# Opposition Brief — American Postal Workers Union v. United States Postal Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1188%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1046

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

FER F 1986

No. 85-990 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK
———

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
NEw LONDON CONNECTICUT AREA LOCAL, ET AL..
PETITIONERS

V.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Buffalo Forge Co. v. United Steelworkers,
gg ee ere

Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 .........
Johnson vy. Bergland, 586 F.2d 993 ......
Laird wv. Tate, G6 U.S. 1 occ cece scaes
Purolator Armored, Inc. v. NLRB,

Pe eee PE Se RRA TRS EEN SEM Oe READ

Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 ........
BE WV, Bee, SIO U.S, FOS ccc cicsscessss

Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co.,

BES i PR rick take nc hbaedepine ee

Steelworkers v. Enterprise Corp.,
5 iS ner Srereenns werner ems

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 .....
Constitution:

Sf ge ee re

Inu the Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-990

AMERICAN POSTAL WoRKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
NEw LONDON CONNECTICUT AREA LOCAL, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS

V.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

Petitioners seek to reinstate a preliminary injunction bar-
ring the Postal Service from placing an employee on non-
pay status pending arbitration proceedings concerning the
Postal Service’s decision to discipline him, even though the
employee has served the two-week suspension imposed by
the Postal Service.

1. a. This dispute arose from a Postal Service decision to
eliminate 14 positions at the New London, Connecticut,
Post Office (Pet. App. 3a). Petitioners publicized their dis-
agreement with this action by writing to elected officials and
contacting local newspapers (ibid.), actions that are not the
subject of any disciplinary action. Petitioners, however,
also sent a letter, signed by petitioner Danko, the president
of the local union, to one of the Postal Service’s most

(1)

2

important local customers, Mystic Color Labs. The letter
stated: “The purpose of this letter is to make you aware of
the fact that large amounts of your film mailers are not
being processed for outgoing dispatch or incoming delivery.
This situation has been going on for some time now. Postal
management will not make you aware of this, in fact they
would most likely deny it if questioned about it.” /d. at
3a-4a. The letter blamed the delays on the elimination of the
14 positions (id. at 4a). After an investigation, the Postal
Service proposed to dismiss petitioner Danko on the
ground that mailing this letter to a customer violated Dan-
ko’s duty to avoid actions that adversely affect public confi-
dence in the Postal Service (ibid.).

Petitioner Danko filed a grievance and requested arbitra-
tion pursuant to the Postal Workers’ collective bargaining
agreement (Pet. App. 6a). Under the collective bargaining
agreement, invocation of the grievance procedures pre-
vented the Postal Service from dismissing Danko, but
placed him in nonpay, nonduty status pending resolution of
his claims (id. at Sa).

b. On July 23, 1984, petitioners brought this suit in the
United States District Court for the District of Connecticut,
seeking a preliminary injunction barring the Postal Service
from placing Danko on nonpay status pending the results of
the arbitration process (Pet. App. 6a). The district court
concluded, under Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 (1974),
that Danko’s financial difficulties were not sufficient to
establish the irreparable injury required to obtain an injunc-
tion (Pet. App. 20a) The court concluded, however, that
Danko’s letter concerned a matter of public concern and
that it was therefore protected by the First Amendment (id.
at 22a). Based on that conclusion, the court held that “the
failure to enjoin Danko’s discharge would result in a chil-
ling of his and the other employees’ exercise of their first
amendment rights; thus the plaintiffs have satisfied the

3

irreparable harm requirement” (id. at 23a), and that “plain-
tiffs have shown a likelihood of success on their claim that
Danko’s discharge was unlawful” (id. at 24a). Finally, not-
ing that injunctions should be issued pending arbitration
only if the failure to issue an injunction would deprive the
plaintiffs of an effective remedy if they prevailed at arbitra-
tion, the court concluded that “the failure t» issue an injunc-
tion would frustrate the arbitration process because the
arbitrator would be unable to remedy the chilling effect on
the employees’ exercise of their first amendment rights” (id.
at 25a).

The court of appeals reversed (Pet. App. la-iSa). While
finding the letter to the Postal Service’s customer “at least in
part, about a matter of public concern,” the court of appeals
held that petitioners had failed to articulate a “ ‘specific
present objective harm or a threat of specific future harm’ ”
(id. at 12a, quoting Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1, 13-14
(1972)). Rather, the court of appeals found, the plaintiffs
“merely make the conclusory assertion that Danko’s dis-
charge has ‘chilled the will of the postal workers in Connec-
ticut, and their elected officials’ ” (Pet. App. 13a). More-
over, the court concluded, “we fail to understand how a
chilling of the right to speak or associate could logically be
thawed by the entry of an interim injunction, since the
theoretical chilling of protected speech and union activities
stems not from the interim discharge, but from the threat of
permanent discharge, which is not vitiated by an interim
injunction” (ibid.). Finally, the court determined that,
rather than aiding the arbitration process, the injunction
requiring “the Postal Service to keep Danko on the job
during the interim period would frustrate that provision of
the collective bargaining agreement that specifically autho-
rizes placing an employee on nonpay status pending the
outcome of a grievance and arbitration proceeding” (id. at
1Sa).

4

ec. Atterthe court of appeals’ decision, the Postal Service
unilaterally reduced Danko’s punishment to a two-week
suspension (Pet. 9).' Petitioners did not seek a stay of the
court of appeals’ mandate pending their petition to this
Court for further review, and the Postal Service has advised
us that Danko’s two-week suspension was served in Novem-
ber 1985. The arbitration hearing was concluded on Janu-
ary 22, 1986.

2. Further review is not warranted. Because petitioner
Danko has served his suspension and the arbitration pro-
cess has now substantially advanced, this controversy will
almost certainly become moot before it could be adjudi-
cated by this Court, if it is not already moot. In any event,
the court of appeals’ decision is based upon, and is fully
consistent with, this Court’s guidelines for protecting the
First Amendment rights of public employees and, contrary
to petitioners’ claims, does not conflict with the decisions of
any other court of appeals.

a. Since the Postal Service reduced petitioner Danko’s
punishment to a suspension, which he has already served,
the issue before the lower courts—— whether to issue a preli-
minary injunction barring the Postal Service from placing
petitioner Danko on nonpay status pending arbitration — is
no longer in controversy. It is not at all clear what relief
petitioners seek at this point.’ Furthermore, the arbitration

'There is absolutely no support for petitioners’ suggestion (Pet. 19)
that the Postal Service's reduction of petitioner Danko’s sanction was
deliberately withheld until the court of appeals’ decision.

*Petitioners argue (Pet. 15-16) that what matters “is whether the
terminated employee is on the job and and thus able to pay his bills or
off the job without such an ability while some tribunal wrestles with the
legal niceties of the dispute.” No injunction is now needed to put
petitioner Danko “on the job” or prevent the Postal Service from
removing him from his job.

Petitioners suggest without explanation (Pet. 19) that they are
entitled to declaratory relief and that further court proceedings are

5

hearing has concluded. We are informed that, ordinari!
arbitration decisions are rendered within 60 days after the
hearing is closed and that this dispute does not involve
unusual circumstances likely to cause delay. After the arb)
trator’s decision, in the event petitioners remain aggrieved,
the dispute would present substantially different legal ques-
tions. See, e.g., Steelworkers vy. Enterprise Corp., 363 U.S.
593, 596-599 (1960).

Petitioners argue that this case is not moot because there
is“ * “a reasonable expectation that the same complaining
party [will] be subjected to the same action again” * ™ since
they may write more letters to Postal Service customers
(Pet. 21 (emphasis in original), quoting SEC v. Sloan, 436
U.S. 103, 109 (1978), and Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S.
147, 149 (1975)). However, the arbitrator will soon deter-
mine petitioners’ rights under their coilective bargaining
agreement with the Postal Service, and, after the arbitration
decision is rendered, the propriety of writing letters to Pos-
tal Service customers and of disciplining employees who
take such action should be clear. It is difficult to see what
benefit there is to any party in continuing to litigate this
preliminary injunction action.

b. Moreover, the court of appeals’ decision is correct.
While public employees do not sacrifice their rights as
citizens to speak upon matters of public concern, protection
of these rights need not cause “intrusive oversight by the
judiciary in the name of the First Amendment.” Connick vy.
Mvers, 461 U.S. 138, 146 (1983). Here the punishment was
based solely upon a letter directed to the Postal Service's
customer attributing alleged delays of that customer's mail

warranted to consider that issue. [t is clear, however, that such relief
would be inappropriate since it would conflict with the arbitration
process.

6

to the managerial decision to cut back the work force at a
particular post office. Even assuming arguendo that this
kind of managerial decision rises to the level of a public
concern, as the court of appeals somewhat reluctantly con-
cluded (Pet. App. 12a), the court of appeals was certainly
correct in rejecting petitioners’ vague “chilling argument,”
which amounted to little more than a conclusory assertion.
A preliminary injunction barring discharge of a govern-
ment employee should be issued only “in the genuinely
extraordinary situation.” Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S.
61, 92 n.68 (1974). Lest the government be precluded from
ever taking interim disciplinary steps against its employees,
public employees must articulate specific injuries to set
forth a claim based on chilling of First Amendment rights.
See Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1, 13-14 (1972). Finally, the
strong policy against premature judicial intervention in
labor disputes, especially where the parties have agreed to
binding arbitration, strongly militates against the issuance
of the injunction. See, e.g., Buffalo Forge Co. v. United
Steelworkers, 428 U.S. 397 (1976); Steelworkers v. Ameri-
can Mfg. Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960).

c. Contrary to petitioners’ claim (Pet. 10-14), there is no
conflict in the circuits. In Johnson v. Bergland, 586 F.2d
993, 998 (4th Cir. 1978), the court found irreparable injury
in part because “without the injunction, the government
would be free to name a successor to Johnson * * *, and
Johnson would have no means of being reinstated if he
should prevail at trial.” That is not the case here.’ The other
case petitioners cite, Purolator Armored, Inc. v. NLRB,

‘The court in Johnson also said that “[v hiolations of first amendment
rights constitute per se irreparable injury” (S86 F 2d at 995). Whatever
the merits of that proposition, the court of appeals here did not disagree
with it. concluding instead that petitioners had tailed to articulate a
First Amendment violation (Pet. App. |2a-13aj

>

764 F.2d 1423 (i lth Cir, 1985), did not involve a prelimi-
nary injunction or a First Amendment claim, and is
obviously not in conflict with the Second Circuit's decision
in this case.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition for
a writ of certiorari should be denied.

CHARLES FRIED

Solicitor General

FEBRUARY 1986

DO}J-1986 02

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1188%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
