# Opposition Brief — Rosenthal & Rosenthal Inc. v. New York State Urban Development Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1295%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1018

## Text

-~

G5 - 1 i 3 & Supreme Court, U.S,
SS bt YD
IN THE ns a wee
Supreme Court of the United Sf F. SPANIOL, die
CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

er fo

>>

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Petitioners,
—_—_VvV.—

THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redeveiopment Corporation; THE CITY OF NEW
YORK; EDWARD I. KOCH, as Mayor of the City of New
York; PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION; and GEORGE
E. KLEIN,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

NORMAN DORSEN
Counsel of Record for Petitioners
Rosenthal & Rosenthal Inc.
and Broadway 41st Street
Realty Corporation
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012
(212) 598-2555
Of Counsel:
JACOB FRIEDLANDER
JOHN S. KINZEY
LEBOEUF, LAMB, LEIBY & MACRAE
520 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022
(212) 715-8000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In the wake of this Court’s decision in Hawaii Housing
Authority v. Midkiff, U.S. ____, 104 S.Ct. 2321 (1984),
commentators have concluded that the Court has effectively
precluded judicial review of whether a iocal government’s
decision to condemn private property is constitutional. Consis-
tent with this analysis, the lower courts in this case dismissed,
for failure to state a claim, a complaint that alleged that
petitioners’ building was being condemned not for a public
purpose, but arbitrarily and capriciously for the private benefit
of a politically influential real estate developer. The issues
raised by this dismissal are the following:

1. Are the lower courts and commentators correct that
Midkiff precludes effective judicial review of condemnation
decisions, or is their analysis inconsistent with Midkiff itself,
which expressiy states that there is a role, albeit limited and
deferential, for the courts to play in determining whether
takings are constitutional?

2. Assuming the Court decides that there remains a roie for
judicial review in condemnation cases, what standards should
the courts apply in distinguishing condemnations that are
lawful from those that are not?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

In addition to the parities named in the caption, Mario
Cuomo, as Governor of the State of New York, was a party to
the action in the district court. Petitioners agreed to dismiss
Governor Cuomo from the appeal.

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 28.1

The parent company of petitioner Rosenthal & Rosenthal
Inc. is Rosenthal, Inc., which is privately held. Petitioner
Broadway 4lst Street Realty Corperation has no parent corpo-
ration but is held by a non-public trust for the benefit of the
Rosenthal family.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

a eg) 9 9 2

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .................

eg OE ot a
ee Pr ar
ae

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI
BECAUSE THE TOWER COURT'S DECISION,
WHICH EFFECTIVELY PRECLUDES ANY
JUDICIAL REVIEW OF THE CONSTITU-
TIONALITY OF TAKINGS, IS INCONSISTENT

WITH THIS COURT’S HOLDING IN MIDKIFF

THAT THE COURTS HAVE A ROLE TO PLAY
IN DETERMINING WHETHER A TAKING IS
og gee

PAGE

iv

PAGE
A. The Lower Courts’ Dismissal! Of Petitioners’
Allegations That Their Building Is Being
Taken For Private Purposes Is Inconsistent
With Midkiff’s Reaffirmation Of The “Public
Use” Requirement .........ncccecccscceess 10
B. The Lower Courts’ Dismissal Of Petitioners’
Complaint Is Inconsistent With Federal Cases
Holding That Property Cannot Be Taken Ar
bitrarily And Capriciously ..............--- 1]
C. The Lower Courts Erroneously Decided The
Important Federal Issue Of Whether The
Power Of Eminent Domain May Be Used As
A Substitute For Taxation ................. 14
ee oft). + | Peers Tey rere yee eee 15
Pl: a Se rE ere ry er a er Te la
PDP, Ok vn co ck odncertauctadsnauarcaseenns 6a
APPENDIX C...... p etalaa ee kk AM ak che we be eee 8a
EE, OD oc vic coc auc avatecstancdsetdackaeaas 10a
RE, OE gc cc ksnkasncbiaadenecheboudeaasees 24a

cy. | | a PrrrerreTTerrr Tr Ter rer he ter sc 25a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Baycol, Inc. v. Downtown Development Authority, 315

— £ 8 | Ree etre Terr rrr aren 10
Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26 (1954). ...............5n, 9n

Ceurtesy Sandwich Shop v. Port of New York Author-
ity, 12 N.Y.2d 379, 190 N.E.2d 402, 240 N.Y.S.2d 1,
app. dis’d, 375 U.S. 78 reh’g denied, 375 U.S. 960

i Se rey eye e ere ee eri 14, 15, 15n
Denihan Enterprises, Inc. v. O’Dwyer, 302 N.Y. 451, 99

EE Gk whe K GR RKRAKE ORD SERS SS RENE 10
Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, U.S :

See as Se CE 4s wens Raden bawadaddaeees passim

Hilliard v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 308 F.
Supp. 756 (W.D. Pa. 1970), aff’d, 438 F.2d 92 (3d Cir.

FORTS ei CRS kids bbb Cae ek b45Ae SCE ee 12
Madisonville Traction Co. vy. St. Bernard Mining Co..,

Se Ca ee ane bk kia eder bau tabaenneelasee 10n
Missouri Pacific Railroad Co. v. Nebraska, 164 U.S. 403

COME dA bRabhen ess vax eews Pel vekes bee 10n
Old Dominion Land Co. v. United States, 269 U.S. 55

GRWEEE avndsknecke4vduciksk caer Sn

Petition of Seattle, 96 Wash.2d 616, 638 P.2d 549 (1981) 10

Thompson v. Consolidated Gas Utilities Corp., 300 U.S.
Se GUT I ace vk sand ceaunckacseiseeeer ee 10n

United States v. Carmack, 329 U.S. 230 (1946), reh’eg
aubled, 529 U.S. TOO CIE i vc c vnc diectsasw 11, 12n

vi

PAGE

United States v. Certain Land in the Borough of
Manhattan, 233 F. Supp. 899 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 336
ow eg te Ce eer er reee ee ee 12

United States v. State of New York, 160 F.2d 479 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 331 U.S. 832, reh’g denied, 331

tk ® 1), PPNOPVETeTTT ToL ytr ets vier er 12n
United States v. 0.08 Acres of Land, 246 F. Supp. 408
ce SU BUNES x 5.au vkx canbe 0600eebeeesueekeut 12
United States v. 2.9 Acres of Land, 554 F. Supp. 529 (D.
Ey, SUA Gu ab RR KN AA LS O4G60 hb RR EN AR EAE RO BRAS 12
United States v. 58.16 Acres of Land, 478 F.2d 1055 (7th
8 PVETET TEST Te eT eee er 1]
United States v. 101.88 Acres of Land, Etc., 616 F.2d
Fee a Re EE 00-00 6444-200 cd ekhe ee ceeheeks 11
United States v. 1,108 Acres of Land, 25 F.R.D. 205
fF 8 ee ATT Trier er ee ee ee 12
CONSTITUTION
Spee Gees MONE, Wen cca knatanesaskkeakekabenune 2,8
STATUTES
Judicial Code
A A foe | Re rot 2
ee Re ten BP ER Aa 4 iw 50556000 Asean keeeee 6

OTHER AUTHORITIES
2A Nichols on Eminent Domain § 7.08 (3d ed. 1981) .. 10

Note, Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff: A Final
Requiem for the Public Use Limitation on Eminent
Domain?, 60 Notre Dame L. Rev. 388 (1985) ....... 8

Vil
PAGE

Note, Eminent Domain—The Pubiic Use Clause and

Judicial Review, 1985 Ariz. St. L.J. 237. ........... 7
Note, Public Use, Private Use, and Judicial Review In
Eminent Domain, 58 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 409 (1983). ....... 12n

Note, The Public Use Limitation on Eminent Domain
After Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff: Does /t
Still Exist?, 12 N.Ky.L. Rev. 65 (1985) ............. S

The Federalist No. 78 (A. Hamilton) (The New Ameri-
can Library ed. 1961)

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1985
No.

~~

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Petitioners,

—_Vo—

THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPORA
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA.
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redevelopment Corporation; THE CITY OF NEW
YORK; EDWARD I. KOCH, as Mayor of the City of New
York; PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION; and GEORGE
E. KLEIN,

Respondents.

>

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

Rosenthal & Rosenthal Inc. (“Rosenthal”) and Broadway
4ist Street Realty Corporation petition fur a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Appendix A, infra,
la-Sa) is reported at 771 F.2d 44. The opinion of the district
court (Appendix D, infra, 10a-23a) is reported at 605 F. Supp.
612.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Appendix B, infra,
6a-7a) was entered on August 26, 1985. A timely petition for
rehearing and suggestion of rehearing en banc was denied
October 8, 1985. (Appendix C, infra, 8a-9a). The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

U.S. CONST. AMEND. V

“. . nor shall private property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Underlying Facts’

The constitutional issues in this case arise in the context of a
proposed multibillion dollar urban redevelopment project,

l The following recitation of facts is drawn both from the Complaint
and, because petitioners were denied discovery prior to the hearing on
respondents’ motions to dismiss, from documents submitted to the
district court as exhibits to petitioners’ memorandum of law in opposi-
tion to the motions to dismiss. At oral argument, petitioners offered to
amend their Complaint to incorporate the supplementary information
set forth in their memorandum as facts they would hope to prove after
discovery and trial. The district court’s opinion treated these supple-
mentary allegations as part of petitioners’ Complaint.

3

known as the 42nd Street Development Project (“the Project”)
that has been jointly planned by respondents New York State
Urban Development Corporation (“UDC”) and the City of
New York (“City”). If consummated, the Project would level
existing buildings in the historic Times Square area and replace
them with a new merchandise mart, a high-rise hotel, and four
new office towers ranging in height from 29 to 56 stories.
Respondent Park Tower Realty Corporation (“Park Tower”),
of which respondent Geo:g« E. Klein is the president and
principal stockholder, has beca chosen by the UDC and City to
build the new office towers. To make way for one of these new
buildings, petitioners’ building (hereinafter the “Rosenthal
Building”) will be condemned and demolished, notwithstand-
ing the fact that the Rosenthal Building, which is not located
on the single block of West 42nd Street that the respondents
claim is “blighted,” is structurally sound, fully occupied, at-
tractively furnished, and not substandard in any respect.

The ostensible goals of the respondents’ Project are “to
eliminate blight on 42nd Street between Broadway and Eighth
Avenue, to revitalize this vital cross-road and integrate it into
the theatrical, cultural and commercial life of the City.” Com-
plaint, ¢ 16 (28a). Petitioners have alleged a radically different
view of the Project’s intended purpose and effect.

Petitioners’ Complaint alleges that “[t]he planned taking of
the Rosenthal Building is neither for a public purpose, nor
rationally related to a public purpose, as required by the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United
States.” Complaint, § 20 (29a). Specifically, the Complaint
alleges that if the Project is implemented, the present site of
the Rosenthal Building will not be used for a public or
governmental purpose, but will instead continue to be used as
the site of a private office building that will be financed,
constructed, managed and operated by Park Tower. This office
building will be nothing more than a typical commercial
enterprise, with Park Tower selecting the tenants, collecting the

4

rents, and paying operating expenses. Complaint, 44 21, 22
(29a-30a).

The Complaint further alleges that the proposed taking of
the unblighted and structurally sound Rosenthal Building is
not “rationally related” to the Project’s stated goal of
eliminating blight several blocks away on 42nd Street. Com-
plaint, ¢ 23 (30a). The site occupied by the Rosenthal Building
is not needed to achieve the Project’s goals. The only conceiv-
able connection between the proposed condemnation and the
Project is financial, in that Park Tower has agreed to share a
portion of its income from its new office buildings with the
City and UDC to subsidize theater renovations and subway
entrance improvements in the area of the Project. The Com-
plaint alleges that, as a matter of law, this use of the eminent
domain power as an indirect means of raising revenue for the
government, rather than to obtain real property necessary for a
public purpose, is not a valid Taking. Complaint, § 24 (30a).

The Complaint further alleges that the selection of the site of
the Rosenthal Building, rather than some other site, as the
location of one of the new office towers was not rational, but
was instead “completely arbitrary and capricious.” Complaint,
¢ 25 (30a). While attempting to condemn petitioners’ sound,
economically viable building on an unblighted block at the
edge of the Project, the respondents have excluded from the
Project, and chosen not to condemn, replace, or rehabilitate, a
large, rundown office building, the Candler Building, which is
located within the Project’s boundaries in the middle of the
42nd Street block that the respondents claim is blighted. The
only apparent reason for not condemning the dilapidated,
largely vacant Candler Building in connection with the Project
is political favoritism; at the time the Project was conceived,
the Candler Building was owned by a partnership including
Michael J. Lazar, a former Taxi and Limousine Commissioner
of the City of New York.’

2 Since the district court entered its judgment herein, Mr. Lazar sold
the Candler Building by deed dated January 4, 1985, for $14.75

Further evidence that the Project is structured for the benefit
of politically influential private developers, rather than for a
public purpose, is provided by the extraordinary lengths to
which officials of the State and City went to assure that
respondent George Klein, a substantial contributor to the
political campaigns of defendant Mayor Edward Koch, ob-
tained what they felt was his fair share of the Project’s
bounty.’

This intense political maneuvering is understandable in view
of the profits the Project will generate for those developers
fortunate enough, or politically well-connected enough, to
participate in it. The value of the tax abatements and other
incentives given to Park Tower has been estimated to be at least
$650 million. In return, Park Tower is asked only to make a
comparatively insignificant contribution of approximately $35
million to assist with theater restoration and subway entrance
improvements.

In sum, petitioners alleged that respondents’ talk of
“eliminating blight on 42nd Street” is a smokescreen.* The

million, which is $13.45 million more than he paid for it in 1980. Mr.
Lazar will reap further benefits from this Project because he has also
been designated by the UDC and City to participate in the renovation
of a number of 42nd Street theaters, notwithstanding his lack of
experience in the theater industry.

3 In August, 1983, the City of New York announced that it would
withdraw from the Project and redevelop the Project area itself,
because the UDC had rejected the City’s choice of respondents Park
Tower and Klein to develop a merchandise mart to be included in the
Project. The Project was salvaged only after an extraordinary “sum-
mit” meeting between respondent Koch and Governor Cuomo.

4 The atmosphere of “blight” which respondents claim to have found
on West 42nd Street has little to do with the state of repair of the
buildings found on that block; rather, respondents’ claim that the
block is blighted is based primarily on the nature of the activities
carried on in the street around those buildings, i.e., prostitution,
pornography, drug sales and street crime. However, respondents have
recognized that the Project will not eliminate the unsavory activities
that cecur on 42nd Street, which are the result of inadequate police
enforcement rather than physical conditions. The Project will simply

Project is, in truth, a private real estate development for the
benefit of politically influential individuals.

B. The Proceedings Below

Petitioners filed their Complaint, (Appendix F, infra, 2Sa-
32a), in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York on October 9, 1984. The complaint
sought to enjoin respondents from commencing condemnation
proceedings and from otherwise seeking to take petitioners’
property involuntarily in connection with the Project. Jurisdic-
tion was founded on 28 U.S.C. § 1331. All respondents made
motions to dismiss. On January 8, 1985, the district court
(Motley, Ch. J.) issued its Opinion granting these motions, and
dismissed the Complaint for failure to state a claim upon
which relief can be granted. (10a-23a).

Despite the absence of an evidentiary record, the district
court concluded that the Project itself and the taking of
petitioners’ property served a “substantial, legitimate public
purpose.” (19a). In reaching this conclusion, the court
accepted respondents’ assertions of public purpose and failed
to address, deeming them legally irrelevant, petitioners’ allega-
tions that the Project and the taking of the Rosenthal Building
were arbitrary and capricious. Similarly, the court summarily
dismissed petitioners’ allegations that the Rosenthal Building
will be taken only to subsidize certain public improvements
connected with the Project. The court’s failure to subject the
proposed taking to even a modicum of judicial review was
evidenced by its statement that “[e]ven if this court were to
conclude that this Project is a mammoth boondoggle, socially
and architecturally ill-advised, it would still be a question for
the political process, not a federal court.” (18a-19a).

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit affirmed the judgment of the district court in a

drive those activities into other areas of New York City, including the
streets of adjacent areas in northern Times Square where similar
activities have already taken root.

7

per curiam opinion dated August 26, 1985. (la-Sa). The court
of appeals, like the district court, assumed the validity of the
Project’s public purpose and did not offer reasons for holding
that petitioners’ allegations failed to state a claim that their
property was being taken unconstitutionally.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THE COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI BE-
CAUSE THE LOWER COURT’S DECISION, WHICH
EFFECTIVELY PRECLUDES ANY JUDICIAL REVIEW
OF THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF TAKINGS, IS _ IN-
CONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S HOLDING IN
MIDKIFF THAT THE COURTS HAVE A ROLE TO
PLAY IN DETERMINING WHETHER A TAKING IS
FOR A PUBLIC USE.

In Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, —__. U.S. ___,
104 S.Ct. 2321 (1984), this Court reaffirmed both the breadth
of the eminent domain power and the deference that courts
should pay to a legislative determination that the power should
be exercised in a particular case. Of equal importance, the
Court also reaffirmed in Midkiff that “[t]here is, of course, a
role for courts to play in reviewing the legislature’s judgment
of what constitutes a public use, even when the eminent
domain power is equated with the police power.” 104 S.Ct. at
2329.

Despite this Court’s explicit reservation of some role for the
court in reviewing the constitutionality of takings, a number of
commentators have interpreted Midkiff as effectively barring
any judicial review whatsoever of public use determinations.
One author, expressing a view shared by others, has interred
the public use clause with stunning finality, writing that
Midkiff “suggest{s] that the public use requirement is now
constitutional surplusage. After Midkiff, there are no effective
limitations other than the requirement of just compensation.”
Note, Eminent Domain—The Public Use Clause and Judicial

Review, Ariz. St. L.J. 237, 237 (1985). See also Note, The
Public Use Limitation On Eminent Domain After Hawaii
Housing Authority v. Midkiff: Does It Still Exist?, 12 N.Ky.L.
Rev. 65, 85 (1985) (Midkiff “pushed the public use restriction
on eminent domain takings to its furthest point, if not to
complete extinction”); Note, Hawaii Housing Authority v.
Midkiff: A Final Requiem For The Public Use Limitation On
Eminent Domain?, 60 Notre Dame L. Rev. 388, 404 (1985)
(“To imply a power [of eminent domain] in government, to
give that power the broadest possible meaning, and then to
defer to the exercise of that power in the face of a specific
constitutional restriction, effectively nullifies the public use
limitation and disregards those individual rights which the fifth
amendment was designed to protect”)’.

Like these commentators, the district court below adopted
the view that Midkiff relegated all decisions relating to con-
demnation to the political arena. Referring to the “political
give and take in the legislative and executive branches,” (22a),

. The view that a public use determination is now unreviewable flows
in large part from the quotation in Midkiff of some of the more
restrictive dicta from earlier decisions of this Court. Those quotations,
however, must be read in the context of Midkiff’s continuing endorse-
ment of some remaining judicial role. For example, Midkiff drew
heavily on Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26 (1954). In Berman, the
Court declared that “[s]ubject to specific constitutional limitations,
when the legislature has spoken, the public interest has been declared
in terms well-nigh conclusive.” /d. at 32. This formulation is inconsis-
tent with the Court’s major premise that judicial review is available
because one of the constitutional limitations is whether the taking is
for a public use. If the legislature’s declaration on that issue were truly
“conclusive,” the court would be confined to the role of a rubber
stamp, and there would be no constitutional limit at all.

Similarly, Midkiff quotes with apparent approval Berman’s refer-
ence to Old Dominion Land Co. v. United States, 269 U.S. 55, 66
(1925), to the effect that “deference to the legislature’s ‘public use’
determination is required ‘until it is shown to involve an impossibil-
ity.” " Midkiff, 104 S.Ct. at 2329. Surely this is an implausible standard
even in an area where great deference is due. Were this literally the
scope of judicial review, a court could intervene in nothing short of a
declaration that the Rosenthal Building was being taken for a “public
purpose” that was a physical impossibility.

9

the court effectively held that the judiciary has no role in
monitoring abuses in the exercise of the eminent domain
power:

The short answer is that the political process will stop the
worst excesses of [the New York real estate industry].
Within very broad constitutional parameters monitered
[sic] by the courts, our system leaves such land use
questions to the elected representatives of the people

. . . The court is confident, however, that the political
process will not permit defendant Klein or anybody else to
turn Central Park into condominium apartments.

(22a). The district court thus relegated petitioners to the
“remedies” of the political process that had led petitioners to
the courthouse in the first place.

While the court of appeals affirmed the district court in all
respects, it did not state its reasons for finding petitioners’
allegations legally insufficient. However, it is demonstrable
that the standard it applied for judging the constitutionality of
condemnation amounted to no judicial review at all, notwith-
standing Midkiff’s reservation of such a role. As will be shown
below, precedents which Midkiff left undisturbed suggest three
legal standards for distinguishing condemnations that are con-
stitutional from those that are not. First, a condemnation is
unconstitutional if it is for a private rather than a public use.
Second, a condemnation is unconstitutional if it is arbitrary or
capricious. Third, a condemnation is unconstitutional if it is
intended to raise revenue rather than to obtain property needed
for public purposes.

By affirming the dismissal of petitioners’ complaint, the
court of appeals necessarily ruled that Midkiff had rejected all
of these three standards drawn from prior cases. Unless the
Court intended in Midkiff to foreclose all judicial review under
the Takings Clause, the result reached by the court of appeals
cannot be reconciled with Midkiff. Accordingly, certiorari
should be granted to rectify this conflict and to clarify the legal
standards for determining the validity of condemnations.

10

A. The Lower Courts’ Dismissal Of Petitioners’ Allegations
That Their Building Is Being Taken For Private Purposes
Is Inconsistent With Midkiff's Reaffirmation Of The
“Public Use” Requirement.

In Midkiff, the Court expressly reaffirmed the centuries-old
rule that the Constitution “forbids even a compensated taking
where executed for no reason other than to confer a private
benefit on a particular private party.” 104 S.Ct. at 2331.° It is
well established that a condemnation is lawful under the
constitutional “public use” standard only if the condemned
property will be used predominantly or principally for a public
use. Thus, while incidental private benefit will not invalidate a
taking if it is derived from land which is put to a public use, an
acquisition which is primarily for private benefit is not for a
public use. 2A Nichols on Eminent Domain § 7.08 (3d ed.
1981). As one court put it, “ ‘the tail cannot wag the dog’ and
allow the public purpose to be only incidental to a predomi-
nantly private one.” Baycol, Inc. v. Development Authority,
315 So.2d 451, 456 (Fla. 1975). Similarly, in Denihan En-
terprises, inc. v. O’Dwyer, 302 N.Y. 451, 99 N.E.2d 235 (1959),
the court held that a taking is not for a public purpose “where
the public benefit is only incidental to the private,” 99 N.E.2d
at 238, and ordered a trial on the issue of public use. See also
Petition of Seattle, 96 Wash.2d 616, 638 P.2d 549 (1981)
(project with primarily private benefit held not for a public
purpose despite city council declaration to the contrary).

Petitioners alleged that their property was not being taken
for a valid public purpose, but was instead being condemned
solely or primarily for the private benefit of respondents Park
Tower and Klein. Succinctly put, petitioners sought an oppor-
tunity to prove below that it is entirely unnecessary to give
defendants Klein and Park Tower hundreds of millions of

6 Accord, Thompson v. Consolidated Gas Corp., 300 U.S. 55, 80
(1937): Madisonville Traction Co. v. St. Bernard Mining Co., 196 U.S.
239, 252 (1905); Missouri Pacific Railway Co. v. Nebraska, 164 U.S.
403, 417 (1896).

1]

dollars worth of incentives, or to allow them to construct
million of square feet of new office space at the heart of Times
Square, merely to finance a few million dollars worth of
subway entrance improvements and theater renovations, and
to dispiace street crime a few blocks farther north. In dismiss-
ing petitioners’ complaint, the lower courts necessarily held
that even comparatively minor public benefits are sufficient to
provide the necessary constitutional basis for a taking that is
overwhelmingly for the benefit and advantage of private indi-
viduals.

The Court’s reaffirmation in Midkiff that the constitution
prohibits takings for private purposes will prove an empty
gesture if, as the lower courts’ decisions imply, the constitu-
tionally required public purpose for a condemnation can be
found in public benefits that are trivial in relationship to the
private aspects of a proposed project. As this case illustrates, it
will always be expedient for a real estate developer to include a
few minor public amenities in an otherwise private project in
return for the opportunity to use the power of eminent domain
to assemble the site for a project. The novel and restrictive
interpretation of “public use” adopted by the lower courts is so
easily satisfied that it effectively reads the public use require-
ment out of the Constitution, a result in conflict with the
Court’s reaffirmation of this requirement in Midkiff.

B. The Lower Courts’ Dismissal Of Petitioners’ Complaint
Is Inconsistent With Federal Cases Holding That Property
Cannot Be Taken Arbitrarily And Capriciously.

The principle that property may not be taken arbitrarily and
capriciously is derived from this Court’s decision in United
States v. Carmack, 329 U.S. 230 (1946). Although Carmack
itself found it unnecessary to decide the issue, other federal
courts (including two circuit courts other than the Second
Circuit) thereafter applied the standard that arbitrary and
capricious takings are not constitutional. United States v.
101.88 Acres of Land, Etc., 616 F.2d 762, 767 (Sth Cir. 1980);
United States v. 58.16 Acres of Land, 478 F.2d 1055, 1058 (7th

12

Cir. 1973); United States v. 2.9 Acres of Land, 554 F. Supp.
529, 532 (D. Mont. 1982); Hilliard v. Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania, 308 F. Supp. 756, 760 (W.D. Pa. 1970); United
States v. 0.08 Acres of Land, 246 F. Supp. 408, 410 (E.D.
Tenn. 1965); United States v. Certain Land in the Borough of
Manhattan, 233 F. Supp. 899, 901 (S.D.N.Y.), aff’d, 336 F.2d
1021 (2d Cir. 1964); United States v. 1,108 Acres of Land, 25
F.R.D. 205, 208 (E.D.N.Y. 1960)’

Although Midkiff does not specifically address the “arbi-
trary and capricious” standard, it points out that the Court has
never proscribed a taking “where the exercise of the eminent
domain power is rationally related te a conceivable public
purpose.” 104 S.Ct. at 2329. Requiring a rational relationship
between a taking and a public use is fully consistent with the
“arbitrary and capricious” standard of adjudicating takings
established by the earlier federal cases.*

7 Carmack was also discussed by Judge Learned Hand in his dissent in
United States v. State of New York, 160 F.2d 479 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 331 U.S. 832, reh’g denied, 331 U.S. 869 (1947), in which the
State challenged the federal government's extended taking of a war-
time railroad easement in a forest preserve after cessation of hostilities.
Dissenting from the majority’s apparent resistance to the scope of
review implied by Carmack, Judge Hand stated:

[I]n deciding whether a taking has been “arbitrary” more is always
involved, | apprehend, than whether the United States has any
interest whatever to be subserved. As in the case of substantially
every right, the result depends upon a compromise between two
conflicting interests; what we mean is that the disparity between the
contrasted values must not be shockingly against the proposed
action. . . . [A]lthough summary disposition has of course its
place, it is most important that we should keep it in that place.

160 F.2d at 482 (L. Hand, J., dissenting).

8 Midkiff involved the constitutionality of a statute passed by a state
legislature, and there was no allegation that the statute was not being
applied evenhandedly by local officials. While considerable deference
is appropriate when the courts are asked to consider the legitimacy of
the considered judgment of a state’s sovereign legislative branch, it by
no means follows that the courts should turn a blind eye to the political
abuses of individual local politicians. See Note, Public Use, Private
Use, and Judicial Review in Eminent Domain, 58 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 409,
434 (1983).

13

As discussed above, petitioners’ complaint alleged that the
Rosenthal Building was being taken arbitrarily and capri-
ciously because, inter alia, respondents had chosen not to
condemn the rundown Candler Building located in the middle
of the “blighted” block of 42nd Street but owned by a
politically well-connected individual, while respondents were
attempting to take the structurally sound, fully utilized Rosen-
thal Building on a non-blighted block on the Project’s edge.
The court of appeals gave no reason for its conclusion that
these allegations failed to state a claim. In reaching this result,
however, the court necessarily rejected the holding of the other
federal courts cited above, left undisturbed by Midkiff, that
takings are unconstitutional if they are arbitrary and capri-
cious.”

9 In urging the lower court to affirm the dismissal of the complaint,
respondents relied heavily on Berman v. Parker, supra n.5. Berman
held, inter alia, that an urban development plan need not provide for
the preservation of the occasional sound building found in the midst of
a slum; rather the redevelopment agency may condemn and replace
every building within a project's boundary. Although respondents
made a strenuous effort to analogize the taking of the Rosenthal
Building to this holding of Berman, the analogy fails in three critical
respects. First, there was no suggestion in Berman that condemnation
decisions were infected by political favoritism. Second, while Berman
may stand for the proposition that the UDC and City could have
condemned every site within the Project's boundaries, that is not what
respondents have done. Both the Candler Building and the Rosenthal
Building are within the Project's boundary, yet respondents have
decided to condemn one and spare the other, and nothing in Berman
suggests that this decision can be made arbitrarily and capriciously.
Indeed, as the cases cited above demonstrate, the federal courts
continued to entertain challenges to arbitrary and capricious takings
after Berman was decided in 1954. Finally, while Berman may permit
local authorities to condemn all property within the area that is
blighted, nothing in Berman authorizes those authorities to expand the
boundaries of a Project arbitrarily to a non-blighted block, where the
Rosenthal Building is located, to create a more profitable office
complex for the Project's private developer.

14

C. The Lower Courts Erroneously Decided The Important
Feders! "sue Of Whether The Power Of Eminent
Dor » Be Used As A Substitute For Taxation.

In our system of government, state revenues -are raised
through taxation, which falls uniformly on similarly situated
citizens. Permitting governments to condemn selected property
solely to raise money would shift the burden of financing the
operations of government from the general public who pay
taxes to particular individual property owners who are unfor-
tunate enough to have their properties chosen for condemna-
tion.

Petitioners alleged that the taking of the Rosenthal Building
is an unconstitutional effort to use the powers of eminent
domain as a substitute for the power of taxation. While the
federal courts do not appeai to have addressed the issue, its
importance is reflected in the decisions of the New York courts,
which recognize that the taking of private property solely for
the purpose of raising revenue for the government does not
constitute a valid public purpose.

In Courtesy Sandwich Shop, Inc. v. Port of New York
Authority, Inc., 12 N.Y.2d 379, 190 N.E.2d 402, 240 N.Y.S.2d
1, app. dism’d, 375 U.S. 78, reh’g denied, 375 U.S. 960 (1963),
the New York Court of Appeals considered the constitutional-
ity of a statute that allowed the Port Authority to condemn 13
square blocks to erect a “World Trade Center.” The New York
Appellate Division had declared the statute unconstitutional,
holding that “the act granted a power to condemn property to
be used for no other purpose than the raising of revenues for
the expenses of the project.” 12 N.Y.2d at 388, 190 N.E.2d at
404, 240 N.Y.S.2d at 4. Reversing, New York’s highest court
held that the statute could be saved by reading it in a way that
did not allow “unfettered erection of structures that are solely
revenue producing.” /d. at 389, 190 N.E.2d at 405, 240
N.Y.S.2d at 7. Under Courtesy Sandwich Shop, the structure
to be erected on a condemned site must be “devoted to project
purposes.” 12 N.Y.2d. at 390, 190 N.E.2d at 406, 240 N.Y.S.2d

if
at 7."° The Rosenthal Building is not being taken to make way
for a public improvement such as a police station or park.
Even if it is assumed that the income derived from the new
office building to be built on this site will be used to support
subway improvements and theater renovations (rather than to
increase Pa. * Tower’s profits), this case squarely presents the
issue of whet, *t condemnations intended to derive revenue for
governmental ,.urposes are lawful. By affirming the dismissal
of petitioners’ complaint, the Second Circuit necessarily
refused to adopt the rule of Courtesy Sandwich Shop as a
constitutional restraint on the taking power.

CONCLUSION

As the foregoing demonstrates, the court of appeals decision
rejected as legally insufficient allegations that would have been
sufficient to state a claim under a// of the constitutional
standards that had been applied by federal and state courts to
adjudicate the constitutionality of takings prior to Midkiff.
Petitioners recognize that the Court may deem it appropriate
to restate or modify the standards applied in the earlier cases.
However, unless the Court grants certiorari and articulates the
standards that should be applied by the courts in condemna-
tion cases, it will confirm the analysis of commentators and the
courts below that potential condemnees have been relegated
entirely to the remedies of the political process. If petitioners’
allegations do not state a claim of unconstitutional taking in
this case, it is difficult, if not impossible, to understand how
any future condemnee will be able to fashion a complaint that
will withstand a motion to dismiss. While the court of appeals
may not have said so expressly, its decision must necessarily

10 While the incidental generation of government revenue by the new
structure will not invalidate an otherwise lawful taking under Courtesy
Sandwich Shop, condemnation solely or principally tor the purpose of
creating revenue for governmental purposes is unconstitutional,

16

have resulted from its view that Midkiff was intended to
foreclose all judicial review of condemnation decisions.

It would be extraordinary if, as the law reviews and the
lower courts suggest, this Court intended no judicial review of
sO vast a governmental power over individuals as the power to
condemn private property. The power to take property is
unique since, unlike other local governmental decisions, the
burden of condemnation falls disproportionately on the few
individuals whose property is taken. It is precisely because the
“political process” tends to favor well-connected insiders at the
expense of the individual that the courts are required to ensure
that governmental action is rational, taken in good faith, and
free of arbitrariness. This has always been a tenet of American
government:

By a limited Constitution, | understand one which con-
tains certain specified exceptions to the legislative author-
ity. . . . Limitations of this kind can be preserved in
practice no other way than through the medium of courts
of justice, whose duty it must be to declare all acts
contrary to the manifest tenor of the Constitution void.
Without this, all the reservations of particular rights or
privileges would amount to nothing.

The Federalist No. 78, at 466 (A. Hamilton) (The New Ameri-
can Library ed. 1961).

17

For ali of the foregoing reasons, certiorari should be granted
to permit this Court to clarify what judicial role it envisioned
in Midkiff and to define the standards by which the lower
courts are to review a determination of public use.

Respectfully submitted,

NORMAN DORSEN
Counsel of Record for Petitioners
Rosenthal & Rosenthal Inc.
and Broadway 41st Street
Realty Corporation
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012
(212) 598-2555

Of Counsel:
JACOB FRIEDLANDER
JOHN S. KINZEY
LEBOEUF, LAMB, LEIBY & MACRAE
520 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022
(212) 715-8000

Dated: January 3, 1986

APPENDICES

la
Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Cal. No. 1103—August Term, 1984
(Argued May 22, 1985 Decided August 26, 1985)
Docket No. 85-7104

+

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

—_V.—

THE NEW YORK SfATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redevelopment Corporation; THE CITY OF NEW
YORK; EDWARD I. KOCH, as Mayor of the City of New
York; PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION and GEORGE
E. KLEIN,

Defendants-A ppellees,

and
MARIO M. CUOMO, as Governor of the State of New York,
Defendant.
+

Before:

MANSFIELD, VAN GRAAFEILAND and PIERCE,
Circuit Judges.

2a

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District Court
for the Southern District of New York (Motley, C.J.) dismiss-
ing complaint seeking to enjoin condemnation proceedings
which are part of the Forty-Second Street Development Pro-
ject.

Affirmed.

+

NORMAN DORSEN, New York, iv.x. (LeBoeuf,
Lamb, Leiby & MacRae, Jacob Friedlander,
John S. Kinzey and Gwenellen P. Janov,
N.Y., N.Y., of Counsel) for Plaintiffs-A ppel-
lants.

PETER JAMES JOHNSON, New York, N.Y. (Leahey
& Johnson, P.C., Michael Conforti and
Kevin B. Lynch, N.Y., N.Y., of Counsel), for
Defendants-Appellees Urban Development
Corporation, Times Square Redevelopment
Corporation and William J. Stern.

DEAN G. YUZEK, New York, N.Y. (Shea & Gould,
Bernard D. Fischman and Judith L. Spanier,
N.Y., N.Y., of Counsel), for Defendants-
Appellees Park Tower Realty Corporation
and George Klein.

GARY SCHULLER, New York, N.Y. (Frederick
A.O. Schwarz, Jr., Corporation Counsel,
Joseph I. Lauer and Robert J. Pfeffer, N.Y.,
N.Y., of Counsel), for Defendants-A ppellees
City of New York and Edward I. Koch.

es

3a

Rosenthal & Rosenthal Inc. and Broadway 4Ist Street Realty
Corporation appeal from a judgment of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of New York (Motley,
C.J.) dismissing their complaint against appellees, New York
State Urban Development Corporation, ef a/., for failure to
state a claim upon which relief may be granted. Appellants,
lessee and owner of the Rosenthal Building located on West
Forty-First Street between Broadway and Seventh Avenue,
brought the instant action to enjoin appellees from commenc-
ing condemnation proceedings against their property and from
otherwise seeking to take the property involuntarily. Because
the proposed taking is rationally related to a conceivable public
purpose, we affirm the judgment of dismissal.

This case represents the most recent chapter in the saga of
the Forty-Second Street Development Project. The Project, a
tripartite undertaking by the City of New York, the New York
State Urban Development Corporation (UDC) and various
private developers, is the product of a lengthy, statutorily
mandated, land use review procedure which included extensive
public hearings and resulted in hundreds of pages of detailed
findings. Its primary goal is the elimination of the physical,
social and economic blight that has afflicted the Times Square
area of Manhattan for the past fifty years. See Natural Re-
sources Defense Council, Inc. v. City of New York, 672 F.2d
292, 294 (2d Cir.), cert. dismissed, 102 S. Ct. 1963 (1982).

As part of the Project, the UDC has designated appellee,
Park Tower Realty Corporation, as the developer of four new
office towers, ranging in height from twenty-nine to fifty-six
stories. If the Project proceeds as planned, the Rosenthal
Building will be condemned and razed to make way for one of
these new office buildings. Because appellants’ building is
structurally sound, fully utilized and is not blighted or sub-
standard, they allege that its condemnation will be “neither for
a public purpose, nor rationally related to a public purpose”
but, instead, will be “completely arbitrary and capricious”.

In an opinion dated January 8, 1985, the district court
ordered the dismissal of appellants’ complaint for failure to

4a

state a claim upon which relief might be granted. The court
found that the Project “addresses legitimate public purposes in
a reasonable way, and the inclusion of the Rosenthal building,
less than a block from the core area of blight, is certainly not
irrational”. Kelying upon Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26
(1954), and upon the Supreme Court’s recent reaffirmation of
Berman in Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 104 S. Ct.
2321 (1984), the district court held that so long as there was a
legitimate public purpose underlying the Project and so long as
the proposed condemnation was rationally related to that
purpose, the taking of the Rosenthal building met constitu-
tional requirements. We agree.

The power of eminent domain is a fundamental and neces-
sary attribute of sovereignty, superior to all private property
rights. Georgia v. City of Chattanooga, Tennessee, 264 U.S.
472, 480 (1924); Albert Hanson Lumber Company v. United
States, 261 U.S. 581, 587 (1923). This power, however, is
circumscribed by the “public use” requirement of the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.
Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, supra, 104 S. Ct. at
2328-30. Under the public use clause, “one person’s property
may not be taken for the benefit of another private person
without a justifying public purpose, even though compensation
be paid.” Thompson v. Consolidated Gas Utilities Corp., 300
U.S. 55, 80 (1937). “But where the exercise of the eminent
domain power is rationally related to a conceivable public
purpose”, Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, supra, 104 S.
Ct. at 2329, courts long have recognized that the compensated
taking of private property for urban renewal or community
redevelopment is not proscribed by the Constitution. /d. at
2329-30.

No serious argument can be made that the Forty-Second
Street Development Project does not address legitimate public
purposes in a reasonable manner. This Court already has taken
note of the area’s blighted condition. See Natural Resources
Defense Council, Inc. v. City of New York, supra, 672 F.2d at
294, in which we referred to the “under-utilization of property

Sa

in the area, high vacancy rates above the ground floor, the
proliferation of pornographic uses, dilapidated store fronts,
the number of lots in tax arrears, dirty and unsafe street
conditions, and a high crime rate which requires increased
allocation of police service to the area.” Indeed, appellants do
not seek to enjoin the Project in its entirety, but only as it
affects their building.

However, the condemnation of appellants’ building to make
way for the redevelopment of the blighted area is a classic
example of a taking for a public use or purpose within the law
of eminent domain. It makes no difference that the property
will be transferred to private developers, for the power of
eminent domain is merely the means to the end. Hawaii
Housing Authority v. Midkiff, supra, 104 S. Ct. at 2331. Nor
does it matter that the Rosenthal Building is structurally sound
and fully utilized because “community redevelopment pro-
grams need not, by force of the Constitution, be on a piece-
meal basis—lot by lot, building by building.” Berman vy.
Parker, supra, 348 U.S. at 35. As the Supreme Court has made
clear, “[w]hen the legislature’s purpose is legitimate and its
means are nct irrational, . . . empirical debates over the
wisdom of takings—no less than debates over the wisdom of
other kinds of socioeconomic legislation—are not to be carried
out in the federal courts.” Hawaii Housing Authority v.
Midkiff, supra, 104 S. Ct. at 2330.

The judgment of the district court is affirmed.

++

6a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
Docket No. 85-7104

At a stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the
City of New York, on the twenty-sixth day of August one
thousand nine hundred and eighty-five.

Present:
HON. WALTER R. MANSFIELD,
HON. ELLSWORTH A. VAN GRAAFEILAND,
HON. LAWRENCE W. PIERCE,
Circuit Judges.

++

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPPORA-
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redevelopment Corporation; THE CITY OF NEW
YORK; EDWARD I. KOCH, as Mayor of the City of New
York; PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION and GEORGE
E. KLEIN,

Defendants-Appellees,
and
MARIO M. CUOMO, as Governor of the State of New York,
Defendant.

+

7a

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of record
from the United States District Court for the Southern District
of New York, and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby ordered,
adjudged and decreed that the JUDGMENT of said District
Court be and it hereby is affirmed in accordance with the
opinion of this court with costs to be taxed against the
appellants.

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH
Clerk

By: Edward J. Guardaro
Deputy Clerk

A TRUE COPY

Elaine B. Goldsmith

/s/ —
Clerk

8a

Appendix C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
No. 85-7104

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals, in
and for the Second Circuit, held at the United States Court-
house, in the City of New York, on the 8th day of October one
thousand nine hundred and eighty-five.

++

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—_—Vo—

THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPPORA-
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redevelopment Corporation; THE CITY OF NEW
YORK; EDWARD I. KOCH, as Mayor of the City of New
York; PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION and GEORGE
E. KLEIN,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

MARIO M. CUOMO, as Governor of the State of New York,
Defendant.

Va

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the
action be reheard in banc having been filed herein by counsel
for the Plaintiff-Appellants

Upon consideration by the panel that heard the appeal, it is
Ordered that said petition for rehearing is DENIED.

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehearing in banc
has been transmitted to the judges of the court in regular active
service and to any other judge that heard the appeal and that
no such judge has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

‘s/ ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH
Elaine B. Goldsmith
Clerk

10a

Appendix D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
84 Civ. 7229 (CBM)

a

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs,

—against—

THE NEW YORK URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION; THE
TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORATION; WIL-
LIAM J. STERN as Chairman and President of both the
Urban Development Corporation and the Times Square
Redevelopment Corporation; MARIO M. CUOMO as Gov-
ernor of the State of New York; THE CITY OF NEW YORK;
EDWARD I. KOCH as Mayor of the City of New York; PARK
TOWER REALTY CORPORATION; and GEORGE E. KLEIN,

Defendants.

APPEARANCES:
LEBOEUF LAMB LEIBY & MACRAE
By: Jacob Friedlander
520 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022

NORMAN DORSEN
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

lla

LEAHEY & JOHNSON, PC.
By: Peter James Johnson
120 Wall Street, Suite 2220
New York, New York 10005

Attorneys for Defendants
N.¥.S. Urban Development Corporation,
Times Square Redevelopment Corporation,
and Stern.

ROBERT ABRAMS

Attorney General of the State of New York
By: Barrie L. Goldstein

Two World Trade Center

New York, New York 10047

Attorney for Defendant Cuomo

FREDERICK A.O. SCHWARTZ, JR.
Corporation Counsel

By: Gary Schuller

100 Church Street

New York, New York 10007

Attorney for Defendants Koch and
City of New York

SHEA & GOULD

By: Dean G. Yuzek

330 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Attorneys for Defendants Park
Tower and Klein

12a

MOTLEY, Ch. J.
OPINION

Plaintiffs, owner and lessee of an office building located on
the corner of 41st Street and Broadway in Manhattan, sue to
enjoin condemnation of their building to make way for the
proposed Forty-Second Street Development Project. Plaintiffs
allege that the proposed taking of their building is neither for
nor rationally related to a public purpose, and therefore
amounts to an unconstitutional taking in violation of the fifth
and fourteenth amendments. Plaintiffs bring their ciaim pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. section 1983. All defendants have moved to
dismiss on essentially three different theories: 1) failure to state
a claim on which relief may be granted, 2) the doctrines, of
ripeness, abstention, and comity, and 3) improper joinder of
parties. The court halted all discovery in this action pending
resolution of the motions to dismiss, and ordered that these
motions be addressed solely to the face the complaint. There-
fore, since plaintiffs have had no opportunity to develop the
factual basis of their complaint, the court has taken no notice
of the factual affidavits submitted by defendants in support of
these motions. For the reasons set forth below, however,
defendants’ motion to dismiss is granted.

FACTS:

This case is one of several to arise out of the large scale joint
effort by the City and State to redevelop the Times Square
area. For purposes of these motions, the factual background
contained in the complaint will suffice.

On or about June 27, 1980, defendants Urban Development
Corporation (UDC) and the City entered into a Memorandum
of Understanding providing that the City and UDC would
jointly prepare a plan and designate a developer to redevelop
the Times Square vicinity, and that the UDC would have
responsibility for implementation of the plan. In November,
1982, the UDC formed the Times Square Redevelopment

l3a

Corporation (TSRC) as its subsidiary with primary responsibil-
ity for the development of Times Square.

Pursuant to the Memorandum of Understanding, the City
and the TSRC have formulated the Forty-Second Street Devel-
opment Project. The UDC has stated that the goals of the
Project are “to eliminate blight on 42nd Street between Broad-
way and Eighth Avenue, to revitalize this vital crossroad and
integrate it into the theatrical, cultural and commercial life of
the city.” Complaint paragraph 16.

The Project consists of several elements: Renovation of nine
theatres on 42nd Street, subway station improvements, a new
hotel, a large wholesale merchandise mart, and four new office
towers ranging from 29 to 56 stories in height. One of the four
towers, planned for the southern edge of the Project area,
would be built partially on the site now occupied by the
Rosenthal building. The site for the office towers will be
assembled by the UDC through the use of the power of
eminent domain. The actual construction of the buildings,
however, will be undertaken by the designated private devel-
oper, defendant Park Tower Realty, of which defendant Klein
is a principal. The buildings will be leased to Park Tower on a
long-term basis and operated by Park Tower as private office
buildings. In return, Park Tower will make contributions
towards the subway and theater improvements.

Since the filing of the complaint in October, the City’s Board
of Estimate has approved the project and the UDC has
published its findings in connection with the proposed condem-
nation, which could commence this spring. However, the con-
demnation may be delayed by the pendency of state and
federal proceedings challenging the project.

Plaintiffs have owned and done business in their building for
approximately 25 years. For the purposes of these motions, the
court accepts as true plaintiffs’ assertions that the building is
structurally sound, attractively maintained, fully occupied, and
in no way blighted. Plaintiffs maintain that since they do not
contribute to the spread of blight, the condemnation of their
building is not rationally related to the UDC’s stated goal of

l4a

combatting blight. Plaintiffs urge that the taking of their
building therefore be declared unconstitutional on two dif-
ferent grounds: First, that the building is being condemned
solely to make money for defendant Klein, which is alleged to
be a constitutionally illegitimate private purpose, and second,
that the use of condemnation to raise funds for subway and
theater renovations is an unconstitutional substitution for
taxation.

Defendants urge this court to abstain from reaching the
merits of plaintiffs’ claims on the basis that the controversy is
not yet ripe, and under the doctrines of abstention and comity.
Defendants suggest that proceedings challenging the Project’s
blight findings under section 207 of the State’s Eminent Do-
main Procedure Law should be allowed to proceed prior to any
federal court intervention. In addition, all defendants except
the UDC, the TSRC, and Stern argue that they are improperly
joined since they either lack the power of condemnation or will
not exercise it in this case; the injunctive relief sought therefore
cannot be had against them. Finally, all defendants urge that
the complaint be dismissed on its face under the well es-
tablished doctrine that the courts will not second-guess the
contours of a public redevelopment plan so long as a legitimate
public purpose for the plan exists.

Plaintiffs argue in turn that the imminence of state condem-
nation proceedings makes this case ripe for decision, that the
availability of a state forum does not require the federal court
to abstain from reaching a claim pursuant to section 1983, and
that in any event the available state forum is inadequate.
Plaintiffs further argue that the close cooperation between all
defendants in formulating and executing the Project makes
anpropriate their joinder as defendants here. Finally, plaintiffs
urge that notwithstanding the long line of cases requiring
judicial deference to state redevelopment plans, this case never-
theless requires the court to intervene to prevent a taking
entirely for private gain, which has never been approved in
pricr cases.

lSa

DISCUSSION:

Defendants’ procedural arguments can be disposed of sum-
marily. Any doubt that objections to the condemnation of
property for the Project presented a ripe controversy at the
time of the filing of this complaint have been dispelled by the
Project’s approval by the Board of Estimate and the publica-
tion of the UDC’s findings. Condemnation is imminent and so
is plaintiffs’ alleged loss. Moreover, assuming that plaintiffs
have pleaded a substantial constitutional cause of action, this
court sees no need to abstain in deference to possible state
proceedings filed after the commencement of this action.

The argument of some defendants that they are not proper
parties to this action gives the court more pause. However,
while the relief sought here technically is only injunction of the
condemnation of plaintiffs’ building, this court believes that
the concerted activity of all defendants in bringing about this
project justifies their joinder here. See Archer Gardens, Ltd. v.
Brooklyn Center Dev. Corp., 468 F. Supp. 609, 613 (S.D.N.Y.
1979) (private developer acting in concert with state officials is
proper party to section 1983 action challenging alleged taking).
If plaintiffs state a valid cause of action, it may be possible for
them to show that all defendants acted under color of state law
to deprive them of their rights. if there is no valid cause of
action, then the question is moot. The court proceeds, there-
fore, to the question of whether the complaint in this case
states a claim upon which relief may be granted.

Defendants rely largely on the landmark case of Berman v.
Parker, 348 U.S. 26 (1953), in which the Supreme Court
established the now-familiar principle that courts will not
second-guess the decisions of local government in land use and
redevelopment. Berman held that the elimination of blight is a
legitimate governmental goal and that condemnation and rede-
velopment are within the police powers of the state in attaining
that goal. /d. at 33-34. The Court rejected a property owner’s
claim that the taking was improper because his property was
not blighted and because the property in question would be put
into private hands. Since the government had legitimately

l6a

found the area blighted, the Court would not sit in judgment
over the boundary lines of the project. /d. at 35-36.

So well settled is the principle of deference to land use
decisions that at least one federal court has heid that it lacked
even subject matter jurisdiction over an attempt to challenge a
local sewage plan in the setting of a civil rights action. “Section
1983 was never intended as a vehicle for federal supervision of
land use policy.” City of Oak Creek v. Milwaukee Metropoli-
tan Sewage District, 576 F. Supp. 482, 487 (E.D. Wis. 1983).
Such a claim must be dismissed absent “compelling evidence of
a genuine civil rights violation.” /d.

The Supreme Court most recently reaffirmed the central
themes of Berman in Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 81
L. Ed. 2d 186 (1984). In Midkiff, the Court upheid a state land
reform procedure aimed at breaking up large land holdings in
Hawaii, rejecting a claim that it amounted to an unconstitu-
tional taking. The Court concluded that since the purpose of
eliminating oligarchical control of land was a legitimate one,
Hawaii could use a condemnation-like proceeding to put land
ownership into more diverse hands.

The mere fact that property taken outright by eminent
domain is transferred in the first instance to private
beneficiaries does not condemn that taking as having only
a private purpose. The Court long ago rejected any literal
requirement that condemned property be put into use for
the general public.

Id. at 199.

These fixed principles narrow our inquiry. Recognizing this,
plaintiffs maintain that this case involves a purely private
taking with no public purpose whatsoever, which the Midkiff
court held would be unconstitutional and void. /d. at 200.
Plaintiffs argue strenuously that there is a serious factual
dispute as to the true nature of this project, and that their
version requires us to distinguish this case from Midkiff and
Berman.

Plaintiffs assert that the Forty-Second Street Project is a
very different kind of project from that which has been

17a

approved before. The Project, they argue, is not a wholesale
clearing of blighted areas and does not involve the upgrading
of housing as in Berman, but is merely an attempt to use
redevelopment to eliminate the social blight of drugs and crime
in Times Square. Here, plaintiffs argue, since defendants have
chosen not to level the whole neighborhood but selectively to
demolish, restore, or leave alone each building within the
project area, the decision of which buildings are to be demol-
ished must not be arbitrary and capricious if the Project is to
withstand the rational relationship test. This is not a case
where a private landowner seeks to protect a small pocket of
non-blight and holds up development of a blighted area.
Rather, plaintiffs argue, the project is being enlarged to take in
desirable, non-blighted property for the sole purpose of
generating additional profit for Klein.

Plaintiffs assert that the Candler and Hotel Carter buildings,
in much worse condition and more centrally located in the
project area, will be left untouched for illegitimate reasons—
the Candler building because its owner is said to be well-con-
nected politically, and the Hotel Carter because the government
allegedly seeks to avoid paying relocation costs to the welfare
families who live there.

Plaintiffs also point out that a “white paper” prepared by
the law firm of Cadwalader, Wickersham, and Taft for Mil-
stein Properties, a rival developer, raises serious questions of
improper political influence in the selection of Klein as devel-
oper. Plaintiffs allege that when Milstein was about to be
chosen as developer of the merchandise mart that will be built
as part of the Project, the City threatened to back out of the
Project unless Klein, who is a supporter of Mayor Koch, were
given half the job. Park Tower, plaintiffs assert, will earn
about $650 million on the Project, while contributing only
about five percent of that for subway and theater improve-
ments.

All of the foregoing, say plaintiffs, establishes that this is
primarily a private real estate development for Klein’s profit,
replacing one non-blighted office building with another, with

18a

marginal public benefit. To the extent that the developer
contributes money for public amenities, plaintiffs argue that
this is an improper use of eminent domain to raise money in
lieu of taxation. Even if legitimate, the comparatively modest
amount of money involved could be raised from two large
office towers, instead of the four planned. The only reason for
the additional two buildings, which necessitate the taking of
plaintiffs’ property, is to make more money for Klein. Plain-
tiffs insist that the complaint therefore states a cause of action
under Midkiff, because this allegedly private taking is not
rationally related to a public purpose.

In sum, plaintiffs argue that Midkiff and Berman provide
for a narrow role for courts which is appropriate to exercise
here: when a taking is planned solely for a private purpose, it
must be held unconstitutional. If the taking of the Rosenthal
building is permitted, they argue, New York real estate will be
fundamentally changed, because politically connected devel-
opers will be able to assemble sites for development with the
aid of eminent domain, freely condemning desirable property
adjacent to arguably blighted areas.

Plaintiffs are correct that Midkiff provides a narrow role for
this court—a very narrow role indeed. Absent evidence that a
proposed taking treads on a specific constitutional right, we
are concerned only that a taking is rationally related to some
legitimate public purpose. It is clear from the foregoing recita-
tion that many of plaintiffs’ assertions are far too broad to
address this limited concern, and are clearly precluded by the
settled law of Berman and Midkiff. It is too late in the day to
assert that it makes any difference that this Project does not
involve housing, that it will give property to private devel-
opers, that those developers will make a profit, that the
boundary lines could have been drawn differently, that plain-
tiffs’ property is not blighted, or even that the Project is pooriy
designed to serve its goais. These matters are, for better or
worse, squarely within the discretion of the political branches.
Even if this court were to conclude that this Project is a
mammoth boondoggle, socially and architecturally ill-advised,

19a

it would still be a question for the political process, not a
federal court.

But plaintiffs here allege more: They allege that fighting
blight is not, as a matter of fact, the motivation behind this
Project. They assert that the actual reason for the project is to
make money, specifically for a developer who is alleged to be a
close supporter of the Mayor and other .politicians. In other
words, without disputing that the state basically may do what
it likes so long as it intends to fight blight and might reasona-
bly believe that this project would further the goal, plaintiffs
assert that defendants here did not so believe or so intend.
They were motivated instead simply by the desire to make
money for Klein.

Defendants conceded at oral argument that if plaintiffs’
allegations, in this extreme form, were literally true, then the
complaint would state a cause of action. Defendants maintain,
however, that the suggestion that no public purpose of any
kind exists for the Forty-Second Street Project must be re-
jected on the face of the complaint. This court agrees. The
complaint itself refers to the broad public purposes behind this
Project: To eradicate blight in Times Square and to revitalize
the area culturally and commercially. Defendants argue that
this court can take judicial notice of the violent crime, drug
traffic, and physical deterioration of the Times Square area,
and plaintiffs do not appear to dispute the point. In fact,
plaintiffs do not even plead that the Project lacks a public
purpose. Instead, they limit their allegations to the purpose
underlying the taking of the Rosenthal building. See Com-
plaint paragraphs 21-23.

It is clear, then, that a substantial, !egitimate public purpose
underlies the Project, and that a large scale redevelopment
plan such as is described in the complaint is rationally related
to serving that purpose. Plaintiffs would have us avoid this
conclusion by permitting them to prove that the “true” motiva-
tion behind the project is private profit. Such an argument flies
in the face of reality, even as portrayed in plaintiffs’ own
pleading. It is not enough that the Project planners were

20a

partially motivated by the desire to make money for private
developers. Such mixed motivations seem politically inevitable
and perhaps are necessary to the success of this kind of
project. To constitute a purely private taking and thus fit
within the narrow exception of Midkiff, plaintiffs must dem-
onstrate that no public purpose exists for the Project. This they
cannot do.

To the extent that plaintiffs can prove favoritism in the
selection of one developer over another, there may be a
violation of state law necessitating a new selection, but this
does not go to plaintiffs’ constitutional claim. In order to state
a constitutional cause of action, plaintiffs would have to
charge a level of corruption beyond that pleaded or reasonably
inferred from the pleading here. Plaintiffs would have to be
able to plead that the public purposes put forth for the plan
were a sham and a fraud on the public, and that the project
existed to profit defendant Klein—not merely that it was
shaped in such a way as to make it more profitable for him.
Since this would amount to a serious allegation of public
fraud, it wouid have to be pleaded with specificity. Despite the
complaint’s conclusory allegation that the taking of the Rosen-
thal building is solely for Klein’s benefit, the court does not
understand the plaintiffs to allege that this kind of fraud is
taking place. Once a legitimate public purpose for the overall
project is conceded, however, the court cannot get involved in
parsing the particular degree of pubiic or private motivation
behind the inclusion of a particular site in the Project area, so
long as that inclusion could rationally be related to the public
purpose of the plan as a whole.

Plaintiffs also argue that since Midkiff approved Hawaii’s
plan aimed at breaking up oligarchical land holdings, New
York may not now use this Project to concentrate land owner-
ship in the Times Square area in fewer hands. This argument,
too, must be rejected. Midkiff does not represent Supreme
Court endorsement of diversified rather than centralized land
ownership. Rather, the case stands for the more general propo-
sition that states have broad discretion to define public pur-

2la

poses and to formulate plans within the police power to
address them. Nothing in the Constitution prevents a state
from deciding that in a particular area diversity of land
ownership stands in the way of full economic development,
and that assembling a major site to be developed as a piece is
the best way to serve the public purposes of eliminating blight,
creating jobs, and broadening the tax base.

In evaluating plaintiffs’ argument that the raising of money
for subway and theater renovation though the condemnation
of the Rosenthal building is a constitutionally illegitimate
substitute for taxation, the court must again look at the overall
goals of the project. It would be simplistic to view this
fundraising mechanism in a vacuum, apart from the total
development plan. Plaintiffs cite Courtesy Sandwich Shop v.
Port of New York Authority, 12 N.Y.2d 379, 388, 240 N.Y.S.2d
1, 5 (1963) for the proposition that a condemnation solely
undertaken to produce revenue, with no other primary pur-
pose, would be unconstitutional. In that case, however, the
New York Court of Appeals found acceptable the use of
portions of the World Trade Center development to produce
incidental revenue for other parts of the port development
project. Such incidental fundraising “does not vitiate the
public purpose of the development as a whole.” /d. at 390, 240
N.Y.S.2d at 7.

Similarly, it is perfectly legitimate that portions of the
Forty-Second Street Project will help generate funds to support
other aspects of the Project. The court rejects the suggestion
that since these office towers replace other office buildings
their only possible purpose is to raise a few million dollars for
subway and theater improvements. These buildings are a major
part of the overall redevelopment scheme, and it would be
quite reasonable for the project planners to conclude that this
kind of large scale redevelopment, bringing thousands of new
people into the neighborhood and radically changing the physi-
cal configuration of the area, would further the Project's
overall goals of eliminating blight and revitalizing Times
Square.

22a

Plaintiffs insist that if this taking is permitted the worst
excesses of the New York real estate industry will flour:sh
unchecked, with choice properties plucked at random fivwm
their rightful owners through eminent domain and turned over
to politically-connected developers. If the Forty-Second Street
Project is permitted to reach down to Forty-First Street to
encompass a non-blighted office building, ask plaintiffs, what
is to stop the state from condemning Herald Square or Gram-
mercy Park for redevelopment, with the profits to support
subway improvements and theater renovations?

The short answer is that the political process will stop it.
Within very broad constitutional parameters monitered by the
courts, our system leaves such land use questions to the elected
representatives of the people. It is through political give and
take in the legislative and executive branches that some areas
are landmarked, others designated for redevelopment, still
others left to the free market. This process does not always
result in plans that are wise, tasteful, or even fair. The court is
confident, however, that the political process will not permit
defendant Klein or anybody else to turn Central Park into
condominium apartments.

The federal courts remain available for challenges to truly
private or truly irrational takings, as the Supreme Court
acknowledged in Midkiff. We do not face such a situation
here, and need not dwell on hypotheticals. The Forty-Second
Street Project has emerged from the political process as a
comprehensive attempt to address the implacable problems of
crime and decay in Times Square. It addresses legitimate public
purposes in a reasonable way, and the inclusiea of the Rosen-
thal building, less than a block from the core area of blight, is
certainly not irrational. Absent a particularized pleading of
public fraud, or evidence of some other specific constitutional
violation, that is enough to pass the scrutiny of this court.

23a

For the foregoing reasons, the court holds that plaintiffs fail
to state a cause of action on which relief may be granted.
Defendants’ motion to dismiss is granted.

CONSTANCE BAKER MOTLEY
Chief Judge

Dated: New York, New York
January 8, 1985

24a

Appendix E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK.
84 Civ. 7229 (CBM)

+

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL, INC., ET ANO,

Piaintiffs,
—against—
THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORP, ET AL,
Defendants.
~$—
JUDGMENT

Defendant(s) having moved for an order dismissing the
complaint, and the said motion having come before the Hon-
orable CONSTANCE BAKER MOTLEY, Chief Judge, U.S.D.J.,
and the Court thereafter on January 8, 1985, having handed
down its

OPINION (#57080) granting defendants’ motion to dismiss;
and the Court having further handed down an order discon-
tinuing this action, it is,

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED: That the complaint
be and it is hereby dismissed.

/s/ (lilegible) _
Clerk

DATED: New York, N.Y.
January 11, 1985

25a

Appendix F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

on

ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC., and
BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs,

—against—

THE NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; THE TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION; WILLIAM J. STERN, as Chairman and President of
both the Urban Development Corporation and the Times
Square Redevelopment Corporation; MARIO M. CUOMO,
as Governor of the State of New York; EDWARD I. KOCH,
as Mayor of the City of New York; PARK TOWER REALTY
CORPORATION and GEORGE E. KLEIN,

Defendants.

~

COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs, by their undersigned attorneys, complain and
allege as follows:

JURISDICTION

1. This is a civil action to enjoin defendants from taking
plaintiffs’ property for the sole benefit of private parties, in
violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the
Constitution of the United States. Plaintiffs’ claims for relief
arise under the Constituticn and 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and the
Court has jurisdiction of this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1331(a) and 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3) and (4).

26a

PARTIES

2. Plaintiff ROSENTHAL & ROSENTHAL INC. (“Rosenthal”)
is a corporation organized and existing under the, laws of the
State of New York which maintains its principal place of
business at 1451 Broadway, New York, New York 10036.

3. Plaintiff BROADWAY 41ST STREET REALTY CORPORA-
TION is a corporation organized and existing under the laws of
the State of New York with its principal place of business
located at 1451 Broadway, New York, New York 10036.

4. Defendant NEW YORK STATE URBAN DEVELOPMENT
CORPORATION (“UDC”) is a corporate agency of the State of
New York established by the New York State Urban Develop-
ment Corporation Act, Title 16, McKinney’s Unconsolidated
Laws, Section 6251, ef seq. Pursuant to Section 6263 of the
Unconsolidated Laws, the UDC is authorized to acquire real
property through the exercise of the State’s power of eminent
domain. The UDC maintains its principal place of business at
1515 Broadway, New York, New York 10036.

5. Defendant TIMES SQUARE REDEVELOPMENT CORPORA-
TION (“TSRC”) is a subsidiary of defendant UDC created
pursuant to Section 6262 of the Unconsolidated Laws, which
maintains its principal place of business at 1515 Broadway,
New York, New York 10036.

6. Defendant WILLIAM J. STERN is the Chairman and
President of both the UDC and TSRC, and is made a defen-
dant in those official capacities. Defendant Stern authorized,
approved and participated in the actions of the UDC and
TSRC of which plaintiffs complain herein.

7. Defendant MARIO M. CUOMO is Governor of the State of
New York and is made a defendant in that official capacity.
Defendant Cuomo authorized, approved and participated in
the actions of UDC and TSRC of which plaintiffs complain
herein.

27a

8. Defendant CiTy OF NEW YORK (the “City”) is a cor-
porate municipality of the State of New York.

9. Defendant EDWARD I. KOCH is the Mayor of the City of
New York, and is made a defendant in that official capacity.
Defendant Koch authorized, approved and participated in the
actions of the City of which plaintiffs complain herein.

10. Defendant PARK TOWER REALTY CORPORATION (“Park
Tower”) is a corporation organized and existing under the laws
of the State of New York, with its principal place of business
located at 499 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10022. Park
Tower is not a corporate agency of New York State, as are the
UDC and TSRC, but rather is a private business enterprise
operated solely for the benefit and profit of its stockholders.

11. Defendant GEORGE E. KLEIN is the president, chief
executive officer, and principal stockholder of defendant Park
Tower. Defendant Klein authorized, approved and participated
in the actions of Park Tower of which plaintiffs complain
herein.

CLAIMS FOR RELIEF

12. Plaintiff Rosenthal is a financial institution engaged in
factoring and commercial! asset-vased finance. It employs over
200 people and its volume of business is approximately one
billion dollars annually.

13. For over twenty-five years, Rosenthal has maintained its
headquarters in a building (the “Rosenthal Building”) located
at the northwest corner of Broadway and 41st Street in New
York City. Rosenthal leases this building from plaintiff Broad-
way 4lst Street Realty Corporation, which is a company
beneficially owned by members of the Rosenthal family. The
Rosenthal Building is a seven story limestone building which
was constructed in or around 1930 for the First National City
Bank, the predecessor of Citibank, N.A. The Rosenthal Build-
ing is structurally sound, fully utilized, attractively furnished
and decorated, and is not “blighted” or substandard in any
respect.

28a

14. On or about June 27, 1980, the UDC and the City
entered into a Memorandum of Understanding which pro-
vided, inter alia, that the UDC and the City would jointly
prepare a “Development Program” for the vicinity of 42nd
Street and Seventh and Eighth Avenues in New York City, that
the Mayor of the City and the UDC would jointly designate
one or more developers to carry out the Development Pro-
gram, and that UDC would have responsibility for the imple-
mentation of the Development Program.

15. In or about November, 1982, the UDC formed TSRC as
its subsidiary and delegated to it primary responsibility for
implementing the Development Program.

16. Pursuant to the Memorandum of Understanding, the
UDC, the City and TSRC have formulated a program desig-
nated as the “Forty-Second Street Development Project.” The
UDC has stated that the goals of this Project are “to eliminate
blight on 42nd Street between Broadway and Eighth Avenue,
to revitalize this vital crossroad and integrate it into the
theatrical, cultural and commercial life of the city.”

17. The Forty-Second Street Development Project consists
of the following proposed elements:

(a) The renovation of nine theater buildings on 42nd
Street;

(b) The improvement and modernization of the Times
Square subway stations;

(c) The construction of a large hotel on 42nd Street near
Eighth Avenue;

(d) The construction of a merchandise mart on the East
side of Eighth Avenue between 40th and 42nd Streets;
and

(e) The construction of four new office towers, ranging
from 29 to 56 stories in height, at the southern end of
Times Square.

a

29a

18. If the current version of the Forty-Second Street Devel-
opment Project is implemented, one of the four proposed
office towers described in Paragraph 17(e) above will be built
on the site now occupied by the Rosenthal Building. Unless it is
restrained from doing so, the UDC plans to condemn the
Rosenthal Building using its power of eminent domain, and to
demolish the Rosenthal Building to make way for the proposed
new Office building.

19. The UDC intends to take the Rosenthal Building by
eminent domain notwithstanding that the Rosenthal Building is
not located within the area of 42nd Street between Eighth
Avenue and Broadway which the defendants claim to be
“blighted,” anc notwithstanding that the Rosenthai Building is
not, and has not been found by the defendants to be,
“blighted,” structurally unsound, underutilized, or deficient in
any respect.

20. The planned taking of the Rosenthal Building is neither
for a public purpose, nor rationally related to a public pur-
pose, as required by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to
the Constitution of the United States.

21. If the proposed Forty-Second Street Development Pro-
ject is implemented, the present site of the Rosenthal Building
will not be used for any public puspose, but rather that site will
be used exclusively for the private benefit of defendant Park
Tower.

22. Park Tower has been designated by the UDC, TSRC,
and the City as the developer to construct the four proposed
office towers included in the Project. Although the UDC will
exercise its power of eminent domain to acquire the Rosenthal
Building as a site for Park Tower to develop, all of the
investment money necessary to compensate plaintiffs for the
taking of their building, to demolish the Rosenthal Building,
and to erect a new office building in its place will be provided
by Park Tower. Part Tower will manage and operate the new
building as a private commercial enterprise, selecting all ten-

30a

ants, collecting all rents, and paying all operating expenses.
The new office building will not be constructed for, or predom-
inantly occupied by, any public agency or authority, and no
public benefit will be achieved by the demolition of the
Rosenthal Building or its replacement by the proposed new
building.

23. The proposed taking of the Rosenthal Building is not
“rationally related” to a public purpose, as required by the
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution.

24. To induce the UDC to exercise its power of eminent
domain for its private benefit, Park Tower has agreed to
contribute moneys to the City, UDC, and/or TSRC to be used
for the renovation of theater buildings and the improvement
and modernization of subway stations and other mass trans-
portation facilities within the area of 42nd Street that the City,
UDC and TSRC claim to be “blighted.” In condemning the
Rosenthal Building to obtain these moneys from Park Tower,
the defendants plan to use the power of eminent domain solely
as a means Of raising revenues, as a substitution for taxation,
which is not a constitutional use of that power. Aside from
producing this revenue for the City, UDC and TSRC, the
proposed taking of the Rosenthal Building is completely unre-
lated to the defendants’ stated goal of eliminating blight on
42nd Street, and the demolition and replacement of the Rosen-
thal Building is not necessary in any respect to achieve that
goal.

25. The decision by the City, UDC, and TSRC to select the
Rosenthal Building as a site which would be taken for private
development to finance the Forty-Second Street Developement
Project is also contrary to the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments to the Constitution because that decision is completely
arbitrary and capricious. Defendants do not propose to demol-
ish or replace a large office building, the Candler Building,
which is located on 42nd Street between Broadway and Eighth
Avenue, in the midst of the area defendants claim to be
blighted, and which, unlike the Rosenthal Building, is neither

jill

3la

structurally sound nor fully utilized. Further, defendants have
excluded from the proposed Project other buildings in the
Times Square vicinity which are affected by blight, underuti-
lized, and structuraliy unsound, and which are therefore more
appropriate buildings for inclusion in the Project than the
Rosenthal Building.

26. On October 4, 1984, the UDC, through its directors,
adopted a resolution which purports to make the findings that
the New York Eminent Domain Procedure Law (“EDPL”)
requires the UDC to make before it exercises its eminent
domain power tc acquire the Rosenthal Building and other real
property to be included in the proposed Forty-Second Street
Development Project. Although the UDC has undertaken in
the Memorandum of Understanding to seek the approval of
the City’s Board of Estimate of the proposed Project before
beginning condemnation proceedings, the UDC contends that
all of the statutory prerequisites of the EDPL have been
satisfied and the UDC, uniess restrained by this Court, will be
free to begin condemnation proceedings against the Rosenthal
Building immediately after the Board of Estimate gives its
approval, which is expected to occur on or about October 25,
1984.

27. Plaintiffs do not seek to enjoin the Forty-Second Street
Development Project in its entirety or any portion of that
Project that does not involve the taking of the Rosenthal
Building. However, the defendants’ inclusion of the Rosenthal
Building within that Project, and the proposed taking of
plaintiffs’ unblighted, structurally sound building by defen-
dants, solely to benefit a private party, Park Tower, and to
produce revenues that the UDC, TSRC and City will use for
other purposes, denies plaintiffs due process and equal protec-
tion of the law, in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the Constitution of the United States.

28. By virtue of the foregoing, the defendants, under color
of state law, have also deprived plaintiffs of rights, privileges,

32a

and immunities secured by the Constitution and laws of the
United States, in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

29. Plaintiffs have no adequate remedy at law.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs respectfully pray that the Court
enter judgment: ai

A. Enjoining defendants from commencing condemnation
proceedings against piaintiffs’ property and from otherwise
seeking to take plaintiffs’ property involuntarily in connection
with the proposed Forty-Second Street Development Project;

B. Awarding plaintiffs the costs and disbursements of this
action, including their reasonable attorneys’ fees; and

C. Granting plaintiffs such other or further relief as the
Court deems just and proper.

Dated: New York, New York
October 9, 1984

LEBOEUF, LAMB, LEIBY
& MACRAE

By: /s/ JACOB FRIEDLANDER
Jacob Friedlander
520 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10022
(212) 715-8000
—and—
/s/ NORMAN DORSEN
Norman Dorsen
40 Washington Square South
New York, New York 10012
(212) 598-2555

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1295%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
