# Opposition Brief — Masin v. Drain

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1184%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1013

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED
No. 85-985
JAN 9 1986
IN THE JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATESR«

October Term, 198

JOSEPH MASIN and EVA MARIA MASIN,
Petitioners,
vs.
VINCENT DRAIN and RUTH DRAIN,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS R. SHERIDAN
Attorney for Respondents

MICHAEL R. ROGERS
CYNTHIA G. AZTERBAUM
Of Counsel

Suite 400

2404 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90057
(213) 380-3330

January, 1986

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is it error as a matter of law,
in an action alleging housing
discrimination under the Federal
Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. §3601
et seg., to give a jury instruc-
tion that states discrimination
must be one "Significant factor"
to impose liability rather than
an instruction that states dis-
crimination must be a "motivating
factor" to impose liability (as
was approved by this Court in

Village of Arlington Heights v.

Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp.)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PREBRINTED. « 6Xi chek ees oe
TABLE OF COMDPEUESE, « «sss 03% eueennees Ee
TABLE OF AUTHORITION. 6:6ickkucdecurae EO
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. 6 casccaedcs =
REASONS TO DEMY WRIT. .cssunssaccexe @
1. THE ISSUE AS PRESENTED
TO THIS COURT BY
PETITIONERS WAS NOT
RAISED IN THE DISTRICT
COURT OF APPEAL AND
THUS NEVER ADDRESSED..... . 6
2. PETITIONERS DO NOT
PROPERLY REQUEST THIS
COURT TO REVIEW THE
DECISIONS - BOG. a cu eaea ccs 7
3. THE DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEAL DECISION IS NOT
IN CONFLICT WITH THE
PRINCIPLES SET FORTH
BY THIS COURT IN
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS......... 9

4. THE DECISION BELOW
DOES NOT CONFLICT
WITH DECISIONS OF THE
CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL.. 12

atin

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont.)

5. THIS CASE DOES NOT
PRESENT AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF NATIONAL
SIGNIFICANCE BECAUSE
THIS CASE WAS DECIDED
ON A PARTIAL RECORD;
FURTHER, CALIFORNIA HAS
ITS OWN HOUSING DIS-
CRIMINATION ACT..........

GRRE MIE CR ees eocdeessecscceseces
PPPEMUACESe cess cceseseseassecsccer

Appendix A - Bob Jones v.
Vincent Drain and Ruth

Drain, 149 Cal.App.3d 484
bo se ee ear

Appendix B - Joseph Masin
and Eva Masin v. Vincent
Drain and Ruth Drain, 150
Cel. apD.s0 714 (1984) ...--0-+-2s

-iii-

15

17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Colon v. Tompkins Square
Neighbors, Inc., 289 F.Supp.

204 (D.C. B.Y. 1968)... cvccsess

Denny v. Hutchinson, 649 F.2d

S16 (C.A. Col. 19BL) cc cccccccess

McLaurin v. Brusturis, 320 F.

Supp. 190 (D.C. Wis. 1970)......

United States v. Pelzer Realty
Co., Inc., 484 F.2d 438 (5th
Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416

U.S. 936 fae eG cheeses ser © ee eee ee

Village of Arlington Heights
v. Metropolitan Housing

Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977).

Statutes

Federal:

42 U.S.C. §3604(a) .. cee eer ennnes

42 U.S.C. §3610 (dG)... ccc cccccees

State:

California Government Code

GL ZOSS (a) acc nwccencscacesesecns

atye=

No. 85-985
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1985
JOSEPH MASIN and EVA MARIA MASIN
Petitioners,
vs.
VINCENT DRAIN and RUTH DRAIN

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Ruth Drain and Vincent

Drain respectfully request that this

Court deny the petition for writ of

certiorari, seeking review of the de-

cision of the California Court of Appeal,

Second Appellate District.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On April 12, 1978 Respondent Ruth

Ae

Drain entered into an exclusive listing
contract with Sears Realty to sell her
home in Santa Barbara County for $775,000.
Respondent Vincent Drain, husband of Re-
spondent Ruth Drain, had no ownership in
the home and no legal authority to sell
the home.

On July 28, 1978, Petitioners,
through their real estate broker, Bob
Jones Realty, made an offer to purchase
the home for $700,000. The offer was
rejected because it was insufficient in
price and because the terms of the sale
had negative tax consequences for Re-
spondents.

Respondent Ruth Drain was concerned
about the tax ramifications of a sale of
the home in 1978 and required that any
offer to purchase meet the following con-
ditions: (1) an option to purchase would
be executed, to be exercised on or after

January 1, 1979; (b) option price would

be $100,000 cash, to be applied to the
purchase price; (3) escrow would not
open prior to January 1, 1979; and (4)
all documents would be prepared by at-
torneys for Ruth Drain and approved by
Sears Realty and Ruth Drain's tax attor-

neys. ;

'
On August 24, 1978, Respondent Ruth

Drain met with David Boggs who offered

to purchase the property for $775,000 and
agreed to the terms and conditions as set
forth above. Respondent Ruth Drain and
Mr. Boggs entered into an oral contract
for the sale of the home, and also agreed
to reduce the contract to writing on Aug-
ust 29, 1978. The agreement was reduced
to writing and the sale was completed.

On August 26, 1978 and August 28,
1978, Bob Jones Realty, on behalf of
Petitioners, presented another offer to
Respondent Ruth Prain which was rejected

because Respondent Ruth Drain had already

accepted Mr. Boggs' offer

Petitioners thereafter filed suit
against Respondents and their real es-~-
tate agents for, among other things,
violating the Federal Fair Housing Act.

Respondents and real estate agents
moved for partial summary judgment which
was granted. Petitioners appealed that
grant to the same District Court of
Appeal which, in a separate opinion,
affirmed the grant of summary judgment.

A copy of said opinions are included

. - 3 be *
herein as Appendix A and B No review
sf c 1a c 5 WwW : -Ouaht

Of Said dex Hp sions wWwaS SOUCNDC.

Thereafter the case proceeded to

trial on the balance of the complaint.

under the Federal Fair Housing Act were
etitioners' offers of Augus 26, 1978
nd August 28, 1978.
During trial both Ruth Drain and

Vincent Drain testified but their testi-

mony was not transcribed and not made a

part of the record on appeal.

Petitioners brought up less than a
full record on appeal. When Respondents
attempted to augment the record on ap-
peal, Petitioners opposed it and the court
denied Respondents’ motion without pre-
judice. Thus, the appeal was on less
than a full record.

After trial, a nine to three jury
verdict was rendered in favor of Respon-
dents.

On appeal, Petitioners claimed
error with respect to the trial court's
instruction to the jury that "[i]t is a
viclation of law if national origin is
one significant factor in rejecting an
offer that meets the terms on which the
owner is willing to sell."

The California Court of Appeal for
the Second Appellate District upheld the

jury verdict. While the District Court

ul
+

of Appeal found the phrase "a motivating
factor" more consistent with this Court's

holding in Village of Arlington Heights

v. Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp.,: 429

U.S. 252 (1977), and preferable to either
"an element" or "one significant factor",
it also found that che distinction among
the three phrases was not sufficiently
Significant to assign error to the trial
court's choice.

The California Supreme Court deniec
Petitioners' petition for review.

REASONS TO DENY WRIT

1. THE ISSUE AS PRESENTED TO THIS
COURT BY PETITIONERS WAS NOT
RAISED IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEAL AND THUS NEVER ADDRESSED

At page ® of Petitioners' Petition,
Petitioners state "[t]he issue which
this Court is requested to resolve is
whether discrimination need only be ‘a

factor' in a defendant's refusal to

provide housing, or whether it must be a

substantial factor' before liability
can be imposed."

On appeal, however, Petitioners con-
tended only that the trial court errone-
ously instructed the jury when it stated
"{i]t is a violation of law if national

Origin is one significant factor in

rejecting an offer that meets the terms
on which the owner is willing to sell."
At no time did Petitioners raise the

issue as to the use of a "substantial

factor" on appeal.

2. PETITIONERS DO NOT PROPERLY REQUEST
THIS COURT TO REVIEW THE DECISIONS
BELOW

In their amended complaint in the
cause of action dealing with housing dis-
crimination, Petitioners alleged discrim-
ination with respect to their offers to
purchase of August 26 and 28, 1978.

During trial on this cause of action,

the offers tried as to the alleged basis

of iiability were the offers of August

26 and 28, 1978.

Yet, according to Petitioners’
Statement of the Case, Petitioners have
shifted to a different offer which .they
never claimed was rejected on grounds of
discrimination and thus was not even
tried at the trial court level.

This different offer only became an
issue in the District Court of Appeal
after Respondents had filed their oppo-
Sition brief. This different offer did
not meet the terms required by Respon-
dent Ruth Drain and was never the subject
of a claim of discrimination under the
Federal Fair Housing Act.

Thus, the petition seeks a review
of a rejected offer which was never al-
leged in the complaint nor tried in the

trial court but was addressed by the

appellate decision.

3. THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
DECISION IS NOT IN CONFLICT
WITH THE PRINCIPLES SET FORTH
BY THIS COURT IN ARLINGTON
HEIGHTS

In Village of Arlington Heights v.

Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp., 429

U.S. 252 (1977), a real estate developer
sued a municipality because of its
alleged refusal to rezone land on which
the developer intended to build low and
moderate income housing. The developer
alleged that the municipality's conduct
was racially discriminatory in violation
of the Fair Housing Act. This Court
noted that when there is proof that a
discriminatory purpose has been a

motivating factor in the decision,

judicial deference to legislative deci-
sions is inappropriate.

Petitioners allege that the Dis-
trict Court of Appeals' countenance of

"significant factor" in place of "moti-

vating factor" as used by this Court

renders the District Court of Appeal
decision in conflict with this Court's

decision in Arlington Heights.

Since there are no relevant re-
ported decisions which specifically
define the words "factor," "motivating,"
"Significant," or "substantial,"
reference is made to Webster's New
Collegiate Dictionary for the meaning
of these words.

"Factor" is defined as ". . . 2 a:

something that actively contributes to

the production of a result: ingredient

"Active is defined as
1 : characterized by action rather than
by contemplation or speculation

"Contribute" is defined as ". .. b: to

play a significant part in bringing about

an end or result... ‘

"Significant" is defined as

3 a: having or likely to have influence

or effect: important, weighty b

10.

probably caused by something other than
mere chance... F

"Motive" is defined as ". ..1
something (as a need or desire) that
causes a person to act. .

"Substantial" is defined as

l a: consisting of or relating to
substance . .. Cc: important, es-
sential . .. ." (Emphasis added.)

As can be seen from the definitions
of these words, a common theme of cause
and effect runs through these words.
Likewise, this common theme is present
when the words are combined in the
phrases "motivating factor", "signifi-
cant factor" and "substantial factor."

There does not appear to be a
clear distinction or definitional dif-
ference between "motivating factor" as
used by this Court and "significant
factor" as used by the District Court

of Appeal in this case or even "sub-

Ade

stantial factor" referred to by Petition-
ers.
Petitioners' alleged conflict with

this Court's decision in Arlington

Heights is not one of law but of seman-
tics.

4. THE DECISION BELOW DOFS NOT CONFLICT
WITH DECISIONS OF THE CIRCUIT COURTS
OF APPEAL

Petitioners assert in their Petition
that there is a conflict amongst the
Circuit Courts of Appeal because the
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal is the only
circuit which has adopted "the ‘substantial
factor’ test.”

Petitioners further assert that this
standard was first enunciated in United

States v. Pelzer Realty Co., Inc., 484

F.2d 438 (5th Cir. 1973, cert. denied,

416 U.S. 936 (1974).
The standard described by the court

in Pelzer was the significant factor test

oe

and not the substantial factor test.

Petitioners, by their own misstatements,
appear to be creating conflicts that do

not exist.

Moreover, Petitioners obfuscate the
issue in this case when in footnote 2
in their Petition they submit that "'a
motivating factor’ and ‘a factor' are in
essence the same standard, and that they
each represent a standard quite different
from that of ‘a substantial factor.'"

As noted by the District Court of
Appeal in this case:

"Cases involving the Fair
Housing Act, .. . are not
consistent in their terminol-
ogy. Many Fifth Circuit cases
continue to use ‘a significant
factor' or ‘one significant
factor', e.g., Woods-Drake v.
Lundy (1982) 667 F.2d 1198
which lists other cases using
that phrase. Other courts

use ‘a motivating factor' or
‘competing consideration', e.g.
Atkins v. Robinson (DCA Va.
1982) 545 F.Supp. 852; United
States v. City of Parma, Ohio
(1981) 661 F.2d 562; United

£3.

ENA ta ER

"States v. City of Birming-
ham, Mich. (1982) 538 F.Supp.
S19. Still others empioy the
terms 'a part', ‘any part',

‘a consideration', 'some role',
or ‘an element', e.c., Bishop
v. Pecsok (Ohio 1976) 431 F. .
Supp. 34; Jordan v. Dellway
Villa of Tenn., Ltd. (6th Cir.
1981) 661 F.2d 588; United
States v. Mitchell (5th Cir.
1978) 580 F.2d 789, 791: Zuch
v. Hussey, supra, 394 F.Supp.
1028; Shaw v. Cassar (E.D.
Mich. 1983) 558 F.Supp. 303.

A close reading of the cases
cited reveals that almost all
hark back to Smith v. Sol D.
Adler Realty Company, supra,
or more recently to Arlington
Heights, supra. Moreover, the
persuasive theme in all the
cases (even those in the sus-
pect Fifth Circuit) is that
race is an impermissible con-
Sideration in a real estate
transaction (Moore v. Townsend
(7th Cir. 1975) 525 F.2d 482,
485) and that race need not be
the sole motivating factor in
a denial that has discrimina-
tory effect in order for
plaintiff to succeed in a
claim under the Fair Housing
Act (Robinson v. 12 Lofts
Realty, Inc. (2nd Cir. N.Y.
1979) 610 F.2d 1032, 1042).

A denial violates the statute
if race is even one of the
motivating factors. (Ibid.)"

14.

5. THIS CASE DOES NOT PRESENT AN
IMPORTANT QUESTION OF NATIONAL
SIGNIFICANCE BECAUSE THIS CASE
WAS DECIDED ON A PARTIAL RECORD ;
FURTHER, CALIFORNIA HAS ITS OWN
HOUSING DISCRIMINATION ACT

Petitioners argue that this case
presents an important question of nation-
al significance in the area of federal
Civil rights law.

Yet Petitioners fail to point out
that this case was decided in the Dis-
trict Court of Appeal on a partial
record only, thereby Significantly
diminishing this case's importance and
Significance. One of the items that was
not included in the record on appeal was
the trial testimony of Respondents Ruth
Drain and Vincent Drain.

Further, California has its own
housing discrimination act which states
in pertinent part:

"It shall be unlawful:

(a) For the owner of any

aS.

Fair

part:

"housing accommodation to
discriminate against any
person because of the race,
color, religion, sex, marital
Status, national origin, or
ancestry of such person.

(b) For the owner of any
housing accommodation to make
Or to cause to be made any
written or oral inquiry
concerning the race, color,
religion, sex, marital status,
national origin, or ancestry
of any person seeking to
purchase, rent or lease any
housing accommodation

California Government Code
section 12955

42 U.S.C. §3610(d) of the Federal

Housing Act provides, in pertinent

"

» « »« no such civil action

may be brought in any United
States district court if the
person aggrieved has a judicial
remedy under a State or local
fair housing law which provides
rights and remedies for alleged
discriminatory housing practices
which are substantially
equivalent to the rights and
remedies provided in this sub-
chapter. .. . -

Since California Government Code
§12955(a) and (b) is substantially
equivalent to 42 U.S.C. §3604(a), under
42 U.S.C. §3610(d), it is questionable
whether this case was properly brought
under the Federal Fair Housing Act.

see, @.g., McLaurin v. Brusturis, (1970)

320 F.Supp. 190 (D.C. Wis.); Color v.

289 F.Supp. 104 (D.C.N.Y.); Denny v.

Hutchinson, (1981) 649 F.2d 816 (C.A.

Col.) «

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be

:
aenied.

THOMAS R. SHERIDAN
Attorney for Respondents

APPENDICES

149 Cal.App.3d 484

BOB JONES doing
business as BOB
JONES REALTY,
PLAINTIFF and
RESPONDENT

Vv.

VINCENT DRAIN and

RUTH DRAIN, DEFENDANTS
and APPELLANTS.

Civ. 67286

Court of Appeal,
Second District
Division 6

December 2, 1983

Hearing Denied
February 16, 1984

Appendix A

FACTS
STONE, Presiding Justice.

The appellants entered into an ex-
clusive listing contract with Sears
Realty for the sale of their home in
Santa Barbara County. Sears Realty
entered into an oral contract with
respondent, Bob Jones Realty, in which
the respondent agreed to act as a
cooperative broker to find a purchaser
for the Drain property. Bob Jones lo-
cated a potential purchaser that sub-
mitted an offer on July 28, 1978. MThis
offer was rejected because of potential
adverse tax consequences for the Drains.

On August 24, 1978, the appellants
received an oral offer from David Roggs
which was accepted. The parties agreed
to meet August 29, 1978, to reduce the
agreement to writing. In the meantime,
the Drains received written offers from

a purchaser obtained by Bob Jones Realty.

These offers were rejected because the
Drains had previously agreed to sell the
property to Boggs.
Bob Jones Realty and its purchaser,
the Masins, filed suit against the
Drains and Sears Realty alleging: (1)
Housing Discrimination, (2) Misrepre-

sentation, (3) Breach of Contract, and

(4) Declaratory Relief. The first two
causes of action were decided at trial
in favor of Sears Realty and the appel-
lants, the Drains. The trial court
granted summary judgment on the third
and fourth causes of action in favor of
the appellants and Sears Realty.

The fourth cause of action was
appealed to this court and the ruling of
the trial court was affirmed. (See

Masin v. Drain, 150 Cal.App.3d 714, 198

Cal.Rptr. 367.) However, Vincent and
Ruth Drain have brought this appeal

contesting the trial court's order

taxing the attorney's fees request from
its memorandum of costs.
ANALYSIS

The sole issue on appeal is whether
Or not the trial court correctly denied
the appellants’ claim for attorneys'
fees.

The appellants argue that Civil
Code section 1717 provides authority for
the attorney's fees award. That section
states in pertinent part: "(a) In any
action on a contract, where the contract
specifically provides that attorney's
fees and costs, which are incurred to
enforce the provisions of that contract,
shall be awarded eitner to one of the
parties or to the prevailing party, then
the party who is determined to be the
prevailing party, whether he or she is
the party specified in the contract or
not, shall be entitled to reasonable

attorney's fees in addition to costs and

necessary Gisbursements." It is the
appellants' contention that since the
respondent brought suit against the
Drains for breach of contract which

contained an attorney's fee provision,
that the appellants should be able to

recover their legal fees as the prevail-
ing party. The respondent asserts that
the Drains should not be allowed to re-
cover their costs because the trial
court found, as a matter of law, that no
contract existed between Bob Jones
Realty and the Drains.

The issue by the respondent was

considered in the case of Babcock v.

Omansky (1973) 31 Cal.App.3d 625, 107
Cal.Rptr. 512. In that case a wife was
sued for breach of four promissory notes
executed by her husband. The court held
that the wife was not a party to the
notes and that the breach of contract

action brought by the plaintiff was

without merit. - The wife, as the success-
ful party to the litigation, was granted
attorney's fees and costs pursuant to
Civil Code section 1717 because the

plaintiff, in the underlying action, had

sought to recover attorney's fees under
the provisions of the promissory note
contract. The court in ruling for the
wife stated: "As the language of the
statute expressly indicates, a party
need not be a signatory to the contract
inorder to recover attorney's fees as
the prevailing party~--as such prevailing
party he becomes entitled to fees
‘whether he is the party specificed in
the contract or not.'"

This issue was also considered in

Care Construction, Inc. v. Century

Convalescent Centers (1976) 54 Cai.App.

3d 701, 126 Cal.Rptr. 761. In Care the
Gefendant was sued for breach of a lease

contract and successfully defended its

case on the theory that the laws was
invalid. The court in awarding the
defendant attorney's fees stated: "To
summarize, we hold that where there is
an action on a purported lease which
contains a provision for attorney's fees
for the lessor that the lessee is
entitled to attorney's fees under Civil
Code, section 1717, if he succeeds in
defending on the theory that there was
no valid or enforceable lease."

The seminal case destine with
attorney's fees on contract causes of

action is Reynolds Metal Co. v. Alperson

(1979) 25 Cal.3da@ 124, 158 Cal.Rptr. 1,
599 P.2d 83. In that case the
California Supreme Court held that
"Section 1717 was enacted to establish
mutuality of remedy where a contractual
provisions makes recovery of attorney's
fees available for only one party."

(supra, p. 128, 158 Cal.Rptr. 1, 599 P.2a

A-6

83.) The court went on to state, "Its
purposes require section 1717 be inter-
preted to further provide a reciprocal
remedy for a nonsignatory defendant,

sued on a contract as if he were a party

to it, when a plaintiff would clearly be
entitled to attorney's fees should he
prevail in enforcing the contractual
obligation against the defendant."
(supra, p. 128, 158 Cal.Rptr. 1, 599 P.
2d 83.) (Emphasis added.)

The critical issue to be addressed
in this case is whether or not the
plaintiff, Bob Jones Realty, clearly
would have been entitled to attorney's
fees had it prevailed in enforcing the
contract against the defendants Drains.

In considering the question of the
clarity of the entitlement to attorney's
fees we must decide whether this issue
is to be resolved based upon the plead-
ings or based upon the evidence. We
believe that the issue must turn on the

A-7

pleadings.

The respondent's third cause of ac-
tion against the appellants was for
breach of a written contract containing
an attorney's fees provision. The
appellants prevailed on this cause of
action when their motion for summary
judgment was granted and the respondent
failed to appeal the ruling. Conse-
quently, the appellants satisfied all of
the elements set forth in Civil Code
section 1717 for the recovery of attor-
ney's fees.

The respondent argues there was no
possibility that it could have recovered
attorney's fees against the appellants
because the respondent was not a party
to or a beneficiary of the contract.
This argument is disingenuous to say the
least. The essence of the respondent's
position is that its cause of action

was so devoid of merit that there was

A-8

no possibility that it ever could have
prevailed. As a consequence, the re-
spondent contends that there was no
likelihood that it could ever obtain a
judgment for breach of contract and as
a result, it could never obtain an award
of attorney's fees against the appel-
lants. Given this scenario, the respon-
dent asserts that the mutuality of
attorney's fees provision of Civil Code
section 1717 should not be involved.

The respondent cites several cases
which it asserts supports its position.

The first of these is Canal-Randolph

Anaheim, Inc. v. Wilkoski (1978) 78 Cal.

App.3d 477, 144 Cal.Rptr. 474. In that
case the court stated: “Moreover, even
where a contractual provision for

recovery of attorney fees is one-sided
and Civil Code section 1717 applies, re-

covery of and liability for attorney fees

is restricted to parties to the contract.

(Arnold v. Browne (1972) 27 Cal.App.3d

386, 398, 103 Cal.Rptr 775; Boliver v.

Surety Co. (1977) 72 Cal.App.3d Supp. 22

at pp. 28-29, 140 Cal.Rptr. 259.) To

the extent the decision in Babcock v.

Omansky (1973) 31 Cal.App.3d 625, 107
Cal.Rptr. 512, indicates the contrary, it

is incorrect . . ." (Canal-Randolph

Anaheim, Inc. v. Wilkoski, supra, 78

Cal.App.3d p. 485, 144 Cal.Rptr. 474.)
The respondent's reliance upon

Canal-Randolph is misplaced. The Canal-

Randolph court relied exclusively upon

the Arnold and Boliver cases to support
its proposition that one must be a party
to the contract to recover attorney's
fees under Civil Code section 1717. The
Arnold case was expressly disapproved by
the California Supreme Court in Reynolds

Metals Co. v. Alperson, supra, 25 Cal.3d

A-10

124, 129, 158 Cal.Rptr. 1, 599 P.2d 83.

Furthermore, the Reynolds ccurt also en-

dorsed the holding of Babcock |. Omansky

{[Citation.] which the Canal-Randolph

court so vigorously disapproved. The
language of Reynolds clearly indicates
that the reasoning of Babcock is the
correct analysis. “Had plaintiff pre-
vailed on its cause of action claiming
defendants were in fact the alter ego?

of the corporation [Citation.], defen-
dants would have been liable on the notes.
Since they would have been liable for
attorney's fees pursuant to the fees pro-
vision had plaintiffs prevailea, they may
recover attorney's fees pursuant to
section 1717 now that they have prevailed."

(Reynolds Metals Co. v. Alperson, supra,

25 Cal.3d 124, 129, 158 Cal.Rptr. 1, 599
P.2d 83.)

The respondent relies heavily upon

A-1il

%

Boliver v. Surety Co., supra, 72 Cal.App.3d

Supp. at p. 22, 140 Cal.Rptr. 259. This
case rejects the Babcock analysis in

favor of Arnold v. Crowne, supra, 27

Cal.App.3d 386, 103 Cal.Rptr. 775.
Given the Supreme Court's disapproval of
Arnold and the adoption of Babcock in

the Reynolds case, the Boliver holding

provides little, if any, support for the
respondent.

Star Pacific Investment, Inc. v.

Oro Hills Ranch, Inc. (1981) 121 Cal.App.3d

447, 176 Cal.Rptr. 546 was also cited by
respondent. The court in that case in-
correctly adopted the position that re-
covery of attorney's fees under Civil
Code section 1717 must be limited to the
parties to the contract. This holding is
in direct contradiction to the Babcock

and Reynolds cases.

The respondent also places a great

A-12

deal of reliance on Saucedo v. Mercury

Savings & Loan (1980) 111 Cal.App.3d

309, 168 Cal.Rptr 552. The Saucedo
court erroneously attempts to draw a
distinction between parties to the con-
tract and parties to the litigation
based on the contract. Nevertheless,
the court in Saucedo reiterated an
equitable estoppel theory first set

forth in Pas v. Hill (1978) 87 Cal.App.3d

521, 151 Cal.Rptr. 98, which runs com-
pletely contrary to the respondent's
position. The court stated, in con-
curring that the result in the Babcock
case was correct, that "[t]he plaintiffs
having alleged and attempted to prove
the defendant wife was a party to the
notes as a joint venturer and that she
was liable under the notes' attorney fee
provisions and having caused defendant

wife to defend against such liability,

were estopped to deny defendant wife was

a party to the contract for the remedial
purposes of Civil Code section 1717."

(Pas v. Hill, supra, 87 Cal.App.3d at

535-536, 151 Cal.Rptr. 98.)

What the respondent ignores is
that had it prevailed in its cause “f
action against the appellants it would
have been entitled to attorney's fees.
This issue became somewhat obscured in
the trial court because of the fact that

the respondent's case was so completely

without merit. However, even though the

respondent possessed no evidence to sup-
port its cause of action it was capable
of alleging sufficient facts in its
pleadings to force the appellants to
wage a defense.

The courts have consistently held
that the award of Civil Code section 1717

contractual attorney's fees is to be

governed by equitable principles.

(International Industries, Inc. v. Olen

(1978) 21 Cal.3d 218, 145 Cal.Rptr. 691,

577 P.2d 1031; Lewis v. Alpha Beta Co.

(1983) 141 Cal.App.3d 29, 189 Cal.Rptr.
840.) We believe that it is extraordi-
narily inequitable to deny a party who
successfully defends an action on a con-
tract, which claims attorney's fees and
costs simply because the party initiat-
ing the case has filed a frivolous law-
Suit. As a consequence, we find that a
prevailing defendant sued for breach of
contract containing an attorney's fees
provision and having had to defend the
contract cause of action, is entitled
to recover its own attorney's fees and
costs therefor, even though the trial
court finds no contract existed.

The judgment of the trial court in

regards to attorney's fees is reversed

A-15

and remanded for a hearing to determine
the appellants' attorneys' fees and
costs.

ABBE and GILBERT, JJ., concur.

'

ea cy: 7
ues BM,

150 Cal.App.3d 714

JOSEPH MASIN and
EVA MARIA NASIN,
husband and wife,
et al., Plaintiffs
and Appellants,

V.

VINCENT DRAIN and
RUTH DPAIN, husband
and wife, et al.,
Defendants and
Respondents.

Civ. 67347
Court of Appeal,
Second District,
Division 6
January 10, 1984

Hearing Denied
April 18, 1984

APPENDIX B

STONE, Presiding Justice.

Bob Jones Realty, the plaintiff
below and appellant herein appeals from
an order of the Santa Barbara Superior
Court granting respondent Sears Realty's
motion for summary judgment.

FACTS

This case involves Bob Jones
Realty's attempt to obtain a portion of
the commission paid to Sears Realty for
the sale of a home in Santa Barbara
County. The appellant contends that it
is entitled to this commission because it
produced a ready, willing and able pur-
chaser prior to the date on which the
property was sold.

Cn April 12, 1978, Ruth Drain
entered into an exclusive listing con-
tract with the respondent, Sears Realty,
to sell her home. Appellant, Bob Jones
Realty, worked as a cooperative broker

with Sears Realty and showed the Drain

B-1

property to the Masins, who were German
nationals. The Masins liked the Drain
home and submitted an offer on July 28,
1978, which was rejected because the
terms offered had negative tax conse-
quences for the seller.

The Drains were concerned about the
tax ramifications of selling their home
in 1978 and therefore required that any
offer to purchase the property meet the
following conditions: (1) An option to
purchase would be executed, to be exer-
cised on or after January l, 1979; (2)
Option price would be one hundred
thousand dollars ($100,000.00) cash, to
be applied to purchase price; (3) Escrow
would not open prior to January 1, 1979;
and (4) All documents would be prepared
by attorneys for Mrs. Drain and approved
by Sears Realty and Nrs. Drain's tax
attorneys.

On August 24, 1978, the Drains met

B-2

with David Boggs who offered to purchase
the property and agreed to the terms and
conditions set forth above. The Drains
and Boggs entered into an oral option
contract for the sale of their property
and agreed to reduce the contract to
writing on August 26, 1978. On August
26, 1978, agents for Bob Jones Realty de-
livered a written offer to purchase the
Drain property to Sears Realty. This
offer was rejected because the Drains had
already accepted the Bogcs' offer. A
virtually identical offer was personally
delivered to Vince Drain on August 28,
1978. This offer was also rejected.

The appellant and the Masins filed
Suit against Sears Realty and the Drains
alleging: (1) Housing Discrimination,
(2) Fraudulent Misrepresentation, (3)
Breach of Contract, and (4) Declaratory
Relief. A motion for summary judgment

was filed by Sears Realty on the fourth
B-3

cause of action, which was granted. Bob
Jones Realty appeals the trial court's
ruling on this issue.

The declaratory relief cause of
action required that the trial court
determine Bob Jones Realty's rights to
the commission paid to Sears Realty pur-
Suant to the listing contract. The
respondent, Sears Realty, filed a motion
for summary judgment against this cause

of action based upon two theories. First,

it contended that the Drains had entered
into an oral option contract prior to
receiving the Masin offers. Secondlv,

it argued that the offers were invalid

and unenforceable because of their
failure to comply with the statute of
frauds. The trial court did not specify

which theory it accepted in granting the

summary judgment. The appellant exam-
ines both issues on appeal.

THE AUGUST 26 and 28 OFFERS
B-4

The appellant contends that it is
entitled to share in the commission for
the sale of the Drain property because
it produced a ready, willing and able
buyer prior to the creation of the op-
tion contract with David Boggs. The _
appellant does acknowledge that, “had
the Drains sold the property to Boggs
prior to the written offers to purchase
by Eva Masin on August 26 and 28, 1978,
Bob Jones Realty would not be entitled
to any portion of the broker's commis-
sion."

In analyzing the trial court's
actions in granting a summary judgment
motion we must review all of the docu-
ments attached to the moving papers.

(Jacobs v. Retail Clerks Union, Local

No. 1222 (1975) 49 Cal.App.3a 959, 123

Cal.Rptr. 309). The respondents' motion
contained declarations of Ruth Drain,

‘Arthur Bromfield and Ann Little. Mrs.

B-5

ed

Drain's declaration specifically asserts
the existence of an oral contract with
Boggs on August 24, 1978. The declara-
tions of both Bromfield and Little, who
are agents for Sears Realty, indicate
that they were informed on August 25,
1978, that an oral option contract for
the sale of the Drain property had been
made.

The fact that the option contract
was oral does not invalidate the agree-
ment. The statute of frauds, set forth
in Civil Code section 1624, has not been
interpreted as making such agreement
null and void. It is the general rule
that a contract falling within the oper-
ation of the statute, but made in con-
travention thereof, is not invalid in
the sense that it is void. It is merely
voidable. The statute is said to relate
to the remedy only and not to affect the

validity of the oral contract. (Offeman

B-6

v. Robertson-Cole Studios, Inc. (1926)

80 Cal.App. 1, 12, 251 P. 830; Warder v.

Hutchison (1924) 69 Cal.App. 291, 295,

231 P. 563; Durbin v «man (1920) 50

Cal.App. 377, 379, 195 P. 274; O'Brien
v. O'Brien (1925) 197 Cal. 577, 586, 24)

P. 861.)

When affidavits in support of a mo-
tion for summary judoment state facts
which would sustain a judgment and coun-
ter affidavits do not contradict them,
summary judgment is proper. (City of

Los Angeles v. City of Artesia (1977) 73

Cal.App.3d 450, 140 Cal.Rptr. 864). The
affidavits submiited by the appellant in
opposition to the summary judgment mo-
tion contained only the declaration of
Paul O'Keeffe and Lawrence Linn. These
brokers declared that the agents for the
Drains continued to negotiate the sale

of the property on August 26, 1978.

The appellant contends that Sears
B-7

Realty's efforts in continuing to facil-
itate a sale to the Masins raises the
inference that an option contract for

the sale of the property was not actual-
ly created on August 24, 1978. Tne
appeilant argues that the existence of
this inference raises a triable issue

of fact. If a material factual issue

was before the court at the time the sum-
mary judgment was granted reversibie er-

ror was committed. (Fosgate v. Gonzales

(1980) 107 Cal.App.3d 951, 166 Cal.Rptr.
233).

We do not believe that the appeli-
ant has been successful in demonstrating
the existence of a triable issue of fact.
Although the appellant has admitted af-
fidavits indicating that Sears Realty
continued to negotiate a sale of the
Drain property on August 26, 1978, this

evidence does not refute Ruth Drain's

B-8

declaration that an oral option contract
was created on August 24, 1978. The
appellant did not demonstrate that the
Drains had any knowledge of the acts of
Sears Realty. Furthermore, the appell-
ants clearly have not presented evidence
that Sears Realty was instructed by the
Drains to continue negotiations.
Therefore, even when we accept the
facts alleged in the appellant's affi-
davits as being true, as required by

Blaustein v. Burton (1970) 9 Cal.App.3d

161, 88 Cal.Rptr. 319, the most the ap-
pellant can prove is that Sears Realty
continued to act independently after the
August 24, 1978 oral option contract

was created. This fact, in and of itself,
is insufficient to rebut the respon-
dent's evidence that the property was

sold August 24, 1978. Therefore, we
conclude that the Drain property was

effectively removed from the market

B-9

prior to the receipt of the August 26
and 28 offers from Bob Jones Realty's
purchasers, the Masins. In light of
this fact the appellant, Bob Jones Realty
could not be entitled to any commission.
As a consequence, the trial court cor-
rectly granted the motion for summary
judgment.

The judgment of the lower court is
affirmed.

ABBE and GILBERT, JJ., concur.

Hearing denied; MOSK, J. dissent-

ing.

10

tw
t

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the City
and County of Los Angeles; I am over the age of eighteen
years and not a party to the within action; my business
address is: 3550 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 916, Los Angeles,
California. On this date, _January 9, 1986
I served the within RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI in re. "Joseph Masin and Eva
Maria Masin vs. Vincent Drain and Ruth
Drain" in the U.S. Suoreme Court, October
Term, 1985, No. 85-985,

on the persons interested in said action by placing 3__ true
copies thereof enclosed in sealed envelopes with first class
postage prepaid, in the United States post office mail box at
Los Angeles, California, addressed as follows:

FRANCES E. KOMOROSKE
831 State Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

All varties required to be served
have been served.

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury that the

foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on January 9, 1986

at Los Angeles, CaJifornia.
Fit low Ki hha hick

Lawyer's Brief Service, Inc. / Legal Publishers / (213) 383-4457

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1184%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
