# Opposition Brief — Massachusetts Department of Education v. David D.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1551%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1140

## Text

Supreme Court, U8,
FILED

APR 5& 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

No. 85-1469 —/

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1985

MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
AND DARTMOUTH SCHOOL COMMITTEE,

Petitioners,
Vv.
DAVID D.,

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Richard F. Howard*

Stanley J. Eichner

Developmental Disabilities
Law Center

ll Beacon Street, Suite 925

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 723-8455

*Counsel of Record

t
"i
.
ey
Ve
=

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Congress in enacting the
Education for All Handicapped Children
Act (20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seg.) intended

to allow states to continue to supplement

the "basic floor" of educational opportu-

nity created by the federal act.

2. Whether in creating a "comprehen-
sive scheme" for enforcement of special
education rights Congress effectively
vested the federal courts with the
authority to enforce both the federal

and the supplemental state protections.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.

THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN THE

DECISION OF COURT BELOW AND

THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, THE

OTHER FEDERAL COURTS OF APPEAL,

OR THE MASSACHUSETTS SUPREME

JUDICIAL COURT.

A.

THERE IS NO CONFLICT WITH

THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT,

MUCH LESS THE TYPE OF DIRECT

CONFLICT WHICH WOULD WARRANT

REVIEW.

l.

There is no conflict

between the decision

below and the decisions

of Seis cia rs t
interpreting the

Education of All
Handicapped Children
Act.

a. This Court has
interpreted the
EAHCA to retain an
important role for
the states in

|

10

10

ll

1l

protecting special
education rights
of disabled
children.

The language and
history of the
EAHCA support the
Ficst Citecuit’s
analysis of the
role of state
Special education
standards.

The structure and
comprehensiveness
of the statutory
scheme also
Support the First
Circuit's de-
cision.

The decision below

follows this Court's

decisions regarding

the Eleventh Amendment.

ae

The decision below
correctly applies
Atascadero.

There is no split
in the Circuits on
the issue decided
below.

The decision below
follows Massachu-
setts court
decisions.

iii

12

17

22

22

28

38

41

II.

A GRANT OF THE PETITION IS NOT

JUSTIFIED BECAUSE THE DECISION

BELOW WILL HAVE LIMITED IMPACT.

Ae

B.

The decision below only
affects a few states.

The decision below only
affects the limited number
of cases which are heard in
federal court and which
would have different results
depending on the choice of
law.

The decision below would not
have been decided dif-
ferently under the federal
Minimum standard.

iv

44

45

47

50

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Atascadero State 27,29

Hospital v. Scanlon,
L035 &. Ct. 3442 (1985)

Burlington School Committee 12,3,20,38
v. Department of Education,
105 Ss. Ct. 1996 (1985)

Cothern v. Mallory, 46 ,50
565 F. Supp. 701
(W.D. Mo. 1983)

Crawford v. Pittman, 32
708 F.2d 1028 (5th Cir. 1983)

David D. v. Dartmouth passim
School Committee,

775 F.2d 411

(lst Cir. 1985)

David D. v. Dartmouth os43-52
School Committee,

615 F. Supp. 639

(D. Mass. 1984)

Department of Education 29 , 30
v. Katherine D., 727 F.2d 809
(9th Cir. 1983)

Edelman v. Jordan, 30 , 36
415 U.S. 651 (1974)

Everett v. Schramm, 16,40
772 F.2d 1114 (3rd Cir. 1985)

Geis v. Board of Education 3,15,19,26,39
of Parsippany-Troy Hills, 40 ,41,46,50
734 F.42@ Sra (306 Cie. 1965)

V.

Hendrick Hudson District passim
Board of Education v. Rowley
458 U.S. 176 (1982)

Isgur v. School Committee 42
of Newton, 9 Mass. App. Ct.
290, 400 N.E.2d 1292 (1980)

Mills v. Board of Education 32
of District of Columbia,
348 F.Supp. 866 (D.D.C. 1982)

North Haven Board of Education 17
v. Bell, 456 U.S. 512 (1982)

Parks v. Pavkovic, 35
753 F.2d 1397 (7th Cir. 1985)

Pennhurst State Schaol and teatoae
Hospital v. Halderman,
104 S. Ct. 900 (1984)

Pennsylvania Association for 33
Retarded Citizens v.

Commonwealth, 334 F.Supp. 1257

(E.D. Pa. 1971)

Pennsylvania Association for 33
Retarded Citizens v.

Commonwealth, 343 F.Supp. 229

(E.D. Pa. 1972)

Scituate School Committee 46
v. Robert B., 620 F.Supp. 1224
(D.R.I. 1985)

Smith v. Robinson, KSetadedes tte

104 S. Ct. 3457 (1984) 33, 34,37

Stock v. Massachusetts Hospital 41
School, 392 Mass. 205, 467
N.E.2d 448 (1984)

Students of California School 3,29, 37
for the Blind v. Honig, 736 F.2d 38, 39
538 (9th Cir. 1984), vacated

105 S. Ct. 1820 (1985)

Town of Burlington v. 6,12,15
Department of Education, 20,25, 38
736 F.2d 773 (lst Cir. 1984), 42
aff'd on other grounds,

105 Ss. Ct. 1996 (1985)

Statutes
20 U.S.C. §1401(18) 18
20 U.S.C. §1412 34
20 U.S.C. §1413 34
20 U.S.C. §1412(6) 34
20 U.S.C. §1415(e) (2) 34,45,48
G.L. c. 15 §1M{19) 43
G.L. ¢. VIB §§2,3 43
Regulations

20
34 C.F.R. §300.600
Miscellaneous
S. Rep. No. 94-168, 94th Cong.
lst Sess., reprinted in 1975
U.S. Code Cong and Admin. News 22,31

1446

vil.

S. Rep. 6, 41
Cong. News 1430

Supreme Court Rule 17

Stern and Grossman, Supreme
Court Practice, Sth ed.,
Bureau of National Affairs,
Washington, D.C., 1978

vill.

10,28,44

No. 85-1469
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
AND DARTMOUTH SCHOOL COMMITTEE,
Petitioners,

v.

DAVID D.,

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF

IN OPPOSITION

Respondent David D. respectfully
requests that the petition “or a writ of

certiorari to review the decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In this case the United States Court
Of Appeals for the First Circuit
addressed the question of whether
Congress in enacting the Education for
All Handicapped Children Act ("EAHCA"),
20 U.S.C. § 1400 et seg., intended to
allow states to continue to supplement
the "basic floor” of educational opportu-
nity created by the federal act, and
whether in creating a “comprehensive
scheme" for enforcement of special
education rights Congress effectively
vested the federal courts with the
authority to enforce both the federal and
the supplemental state protections.

The First Circuit as well as the

Courts of Appeal for the Third and Ninth

Circuits have all agreed that both
guestions should be answered in the

affirmative. David D. v. Dartmouth

School Committee, 775 F. 2d 411 (lst

Cir. 1985); Geis v. Board of Education

of Parsippany-Troy Hills, 774 F. 2d 575

(3rd Cir. 1985); Students of California

School for the Blind, 736 F. 2d 538 (9th

Cir. 1984), vacated as moot 105 S. Ct.

1820 (1985). Although not explicitly
addressed by either the Court of Appeals
Or the District Court, plaintiff has
argued throughout this case, and will
argue infra that the Individual Education
Plan ("IEP") offered by the local school
officials was so inadequate that it
failed to meet the federal "basic floor”
requirements, even without the supple-

mental state protections.

David D. is a nineteen-year-old,
mentally retarded young man who functions
at the kindergarten to first-grade
level. The issue at the administrative
hearing, when David was fifteen years
Old, was whether the program at the
public high school offered by the
Dartmouth School Committee met David's
considerable educational and
behavioral/emotional needs. App. 152.
The administrative hearing officer found
that David exhib:ted socially unaccept-
able sexual and aggressive behavior, and
that this behavior “could pose a real
deterrant” to his acceptance in a
vocational work program. App. 133, 143.
The hearing officer found that David's
IEP should be directed toward maximizing

his potential for community living, Dut

nonetheless finds the IEP to be adequate.
App., 145.

At trial in District Court plaintiff
presented additional expert witness as
well as neighbors, who testified regar-
ding the scope and severity of David's
behavioral problems and well as over-
whelming need for a consistent highly
Structured program to address those

problems. David D. v. Dartmouth School

Committee, 615 F. Supp. 639, 641-44 (D.

Mass. 1984). App. 69-80. The District
Court accepted the hearing officer's
conclusions on several subsidiary points,
but based on the agreement of the parties
On David's need for training in be-
havioral and social skills, and on the
substantial evidence that this training
could not be appropriately delivered at

the public high school program proposed

by Dartmouth, found that David could not
make “effective educational progress” in
that program. Id., 615 F. Supp. at
646-48, App. 92-101. Following the First

Circuit's decision in Town of Burlington

v. Department of Education 736 F. 2d 773

(lst Cir. 1984) affirmed on other

grounds, 105 Ss. Ct. 1996 (1985), the

District Court found that the higher
standard for educational opportunity
established by Massachusetts law is
incorporated into the EAHCA and held
that the proposed IEP did not meet that
Standard. Id., 615 F. Supp. at 647-8,
App. 101-103.

On appeal, despite its earlier

decision in the Burlington case, the

First Circuit reconsidered its analysis
of the role of state standards in the

EAHCA. After careful analysis of this

Court's recent decisions in Pennhurst

State School and Hospital v. Halderman,

104 S. Ct. 900 (1984) and Atascadero

State Hospital v. Scanlon, 105 S. Ct.

3142 (1985) as well this Court's major
decisions interpreting the EAHCA, the
Court of Appeais reaffirmed its view
that state standards were expressly
incorporated into the comprehensive
Statutory scheme established by the
EAHCA and that those standards were
enforceable in federal as well as state

court. David D. v. Dartmouth School

Committee, 775 F. 2d 411, 416-423 (lst

Cir. 1985), App. 20-5u.

Ninety days after a petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing
en banc was denied, the Massachusetts
Attorney General filed a Petition for

Certiorari, apparently on behalf of both

the Massachusetts Department of Education
and the Dartmouth School Committee.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Certiorari is not warranted in this
case because the decision below is not
in conflict with decisions of this
Court, other federal courts of appeal,
or the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court. In fact the First Circuit's
decision follows decisions of this Court
and the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court, and is entirely consistent with
the decisions of the only two other
federal courts of appeal which have
addressed the issue of the role of state
law in the EAHCA.

Even if there were some inconsistency
among the circuits, this case would not
Warrant a grant of certiorari because of

its limited impact. The decision, even

if adopted by all circuits, would only
affect the handful of states which have
State statutes which establish a higher
Standard of educational opportunity than
the EAHCA. Even within those states,
the decision would affect the few
Situations where the case is in federal,
not state, court and the resolution of
the dispute turns upon whether the state
or federal legal standard is applied.
The case at bar is an example of one
which does not turn on the choice of
law, since the Individual Education Plan
proposed by the Dartmouth School
Committee did not meet either the
federal minimum or the state higher

standard.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN THE
DECISION OF COURT BELOW AND THE
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, THE OTHER
FEDERAL COURTS OF APPEAL, OR THE
MASSACHUSETTS SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT.

TO warrant full consideration
by this Court on a petition for
certiorari, petitioner must show, at a
minimum, that there is a direct conflict
between the Court of Appeals decision
and decisions of this Court, the courts
of appeal of the other federal circuits
Or the highest appellate court of the
affected state. See U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule

17.1(a), Stern and Grossman, Supreme

Court Practice, Sth ed., 1978. 264-66

(hereinafter, "Stern and Grossman").
Petitioners can show no such
conflict because the First Circuit's
decision below follows earlier decisions
of this Court and the Supreme Judicial

10

Court of Massachusetts, and is entirely

consistent with decisions of the other

two federal courts of appeal which have

considered this issue.

A. THERE IS NO CONFLICT WITH THE
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, MUCH

LESS THE TYPE OF DIRECT CONFLICT
WHICH WOULD WARRANT REVIEW.

ke There is no conflict between
the decision below and the
decisions of this court
interpreting the Education of
All Handicapped Children Act.

Petitioners have suggested in
their petition for certiorari (see, e.g.,
Petition at 24-5), that the First
Circuit's decision is in conflict with

this Court's holding in Hendrick Hudson

District Board of Education v. Rowley,

458 U.S. 176 (1982). As the following
analysis illustrates, the decision in

Dartmouth School Committee v. David D.,

Supra, is not only not in conflict with
this Court's analysis of the EAHCA in

Bt

Rowley, supra and other decisions, but in

fact is perfectly consistent with and
builds upon the principles established by
this Court in its analysis of the EAHCA.
a. This Court has interpreted the
EAHCA to retain an important
role for the states in protec-
ting special education rights
of disabled children.
Much of the First Circuit's analysis
of the EAHCA in its decision below was

based on its earlier extensive analysis

of the Act in Town of Burlington v.

~

Department of Education, 736 F. 2d 773

(lst Cir. 1984) ("Burlington II") which

was affirmed by this Court on the issue
of scope of a Court's equitable authority

under the Act in Burlington School

Committee v. Department of Education,

G. 8. » £05 6. Ce. 1996 (i969). In
both cases the First Circuit makes

extensive use of this Court's language

12

in Rowley. The analysis is further
Supported by later decisions of this

Court in Burlington, supra and Smith v.

Robinson, U.S. , £04 8. Ct. 3457

(1984). Thus the statutory definition of
"free and appropriate public education,"
§ 1401(18), was seen as a checklist for
adequacy under the Act, Rowley 458 U.S.
at 189, and it was that standard which
would constitute the federal “floor of
Opportunity” imposed by Congress upon
the states as a federal minimum standard.

This Court recognized that the
Statutory scheme is one which envisions
Significant and complementary roles for
the states in relationship to the federal
government. The states were viewed as
continuing to have “the primary responsi-
bility for formulating the education to

be accorded a handicapped child,” Rowley,

13

458 U.S. at 207. Thus, while Congress
did not intend for the Act to "displace
the primacy of States in the field'of
education," Rowley, 458 U.S. at 208, The
Statute did "impose significant require-
ments to be followed in the discharge of
that responsibility, Rowley, 458 U.S. at
183.

Although appreciating the significant
and complementary roles assigned to both
state and federal government, this Court
quite clearly limited its analysis tc
the issue of what was the proper federal
Standard. The related question of what
requirements may be imposed upon the
State as a result of its own statutory
requirements was not before the Court and
was certainly not addressed. As the
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

correctly pointed out, “there is no indi-

14

cation in either the statutory language
Or the legislative history of the Act
that Congress intended to create a
substantive or procedural ceiling
regarding the rights of the disabled

child." David D. v. Dartmouth, 775 F.2d

at 416, citing Burlington II. See also

Geis v. Board of Education of Parsippany-

Troy Hills, 774 F. 2d 575, 581 (3rd Cir.

1985).

Similarly, there is nothing in
either the Rowley holding or the prin-
ciples ennunciated therein, which would
be at odds with a higher state sibstan-
tive standard. The appropriate resolu-
tion of federel and state interests and
roles is one in which Congress requires
that there be a federal minimum, or
floor of opportunity, below which a

state may not drop, but upon which

15

States are allowed, and even encouraged
to build or expand. See e.g., Everett

v. Schramm, 772 F. 2d 1114, 1119 (3rd

Cir. 1985) (AFDC statute gives states
freedom to raise level of benefits to
meet local conditions).

Historically the role of the states
in elementary and secondary education has
been a primary one, and often the
State's involvement in the education of
the handicapped was one which predated
that of the federal government. In view
of that history, and important principles
of federalism, Congress' requirement of a
federal minimum cannot be understood as
reducing any pre-existing state standards
to the lower federal level. Thus, in
States such as Massachusetts where the
substantive standard is higher than that

of the federal “floor of opportunity,"

16

there must be a means by which the
differing standards are resolved. As
Will be discussed in the next section,
Congress effectively avoided this
potential conflict by explicitly incorp-
Orating the state educational standards
into the Act through the definition of
"free appropriate public education."

b. The language and history of the
EAHCA support the First Cir-
cuit's analysis of the role of
State special education
Standards.

To address the question of whether

the federal Act incorporates state law,
the critical first step must be an

examination of the statute itself.

North Haven Board of Education v. Bell,

436 U.8. Sid, $2@ (1982). As the
decision below pointed out, the essential
right guaranteed by the Act, a “free

appropriate public education" is expli-

17

citly defined at the beginning of the

Act:

David D.,

In

The term “free appropriate
public education" means special
education and related services
which (A) have been provided at
public expense, under public
supervision and direction, and
without charge, (B) meet the
Standards of the State educa-
tional agency, (C) include an
appropriate preschool, elemen-
tary, Or secondary school
education in the State involved,
and (D) are provided in con-
Formity with the individualized
education program required
under section 1415(a)(5) of
this title. 20 @©.8.C.
§ 1401(18) (emphasis added).

775 F.2d at 417.

Rowley, this Court explained the

requirements placed upon participating

states:

Almost as a checklist of
adequacy under the Act, the
definition also requires that
such instruction and services
be provided at public expense
and under public supervision,
meet the State's educational
standards, approximate the
grade levels used in the

18

State's regular education, and
comport with the child's IEP.
Thus, if personalized instruc-
tion is being provided with
sufficient supportive services
to permit the child to benefit
from the instruction, and the
other items on the definitional
checklist are satisfied, the
child is receiving a “free
appropriate public education"
as defined by the Act.

Rowley, 458 U.S. at 188-189.

The most obvious "state standard"
that Congress intended to insert this
formula is the state's own standard of

educational opportunity. See Geis, 774

F. 2d at 581; David D., 775 F. 2d at

417. Adequacy of educational program-
ming, including adherence to state
Standards, may be challenged by parents
through an administrative hearing which
may be brought “with respect to any
Matter related to the identification,
evaluation, or education placement of
the child, or the provision of a free

19

appropriate public education." 20

U.S.C. § 1415(b)(2), David D., 775 F. 2d
at 418. Any party agrieved regarding
any issue may bring an action in either
State or federal court, which court has
broad discretion to grant appropriate
relief. 20 U.S.C.~ §1415(e)(2).

Sucliagten, i685 8. Ct. at 2003. The

plain meaning of the statutory language
clearly provides that state standards,
incorporated into the federal definition
of a “free appropriate public education"
are enforceable in federal court.
Additionally, the legislative
history of the Act further supports the
principle that the EAHCA incorporates
the state substantive law into the

federal Act.l Senator Williams, a

las the First Circuit noted in the
decision below, incorporation by ref-
erence is not unusual. See Burlington II

20

principal author of the Act, in explain-
ing the conference bill to the Senate,
Clarified that the due process protec-
tions had been strengthened:

Any parent or guardian may
present a complaint concerning
any matter regarding the
identification, evaluation, or
educational placement of the
child or the provision of a
free appropriate public educa-
tion to such child. In this
regard, Mr. President, I would
like to stress that the language
referring to “free appropriate
public education" has been
adopted to make clear that a
complaint may involve matters
such as questions respecting a
child's individualized education

at 785 n. 9; see also Herb's Welding Inc.
v. Gray, __—s«svu«.S. __ se, «105 SS. Ch. 1421,
1425, (1985) (citing Rodrigue v. Aetna
Casualty and Surety Co., 395 U.S. 352,
(1969); United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S.
341, 356-57, (1966); Textile Workers
Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448,
457, (1957); DeSylvia v. Ballentine, 351
U.S. 570, 580 (1956) ("The scope of a
federal right is, of course, a federal
question, but that does not mean that its
content is not to be determined by state,
rather than federal law"). David D., 775
F.2d at 419, n. 6.

21

program, questions of whether
special education and related
services are being provided
without charge to the parents
Or guardians, guestions relating

to whether the services provided
a child meet the standards of
the State educational agency,
Or any other question within
the scope of the definition of
"free appropriate public
education." 121 Cong. Rec.
37415 (Nov. 19, 1975) (emphasis
added. )

Thus, as noted by the First Circuit,
its holding that the Act incorporates
Substantive state special education law
into the federal right to a free and
appropriate public education is squarely
based upon both the Act itself as well
as upon authoritative legislative
history.

C. The structure and comprehensive-
ness of the statutory scheme
also support the First Circuit's
decision.

Further support for the correctness

of incorporating state substantive

22

Standards into the Act is demonstrated by
the fact that to interpret the Act
otherwise would create substantial
inconsistency and sonfusion and would
Subject handicapped children and educa-
tional officials to inconsistent stan-
dards for the receipt and provision
of special education entitlements within
a state.

This Court has described the Act's
enforcement procedures as a “compre-
hensive scheme" and a “carefully tailored
administrative and judicial mechanism,"
to assure provision of appropriate
educational services are provided. Smith

v. Robinson, 0.8. , 466 8. Ce. at

3468, 3470, n. 17. That process “begins
on the local level and includes ongoing
parental involvement, detailed procedural

safeguards, and a right to judicial

23

review," Id. The form of judicial

review provided by the Act is concurrent
jurisdiction for enforcement of its
provisions in both state and federal
court, § 1412(e)(2); Rowley, 458 U.S. at
183.

Given the fact that some states have
imposed upon themselves substantive
Standards which exceed the federal
"floor of opportunity," without the
incorporation of those standards into
the Act, inconsistent standards would
exist within those states. Inconsistent
standards would turn the intended
"comprehensive scheme" into a confusing
and unpredictable maze. Without knowing
what court would ultimately hear an
appeal, parents and education officials
would have no idea at the IEP stage

which set of standards should be applied.

24

Similarly, a state hearing officer would
not know whether to apply the federal
"basic floor" or the supplemental state
Standards in resolving an administrative
appeal. Perhaps most importantly, the
jockeying for judicial forum by the
parties and the attempts by education
officials to remove to federal court
cases filed in state court, in order to
benefit from less rigorous standards,
would create a confusing and unproductive
type of litigation which flies in the
face of the clear Congressional policy
of prompt resolution of these disputes.

See Burlington II, 736 F. 2d at 797.

Indeed, the construction proposed by
petitioner's would effectively insulate
from court review erroneous decisions by
hearing officers based on state law, if

the case is brought in federal court.

25

David D., 775 F. 2d at 420; Geis, 774 F.
2d at 581. Certainly, it is unlikely
that Congress by granting state and
federal court concurrent jurisdiction,
intended to have the standard of educa-
tional opportunity depend upon the

choice of forum. Geis, Supra.

It is equally unlikely that Congress
intended to create “the carefully
tailored administrative judicial
mechanism," and then imbue it with such
inconsistency and uncertainty. What does
makes sense, from both a substantive
and practical standpoint, is that
Congress incorporated the state standards
into the Act, so as to allow those
requirements to be enforceable as an
integrated and unified standard in both

federal and state court. Geis; supra.

David D., supra.

26

2. The decision below follows this
Court's decisions regarding the
Eleventh Amendment.

Petitioners assert that the
First Circuit's “approach and treatment"
of the Eleventh Amendment issues were
"insensitive" to this Court's decisions

in Pennhurst State School and Hospital

v. Halderman U.S. » 4606 SB. Ce.

900 (1984) ("Pennhurst II") and

Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon,

a

U.S. e 105 S. Ct. 3142 (1985)

("Atascadero"). See Petition, 44-45.

In other words, petitioners disagree
with the First Circuit's application of

the principies of Pennhurst II and

Atascadero to the EAHCA and the facts of

this case. They do not allege nor can
they show the kind of direct conflict
required to warrant review by this Court

on a petition for certiorari. U.S. Sup.

27

Ct. Rule, 17(1) Stern and Grossman,

264-5. In fact, the First Circuit
carefully and faithfully applied the
analysis of those two decisions and found
no Eleventh Amendment bar to the use of
incorporated state law in the comprehen-
Sive statutory scheme designed by
Congress to protect the Equal Protection

rights of disabled chiidren. David D.,

775 F. 2d at 421-3.

a. The decision below correctly
applies Atascadero.

In Atascadero this Court held that

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
had not effectively abrogated the
States‘ Eleventh Amendment immunity from
Suit in federal court where litigants
seek money damanges. Id. 105 S. Ct. at
3144, 3150. The Court rejected arguments
that the state had waived its immunity
on the basis of state law, Id. at 3147,

28

that Congress had abrogated the state's
immunity by enacting the Rehabilitation
Act. Id. at 3149, and that by accepting
federal funds under the Rehabilitation
Act, the state had consented to be sued.
Id. at 3150.

In its decision below the First
Circuit found it necessary to address

only the second issue in Atascadero,

finding that by enacting the comprehen-
Sive statutory scheme in the EAHCA,
Congress did effectively abrogate the
Eleventh Amendment immunity of the

States. David D., 775 F. 2d at 421.2

2While the First Circuit did not
find it necessary to detemine whether
the participation by a state in the
EAHCA constitutes a waiver of Eleventh
Amendment immunity, the Ninth Circuit
has examined the issue and found waiver.
Students of California School for the
Blind v. Honig 736 F. 2d 538, 543-4 (9th
Cir. 1984) vacated as moot, 105 S. Ct.
1820 (1985); Department of Education v.
Katherine D., 727 F. 2d 809, 818-19 (9th

29

In Atascadero, this Court found that

Congress must express its intention to
exercise its authority to protect
Fourteenth Amendment rights “in unmistak-
able language in the statute itself.”

Atascadero, 105 S. Ct. at 3148. Unlike

Cir. 1983). The Ninth Circuit used the
standard required by this Court in
Edelman v. Jordan, 4i5 U.S. 651 (1974)
that waiver of Eleventh Amendment
immunity must be by “express language”
Or such overwhelming implications from
the text as will leave no room for any
other reasonable construction.
Katherine D., 727 F. 2d at 819, citing
Edelman, 415 U.S. at 673. The Court of
Appeals found that these criteria were
Satisfied with the EAHCA where Congress
authorized suits against a class of
defendants including states and the
States voluntarily entered into an
activity highiy regulated by federal
law. Katherine D., 727 F. 2d at 819.
In fact, with the EAHCA, Congress made
the states the key actor in a comprehen-
sive and relatively complex scheme, See
Smith v. Robinson, 104 S. Ct. 3457
(1984), making the state a key party (as
defendant or plaintiff) in almost any
litigation brought to enforce the
provisions of the Act. See discussion,

Supra.

30

the Rehabilitation Act, which evokes the
Fourteenth Amendment Equal Protection
concerns only in the legislative history
La, i095 6. Ct. at 36 , the EAHCA
expressly states in its preamble that it
is enacted "to assure the equal pro-
tection of the law" for handicapped
children. Pub. Law 94-142 codified at

20 U.S.C. §1400(b)(9).3 See David D.,

778 &. 24. at 421.
In fact, as the First Circuit noted

in David D., 775 F. 2d at 421-2, this

Court has already held that in enacting

3This express statutory language is
reinforced by clear and repeated declara-
tions in the Act's legislative history,
e.g., Sen. Rep. 94-168, 22, 94th Cong.,
lst Sess., reprinted in 1975 Cong. and
Admin. News 1446 ("The Committee recog-
nizes the state's primary responsibility
to uphold the Constitution of the United
States ... as well as Congress' own
responsibility under the 14th Amendment
to assure equal protection of the law.")
See also S. Rep. 6, 41; Cong. News 1430,
1464.

31

the EAHCA Congress was exercising its
Fourteenth Amendment authority to
protect the Equal Protection rights of

disabled children. Smith v. Robinson,

104 S. Ct. 3457 (1984). Accord, Crawford

v. Pittman, 708 F. 2d 1028 (5th Cir.

1983). In Smith, the issue was whether
a prevailing plaintiff in an EAHCA suit
was entitled to attorney's fees under 42
U.S.C. § 1988 if he also had a sub-
Stantial $1983 claim, Id. at 34. This
Court found that the impetus behind the
legislation was two court cases estab-
lishing that failure to provide appro-
priate educational services was a

constitutional violation. See Smith 104

S. Ct. at 3468 referring to H.R. Rep.
No. 94-332 at 3-4, citing Mills v.

Board of Education of District of

Columbia, 348 F. Supp. 866 (D.D.C. 1972)

32

\
and Pennsylvania Assn. for Retarded

Citizens v. Commonwealth, 334 F. Supp.

1257 (E.D. Pa. 1971) and 343 F. Supp.
229. (8.0. Ba. 2972).4 Finding that
Congress enacted an especially comprehen-
Sive scheme of the Act to protect Equal
Protection rights, the Court reasoned
that Congress intended for this enforce-
ment scheme to be exclusive and therefore
that a special education plaintiff could
not generally use other procedural
avenues available to protect those
rights such as 42 U.S.C. § 1983 with its
associated attorney's fees remedy, 42
U.S.C. § 1988. Smith 104 S. Ct. at 3469.

Finally, the First Circuit recognized

that the entire structure of the Act

4This Court also noted the Equal
Protection underpinings of the EAHCA in
its Rowley decision. 458 U.S. at 180
oe ee

33

makes clear the Congressional intention
that the states be principal parties to
Suits enforcing the Act, including suits

in federal court. Davia D., t73 ©. 46

at Gaia. Unlike, Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act, which is directed
broadly to “any recipient" of federal
Financial assistance, the EAHCA is
directed toward only states and local
education agencies. See 20 U.S.C.
§ 1412, 1413. Indeed, the states are
the principal actors and the State
Education Agencies are responsible for
assuring compliance by all other public
agencies, 20 U.S.C. § 1412(6), 34 C.F.R.
§ 300.600, and for holding hearings
regarding complaints on “any matter"
related to a child's special education.

20 U.S.C. § 1415(e)(2). See Smith,

164 8. CO. OBO 3437. Appeals of the

34

hearings may be taken to either state or
federal court. 20 U.S.C. § 1415(e)(2).
Clearly, since states' education agencies
are the enforcer of the guarantees, the
administrative hearing agency, and
sometimes the provider of special
education services, Congress intended
for states to be amenable to suit in
federal court, one of the forums ex-
pressly provided for a complainant. See

David D., 775 F. 2d at 422. Accord,

Parks v. Pavkovic, 753 F. 2d 1397 (7th

Cir. 1985).
Carefully considering this Court's

admonitions in Atascadero, as well as

its decisions in Smith and Rowley, the
First Circuit analyzed the EAHCA and
correctly found a Congressional intention
to exercise its Fourteenth Amendment

Section Five authority to protect the

35

EqQual Protection rights of disabled

children.5
The First Circuit also analyzed this

Court's decision in Pennhurst II, finding

Eleventh Amendment protection for states
against federal court enforcement of
pendant state law claims against the

states themselves. David D., 774 F.

2d at 422; Pennhurst II, 104 S. Ct. at

905. The First Circuit noted that

Pennhurst II dealt with entirely separate

State law claims which plaintiff had

included as pendant claims in their

federal law suit. Id. The Court found

SAlthough the First Circuit did not
address the distinction, it should be
made clear that this and most special
education cases deal only with prospec-
tive relief for an individual child, not
monetary damages or substantial relief
against an entire institution, of a type
that have peen especially susceptible to
Eleventh Amendment protection. See
e.g., Edelmanv. Jordan, 415U.S. 651 (1974).

36

that there is a critical distinction in
that the EAHCA incorporates state law by

reference, See discussion, supra, and

noted that this Court had implictly
confirmed this approach in Smith v.

Robinson, 104 S. Ct. at 3464 n.6.

Moreover, the other two circuits which
have expressly addressed the issue,
agreed that state law incorporated into
the EAHCA is not subject to the stric-

tures of Pennhurst II. Geis, 774 F. 2d

at 581; Honig, 736 F. 2d at 543. See

discussion, infra.

Far for being in direct conflict
with decisions of this Court, the
decision below carefully and faithfully
followed and applied the decisions of
this Court and reached a result consis-

tent with those decisions.

37

db. There is no split in the
Circuits on the issue decided
below.

Notably absent from the petitioners’
arguments in favor of a grant of
certiorari, is one that there is split
among the circuits on the issue pre-
sented. That is because the three
circuits that have addressed the issue
of the use of state law in EAHCA cases
have all agreed, with remarkably similar

reasoning. David D., Geis, Honig.

At about the same time the First
Circuit was doing its first analysis of
the incorporation of state law into the

EAHCA in Town of Burlington v. Department

of Education, 736 F. 2d 773 (lst Cir.

1984) affirmed 105 S. Ct. 1996 (1985),

the Ninth Circuit was doing similar

analysis in Students of California

School for the Blind v. Honig, 736 F. 2d

38

338 (9th Cir. 1984), vacated as moot 105
S. Ct. 1820 (1985). In Honig the

considered the Pennhurst II decision and

like the First Circuit found that

Pennhurst II does not apply when state

law 1s incorporated into the federal
Statutory scheme. Id. 736 F. 2d at 543.
It also found that Congress "expressly"
and “unambiguously" incorporated the
Standards® of the state education agency
into the federal statute, enforceable by
a federal court. Id. at 545.

In Geis the Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit also analyzed Pennhurst II

and found it inapplicable to state law
incorporated into the EAHCA, Id. 774 F.
2d at 581. The Third Circuit had the

benefit of an earlier decision, Everett

6In Honig, the state standards were
safety standards, limiting sites suitable
for educational facilities. Id. at 541.

39

v. Schramm, 772 F. 2d 1114 (3rd 1985)

where it also found incorporation by
reference of state benefit standards
into the federal Aid for Families with
Dependent Children statute. Id. 772 F.
2d at 1119. In Geis the Third Circuit
evaluated the EAHCA statutory scheme and,

like the First Circuit below, David D.,

775 F. 2d at 419, found it "unlikely"
that in granting both state and federal
courts concurrent jurisdiction to enforce
the Act, that Congress intented that "the
Standard of educational opportunity to
be applied would depend on the forum."
Geis, 774 F. 2d at 581. Comparing its
case to Honig, the Third Circuit found
that incorporation by reference even
more clearly applies to the state's own
standards for educational opportunity

than it does to the sort of school safety

40

issues addressed in Honig, Id. The Court
then affirms the District Court decision
which held that although the proposed IEP
met the minimum federal standards, it
failed to meet with New Jersey “best
achieve success” standard for the
Plaintiff. Id. 581-84.

Those Courts of Appeal which have
considered the issue all agree with the
Gecision below. There is no split in
the Circuits which would justify further
review by this Court.

Ce The decision below follows
Massachusetts court decisions.

As the decision below noted, the
district court's use of the “maximum
possible development" standard comes
from a recent decision of the Massachu-

setts Supreme Judicial Court. David D.,

775 F. 2d at 423 citing Stock v. Massa-

chusetts Hospital School, 392 Mass. 205,

41

21L. 47 NE. 2d 448, 453 (1984). (The
law of this Commonwealth “mandates that
the department administer special
education programs so as to assure
maximum possible development of a child
with special needs.")? The District
Court, 615 F. Supp. at 645, App. 88-90
and the First Circuit in its earlier

Burlington decision, 736 F. 2d at 789,

also referred to an earlier decision of
the state's intermediate appellate court,

Isgur v. School Committee of Newton, 9

Mass. App. Ct. 290, 400 N.E. 2d 1292
(1980) (State law requires special

education services to provide maximum

7As the petitioner's note, they do
not attempt to have this Court construe
State law, Petition, 24 n. 10. However,
petitioners continue to suggest that the
First Circuit misunderstood state law.
As this discussion shows, the Court
below simply applies Massachusetts state
court decisions.

42

feasible benefit in the least restrictive
environment. ) Furthermore, the District
Court reinforced its review of state
court decisions by a comprehensive survey
of the state special education statute
itself, where variations on “maximum
feasible benefit" or “maximum potential
development" are used no less than five
times. David D., 615 F. Supp. at 644-5.
See G.L. c. 71B § 2, 33 c. 15 § 1M(19).
The courts below used decisions of
the Massachusetts appellate courts,
reinforced by the clear language of the
State statute, to determine applicable
State law. There is no conflict which
would warrant a grant of certiorari by

this Court.

43

II. A GRANT OF THE PETITION IS NOT
JUSTIFIED BECAUSE THE DECISION BELOW
WILL HAVE LIMITED IMPACT.

Because of the enormous number
of litigants seeking review by this
Court, a principal consideration in
whether or not to grant discretionary
review is the magnitude of the impact of

the case on other litigants. See Stern

and Grossman, 284-5. The decision below

does not have the level of impact
necessary to warrant discretionary review
because (1) few states have a higher
Standard of educational opportunity, (2)
incorporation of the higher state
standard in those few states only affects
the limited number of cases which end up
in federal court and which would have
different results under the state rather

than federal standard, and (3) this case

44

would not have been decided differently
under the basic federal standard.

A. The decision below only affects
a few states.

Incorporation by reference of state
educational opportunity standards
arguably has no effect on the states
because the only result is that the same
law is used in state and federal court
for resolution of special education
appeals brought pursuant to 20 U.S.C.
§ 1415(e)(2). However, even assuming
defendants' claim that use of state law
in federal court does affect the states,
this effect will be quite limited, in
part because of the few states which have
a higher standard under state law.8

Counsel has discovered only ten states

8o0f course, the First Circuit's
decision is authoritative precedent only
in the First Circuit where only Massachu-
setts has a higher standard.

45

which seem to have higher educational
Opportunity standards under re state
Statutes.9 Of these, only New Jersey's
has been used by a federal court to
apply a higher standard of educational

Opportunity. Geis, supra.10 These state

9counsel has been able to identify
only six other states which may establish
a standard for educational opportunity
higher than the federal forum. Arkansas
(Ark. Stat. Ann. §80-2117), Iowa (Ia.
Code Ann §281.2), New Jersey (N.J. Stat.
Ann. §18A:46-19.1), Rhode Island (R.I.
G.L. §16-24-1), Tennessee (Tenn. Code
Ann. §49-2912). As we note below, the
Rhode Island statute has been interpreted
to require no more than the federal
minimum.

10petitioners imply that the Rhode
Island statute was used to impose a
greater obligation in Scituate Scnool
Committee v. Robert B., 620 F. Supp.
i224 (DBD. RE. 1963}. See Petition, 22
n.9. In fact, that Court explicitly
found that “Rhode Island does not impose
a higher standard than the federal
minimum," Id. at 1233 (emphasis
supplied). In Cothern v. Mallory, 565
F. Supp. 701 (W.D. Mo. 1983), the Court
did not have to apply the arguably
higher state standard, because it found
the IEP did not even meet federal

46

Statutes vary in how different they are
from the federal minimum, and all are
subject to revision by state legislatures
Or limiting construction by state

appellate courts. See David D., 775 F.

2d at 423 n.8 (State legislature or
highest appellate court are free to
revise applicable state law.) The
decision below therefore only has an
effect on the few states which have now, .
and in the future continue to have, state
Standards which require more than the
federal minimum set out in the EAHCA.

B. The decision below only affects
the limited number of cases
which are heard in federal
court and which would have

different results depending on
the choice of law.

Even in the states with an arguably

higher standard, incornroration of that

minimum requirements. Id. at 708.

47

Standard into the federal Act will only
affect th2 limited number of cases which
both are in federal court and have
results which rely upon the higher state
Standard. Since, the federal Act
provides alternative forums, 20 U.S.C.
§ 1415(e)(2) many appeals of special
education administrative decisions are
brought in state court.ll Incorporation
of the state standard into the federal
Act would be irrelevant in these cases
Since the state courts will obviously
apply their own state law directly,

without regard to whether it is also

4

lltt is counsel's experience that
because many attorneys feel more comfort-
able with state court practice and even
more wish to avoid the complex federal
Jurisdictional issues, such as those
raised in this case, most attorneys for
parents or school officials would prefer
to file in state court, all other
considerations being equal.

48

included in the federal law. See, @.g.,

Isgur, supra.

Of the few cases that still end up
in federal court, a substantial pro-
portion will be ones in which either the
IEP proposed by school officials was so
inadequate that it does not even meet
the federal minimum requirements, or the
Proposed IEP is of such clear merit that
it meets both state and federal
Standards. In the first instance the
Parents would win, under either federal
Or state incorporated standard. In the
second instance, the school would win,
whichever standard was applied. The
decision of the First Circuit below has
an impact only on those few cases in
between, where the court's decision
depends upon whether it uses the federal

minimum standard or the somewhat higher

49

State standard. Apparently, Geis is an
example of a case in which the result
depended upon the distinction. Geis,

774 =F. 24 at $81. In Cothern, the

distinction did not affect the result,
Since the Court found the IEP met both
State and federal standards. 565 F.
Supp. at 708. Indeed, while not explicit
in the decisions below, the result of the
case at bar would not have changed under
an application of federal minimum

requirements. See discussion infra.

Ca The decision below would not
have been decided differently
under the federal minimum
Standard.

Petitioners erroneously imply that
the decision below found that the
special education services provided by
the local school committee met the
minimum federal requirements established

by the EAHCA. See Petition 7-8. In

50

fact, there is no such finding, and an
examination of the record and the
decisions below show that the proposed
IEP would have been found inadequate even
without use of the higher state standard.

Before even addressing the District
Court's use of the state law standard,
the Court of Appeals found that the
“overwhelming” evidence showed that a
change in David's IEP was warranted.

David D., 775 F. 2d at 423. The Court

reviewed with approval the District
Court's findings that while David may be
making progress in some areas, his
serious problems in the behavioral area
continued unabated and in fact had
worsened over the preceding two years.
Id. Only then does the Court of Appeals

turn to and approve the use of the

51

higher state standard by the District
Court. Id.

Like the First Circuit, the District
makes no explicit finding of whether
Dartmouth's proposed IEP meets the
federal minimum standard,1l2 but the
analysis makes it clear that the IEP
would not have passed muster even under
the less demanding measure. For example,
after accepting the state neories
officer's findings on some preliminary
issues, the District Court rejects the
administrative findings “that plaintiff
was achieving effective educational

progress," holding instead that the

l2presumably both courts considered
it unnecessary to make explicit findings
regarding the application of the federal
minimum requirements, since application
of the state standard allowed plaintiff
the relief be sought. Addressing the
other issue was therefore unnecessary,
and courts generally avoid questions not
required to resolve a case.

52

proposed IEP did not provide for the
type of consistency required to teach
David fundamental social skills.
David D., 615 F. Supp. at 646-7. Nowhere
does the District Court suggest that the
proposed IEP, while falling short of the
higher state standard, might have been
sufficient to meet the federal minimum.
Because of the overwhelming weight
of the evidence recognized by both the
District Court and the Court of Appeals,
the results below would have been nc
different even if the courts had not
incorporated and applied the higher
State standard. Therefore reversal of
the First Circuit by this Court on the
issue of incorporation by reference
would not effect the ultimate result.
Under these circumstances, discretionary

review by this Court is not warranted.

53

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the
Petition for Certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

RESPONDENT, DAVID D.

By his attorneys

Developmental Disabilities
Law Center, Inc.

ll Beacon Street, Suite 925

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 723-8455

Counsel of Record

Dated: April 2, 1986

54

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1551%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
