# Amicus Curiae Brief — Johnson v. Transportation Agency, Santa Clara Cty.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1292%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 480 U.S. 616

## Text

Yer? we
nt 9, F "
an No. 85-1129 J

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

PAUL E. JOHNSON,
+, Petitioner,
TRANSPORTATION AGENCY, SANTA CLARA COUNTY,
CALIFORNIA, AND SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL
UNION, LOCAL 715,

Respondents.

On A Writ of Certiorari To The United States Court
of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF
AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
FOR THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR

AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS
IN SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENTS

DAVID SILBERMAN
LAURENCE GOLD
(Counsel of Record)
$15 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202/637-5390)

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® GS «0

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 85-1129

PAUL E. JOHNSON,

+ Petitioner,
TRANSPORTATION AGENCY, SANTA CLARA COUNTY,
CALIFORNIA, AND SERVICE EMPLOYEES INTERNATIONAL
UNION, LOCAL 715,

Respondents.

On A Writ of Certiorari To The United States Court
of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

MOTION BY THE AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR
AND CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS
FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

The American Federation vf Labor and Congress of
Industrial Organizations (“AFL-CIO”) moves for leave
to file the attached brief amicus curiae in support of
the Respondents. In support of this motion the AFL-
CIO states as follows:

1. The AFL-CIO is a federation of 93 national and
international unions representing over 13,000,000 work-
ing men and women. The AFL-CIO’s policy position on
affirmative action plans, declared most recently by its
Sixteenth Constitutional Convention, is that such plans
are “necessary ... to ensure that minorities and women

take their rightful places in our economic system and to
achieve equality and harmony among the races.”

2. The sole issue in this ease is whether Respondent
Santa Clara County violated Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 N.S.C. § 2000e et seg., by adopting and
implementing a voluntary affirmative action plan. This
Court has addressed a like question on only one occasion,
in Steelworkers v. Weber, 448 U.S. 198 (1979). The
AFL-CIO filed a joint brief in Weber with the United
Steelworkers of America defending the lawfulness of the
affirmative action plan that was at issue in that case.

3. The AFL-CIO has a somewhat different under-
standing of Weber than do the parties to this case. As
explained in the attached brief, we believe that Weber
teaches that an employer may engage in affirmative
action without violating Title VII so long as the em-
ployer is acting to redress a historic imbalance in the
employer’s workforce, and without regard to the proof
of the causes or possible causes of that imbalance. We
seek to file the attached brief in order to present to the
Court the basis for that reading of Title VII and of
Weber.

4. Petitioner and the Respondents have consented
orally to the filing of the attached brief. The timing of
the filing, however, necessitates this motion, as ex-
plained below.

(a) This brief is being submitted within the deadline
for the filing of the brief of the Respondent Service Em-
ployees International Union, Local 715 (“SEIU Local
715”), and four days after the deadline for the filing of
the brief of the Respondent Transportation Agency,
Santa Clara County, California (the “County”). The
Clerk’s office has informed us that because the deadline
for the brief of one of the Respondents has passed and
because the deadline of the other Respondent was ex-
tended only because that Respondent, through a mis-
understanding, was not originally served with a copy of
the brief for the United States, the filing of an amicus

ee re

a

curiae brief after the first deadline would not be con-
sidered timely under Rule 36.2, even though the brief is
being filed “within the time allowed for the filing of the
brief of [one of] the part[ies] supported.”

(b) In deference to the Court, it is the AFL-CIO
practice, in cases like the instant one in which a union
affiliated with the AFL-CIO is a party, to consult closely
with the affiliate with tespect to the case, and to file a
separate amicus curiae brief only if we find that we have
something to add to what is contained in the union-
party’s brief. Given our practice of close consultation
with counsel for the union-party in a case, we were, of
course, put at the same disadvantage in completing our
brief in this proceeding as SEIU Local 715. Until that
Union determined its position, we could not determine
whether or not it would be appropriate to prepare and
file an AFL-CIO amicus curiae brief.

(c) It is our understanding that oral argument in this
case will not be heard until November or December,
1986. Permitting the filing of this amicus curiae brief
thus will not prejudice any of the parties to this case
nor delay the Court’s consideration of the matter. And
because of the different approach we take, our presenta-
tion may be of assistance to the Court in considering
the vital issue raised here.

WHEREFORE, the AFL-CIO requests that leave be
granted to file the attached brief amicus curiae.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID SILBERMAN
LAURENCE GOLD
(Counsel of Record)
815 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202/637-5390)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

EE cca ahs tinal-sclaebielnbnidaeiacinictain

I. THE ENDS OF THE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION
Be ecteitastiieasiaiapinba ecilceapypiseataniniacnhcuiivgiauondisnanatinn

II. THE MEANS USED TO ACHIEVE AFFIRMA-
ee I iciccriieh aipiceldaisicaina i ccinnnitcipins aceon

A. The “Trammeling” Issue

B. The “Temporariness” Issue

Ce I iiceiice taba bea iahcnnsstossistiisstobnisnera niall

20
27

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405

FERRE A irae SAT Sa en 18, 26

Bishop v. Wood, 426 os TE = ERRRanane ESL 21

County of Washington v. Gunther, 452 U.S. 161,

ih a 4
Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 US. >...) ae 4
Evans v. United Air Lines, 431 U.S. 533 (1977)... 18
Firefighters v. Cleveland, —— U.S. ——, 54 L.W.

gg RI re eee mone 4,9,14

Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1980) ....12, 24, 26, 27
Hazelwood School District v. United States, 433

a a
Mississippi University for Women v. Hogan, 458
SSR WR a eI On Nea 5
NLRB v. Catholic Bishop, 440 U.S. 490 (1979) . 5
Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, —— U.S. ——, 54
L.W. 4984 (July 2, 1986) .................. lls 16, 20, 23, 24
Steelworkers v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193 (1979) _....... passim
University of California Regents v. Bakke, 438
_ “RRR Saeco oe fs 5, 12, 21
Walsh v. Schlecht, 429 U.S. 401 (1977) 28
Weber v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp., 563
F.2d 216 (5th Cir. 1977), rev’d, 443 U.S. 193 7,8
Wygant v. Jackson Board of Education, U.S.
, 54 L.W. 4479 (May 19, 1986)... passim
STATUTES:
Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972, P.L.
i cbsanenin siseisoenaimieiin 3
Title VII, Civil Rights Act of 1964
§ 701b, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-(b) 0. 3
§ 703, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e... . passim
§ 703 (j), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(j) 9
§ 706(g), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5 (gz) 13
42 U.S.C. § 1988 ....................... a 5
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
H.R. Rep. No. 914, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963) i)
Legislative History of the Equal Employment Op-
portunity Act of 1972 ........... 4
S. Rep. 92-415, 92nd Cong., Ist Sess. (1971) 4

110 Cong. Rec.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE AMERICAN
FEDERATION OF LABOR AND CONGRESS OF
INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS IN SUPPORT

OF THE RESPONDENTS

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of
Industrial Organizations (“AFL-CIO”) submits this brief
amicus curiae contingent upon the granting of the fore-
going motion for leave to file the brief. The interest of
the amicus curiae is stated in the motion.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Two fundamental questions are posed in this case:
first, has a sufficient predicate been shown to enable
Respondent Santa Clara County (the “County”) to en-
gage in some form of affirmative action without violat-
ing Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e et seg.; and, if so, second, whether the particu-
lar means the County has adopted toward that end are
consistent with Title VII.

In Part I we show that under Steelworkers v. Weber,
443 U.S. 193 (1978)—-which, we demonstrate, is the
controlling authority here—an employer may engage in
at least some forms of affirmative actior to redress a
long-standing and conspicuous imbalance in the em-
ployer’s workforce, without regard to the causes or pos-
sible causes of that imbalance. We further show that
Weber squarely refutes the argument of Petitioner and
the Solicitor General that a “history of past discrimina-
tion in which the employer has participated,” Br. for the
U.S. at 10, is a necessary prerequisite to lawful affirma-
tive action under Title VII. And Weber equally clearly
rejects Santa Clara County’s theory that proof of an
arguable violation of Title VII is a necessary prerequisite.

In Part Il we show that the means chosen by the
County to implement its affirmative action plan are law-
ful under Title VII. The County’s affirmative action plan
does not “unnecessarily trammel the interests of [non-
minority] employees.” Weber, 443 U.S. at 208. As in
Weber, the County’s plan “does not require the discharge

2

for layoff] of [nonminority] workers,” and does not
“create an absolute bar to the advancement of white em-
ployees.” Jd. Indeed, the instant case is a far easier one
than Weber in this regard for two reasons: first, the
County uses gender only as a “plus” factor in making
employment decisions and does not bar nonminorities
from competing for any available opening; and second,
the County’s affirmative action plan does not disrupt
any settled employment expectations.

The County’s affirmative action plan likewise satisfies
Weber’s requirement that affirmative action may be pur-
sued only as a “temporary measure.” 443 U.S. at 208.
The County’s plan is temporary in precisely the same
way as was the plan at issue in Weber: neither contains
an express terminal date but each is impliedly limited
to achieving-—and not maintaining—racial/gender bal-
ance. Any doubt on this score should be resolved (as
it was in Weber) by construing the plan to render it
lawful rather than unlawful.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ENDS OF THE AFFIRMATIVE ACTION PLAN

A review of the developing jurisprudence on the legal-
ity of affirmative action plans indicates that in a case
challenging such a plan, it facilitates analysis to ask first
whether a sufficient predicate has been shown to justify
some form of affirmative action and, if so, to inquire sec-
ond whether the particular form of affirmative action at
issue is lawful. We therefore proceed in that manner
treating with the first question in this Part of the
Argument and the second question in Part II infra.

Petitioner’s complaint in this case pleads a claim under
only Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
$ 2000e et seq., J.A. 7, and, thus, as Petitioner states in
his brief, “Petitioner only seeks relief under Title VII,”
Pet. Br. at 19. Accordingly, the threshold question here
is when an empleyer (and a union) may, without run-
ning afoul of that statute, engage in voluntary affirma-
tive action.

3

This Court has addressed that issue on only one oc-
casion, in Steelworkers v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193 (1979),
a case involving a private employer. In seeking the is-
suance of a writ of certiorari in this case, Petitioner
—like the lower courts—treated Weber as the control-
ling precedent. See Pet. for Cert. at 9-10 (Weber “set
forth the standard for voluntary affirmative action
plans”). But in his brief on the merits, Petitioner—sup-
ported by the Solicitor General—argues that different
“constraints may apply to a public employer’s voluntary
affirmative action plan under Title VII.” Pet. Br. at 20
(emphasis added). In particular, Petitioner argues that
“the strict scrutiny standard [of the Equal Protection
Clause] must also be applied under Title VII to sex-based
discrimination by a public employer under a voluntary
affirmative action [plan].” Jd. at 23. As we proceed to
show, Petitioner is mistaken.

A.(1) Title VII contains a unitary set of prohibi-
tions, set forth in § 703 of that Act, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2,
which applies to all “employers,” as that term is defined
in § 701(b), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-(b). At the time those
prohibitions were enacted in 1964, public employers were
expressly excluded from the definition of “employer.”
The prohibitions stated in § 703 thus were “enacted pur-
suant to the commerce power to regulate purely private
decisionmaking [and] wl[ere] not intended to incorporate
and particularize the commands of the Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendments.” Weber, 443 U.S. at 206 n.6 (em-
phasis added).

The exclusion of public employers from Title VII’s
coverage was repealed in the Equal Employment Oppor-
tunity Act of 1972, P.L. 92-261, but Congress did not at
that time amend § 703 in any respect. It would be sur-
prising, indeed, if the 1972 Congress’ purpose in amend-
ing the definitional provision of Title VII was to create,
sub silentio, new and unique substantive rules te govern
the duties of the public employers thereby brought under
the Act. And as thir “art has concluded, Congress had
no such hidden age. .; the legislative materials show

4

that “Congress expressly indicated the intent that the
same Title VII principles be applied to governmental and
private employers alike.” Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433
U.S. 321, 332 n.14 (1977). See also Firefighters v. Cleve-
land, U.S. ——, 54 L.W. 5005, 5010 n.10 (July 2,
1986) 2

(2) The Solicitor General argues that any “constitu-
tional limitations’ on affirmative action by public em-
ployers must be read into § 703 to “avoid[] an interpre-
tation of Title VII which would render it pre tanto un-
constitutional” and would “ ‘authorize’ unconstitutional
behavior.” Br. for the U.S. at 6, 10 n.5. Those constitu-
tional limitations, as Weber makes clear, do not apply
to private employers who voluntarily adopt, or agree in
collective bargaining, to affirmative action plans since
such actions are not “state action.” See 443 U.S. at 200.

The Solicitor General’s argument is wrong because this
case concerns the reach of § 703, and that section “can
hardly be said to ‘authorize’ anything at all: it is purely
prohibitory.” County of Washington v. Gunther, 452
U.S. 161, i69 (1981). Thus, a holding that § 703 does
not condemn all affirmative action that the Constitution
proscribes would not “render Title VII pro tanto un-
constitutional,” any more than the 1964 Act was ren-

1In reporting the bill that became the 1972 Act, the Senate
Committee on Labor and Public Welfare stated: “The Committee
believes that the employees of State and local governments are en-
titled to the same benefits and protections in employment as the em-
ployees in the private sector of the economy.” S. Rep. 92-415,
92nd Cong., 1st Sess. 9 (1971) (emphasis added), reprinted in
Legislative History of the Equal Employment Opportunity Act of
1972) (“Leg. Hist.”). Senator Williams, the chief sponsor of the
bill, repeated this explanation during the Senate debates. See Leg.
Hist. at 1118.

The Senate amended the Labor Committee’s bill in other respects
but accepted that Committee’s proposal to extend the Act to public
employers. See Leg. Hist. 1102-76, 1789-90. The bill adopted by
the House contained no comparable provision. See id. 326-32. In
Conference the House receded. See id. 1813 (joint explanatory
statement of the Conference Managers.)

5

dered unconstitutional because that Act did not proscribe
any act of public-sector discrimination. Rather, such a
holding would mean simply that in enacting Title VII,
Congress did not create an additional statutory remedy
for all of the conduct that is remediable under the Con-
stitution (and under 42 U.S.C. § 1983).

Because that is so, Petitioner’s and the Solicitor Gen-
eral’s reliance on NLRB v. Catholic Bishop, 440 U.S. 490
(1979), see Br. for Pet. at 21; Br. for the U.S. at 10
n.5, is misplaced. Catholic Bishop wisely counsels that
“there must be present the affirmative intent of Congress
clearly expressed,” before the Court will conclude that Con-
gress intended to enact a law that “would give rise to
serious constitutional questions.” 440 U.S. at 501. That
sound rule of construction—and of judicial restraint—
simply has no application here as no constitutional ques-
tion is implicated by the determination of the extent of
the Title VII cause of action against affirmative action
plans.’

2 Of course, if the Solicitor General were correct—if “any con-
stitutional limitations on [affirmative action] carry over to Title
VII,” Br. for U.S. at 6—it would then be necessary to determine
the circumstances under which gender-conscious, as distinguished
from race-conscious, affirmative action is permitted.

This Court has not yet confronted that question. And it is not
at all clear that the limitations on affirmative action that the Court
has developed with respect to race-conscious measures—limitations
that reflect at least a plurality’s view that any form of racial classi-
fication must satisfy the “compelling interest” standard, see Wygant
v. Jackson Board of Education, —— U.S. , 54 L.W. 4479, 4481
(May 19, 1986) (plurality opinion); id. at 4484 (O’Connor, J.,
concurring); see also id. at 4487 (White, J., concurring)-—are
equally applicable to the gender area, in which the Court has not
heretofore applied a compelling interest test, see, e.g., Mississippi
University for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718, 724 (1982). See
also University of California Regents v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 302-
03 (Powell, J.) (“Gender-based distinctions are less likely to create
the analytical and practical problems present in preferential pro-
grams premised on racial or ethnic criteria’’).

The Solicitor General argues that “the strictest level of scrutiny”
is applicable here because “Congress decided in Title VII to extend
the same protection from discrimination based on race to discrimi-

6

In sum, there is no basis for interpreting Title VII
to impose different prohibitions on public employers than
on private employers. Nor is there any basis for conclud-
ing that Title VII’s unitary set of prohibitions necessarily
go as far as the Fourteenth Amendment’s prohibitions.
Thus, Petitioner’s original position in this case is the
correct one: Weber “set[s] forth the standard for volun-
tary affirmative action” that is controlling here. We
therefore turn to a review of the Weber decision.

In so doing, we find ourselves in disagreement not
only with the Petitioner and the Solicitor General, but
with the Respondent Santa Clara County as well. Peti-
tioner seemingly understands Weber to hold that affirma-
tive action is lawful under Title VII only if designed to
remedy “past discrimination” by the employer. Pet. Br.
at 43. The Solicitor General views Weber as “pointing
in two directions” and relies on other cases—none of
which involves voluntary affirmative action under Title
VII—to “resolve this ambiguity” in favor of the inter-
pretation pressed by Petitioner. Br. for U.S. at 13. And
Respondent Santa Clara County also finds Weber in-
determinate as to “the showing required by an employer
to justify affirmative action,” Br. for Resp. Santa Clara
at 13, and the County also turns to other cases, prin-
cipally Wygant, supra, for guidance.

In our view, however, it could not be clearer that, as
a matter of statutory interpretation, Weber states a set
of rules that grants employers a wider leeway in fram-
ing and applying affirmative action plans than the rules

nation based on sex.” Br. for U.S. at 10 n.5. Thus the premise of
the Solicitor General’s attempt to read constitutional limitations
into Title VII is that Congress’ will must be bent in order to avoid
supposed constitutional difficulties. And given that justification,
there sureiy is no basis for extending the prohibitions of Title VII
beyond the point where those prohibitions otherwise would reach
unless the Constitution so requires.

Thus, if the theory of statutory construction that the Solicitor
General urges here were accepted, there would be no avoiding the
separate and unsettled constitutional issue posed by gender-based
affirmative action.

PI

7

the Court developed in Wygant for assessing the consti-
tutionality of race-based affirmative action plans. To
demonstrate that point requires a detailed discussion of
both the facts and the reasoning of Weber.

B. Weber involved an affirmative action plan that was
established by virtue of a national collective bargaining
agreement between Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp.
(“Kaiser”) and the United Steelworkers of America
covering Kaiser’s fifteen plants that were organized by
that Union. Under that collective agreement, it was the
goal at each plant to achieve “minority” representation
(as that word is defined by the EEOC) in craft jobs
equal to the percentage of minorities in the labor pool
from which the plant hired its employees. To achieve
that goal, the agreement obligated Kaiser to create an
apprenticeship program to train its production workers
to become craftsmen, and to fill those apprenticeships
on a seniority basis with the proviso that “not less than
one minority employee will enter [the apprenticeship pro-
gram] for every non-minority employee entering until
the goal is reached.” Weber v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chem-
ical Corp., 563 F.2d 216, 222 (5th Cir. 1977) (quoting
collective agreement). 7

The Weber case arose out of the implementation of
this national agreement at Kaiser’s Gramercy, Louisiana
plant. Prior to implementation, craft vacancies at Gra-
mercy had been filled by hiring already-trained crafts-
men (with five years’ experience in an industrial set-
ting) off the street; the record in Weber indicated that
Kaiser had followed that hiring policy because training
a production worker to become a skilled craftsman would
have cost approximately $15,000 to $20,000 per trainee.
Joint Appendix in No. 78-432 at 67-68. “Because blacks
had long been excluded from craft unions, few were able
to present such credentials. As a consequence, prior to
1974 only 1.83% (5 of 273) of the skilled craftworkers
at the Gramercy plant were black, even though the work-
force in the Gramercy area was approximately 39%
black.” Weber, 443 U.S. at 198.

8

When Kaiser implemented the national agreement at
the Gramercy plant, the necessary consequence was that
some more senior nonminority applicants for the ap-
prenticeship program were denied entry in favor of less
senior minority applicants. Brian Weber, an unsuccessful
white male applicant, brought suit alleging that the af-
firmative action plan constituted discrimination on the
basis of race in violation of Title VII. Weber prevailed
in the lower courts but not in this Court.

In finding a Title VII violation the Fifth Circuit rea-
soned that the fact that Kaiser employed four black craft
workers “reflects the general lack of skills among avail-
able blacks but does not reflect any unlawful practice by
Kaiser,” and that, “in the absence of prior discrimina-
tion” by Kaiser, its voluntary affirmative action plan
was unlawful. 563 F.2d at 224 & n.13. The Court of
Appeals rejected Kaiser’s claim that the Company was
permitted “to correct a lack of training blamed on past
societal discrimination,” stating “[i]t is appropriate to
draw the line for application of restorative justice at
the Gramercy plant, rather than at a larger universe of

. society at large.” Jd. at 225-26 (emphasis in orig-
inal).

This Court stated the resulting “question for decision”
as follows: “whether Congress in Title VII .. . left em-
ployers and unions . . . free to eliminate manifest racial
imbalance in traditionally segregated job categories.”
443 U.S. at 197. And the Court concluded for two prin-
cipal reasons that “Title VII does not prohibit such race-
conscious affirmative action plans.” Id.

The Court first determined that interpreting Title
VII to preclude affirmative action in such circumstances
“would bring about an end completely at variance with
the purpose of the statute.’” Jd. at 202. The point of
the Act, the Court explained, was to address “ ‘the plight
of the Negro in our economy,’” and to facilitate “the
integration of blacks into the mainstream of American
society” by “open[ing] employment opportunities for Ne-

9

groes in occupations which have been traditionally closed
to them.” Jd. at 202-203, quoting 110 Cong. Rec. 6548
(1964) (remarks of Sen. Humphrey). The Court con-
cluded that given those aims

[i]t would be ironic indeed if a law triggered by a

‘Nation’s concern over centuries of racial injustice
and intended to improve the lot of those who had
“been excluded from the American dream for so
long,” i:10 Cong. Rec. 6552 (1964) (remarks of Sen.
Humphrey), constituted the first prohibition of all
voluntary, private, race-conscious efforts to abolish
traditional patterns of racial segregation and hier-
archy. [Jd. at 204.]

The Court tuttressed this conclusion with a second line
of reasoning. One of the principies that animates Title
VII, said the Court, is that “ ‘management prerogatives,
and union freedoms . . . be left undisturbed to the great-
est extent possible.’”’ Jd. at 206, quoting H.R. Rep. No.
914, 88th Cong., Ist Sess., pt.2, p.29 (1963). Indeed,
it was necessary for the authors of Title VII to adhere
to that principle in order to attract the support of tradi-
tional conservatives, whose “support was crucial” to over-
come the filibuster by Southern Democrats and to secure
“passage of the bill.” Firefighters, supra, 54 L.W. at
5010. Thus,

[t]he conclusion in Weber that “Congress chose not
to forbid all voluntary race-conscious affirmative ac-
tion” when it enacted Title VII was largely based
upon the legislative history which shows that Con-
gress was particularly concerned to avoid undue fed-
eral interference with managerial discretion.

As one commentator points out, rather than seeking
to outlaw voluntary affirmative action, the more
conservative proponents of Title VII who held the
balance of power, “were far more concerned to avoid
the intrusion into business autonomy that a rigid
color-blind standard would entail.” [Jd.] *

3In this regard, the Weber Court attached considerable signifi-
cance to the wording of § 703(j) which provides that nothing in
Title VII “shall be interpreted to require any employer .. . to

10

The Weber Court declined to “define in detail the line
of demarcation between permissible and impermissible
affirmative action plans” under Title VII, as the Court
concluded that the Kaiser plan unmistakably “falls on
the permissible side of the line.” 443 U.S. at 208. In
this regard, the Court noted:

The purposes of the plan mirror those of the statute.
Both were designed to break down old patterns of
racial segregation and hierarchy. Both were struc-
tured to “open employment opportunities for Ne-
groes in occupations which have been traditionally
closed to them.” [Jd.] *

grant preferential treatment ... to any group... on account of an
imbalance which may exist” in the employer’s workforce, 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e-2(j). Weber notes that opponents of Title VII had attacked
the legislation on the ground that the bill would require or would
permit actions to redress imbalance, yet “Congress added § 703(j)
which addresses only the first objection.” 443 U.S. at 205. The
Court also emphasized Representative MacGregor’s remarks shortly
before the final vote on Title VII:
Important as the scope and extent of this bill is, it is also
vitally important that all Americans understand what this bill
does not cover. .. . People complain about racia! “balancing” in
the public schools . . . about preferential treatment or quotas in
employment. When we drafted this bill we excluded these
issues largely because the problems raised by these issues are
more properly handled at a governmental level closer to the
American people and by communities and individuals them-
selves. [443 U.S. at 207-08 n.7 quoting 110 Cong. Rec. 15893
(1964) .]

Representative MacGregor was not the only legislator to analogize
the quota issue to the racial balancing in schools issue, see, e.g.,
110 Cong. Rec. 7789 (Sen. Scott), 9881 (Sen. Allott), 10009 (Sen.
Bayh), 14313-14 (Sen. Miller); an issue on which Congress in-
disputably chose not to legislate, see, e.g., id. at 1518 (Rep. Celler),
5266 (Sen. Keating), 6820 (Sen. Douglas), 6841 (Sen. Cooper.
Nor is the MacGregor statement the only one affirming that the
quota issue fell outside the ambit of the bill. See, e.g., id. 6565-66
(statement of House Republican sponsors) (Title VII does not “re-
quire, reward or encourage the imposition of racial quotas or
preferences” and “does not permit the ordering of racial quotas.’’).

4The Court also noted that the Kaiser plan “does not unneces-
sarily trammel the interests of the white employees” and “is a

11

~ And the Court in Weber stated its ultimate conclusion as
follows:

We conclude, therefore, that the adoption of the
Kaiser- [Steelworkers] plan for the Gramercy plant
falls within the area of discretion left by Title VII
. . . to adopt affirmative action plans designed to
eliminate conspicuous racial imbalance in tradition-
ally segregated job categories. [/d. at 209]

In two final footnotes, the Court made reference to the
argument advanced by Kaiser and by the United States
that the “plan was justified because [Kaiser] feared that
black employees would bring suit if [Kaiser] did not
adopt an affirmative action plan.” Jd. at 209, n. 9. The
Court stated that its opinion should “not [be read] to
suggest that the freedom of an employer to undertake
race-conscious affirmative action efforts depends on
whether or not his effort is motivated by fear of liability
under Title VII.” Jd. at 208, n. 8. Rather, the Court
reserved decision on whether such “fear of liability”
would provide a narrower alternative justification for
engaging in affirmative action. See id. at 209, n.9.

In a concurring opinion, Justice Blackmun under-
scored the Court’s refusal te adopt the “fear of liability”
theory. Justice Blackmun stated that his “preference
would be to resolve this litigation by applying” the
“arguable violation’ theory” under which “employers
and unions who had committed ‘arguable violations’ of
Title VII [w]lould be free to make reasonable responses
without fear of liability.” 443 U.S. at 211 (Blackmun,
J., concurring). Justice Blackmun noted that “[t]jhe
Court . . . declines to consider the narrow ‘arguable vio-
lation’ approach and adheres instead to an interpreta-
tion of Title VII that permits affirmative action by an
employer whenever the job category in question is ‘tradi-
tionally segregated’” because of “a societal history of
purposeful exclusion of blacks from the job category.”

temporary measure.” 443 U.S. at 208. We address the significance
of these observations for this case in Part II, infra.

12

Id. at 212 (Blackmun, J., concurring). The Court’s in-
terpretation of the statute, Justice Blackmun observed,
“sweep[s] far more broadly than the class of arguable
violations” in several respects:

For example, Title VII provides no remedy for pre-
Act discrimination, yet the purposeful discrimination
that creates a “traditionally segregated job category”
may have entirely predated the Act. More subtly, in
assessing a prima facie case of Title VII liability, the
composition of the employer’s work force is com-
pared to the composition of the pool of workers who
meet valid job qualifications. When a ‘job category’
is traditionally segregated, however, that pool will
reflect the effects of segregation, and the Court’s ap-
proach goes further and permits a comparison with
the composition of the labor force as a whole...
(Id. at 212-13.]

Justice Blackmun ultimately joined the Court, reasoning
that “where Title VII provides no remedy for blacks, it
should not be construed to foreclose private affirmative
action from supplying relief.” Id. at 214.

C. Weber teaches two basic lessons as to the circum-
stances in which Title VII permits some form of affirma-
tive action.

(1) The first and clearest lesson is a negative one:
Title VII does not limit affirmative action to situations
where there is “a history of past discriminaticn in which
the employer has participated,” Br. for the US. at 15,
see also Pet. Br. at 48, or “evidence that would consti-
tute a prima facie showing of a Title VII violation,”
Resp. Santa Clara County Br. at 18.

(a) To begin with, the Court’s reasoning in Weber
does not turn on “a history of past discrimination” by
the defendant employer. Consistent with the view, ex-
pressed by many Members of this Court, that, “[i]n or-
der to get beyond racism we must first take account of
race.” * the Weber Court concluded, in essence, that a

5 Bakke, 438 U.S. at 407 (opinion of Blackmun, J.) ; see also, e.g.,
Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448, 516 (1980) (Powell, J., concur-

13

program to train blacks to become craftsmen—training
which blacks were denied for so long—furthers the aims
of Title VII and is lawful without regard to whether the
particular employer who now provides the training was
responsible for that past denial. Indeed, the premise of
Weber—and the precise area of disagreement between
this Court and the Fifth Circuit, see pp. 7-12, supra—
is that the defendants in that case were not responsible
for the past exclusion of blacks from the crafts, yet
stil were free to adopt their affirmative action program
to ameliorate the continuing effect of that exclusion.

That premise reflects the record in Weber. As the Court
of Appeals there noted, “[t]he district court found and ap-
pellants [Kaiser and the Steelworkers] all but concede[]
that Kaiser has not been guilty of any discriminatory
hiring or promotion at its Gramercy plant.” 563 F.2d at
224. And as that court also observed, the paucity of
black craftsmen in the Gramercy area, and the resulting
small percentage of black craftsmen in the Kaiser plant,
“reflects the general lack of skills among available blacks
but does not reflect any unlawful practices by Kaiser.”
Id. at 224 n. 13. Given these findings, and given this
Court’s reasoning in Weber, that decision cannot be read
to require proof of past discrimination before an em-
ployer may embark on voluntary affirmative action.°®

ring) (‘In our quest to achieve a society free from racial classifica-
tion, we cannot ignore the claims of those who still suffer from the
effects of identifiable discrimination”); Wygant, 54 L.W. at 4494
(Stevens, J., dissenting).

®To be sure, “the rule governing relief ordered by a court in
a Title VII action” is that affirmative action is permitted only “to
correct prior discrimination by the employer.” Br. for U.S. at
15. But a court cannot order relief of any kind in a Title VII
action absent a finding of a violation of the Act; this general rule
of remediation is expressly codified in § 706(g), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-
5(g) (“If the court finds that the respondent has intentionally
engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an unlawful employment .
practice charged in the complaint, the court may ...) Thus, if the
limitations on the courts were imposed on voluntary action as well,

14

(b) Nor can Weber fairly be read to hold that proof
of an arguable Title VII violation is necessary to en-
able an affirmative action plan to avoid condemnation un-
der Title VII as Respondent Santa Clara County seems
to believe. While Justice Blackmun, in his concurring
opinion in Weber, expressed a willingness to adopt that
theory, the Court in Weber declined to do so. P. 11-12,
supra. The Court instead sustained the Kaiser plan be-
cause that plan furthered the aims of the statute by
opening opportunities previously closed to women and
minorities, and not because the plan was a method of
safeguarding against potential Title VII liabilities.’

Furthermore, in Weber, any showing of an “argu-
able” or prima facie Title VII violation required proof
of a significant disproportion between the percentage of
black craftsmen in the Gramercy area and the percentage
of black craftsmen employed by Kaiser. As this Court
has explained, where “special qualifications are required
to fill particular jobs,” statistical evidence, to be proba-
tive, must be limited to “individuals who possess the
necessary qualifications.” Hazelwood School District v.

no such action would be permitted absent antecedent findings of )
wrongdoing. Not even the Solicitor General is prepared to go
that far.
For this and other reasons, an essential point of Weber and of
last Term’s decision in Firefighters is to underscore the difference,
for Title VII purposes, between compelled and voluntary affirmative
action. As the Court concluded in Firefighters:

[Whatever the extent of the limits § 706(g) places on the
power of the federal courts ,to compel employers and unions
to take certain actions that the employers or unions oppose
and would not otherwise take, § 706(g) does not restrict the
ability of employers or unions to enter into voluntary agree-
ments providing for race-conscious remedial action. [54 L.W.
at 5010.)

TIndeed an employer’s voluntary affirmative action plan is most
unlikely. to “resol[ve] charges of discrimination,” Br. for the
U.S. at 22, unless the program fortuitously reaches all of the actual
victims of the employer’s discrimination, and unless the employer

» also provides make-whole relief to those victims.

|

15

United States, 483 U.S. 299, 308 n.18 (1977). Yet no
such evidence was offered in Weber; indeed, as noted, it
was all but conceded that there were as few black crafts-
men in the Gramercy area as in the Kaiser plant. Thus,
the record in Weber plainly did not contain “a strong
basis in evidence” for believing that Kaiser was guilty
of past discrimination, Wygant, 54 L.W. at 4482 (plural-
ity opinion).

(c) We recognize, of course, that in light of the les-
sons we contend are compelled by Weber, there will be
circumstances, at least with respect to race-conscious
affirmative action, see n. 2, supra, in which Title VII
will not proscribe conduct which the Fourteenth Amend-
ment (as interpreted in Wygant) would condemn if en-
gaged in by a state actor. There is nothing anomalous
or unsettling about that conclusion.

In Wygont—as we understand the opinions in that
case—the Court determined “that a governmental agen-
cy’s interest in remedying ‘societal’ discrimination, that
is discrimination not traceable to its own actions, can-
not be deemed sufficiently compelling to pass constitu-
tional muster under strict scrutiny.” 54 L.W. at 4485
(O’Connor, J., concurring) ; see id. at 4481 (plurality
opinion) ; see ‘also id. at 4487 (White, J., concurring).
But the question whether an affirmative action plan is
supported by a “compelling interest” simply is not rele-
vant in determining whether that plan violates Title
VII; in the latter situation, the sole question for decision
is how far Congress intended the Act to reach. And
what Weber teaches is that in enacting rules initially
designed to govern only private employers and later ex-
tended to apply to public employers as well, Congress
was concerned with limiting the degree of federal intru-
sion into managerial decisions and did not go so far as
to outlaw every affirmative action program which, if
engaged in by a public employer on a race-conscious
basis, would fail the “compelling interest” test.*

* Of course, the Court has not yet determined whether redressing
societal discrimination is a sufficiently important governmental inter-

16

(2) There remains the task of identifying what is
required by way of justification for an affirmative action
plan to meet Title VII’s requirements. As to * is ques-
tion, Weber again is instructive.

In framing the “question for decision” in Weber, the
Court placed a limit on the scope of its inquiry by ask-
ing whether employers are “free to eliminate manifest
racial imbalance in traditionally segregated job cate-
gories.” 443 U.S. at 197 (emphasis added). Similarly,
in explaining why the Kaiser plan “falls on the permissible
side of the line,” the Court stressed that the plan was
“designed to break down old patterns of racial segrega-
tion and hierarchy.” Id. at 208 (emphasis added). And
in the final sentence of its opinion, the Court stated its
“eonclu[sion] as follows: the Kaiser plan “falls within
the discretion left by Title VII to adopt affirmative aci -»
plans designed to eliminate conspicuous racial imbalance
in traditionally segregated job categories.” Id. at 209
(emphasis added).

Plainly, then, Weber provides only that under Title
VII, affirmative action to redress “conspicuous imbal-
ance” that has “traditionally” existed is lawful. Title
VII, the Court was at pains to add, does “not allow estab-
lishment of systems ‘to maintain racial balance in em-
ployment.’” 443 U.S. at 207, n. 7 (emphasis added by
Court). See also Sheet Metal Workers, 54 L.W. at 4999
(plurality opinion) ; id. at 5001 (Powell, J., concurring) ;
id. at 5004 (O’Connor, J., dissenting). Thus, affirmative
action violates Title VII if designed merely to restore
a previously-achieved balance, to correct a short-term

est to satisfy the lesser burden of justification generally required for
gender-based classifications. See n.2, supra. Thus, it may well be
that the Constitution permits gender-based affirmative action to
remedy societal discrimination and that a decision in this case that
Title VII permits such affirmative action will be determinative of
whether the plan at issue here is lawful. In any event, the decision
here is important in that further elaboration of Weber will apply
to private employers as well who are not subject to constitutional
constraints. See 443 U.S. at 200.

17

imbalance, and a fortiori, where there is no imbalance
to redress.°

What is less clear from Weber is whether proof of a
“conspicuous” and “traditional” racial imbalance estab-
lishes a sufficient predicate to sustain some form of af-
firmative action under Title VII, or whether an addi-
tional showing is required. In Weber the Court traced
the imbalance in Kaiser’s craft workforce to what the
Court viewed as the purposeful discriminatory exclusion
of blacks from the crafts; the Court stated that “[j]udi-
cial findings of exclusion from crafts en racial grounds
are sO numerous as to make such exclusion a proper sub-
ject for judicial notice.” 443 U.S. at 198 n.1. Thus
Weber could be read to limit the freedom to engage in
affirmative action to instances in which the imbalance to
be remedied is not only traditional but also attributable
to identifiable actors who have committed identifiable
acts of discrimination.

Although the matter is not entirely free from doubt,
we submit that Weber should not be read to be so iim-
ited. The theory of that decision is that Congress left
an “area of discretion” for voluntary affirmative action
which is “designed to break down old patterns of racial
segregation and hierarchy” and which therefore “mir-
rors|s]” the purposes of Title VII. It is not necessary that
the particular culprits responsible for the “old pattern”
be identified before a plan that seeks to address that pat-
tern can be said to advance the statutory goals and thus
fall within that “area of discretion.” To the contrary,
a plan that furthers “the integration of blacks [or
women] into the mainstream of American society” by
redressing an “old pattern” of imbalance furthers the

nee Hibs

* The term “imbalance” must be understood in light of the facts
of Weber. Kaiser’s workforce was “imbalanced” in the sense that
in an area of the country which was almost 40% black, Kaiser em-
ployed few black craftsmen. But as previously noted, Kaiser's
craft workforce was not necessarily imbalanced in comparison to
the craft workforce in the Gramercy area. Weber thus does not
require imbalance in the latter sense as a precondition for affirma-
tive action.

18

purposes of the Act, whether or not the causes of the
present situation can be neatly identified.

Moreover, requiring that the past wrongdoers be iden-
tified as a prerequisite to validating affirmative action
under Title VII runs contrary to other important prin-
ciples that lie at the heart of the Act. Title VII imposes
responsibility for employment discrimination as of the
effective date of the Act or, as of the start of the limita-
tions period in a particular case, whichever is later.
A discriminatory act predating that date is “merely an
- unfortunate event in history which has no present legal
consequences.” Evans v. United Air Lines, 431 U.S. 553,
558 (1977). Thus, judges and lawyers are not required
by Title VII to delve into the past and attempt to allocate
responsibility for “ignominous page[s] in this country’s
history,” Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405,
418 (1975); such questions (which in any event are not
easy to resolve through the litigation process) remain
the province of historians and sociologists, and not jurists.
Yet if Weber were read to require proof of past dis-
crimination by an identifiable actor before affirmative
action is deemed lawful, an employer wishing to eliminate
a long-standing imbalance in its workforce would first
have to trace the cause of that “traditional” imbalance
back to its origins and, if the employer’s affirmative ac-
tion plan were challenged, the employer then would have
to prove to the satisfaction of the court the historic guilt
of some third party or parties.

In sum, Weber is best read to hold that at least some
forms of affirmative action aimed at redressing a con-
spicuous and long-standing exclusion of blacks or women ~

from a particular job category are lawful under Title
VIL.

D. Measured against this test, there is no doubt that a
sufficient predicate has been established in the instant case
to permit some form of affirmative action by Respond-
ents Santa Clara County and the Union. The record
shows that as of 1973, when the County’s Transporta-

19

tion Agency first developed an affirmative action plan,
see J.A. 37, only 8% of the Agency’s employees were
female, id. 45, far short of the representation of women
in the area workforce (36.4%), id. Using categories de-
veloped by the EEOC for grouping jobs, id. 47, 49, 125-
26, the Agency did a workforce analysis which showed
that as of 1978 no women had yet succeeded in securing
a “skilled craft” job, and few women had secured tech-
nical or professional jobs, J.A. 49. Accordingly, the Agen-
cy’s affirmative action plan, to which the Union agreed,
see Br. of Resp. SEIU Local 715 at 27-28, provided that:

[A] priority objective of the Agency EEO Affirr>: .
tive Action Plan will be to provide women the mé.71-
mum possible opportunity to obtain equitable employ-
ment and career progression in the Agency’s pro-
fessional, technical and skilled job classifications
where women have not been traditionally employed
and where they are presently underrepresented.
[J.A. 34; emphasis added].

See also id. at 51. No more is required to establish a

proper predicate for some proper form of affirmative
action under Title VII.

II. THE MEANS USED TO ACHIEVE AFFIRMATIVE
ACTION

Title VII limits not only the ends which may be pur-
sued through affirmative action, but also the means chosen
to pursue such ends. Weber states two such limits: an
affirmative action plan must not “unnecessarily trammel
the interests of [nonminority] employees” and it must be
a “temporary measure.” 443 U.S. at 208.1° Petitioner,

Tt is not entirely clear whether “temporariness” is an inde-
pendent requirement for an affirmative action plan under Weber,
or whether the Court’s reference to the fact that the Kaiser plan
was “temporary” was simply another way of stating that Kaiser
was not seeking to maintain racial balance. If the latter is the
correct reading of Weber, then the application of the affirmative
action plan in this case to redress a gross imbalance would be
lawful without regard to Respondent Santa Clara County’s intent
on how the County would proceed once the imbalance was redressed.

20

supported by the Solicitor General, suggests that the
plan agreed to by the County’s Transportation Agency
and the Union runs afoul of both of these principles; as
we proceed to show, the supporting arguments advanced
cannot withstand analysis.

A. The “Trammeling” Issue

(1) In explaining its conclusion that the affirmative
action plan in Weber did not “unnecessarily trammel the
interests of the white employees,” the Court stated:

The plan does not require the discharge of white
workers and their replacement with new black hirees.
Nor does the plan create an absolute bar to the ad-
vancement of white employees; half of those trained
in the program will be white. [443 U.S. at 208].

Precisely the same is true here.

The affirmative action plan here does not compel the
discharge or layoff of any nonminority employee; indeed
the plan expressly recognizes that it will be “difficult to
attain the Agency’s employment goals,” because, inter alia,

the employee “turnover rate .. . is very low, greatly
limiting the opportunities available to hire minorities
[and] women ... in the job classifications where they

are most under represented.” J.A. 55-56 (emphasis
added). Nor does the plan “create an absolute bar to
the advancement of nonminority employees”; the plan
does not set aside any positions for minorities or females
and the plan expressly provides that any annual goals
that are established “should not be construed as ‘quotas’
that must be met” but rather are to “be seen as realistic
desired levels of achievement.” J.A. 64.

Indeed, in this regard, the instant case is a far easier
one than Weber. Kaiser’s affirmative action plan was far
more rigid and had a far greater adverse “ ‘effect .. .
upon innocent third parties,’” Sheet Metal Workers, 54
L.W. at 5001 (Powell, J., concurring), than does the
plan in the instant case. Under Kaiser’s plan, a quota
was established: nonminorities could not compete for
50% of all apprenticeship vacancies.‘ In contrast, the

21

affirmative action plan here, like the Harvard admis-
sions plan discussed in Bakke, provides that gender “may
be deemed a ‘plus’ in a particular applicant’s file, yet it
does not insulate the individual from comparison with
all other candidates for the available [vacancy].” 438
U.S. at 317 (opinion of Powell, J.). While gender, like
any other factor, may be determinative in a particular
case, that will occur only where, as was true here, man-
agement concludes that the alternative candidates for a
job are both competent and possess comparable quali-
fications.

There is a further, and related respect, in which the
affirmative action plan at issue here has a less pro-
nounced impact on nonminorities than the plan at issue
in Weber. Under the prevailing personnel practices, in
filling vacancies, management is free to choose which-
ever of the seven top-ranked applicants management de-
cides will best further the County Transportation
Agency’s mission. Accordingly, no employee has any en-
titlement, or any expectation based upon law or contract,
to a particular opening. Cf., Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S.
341 (1976). Thus, considering gender as a “plus” factor
in making employment decisions cannot “disrupt .. .
settled seniority expectations.” Wygant, 54 L.W. at 4483
(plurality opinion). In contrast, in Weber, the affirma-
tive action plan was superimposed upon a seniority-based
selection process, albeit with respect to a newly-created
apprenticeship program, and therefore the Kaiser plan
was more disruptive of security-based expectations.

(2) In arguing to the contrary, Petitioner and the
Solicitor General stress two points: the “burden” of the
affirmative action plan in this instance, it is said, is
focused on one individual, Petitioner Johnson, see Pet.

11 Petitioner here is wrong in suggesting that in Weber, non-
minorities were guaranteed 50% of all apprenticeships. See Pet.
Br. at 43. The Kaiser affirmative action plan provided that “not
less than” 50% of apprenticeships would go to minorities, and re-
quired the application of seniority principles except where neces-
sary to meet the 50% ratio.

22

Br. at 33-34, Br. for U.S. at 28-29; and, it is added, Pe-
titioner has been denied a promotion rather than an
entry-level job, see Pet. App. Br. 36; Br. for U.S. at
28-29. Neither point serves to distinguish Weber and
neither provides a sound basis in principle to overturn
the affirmative action plan in this case.

(a) Although management was legally free to select
any of the top seven applicants for the road dispatcher
job, it is reasonably clear that Petitioner and Diane
Joyce, the successful (female) applicant, were the two
finalists, and that the job would have gone to Petitioner
had it not gone to Ms. Joyce. But whenever an affirma-
tive action program is applied to a particular opening
that is being filled through a selection process that com-
pares the qualifications of applicants—be it an entry-
level position for which persons off-the-street have ap-
plied or an opportunity for advancement which incum-
bent employees are seeking—the selection of a black or
female pursuant to that program will necessarily dis-
advantage the identifiable nonminority applicant who
otherwise would have been selected. That was true in
Weber, itself; Brian Weber lost out on an apprenticeship
position to a black with less seniority than Weber. Yet
the Weber Court did not view that fact as one that in-
validated the affirmative action plan there.

Indeed, the only way to completely avoid disadvantag-
ing identifiable individuals in the pursuit of affirmative
action would be to create rigid quota systems in which
certain positions are reserved for blacks or women and
for which no others may apply. Such an approach
would, of course, assure that affirmative action has an
equal adverse effect on all nonminority applicants as a
group rather than an effect felt by one of those appli-
cants in particular. But it would be most ironic if the
rule against “unnecessarily trammeling the interests” of
nonminorities were to require employers who desire to
adopt an affirmative action plan to provide for a rigid
quota system thereby precluding the adoption of plans

AF ebat P ne asians nn sth

23

providing that race or gender is a “plus factor” in a
decision-making process in which nonminority applicants
are not foreclosed from consideration for any avai™ ble
position.

This is not to deny the relevance of the “diffuseness of
the burden impose[d] on innocent nonminorities,” Sheet
Metal Workers, 54 L.W. at 5002 n.3 (Powell, J., con-
curring), in assessing the lawfulness under Title VII of
a particular affirmative action plan. Our point is rather
that the “diffuseness” inquiry cannot end with a determi-
nation that in the end the affirmative action disadvan-
tages an identifiable individual, lest employers be pushed
into adopting needlessly rigid plans.

In this regard we note that what sets apart the plan
struck down in Wygant (on Fourteenth Amendment
grounds) from the plan at issue here is not that iden-
tifiable nonminorities were adversely affected but the na-
ture of that effect. Notwithstanding their seniority
rights, these nonminorities were subject to the indefinite
loss of their jobs. The Wygant plurality explained:

In cases involving valid hiring goals, the burden to
be borne by innocent individuals is diffused to a con-
siderable extent among society generally. Though
hiring goals may burden some innocent individuals,
they simply do not impose the same kind of injury
that layoffs impose. Denial of a future employment
opportunity is not as intrusive as loss of an existing
job [54 L.W. at 4484; emphasis added].

The Wygant plurality also noted that “ ‘the rights and
expectations surrounding seniority make up what is
probably the most valuable capital asset that the worker
“owns,”’” and therefore “(layoffs disrupt these settled
expectations in a way that general hiring goals do not.”
Id. (emphasis added). The plurality concluded:

While hiring goals impose a diffuse burden, often
foreclosing any one of several opportunities, layoffs
impose the entire burden of achieving racial equality
on particular individuals, often resulting in serious

24

disruption of their lives. That burden is too intru-
sive. [Jd.]

Thus in concluding in Wygant that the “burden” placed
on “particular individuals” by layoff quotas is “too in-
trusive,” the plurality placed great weight on the “kind
of injury that layoffs’—as distinguished from non-hiring
decisions—impose. And while we do not doubt that the
lesson taught by Wygant with regard to the type of
affirmative action plans that are permissible under the
Constitution applies as well to Title VII—Justice Powell's
opinion in Sheet Metal Workers makes that much clear
—that lesson is not implicated here for the reasons previ-
ously explained.

(b) The County Transportation Agency-Union affirm-
ative action plan likewise cannot be struck down here on
the ground that the injury Petitioner suffered related to a
promotional opportunity rather than an entry-level posi-
tion. That was equally true in Weber, as that case in-
volved apprenticeship positions which were to be filled
from among those already working for Kaiser.

Moreover, it would be anomalous in the extreme to hold
that an employer may engage in affirmative action in
order to fill entry-level positions—positions which are
typically the lowest paid, least desirable jobs in a work-
place—but that thereafter affirmative action must end.
Such a rule would fail to further one of Weber’s critical
aims: “to break down old patterns of racial segrega-
tion and hierarchy.” 443 U.S. at 208 (emphasis added).
And such a rule would delay, rather than hasten, the day
when “no [employment] decision will be-based upon im-
mutable characteristics.” Fullilove, 448 U.S. at 516
(Powell, J., concurring). Nothing recommends such a
rule and nothing in this Court’s precedents lends any
support to such a rule.

(3) Petitioner, again supported by the Solicitor Gen-
eral, advances a further, broader critique of the affirma-
tive action plan at issue here. Proceeding from the prem-

aaa

25

ise that a voluntary affirmative action plan is invalid
under Title VII if the plan is not, in a court’s view,
“narrowly tailored to achieve its remedial objectives
while at the same time intruding to the least extent
practicable upon the expectations and interests of in-
nocent third parties,” Br. for U.S. at 17, Petitioner and
the Solicitor General attack the plan here as overbroad
in various of its particulars. See Pet. Br. at 38-42; Br.
for U.S. at 25-26 & ns.14-17. This line of analysis is
doubly flawed.

First, the premise of the analysis is unsound. Weber
does not adopt any variant of the least-drastic-means
approach that Petitioner champions. Indeed, it is doubt-
ful that the Weber plan could have survived such an
analysis. Who is to say that the 50% quota involved in
Weber was necessary to “achieve its remedial objectives”?
Surely, a lower quota—with a lesser impact on non-
minorities—might in some sense have sufficed. Indeed,
Kaiser arguably did enough by creating an apprentice-
ship program in lieu of hiring only already-trained
craftsmen; if, as the lower courts in Weber had found,
Kaiser had never discriminated in hiring, Kaiser could
have filled its apprenticeships on a pure seniority basis
and still eventually train a significant number of black
craftsmen. Yet the Weber Court did not even discuss
whether an apprenticeship program filled by seniority
would have been “adequate” to achieve Kaiser’s aims.

The reason that Weber did not engage in such analysis
is plain from the opinion. The Weber Court relied in
substantial measure on Congress’ intent in enacting Title
VII that “ ‘management prerogatives, and union freedoms
.. . be left undisturbed to the greatest extent possible.’ ”
See p. 9 supra. The rule that an affirmative action
plan may not “unnecessarily trammel the interests” of
nonminorities states an outer limit to a broad managerial
discretion and is not intended to provide the basis for
close judicial oversight of all details of the plan. Peti-
tioner and the Solicitor General thus miss an essential

26

lesson of Weber. Cf. Fullilove, 448 U.S. at 508 (Powell,
J., concurring) (“this Court has not required remedial
plans to be limited to the least restrictive means of im-
plementation”’).

Second, even assuming arguendo the validity of the
type of analysis upon which Petitioner and the Solicitor
General embark, both misconstrue the affirmative action
plan at issue here. Reduced to its essentials, what that
plan does is: first, adopt a “long-range goal” of at-
tain{ing] a work force which includes in all occupational
fields and at all employment levels, minorities, women,
and handicapped persons in numbers consistent with the
ratio of these groups in the area work force,” J.A. 54,
31; second, provide for annual workforce analyses to
ascertain where the County Transportation Agency stands
in relation to the goal, see J.A. 61-64; and third, to the
extent the long-term goal has not been met, establish
“yearly employment goals for women, minorities and
handicapped persons in each EEOC job category and
major job classification” in which there is significant
underrepresentation. J.A. 64.

The long-term goal the plan adopts is identical to the
goal Kaiser adopted in Weber with respect to craft po-
sitions. The annual workforce review that is performed
to determine whether there has been progress toward
the goal is in keeping with the fundamental spirit of
Title VII which is intended to act as a “spur or cata-
lyst to cause ‘employers and unions to self-examine and
to self-evaluate their employment practices.” Weber, 443
U.S. at 204, quoting Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, su-
pra, 442 U.S. at 418. And finally, the adoption of annual
goals and the concomitant consideration of race or gender
as a “plus” factor where underrepresentation persists, is,
as we already have seen, a modest form of affirmative
action of the type Weber permits.

Thus, the attempts by Petitioner and the United States
to portray the affirmative action plan as heavyhanded
and excessive simply do not withstand analysis.

eee

Hee. mcm

eames win

ae Ras tea cna

Ao Yael Bes TEEPE HU 2

|
|

27

B. The “Temporariness” Issue

(1) In Weber the collective bargaining agreement be-
tween Kaiser and the Steelworkers provided for continu-
ing affirmative action “until the goal [of proportional
representation] is reached.” P. 7 supra. The agree-
ment did not state what would happen after that point
or whether the goal would be deemed a continuing one,
authorizing affirmative action should minority repre-
sentation fall below “the goal.” * Nonetheless, given the
terms of the agreement, the Court assumed its temporari-
ness:

[T]he plan is a temporary measure; it is not in-
tended to maintain racial balance, but simply to
eliminate a manifest racial imbalance. Preferential
selection of craft trainees at the Gramercy plant will
end as soon as the percentage of black skilled crafts-
workers in the Gramercy plant approximates the per-
centage of blacks in the local labor force. [443 U.S.
at 208-09]

Cf., also, Fullilove, 448 U.S. at 518 (Powell, J., concur-
ring) (minority set-aside temporary because the author-
ization measure of which the set-aside was a part was
time-limited and thus “[i]t will be necessary for Con-
gress to reexamine the need for a race-conscious remedy
before it extends or reenacts (the set-aside] )”.

(2) The affirmative action plan in the instant case is
temporary in precisely the same way as was the plan at
issue in Weber. Although the plan here does not, in terms,
contain a terminal date, it is framed in terms of achiev-
ing certain goals rather than maintaining fixed percent-
ages. As the court below stated, “|i]mplicit in the plan

2 Kaiser’s industrial Relations Manager at Gramercy testified
that affirmative action would continue to assure that the goal
continued to be met, see J.A. 69 in No. 78-482, but he was not a
participant in the collective bargaining negotiations that had
produced the affirmative action program, id. 64-66, 83-84, and before
this Court the Steelworkers represented that it was that Union’s
understanding that the plan was temporary, Steelworkers Reply Br.
in No. 78-482 at 5 & n.4.

28

is the intent to stop taking sex into account once the
long-range percentage goals are attained.” 748 F.2d at
1318. And the absence of an express termination provi-
sion is not fatal for the validity of an affirmative action
plan should not “depend on technicalities in drafting.”
Id. at 1312.

The foregoing conclusion is buttressed by the general
rule of construction, developed in contract cases but
equally applicable here, that “ambiguously worded con-
tracts should not be interpreted to render them illegal
and unenforceable when the wording lends itself to a
logically acceptable construction that renders them legal
and enforceable.” Walsh v. Schlecht, 429 U.S. 401, 408
(1977). Absent something in the affirmative action plan
that precludes reading the plan as time-limited, such an
intent should be implied so that the lawfulness of the
plan is preserved.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court
of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID SILBERMAN
LAURENCE GOLD
(Counsel of Record)
815 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202/637-5390)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1292%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
