# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hodges v. Department of Transportation, Federal Aviation Administration

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1082%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1011

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTosBEeR TERM, 1985

WILLIE J. HODGES,
Petitioner,
— against —

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

JOAN STERN KIoKk

Counsel for Petitioner

32 Broadway - Suite 1800
New York, New York 10004
(212) 635-0700

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a federal employee who
was On approved annual leave at the time
of a strike may be discharged for strike
participation where the leave cancella-
tion notice relied upon by the agency was
allegedly placed ina "read and intitial"
binder six weeks prior to the employee's
scheduled leave, and:

(a) The notice was noc introduced
at the hearing;

(b) There was no evidence that the
employee had read or intialled the notice;

(c) The notice had been continually
torn out of the binder;

(a) The agency issued a second no-
tice, just prior to the strike, but after
the commencement of the employee's leave;

(e) There was no evidence of actual
strike participation by the employee.

2. Whether it was arbitrary and ca-

pricious for the Federal Aviation Admini-

ii

stration to discharge petitioner for par-
ticipating in a strike when other employ-
ees on approved annual leave were permit-
ted to return to work.

3. Whether it was arbitrary and ca-
pricious for the Merit Systems Protection
Board to sustain petitioner's discharge
when in four similar cases it reversed
the discharges of nine other employees
on the ground that the notice was insuf-

ficient to cancel approved annual leave.

iii

Table of Contents

Questions Presented

Table of Authorities
Citations to Opinions Below
Jurisdiction

Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved

Statement of the Case
Reasons for Granting the Writ
Conclusion

Appendix A
Opinion of the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

Appendix B
Opinion or The Merit Systems
Protection Board

Appendix C
Initial Decision of the Pre-
siding Official

Appendix D
Judgment of the Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Appendix E
Order on Rehearing

Page

i8

19

21

25

50

S51

J

As
_ |
-
—
,
—
-

iv

Table of Authorities

CASES Page
Ailes v. Department of

Transportation,

Docket No. NY075281F0842,

17 M.S.P.R. 114 (MSPB 1983) 10, ll,

Benson v. Department of
Transportation

Docket No. PHO75281F1021,

19 M.S.P.R. 596 (MSPB 1984) 10, 14,

United Federation of Postal

Clerks v. Blount, 325 F. Supp

879 (D.D.C. 1971), aff'd 404

U.S. 802 (1972) 8,

Carpenter v. Department of
Transportation Docket No.
NYO075281F1432, 17 M.S.P.R.

84 (MSPB 1983) 9, 14,

Chisolm v. Defense Logistics
Agency, 656 F.2d 42
(3d Cir. 1981)

Coleman v. Department of
Transportation Docket No.
NYO75281F0482 ADD, 21

M.S.P.R. 596 (MSPB 1984) 9, 14, 15,

Greene v. Lindsey, 456
U.S. 444 (1982) 7, 8,

Miner v. Federal Communi-
cations Commission, 663
F.2d 152 (D.C. Cir. 1980)

Mullane v. Central Hanover
Bank & Trust Co., 339
U.S. 306 (1950) 7, 8,

14

16

12

15

17

16

ll

17

ll

Table of Authorities
CASES Page

Schapansky v. Department of
Transportation, 735 F.2d
477 (Fed. Cir. 1984) cert.
denied, 105 S. Ct. 432 (1984)
8, 12, 13, 16

Teamsters Local Union 769
v. NLRB 532 F.2d 1385
(B.C. Cie. 2976) 17

Constitutional Provision

U.S. Const. Amend V 2

Statutes and Regulations

5 U.S.C. § 7311 3
5 U.S.C. § 7703(c) 3

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1985

No.

WILLIE J. HODGES,
Petitioner,
-against-

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit is unreported. It
is printed in Appendix A, infra, pl9. The
opinion of the Merit Systems Protection
Board is unofficially reported in 16

M.S.P.R.? 301 (1983) under the title

l. M.S.P.R. is the Merit Systems Protection Re-
porter published by West Publishing Co.

Backes et al. v. Department of Transpor-
2

tation” and is printed in Appendix B,
infra, p.21. The initial decision of the
presiding official is unreported and is
printed in Appendix C, infra p.25.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Cc .rt of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit was entered on
July 24, 1985. The order denying the pe-
tition for rehearing was entered on
August 21, 1985. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Const. amend V

No person shall be ... deprived of

2. Petitioner was one of 23 controllers whose
cases were consolidated before the presiding
official. However, only petitioner and one other
controller had been on approved annual leave.

All of the controllers in the consolidated case
were represented by a colleague who was not an
attorney.

life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law...

5 U.S.C. § 7311

An individual may not accept or hold
a position in the Government of the
United States ... if he-
(3) participates in a strike, or
asserts the right to strike, against the
Government of the Unites States ...

5 U.S.C. § 7703(c)

(c) In any case filed in the United
States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit, the Court shall review the record
and hold unlawful and set aside any agency
action, findings, or conclusions found to
be-

(1) arbitrary, capricious, an
abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law;

(3) unsupported by substantial
evidence;

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was an air traffic con-
troller employed for 1l years at the Fed-
eral Aviation Administration (the "“agen-
cy") at its New York TRACON? facility.

A nation-wide strike of all traffic con-
trollers commenced on August 3, 1981 and
petitioner was discharged for striking
and being absent without leave on August
6, 1981. However, petitioner had been on
approved annual leave commencing July 30,
1981 and was not scheduled to return to
work until August 13, 1981.

Petitioner was unaware that he was
required to report to work during his

approved annual leave. Although a manda-

tory briefing occurred on June 15, 1981,

3. '"TRACON" is an acronym for traffic control.

in which the controllers were advised of
the illegality of striking against the
United States, the briefing, which was
reduced to writing, contained no refer-
ence to cancellation of leaves in the
event of a strike. Similarly, a telegram
which was sent to all controllers warned
the employees of the illegality of parti-
cipating in a strike and that "unauthori-
zed absence when scheduled or directed to
report for duty" indicates strike par-
ticipation. Unlike some controllers on
leave who were personally contacted by
their supervisors, petitioner received no
telephone calls or other notification that
his leave was cancelled. Nor was there
any evidence that petitioner walked a pic-
ket line or engaged in any other strike
activity.

To support petitioner's discharge, the

“gency relied entirely upon a notice that

was allegedly placed ina "read and ini-

tial binder" on June 16, 1981, six weeks
before his leave commenced. The notice
was not introduced at the neaetie and
there was no evidence that petitioner ei-
ther saw or initialed it, or how long the
notice remained in the binder. The Merit
Systems Protection Board ("MSPB") found in
several other cases that the notices had
been continually torn out of the binder.

A second notice was issued on July 3l,

but the agency did not rely on that notice
Since petitioner's leave had commenced
prior to that date.

At least 20 controllers were not dis-
charged by the agency for striking, be-
cause they were on approved annual leave.
Of those who were discharged, a signifi-
cant number were reinstated by presiding
officials or the MSPB.

Despite a finding that petitioner was

on approved leave, the presiding official

upheld his discharge on the ground that

he was "on notice that annual leave would
be cancelled in the event of the strike."
This finding was based entirely on the
facility chief's testimony that he had
been “assured by his deputies" that the
notices were placed in the binders. The
MSPB denied the petition for review.

Jurisdiction of the Court of Appeais
for the Federal Circuit was invoked pur-
Suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a) (9). The
court affirmed the decision of the MSPB
that petitioner "was not on annual leave
on the basis of the opinion of the pre-
siding official of the Board."

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The decision of the Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit is in con-
flict with this Court's decisions in Mul-

lane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

339 U.S. 306 (1950) and Greene v. Lindsey,

456 U.S. 444 (1982). It is also in con-
flict with the decision of the United

States District Court for the District

of Columbia in United Federation of Postal
Clerks v. Blount 325 F. Supp. 879 (D.D.C.

1971), aff'd. 404 U.S. 802 (1972) and the
Federal Circuit's own decision in Schap-

ansky v. Department of Transportation 735

F.2d 477 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied
105 S.Ct. 432 (1984).

(a) In Mullane v. Central Hanover

Bank & Trust Company, supra this Court

stated that “an elementary and fundamental
requirement of due process in any procee-
ding which is to be accorded finality is
notice reasonably calculated, under all
the circumstances, to apprise interested

"

parties of the pendency of the action ...

339 U.S. at 314. Citing Mullane frequent-

ly, this Court in Greene v. Lindsey,

supra, held that notices posted on the

doors of tenants' apartments which were

"not infrequently" removed by others,

did not “satisfy minimum standards of

Gue process." 456 U.S. at 453. There-
fore, this Court concluded, the failure
to afford the tenants adequate notice of
proceedings before issuing a final order
of eviction was a deprivation of property

with due process of law.

The MSPB found, in other decisions
involving controllers who were discharged
from the New York TRACON facility, that
the notices of leave cancellation placed
in the read and initial binder six weeks
before the strike were insufficient, ab-
sent other evidence, to support a prima
facie case of strike participation for
employees who were on approved annual

leave. Carpenter v. Department of Trans-

portation, Docket No. NY075281F1432, 17

M.S.P.R. 84 (MSPB 1983); Coleman v. De-

partment of Transportation, Docket No.

NY075281F0482ADD, 21 M.S.P.R. 596 (MSPB

10

1984); Ailes v. Department of Transporta-

‘tion, Docket No. NY075281F0842, 17 M.S.P.R.
114 (MSPB 1983). In the New York cases,

as well as Benson v. Department of Trans-

portation, Docket No. PHO75281F1021, 19

M.S.P.R. 596 (MSPB 1984), which arose out
of the Pittsburgh TRACON, the MSPB noted
that the notices were constantly torn out
of the read and initial binders. But even
where two controllers had actually read
and initialled the notice, the MSPB found
that "the agency's attempt to cancel the
leave of appellants ... solely by means of
the June ... memorandum constitutes an in-
sufficient communication of the cancella-
tion and was therefore ineffective."
Benson, supra, at p.3.

The MSPB reasoned that the June 16
notice was too remote from the actual e-
vent of the strike to constitute adequate
notice of cancellation of approved annual

leave, particularly in view of the fact

11

that the agency issued a second notice,
three days before the strike, but after
the controllers had left on their vaca-

tions. As noted in Ailes, supra, at p.3,

fn. 4 of the decision, “the fact that the
agency issued the order of July 31 tends
to weaken its argument that it depended
on the June 16 order to establish cancel-
lation of annual leave at the time of the
strike in August."

Since there was no evidence that
petitioner had seen or initialled the
first notice, and since he was al-
ready on leave when the second notice was
issued, the notice of leave cancellation
which was relied upon by the agency to
cancel petitioner's leave and is the sole
basis for the conclusion that he partici-
pated in the strike, did not satisfy the
minimum standards of due process required
by the Constitution and Mullane and Greene

cases, supra, because it failed to afford

12

petitioner adequate notice that his leave
was cancelled. Petitioner's discharge,
based entirely upon the notice, was thus
a deprivation of property without due
process of law.

(b) In United Federation of Pos-

tal Clerks v. Blount, supra, the district

court, in a decision affirmed by this
Court, held that “only an actual refusal
in concert with others to provide ser-
vices" is forbidden by 5 U.S.C. § 7311(3).

325 F.Supp at 884. In Schapansky v. De-

partment of Transportation, supra the

Federal Circuit Court upheld the MSPB's
view that such an actual refusal to pro-
vide services may be shown by an employ-

ee's unauthorized absence during a wide-

spread strike of general knowledge, even
if there is no evidence of the employee's
actual participation in the strike.

Since the petitioner was on authori-

zed, approved annual leave during the

13

strike, and such leave was not effec-
tively cancelled by the agency, the
Gecision below conflicts with the Court's

own decision in Schapansky which requires

that, in order to find strike participa-
tion based on absence alone, an employ-
ee's absence must be unauthorized.

2. Another important question of law
raised in this case is whether a federal
agency, acting in a quasi-judicial capa-
city, may make inconsistent decisions
involving persons similarly situated or
whether such an agency is required to
apply the same standard of conduct to all
persons involved in a given set of cir-
cumstances.

(a) The Federal Aviation Adminis-
tration was inconsistent in its treatment
of petitioner. The record shows that at
least 20 employees were not discharged by
the agency because those employees were

On approved annual leave at the time of

14

the strike. This is so even though it

was agency-wide policy to place a notice
in the "read and initial binder" cancel-
ling annual leave in the event of a
strike. The agency thus implicitly re-
cognized that such notice was insufficient
to form a basis for finding strike par-
ticipation without evidence of personal
notice or actual participation.

(b) The MSPB acted arbitrarily
and capriciously, made a decision unsup-
ported by substantial evidence and abused
its discretion when it declined to review
that part of the initial decision relating
to petitioner and sustained petitioner's
removal by the agency. In at least four
other decisions, three of which arose out
of the same TRACON facility as peti-
tioner's, the MSPB made the opposite de-
cision on precisely the same facts as
were present in petitioner's case. Car-

penter, Benson, Coleman and Ailes, supra. In

15

Carpenter the MSPB stated, at pp. 3-5:

...-(T]he agency was unable to pre-
sent any evidence that appellant had
actually read the memorandum... [Wle
find that, because the memorandum
was issued more than a month before
the commencement of appellant's
scheduled vacation, it would not,
absent other evidence, be sufficient
to cancel appellant's previously
approved annual leave.

Thus, we find that there was no
evidence of unauthorized absence
by appellant during the strike
period and that the presiding offi-
cial erred in finding that the
agency had established a prima facie
cac2 of appellant's strike partici-
pation under Schapansky ... Cf.
McPartland v. Department of Trans-
Ortation ... [13 MSPB 155, 156
1583) (wherein the agency presented
documentary and testimonial evidence
that the appellant had been noti-
fied, both in writing and in person,
that his annual leave had been can-
celled).

Similarly, in Coleman the Board stated,

at 12,:

[T)he agency completely failed to
meet its burden to show that notice
of the cancellation of that leave
had been effectively communicated
to them. The [second] leave can-
cellation notice was not published
until after the appellants had begun

16

their previously approved annual

leave ... and the agency made nc
showing of subsequent communication
of leave cancellation to the appel-
lants ... While we do not ascribe
bad faith or ill will to the agency,
and have previously noted the extreme
conditions under which the adverse
actions were processed, we conclude
that the agency should have realized
that it had insufficient evidence to
Sustain its charges in this case, and
should have decided against removal.

In Benson, supra, the MSPB concluded

that the agency had “failed to show that
appellants ... previously authorized
annual leave was properly cancelled ...
and has therefore failed to establish a
prima facie case of strike participation"

under Schapansky. Benson, supra at 3.

"Elemental tenets of administrative

law" require that “agencies apply the

4. Coleman was a consolidated appeal involving
only the issue of attorney fees. The re-
gional office had sustained the appeals of
two controllers from New York TRACON on the
ground of insufficient communication of
leave cancellation. Two weeks later, peti-
tioner's appeal was denied by the same
regional office on the ground that the same
notice was sufficient.

17

the same basic standard of conduct to all

parties appearing before them". Miner v.

Federal Communications Commission, 663 F.

2d 152, 157 (D.C. Cir. 1980). Teamsters

Local Union 769 v. NLRB, 532 F.2d 1385,

1392 D.C. Cir. (1976). When an adminis-
trative agency acts as a quasi-judicial
body it is subject to the requirement
that it not act arbitrarily or caprici-
ously and has an obligation to render

consistent opinions. Chisolm v. Defense

Logistics Agen:y 656 F.2d 42,47? (3rd Cir.

1981).

It was arbitrary and capricious and
violative of basic principles of admin-
istrative law for the MSPB to find that
petitioner's leave was cancelled by the
same notice which it found insufficient

to cancel the leaves of other control-

lers.

18

CONCLUS ION

For the foregoing reasons, this pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Stern Kiok

Counsel for Petitioner
32 Broadway

New York, New York
10004

(212) 635-0700

Dateds New York, New York
November, 1985

APPENDIX

19

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT

WILLIAM J. HODGES,
Petitioner,
Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FAA,

i

Respondent.

Appeal No. 85-1005A
MSPB No. NY075281F0895

DECIDED: July 24, 1985

Before FRIEDMAN, Circuit Judge, MILLER,
Senior Circuit Judge, and NIES, Circuit

Judge.
PER CURIAM.

DECISION
The decision of the Merit Systems
Protection Board (Board) affirming the
removal of the petitioner from his posi-
tion as an air traffic controller for
participating in the 1981 illegal air

traffic controllers' strike is affirmed.

20

Appendix A
OPINION

The sols question is whether the
petitioner had been on annual leave on
the day on which he was found to have
participated in the strike. We affirm
the decision of the Board that he was not
On annual leave on the basis of the
opinion of the presiding official of the

Board.

21

Appendix B
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

WILLIAM E. BACKES, ET AL.
Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
FEDERAL AVIATION OF ADMINISTRATION

eee ee ee”

DOCKET NUMBER
NY075281F0846

OPINION AND ORDER

The agency removed the appellants
from their positions of Air Traffic Con-
trol Specialists at its air traffic con-
trol facility in Westbury, New York. The
agency based the removal actions on
charges of (1) participating in a strike
against the United States Government in
violation of 5 U.S.C. § 7311 and 18 U.S.C.
§ 1918, and (2) unauthorized absence
(AWOL) .

The appellants have now petitioned

the Board for review of the presiding

22

Appendix B

official's initial decision. Upon con-

sideration of the appellant's petition,

we find that the legal issues raised have

been raised for the first time in the
petition for review, addressed by the
presiding official, or resolved by the
Board in other related cases. The pre-
siding official's findings as to those
legal issues are essentially consistent
with ours, and any inconsistency in the
presiding official's determination on
those issues would not affect the out-
come of this appeal. In addition, to
the extent that the arguments made in
the appellants' petition relate to the
presiding official's factual determina-

tions, we find that the appellants have

?. The Board has resolved the issues raised in
the petition for review by the appellants in the
following cases: Ketchem v. Department of
Transportation, MSPB Docket Number DA075281F0713
at 4-19 (May 28, 1982) (official notice of the
existence of an unlawful strike) motion ‘or
clarification denied (November 23, 1982);

23

Appendix B
not demonstrated any such factual error
by the presiding official, based on speci-
fic references to the record, sufficient

to warrant the Board's full raview of the

record. See Weaver v. Department of the

Navy, 2 MSPB 297, 299 (1980).

(fm. cont.) Campbell v. Department of Transporta-
tion, MSPB Docket Number DE0O75281F0674 at 7-8
(April 25, 1983) (period of participation in the
strike sufficient to support the charges);
Schapansky v. Department of Trans ortation, MSPB
Docket Number DAO075281F1130 at 6 n.2 and 10-11
(October 28, 1982) (prima facie case of strike
participation and reasonableness of the removal
penalty); Desiderio v. Department of the Navy 4
MSPB 171 (1980) (AWOL alone as cause for removal);
Schapansky, supra, at 7-8 (invocation of 5 U.S.C.
Section 7513(b)(1) to shorten the notice period);
Karapinka v. Department of Energy, 6 MSPB 114,
115-16 (1981) (reversible procedural error by a
presiding official); Anderson v. Department of
Transportation, MSPB Docket Number SL075281F0347
at 8-13 (April 25, 1983) ("command influence");
Baracco v. Department of Transportation, MSPB
Docket Number DCO75281F0895 at 17 (April 25, 1983)
(agency's failure to afford employee not less
than 7 days to respond to written notice of remov-
al does not, of itself, warrant reversal);

Douglas v. Veterans Administration, 5 MSPB 313,
331-33 (1981) (agency's imposition of a removal
penalty on an air traffic controller cannot be
deemed clearly excessive or disproportionate to a
sustained charge of striking against the Federal
Government despite the many years of government
service and flawless employment record);

24

Appendix B

August 19, 1983 s/
Robert E. Taylor

Secretary

Washington, D.C.

(fn. cont.) Book v. U.S. Postal Service, 6 MSPB
322 (1981), (adverse inference may be drawn from
refusal to testify), aff'd 675 F.2d 158 (8th Cir.
1982); Baracco, supra, (appellant bears the bur-
den of proving harm as to all alleged procedural
errors).

25

Appendix C

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

NEW YORK REGIONAL OFFICE
William E. Backes et al. 1/ )
)
Vv. )
)
Federal Aviation Administration )

CASE NO.
NYO75281F0846

INITIAL DECISION

By timely petitions, the appellants
whose names are listed in the appendix to
this decision appealed their removals
from the Federal Aviation Administration
(agency).

When removed, the appellants were in

the competitive service and were not ser-

1/ This decision concerns the appeals of 23 former
air traffic controllers represented by Donald
Bodine. These cases have been consolidated by the
presiding official on her own motion because each
appellant designated the same representative; the
agency designated one representative to argue all
of the cases; the only witness called upon to tes-
tify gave testimony applicable to each of the ap-
pellants, and; the issues are all similar if not
identical. Moreover consolidation of the cases
was not shown to adversely affect the interests of
any of the parties, and it allowed for expeditious
processing of the cases. 5 C.F.R. 1201.36 (1982).

26

Appendix C
ving trial or probationary periods. They

were therefore entitled to appeal their
removals to the Board. 5 U.S.C. 7511(a)
(1); 7512(1); 7701 (1978).

Each of the appellants was an Air Tra-
ffic Controller who was charged by the
agency with participating in a strike
called by the Professional Air Traffic
Controllers' Organization (PATCO) and for
being Absent Without Official Leave
(AWOL). The dates for which they were all
charged fall within the dates of August 5,
1981 beginning at 3:00 p.m., and August 8,
1981. After affording each appellant a
period of seven days in which to respond
to the proposal, each of the appellants
was removed.

The burden of proof falls upon the
agency. It must prove each element of its
case by preponderant evidence. 5 U.S.C.
7701 (1978); 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (1982); In

re Van Sciver, 1 MSPB 94 (1980). In pro-

27

Appendix C

ving its case, the agency may rely on
facts officially noticed. 5 C.F.R. 1201.
66 (1982). Official notice is taken of
the facts that "...an unlawful strike of
air traffic controllers commenced on Aug-
ust 3, 1981, and was still in progress on

August 6, 1981." Ketchem v. Department

of Transporation, MSPB Docket No. DA07528

1F013 (1982).

Mr. Charles E. Stafford, Chief of New
York TRACON, testified-on behalf of the
agency. He was the Facility Chief over
each of the appellants. Chief Stafford
testified that the agency's mission is to
provide air traffic services to 30 air-
ports in the New York Metropolitan area.
(Tr. 7). 2/ The controllers separated
the arrivals and departures of aircraft
using the 30 airports. (TR. 13-14).
Prior to the commencement of the strike

the facility operated in three shifts.

2/ “Tr _™" refers to pages of the Hearing Trans-
¢ript. .

28

Appendix C

There was a day shift from 7:00 a.m.
through 3:00 p.m., a swing shift from
3:00 p.m. through 11:00 p.m., and a mid-
night shift from 11:00 p.m. through 7:00
a.m. The controllers were aware of their
individual schedules from a posting of
their shifts which was put up 21 days in
advance of their shifts. The schedule
was then made available in each of the
three sectors of the facility. (Tr. 8).
Chief Stafford testified that there
were rumors of a strike in June of 1981.
When June passed, a new rumor circulated
that the strike would take place in Aug-
ust. Between June 3, and June 15, 1981,
an Assistant Chief gathered the appell-
ants in a conference room and read to
them the contents of 18 U.S.C. 1918.
Each was given a copy of the provision as
well. In essence, this provision states
that anyone who participates in a strike

against the government may not accept or

29

Appendix C
hold a position in the government, and

shall be fined not more than $1,000 or
imprisoned not more than one year and a
day or both. (Tr. 19-22). As further
preventive actions. Chief Stafford tes-
tified that on June 16 and again on July
31, 1981 notices were posted which can-
celled annual leave in the event of a
strike. These notices indicated that the
cancellation of leave would be activated
on the commencement of a strike, and that
the notices were effective until further
notice. The notices were put in a read
and initial binder for each of the three
sectors. Chief Stafford explained that
each air traffic controller was required
to readthe binder prior to assuming an 7
operational position; notices stay in the
binders for a couple of months. (Tr. 29-
30). On cross-examination Chief Stafford
testified that he did not know specifi-

cally who posted the notices, but he was

i

30

Appendix C
assured by his Deputy Chief that posting

had been accomplished. (Tr. 5l).

On August 3, Chief Stafford testified,
for the day shift only 2 of the expected
44 controllers reported for work. On the
following shift 1 or 2 out of the same
expected number reported; no one showed
up for the midnight shift. Moreover,
picketers appeared outside of the main
gate of the facility. They varied in -
number from 4 to 20 persons who walked
back and forth in front of the main gate.
They did move out of the way to allow
people to enter or leave the facility.
Some of the picketers carried signs which
read "PATCO LOCAL 160 ON STRIKE". Accor-
ding to Chief Stafford, that was the
PATCO organizational unit at the TRACON
facility. Through contact with the other
facilities in the region and with other
regions, Chief Stafford learned that a

nationwide strike was in effect. Picke-

31

Appendix C

ting, at least in the Eastern Region,
continued to late September and possibly
into early October 1981. (Tr. 11-12).

As a result of the strike, stated
Chief Stafford, the facility could not
provide the service that they were uni-
quely able to provide to their users.
This inability caused great inconvenience
to the public. The impact of the strike,
which Chief Stafford characterized as
substantial, is still being felt at the
facility. (Tr. 13).

According to Chief Stafford, each of
the appellants failed to report for his/
her regularly scheduled shift after 11:30
a.m. On August 5, 1981. For this reason,
he proposed their removals. The proposal
letter in each case was sent by regular
and by certified mail. These letters
stated that the appellants had an oppor-
tunity to reply to the notice and could

do so orally, in writing, or both orally

32

Appendix C
and in writing. According to Chief Staf-
ford, none of the appellants made an oral
reply, and none called to explain his
absence. (Tr. 23, 37). All of the ap-
pellants made a written response. With
the exception of one, they were what
Chief Stafford called the "standard PATCO
response". He cha’ :terized the response
in this manner, because he had received
approximately 170 responses which were
identical. Two of the responses were re-
ceived after the seven days in which to
respond had expired. Chief Stafford tes-
tified that all of ine responses, includ-
ing those received late, were read and
considered, and each failed to provide a
basis for excusing the appellant's ab-
sence. He therefore decided to sustain
the proposed removal and notified each
appellant of his termination by certified
and regular mail. (Tr. 19-22).

Prior to resting its case, the agency

33

Appendix C

provided Mr. Stafford with the agency
file for each of the 23 appellants. Mr.
Stafford reviewed each file, and testi-
fied concerning each individual appel-
lant's work schedule for the week of Aug-
ust 3, the type of written response sub-
mitted in reply to the proposal letter,
whether or not the appellant reported for
work on his given schedule, and why the
individual appellant was removed. In
each instance, Mr. Stafford testified
that the appellant was removed for parti-
cipating in an illegal strike against the
government and for being AWOL during the
midst of an illegal strike.

Chief Stafford was extensively ques-
tioned under cross-examination. He was
shown a copy of the agency's handbook and
the provision concerning the delegation
of authority to decide disciplinary ac-
tions. Although the handbook does not

list facility chiefs among those persons

34

Appendix C

so authorized, Chief Stafford testified
that the authority was redelegated to him
by the Regional Director who is vested
with that authority. This redelegation
preceded the strike. (Tr. 44-45). When
asked whether or not President Reagan de-
cided to remove the appellants prior to
the letters of proposed removal being
sent, Chief Stafford testified that he,
himself, made the decision to remove the
appellants, and his decision was not made
prior to his sending the proposed removal
letters to the appellants. (Tr. 47).
Chief Stafford conceded that the normal
period in which to reply to a proposal of
disciplinary action is 30 days. However,
he justified his use of seven days in
which to respond on the provision in the
law that states that a shortened notice
period is appropriate when the agency
official has reason to believe that a

crime has been committed. He thus felt

—

35

Appendix C

justified in shortening the notice period
even though he was unaware and is cur-
rently unaware of any pending criminal
actions against any of the appellants.
(Tr. 48). Moreover Chief Stafford con-
ceded that the "standard PATCO response"
also included a request for an extension
of time in which to reply and a request
made under the Freedom of Information Act
for greater information. Chief Stafford
testified that he did not feel obligated
to respond to the request, because all of
the information that he relied upon was
made available to the appellant in the
agency file, and none of the information
requested under the Freedom of Information
Act had been relied upon by him in making
his decision. (Tr. 53).

None of the appellants took the
stand. However, their representative
raised defenses on their behalf. In the

case of Mr. Charles Henderson, it is al-

36

Appendix C
leged that he was entitled to sick leave.
The appellants representative submitted
medical documentation purporting to show
that the appellant was incapacitated for
duty. The medical documentation submit-
ted is on the stationery of Robert B.
Bass, Jr., and is dated August 28, 1982.
This document states that "As a result of
roller skating fall July 29, 1981 the
above was incapacitated for employment
from July 30, 1981 far treatment .....
sprain right ankle. Treatment consisted
of soaks, ankle support, reduced weight
hearing-pain medication." The appel-
lant's name appears on the top of the
form and it is signed by R. Bass Jr.,
D.O. (Appellant Exhibit 2). Other than
pointing out the fact that Messrs. Pratte
and Hodges were scheduled for annual
leave, nothing more specific was said
about their cases.

In general and on behalf of each of

37

Appendix C
the appellants, several legal arguments
were raised. These defenses are affir-
mative defenses which will be considered
separately after a determination has been
made on whether the agency has met its

prima facie case.

The Board in the case of Schapansky

v. Department of Transportation, MSPB

Docket No. DAO75281F1130. (1982), held that
the agency must prove that the strike was
a matter of generai knowledge, and that

an employee was AWOL, in order to make out

a prima facie case. 3/ Part of the agen-

cy's burden in meeting this test has al-
ready been proven by virtue of the fact
that official notice has been taken that
a strike occurred at least through August
6, 1981. On the dates officially noted as

well as for subsequent dates through

3/ Schapansky v. Department of Transportation,
MSPB Docket No. DAO75281F1130 (1982), page 6
footnote 2.

38

Appendix C
August 8, Mr. Stafford testified, without
contradiction, that the strike continued.
His testimony was that picketers contin-
ued to be present August 7 or 8, and that
the level of absenteeism was similar.
Moreover he testified that thcse manifes-
tations of a strike were noted not only
at his facility, but were noted region-
wide. Because he testified that the im-
pact of the strike continues to date, it
must be found that there was an impact
caused by the absenteeism at least on
August 7 and August 8. Based on Mr.
Stafford's unrefuted testimony, and the
official notice taken, I find that the
agency has proven this aspect of its

prima facie case.

Mr. Stafford also provided credible
testimony as to each of the appellants'
scheduling during the week of August 3,
1981, and the fact that all annual leave

was cancelled during that period. Al-

. aaa

39

Appendix C
though Chief Stafford did not personally
place the notices cancelling leave in the
read and initial binder, he stated that
he had been assured by his deputies that
they were so placed. He further testified
that it was the responsibility and habit
of ecstl aie traffic controller to read
the binder prior to commencing opera-
tions. Under the circumstances, and in
the absence of contradictory evidence, I
have no reason to doubt the Chief's tes-
timony in this regard. Accordingly, I
find that the agency has shown that the
appellants were AWOL, and that annual
leave was cancelled, as averred by the
agency.

Under Schapansky, supra, in order to

refute the agency's prima facie case, the

appellants would have to demonstrate ig-
norance of the strike and/or the fact that
their absence was due to some factor other

than intentional participation in the

Appendix C
strike. As stated none of the appel-

lants took the stand. tn view of the
notoriety attending the strike, the ex-
tensive media coverage of the strike, and
the fact that it struck the very liveli-
hood of each of the appellants charged, I
find it unlikely if not improbable that
any was unaware that a strike was in pro-
gress. While two of the appellants,
Pratte and Hodges, were initially granted
approved leave, the only evidence before
me indicates that the appellants were on
notice that annual leave would be cancel-
led in the event of a strike. Similarly
there is no evidence before me that Mr.
Henderson was granted approved sick leave
or entitled to sick leave on the dates
that he was charged with being AWOL and
participating in a strike. While the
Board may examine medical evidence sub-
mitted for the first time at hearing 4/,

the medical certification submitted at

Appendix C
hearing, is insufficient to establish

that the appellant was incapacitated for
duty since the note does not indicate
that the appellant was unable to work
after July 30, 1981.

Because the agency met its initial

burden in establishing a prima facie

case, and the credible evidence that was
presented has not been refuted, I find
that the agency has established by pre-
ponderant evidence that the appellants
were striking and AWOL on the dates char-
ged.

In addition to proving that the ap-
pellants committed the acts as charged,
the agency must also show that there is
a connection between their conduct and
the agency's ability to carry out its

mission. Young v. Hampton, 568 F.2d

1253, 1258 (7th Cir. 1978). Mr. Staf-

4/ Zeiss v. Veterans Administration, MSPB Docket
No. NY0O75209017 (1981), at page 3.

42

Appendix C
ford, the Facility Chief testified that

the strike had a severe impact on the
overall air traffic system due to New
York's importance in managing air traffic
for 30 metropolitan airports. During the
strike, testified Mr. Stafford, the fa-
cility's efficiency was substantially re-
duced. I find that Mr. Stafford's unre-
butted testimony establishes by a prepon-
derance of the evidence that the appel-
lant's conduct had a detrimental effect on
the agency and its ability to perform its
assigned mission. I can think of nothing
more crucial tc an agency's mission than
having a dependable workforce with which
to perform its services.

Notwithstanding the finding that the
agency has proven its case by a prepon-
derance of the evidence, an agency action
may not be sustained if the appellant:

(A) shows harmful error in the app-

lication of the agency's procedures in

—)

43

Appendix C
arriving at such decision;

(B) shows that the decision was based
On any prohibited personnel practice des-
cribed in section 2302(b) of this title;
or

(C) shows that the decision was not
in accordance with the law. 5 U.S.C. 7701
(c) (2) (1978). These defenses are defen-
ses upon which the appellants bear the
burden of proof. 5 C.F.R. 1201.56(2) (b)
(1982). As affirmative defenses the ap-
pellants made arguments centering upon the
following concepts, double deopardy (Tr.
48), rights to a speedy trial (Tr. 56),
constructive discharge (Tr. 82) and, that
5 U.S.C. 7311 is a national security

Statute 5/ (Tr. 59). Two other arguments

5/ The appellants argue that the agency's handbook
on adverse actions excludes matters taken for na-
tional security reasons from being appealable to
the Board. The section specifically states, at
page J, that matters excluded from coverage of the
order are "actions taken for security reasons un-
der 5 U.S.C. 7532, or any other similar statute."
(Appellant Exhibit 1.)

44
Appendix C

made are that the removal of the appel-
lants is outside of the agency's guide-
lines on penalties for specific offenses,
and that in actuality it was President
Reagan who fired the air traffic control-
lers.

The first group of defenses, while
asserted, were not supported by any evi-
dence. Moreover double jeopardy, and
the right to a speedy trial, are criminal
law concepts with no applicability to ad-
ministrative proceedings. De Joy v.

Health and Human Services, 4 MSPB 96, 97

(1980). While the appellant asserts that
7533 is a national security statute, there
is no evidence to warrant that conclusion
or to show that it is similar to 5 U.S.C.
7532, which is a national security sta-
tute. Moreover, assuming that 5 U.S.C.
7311 was a national security statute, the
agency, any agency could not by its own

order divest the Board from its jurisdic-

45

Appendix C
tion. 5 U.S.C. 7511 provides for the

Board its definition of employee. 5 U.S.
C. 7512 states that an employee may ap-
peal a removal to the Board. The only
exception to this would be a removal un-
der section 7532, which is consistent
with the agency's order. Therefore I
find the appellants" argument that this
action is not appealable to the Board to
be unpersuasive. ;

It is argued that striking is an un-
fair labor practice under the Civil Ser-
vice Reform Act of 1978; for striking,
PATCO was decertified and that is the
only remedy allowed for striking. The
appellants also claim that because the
organization and its members are synony-
mous, removal of the appellants is in-
appropriate. This is again the double
jeopardy argument that was previously
made and disposed of in part. While

striking is an unfair labor practice,

46

Appendix C
unfair labor practices are not chargeable

against employees. 5 U.S.C. 7116 (1978).
The Civil Service Reform Act defines a
person to be either an individual or a
labor organization (5 U.S.C. 7103 (a) (1)
(1978), however, it also gives separate
definitions to employees and labor or-
ganizations. They are not synonymous.
These appellants were charged with and
removed for striking in their capacities
as employees and not based upon their ca-
pacities of individuals who comprise a
labor organization.

The contention that the penalty im-
posed by the agency falls outside the
range of appropriate penalties is likewise
unpersuasive. That portion of the chart
relied upon the appellant does not show a
suggested penalty for AWOL when that AWOL
is coupled with participation in a strike
or occurs during a strike. Therefore I

am unable to conclude the evidence before

47

Appendix C

me that the agency acted inappropriately
by removing the appellants.

As to the last two contentions, they also
have not been proven. Mr. Stafford cred-
ibly testified that he in fact made the
decision to remove the appellants. While
it could be found that President Reagan
established policy that air traffic con-
trollers would be removed for striking,
there is no evidence he participated in
the decision-making to remove any indivi-
dual air traffic controller. Finally, I
find that the appellants were not con-
structively discharged; they were actu-
ally discharged. A constructive discharge
would occur where employees are not al-
lowed to return to work by their employer,
and that is the cause of their not work-
ing. In this case the appellants volun-
tarily absented themselves from work.

That absence during the strike is the

cause of their discharge. In view of the

48

Appendix C
evidence before me I am unable to con-

clude that the appellants have establish-

ed a prima facie case on any of the af-.

firmative defenses raised.

The last issue to be resolved is
whether or not the agency's choice of
penalty, i.e., its removal of the appel-
lants is clearly excessive or dispropor-
tionate to the charges of being AWOL and

striking against the agency. Douglas v.

Veterans Administration, MSPB Docket No.

ATO075299006 (1981). In removing the ap-
pellants the agency relied upon 5 U.S.C.
7311 which can be read to require the re-
moval of anyone who strikes against the
government. Due to the gravity of the
offenses committed by these appellants
and in view of a statute that clearly
sanctions removal in such a situation the
agency's action in removing the appel-
lants cannot be said to be unreasonable.

Schapansky, supra, at page 10. The ap-

49

Appendix C

pellants have failed to demonstrate or
even allege any factors that would war-
rant mitigation of their removals.
Therefore I find that the agency, by re-
moving each of the 23 appellants listed
in the appendix, selected a penalty that
was not excessive, disproportionate to the
sustained charges, arbitrary, capricious,
unreasonable or .an abuse of discretion.
Therefore the agency's action in removing
each of the appellants is sustained.

For the Board:

Dated: November 15, 1982
/s/

Bonita Kirkland
Presiding Official

50

Appendix D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 85-1005A

WILLIAM J. HODGES, NY075281F0895,
Petitioner,

Vv.
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
Respondent.

JUDGMENT
ON APPEAL from the Merit Systems Pro-

tection Board

This CAUSE having been heard and consid-
ered, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED: AFFIRMED.

DATED July 24, ENTERED BY ORDER OF
1985 THE COURT
George E. Hutchinson,
Petition for Re- Clerk
hearing, Denied, s/

August 21, 1985. Clerk

51

Appendix E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT
No. 85-1005A

WILLIAM J. HODGES, Petitioner
Vv.
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
Respondent.

eee eee ee ee

ORDER

A petition for rehearing having been
filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is
Ordered by the court that the petition
for rehearing be, and the same is hereby,
Denied.

FOR THE COURT:

/s/
George E. Hutchinson,
Clerk

August 21, 1985
Date

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1082%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
