# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rubio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1631%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1182

## Text

85-1560 ©

)

—--

in the
Supreme Court

ot the
United States

October Term, 1985

ee. |

HERLINDO RUBIO,

Petitioner,
Vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES C. BLECKE
Counsel of Record

SUSAN S. LERNER
Attorneys for Petitioner
Biscayne Building, Suite 705
19 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130

(305) 358-5999

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Petitioner was ~-astbound on Inter-
state 10 between Ei Paso and San Antonio,
Texas, when he was stopped by the Border
Patrol at a fixed checkpoint. After
producing valid resident alien identifica-
tion, he was ordered to aé_e secondary
detention area where a full search of his
trunk and enclosed luggage was conducted.
No contraband was found. $127,700 was
confiscated and subjected to civil
forfeiture.

The district court found that the
search was conducted "without probable
cause," without any suggestion of the
"possibility of the existence of contra-
band," and without a "hint at the possi-
bility of illegal activity." These dis-
trict court findings went undisturbed at

the circuit court level.

The question presented for review is
whether the search offends Fourth Amend-
ment protection from unreasonable search
and seizure. The district court held
that it did. The circuit court reversed,
holding such non-probable cause searches
are within the powers of the Border
Patrol as a “functional equivalent" of a
border search.

Subsumed within the broad question
presented for review are the questions of
the permissible scope of a Border Patrol
search at a fixed checkpoint, the defini-
tion and scope of "functional equiva-
lency" of a border search, and the
breadth of search authority under 8

U.S.C. §1357 and 19 U.S.C. §482.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIO-

RARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIFTH CIRCUIT OS ee ee
OPINION BELOW 1 ae a ee ae
err. |. « » es * + « « &
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATU-

TORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .... 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ig ae ee a

REASONS FOR GRANTING
kg ee ee ee er a ee

I. THE DECISION BELOW
CONFLICTS WITH THE
DECISIONS OF THIS
COURT ON THE PERMIS-—-
SIBLE SCOPE OF WARRANT-
LESS SEARCHES AT PER-
MANENT BORDER PATROL
CHECKPOINTS AND WAR-
RANTLESS SEARCHES UNDER
S 0.8.C. $1357 (ats) .« . it

- 431i =

nas THE DECISION BELOW
CONFLICTS WITH THE
DECISIONS OF OTHER
COURTS OF APPEALS ON
THE PERMISSIBLE SCOPE
OF WARRANTLESS SEARCHES
AT PERMANENT BORDER PA-
TROL CHECKPOINTS AND WAR-
RANTLESS SEARCHES UNDER
6 U.S.C. §1357(a)(3). .

III. THE DECISION BELOW CON-
CONFLICTS WITH THE
DECISIONS OF OTHER
COURTS OF APPEALS ON
fHE DEFINITION OF A
"FUNCTIONAL EQUVALENT"
OF A BORDER CROSSING. .

COMRAAIBIOMN 2 9s 6 6 ss & * & &

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE... .

i. a

17

22
36
37

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
=

Almeida-Sanchez v. United
States,
413 U.S. 266, 93 S.Ct. 2535,
37 L.Ed.2d 596 (1973) .. .

Carroll v. United States,
267 U.8B. 132;5. 45 6.Ce.« 260,
69 L.Ed. 543 (1925) « «

Contreras v. United States,
231 F.20 63. (9th Cir.
1961). se 6 & ae <1 S e,

Fernandez v. United States,
321 P.24 263 (3th Cir.
>. 2} rn es i ake

Fumagalli v. United States,
429 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir.
1970) . . 7 . = . - - . .

Jasinski v. Adams, °
781 2.26 S43 CICA Cle:
1986) oe ae ee a ee

Roa-Rodriquez v. United
States,
410 F.2d 1206 (10th Cir.
1963) «és ee ex ee OO

Torres v. Commonwealth of
Puerto Rico,
442 U.S. 465, 99 S.Ct. 2425,
61 £688.28 17 (1973) «3 a ‘.

> 18,

o Ue

24

19

ee

passim

30

United States v. Alvarez-
Gonzalez,
561 F.2d 620 (5th Cir.
1977) ‘oe ee

United States v. Bilir,
592 F.2d 735 (4th Cir.
1979) « « € 42a eeeeee

United States v. Corral-
Villa Vicencio,
753 F.2d 785 (9th Cir.
1985) s ‘mone

United States v. Gallagher,
557 F.2d 1041 (4th Cir.),
cert. den., 434 U.S. 870,
98 S.Ct. 213, 54 L.Ed.2a
148 (1977) os

United States v. Garcia,
672 F.2d 1349 (11th Cir.
1982) : « e EO

United States v. Hart,
506 F.2d 887 (5th Cir.),;
vacated, 422 U.S. 1053,
95 S.Ct. 2674, 45 L.Ed.2d
706 (1975) ae

United States v. Luddington,
589 F.2d 236 (5th Cir.),
cert. den., 441 U.S. 936,
99 §.Ct. 2061, 60 L.Ed.2d
666 and cert. den., 442
U.S. 910, 99 S.Ct. 2824,
61 L.Ed.2d 276 (1979)

- yi <

29

30

18

30

19,
24

26,
28

33,

23

27

34

United States v. Martinez-
Fuerte,
428 U.S. 543,. 96 S.Ct. 3074,
SS £96.38 Fi46 LISTS? «we wR ORB
25

United States v. McDaniel,
463 F.2d 129 (5th Cir.
1972), cert. den. 413 U.S.
919, 93 S.Ct. 3046, 3/7
whan 1664 €1STa «4 « o 6 3 ete oe

United States v. Ortiz,
422 U.S. 891, 93% &.Ct.
2585, 45 L.Ed.2d 623
[tO7S) ss aw es ae se we Ue Oe

United States v. Oyarzun,
760 F.2d 570 (5th Cir. ;
1965) . « «© © w © © © lhl lt PROBIN

United States v. Perez,
644 F.2d 1299 (Stk “ir.
eae sears ee eee Oe eee

United States v. Ramsey,

431 9.8. 606, 97 S.Ct.

1972, 52 L.Ed.2d 417

CISTTi- a eee 8) 6 A ee Se Oe
United States v. Rengifo-Castro,

620 F.2d 230 (10th Cir.
1SG0) - eo ese See ee ee eee

Others

U.S. Const. amend. IV.
Searches and seizures ....-. 3

S U.8.6. Biss? 2 st se te te «SORE

- vii -

19 U.B.C. $462 « « « » 6 » « « + PRSSiM
19 0.8:C.A, $492 2 4-6 sa wk we SO

21 U.S.C. §881(a)(c) . .- .- - - - 5

28 0.8.C. S$TOS0(1) 2.6 1 1 wen €

26 U.S.C, G2Z1I0Me) . 1s ws we SB

- viii -

CASE NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

EERLINDO RUBIO,
Petitioner,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Herlindo Rubio, res-
pectfully requests that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit entered December 23,

1985.

OPINION BELOW

The decision of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
not reported, is reproduced in the appen-
dix ("A") at pages 16-23. The memorandum
opinion and judgment of the United States
District Court for the Western District
of Texas, Pecos Division, not reported,
is reproduced in the appendix at pages

1-15.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit was entered December 23, 1985,
and this petition for writ of certiorari
is filed within ninety days of that date.
This Court's jurisdiction is invoked un-
der 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) and 28 U.S.C.

§2101(c).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Const. amend. IV. Searches and

seizures

The right of the people to be
secure in their persons,-houses,
papers, and effects, against un-
reasonable searches and sei-
zures, shall not be violated,
and no Warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, supported
by Oath or affirmation, and par-
ticularly describing the place
to be searched, and the persons
or things to be seized.

8 U.S.C. §1357. Powers of immigra-
tion officers and employees - Powers

without warrant:

(a) Any officer or employee of
the Service authorized under
regulations prescribed by the
Attorney General shall have pow-
er without warrant -
[o? see
(2) coo
(3) Within a reasonable dis-
tance from any external
boundary of the United
States, to board and search
for aliens any vessel with-
in the territorial waters
of the United States and
any railway car, aircraft,
conveyance, or vehicle, ...
(4) ces

Oe |:

19 U.S.C. §482. Search of vehicles
and persons

Any of the officers or persons
authorized to board or search
vessels may stop, search, and
examine, as well without as with-
in their respective districts,
any vehicle, beast, or person,
on which or whom he or they
shall suspect there is merchan-
dise which is subject to duty,
or shall have been introduced
into the United States in any
manner contrary to law, whether
by the person in possession or
charge, or by, in, or upon such
vechicle or beast, or otherwise,
and to search any trunk or en-
velope, wherever found, in which
he may have a reasonable cause
to suspect there is merchandise
which was imported contrary to
law; ...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Herlindo Rubio, a resident alien, was
stopped by United States Border Patrol
agents at the Sierra Blanca Border Patrol
checkpoint, located on Interstate 10,
eighty miles east of El Paso, Texas (A.
18). Rubio was instructed to pull off

the road into a secondary inspection area

where a Border Patrol agent ordered Rubio
to open the trunk of his car (A. 18).
The Border Patrol agent, without probable
cause, searched a suitcase, a tool box,
and a small portable electric refrigera-
tor, all located inside the trunk (A.
18-19). The search uncovered a scale
containing traces of cocaine and $127,700
in United States currency (A. 19).

After seizing the currency, the
Government filed a complaint for civil
forfeiture of the currency discovered in
Rubio's car, pursuant to 21 U.S.C.
§881(a)(6). Rubio asserted that the
search was conducted in violation of the
Fourth Amendment, thus requiring the
Government to return the seized currency
(A. 19).

The district court catered detailed
findings of fact. When questioned about
his citizenship at the primary inspection
point, Rubio stated that he was a Cuban

- 5 -

es

and immediately produced a legal resident
alien card and valid driver's license
establishing his legal status within the
United States (A. 2). Rubio was then
instructed to park his vehicle at the
secondary inspection station where he
again produced his legal resident alien
card and valid driver's license (A. 3).

The Border Patrol agent then ordered
Rubio to open the trunk of his vehicle.
Once inside the trunk, he found a small
Suitcase which he opened and searched.
Inside the suitcase, he found a locked
commercial bank bag which he searched and
found approximately $25,000 in United
States currency (A. 3). Additionally,
the agent found a-‘combination locked
metal tool box, which he ordered Rubio to
open. Upon being informed by Rubio that
he did not know the combination, the
agent broize the lock, searched the box
and found additional United States cur-

- § -

rency (A. 3-4). Continuing his search,

the agent found and opened a small por-
teble refrigerator, finding another com-
mercial bank bag containing more currency
(A. 4). Also produced in the search of
the trunk was a small vinyl case which
was opened and found to contain a scale
with white residue (A. 4). The district
court found:
6. There was no_ contraband
found within the passenger com-
partment of the vehicle, nor was
there found anything therein
which might suggest the possibi-
lity of the existence of contra-
band. Likewise, a visual inspec-
tion of the interior of the
vehicle's trunk suggested noth-
ing which might hint at the
possibility of illegal activity.
(A. 4-5)

The district court found that the
entire search of the interior and trunk
of the vehicle was based "solely" upon
perceived nervousness of Rubio (A. 4).
The Border Patrol agent testified that

the "mission" of the United States Border

- 7 -

Patrol at the Sierra Blanca checkpoint
was to "apprehend illegals" (A. 5). The
district court found that it was immedi-
ately apparent to the Border Patrol that
no illegal aliens were contained within
Rubio's vehicle (A. 5). A Border Patrol
agent testified that perhaps a "small
alien" could have been hiding in some of
the containers. The district court dis-
regarded this testimony as absurd (A.
10).

The district court held that the
initial stop of Rubic's vehicle at the
Sierra Blanca permanent checkpoint was a
valid stop (A. 9). The district court
held further that the visual inspection
of the trunk was valid (A. 9). The
district court also held, however, that
in the absence of probable cause the
search of Rubio's vehicle was limited in

scope to areas in which an illegal alien

could reasonably be believed to be con-

cealed (A. 9).

Because the Border Patrol agent ex-
ceeded the scope of a search necessary to
effectuate his purpose, the district
court found a violation of Rubio's Fourth
Amendment rights and that the exclu-
Sionary rule of the Fourth Amendment
applied in this civil forfeiture pro-
ceeding. Probable cause for the forfei-
ture could not rest upon the tainted
evidence (A. 8).

Based upon these findings and conclu-
sions, the District Court entered judg-
ment in favor of Rubio and ordered the
Government to return the $127,700 in
seized currency to Rubio (A. 14). The
Government appealed to the Fifth Circuit
and the Fifth Circuit reversed, holding
that nonprobable cause searches for con-
traband are permissible at the Sierra
Blanca Border Patrol permanent checkpoint

- 9 -

acini

located on Interstate 10 east of El Paso
as the functional equivalent of a border
search (A. 20-23). Rubio petitions this
Court for certiorari review of this un-
warranted erosion of the Fourth Amendment
freedom from unreasonable search and sei-

zure otherwise afforded domestic travel.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
ON THE PERMISSIBLE SCOPE OF WAR-
RANTLESS SEARCHES AT PERMANENT
BORDER PATKOL CHECKPOINTS AND
WARRANTLESS SEARCHES UNDER 8
U.8.C. §1357(ay (3) -

In Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S.

132, 45 S.Ct. 280, 69 InnBG. 35423..( 1925),
this Court held that vehicular traffic
crossing international borders is subject
to search for national self protection.
One entering the country must identify
himself as entitled to come in and must
identify his belongings as effects which
may be lawfully brought in.

But those lawfully within the
country, entitled to use the
public highways, have a right to
free passage without interrup-
tion or search unless there is
known to a competent official,
authorized to search, probable
cause for believing that their
vehicles are carrying contraband
or illegal merchandise. (267
U.8. at 154, 45 §&.Ce. Qt seo)

- 11 -

In Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,

413 U.S. 266, 93 S.Ct. 2535, 37 L.Ed.2d
596 (1973), this Court held that a war-
rantless search without probable cause by
Border Patrol agents on a roving patrol
violated the Fourth Amendment prohibition
against unreasonable search and seizure.
The search occurred on a California road
that paralleled the Mexican border.
Although the highway was a common route
for illegal aliens to travel, perfectly
innocent drivers were being stopped on
the road without any probable cause and
subjected to a search of their automo-
biles. 413 U.S. at 273, 93 S.Ct. at 2539
Nede
One who merely travels in re-
gions near the borders of the
country can hardly be thought to
have submitted to inspections in
exchange for a special perqui-
site. (413 U.S. at 281, 93

S.Ct. at 2543, Justice Powell
concurring).

Justice White joined by the Chief

Justice, Justice Blackmun, and Justice
Rehnquist dissented, in the belief that 8
U.S.C. §1357(a)(3) authorized Border Pa-
trol officers without warrant, to search

any vehicle for aliens within a reason-

able distance from any external boundary
of the United States and therefore vali-
dated the search of Aimeida-Sanchez's
vehicle. 413 U.S. at 29t-. 33 &.Ct. at
2548. The dissent notes, however:

No searches of the person or for
contraband are authorized by the
section. The authority extended
by the statute is limited to
that reasonably necessary for
the officer to assure himself
that the vehicle or other convey-
ance is not carrying an alien
who is illegally within this
country and more extensive sear-
ches of automobiles without prob-
able cause are not permitted by
the section. (413 U.S. at 294,
93 §.Ct. at 2550).

In United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S.

891, 95 §.Ct. 2585, 45 L.Ed.2d 623
(1975), this Court distinguished the per-

- 13 -

a

missible non-probable cause stop of a
vehicle at a fixed Border Patrol check-
point from the impermissible non-probable
cause search of a vehicle at a fixed
Border Patrol checkpoint. This Court
recognized that unfettered discretion to
select cars for search at a fixed Border
Patrol checkpoint “is not consistent with
the Fourth Amendment." 422 U.S. at 896,
95 §.Ct. at 2568. A search of an
automobile remains a substantial invasion
of privacy.
To protect that privacy from of-
ficial arbitrariness, the Court
always has regarded probable
cause as the minimum requirement
for a lawful search. (Id.).
Justice Rehnquist in his concurrence
stressed that the opinion was confined to
"full searches" and did not extend to
fixed checkpoint stops for the purpose of

inguiring about citizenship. 422 U.S. at

898, 95 S.Ct. at 2589.

- 14 -

In United States v. Martinez-Fuerte,

428 U.S. 543, 96 S.Ct. 3074, 49 L.Ed.2d
1116 (1976), this Court again recognized
the three kinds of Border Patrol inland
operations; permanent checkpoints, tem-
porary checkpoints, and roving patrols.
428 U.8: at 352, 36 8.-Ct. et 3060.
Weighing the public interests against
Fourth Amendment interests this Court
determined that routine permanent check-
point stops represent a limited intrusion
on a motorist's right to free passage
without interruption and, as such, are
reasonable by Fourth Amendment standards.
Critical to this determination was the

limited scope of such routine stops.

Neither the vehicle nor its occu-
pants are searched, and visual
inspection of the vehicle is
limited to what can be seen
without a search. (428 U.S. at
558, 96 S.Ct. at 3083).

ean i

This Court also held constitutional
the selected referral of motorists to the
secondary inspection areas at the perma-
nent Border Patrol checkpoints. 428 U.S.
at 563, 96 S.Ct. at 3085.

After reaching these conclusions,
this Court closed its opinion with the
following admonition:

[C]heckpoint searches are consti-
tutional only if justified by
consent or probable cause to
search. United States v. Ortiz,
422 U.S. 891, 95 S.Ct. 2585, 45
L.Ed.2d 623 (1975). And our
holding today is limited to the
type of stops described in this
opinion. ‘[A]Jny further deten-
tion ... must be based on con-
sent or probable cause.’ (428
U.S. at 567, 96 S.Ct. at 3087).

In holding that the Border Patrol is
entitled to make non-probable cause sear-
ches for contraband at the Sierra Blanca
permanent checkpoint on Interstate 10,
the Fifth Circuit has eviscerated the

probable cause requirement consistently

applied by this Court to all fixed check-

- 46 -

point Border Patrol searches. This court

should grant the petition and maintain
this consistency in the interpretation of

Fourth Amendment safeguards.

Il.
THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER
COURTS OF APPEALS ON THE PERMIS-
SIBLE SCOPE OF WARRANTLESS SEAR-
CHES AT PERMANENT BORDER PATROL
CHECKPOINTS AND WARRANTLESS SEAR-
CHES UNDER 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(3).

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit has held that under 8 U.S.C.
§1357(a)(3) automobiles may be stopped at
fixed checkpoints without warrant or prob-
able cause and a limited search for
aliens may be carried out in those por-
tions of the vehicle capable of con-
cealing any illegal aliens. But further
search for contraband, without probable

cause, violates the Fourth Amendment free-

dom from unreasonable search. Fumagalli

v. United States, 429 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir.

- 17 -

Se eee ne ee

1970). See, also, Fernandez v. United

States, 321 F.2d 283 (9th Cir. 1963);

Contreras v. United States, 291 F.2d 63

(9th Cir. 1961).

In Fumagalli, the Ninth Circuit re-

viewed and approved a non-probable cause
stop of a vehicle at a fixed Border
Patrol checkpoint and the probable cause
search predicated upon the smell of mari-
huana and the appearance of a brick of
marihuana upon the opening of the trunk.
Authorization for the search of the trunk
was predicated upon 8 U.S.C. §1357, a
warrantless search for illegal aliens.

[P]robable cause is not required

for an immigration search within

approved limits but is generally

required to sustain the legality

of a search for contraband in a

person's automobile conducted

away from the international bor-
ders. (429 F.2d at 1011).

See, also, United States v. Corral-

Villa Vicencio, 753 F.2d 785 (9th Cir.

1985) and United States v. Perez, 644

- 18 -

F.2d 1299 (9th Cir. 1981), for Ninth
Circuit analyses of "extended border sear-

ches." Compare, United States v. Garcia,

672 F.2d 1349 (11th Cir. 1982).
The Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit is of similar persuasion. In

Roa-Rodriquez v. United States, 410 F.2d

1206 (10th Cir. 1969), the court inter-
preted 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(3) as authoriz-
ing an initial stop and search for aliens
without probable cause. The authority of
the Border Patrol officers was, however,
restricted to a search for aliens.

The immigration inspectors were

justified in stopping the car

but not in conducting a general

search for law violations. (410
F.2d at 1209).

In United States v. Rengifo-Castro,

620 F.2d 230 (10th Cir. 1980), the Tenth
Circuit found a Fourth Amendment viola-
tion in the non-probable cause search of

luggage by Border Patrol agents at a

» 49 -

| rr rs

fixed checkpoint located on Interstate 10
west of Las Cruces, New Mexico. The
Tenth Circuit concluded that the §1357
Border Patrol exception to the warrant
requirement applied only to searches of
vehicles of aliens and not to the search
of closed luggage. 620 F.2d at 232.

In order to withstand constitu-

tional scrutiny there must have

existed probable cause to search

plus sufficient exigent circum-

stances to make the obtaining of

a warrant impracticable. (Id.).

The Tenth Circuit concluded that the
reasonable expectaticn of privacy associ-
ated with closed luggage applied and that
the reasons for not requiring a warrant
for the search of an automobile did not
apply te searches of luggage.

Additionally, the reasons for
not requiring a warrant for sear-
ches at border Stops do not
apply to searches of luggage

taken at fixed checkpoints.
(620 F.2d 233).

In deciding whether to accept this

case for review, this Court should con-
sider the disparate constitutional treat-
ment rendered travelers eastbound from
Los Angeles, California to Jacksonville,
Florida via Interstate 10, passing
through the Ninth and Tenth Circuits into
the Fifth Circuit.

As they proceed through the fixed
Border Patrol checkpoint on Interstate 10
west of Las Cruces, New Mexico, they will
be afforded Fourth Amendment protection
from arbitrary, capricious, and non-prob-
able cause searches of their closed lug-
gage and personal belongings. When they
reach the fixed Border Patrol checkpoint
located on Interstate 10 east of El Paso,
however, no such constitutional protec-
tion will be found. Under Fifth Circuit
doctrine, the Border Patrol will have the
unfettered discretion to search closed
luggage and forcibly pry open locked

» 24 =

containers - all without probable cause
Or reasonable suspicion that any illegal
activity has occurred.

As will be discussed in the section
that follows, the constitutional protec-
tion of the Fourth Amendment is restored
when the transcontinental voyager conti-
nues along Interstate 10 and enters the
Eleventh Circuit. The Eleventh Circuit
rejects the Fifth Circuit's mischarac-
terization of a fixed checkpoint as the
"functional equivalent of a border" and
protects the domestic traveler from un-
reasonable search when passing through

fixed Border Patrol checkpoints.

Iii.

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER
COURTS OF APPEALS ON THE DEFINI-
TION OF A "FUNCTIONAL EQUI-
VALENT" OF A BORDER CROSSING.

= a

In United States v. Oyarzun, 760 F.2d

570 (5th Cir. 1985), the Fifth Circuit
acknowledged its differences with the
Eleventh Circuit's opinion in United

States v. Garcia, 672 F.2d 1349 (11th

Cis. 7982). There, the Eleventh Circuit
severed its stare decisis ties with the
old Fifth Circuit and declined to follow
the Fifth Circuit's use of "functional
equivalent" for permanent Border Patrol
checkpoint searches. As the Eleventh
Circuit recognized:

The searches do not fit within

the traditional definition of a

border search, which refers to

searches of persons, conveyan-

ces, or objects that have come

into the United States from out-

side. (672 F.2d at 1365).

The Eleventh Circuit refers to check-
point searches as "checkpoint searches"
and not as searches at the "functional

equivalent of the border." Id. In the

Eleventh Circuit the functional equiva-

- 23-

lent of a border search is a search that
takes place after a border crossing at
the first practicable detention point.
"Such searches are truly border searches
because their sole justification is the
fact that the border has been crossed."
Id.

In Jasinski v. Adams, 781 F.2d 843

(11th Cir. 1986), the Eleventh Circuit
applied its Garcia analys-s to a fixed
Border Patrol checkpoint comparable to
the Sierra Blanca checkpoint under con-

Sideration in this case. In Jasinski,

the Border Patrol established a fixed
checkpoint at Florida City to police the
influx of aliens over the actual border,
the Florida keys’ two hundred miles of
shoreline. The checkpoint was estab-
lished in recognition of the hopeless
task of patrolling the entire border.
Despite its distance from the shoreline,
Florida City provided a strategic advan-

- 24 -

tage. At that point, the Border Patrol
could monitor all traffic flowing north
from the keys on U.S. 1, just before that
road divides into several routes into the
interior. Measured against the legal

standards of Martinez-Fuerte and Ortiz,

the Eleventh Circuit concluded no suspi-
cion was necessary for a stop at the
Border Patrcl checkpoint, but probable
cause was required for a search. 781
F.2d at 847.

The phrase "functional equivalent"

finds its genesis in Almeida-Sanchez v.

United States, 413 U.S. 266, 93 S.Ct.

2535, 37 L.Ed.2d 596 (1973). There, this
Court opined:

Whatever the permissible scope
of intrusiveness of a routine
border search might be, searches
of this kind may in certain
circumstances take place not
only at the border itself, but
at its functional equivalents as
well. For example, searches at
an established station near the
border, at a point marking the
confluence of two or more roads

- 25 -

that extend from the _ border,
might be functional equivalents
of border searches. For another
example, a search of the passen-
gers and cargo of an airplane
arriving at a St. Louis airport
after a nonstop flight from
Mexico City would clearly be the
functional equivalent of a bor-
der search. (413 U.S. at 272-3,
93 S.Ct. at 2539}.

These comments were immediately fol-
lowed by the statement that the vehicular
search occurring on a road that paral-
leled the Mexican border "was of a wholly
different sort" and in tne absence of
probable cause violated the Fourth Amend-
ment. 413 U.S. at 273, 93 S.Ct. at

2539-40.

In United States v. Hart, 506 F.2d

887 (5th Cir.), vacated, 422 U.S. 1053,

95 S.Ct. 2674, 45 L.Ed.2d 706 (1975), the
Fifth Circuit was called upon to inter-
pret the scope of 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(3)
and non-probable cause searches for

aliens at the permanent Border Patrol

- 26 -

checkpoint located at Sierra Blanca. The
Fifth Circuit recognized the "new aphor-
ism" which had arisen from this Court's

opinion in Almeida-Sanchez referable to

searches at the "functional equivalent of
the border." In Hart, the Fifth Circuit
held that functional equivalency was noth-
ing more than the principle of constitu-
tional law embodied in the decisions
upholding the validity of searches con-
ducted pursuant to 8 U.S.C. §1357(a)(3)
at permanent checkpoints. 506 F.2d at
895.

Of particular significance was the
Fifth Circuit's reluctance to consider
what kind of "functional equivalent of
the border" would permit a true border
search, rather than the restricted §1357
search for aliens. The Fifth Circuit
opined that the inland airport example

used in Almeida-Sanchez would seem to

~ SP &

permit a complete search, not just a
search for aliens. 506 F.2d at 895.
The inland crossroads example,
however, might be restricted to
a §1357 search with all of the
judicial gloss that has_ been
superimposed upon the statute.

(Id.).

In Hart, the Fifth Circuit did not
purport to decide any more than the case
at hand, a §1357 search for aliens at the
Sierra Blanca permanent checkpoint. 506
F.2d at 895. Unfortunately, having once
labeled the Sierra Blanca permanent check-
point as a "functional equivalent" for
this limited purpose, a series of Fifth
Circuit decisions have perverted this
limited holding into the broad conclusion
that the Sierra Blanca checkpoint, lo-
cated on Interstate 10 some eighty miles
east of El Paso, is the "functional
equivalent" of a true border crossing

where non-probable cause searches are

virtually unrestrained. This perversion

- 28 -

is chronicled in United States v.

Oyarzun, supra, and is appropriatelv

criticized in the dissent. See, also,

United States v. Alvarez-Gonzalez, 561

F.2d 620, 626-30 (5th Cir. 1977) (Gold-
berg, J., dissenting).

It is not the locale but the purpose
of the search that triggers functional
equivalency. The St. Louis airport is
not the functional equivalent of the
border. If it were, al] passengers would
be subject to search. It is only the
search of the international flight that
is the functional equivalent of a border
search. Here, there was no border cros-
sing, no suspicion of a border crossing,
and no justification for a border search.

Even if the search of Rubio's vehicle
in this case is tested by the more
liberal "reasonable" rather than "prob-
able" cause to search afforded customs
officials at a true border crossing, the

- 29 -

eS ae

search of Rubio's luggage cannot pass
muster. A custom's official must still
have “reasonable cause to suspect” an
importation contrary to law. 19 U.S.C.

§482; United States v. Ramsey, 431 U.S.

606, 97 S.Ct. 1972, 52 L.Ed.2d 617

(1977); United States v. Bilir, 592 F.2d

735 (4th Cir. 1979); United States v.

Gallagher, 557 F.2d 1041 (4th Cir.),

cert. den., 434 U.S. 870, 98 S.Ct. 213,

54 L.Ed.2d 148 (1977). Compare Fernandez

v. United States, 429 F.2d 1011 (9th Cir.

1963) with Contreras v. United States,

291 F.2d 63 (9th Cir. 1961).

Here, the Fifth Circuit jettisons the
statutory “reasonable cause” requirement
by again taking language out of context
from one of its earlier decisions. Here,
the Fifth Circuit affords Rubio no Fourth
Amendment protection because "Border Pa-
trol agents wear two hats, one as an
immigration officer and the other as a

- 30 -

— =

customs officer," relying upon United

States v. McDaniel, 463 F.2d 129 (5th

Cir. 1972), cert. den., 413 U.S. 919, 93

S.Ct. 3046, 37 L.Ed.2d 1041 (1973).

Here, the Fifth Circuit's McDaniel

analysis overlooks its own limitations.

In McDaniel, the Fifth Circuit held:

[I]f the car can reasonably be
stopped pursuant to an autho-
rized border search, the agents
are empowered to search the car,
including its trunk, for aliens.
[citations omitted]. But even
beyond that, the objective beha-
vior of the car's occupants, as
described by the agent, would
support the proposition that the
agents had ‘reasonable _ suspi-
cion' to search the trunk within
the confines of the immigration
statutes. (463 F.2d at 133).

The court concluded that the Border Pa-
trol agents did not have authority to
search the contents under immigration
laws, but they were empowered "under the
circumstances" to search under authority
of the customs laws. 463 F.2d at 134.

Although planning to wear their immigra-

» 34 «

tion hats that night, they were not
precluded from later donning their cus-
toms hats if justified under the circum-
stances. Operating on an “expanded bor-
der search” theory:
[T]he agents must have adequate
grounds for a ‘reasonable suspi-
cion' that the bags contained a
substance being transported in

violation of the customs laws,
19 0.8 Gee §482. (Id).

The Fifth Circuit concluded in McDaniel

that the circumstances presented "a very
reasonable suspicion that contraband was
in the bags.” Id.

Here it has never been suggested that
the Border Patrol agents had any cause to
suspect a customs violation. Here, the
stop and search was in fulfillment of the
Border Patrol's mission to “apprehend
illegals." The search of Rubio's suit-
case and tool box was, according to the
Border Patrol agent, a search for a
"small alien.” Although demonstrably

- 32 -

absurd, it was nevertheless the patrol's
only justification for the search. They
never donned their customs hats and never
had reasonable cause for a 19 U.S.C. §482
search. Here, the district court found
nothing to suggest the possibility of
contraband and found “nothing which might
hint at the possibility of illegal acti-
vity” (A. 5).

At no point does Interstate 10 ever
cross an international border. There is
no justification for any border patrol or
customs interdiction on Interstate 10
with unfettered international border cros-

Sing search authority. Cf. Torres v.

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, 442 U.S.

465, 99 S.Ct. 2425, 61 L.Ed.2d 1 (1979)
(rejecting a theory of “intermediate bor-
ders" analogous to international bor-
ders).

As recognized by the Fifth Circuit in

United States v. Luddington, 589 F.2d 236

» 33 «

ae en ON SL ee A LA SNE TT RET

(Sth Cir.), cert. den., 441 U.S. 936, 99

S.Ct. 2061, 60 L.Ed.2d 666, and cert.
den., 442 U.S. 910, 99 S.Ct. 2824, 61
L.Ed.2d 276 (1979), there is no dispute
about the significant effect on domestic
traffic created by the Sierra Blanca
Border Patrol checkpoint. 589 F.2d at
241.

Interstate 10 is one of the

major arteries of the interstate

highway system, stretching coast

to coast from Los Angeles to

Jacksonville, Florida. Inter-

state 10 is a route of prefer-

ence for truckers, bus drivers,

and other travelers because it

is snow- and ice-free virtually

the year round. (Id.).

Regardless of the volume of traffic
along Interstate 10 from Los Angeles to
Jacksonville, or more particularly from
El Paso to San Antonio, the Sierra Blanca
checkpoint is no more the _ functional
equivalent of an international border
than is the Interstate 10 checkpoint west

of Las Cruces, New Mexico, or the San

-~ 34 -

Clemente checkpoint located on Interstate

5 between San Dieyo and Los Angeles, or
the Florida City checkpoint on U.S. 1.
As long as the Fifth Circuit treated
Sierra Blanca functional equivalency in
the context of an 8 U.S.C. §1357 warrant-
less search for aliens, the Fourth Amend-
ment sustained no irreparable harm. But
with its opinion in Oyarzun, and this
decision bottomed upon Oyarzun, the Fifth
Circuit has stretched functional equiva-
lency to the breaking point and beyond,

requiring intervention by this Court.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing, the peti-

tion for writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

James C. Blecke
Counsel of Record

COM EE
ames C. Blecke

and

ae oe

usan S. “Lerner
Attorneys for
Petitioner
705 Biscayne Bldg.
19 W. Flagler St.
Miami, Florida 33130
(305) 358-5999

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that three copies of
the foregoing Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari and the following appendix were
mailed, postage prepaid, pursuant to
Supreme Court Rules 28.3 and 28.4 to the
Solicitor General, Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530; WILLIAM J.
LANDERS, Special Counsel, U.S. Department
of Justice, 10th and Constitution Avenue,
Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20530; and
JORGE A. SIBILA, ESQ., 2751 Coral Way,
Miami, Florida 33145, this 21st day of
March, 1986.

James- C. Blecke
705 Biscayne Building
19 West Flagler Street

Miami, Florida 33130
(305) 358-5999

Gpbmrrl BO f.

/jJames C. Blecke

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
PECOS DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
V. No. P-84-CA-48
~ $127,000 IN UNITED
STATES CURRENCY

MEMORANDUM OPINION

The United States of America seeks
the judicial forfeiture of $127,000.00 in
United States currency pursuant to 21
U.S.C. § 881(a)(6). The government con-
tends that such funds are forfeitable as
proceeds either traceable to the illicit
exchange of controlled substances within
the meaning of 21 U.S.C. § § 841, 881, or
that such funds were intended to facili-
tate such an exchange.

In compliance with Rule 52(a), Feder-
al Rules of Civil Procedure, this Court,
after fully considering the pleadings

filed herein, reviewing the evidence pre-

A. 1

sented at a bench trial held on December
17, 1984, and the controlling legal au-
thorities, enters the following Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law. In this
cause, any Finding may be construed as if

written as a Conclusion and vice versa.

FINDINGS OF FACT

as On or about September 6, 1984,
Herlindo Rubio attempted to cross through
the Sierra Blanca Permanent Border Patrol
Checkpoint on Interstate 10, approximate-
ly 80 miles east of El Paso, Texas. When
questioned by the border patrol agent
then on duty at the primary inspection
point, Agent Acosta, as to his national
citizenship and status within this coun-
try, Rubio stated that he was a Cuban and
immediately produced a legal resident
alien card and valid driver's license
establishing his legal status within the

United States.

2. Acosta instructed Rubio to park his
vehicle at the secondary inspection sta-
tion where he once again produced his
legal resident alien card and valid dri-
ver's license to Agent Mark Fogt, who was
standing near the trunk of the vehicle.
3. Agent Acosta did not testify. Fogt
testified that although he was approxi-
mately eight feet away, on the side of an
interstate highway, he overheard the con-
versation between Acosta and Rubio. Fogt
testified that Rubio appeared to be some-
what nervous.

4. Fogt ordered Rubio to open the trunk
of the vehicle. Once inside the trunk
Fogt found a small red personal travel
Suitcase which he opened and searched.
Inside the suitcase, Fogt found a locked
commercial bank bag which he searched and
found approximately $25,000.00 in United
States currency. Additionally, Fogt
found a combination-locked metal toolbox,

A. 3

which he ordered Rubio to open. Upon
being informed by Rubio that he did not
know the combination to the lock, Fogt
broke the lock, searched the box and
found additional United States currency.
Continuing his search of the vehicle and
its contents, Fogt found a small electric
portable refrigerator in the trunk.
Inside the refrigerator, Fogt found anoth-
er commercial bank bag containing, not
surprisingly, "cold cash." Also produced
in the search of the trunk was a small
vinyl case which was opened and found to
contain a triple beam (balance) scale
with white residue thereon.

5. The entire search of the interior and
trunk of the vehicle was based solely
upon what Fogt perceied to be nervousness
on the part of Rubio.

6. There was no contraband found within
the passenger compartment of the vehicle,
nor was there found anything therein

A. 4

which might suggest the possibility of
the existence of contraband. Likewise, a
visual inspection of the interior of the
vehicle's trunk suggested nothing which
might hint at the possibility of illegal
activity.

7. Fogt testified that the “mission” of
the United States Border Patrol at the
Sierra Blanca Checkpoint was to "“appre-
hend illegals.” It became immediately
apparent to the Border Patrol that no
illegal aliens were contained within
Rubio's vehicle.

8. After rummaging through Rubio's per-
sonal effects, Fogt arrested Rubio and
escorted him into the Border Patrol trail-
er where Acosta read him his Miranda
rights.

9. Inside the trailer, Rubio was physi-
cally searched and a 3" X 5" notebook
which contained some writing was found on
his person. Upon being questioned in

A. 5

regard to the notebook, Rubio stated that
he had found the notebook on the ground
and did not have knowledge of the content
or meaning of the writing therein. Upon
being questioned as to how he came about
such large amount of currency, Rubio
testified that he claimed the currency to
be proceeds of an auspicious trip to Las
Vegas, Nevada. The Court finds Rubio's
testimony in this regard to be incredible
and it shall be disregarded. But for the
illegal searcn, the Court is convinced
that the currency is forfeitable under
the provisions of 21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(6).
10. The search was not conducted pursu-
ant to consent and Rubio has standing to
challenge its validity.

11. After the arrest, Fogt contacted
Eino Hella, a fifteen year veteran of the
Drug Enforcement Administration ("DEA")

in Alpine, Texas, and requested that he

come to the checkpoint to further investi-
gate and interrogate Rubio.

12. Hella opined that the currency in

question was traceable to an exchange as

contemplated by 21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(6)

because:

(a) a large amount of money was
found predominantly in commer-
cial bank bags and a smaller
portion was found wrapped in alu-
minum foil;

(b) the presence of the notebook
containing figures;

(c) the fact that Rubio was trav-
elling east on U.S. Interstate
Highway 10 and that drugs usual-
ly came from Florida to Califor-
nia and drug money is usually
brought back to Florida;

(d) the fact that Rubio was a
resident of Florida;

(e) the fact that traces of co-
caine were found on the scales
which claimed to have been found
in Rubio's vehicle.
13. Rubio testified that the scales were
found in his son's vehicle. Because of

the Court's disposition of the search and

seizure issue, however, the issue of
as fF

“where” the scales were found need not be
reached. The scale, if in fact found in
Rubio's vehicle, was, like the currency,
the product of an illegal search.

14. Rubio has been released; no criminal
charges are currently pending against

him.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this
21 U.S.C. § 881 forfeiture proceeding
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1345, 1355.

2. The exclusionary rule of the fourth
amendment applies in forfeiture proceed-
ings and probable cause for forfeiture
cannot rest upon tainted evidence. Uni-

ted States v. $64,000 in United States

Currency, 722 F.2a 239, 243 (5th Cir.

1984), citing United States v. One Mer-

cury Cougar XR-7, 666 F.2d 228, 230 (5th

Cie. 1968) -

36 The stop of Rubio's vehicle at the
Sierra Blanca Permanent Checkpoint was a

valid stop. United States v. Dreyfus de

Campos, 698 F.2d 236 (5th Cir. 1979).
4. The visual inspection of the trunk
was valid. In the absence of probable
cause, however, the search of Rubio's
vehicle was limited in scope to large
areas in which an illegal alien could
reasonably be believed to be concealed.

United States v. Alvarez Gonzalez, 561

F.2d 620, 621 (5th Cir. 1977); see also

United States v. Whitmire, 595 F.2d 1303,

1315 n. 32 (5th Cir. 1979); United States

v. Robinson, 567 F.2d 637 (5th Cir.

1978).

5. Fogt testified that he conducted the
full-blown search of Rubio's vehicle and
its contents based solely upon what he
perceived to be nervousness. The Court
is of the opinion that this fact, without
more, was insufficient to establish prob-

A. 9

able cause to search the entire vehicle
and its contents.

6. It is unreasonable to believe that
aliens could have been concealed in the
containers which Fogt' searched. Fogt
testified that perhaps a "small alien"
could be hiding in some of the con-
tainers; the Court disregards such as
absurd.

Fe In the context of 21 U.S.C. § 881,
probable cause means "a reasonable ground
for belief of guilt, supported by less
than prima facie proof but more than a

mere suspicion." United States v. One

1978 Mercedes Benz, 711 F.2d 1297, 1305

(Sth Cir. 1983); United States v. One

1964 Beechcraft Baron Aircraft, 691 F.2d

725, 727 (5th Cir. 1982); Vance v. United

States, 676 F.2d 183, 187 n.7 (5th Cir.

1982); United States v. One 1978 Chev-

rolet Impala, 614 F.2d 983, 984 (5th Cir.

1980); see also United States v. One 1979

A. 10

Porsche Coupe, 709 F.2d 1424 (11th Cir.

1983).

8. From the sheer quantity of currency
seized, a court may permissibly infer a
connection with illegal narcotics traf-

ficking. United States v. $364,960 in

United States Currency, 661 F.2d 431, 437

(2d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 428 U.S.

1091 (1977); United States v. Tramunti,

513 F.2d 1087, 1105 (2d Cir. 1975), cert.
den., 419 U.S. 1079 (1976).

9. While the government has established
probable cause that a substantial connec-
tion existed between the currency and
criminal activities proscribed by federal
law, the Court considers the search of
the containers found in the vehicle's
trunk to be outside the scope of that
permissible by law.

10. There is fundamental difference in
purpose and function between the United
States Customs Service and the United

A. 11

ER RMN DY Ae ma Aue = OO

eicenintietan iii

Ne POND OS Re

States Border Patrol. Contrary to what
some believe, Border Patrol agents simply
do not possess the same authority to
search as do customs officers. The
function of a customs officer is to
"protect the revenue and to provide for
the admission of foreign merchandise into
customs territoril[ies]." 8 G.8.:¢. ° §
81d. This function justfies the more
expansive nature of the instruction upon
one's liberty while crossing an interna-
tional border. Conversely, the role of
border patrol agent is to "{patrol] the
border to prevent the illegal entry of
aliens into the United States." 8 U.S.C.

§ 1357(a)(3).

CONCLUSION -

The Court is of the opinion that the
government has shown that the Attorney
General of the United States has probable

cause to believe that the currency in

A. 12

question had been furnished or was inten-
ded to be furnished in exchange for
prohibited drugs, or that these funds
were traceable to such an illicit ex-
change.

It cannot be said, however, that
Agent Fogt was furthering his_ stated
mission of “apprehending illegals" while
rummaging through Rubio's personal ef-
fects. Because Fogt exceeded the scope
of a search necessary to effectuate his
purpose, and thereby violating Rubio's
fourth amendment rights, the Court shall
provide in its Judgment that the govern-
ment take nothing.

SIGNED and ENTERED this the 31st day

of December, 1984.

s/
LUCIUS D. BUNTON
United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
PECOS DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V. No P-84-CA-48
$127,000.00 IN UNITED

STATES CURRENCY

JUDGMENT

In accordance with the Memorandum
Opinion entered on this date, the Court
enters its Judgment in the above-cap-
tioned cause as follows:

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED
and DECREED that the United States of
America take nothing by its claims.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and
DECREED that the United States of Amer-
ica release and return. said sum of
$127,000.00 to its rightful owner,

Helindo Rubio.

Costs are hereby assessed against the
United States of America.
SIGNED and ENTERED this 31st day of

December, 1984.

s/

LUCIUS D. BUNTON
United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-1146
Summary Calendar

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff, Appellant,
versus

$127,700.00 in UNITED STATES CURRENCY,
Defendant,
HERLINDO RUBIO,

Claimant-Appellee

Appeal from the United States
District Court for the
Western District of Texas

( December 23, 1985 )

Before RUBIN, JOHNSON, and JONES, Circuit
Judges.

JOHNSON, Circuit Judge*:

* Local Rule 47.5 provides: "The
publication of opinions that have no
precedential value and merely decide par-
ticular cases on the basis of well-

A. 16

The United States Government filed
suit under 21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(6)! to

obtain the forfeiture of $127,700 in

settled principles of law imposes need-
less expense on the public and burdens on
the legal profession." Pursuant to that
Rule, the court has determined that this
opinion should not be published.

a. 21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(6) provides
that:

(a) The following shall be sub-
ject to forfeiture to the United
States and no property right
shall exist in them:

(6) All moneys, negotiable in-
struments, securities, or other
things of value furnished by any
person in exchange for a control-
led substance in violation of
this subchapter, all proceeds
traceable to such an exchange,
and all moneys, negotiable in-
struments, and securities used
or intended to be used to facili-
tate any violation of this sub-
chapter, except that no property
shall be forfeited under this
paragraph, to the extent of the
interest of an owner, by reason
of any act or omission estab-
lished by that owner to have
been committed or omitted with-
out the knowledge or consent of
that owner.

cies agra Cy sere ee

United States currency seized by border
patrol agents during a search for contra-
band. The Government appeals from the
district court's judgment denying forfei-
ture on the ground that the currency was
seized in violation of the Fourth Amend-
ment. Concluding that no Fourth Amend-
ment violation occurred, this Court rever-

ses the judgment of the district court.

I. BACKGROUND

Herlindo Rubio, a resident alien, was
stopped by United States Border Patrol
agents at the Sierra Blanca border patrol
checkpoint, located on Interstate 10,
eighty miles east of El Paso, Texas.
Rv5io was instructed to pull off the road
into a secondary inspection area. After
observing that Rubio appeared to be some-
what nervous, a border patrol agent or-
dered Rubio to open the trunk of Rubio's

car. The agent, without probable cause,

A. 9

searched a red vinyl suitcase, a tool
box, and a small portable electric refri-
gerator, all located inside the trunk.
The search uncovered a triple beam bal-
ance scale containing traces of cocaine
and $127,700 in United States currency.

After seizing the currency, the Gov-
ernment filed a complaint for forfeiture
pursuant ot 21 U.S.C. § 881(a)(6), seek-
ing ownership of the currency discovered
in Rubio's car. Rubio asserted as an
affirmative defense that the search was
conducted in violation of the Fourth
Amendment thus reguiring the Government
to return the seized currency.” The

district court found that the border

2. The exclusionary rule of the
Fourth Amendment applies in forfeiture
proceedings and probable cause for forfei-
ture cannot rest upon tainted evidence.
United States v. $64,000 in United States
Currency, 722 F.2d 239, 243 (5th Cir.
1984) (citing United States v. One 1979
Mercury Cougar XR-7, 666 F.2d 228, 230
(5th Cir. 1982)).

a

patrol agents lacked probable cause to
search Rubio's car for contraband, that
zn illegal alien could not have hidden in
the containers searched, > and that the
search was therefore unlawful. Based on
these conclusions, the district court
entered judgment in favor of Rubio and
ordered the Government to return the
$127,700 in seized currency to Rubio.
The Government appeals from the district

court's judgment.

IJ. DISCUSSION

In United States v. Oyarzun, 760 F.2d

570 (5th Cir. 1985), decided by this

36 The district court reasoned that
the function of a border patrol agent
differs from that of a customs officer.
According to the district court, nonprob-
able cause searches conducted by border
patrol agents at the functional equiva-
lent of a border are limited to searches
for aliens.

Court several months after the judgment
of the district court in the instant
case, we held that "“nonprobable cause

searches for contraband at the Sierra

Blanca checkpoint are valid border sear-
ches because of the checkpoint's legal
status as the functional equivalent of
the border.” Id. at 576 (emphasis ad-
ded). This Court in Oyarzun expressly
rejected the contention that nonprobable
cause searches conducted at Sierra Blanca
are limited to those large areas of a
vehicle in which aliens could be hidden.

Rubio contends that the rule announ-
ced in Oyarzun applies only where the
search is conducted by customs officers
rather than border patrol agents. Rubio
argues that because the function of a
border patrol agent -.s limited to preven-
ting the illegal entry of aliens into the

United States, nonprobable cause searches

conducted by border patrol agents must be
limited to searches for aliens.‘ How-
ever, this Court has observed "that Bor-
der Patrol agents wear two hats, one as
an immigration officer and the other as a
customs officer." United States v. Mc-
Daniel, 463 F.2d 129, 134 (5th Cir.

1972), cert. denied, 413 U.S. 919, 93 S.

Ct. 3046, 37 L. Ed. 2d 1041 (1973).
Border patrol agents, at the border or
its functional equivalent, can don "their
customs hats during a proper border
search.” Id. Furthermore, border patrol
agents, not customs officers, conducted
the search approved by this Court in
Oyarzun. Thus, Rubio's attempt to distin-
guish the authorized scope of a border

search conducted by a customs officer

4. According to Rubio, customs
agents, in contrast, may conduct nonprob-
able cause border searches for contraband
because of the broader function served by
customs agents.

A. 22

from that of a search conducted by a
border patrol agent is without merit.

Rubio also contends that because the
border patrol agents in the instant case
lacked probable cause to search Rubio's
car for contraband, Oyarzun does not
apply. This contention is without merit.
Contrary to Rubio's contention, Oyarzun
expressly held that probable cause was
not required to conduct a search for
contraband at the Sierra Blanca check-
point. Moreover, the agents in Oyarzun
itself did not have probable cause to
search for contraband.

Finding the instant case controlled
by our recent decision in Oyarzun, this
court reverses the judgment of the dis-

trict court.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

A. 23

er

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1631%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
