# Opposition Brief — Thomas v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0722%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 980

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.S,
\ FILED

® OcT 17 1085
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

CLERK

No. 85-423

Ju the Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

CARL WESLEY THOMAS, PETITIONER
v,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Acting Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

sw

‘4
oe

BEST AVAILABLE COPY SiN

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
United States v. Bell, 573 F.2d 1040 .........
United States v. Drougas, 748 F.2d8 ........
United States v. Johnson, 713 F.2d 633,

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1081 ................
United States v. Khan, 728 F.2d 676 .........
United States v. Little, 753 F.2d 1420 ........
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783 .......
United States v. McConnell,

Pe eee cise waah ec ieteee ee
United States v. Oxford, 735 F.2d 276 .......
United States v. Parodi, 703 F.2d 768 ........
United States v. Provenzano, 688 F.2d 194,

cert. dented, 459 US. 1071 ......cccccceess
United States v. Seifert, 648 F.2d 557 ........
United States v. Whitley, 734 F.2d 1129 ......

Statutes and rules:
CME UVinaloveséueanascerssesueses
EE ee eee ree re
Ee eee keh ChaN 6 ck kae ee 0s oho ce
Fed. R. Crim. P. :
Prt. L ehaa s We awed bbs eb O eK eres
eee eka ese wena wees
oo ee Se.

(1)

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-423
CARL WESLEY THOMAS, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

Petitioner contends that the district court abused its dis-
cretion by refusing to grant a severance and that it commit-
ted plain error by failing to reconsider its ruling on the
admissibility of co-conspirator statements at the close of all
of the evidence.

1. Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Western District of Missouri, petitioner was
convicted on six counts of interstate transportation of
stolen property, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 2314, three counts
of interstate travel in aid of a racketeering enterprise, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. 1952, and one count of conspiracy to
commit these offenses, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371. He was
sentenced to a total of 15 years’ imprisonment, fined

(1)

2

$90,000, and ordered to make restitution of an additional
$90,000. The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. Al-A43).!

The evidence at trial, the sufficiency of which is not in
dispute, is summarized in the opinion of the court of
appeals (Pet. App. A4-A7). Briefly, it showed that peti-
tioner and others conspired to gain control of the Tropicana
casino in Las Vegas, Nevada in order to “skim” money by
removing cash receipts before they were recorded in the
casino’s books. Co-conspirator Joseph Agosto met in Jan-
uary 1975 with Nick Civella and petitioner’s co-defendants
Carl DeLuna and Carl Civella to plan Agosto’s clandestine
infiltration of the casino. Later that year, these men
“decided to use [petitioner] to take charge of the skimming

at the Tropicana” (id. at AS). Petitioner recommended the .

hiring of a casino manager who, with an assistant, “were to
do the actual skimming under [petitioner’s] supervision”
(id. at A6). By the middle of 1978, over $40,000 per month
was being skimmed from the casino. When Agosto and the
Civellas suspected that the manager was also skimming on
his own account, they instructed petitioner to “do a study of
the Tropicana to determine if unauthorized skimming was
occurring” (ibid.). Later :n 1978, petitioner met with
Agosto, DeLuna, and the Civellas to discuss more efficient
means of skimming (id. at A7). In February 1979, $80,000
in skimmed cash was transported from Nevada to Missouri
(ibid.). Petitioner admitted in a recorded conversation “that
he had been involved in skimming at many casinos in Las
Vegas for many years” (id. at A23).

2. The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. Al-A43).
Noting that petitioner and his co-defendants were properly
joined for trial under Fed. R. Crim. P. 8(b) (id. at A31), the

'Petitioner’s co-defendants Carl DeLuna, Carl Civella, Charles
Moretina, and Anthony Chiavola, Sr., were each convicted on the
conspiracy count and various substantive counts. Co-defendant Peter
Tamburello was acquitted.

3

court of appeals held that the district court did not abuse its
discretion in refusing to grant petitioner a severance under
Fed. R. Crim. P. 14.2 After “carefully review[ing] the
record,” the court of appeals rejected petitioner’s argument
that a severance was required so that he could obtain the
testimony of co-defendant Carl Civella, concluding that a
severance would have been of little value because Civella’s
“testimony would have been subject to substantial damag-
ing impeachment” (id. at A34). The court similarly rejected
petitioner’s contention that he was precluded from testify-
ing on his own behalf at the joint trial out of a fear for his
safety, noting that the risk have would been substantially
the same if he had testified at a separate trial (id. at A35).
Finally, the court of appeals upheld the admission at trial of
statements of petitioner’s co-conspirators under Fed. R.
Evid. 801(d)(2)(E) on the ground that the district court’s
finding that the statements were made in furtherance of the
conpsiracy was not clearly erroneous (id. at A13).

3. Petitioner argues that the district court abused its
discretion by refusing to grant him a severance sc that he
could be tried separately from his four co-defendanis.

a. Petitioner contends first (Pet. 8-18) that a severance
was required so that he could have the benefit of the testi-
mony of co-defendant Carl Civella, who did not take the
stand at the joint trial. The court of appeals in this case
applied the same standard consistently set forth by other
courts of appeals, upholding the denial of a severance where
a co-defendant’s testimony would be subject to substantial
impeachment. See, e.g., United States v. McConnell, 749

*Fed. R. Crim. P. 14 provides in pertinent part that “{i}f it appears
that a defendant * * * is prejudiced by a joinder of offenses or of
defendants * * *, the court may order an election or separate trials of
counts, grant a severance of defendants or provide whatever other relief
justice requires.”

4

F.2d 1441, 1445 (10th Cir. 1984); United States v. Drougas,
748 F.2d 8, 19 (1st Cir. 1984); United States v. Parodi, 703
F.2d 768, 779 (4th Cir. 1983); United States v. Provenzano,
688 F.2d 194, 199 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1071
(1982). None of the cases cited by petitioner (Pet. 12-13 n.3)
conflicts with this settled rule.’ The court of appeals’ fact-
bound conclusion that there was no abuse of discretion in
the denial of a severance here in light of the extent to which
Carl Civella’s testimony would have been subject to impeach-
ment on the basis of a tape recording of petitioner’s own
statements, written notes, and the testimony of government
witnesses (see Pet. App. Al3, A17 n.4, A23, A34) does not
warrant review by this Court.

b. Petitioner also argues (Pet. 18-25) that a severance
was required because he was precluded from testifying at
the joint trial out of fear for his safety. This claim is merit-
less. In support of his contention in the district court, peti-
tioner submitted two affidavits from his attorneys. These
were placed under seal, and the government has never had

‘Petitioner cites no case in which the denial of a motion to sever was
held to be an abuse of discretion where the co-defendant’s proffered
testimony was subject to substantial impeachment. United States v.
Khan, 728 F.2d 676, 679 (Sth Cir. 1984), United States v. Little, 753
F.2d 1420, 1446 (9th Cir. 1984), and United States v. Johnson, 713 F.2d
633, 642 (11th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1081 (1984), all recog-
nized the relevance of the credibility of the proffered testimony in
reviewing rulings on motions to sever. United States v. Whitley, 734
F.2d 1129, 1139 (6th Cir. 1984), and United States v. Oxford, 735 F.2d
276, 280-281 (7th Cir. 1984), upheld denials of sevef gnce motions on
other bases without discussion of the question presented here. United
States v. Seifert, 648 F.2d 557, 563-564 (9th Cir. 1980), reversed the
denial of a severance motion where no question was raised as to the
credibility of the co-defendant’s testimony. Finally, petitioner quotes
(Pet. 13-14) United States v. McConnell, supra, out of context. The
court in that case exp essly recognized (749 F.2d at 1445) that the
likelihood of impeachment has consistently been taken into account by
the courts of appeals in reviewing motions to sever on the ground that
petitioner asserts.

5

access to them. At an in camera hearing, we acknowledged
that there was some danger to petitioner from persons in
Chicago who were not his co-defendants but observed that
these persons had no interest in whether petitioner obtained
a severance, so that the threat to him would be substantially
the same whether he testified at a joint trial or at a separate
one (I Tr. 16-18). The district court found after reviewing
the sealed affidavits that petitioner's fears were subjective (I
Tr. 14). The court of appeals, which also had access to the
affidavits, upheld the district court’s exercise of discretion
(Pet. App. A35). The petition provides no explanation of
how a severance could have protected petitioner from any
significant threat to his safety arising from the content of
testimony he allegedly would give. There is accordingly no
reason for further review.

4. Finally, petitioner contends (Pet. 25-29) that the dis-
trict court erred by failing to reconsider after the close of all
of the evidence its ruling, made when the government
rested, that certain statements were admissible under the
co-conspirator exception to the hearsay rule, Fed. R. Evid.
801(d)(2)(E). Petitioner has waived this claim by failing to
raise it in either the district court or the court of appeals.
See, e.g., United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 788 n.7
(1977). Moreover, the rule in the Eighth Circuit is precisely
the one advanced by petitioner, requiring an ultimate
determination of admissibility “at the conclusion of all the
evidence.” United States v. Beil, 573 F.2d 1040, 1044
(1978). Finally, the court of appeals, on the basis of its
review of the entire record, sustained the district court’s
factual findings supporting the admission of the statements
(Pet. Avp. Al3-A14). The district court’s harmless depar-
ture from established circuit precedent thus does not war-
rant this Court’s review.

6

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition for
a writ of certiorari should be denied.

CHARLES FRIED
Acting Solicitor General

OcTOBER 1985

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0722%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
