# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simmons v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1072%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 475 U.S. 1011

## Text

rout, US.

NOV La 1989
No. JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
———
L
IN THE -

Supreme Court of the Hutted States

OctTosBeR TERM, 1985

Loyp Stmmons, II, Hospitalman, U.S. Navy,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF MILITARY APPEALS

JAMES J. QUIGLEY
Lieutenant Commander
J AGC, U.S. Navy
Counsel of Record

FREDERICK N. OTTIE
Lieutenant Commander
J AGC, U.S. Navy

Davin C. LARSON
Commander
J AGC, U.S. Navy

Appellate Defense Counsel

Navy—Marine Corps
Appellant Review Activity
Washington Navy Yard
Washington, D.C. 20374
(202) 433-2297

November 1985

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-6205

4 o a
‘ 5 7
es 7 sD -

te:
Mn 4 eee 40

LJ

=
=

oe Te = a

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether joinder of two unrelated and dissimilar
criminal offenses for trial by court-martial, a practice
permitted by military criminal law, but prohibited by
Federal criminal procedure, casts substantial doubt on
the ability of the court-martial members to render an
impartial verdict on the more serious offense untainted
by evidence admitted on the other and, thereby, denied
petitioner due process of law under the fifth amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States.

3

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...... 2.6... see ee eect e ee eeeees i
T sBtR OF AUTMORITIBS 2... ccc ccc ccc cece cc cccccnns ii
oo, 2 Serr rer rr sry 1
UNNOEE oo ooo. v00knbboieeues eb eee enseessenetes 2
ConsTITUTIONAL Provisions INVOLVED ..........-+++-- 2
OrnHer PROVISIONS INVOLVED ......... 00s eee eeeeeees 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASB ..... 0... cece ec ccee ceeeees 2
Reasons ror GRANTING THE PETITION ..........+-+55: 8
ComeANOe .. aos 0500060enesenesenehenessaaseeuaen 19

APPENDICES :
A—Opinion of the U.S. Court of Military Appeals. la

B—Opinion of the U.S. Navy-Marine Corps Court
of Military Review ........ccscccccccceccees 2a

TABLE OF AUTHOE TIES

CasEs: Page
Betts v. Brady, 316 U.S. 455 (1942) ................ 15
Cataneo v. United States, 167 F.2d 820 (4th Cir. 1948). 13
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) ....... 15

Drew v. United States, 331 F.2d 85 (D.C. Cir. 1964) . 12,14
Dunn vy. United States, 307 F.2d 833 (5th Cir. 1962) ... 16

Estes v. Tezas, 381 U.S. 532 (1965) ..:............8. 17
Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310 (1959) ....... 11
McElroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76 (1896) ...... 10, 14
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955) ................ 16
Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966) ........... 17
Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554 (1967) .............. 13
Tumey v. State of Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ......... 17

United States v. Carter, 4 M.J. 758 (A.C.M.R. 1977) .. 9

United States v. Foutz, 540 F.2d 733 (4th Cir. 1976) . 12, 13,
14

United States v. Halper, 590 F.2d 422 (2d Cir. 1978). 13, 14

United States v. Keith, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 442, 4 C.M.R. 34
ERR A ae aS 8,9, 14

Umited States v. Lockwood, 15 M.J. 1 (C.M.A. 1983)... 9
United States v. Partridge, 41 C.M.R. 548 (A.C.M.R.

SER ae eR Gaus GhSd 500 kn bcece bnaaceasnce 9
United States v. Showalter, 15 U.S.C.M.A. 415, 35
a a oe nnn40n0ecebenhieneas 9

United States v. Smith, 4 M.J. 809 (A.F.C.M.R. 1977). 9

iv

Tas_e oF AuTHORITIES continued

ConstTITUTION AND STATUTES: Page
CE, Cem, GE, YF oo nc cisc cece iesscencetcuasese 2
Bp Bs WEE GK bbcececccccddvancdeseceucesestacen 2
PD Ps RU on hah ede cceecckacccsccecsnsdccncius 8
SD ED ck canis sedescdeeeansbaseteccenes ene 7
es UE no x nec bdncdénsnseccecasadadsanense 6
Oy ED 4 enna ecccdndeck~ $0ks0060060046RKs 7
Se I, EE n-n nc on cnccweescccasavcsusccpasucent 3
ED so h4 oc 0 nn cdcaebaecanquesceebensnens 3
ie RED ng cn guccesedsduadadaeseu can base 2
MISCELLANEOUS:

Comment, Joint and Single Trials under Rules 8 and 14
of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, 74

WD Rad. Gey Ge CED oc nscccvcccescccecacces 13
Executive Order 12473, 3 C.F.R. 201 (1984) ......... 8
Manual for Courts-Martial, 1984

EY dh cc tcawekianaskogayeescssases 8

Analysis, app. 21, R.C.M. 601 ...............4.. 8, 14
Manual for Courts-Martial, 1969 (Rev. Ed.)

PE IEE oc conccccccncecsucxccessencens 8

DUE GIIEEED acnccccsccceuccovaeecececes +s ee

PIED acdncdcciccnctbebadaccuaneuces 2

Note, Harmless Error and Misjoinder Under the Fed-
eral Rules of Criminal Procedure: A Narrowing
Division of Opinion, 6 Hofstra L. Rev. 533, 537-38
CRUE adNcnwedcubitecvussequesscesaesassactes 13

v

Tas_e or AUTHORITIES continued

Page
Note, Joinder of Criminal Offenses in Nebraska: Ju-
dicial Discretion v. Fair and Impartial Trial, 56
Nebraska L. Rev. 399, 404 (1977) ............... 12

Underhill’s Criminal Evidence § 180 (4th ed. 1935) ... 11
1 Wharton’s Criminal Evidence § 232 (12th ed. 1955) . 11
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

PED IS Seven edncceccccccdecessdecvseseaaeeuses 10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octroser Term, 1985

No. —

Loyp Stumons, II, Hospitalman, U.S. Navy,
Petitioner,
v.

Untrep States OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF MILITARY APPEALS

Hospitalman Loyd Simmons, II, U.S. Navy, respect-
fully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Military Ap-
peals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Military
Appeals (App. la) is reported at 21 M.J. 38 (C.M.A.
1985). The opinion of the United States Navy—Marine
Corps Court of Military Review (App. 2a) is an un-
reported decision, United States v. Simmons, No. 82
5474 (N.M.C.M.R. 30 Nov. 1983).

JURISDICTIO™

The judgment of the United State Court of Military
Appeals was entered on September 20, 1985, affirming
petitioner’s conviction for murder. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
The Constitution of the United States providess

Amendment V: “No person .. . shall be . . . de-
prived of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law.”’

OTHER PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Paragraphs 30g and 33h of the Manual for Courts-
Martial, United States 1969 (Revised Edition) state:
**Subject to jurisdictional limitations and at the dis-
cretion of the convening authority, charges against an
accused, if tried at all, ordinarily should be tried at
a single trial by the lowest court that has power to
adjudge an appropriate and adequate punishment.”’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pursuant to his authority under the Uniform Code
of Military Justice (UCMJ),' the Commanding Gen-
eral, Marine Corps Air Station, Cherry Point, North
Carolina, convened a general court-martial to hear the
ease against petitioner. Petitioner was charged with
four offenses, two of which were dismissed by the mili-
tary judge prior to trial on the merits. The remaining
two charges were premeditated murder occurring on
February 13, 1982, and an unrelated aggravated assault

* Article 22, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 822.

on November 20, 1981, violations of Articles 118 and
128 of the UCMJ, respectively."

Prior to trial, the defense moved to dismiss the
assault charge as being improperly joined with the
greater offense of premeditated murder. The defense
argued that petitioner could not receive a fair trial
if these two unrelated incidents were tried together;
the members of the court would not be able to keep
the evidence of the different offenses totally separate
in their deliberations. R. 9-10. This motion was denied.
R. 12-13.

Petitioner was accused of the premeditated murder
of George Mayo on February 13, 1982, by shooting him
in the face with a pistol. He was convicted of unpre-
meditated murder by the members of the general court-
martial. The petitioner contended that the killing was
an accident and that he did not have the intent to kill
the victim, Mayo.

Petitioner met the victim, Mayo, for the first time
on the day of the shooting. R. 616. Mayo was a large
man, 71 inches tall and weighing 250 pounds. P.E. 14.
He was well muscled, very strong, and lean. R. 524-25.
During the course of the evening, Mayo and a Marine
named Sergeant Davis began arguing. R. 621-22. The
victim hit Davis in the face with one punch (R. 625),
putting Davis in the hospital for ten days and causing
permanent injury to the nerves in the right side of
his face. R. 431-32. A short time after being hit, Davis
produced a gun and said he was going to shoot Mayo.
R. 391, 626. Davis was drunk. A friend persuaded
Davis to surrender the pistol, and it was eventually
returned to Davis’ van. R, 392, 405. Petitioner later

*10 U.S.C, §§ 918, 928

4

removed the weapon from the van. Davis asked peti-
tioner to give the gun to Davis’ wife, but petitioner
said he would give it to him the following day. R. 442.
The gun was placed in petitioner’s boot. R.442.

Petitioner later entered the house of a friend. Mayo
was in the living room. R. 312. An argument ensued
about Mayo’s fight with Davis. R. 313. Mayo wanted
to go outside, but petitioner did not want to go, and
this occasioned some threats by petitioner to shoot
Mayo. R. 317, 637. Petitioner eventually got up to
leave, but Mayo pushed him back down. R. 316-17, 351,
636-37. Petitioner again got up, and Mayo began to
push him down again. R. 317. The gun appeared in
petitioner’s hand, pointed at Mayo’s face, and was fired
from approximately fifteen inches away. R. 317-18.

Petitioner related that he was drunk at the time of
the shooting. R. 648. He believed the pistol to be un-
loaded. R. 637. During his argument with Mayo, he
took the gun out of his boot and placed it down beside
him. R. 636. As he arose to leave the second time, Mayo
pushed him again, grabbing his wrist and, while peti-
tioner was resisting, the gun discharged. R. 639-40.
The clip was not in the gun and petitioner did not
know there was a round in the chamber. R. 640. He
was not angry and had no intention to fight Mayo and
did not intend to shoot him. R. 640.

Petitioner was also charged in the same charging in-
strument with an unrelated aggravated assault upon
Jafas Haynes by striking him in the head with his fists
causing grievous bodily harm. He was convicted of a
simple assault of striking him in the head and face
with his fists. This offense occurred on November 20,
1981.

H)

Mr. Haynes was gathering supplies at the supply
locker of the United States Naval Hospital, Marine
Corps Air Station, Cherry Point, North Carolina. R.
531, 560. He was housekeeping supervisor at the hos-
pital. R. 528. Petitioner worked at the supply locker
as a supply clerk, and his duties involved monitoring
outgoing supplies and comparing them with requisi-
tions. R. 544, 604. Mr. Haynes claims that he was in-
sulted by derogatory epithets and generally harassed
by petitioner while attempting to depart the supply
locker with his materials. R. 532. Petitioner impeded
his exit by placing his foot on Haynes’ supply cart,
whereupon Haynes grabbed him around the shoulders
and pulled him back. R. 533, 547. Petitioner fell to his
knees, and Haynes held him down with his hands. R.
533, 550. After petitioner agreed to let Mr. Haynes
leave, Haynes released his grip and, after a few threat-
ening remarks, petitioner hit Haynes repeatedly in
the face. R. 533-34.

Petitioner, on the other hand, claims that he did call
Haynes derogatory names, but this was the way they
always joked with each other. R. 607. He had never
had any difficulty with Haynes in the past. Id. On this
particular day Haynes was in a hurry, and he had
more supplies than were authorized by the requisition
form. R. 608-09. When questioned by petitioner,
Haynes became angry and tried to leave. R. 609. An
argument ensued, and Haynes grabbed petitioner by
the throat and slammed his head against a nail on a
nearby rack. R. 610-11. Haynes released his grip, but
he again came at petitioner. R. 611. Petitioner claimed
he only hit Haynes three times in the face, each strike
occurring after Haynes first swung at him. x. 611-12.

6

After the defense case-in-chief, the Government pre-
sented the testimony of two witnesses in rebuttal. They
both testified concerning petitioner’s reputation for
violence at the Navai Hospital where he worked. Dr.
Noland, staff obstetrician and gynecologist, told the
court members that petitioner had a reputation at the
hospital as a violent man. R. 683, 689. Lieutenant Selak,
clinical instructor, testifed that petitioner was con-
sidered a violent person and that her personal opinion
was that he was a violent individual. R. 693.

A mistrial was requested by the defense attorney
who claimed that petitioner’s character was not placed
in issue by the defense case and that this character
evidence had, in fact, eliminated the possibility of a
fair trial on both charges. R. 699. The trial judge
denied the request, and advised that the members of
the court would be instructed that this character and
opinion testimony related only to the aggravated as-
sault charge. Id. The members of the court were so
instructed. R. 751. The members were also instructed
to ‘‘treat these two alleged incidences [sic] as com-
pletely independent and separate.’’ R. 734.

After finding petitioner guilty of unpremeditated
murder and simple assault, the court-martial members
sentenced petitioner to reduction to the lowest enlisted
pay grade (E-1), forfeiture of all pay and allowances,
confinement at hard labor for twenty years, and a dis-
honorable discharge from the United States Navy.

The staff judge advocate for the convening authority
presented his review of the court-martial! prior to the
convening authority’s formal approval of the sentence.*

3 Article 61, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 861.

7

The defense counsel again vigorously protested the
joinder of the unrelated assault charge to the murder
charge. He commented in his response to the staff judge
advocate’s review that the joinder of two separate of-
fenses which are totally unrelated may have a detri-
mental effect on the fairness and integrity of the court.
The convening authority nevertheless approved the
sentence pursuant to his review of the case.*

Petitioner again complained to the United States
Navy-Marine Corps Court of Military Review. The
Navy-Marine Corps Court did not address the im-
proper joinder issue, but nevertheless determined that,
regarding the assault charge, the fact that petitioner
testified that he never had any problems with the vic-
tim, Haynes, in the past, and that they were friends
was insufficient to put in issue the peacefulness of peti-
tioner so as to allow the Government to rebut with
evidence of reputation for violence and violent char-
acter. App. 6a. Accordingly, the United States Navy-
Marine Corps Court of Military Review dismissed the
finding of guilty to the assault, but allowed the sen-
tence to stand.°

Petitioner again complained to the United States
Court of Military Appeals concerning this prejudicial
joinder. The Court of Military Appeals granted the
petition for review, but after the review, the court
affirmed the findings and sentence.

Petitioner has followed all military and appellate
procedures in raising the question of improper joinder
and its substantial interference with his right to a

*10 U.S.C. § 860.
5 Article 66, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 866.

8

fair trial. The question was considered at trial and
by all reviewing authorities. Petitioner’s claim was
rejected by all.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Military procedures in effect at the time of peti-
tioner’s trial provided that existing charges against an
accused should be tried at a single trial by the lowest
court that has the power to adjudge an appropriate
punishment.* One exception is that minor derelictions
should not be joined with serious offenses.’

In United States v. Keith, 1 U.S.C.M.A. 442, 4
C.M.R. 34 (1952), the United States Court of Mili-

* Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1969 (Revised Edi-
tion), para. 30(¢). Manual for Courts-Martial rules are prescribed
by the President pursuant to his authority to prescribe pretrial,
trial, and post-trial procedures for cases triable in courts-martial.
Article 36, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 836. The President, by Executive
Order 12473, 3 C.F.R. 210 (1984), has rescinded the Manual for
Courts-Martial, United States, 1969 (Revised Edition), in effect at
the time of petitioner’s trial, replacing it with the Manual for
Courts-Martial, United States, 1984, effective August 1, 1984. The
new joinder rule, found in Rule 601(e) (2) of the Rules for Courts-
Martial, provides that, ‘‘In the discretion of the convening au-
thority, two or more offenses charged against an accused may be
referred to the same court-martial for trial, whether serious or
minor offenses or both, regardless whether related.’’ The rationale
for this rule is stated that, ‘‘This rule is inconsistent with Fed.
R. Crim. P. 8(a), which requires (in general) separate trials for
each offense. Such a requirement is too unwieldy to be effective,
particularly in combat or deployment. Joinder is entirely within
the discretion of the convening authority.’’ Analysis, Appendix 21,
R.C.M. 601, Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1984.

7 Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1969 (Revised Edi-
tion), paragraph 26(c).

9

tary Appeals approved the practice of joining unre-
lated charges for trial at the same court:

[T]he joinder of entirely separate, distinct, and
completely unrelated offenses is not condemned by
military procedure. Instead, for practical reasons
of dispatch it has come to be the customary prac-
tice to join all known offenses against an accused
and to dispose of ail at a single trial. See Manual
for Courts-Martial, supra, paragraph 30f. How-
ever, in civilian practice it is unusual, and often
improper, to join unrelated offenses in the same
trial. See Rule 8(a), Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure, 18 U.S.C. Rule 8(a). This rule provides
in substance that several offenses may be charged
in separate counts of the same indictment, if the
offenses are of the same or similar character, or
are based on the same transaction, or on two or
more connected transactions, or transactions con-
stituting parts of a common scheme. No such limi-
tation exists in the sphere of military practice.

Keith, 1 U.S.C.M.A. at 448, 4 C.M.R. at 40. This prac-
tice has been followed and repeatedly affirmed. See
United States v. Lockwood; 15 M.J.1,8 (C.M.A. 1983) ;
United Stutes v. Showalter, 15 U.S.C.M.A. 410, 35
C.M.R. 382 (1965); United States v. Smith, 4 M.J.
809, 813 (A.F.C.M.R. 1977); United States v. Carter,
4 M.J. 758, 760 (A.C.M.R. 1977); United States v.
Partridge, 41 C.M.R. 548 (A.C.M.R. 1969).

The military practice of permitting convening au-
thorities to charge unrelated offenses in the same
charging instrument had one primary effect under the
facts of this case. That effect was establishing the
likelihood that, because petitioner had engaged in an
assault three months earlier, he more likely than not
intended to murder George Mayo. This permissive

10

joinder practice proved a windfall to the Government
in petitioner’s case. The direct evidence on the assault
charge tended to show that petitioner was a individual
prone to commit offenses against the person of another.
This evidence, combined with the admission on the
assault charge of the reputation and character evi-
dence as to petitioner’s violent nature, ensured his con-
viction of a murder occurring one-quarter of a year
later irrespective of his claim of accident. The military
judge’s instructions to the members of the court-
martial directing them to keep the evidence on the
two charges separate in their minds was fruitless.

The critical issue in dispute in petitioner’s murder
case was whether he possessed the requisite intent to
kill. The reasonable possibility of prejudicial taint
from the admission of all the evidence erupting from
the unrelated assault charge is self-evident. There are
basic and fundamental principles of American juris-
prudence that have been violated here that are so
grave as to deprive petitioner of due process of law
guaranteed to him under the fifth amendment. In Mc-
Elroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76 (1896), at 79-80,
this Court, in construing Rev. Stat. § 1024 (1875),*
stated :

[I]n our opinion, they [indictments for arson and
assault] were not for two or more acts or trans-
actions of the same class or crimes or offenses
which might be properly joined, because they were
substantive offenses, separate and distinct, com-
plete in themselves and independent of each other,

® The forerunner of Rules 8(a) and 14 of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

11

committed at different times, and not provable by
the same evidence. In cases of felony the multi-
plication of distinct charges has been considered
so objectionable as tending to confound the accused
in his defense, or to prejudice him as to his chal-
lenges, in the matter of being held out to be habitu-
ally criminal, in the distraction of the attention
of the jury or otherwise, that it is the settled rule
in England and in many of our states, to confine
the indictment to one distinct offense or restrict
the evidence to one transaction.

Additionally, this Court has not hesitated, in the exer-
cise of its supervisory powers over the Federal courts,
to provide relief when members of the jury are exposed
to inadmissible, derogatory criminal information so
prejudicial that new trials were warranted. Marshall v.
United States, 360 U.S. 310 (1959). Petitioner is not
asserting mere prejudice. He is claiming that he was
deprived of a fair trial.

Evidence of the commission of unrelated crimes by
a defendant has traditionally been inadmissible to show
guilt or that the defendant would be likely to commit
the crime with which he is charged. 1 Wharton’s
Criminal Evidence § 232 (12th ed. 1955); Underhill’s
Criminal Evidence § 180 (4th ed. 1935). The military
joinder procedure is an easy way to circumvent this
longstanding precept that evidence of other crimes is
not admissible to prove commission of the crime
charged. ‘‘If the admission of evidence pertaining to
crimes of which the defendant has been convicted is
improper due to the prejudice which might result to
the defendant’s case, then how much more compelling
should be the policy behind refusing to allow the ad-
mission of evidence pertaining to crimes of which the

12

defendant has merely been accused!’ (emphasis
added).°

The joinder of unrelated offenses has the same effect
on the jury as evidence of other crimes whose only
relevance is to show propensity to commit criminal
acts. The Fourth Circuit found joinder of two bank
robberies improper when they occurred two and one-
half months apart. The court claimed that:

One inevitable consequence of a joint trial is that
the jury will be aware of evidence of one crime
while considering the defendant’s guilt or tnno-
eence of another. If the rationale of the ‘other
crimes’ rule is correct, it would seem that some
degree of prejudice is necessarily created by per-
mitting the jury to hear evidence of other crimes.

United States v. Foutz, 540 F.2d 733, 736 (4th Cir.
1976). In Drew v. United States, 331 F.2d 85 at 88
(D.C. Cir. 1964), Judge MeGowan wrote:

The argument against joinder is that the defend-
ant may be prejudiced for one or more of the
following reasons: (1) he may become embarrassed
or confounded in presenting separate defenses;
(2) the jury may use the evidence of one of the
erimes charged to infer a criminal disposition on
the part of the defendant from which is found his
guilt of the other crime or crimes charged; or
(3) the jury may cumulate the evidence of the
various crimes charged and find guilt when, if
considered separately, it would not so find. A less
tangible, but perhaps equally persuasive, element
of prejudice may reside in a latent feeling of tius-

* Note, Joinder of Criminal Offenses in Nebraska: Judicial Dis-
cretion v. Fair and Impartial Trial, 56 Neb. L. Rev. 399, 404
(1977).

13

tility engendered by the charging of several crimes
as distinct from only one.

Under some circumstances, there exist legitimate
purposes for admission of the prior criminal acts of
an accused. Such is not to demonstrate general crimi-
nal propensity, but to establish intent, prove an ele-
ment of the crime, show identity, malice, motive, or a
system of criminal activity, or when the defendant has
raised the issue of his character or when he has testified
and the Government seeks to impeach credibility. See
Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554, 560-61 (1967). Simi-
larly, joinder of offenses is considered proper for the
speed, efficiency, and convenience in the functioning of
Federal judicial machinery, but only as long as the
right of the defendant to a fair trial is preserved and
ne substantial prejudice to the defendant occurs.”
Cataneo v. United States, 167 F.2d 820, 823 (4th Cir.
1948) (analyzing Rule 8, Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure). Rule 8(a) of the Federal Rules of Crimi-
nal Procedure," therefore, limits joinder to offenses

The argument that judicial economy and efficiency are served
in joining offenses of the same or similar character under Rule
8(a), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, has been questioned
when compared with the dangers of unfairness to a defendant.
United States v. Halper, 590 F.2d 422, 430 (2d Cir. 1978) ; United
States v. Foutz, 540 F.2d 733, 738 (4th Cir. 1976). Note, Harmless
Error and Misjoinder Under the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure: A Narrowing Division of Opinion, 6 Hofstra L. Rev. 533,
537-38 (1978). Comment, Joint and Single Trials under Rules 8
and 14 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, 74 Yale L.J.
533, 560 (1965).

™ Rule 8(a) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure reads:

Joinder of Offenses. Two or more offenses may be charged in
the same indictment or information in a separate count for

14

of the same or similar character,” offenses based on
the same act or transaction, or offenses based on more
than one transaction connected together or constituting
part of a common scheme or plan. It does not allow
joinder of unrelated offenses. In military practice, the
rationale for the permissive joinder of unrelated
charges in the same charging instrument is described
as ‘practical reasons of dispatch.’’ Keith, 1 U.S.C.M.A.
at 448, 4 C.M.R. at 40. This rationale has been defined
more explicitly to mean that a separate trial for each
offense is a procedure ‘‘too unwieldy to be effective,
particularly in combat or deployment.” Analysis, app.
21, R.C.M. 601, Manual For Courts-Martial, 1984.

Unlike the sundry and legitimate reasons for ad-
mission of proof of a defendant’s prior criminal] acts,
and unlike the permitted joinder situations under the
Federal rule, the joinder of unrelated offenses has little
purpose under the circumstances of this case other
than prosecutor convenience. The murder charge is
completely and utterly irrelevant to the assault charge,
and the evidence as to each is irrelevant to the other.
This was a conventional criminal trial held in North

each offense if the offenses charged, whether felonies or mis-
demeanors or both, are of the same or similar character or are
based on the same act or transaction or on two or more acts
or transactions connected together or constituting parts of a
common scheme or plan.

‘2 Serious and responsible criticism exists, disapproving of the
procedure of joining two or more offenses of the same or similar
character under Rule 8(a). Such joinder provides too great a rick
of prejudice to an accused. McElroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76,
79-80 (1896) ; Halper, supra n. 10 at 430-431; Foutz, supra n. 10 at
736; Drew v. United States, 331 F.2d 85, 88 (D.C. Cir. 1964).

15

Carolina, and cannot reasonably be considered as con-
ducted under circumstances of ‘‘military necessity”’
where ‘‘practical reasons of dispatch’’ compel a single,
rapid, proceeding disposing of all existing charges
agcinst an accused. In petitioner’s proceeding, the mili-
tary rule of joinder purposely prejudices petitioner
for no justifiable reason.

Under conditions of combat or extended deployment
of operational units, this military rule of permissive
unrelated offense joinder may be proper and legiti-
mate, but under the circumstances of this case, this
joinder rule combined with the court-martial’s exten-
sive and prejudicial evidentiary presentations, de-
privea petitioner of a fair trial and tius, due process
of law. This Court has opined that otherwise proper
and legitimate criminal rules may be applied to a de-
fendant in such a manner and under such cireum-
stances as to deprive him of a fair trial. Chambers ¥.
Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973). A “rule may not be
applied mechanistically to defeat the ends of justice.”’
Td, at 302.

This Court has promulgated no formal rule for
identifying deprivations of due process of law:

The phrase [due process of law] formulates a
concept less rigid and more fluid than those en-
my in other specific and particular provisions

f the Bill of Rights. Its application is less a
matter of rule. Asserted denial is to be tested by
an appraisal of the totality of facts in a given case.

Betts v. Brady, 316 U.S. 455, 462 (1942). The totality
of the facts in petitioner’s case reveals that all the
evidence presented on the assault charge denied him
a fair opportunity to defend against the murder

16

charge; the presumption of innocence was reasonably
jeopardized. How can the members of the court-mar-
tial, when considering the murder charge, fairly and
impartially deliberate on the element of ‘“‘intent to
kill’? when those same members have been told that
this defendant so provoked a hospital employee to
engage in a fight during which the defendant struck
the employee repeatedly about the face ? How can those
court-martial members impartially consider the ele-
ment of ‘‘intent to kill’? when they had been improper-
ly told that this defendant has a reputation for vio-
lence and is a violent person? No defense of accident,
no matter how strong or convincing, could overcome
the bias created. ‘‘A fair trial in a fair tribunal is a
basic requirement of due process. Fairness of course
requires an absence of actual bias in the trial of cases.
But our system of law has always endeavored to pre-
vent even the probability of unfairness.’’ Jn re Murchi-
son, 349 U.S. 133, 136 (1955),

The military judge’s instructions to keep the offenses
separate cannot remedy the obvious effects of the
evidence admitted on the assault charge. Quoting old
maxims, Circuit Judge Gewin in Dunn v. United
States, 307 F.2d 883 (5th Cir. 1962), proclaimed
anew, ‘‘[O]ne ‘cannot unring a bell’; ‘after the thrust
of the saber it is difficult to say forget the wound’;
and finally, ‘if you throw a skunk into the jury box,
you can’t instruct the jury not to smell it.’ ’’ Jd. at 886.
Realistically, when a juror is faced with deciding on
whether petitioner possessed an intent to kill George
Mayo, it is impossible to remove from that juror’s
mind evidence from two impressive medical profes-
sionals testifying that petitioner’s reputation is one
of violence and that he is a viclent person.

17

The rationale behind the ban on “other crimes’’
evidence and the arguments against joinder of unre-
lated and dissimilar offenses are the same. They both
prejudice the minds of the factfinders so that a ver-
dict on a particular charge is based on more than just
the evidence presented on that charge. Impartiality is
gone. The Supreme Court has held that a grossly im-
proper and pervasive prejudicial influence on the fact-
finders of a criminal tria: will cause a deprivation of
the due process guaranteed to a defendant. In Shep-
pard Vv. Marwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966), this Court found
such a prejudicial influence where the trial judge failed
in his duty to protect the defendant from inherently
prejudicial publicity saturating the community and to
eontrol the disruptive influences in the court room.
**Due process requires that the accused receive a trial
by an impartial jury free from outside influences.”’
Id. at 362. Similarly in Estes v. Teras, 381 U.S, 532
(1965), this Court, in reversing the defendant's con-
viction, determined that the permission given to tele-
vise and broadcast this widely publicized and notorious
criminal trial deniec the defendant due process of law.
Justice Clark wrote: ‘*‘ Nevertheless, at times a proce-
dure employed by the State involves such a probability
that prejudice will result that it is deemed inherently
lacking in due process.’’ 7d. at 542-43. In Estes, the
probability that such publicity affected the jury was
so great under the circumstances of that case that the
‘“‘appearance of justice’? was obliterated. Again the
impartiality of the factfinders was guaranteed. A
strong influence on the Estes Court was Chief Justice
Taft's 1927 decision in Tumey v. State of Ohio, 273
U.S. 510 (1927). In Tumey, the trial judge, who was
also the village mayor, had a direct, personal, and
substantial pecuniary interest in reaching a decision

18

against the defendant. Chief Justice Taft asserted that
any procedure which ‘‘would offer a possible tempta-
tion to the average man as a judge to forget the burden
of proof required to convict the defendant, er which
might lead him not to hold the balanee nice, clear, and
true between the state and the accused denies the latter
due process of law.’ Id. at 532. This Court has repeat-
edly affirmed the inviolability of the factfinder’s im-
partiality and upheld a defendant’s right to due pro-
cess of law when this impartiality was compromised.

By affirming the decision of the United States Navy-
Marine Corps Court of Military Review, the United
States Court of Military Appeals decided an impor-
tant question of fairness and due process in military
proceedings. That decision has ensured that military
servicemen and women will be subject to trial on as .
many unrelated charges as the Government can amass,
thereby depriving them of their right to be tried on
the facts of each charge of which they are accused,
unaffected by extraneous evidence.

19

CONCLUSION

This petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES J. QUIGLEY
Lieutenant Commander
JAGC, U.S. Navy
Counsel of Record

FREDERICK N. OTTIE

Lieutenant Commander
J AGC, U.S. Navy

Davin C. LARSON
Commander

JAGC, U.S. Navy
Appellate Defense Counsel

Navy—Marine Corps
Appellant Review Activity
Washington Navy Yard
Washington, D.C. 20374
(202) 433-2297

November 1985

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

USCMA Dkt. No. 48380/NA
CMR Dkt. No. 82-5474

Unrrep States, Appellee
Vv.

Loyp Simmons, IT (463-90-7521), Appellant

ORDER

Upon further consideration of the granted issues, it is
by the Court this 20th day of September, 1985,

ORDERED:

That the decision of the United States Navy-Marine
Corps Court of Military Review is affirmed.

For the Court,

/s/ John A. Cutts, IIT
Deputy Clerk of the Court

ec: The Judge Advocate General of the Navy
Appellate Defense Counsel (OTTIE,
Appellate Government Counsel (STRATTON)

2a
APPENDIX B
DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY
OFFICE OF THE JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL
200 Stovall Street
Alexandria, VA 22332

In tHe U.S. Navy-Marine Corps Court or Mrmitrary Review

BEFORE

A. W. Eorr IT MicwHaet D. Rapp A. F. Mrevozarskr

Unirep States

v.
Loyp Simmons, II, 463 90 7521, Hospitalman (E-3),
U.S. Navy
NMCM 82 5474 Decided 30 November 1983

Sentence adjudged 29 June 1982

Review pursuant to Article 66(c), UCMJ of General Court-
Martial convered by Commanding General, Marine Corps
Air Station, Cherry Point, North Carolina 28533

IL.CDR Georgia L. Winstead, JAGC, USNR, Appellate
Defense Counsel

LCDR Robert T. Gerken, JAGC, USN, Appellate
Government Counsel

PER CURIAM:

Appellart was tried by general court-martial consisting
of members. He was found guilty contrary to his pleas of
unpremeditated murder and assault and battery under
Articles 118 and 128, Uniform Code of Military Justice
(UCMJ). He was sentenced to confinement at hard labor

3a

for 20 years, to be reduced to pay grade E-1, to forfeit all
pay and allowances and to be discharged from the service
with a dishonorable discharge. The convening authority
approved the findings and sentence without change. Appel-
lant assigns ten errors, three of which we will discuss (I,
II, and V).

The Appellant Was Denied His Right To An Impartial Panel
Of Court Members.

Thirteen members were originally named to the court
by the convening authority. After more than a day of voir
dire, seven members had been excused for cause and the
prosecution and defense had each exercised a peremptory
challenge reducing the panel below a quorum to four. The
convening authority appointed four new members. One of
those members was also excused for cause. Appellant’s
counsel sought an additional peremptory challenge against
the newly appointed members but it was denied by the
military judge. Appellant has assigned as error the mili-
tary judge’s failure to grant five of the defense challenges
for cause and his refusal to give the defense an additional
peremptory challenge. Colonel Gress and Lieutenant Col-
onel MeMullin were challenged based on their bias towards
the credibility of prosecution witnesses and because Col-
onel McMullin had read newspaper articles about this case.
Warrant Officer Gaskell was challenged on a supposed pre-
disposition to reject an intoxication defense and his having
read a newspaper article on the murder of Mayo. Major
Palmer was challenged on a number of grounds ranging
from his having overheard a discussion about a superior
being excused from the court to his religious beliefs con-
cerning the death penalty. Major Stimler was challenged
on five grounds extending from his hostile demeanor to-
ward defense counsel to his opinions about drinking and
drinkers.

4a

The decision to grant challenges for cause is imparted
to the military judge. Article 41(a), (b), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C.
§ 841(a) (1976) ; United States v. Harris, 13 MJ 288 (CMA
1982). The test which the military judge must apply in
reaching his decision was set out by the Court of Military
Appeals in United States v. Parker, 6 USCMA 274, 19
CMR 400 (1955). That test is whether the court member
‘is mentally free to render an impartial finding and sen-
tence based on the law and the evidence.’’ See United
States v. Boyd, 7 MJ 282 (CMA 1979). Appellate courts
will reverse judges’ decisions on challenges, only when
there is a clear abuse of discretion. Boyd, supra at 282;
United States v. Deain, 5 USCMA 44, 17 CMR 44 (1954).
After a careful study of the voir dire and applying the
tests as set out above, we conclude that the military judge
correctly disallowed the challenges for cause. We also find
that the military judge ruled correctly when he denied the
appellant an additional peremptory challenge against the
newly appointed members.

The Evidence Was Insufficient To Establish Appellant’s Guilt
Of Unpremeditated Murder Beyond A Reasonable Doubt.

The victim Mayo was a civilian who had come to Marine
Corps Air Station, Cherry Point, to help his brother-in-
law Corporal Simmons move his household goods. Mayo
was going to spend the night at the quarters of Corporal
Taylor, a nearby neighbor of Corporal Simmons. At about
2000 on the evening cf his death, Mayo was at the Taylor
home with Corporal Taylor and his wife. Appellant and
his friend Sergeant Davis came to the Taylor home to
visit, later to be joined by another neighbor Corporal
Flowers. An argument broke out between Mayo and Ser-
geant Davis. At the insistence of Corporal Taylor, Mayo
and appellant moved into the back yard. Appellant indi-
cated if there was to be a fight, they would have to fight
him first. Davis came into the back vard and was punched

5a

in the face by Mayo. Davis produced a pistol from his van
and stated he intended to shoot Mayo. Appellant took the
pistol away from Davis and later told Davis he would
return the pistol to him in the morning. Appellant there-
after placed the pistol in his boot. Later that night appel-
lant went to Corporal Taylor’s home to pick up his coat.
Mayo was now sleeping in the living room. Appellant and
Mayo started to argue as to why Mayo had hit Sergeant
Davis. Mayo suggested they go outside and fight. Mayo
was a much larger man than appellant. Appellant indicated
he was going to leave, but Mayo pushed him back on the
sofa when he stood. Appellant stated ‘‘don’t push me no
more or [’ll shoot you.’’ Mrs. Taylor had seen the pistol
in appellant’s left hand, against his left leg, while he sat
on the sofa. Appellant again attempted to stand only to
be pushed back by Mayo. The pistol discharged and the
bullet hit Mayo in the lower left eye lid. Appellant fled the
Taylor home, going to the home of Sergeant Davis and
his wife. Appellant told Mrs. Davis to get rid of the pistol
he was holding and to give him a ride. She refused to give
him a ride but took the pistol and put it in a dresser
drawer. Appellant entered Sergeant Davis’ van parked in
front of the house, where he was apprehended by the Naval
Investigative Service later in the morning.

The issues of self-defense, accident, provocation, and
negligence were presented to the members, who rejected
them and found appellant guilty of unpremeditated murder.
We find that there was sufficient evidence to sustain the
members’ finding, and we reject this assignment of error.

Tl

The Military Judge Erred To The Substantial Prejudice
Of The Appellant By Allowing The Trial Counsel To
Introduce Evidence Of The Appellant’s Bad Character
For Peacefulness.

Upon conclusion of the defense case, the military judge
permitted the Government to call two witnesses in rebuttal

6a

who testified that the appellant had a reputation in the
hospital community where he worked as a violent person.
Military Rules of Evidence 404(a)(1) permits the Govern-
ment to rebut evidence of a pertinent character trait of
the accused offered by an accused. No guidance has been
supplied as to what constitutes evidence of a character
trait, so as to raise the issue and permit the prosecution
to rebut. Appellant testified that he had never had any
problems with Mr. Haynes in the past, that they were
friendly and that he only struck Mr. Haynes because he
was trying to hurt him. We hold that this was insufficient
to put in issue the peacefulness of appellant so as to allow
the Government to rebut. The military judge, therefore,
erred when he allowed opinion evidence to the effect that
appellant’s reputation at the hospital where he works was
that of a violent person. However, the military judge spe-
cifically instructed the members that they were to disregard
this testimony as to Charge I, since the evidence was ad-
mitted only as to Charge II, the assault and battery at the
hospital. We can presume the members did as instructed.
United States v. Hurt, 9 USCMA 735, 27 CMR 3 (1958).
In view of the military judge’s limiting instruction, we
find that the error goes only to Charge IT and its specifi-
cation.

Vv

The Instructions Of The Military Judge On Self-Defense
On The Murder Charge Were Insufficient And Misleading
Where They Focused Only On The Self-Defense Test
Which Would Justify Use Of Deadly Force And Failed To
Address Self-Defense In Use Of Less Than Deadly Force
Which Unexpectedly Results In Death.

The evidence of record established that during the period
leading up to the shooting, appellant did not brandish the
pistol at the victim at any time. To the contrary, the ap-
pellant’s own testimony indicates that he was only attempt-
ing to put the pistol in his back pocket when it went off.

7a

The military judge .ustructed the members on the use of a
weapon as a deterrent and distinguished such a use from
one in which the appellant may have feared grievous bodily
harm was about to be inflicted upon him, thus allowing him
to use deadly force in self-defense. The military judge’s
instructions were very detailed and more inclusive than
was dictated by the evidence. We find no merit in this as-
signment of error.

We find that the remaining assignments of error are
without merit. The findings of guilty to Charge II and its
specification are disapproved. In view of the fact that
appellant was found guilty only of an assault consummated
by a battery, a relatively minor offense in comparison to
unpremeditated murder, we do not believe that a rehearing
is in the interests of justice or judicial economy. Charge IT
and its specification as modified by the findings of the
Court are therefore dismissed. Article 66(d), UCMJ. Upon
reassessment we find the sentence appropriate for the re-
maining findings of guilty to unpremeditated murder.
Accordingly, the remaining findings of guilty and the sen-
tence as approved on review below are affirmed.

/s/ Avpert W. Eorr II
Albert W. Eoff II, Chief Judge

/s/ Micwast D. Rapp
Michael D. Rapp, Judge

/s/ A. F. Mrevczarski
A. F. Mielezarski, Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_1072%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
