# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burlington Northern Railroad v. Anderson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1644%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1116

## Text

S5-157q | ite

MAR 14 1986
No. 85- ~DANIOL, JR-

JOSEFH F--

-—— -

_— —
In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,
Petitioner,

VS.

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
EASTERN DISTRICT

Tuomas E. Deacy, Jr.*
Epwarp W. MuLLEN
DereK E. Woop

Deacy & DEAcy

1000 Bryant Building
1102 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
(816) 421-4000
Counsel for Petitioner Burlington
Northern Railroad Company
*Counsel of Record

Date: March 17, 1986

E. L. Menvennatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

I.

IT.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED TOR REVIEW

WHETHER A STATE, HERE MISSOURI, IMPER-
MISSIBLY DEPRIVES INTERSTATE RAIL CAR-
RIERS OF THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE
LAW IN VIOLATION OF THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTI-
TUTION BY MANDATING THE SUBMISSION OF
ADMITTEDLY UNFAIR GENERAL NEGLIGENCE
INSTRUCTIONS TO JURIES IN F.E.L.A. CASES
BUT REQUIRING THE SUBMISSION OF SPECIFIC
NEGLIGENCE INSTRUCTIONS IN ALL OTHER
NEGLIGENCE CASES, CONTRARY TO THE CLEAR
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT?

WHETHER SUCH A REQUIREMENT PLACES AN
UNDUE BURDEN ON INTERSTATE COMMERCE
IN VIOLATION OF ARTICLE I, SECTION 8 OF
THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION WHEN NO
LOCAL INTEREST IS INVOLVED?

II

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND
SUPREME COURT RULE 28.1 STATEMENT

In compliance with Rule 28, Petitioner states that
Petitioner’s parent company is Burlington Northern Inc.
The partially owned subsidiaries and affiliates of Peti-
tioner and Petitioner’s parent are:

Burlington Northern Railway Company:

The Belt Railway Company of Chicago

Camas Prairie Railroad Company

Davenport, Rock Island and North Western Rail-
way Company

The Denver Union Terminal Railway Company

Houston Belt & Terminal Railway Company

Iowa Transfer Railway Company

Kansas City Terminal Railway Company

Keokuk Union Depot Company

The Lake Superior Terminal and Transfer Rail-
way Company

Longview Switching Company

The Minnesota Transfer Railway Company

Paducah & Illinois Railroad Company

Portland Terminal Railroad Company

The Saint Paul Union Depot Company

Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis

Trailer Train Company

The Wichita Union Terminal Railway Company
Winona Bridge Railway Company

Burlington Northern Inc.:
New Mexico & Arizona Land Co.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ~......0......2000....2.2-ececeeeeeeeee I
Parties to the Proceedings Below ..................0...0..2.....000000 II
I os esmegweninoeiannioinis III
i messnmenmtnmnoneine IV
os rates nrteddemmeniesasawemncnsisamionsins 1
Jurisdictional Statement ...... Ft A AOR os OTS Oe SOT EEE 2
EE gs 3
ET 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ —.0000220 ee ceeeeeeeee 8

I. The Mandatory Instruction System of the
Missouri Supreme Court Requires the Use of
a “General Negligence” Jury Instruction in
F.E.L.A. Cases, Contrary to the Missouri Re-
quirement That All Other Negligence Cases
Be Submitted to the Jury on Specific Factual
Claims, Thus Denying Railroad Defendants
Equal Protection of the Law in Violation of
the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution, and Contrary to the Deci-
sions of This Court That F.E.L.A. Cases Filed
in State Courts Are to Be Treated Proce-
durally in the Same Way As Other Negligence
Suits, and Contrary to the Decisions of the
Highest Courts of Other States 00000000... 8

II. Missouri’s Jury Instruction Requirement for
F.E.L.A. Cases Places an Undue Burden on
Interstate Commerce in Violation of Article I,
Section 8 of the United States Constitution ... 21

Table of Authorities
Cases:

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas
Public Commission, 461 U.S. 375, 103 S.Ct. 1905,

| PS ES Re - ; SReeenmnmrnnnunarncret senna rene 22
Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co. v. Ivey, 148 Fla. 680,

DS ee Bee Cee BGED chee en. 19
Beard v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 323 S.W.

Be RE ARS rcectnrve nase ee 14
Beave v. St. Louis Transit Co., 212 Mo. 331, ill

Be Se ND cate eee clone 13
Best & Co. v. Maxwell, 311 U.S. 454, 61 S.Ct. 334,

Be ee ee SE nccesnccedeseasateeceedenes ae eames 23
Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F.2d 365 (5th Cir.

BE Fiitcsitelas iapale cleanses adensaiadiacanteamemaiaiaiaion 16, 17, 20
Chesapeake & Ohio a Co. v. DeAtley, 241 U.S.

310, 36 S.Ct. 564, 60 L.Ed. 1016 (1916) .............. 9, 20
Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co. v. Meadows, 119 Va.

RO ee ) ) pmeeentenarone ears ben narra 11,12
Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 78 S.Ct. 1401, 3 L.Ed.

Be OD sececicin cecal ceiceenlopeandinnihinineongirsateaiaivns 18
Davis v. Farmers’ Co-op. Equity Co., 262 U.S. 312,

43 S.Ct. 556, 67 L.Ed. 996 (1923) ....................... 22

Dice v. Akron, Canton & Youngstown R. Co., 342
U.S. 359, 72 S.Ct. 312, 96 L.Ed. 398 (1952) ....9, 10, 20

Dick v. Great Northern Ry. Co., 12 Wash.2d 364,

BE SE IE ED = siecethnictsccccinidemeninnceatides 12
Dick v. Scott Construction Co., 539 S.W.2d 688
ERIE: MONNTND - scicsesisandsaesbis:iudisaneonbintapbieentcbaguedmsbnastas 13

Douglas v. Hoeh, 595 S.W.2d 434 (Mo.App. 1980) 13
Eli v. Reading Co., 424 F.2d 758 (3rd Cir. 1970) .... 16

oe

NIRS

Vv

Feldewerth v. Wabash R.R. Co., 181 Mo.App. 630,

ST Oi. Pe CUED | ctcenctactbbiatlediend: 13
Gallick v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 372 US.

108, 83 S.Ct. 659, 9 L.Ed.2d 618 (1963) —........... 17
Georgia Southern & Florida Ry. v. Seven-Up Bot-

tling Co., 175 So.2d 39 (Fla. 1965) ~2000022.. 19
Gulf, C. & S.F. Ry. Co. v. Ellis, 165 U.S. 150, 17

AN. Bie, GE ate GU CD acartrenetctnncccece 19
Johnson v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas R.R. Co., 334

i ore GE TU. Bee seco 14
Kahn, et al. v. Southern Ry. Co., 202 F.2d 875

CRIES SARs ENED eascicehshisicnsncncclacesientidactetiexachenbiaremecliaaldidaoas 23

Kassel v. Consolidated Freightways Corp. of Del-
aware, 450 U.S. 662, 101 S.Ct. 1309, 67 L.Ed.2d
Bee LIENS benedict miecatanioninnsakaeniaeuiennbnaanane 24

Killian v. Albert Wenzlick Real Est. Co., 89 S.W.
eG Fe CI, : TIE) etceiineine 13

Luckey v. Avon Products, Inc., 589 S.W.2d 364
CRI TUN. TTY ainrcescasnranitesseoneltanannahhelbasacaiglenmianigeics 13

McIntyre v. Whited, 440 S.W.2d 449 (Mo. 1969) ... 13
McKnett v. St. Louis & San Francisco Ry. Co., 292

U.S. 230, 54 S.Ct. 690, 78 L.Ed. 1227 (1934) ...... 18
McLaughlin v. State of Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 85

S.Ct. 283, 138 L.Ed.2d 222 (1964) .......................... 20
Miller v. Norfolk Southern Ry. Co., 240 N.C. 617,

OS. Be Bee Cee) steed 12
Miller v. United Railways Co. of St. Louis, 155

Mo.App. 528, 134 S.W. 1045 (1911) —..00 ww... 13
Minneapolis & St. Louis R.R. Co. v. Bombolis, 241

U.S. 211, 36 S.Ct. 595, 60 L.Ed. 961 (1916) ........ 9

Mondou v. New York, New Haven & Hartford
R.R. Co., 223 U.S. 1, 32 S.Ct. 169, 56 L.Ed. 327
( ZIREAD D» ‘wviisansaepstionseoctininictsincasclpniciinemaansaaies aceite 8, 20

VI

Moore v. Quality Dairy Co., 425 S.W.2d 261 (Mo.
Birr, TOG) canines enna naninecccccconstnsncinensiinnatisianenitaisitini 13
Oceanview Improvement Corp. v. Norfolk & West-
ern Ry. Co., 205 Va. 949, 140 S.E.2d 700 (1965) 23
Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137, 90 S.Ct.
644, 25 L.Ed.2d 174 (1070) 2.22200... 23
Pinkstaff v. Pennsylvania R.R. Co., 20 Ill.2d 193,
170 N.E.2d 139 (1960), cert. denied, 365 U.S.

OU CED stessicnsccncseccstnevnictinsckneviieniisniainberinapannleansdantnnticinen 12
Raymond Motor Transport, Inc. v. Rice, 434 U.S.
429, 98 S.Ct. 787, 54 L.Ed.2d 664 (1978) ............ 23-24

Ricketts v. Kansas City Stockyards Co. of Maine,
484 S.W.2d 216 (Mo. Banc 1972) ....14, 15, 16, 17, 21, 23

Rogers v. Missouri Pacific R.R. Co., 352 U.S. 500,

77 S.Ct. 443, 1 L.Ed.2d 493 (1957) -.............. 15, 20, 21
St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. Dickerson, ........

UWB. cxcseses , 105 S.Ct. 1347, ........ L.Ed.2d._........

ERO D sis sncincesscnnansnaesensesiinsidasiendsipililapnensiaesiealinpatinasaietiiatiea 9, 20

Searcy v. Neal, 509 S.W.2d 755 (Mo.App. 1974) ....17, 18
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 68 S.Ct. 836, 92

le SE, CED ccctinicdiccincicendisas tuk 18
Southern Pacific Co. v. State of Arizona, 325 U.S.

761, 65 S.Ct. 1515, 89 L.Ed. 1915 (1945) —.......... 23
Thompson v. Robbins, 157 Tex. 463, 304 S.W.2d

BEL CEE niece gieceensiesiicetinstiaiinitaciiniailbasaii die adidas 11
Tiller v. Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co., 318 U.S. 54,

63 S.Ct. 444, 87 L.Ed. 610 (1943) —2 16
Todd v. Watson, 501 S.W.2d 48 (Mo. 1973) .......... 18
Wessinger v. Southern Ry. Co., 470 F.Supp. 930

CER: DEE. vitemniinenicsiniaiictistheesebieaiiadibinineaaks: 19

Western and Southern Life Insurance Co. v. State
Board of Equalization of California, 451 U‘S.
648, 101 S.Ct. 2070, 68 L.Ed.2d 514 (1981)

aes 29

Sena T

COTE ER EL nape a

Sk RAI TILT REED oe

VII

Winters v. Terminal R.R. Ass’n of St. Louis, 363
Mo. 606, 252 S.W.2d 380 (1952) ............................ 14

Constitutional Provisions:

United States Constitution, Article I, Section 8

schcamate lett eattibdielibiets sate duaihleiah Nakeneceaadamnioiaaa dase 3, 5, 6, 21, 23, 24
United States Constitution, Amendment XIV
Scan seach Ssctphaterteb eppesbenabeiaiiealahiakiakssiaiweckesecikeoatanaical 3, 5, 6, 19, 24
Statutes:
I an a F easicounennnbiananns 2
ip Te | (| re cundahaedaicaemecumecumiceion 2
A Re I OE ON harris tcccasccicasccecinsensennnsalonse 2, 8,16
Rules and Instructions:
Missouri Approved Instruction 24.01 -.................. passim
Missouri Supreme Court Rule 70 —.....20000200... 6

Missouri Supreme Court Rule 83 — 2.000000... Sa

No. 85-

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,

Petitioner,
vs.

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
EASTERN DISTRICT

Petitioner, Burlington Northern Railroad Company,
respectfuily prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the Missouri Court of Ap-
peals, Eastern District, entered on September 24, 1985.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern
District, is reported at 700 S.W.2d 469 and is reproduced
in the appendix (‘“App.” Al-A18). Petitioner’s applica-
tion for transfer to the Missouri Supreme Court was
denied December 17, 1985, which order of denial is repro-
duced in the appendix at A27.

2

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Burlington Northern Railroad Company (hereafter
referred to as Petitioner), files this Petition for Writ
of Certiorari following an adverse jury verdict in the
Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis, Missouri in an
action brought under the Federal Employers’ Liability
Act, 45 U.S.C. §§51 et seq. (F.E.L.A.). Petitioner ap-
pealed to the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District,
which affirmed the verdict in Anderson v. Burlington
Northern R.R. Co., 700 S.W.2d 469 (Mo.App. 1985). Peti-
tioner properly filed with the Court of Appeals a Motion
for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc or For Transfer to
the Supreme Court of Missouri (App. Al9). After the
Court of Appeals denied those motions (App. A23), Peti-
tioner filed an application for transfer with the Supreme
Court of Missouri (App. A24) pursuant to Missouri Su-
preme Court Rule 83 (App. A45).

On December 17, 1985 the Missouri Supreme Court
denied Petitioner’s application for transfer (App. A27).
This petition is timely, having been filed within 90 days
thereafter. 28 U.S.C. §2101(c). This Court’s jurisdiction
is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257(3). The questions
presented involve the invalidity and unconstitutionality
of a certain mandatory jury instruction promulgated by
the Missouri Supreme Court (Missouri Approved Instruc-
tion 24.01)' for F.E.L.A. cases, which denies equal pro-
tection to railroads subject to the F.E.L.A., resulting in
an invidious discrimination against such railroads by the
State of Missouri in violation of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment and contrary to decisions of this Court and the
highest courts of several other states, and imposes an

4: M.A.I. is an abbreviation for Missouri Approved Instruc-
tions, the Missouri mandatory pattern jury instructions.

CEST TAS A

—

undue burden on interstate commerce in violation of
Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
Constitution of the United States
Article I, Section 8

Section 8. The Congress shall have Power

bd hd *

To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and
among the several States, and with the Indian Tribes;

Amendment XIV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,
are citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privileges or immu-
nities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any
State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to any person
within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The issues raised herein concern Missouri jury in-
struction practice as required by the Missouri Supreme
Court which discriminates against F.E.L.A. defendants,
places railroads at an unfair disadvantage in defending
F.E.L.A. cases, and is contrary to the decisions of this
Court

4

Although the Missouri Court of Appeals opinion (App.
A1-A18) sets out in some detail at least part of the evidence
concerning Respondent Anderson’s injury, Petitioner will
briefly summarize the facts. This case was first tried
in June, 1981, resulting in a verdict and judgment against
Petitioner in excess of One Million Dollars. That judgment
was reversed by the Missouri Court of Appeals and the
case was remanded for retrial. Anderson v. Burlington
Northern R.R. Co., 651 S.W.2d 176 (Mo.App. 1983). The
case was retried in October, 1983 on Respondent’s amended
petition alleging five specific claims of negligence.

The evidence on retrial showed that the Respondent,
Mr. Anderson, was 19 years old when he sustained an eye
injury on May 6, 1977. At that time he was a carman
helper at Petitioner’s shops in Springfield, Missouri, work-
ing on the assembly of new coal hopper cars. His duties
required him to use an air-powered reamer to ream bolt
holes to the correct size in the cars being assembled. It
was Respondent’s testimony that he was furnished only
safety glasses or spectacles and not goggles for doing this
work, and that the exhaust from the reamer caused metal
shavings to be blown into his face at times, and at other
times when he was under cars putting bolts into holes
shavings would drop onto his face and get in the vicinity
of his eyes. There was conflicting testimony concerning
whether goggles were made available to him. Respondent
offered evidence of different and other types of eye pro-
tection which he claimed should have been provided him,
of the lack of any strict enforcement of a general eye
safety program, and of the fact that steel shavings from
the reaming accumulated on the floor and on the cars
being assembled. He testified that on May 6, 1977 while
using a reamer, he felt a pain in his eye. When he finally
saw a doctor several days later a steel particle was re-

5

moved from his eye, but he returned to work. An in-
fection thereafter developed allegedly due to unsanitary
shop conditions, and the eye was ultimately removed. In
all, Respondent’s counsel alleged some 17 different grounds
of negligence in his opening statement to the jury and 11
different allegations of negligence in his final jury argu-
ment.

At the instruction conference in the trial court prior
to jury submission counsel for Petitioner objected to the
giving of Respondent’s tendered Instruction No. 6 based
on M.A.I. 24.01 on the grounds that such instruction de-
nied to Petitioner the equal protection of the laws in vio-
lation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution, and imposed an undue burden on interstate
commerce contrary to the Commerce Clause, Article I,
Section 8 of the United States Constitution, since the use
of such general negligence instruction was mandated by
the Missouri Supreme Court for use only in F.E.L.A.
cases. In its motion for new trial and at each step in
the appellate process Petitioner preserved its constitu-
tional objections.

Although Petitioner’s evidence was in conflict with
that of Respondent on virtually every point, the trial
court submitted the case to the jury on two general, non-
specific charges of negligence in the form required by
the Missouri Supreme Court in Missouri Approved In-
struction (M.A.I.) 24.01. No instruction by the court
limited the jury’s consideration to even the 17 claims
made by Respondent’s counsel in his opening statement,
much less the five allegations of the Amended Petition.
Instead the jury was directed to find for Respondent if
Petitioner either failed to provide (1) reasonably safe con-
ditions for work, or (2) reasonably safe appliances, and
in one or more of those respects was negligent. Under

6

Missouri Supreme Court Rule 70 (App. A43-A44) it is
clear that Missouri Approved Instructions are mandatory
and must be used to the exclusion of any others. M.A.I.
24.01 is mandated for use only in F.E.L.A. cases (App.
A33-A34).

In all negligence cases except those brought pursuant
to the F.E.L.A. the Missouri Supreme Court requires the
submission to the jury of specific charges of negligence.
The jury instructions mandated by M.A.I. require the jury
to find the defendant guilty of particular acts or omissions
constituting negligence as a condition to a plaintiff's ver-
dict. The sole exception to this practice is in F.E.L.A.
cases, in which the Missouri Supreme Court mandates the
submission to the jury of only a general negligence charge.
Petitioner objected to the required instruction on the
grounds that it gave the jury a roving commission and con-
stituted a submission of general negligence, thereby dis-
criminating against railroad defendants operating in inter-
state commerce and subject to the F.E.L.A. Petitioner also
objected to the instruction on the grounds that it imposed
an improper burden on interstate commerce in violation
of the Commerce Clause.of the United States Constitution,
Article I, Section 8, and failed to afford interstate rail-
roads the equal protection of the law with other employers
sued for personal injury, in violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment (App. A30). Petitioner’s objections were
overruled by the trial court. Under the general negligence
submission given, the jury found for Respondent and
awarded him $800,000 in damages.

Petitioner filed a timely motion for new trial in which
it renewed its constitutional objections (App. A36-A39),
but the trial court denied that motion (App. A41). Peti-
tioner appealed to the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern
District, preserving its constitutional challenges (App.

|
;

7

A42). That court affirmed the judgment in Anderson v.
Burlington Northern R.R. Co., 700 S.W.2d 469 (Mo.App.
1985). Petitioner filed its motion for rehearing, or for
rehearing en banc, or for transfer to the Missouri Supreme
Court (App. Al19-A22) which alternative motion was
denied (App. A23). Petitioner next filed an application
for transfer with the Missouri Supreme Court, seeking
review of the Court of Appeals opinion, preserving the
constitutional issues raised herein (App. A24-A26). On
December 17, 1985 the Missouri Supreme Court denied
the application for transfer (App. A27). On December
18, 1985 the Missouri Court of Appeals issued its man-
date affirming the judgment (App. A28).

The use of the general negligence instruction in
F.E.L.A. cases constitutes a denial of equal protection be-
cause the Missouri Supreme Court, without any rational
basis for distinction, requires such submission in F.E.L.A.
cases yet disapproves the use of general negligence instruc-
tions in all other personal injury and master-servant negli-
gence cases. This is contrary to the decisions of this
Court that juries are to be instructed in F.E.L.A. cases
tried in state courts in the same manner as all other negli-
gence cases in those courts. The trial court and the Mis-
souri Court of Appeals, Eastern District, both held against
Petitioner on its constitutional objections on the basis
that the use of M.A.I. 24.01 was mandatory, and the Mis-
souri Supreme Court refused to review that determina-
tion and the propriety of the instruction when it denied
Petitioner’s application for transfer.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Mandatory Instruction System of the Mis-
souri Supreme Court Requires the Use of a “‘Gen-
eral Negligence’’ Jury Instruction in F.E.L.A.
Cases, Contrary to the Missouri Requirement That
All Other Negligence Cases Be Submitted to the
Jury on Specific Factual Claims, Thus Denying
Railroad Defendants Equal Protection of the Law
in Violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution, and Contrary to the
Decisions of This Court That F.E.L.A. Cases Filed
in State Courts Are to Be Treated Procedurally
in the Same Way As Other Negligence Suits, and
Contrary to the Decisions of the Highest Courts
of Other States.

This case presents a question of national importance,
applicable to F.E.L.A. cases brought in the state courts
of all 50 states, and directly affects the constitutional rights
of interstate rail carriers sued in state courts under the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. §§51 et seq.,
particularly those sued in Missouri.

This Court’s Decisions Require F.E.L.A. Cases
in State Courts to Be Tried Under the Same Local
Instruction Procedure As All Other Cases.

Where F.E.L.A. cases are tried in state courts, the
state is to apply the same procedural rules that it does
in all other negligence cases. In the Second Employers’
Liability Act Cases (Mondou v. New York, New Haven
& Hartford R.R. Co.) 223 US. 1, 32 S.Ct. 169, 178, 56
L.Ed. 327 (1912) this Court specifically held that the Em-
ployers’ Liability Act did not involve “any attempt by
Congress to enlarge or regulate the jurisdiction of state

9

courts, or to control or affect their modes of procedure
... +” In Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co. v. DeAtley, 241
U.S. 310, 36 S.Ct. 564, 566, 60 L.Ed. 1016 (1916), this
Court specifically decided that the manner of instructing
juries was procedural and that in F.E.L.A. cases filed in
state courts, the usual state court procedure with respect
to jury instructions was to be foliowed, saying:

Although the present action was based upon a Fed-
eral statute, it was triable and tried in a state court;
hence local rules of practice and procedure were ap-
plicable.

Most recently, in St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v.
Dickerson, ........ UB. «2... , 105 S.Ct. 1347, 1348, -....... L.Ed.2d
eesti (1985), a case dealing with jury instructions, this
Court said:

[1, 2] As a general matter, FELA cases adjudicated in
state courts are subject to state procedural rules, but
the substantive law governing them is federal.

In Minneapolis & St. Louis R.R. Co. v. Bombolis, 241
U.S. 211, 36 S.Ct. 595, 60 L.Ed. 961 (1916) this Court held
that where a state permitted a non-unanimous verdict to
be returned by a jury in negligence cases, that rule was
likewise applicable to F.E.L.A. cases, against a contention -
that a unanimous verdict should be required since the
F.E.L.A. was a federal act. In Dice v. Akron, Canton &
Youngstown R. Co., 342 U.S. 359, 72 S.Ct. 312, 96 L.Ed.
398 (1952) the Court indicated that, in accordance with
Bombolis, supra, if a state abolished trial by jury in all
negligence cases then juries would not be required under
the Federal Employers’ Liability Act. In the separate
concurring and dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Frank-
furter, concurred in by three other justices, is the follow-
ing language which seems particularly applicable here:

ean

10

It has been settled ever since the Second Employers’
Liability Cases (Mondou v. New York, N.H. & H. R.
Co.) 223 U.S. 1, 32 S.Ct. 169, 56 L.Ed. 327, that no
State which gives its courts jurisdiction over common
law actions for negligence may deny access to its
courts for a negligence action founded on the Federal
Employers’ Liability Act. Nor may a State discrim-
inate disadvantageously against actions for negligence
under the Federal Act as compared with local causes
of action in negligence.

* * *

So long as all negligence suits in a State are treated
in the same way, by the same mode of disposing
equitable, non-jury, and common law, jury issues, the
State does not discriminate against Employers’ Liabil-
ity suits nor does it make any inroad upon substance.

= * ”

The State judges and local lawyers who must admin-
ister the Federal Employers’ Liabality Act in State
courts are trained in the ways of local practice; it
multiplies the difficulties and confuses the administra-
tion of justice to require, on purely theoretical grounds,
a hybrid of State and Federal practice in the State
courts as to a single class of cases. Nothing in the |
Employers’ Liability Act or in the judicial enforce-
ment of the Act for over forty years forces such judi-
cial hybridization upon the States.

342 U.S. at 364-368, 72 S.Ct. at 316-317.

The Highest Courts of Other States Require the
Same Instruction Procedure to Be Used in
F.E.L.A. Cases As in Other Cases.

The highest courts of at least three states have held
that the jury must be instructed in the same manner in

11

F.E.L.A. cases as in all other personal injury negligence
cases tried in the courts of those states, contrary to the
practice in Missouri. In dealing with an instruction issue,
the Supreme Court of Texas held in Thompson v. Robbins,
157 Tex. 463, 304 S.W.2d 111, 116-117 (1957):

We agree with the defendant that the Texas Rules
of Civil Procedure control. The plaintiff invoked the
jurisdiction of the state courts and the case should
be tried as any other suit for damages is tried in the
state courts so far as procedural matters are con-
cerned. Therefore, in view of our policy that all
special issues should be framed in such form as to
not inform the jury of the effect of its answers, we
believe that issue No. 38 should have been framed so
as to inquire of the jury as to what percent the negli-
gence of the plaintiff bore to the entire negligence,
if any, of both the plaintiff and the defendant.

In Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co. v. Meadows, 119 Va.
33, 89 S.E. 244 (1916) the Supreme Court of Appeals
of Virginia dealt with a contention that the contributory
negligence - damage mitigation aspect of the F.E.L.A.
required the jury to return a special verdict. That court
held to the contrary, saying:

[3] We do not see that the trial of a case under the
federal Employers’ Liability Act differs at all as to
procedure from any other negligence case. * * *
When Congress gave the state courts co-ordinate juris-
diction in this class of cases with the federal courts,
by necessary implication it adopted the procedure and
practice of the state courts for the trial of such cases.
C. & O. Ry. Co. v. Carnahan, 118 Va. 46, 86 S.E. 863.

« 7 *

12

If a special verdict were proper in this case, it would
be proper and necessary to have a special verdict in
every negligence case, .. .; yet such a verdict is, as
we have seen, unknown to our practice, and there is |
nothing in the language of the federal statute that |
expressly requires such a proceeding, or from which

such a proceeding is necessarily implied.

89 S.E. 247.

The highest court of North Carolina has held likewise
in Miller v. Norfolk Southern Ry. Co., 240 N.C. 617, 83
S.E.2d 533, 534 (1954):

[1] In this case the rules of liability and recovery
are governed by the provisions of an Act of Congress
known as the Federal Employer’s Liability Act, 45
U.S.C.A. §51 et seq. When a case is brought under
this Act in the State courts, matters of procedure, |
such as the judge’s charge, are governed by rules of |
the North Carolina courts.

Jury instruction practice is also governed by local
rules in F.E.L.A. cases tried in state courts in Washington
and Illinois as demonstrated by the decisions of the highest
courts of those states, although without specific comment
on the issue. Dick v. Great Northern Ry. Co., 12 Wash.2d
364, 121 P.2d 966 (1942); Pinkstaff v. Pennsylvania R.R.
Co., 20 Ill.2d 193, 170 N.E.2d 139 (1960), cert. denied, 365
U.S. 878 (1961).

The Missouri Courts Condemn General Negli-
gence Instructions As Unfair and Discriminatory
and Forbid Their Use in All Other Cases.

The Missouri courts repeatedly have condemned the
submission of negligence issues to juries by so-called
“general negligence” instructions and on the contrary have

13

required the submission of specific factual issues to the
jury for their determination, saying that general negli-
gence instructions are “unfair” to defendants, Miller v.
United Railways Co. of St. Louis, 155 Mo.App. 528, 134
S.W. 1045 (1911), “prejudicial to defendant’, Killian v.
Albert Wenzlick Real Est. Co., 89 S.W.2d 716 (Mo.App.
1936), “wholly deficient”, Feldewerth v. Wabash R.R. Co.,
181 Mo.App. 630, 164 S.W. 711 (1914) and constitute
“taking an undue advantage of defendant.” Beave v.
St. Louis Transit Co., 212 Mo. 331, 111 S.W. 52 (1908).

Such instructions have been said by the Missouri
courts to fail to give the jury any guidance or direction
as to the grounds on which, under the evidence, a defen-
dant may be found to have been negligent and to leave
the jury free to speculate and conjecture, on their own,
concerning defendant’s negligence. Luckey v. Avon Prod-
ucts, Inc., 589 S.W.2d 364 (Mo.App. 1979); Douglas »v.
Hoeh, 595 S.W.2d 434 (Mo.App. 1980). Such instructions
are condemned as permitting the jury to “invoke their
imaginations or draw upon mere conjecture” as to whether
a defendant might in some manner not shown by the
evidence have avoided injury to plaintiff. Miller v. United
Railways Co., supra, 134 S.W. at 1050. Since adoption
by the Missouri Supreme Court of the Missouri Approved
Instructions, a jury instruction in any other than an
F.E.L.A. case must hypothesize some specific fact consti-
tuting negligence and not require the jury to resort to
substantial conjecture. Dick v. Scott Construction Co.,
539 S.W.2d 688 (Mo.App. 1976). See also Moore v. Qual-
ity Dairy Co., 425 S.W.2d 261 (Mo.App. 1968) and McIntyre
v. Whited, 440 S.W.2d 449 (Mo. 1969).

Prior to the adoption of M.A.I., the jury submission
in F.E.L.A, cases was required to be based on specific negli-
gence, similar to all other cases and consonant with the

14

principle that the local procedure was to be followed by
state courts in the trial of F.E.L.A. cases. See, for example,
Winters v. Terminal R.R. Ass’n of St. Louis, 363 Mo. 606,
252 S.W.2d 380 (1952), Johnson v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas
R.R. Co., 334 S.W.2d 41 (Mo. 1960) and Beard v. Railway
Express Agency, Inc., 323 S.W.2d 732 (Mo. 1959).

In 1965, however, the Missouri Supreme Court adopted
Missouri Approved Instructions, as promulgated by a com-
mittee appointed by the court for the purpose of drafting
such instructions. Those “pattern” instructions still re-
quire the submission of specific negligence to the jury in
all cases except F.E.L.A. cases, but as demonstrated by
M.A.I. 24.01, mandate the submission of an F.E.L.A. case
on a charge of general negligence.

Missouri Intentionally Discriminates Against
F.E.L.A. Defendants.

The Missouri Supreme Court deliberately intended to
treat railroads unequally in this fashion as demonstrated
by its opinion in Ricketts v. Kansas City Stockyards Co.
of Maine, 484 S.W.2d 216 (Mo. Banc 1972). Plaintiff
there was suing his nonrailroad employer at common
law for an injury sustained at work, allegedly due to the
employer’s negligence. Plaintiff had submitted and the
trial court gave a general negligence instruction precisely
in the language of M.A.I. 24.01. The Missouri Supreme
Court held that M.A.I. 24.01 was to be used solely in
F E.L.A. cases, and that its use constituted prejudicial error
in any other case, saying at 484 S.W.2d 221-222:

This instruction’s wording in what it submitted fol-
lows M.A.I. 24.01 which is designed for submission
of F.E.L.A. cases; and for the reasons hereinafter stated
should not be used in other cases.

15

We also consider this instruction too broad and in-
definite in submitting only failure to provide reason-
ably safe conditions of work but not submitting any
condition as not being reasonably safe. Our view is
that M.A.I. requires such a submission in all usual
negligence cases as illustrated by its model instruc-
tions...

* * *

Plaintiff’s verdict directing instruction could have
submitted, in accordance with [his specific negligence]
theory, a finding that the place or conditions of work
were unsafe because or on account of having the men
work on a scaffold where they would be standing
below the gutter they were required to remove. De-
fendant’s evidence was that the method used was as
safe or safer than that suggested by plaintiff’s expert
and that was the issue for the jury to decide. The
verdict directing instruction should have required a
finding on that issue. For the reason specified we
must hold Instruction No. 3 to be prejudicially er-
roneous.

The Missouri Supreme Court Decision in Ricketts
Is Legally Wrong.

The court purported to justify the use of the general
negligence instruction M.A.I. 24.01 by this Court’s decision
in Rogers v. Missouri Pacific R.R. Co., 352 U.S. 500, 77 S.Ct.
443, 1 L.Ed.2d 493 (1957) which held that under the
F.E.L.A. there is liability for negligence of a defendant
“which plays any part ‘even the slightest’” in causing
plaintiff’s injury. Ricketts, supra, 484 S.W.2d at 221.

Despite the Missouri Supreme Court’s misplaced re-
liance on Rogers, that case neither authorizes nor mandates
jury submission on a general negligence charge, but deals

16

solely with the issue of causation. As clearly stated by
the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, “The Rogers
case did not decide how a judge should instruct a jury
in such cases.” Eli v. Reading Co., 424 F.2d 758, 762 (3rd
Cir. 1970).

The Missouri Supreme Court in Ricketts further sought
to justify the general negligence submission in F.E.L.A.
cases by quoting from Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F.2d
365 (5th Cir. 1969), stating that only “slight negligence”
was necessary to support an F.E.L.A. action, and from
Prosser, Law of Torts, §82, that in an F.E.L.A. action,
“the extent of the negligence required, as well as the
quantum of proof necessary to establish it, [have been
reduced] to the ‘vanishing point.” 484 S.W.2d at 221.
The Ricketts opinion somehow inexplicably translated
“slight” negligence into “general” negligence, concepts
which are entirely foreign to one another.

In Boeing, supra, citing no authority other than Profes-
sor Prosser, the court said at 371:

[4] Slight negligence, necessary to support an FELA
action, is defined as “a failure to exercise great care

This holding, of course, is palpably wrong. 45 U.S.C.
£51 uses the term “negiigence”, not “slight negligence.”
This Court has repeatedly held that the standard of care
in an F.E.LA. case is ordinary care. For instance, in
Tiller v. Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co., 318 U.S. 54, 67, 63
S.Ct. 444, 451, 87 L.Ed. 610 (1943) this Court said:

(7, 8] In this situation the employer’s liability is to
be determined under the general rule which defines
negligence as the lack of due care under the circum-
stances; or the failure to do what a reasonable and

17

prudert man would ordinarily have done under the
circumstances of the situation; or doing what such
a person under the existing circumstances would not
have done.

See also Gallick v, Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 372 U.S. 108,
117-118, 83 S.Ct. 659, 665-666, 9 L.Ed.2d 618 (1963) in which
this Court reiterated that an F.E.L.A. defendant’s duty
was ordinary or reasonable care. Thus both Boeing and
the Missouri Supreme Court decision in Ricketts are di-
rectly contrary to this Court’s decisions, and the declara-
tion of the Missouri Supreme Court, relying solely on
Boeing and Professor Prosser, is contrary to the clear
decisions of this Court. The Missouri Supreme Court’s
misplaced reliance on those authorities thus is insufficient
to justify the clearly disparate treatment accorded F.E.L.A.
defendants in the Missouri instruction procedure and af-
fords no basis for classifying F.E.L.A. defendants differ-
ently from other corporate employers sued by their em-
ployees for negligently inflicted personal injury.

The Missouri Court of Appeals perpetuated this dis-
criminatory and unequal treatment of employer defendants
in Searcy v. Neal, 509 S.W.2d 755 (Mo.App. 1974). There
again an employee sued his employer for a negligently in-
flicted injury. The employee submitted his case to the
jury by an instruction obviously patterned on M.AI. 24.01.
Since defendant was not a railroad subject to the F.E.L.A.
the Missouri Court of Appeals held the jury submission
and use of M.A.I. 24.01 erroneous and reversed, citing
Ricketts as its authority. The court in Searcy said:

Instruction No, 2... does not require a finding of a
particular unsafe condition which could have been the
proximate cause of the injury, and therefore was prej-
udicially erroneous. * * * The fallability of a negligence

18

verdict-director which does not submit the finding of
a particular dangerous condition as the proximate
cause of the injury is given poignancy by cases, such
as this, where the proof asserted by the plaintiff is
of more than one unsafe condition.

509 S.W.2d at 762. See also Todd v. Watson, 501 S.W.2d
48 (Mo. 1973) at page 49, n. 1.

There Is No Rational or Legitimate Basis for Mis-
souri to Discriminate Against F.E.L.A. Defen-
dants.

There is no rational basis for, and certainly no state
interest in, treating F.E.L.A. cases differently from all
other negligence cases which Missouri requires be sub-
mitted to juries on instructions specifying the negligence
charged. It has been made clear by this Court that the
action of a state court denying equal protection to one
class of parties is action of the state within the meaning
of the Fourteenth Amendment. Shelley v. Kraemer, 334
US. 1, 15, 68 S.Ct. 836, 843, 92 L.Ed. 1161 (1948); Cocper
v. Aaron, 358 U.S. 1, 78 S.Ct. 1401, 3 L.Ed.2d 5 (1958).
This Court held over 50 years ago that a plaintiff suing
under the F.E.L.A. could not be discriminated against by
a state court simply because his rights are to be deter-
mined under a federal statute, and Petitioner respectfully
suggests that neither may an F.E.L.A. defendant be dis-
criminated against by a state court simply because it is
sued under the same federal statute. As this Court has
said, “A state may not discriminate against rights arising
under federal laws.” McKnett v. St. Louis & San Fran-
cisco Ry. Co., 292 U.S. 230, 234, 54 S.Ct. 690, 692, 78 L.Ed.
1227 (1934).

19

Even railroads have been held by this Court to be
entitled to their constitutional protections. Although the
context was different, what this Court said in Gulf, C. &
S.F. Ry. Co. v. Ellis, 165 U.S. 150, 17 S.Ct. 255, 256, 41
L.Ed. 666 (1897) is equally appropriate here:

In the suits, therefore, to which they are parties, [rail-
roads] are discriminated against, and are not treated
as others. They do not stand equal before the law.
They do not receive its equal protection.

It is well settled that corporations are persons within
the provisions of the fourteenth amendment of the
constitution of the United States.... A state has
no more power to deny to corporations the equal
protection of the law than it has to individual citizens.

In yet another context it has been held that a jury
instruction and statute authorizing it which limited the
right of a railroad to rely on contributory negligence con-
stituted a denial of equal protection in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment. Wessinger v. Southern Ry. Co.,
470 F.Supp. 930 (D.S.C. 1979); see also Georgia Southern
& Florida Ry. v. Seven-Up Bottling Co., 175 So.2d 39 (Fla.
1965) and Atlantic Coastline R.R. Co. v. Ivey, 148 Fla.
680, 5 So.2d 244 (Banc 1941).

The State of Missouri, in subjecting F.E.L.A. defen-
dants unlike any other defendants to what the Missouri
Supreme and appellate courts have characterized as “un-
fair”, “prejudicial” and “wholly deficient” submissions of
general negligence, clearly denies equal protection in vio-
lation of the Fourteenth Amendment.

. . « the policies of the Equal Protection Clause...
were intended to secure “the full and equal benefit

20

of all laws and proceedings for the security of per-
sons and property” and to subject all persons “to
like punishment, pains, penalties, taxes, licenses, and
exactiuiis of every kind, and to no other.”

~ * >

“ . . When the law lays an unequal hand on those
who have committed intrinsically the same quality
of offense ... it has made as an invidious a discrimi-
nation as if it had selected a particular race or nation-
ality for oppressive treatment.”

McLaughlin v. State of Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 193-194, 85
S.Ct. 283, 289-290, 13 L.Ed.2d 222 (1964).

A state’s disparate and unequal treatment of parties
similarly situated - here personal injury negligence defen-
dants sued in state courts - can only survive an equal pro-
tection challenge if a rational or legitimate basis for dif-
ferent treatment or classification can be shown, and the
classification is rationally related to the achievement of
a legitimate state purpose. Western and Southern Life
Ins. Co. v. State Board of Equalization of California, 451
U.S. 648, 101 S.Ct. 2070, 68 L.Ed.2d 514 (1981). In the
situation in question, however, this Court has commanded
that F.E.L.A. defendants be accorded the same procedures
as all other defendants sued in state courts. Mondou,
supra; DeAtley, supra; Dice, supra; Dickerson, supra.
Except for its erroneous interpretation of this Court’s de-
cision in Rogers and its misplaced reliance on the incor-
rect statement in the Fifth Circuit Boeing decision, the
Missouri Supreme Court has never attempted to justify
its requirement that F.E.L.A. defendants be subjected to
the use of the admittedly unfair general negligence charge.
It has made no attempt to justify its departure from this
Court’s decisions in the Mondou, DeAtley and Dice cases.

21

It certainly has not stated any rational basis for, nor state
interest served by, its discrimination against and unequal
treatment of F.E.L.A. defendants, contrary to the clear
mandates of this Court. In matters of substantive law the
rights of the parties are governed by the federal Act itself
and the decisions of this Court. Rogers, supra. As to mat-
ters of procedure this Court’s decisions require that the
state courts adhere to the same procedures which they
follow in all similar cases. Thus there is no rational or
legitimate basis for, or legitimate state purpose served
by, Missouri’s unequal treatment and classification of
F.E.L.A. defendants.

II. Missouri’s Jury Instruction Requirement for
F.E.L.A. Cases Places an Undue Burden on In-
terstate Commerce in Violation of Article I, Sec-
tion 8 of the United States Constitution.

In view of the enormous verdicts so frequently ren-
dered in F.E.L.A. cases, Missouri’s action in treating
F.E.L.A. defendants differently from other defendants in
similar injury cases results in the imposition of an undue
and unwarranted burden on interstate commerce in vio-
lation of Article I, Section 8 of the United States Consti-
tution. Missouri does not have, nor have its courts at-
tempted to articulate, any local interest or objective to
be achieved by the use in F.E.L.A. cases of what the Mis-
souri courts have long called an “unfair” manner of in-
structing juries.

The Federal Employers’ Liability Act by its terms is
applicable only to railroads engaged in or whose activities
substantially affect interstate commerce. M.A.I. 24.01 is
applicable only in F.E.L.A. cases. Ricketts, supra. Thus
only railroads engaged in or whose activities affect in-

22

terstate commerce are burdened by the “unfair” and
“prejudicial” practice of submitting cases to juries with-
out the slightest specification of negligence, contrary to
the state’s practice with regard to all other negligence
defendants. As this Court recently pointed out in Arkansas
Electric Cooperative Corp. v. Arkansas Public Commission,
461 U.S. 375, 103 S.Ct. 1905, 1915, 76 L.Ed.2d 1 (1983):

[7, 8] Even in the absence of congressional legislation,
“the Commerce Clause contains an implied limitation
on the power of the States to interfere with or impose
burdens on interstate commerce.” (Citing cases) .. -
It is difficult to square the mechanical line drawn .. .
and based on a supposedly precise division between
“direct” and “indirect” effects on interstate commerce,
with the general trend in our modern Commerce
Clause jurisprudence to look in every case to the
“nature of the state regulation involved, the objective
of the state, and the effect of the regulation upon the
national interest in the commerce.”

The sizable awards so routinely upheld in F.E.LA.
cases obviously constitute a burden on interstate com-
merce, since the resulting judgments are imposed directly
upon interstate rail carriers and the cost thereof must be
borne by the shipping public. This Court in Davis v.
Farmers’ Co-op. Equity Co., 262 U.S. 312, 43 S.Ct. 556, 67
L.Ed. 996 (1923) took notice that claims against inter-
state railroads for personal injuries are numerous, the
amounts demanded are large and result directly and in-
directly in heavy expense, and held a state jurisdiction
statute unconstitutional as imposing an undue burden on
interstate commerce.

Far less costly than such damage awards would be
the expense of requiring the operation of shorter trains,

23

yet this Court has specifically held that a state statute
purporting to limit the length of trains constitutes an
undue burden on interstate commerce contrary to Article
I, Section 8 of the Constitution, both because of the addi-
tional expense and the inefficiency of operation, and that
such enactments are void. Southern Pacific Co. v. State
of Arizona, 325 U.S. 761, 65 S.Ct. 1515, 89 L.Ed. 1915
(1945). A similar result has been reached where cities
have attempted by ordinance to limit train length. Kahn,
et al. v. Southern Ry. Co., 202 F.2d 875 (4th Cir. 1953);
Oceanview Improvement Corp. v. Norfolk & Western Ry.
Co., 205 Va. 949, 140 S.E.2d 700 (1965).

If the imposition of a $250 tax unduly burdens inter-
state commerce as this Court held in Best & Co. v. Mazx-
well, 311 U.S. 454, 61 S.Ct. 334, 85 L.Ed. 275 (1940) it
is abundantly clear that the $800,000 verdict and judgment
sustained here constitute an undue burden on interstate
commerce. Purely local, non-railroad defendants sued in
Missouri are not subject to the use of a general negligence
instruction such as M.A.J. 24.01 as clearly demonstrated
by the Missouri Supreme Court’s decision in Ricketts,
supra. Thus the use of this instruction constitutes at
least as clear a discrimination against employers oper-
ating railroads in interstate commerce as did the mer-
charts’ tax imposed only on nonresident merchants in
Best & Co., supra.

In Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137, 90 S.Ct.
844, 25 L.Ed.2d 174 (1970) this Court found a state admin-
istrative order which would have imposed a $200,000 ex-
pense on a cantaloupe grower an impermissible burden
on interstate commerce, even though it did not discrim-
inate in favor of local companies, there being no suffi-
ciently legitimate local purpose to be served. See also
Raymond Motor Transport, Inc. v. Rice, 434 U.S. 429,

24

98 S.Ct. 787, 54 L.Ed.2d 664 (1978) and Kassel v. Consol-
idated Freightways Corp. of Delaware, 450 U.S. 662, 101
S.Ct. 1309, 67 L.Ed.2d 580 (1981) in which substantial
expense, together with other restrictions imposed by
states, was held to burden interstate commerce uncon-
stitutionally.

Petitioner submits that the Missouri Supreme Court
in its jury instruction practice denies to interstate rail-
roads, including Petitioner, the equal protection of the law
in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United
States Constitution, and improperly imposes an undue
burden on interstate commerce in violation of the Com-
merce Clause, Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution, and
that such practice is contrary to the clear pronouncements
of this Court.

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons, Petitioner respectfully
urges this Court to grant this petition for the issuance of
this Court’s writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS E. Deacy, JR.
EDWARD W. MULLEN
DEREK E. Woop
Deacy & DEacy

1000 Bryant Building

1102 Grand Avenue

Kansas City, Missouri 64106
(816) 421-4000

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern
District in Harold E. Anderson v. Burlington North-
ern Railroad Co. (Published at 700 S.W.2d 469) .... Al
Petitioner’s motion for rehearing, or rehearing en
banc, or for transfer to the Supreme Court of
I SE clas essssteetilcsciiatbihalbinanaipnidianinedonidaasidiin Alg
Order denying motion for rehearing/transfer (Mo.
Ns a Ns I ID. cnstssntteeicmetscissicsisniosiansienernsnanicnaiion A23
Petitioner’s application for transfer to the Supreme
Court of Missouri (excerpt) ...................-c-ccccecscecccencceneee A24
Order of the Supreme Court of Missouri denying Peti-
tioner’s application for transfer (Dec. 17, 1985) ........ A27
Mandate of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern
District (issued on Dec. 18, 1985 pursuant to the
Order of the Supreme Court of Missouri denying
Petitioner’s application to transfer) ................22.......... A28
Instruction Conference held before The Honorable
Daniel T. Tillman, Judge, in the Circuit Court for
the City of St. Louis prior to submission of this

case to the jury (Tr. on App., pp. 1438-1440) —.......... A30
I, NG A hist ncressicasilbscivinrpociinncibontiaesedetste eel A32
Missouri Approved Instruction 24.01 with Committee’s
IIIT shsshsrinieiiseeeilsicnecepebininiseeseie tesla’ A33
Judgment in the Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis
I ac eee dcalinaedeecbatisaanicnlnaiiaaninisaiinds A35
Petitioner’s alternative motions for judgment notwith-
standing verdict and for new trial (excerpts) .......... A36

Order of Trial Court denying Petitioner’s motion for
judgment notwithstanding verdict or for new trial
SI NE IIIT idee cree enatlisiniadehi heii sdecsweinaisasbipsbanaied A4l

IT

Pertinent point relied upon by Petitioner before Mis-
souri Court of Appeals, Eastern District .................... A42

Missouri Supreme Court Rule 70 ...............:-cecccceeeseseee: A43

Missouri Supreme Court Rule 83.03 .................-.::csee0+0 A45

Al

IN THE MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
EASTERN DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO

No. 48301

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Plaintiff-Respondent,

VS.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis

Hon. Daniel T. Tillman, Judge

OPINION FILED: September 24, 1985

Burlington Northern Railroad Company (railroad)
appeals from a judgment in favor of Harold E. Anderson
pursuant to a jury verdict of $800,000.00 in a personal in-
jury action filed against the railroad pursuant to § 45 U.S.C.
§§ 51 et seq., the Federal Employers’ Liability Act. An-
derson sought damages for injuries incurred when a steel
shaving got into his eye as he was reaming bolt holes on
a hopper car assembly line. We affirm.

This is the second appeal following retrial ordered by
us in Anderson v. Burlington Northern Railroad, 651
S.W.2d 176 (Mo.App. 1983) from which we borrow freely
without quotation marks the following recitation of facts.
Anderson was an employee of the railroad. His duties re-
quired him to ream bolt holes in the metal flooring of

A2

hopper cars. He used an air-powered reamer, the exhaust
from which caused the metal shavings to be biown into
his face at times. He wore safety glasses or spectacles but
they did not prevent particles of metal from being blown
into his eyes. The evidence was conflicting regarding the
availability to Anderson, and the use by other employees,
of various types of safety goggles. On May 6, 1977, while
reaming a hole with the exhaust blowing in his face, An-
derson felt a pain in his left eye. After finishing the last
hole, he went to his foreman, obtained eye wash, and
washed his eye. His eye continued to hurt over the week-
end. Despite the continued eye irritation, he worked on
Monday. On Tuesday when he returned to work, he was
sent to a doctor who removed a piece of metal from his
eye and attempted to clean the eye by drilling into it.
While Anderson continued to work, he also visited the
doctor because of pain. About two weeks later, on May
22, Anderson was admitted to the hospital. Surgical
efforts to save his eye were unsuccessful; it was eventually
removed and replaced with a prosthesis, a plastic eyeball.

The railroad raises nine points on appeal alleging that
the trial court erred in the following: (1) refusing to
grant a motion for directed verdict or judgment notwith-
standing the verdict because Anderson failed to prove that
the railroad’s negligence caused his injuries; (2) denying
a mistrial where the jury surmised that the failure to
grant Anderson’s request to excuse certain jurors was at
the railroad’s insistence; (3) failing to discharge the jury
or declare a mistrial following a witness’ testimony of
the railroad’s racial bias against the witness, thereby
prejudicing the jury against the railroad; (4) admitting
Anderson’s testimony that the railroad forced his return to
work the day after his medical treatment and continued
to supply inadequate or ineffective safety goggles to him;

A3

(5) admitting certain incompetent medical testimony; (6)
admitting testimony by an economist concerning Ander-
son’s past and future loss of wages; (7) denying the mo-
tion for new trial or remittitur for an excessive jury ver-
dict; (8) giving a negligence instruction based on M.ALI.
24.01; and (9) refusing to give the railroad’s proffered
comparative negligence instruction.

We shall] set out additional facts only as needed. Rail-
road’s first point contends Anderson failed to make a
submissible case. The standard of review to be used in
determining whether sufficient evidence has been presented
in order to make a submissible case is well established.
We must view the evidence in the light most favorable to
the plaintiff and disregard defendant’s contrary evidence.
White v. St. Louis-San Francisco Ry., 602 S.W.2d 748, 751
(Mo.App. 1980).

There is no question that Anderson sustained an injury
as a result of a piece of steel being embedded in the cornea,
near the center of his left eye. Railroad argues that, al-
though Anderson established that the safety glasses issued
him by the railroad had gaps which would allow debris
to get behind the glasses, no evidence established that
the steel particle got in Anderson’s eye while he was
actually working. Railroad presents other possibilities
explaining how the steel particle fell in Anderson’s eye.
Noting that even if a man had on goggles or a face shield
recommended by experts on eye protection, if he took them
off and wiped his forehead because he was hot, a piece of
metal could be shaken from his eyebrows, forehead, or
gloves; be rubbed into the eye; and be forced in by the
eyelid.

Testimony by Anderson established that the safety
glasses issued to him and worn by him at the time of his

A4

injury were essentially spectacles, horn-rimmed glasses
with perforated plastic side shields. He testified metal
shavings, blown by the exhaust from the reamer, would
get in his clothes, hair, face, eyebrows, in the vicinity of
the eyes, and in the eyes of other workers on numerous
occasions through the gaps at the top and bottom of the
eyeglass frame, at the brow, around the cheeks and adja-
cent to the nose. Several other men, employed similarly
to Anderson, had complained about getting shavings in
their eyes while wearing the safety glasses. Anderson
also testified that while working he felt a pain in his eye.
Ample evidence was before the jury on this matter for
it to conclude that the railroad’s negligence in furnishing
inadequate eye protection caused Anderson’s injuries, de-
spite the railroad’s alternative explanations for causation
on how the injury occurred. Point denied.

The railroad’s second point alleges error in the denial
of its motion to discharge the jury. During the voir dire
of the jury panel, one of the male jurors, Mr. Webbe,
informed the court he was allowed only one week’s paid
absence from his employment for jury duty. Despite
his willingness to contribute the second week as a civic
obligation, he was concerned over the possibility of the
trial going into a third week. Out of the hearing of the
jury the court advised the attorneys that if they believed
Webbe’s ability to concentrate on the case could be af-
fected, the court would release him if both agreed. Ander-
son’s counsel approved. The railroad’s counsel, mindful
that few men were on the panel and, more importantly,
that Webbe used both air electric drills and reamers re-
quiring him to wear eye protection in his employment,
refused his consent to excuse Webbe.

The proceedings returned to the hearing of the jury
and Anderson’s counsel inquired of Webbe whether there

A5

was “a problem inasfar as you are concerned.” Webbe
again repeated that he would get paid only for five days.
Anderson’s counsel thereupon moved “that the juror be
dismissed, we have extra jurors down here,” notwith-
standing the preceding bench conference where the rail-
road’s counsel had refused his consent to excuse Webbe.
Immediately thereafter, the railroad’s counsel approached
the bench and, out of the hearing of the jury, moved to
discharge the jury panel stating Anderson’s attorney was
guilty of a deliberate attempt to prejudice the jury against
the railroad. The motion was denied. The railroad argues
the actions of Anderson’s counsel curried favor with the
jury, especially with Webbe, by revealing that Webbe
was retained at the railroad’s insistence, despite Anderson's
willingness to excuse him.

Neither Webbe nor the panel was ever advised in
any manner that the railroad objected to or opposed
Webbe’s being excused. Earlier during the course of the
voir dire examination, the trial court had determined not
to excuse another venireman because of job problems.
In the eyes of the jury, the trial court, not the attorneys,
made the final determination not to excuse Webbe. The
court exercised its discretion in the manner requested by
the railroad by denying Anderson’s motion to excuse
Webbe. The railroad’s determined efforts to have Webbe
retained on the panel were successful. Regardless of rail-
road’s characterization of the remark made by Anderson’s
counsel, the record fails to support that either Webbe or
the entire jury panel perceived that it was at the rail-
road’s insistence that Webbe was not excused, thereby
engendering their prejudice against the railroad. The trial
court is vested with broad discretion in the control of
counsel’s conduct during voir dire and his ruling thereon
will not be disturbed unless the facts indicate a manifest

A6

abuse of discretion, Missey v. Kwan, 595 S.W.2d 460, 462
[2] (Mo. App. 1980), because the trial court is in a better
position to gauge the effect on the jury panel of the matter
claimed to be prejudicial, see Smith v. Aldridge, 356
S.W.2d 532, 536 (Mo. App. 1962). The trial did not
exceed two weeks, so Webbe incurrec. no undue hardship
by his jury service; therefore, we find no prejudice to the
railroad and no abuse of discretion by the trial court.
The incident certainly does not warrant reversal. Everett
v. Bishop, 680 S.W.2d 779, 781 (Mo. App. 1984).

In the same point railroad also complains of the actions
of Anderson’s attorney concerning Mr. Winkelman, a juror,
who had advised the court near the end of the trial he
would lose his job if the trial went into a third week.
On the final Thursday of the second week, the court re-
quested the jury to determine whether it wished to com-
plete the case on Saturday or Monday. The jury voted
for Monday whereupon the court advised them, since
Winkelman “would lose his job if he had to come back
Monday,” their selection of Monday would require that the
alternate juror be substituted. A recount produced the
same result. The court then requested to know whether
the substitution for Winkelman could be made. Railroad’s
attorney asked to approach the bench. Out of the jury’s
hearing, railroad’s attorney stated he did not wish to make
the decision to excuse Winkelman. At his request, the
decision to excuse Winkelman was deferred until the fol-
lowing morning, on Friday, so that Winkelman’s employer
could be contacted. Proceedings resumed before the jury.
After they were eventually excused on Thursday for the
evening, the court learned Winkelman would be available
Monday if he worked Saturday. The railroad claims the
occurrence prejudiced it by placing railroad in the position
of being the “villain” by requiring Winkelman to stay

AT

on Monday and lose his job merely because railroad de-
sired to keep Winkelman, one of the only two males on
the jury panel. The record reveals no objection during
this scenario was made by railroad. We review the in-
cident for “plain error.” Rule 84.13(c).

The requisite prelude to plain error review occurs
where the circumstances are characterized as having en-
gendered hatred, passion or prejudice resulting in manifest
injustice or a miscarriage of justice. Executive Jet Man-
agement & Pilot Service, Inc. v. Scott, 629 S.W.2d 598,
607[7] (Mo. App. 1981). Nothing in the record reflects
that the jury knew the railroad was willing to retain
Winkelman on the panel at the expense of his job, because
the proceedings were conducted outside the hearing of
the jury. The jury was not informed that the railroad
might not consent to Winkelman’s being excused. The
decision pertaining to Winkelman was expressly post-
poned to the following morning where the court learned
the problem was resolved and that Winkelman could finish
his jury service without jeopardizing his job. No decision
was made to keep Winkelman as a juror and have him lose
his job. No showing exists of any prejudice to the railroad
tantamount to manifest injustice or a miscarriage of justice.
The railroad’s second point is denied.

The railroad’s third point alleges error for the failure
of the trial court to discharge the jury and declare a
mistrial following a witness’s testimony implying the rail-
road’s racial bias against him, thereby prejudicing the
railroad because seven of the twelve jurors were black.
Mr. Davenport, a black man and one of Anderson’s co-
workers, was called by Anderson as a witness and testified
generally to the working conditions at the time of Ander-
son’s injury. During direct, cross and redirect examina-
tion, no mention or reference to race was elicited. On

A8

re-cross examination, the railroad’s counsel attempted to
impeach Davenport’s testimony that he did not “have time
to see what everybody else was doing.” The following
colloquy occurred:

Q.

[By Mr. Mullen] All right. I think that’s all.
You say you didn’t have time to do anything
but work eight solid hours a day on the hopper
line reaming these holes. Mr. Davenport, did you
ever get in trouble for coming in late, leaving
early for lunch?

MR. FRIEDMAN: Pardon me, Your Honor. I don’t

think that has any bearing.

THE COURT: Sustained. The jury is instructed to

Q.

A.
Q.

disregard that.

(By Mr. Mullen): Well, may I ask, Mr. Daven-
port, did you from time to time leave the hopper
line to go over and engage in social telephone calls
in the office?

Telephone calls in the office?
Yeah, right.

MR. FRIEDMAN: Again, your Honor.
THE COURT: Overruled, cross examination. Go

> O Pp &

ahead.

(By Mr. Mullen): And get called down for it?
Called down for what, telephone calls?

Yeah, right, right.

Mr. Mullen, they tried to get on me for anything.
I was the only black person in that shop just
about. You know, anything they could catch me

A9

trying to do they would try to get rid of me. Back
in ’77 they didn’t want me to work there in the
first place, that’s why they gave me a little peon
job because they thought I would quit but I didn’t.

The railroad made no objection or motion to strike
Davenport’s answers; instead, counsel continued his line
of questioning whether disparate racial treatment had oc-
curred. Again, when the witness stated that he “didn’t
quit. I got laid off, you know,” the railroad’s counsel in-
quired whether or not it was true that everyone else
with his seniority or less had likewise been laid off.
Davenport responded:

[Y]ou don’t see my point. I’m saying one toad out of a
hundred and twenty you’re definitely going to see
me. I don’t care what I do you’re going to see me
mess up. I don’t care what it is because I stick out
like a fly in a churn of buttermilk, they were on me
all of the time.

Following additional questioning during the re-cross and
further redirect examination by Anderson’s attorney,
Davenport was finally excused. The railroad’s counsel
then complained Davenport’s remarks were gratuitous
and non-responsive, and requested a mistrial which the
trial court denied. The trial court did instruct the jury
to disregard the testimony pertaining to race.

When a witness unexpectedly volunteers an inadmis-
sible statement, the action called for rests largely within
the discretion of the trial court who must evaluate the
situation and ascertain if some remedy short of a mis-
trial will cure the error, and appellate review of the trial
court’s decision is to verify that the trial court has not
abused its discretion. 629 S.W.2d at 611[37]. A declara-
tion of a mistrial is the most drastic remedy for trial error

on |

Al0

and should be granted only in those cases where the error
is sO prejudicial that its effect can be excised in no other
way. Id. [38]. The trial court was in a superior position
to assess whether his admonition to the jury was sufficient
to lessen the sting of the witness’s comments invited by
the railroad’s line of inquiry. We find no abuse of the
trial court’s discretion in denying the railroad’s motion for
mistrial. Point denied.

The railroad’s fourth point claims error in the ad-
mission of Anderson’s testimony that he was “forced” to
return to work the day following his initial medical treat-
ment and of his counsel’s comments in his opening state-
ment to the effect that the railroad continued to furnish
Anderson with ineffective eye protection upon his return
despite his surgery. Railroad states the foregoing evi-
dence was irrelevant and prejudiced the jury against the
railroad. The gist of the railroad’s argument is that An-
derson did not present sufficient evidence to establish a
causal connection between his eye infection and his alleged
“forced” return to work. The railroad also argues that
the evidence was improper because it permitted the jury
to infer Anderson’s return to work caused or contributed
to the infection in his eye causing its eventual removal.

At trial the railroad had requested by motion in limine
to exclude any testimony, evidence, or statement that the
railroad in any manner forced Anderson to return to
work following his initial medical treatment. The trial
court denied the motion. When Anderson began to testify
at trial about the events prompting his return to work
following his initial medical treatment, the railroad ob-
jected on the ground that Anderson’s testimony was im-
proper and outside the scope of the pleadings. The trial
court sustained the objection prompting Anderson’s at-

"

All

torney to suggest the court review the pleadings. In the
railroad’s answer to Anderson’s first amended petition, the
railroad alleged as an affirmative defense that Anderson
voluntarily continued his work duties and subjected him-
self to an increased likelihood of infection and injury
without being required by the railroad to do so and without
making known to the railroad the extent of his symptoms
or condition of his eye. Subsequently, the judge overruled
the railroad’s further objection on relevancy that the
evidence failed to indicate a connection between Ander-
son’s return to work and the subsequent eye infection.

The evidence admitted is relevant and probative on the
issues whether Anderson’s return to work was a result
of the railroad’s negligence or Anderson’s actions as al-
leged. No effort was made by the railroad to limit by
instruction the purpose for which the jury considered this
evidence. We deny railroad’s fourth point.

The railroad’s fifth point contends certain medical
evidence was improperly admitted. Without addressing
whether such evidence was improperly admitted, our re-
view of the trial record reveals that the deposition of an-
other medical expert containing substantially the same
evidence complained of here had previously been read to
the jury with no objection by the railroad. One cannot
be heard to complain of the admission of testimony over
his objection, where evidence of the same tenor has been
admitted without his objection. Laughlin v. Kansas City
Southern Ry., 275 Mo. 459, 205 S.W. 3, 8[13] (1918);
Mathews v. Chrysler Realty Corp., 627 S.W.2d 314, 319[7]
(Mo. App. 1982). We need not further address the rail-
road’s complaint. Point denied.

The railroad’s sixth point alleges error in the admission
of testimony and exhibits concerning Anderson’s past and

Al2

future wage losses and the trial court’s refusal to give with-
drawal instructions because the testimony constituted
speculation and was not supported by competent evidence.
The expert testified extensively from the exhibits but the
record on appeal does not contain those exhibits whose
accuracy the railroad disputes. Railroad argues that the
expert witness’s calculations were based on speculative as-
sumptions, and challenges the expert’s conclusion that
spray painters’ wages and carmen’s wages would both in-
crease in the future. Railroad states that the expert gave
no basis for his conclusion about spray painters’ wages
and that his explanation for carmen’s future wage increases
was incomprehensible. Railroad concludes that the jury
was induced to return an excessive verdict by the specula-
tive testimony concerning damages. We do not agree.

The ultimate test for damages is whether the award
will fairly and reasonably compensate the plaintiff for
his injuries. Sampson v. Missouri Pacific R.R., 560 S.W.
2d 573, 588[25] (Mo. banc 1978). Anderson’s expert wit-
ness, an economist and economics professor, testified con-
cerning Anderson’s past and future wage loss. The expert
calculated $136,652.00 to be Anderson’s past wage loss
from the time of his injury to the time of trial, a period
of 6-1/2 years, based on an hourly rate in a 40 hour week
paid to a journeyman-carman. He reduced this figure by
twenty percent, the difference between the wages paid a
journeyman-carman and an apprentice helper such as An-
derson, and then he subtracted all actual earnings of An-
derson from May, 1977 to October 31, 1983. After mak-
ing the two subtractions, he calculated Anderson’s past
wage loss to approximately $80,843.00. No addition was
made for salary increases likely to accrue to Anderson
as he approached journeyman status during the completion
of his apprenticeship during this period. Since Anderson

Al3

had also worked as a custom spray painter for automobiles
and tractor trailers, the expert witness offset Anderson’s
alternative income potential as a custom spray painter
against any deduction which might otherwise be required
for layoffs or furlough periods on the railroad when An-
derson would not have earned wages. The expert’s per-
sonal knowledge that spray painters in Missouri earned
$20.00 an hour, plus fringe benefits was corroborated by
another witness, a former seller of trucks and trailers in
Springfield, Missouri, for whom Anderson had done custom
spray painting prior to his accident.

The extent of future harm to the earning capacity of
the injured person is measured by the difference as of
the time of trial between the value of plaintiff’s services
as they would have been in view of the injury and as
they would have been had there been no injury. Id. at
589[27]. A figure for loss of wages is not to be permitted
when formed from speculation and conjecture, but only
when established with reasonable certainty upon which
substantial evidence must be introduced. Id. [28].

The expert’s calculation of future wage loss used two
figures, $26,894 per year, based on Anderson’s rate of pay as
a carman (or a spray painter earning at least that much),
and $6,968 annually, based on the minimum wage at the
time of trial for entry level work based on testimony by
a rehabilitative counselor that Anderson’s employment
was limited to entry level positions not intellectually de-
manding. The $19,926 difference between these two annual
wages represented Anderson’s annual wage loss basis for
the future. The expert witness computed the present
value of Anderson’s future earnings as a carman at three
different retirement ages, figuring that Anderson at age 25
would likely retire at the age of 62, 67, or 70 years. To
compute the present value of Anderson’s future loss of

Al4

income, the expert reviewed carmen wages from 1962
to 1983 and arrived at an annual wage percentage increase
and then, based upon the relationship of past wage in-
creases to interest rates on tax free high grade bonds,
taking inflation into account, demonstrated that the rate
of increase of carmen’s wages on the average for the past
twenty years was greater than the increase in interest rates
by about 2%. He adusted the 2% differential downward
to 1-1/2% due to current rising interest rates. No specific
projections of exact interest rates, wage increases, or in-
flation were made. The witness testified he could not
predict the future rate of inflation and interest, but in-
dicated the relationship between interest rates, wage in-
creases, and inflation has been historically constant.

After computing the present value of future carmen
earnings for the three retirement ages of 62, 67, and 70,
the expert computed the present value of future minimum
wage earnings at the three retirement ages. He subtracted
the lesser, minimum wage figures from the future carmen
earnings to derive the present value of the future wage
loss at the three retirement ages. To each of these, he
added the approximate $80,843.00 past wage loss to derive
Anderson’s total wage loss, both past and future (presently
valued), resulting in a total wage loss of $876,562 at age
62; $997,285 at age 67; and $1,071,079 at age 70. Fringe
benefits were not included in the calculations to offset
the tax consequences.

Inevitably there is a degree of speculation to the deter-
mination of a fairly approximated present-value award
compensating plaintiff for what he would have earned
but for his injury, but we do not find such speculation,
when based upon the use of facts in reasonable calcula-
tions, to be so purely conjectural as to improperly in-

Al5

fluence the jury’s verdict as to damages. Id. The ex-
pert’s calculation of damages based on a correlation be-
tween interest rates and earnings is a projection; never-
theless, it is a prediction based upon reasonable certainty.
The railroad’s excerpts from cross-examination reflect
its intent to undermine the methodology of the economist.
However, the relative weakness or strength of the factual
underpinning of the expert’s opinion goes to the weight
and credibility, rather than admissibility. Hall v. W.L.
Brady Investments, Inc., 684 S.W.2d 379, 388[8] (Mo. App.
1984). The trial court did not err in admitting the ex-
pert’s testimony or in refusing to give railroad’s proffered
instructions withdrawing evidence of Anderson’s past and
future wage losses.

The railroad’s seventh point claims error in the denial
of its motion for new trial for the failure to grant a
remittitur, contending the $800,000.00 verdict was exces-
sive and indicative of jury prejudice against the railroad.
The trial court may find passion and prejudice by the
jury from the excessiveness of the verdict alone. White
v. St. Louis San Francisco Ry., 602 S.W.2d at 754[5].
When the trial court has made no such finding, the appel-
late court will defer to the trial court and will not make
a finding of passion or prejudice from the amount of the
verdict alone. Id. [6]. Here the railroad argues that two
errors already raised in this appeal induced prejudice in
the jury. The errors defendant highlights include the
testimony of Anderson’s economist about Anderson’s fu-
ture wage loss and the testimony of Anderson’s fellow
employee imputing racial bias to the railroad. Since we
have already ruled against the railroad on these alleged
errors which underpin this charge of error, we likewise
rule against the railroad on this point. Id. at 755.

Al6

The railroad alternatively contends that if we reject
its claim that the verdict was a result of prejudice of
the jury, we should find under the rule of uniformity
that the verdict was excessive and remit it by one-half.
Under these circumstances, we find the recent pronounce-
ment that the doctrine of remittitur is abolished in Mis-
souri controls. See Firestone v. Crown Center Redevelop-
ment Corporation, 693 S.W.2d 99, 110[14] (Mo. banc 1985).
Railroad’s request for remittitur is denied.

Railroad’s eighth contention is that the trial court
erred in submitting M.A.I. 24.01 as the verdict director
because the instruction, by submitting general negligence
and not specific negligence, gave the jury a roving com-
mission and because the instruction denies railroads en-
gaged in interstate commerce equal protection of the law.
Railroad has lost, as it candidly admits in its brief, the
“roving commission” argument before the Missouri Su-
preme Court. Bair v. St. Louis-San Francisco Ry., 647
S.W.2d 507, 510-511[5] (Mo.banc), cert. denied sub nom.,
Burlington Northern, Inc. v. Bair, ........ MD etnies , 104 S.Ct.
107, 78 L.Ed.2d 109 (1983); Ball v. Burlington Northern
Ry., 672 S.W.2d 358, 361[1] (Mo.App.1984). We have
no alternative but to deny railroad’s point.

Railroad also contends the giving of M.A.I. 24.01 de-
nied it equal protectiun of the laws in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution
because the instruction singles out and imposes greater
liability and burdens upon interstate railroad carriers
than it does any other corporate or private individual de-
fendant. The constitutional attack based on the equal
protection argument on the instruction has been raised
before and summarily rejected. See Fravel vy. Burling-
ton, 671 S.W.2d 339, 341 (Mo.App.1984), cert. denied sub

Al7

nom. Burlington Northern Ry. Co. v. Fravel, ........ ? :
105 S.Ct. 907, 83 L.Ed.2d 921 (1985). Point denied.

In its final point, railroad contends the trial court
erred in refusing to give its tendered verdict form, a com-
bination of M.A.I. 36.01 and 36.15, requiring the jury to
separately state the total amount of damages and the per-
centage of fault attributable to Anderson and the railroad.
Instead, the trial court gave M.A.I. 36.01 as its verdict
form, in addition to M.A.I. 24.01 (verdict director - F-.E.
L.A.), M.A.I. 8.02 (damages - F.E.L.A.), and M.A.I. 32.07
(affirmative defense - contributory negligence - F.E.L.A).
Railroad argues that since our Supreme Court adopted
apportionment of fault among joint tortfeasors in Missouri
Pacific Railroad Co. v. Whitehead & Kales Co., 566 S.W.2d
466, 473 (Mo.banc 1978) and comparative fault between
plaintiff and tortfeasor, Gustafson v. Benda, 661 S.W.2d
11 (Mo.banc 1983), F.E.L.A. cases should be governed by
the same process, so that the use of its tendered verdict
form should be mandatory. We disagree.

M.A.I. 36.15 was proposed following the decision in
Whitehead & Kales. While normally the jury inserts on
the verdict form the names of parties found liable, the Note
on Use #6 to M.A.L. 36.15 specifically requires the preparer
of the form to insert the names. The Committee’s Com-
ment states the purpose of Note on Use #6 is to forestall
any attempt on the part of the jury to assign any part of
the fault to the plaintiff. The instruction conforms to
the holding in Whitehead & Kales which apportioned fault
only between joint tortfeasors, and not the tortfeasor and
plaintiff. Gustafson, decided after the present case, spe-
cifically states its applicability was to operate prospectively
only. 661 S.W.2d at 15. Thus, the trial court here had
no alternative but to give M.A.I. 36.01 as its verdict form.
Its actions were proper. Rule 70.02(b).

Als

As a sub-point, railroad also contends that the failure
of the trial court to give its verdict form violates the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution and
constitutes an undue burden on interstate commerce in
violation of Article I, Section Eight of the Commerce
Clause. The constitutionality of the Federal Employers’
Liability Act has been repeatedly upheld and we find no
reason to question the constitutionality of the verdict form.

Judgment affirmed.

/s/ Paul J. Simon
Paul J. Simon, Presiding Judge

/s/ Albert J. Stephan, Jr.
Albert J. Stephan, Jr.
Chief Judge Concurs
/s/ Harold L. Lowenstein
Harold L. Lowenstein
Special Judge Concurs

Alg

(Filed October 9, 1985)
ED No. 48,301

IN THE
MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS,
EASTERN DISTRICT
Division 2

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Plaintiff-Respondent,
vs.

BURLINGTON NOTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellant.

APPELLANT’S MOTION FOR REHEARING, OR
REHEARING EN BANC, OR FOR TRANSFER TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

Appellant, Burlington Northern Railroad Company,
respectfully moves the Court to set aside its decision and
opinion in the above-styled cause and grant a rehearing
of this case either in Division or in this Court en banc, in
accordance with Supreme Court Rule 8417. In the al-
ternative, appellant moves the Court to transfer this case
to the Missouri Supreme Court in accordance with Supreme
Court Rule 83.02.

MOTION FOR REHEARING

Appellant moves for rehearing in Division, or by the
Court en banc, upon the following grounds:

4. The Court, as shown by its opinion, overlooked a
material matter of law raised by appellant with respect

A20

to respondent’s verdict-directing instruction patterned after
MAI 24.01, namely that the use of said instruction in FELA
cases but in no other class of cases imposes an undue bur-
den on Interstate Commerce contrary to Article I, §8 of
the United States Constitution. Although the Court men-
tions in the opinion at pages 13 and 14 appellant’s equal
protection argument and disposes of same simply by say-
ing this point has previously been considered by the Mis-
souri Supreme Court, the opinion contains no discussion
whatever concerning appellant’s point that the use of said
instruction improperly burdens Interstate Commerce and
neither the opinion nor any case cited by the Court deals
with the merits of appellant’s equal protection argument
under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution. Having thus overlooked one extremely ma-
terial question of law and avoided the merits of the other,
this Court, or the Court en banc, should grant appellant
a rehearing for the purpose of deciding these issues.

ALTERNATIVE MOTION FOR TRANSFER TO
SUPREME COURT

Appellant Burlington Northern Railroad Company al-
ternatively moves this Court to transfer this appeal to the
Supreme Court of Missouri pursuant to Supreme Court
Rule 83.02, upon the following grounds:

1. The issue of the propriety of MAI 24.01 as the ver-
dict-directing instruction to be given in FELA cases is
a question of general] interest and great importance to all
interstate common carriers by railroad operating in the
State of Missouri, and to their employees who may sustain
injuries, and should be re-examined because:

A. The propriety of a verdict-directing instruction
in the form of MAI 24.01 made applicable only to

|
.
.
|
.
)

A21

interstate railroads needs to be re-examined by the
Missouri Supreme Court in light of the constitutional
issue raised for the first time in this case, namely
that the use of such instruction imposes an undue bur-
den on Interstate Commerce contrary to Article I,
§8 of the United States Constitution.

B. The issue of whether MAI 24.01, used as the
verdict-directing instruction only in FELA cases, de-
nies to interstate railroads the equal protection of the
laws contrary to the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution, alhough previously raised
in other cases, has never been discussed on its merits
in any opinion of this Court or the Missouri Supreme
Court, but is an issue of general interest and im-
portance and needs to be re-examined and considered
on its merits by the Missouri Supreme Court.

Deacy & Deacy
By /s/ Edward W. Mullen
Edward W. Mullen - No. 14561
1000 Bryant Building
1102 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, MO 64106
(816) 421-4000
Attorneys for Appellant

A22

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

STATE OF MISSOURI )
) ss
CITY OF ST. LOUIS )

Two copies of the foregoing motion together with
suggestions in support thereof were served on this 9th
day of October, 1985, by delivering same to:

Mr. C. Marshall Friedman

Friedman, Weitzman & Friedman, P.C.
The Advocate Building

1133 Pine Street

St. Louis, MO 63101

Attorneys for Respondent

/s/ Robert P. Schmidt

Subscribed and sworn to betore me this 9th day of Octo-
ber, 1985.

My Commission Expires: July 5, 1989

_ /s/ Richard U. Schmidt
Notary Public

_—

piciake

A23

MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
EASTERN DISTRICT

TO: Attorneys of Record Page one of one
RE: Motions for Rehearing/ FROM: Deirdre O. Ahr
Transfer - Denied DATE: October 28, 1985
1. 48301 - Anderson, Harold E. Resp vs.
Burlington Northern RR Co. App.

A24

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

No. 67620

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Plaintiff-Respondent,
v.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellant.

APPELLANT’S APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

Comes now appellant pursuant to Supreme Court Rule
83.02 et seq. and moves this Court to enter its Order trans-
ferring the above case from the Missouri Court of Appeals,
Eastern District, where it bore Docket No. ED48,301, to
this Court because of the general interest and importance
of the questions involved in the case and for the purpose
of re-examining the existing law, and states:

1. That the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern Dis-
trict, filed an opinion in this case September 24, 1985, copy
of which is attached to and filed with this motion.

2. That appellant timely filed its motion for rehear-
ing or for rehearing en banc or for transfer to this Court
October 9, 1985, copy of which motion is attached hereto
and filed herewith.

3. That on October 28, 1985 the Missouri Court of
Appeals, Eastern District, denied said motion. Copy of
the notice of said action is attached hereto and filed here-
with.

4. This appeal is from a judgment in favor of plain-
tiff-respondent in an action brought pursuant the Federal

NOE cae re, amr Ane Leptin! cca ai Te

FE Ot WRT ee Pin te ea Oe He

A25

Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C.A. §§51 et seq. The
trial court submitted to the jury the issues of negligence
of appellant and contributory negligence of respondent
under the comparative negligence requirements of that
Act, and refused a comparative negligence form of verdict
submitted by appellant.

5. That in submitting the case to the jury the trial
court gave an instruction in the form of M.A.I. 24.01 over
appellant’s objection that said instruction gave the jury
a roving commission, submitted general negligence instead
of specific negligence as required in all cases other than
FELA cases and thereby denied to defendant-appellant
the equal protection of the law guaranteed by the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution and
over appellant’s further objection that the use of said
instruction imposed an undue burden on interstate com-
merce in violation of Article I, §8 of the United States
Constitution. |

6. The propriety of a verdict-directing instruction
in the form of M.A.I. 24.01 used only in FELA cases against
interstate railroads should be re-examined by this Court
in light of the constitutional issues raised, namely that the
use of said instruction denies to interstate railroads the
equal protection of the laws contrary to the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution and imposes
an undue burden on interstate commerce contrary to
Article I, §8 of the United States Constitution. The Four-
teenth Amendment issue, although previously raised in
other cases, has never been discussed on its merits in any
opinion of this Court or any of the districts of the Court
of Appeals and the use of said instruction should be re-
examined and considered on its merits by this Court.
This is an issue of general interest and importance to all
interstate railroads subject to suit in Missouri, and to all

A26

of their employees who may bring actions pursuant to
the FELA.

7. The use of M.A.I. 24.01 submitting general negli-
gence in FELA cases deprives interstate railroads subject
to the Act of the requirement applicable in all other neg-
ligence cases in Missouri which require the jury to find
specific negligent acts or omission of defendant causing or
contributing to plaintiff's injuries and thus makes it
easier for plaintiffs to obtain verdicts in FELA cases. This
imposes an undue burden on interstate commerce, as dem-
onstrated by the fact that verdicts totaling in excess of
three million dollars have been returned against appellant
alone in six FELA negligence cases (including this case)
which have been affirmed by the appellate courts of Mis-
souri since January 1, 1984 as demonstrated by the reports
of decisions appearing in the Southwestern Reporter sys-
tem.

* * *

WHEREFORE, appellant prays the Court to order this
case transferred to the Supreme Court of Missouri because
of the foregoing issues of general interest and importance
and for the purpose of re-examining the existing law of
Missouri with respect to the use of M.A.I. 24.01 in the face
of the constitutional challenges which appellant has made
to it, and to determine and rule the issue of the appropriate
form of verdict to be used both in FELA cases and all other
comparative negligence cases.

DEACY & DEACY

By /s/ Edward W. Mullen
Edward W. Mullen - No. 14561
Derek E. Wood - No. 24549
1000 Bryant Building
1102 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, MO 64106
(816) 421-4000

Attorneys for Appellant

ae ee ee _

A27

No. 67620
ED 48301
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

September Session 1985

Harold E. Anderson,
Plaintiff-Respondent,

vs. TRANSFER

Burlington Northern Railroad Company,
Defendant-Appellant.

Now at this day, on consideration of Defendant-Appel-
lant’s Application to transfer the above entitled cause
from the Eastern District Court of Appeals, it is ordered
that said application be, and the same is hereby denied.

STATE OF MISSOURI—SCT.

I, THOMAS F. SIMON, Clerk of the Supreme Court of
the State of Missouri, certify that the foregoing is a full,
true and complete transcript of the judgment of said
Supreme Court, entered of record at the September Ses-
sion thereof, 1985, and on the 17th day of December 1985,
in the above entitled cause.

Given under my hand and seal of said Court, at the
City of Jefferson City, this 17th day of December, 1985.

/s/ Thomas F. Simon
Clerk

A28

STATE OF MISSOURI )
) ss.
City of St. Louis. )

IN THE MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
EASTERN DISTRICT
MANDATE

No. 48301

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Respondent,

VS

BURLINGTON NORTHERN
RAILROAD COMPANY,
Appellant.

Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis
No. 782-6694, Div. 5

The Court, being now sufficiently advised of and hav-
ing considered the premises, adjudges that the judgment
rendered herein by the Circuit Court of the City of St.
Louis in its cause No. 782-6694 be affirmed and stand in
full force and effect in accordance with the opinion of this
Court herein delivered September 24, 1985. Opinion by
Paul J. Simon, Presiding Judge, concurred in by Albert J.
Stephan, Jr., Chief Judge, and Harold L. Lowenstein, Spe-
cial Judge.

STATE OF MISSOURI, ss.

I, DEIRDRE O’MEARA AHR, Clerk of the Missouri
Court of Appeals, Eastern District, certify that the above
and foregoing is a full, true and complete transcript of the

A29

judgment rendered in the above entitled cause, as fully as
the same remains of record in my office.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my
hand and affixed the seal of said Court, at office in the
City of St. Louis this 18th day of December 1985.

/s/ Deirdre O. Ahr
Clerk, Missouri Court of Ap-
peals, Eastern District.

A30

INSTRUCTION CONFERENCE HELD BEFORE

HON. DANIEL T. TILLMAN IN THE CIRCUIT

COURT OF THE CITY OF ST. LOUIS PRIOR TO
SUBMISSION TO THE JURY

MR. MULLEN: Is your Honor now going to make
the record on the instructions to be given?

THE COURT: Okay. I have tendered to the lawyers
instructions 1 through 10 and they have voiced no ob-
jections as to the sequence, as to which instructions are
being given. Is that right, Mr. Friedman:

MR. FRIEDMAN: Yes, sir.
THE COURT: Is that right, Mr. Mullen?
MR. MULLEN: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Do you have a statement concerning
the instructions?

MR. MULLEN: Yes, Your Honor. Without waiving
any specific complaints concerning any of the instructions
or as to the submissibility to the case generally, at this
time I do want to make a record that the defendant ob-
jects to instruction number six which is patterned after
MAI 24.01, because it gives the jury a roving commission
and constitutes a submission of general negligence, MAI
24.01 discriminates against railroad defendants operating in
intersiate commerce which makes them subject to the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, and imposes an improper
burden on interstate commerce in violation of the Com-
merce Clause of the U.S. Constitution Article I, Section
8, and fails to give to railroads which deal in interstate
commerce the equal protection of the law with other
employers sued for personal injury.

iit ee ee |

ee

A31

The plaintiff is singling such railroad out for dis-
parate treatment in violation of the Equal Protection
Clause of the U.S. Constitution and the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the Constitution since in no other situation is
the giving of such general negligence or roving commis-
sion type of instructions permitted by MAI in any similar
context whatever.

(Tr. on App. pp. 1438-1440)

A32

(Filed October 17, 1983)

INSTRUCTION NO. 6
Your verdict must be for plaintiff if you believe:

First, defendant either failed to provide: reasonably safe
conditions for work, or reasonably safe appliances,
and

Second, defendant in any one or more of the respects sub-
mitted in Paragraph First was negligent, and

Third, such negligence resulted in whole or in part in
injury to plaintiff.

Instruction Given

/s/ Daniel T. Tillman
Daniel T. Tillman

A33

MISSOURI APPROVED INSTRUCTIONS
FEDERAL EMPLOYERS’ LIABILITY ACT 24.01

24.01 [1981 Revision] Verdict Directing—F.E.L.A.—
Failure to Provide Safe Place to Work

Your verdict must be for plaintiff if you believe:

First, plaintiff was an employee of defendant and a
part of his employment in some way closely and
substantially affected interstate commerce,’
and

Second, defendant either failed to provide:?
reasonably safe conditions for work, or
reasonably safe appliances, or
reasonably safe methods of work, or
reasonably adequate help, and®

Third, defendant in any one or more of the respects
submitted in Paragraph Second was negligent,‘
and®

Fourth, such negligence* resulted in whole or in part
in [injury to plaintiff] [the death of (decedent’s
name) }.

*{unless you believe plaintiff is not entitled to recover by
reason of Instruction Number ........ (here insert number
of affirmative defense instruction) ].

Committee’s Comment (1978 New)

In an F.E.L.A. case, common law negligence rules
are controlling except that these rules have been abro-
gated by F.E.L.A. Because of the “in whole or in part”
language of the statute (Title 45, U.S.C.A., Section 51),
the traditional doctrine of proximate (direct) cause is not
applicable. A railroad is liable if its negligence is only

A34

the slightest cause of the employee’s injury. Rogers v.
Mo. Pac. Ry., 352 U.S. 500, 77 S.Ct. 443, 1 L.Ed.2d 493
(1957).

In the traditional negligence case, it is mandatory
for the plaintiff to include the word “direct” or “directly”
in his instruction because of the proximate (direct) cause
requirements. This prevents the jury from awarding
damages or finding for plaintiff because of some indirect
or contributing causative factors. This is not so with
F.E.L.A. The F.E.L.A. “was enacted because the Congress
was dissatisfied with the common law duty of the master
to his servant. The statute supplants that duty with the
far more drastic duty of paying damages for injury or
death at work due in whole or in part to the employer’s
negligence.” Rogers v. Mo. Pac. Ry., supra, 352 U.S. 500,
507. The test of a jury case under F.E.L.A. is simply
“whether the proofs justify within reason the conclusion
that employer’s negligence played any part, even the
slightest, in producing injury or death for which damages
are sought.” (emphasis added). Rogers v. Mo. Pac. Ry.,
supra, 352 U.S. 500, 506. The fact that there may have
been a number of causes of the injury is, therefore, irrel-
evant as long as one cause may be attributable to the
railroad’s negligence. Heater v. C & O Ry. Co., 497 F.2d
1243, 1246 (7th Cir. 1974).

As the United States Supreme Court has stated in
Rogers v. Mo. Pac. Ry., supra, in an F.E.L.A. case, the
employer railroad is stripped of its common law defenses.
The statute is an avowed departure from the rules of
common law. Our state Supreme Court has consistently
held that the federal interpretation of F.E.L.A. is binding
on the Missouri state courts. Headrick v. Kansas City
Southern Ry., 305 S.W.2d 478 (Mo.1957); Adams v. Atch-
ison, T. & S. F. Ry., 280 S.W.2d 84 (Mo.1955),

A35

STATE OF MISSOURI )
) SS
CITY OF ST. LOUIS )
IN THE
CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY OF ST. LOUIS
(STATE OF MISSOURI)

Monday, October 17th, 1983

Cause No. 782-6694
Division No. 5

Harold E. Anderson,
Plaintiff,
-VS-
Burlington Northern

Railroad Company,
Defendant.

JUDGMENT

This action came on for trial before the Court and
a jury, the parties appearing by their respective attorneys,
and the issues having been duly tried and the jury having
duly rendered its verdict.

Wherefore, it is considered and adjudged by the Court
that the plaintiff, Harold E. Anderson have and recover
of the defendant, Burlington Northern Railroad Company
the sum of EIGHT HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100
($800,000.00) DOLLARS, with interest thereon as provided
by law, together with the costs of this proceeding and that
execution issue therefor.

/s/ Daniel T. Tillman
Judge
Oct 26 1983
Date approved

A36

STATE OF MISSOURI )
) SS
CITY OF ST. LOUIS )

(Filed July 1, 1983)

IN THE
CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY OF ST. LOUIS
STATE OF MISSOURI

Cause No. 782-6694
Division No. 5

HAROLD E. ANDERSON,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
BURLINGTON NORTHERN

RAILROAD COMPANY 4
Defendant.

DEFENDANT’S ALTERNATIVE MOTIONS FOR
JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING VERDICT .
AND FOR NEW TRIAL

.

4

DEFENDANT’S ALTERNATIVE MOTION FOR NEW
TRIAL, OR FOR REMITTITUR

4

Comes now defendant and moves the Court to set
aside the verdict of the jury heretofore rendered and the .
judgment entered thereon and, in the alternative to de-
fendant’s Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Ver- :
dict, prays the Covrt to grant defendant a new trial of .
all the issues in this case, or alternatively to order a re- !

A37

mittitur of at least one-half the amount of said judgment,
upon the following grounds:

1. Because the verdict of the jury and the judgment
entered thereon were and are against the greater weight
of the credible evidence in the case.

2. Because the verdict and judgment were and are
excessive in amount and therefore against the greater
weight of the credible evidence in the case, and the
amount of the verdict was not and is not supported by
the evidence in the case.

7. Because the Court erred in giving, at the request
of plaintiff and over the objections of defendant, Instruc-
tion No. 6 in the form of M.A.I. 24.01 for the following
reasons:

(a) Because Instruction No. 6 fails to submit to
the jury any act or omission of defendant constituting
specific negligence, and erroneously submits to the
jury, and permits the return of a verdict in favor of
plaintiff and against the defendant on a charge of
general negligence and thus and thereby grants the
jury a roving commission to find that defendant was
negligent on unspecified grounds and to return a ver-
dict against defendant based upon such unspecified
negligence.

(b) Because Instruction No. 6 fails to specify or
limit the jury’s consideration to any particular time or
place or date as the cause of plaintiff’s injury and per-
mits the jury to return a verdict against defendant if
defendant “failed to provide reasonably safe conditions
for work, or reasonably safe appliances” to plaintiff at
any time, whether or not such conditions prevailed on
the date plaintiff claims he was injured.

A38

(c) Because Instruction No. 6 gives the jury a
roving commission and permits the jury to return a
verdict against defendant regardless of how or when
the jury might have believed plaintiff’s eye was in-
jured.

(d) Because Instruction No. 6 constitutes a sub-
mission of general negligence and gives the jury a rov-
ing commission to find against defendant on unspeci-
fied grounds of negligence in a personal injury case
against defendant, an interstate common carrier by
railroad, when under the law of Missouri such a sub-
mission would be improper as to any other type or
class of defendant in the context of a personal injury
suit. Thus Instruction No. 6 and M.A.I. 24.01 as
adopted by the Supreme Court of Missouri discriminate
against railroad companies operating in interstate com-
merce or whose activities substantially affect inter-
state commerce, and are thus subject to the Federal!
Employers Liability Act, and such instruction there-
fore imposes an improper and unlawful burden on
interstate commerce in violation of the commerce
clause of the United States Constitution, Article I, §8,
and fails to give to such defendants equal protection
with other personal injury defendants or other em-
ployers in singling out such defendants for disparate
and unequal treatment in violation of the equal pro-
tection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the
United States Constitution, since in no other situation
is the giving of a “general negligence” instruction per-
mitted by the Missouri Approved Instructions in any
similar context.

(e) Because said Instruction No. 6, when read in
conjunction with Instruction No. 9 submitted by plain-
tiff, was indefinite, vague, ambiguous and gave the
jury a roving commission to award plaintiff damages
for such injury as they believed he might have sus-

A39

tained “. . . as a result of the occurrence of May 6,
1977 . . .” although the evidence showed several “oc-
currences” of May 6, 1977, i.e., that plaintiff was using
an air powered reamer at various times, that at differ-
ent times plaintiff was underneath the center sills of
hopper cars being constructed, that plaintiff may have
removed his glasses or goggles and rubbed his eyes,
or wiped his forehead and let a steel particle fall into
his eye; that there was no evidence whatever to sup-
port any finding or conclusion as to when the steel
particle got into plaintiff’s eye, or how it got into
plaintiff’s eye, or whether he was actually engaged in
his work at the time or had removed his eye protective
equipment and simply let the metal particle fall into
his eye from his hand, glove, sleeve, eyebrow or fore-
head, or that his getting of the metal particle into
his eye was a result of any negligence of defendant
whatever or was contributed to in whole or in part
by any negligence of defendant.

* * *

WHEREFORE, in the alternative to Defendant’s Mo-
tion for Judgment Notwithstanding Verdict, defendant
prays the Court to set aside the verdict of the jury here-
tofore rendered and judgment entered thereon, and to
grant defendant a new trial of all issues in this case, or in
the alternative, to require plaintiff to remit at least one-
half the amount of the verdict and to grant defendant a
new trial on all the issues should plaintiff refuse to do so.

Deacy & Deacy
By /s/ Edward W. Mullen
Edward W. Mullen - No. 14561
1000 Bryant Building
1102 Grand Avenue
Kansas City, MO 64106
(816) 421-4000
Attorneys for Defendant

A40

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Copy of the foregoing was served by delivering same
this lst day of November, 1983 to:

Mr. C. Marshall Friedman

Mr. Thomas J. Prebil

Friedman, Weitzman & Friedman, P.C.
The Advocate Building

1133 Pine Street

St. Louis, MO 63101

Attorneys for Plaintiff

/s/ Edwards W. Mullen

A4l

(Filed January 27, 1984)

MISSOURI CIRCUIT COURT TWENTY-SECOND
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
(St. Louis City)

HAROLD E. ANDERSON
VS.
BURLINGTON NORTHERN RAILROAD COMPANY

No. 782-6694 Room 17 January 27, 1984

MEMORANDUM FOR CLERK

Defendant’s Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding
Verdict or for New Trial taken under advisement Jan-
uary 20, 1984, is herein denied.

SO ORDERED:

/s/ Daniel T. Tillman
Daniel T. Tillman
Judge

cc: Edward W. Mullen
1000 Bryant Building
1102 Grand Ave. Kansas City, Mo. 64106

C. Marshall Friedman,
The Advocate Building, 1133 Pine St.
St. Louis, Mo. 63101

A42

POINT RELIED ON SET FORTH IN PETITIONER’S
BRIEF ON APPEAL

VIII. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN GIVING IN-

STRUCTION NO. 6 IN THE FORM OF M.A.I. 24.01
BECAUSE SAID INSTRUCTION FAILED TO SUB- j
MIT SPECIFIC NEGLIGENCE BUT DIRECTED ;
A VERDICT ON GENERAL NEGLIGENCE, GAVE
THE JURY A ROVING COMMISSION AND BE-
CAUSE INSTRUCTION NO. 6 AND MAI. 24.01
DISCRIMINATE AGAINST RAILROAD COM-
PANIES OPERATING IN INTERSTATE COM-
MERCE AND SUBJECT TO THE FEDERAL EM-
PLOYERS’ LIABILITY ACT THUS IMPOSING
AN IMPROPER AND UNLAWFUL BURDEN ON
INTERSTATE COMMERCE IN VIOLATION OF
THE COMMERCE CLAUSE OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION, ARTICLE I, SECTION \
8, AND SAID INSTRUCTION FAILS TO GIVE
TO SUCH DEFENDANTS EQUAL PROTECTION
WITH OTHER PERSONAL INJURY DEFEN-
DANTS AND EMPLOYERS AND SINGLES THEM
OUT FOR DISPARATE, UNEQUAL TREATMENT
IN VIOLATION OF THE EQUAL PROTECTION
CLAUSE OF THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT
TO THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

i inlets
est > eg hk tae AS

A43

MISSOURI SUPREME COURT RULES
RULE 70. INSTRUCTIONS

Rule 70.01. Approval of Instructions—Effective Date
—Publication Procedure

Approval of instructions in civil actions will be made
by order of this Court. The caption of the approved in-
structions shall state the effective date. The Missouri
Bar is directed to publish such approved instructions and
notes on use or committee notes as this court authorizes,
together with the date upon which the use thereof shall
be required.

Rule 70.02. Instructions to Juries

(a) Written Instructions—Giving or Refusing.
After a jury has been sworn to try a case but before
opening statements the court must read to the jury Mis-
souri Approved Instruction No. 2.01 which will be marked
and given to the jury along with the other instructions
at the close of the case but will not be reread by the court.
Before the case is submitted the court shall call a con-
ference of counsel to consider instructions. Any party
may, before the case is submitted, request the court to
instruct the jury in writing on the law applicable to the
issues. The court may give instructions on its own motion.
All instructions shall be submitted in writing and shall
be given or refused by the court according to the law
and the evidence in the case. All instructions shall be
simple, brief, impartial, free from argument, and shall
not submit to the jury or require findings of detailed
evidentiary facts. All instructions shall be read by the
court.

(b) Missouri Approved Instructions Exclude
Others. Whenever Missouri Approved Instructions

A44

contains an instruction applicable in a particular case
which the appropriate par‘y requests or the court decides
to submit, such instruction shall be given to the exclusion
of any other on the same subject.

(c) Violation of Rule—Effect. The giving of an
instruction in violation of the provisions of this Rule shall
constitute error, its prejudicial effect to be judicially deter-
mined. However, the use of an approved instruction or
following notes on use before the effective date shall
not be presumed to be error.

Rule 70.03. Objections to Instructions

Counsel need not object to any instructions to be
given at the request of any other party or by the court
on its own motion or to the refusal of any instructions
requested by such party. Specific objections to instruc-
tions shall be required in motions for new trial unless
made at trial. The making of objections during trial
shall not preclude making additional objections to the
same or other instructions in the motion for new trial.
No general objection to instructions is required.

ee

mee ei ili Ma Ate

A45
MISSOURI SUPREME COURT RULES

RULE 83. TRANSFERS FROM DISTRICT OF
COURT OF APPEALS TO THIS COURT AND
RELATED MATTERS—PROCEDURE IN THE
SUPREME COURT

Rule 83.03. Transfer by Supreme Court After Opinion
by Court of Appeals

In any case in which a motion for rehearing has been
overruled and an application for transfer under rule
83.02 has been denied, the case may be transferred by or-
der of this court on application of a party for any of the
reasons specified in rule 83.02, or for the reason that the
opinion filed is contrary to a previous decision of an ap-
pellate court of this state. Application for such transfer
shall be filed in this court within 15 days of the date on
which transfer was denied by the court of appeals. Mo-
tions for reconsideration of the court’s action in refusing
an application for transfer shall not be accepted or filed.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1644%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
