# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Blackwood v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0715%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 1020

## Text

t
. ? SUprente-Cotrt U.S.
t si: =
IN THE SEP 6 1985

Supreme Court of the United States.”

FALL TERM 1985

IRA BLACK WOOD
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WARREN LUPEL
LUPEL AND AMARI
Two North La Salle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 346-8550
Attorney for Petitioner

Of Counsel:
WARREN LUPEL
JAMES A. MurpuHy (Senior Law Student)

Pandick Midwest, Inc., Chicago © (312) 733-6000 Xd

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Is a conviction pursuant to the Hobbs Act appropriate
wherein the evidence reveals that the victim relied on the
defendant’s personal ability, rather than on the official power of
the office held by the defendant?

II. Do the Federal Rules of Evidence allow hearsay
evidence to be admitted when its purpose is to show a third
party’s state of mind?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Petitioner: Ira Blackwood

Respondent: United States of America

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Questions Presented for REViOW .......ccccessecsecsecsessessesecseeees 1
I cnn. sc cscscsccnnaccacasscvecasaccesenson il
a sasasschseneumbeenanaseens iil
a ss casvannnnnanspescctonens iv
a caccsncsasausesiakenengusawans 2
SI RE IE OG oo. -scetndincoknnsnncnsitndmnatnapanececsibe 2
ce eicsuisaspesibenpnonnneniniohel 3
ESE IE Re ROT LO RE OT CEE 4
IEE ti talednnianabinnecccinxecechdincecslaneivcsbediiniidiidacialastovishes: 5
I. The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit as to What Constitutes “Under
Color of Authority” Within the Hobbs Act Is in
Conflict With Opinions in the Second, Third and
NEE IES Teo ae Fe TE RTS 5

II. In Affirming the Ruling of the Lower Court
Which Admitted Evidence of Prior Bad Acts, the
Seventh Circuit so Far Departed from the Statu-
tory Rules of Evidence and Cases Which Have
Interpreted Those Rules as to Invoke the Super-
WRROTY POWTER OF IS COUT on. ose... .scscccccsescosecseseess 10

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Michaelson v. United States, 335 U.S. 469, 475,
A a ci cicspnccdenadiiccdaciihstadantiatiaeilesah abit tlie teikon 10
United States v. Beechum, 582 F.2d 898 (Sth Cir.
1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 920 (1979) 0... 11
United States v. Brown, 540 F.2d 364 (8th Cir.
PE Risch coctnc cic cecresckaeteuaneadahdndigsshiohe-sccaihastimildintetiees 7,8
United States v. Dixon, 596 F.2d i78 (7th Cir.
52a Wcnilatinciukcshcinrcatahiepticrecibitehaiipicnbinbescecalidibiieanilephaiaiinisioa 12
United States v. Dolliole, 597 F.2d 102 (7th Cir.
1979), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 946 (1979)... 1]
United States v. Drury, 582 F.2d 1181 (8th Cir.
DFE Pai bitindctinciceibiahctinnield dacahgeh hdnsciubennchiapalttaadadinad 12
United States v. Fosher, 568 F.2d 207 (ist Cir.
RT Pasidncitahiciatnnsdibiihcdcasestlbindabniiakibt beads 11
United States v. Grabiec, 563 F.2d 313 (7th Cir.
OTT Vidic ineskiittichinetbchcacthaantlhciniasbhlemib tata 10
United States v. Herrell, 588 F.2d 711 (9th Cir.
1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 964 (1979) 0... 12
United States v. Jackson, 588 F.2d 1046 (5th Cir.
1979), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 941 (1979) ............. 10
United States v. Mazzei, 521 F.2d 639 (3rd Cir.
1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1014 (1975)........... 5,8
United States v. O’Malley, 707 F2d 1240 (11th
Ca SD ceca etored al encased cas eahiccnabacasaseunconnns 10
United States v. Rabbit, 583 F.2d 1014 (8th Cir.
1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1049 ( 1978)........... 8
United States v. Scacchetti, 668 F.2d 643 (2d Cir.
1982), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1132 (1982)........... 9
United States v. Westbo, 576 F.2d 285 (10th Cir.
DFE Micienciciiiaisniscccsesacicavacedlsigastiaracabebuatmdeensatnaigsaniie’ 10

Raa a i eS aig? a Slt REA IA RS

Vv
PAGE
STATUTES
FRR He Oe BOSC Yin ccicdviicicksicscsscsdssiaccecs :
Federal Rule of Evidence 403 ...........................0.0000- 3, 10
Federal Rule of Evidence 404( b) oo... eee oe
Federal Rule of Evidence 802 .......................ccccccceees 3, 10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

FALL TERM 1985

IRA BLACK WOOD
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

On WaRiT OF CERTIORARI TO
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, IRA BLACKWOOD, prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in United States

of America v. Ira Blackwood, No. 84-2852 decided on July 11,
1985.

2
OPINIONS OF LOWER COURT

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, net yet reported,
appears in Appendix A, attached hereto.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit accepted
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit was entered on July 11, 1985. This petition for certiorari
was filed within sixty (60) days of that date. The Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

HOBBS ACT 18 U.S.C. 1951

(a) Whoever in any way or degree obstructs, delays, or
affects commerce or the movement of any article or commodity
in commerce, by robbery or extortion or attempts or conspires
so to do, or commits or threatens physical violence to any
person or property in furtherance of a plan or purpose to do
anything in violation of this section shall be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more than twenty years, or both.

(b) as used in this section

(2) The term “extortion” means the obtaining of property
from another, with his consent, induced by wrongful use of
actual or threatened force, violence, or fear, or under color of
official right.

FEDERAL RULE OF EVIDENCE 403

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if its proba-
tive value is substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair
prejudice, confusion of the issues, or misleading the jury, or by
considerations of undue delay, waste of time, or needless
presentation of cumulative evidence.

FEDERAL RULE OF EVIDENCE 404(b)

Evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible
to prove the character of a person in order to show that he acted
in conformity therewith. It may, however, be admissible for
other purposes, such as proof of motive, opportunity, intent,
preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mistake or
accident.

FEDERAL RULE OF EVIDENCE 802

Hearsay is not admissible except as provided by these rules
or by other rules prescribed by the Supreme Court pursuant to
statutory authority or Act of Congress.

4

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Petitioner, IRA BLACK WOOD, a Chicago police officer
since 1957, became Secretary of the Traffic Court Unit of the
Chicago Police Department in 1974. His duties as Secretary
related to the police officers assigned to Traffic Court, such as
bookkeeping, medical and attendance records, overtime pay,
etc.

Some time thereafter and probably on or about September
4, 1981 (Record at 4), he became a target in a Federal
Government probe which came to be known as Operation
Greylord. This investigation ultimately led to the naming of
IRA BLACKWOOD in an eleven count indictment in Decem-
ber, 1983. He is alleged to have solicited and received various
bribes to affect the disposition of cases which occurred in
various courtrooms and in various locales throughout the Cook
County Criminal Justice System.

Each of the bribes alleged were payments from David
Victor Ries, an FBI agent who had assumed the role of a
private defense attorney (Record at 8) to the defendant, IRA
BLACK WOOD, for the purpose of affecting the disposition of
eleven specific cases, as charged in the indictment.

IRA BLACKWOOD was convicted on all counts and an
appeal was made to the United States Court of Appeals,
Seventh Circuit. The Court of Appeals affirmed the conviction.

Phe EARICR eth AC ae pln SE i daniel ge

Ns TE CEs nda tw Cie Posehn

LUA ade Ri ee a ig, act

ARGUMENT

I. The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit as to What Constitutes “Under Color of
Authority” Within the Hobbs Act Is in Conflict With
Opinions in the Second, Third and Eighth Circuits.

The Hobbs Act criminalizes the use of “extortion” which
impedes commerce and defines “extortion” as “the obtaining of
property from another, with his consent induced by the wrong-
ful use of actual or threatened force, violence, or fear, or under
color of official nght.” 18 U.S.C. $1951. It is petitioner’s
contention that the charges against him must fail as a matter of
law because the prosecution failed to prove that the petitioner
was acting under “color of official right.”

It is well recognized that an individual need not have
actual authority to deliver his promise so long as the victim of
the extortion believed that the defendant had the official
authority to deliver on his promise. United States v. Mazzei,
521 F.2d 639, 643 (3rd Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1014
(1975). In the case at Bar, it is clear that the petitioner did not
have actual authority to affect the outcome of cases in the traffic
courts, U.S. v. Blackwood (Slip Op. p4a). Thus, what the
prosecution set out to do was to prove that agent Ries reason-
ably believed that petitioner had the official authority to affect
the outcome of cases in the Cook County Court system.

Though petitioner was convicted on all seven counts under
the Hobbs Act, it would have been as a matter of law,
unreasonable for any person in Ries’ position to believe that the
petitioner had the official power to affect the outcome of any
case within the court system.

First, the only evidence produced at trial went to show that
the petitioner had established contacts with Judges who had
worked in the same building as did petitioner, and that it was
because of these contacts that he had influence over the
outcome of criminal cases throughout the criminal courts.

6

There was no evidence introduced to support a conclusion that
Ries could have believed that petitioner had the official power
to affect the disposition of any criminal case. Second, given
Ries’ position as an FBI agent, it is inconceivable that Ries
could have believed that petitioner had the official power to
affect the disposition of cases. And, even assuming that Ries’
special knowledge as an FBI agent should not be looked at, it
must be conceded that the reasonableness of the victim’s belief
should then be based upon the role which Ries was assu-
ming—a lawyer. And, given the special knowledge of a lawyer,
it is again inconceivable that Ries, in the role of a lawyer, could
have believed that petitioner had the official power to affect the
disposition of any case. Finally, it was unreasonable to find
that Ries could have believed that petitioner had the official
power to affect criminal cases because there was evidence
entered that showed that Ries knew that petitioner’s influence
did not extend to all Judges. (Record at 161-162). Thus, Ries
was On notice that petitioner’s ability to influence cases did not
derive from his official power, for if it had, it would not have
mattered before which Judge a case came up. Thus, as a matter
of law, it was unreasonable to find that Ries could have
believed that petitioner had the official power to affect the
disposition of any cases within the traffic court.

Yet despite the fact that it was inconceivable that Ries
could have believed that the petitioner had the power to affect
the disposition of cases, the petitioner was convicted on all
seven counts which charged him with violating the Hobbs Act.

In affirming the holding of the District Court, the Seventh
Circuit did not hold that the evidence produced was sufficient to
uphold a finding that Reis believed that the petitioner had the
official power to deliver that which petitioner had promised.
Rather, the Seventh Circuit held that there had been sufficient
evidence to support a conclusion that Ries reasonably believed
that the petitioner’s “power to affect judicial determinations
was due—at least in part—to his official position as a patrolman

n phanet

7

assigned to the Traffic Court Unit who worked as a liaison
between the court and the police department.”” (emphasis
added) (Slip op. at 5). Moreover, it is evident from the
Seventh Circuit’s opinion that what the Seventh Circuit found
to be sufficient was a belief by Ries that petitioner had the
power to affect decisions within the entire criminal court of
Cook County because of contacts the petitioner had made while
working in the traffic court. After reviewing a portion of Ries’
testimony which went to show that the petitioner had made
contacts with Judges while working in the traffic court and that
by way of these contacts petitioner could influence the outcome
of cases, the Seventh Circuit stated that:

“[b]jased on the above evidence, a jury could have found
that Agent Ries reasonably believed that appellant had the
power, through his official position and the connections
and contacts it gave him to the personnel, workings, and
records of the Circuit Court to influence the judicial
decisions in the cases for which appellant received bribes.”

Thus, the Seventh Circuit concluded that it is sufficient that
the perceived power of the defendant need only be in some way
connected with his official position. (Slip op. at 7). However,
such a holding is in conflict with decisions in the Second, Third
and Eighth Circuits.

It is evident from opinions in those circuits that they
require a showing that the victim believed that the defendant
had official power to deliver that which he had promised. In
sharp contrast, the Seventh Circuit has found it sufficient that
the victim believed that the defendant had power “due to” his
Official position.

On two occasions the Eighth Circuit has made it evident
that it is a victim’s perception of the defendant’s official power
that should be focused on. In United States v. Brown, 540 F.2d
364 (8th Cir. 1976), the Eighth Circuit held that proof of.
extortion “under color of official right”’ required that the victim
had a “reasonable belief that the defendant had official power

in the capacity through which the extortion was performed.”
(emphasis added) /d. at 372. And again, in United States v.
Rabbit, 583 F.2d 1014 (8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 US.
1049 (1978), the Eighth Circuit made it evident that in order
for an individual to be convicted under the Hobbs Act, the
victim had to believe that it was within the defendant’s official
power to deliver that which the defendant had promised. In
Rabbit the Court found that where the victim knew that the
defendant did not have the power to award contracts in his
“official capacity” (emphasis added), the Government failed to
prove that the victim entertained a reasonable belief that the
defendant controlled the awarding of contracts. Jd. at 1028.*

It is evident from Rabbit that even though it was believed
that the defendant might have.had influence over the awarding
of contracts, that belief, that a defendant had influence, was not
sufficient. Rather, what was required was the belief that it was
within the defendant’s official authority tc affect the disposition
of that which had been promised.

Thus, the Eighth Circuit in both Brown and Rabbit has
made it evident that it requires a showing that the victim
believed that the defendant had the official power to deliver on
that which the defendant had promised and not merely any
power to deliver on that which he had promised.

Similarly the Third Circuit, in United States v. Mazzei,
supra, made it clear that it is the perception of official power
which is crucial to a conviction under the Hobbs Act. In
Mazzei, the Third Circuit stated that it was sufficient for the
Hobbs Act that the victim had a reasonable belief that “‘the
State system so operated that the power in fact of defendant’s
office included the effective authority” to deliver that which the
defendant had promised. (emphasis added) 521 F.2d at 643.

* Similarly if Ries had knowledge either as an FBI agent or as a
lawyer that petitioner did not have the official power to affect the
disposition of cases in the traffic court, the defendant could not possess
apparent power.

Finally, the Second Circuit has held that the essential
element of the Hobbs Act was “the use of the office through
acts unrelated to the duties of the public official but which could
only be undertaken because of his official position.” United
States v. Scacchetti, 668 F.2d 643 (2nd Cir. 1982), cert. denied,
457 U.S. 1132 (1982). While this phrasing differs from Brown,
Rabbit and Mazzei, it is evident that it conflicts with the result
in the present case, and that given the facts in the present case,
petitioner could not have been convicted of violating the Hobbs
Act. In the present case, any individual that worked in the
traffic court (e.g. janitors, court reporters and lawyers) could
have made the same contacts that petitioner had made and thus
had the same power. Thus, under Scacchetti, the petitioner
would not have been convicted because the acts which BLACK-
WOOD performed were not acts which he could perform
because of his official position, but rather because of his
employment in a Government building.

In summation, it is clear the decision of the Seventh Circuit
is in sharp contrast with decisions in the Second, Third and
Eighth Circuits. While those Circuits require a showing that the
victim believed that the defendant had official power to deliver
that which he had promised, the Seventh Circuit has greatly
reduced the requirement for conviction under the Hobbs Act.
Under the Seventh Circuit’s holding the prosecution only needs
to show that the victim believed that the defendant had power
to deliver on his promise and that that power was related to the
defendant’s official position no matter how distant that relation.

In addition to the need for a clear resolution between the
conflicting interpretation of the Hobbs Act, this case is impor-
tant because the holding of the Seventh Circuit vastly increases
the scope of the Hobbs Act. Hence, the impact of the Seventh
Circuit’s opinion has the potential for vastly increasing the
breadth of Federal jurisdiction in cases involving “official”
corruption.

10

Il. In Affirming the Ruling of the Lower Court Which
Admitted Evidence of Prior Bad Acts, the Seventh
Circuit so Far Departed From the Statutory Rules of
Evidence and Cases Which have Interpreted Those
Rules as to Invoke the Supervisory Powers of This
Court.

It is well established that as a general rule, evidence of
prior illegal activities or wrongdoing is inadmissible. Eg.
United States v. Jackson, 588 F.2d 1046 (Sth Cir. 1979), cert.
denied, 442 U.S. 941 (1979); United States v. Westbo, 576 F.2d
285 (10th Cir. 1978): United States v. O’Malley, 707 F.2d 1240
(11th Cir. 1983); United States v. Grabiec, 563 F.2d 313 (7th
Cir. 1977); see also 28 U.S.C. Rule 403 and 28 U.S.C. Rule
403(b). The reason for this general rule is that evidence of
prior illegal activities or wrongdoings is highly prejudicial. See
Michaelson v. United States, 335 U.S. 469, 475, 476 (1948).

Therefore, evidence of prior bad acts can only be admitted
where the probative value of such evidence substantially out-
weighs its prejudice to the defendant. 28 U.S.C. Rule 403.

In the present case, both the trial court and the Court of
Appeals (Seventh Circuit) have ignored the above stated
principles. The trial court admitted evidence of prior bad acts
(Record at 537) that was highly prejudicial, even though it had
little if any, probative value. First, the evidence that was
admitted was hearsay. It contradicts basic rules of evidence to
find that the evidence in question had probative value since the
evidence should have been excluded pursuant to Federal Rule
of Evidence 802, 28 U.S.C. Rule 802, which prohibits the
admission of hearsay. Nor would it be possible to find an
exception to the hearsay rule that would allow this evidence to
be admitted.

Ostensibly, the trial court allowed the evidence in to show
“people’s state of mind.” (Record at 537). However, since
only Ries’ state of mind was relevant to the action, Lockwood’s

11

testimony had to have been admitted to show Ries’ state of
mind (had it been offered to show anyone else’s state of mind it
should have been excluded as irrelevant). While there is a state
of mind exception under Rule 803(3), that exception is limited
to admitting hearsay to show the state of mind of the declarant.
28 U.S.C. Rule 803(b). There is no exception which allows
hearsay to be admitted to show that state of mind of a third
person that is neither the witness, nor the declarant.

Furthermore, even if such evidence had not been hearsay it
should not have been admitted because its probative value was
deminimus. It was deminimus because there was other evi-
dence that was sufficient to show that Ries believed that the
petitioner had some sort of power to affect the disposition of
cases within the criminal courts, as the Court of Appeals noted
in its opinion; Agent Ries’ belief was explored in detail in 169
pages of direct testimony. (Slip op. at p. 5). Thus, the need for
the prejudicial evidence admitted was minimal indeed.

By allowing the evidence in, both the District Court and
the Court of Appeals have ignored the principles behind Rule
404(b). The Advisory note to Rule 404(b) states that “[t]he
determination must be made whether the danger of undue
prejudice outweighs the probative value of the evidence in view
of the availability of other means of proof. . .” Advisory note to
28 U.S.C. Rule 404(b). Similarly, cases in other Circuits and
the Seventh Circuit itself, have indicated the usefulness of
assessing the Government’s need for the evidence. United
States v. Dolliole, 597 F.2d 102 (7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied,
442 U.S. 946 (1979); United States v. Fosher, 568 F2.d 207,
213 (lst Cir. 1978); United States v. Beechum, 582 F.2d 898,
914 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 920 (1979).

Finally, the evidence as to prior bad acts was anomalous to
reality. The evidence admitted directly inferred that criminal
charges had been brought against the petitioner when, in fact,
no such charges ever existed. Thus the evidence was grievously

12

unjust in that it allowed the jury to hear of criminal charges,
which were in fact never brought, and it reduced the probative
value to naught, while simultaneously increasing its prejudicial
effect. The lack of probative value of the evidence in question is
evidenced by the fact that the admittance of prior bad acts into
evidence has as a rule been conditioned on such evidence being
clear and convincing. United States v. Dixon, 596 F.2d 178
(7th Cir 1979); United States v. Drury, 582 F.2d 1181, 1184,
N.6 (8th Cir. 1978); United States v. Herrell, 588 F.2d 711 (9th
Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 964 (1979). Because the
evidence was in fact erroneous, it was neither clear nor
convincing. Thus, the Seventh Circuit has put itself in conflict
with other Circuits and has so far departed from the statutory
rules of evidence and cases which have interpreted those rules,
as to invoke the supervisory powers of this Court.

13

PRAYER

Petitioner prays that this Honorable Court grant his peti-
tion for issuance of a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

IRA BLACKWOOD

By

WARREN LUPEL
Attorney for Petitioner

Of Counsel:
WARREN LUPEL
LUPEL AND AMARI
Two North LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 346-8550

la

in the
United States Court of Apprals

For the Seventh Cirrnit

No. 84-2852

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee,

IRA BLACKWOOD,
Defendant- Appellant.

Aseea from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division
No. 83 CR 977—James B. Moran, District Judge.

ARGUED APRIL 24, 1985—DECcIDED JULY 11, 1985

Before SCHBACH and POSNER, Circuit Judges, and
TIMBERS, Senior Circuit Judge.*

TIMBERS, Circuit Judge. On December 14, 1983, Ira
Blackwood (appellant) was indicted by a federal grand
jury and charged with one count of racketeering (Count
One) in violation of the Racketeering Influenced and
Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c)
(1982), and ten counts of extortion (Counts Two through
Eleven) in violation of the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951
(1982). On July 2, 1984, the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois, James B. Moran,
District Judge, denied appellant’s motion to dismiss the
indictment. On August 10, 1984, the court entered judg-
ment on a jury verdict finding appellant guilty on all

* The Honorable William H. Timbers, Senior Circuit Judge of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, is
sitting by designation.

2a

No. 84-2852

eleven counts. Appellant was sentenced on October 18,
1984 to two concurrent terms of imprisonment of seven
years each on Counts One and Two, to be followed by nine
concurrent terms of probation of five years each on Counts
Three through Eleven. The court ordered a stay of
execution pending appeal.

I.

Appellant became a police officer with the Chicago
Police Department in 1957. He became secretary of the
Department’s Traffic Court Unit in 1974. His office was in
the Cook County Traffic Court building until February
1983 when he became a court sergeant in one of the
branch courts of the Cook County Circuit Court.

Appellant’s indictment stemmed from the Federal
Bureau of Investigation undercover investigation known
as Operation Greylord which concerned alleged corruption
in the Cook County Circuit Court. Appellant was indicted
for soliciting and receiving bribes between December 1981
and May 1983 from FBI Agent David Ries to influence the
disposition of cases pending in various branch courts of
the Cook County Circuit Court in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§§ 1951 and 1962(c).

In September 1981, appellant was introduced to
Agent Ries by former Judge Brocton Lockwood who had
contacted the United States Department of Justice about
criminal violations he believed were occurring in the
Traffic Court building. Judge Lockwood agreed to cooper-
ate with the investigation. He posed as a corruptible
judge in the Cook County Circuit Court. Agent Ries posed
as a private defense attorney new to the City of Chicago
who was looking for a contact to help him in his practice of
law in the Cook County court system which we have
described above. Agent Ries paid appellant a total of
$4400 to influence judicial decisions in the ten circuit court

3a

No. 84-2852

misdemeanor cases! which formed the basis of the in-
dictment.

On appeal, appellant claims that his indictment and
conviction for racketeering and extortion cannot stand as
a matter of law; that the court committed reversible error
in its evidentiary rulings; and that the government vio-
lated his Fifth Amendment privilege against self-
incrimination by commenting on his failure to testify. We
shall consider each of these claims seriatim.

Il.

(A) HOBBS ACT :

The Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951, proscribes extortion
which affects interstate commerce. The Act defines ex-
tortion as “the obtaining of property from another, with
his consent, induced... under color of official right.” 18
U.S.C. § 1951(b)(2). A public official’s use of his office to
obtain money not due him or his office is “the crux of the
statutory requirement of ‘under color of official right’ ”.
United States v. Braasch, 505 F.2d 189, 151 (7th Cir. 1974),
cert. denied, 421 U.S. 910 (1975).

“It matters not whether the public official induces
payments to perform his duties or not to perform his
duties, or even... to perform or not to perform acts
unrelated to his duties which can only be undertaken
because of his official position. So long as the motiva-
tion for the payment focuses on the recipient’s office,
the conduct falls within the ambit of 18 U.S.C.
§ 1951.” Id.

In United States v. Rindone, 631 F.2d 491 (7th Cir. 1980),
we held that

“De jure ability to perform the promised act need not
be present; sufficient is ‘a reasonable belief that the

' Nine of the cases were contrived by the FBI; only one was
based on events which actually took place.

4a

No. 84-2852

state system so operated that the power in fact of the
defendant’s office included the effective authority’ to
fulfill the promise.” Jd. at 495, quoting Untied States v.
Mazzei, 521 F.2d 639, 643 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 423
U.S. 1014 (1975).

Appellant contends that the court erred in denying
his motion to dismiss Counts Two through Eleven which
charged him with violating the Hobbs Act. He contends
that those counts did not allege extortion “under color of
official right”, since as a matter of law it is unreasonable
for the victim of an extortion to believe that a police
officer assigned to the Traffic Court Unit of the Chicago
Police Department, by virtue of his official position, has
the power to affect the disposition of cases being tried in
the Circuit Court of Cook County. We cannot say that as a
matter of law appellant’s victim could not reasonably have
believed that appellant’s official position enabled him to
keep his promise to influence judicial decisions by passing
bribes on to judges in the Traffic Court and to judges
Agent Ries believed had previously worked in the Traffic
Court. United States v. Kaye, 586 F. Supp. 1395, 1405 (N.D.
Ill. 1984). We hold that the court correctly denied appel-
lant’s motion to dismiss the Hobbs Act counts.

Appellant also contends that the evidence adduced at
trial was insufficient to sustain the conviction on Counts
Two through Eleven, since the evidence failed to establish
that Agent Ries, the victim of the extortion, reasonably
believed that appellant, by virtue of his official position,
could influence the judicial disposition of cases heard in the
Traffic Court and other local courts. We must view the
evidence in the light most favorable to the government,
United States v. Crowley, 504 F.2d 992, 995 (7th Cir. 1974),
and affirm the conviction if there was some competent and
substantial evidence before the jury which fairly tended to
smile ~ verdict. Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616,

19 (1919).

Clearly, appellant’s official position did not encompass
the power to render judicial decisions. There was, how-
ever, competent and substantial evidence before the jury

Sa

No. 84-2852

from which it could have concluded that Agent Ries
reasonably believed that appellant’s power to affect judi-
cial determinations was due—at least in part—to his
official position as a patrolman assigned to the Traffic
Court Unit who worked as a liaison between the court and
the police department.

In his opening statement at trial, appellant’s counsel
made clear that appellant’s defense to the Hobbs Act
charges was that “no person with any semblance of
reasonableness could have believed that [appellant] pos-
sessed any type of clout, a patrolman on the Chicago police
force.” The reasonableness of Agent Ries’ belief was
explored in detail in 169 pages of direct testimony by
Agent Ries, followed by 302 pages of cross-examination.
Ries testified regarding his belief about the power of
appellant’s position, his conversations with appellant, his
observations of appellant, and appellant’s independent
knowledge of the court proceedings in question. Approxi-
mately 400 pages of transcript from taped conversations
with appellant were reproduced for the jury.

Agent Ries testified that he saw appellant at various
locations in the Traffic Court building—appellant’s office,
the hallways of the first three floors, various courtrooms,
the Corporation Counsel’s office, and the Cook County
Circuit Court Clerk’s office. Agent Ries observed appel-
lant talking to policemen, various members of the public,
traffic court defendants, court clerks, court adminis-
trators, bailiffs, private defense attorneys, attorneys on
the staff of the Corporation Counsel, assistant state’s
attorneys for Cook County, and Traffic Court judges.

Agent Ries further testified that each time he paid
appellant money in regard to a particular case, his state of
mind was

“that Officer Blackwood, by virtue of his position in
the traffic court section and as a court sergeant, and
by virtue of the knowledge and experience gained
from that position, and by virtue of the people he
knew, the judges, other court personnel that he knew,

6a

No. 84-2852

that he had the ability to influence the disposition of
cases heard in Cook County Circuit Court.

My state of mind during this time period was
based on several things, one of which was my general
conversations with Ira, his demeanor, the tone of
voice, his inflections, how he handled himself, how he
carried himself.

Likewise, it was based on the people with whom I
had seen him speaking, the places that I had seen him,
the people about whom he spoke and the way he spoke
about them.

It was also based on the general structure of our
dealings in these cases where I would give him the
information about the cases, and he would meticu-
lously copy it down, and that later on he would get
back to me telling me whether he could do anything
on the case and what it was going to cost me.

Likewise, that if there was a specific judge that
was going to be hearing a case that he could not
influence, he would, likewise, tell me that.

It was also based on his ability to know things
about these cases that I did not tell him, so that it
indicated to me that he had an independent source of
knowledge about these things.

,On the 11 cases on which we had prior arrange-
ments on, 10 of those cases were resolved in a favor-
able manner.

The two judges that I talked to in regards to
these cases, both of them acknowledged some prior
contact about these cases.

In the case of [Talmas] Benham, Officer Black-
wood was able to produce tangible results for me
without the defendant ever showing up in court,

7a

No. 84-2852

without me showing up in court. I received a bond slip
through the Circuit Court of Cook County.

Likewise, when the government did have [a]
wiretap on his phones, Officer Blackwood did know
about that. He told me about that several times.”

On cross-examination, Agent Ries testified that he
believed that appellant had knowledge of the type of
judge that would serve in the particular courtrooms and
that appellant was able to influence a decision with some
of the judges who often sat there.

Agent Ries testified that appellant told him on April
12, 1982 that he took “care of parking tickets for several
judges, and that he knew several judges from the time
that he had been in traffic court as they passed through
there.” Appellant stated on February 17, 1983 in a tape
recorded conversation with Agent Ries that, if a judge
had a problem, he would see appellant, that the judges
came to him “for tickets, or for any car fixin’, or anything
they needed”, that “that’s how I got in with all the
judges.... [G]Jo see Ira. That was the name of the
game.... SoI got in with every judge....”

Based on the above evidence, a jury could have found
that Agent Ries reasonably believed that appellant had
the power, through his official position and the connections
and contacts it gave him to the personnel, workings, and
records of the Circuit Court, to influence the judicial
decisions in the cases for which appellant received bribes.
We hold that there is no basis for disturbing the jury’s
resolution of this issue.

Appellant’s final contention regarding the Hobbs Act
counts is that the court erred in failing to instruct the jury
that Agent Ries’ belief that appellant, by virtue of his
official position, had the power to influence judicial deci-
sions must have been reasonable “given Reis’ [sic] posi-
tion, his knowledge and experience”. Since appellant
never requested the court t» give such an instruction and
failed to object to the instructions given on the ground

8a
No. 84-2852

now raised on appeal, he may not assign error in this
respect except on the ground of plain error. Fed. R. Crim.
P. 30, 52(b).

The court gave the following instructions to the jury
concerning the element of “under color of official right”:

“Extortion under color of official right means the
obtaining of money or property by a public employee
through the wrongful use of his position where the
money or property obtained was not lawfully due and
owing to him or to the position which he held. It
includes the misuse of one’s position of employment in
order to induce payments. The government must
prove beyond a reasonable doubt that it was reason-
able for the persons described in Counts II through XI
to believe that the defendant had power to obtain
favorable results in the FBl-created cases.

I further instruct you that in considering wheth-
er extortion under color of official right was com-
mitted, it does not matter who induced the payments.
If the public employee knows that the motivation of
the alleged victim named in the indictment focused
on the employee’s public position and that the money
or property that was allegedly paid by the victim was
not lawfully due and owing to the employee or to the
office which he held, that is sufficient to satisfy the
requirements of the law of extortion under color of
official right so long as I have said the government
also proved that it was reasonable for the persons
described in counts II through XI to believe that the
defendant had the power to obtain favorable results
in the FBl-created cases.

Extortion under color of specific [sic] right does
not require proof of specific acts by an employee
demonstrating force, threat or use of fear so long as
the alleged victim consented because of the office of
[sic] position held by the employee to whom the
alleged victim paid the money or property.

ae So ee Se a ea

9a
No. 84-2852

The public employee need not control the result
promised so long as the extorted party possesses a
reasonable belief in the employee’s power to obtain
the results.”

The court also gave an interim instruction to the jury
during the cross-examination of Agent Ries that the
government must

“prove beyond a reasonable doubt that Agent Ries in
paying money reasonably believed that the defend-
ant, because of his public position, had the power to
affect the disposition of cases.”

Since the instructions given adequately apprised the
jury that the government must prove that it was reason-
able for Agent Ries to believe that appellant had the
power to influence judiciai decisions, and that Agent Ries
focused on appellant’s official position in paying the
bribes, we hold that there was no plain error.

(B) RICO

RICO, 18 U.S.C. § 1962(¢), makes it unlawful for “any
person employed by or associated with any enterprise
engaged in, or the activities of which affect, interstate or
foreign commerce, to conduct or participate, directly or
indirectly, in the conduct of such enterprise’s affairs
through a pattern of racketeering activity or collection of
unlawful debt.” Appellant contends that the court erred
in denying his motion to dismiss Count One which charged
him with racketeering in violation of RICO, since the
indictment failed to charge that he was associated with an
enterprise that was organized for the purpose of carrying
on racketeering activity. The enterprise specified in the
indictment was the Cook County Circuit Court. Appel-
lant’s contention is without merit. RICO encompasses
both legitimate and illegitimate enterprises. United
States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 578-83 (1981).

Appellant also contends that the evidence adduced at
trial was insufficient to sustain the conviction on Count

10a
No. 84-2852

One. He concedes that the government proved that he
was associated with a legitimate enterprise and that he
committed racketeering activity while so associated. He
contends that it failed to prove that he conducted his
racketeering activity through the Cook County Circuit
Court. At issue is whether there was sufficient evidence of
a connection between appellant’s racketeering activity
and the affairs of the Circuit Court to support a jury
finding that appellant directly or indirectly conducted or
participated in the conduct of the affairs of the Circuit
Court through a pattern of racketeering activity. See
United States v. Nerone, 563 F.2d 836, 852 (7th Cir. 1977),
cert. denied, 435 U.S. 951 (1978). To establish the requisite
nexus, the government must show that “(1) the defend-
ant has in fact committed the racketeering acts as al-
leged; (2) the defendant’s position in the enterprise
facilitated his commission of the racketeering acts, and
(3) the predicate acts had some effect on the lawful
enterprise.” United States v. Cauble, 706 F.2d 1322, 1333
(5th Cir. 1983) (footnote omitted), cert. denied, __. US.
___., 104 S.Ct. 996 (1984). Effect on the lawful enterprise
is established by proof that “the racketeering acts affect-
ed the enterprise in some fashion.” Jd. at 1333 n.24.

We hold that here there was sufficient evidence from
which a jury could find that appellant sought to influence
the disposition, or affect the handling, of criminal cases
through solicitation of bribes, falsification of Circuit Court
records, use of Circuit Court offices and equipment, and
contact with Circuit Court judges.

Ill.

Appellant contends that certain of the court’s eviden-
tiary rulings constituted reversible error. He claims that
the court erred in admitting testimony regarding his
prior bad acts and testimony to prove Agent Ries’ state of
mind regarding appellant’s power, by virtue of his official
position, to influence judicial decisions.

lla

No. 84-2852

Judge Lockwood was permitted to testify that appel-
lant told him

“that he had a lot of clout within the system, that he
had been in trouble nine years before, that some big
people were ready to jump off bridges at that time,
that he kept his mouth shut, and that as a result
everybody trusted him. He took the heat at that time,
and charges were eventually dismissed against him.”

Following this testimony, the court gave a limiting in-
struction that the testimony was to be considered solely in
connection with the “state of mind of people respecting
what the defendant could or couldn’t do.” Appellant asked
the court to declare a mistrial on the ground that the
testimony “clearly says to the jury [appellant] was guilty
in the past”. After the court denied appellant’s request,
appellant rejected the court’s offer to further instruct the
jury on its use of the testimony.

While “[e]vidence of other . . . acts is not admissible to
prove the character of a person in order to show that he
acted in conformity therewith”, it “may, however, be
admissible for other purposes....” Fed. R. Evid. 404(b).
Here, the evidence was admitted to prove the reason-
ableness of Agent Ries’ belief that appellant was ex-
torting him under color of official right. Much of what
Agent Ries reasonably could believe about appellant’s
power, by virtue of his official position, was influenced by
his knowledge of the conversations Judge Lockwood had
with appellant. Evidence of a victim’s state of mind is an
essential element of the government’s case in a Hobbs Act
prosecution for extortion under color of official right.
United States v. Craig, 573 F.2d 513, 520 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 439 U.S. 820 (1978). The evidence, therefore, is
admissible to prove that element so long as the danger of
unfair prejudice does not outweigh its probative value.
Fed. R. Evid. 403. The court considered the prejudice to
appellant from the references to being “in trouble” and
“charges” being “eventually dismissed against him”, but
noted that the statement “was couched in terms of kee-

l2a
No. 84-2852

ping his mouth shut, which is more a matter of knowing
and not telling”. The court concluded that, in light of
appellant’s defense that the victim’s belief was unreason-
able, the likelihood of prejudice was lessened. The court
admitted the evidence for its probative value in estab-
lishing the reasonableness of the victim’s belief. The
admissibility of such evidence is within the sound dis-
cretion of the court. We hold that the court did not abuse
its discretion in admitting the evidence and refusing to
declare a mistrial.

Appellant also contends that certain evidence was
inadmissible hearsay—Agent Ries’ statements regarding
his state of mind during the investigation, Ries’ testi-
mony regarding appellant’s alleged statements to him,
and a taped conversation between two persons not called
as witnesses which Ries testified affected his state of mind
regarding appellant’s ability to influence a particular
judge. Since the evidence was offered to show that Ries, as
the victim of appellant’s extortion, reasonably believed
that appellant had the power by virtue of his official
position to influence the judicial disposition of cases, and
was not offered “to prove the truth of the matter as-
ry it was not inadmissible as hearsay. Fed. R. Evid.

l(c).

We hold that the court did not err in its evidentiary
rulings.

IV.

Appellant’s final contention is that the following
comment made by the government in its-closing argu-
ment violated his Fifth Amendment privilege not to “be
eee ee ee case to be a witness against

“Let me just say, we have his words, we have his
deeds, we have him holding himself out all of these
remarkable coincidences, Dave Ries is supposed to
believe I am so gullible that all this stuff would have

13a

No. 84-2852

happened anyway, it doesn’t make any difference in

the size or the age of these particular cases. Let’s get

down to what this case is all about: money. What has

Ae 58 gen told you about money?” (emphasis
).

Appellant’s counsel objected that the last sentence vio-
lated his client’s constitutional right to remain silent. The
government attorney stated that he was about to quote
what appellant had said in regard to money in the tape
recorded conversations that had been admitted in evi-
dence. The court ruled that the government could com-
ment on what appellant had said on the tapes.

While we are wary of any statement which refers to a
defendant’s failure to testify, we do not believe that any
juror could have understood this comment as referring to
anything other than appellant’s taped statements. The
comment was made approximately an hour and twenty
minutes into the government’s closing argument during
which time the government attorney had quoted, para-
phrased, and referred approximately one hundred times
to what appellant had said in the tapes and the transcripts
of his conversations. Following the comment in question,
the government attorney proceeded to quote and para-
phrase eleven specific instances in the tapes and the
transcripts where appellant stated that he was motivated
by money.

Considering the comment in context, we hold that it
did not violate appellant’s constitutional right. Even
assuming that it did, we hold that it was harmless beyond
a reasonable doubt. United States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499,
510-11 (1983).

. F

To summarize: We hold that the district court cor-
rectly denied appellant’s motion to dismiss the indictment
and correctly entered judgment on the jury verdict of
guilty on all counts. We further hold that appellant has

l4a

No. 84-2852

failed to establish any reversible error in the court’s
evidentiary rulings or in the court’s ruling with respect to
the government’s closing argument.

Appellant was convicted after a fair trial on the basis
of overwhelming evidence of serious crimes committed
over a period of a year and a half. We order that the
mandate issue forthwith.

AFFIRMED.

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA 50234—Pandick Midwest, Inc., Chicago—7-11-85—450

15a
[4] Ries—direct

Q. Mr. Ries, how are you employed?

A. I am a special agent with the Federal Bureau of
Investigation.

Q. How long have you been so employed?

Since July of 1976.

Do you know a man by the name of Ira Blackwood?
Yes, I do.

Do you see him in the courtroom today?

Yes, I do.

MR. RODDY: We will stipulate for the record that he
is seated at the table here.

MR. NEWMAN: So stipulated?
THE COURT: It is so stipulated.

> OPO P

BY MR. NEWMAN:
Q. When did you first meet Mr. Blackwood?
A. September 4th, 1981.
Q. And when did you arrive in Chicago?
A. In March of 1980.

Q. When you met Mr. Blackwood on September 4th,
1981, how was he employed, if you know?

A. He was a Chicago police officer.
Q. Where was he employed?

A. At Cook County traffic center, 321 North La Salle
Street in Chicago.

Q. What position did he hold, if you know?

l6a

[8] Q. Did you hold any licenses at that time?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. What type of license did you hold?

A. I held a license to practice law in the State of Illinois.

Q. During this same period of time, 1981 to May of ’83,
did you assume any role?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. Would you tell the ladies and gentlemen of the jury
what your role was.

A. I assumed the role of a private defense attorney in
private practice within the City of Chicago.

Q. Did you use your reai name?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And did you also use a code name?
A. Yes, I did.

Q. Did you also alter your name a little bit to adopt also
your code name?

A. Yes.

Q. Were you part of an undercover investigation?
A. Yes, I was.

Q. What was the name of that investigation?

A. The investigation was commonly known as the Grey-
lord investigation.

Q. What type of practice were you in?

A. I was allegedly involved in a criminal defense and
traffic

[161] gained from that position, and by virtue of the people he
knew, the judges, other court personnel that he knew, that he

17a

had the ability to influence the disposition of cases heard in
Cook County Circuit Court.

My state of mind at that time I believe was based on
several things.

MR. RODDY: I object to this. I don’t know if there is
a question pending, or are we to going to get a narrative
here.

MR. NEWMAN: I asked him what his state of mind
was based on.

THE COURT: There is a question pending.

BY THE WITNESS:

A. My state of mind during this time period was based on
several things, one of which was my general conversations with
Ira, his demeanor, the tone of voice, his inflections, how he
handled himself, how he carried himself.

Likewise, it was based on the people with whom I had
seen him speaking, the places that I had seen him, the
people about whom he spoke and the way he spoke about
them.

It was also based on the general structure of our
dealings in these cases where I would give him the
information about the cases, and he would meticulously
copy it down, and that later on he would get back to me
telling me whether he could do anything on the case and
what it was going to cost me.

Likewise, that if there was a specific judge that was

[ 162] going to be hearing a case that he could not influence, he
would, likewise, tell me that.

It was based on the fact that he was able to know
things—
MR. RODDY: I object, again, to a speech rather than

answer as to the state of mind. It’s becoming a speech
here.

18a

THE COURT: I think he can continue, although it is
sort of dragging out.

Go ahead.
BY THE WITNESS:

A. It was also based on his ability to know things about
these cases that I did not tell him, so that it indicated to me that
he had an independent source of knowledge about these things.

On the |1 cases on which we had prior arrangements
on, 10 of those cases were resolved in a favorable manner.

The two judges that I talked to in regards to these
cases, both of them acknowledged some prior contact
about these cases.

In the case of Thomas Benham, Officer Blackwood
was able to produce tangible results for me without the
defendant ever showing up in court, without me showing
up in court. I received a bond slip through the Circuit
Court of Cook County.

Likewise, when the government did have wiretap on
his phones, Officer Blackwood did know about that. He
told me about that several times.

I think that about wraps it up.

[537] Lockwood—direct
him.

THE COURT: It is relevant. I think it can come in. I
am perfectly prepared to give an instruction to the effect
that the statements relating to matters which by testimony
the defendant was not involved in and that they are

matters that have nothing to do with the substance of the
charges here.

MR. RODDY: Okay.
(End of discussion at side bar. )

19a

BY MR. PODLISKA:

Q. Mr. Lockwood, you may continue. What did Officer
Blackwood tell you?

A. He told me that, in explaining that he had a lot of clout
within the system, that he had been in trouble nine years
before, that some big people were ready to jump off bridges at
that time, that he kept his mouth shut, and that as a result
everybody trusted him. He took the heat at that time, and
charges were eventually dismissed against him.

THE COURT: Ladies and gentlemen, with reference
to that. As is evident, the testimony is not with respect to
anything that this defendant did wrong at a prior time, and
in any event that has nothing to do with the substance of
the charges that are before you now, as the testimony is
introduced solely for matters of state of mind of people
respecting what the defendant could or couldn’t do.

MR. RODDY: Judge, could I be heard again at the
sidebar?

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0715%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
