# Opposition Brief — Gilmere v. City of Atlanta

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1451%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 476 U.S. 1115

## Text

NO. 85-1335 9) | FILED

IN THE

APR ¥ 1008
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR

Supreme Court of the Unitet-States

October Term, 1985

EMMA F. GILMERE, Individually and as Administratrix
of the Estate of Thomas E. Patillo and for the benefit of his
next of kin,

Petitioner

V.

CITY OF ATLANTA, GEORGIA, R. C. SAMPSON, LEE
P. BROWN, MAYNARD JACKSON and GEORGE
NAPPER,

Cross-Respondents

ON CROSS-PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

CROSS-RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MARVA JONES BROOKS
City Attorney of Atlanta, Georgia

By: Mary CAROLE COONEY *
Assistant City Attorney
GEORGE R. FERENCE
Associate City Attorney
1100 South Omni International
Atlanta, GA 30335
(404) 658-1150
Attorneys for Cross-Respondents

* Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..cccccsccccccccscccccce Ld
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..-.-cccccccsccvcccees 2
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD
BE DEBIED acccccescccccccsccceseccvsccecces 3

1. The issues presented by the question,
whether the court below failed even to
consider if an established policy of
municipal liability resulted in decedent's
death, are already before this Court in
QMOCHEF CABS cccccscceccccvecceccvesvsecsses 3

2. Facts unique to this case make
inappropriate a review of the question
whether the principle of gross negligence
and deliberate indifference was properly
APPLLOd wccccccccccsccccescccsccsecccccssese §

3. The question presented whether

the courts below correctly construed

and applied theories of supervisory
liability involves only questions of
evidence under acknowledged rules of

law, and raises no substantial federal
GUCSCIONS oc ccccccccccccccccccccscccceses 8

4. The question presented whether damages
for the wrongful death of decedent were
erroneously withheld raises no substantial
federal question ...ccccccccccccccces cove Be

CONCLUSION Se os Bo eS ee 8 eo ee eS! Se ee oe oe oe Oe Oe oe SS Fe ee 16

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Brazier v. Cherry, 293 F.2d 401
(5th Cir., 1961), cert. denied
rr rr ee ace beccccees 14

Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 98
s.Cct. l DET siteppvaesseosces LA, £3

City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle,
U.S. , 105 Betsee 2427
reh. denied, 106 S.Ct. 16 (1985) .... 5, 6

City of Springfield v. Kibbe, Petition
for Writ of Certiorari to First
Circuit Court of Appeals, No.
ER TS Se ee ee ee 5, 7

Espinoza v. O'Dell, 633 P.2d 455
(Colo. 1981) ..... Eee rere TEEEETeTe 13

Jones v. Hildebrant, 191 Colo. l,
550 P.2d 339, cert. dismissed,
eee Lee ae. ce eke eceecenecscs Bae 13

Languirand v. Hayden, 721 F.2d 819
(5th Cir. 1983) cert. den.
sub. nom. Languirand v. City of
Pass Christian, U.S. a

ie Mr CCUG DS . occ ec ccecccres 7

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362, 96
S.Ct. 598 (1976) :..... eas ae ewe het ie)

Robertson v. Wegmann, 436 U.S. 584,
98 S.Ct. 1991 (1978) ..cccccccvcees 12, 13

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S.
er Me oats Ge CESEO) sce recceces 4, 10

No. 85-1335

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1985

EMMA F. GILMERE, individually

and as Administratrix of the

Estate of Thomas E. Patillo

and for the benefit of his

SES GE Gel ehh ee SEARO Os Oe ee OES Petitioner

Vv.

CITY OF ATLANTA, GEORGIA,

R. C. SAMPSON, LEE P. BROWN,

MAYNARD JACKSON and

GEORGE NAPPER ..-.cccccccccccs Cross-Respondents

ON CROSS-PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

CROSS-RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The cross-respondents City of Atlanta,
Georgia, R. C. Sampson, Lee P. Brown, Maynard
Jackson and George Napper respectfully request
that this Court deny the cross-petition for

writ of certiorari, seeking review of the

Eleventh Circuit's opinion in this case. That
opinion is reported at 774 F.2d 1495 (1985),
and is set out in the appendix to the petition

filed in this case sub nom. R. C. Sampson v.

Emma F. Gilmere, No. 85-1186, January 10, 1986.

All references to that cpinion, the trial
court's orders, and the opinion of the three-
judge panel, are made to the appendices to the
original-petition and designated as "(Pet.

a).*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the interests of economy, cross-respon-
dents will not make specific revisions or
corrections to cross-petitioner's statement of
facts, except to note that many of the state-
ments made therein are comments on, or infer-
ences from, the testimony and exhibits present-
ed at trial, and are not reflected in the
factual findings of the opinions below.

Cross-respondent R. C. Sampson's statement of

the case, set out on pages 3-ll of the petition

of R. C. Sampson v. Emma F. Gilmere, No. 85-

1186, is adopted by all cross-respondents and

incorporated herein by reference.

REASONS WHY THE PETITION
SHOULD BE DENIED

l. The issues presented by the ques-

tion, whether the court below failed

even to consider if an established

policy of municipal liability result-

ed in decedent's death, are already

before this Court in another case.

In what might be characterized as a
recapitulation of her argument to the court
below, the cross-petitioner asserts that the
record supports the existence of a number of
established municipal policies which suffi-
ciently provide a basis for holding the City of
Atlanta liable in this case. Neither the trial
court nor the Eleventh Circuit concluded that
such established municipal "policies" were

supported by the evidence. Instead the cross-

petitioner's evidence was succinctly evaluated

by the Eleventh Circuit as follows:
At most she established that the City
failed to train one single policeman
properly in the appropriate methods
of avoiding the use of deadly force.
(Pet. 195a-196a). This Court would be com-
pelled to undertake a substantive review of the
record, which neither the trial court nor the
Eleventh Circuit found necessary, if it were to
grant certiorari to examine all possible
theories pursuant to which municipal liability
might be established. This Court has stated
its policy not to engage in such an undertak-

ing. See, United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S.

220, 227, 45 S.Ct. 496, 497 (1925).

To the extent that cross-petitioner's
question challenges the Eleventh Circuit's
analysis of whether the municipality could be
found liable for inadequate training of a given
police officer, or for a single instance of

excessive force used by that officer, such

issues are already presented to this Court and
awaiting review. On March 10, 1986, the Court
granted review in the case of City of

Springfield v. Kibbe, No. 85-1217, on the ques-

tions of whether and how inadequate training of
police officers can result in municipal liabil-
ity under section 1983, and how the single

incident rule of City of Oklahoma City v.

Tuttle, 0.8. » 205 B.C. 2427 « reh.

denied, 106 S.Ct. 16 (1985), is to be inter-
preted. As will be shown below in Part 2 of
this responsive brief, the facts of this case
do not warrant a similar grant of review.
2. Facts unique to this case make
inappropriate a review of the ques-
tion whether the principle of gross
negligence and deliberate indiffer-
ence was properly applied.
In its review of the record of this case, the
court below noted that this Court has left open

the question of the use of the gross negligence

Standard for determining municipal liability

(Pet. 194a n.9, citing Tuttle, supra, 105 S.Ct.

at 2436 n.7). Other circuits have explored the
use of a standard of municipal indifference to
unconstitutional activity as a basis of liabil-
ity (Pet. 194a-195a n.7). The facts of this
case, however, do not sufficiently raise the
issue of the applicability of these standards,
and for this reason certiorari should be
denied.

The facts, as concurred in by the trial
court and the Eleventh Circuit, were that the
police officer in question received the stan-
dard six weeks’ training when he joined the
force, served five years, left his job for less
than a year, and then was rehired with less
than one day of re-training and none of the
psychological testing administered to recruits
at that time (Pet. 192a n.6, 117a n.24).
Although the trial court found the municipality
liable, it also specifically found that it
discerned no municipal custom or policy of

failing to train police officers, only that the

municipality “certainly failed to retrain
Sampson upon his return to the Department"

(Pet. 55a). The Eleventh Circuit characterized
the officer's failure to receive further train-
ing upon being rehired as "an anomaly resulting
from his prior service on the police force"
(Pet. 198a). This Court has declined to review
a similar set of circumstances in which a
Single officer missed training administered

department-wide. See, Languirand v. Hayden,

721 F.2d 819 (5th Cir., 1983), cert. denied sub

nom. Languirand v. City of Pass Christian,

U.S. __, 104 S.Ct. 2656 (1984).

The issues raised by this question,
whether the failure to train particular offi-
cers constitutes gross negligence, and whether
the policy of inadequate training can be
inferred from one or more officers' conduct
during a single incident, are awaiting review

by this Court in City of Springfield v. Kibbe,

supra. The facts of this case, aptly described

as anomalous, will add nothing to that review.

EE a

They do not approach any judicially accepted
standard of municipal liability, and make the
grant of certiorari inappropriate as to this
question.

3. The question presented whether

the courts below correctly construed

and applied theories of supervisory

liability involves only questions of

evidence applied under acknowledged

rules of law, and raises no substan-

tial federal questions.
The issues raised by this question turn on the
particular facts of this case only, and whether
those facts meet the standards established by
this Court for proving the liability of super-
visory officials pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section
1983. This issue has been resolved three times
in favor of cross-respondents (Pet. 42a-45b,
149a-155a, 198a-199a), each time because it was
found that the record failed to demonstrate an

“affirmative link" between the tortious miscon-

duct alleged and the adoption of a plan or

policy by the supervisors - express or other-
wise - showing their authorization or approval

of such misconduct. See, Rizzo v. Goode, 423

U.S. 362, 371, 96 S.Ct. 598, 604 (1976). The
cross-petitioner does not quarrel directly with
this standard, but instead asserts that cross-
respondents Jackson, Brown and Napper are
liable because “they failed in their statutory
duty to properly train and supervise the offi-
cers" (Cross-pet. 53). No evidence to support
this assertion has been offered, however. In
fact, the trial court. emphasized the lack of
probative evidence on this issue.

Plaintiff concedes that she named

Jackson as a Defendant merely because

he appointed Brown and Napper.

Plaintiff's Proposed Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law at 9. Plain-

tiff presented no evidence regarding

any further connection of Jackson to

the events at issue here.

7” * *

10

Plaintiff presented no evidence of
any direct participation by Brown
and Napper in the shooting of Patillo
The “affirmative link" between
Patillo's death and the actions of
Brown and Napper must therefore con-
cern their failure to implement an
adequate training program. However,
Plaintiff presented no evidence that
Brown and Napper had any connection
with the selection and training of
Atlanta police officers, other than
their “mere right to control" such
activities.
(Pet. 42a-44a). No assistance has been
given to the Court pointing out testimony
Or other evidence which would show the
trial court's findings set out above to be
Clearly erroneous. This Court has ruled
that certiorari will not be granted to
review evidence and discuss specific facts.

United States v. Johnston, supra. Because

consideration of this question will compel the

review of the entire record merely to resolve,
in the face of three judicial findings to the
contrary, whether certain acknowledged legal
standards were met, certiorari should be
denied.

4. The question presented whether

damages for the wrongful death of

decedent were erroneously withheld
raises no substantial federal ques-
tion.

The cross-petitioner argues that the
courts below erred in the amount of damages
awarded for two reasons: first, because
Section 1983 itself requires the adoption of
state tort law which would have awarded the
full value of decedent's life to his estate;
and second, because a pendent state law claim
for wrongful death was not recognized or com-
pensated.

In its consideration of the issue of

damages, the trial court noted that the dece-

dent left neither widow nor children (Pet.
59a), and that he was not contributing to the
support of any of his adult siblings at the
time of his death (Pet. 63a). Relying on this

Court's holding, in Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S.

247, 254, 98 S.Ct. 1042, 1047 (1978), that "the
compensation principle" should determine the
measure of damages under Section 1983 (Pet.
8la-82a), the trial court found that an award
of the full value of the decedent's life would
have over-compensated his siblings for their
financial loss (Pet. 82a), and instead confined
its award to an amount in compensation for the
civil rights violations suffered by the dece-
dent (Ibidem), and punitive damages.

To support her argument that Section 1983
itself compels the award of the full value of
the decedent's life, cross-petitioner cites

Carey v. Piphus, supra, Robertson v. Wegmann,

436 U.S. 584, 98 S.Ct. 1991 (1978), and Jones

v. Hildebrant, 191 Colo. 1, 550 P.2d 339, cert.

dismissed, 432 U.S. 183, overruled by

;
i
:

13

Espinoza v. O'Dell, 633 P.2d 455 (1981). None

of these decisions establishes a principle
which demonstrates that the pertinent rulings
of the courts below are in error. Carey, as
was ably pointed out by the trial court (Pet.
80a), does not require the incorporation of
state torts damages rules in the making of
awards in Section 1983 cases. 435 U.S. at 258,

98 S.Ct. at 1049. The ruling in Robertson was

confined to the issue whether a civil rights
action was abated by the plaintiff's death.
436 U.S. at 585, 98 S.Ct. at 1992. The

Hildebrant petition for certiorari was simply

dismissed as improvidently granted, and the
Colorado Supreme Court subsequently overruled
its prior decision to the extent it implied
that state wrongful death limitations must be
applied to a Section 1983 claim where the
children of the decedent allege a separate
deprivation of their liberty interest ina
continuing relationship with their father.

See, Espinoza, supra.

)
|

14

There is, in short, no binding precedent
of this Court determinative of this issue.
There is also no good reason why such precedent
should be established through this action. As
cross-petitioner has noted, the trial court's
ruling was given cursory approval by the three
judge panel (Pet. 98a n.8), and no discussion
at all by the en banc panel. There is no con-
flict among the circuit courts of appeal.}
Consideration of this issue before it is
thoroughly delineated by the Eleventh and other
circuits would be premature action by this
Court.

The cross-petitioner's second assignment
of error is the trial court's failure to recog-
nize and compensate a pendent state law claim
of wrongful death. This ruling did not result

from an erroneous interpretation of civil

1, In the decision cited by cross-petitioner,
Brazier v. Cherry, 293 F.2d 401, cert. denied,
368 U.S. 921 (1961), the Fifth Circuit held
only that in Georgia a decedent's claim for
damages sustained during his lifetime survived
his death, and that this rule would be applied
to Section 1983 actions.

15

rights law, however, but from the trial court's
careful review of the cross-petitioner's plead-
ings and determination that no cause of action
for wrongful death had been pleaded (Pet. 83a-
88a). No substantial federal question is
raised thereby. It is undoubtedly unique to
the facts of this case and unlikely to recur.
Both the initial three-judge panel, and the en
banc panel found it to be of insufficient sub-
stance to merit any discussion at all.

This is simply an issue of faulty plead-
ing, and an award carefully drawn so as to
prevent a windfall to heirs who had not
suffered a substantial economic loss.? No
substantial federal question has been raised or
given such thorough consideration by the
Eleventh or any other Court of Appeals as to
warrant the grant of certiorari to address the

question presented.

2. This consideration did not, of course,
prevent the trial court from awarding punitive
damages (Pet. 68a).

16

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

City of Atlanta, Georgia,

R. C. Sampson, Lee P. Brown,
Maynard Jackson and George
Napper, Cross-Respondents

Marva Jones Brooks
City Attorney of
Atlanta, Georgia

By: Mary Carole Cooney*
Assistant City Attorney

George R. Ference

Associate City Attorney

1100 South Omni International
Atianta, Georgia 30335

(404) 658-1150

Attorneys for Cross-Respondents

*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1451%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
