reliability of a given witness may well be
determinative of guilt or innocence, and it is
upon such subtle factors as the possible interest
of the witness in testifying falsely that a
defendant’s life or liberty may depend’).

Information concerning that reliability could not
have been more specifically requested.

Here the prosecutor remained silent although he held
in his physical possession the precise information
requested disclosing Pro’s perjury.

It is difficult to see how suppression of Pro’s perjury
could have been more material.

Part Ill of Bagley, supra, note 8, at p. 3382 contains
the following statements concerning the knowing use of
perjured testimony:

“. . .In Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103, 55
S.Ct. 340, 79 L.Ed 791 (1935), the Court
established the rule that the knowing use by a
state prosecutor of perjured testimony to obtain

19

a conviction ard the deliberate suppression of
evidence that would have impeached and
refuted the testimony constitutes a denial of due
process. The Court reasoned that ‘a deliberate
deception of court and jury by the presentation
of testimony known to be perjured’ is inconsis-
tent with the ‘rudimentary demands of justice.’
Id., at 112, 55 S.Ct., at 341. The Court
reaffirmed this principle in broader terms in
Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S. 213, 63, S.Ct. 177, 87
L.Ed. 214 (1942), where it held that allegations
that the prosecutor had deliberately suppressed
evidence favorable to the accused and had
knowingly used perjured testimony were
sufficient to charge a due process violation.

The Court again reaffirmed this principle in
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 79 S.Ct. 1173, 3
L.Ed.2d 1217 (1959). In Napue, the principal
witness for the prosecution falsely testified that
he had been promised no consideration for his
testimony. The Court held that the knowing use
of faise testimony to obtain a _ conviction
violates due process regardless of whether the
prosecutor solicited the false testimony or
merely allowed it to go uncorrected when it
appeared. The Court explained that the
principle that a State may not knowingly use
false testimony to obtain a conviction--even

20

false testimony that goes only to the credibility
of the witness--is ‘implicit in any concept of
ordered liberty.’ Id., at 269, 79 S.Ct., at 1177.
Finally, the Court held that it was not bound by
the state court’s determination that the false
testimony ‘could not in any _ reasonable
likelihood have affected the judgment of the
jury.’ Id., at 271, 79 S.Ct., at 1178. The Court
conducted its own independent examination of
the record and concluded that the false
testimony ‘may have had an effect on the
utcome of the trial.’ Id., at 272, 79 S.Ct., at
1178. Accordingly, the Court reversed the
judgment of conviction.

In Bagley, supra, this Court repeated a statement
made ir Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 154, 92
S.Ct. 763, 766 (1972):

“When the ‘reliability of a given witness may
well be determinative of guilt or innocence,’
nondisclosure of evidence affecting credibility
falls within the general rule of [Brady].”

The realities of the criminal trial court make it
inevitable that the prosecutor must frequently accept the
fact that it uses unsavory characters as its witnesses.

21

It is usually argued that “we cannot find
co-conspirators in the churches or the synagogues. But,
it is argued “this man has changed, he is today telling
the truth.”

The argument is probably valid most of the time.
However, what if today he is not telling the truth.

This petition presents the Court with a case where
the witness not only had not reformed, but was not
telling the truth, and the prosecutor knew it.

22

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully requested that this Court issue its
Writ of Certiorari so that the case may be briefed and
the record may be reviewed.

Respectfully submitted,

Law Offices of

MILTON E. GRUSMARK, P. A.
Attorney for Petitioner

12550 Biscayne Boulevard

Suite 804

North Miami, Florida 33181

Tel: (305) 895-0803

By: Poe 4...

Milton E. Grusmark

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Page
Opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of
RI 5 0 CaO ae ee App. “A”
Order of Denial of Rehearing.... . App. “‘B”

24

Appendix

APPENDIX A
[RECEIVED FEBRUARY 26, 1986]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

NOS. 82-5573
82-5587
82-5598
84-5488
84-5906

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff/Appellee,
versus

NIGEL WINFIELD,
GABRIEL ROBERT CAGGIANO,
RAYMOND W. BASZNER,

Defendants/Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court
For The Western District of Tennessee

(December 2, 1985)
Before: ENGEL and MILBURN, Circuit Judges and
CELEBREZZE, Senior Circuit Judge

App. A-1

PER CURIAM:

Raymond W. Baszner, Gabriel Robert Caggiano, and
Nigel Winfield appeal their jury convictions in the United
States District Court for the Western District of Kentucky
for interstate transportation of property and money taken
by fraud and aiding and abetting the crime. The defen-
dants also appeal from the district court’s order denying
their motions for a new trial on the basis of newly dis-
covered evidence.

In October, 1977, Baszner, Caggiano and four other
co-defendants were charged in a seventeen-count indict-
ment with mail and wire fraud, interstate transportation
of fraudulently obtained property and money, and con-
spiracy. At an August, 1978 trial on these charges, the
jury convicted one defendant but failed to reach a verdict
on any count against Caggiano and on eight of the counts
against Baszner. The jury acquitted Baszner on one
count of mail fraud and two counts of wire fraud. The
court declared a mistrial concerning the counts of the
indictment on which the jury had been unable to reach a
verdict.

On November 17, 1978, a superseding indictment
was returned against Baszner, Caggiano, a third original
co-defendant named J. Laurence Wolfson, and a new
defendant, Nigel Winfield.

The new indictment charged these defendants with
essentially the same counts, and did not contain any mail

App. A-2

fraud charges or any of the charges on which Baszner
had been acquitted. After several lengthy delays, the
defendants went to trial in May, 1982. The jury acquit-
ted each of the defendants on Counts 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7.
However, it found Winfield and Wolfson guilty on Count
5 and Baszner and Caggiano guilty on Count 6. Those
counts charged interstate transportation of property and
money taken by fraud and aiding and abetting the crime.
The defendants appealed these convictions.

While the appeals were pending, the defendants dis-
covered evidence that Frederick Pro, a key government
witness against them, had perjured himself at the trial.
They moved the district court for a new trial based on
this newly discovered evidence. A panel of our court
granted a motion holding the appeals of their convictions
in abeyance, pending resolution of the motions for new
trial by the district court. On May 18, 1984, the district
court entered an order denying the motions for new trial.
Arguments concerning the denial of these motions have
been consolidated with the appeals from the convictions.

On appeal the parties raise numerous issues. Win-
field argues (1) that there is insufficient evidence to
show that he knew that any checks had been taken by
fraud, (2) that he was prejudiced by the improper admis-
sion in evidence of a check from Trans World Industries
to Ena Winfield, and (3) that the finding of not guilty on
the conspiracy charge shows that the jury considered im-
proper hearsay testimony in reaching the verdict of guilty
on the substantive charge. Caggiano argues (1) that he

App. A-3

was denied his right to a speedy trial, (2) that the trial
court improperly excluded hearsay testimony concerning
what Vernon Presley would have testified had he been
alive at the time of the second trial, and (3) that he was
denied due process when the trial court failed to give the
jury an Allen charge or modified Allen charge. Baszner
contends (1) that he is entitled to a new trial because the
government violated the Jencks Act, (2) that it was preju-
dicial error to allow the prosecution to present the vide-
otaped deposition of Vernon Presley, and (3) that the
district court erred in holding that the government was
not collaterally estopped from prosecuting the supersed-
ing indictment. All three defendants argue that the trial
court erred in denying their motions for new trial based
upon newly discovered evidence. The government con-
tends that the court of appeals has no jurisdiction over
the appeals of Winfield and Baszner from the denial of
their motions for new trial because these defendants did
not file timely notices of appeal.

Of the several issues presented by the defendants,
the most serious are the claim by Caggiano that he was
denied his constitutional right to a speedy trial and the
claim of all the defendants that their right to a fair trial
was fatally impaired by the government’s failure to no-
tify defense counsel of Frederick Pro’s alleged fraudulent
misconduct between the time of the first and the second
trials.

With respect to the speedy trial issue, we note that
this case was commenced before the effective date of the

App. A-4

sanctions provision of the Speedy Trial Act. 18 U.S.C.
Section 3163 (1982). Therefore, we measure the circum-
stances here against the constitutional standards estab-
lished by the United States Supreme Court in Barker v.
Wingo, 407 U.S. 514 (1972). We conclude that under the
four-part balancing test of Barker, Caggiano’s Sixth
Amendment right to a speedy trial was not denied.

With respect to the assertion that the government
wrongfully withheld information concerning Frederick
Pro’s more recent fraudulent activity, contrary to the
principles set forth in Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83
(1963), we acknowledge that the issue is not without dif-
ficulty. Nevertheless, we are consirained to agree with
the trial judge that there is no reasonable probability that
had the information in question been disclosed to de-
fense counsel, the result of the proceedings would have
been different, see United States v. Bagley, 53 U.S.L.W.
5084 (U.S. July 2, 1985), especially given the extensive
defense cross-examination going to the impeachment of
Pro during the course of trial.

We find no merit to the other claims raised by the
defendants.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is
AFFIRMED.

App. A-5

APPENDIX B

[FILED JANUARY 28, 1986]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

NOS. 82-5573
82-5587
82-5598
84-5488
84-5906
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff/Appellee,
versus

NIGEL WINFIELD,
GABRIEL ROBERT CAGGIANO,
RAYMOND W. BASZNER,
Defendants/Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court
For The Western District of Tennessee

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before: ENGEL and MILBURN, Circuit Judges and
CELEBREZZE, Senior Circuit Judge

App. B-1

eee

PER CURIAM:

The Court having received a petition for rehearing
en banc, and the petition having been circulated not only
to the original panel members but also to all other active
judges of this Court, and no judge of this Court having
requested a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc,
the petition for rehearing has been referred to the
Original hearing panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for re-
hearing and concludes that the issues raised in the peti-
tion were fuliy considered and upon the original submis-
sion and decision of the case. Accordingly, the petition
is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT
JOHN P. HEHMAN, CLERK

App. B-2

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1666%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
