# Opposition Brief — In re Albert

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0876%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1004

## Text

85-620

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari from the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

CATHERINE and FRANK HELMINSKI,
as Next Friends of HUGH HELMIN-
skI, a Minor,

Petitioners ,

VS. Supreme Court No. _

Circuit Court No. 83-1726

[766 F.2nd 208 (1985)]

District Court No. 82
70042

AYERST LABORATORIES, a Division

of American Home Products Cor

poration, a Delawate corporation,
Respondent.

Brian J. McKEEN

Attorney for Petitioners
“4 ~

MiIcHAEL L. UppDIKE
Attorney for Respondent

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT AYERST
LABORATORIES IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI OF PETITIONERS
CATHERINE AND FRANK HELMINSKI

KOHL, SECREST, WARDLE, LYNCH,
CLARK and HAMPTON

Dated: October 10, 1985 By: Michael L. Updike

Attorneys for Respondent Ayerst

Laboratorwes

Post Office Box 3040

30903 Northwestern Highway
Farmington Hills, Michigan 48018-8040
(313) 851-9500

RENAISSANCE PRINTING, INC., 1133 GRISWOLD
4TH FLOOR, DETROIT, MICHIGAN 48226 (313) 964-3185

copy

dL, JR

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States. ‘

BEST AVAILABLE

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE
QUESTION PRESENTED

IS A TRIAL COURT CORRECT IN EXCLUD-
ING A MINOR PLAINTIFF FROM THE LIA-
BILITY PORTION OF A BIFURCATED PRO-
DUCTS LIABILITY TRIAL, WHEN ALL
PARTIES TO THE ACTION AGREE TRE
MINOR PLAINTIFF IS AUTISTIC, HAS THE
EMOTIONAL MATURITY OF A TWO-YEAR
OLD CHILD, HAS NO CONTROL OVER HIS
BODILY FUNCTIONS, IS UNABLE TO COM-
PREHEND COURTROOM PROCEEDINGS
OR OTHERWISE ASSIST COUNSEL IN THE
PRESENTATION OF HIS CASE, AND
WHOSE PRESENCE WOULD BE UNDULY
PREJUDICIAL TO THE DEFENDANT?

The Petitioners contend the answer to the question is ‘ No’’.

The Respondent contends the answer to the question is

“.".

The District Court, the Honorable Robert E. Demascio of the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Michigan, answered the question ‘‘Yes’’.

The Court of Appeals, the Henorabie Anthony J. Celebrezze,
the Honorable Albert J. Engel, and the Honorable Damon J.
Keith of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit answered the question ‘‘Yes’’, providing the Minor Plain-
tiff was examined by the District Court prior to exclusion.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Counterstatement of the Question Presented ......

Indies: of Asustiesitins 2... .464s cata ee

Summery of Argumemt .. 66. 6b eee

Argument

A trial court is correct in excluding a minor plain-
tiff from the liability portion of a bifureatea pro-
ducts liability trial, when all parties to the action
agree the minor plaintiff is autistic, has the emotion-
al maturity of a two-year old child, has no control
over his bodily functions, is unable to comprehend
courtroom proceedings or otherwise assist counsel
in the presentation of his case, and whose presence
would be unduly prejudicial to the defendant.

I.

IT.

ITI.

IV.

Certiorari should be denied because of the
lack of a substantial Federal question. ..... .

The action of the District Court, affirmed by
the Sixth Circuit, was in accord with settled
and well-reasoned precedents.............

The authorities cited by the Petitioners 2re in-
applicable to the facts of the instant litigation . .

The paramount concern of the American sys-
tem of justice, correctly recognized by the
Sixth Circuit, is to guarantee all parties a fair

trial . ods csdue dee beeen

12-15

15-17

ill

PAGE

V. The Sixth Circuit did not err by allowing
persons unable to understand proceedings or
to assist counsel to be excluded from the lia-

bility portion of a bifurcated products liabil-
OS Ee err eee ee ce ee 20-22

VI. The Sixth Circuit did not err in allowing the
decision of the District Court to exclude the
incompetent minor without an in-court exam-
ination of the minor to stand ............-- 23-24

Conclusion and Request for Relief... ......-.-- 25

iv
INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Anderson v. Sears, Roebuck & Company, 377 F.
ee ere

Andes v. Lauer, 80 Ill App 3rd 411; 35 Ill Dec 701;
Se TU SOC ROED 0 55.6 5 owe we one us

Appleton v. Matthews, 16 Ohio Misc 130; 45 Ohio
Opin 2nd 90; 238 NE2nd 846 (1968) ......

Bartholomay v. St. Thomas Lumber Company, 148
ee ye

Brown v. United States, 411 U.S. 223 (1973). .....
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968). .....

Bryant v. Kansas City Railways Company, 228
a | ee

Carlisle v. County of Nassau, 64 AD2nd 15 (1978). .
Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1968) .........

Casson v. Horton, 226 Md 575; 174 A.2nd 581
Es AS 5a a a bY i oe ais as

Chicago Great Western Railway Company v. Beecher,
150 F.2nd 394 (8th Cir., 1945), certiorari denied,
ee ee eee

Dickson v. Bober, 269 Minn 334; 130 NW2nd 526
DN etek eee epee Oi ew Pugs

Dublin Sportswear v. Charlett, 485 Pa 633; 403
PE 5.8% SN Sa ees ee Ke eke ews

Fillippon v. Albion Vein Slate Company, 240 U.S. 76
a ae ee ra ee ree

Florida Greyhound Lines v. Jones, 60 SW2nd 396
eer rrr rE ear

PAGE

18,
18,

13, 14,

16

15

Griffin v. County School Board, 377 U.S. 218
(Pree yeeeeur, TTT reer Cree cere e

Heck v. Anderson, 12 NW2nd 849 (Iowa, 1944) ...

Helfferich v. Farley, 36 Conn Sup 333; 419 A.2nd
it. er entre ety ee

Helminski v. Ayerst Laboratories, 766 F.2nd 208
i) eer rs errs ere eee

Hunter v. Szumlawskt, 124 Mich App 521 (1983) ..

Indiana & Michigan Electric Company v. Miller, 19
Mich App 16 (1969), leave to appeal denied, 383
et.) ns er ern

In re Watson, 91 Cal App 3rd 455 (1979) ........
Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961) ..... 6.6...
Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750 (1946)....
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1(1967)........-.-

Lunney v. Graham, 91 AD2nd 592; 457 NYS2nd
fee re torre see ere eee

Lutwak v. United States, 344 U.S. 604 (1953) .....

McDonough Power Equipment Company, Inc. v.
Greenwood, ____._ U.S. . L.Ed.2nd
s 906S.Cr. 845 (1904)... cece

Morley v. Superior Court of Arizona, 131 Ariz 85; 638
P.2nd 1331 (1981), rehearing denied ..........

Odom v. Corn Products Refining Company, 173 Ill
ee terre ere rer tee

PAGE

11,

18,

18,

18, 20,

tz, 83,

vi

Purvis v. Inter-County Telephone & Telegrath Com-
pany, 203 So. 2nd 508 (Fla. App., 1967), rehearing
“seats co ERR TTT yey:

Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S.
rate fae eee QO ee eR en Bie Ain adios

Raper v. Berrier, 246 NC 193 STE 6s «as kee cn
Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209 ( Mee

COURT RULES:
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 61 ..........

PAGE

15

21
16
18

24

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

This case is a drug products liability action, filed in the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michi-
gan on January 7, 1982. The plaintiffs, Petitioners here,
claimed that the im utero exposure of Hugh Helminski to an
anesthesia gas known as Fluothane caused him to develop
autism. The Fluothane had been marketed in the United
States by Ayerst Laboratories, Respondent here.

The case went to trial before The Honorable Robert E.
Demascio and a jury on August 15, 1983. The trial was bifur-
cated into liability and damages portions. The liability portion
of the trial concluded in a jury verdict of no cause for action on
August 26, 1983.

On September 25, 1983, the Petitioners moved for a new
trial, based on various errors alleged to have occurred during
the course of trial. The motion was denied in an Order of the

District Court dated March 28, 1984.

The Petitioners appealed as of right to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. On June 25, 1985 the
Sixth Circuit, Senior Circuit Judge Anthony J. Celebrezze
and Circuit Judges Albert J. Engel and Damon J. Keith, af-
firmed the decision of the District Court not to grant the Peti-
tioners a new trial. The decision of the Court of Appeals is
reported at 766 F.2nd 208 (1985) and was written by Senior
Circuit Judge Celebrezze.

On September 23, 1985 the Petitioners filed a Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari with this Honorable United States Supreme
Court. The instant Brief in Opposition of Respondent was filed
in due course.

Il. RELEVANT FACTS

Petitioners are certified registered nurse anesthetists.
(R:29-30/JA:152-153)' Mrs. Helminski worked as a certified
registered nurse anesthetist at Holy Cross Hospital in Detroit,
Michigan from 1959 until the time of trial. In January, 1966,
Mrs. Helminski became pregnant with her second child. Dur-
ing her pregnancy, Mrs. Helminski participated as the anes-
thetist in 148 operations. Approximately 140 of those opera-
tions involved the administration of Fluothane *.esthesia gas.
(R:35, 42, 50; JA:50, 158, 160)

Fluothane is the trade name for halothane, an anesthetic. It
was developed in Great Britain in the 1950's. Ayerst Labora-
tories received permission from the Federal Food and Drug
Administration to market Fluothane as a surgical anesthetic in
1958. (R:570-571, 573-574; JA:301-302, 323-324)

In September, 1966 Hugh Helminski was born. He was
eventually diagnosed as being autistic. At the time of trial,
Hugh Helminski required 24-hour care and could not be left
alone in public. He was not toilet trained, and required con-
stant watching to make sure he did not get into trouble. He
did not speak. The Helminskis were unable to go anywhere as
a family because of Hugh Helminski’s inability to control his
behavior. He could not be taken to a restaurant, church, pub-
lic bathroom, or even a playground, if others were present.
(R:67, 73-74, 79, 175, 527; JA:174-176, 301)

Mrs. Helminski’s first child was born in 1957. Her third
child was born in 1970. Neither child suffers from autism or

' Material here is referenced to testimony introduced at trial of this case.
““R”’ refers to pages within the trial transcript, while ‘‘JA’’ refers to
pages within the Joint Appendix submitted by the parties to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

any similar problem. During her third pregnancy she contin-
ued to work as a certified registered nurse anesthetist and
administered Fluothane anesthetic to patients. (R:33, 64-65;
JA:156, 171-172)

On January 7, 1982, Mr. and Mrs. Helminski, as Next
Friends of Hugh Helminski, filed suit against Ayerst Labora-
tories in the United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-
trict of Michigan. Their Complaint was in six counts, but
could fairly be summarized as a drug products liability claim.

( JA:1-9)

At trial, the Helminskis presented seven (7) witnesses. The
first witness was Mrs. Helminski, who gave factual testimony as
to her use of Fluothane and the condition of Hugh Helminski.

The second witness was Robert Laird, an alleged expert
witness in the area of pharmacology. During cross-examination
it was established that Mr. Laird had never been licensed to
practice medicine except briefly during World War II, had
been fired or laid off from the Parke-Davis pharmaceutical
firm, and had been terminated as an Assistant Professor at
Wayne State University because it was ‘‘doubtful he could
ever become a productive basic scientist’? in pharmacology.

(R:148, 170, 178-179; JA:189, 211, 215, 219-220)

During the course of his testimony, Mr. Laird admitted he
could not specify the extent of Mrs. Helminski’s exposure to
Fluothane. He also admitted there was no published scientific
research in any way linking exposure to Fluothane with au-
tism. Finally, he admitted that the most recent research indi-
cated there was no evidence of any correlation between birth
defects of any sort and general anesthesia agents, including
Fluothane. (R:220-221, 249, 259-260, 288, 294; JA:
246-247, 249, 250-253)

The third witness called by the Helrainskis was Dr. Mark
Thoman. Dr. Thoman testified he spent 15% to 20% of his

time testifying on behalf of plaintiffs in birth defect cases. In
his opinion, Ayerst should have done animal testing to deter-
mine whether exposure to Fluothane while pregnant could
lead to birth defects or autism. On cross-examination, how-
ever, Dr. Thoman admitted he had previously testified in
another case that animal testing was not particularly useful in
determining a product’s toxicity towards humans. (R:376-
378, 398-399, 403, 405; JA:204, 254-258, 262, 278)

The fourth witness called by the Helminskis was Dr. Thomas
Corbett. Dr. Corbett offered no opinion as to whether there
was a causal link between Mrs. Helminski’s exposure to
Fluothane while pregnant and Hugh Helminski’s autism. He
did admit, however, that his own scudy of nurse anesthetists,
performed during 1972-1976, did not indicate exposure to
anesthesia produced birth defects. (R:494, 513; JA:288, 292)

The fifth witness called by the Helminskis was Dr. Foster
Redding. Dr. Redding testified he had examined Hugh
Helminski in 1983 and diagnosed him as autistic. He offered

no opinion as to the cause of autism, noting the cause was not
presently known to science. (R:519-520; JA:296-297)

The sixth witness called by the Helminskis was Francis J.
Helminski, the older brother of Hugh Helminski. He testified
that Hugh Helminski was not toilet trained and required con-
stant attendance.

Prior to calling their seventh and final witness, the Helmin-
skis, through counsel, informed the Court that they would be
presenting Hugh Helminski as a ‘‘witness’’, although he was
obviously unable to give any testimony. After considerable
discussion, the District Court bifurcated the trial into liability
and damages portions, with Hugh Helminski to be excluded

w

from the liability portion only. The District Court, Judge
Demascio, stated:

‘‘T see no purpose at all to it [the presentation of Hugh
Helminski to the jury] other than to inflame the jury.
And that is not the purpose of a court room. It is not the
purpose of a trial. We are really here to determine wheth-
er or not there is truth to the claim that there is a causal
connection between the exposure of a pregnant woman
and autistic birth.”’

(R:533-535; JA:305-307)

The final witness called by the Helminskis was Mr. Frank
Helminski, father of Hugh Helminski and one of the Peti-
tioners here. He ‘‘imagined’’ that his wife had been exposed
to comparatively high levels of Fluothane while administering
anesthesia at Holy Cross Hospital. (R:536, 542, 544; JA:308,
314, 316)

The District Court dened an Ayerst motion for a directed
verdict and ordered Ayers to present its case in chief. Ayerst
called three witnesses. The first witness was Dr. John B.
Jewell, former Medical Director for Ayerst. He testified that
extensive animal testimony of Fluothane had been conducted
during 1951-1954, while Ayerst had conducted extensive
clinical studies both before and after FDA approval of the
drug. There had never been any report anywhere linking ex-
posure to Fluothane with autism. (R:567-580, 587, 610;
JA:321-329, 332, 330)

The second witness called by Ayerst was Dr. David Ben-
jamin, a neurologist. He had examined Hugh Helminski, and
concluded he was autistic. However, no one knew how autism

worked or why it occurred. (R:628; JA:333)

The third and final witness called by Ayerst was Dr. Ed-
ward R. Ritvo, a doctor specializing in autism. He testified
there was some evidence autism may be genetically linked.

However, there was no relationship between Hugh Helmin-
ski’s autism and his mother’s exposure to Fluothane while
pregnant. Dr. Ritvo stated:

‘There isn’t the slightest shred of evidence that the
anesthetic gas exposure [to Fluothane] in any way caused
the [autism] syndrome to develop in [Hugh Helminski].
There just isn’t the slightest evidence that there is a con-
nection between the two.”’

Dr. Ritvo further opined there was no way to correlate ex-
posure to Fluothane with autism, as there was a total absence
of any causative factor. (R:671-672, 677-679; JA:336-337,
338-340)

Following usual motions, closing arguments and instruc-
tions, the jury returned a verdict of no cause for action. The
Heiminskis sought a new trial, raising six points of error. The
District Court rejected each point, and denied the Helmin-
skis’ motion. On appeal to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit, the Helminskis reduced their claim of er-
ror to three points: the claim by Ayerst that the Helminski
case was the first of its kind during trial; the bifurcation of the
trial; and the exclusion of Hugh Helminski from trial follow-
ing bifurcation. The Sixth Circuit rejected all three, but focus-
ed most of its attention on the exclusion of Hugh Helminski.
The Sixth Circuit concluded there was no absolute right of a
party to be present at a civil trial, but that any involuntary ex-
clusion must comport with due process. Due process required
a determination by the trial court that (a) the person sought to
be excluded was unable to comprehend courtroom _pro-
ceedings or otherwise assist his or her counsel, and (b) the
presence of the person would be prejudicial and contrary to
the interests of justice.

In their Petition to this Supreme Court, the Helminskis
have reduced their claim of error to one: the exclusion of
Hugh Helminski during the liability portion of the trial.”

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The instant Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be
denied by this Supreme Court because no substantial Federal
question is presented by the Petitioners. It is well established
that no absolute right to be physically present at all phases of a
civil jury trial exists. The circumstances of this case, specifical-
ly the bifurcation of the trial into liability and damage portions
and the inability of the incompetent minor to assist counsel or
otherwise participate in the proceedings, fully justify the deci-
sion of the District Court to exclude the incompetent minor
from the liability portion of the trial. The Sixth Circuit was
similarly justified in affirming the decision of the District
Court.

Courts that have considered situations analogous to the one
at bar have concluded the interests of justice are served by
(a) bifurcating trials into liability and damage portions, and
(b) excluding anyone unable to assist counsel or otherwise
participate in courtroom proceedings from the liability por-
tion, where the presence of the individual would likely pre-
judice the jury. This course of action promotes a fair trial by
keeping the ‘ury impartial. A person’s disability or its extent is
irrelevant on the issue of liability.

The authorities cited by the Petitioners have no application
to the case at bar. All of the authorities deal with cases where

2 It is recognized the Petitioners present three questions for review.
However, all three revolve around the exclusion of Hugh Helminski.

there was no bifurcation of a trial into liability and damage
portions, or are ctherwise inapplicable to the facts of the in-
stant litigation.

The paramount concern of the American system of justice
is to provide all litigants a fair trial. A fair trial essentially
means that a litigant has a right to have his or her case heard
by an impartial panel. In the case at bar, the incompetent
minor’s condition (autism, emotional maturity of a two year
old child, lack of toilet training, inability to communicate, un-
controllable outbursts) was completely irrelevant on the issue
of liability. The only reason the Petitioners sought to present
the incompetent minor was to prejudice the jury against the
Respondent, the Petitioners’ liability case having largely col-
lapsed. Balancing the Respondent’s absolute right to have a
fair trial and the incompetent minor’s conditional right to be
present in court, the only logical course was to bar the in-
competent minor from the liability portion of the case. This
was recognized by the District Court and the Sixth Circuit,
and does not merit further review by this Supreme Court.

Due process and equal protection do not require that all
persons be treated alike. Only if classifications are arbitrary or
invidious does a violation of due process and equal protection
occur. In the case at bar, mentally incapacitated individuals
may legitimately be treated somewhat differently than
physically handicapped individuals because of the underlying
purpose of allowing litigants to attend trial. That purpose is to
allow litigants to assist counsel in the presentation of their
case. The mentally incapacitated cannot assist counsel. It is
therefore not a violation of due process and equal protection
wk.:n an autistic minor, requiring 24-hour a day care and
unable to communicate with others, is excluded from the
liability portion of a bifurcated products liability case.

The Sixth Circuit held that a mentally incapacitated minor,
such as the incompetent minor in the case at bar, may be ex-
cluded from the liability portion of a bifurcated trial, but only
after an examination by the trial court. The District Court did
not perform this examination in the instant litigation.
However, the Sixth Circuit correctly recognized no reversible
error occurred, inasmuch as the condition of the incompetent
minor was made clear to the jury and the incompetent minor
could not assist counsel or otherwise participate in the pro-
ceedings. Litigants are only entitled to a fair trial, not a perfect
one. The error of the District Court did not deprive the Peti-
tioners of a fair trial, and so forms no basis for reversal.

ARGUMENT

A TRIAL COURT IS CORRECT IN EX-
CLUDING A MINOR PLAINTIFF FROM
THE LIABILITY PORTION OF A BIFUR-
CATED PRODUCTS LIABILITY TRIAL,
WHEN ALL PARTIES TO THE ACTION
AGREE THE MINOR PLAINTIFF IS
AUTISTIC, HAS THE EMOTIONAL
MATURITY OF A TWO-YEAR OLD CHILD,
HAS NO CONTROL OVER HIS BODILY
FUNCTIONS, IS UNABLE TO COM-
PREHEND COURTROOM PROCEEDINGS
OR OTHERWISE ASSIST COUNSEL IN THE
PRESENTATION OF HIS CASE, AND
WHOSE PRESENCE WOULD BE UNDULY
PREJUDICIAL TO THE DEFENDANT.

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED
BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF A
SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION.

10

The Petitioners maintain the instant case presents an im-
portant Federal question, specifically the right of a party to be
present at a civil jury trial. The Respondent suggests that no
such question is involved, and the facts of the case militate
against the granting of certiorari even if the Supreme Court
wished to consider the issue of exclusion of parties from jury
trials.

In the case at bar, there was absolutely no disagreement as to
the condition of the excluded party, Hugh Helminski. He had
no control over either his bodily functions or his behaviour, and
had to be watched constantly. It was utterly impossible for him
to have either understood the proceedings in the District Court
or have assisted his counsel in any way. The only argument
raised as to why he should have been present? was his purported
constitutional ‘‘right’’ to be present.

‘“Your Honor, my response [to the Respondent’s objec-
tion to the production of Hugh Helminski] would be that
the right to trial by jury, specifically a civil trial, is a right
that’s embodied in amendments to the United States
Constitution, and the Plaintiff in this litigation is the
minor, Hugh Michael Helminski. He has every bit a
right to be part of this proceeding as Mr. Alteri [co-trial
counsel for Respondent] or myself to be present.’’

* There was and is a curious inconsistency in the Petitioners’ argument.
The Petitioners maintain in effect there is an absolute right of parties, in-
cluding Hugh Helminski, to be present during the liability portion of a
bifurcated drug products liability trial. However, at trial they: (a) initial-
ly had no plans to bring Hugh Helminski to trial, and (b) indicated to the
District Court they planned to show him to the jury for no more than
‘‘five minutes or so’’, so the jury could ‘‘visualize’’ him. Ifa party has an
absolute right to be present at trial, it would seem to apply for the entire
trial, and not some minute fraction of the trial. In the case at bar the trial
lasted seven days.

te

11

Remarks of Thomas Bleakley, trial counsel for the Peti-
tioners. (R:532; JA:304)

There is no provision in the United States Constitution, nor
in any of the-twenty-six Amendments to the Constitution, that
establishes a right, absolute or otherwise, of a civil litigant to
be present at all phases of a jury trial. No statute of the United
States, nor any statute of any of the several states, has created
such a right. No decision of this Supreme Court has ever
fcund such a right to exist by implication in the Constitution
or statutes of the United States.

The general rule is that, while a party normally has a right
to be present during civil jury trials, the right is not absolute.
Casson v. Horton, 226 Md 575; 174 A.2nd 581 (1961); Heck v.
Anderson, 12 NW2nd 849 (Iowa, 1944). Parties can be exclud-
ed if the circumstances warrant it. Helfferich v. Farley, 36 Conn
Sup 333; 419 A.2nd 913 (1980); Lunney v. Graham, 91 AD2nd
592; 457 NYS2nd 282 (1982); and Dublin Sportswear v. Charlett,
485 Pa 633; 403 A.2nd 568 (1979). A party should not,
however, be excluded if his or her presence would be of impor-
tance to counsel in the cross-examination of witnesses or in the
general conduct of the case. Hunter v. Szumlawski, 124 Mich
App 521 (1983). In the case at bar, it was undisputed that
Hugh Helminski could not possibly have any understanding
of the proceedings at trial, or be of any assistance to counsel.

Respondent suggests the general rule outlined above is
soundly based in both law and logic. There is no good reason to
modify it. Even if this Supreme Court wished to examine the
issue of a party’s right to be present at a civil jury trial, the in-
stant case would not be a suitable vehicle because of the ex-
treme facts. Given the facts of Hugh Helminski’s condition, his
lack of control over bodily functions and behavior, his inability
to comprehend the proceedings and so forth, it would be dif-
ficult if not impossible to fashion a rule of general application.
Accordingly, the Petitioners’ request for a Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

12

Il. THE ACTION OF THE DISTRICT
COURT, AFFIRMED BY THE SIXTH CIR-
CUIT, WAS IN ACCORD WITH SETTLED
AND WELL-REASONED PRECEDENTS.

Petitioners imply that the action of the District Court was
without precedent. That is simply not true. A number of
courts have considered fact situations virtually indistin
guishable from the one at bar and have taken the same action
as the District Court. In Morley v. Supertor Court of Arizona, 131
Ariz 85; 638 P.2nd 1331 (1981), rehearing denied, the plaintiff
had been injured in an automobile accident and was in a
coma. The trial court bifurcated the trial into liability and
damage portions. The plaintiff was excluded from appearing
in court during the liability portion of the trial. The Arizona
Supreme Court explained:

‘*The record before us would support a finding in the in-
stant case that the evidence relevant to the two issues [of
liability and damages] is unrelated. Moreover, because
we hold infra that Paul Morley [the plaintiff in the coma]
has a right to appear before the jury during trial of the
damages issue but not the liability issue, severance
prevents undue prejudice to the City of Scottsdale [the
defendant] which would result if the jury saw Morley’s
injuries before it considered wheter the City was liable
for those injuries. Severance wil! insure that Paul Morley
will be present only when his presence is relevant to this
case.”’

Morley, at 1333.

The Arizona Supreme Court made it clear that the injured
plaintiff was beng excluded only because the trial had been
bifurcated. He could not be excluded from trial if liability was
found and the issue of damages had to be tried.

13

‘‘Having considered the various precedents, we believe
the best rule is applied in Dickson v. Bober, 269 Minn. at
338 n. 3, 130 NW2nd at 530 n.3 (1964). ‘[A] plaintiff
unable by. reason of his injuries to contribute to or
understand the trial proceedings’ may be excluded, in
the court’s discretion, from the trial of the /iadility issue if
the plaintiff will be ‘fully and adequately represented by
counsel.’ Jd. at 337, 130 NW2nd at 530. A plaintiff
unable to communicate with counsel will have no right
denied by exclusion from the courtroom during the
liability portion of the trial. If in addition the plaintiff's
physical condition, allegedly caused by the defendant, is
so pitiable that the trial court determines the plaintiff's
mere presence would prejudice the jury, then failure to
exclude the plaintiff during the liability phase would
deny the defendant’s right to an unbiasd jury when the
source of the bias is totally irrelevant to the liability
issue.

Morley, at 1334, emphasis provided by the Arizona Supreme
Court. Petitioners objected to the bifurcation of the trial of the
case at bar into liability and damage portions in the District
Court and the Court of Appeals, but has since abandoned the
issue.

The principal case relied upon by the Morley Court was
Dickson v. Bober, 130 NW2nd 526 (1964). In Dickson, the plain-
tiff had suffered injuries in a motorcycle accident which left
him mentally incapacitated. The trial court excluded the
plaintiff from the entire trial, even though it had not been
bifurcated into liability and damage portions. The jury
returned a verdict of no cause for action. The trial court
granted the plaintiff a new trial, believing in retrospect that
the exclusion of the plaintiff from trial had been error.

The Minnesota Supreme Court reversed the trial court,
and remanded the case back for entry of the jury’s verdict of

14

no cause for action. The key part of the Dickson opinion is
presented below.

‘‘The accident changed Allan Dickson from a vital, in-
telligent, healthy youth to one unable to express or sus-
tain himself, helpless and entirely dependent on others,
and wholly unable to comprehend trial proceedings.
Before deciding against his appearance in court, the trial
judge observed him and noted:

‘***His eyes seem to function on detection of an
unusual movement. Hideous and agonizing groans
and sounds emanated from plaintiff. In this trial
test, arranged so the court would have some concep-
tion of what was involved, the above is a fair
description of the depressing spectacle that in all
likelihood could have been enacted if the plaintiff's
request [to present Allan Dickson to the jury] had
been granted.’

Plaintiffs cite numerous decisions to support their claim
that Allan had an absolute constitutional right to be in
court during his trial. None is authority for the proposi-
tion that the plaintiff in a personal injury action who can
neither contribute evidence on the question of fault nor
comprehend the proceedings is entitled as a matter of
constitutional right to be present in court when the
liability issue is litigated... .’’

Dicksen, at 529-530. The Minnesota Supreme Court did
observe, in a footnote, that an ‘‘effective’’ way of handling
cases involving grievously injured plaintiffs would be to bifur-
cate them into liability and damage portions. The plaintiffs
could appear during the latter once liability was established.
They could not appear during the liability portion, as their ap-
pearance was irrelevant and would likely be prejudicial to the
defendant,

15

The Sixth Circuit adopted the rule enunciated in Morley v.
Superior Court of Arizona, supra, and Dickson v. Bober, supra. It
was fully entitled to do so, there being no contrary authority
ever published by the Supreme Court or an earlier panel of the
Sixth Circuit or any of the Circuit Courts of Appeal. Review-
ing the Sixth Circuit’s decision in the case at bar would
therefore not resolve a split of authority which was creating
substantial confusion among bench and bar.

III. THE AUTHORITIES CITED BY THE
PETITIONERS ARE INAPPLICABLE
TO THE FACTS OF THE INSTANT
LITIGATION,

It is admitted there are a number of cases in existence where
an incompetent party has been allowed to be present in the
courtroom despite his or her inability to participate mean-
ingfully in the proceedings or otherwise assist counsel in the
presentation of his or her case. However, every single one of
the eleven cases cited by the Petitioners involves either a situa-
tion where there was no bifurcation of the trial into liability
and damages portions, or a factual background totally re-
moved from the one at bar.* The plaintiffs in the cases cited by

* The cases relied upon by Petitioners were: Florida Greyhound Lines v.
Jones, 60 SW2nd 396 (Fla., 1952)(action for damages only); Purvis v.
Inter-County Telephone & Telegraph Company, 203 So.2nd 508 (Fla. App.,
1967), rehearing denied (action for damages only); Anderson v. Sears, Roebuck
& Company, 377 F. Supp. 136 (E.D., La., 1974)(simultaneous trial on
issues of liability and damages; District Court specifically noted lack of
any ‘wrongful conduct’’ on part of child, the child being ‘‘well behaved
and quiet the entire time she was in the courtroom’’); Carlisle v. County of
Nassau, 64 AD2nd 15 (1978) (liability and damages tried simultaneously;
plaintiff not mentally incapacitated in any way and able to assist counsel
during jury selection); Bartholomay v. St. Thomas Lumber Company, 148
NWe2nd 278 (N.D., 1967)(liability and damages tried simultaneously;

(footnotes continued on next page)

16

=~.

the Petitioners were either allowed or required to put on a
single case in chief, addressing liability and damages
simultaneously. Under these circumstances, the condition of
the plaintiff becomes relevant as it goes to the measure of
damages. The plaintiff's inability to either understand pro-
ceedings or to assist counsel is not important, as the plaintiff's
condition is what is at issue.°

(footnotes continued from previous page)

exclusion of children too young to understand trial proceedings up to
discretion of trial court); Bryant v. Kansas City Ratlways Company, 228
SW2nd 472 (Mo., 1921)(liability and damages tried simultaneously);
Odom v. Corn Products Refining Company, 173 Ill App 348 (1912)(liability
and damages tried simultaneously; appellate court indicates in od:ter dicta
exclusion of children, others might be proper under certain circum-
stances); Hunter v.’Szumlanski, 124 Mich App 521 (1983)(jury selection
process started without plaintiff, who would have been able to assist
counsel in picking jurors); Raper v. Bernier, 246 NC 193 (1957)(child
custody dispute; trial court held to have improperly excluded parents
from in camera examination of minor child); Chicago Great Western Railway
Company v. Beecher, 150 F.2nd 394 (8th Cir., 1945), certiorart denied, 326
U.S. 781 (1946) (liability and damage issues tried simultaneously); and
Fillippon v. Albion Vein Slate Company, 240 U.S. 76 (1919)(supplementa!
jury instruction given by trial court outside presence of parties and their
counsel; held error to give supplemental instruction except in presence of
parties or their counsel).

* In the case of Jn re Watson, 91 Cal App 3rd 455 (1979), it was held a
developmentally disabled person had the right to attend his or her own
commitment he: jag. In such circumstances, the condition of the in-
dividual is the paramount issue in the case. It would be impossible to con-
duct a meaningful hearing without the individual present for at least part
of the proceeding.

17

The case at bar was bifurcated into liability and damage
portions. The Petitioners no longer contest bifurcation was
improper.® They have cited no authority which requires a trial
court to allow an incompetent person unable to understand
proceedings or assist counsel to be physically present at trial
where that person’s condition is not relevant to the matter
under consideration. The Respondent suggests that this
Supreme Court should not create such authority. To do so
would be to drastically limit a trial court’s ability to run order-
ly proceedings. More importantly, it would make it much
more difficult for defendants to receive fair trials, as will be
shown infra.

IV. THE PARAMOUNT CONCERN OF THE
AMERICAN SYSTEM OF JUSTICE,
CORRECTLY RECOGNIZED BY THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT, IS TO GUARANTEE
ALL PARTIES A FAIR TRIAL.

In its decision in the case at bar, the Sixth Circuit, speaking
through Senior Circuit Judge Celebrezze, stated:

‘*The benchmark of our judiciary rests on the ability of
the courts to provide all parties with a fair trial.”’

Helminski v. Ayerst Laboratories, 766 F.2nd 208 (1985), at 217.
In order to have a fair trial, a party must have his or her case
heard by an unbiased finder of fact, be it a judge or jury.

® The Petitioners did strenuously argue against bifurcation in both the
District Court and the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals dismissed
the Petitioners’ claim of error on bifurcation by noting bifurcation was a
discretionary matter. The Petitioners had failed to establish any prej-
udice to themselves as a result of the bifurcation. Accordingly, it could
not be said the District Court abused its discretion in bifurcating the trial.

18

Justice Marshail stated in his dissent in Smith v. Phillips, 455
U.S. 269 (1982), at 224: |

‘*The right to a trial by an impartial jury lies at the very
heart of due process. Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717,
721-722, 81 S. Ct. 1639, 1641-1642, 6 L.E.2d 751
(196i).”’

Although no one is entitled to a perfect trial, everyone is,
without exception of any sort, entitled to a fair trial.
McDonough Power Equipment Company, Inc. v. Greenwood,
U.S. _.; __ L.Ed.2nd __; 104 S. Ct. 845 (1984); Brown v.
United States, 411 U.S. 223 (1973); Bruton v. United States, 391
U.S. 123 (1968); and Lutwak v. United States, 344 U.S. 604
(1953).

In the case at bar, the District Court was faced with a con-
flict between the Respondent’s absolute right to a fair trial,
and the Petitioners’ claimed right to have an incompetent
minor who could not understand proceedings or assist counsel
present for the liability portion of the case. The District Court
made the decision that the Respondent’s right to a fair trial, to
have the case heard by an impartial jury, outweighed the right
for the incompetent minor to appear briefly during the liabili-
ty portion of the trial.’ It was the correct decision then, as was
recognized by the Sixth Circuit. It should not be reversed by
this Supreme Court, as the right of everyone to a fair trial — a
trial by unbiased jurors — would inevitably be compromised
by such action.

’ Everyone agreed the incompetent minor could be present during the
damages portion, assuming the jury made the initial finding of liability in
favor of the Petitioners. The physical and mental condition of the in-

competent minor would be relevant to the issue of damages if liability was
established.

oes

Ct ROM Lote Gina rane

ee ee eee meee

19

This Supreme Court should also understand the context
under which this issue arose. Although the incompetent minor
had been listed on the pretrial witness list, the list had been
prepared before the trial was bifurcated into liability and
damage portions. Further, the Petitioners’ trial counsel had
made no move whatsoever to produce the incompetent minor,
and had indicated he was going to show a videotape (com-
monly called a ‘‘day in the life of’’ presentation) to the jury.

It would be fair to say the Petitioners’ case in chief on
liability did not go well. Their expert witnesses on causation,
Mr. Laird and Dr. Thoman, were shown during cross-
examination to have either egregious memories or to have
simply lied during their direct examination. See, generally,
R:138-201, 398-415; JA:179-241, 257-274. Neither man
was able to point to any hard evidence linking Fluothane with
autism or any birth defect. The other two experts called by the
Petitioners did not have the same credibility problem, but
their testimony did not establish a causal relationship between
exposure to Fluothane and autism. For example, Dr. Corbett
had performed a study of birth defects suffered by the children
of nurse anesthetists, but was unable to express an opinion as
to the relationship between exposure to Fluothane and
autism. (R:513; JA:292) Dr. Redding testified the incompe-
tent minor was autistic — but he had no idea what caused the
autism. (R:520-523; JA:297-299)

After their liability case had collapsed, the Petitioners sud-
denly discovered their incompetent minor had an absolute
right to be present at trial. Since it was and is undisputed the
incompetent minor could not give testimony or otherw ~e par-
ticipate in the proceedings because of his inability to com-
municate and emotional maturity level (i.e., that of a two-
year old child), the Petitioners were planning to do nothing
less than introduce him as an exhibit.

20

The Petitioners never explained to the District Court why
the presence or brief appearance of the incompetent minor
was relevant to the issue of liability. They did not explain the
minor’s relevancy to the Sixth Circuit. They do not explain
his relevance to this Supreme Court. The Respondent sug-
gests the reason the Petitioners do not address relevancy
because there is no relevancy. The Petitioners sought to pro-
duce the incompetent minor for one reason and one reason
only: to salvage their liability case by appealing to the sym-
pathies of the jury. Given the undisputed condition of the in-
competent minor, there is littke doubt sympathies would have
been aroused. To avoid this, and to make sure the case was
considered by a panel of impartial jurors, the District Court
took the only rational course of action open to it: the exclusion
of the incompetent minor until such time as the liability issue
was decided. By so doing, the District Court obeyed the dic-
tates of this Supreme Court, as established in such cases as
McDonough Power Equipment Company v. Greenwood, Irvin v.
Dowd, and the other cases cited supra. No good purpose would
be served by using the resources of this Supreme Court to
review that decision — there was no error, and the principle of
a fair trial by impartial jurors is too important to be re-
examined through the highly questionable circumstances sur-
rounding the attempt to bring the incompetent minor before
the jury.

V. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR BY
ALLOWING PERSONS UNABLE TO UN-
DERSTAND PROCEEDINGS OR TO
ASSIST COUNSEL TO BE EXCLUDED
FROM THE LIABILITY PORTION OF A
BIFURCATED PRODUCTS LIABILITY
TRIAL.

The Petitioners maintain the Sixth Circuit erred by creating
two classes of litigants: the physically handicapped and the

el in A tlt a es eA AD CANE is Te CRAIN cli are

21

mentally handicapped. According to the Petitioners, the
holding of the Sixth Circuit that mentally handicapped indi-
viduals can be excluded from certain phases of court proceed-
ings (specifically, the liability portion of a bifurcated products
case) violates the due process and equal protection provisions
of the United States Constitution. In the Petitioners’ view,
both the physically and mentally handicapped should be
treated exactly alike.

This Supreme Court has never held that all individuals
must be treated alike. The mere showing that different per-
sons are treated differently does not show a denial of due pro-
cess and equal protection. See, generally, Griffin v. County
School Board, 377 U.S. 218 (1964). Mere classification does not
deprieve a group of equal protection. Carrington v. Rash, 380
U.S. 89 (1965). The key is whether any classifications repre-
sent invidious and arbitrary discrimination. Loving v. Virginia,
388 U.S. 1 (1967). Classifications must have a relation to the
purpose for which they are made; theoretical inconsistencies
are of little importance. Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New
York, 336 U.S. 106 (1949).

In the case at bar, the Sixth Circuit set up a classification
based on one’s ability to participate in a courtroom proceeding
and assist counsel. Physically handicapped individuals can
almost without exception assist counsei in the presentation of
a case. Their appearance may create sympathy, but to exclude
physically handicapped individuals would be even more prej-
udicial — they could not assist counsel in the presentation of
the case. The paramount concern remains insuring a fair trial.
The Sixth Circuit made the determination that the negative
effects of excluding the physically handicapped from trial and
thus preventing them from assisting counsel were more severe
than whatever prejudice might be introduced as a result of
their appearance. It was and is a rational approach to a difficult
problem where there is no completely satisfactory solution.

22

While the physically handicapped can and generally do assist
counsel and participate in courtroom proceedings, the men-
tally handicapped, such as the incompetent minor in the case
at bar, do not. This statement does not indicate prejudice on
the part of the writer, but is simple recognition of a fact of life.
Indeed, the handicap suffered by a mentally handicapped per-
son is basically the inability to communicate and understand
one’s surroundings. The Sixth Circuit correctly recognized
that the problem of jury prejudice and sympathy could be
overcome by excluding the mentally handicapped from those
limited classes of cases where the condition of the mentally han-
dicapped individual is not an issue, such as the liability portion
of the trial in the instant litigation. No prejudice would accrue
to the mentally handicapped individual, due to the individual’s
inability to assist counsel or to otherwise participate in the pro-
ceedings. In other words, there was a rational basis for the
classification, and the classification was directly related to a
legitimate end: the minimization of the possibility of jury pre-
judice and the promotion of a trial by impartial jurors.

The limited nature of the Sixth Circuit’s decision must be
emphasized. The mentally handicapped, those unable to
assist counsel and to understand and participate in proceed-
ings, can be excluded only from those proceedings where their
condition is not an issue. The typical example would be a pro-
ducts liability case, bifurcated into liability and damage por-
tions. The mentally handicapped could, if the trial court
believed it appropriate, be excluded from the former but not
the latter. In a nonbifurcated trial, or where liability was
admitted, the mentally handicapped could not be excluded,
although their time in the courtroom could be limited if neces-
sary for courtroom decorum and the like. Overall, the rule
enunciated in the Sixth Circuit will have very limited applica-
tion, assuming it was universally followed.

23

VI. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT DID NOT ERR
IN ALLOWING THE DECISION OF
THE DISTRICT COURT TO EX-
CLUDE THE INCOMPETENT MINOR
WITHOUT AN IN-COURT EXAMINA-
TION OF THE MINOR TO STAND.

The Sixth Circuit held that, while a District Court could ex-
clude a mentally handicapped individual unable to assist
counsel or to otherwise participate in proceedings from trial, it
could do so only after an examination of the handicapped indi-
vidual. The District Court in the case at bar did not hold an
examination of the incompetent minor, but excluded him on
the basis of representations and testimony made by his coun-
sel, mother, brother and various expert witnesses. For the
record, the testimony established that the incompetent minor
was 16 years old, was approximately six feet tall, weighed 90
pounds, was not toilet trained, had the emotional maturity of
a two-year old child, did not communicate with anyone, could
not be taken in public due to his frequent loud outbursts, and
basically required 24-hour a day care and supervision. It was
uncontested that the incompetent minor was totally unable to
assist counsel or otherwise participate in the proceedings,
although he was represented in the courtroom by his counsel
and his Next Friends, his mother and father.

The Sixth Circuit concluded the District C. urt should have
held an examination on the incompetent minor before exclud-
ing him during the liability portion of the trial. However, it
was not reversible error since there was absolutely no indica-
tion the presence of the incompetent minor in court during the
liability portion of the trial could have assisted the Petitioners
in the presentation of their case. The Sixth Circuit also noted
the jury was fully advised of the parameters of the incompe-
tent minor’s condition.

24

It is well settled that a litigant is entitled to a fair trial, but
not a perfect one. McDonough Power Equipment, Inc. v. Green-
wood, supra; Brown v. United States, supra; Bruton v. United States,
supra; Lutwak v. United States; see also Andes v. Lauer, 80 Ill App
3rd 411; 35 Ill Dec 701; 399 NE2nd 990 (1980); Indiana ©
Michigan Electric Company v. Miller, 19 Mich App 16 (1969),
leave to appeal denied, 383 Mich 781 (1970); and Appleton v. Mat-
thews, 16 Ohio Misc 130; 45 Ohio Opin 2nd 90; 238 NE2nd
846 (1968). The general rule is that errors which do not affect
the essential fairness of the trial are not to be used as a basis for
reversal. McDonough Power Equipment, Inc. v. Greenwood, supra;
see also Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750 (1946) and
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 61.

The Sixth Circuit determined the incompetent minor in the
case at bar did not have an unlimited, absolute right to be
present in the courtroom during the liability portion of the
trial. Absent such a holding, the District Court’s decision to
exclude the incompetent minor without a direct examination
cannot legitimately be considered violation of a constitutional
right. Accordingly, the Sixth Circuit was correct in finding no
reversible error, particularly in light of the other circum-
stances of the case (i.e., the representation provided the
incompetent minor by his counsel and Next Friends, his
inability to assist counsel or otherwise participate in the pro-
ceedings, et cetera).

25

CONCLUSION AND REQUEST FOR RELIEF

The Respondent Ayerst Laboratories respectfully requests
this Honorable Supreme Court of the United States to enter
an Order denying the Petitioners’ Petition for a Writ of Cer-
tiorari in the above-entitled cause of action for the reasons
presented in this Brief.

Respectfully submitted,

KOHL, SecREsT, WARDLE, LYNCH,
CLARK and HAMPTON

BY:

Michael L. Updike

Attorneys for Respondent Ayerst

Laboratories
Post Office Box 3040
30903 Northwestern Highway
Farmington Hills, Michigan 48018-8040
(313) 851-9500

DATED: October 10, 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0876%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
