# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Southland News Co. v. County of Winnebago

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1209%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1090

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FJl]bLE D
DFC 18 1985

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
SR

7 4)

io

i

pew!

oS

bt
ics caer |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

Oo—
SOUTHLAND NEWS CoO., INC.,
a IKkentucky corporation,

Petitioner,

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, and
PAUL GILL, in his capacity as Clerk of Winnebago
County, Illinois,

Respondents.

ray
Uv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

J. STEVEN BecKETT

Reno, O’Byrne & Keptey, P.C.
501 West Church
P.O. Box 693
Champaign, IL 61820
217-352-7661

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Winnebago County Outdoor Theater
License Ordinance violates the First Amendment by re-
quiring licensees to covenant against exhibiting motion
picture films that may be constitutionally protected.

2. Whether the lower courts erred in viewing this
Court’s summary dismissal of Starview Drive-in Theatre,
Inc. v. Cook County, 457 U.S. 1113 (1982), as altering the
pronounced doctrines of Erznozentk v. City of Jackson-
ville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975).

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Subject Index

Pages
Opinion Below ............ wsssissceass paola PL EE ef 2
Be nt RRR ar a KC shu AUD ln 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 3
Statersent of the CAN6 nce ners 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ cn seen 9
Comeiaaniat sii cca ae ee ee 15

Exhibit A.

Exhibit B.
Exhibit C.

Exhibit D.

Appendix Index
Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Cireuit, with
order of the United States District Court

of Junt 1, 1008, 45.2 App.

Order denying rehearing en banc. App.

First Amendment, United States Con-

stituGie. -K......2.ccc ee tee eee App.

Fourteenth Amendment, United States

Constitution. Bee ere en eS App.

Winnebago County Code of Ordinances,
Article ITT, Section 4-14 et seq. (Winne-
bago County Outdoor Theater License

Ordinanes). 5 3... arsnssnnit a ce Gaseee

Temporary Restraining Order filed May
3, 1984, by United States District Court

Judge Milton Shadur. 2000000000... App.

13

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pages
CASES
Aetna Casualty Co. v. Flowers, 330 U.S. 464 (1947) .... 2
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Ine., — U.S. —

105 S.Ct. 2794 (1985) be as Se aacelhasisielsabecloeagieesenas ae ae
Carr v. Zaja, 283 U.S. 52 (1931) ............... [iessulicdeaiuatencuanets 2
E & B Enterprises v. City of University Park, 449

Ny AS: ene en enon anc 10
Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 oe 205

(1975) . < o ...6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15
Freedman v. Marvland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965) 20. 1
Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) cccccceccecscsesssccesesneee 7
Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173 (1977) cco.eceeseesessseneses 13
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973) 0 10
Northeast Theatre Corp. v. Jordan, 445 F.Supp.

744 (D.Mass., 1978) EN EERE Ae

People ex rel Carey v. Starview Drive-in Theatre,
Ine., 100 TIL. App.3d 624, 427 N.1.2d 201 (1981),
appeal dismissed for want of a substantial fed-
eral question, Starview Drive-in Theatre, Ine.
v. Cook County, et al., 457 U.S. 1113 (1982) ...6, 7, 8, 12,

People v. Valley Cinemas, Inec., 194 Cal.Rptr.
eg” TD 5 RES |S, | ccc eee 10

Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61 (1981) 12

Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 422 U.S.
546 (1975) Sie AR I PO ee ett ok 11

Young v. American Mini Theatres, Ine., 427 U.S.
50 (1976) “pe WO moe acter Go a 7,11

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES— Continued
Pages
ConsTITUTIONAL Provisions, STATUTES AND ORDINANCES

Winnebago County Code of Ordinances, Article
IIT, Section 4-14 et seq. (the Winnebago County

Outdoor Theater Ordinance) 0000. 8) 4,11,13
United States Constitution, First Amendment |... 3, 9, 11,
12,14

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment ... 3
United States Code, Title 28, § 1254(1) oo 2

United States Code, Title 42, § 1983 oo a

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1985

ray
Vv

SOUTHLAND NEWS CoO., INC,,

a Kentucky corporation,

Petitioner,

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, and
PAUL GILL, in his capacity as Clerk of Winnebago
County, [linois,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

t)
vv

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cireuit entered
in this proceeding on August 15, 1985.

o

bo

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Cireuit is an unpublished order rendered on
August 15, 1985. A copy of the order, and the June 7, 1984
order of the district court that was adopted in its en-
tirety by the court of appeals, are included in the Ap-
pendix as Exhibit A.

ray
Vv

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction in this case is premised upon 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1) for review by certiorari of the judgment and
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Cireuit. A written unpublished order was issued
by that court on August 15, 1985. The petitioner filed a
petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc. That petition was denied on September 17, 1985. A
copy of the order denying rehearing en banc is included
in the Appendix as Exhibit B.

The record in this cause was lodged with the Clerk
of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of
Illinois, Western Division, Rockford, [linois on Septem-
ber 30, 1985, with the return of the mandate to that court.
Although the mandate has issued, the United States Su-
preme Court has jurisdiction to review the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals regardless of the status
of the mandate. Carr v. Zaja, 288 U.S. 52, 53 (1931);
Aetna Casualty Co. v. Flowers, 330 U.S, 464, 468 (1947).

ae a (J -

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Relevant provisions of the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution, and the
Winnebago County Outdoor Theater License Ordinance,
§ 4-14, Article ITT of the Code of Ordinanees of Winnebago
County, are set forth in the Appendix as Exhibit C.

ray
4?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, Southland News Co., Inc., owns and
operates two drive-in theaters in Winnebago County, Ili-
nois. Both theaters heid required licenses issued by the
respondent Winnebago County, through the county clerk,
respondent Paul Gill, pursuant to the provisions of § 4-14,
Article ITI of the Code of Ordinances of Winnebago
County. The Robin Theater exhibited motion picture
films rated under the Motion Picture Association of Amer-
iea (MPAA), whieh films ineluded scenes depicting frank
sexual activity, The Sunset Theater exhibited motion pic-
ture films dealing frankly with nudity and sexual activity
(commently referred to as X-rated), restricting attendance
at the theater to adults only. The outdoor theater licenses
for each theater were to expire on April 30, 1984.

Under the Winnebago County Outdoor Drive-in The-
ater Ordinance, as it existed prior to April 12, 1984, par-
ties operating outdoor movie theaters were only required
to fill ont an application and pay a specified fee, On April
12, 1984, however, Winnebago County amended the ordi-
nance governing the issuance of such licenses. A copy of

the amended ordinance to the outdoor theater leense re-

+

quirements under § 4-14, Article TIE of the Code of Ordi-
nanees of Winnebago County is ineluded in Exhibit C of
the Appendix. Under the amended ordinance, issuance
of a license was expressly conditioned upon the applicant
for any new or renewal license executing a written coven-
ant to:

[Rlefrain or desist from exhibiting any motion pic-
ture or film presentation viewable from any private
residence or any publie street. walkway whieh con-
tains any scene or scenes depicting sexual intercourse,
masturbation, oral copulation, erect male genetalia or
male ejaculation ;

(Rlefrain or desist from exhibiting any motion pic-

ture or film presentation viewable from any private

residence which contains any scene or scenes depicting
the caressing or fondling of the bare female breast or
bare male or female buttocks, anus or genitals.

The legislative history of the ordinance was presented
to the district court by submission of county board min-
utes and subcommittee minutes relating to the enactment
of the ordinance amendment, The resolution adopting the
amendment provided that it was:

[1 }n the best interest of the health, safety, merals and

welfare of the residents of the County of Winnebago

and current and future residents of the County whose

homes are in close proximity to existing or future Out-

door Drive-In Theaters,
Subcommittee minutes reflected a meeting of its members
to stndy the “obscenity ordinance”, and their feeling that
the best way of imposing the ordinance would be te “tie
an agreement in with the license requirements”. Comments
of individual county board members reflected the concern
over the content of certain films. One member noted the

ordinance was designed and intended to “somehow pre-

vent them from showing movies that would show any kinds
ef obscene or obsence materials that will be viewed from

”

their homes, private homes or walkways. Another mem-

ber expanded further on the purpose, stating:

I quite frankly don’t care what people do in enclosures
or in the privacy of their own homes, but something
has to be done to prohibit the viewing of objection-
able materials in publie from people who don’t want
to wateh them and don’t want to be put into the posi-
tion of having to adjust their private lives because
someone fecls it is their constitutional right to view
what the majority would feel to be obscene,

On April 19, 1984, the petitioner mace application to
the respondent Gill for licenses for its two theaters, sub-
mitting the required fees but refusing to execute the writ-
ten covenants required by the ordinance amendment, The
respondent refused to issue licenses to the petitioner, de-
spite verbal and written demands from petitioner to issue
the licenses and refrain from enforeement of ihe required
written covenants under the ordinanee, After April’ 30,
1984, absent the required exceution of written covenants,
petitioner would be prohibited from the exhibition of mo-
tion picture films at both of is theaters, or would be sub-
ject to arrest for operation of its theaters without the re-

quired licenses.

On April 24, 1984, petitioner filed its complaint pur-
suant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, attacking the constitutional va
lidity of the amended ordinance and seeking injunctive and
money damage relief against respondents. — Petitioner
sought a temporary restraining order (TRO), and prelim-
inary and permanent injunction to require respondents to

issue licenses to the petitioner and refrain them from at-

tempting further prior restraints on the petitioner’s opera-

tion of its theaters.

Respondents filed a motion to dismiss the TRO re-
quest, asserting that the matters sought to be reviewed
by the court were the subject of substantially the same or-
dinance, pleadings, and assertions addressed to People
ex rel Carey v. Starview Drive-in Theatre Inc., 100 Til. App.
3d 624, 427 N.E.2d 201 (1981), appeal dismissed for want
of a substantial federal question, 457 U.S. 1113 (1982).

United States District Judge Milton Shadur presided
at the April 30, 1984 hearing on petitioner’s request fora
TRO. At the hearing, petitioner presented evidence to
the court in the form of an affidavit and testimony from
employees of Kerasotes Theaters, a Springfield-based cor-
poration which owned and operated an outdoor drive-in
theater in Winnebago County, Illinois. That evidence in-
cluded assertions that the Kerasotes Theaters showed mo-
tion picture films rated by the MPAA, and that R-rated
motion picture films contained sexual themes and scenes
that would fall within the descriptions contained in the
licensing ordinance covenants. Judge Shadur rejected
the respondent’s contentions regarding the Starview de-
cision, and found Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422
U.S. 205 (1975), to be the controlling authority. District
Judge Shadur granted the TRO, allowing petitioner to
operate its theaters without renewed licenses. The writ-
ten TRO entered by Judge Shadur on May 3, 1984, is in-
eluded in the Appendix as Exhibit D.

United States District Court Judge Stanley Roszkow-
ski presided over further proceedings in the case, and the

TRO was expanded by agreement until a hearing on thie

7

request for a preliminary injunction and on respondent’s

motion to dissolve the TRO. At Judge Roszkowski’s re-
quest, the respondents provided documents demonstrating
the legislative history of the amendment to the ordinance.
Petitioner responded to the Starview issue and provided
the court with a copy of the jurisdictional statement filed
with the United States Supreme Court in Sfarview. The
petitioner asserted that Starvieu » as not a ruling on the
merits, and was not controlling outhority in considering

the request for preliminary injusctive relief.

On June 8, 1984, Judge Roszkewski entered an order
denying the petitioner’s request for a preliminary injune-
tion and granting the respondent’s motion to dissolve the
TRO. In rejecting the petitioner’s position on the Star-
view ease, Judge Roszkowski noted that under [Hicks v.
Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975), as an inferior court he was
required to treat the United States Supreme Court dis-
missal of the Starview ease for want of a substantial fed-
eral question as a decision on the merits, and binding au-
thority as to the issues presented in this ease. He expressed

eoneern about the issue, however, concluding:

It is not without some reluctance that the court con-
cludes it is bound by the summary disposition in Star-
view. In the view of this court, substantial doubt re-
mains concerning Starview’s validity in light of Mr:-
noznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) and
Young v. American Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 US. 50
(1976). While the Supreme Court is free to disregard
its summary actions, Metromedia Inc. v. City of San
Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 500 (1981), however, this court
is not.

Southland News appealed to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Cireuit. In its brief to the

Seventh Cireuit, petitioner asserted the lower court erred
in its assessment of the weight and impact to be afforded
to United States Supreme Court cases involving summary
dispositions with cases receiving full plenary review by
the United States Supreme Court. Petitioner again raised
its claim that the controlling authority was Hrenoznik, and
that under the principles of Frenoznik the ordinance
amendment violated its constitutional rights and resulted

in the imposition of a prior restraint,

On August 15, 1985, in an unpublished order, the Sev-
enth Cireuit Court of Appeals affirmed the district court
ruling, incorporating Judge Roszkowski’s order in its en-

tirety, and coneluding:

Upon review of the briefs, pertinent authorities, and
the reeord we have reached the same conclusion as
the district court that Starview’s summary dismissal
binds us even though we have some doubt as-to its
consistency with several Supreme Court plenary de-
cisions issued before Starview.

Southland timely filed a petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing en banc, which was denied by the
court of appeals on September 17, 1985.

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE WINNEBAGO COUNTY AMENDED OUT-
DOOR THEATER LICENSE ORDINANCE, ON
ITS FACE AND AS APPLIED, VIOLATES THE
FIRST AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITU-
TION OF THE UNITED STATES UNDER THE
DIRECT HOLDING OF ERZNOZNIK V. CITY

OF JACKSONVILLE, 422 U.S. 205 (1975).

Winnebago County has effected a seheme of censor-
ship aimed directly at petitioner’s outdoor theaters, and
also affecting the only other outdoor theater in the county.
The censorship is accomplished by first foreine a theater
operator to promise that he will not show motion pieture
filins that contain specified sexual scenes, and then by the
county revoking or suspending a theater Heese issued to
the operator when a film with the deserihbed scenes can
be seen outside the theater premises. Both the require-
ment of the written covenant, and the prohibitory language
of the ordinanee, call into play stenifieant Tfirst S\miend-
ment interests justifying this court’s consideration of plen-

ary review.

Petitioner submits that the controlling authority for
review of theater license ordinances is this court’s deci-
sion in Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205
(1975). There, a Jacksonville, Florida ordinance pro-
hibited the showing of films containing nudity at a drive-
in theater whose screen was visible from a public street
or place. The argued justification for such an ordinance
was the protection of citizens from unwilling exposure to
what they might deem offensive material. In finding the

ordinance unconstitutional, this Court stated: P

10

The plain, if at times disquieting, truth is that in our
pluralistic society, constantly proliferating new and
ingenious forms of expression, ‘we are inescapably
captive audiences for many purposes.’ Rowan v. Post
Office Dept., supra, 397 U.S. at 736, 90 S.Ct. at 1490.
Much that we encounter offends our esthetic, if not
our political and moral, sensibilities. Nevertheless,
the Constitution does not permit government to de-
cide which types of otherwise protected speech are
sufficiently offensive to require protection for the
unwilling listener or viewer. Rather, absent the nar-
row circumstances described above, the burden nor-
mally falls upon the viewer to ‘avoid further bom-
bardment of [his] sensibilities simply by averting
[his] eyes.’

Erznozenik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. at 210.
The Court noted that a drive-in screen in and of itself was
not so obtrusive that a person could not avert the view
simply by looking the other way. 422 U.S. at 212. The
Court concluded that the ordinance was constitutionally
overbroad because its prohibitions regarding nudity were
in no way tied to context or pervasiveness. 422 U.S. at 212.
Lower courts have recognized and applied the Erznoznik
principles in invalidating license ordinances that tie li-
censing or revocation or suspension to standards other
than the constitutional guidelines for obscenity set forth
by this Court in Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973).
See People v. Valley Cinemas, Inc., 194 Cal.Rptr. 859 (Cal.
App.3d Dist., 1983); Northeast Theatre Corp. v. Jordan,
445 F.Supp. 744 (D.Mass., 1978); Ff d B Eenterprises v.
City of University Park, 449 F.Supp. 695 (N.D.Tex., 1977).
This Court last term reaffirmed the principle that material
that does not offend each element of the tripartite test for

11

obscenity enjoys constitutional protection. Brockett vr.
Spokane Arcades, Inc., — U.S. —, 105 S.Ct. 2094 (1985).

This Court has viewed the Hrznroznithk doctrine as be-
ing applicable where the deterrent effect of legislation on
legitimate expression ts real and substantial. If the effect
of the legislation is to suppress protected speech, it is clear-
ly in violation of the First Amendment. Foung v. clmer-
ican Mint Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S. 50 (1976). Where an
ordinance would ban the exhibition of a film on the basis
of a single scene, notwithstanding the constitutionally
protected nature of the film, such an ordinanee would be

invalid. 427 U.S. at 71, 1.35.

In the present case, the Winnebago County Ordinance
under review requires the exhibitor to covenant that he
will not exhibit certain motion picture films, even if they
enjoy First Amendment protection, and further, lnposes
the potential of license and penal sanctions if such pro-
tected materials are shown. Thus, Winnebago County has
accomplished a system of prior restraint under ¢ireum-
stances which have been long condemned by this Court.
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 422 U.S. 546
(1975); Freedman v. Maryland, 280 U.S. o1 (1965).

The district court found that the legislative intent be-
hind the ordinance was to prohibit the showing of sexually
explicit films at the petitioner’s Sunset Drive-in Theater,
regardless of whether or not those films were obscene.
In that history it was patent that Winnebago County of-
ficials deemed the films being shown at that theater un-
acceptable and wanted to restrain their exhibition through
licensing procedures because of the dissatisfaction with

criminal prosecutions.

12

The burden to be applied to the government to justify
the ordinance in this ease is that of a compelling govern-
mental interest because of the First Amendment issues
involved. Indeed, there is no presumption of validity or
legitimacy to be attached to this ordinance. Schad v. Bor-
ough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61, 77 (Blackmun, J. con-
curring, 1981). The respondents have never tendered any
justification in support of the outdoor drive-in theater

license ordinanee.

It is submitted that the question of the constitutional-
itv of such an ordinance is of national interest, as opposed
to loeal interest. The failure of the courts below to adhere
to the express doctrines pronounced by this Court in Lre-
noznik and later cases cannot be ignored. Petitioner’s re-

quest for certiorari review should be granted.

II.

THE LOWER FEDERAL COURTS ERRONE-
OUSLY AFFORDED CONTROLLING PRECE-
DENTIAL WEIGHT TO SUMMARY DISMISS-
AL OF AN APPEAL FROM AN ILLINOIS
APPELLATE COURT DECISION, WHEN
PROPER CONTROLLING DECISIONS AFTER
PLENARY REVIEW BY THIS COURT EXIST-
ED.

The present case presents an opportunity for this
Court to address a recurring problem regarding the han-
dling of this Court’s appellate jurisdiction by decisions
involving summary action. In the present case, an outdoor
theater license ordinance similar to the one under review
had been held facially constitutional in factual cirenm-
stances readily distinguishable from the present ease.

People er rel Carey vr. Starriew Drive-in Theatre, Tne...

100 TilhApp.sd 624, 427 N.i.2d 201 (1981). The theater
invoked this Court’s appellate jurisdiction by the filing
of a jurisdictional statement, and this Court disiissed the
appeal for want of a substantial federal question. Star-
view Drive-in Theatre, Inc. v. Cook County, et al, 457 US.
11138 (1982).

In the lower federal courts, the respondents have con-
tended that the summary action of this Court in the Star-
view ease is controlling and binding precedent for the
proposition that the Winnebago County Outdoor Theater
License Ordinance is constitutionally valid. That argu-
ment, however, ignores the required analysis of a lower
court to limit the application of summary decisions of this
Court to the narrowest possible grounds, and especially
to not read a summary decision as renouncing a doctrine
that is the product of a full opinion of this Court. Jandel
v. Bradley, 482 U.S. 173, 176 (1977).

In an effort to aid the lower court in conducting a
proper analysis of this issue, the petitioner submitted the
jurisdictional statement from the Sfarview action in this
Court. A review of that jurisdictional statement discloses
that the defendant in that case was the theater operator
who had applied for and received a license and executed
the covenants required by the ordinance. The action was
limited to raising a question on the facial validity of the
ordinance and net on the ordinance as applied. No effort
was made by the lower court in Starriew to examine the
legislative history of the ordinance to determine whether
or not it was ‘‘content neutral’? and could therefore be
justified as a reasonable time, place and manner regula-

tion.

14

In contrast, petitioner Southland News Co., Ine. is the
owner and operator of two drive-in theaters who applied
for and was denied two theater licenses after refusing to
execute restrictive covenants that would have prevented
the exhibition of motion picture films containing scenes of
sexual explicitness and sexual nudity. The covenants were
required by an amended outdoor theater license ordinance
that in its legislative history, as found by the district
court, was not content neutral, and in facet, was designed to
serve as a prior restraint against the exhibition of motion
picture films deemed unacceptable by county government.
Clearly, the Erznoznik doctrine under the First Amend-
ment, as well as the Freedman pronouncements against
prior restraints, were controlling in this case. Elevating
the Starview summary dismissal to full opinion status
cannot and should not be tolerated.

Federal district judge Shadur easily distinguished
Starview on the facts in granting the petitioner a tempo-
rary restraining order. That TRO was based on Judge
Shadnr’s recognition of Hrenvenik as the controlling au-

thority.

Petitioner submits that the failure to afford proper
controlling weight to the plenary decisions of this Court
is of great importance and accordingly, a review of this

“J . a 7
petition for certiorari is necessary and proper.

15

CONCLUSION

In the unpublished order. the Seventh Cireuit Court
of Appeals expressed the same reluctance that had been
expressed by the district court regarding the continuing
validity of the ‘‘merits’’ of People ex rel Carey v. Star-
view Drive-in Theatre, Inec., 100 HL App.3sd 624, 427 N.B.2d
201 (1981), appeal dismissed for want of a substantial fed-
eral question, 457 U.S. 1118 (1982), in the face of the ex-
press doctrines of Lrenvznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422
U.S. 205 (1975) and other plenary decisions of this Court.
Nevertheless, those courts held themselves bound by Star-
view. It is submitted that the result is incongruent and
illogical. Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

J. STEVEN Beckett

Reno, O’Byrne & Keprey, P.C.
501 West Church Street
P.O. Box 695
Champaign, [IL 61820
217-352-7661

Counsel for Petitioner

December, 1985

App. 1

APPENDIX
EXHIBIT A
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTIL CLIRCULT
CHICAGO, TLLINOLS 60604
(Argued February 26, 1985)
August 15, 1985
BEFORE
Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Cireuit. Judge
Hon. RICHARD A. POSNER, Cireuit Judge
Hon. THOMAS EB. FAIRCHILD, Senior Cirenit Judge
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of [linois, Western Division,
No, 84-€-20079
Stanley J. Roszkowski, Judge.
SOUTHLAND NEWS CO.,, ING. a Kentucky corporation,
authorized to do business in the State of Illinois,

Plamtitt A ppe llant,

No, S4-1988
Vs.

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, and
PAUL GILL, in his capacity as Clerk of
Winnebago County, Illinois,

Defendants-Appellees.
ORDER

Plaintiff-appellant, Southland News, appeals a district

court order upholding a Winnebago County ordinance that

App. 2

conditions the issu. -. »f a license to operate an outdoor
movie theater on the execution of a covenant not to exhibit
films viewable from any private residence or public street
or walkway containing ‘‘any scene or seenes depicting
sexual intercourse, masturbation, oral copulation, ereet
male genitalia or male ejaculation,’® or films viewable
from any private residence containing ‘‘any scene or
scenes depicting the caressing or fondling of the bare fe-
male breast or bare male or female buttocks, anus or

genitals,”’

All parties agree that the ordinance involved is pat-
terned to the letter after those portions of a Cook County
Outdoor Movie Theater Ordinance upheld by an Llinois
appellate court panel in the face of first amendment at-
tacks. See People v. Starview Drive-In Theatre, Inc., 100
Ill, App. 8d 624, 427 N.E, 2d 201 (1981). On appeal the
United States Supreme Court summarily dismissed the
vase for lack of a substantial federal question. See Star-
view Drive-In Theatre, Inc. v. Cook County, 457 US, 1118
(1982) (Justice Brennan voting to note probable jurisdic-
tion and set for oral argument). The issue is how much
weight to accord this Supreme Court summary dismissal,
Relying on the Court’s pronouncement in Hicks v. Miran-
da, 422 U.S. 332 (1975), that a dismissal for want of a
substantial federal qeustion is a decision on the merits to
be heeded by inferior courts ‘* ‘unless and until the Su-
preme Court should instruct otherwise,’ ’’ id. at 544 (quot-
ing Port Authorities Bondholders Protective Com mittee v.
Port of New York Authority, 387 F.2d 259, 268 n.8 (2d Cir.
1967)), the district court upheld the Winnebago County
ordinance. At the same time it expressed substantial

doubt over the vitality of Starview in light of Erenoznick

App. 3

v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S, 205 (1975) and Young v.
American Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S. 50 (1976).

Upon review of the briefs, pertinent authorities, and
the record we wave reached the same conclusion as the dis
trict court that Sfarvrew’s summary dismissal binds us
even though we have some doubt as to its consisteney will
several Supreme Court plenary decisions issued before
Starview. Judge Roszkowski’s well-reasoned order thor
oughly discusses the pertinent authorities and accordingly

we adopt it in its entirety.

AFFIRMED,

App. 4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISRICT OF ILLINOIS
WESTERN DIVISION

No, 84 € 20079

SOUTHLAND NEWS CvO., INC., a Kentucky Corpora-
tion. avthorized to do business in the State of Illinois,
Plaintiff,
VS.

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, PAUL
GILL, in his capacity as County Clerk of Winnebago
County, Illinois,

Defendants.

ORDER

Before the court are plaintiff’s motion for a prelim-

.

inary injunction aud defendants’ motion to dissolve the
temporary restraining order. The court’s subject matter
jurisdiction is based upon 28 U.S.C. $1548 and 28 U.S.C.
§ 2201. For the reasons set forth herein, plaintiff’s motion
fora preliminary injunction is denied and defendants’ mo-

tion to dissolve the temporary restraining order is granted.

Background

The facets giving rise to the present controversy are
uneontested. Plaintiff, Southland News Co., is the owner
and operator of an outdoor theater located in Winnebago
County, Hlinois. The theater’s movie screen is approxi-
mately 120’ x 70’. Movies projected on the theater’s
sereen are visible from public streets and private resi-

dences.

App. 5

In order to operate an outdoor movie theater in Win-
nebago County, the operator must obtain an annual county
license. Prior to April 12, 1984, a party seeking to obtain
a jicense was merely required to fill out an application and
pay a certain fee. Plaintiff held such an annual license
expiring on April 30, 1984.

On April 12, 1984, however, the defendant County
amended the ordinance governing the issuance of such li-
censes. Under the amended ordinanee, the issuance of
such licenses is expressly conditioned upon the applicant’s
executing a covenant not te exhibit films depicting certain
types of conduct. Speeifically, the ordinance prohibits
‘‘any seenes or scenes depicting sexual intercourse, mas-
iurbation, oral copulation, erect male genitalia or male
ejaculation’’ viewable from any private residence or any
pubie street or walkway, and ‘‘any scene or scenes depict-
ing the caressing or fondling of the bare female breast or
bare male or female buttocks, anus or genitals’? viewable
from any private residence.

The legislative history of the subject ordinanee makes
it clear that the ordinance was aimed solely at the content
of certain films. The resolution adopting the amended
ordinance provided it was ‘‘in the best interest of the
health, safety, morals and welfare of the residents of the
County of Winnebago and current and future residents of
of the County whose homes are in close proximity to exist-

‘

ing or future Outdoor Drive-In Theatres.’* The report
from the subeommittee assigned to review the proposed
ordinanee reflects that the members met to study ‘‘the
obseenity ordinance.’ Moreover, the comments of in-
dividual county boara members make clear that the eon

tent of certain films was the County's sole coneern. Board

App. 6

member Abrahamson, for example, stated the ordinance
was intended to ‘‘somehow prevent them from showing
movies that would show any kinds of obscene materials
that will be viewed from ... homes, private homes or
walkways.’’ Board member Mackay stated:
I quite frankly don’t care what people do in enclosures
or in the privacy of their own homes, but something
has to be done to prohibit the viewing of objectionable
materials in public from people who don’t want to
watch them and don’t want to be put into the position
of having to adjust their private lives because some-
one feels it is their constitutional right te view what
the majority would feel to be obscene.

No other justification was offered for the ordinance.

Plaintiff sought to renew its license under the
amended ordinance, but refused to execute the required
covenants. As a result, the defendant County Clerk re-
fused to renew the plaintiff's license. Plaintiff subse-
quently commenced the present action.

On April 50, 1984, the court entered a temporary re-
straining order prohibiting the defendants from enforcing
the subject ordinance. The temporary restraining order
was subsequently continued by agreement of the parties.
Plaintiff now seeks a preliminary injunction and defend-

ants seek to dissolve the temporary restraining order.

Discussion

Defendants’ sole argument rests upon the Supreme
Court’s dismissal of the appeal in People ex rel Carey v.
Starview Drive-In Theater, 100 Ul.App.38d 624, 427 N.E.
2d 201 (1st Dist. 1981) appeal dismissed 457 U.S. 1115
(1982). In Starview, an Illinois appellate court upheld the

App. 7

coustitutionality of portions of a similar Cook County
ordinance. The portions of the Cook County ordinance
which were held to be constitutional in Starview form the
entire basis of the Winnebago County ordinance. Thus,
relying upon /Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332. (1975), de-
fendants argue the dismissal of the Sfarview appeal for
want of a substantial federal question settles the issues
raised in the present case.

In Hicks, the court recognized that votes fo affirm
summarily and to dismiss for want of a substantial federal
question are votes on the merits of a case. Jd. at 344. In-
deed, the //icks court cautioned that ‘* ‘unless and until the
Supreme Court should instruct otherwise, inferior federal
courts had best adhere to the view that if the Court has
branded a question as unsubstantial, it remains so except
when doctrinal developments indicate otherwise.’’’ Jd.
(citing Port Authorities Bondholders Protective Commit-
tee v. Port of New York Authority, 387 F.2d 259, 265 no
(2nd Cir. 1967)). More recent supreme Court pronounce-
ments have stressed that the binding effect of such sum-
mary dispositions is limited ‘‘to the precise issues pre-
sented and necessarily decided by those actions.’? Ander.
son v. Celebrezze, — U.S. —, 103 S. Ct. 1564, 1567 n.5
(1983); Illinois State Board of Hlections v. Socialist
Workers Party, 440 U.S. 178, 185-84 [sie 152-83} (1979);
and Mandel v. Bradley, 482 U.S. 173, 176 (1977).

Plaintiff, however, contends the Supreme Court’s dis
missal of the Starview appeal is not controlling in the in
stant case. First, relying upon Justice Brennan's con-
curring opinion in Mandel, id. at 180, and various allega-
tions contained in the Starview jurisdictional statement,

plaintiff contends Starview was not decided upon the

App. 8

merits. Specifically, plaintiff argues the Supreme Court’s
dismissal was based upon a determination that the ease
was not justiciable.

This court is not persuaded by the plaintiff’s argu-
ment. The plaintiff has not cited, nor has the court inde-
pendently been able to locate, any decisions disregarding
a dismissal for lack of a substantial federat question on
the grounds that the dismissal may have been premised
upon the lack of a justiciable controversy. The cases
clearly state that such a dismissal is a decision on the
merits. Appeals dismissed due to the absence of a justi-
ciable controversy ordinarily specifically state that stand-
ing, ripeness or mootness was the reason for dismissal.
See e.g. Don’t Bankrupt Washington Committee v. Con-
tinental Illinois National Bauk and Trust Company of
Chicago, — US. —, 103 8S. Ct. 1762 (1983).

Plaintiff’s reliance upon Justice Brennan’s conecur-
ring decision in Jandel dees not support its position to
the contrary. In Mandel, Justice Brennan stated that be-
fore considering a dismissal for want of a substantial fed-
eral question as binding, a court must ‘‘determine that
the judgment in fact rests upon decision of those ques-
tions and not even arguably upon some alternative non-
constitutional ground.’’ [/d. at 180.] Plaintiff interprets
the phrase ‘‘some alternative nonconstitutional ground’’
as ineluding decisions ‘‘other than on the merits.’’ The
decisions previously cited, however, make clear that such
is not the case. Rather, Justice Brennan is apparently re-
ferring to decisions resting upon alternative state law or
other grounds. Aside from justiciability, plaintiffs fails

to suggest what that alternative ground could have been

App. 9

in the present case. Thus, the court rejects the detend-
ants’ contention that the case is not controlling because it
was decided ‘‘other than on the merits.”’

linally, plaintiff contends the Supreme Court’s dis-
missal of the Starview appeal is not controlling because,
in the present case, it has ‘‘mounted a substantial and de-
tailed prior restraint attack upon the ordinanece’’, while
‘‘{njeither the licensee nor the state’s attorney made any
sort of sophisticated analysis or presentation in Starview
regarding the issue of prior restraint.”’ In order to deter-
mine whether a particular issue was considered and neces-
sarily rejected by the Supreme Court, a court must exam-
ine the jurisdictional statement from the appeal to that
Court. [.Wandel, 452 U.S. at 180 (Brennan concurring) ;|
Chicago Sheraton Corporation v. Zaban, 593 F.2d 808, 809
(7th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 444 U.S. 911 (1979): Stratton
v. Drumm, 445 F. Supp. 1305, 18309 (D. Conn. 1978).

In Starview, the appellant raised the issue of a prior
restraint at several places in its jurisdictional statement.
(Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement [...] 21-22). While
the issue may not have been as artfully raised as it has
been here, it was nevertheless brought before the court.
Plaintiff again has not cited, nor has the eourt been able to
locate, any decision disregarding a dismissal for want of a
substantial federal question on the grounds that an issue
presented and necessarily decided by the court was not

introduced in a sophisticated manner.

it appears to the court that plaintiff's real argument
in this regard involves a factual distinefion between Star-
view and the present case. In Starview, the plaintiff had
been issued a license, while in the present case no such h-

cense has been issued. As a result, in Starciew, the plain-

App. 10

tiff’s license was only subject to revocation a/ter the
showing of a film allegedly violating the ordinance and
after a hearing on the revocation. Here, arguably, plain-
tiff’s refusal to enter into the subject covenant has com-

pletely prevented it from exhibiting films of any type.

The court is unpersuaded by this faetal distinetion.
The issuance of a license under both the Cook County and
Winnebago County ordinances ts expressly premised upon
the execution of a covenant. The action in Starvicw was
for declaratory judgment based upon the facial imvatidity
of the statute. While the facts are distinguishable, the
legal issues are identical. Thus, the fact that the plaimtilt
in Sfarciew reluctantly executed the covenant while the
plaintiff in the present case refused to do so is not

material!

(‘onclusion

It is not without some reluctance that the court con-
cludes it is bound by the summary dispesition in Starvier.
In the view of this court, substantial doubt remains con-
cerning Starview’s validity in light of Erznoznichk v. City
of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975) and Young v. Amert-
can Mini Theatres, Inc., 427 U.S. 50 (1976)2 While the

; Such a distinction might be material to the issue of stand-
ing. As the court has already recognized, however, absent an
express statement to the contrary, considerations of justicability
do not play a role in decisions to dismiss an appeal for want
of a substantial federai question.

2 For conflicting state court decisions, See [sic compare, |
People v. Valley Cinemas, Inc., 194 Cal.Rptr. 859 (Cal.App.3rd
Dist. 1983) and [sic with] State v. Budco Quality Theaters, Inc.,
155 N.j.Super. 50, 382 A.2d 192 [sic 102] (1977).

App. 11

Supreme Court is free to disregard its summary actions,
Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 500
(1981), [ ...] this eourt is not. Thus, for the reasons set
forth herein, plaintiff’s motion for a preliminary injune-
tion is denied and defendants’ motion to dissolve the tem-
porary restraining order is granted.

ENTER:

/s/ Stanley J. Roszkowski
Stanley J. Roszkowski, Judge
United States District Court

Dated: June 7, 1984

App. 12

EXHIBIT B
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Cireuit
Chicago, Hhnois 60604
September 17, 1985.
Before
Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Cireuit Judge
Ilon. RICHARD A. POSNER, Cireuit Judge
Hon. THOMAS EB. FATRCHTLD, Senior Cireuit Judge
Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Northern District of Illinois, Western Division.
84-C'-20079
Stanley J. Roszkowski, Judge.
SOUTHLAND NEWS CO., INC., a Kentucky corporation,
authorized to do business in the State of [hinots,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
No. 84-1988
Vs.

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, and
PAUL GILL, in his capacity as Clerk of Winnebago
County, [linois,

Defendants-Appe llees.
ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing in banc filed in the above-en-
titled cause on August 28, 1985, by plaintiff-appellant, no
judge in active service has requested a vote thereon, and
all of the judges on the original panel have voted to deny
rehearing. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid petition for re
hearing be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

App. 13
EXHIBIT C

First Amendment Constitution of the United States

Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-
ment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;
or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press: or
the right of the people peaceably to assembly, and to peti-

tion the Government for a redress of grievances.

Fourteenth Amendment
Constitution of the United States

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or enforee any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-
tection of the laws.

WINNEBAGO COUNTY OUTDOOR
THEATER LICENSE ORDINANCE
STATE OF TLLINOTS, )
) ss,
County of Winnebago, )

I, PAUL P. GILL, County Clerk, within and for said
County, and having a seal do hereby certify that T have
compared the foregoing copy of the Record of Ordinance
Amendment to the County Code of Ordinances, Article
III, Section 4-14, concerning applications for licenses for
outdoor theaters with the Original Record thereof now
remaining in my office, and have found the same to be a
correct transcript therefrom and of the whole of such
Original Reeord.

App. 14

In testimony whereof I have hereunto set my hand
and affixed the seal of said County, at the City
of Rockford, in said County, this 13th day of
April A.D. 1984.

s/ Paul P. Gill, Winnebago County Clerk

By: /s/ Jane Banter, Deputy County Clerk

84 CO
ORDINANCE AMENDMENT

WHEREAS, the County of Winnebago has previous-
ly enacted pursuant to Chapter 34, Section 421, Illinois
Revised Statutes, regulations and licensing procedures for
outdoor drive-in theaters, which regulations and licensing
procedures are contained within Article III, Section 4-14
et seq. of the Code of Ordinances of the County of Winne-

bago; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the health,
safety, morals and welfare of the residents of the County
of Winnebago and the current and future residents of the
County whose homes are in close proximity to existing or
future outdoor drive-in theaters to amend the Code of
Ordinances of the County of Winnebago.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED, by the
County Board of the County of Winnebago that Article
III, Section 4-14 be amended by deleting the language in
its entirety and inserting in its stead the following lan-
guage:

Section 4-14.

App. 15
Every application for license or renewal thereof. re-
quired by this Article shall be filed with the County
Clerk supported or accompanied by:

a) The designated license fee;

b) Information as to the name and address of the
applicant, theater seating and parking ca-
pacity, location of the theater to be licensed,
and the name under which the applicant ex-
pects to conduet his business :

c) A written covenant by the applicant to re-
frain or desist from exhibiting any motion
picture or film presentation viewable from
any private residence or any publie street or
walkway which contains any scene or scenes
depicting sexual intercourse, masturbation,
oral copulation, erect male genitalia or male
ejaculation ;

d) A written covenant by the applicant to re-
frain or desist from exhibiting anv motion
picture or film presentation viewable from
any private residence which contains any
scene or scenes depicting the caressing or
fondling of the bare female breast or bare
male or female buttocks, anus or genitals,

BE IT FURTHER ORDAINED, that the covenant
required in Paragraph 4-14(d) above shall be in a form
substantially equivalent to that which is attached hereto
and marked as Exhibit ‘“A.”’

BE IT FURTHER ORDAINED, that this Ordinance
Amendment shall be in full force and effect immediately
upon its adoption.

BE IT FURTHER ORDAINED, that the Clerk of the
County Board is hereby authorized to prepare and deliver
certified copies of this Ordinance Amendment to Sheriff
Donald Gasparini, County Board Chairman, State’s At-
torney Daniel D. Doyle, and the holders of currently valid
outdoor drive-in theater licenses,

App. 16

The above and foregoing Ordinance Amendment was
adopted by the County Board of the County of Winne-
bago, Illinois, on the 12th day of April, 1984.

/s/ Pat L. Scott
Pat L. Seott, Chairman of the

County Board of the County of
Winnebago, Ilinois
ATTEST:
s/ Paul P. Gill
Paul P. Gill, Clerk of the
County Board of the County
of Winnebago, Illinois

WINNEBAGO COUNTY CODE
CHAPTER 4, ** Amusements”

ARTICLE III. THEATRES
Section 4-13. License required; Fee; Duration.

It shall be unlawful for any person to establish, op-
erate or mainta'n or permit to be established, operated or
maintained upon any property owned or controlled by
him, within the boundaries of the county, but outside the
limits of cities, villages, and incorporated towns, a theatre
in the business of providing entertainment consisting of
either live shows or plays, outdoor or indoor motion piec-
tures, without having first secured a license therefor from
the County Clerk. Such license shall be valid and have
force in the county until succeeding April 30 from the date
of issue, and may be renewed under provisions of this
Article for additional periods of one (1) vear. The an-
nual fees for such license shall be $75 for a live theatre,

$50 per sereen for an indoor movie theatre not to exceed

App. 17

$200, and $75 per screen for an outdoor movie theatre not

to exceed $200.

Short term licenses shall be available to all new li-
censees under this Article at a fee which is prorated in

accordance with a full vear rate.
Section 4-14. Same—Application.

The avplication for a license required by this Article
or renewal thereof shall be filed with the County Clerk
accompanied by the desigaated license fee. Application
for license renewal thereof shall be inade on printed forms
furnished by the County Clerk and shall inelude the name
and address of the applicant, theatre seating and parking
capacity, location of the theatre to be licensed end the
name under which the applicant expects to conduet his
business,

Section 4-15. Same—lITssuance.

Before any new license under this article may be is-
sued there must be a favorable recommendation by a ma-

jority of the county board.

Section 4-16. Same—Suspension or revoeation—In-

vestigating commission,

The chairman of the county board, together with two
other members of the board appointed by him shall con-
stitute a commission to investigate and hear any com.
plaints that may be made concerning violations of the
provisions of this Article. The two members selected
from the board.to serve on such commission shall serve
for a period of two years or until their snecessors have

been appointed and duly qualified. Members of the com

mission may be reappointed.

App. 18

Section 4-17. Same—Same—Proceedings, grounds,
ete.

The commission created by the preceding section is
authorized to revoke or suspend any license issued pur-
suant to the terms of this Article, if after this investi-
gation and hearing the commission shal] determine that
the holder of such license has violated any of the pro-
visions of this Article. No hearing shall be held unless
notice of such hearing shall have been served by registered
mail on the alleged violator at least three days prior to
the date of the hearing. The commission shall keep a ree-
ord of any proceedings taken at a hearing pursuant to this
section. The commission may suspend a license issued
pursuant to the terms of this Article for a period not to
exceed thirty days, if it determines that the holder is guil-
ty of a violation of any of the provisions of this Article.

Section 4-18. Theatre to be clean and order main-
tained.

It is hereby made the duty of the licensee under this
Article to maintain the theatre in a safe, clean, orderly
and sanitary condition at all times.

Section 4-19. Inspection.

All licensees under this Article shall be subject to the
inspection by the County Building Officer and/or the
County Health Officer or their deputies.

Section 4-20. Penalty.

Any person violating any provision of this Article
shall be fined not exceeding two hundred dollars for each
offense; and a separate offense shall be deemed com-

App. 19

mitted on each day during or on which a violation occurs
or continues.

Amendments to Ordinance approved by the Winnebago
County Board on the 8th day of August, 1974.

4-10-75

COPIES OF THIS ARTICLE PREPARED AND FUR-
NISHED BY:

/s/ Paul P. Gill
PAUL P. GILL,
WINNEBAGO COUNTY CLERK

App. 20

EXHIBIT D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
WESTERN DIVISION
ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS

No. 84 € 20079
SOUTHLAND NEWS CO., INC., a Kentucky corporation,
authorized to do business in the State of Illinois,

Plaintiff,
vs.

THE COUNTY OF WINNEBAGO, a body politic, PAUL
GILL, in his capacity as County Clerk of Winnebago
County, Illinois,

Defendants.

TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER
(Filed May 3, 1984)

Southland News Co., Inc., (Southland’’) has filed this
action seeking declaratory, injunctive and money damage
relief against the County of Winnebago (‘‘Winnebago
County’’), and Winnebago County Clerk Paul Gill
(‘‘Gill’’). Southland’s compiaint focuses on the validity
of a Winnebago County ordinance that provides for the
licensing of outdoor or drive-in theaters and, as recently
amended April 12, 1984, requires the execution of cove-
nants by a potential licensee that movies containing cer-
tain types of sexual scenes or depictions will not be ex-
hibited (the ordinance, as so amended, is referred to as
the ‘‘Ordinanee’’). This Court is now ruling on South-
land’s request for a temporary restraining order,
(‘“*TRO’’) to enjoin and prohibit defendants from en-
forcing the Ordinance against Southland, after its ap-

App. 21

plications for theater license for the Sunset Drive-in
Theater and the Robin Drive-in Theater were denied and
refused because Southland would not execute the cove-
nants in compliance with the Ordinance. Current licenses
for these theaters held by Southland expire April 30, 1984.

At the April 30, 1984 TRO hearing, counsel for South-
land and defendants appeared by written notice and agree-
ment. The court has received and considered the follow-

ing evidence for purposes of Southland’s motion for a
TRO:

1. Southland’s verified Complaint including its ex-
hibits: Exhibit A, the Ordinance; Exhibits B and C, the
license applications for the Sunset and Robin Theaters,
respectively; and Exhibit D, correspondence from South-
land’s attorney to defendants’ attorney as to the antici-
pated enforcement of the Ordinance and its claimed con-
stitutional invalidity ;

2. Affidavit of Edward C. Schnerman, a booker em-
ployed by Kerasotes Theatres, Inc. (‘‘Kerasotes’’) as to
(a) the nature of motion picture films shown under the
Motion Picture Association of America rating system and
(b) questions of interpretation regarding the Ordinance
as applicable to the Belford Theater operated by Kera-
sotes ;

5. Southland’s Memorandum in Support of Plain-
tiff’s Complaint for Declaratory, Injunetive and Money
Damage Relief, with attached copies of authorities:

4. Defendants’ Motion To Dismiss Motion for Tem-
porary Restraining Order, together with a Memorandum
in support thereof, and attached copies of authority, in-
cluding People v. Starview Drire-in Theatre, 100 IL App.

App. 22

3d 624, 427 N.E.2d 201 (1st Dist. 1981), appeal dismissed
102 S.Ct. 2918 (1982) ; and

5. Testimony of Norm Nelson, Kerasotes’ city man-
ager, as to Kerasotes’ failure to apply for a renewal li-
cense for the Belford Theater in Winnebago County be-
cause the theater has two outdoor sereens and Kerasotes
has concerns about the interpretation and applicability
of the covenant requirements of the Ordinance, especially
as contained in Ordinance § 4-14(d).

Based on a review of the foregoing matters, this Court
sets forth the following findings of fact (‘‘Findings’’)
and conclusions of law (‘*Conelusions’’) that constitute
the grounds of its action in issuing this TRO, in accord-
ance with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (‘‘Rules’’)

52(a) and 65(d):

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this matter pur-
suant to 28 U.S.C. 6 1331 and 1348.

2. <All parties have appeared by notice and agree-
ment.

3. Southland has met its burden of proof in its pre-
sentation of evidence at the hearing for a TRO, and there
is reasonable basis to believe and conclude in fact and
law that:

(a) Under Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville,
422 U.S. 205 (1975), the United States Supreme Court
has spoken directly on the subject of restrictions on
First Amendment activity contained in outdoor theater
regulations. There the court held restraints invalid
in constitutional terms under the First Amendment
because they were content-related.

App. 23

(b) People ex rel. Carey v. Starview Drive-in
Theater, 100 Ti.App.3d 624, 427 N.F.2d 201 (1981),
must be read in the context in which it was decided.
Chere the licensee had applied for and received a
license and was operating. It thus had the opportunity
to launch an attack on the Ordinance in question only
from the inside looking out, as opposed to doing so
from the ontside looking in. Neither party in Starriew
defined ‘‘prior restraint’? in that context or under-
took a significant prior restraint analysis of the or-
dinance reviewed by the court in that ease.

(c) Even though the Supreme Court’s dismis-
sal of the appeal in Starriew is to be viewed as a de-
cision on the merits (see /lichks v. Miranda, 422 U.S.
382 (1975), because of the limitations of the Starriew
decision, this Court finds Frenoznik controlling. It
finds and concludes Southland has established a rea-
sonable likelihood of sueceess on the merits that the
Ordinance offends the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States (which applies the
First Amendment to the States), because the Ordin-
ance impermissibly places restrictions upon the ex-
hibition of motion picture films presumptively pro-
tected under the First Amendment (via the Four-
teenth).

4. Southland has no adequate remedy at law. Its
business consists of the exhibition of motion pacture films
presumptively protected by the First Amendment. Here
the showing is that Southland’s theaters will be precluded
not only by the lapse of licenses and not only by an tm-
ability to show motion pictures as deseribed in the or-

dinance, but also a prohibition from showing any motion

App. 24

pictures at all because it has no licenses. This alone es-
tablishes irreparable harm.

5. Southland’s harm if a TRO is wrongfully de-
nied is far greater than any potential harm to the County
of Winnebago and Gill if the TRO were wrongfully grant-
ed. Upon issuance of a TRO defendants are left with pre-
cisely the opportunity identified by the Starview case, that
of prosecuting any motion picture not protected by the
First Amendment. Moreover, of course, a TRO by its very
terms has a limited life.

6. There is no disservice to the public, and indeed
the public interest is advanced, by the preservation, and
protection of Southland’s First Amendment rights.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the defendant
Winnebago County and Gill shall be prohibited and en-
joined from enforcing the provisions of Ordinance § 4-13 et
seq. until May 12, 1984, at 6:30 p.m. (that time period has
been extended an additional two days by agreement of the
parties). This action is set for further hearing May 11,
1984 at 10:00 a.m. for purposes of Southland’s request for
a preliminary injunction. In accordance with defendants’
agreement, the requirement of bond under Rule 65(c) is
waived.

/‘s/ Milton I. Shadur

Milton I. Shadur
United States District Judge

This TRO was issued April 30, 1984 at 6:30 p.m.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1209%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
