# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rothman v. New York State Department of Transportation, 106 S. Ct. 593 (1985) (No. 85-483)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0773%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985

## Text

v
pee se \ Supreme Court, U.S.
85-483 bey FILED
i Sep ** 1985
n e

Supreme Court of the United States *

October Term, 1985,

No.
JESSEL ROTHMAN, P.C.,
Petitioner,
—againsi—
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT -
OF TRANSPORTATION,
Respondent.

Petition For A Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

HENRY MARK HOLZER
Attorney for Petitioner

c/o Brooklyn Law School
256 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201
(718) 780-7985

nA eta

QUESTION PRESENTED

Before a Court of Appeals can impose monetary sanctions
against a party’s lawyer (pursuant to Roadway Express, Inc. v.
Piper, 447 U.S. 752 (1980), Alveska Pipeline Service Co. v.
Wilderness Society, 421 U.S. 240 (1975), 28 U.S.C., § 1912, 28
U.S.C. § 1927 and/or F.R. App. P. 38), does the Fifth Amend-
ment’s procedural due process requirement necessitate at least
clear notice of the court’s intention to sanction the lawyer, and/ or
bifurcation of consideration of the appeal’s merits and the
proposed sanction, and/or an opportunity for the threatened
lawyer to be relieved or to withdraw, and/or some measure of
discovery, and/or an evidentiary hearing on genuinely disputed
issues of material fact, and/or other procedural safeguards; and do
the Sixth and/or Seventh Amendments require a separate trial-
type proceeding?

'In the instant case, the United States Court of Appeals cited the five sources
referred to above as the combined basis of its power to sanction the parties and
their lawyers. As will be seen infra, it is not possible to ascertain from the court's
opinion if all of these were actually relied on by the court to sanction the lawyers,
or if only some of them were. Plainly, as will also be seen in:/ra, all five can not
apply (e.g. Alyeska).

a i

PARTIES

The Parties in the Court of Appeais were: In Re Cosmopolitan
Aviation Corp., Debtor; Cosmpolitan Aviation Corp., Debtor
Appellant; Flushing Savings Bank, Intervenor, Appelle Cross-
Appellant; New York State Department of Transportation,
Appellee, Appellant, Cross-Appellee; Jessel Rothman, P.C..,
Petitioner here, was counsel to Flushing Savings Bank below.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I NINN a on ei bbb scar caescercsccteecesseseence i
PPC CLC coh sche hbd ckWSCCS Sc case as RSUS OCS RRS SOK GEN il
RI TIO kw ca kc cc cece cc cceccnceccsesescesesenenss I
a eae p ees ewan tad sav aeeaesnse l
Constitutional, Statutory and Other
ec Laken wen eens ecsceheees es ew ate l
Se Ee rer er ree 3
Reasons For Granting the Writ... ........ccceceecceeeees 15
ee eae ek a 5k KARA Ss 0.00004 664 CRONE S REED 31

Appendices:
“A” Summary of Argument from Petitioner's Brief in the
Court of Appeals
“B” Portion of Petition for Rehearing

“C” Relevant Portion of Transcript of Oral Argument
in Court Below

“D” Opinion Below
“E” Order Denying Rehearing

“F” Conclusion of State’s Motion on Remand
in District Court

“G” News Clipping

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society

G20 U.S. BED CIOS v5 oes sv ows oss oases ence vanes L ta 89
Armstrong v. Manzo 380 U.S. 545 (1965) .......... 19, 22, 23
Beli v. Bureon, 402 U.S. SSS CTO) oc cde ccc cccccesess 22, 23
In Re Bithoney, 486 F.2d 319 (Ist Cir. 1973) ..........-45- 27
In Re Buffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 550-551, 88 S.Ct. 1222,

ben pe we BY ee Gl) eerreerpererer rer ererr rr ree 22
Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth,

PR Et. ror errr Teer ery TTT Tree eT 19
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 378, 91 S.Ct. 780,

ge Blt eer errerr TTT rey Tiere ete 22
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954)... 2... eee ee eee eee 26
Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wal.) 646 (1871) ............ 19

Ceasar World, Inc. v. Venus Lounge, Inc.,
S20 F.2d 269 (36 Cie. 1979) oun nvaccescnscssccsecccnses 16

Clarion Corp. v. American Home Products Corp.,
494 F.2d 860 (7th Cir. 1974), cert. dend, 419 U.S. 870
(1974), reh. dend. 419 U.S. 1027 (1974) ....... 20. eee eee 15

In Re Cosmospolitan Aviation Corp. v. New York State
Dept. of Transportation, 763 F.2d 507 (2d Cir. 1985) ...... l

Douglas v. First Nat'l Realty Corp., 543 F.2d 894
CERES Cae, Fs 46 0e AN an kek 05 cc ban AD SESS bees ce xs 30

Flaherty v. Flaherty, 31 Cal. 3d 637, 646 P.2d 179,
icfal@ Ce fi. rrereorrri vary errr ret Tore 27

annette ti sh

Flouro Electric Corp. v. Branford Associates,

Oe Tie ee GE Gs SPE S564 COAG G NK KO NSS bn 1k sad RRA 15
Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972) ................ 22, 23
Furbee v. Vantage Press, Inc., 464 F.2d 835 (D.C. Cir.

ec PPE ee nee Os eT OE OE area 15
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011,

PP Se IEE be Ses Wane ssei geben Sek ad ens Edn deen 22
Gerard v. Goins, 575 F.2d 160 (8th Cir. 1978) ............. 30
oes ¥. Coie, SID OS, Se Tiree os akc vnc cdkacnchen 19, 23
Griffin v. Griffin, 327 U.S. 220 (1946) .......0.c.eeeeeeeee 19

Hagerty v. Succession of Clement, 749 F.2d 217
ee er er ee Oe ne ere errr 25

Johnson v. Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212 (1971), 91 S.Ct. 1778 ...30

Londoner v. City and County of Denver, 210 U.S. 373,

Pe ny I is 958 a can babe ns Rake Kade 22, 23
Malhiot v. Southern California Retail Clerks Union,

Vege Bes. Le | Pere ere erry Troe ey 23
Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ....... 18, 19, 23, 24
Monk v. Roadway Express, Inc., 73 F.R.D. 411 (1977) ..... 16 3
Monroe v. N.L.R.B., 511 F.2d 611 (Sth Cir. 1975).......... 16
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) ........... 0000. 23

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank and Tr. Co.,
Pe ec A KS Ba kk Wes kd or eas 19, 22

iia

vi
Muniz v. Hoffman, 422 U.S. 454 (1975)... 0.6. ce eee ee 30 |
NLRB v. Lucy Ellen, 517 F.2d 551 (7th Cir. 1975) .......5. 27
Nemeroff v. Abelson, 620 F.2d 339 (2d Cir. 1980) ...... 27, 29

Northcross v. Board of Education, 489 F.2d 19
BOs GR. TOO ca cnc a Sac.n caee beach ns ha cdeesesaewest 15

Opp Cotton Mills, Inc. v. Administrator of Wage and
Hour Division of the Dept. of Labor,

SUS U.S, TAB CIOGT) osc scdccccccvenccseesectuedececses 22
Roadway Express, Inc. v. Piper,

G47 U.S. 738 (EGER) oc cn ccccccceveccass i, 14, 16, 17, 25, 29
Skinner v. White, 505 F.2d 685 (Sth Cir. 1974)...........4. 30

Smoot v. Fox, 353 F.2d 830 (6th Cir. 1965), cert. dend
sub nom., League of Women Voters v. Smooth,

TOS UE Gee CE ok Sa cava bated uceeeeeecs see tateuds 29 )
Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp. of Bay View,

FB RR S| EERO TST Tee rer CT eT TEE ee Tey 23
Stewart v. Sonneborn, 98 U.S. 187 (1879) .......... 2. eens 29
Talamini v. Allstate Ins. Co., 105 S.Ct. 1824 (1985)..... 18, 28 |
Tatum v. Regents of University of Nebraska-Lincoln

103 S.Ct. 3084 (1983), 462 U.S. T1172... 6.00.0 eee 18, 27
U.S. v. Illinois Central R. Co., 291 U.S. 457, 54 S.Ct.

GFE Fea 4 5 4k phe Ads WAAR O CEES AURA Mae Ci USS ekES 22
Wisconsin v. Constantino, 400 U.S. 433 (1971)...... 19, 22, 23

Statutes

Oe SD Ga dase hccc Usd iin be\cenecetdbicakec tunnel 30
Se Se BOER bos Chak scenectVedsbecaseceatern i, 2, 13, 15
Be a ee vabendesscaaes S39 Se Fe F-
ee ee ON 0h b nta dea ea Ka bcd sabes ehbackacweasens I
ee Ee rere ror rT l
Rules

Tie UN Us OO 84 a0 cbehesnb ed bee causaceies i, 2, 13, 15, 16
Pi MS GP a SCC SNS CEC hOs vdnKeeebendseeauneeakeue 18
Fake Fe ee ee OO OP ns kv nn thoes basenaacsneuanceaes 26
Fa Re Ik Fined 064A a hae dew kee e ee bbe ch eenas 30

Constitutional Provisions

ee eT ee a eeeeuee es 18, 19, 22, 26
SP PE We Si i ek ci wececLanacubew buen 29, 30
Se I, I a a ccc cecneae wines 29, 30

ee

Vili
Miscellaneous

F.R. App. P. 38 advisory committee note, 43 F.R.D. 61,
155 (1967), reprinted in J. Moore, B. Ward and
J. Lucas, Moores Federal Practice 238.01[02]
SN, SUES S4ECA4SA Kan dSEUNER SE SOME EEAENGEESa OC ees 16

H.R. Rep. No. 1234, 96th Cong. 2d Sess. 8,
reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. and Admin. News

Re SS aie GandGewnkhnSONRnGws eee tbe iy esenees 17
Martineau, Frivolous Appeals: The Uncertain Federal
Response 1984 Duke L.J. 845...... 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 26, 27
S.J. Moore, J. Lucas and J. Wicker, Moores Federal
Practice Par. 38.11[5] (2ed. 1980)...............08. 16, 29
Comment, Nemeroff v. Abelson, Bad Faith and Awards of
Attorneys’ Fees, 128 U.Pa. L. Rev. 187.(1979)........... 29
ee FRO FOE BO FOI a ove ccwcccccseccancscccccess 28

Procedural Rights of Attorneys Facing Sanctions,
40 Rec. A.B. City N.Y. 313, May-June 1985 ............ 31

Code of Professional Responsibility, DR 1-102 (A)(4)
and (5), 2-109 A)(2) and 7-I02(A)(5)............008. 23, 27

Other Law Review Articles

Batista, Defending Yourself Against Sanctions,
9@ Eatimntion S46, Borie 1FE6 20s ccccccccesccccccvcsess 29

Burbank, Sanctions in Proposed Amendments to the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: Questions About
Power, Ti Hofetes L. Rev. 997 (19G3) ... cccncccnsececes 29

Curtin, Chairmans Corner: Sanctions, 10 Litigation News
SRS oi i ae ee eae ben 29

Frank, On the Merits: Frivolous Suits Targeted.
ee a ae A PA £4 4 eRe be daesnscecncucesss 29

Fruin, Conduct of Court Proceedings: When Lawvers
Bend the Court Out of Shape, 21 Judges J. 14,
Pee PE nuk aes Mabie kwh oe ne nendnbeséccndsncacss 29

Green, From Here to Attorneys Fees: Certainty, Efficiency,
and Fairness in the Journey to the Appellate Courts,
Se EE ing SET IE 0 os a o's 65.0 0:00 0ib-b'00 Vege oes 29

Hall, Attorneys Fees Against Parties and Attorneys,
ap ae OO 6 wc kceuads eeua cacune ced 29

Hansken, The Federai Courts Authority to Assess Attorneys
Fees Directly Against Counsel: Roadway Express, Inc. v.
Piper, DePaul L. Rev. 66D (1ISS1) oc cccccscccccvces 29

Loth, Appealing the Frivolous Appeal, 56 Ohio St.
Ais es WEEE, EUs OU TEs ca cbneetereseciaccans 29

Mallor, Punitive Attorneys Fees For Abuse of the
Judicial System, 61 N.C.L. Rev. 613 (1983) ............. 29

McKirdy, 28 U.S.C. § 1927 — Counselor Beware,
FE ee PUNE ds G56 50S Chr abe hicedeccnectescs 29

Meadows, Frivolous Lawsuit May Destroy Career of
Attorney: ls There A Remedyv?, 17 U. Rich. L. Rev.
GDECIGESD, oncik.c on dccceapots env duisenteaeesavesees ts 29

Middleton, Four Bars Join Battle Over Lawyers Rights,
9 B. Leader 30, Sept.-Oct. 1983.2... ecccccccccsvcceces 29

Ross, Sanctions to Enforce Jurisdictional Discovery:
Constitutional and Prudential Limitations, 68
Va. 1. REV. FEE CAFR) obs cis ete eweeeeessb ce tstssees 29

Shaneyfelt, Warning to Overzealous Attorneys,
TO Witamnatie 6.5. GOT CTR svc ccc wees ce rsdecsecess 29

Stevenson, Damages For Frivolous Appeals, 45 La.
eet, | PO ree Perr err ery er ere 29

Sweeney, Attorney Liability For Malicious Prosecution:
Nelson v. Miller, 46 Mo. L. Rev. 896 (1981) ............ 29

Umin, Making Abusive Lawyers Pay, 10 Litigation
ND aa 6 vba hee tka ck eb ekeckdanns Sm aneesbeane 29

White, Attorney Malpractice: Problems Associated With
Failure to Appeal, 31 Buffalo L. Rev. 583 (1982) ........ 29

Comment, Awards of Attorneys Fees Against Attorneys:
Roadway Express, Inc. v. Piper, 60 B.U. L. Rev. 950
CIGIOT ob ody cocaunne es cv sabhs aeeden eee ras cb eV sess 29

Comment, Sanctions Against Defense Attorney:
In Re Gonzalez, 69 Mass. L. Rev. 134 (1984) ........... 29

OPINION BELOW

The opinion below (Appendix “D” hereto) is reported at 763
F.2d 507 (2d Cir., 1985), under the title: In Re Cosmopolitan
Aviation Corp., Debtor, Cosmopolitan Aviation Corp., Debtor-
Appellant, Flushing Savings Bank, Intervenor, Appellee Cross-
Appellant, against New York State Department of Transporta-
tion, Appellee, Appellant Cross-Appellee.

Jessel Rothman, P.C., Petitioner here, was counsel to Flushing
Savings Bank below and seeks Certiorari from this Court to
review the Second Circuit’s assessment of monetary sanctions
against Jessel Rothman, P.C. qua Flushing’s attorney. This
Petition in no way involves the substantive merits of the appeal
decided by the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit in the above titled case.

JURISDICTION

The opinion/ order of the Court of Appeals was made and
entered on May 24, 1985. A timely petition for rehearing was
denied on June 27, 1985, and this Petition fora Writ of Certiorari
has been filed within 90 days of that date.

The jurisdiction of this Court is based on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND OTHER
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The sole Constitutional provisions involved in this case are the
due process clause of the Fifth Amendment and the jury trial
guarantees of the Sixth and Seventh Amendments.

Also involved are two federal statutes and one federal rule:

Where a judgment is affirmed by the Supreme Court
or a court of appeals, the court in its discretion may
adjudge to the prevailing party just damages for his
delay, and single or double costs. (28 U.S.C. § 1912).

Any attorney ... admitted to conduct cases in any
court of the United States ... who so multiplies the
proceedings in any case unreasonably and vexatiously
may be required by the court to satisfy personally the
excess costs, expenses, and attorneys’ fees reasonably
incurred because of such conduct. (28 U.S.C. § 1927).

If a court of appeals shall determine that an appeal is
frivolous, it may award just damages and single or
double costs to the appellee. (F.R. App. P. 38).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jessel Rothman, P.C., a professional legal corporation of the
State of New York (hereafter “Petitioner”), represented Flushing
Savings Bank in the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit. The case involved Flushing’s status asa lender, a
defaulted lease and a bankruptcy proceeding.' The appeal was
argued by an associate from Petitioner’s firm, Julian Kaplan,
Esq., About half-way through Mr. Kaplan’s oral argument—
even though no sanctions had been sought in the bankruptcy
court, the district court or any of the three state courts, and the
subject had not even arisen in those forums—a member of the
Second Circuit panel interrupted with the then out-of-context
observation that: “Let me tell you something. You know that
your opponents have asked for an award under Section 1927 [of
28 U.S.C.]. That’s one of the issues in this case. Remember that.*?
Mr. Kaplan made no response, and simply continued his
argument on the merits.

Next came the oral argument of an Assistant Attorney General
of the State of New York, Barrie Goldstein, Esq. When she
finished, a now-unidentified member of the panel raised the
question of attorney’s fees and the following ensued:

THE COURT: What about attorney’s fees?

'Annexed hereto as Appendices “A” and “B,” respectively, in order to provide
this Court with soune sense of what the appeal concerned (although this Petition
has nothing to do with the merits of Petitioner's appeal to the Second Circuit on
behalf of Flushing Savings Bank) are the summary of argument from
Petitioner's brief-in-chief in the court of appeals and a portion of his unsuccess-
ful petition for rehearing there.

?Annexed hereto as Appendix “C” is the title page of the oral argument trans-
cript, page 19 on which the unidentified member of the panel made the state-
ment quoted above, and the “conclusion” portion of Respondent's brief in the
court of appeals wherein a fleeting reference is made to the Attorney General's
request for attorneys’ fees pursuant only to 28 U.S.C. § 1927.

|

4

That is what I was going to ask. Talking about that,
there has been so much hocus pocus about who repre-
sents whom here. The sheet that the courtroom deputy
gave me says Bruce Karp for Cosmopolitan wishes to
give all of his time to the intervenor, Jessel Rothman, for
Flushing, who I understand is out of town.

Your name is what, sir?

MR. KAPLAN: Julian Kaplan. | identified myself as
an attorney for Mr. Rothman’s office.

THE COURT: Yes, you did. | am not critical of that.
I am just saying it’s a ticklish situation here.

Your name is wnat?

MR. KAPLAN: Julian Kaplan. I am an associate of
the firm.

Cosmopolitan submitted a one-page statement that
they are relying on our brief—

THE COURT: I understand— (inaudible)—but the
State says any attorney who so— (inaudible)—and I just
want to make sure that this panel is aware of the
attorneys who you claim are involved in prolonging this
litigation.

We have two here before us this morning, but | am
not sure their firms represented Cosmopolitan and
Flushing all the way through from the beginning.

MS. GOLDSTEIN: For the pertinent point in time,
Your Honor, yes, that is true. Indeed, Your Honor, |
would like the Court to be aware that $117,500 has been
set aside by the District Court for the potential awards
of attorney’s fees as well.

THE COURT: Did you move for attorney’s fees in
the District Court?

MS. GOLDSTEIN: No, Your Honor. I had to come
up here first because they appealed the orders. I am
prepared to move—

(People talking at once overlapping, inaudible)

THE COURT: Should we remand for an award of
attorney’s fees against Mr. Rothman and Cosmo-
politan or—we—isn'‘t that a matter for trial?

MS. GOLDSTEIN: I would expect that, according
to this Court’s decisions on fees, and I am familiar with
the Court’s decisions, but not as familiar as | am with
the case law of the Court right now.

I would suggest that we perhaps may need at least
some proof to be submitted. My hourly proof, I have
been keeping contemporaneous records of that. I would
be more than happy to do research and submit a letter
memorandum to the Court on that. What we seek right
now is the vacatur of this Court’s December 20th stay.

THE COURT: Well, we are going to reserve decision,
but before we do, I understand that this Court issued a
stay pending argument of this appeal; is that correct?

MS. GOLDSTEIN: That’s correct, on December
20th, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, that stay is hereby vacated.
MS. GOLDSTEIN: Thank you, Your Honor.

THE COURT: We will reserve decision.

MR. KAPLAN: May | be heard in reply on one brief
point?

THE COURT: To what do you want to reply?

MR. KAPLAN: The statement that was just made
with regards to attorney’s fees and Flushing possession
is in, quote, “the entire”—(inaudible)

THE COURT: I will give you one minute.

MR. KAPLAN: I would just like to point out as a
matter of fact, and this is undeniable, Flushing has only
been a party to this proceeding for a grand total of 40
days. During those 46 days, we prepared an appeal, put
together an 800-page Joint Appendix, had it printed and
filed within ten days, and—

THE COURT: Counsel, are you saying that Flushing
hasn't been the moving party behind this entire seven-
year episode?

MR. KAPLAN: I am saying that absolutely, Your
Honor, and that is a contradiction of Cosmopolitan’s
conduct to Flushing that puts my client and my firm in
jeopardy. In fact, Your Honor—

THE COURT: Let me ask you a question. The
principals in Cosmopolitan, since the default began,
have been paying money on this debt to Flushing?

MR. KAPLAN: In 1981, personal guarantors, who
were sued by Flushing in the State Court and against
whom a $600,000 judgment was obtained on personal
guaranty, paid payments toward that judgment. That is
It.

THE COURT: So Flushing’s interest in keeping
Cosmopolitan on the airport is a financial interest in

getting payment on their debt, and some of that is being
paid out of revenues—of the fixed-base operator?

MR. KAPLAN: No, Your Honor, it was paid
personally out of pockets of certain individual
guarantors when we obtained a judgment on the
personal guaranty.

Flushing never appeared, did not appear or bring any
motions in the District Court. It only appeared on two
occasions as a creditor—

THE COURT: Those guarantors, were they guaran-
tors for the full amount of the debt?

MR. KAPLAN: Yes.

THE COURT: Well, then why do you care about
that?

MR. KAPLAN: Because they are completely finan-
cially incapable of paying. They made a few $6,000
payments, I think four or five. In 1981—

THE COURT: What is happening to the revenues of
the fixed-base operator right now?

MR. KAPLAN: I don't know. Your Honor, again, |
can't answer for Cosmopolitan.

THE COURT: Why are you trying to keep them on
the airport?

MR. KAPLAN: I am trying to resurrect a lease
because as long as they are in Chapter 11, even if they
are liquidated, if that lease is resurrected, a plan can be
formed or the lease can be sold and some of the
creditors will get paid.

THE COURT: What difference does it make if it is
resurrected, whether or not they are in possession or
not?

MR. KAPLAN: Your Honor—

THE COURT: If the lease legally can be resurrected,
whether they were on the airport or off the airport, it is
not going to affect them, is it?

MR. KAPLAN: I think it becomes moot once
possession is delivered to MTA.

THE COURT: While litigation is pending over whether
or not the lease is—

MR. KAPLAN: Your Honor has just vacated a stay.
That means they can put a new tenant in there to-
morrow, and I think that a State court—

THE COURT: And a new tenant would be aware
that litigation is pending if litigation was pending,
would they not?

MR. KAPLAN: A State court would be—

THE COURT: Would yor put a lis pendens on a
landlord?

MR. KAPLAN: Sure.
THE COURT: I don’t think you would call it that—

MR. KAPLAN: I don’t know if I can put a lis
pendens on, based upon this proceeding. Perhaps I can
or perhaps I can't. However, Your Honor, all | am
saying is that DOT could have obtained everything
from normal State court procedures.

lad Phd st

If a State court would have found it to give Cosmo- -
politan the right to redeem, fine. If they would have
been found to waive those rights, fine. That’s a determi-
nation the State Court should have made at District
Court. It went beyond its jurisdiction in stepping on the
State Court’s jurisdiction.

THE COURT: Who was Mr. Rothman representing
when he appeared, moved for a stay in this Court in
December?

MR. KAPLAN: Flushing Savings Bank as an inter-
venor. December 14, 1984, we were granted leave to
intervene. That following Tuesday, the [8th, it was
Cosmopolitan’s motion for a stay in which Flushing
joined. Flushing was never a party to any of the Federal
court proceedings except as a creditor, other than after
its intervention. I ask the Court to take cognizance of
that fact, even if it finds us to be delaying and, it’s beena
grand total of 40 days, that Flushing certainly moved
with dispatch in meeting this Court’s expedited appeal
schedule.

THE COURT: Reserve decision.

The Court of Appeals gave petitioner no other notice or
information concerning the subject of sanctions. Indeed, the court
itself would later, in its opinion (D-13), note that it only
“...directed the parties to file supplemental briefs addressing both
the extent of our power to award sanctions against Cosmopolitan,
Flushing and their attorneys for bad faith litigation and the best
method for calculating the amount.” Nothing was said about the
possibility or desireability of separating the substantive appeal
from the potential sanctions. Petitioner, apparently not realizing
that he was at that moment wearing two hats (Flushing’s counsel
and a potential co-sanctionee), made no effort to withdraw as
Flushing’s lawyer.

10

Indeed, when following oral argument, Respondent and
Petitioner submitted papers to the court addressing the question of
attorney's fees, Petitioner's entire approach was as Flushing’s
lawyer, and in no way at all as a potential “target” of the court's
wrath.3 Although, in his affidavit opposing the imposition of
attorney's fees, Jessel Rothman, Esq., stated that: “If and when the
Court identifies any remarks which I made [on the previous
application for a stay] that could conceivably serve as the basis for
sanctions, I respectfully request that I be given the opportunity to
offer a fulland complete response to the Court,™ no hearing of any
kind was ever held about the possible sanctions.

In its opinion/ order dated May 24, 1985,° the Court of Appeals
disposed of the substantive case before it. At the same time, and for
the first time, it made the following damning statements:

@ “the frivolous and vexatious character of the
appeal brought by Cosmopolitan and Flushing
warrants the imposition of sanctions ... against them as
well as their attorneys” (D-3);

@ the case was “... complicated by the combined
machinations of Cosmopolitan and Flushing” (D-4);

@ there was “... truly remarkable bad faith evi-
denced by Cosmopolitan and Flushing throughout this
litigation” (D-4);

3Respondent submitted an affidavit by Barrie Goldstein, Esq., dated
February 13, 1985, “in response to the request made by the Court at the oral
argument on January 23, 1985 to set forth the State's damages caused by
appellants’ frivolous and vexatious appeal.” In response thereto, Petitioner
submitted a “Supplemental Brief” and an affidavit of Jessel Rothman, Esq.,
dated March 13, 1985.

4See page 2 of Mr. Rothman’s affidavit of March 13, 1985.

5Appendix “D” hereto.

@ “During the course of these proceedings, Cos-
mopolitan, Flushing and their attorneys have
continually mischaracterized facts, prior proceedings
and the law” (D-4);

@ the bankruptcy court had “... characterized the
entire [bankruptcy] proceeding as an abuse of
process...” (D-10);

@ “Expressing grave misgivings as to Cosmo-
politan’s standing to appeal and a strong suspicion of
bad faith, [the district judge] ... stayed the bankruptcy
court order” (D-11);

@ The district judge’s order required a bond from
Cosmopolitan against sanctions which “might later be
‘assessed against Cosmopolitan and its attorneys
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1927 upon a determination that
Cosmopolitan has engaged in dilitary or vexatious
litigct‘on in this matter.’ ” (D-11);

@ the district judge “again expressed [his] ... un-
easiness with the proceedings generally, noting that the
action appeared to be a misuse of the bankruptcy
court.” (D-11);

@ “...we believe that sanctions against Cosmo-
politan, Flushing and their attorneys are appropriate.”
(D-13);

@ “Flushing’s second argument is tantamount to a
direct affront.” (D-17);

@ “... the stay would not have been granted had
Cosmopolitan and particularly Flushing not com-
pletely obfuscated the factual and legal issues. The
unnecessary complexity created by Flushing, Cosmo-
politan and their attorneys, augmented by mischarac-
terizations and omissions, misled the panel that granted

12

the stay. We will not permit the wrongdoers to profit
from their contemptible conduct. The December 20
stay cannot buffer them from the consequences of their
bad faith.” (D-19);

® One of Flushing’s claims is “dubious at best” and
one of its hopes for relief faces “mindboggling odds.”
(D-19),

@ Flushing’s characterization of a state proceeding
as for nonpayment “is pure fabrication” (D-20);

@ “Flushing’s redemption claim is completely
frivolous” and another argument is “bizarre.” (D-21);

@ Flushing’s due process argument is “{bJased on
fabrication and fantasy.” (D-22);

@ “the appeal brought by Cosmopolitan and
Flushing is entirely frivolous. It can only have been
brought for the purpose of delay. Cosmopolitan,
Flushing and their attorneys have acted vexatiously and
in bad faith. The attorneys representing Cosmopolitan
and Flushing have unreasonably multiplied the pro-
ceedings in this case and are guilty of willful abuse of
process. The parties and their attorneys should be
penalized for unnecessarily. wasting our time and
resources and the state should be compensated for
having been put to the expense of answering these
wholly frivolous appeals. *** This Court has been used,
as were the bankruptcy court and the district court, to
frustrate the rights of the State...” (D-23);

In consequence of the foregoing, the court of appeals assessed
“double cos.s against Cosmopolitan and Flushing” and
“reasonable attorneys’ fees against Cosmopolitan, Flushing and

their attorneys.” (D-23);

13

On remand, the district court was instructed only to assess the
amount of the State's attorneys’ fees “in this appeal and to assess
that amount jointly and severally against Flushing and _ its
attorneys and jointly and severally against Cosmopolitan and its
attorneys.” (D-23) “...the case is remanded... for the calculation of
sanctions.” (D24)°

In imposing these overall monetary sanctions the court of
appeals relied on five separate sources, making no differentiation
between the bases for sanctions against the parties and sanctions
against their lawyers:

Our power to award sanctions in this case derives
from severai sources. Fed. R. App. P. 38 permits us in
our discretion to award damages and doubie costs for
the prosecution of a frivolous appeal. The advisory
committee note to the rule explains that damages in such
a case should be awarded “as a matter of justice to the
appellee and as . penalty against appellant. Similarly, 28
U.S.C. 1912 (1982) gives us the discretion to award toa
prevailing party damages for delay and double costs.
Under 28 U.S.C. § 1927 (1982), “[a]ny attorney ... who so
multiplies the proceedings in any case unreasonably and
vexatiously may be required by the court to satisfy
personally the excess costs, expenses, and attorneys’ fees
reasonably incurred because of such conduct.” Finally,
where a losing litigant has acted vexatiously or in bad
faith, it is within our inherent powers to award attorneys’
fees. Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society,
421 U.S. 240, 258-59 (1975). And if we find willful abuse
of process, we may exercise our inherent power to assess

‘Petitioner understood, and now understands, that the terms of the remand
call upon the district court only to perform a mechanical function, not to
provide any procedural due process.

14

attorneys’ fees against counsel. Roadway Express, Inc.
v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752, 766 (1980).

Seeking an opportunity to answer the specific charges made and
resolved against him for the first time in the court of appeals
opinion, Petitioner filed a timely petition for rehearing. It
contended that there was no evidence before the court of appeals
that Flushing’s appeal was unwarranted, it attempted to demon-
strate that the appeal was meritorious, and it asserted that “a
rehearing is required in the interests of justice in order that Jessel
Rothman, P.C. may have an opportunity to show how its argument
and efforts on behalf of Flushing were apparently misunderstood.”

On June 27, 1985, rehearing was unanimously denied.’

Petitioner now faces an assessment of attorneys’ fees which could
go as high as $361,260.55.8

*By the time of Petitioner's petition for rehearing, Flushing had obtained new
counsel. They, too, sought rehearing, and expressly requested “a hearing to
review all evidence on the question of improper conduct and to determine which,
if any, misrepresentations or mischaracterizations have been made in any papers
filed in this proceeding, and to apportion as between Flushing and its former
counsel the responsibility for paying such attorneys’ fees...”

7See Appendix “E” annexed hereto.
8See Appendix “F” hereto, the “Conclusion” of Respondent's motion

currently pending on remand in the district court concerning the actual amount
of attorneys’ fees being sought.

15
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
Introduction

Before setting forth Petitioner’s reasons why this Court should
grant the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari—the importance of the
constitutional questions involved, and the implications of those
questions for the general administration of justice in the federal
courts—it is necessary to make several preliminary points.

Although the court of appeals cited five separate sources as bases
for assessing sanctions against Petitioner, two of them seem plainly
to be inapplicable. A/yeska did not involve sanctions against a
lawyer, and thus we consider that case as having no bearing on this
case. So, too, is 28 U.S.C. § 1912 inapplicable. First, there is some
doubt about whether the section can be used against a lawyer;?
Second, 28 U.S.C. § 1912 is limited to damages for “delay,” and the
court of appeals charged Petitioner of much more than that. Third,
28 U.S.C. § 1912 only applies when there is an “affirmance.” Here,
the court of appeals dismissed and reversed.

In its imposition of sanctions against Petitioner the court of
appeals also relied on F.R. App. P. 38, a rule silent on its face
concerning against whom damages can be assessed. Indeed, most
Rule 38 awards are imposed against the opposing party not against
opposing counsel. (See, e.g., Furbee v. Vantage Press, Inc., 464
F.2d 835 (D.C. Cir., 1972); Fluoro Electric Corp. v. Branford
Associates, 489 F.2d 320 (2 Cir., 1973); Northcross v. Board of
Education, 489 F.2d 19 (6 Cir., 1973); cert. den. 416 U.S. 962;
Clarion Corp. v. American Home Products Corp., 494 F.2d 860 (7
Cir., 1974), cert. den. 419 U.S. 870, Reh. den. 419 U.S. 1027;

%See Robert J. Martineau, “Frivolous Appeals: The Uncertain Federal
Response,” 1984 Duke Law Journal 845, 868 (1984), hereafter cited as
“Martineau.”

16

Monroe v. NLRB, 511 F.2d 611 (5 Cir., 1975); Caesar World, Inc.
v. Venus Lounge, Inc., 520 F.2d 269 (3 Cir., 1975) ).

Moreoever, the Advisory Committee note to Rule 38 cites as the
reason for the rule “justice to the appellee and as a penalty against
the appellant. ""® So it would appear that the court of appeals was
probably in error in utilizing F.R. App. P. 38 as a basis for
sanctioning Petitioner gua lawyer.'' That left only Roadway and
28 U.S.C. § 1927.

This Court’s holding in Roadway—that there is inherent power
in a federal court to impose attorneys fees against oppc »ing counsel
who have abused the processes of the courts, if there is a showing of
bad faith after adequate notice and an opportunity to be heard—is
limited in two ways which have important meaning for the instant
case. First, Roadway involved sanctions imposed by a district
court, and is thus not directly controlling precedent on the question
of whether a court of appeals possesses similar power. Second,
much of the procedural due process that Petitioner asks this Court
to consider requiring the courts of appeals to provide was provided
to the sanctioned lawyers by the district court in Roadway. (Monk
v. Roadway Express, Inc., 73 F.R.D. 411 (1977) ). Thus, that much
of Roadway which opines that “{I]ike other sanctions, attorney’s
fees certainly should not be assessed lightly or without fair notice
and an opportunity fora hearing on the record” (447 U.S. at 767) is,
strictly speaking, only dicta.

'OF_.R. App. P. 38 advisory committee note, reprinted in J. Moore, B. Ward &
J. Lucas, Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed. 1973), at 238.01 [Z] and in U.S.CS.
Court Rules (Lawyers Co-Op, 1983).

''Even if the court of appeals was correct in invoicing F.R. App. P. 38,
however, that would not change the question presented here. Indeed, if F.R.
App. P. 38 were arguably yet an additional ground for a court of appeals to
impose monetary sanctions against lawyers, there would be that much more ofa
reason to grant the instant Petition.

17

Perhaps that is why, until the Second Circuit sanctioned
Petitioner in this case, “[nJotwithstanding the clear holding in
Roadway Express, only once has a federal appeals court relied
upon the case as authority for the imposition of a sanction against
an attorney for filing a frivolous appeal.”!?

Instead, the courts rely on 28 U.S.C., § 1927, which Congress
amended after Roadway was decided in order:

to include attorney fees among the items that could be
assessed against counsel pursuant to that section. [foot-
note omitted] The report of the conference committee
managers, specifically addressing the issue of what
procedures should be followed in imposing a sanction
under the section stated: “The managers intend that
judges applying section 1927 will safeguard the rights of
an attorney who may be held in violation of the section.
Before sanctioning an attorney under section 1927, the
court is to afford the attorney a// appropriate
protections of due process available under the law.
(H.R. Rep. No. 1234, 96th Cong. 2d Sess. 8, reprinted in
1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad News 2781, 2783).!°

Although, unfortunately for Petitioner, the conference com-
mittee report failed to spell out what were “all appropriate
protections of due process available under the law,” the legislators
did know ali of the procedural due process protection that the

district court had provided, and that this Court had tacitly
approved, in Roadway.

With only that background— Roadway’ procedures in the
district court and what this Court said in its Roadway opinion,

'2Martineau, at 862.

'3Martineau, at 874.

18

and the text of the post-Roadway 28 U.S.C. § 1927 amendment,
together with that amendment’s scant but clear legislative
history—when this Court approaches the instant Petition it reads a
precedential clean slate.'4

The Important Questions of
Procedural Due Process

|. The Mathews v. Eldridge Principle

This Court’s decision in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319
(1976)—involving the Fifth Amendment’s due process clause,
which is invoked in this case—seems to have become the bedrock of
all procedural due process inquiries in its enunciation of the
principle that “(t]he fundamental requirement of due process is the
opportunity [following fair notice] to be heard ‘at a meaningful
time and in a meaningful manner.’ ” (424 U.S. at 333). As to that
“meaningful time”: “A claim to a predeprivation hearing as a
matter of constitutional right rests on the proposition that full relief
cannot be obtained ata postdeprivation hearing.” (424 U.S. at 333).

'*As to oral hearings in sanction situations, Professor Martineau (at 876, fn
177) reports that “{iJn all of the cases in which federal courts of appeals have
considered sanctions for frivolous appeals, the necessity for an oral hearing has
never been raised. When the United States Supreme Court in 1983 imposed for
the first time in many years a monetary sanction for the taking of a frivolous
appeal, it did so without hearing oral argument on the issue. See Tatum v.
Regents, 103 S. Ct. 3084 (1983).” But see also Talamini v. Allstate Ins. Co., 105
S. Ct. 1824 (1985). There, Allstate sought costs and fees from the appellant,
pursuant to this Court's Rule 49, for having to respond to a frivolous appeal.
Several things are of interest. First, this Court “afforded appellant the oppor-
tunity to respond” (105 S. Ct. 1825). Second, the Chief Justice and Justices
Rehnquist and O'Connor would have sanctioned appellant’s attorney, while
still recognizing that “freedom of access to the courts is indeed a cherished
value” (105 S. Ct. at 1825). Third, Justices Stevens, Brennan, Marshall and
Blackmun declined to impose sanctions, in large part because of the strong
value of open access to the courts. They went so far as to perceive a “strong
presumption ... against the imposition of sanctions for invoking the processes of
the law” (105 S. Ct. at 1828).

19

Over the years, regardless of whether the interest involved was
characterized as “liberty” or “property” (and we view the sanctions
imposed on, and derivately visited on, Petitioner as affecting both
(see Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) and Board of Regents v.
Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972)), this Court’s application of the Mathews
principle (even pre-Mathews: itself) has fallen into two categories:
cases dealing with the “notice” aspect, and others concerned with
“opportunity to be heard.”

Notice. Perhaps this Court’s best modern sum-up of the consti-
tutional necessity for fair notice is found in Armstrong v. Manzo,
380 U.S. 545 (1965):'5

“An elementary and fundamental requirement of due
process in any proceeding which is to be accorded
finality is notice reasonably calculated, under all the
circumstances, to apprise interested parties of the
pendency of the action and afford them an opportunity
to present their objections. [citing cases]” Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank & Tr. Co., 339 U.S. 306, 314.
Questions frequently arise as to the adequacy of a
particular form of notice in a particular case. [citing
cases] But as to the basic requirement of notice itself
there can be no doubt....'¢

\S Armstrong, a State case, involved the due process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. However, for procedural due process purposes we draw no
distinction between that amendment and the Fifth Ar ndment involved here.

'6See also Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 646 (1871); Griffin v. Griffin,
327 U.S. 220 (1946); and Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433, 437 (1971),
where this Court held that: “[wJhere a person’s good name, reputation, honor or
integrity is at stake because of what the government is doing to him, notice and
an opportunity to be heard are essential.” We shall discuss infra the potential
impact of the court of appeals, sanctions on Petitioner’s “good name,
reputation, honor and integrity.”

20

In light of these procedural due process notice requirements,
there is an extremely important constitutional question presented
by the approach taken by the Second Circuit in its sanctions against
Petitioner in this case, and taken by other circuits in similar cases: is
the lawyer’s intent and/or conduct the measure of the appeal’s
merit, or the measure of the sanction? Unfortunately, although
many lawyers are being sanctioned and those sanctions are

monetarily and professionally quite costly, and although the im-
portant constitutional value of fair notice is at stake, no clear
answer has been given by the courts of appeals or by this Court.
Professor Martineau explains the problem thusly:

The courts of appeals have often confused two distinct
issues. The first issue is whether an appeal should be
classified as frivolous because of its lack of merit.
[footnote omitted] The second issue is whether, given
that an appeal is frivolous on its merits, the conduct of
the appellant or the attorney is such that a sanction
should be imposed on one or both. [footnote omitted]
Often courts determine that an appeal is frivolous by
examining the conduct of the appellant or attorney,
rather than by looking at the merits of the appeal. [foot-
note omitted] This conduct is then used as the basis for
determining the necessity for the sanction and the type to
be imposed. [footnote omitted] This approach causes
the courts to vacillate between objective and subjective
standards and obscures the extent to which the intent of
the appellant or the attorney determines whether an
appeal is frivolous.

Even though an appeal does have some merit, it may
still be frivolous if the appellant’s conduct indicates that
his primary purpose is to delay enforcement of the judg-
ment, to cause the appellee to incur unnecessary
expense, to be vexatious, or if the conduct otherwise
demonstrates bad faith by abuse of the judicial process.
There is no case in which a court has found that an

_—

4
®
¢
Xx
.

21

appeal had merit and yet was conducted in such a way as
to call for a frivolous appeal sanction. What the courts
have done, however, is to look at the conduct of the
appellant as evidence of whether the appeal is without
merit and thus frivolous. [footnote omitted] This type of
analysis creates confusion. A frivolous appeal should be
one that has no merit when viewed objectively and
should not be defined by the beliefs or intent of the
appellant or attorney.

This does not mean, however, that the conduct of the
appellant or the attorney is irrelevant to the frivolous
appeal sanction. What it does mean is that the conduct is
significant for another purpose—to determine the
nature and extent of the sanction to be imposed. This is
the real reason the courts look to the conduct and the
intent it demonstrates. The more flagrant the conduct,
the clearer it is that the intent or motive of the person is
culpable and the larger the sanction should be. Thus, the
conduct or intent should be the measure of the sanction,
not the measure of the merit of the appeal. (Martineau at
870-871).

In other words, it is crucial for lawyers to know whether the more
important consideration for sanctions is the lack of merit of the
appeal, or the lawyers’ motives in bringing the appeal. Yet the
courts of appeals seem themselves unclear as to the answer—
thereby creating a serious problem of fair notice for potentially
sanctionable lawyers. Even worse here is that Petitioner had no
notice of any kind whatsoever of either the jurisdictional bases of
the court’s power to sanction Petitioner or of what behavior the
court of appeals was considering sanctioning him for until after it
had done so and Petitioner read the court’s decision/ opinion.

Opportunity to be heard. The corollary to fair notice, indeed the
reason for its importance, is the necessity for an opportunity to be
heard “at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner”

22

(Armstrong, supra, at 552). As this Court said in Fuentes v. Shevin,
407 U.S. 67, 82 (1972):

The right to a prior hearing has long been recognized
by this Court under the Fourteenth and Fifth Amend-
ments. Although the Court has held that due process
tolerates variances in the form of a hearing “appropri-
ate” to the nature of the case,” Mullane v. Central
Hanover Tr. Co., 339 U.S. 300, 313, 70 S. Ct. 652, 657,
94 L.Ed. 865, and “depending upon the importance of
the interests involved and the nature of the subsequent
proceedings [if any],” Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S.
371, 378, 91 S.Ct. 780, 786, 28 L.Ed.2d 113, the Court
has traditionally insisted that, whatever its form, oppor-
tunity for that hearing must be provided before the
deprivation at issue takes effect. FE. g., Bell v. Burson,
402 U.S. 535, 542, 91 S.Ct. 1586, 1591, 29 L.Ed.2d 90;
Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433, 437,91 S.Ct.
507, 510, 27 L.Ed.2d 515; Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S.
254, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25 L.Ed.2d 287; Armstrong v.
Manzo, 380 U.S. at 551, 85 S.Ct., at 1191; Mullane v.
Central Hanover Tr. Co., supra, 339 U.S. at 313, 70
S.Ct. at 656; Opp Cottn Mills v. Administrator, 312
U.S. 126, 152-153, 61 S.Ct. 524, 535-536, 85 L.Ed. 624;
United States v. Illinois Central R. Co., 291 U.S. 457,
463, 54 S.Ct. 471, 473, 478 L.Ed. 909; Londoner v. City
& County of Denver, 210 U.S. 373, 385-386, 28 S.Ct.
708, 713-714, 52 L.Ed. 1103. See In re Buffalo, 390 U.S.
544, 550-551, 88 S.Ct. 1222, 1225-1226, 20 L.Ed.2d 117.
“That the hearing required by due process is subject to
waiver, and is not fixed in form does not affect its root
requirement that an individual be given an opportunity
for a hearing before he is deprived of any significant
property interest, except for extraordinary situations
where some valid governmental interest is at stake that
justifies postponing the hearing until after the event.”
Beddie v. Connecticut, supra, 401 U.S., at 378-379, 91
S.Ct., at 786 (emphasis in original).

Re ee ee eR ee ee ee

23

Since this right to a pre-deprivation hearing has been applied in
such diverse contexts—e.g., prejudgment replevin statutes
(Fuentes), drivers’ license suspensions (Be//), “posting”
(Constantino), adoption (Armstrong), suspension from school
(Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) ), parole (Morrisey v. Brewer,
408 U.S. 471 (1972) ), final local tax assessments (Londoner v.
Denver, 210 U.S. 373 (1907) ), prejudgment wage garnishment
(Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp. of Bay View, 395 U.S. 337
(1969))—and since the Second Circuit and the few other courts of
appeals which have dealt with the matter cf sanctions against
lawyers, (e.g., Malhiot v. So. Cal. Retail Clerks Union, 735 F.2d
1133 (9 Cir., 1984) ) apparently believe that no pre-sanction
hearing or other opportunity to be heard is necessary, an
important constitutional question is presented concerning the
application of the Mathews “interest” analysis to this situation. In
considering this point it is useful to remember that as a predicate to
imposing monetary (and, though indirectly, even worse

~ professional/ethical condemnation!’) on Petitioner, the court of
appeals, without a hearing, “convicted” him and/or his client
of: bringing a frivolous and vexatious appeal; machinations; bad
faith; mischaracterizing facts, law and prior proceedings; abusing
process; delaying the case; misusing the bankruptcy court; directly
affronting the court; obfuscating the factual and legal issues;
creating complexity augmented by mischaracterizations and
omissions; making dubious and bizarre claims; fabricating and
indulging in fantasy; unreasonably multiplying the proceedings;
wasting the court’s time and resources; using the federal courts to
frustrate the rights of the state; and engaging in contemptible -
conduct.

"See, e.g., Code of Professional Responsibility, DR 1-102 (A)(4) and (5), 2-
109 (A)(2) and 7-102 (A) (5).

a

24

It is also useful to remember that in making these findings the
court of appeals lumped together the two parties and their two
lawyers, all of whom played very different roles; it failed to even
acknowledge that the district court had required the posting of a
bond against potential sanctions only by Cosmopolitan, not by
Flushing, let alone by its counsel, Petitioner here; it did not
indicate whether Petitioner was being sanctioned because of
proceedings in the state courts and/or the bankruptcy court,
and/or in the district court, and/or in the court of appeals on the
stay and/or on the appeal itself, although proceedings had been
held in all those courts, where no sanctions had been sought or
imposed; it made no effort to apportion blame, and thus the
sanctions’ weight, between the parties and the lawyers, nor
between the lawyers, despite the bankruptcy proceeding and much
of what followed having been Cosmopolitan’s, not Flushing’s,
affair; it admitted (D-13) that it was addressing the appeal’s
merits only in order to explain its decision to impose sanctions, yet
that discussion of the case’s substance in no way supported
findings like “bad faith,” “dubious” claims, “misusing the
bankruptcy court,” and much of the rest.

In sum, without revealing the jurisdictional bases of its power to
sanction Petitioner, without a hearing where Petitioner could con-
trovert what he was only later charged with, and although
apparently entertaining some doubt about its power to sanction
(see par 4 on pg. 5, supra), the court of appeals, in effect, granted
summary judgment against him on a long list of professional
derelictions, just as other circuit courts have done to other lawyers.
In Mathews, in its predecessors, and in its progeny, this Court
recognized that only after a careful analysis of the private and
public interests involved can procedural due process norms be
identified. Because the norm involved here cuts deeply into the

25

administration of the federal judicial system, an important
constitutional question is presented.

2. 28 U.S.C. § 1927

We pointed out supra that when 28 U.S.C. § 1927 was amended
to allow monetary sanctions to be imposed against lawyers, it was
expressly understood that they would receive “all appropriate
protections of due process available under the law.” Thus, the
important constitutional question is obvious, especially since §
1927 is the basic vehicle for courts of appeal imposing sanctions on
lawyers: what procedural due process are they entitled to under the
statute? This Court has never answered that question, and doing
so would provide every lower federal court in the country with a
uniform standard to apply when utilizing an important federal
statute.'§

3. Roadway Express, Inc.

We also pointed out supra that because of the very real
procedural due process rights afforded the threatened lawyers in
the Roadway district court, including “fair notice and and
opportunity for a hearing on the record” (447 U.S. at 767), the
actual holding of the case involves inherent power only when these
rights are present. Since Roadway is frequently, (but, we believe,
erroneously) cited for the proposition that such procedural rights
are required, and since a definitive answer to whether they really are
is obviously quite important, the instant case provides an oppor-

'8Subsidiary questions include: (1) whether 28 U.S.C. § 1927 contains an
implicit “bad faith” requirement and, if so, the requisite finding could be made
without a proper hearing, and (2) whether 28 U.S.C. § 1927 is penal in nature
and should thus be strictly construed (Hagerty v. Succession of Clement, 749
F.2d 217 (5 Cir., 1984).

26

tunity for this Court to clarify Roadway. So, too, is Roadway cited
(again erroneously we believe) as applicable to sanctions imposed
by a court of appeals, when in Roadway the sanctions occurred in
the district court. Since quite different considerations exist in each
court, and since it is apparently increasingly believed that Roadway
does not apply to sanctions by a court of appeals'®, the instant case
presents an opportunity for this Court to definitively answer these
important questions.

4. “Equal Protection of the Laws”

As we stated immediately supra, the literal holding of this Court
in Roadway embraces only federal district courts. Thus, closely
related to the above point is the question of whether affording
different procedural due process rights to trial versus appellate
lawyers could pass muster under that part of the Fifth Amend-
ment’s due process clause which has been held to contain “equal
protection” content. (See Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954)).

Moreover, other provisions of federal law (e.g., F.R. Civ. P. 37
(g) and 46 (c) ) expressiy allow sanctions to be imposed only after a
hearing, thereby raising the same “equal protection” question. We
do not, at the moment, offer an answer to these questions. We only
urge this Court to consider them, since they implicate important
constitutional values in the federal judicial system.

The Administration of Justice
Surely no elaboration is necessary to establish that the threat of

sanctions can weigh heavily on appellate lawyers and can “chill”
their ardor for taking appeals, especially since unlike trial lawyers

'SMartineau at 874.

27

there is nowhere they can appeal their sanctions as a matter or
right.° This is all the more so today “when there are several
different sources of authority for imposing a sanction, when there
are multiple purposes for the sanction, when varying standards are
used in judging whether an appeal is frivolous, when the relation-
ship between frivolous appeal sanctions and abusive litigation
tactics is unclear, when the sanction is imposed without notice or an
opportunity to be heard, and when the procedure varies for
initiating consideration of a sanction.”?!

Sanctioned lawyers face not only substantial money damages (as
here). Conducting litigation in bad faith, delaying, filing frivolous
appeals and the like is unethical conduct and thus sanctionable
professionally as well. (See, e.g., Code of Professional Responsi-
bility, DR 1-102 (A) (4) and (5), 2-109 (A) (2) and 7-102 (A) (5) ).

Unless a to-be-sanctioned lawyer can withdraw (which is not
easy), there can be a serious conflict of interest and thus a potential
malpractice claim. (Here, Petitioner never had an opportunity to
withdraw).

Publication of sanctions against a lawyer even in reported
decisions—let alone in professional and/or general circulation

2Professor Martineau (at 849) implies that there was an interesting reaction
in the press and among attorneys to this Court's award of a mere $500 in Tarum,
supra. See also NLRB v. Lucy Ellen, 517 F.2d 551 (7 Cir., 1975) and /n Re
Bithonev, 486 F.2d 319(1 Cir., 1973). In Flaherty v. Flaherty, 31 Cal. 3d 637, 646
P.2d 179, 183 Cal. Rptr. 508 (1982) Chief Justice Bird extensively assays the
lawyers position between the rock and the hard place.

2!Martineau at 849, footnotes omitted.

28

newspapers and magazines—can cause irreparable damage to a
well-earned, cherished reputation.”

A sanctioned lawyer will be burdened in later seeking other bar
admissions, public office, a judgeship. |

Clients suffer, too; A lawyer even subject to unknown and/ or
unknowable sanctions—let alone a lawyer in Petitioner’s shoes,
who was threatened with sanctions for the first time in his appellate
opponents brief and next by the court itself during actual oral
argument of his client’s appeal—will necessarily and prudently
keep one eye out for his own interests. And at a certain point, those
interests may be quite different from those of his client. Indeed, it
should be noted that in the instant case Petitioner still represented
Flushing even while defending itself against the court of appeals’
proposed sanctivns.

If all of the consequences which flow from today’s system of
appellate sanctioning of lawyers—financial cost, professional
discipline, potential conflicts of interest and malpractice claims,
reputational injury, and even court congestion (see the “dissent” in
Talamini, supra)—are acceptable as a matter of public policy, then
this Court should say so. That way, lawyers will know what to
expect in the federal appellate courts, and will be able to act
accordingly on their own and on their client’s behalfs. However, if
the consequences are unacceptable as a matter of public policy, all
the more reason for this Court to say so—because this problem of
sanctioning appellate lawyers is very much a fact of life today in the

2Here, the New York Law Journal, the \egal newspaper of record for the
entire profession in the Greater New York Area, prominently reported, on page
1, what the court of appeals had to say about Petitioner. See Appendix “G”
hereto.

29

federal courts, it is a growing problem, and it is becoming very
serious for the administration of justice.??

The Sixth and Seventh Amendments

In addition to the court of appeals having, in effect, taken other-
wise triable issues of fact and summarily resolved them against
Petitioner without much notice and without any hearing or other
procedural due process at all, it may also have deprived Petitioner
of other constitutional rights.

The Second Circuit has said that a claim is made in “bad faith”
when it is (1) entirely without color, and (2) made for reasons of
harassment or delay, or for other improper purposes. (Nemeroff v.
Abelson, 620 F.2d 339, 348-349 (2 Cir., 1980)). According to one
commentator,” some Courts have suggested that “a request for
attorneys’ fees under the bad faith exception is really a malicious
prosecution suit in disguise...”

If that is so, Petitioner may have possessed a right to a jury trial
pursuant to the Seventh Amendment, which has historically
guaranteed that procedure in malicious prosecution cases. (See,
e.g., Stewart v. Sonneborn, 98 U.S. 187 (1879); 5 J. Moore, J. Lucas
& J. Wicker, Moore's Federal Practice, par. 38.11[5] at fn. 12 (2d
ed.) 1980)).25

See the bibiliography set forth in the Table of Authorities, supra, which
demonstrates the considerable professional interest in and concern about the
problem of sanctioning lawyers.

*4*Comment, Nemeroff v. Abelson, Bad Faith, and Awards of Attorneys’ Fees,
128 U. Pa. L. Rev. 468, 482 (1979).

25Pre-Roadway, the Sixth Circuit concluded that federal courts lack inherent
power to impose bad faith fee sanctions because to do so would be to render a
tort judgment without a jury trial. Smoot v. Fox, 353 F.2d 830 (6 Cir., 1965),
cert. den. sub Nom. League of Women Voters v. Smoot, 384 U.S. 909 (1966).
Although in Roadway this Court decided the inherent power poirt, the Seventh
Amendment point appears to remain open.

30

Moreover, since some of the court of appeals charges against
Petitioner (“mischaracterizations,” “machinations,” “misuse of the
court,” “bad faith,” “obfuscation,” “misleading,” “omissions,”
“contemptible conduct” and the like) can be considered
tantamount to a charge of criminal contempt (See Skinner v.
White, 505 F.2d 685 (5 Cir., 1974), since the actual dollar cost of the
sanctions imposed on Petitioner could go as high as $361,260.55,
and since this Court in Muniz v. Hoffman, 422 U.S. 454 (1975)
reserved the question of whether an individual facing criminal
contempt and the possibility of a substantial fine would be entitled
to a jury trial,26 Petitioner may have possessed the right to a jury
trial pursuant to the Sixth Amendment.

In sum, the monetary sanction imposed on Petitioner by the
court of appeals could be deemed to be at least the practical
equivalent of both a punitive fine for criminal contempt and a tort
judgment for malicious prosecution, actions for which the Sixth
and Seventh Amendments require jury trials. These questions, too,
are important for the reasons set forth supra—because they raise
important issues of federal constitutional law and of public policy
properly addressed by the supervisory power of this Court.?’

26At least two courts of appeals have answered in the affirmative: Girard v.
Goins, 575 F.2d 160 (8 Cir., 1978) and Douglass v. First National Realty Corp.,
543 F.2d 894 (D.C. Cir., 1976).

27[t is interesting to note that both federal contempt powers—18 U.S.C. § 401
and F.R. Crim. P. 42—allow a summary finding of contempt only when the
conduct to be punished occurs in open court and in the immediate view of the
judge, and even then only if the contempt finding is necessary to protect the
dignity of the court, (Johnson v. Mississippi, 403 U.S. 212 (1971)).

31
CONCLUSION

In a recent report—“Procedural Rights of Attorneys Facing
Sanctions”—the Committee on Federal Courts of the Association
of the Bar of the City of New York made a strongly worded
recommendation which serves as a perfect note on which to
conclude this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari:

In the face of [the] ... rapid expansion of the authority
for and use of sanctions, there has been relatively little
consideration given to the procedural guarantees which
must accompany the imposition of sanctions.

***

It is imperative, in our view, that Bench and Bar
undertake a prompt and searching inquiry into the pro-
cedural safeguards which must be observed prior to the
imposition of sanctions.28

Petitioner would add only that this Court could, and should,
take the lead in that “searching inquiry” by granting this Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari.

Submitted by,

HENRY MARK HOLZER

Attorney for Petitioner

c/o Brooklyn Law School

250 Joralemon Street

Brooklyn, N.Y. 11201
September 16, 1985 (718) 780-7985

The Record of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, p. 313,
314 (1985).

A-|
APPENDIX “A”

SUMMARY OF ARGUML.sT

Both appellants had rights and remedies available to them
individually and jointly under State Law to remedy any defaults
declared by the State Court under a lease dated October 5, 1975.

By its order of April 10, 1984, as affirmed on appeal by the
District Court on December 7, 1984, the Federal Judicial system
precluded Flushing Savings Bank and Cosmopolitan Aviation
Corp. from exercising their rights and remedies under State Law.

Both the Bankruptcy Court, and through affirmance the District
Court violated 28 U.S.C. 1481 in permitting said orders to remain
effective and further, to the extent the Bankruptcy Court, as
affirmed by the District Court had discretion to exercise equitable
powers under I! U.S.C. § 105(a), they abused said discretion.

It was in the interest of creditors of Cosmopolitan Aviation
Corp. and Cosmopolitan Aviation Corp. itself, that the status quo
created by 11 U.S.C. § 362(a) should have remained ir effect until
Flushing Savings Bank completed the appellate process in the State
Courts.

The conduct of the State agencies, to wit, the Department of
Transportation (DOT) and its predecessor in interest Metro-
politan Transportation Authority (MTA), when taken in its totality
in both the State Court and the Federal Court, constituted a denial
to Flushing Savings Bank of procedural due process in violation of
the 14th Amendment of the United States Constitution.

B-|

APPENDIX “B”

Towards this legitimate end of prevailing on the appeal Jessel
Rothman, P.C., on behalf of Flushing, made, at the very least, a
good faith argument. In hindsight we realize that Flushing’s main
argument may have been obscured by the prolixity believed
necessary to fully set forth Flushing’s contention. Nonetheless, it
was there.

Flushing’s basic argument was that the Bankruptcy Court should
have abstained from awarding possession of the property to the
Department of Transportation until the New York State courts
passed on the merits of Flushing’s arguménts that under New York
State law, the lease between Cosmopolitan and the State should be
resurrected. Flushing sought to support this argument by
describing its state law arguments to this Court. It is respectfully
submitted that both facets of this argument were colorable.

Flushing’s “abstention” argument was most strongly supported
by I1 U.S.C. § 105(a) which has been construed to provide that an
order awarding possession of leased premises should only be
granted pursuant to I! U.S.C. § 105(a) under the extraordinary and
compelling circumstances. This proposition is grounded on the
belief that comity dictates that, generally speaking, state courts
should determine issues respecting the possession of real property.

This Court has found that the facts of this case warranted a
finding that extraordinary and compelling circumstances did exist
to justify the April 10, 1984 Order by the Bankruptcy Court. While ~
Rothman does not agree with that finding, he is nor contesting it in
this petition. However, Rothman respectfully disputes the Court’s
further finding that Rothman’s argument that this case did not fall
into an exceptional category was frivolous. As noted in its previous
submissions to the Court on behalf of Flushing, the case law

B-2

construing I1 U.S.C. § 105(1) [sic] and the judicial gloss placed on
that statute was scant, to say the least. There was no legal authority
which clearly defined—and thus put Mr. Rothman on notice—as
to which situations fell into the exceptional category of “extra-
ordinary and compelling circumstances.” It is respectfully sub-
mitted that penalizing Mr. Rothman for arguing that this case did
not fall into an undefined exceptional category is unduly harsh.

As the Court noted, this abstention argument is ultimately
premised on the proposition that Flushing had state law rights with
respect to the property that could be protected in state court. This
Court, concluded that Flushing did not possess such rights (pp. 20-
23) and bolstered this finding by noting that “Flushing has been
unable to convince any court so far that it has a possessory interest
in the premises” (p. 23). With respect to the latter finding, it appears
that the Court is under the misapprehension that, prior to
Flushing’s appeal, state courts held on the merits that Flushing had
no interest with respect to the property. Quite simpiy, that is not the
case. Thus far, none of the adverse decisions issued by the state
courts have dealt with Flushing’s substantive rights respecting the
property. Rather these determinations barring Flushing’s inter-
vention in the state court proceeding—to the extent they were
explained—were apparently premised solely on procedural con-
siderations.

Flushing’s argument on the merits, if it had the opportunity to
make it, would have proceeded as follows:

The actual “courtroom” experience of Jessel Rothman, P.C., is
that the Landlord-Tenant Courts in the State of New York have
frequently exercised unbounded discretion in situations where
tenants have defaulted and judgments have been entered and
warrants issued.

B-3

The power of a Court to exercise such discretion in this case
would derive from both common law and statute—New York Real
Property Actions and Proceedings Law, (NYRPAPL) § 749(3), as
well as pre-existing case law-—which provide that a warrant can be
vacated and the lease resurrected.

In Jones v. Gianferante, 305 N.Y. 135, 11 N.E.2d 419 (1953), the
New York State Court of Appeals expressed its approval of the
Anpellate Division’s giving

the tenant the benefit of the rule or practice in equity
which relieves against...forfeitures of valuable lease
terms when default in notice has not prejudiced the land-
lord, and has resulted from honest mistake, or similar
excusable fault.

Id. at 138.

Although the facts in Jones, supra, are not the same as in the case
at bar, a Landlord-Tenant Court could, on the basis of basic
proposition set forth therein, find that Flushing, as assignee, (who
was not a party in the Landlord-Tenant proceeding) be afforded the
opportunity to cure all defaults and take the resurrected lease, and
assign it for value, so that it could recoup its investment, (used to
construct the valuable building on the property) as /ong as it then
made the Landlord whole.

The firm believed ii. the basis of its extensive experience in
landlord/tenant matters that Landlord-Tenant Courts would
strain to avoid an absolute forfeiture where:

1. The tenant or someone on its behalf tenders enough
money to make the Landlord whole.

2. The lease is a valuable commercial lease which if lost
will cause the tenant, or a mortgagee/ assignee the

B-4

complete and unrecoupable loss of its business or
li. vestment.

3. The forfeiture of the lease will simultaneously give the
landlord a substantial windfall in that it may re-rent
the premises for a substantially higher rent than that
under the terminated lease.

Were Flushing to reappear in State Court, it was counsel’s belief
that it could—not necessarily would, but cou/d—establish this
three-part predicate:

We believed that under this scenario there was a reasonable
chance that a Landlord-Tenant court would reinstate the lease if it
found any colorable statutory authority to do so. The firm believed
it had both, and further felt that Judge Mishler’s Order of
December 7, 1984, prejudiced, if not destroyed, the chances of the
above occurring:

The major obstacle, of course, was the warrant, dated June 2,
1982, since the issuance of a warrant annuls the relation of landlord
and tenant. (NYRPAPL § 749 subd. 3). That very same statute,
however, gives the Court the power to vacate the warrant “for good
cause shown”, at any time prior to its execution. NYRPAPL § 749
sub.3. In fact, it was a fairly recent (1975) amendment to the statute
which codified the pre-1975 case law to extend the Court’s power to
permit it to vacate not only a pre-warrant default, but the warrant
itself after it was issued. See, e.g. Novick v. Hall, 70 Misc.2d 641,
334 N.Y.2d 698, (Civil Ct. of the City of N.Y., N.Y. County, Trial
Term Part 49, 19720. In Novick, supra, once the Court found that it
had the power to vacate the warrant by comparing the innocent
landlord’s potential prejudice to the hardship of the party seeking
to vacate the warrant.

Counsel, in good faith, believed that a Landlord/Tenant Court
in this matter could be induced to consider the relative hardships to

B-5

Flushing and the landlord upon an application by Flushing to
vacate the warrant upon a tender of all sums due the landlord:

IF WARRANT IS NOT VACATED
Flushing loses its only security for
$500,000 loan to a now defunct corporation.

Landlord relets premises for 5 to 10 times
the monthly rental in the Cosmopolitan lease.

IF WARRANT IS VACATED
Flushing may recoup most or all of
its investment.

Landlord is made current for all arrears,
costs, expenses.

On the basis of these facts and NYRPAPL § 749(3) and its
common law antecedents, counsel believed, in good faith, that
Flushing was not foreclosed from some form of success in the state
courts, as long as there had been no execution of the warrant and
Cosmopolitan was still in possession.

RPAPL § 751(1) is only one of the available procedure for
Flushing in the event the Landlord/Tenant Court is inclined to
vacate the warrant under RPAPL § 749(3). Flushing’s inadvertant
(but now apparent) heavy reliance on 6751(1) may have given this
Court the notion that Flushing believed that RPAPL § 751(1) was
the only way it could succeed in State Court if it vacated the warrant -
pursuant to § 749(3). Perhaps the Court, then finding that RPAPL
§ 751(1) was not available to Flushing, felt that there

B-6

We believed that if the Landlord/Tenant Court exercised its
power to vacate the warrant, Flushing could have been given an
opportunity, either on its own, through Cosmopolitan’s trustee, or
otherwise, to cure the defaults, make the landlord whole and take
possession. In every case where the warrant was vacated pursuant
to NYRPAPL §749(3), the lease was reinstated, and nor always by
the statutory vehicle redemption of NYRPAPL § 751(1), but
frequently in the discretion of the Landlord/Tenant Court.

Thus, in pursuing an avenue by which counsel sought to protect
the rights of its client, Flushing’s counsel asked itself not whether
the Landlord-Tenant Court could necessarily be statutorily and
unequivocally compelled to vacate the warrant and resurrect the
lease, but whether the Landlord-Tenant Court might be inclined to
permit such resurrection if the Landlord were made whole, and if
there was One or more reasonable statutory processes which the
Landlord-Tenant Court, if so inclined, could follow to accomplish
the resurrection of the lease, thus enabling Flushing to recoup its
investment.

It also appeared to counsel that the warrant could be vacated
upon dismissal of the original Landlord-Tenant proceeding under
CPLR 3211(a)(10), for absence of a necessary party. As appears
from CPLR 3211(e), subdivision (10) is one of the three sub-
divisions of CPLR 3211(a) which is never waived. It can be raised

any time, even on or after appeal, and by any party (even if not
raised below) or by the Court. Figari v. New York Telephone
Company, 32 A.D.2d 434, 303 N.Y.S.2d 245, (2d Dept., 1969).

It was certainly reasonable to submit to a State Court that at the
time of the trial of this action when the issues of whether the
defaults MTA alleged were litigated—the very defaults which
MTA claimed Flushing lost its right to possession by failing to cure
within 30 days—Flushing was a necessary party under CPLR

B-7

321 1(ay{ 10).

If Flushing were successful on that issue, the judgment of
eviction, and of course, the warrant, would be vacated, ab initio, as
the complaint would be dismissed. CPLR 3211(a)(10); Figari v.
New York Telephone, supra.

As counsel was seeking only to protect whatever chances
Flushing had in State Court to recoup its investment by asking a
Landlord-Tenant Court to vacate the warrant either under:

(a) RPAPL § 749 subd. (3);
(b) CPLR 321 1(a)(10); or

(c) the theory that the entry of the judgment exceeded the limited
power granted

the Landlord-Tenant Court by the order vacating the automatic
stay, when it learned of the Order of Judge Mishler, which
completely by-passed the State Court by ordering delivery of
possession by the United States Marshall, Flushing had to appeal
that order because it directly prejudiced Flushing. It virtually, if not
absolutely, assured that none of the scenarios described above
would take place.

Although theoretically the harm might not be literally
“irreparable”, (in that if Cosmopolitan’s Lease were resurrected,
any new tenant could be ousted, having taken possession subject to
Cosmpolitan’s rights) in the “real world”, it would be so much more
difficult for Flushing to induce a Landlord-Tenant Court to
resurrect a lease where there is a new (ostensibly innocent) tenant in
possession and operating a business, than it would be for Flushing
to induce resurrection of Cosmopolitan’s lease with Cosmopolitan
in possession.

iia

B-8

Effectively, as a result of the then imminent ramifications of
Judge Mishler’s Order, no longer could the Landlord-Tenant
Court reconcile a resurrection of the lease on the ground that the
Landlord is made whole and that no one would be hurt. There
would be a new tenant who would necessarily have to suffer if the
Landlord-Tenant Court is to vacate the warrant and resurrect the
lease.

For example, in Oppenheim v. Spike, 107 Misc.2d 55,427 N.Y.S.
2d 826 (App. Term, Ist Dept. 1980) where the Court found an un-
equivocal “right and power of the Court to restore a wrongfully
removed tenant to possesion of a premises, even after the execution
of a warrant under proper circumstances,” it refused to put the
tenant back into possession where another tenant had taken
possession.

Although the Court left the parties to the remedy of money
damages for wrongful eviction, this would be a more difficult
process for Flushing hereim, and counsel had good reason to try to
preserve Flushing’s ability to obtain possession, if possible, as a
shorter, more expeditious and less costly process than trying to oust
a new tenant or to proceed to determine monetary damages.

Therefore, Flushing was within all the perspectives of the reality
of Landlord-Tenant Courts, and the discretion exercised in such
courts, severely prejudiced by the Order of Judge Mishler and the
appeal therefrom—as well as the application for the stay—was
taken in good faith, and solely to try to preserve Flushing’s
position—whatever it may have been—in the State Courts.

C-|

APPENDIX “C”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

X
In re:
COSMOPOLITAN AVIATION CORP.,
Debtor,
—against—
NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION,
Appellee.
X

Oral Argument held at
U.S. Court of Appeals for the 2nd Circuit
The United States Courthouse
40 Centre Street
New York, New York
January 23, 1985
BEFORE: ELLSWORTH A. VAN GRAAFEILAND,
THOMAS J. MESKILL,
RALPH K. WINTER,
Circuit Judges

***K

r)
'
Nm

THE COURT: Did you go to the Court of Appeals on that?

MR. KAPLAN: No, Your Honor. We were presently waiting for
a decision from the Appellate Term.

THE COURT: You never argued an appeal in the New York
Cout of Appeals on behalf of Flushing?

MR. KAPLAN: Yes, Your Honor, we did.
THE COURT: Then why are you saying you didn't?

MR. KAPLAN: Because it was a different appeal. We first
moved to intervene—

THE COURT: Let me tell you something. You know that your
opponents have asked for an award under Section 1927. That’s one
of the issues in this case. Remember that.

MR. KAPLAN: May I clarify this point because there is a vital
distinction. Because of Cosmopolitan’s judgment, the landlord-
tenant judgment was on appeal, we moved to intervene at the
appellate level. That was denied. We went to the Court of Appeals,
and the Court of Appeals affirmed that denial and said that it

C-3
CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons, this Court should affirm the district
court order awarding the premises to the State and award the State
attorney's fees pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1927.

Dated: New York, New York
January 14, 1985

Respectfully submitted,
ROBERT ABRAMS
Attorney General of the
State of New York
Attorney for Appellee
the New York State
Department of Transportation

LITIGATION BUREAU:
RICHARD G. LISKOV
BARRIE L. GOLDSTEIN
Assistant Attorneys General

Of Counsel

APPENDIX “D”
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FoR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—

No. 794— August Term, 1984
(Argued: January 23, 1985 Decided: May 24, 1985)

Docket Nos, 84-5121, 85-5005, 85-5007

_

i ei

IN RE COSMOPOLITAN AVIATION CORP.,
Debtor.

eo
=—_oorr

COSMOPOLITAN AVIATION CORP.,
Debtor-Appellant,

FLUSHING SAVINGS BANK,
Intervenor, Appellee Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

NEw YorRK STATE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
Appellee, Appellant Cross-Appellee.

<o-ooe

Before:

VAN GRAAFEILAND, MESKILL and WINTER, Circuit
Judges.

Cosmopolitan Aviation Corporation and Flushing
Savings Bank appeal from an order of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of New York,
Mishler, J., which affirmed an order of the United States
Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York,
Parente, J., directing Cosmopolitan Aviation Corporation

4051

D-2

tu turn over to the New York State Department of Trans-
portation possession of certain premises. The State ap-
peals from an order of the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of New York, Altimari, .7., which
granted Flushing Savings Bank’s motion for an extension
of time in which to file a notice of appeal from Judge
Mishler’s order.

Appeal of Judge Mishler’s order dismissed as to both
Cosmopolitan Aviation Corporation and Flushing Savings
Bank. Judge Altimari’s order reversed. Double costs
and attorneys’ fees assessed jointly and severally against
Cosmopolitan Aviation Corporation and its attorneys and
against Flushing Savings Bank and its attorneys. Re-
manded to the district court fo) the calculation of attor-
neys’ fees.

oO
— oor

BRUCE O. Karp, New York, New York (Abra-
ham Backenroth, Harvis & Zeichner, New
York City, of counsel), for Appellant
Cosmopolitan Aviation Corp.

JULIAN KAPLAN, Mineola, New York (Jessel
Rothman, Lisa J. Rinaidi, Mineola, New
York, of counsel), for Intervenor Flushing
Savings Bank.

BARRIE L. GOLDST) N, Assistant Attorney
General, State of New York (Robert
Abrams, Attorney General, Richard G.
Liskov, Assistant Attorney General, State
of New York, New York City, of counsel),
for Appellee New York State Department

of Transportation.

woo
——— Ss

4052

D-3
MESKILL, Circuit Judge:

Cosmopolitan Aviation Corporation (Cosmopolitan )
and Flushing Savings Bank (Flushing) appeal from an
order entered in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, Mishler, J., which affirmed
an order of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the
Eastern District of New York, Parente, J., directing Cos-
mopolitan to turn over possession of certain premises at
Republic Airport in Farmingdale, New York to the New
York State Department of Transportation (State). The
State appeals from an order entered in the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of New York,
Altimari, J., which extended the time, pursuant to Fed.
R. App. P. 4(a) (5), for Flushing to file a notice of appeal
from Judge Mishler’s order.

We hold that Cosmopolitan is without standing to
appeal the bankruptcy court order. We also hold that the
trial judge abused his discretion in granting Flushing an
extension and, therefore, that Flushing failed to file a
timely notice of appeal. Accordingly, we reverse the order
granting Flushing an extension and we dismiss this ap-
peal as to both Cosmopolitan and Flushing. Furthermore,
the frivolous and vexatious character of the appeal
brought by Cosmopolitan and Flushing warrants the im-
position of sanctions in the form of double costs and attor-
neys’ fees against them as well as against their attorneys.
We intend the award of fees in favor of the State to be in
the nature of compensatory damages. Therefore, we re-
mand this action to the district court and instruct that
court to ascertain the amount of the State’s reasonable
attorneys’ fees and to assess that amount jointly and
severally against Flushing and its attorneys and jointly
and severally against Cosmopolitan and its attorneys to

4053

D4

compensate the State for the cost of defending against this
action in the federal courts.

BACKGROUND

This case began as a simple dispute between the
State as landlord, and its tenant, Cosmopolitan.’ It has,
however, been inordinately complicated by the combined
machinations of Cosmopolitan and Flushing. The dispute
and the legal issues raised do not warrant the space
necessary to convey adequately the truly remarkable bad
faith evidenced by Cosmopolitan and Flushing throughout
this litigation. During the course of these proceedings,
Cosmopolitan, Flushing and their attorneys have continu-
ally mischaracterized facts, prior proceedings and the
law. It has been no mean task to pick through the volu-
minous record only to find that the State’s presentation
has been essentially and consistently unbiased and bal-
anced, in complete contrast to the actions of Cosmopolitan
and Flushing.

In October 1975, Cosmopolitan entered into a lease
under which it took possession of approximately forty
acres at Republic Airport, a general aviation facility in
Farmingdale owned by the State. The lease was for a
term of fifteen years, from Octower 1975 to October 1990,
with an option to renew for ten years. In addition to
requiring monthly payment of a base rent and a percent-
age of revenue, the lease obligated Cosmopolitan, inter
alia, to construct a hangar within a specified time limit

1 The original lessor was the New York Metropolitan Transpor-
tation Authority (MTA). In June 1982, the New York legislature
transferred ownership of Republic from the MTA to the New
York Department of Transportation. The identity of the actual
owner/lessor at any particular time is of no consequence to this
appeal. Hence we refer to the State throughout as the lessor.

4054

D-5

and in accordance with plans approved in advance by the
State, to request and receive written approval prior to
conducting air taxi or charter operations, to keep and
maintain accurate books and records of its operations at
the airport and to make those books and records as well
as certified financial statements, external audits and in-
come tax returns available to the State.

The lease also provided that if Cosmopolitan were to
continue in default of any or all of its obligations for
thirty days after written notice of default from the lessor,
the State could terminate the agreement on five days
written notice. In the event of such termination, the
lessor was obligated to pay to Cosmopolitan, after deduct-
ing all amounts due to the State as lessor, an amount
equal to the cost of improvements made by the lessee in
accordance with the terms and conditions of the lease
(the buy-back provision).

In or about September 1976, the State consented in
writing to Cosmopolitan’s mortgage and assignment of its
interest in the lease to Flushing. The consent outlined the
conditions Flushing would have to satisfy before it would
be entitled to take possession of the premises: it would
have to cure any defaults; it would have to do so within
the period permitted under the lease, i.e., within thirty
days following notice of default, and it would have to
obtain the consent of the State which would not unreason-
ably be withheld.

In late 1977 and 1978, Cosmopolitan defaulted on all
of its previously listed obligations. Attempts at informal
resolution having proved unavailing, the State served on
Cosmopolitan, with a copy to Flushing, a notice of default
dated June 11, 1979. The defaults remained uncured.
Flushing took no timely action to satisfy any of the

4055

D-6
conditions required before it could take possession of the
premises. In August 1979, the State notified Cosmopoli-
tan in writing, with a copy to Flushing, that the lease
would terminate on September 5, 1979 and that Cosmo-
politan should surrender the premises on that date. Cos-
mopolitan refused to comply. Consequently, the State
instituted a suinmary proceeding in the state District
Court of the County of Suffolk, Second District to recover
possession. The State did not notify Flushing of the suit.

Trial began in June 1981 and progressed slowly and
sporadically. Nine trial days later, in August 1981,
Cosmopolitan began its defense case. On August 11,
1981, Cosmopolitan filed a Chapter 11 petition in the
United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District
of New York, which automatically stayed the state court
litigation. The State moved successfully in the bankruptcy
court to vacate the stay. The bankruptcy court order,
however, also prohibited the State from enforcing any
favorable state court judgment absent a further order
from the bankruptcy court. The state court trial resumed,
progressing even more slowly than before. Post-trial
briefs were finally submitted in late April 1982.

Although never formally notified, Flushing had been
aware of the State’s summary dispossess proceedings since
at least December 1981. Flushing sought no involvement
of any kind, however, until March 1982. At that time it
sued the State for declaratory and monetary relief pursu-
ant to the buy-back provision of Cosmopclitan’s lease. At |
no time during this critical period did Flushing assert a
right to possession of the premises either in this action
or in the underlying possession proceeding. The State
removed Flushing’s action to the bankruptcy court where
the suit has remained dormant.

4056

D-7

The state trial court handed down its decision in the
summary proceeding in May 1982. Finding that Cos-
mopolitan had failed to cure eight material defaults under
the lease—only one of which related to nonpayment of
rent—the court held that the lease had terminated on
September 5, 1979 and that Cosmopolitan had thereafter
wrongfully remained in possession. Final judgment was
entered on June 2, 1982 adjudging the State to be entitled
to possession, ordering the issuance of a warrant of evic-
tion against Cosmopolitan, its personnel and affiliates and
awarding the State $176,426.44 but not precluding it from
seeking any additional amounts later found to be owing.

Armed with its unequivocal state court judgment, the
State returned to the bankruptcy court on June 3, 1982
seeking to have Cosmopolitan liquidated, to have the pro-
ceeding converted from a Chapter 11 toa Chapter 7 action
and to have a trustee appointed to oversee the liquidation,
to conduct an audit and to restore possession to the State.
By order dated June 24, the bankruptcy court appointed
an operating trustee but, on Flushing’s request, refused
to convert the action. Flushing informed the court that
it was engaged in negotiating a potential refinancing deal
with Cosmopolitan.

On or about June 12, 1982, with the trustee’s ap-
proval, Cosmopolitan appealed the trial court decision to
the New York Supreme Court, Appellate Term. While
aware of the appeal, Flushing did not attempt to inter-
vene during the ten month period of the appeal’s pendency.

In November 1982, the bankruptcy court sua sponte
issued an order to show cause why it should not convert
the Chapter 11 proceeding to a Chapter 7 proceeding or
dismiss pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §1112(b) (1982). At

4057

ee eee eS

D-8

the January 25, 1983 hearing, Cosmopolitan and the trus-
tee argued that the bankruptcy court should not act until
the appellate term decided Cosmopolitan’s appeal. The
bankruptcy court acquiesced but also ordered that a rehab-
ilitation or liquidation plan be filed by March 1, 1983.
The court acknowledged that the lease, if reinstated, would
constitute a valuable asset. But it was becoming increas-
ingly evident that even with the lease, Cosmopolitan would
be in very dire financial straits.

In April 1983, the appellate term affirmed the trial
court judgment and Cosmopolitan appealed to the New
York Supreme Court, Appellate Division. In early
November 1983, the trustee informed the bankruptcy court
that Cosmopolitan was unable to meet its current operat
ing expenses, incapable of settling its pre-petition obliga-
tions and incapable of curing its defaults—even if the
lease was resurrected. A full evidentiary hearing was
held in the bankruptcy court on December 12, 1983, ap-
proximately two and one-half years after Cosmopolitan
filed its petition and a year and one-half after the State
filed its initial motion to convert. Flushing participated,
appearing through one of its attorneys, and urged the
court to again forestall action and to await the imminent
decision of the appellate division, hinting that Flushing
might be interested in putting together a plan with Cos-
mopolitan if the lease was reinstated.

It became clear at the December 12 hearing, if indeed
it had not been before, that Cosmopolitan had failed to
seriously attempt to rehabilitate, despite a time frame that _
had been extended well beyond the norm. Moreover, it
was obvious that, even given the opportunity, Cosmopol-
itan could not cure its lease defaults. Furthermore, testi-
mony revealed a veritable web of closely related corpora-

4058

D-9

tions as well as some plainly suspicious corporate shuffing,
including the transfer of certain operations to a newly
created Delaware corporation owned and controlled by
Peter Garrambone, who with George Garrambone owned
and controlled: Cosmopolitan and its affiliates. Evasive
testimony and oblique legal arguments combined to imbue
the transcript with a palpable aura of bad faith.

From the bench at the close of argument in the
bankruptcy court, the court ordered that Cosmopolitan
be continued as a Chapter 11 debtor, that operations cease
the following day, December 13, and that the trustee take
all steps necessary to liquidate the company and to mar-
shal the assets. Considerations of time and money dictated
the court’s decision not to convert the proceeding to a
Chapter 7. Conversion, which would have required the
appointment of a new trustee, would have produced fur-
ther delays and would have placed an additional drain
on the estate’s remaining assets.

The judge’s written order, filed December 22, 1983,
reiterated the state court holding that the lease had ex-
pired on September 5, 1979 and stated that, in any event,
Cosmopolitan could not cure its substantial defaults and
was not reasonably likely to rehabilitate. The court
ordered the estate continued for the sole purpose of liqui-
dating its assets and not for the purpose of continuing
the debtor as an operating entity. It ordered that Cosmo-
politan’s business operations should cease on December 13.

The bankruptcy court’s December 1983 order was
never appealed. In fact it seems to have been completely
ignored. When we heard oral argument in this case on
January 23, 1985, Cosmopolitan was still operating at
Republic Airport.

4059

D-10

The trustee exhibited no discernable inclination to
liquidate Cosmopolitan. In late February 1984, the State
applied for an order to compel the trustee to at least
halt Cosmopolitan’s commerial flight operations. At
about the same time, the —,»allate division affirmed the
judgment holding that the lease had expired. At the
suggestion of the bankruptcy court, the State moved to
completely vacate the modified stay and obtain possession.
Because the motion addressed only the State’s right to
possession, Flushing was not served. Flushing’s attorney
concedes, however, that Flushing had actual notice.

At the hearing on March 15, the court expressed its
displeasure with the trustee’s performance, characterized
the entire proceeding as an abuse of process and made
clear its intention to finally end the litigation. By an
unfortunate twist of fate, the court signed Cosmopolitan’s
rather than the State’s proposed order, vacating the stay
but sending the parties back to litigate in the state courts.

The State applied for resettlement, urging the court
to order the trustee to surrender the premises directly
to the State. Describing the action as “tantamount to
excessive, vexatious litigation,” J. App. at 169, the bank-
ruptcy court granted the State’s application and, by order
dated April 10, 1984, directed that possession of the
premises be turned over to the State no later than April
20, 1984. The court refused to stay its order pending
appeal. Flushing had actual notice of the court’s deter-
mination prior to final entry of the order but it entered
no objection. ;

Cosmopolitan alone filed a notcie of appeal from the
April 10 order. Purporting to represent the interests of
the trustee and Flushing as well as its own, Cosmopolitan

4060

D-11

sought a stay on the ground that it was seeking to appeal
the state court decision to the New York Court of Appeals.
Expressing grave misgivings as to Cosmopolitan’s stand-
ing to appeal and a strong suspicion of bad faith, J udge
Mishler, by order dated April 16, 1984, stayed the bank-
ruptey court order. Judge Mishler’s order was specifically
conditioned on the deposit of $100,000 on behalf of Cos-
mopolitan to cover post-petition rent due as well as any
damages, costs and attorneys’ fees that might later be
“assessed against Cosmopolitan and its attorneys pursu-
ant to 28 U.S.C. § 1927 upon a determination that Cos-
mopolitan has engaged in dilatory or vexatious litigation
in this matter.” J. App. at 537-38.

On April 27, the State asked the district court to
modify its order to halt the flight operations of Cosmopol-
itan and its affiliated companies. Reiterating its doubts
about Cosmopolitan’s standing, the court again expressed
its uneasiness with the proceedings generally, noting that
the action appeared to be a misuse of the bankruptcy
court. Standing by its decision to maintain the status
quo, however, the district court refused to halt the un-
authorized flights. The court concluded that the State
had failed to show either irreparable harm or that the
balance of hardships tipped in its direction. We affirmed
the May 23, 1984 ruling by unpublished order. Jn re
Cosmopolitan Aviation Corp., No. 84-5037 (2d Cir. July
19, 1984). Meanwhile, on May 16, the appellate division
had granted Cosmopolitan leave to appeal to the New York
Court of Appeals.

Several months earlier, Flushing had begun a some-
what curious and certainly belated campaign to collater-
ally attack the bankruptcy court’s liquidation order. In
December 1983, Flushing moved in the appellate division

4061

D-12

to intervene in Cosmopolitan’s appeal claiming that as an
interested party its rights could be adversely affected
by the June 1982 state district court judgment. The
appellate division denied Flushing’s application. In March
1984, Flushing moved to intervene in the state district
court to set aside the June 1982 judgment. That applica-
tion was denied in May 1984. Flushing appealed to the
appellate term and that appeal is apparently still pending.
Flushing then moved to intervene before the New York
Court of Appeals where Cosmopolitan’s appeal was await-
ing decision. In July 1984, that application was also
denied.

_ In November 1984, the New York Court of Appeals
affirmed the June 1982 judgment of the state district
court. By order to show cause, the State requested
vacatur of the federal district court’s April 16 stay.
When Flushing and Cosmopolitan appeared before the
district court on December 7, 1984, Flushing for the first
time claimed a right to possession of the premises and
alleged that its appeal then pending before the appellate
term could ultimately result in a reversal of the June
1982 decision and the revival of the lease. Unconvinced,
Judge Mishler by order dated that same day affirmed the
April 10 order of the bankruptcy court, dismissed Cos-
mopolitan’s appeal and ordered Cosmopolitan and all other
parties claiming a right to possession to turn over pos-
session on or before December 14, 1984.

Cosmopolitan filed its notice of appeal of Judge
Mishler’s order on December 12, 1984. It also moved to -
stay enforcement of the district court order pending ap-
peal. Flushing did not at that time file a notice of appeal.
It did, however, file a motion to intervene in the district
court which Judge Altimari granted on December 14. Both

4062

D-13
Cosmopolitan and Flushing appeared before us to argue
for a stay. We, mistakenly as it turns out, granted a stay
on December 20, 1984 and expedited the appeal.

On January 18, 1985, Flushing filed a notice of ap-
peal of Judge Mishler’s December 7 order. It also filed a
motion seeking an extension of time in which to file a
notice of appeal pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 4(a) (5).
Judge Altimari granted the motion and the State imme-
diately appealed. That appeal was also expedited and
consolidated with Cosmopolitan and Flushing’s appeal.

We heard argument on January 23. Relying com-
pletely on Flushing, Cosmopolitan neither submitted a
separate brief nor favored us with an oral presentation.
Indeed, counsel for Cosmopolitan was totally unprepared
to respond to our questions. At the close of argument, we
vacated our previous stay of the December 7 district
court order. We also directed the parties to file supple-
mental briefs addressing both the extent of our power to
award sanctions against Cosmopolitan, Flushing and their
attorneys for bad faith litigation and the best method for
calculating the amount.

DISCUSSION

For the reasons articulated below, we dismiss Cos-
mopolitan’s appeal for lack of standing and we dismiss
Flushing’s appeal for failure to file a timely notice of
appeal. Having determined that we lack jurisdiction to
decide the merits of this case, we address them solely to
explain why we believe that sanctions against Cosmo-
politan, Flushing and their attorneys are appropriate.
See Hastings v. Maine-Endwell Central School District,
676 F.2d 893, 897-98 (2d Cir. 1982).

4063

D-14
A. Cosmopolitan’s Lack of Standing

The Bankruptcy Code of 1978, 11 U.S.C. § 101 et seq.
(1982 & Supp. I 1983), does not contain an explicit limita-
tion on appellate standing. Thus, relying on pre-Code
law, a number of courts have adopted a standard that
requires an appellant to show that he is a “person ag-
grieved,” that he is “directly and adversely affected pecu-
niarily by” the challenged order of the bankruptcy court.
In re Fondiller, 707 F.2d 441, 442, 443 (9th Cir. 1983) ;
In re Goodwin’s Discount Furniture, 16 B.R. 885, 888-89
(Bkrtey. App. 1st Cir. 1982) ; In re Jewel Terrace Corp.,
10 B.R. 1008, 1011 n.3 (E.D.N.Y. 1981) ; see also 1 Col-
lier on Bankruptcy {1 3.03[5] at 3-118 to -119 (15th ed.
1985). We believe that this rule sets a reasonable and
practical threshold for standing and we join the courts
that have adopted it.

Under this rule, Cosmopolitan clearly lacks standing
to appeal the December 7 order of the district court af-
firming the April 10 order of the bankruptcy court which
directed the liquidating trustee to turn over possession to
the State. The impact on Cosmopolitan of the order ap-
pealed from must be evaluated in light of the December
1983 bankruptcy court order. The latter order, which
was never appealed, in essence stated that the outcome of
Cosmopolitan’s state court appeals was immaterial given
Cosmopolitan’s dismal economic position. According to
the bankruptcy court’s unchallenged reasoning, even if
some state appellate court ruled in Cosmopolitan’s favor,
Cosmopolitan’s position would not be improved because ”
the corporation could not cure its defaults. Further, the
court found, and no one may now dispute, that Cosmo-
politan was hopelessly insolvent with no likelihood of re-
habilitation. Cosmopolitan’s continued existence and

4064

D-15
operation was in complete derogation of the bankruptcy
court’s liquidation order.

We must also consider the New York Court of Ap-
peals’ November 1984 affirmance of the judgment which
held that the lease had expired in September 1979. In
light of the foregoing, Cosmopolitan has not shown, indeed
could not show, that it had any right of possession as of
April 1984. Therefore, Cosmopolitan was not directly
and adversely affected pecuniarily by the April 10 bank-
ruptcy court order or by the December 7 district court
order. Accordingly, we dismiss Cosmopolitan’s appeal for
lack of standing.

B. Flushing’s Failure to File a Timely Notice of Appeal

Under Fed. R. App. P. 4(a) (1), a notice of appeal in
a civil case, except where the United States is a party,
must be filed within thirty days after entry of the judg-
ment or order from which appeal is taken. This time
limit is “mandatory and jurisdictional.” Griggs v. Provi-
dent Consumer Discount Co., 459 U.S. 56, 61 (1982);
Browder v. Director, Department of Corrections of IIli-
nois, 4384 U.S. 257, 264 (1978); United States v. Robin-
son, 361 U.S. 220, 224 (1960) ; Stirling v. Chemical Bank,
511 F.2d 1030, 1031 (2d Cir. 1975); see also Guido v.
Ball, 367 F.2d 882, 882-83 (2d Cir. . 06). This limita-
tion is applicable to appeals involving bankruptcy orders.
Fed. R. App. P. 4 advisory committee notes; 9 Moore’s
Federal Practice J 204.08[2] at 4-32 (2d ed. 1985). The
rule is not as draconian as it first appears: “The district
court, upon a showing of excusable neglect or good cause,
may extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon
motion filed not later than 30 days after the expiration
of the time prescribed by this Rule 4(a).” Fed. R. App.
P. 4(a) (5).

4005

D-16

The good cause standard applies to requests for ex-
tensions filed prior to the expiration of the initial thirty
days. To procure an extension after those first thirty
days, the movant must show excusable neglect. Fed. R.
App. P. 4 advisory committee notes; 9 Moore’s Federal
Practice { 204.13 [1.-1] at 4-89. The excusable neglect
standard was intended to be a strict one, and to meet it,
the moving party must show unique and compelling cir-
cumstances. Fase v. Seafarers Welfare & Pension Plan,
574 F.2d 72; 76 (2d Cir. 1978). Mindful of the purpose
of the rules of appellate procedure “to bring litigation to
an end and to discourage dilatory tactics,” In re Orbitec
Corp., 520 F.2d 358, 362 (2d Cir. 1975), courts should
find excusable neglect only in the most extraordinary and
unusal situations. State of Oregon v. Champion Interna-
tional Corp., 680 F.2d 1300, 1301 (9th Cir. 1982); Air-
line Pilots vy. Executive Airlines, 569 F.2d 1174, 1175
(1st Cir. 1978).

As a general rule, we accord great deference to a
district court’s finding of excusable neglect. Fase, 574
F.2d at 77. We will overturn an extension granted under
Rule 4(a)(5) only for abuse of discretion. Chipser v.
Kohlmeyer & Co., 600 F.2d 1061, 1063 (5th Cir. 1979);
In re Estate of Butler's Tire & Battery Co., 592 F.2d
1028, 1032 (9th Cir. 1979) ; Gooch v. Skelly Oil Co., 493
F.2d 366, 368 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 997
(1974) ; see also Mennen Co. Vv. Gillette Co., 719 F.2d 568,
571 (2d Cir. 1983).

The excusable neglect standard will generally be satis-
fied where a party acting in good faith was entitled to and
did rely on actions of the district court or its officers and
consequently misses the Rule 4 deadline. E.g., Mennen
Co., 719 F.2d at 571. Similarly, given the appropriate

4066

D-17

circumstances, failure to hear that judgment has entered
may be the basis for a finding ot excusable neglect, as
may uncontrollable delays in mail delivery, unpredictable
events affecting the feasibility of appeal and plausible
misconstructions but not mere ignorance of the law or
rules. 9 Moore’s Federal Practice {| 204.13[1.-3] at 4-94 to
-97.

In support of its request for an extension, Flushing
presented two arguments to the district court. First,
Flushing’s attorney claimed that he believed that United
States District Judge Altimari’s December 14 order, per-
mitting Flushing to intervene, constituted leave to inter-
vene in Cosmopolitan’s appeal which was already before
us. Thus, he claimed, he thought it was unnecessary
for Flushing to file a separate notice of appeal. He fur-
ther informs us that it would be inequitable for us to
dismiss Flushing as an appellant because he, his associates
and Flushing have devoted so much time to this appeal.
Second, Flushing argued that it should be entitled to four-
teen additional days under Rule 4(a) (3) because Cosmo-
politan filed a notice of appeal.

Not surprisingly, Flushing was unabie to support
these arguments. We find it implausible that experienced
counsel could actually believe that the district court has
authority to allow a person to intervene in an appeal pend-
ing before the court of appeals. Neither can we accept
that experienced trial counsel did not realize that every
appellant must file its own notice of appeal.

Flushing’s second argument is tantamount to a direct
affront. The language of Rule 4(a) (3) could hardly be
more clear:

4067

D-18
If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any
other party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days
after the date on which the first notice of appeal
was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed
by this Rule 4(a), whichever period last expires.

The fourteen day period following the date on which Cos-
mopolitan filed its notice of appeal ended on December
26, 1984. The thirty day period following entry of the
order appealed from ended on January 7, 1985. Flushing
filed its notice of appeal on Janaury 18.

The excusable neglect standard can never be met by
a showing of inability or refusal to read and comprehend
the plain language of the federal rules. Flushing did not
establish excusable neglect. Thus there was no basis on
which the district court could grant an extension pursuant
to Rule 4. The order granting Flushing an extension is
reversed for abuse of discretion.2, Consequently, Flushing
has not filed a timely notice of appeal and we are, there-
fore, without jurisdiction to decide the merits of its ap-
peal. We must dismiss.

C. The Merits

We reemphasize that our sole reason for discussing
the merits—or lack thereof—is to make clear the under-
pinning of our decision to award sanctions. Our foray
is accordingly brief.

We note at the outset that our December 20 stay in
no way should be considered a justification for Cosmopoli- -

2 We can well appreciate what we assume was Judge Altimari’s
motivation in granting Plushing’s motion for an extension. Cog-
nizant that briefs had been filed and that oral argument was only
days away, Judge Altimari no doubt sought to avoid the potential
risk of further complicating or delaying this litigation.

4068

D-19

tan and Flushing’s continued prosecution of this appeal.
We believe that an objective review of the record reason-
ably and unequivocally suggests that the stay would not
have been granted had Cosmopolitan and particularly
Flushing not completely obfuscated the factual and legal
issues. The unnecessary complexity created by Flushing,
Cosmopolitan and their attorneys, augmented by mischar-
acterizations and omissions, misled the panel that granted
the stay. We will not permit the wrongdoers to profit
from their contemptible conduct. The December 20 stay
cannot buffer them from the consequences of their bad
faith.

As previously noted, all of the arguments on appeal
were advanced by Flushing; Cosmopolitan simply joined
with Flushing. The first claim, which actually also under-
lies the remaining arguments, is that Flushing has a right
of possession in the premises. Flushing maintains that
some state court may yet allow it to intervene in the
state court proceeding against Cosmopolitan and that the
state courts might then overturn the now venerable ruling,
affirmed by the New York Court of Appeals, that the lease
expired on September 5, 1979. Flushing’s right, as a
secured creditor, to participate in a holdover proceeding
for possession is dubious at best—even if one ignores
Flushing’s utter lack of response to the notice of default.
Nevertheless, if allowed to intervene, Flushing alleges, it
will be able to exercise its right of redemption under New
York law, cure the lease defaults and assume possession
of the premises or sell the lease. Disregarding for the
sake of discussion the mindboggling odds against the
lease being reinstated, we note that Flushing has neither
a right of redemption ..»—-unless it has a time machine
—the ability to cure the lease defaults.

4069

D-20

Under the mortgage and assignment between Cosmo-
politan and Flushing, Flushing was entitled to possession
only on satisfaction of certain conditions. After receiving
a copy of the notice of default, Flushing gave no indica-
tion to the State that it had any interest in curing Cos-
mopolitan’s defaults. Any inchoate right to possession
which Flushing may once have had has long since expired.

The state right of redemption to which Flushing
alludes is not available under the circumstances of this
case. Flushing concedes that the right alleged, which
derives from N.Y. Real Prop. Acts. Law § 751 (McKinney
1979), belongs to Cosmopolitan, not to Flushing, and arises
by its terms only in summary proceedings for nonpayment
of rent. Flushing’s characterization of the State’s sum-
mary proceedings as “in essence a nonpayment proceed-
ing,” Br. of Intervenor-Appellant at 21, is pure fabrica-
tion. Of the eight material defaults which the trial court
identified, only one concerned nonpayment of rent.

Moreover, section 751 explicitly applies only before a
warrant is issued. Flushing attempts to circumvent this
limitation by arguing that the issuance of the warrant
violated the August 21, 1981 bankruptcy court order and,
therefore, was invalid. Even if Flushing had raised this
argument below, instead of for the first time in this ap-
peal, the argument would be unavailing. Under N.Y.
Real Prop. Acts. Law § 749, the state court was required
to issue the warrant at the time it issued final judgment
for the State. Further, the August 21, 1981 order of the
bankruptcy court merely precluded the State from ac--
tually executing on a favorable judgment without the ap-
proval of the bankruptcy court. The State and the state
court were ir compliance with the August 21 order.
Cosmopolitan’s repeated, bold defiance of court orders lends

4070

D-21

a certain irony to Flushing’s argument. Flushing’s re-
demption claim is completely frivolous.

Flushing’s second major theme posits that the bank-
ruptcy court abused its discretion in ordering Cosmo-
politan to turn over possession to the State. This argu-
ment rests on alternative grounds. First, Flushing claims
that the bankruptcy court could not issue the order pur-
suant to 11 U.S.C. §105(a) (1982) because 2% U.S.C.
§ 1481 (1982), omitted by Bankruptcy Amendments and
Federal Judgeship Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-353, § 113,
1984 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News (98 Stat.) 343, pro-
hibits the bankruptcy court from enjoining another court.
The State aptly described this argument as bizarre. The
April 10 order does not purport by its terms to enjoin any
court. And Flushing has failed to show that the effect,
nonetheless, is injunctive. Second, Flushing cites case law
to support the proposition that an order awarding posses-
sion of leased premises to the landlord should only be
granted pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §105(a) under the most
extraordinary and compelling circumstances. We have
no trouble accepting this proposition for the sake of argu-
ment. But we fail to see how it aids Flushing’s cause.
By the time the April 10 order was filed, the New York
courts at every level had agreed that the lease expired on
September 7, 1979; Cosmopolitan had been ordered li-
quidated and adjudged incapable of rehabilitation and of
curing its defaults; Flushing had been aware of or in-
volved in the proceedings at all stages, beginning with
the State’s notice of default; Cosmopolitan had refused
to cease operations or, indeed, to comply with any of the
orders issued by the courts and the bankruptcy court had
expressed its belief that the entire proceeding constituted
an abuse of process. These circumstances certainly ap-
pear to us to be extraordinary and compelling.

4071

D-22

Flushing’s final argument* is that it has been de-
prived of an interest in real property. Specifically,
Flushing claims that the bankruptcy court violated its
due process rights because Flushing was not made a party
to the motion which led to the April 10 order. We note
first that Flushing has been unable to convince any court
so far that it has a possessory interest in the premises.
Flushing is still batting zero. At most, and we do not
decide this question, Flushing could be entitled to a
monetary settlement under the buy-back provision of the
expired lease. This right, assuming it exists, is in no
way diminished by the April 10 order. Moreover, Flush-
ing had actual notice of and participated in the relevant
bankruptcy and district court proceedings. Based on
fabrication and fantasy, Flushing’s due process arguments
evaporate when exposed to the light of reason.

D. Sanctions

Our power to award sanctions in this case derives
from several sources. Fed. R. App. P. 38 permits us in
our discretion to award damages and double costs for the
prosecution of a frivolous appeal. The advisory committee
note to the rule explains that damages in such a case
should be awarded “as a matter of justice to the appellee
and as a penalty against appellant.” Similarly, 28 U.S.C.
§ 1912 (1982) gives us the discretion to award to a
prevailing party damages for delay and double costs.
Under 28 U.S.C. §1927 (1982), “[a]ny attorney ...
who so multiplies the proceedings in any case unreason-_
ably and vexatiously may be required by the court to
satisfy personally the excess costs, expenses, and at-

8 There are actually a few more but they are equally meritless.
We think our actions are sufficiently supported; we hesitate to
assault the reader further.

4072

D-23

torneys’ fees reasonably incurred because of such conduct.”
Finally, where a losing litigant has acted vexatiously or
in bad faith, it is within our inherent powers to award
attorneys’ fees. Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilder-
ness Society, 421 U.S. 240, 258-59 (1975). And if we
find willful abuse of process, we may exercise our inherent
power to assess attorneys’ fees against counsel. Roadway
Express, Inc. v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752, 766 (1980).

The appeal brought by Cosmopolitan and Flushing is
entirely frivolous. It can only have been brought for the
purpose of delay. Cosmopolitan, Flushing and their at-
torneys have acted vexatiously and in bad faith. The
attorneys representing Cosmopolitan and Flushing have
unreasonably multiplied the proceedings in this case and
are guilty of willful abuse of process. The parties and
their attorneys should be penalized for unnecessarily wast-
ing our time and resources and the State should be com-
pensated for having been put to the expense of answering
these wholly frivolous appeals. Fluoro Electric Corp. v.
Branford Associates, 489 F.2d 320, 326 (2d Cir. 1973).
This Court has been used, as were the bankruptcy court
and the district court, to frustrate the rights of the State
and the execution of a state court judgment. Cf. Over-
myer V. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Maryland, 554 F.2d
589, 548 (2d Cir. 1977) (double costs and attorneys fees
assessed for using court to frustrate collection of state
court judgment).

We assess double costs against Cosmopolitan and
Flushing. We award reasonable attorneys fees against
Cosmopolitan, Flushing and their attorneys. We remand
this case to the district court and instruct that court to
determine the attorneys’ fees reasonably incurred by the
State in this appeal and to assess that amount jointly

4073

|

D-24
and severally against Flushing and its attorneys and
jointly and severally against Cosmopolitan and its at-
torneys.

The appeal of Judge Mishler’s order is dismissed as
to both Cosmopolitan and Flushing. Judge Altimari’s
order extending the time for Flushing to file a notice of
appeal is reversed. The State is awarded double costs
and attorneys’ fees and the case is remanded to the dis-
trict court for the calculation of sanctions. , Nothing in
this opinion should be interpreted to preclude the State
from moving for nor the district court from awarding at-
torneys’ fees for all of the multitudinous and vexatious
procee¢'+cs in which Flushing and Cosmopolitan were in-
volved in * 1e federal system.

4074
700-5-30-85 @ USCA—50211

ALPERT PRESS, INC., 644 PACIFIC ST., BROOKLYN, N.Y. 11217
(718) 875-1058

E-|

APPENDIX “E”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the City of
New York, on the twenty-seventh day of June one thousand nine
hundred and eighty-five.

Present:

HON. ELLSWORTH A. VANGRAAFEILAND
HON. THOMAS J. MESKILL

HON. RALPH K. WINTER

Circuit Judges,

In Re Cosmopolitan Aviation Corp.,
Debtor,

COSMOPOLITAN AVIATION CORP.,
Debtor-Appellant,

FLUSHING SAVINGS BANK,
Intervenor, Appellee Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION,
Appellee, Appellant Cross-Appellee.

E-2
No. 84-5121, 85-5005, 85-5007

A petition for rehearing having been filed herein by Attorney,
Jessel Rothman, on his own behalf.

Upon consideration thereof, it is Ordered that said petition be
and it hereby is DENIED.

Elaine B. Golds

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0773%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
