# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Genesis Broadcasting Ltd. v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0681%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 946

## Text

@5-371 | seman]

FILED
SEP 3 86
No. sniipinnias JOSEPH F. SPANIGL, AR

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

GENESIS BROADCASTING LIMITED,
Pet: ‘ioner,
V.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND BROADCAST COMMUNICATIONS, INC.
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Robert B. Lubic*

Robert L. Olender

Lee J. Peltzman

Aaron Shainis

BARAFF, KOERNER, OLENDER
& HOCHBERG, P.C.

2033 M Street, N.W.

Suite #203

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 452-8200

Counsel for Petitioner
Genesis Broadcasting
Limited
*Counsel of Record
September 3, 1985

RE SE TOE ST
PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTION PRESENTED

The court of appeals affirmed an order of the Federal
Communications Commission (the “Commission” or
“FCC”) denying the application of Genesis Broadcasting
Limited (“Genesis”) for a construction permit for an FM
broadcast station at Evanston, Illinois, and granting the
application of Broadcast Communications, Inc. (“BCI” or
“WOJO”) for renewal of license for broadcast station WOJO
(FM). The Commission’s order was based on its conclusion
that the renewal applicant deserved a significant com-
parative preference, termed a “renewal expectancy,” for its
past broadcast record, which outweighed Genesis substan-
tial structural preferences for adding to the diversification of
ownership of the mass media and proposing the participa-
tion of all of its ownership in station management. The
following question is presented:

Whether, contrary to this Court’s decision in Ash-
backer Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945), the
reviewing court ratified a licensing decision of the FCC
which, because of its result-oriented decisional bias in
favor of incumbent broadcasters, effectively nullified
petitioner's statutory right to a full and fair hearing
challenging an incumbent broadcaster in a comparative
renewal broadcast licensing proceeding.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......-.+-0+eeeeseeeeereeee i
TAPE OF AUTHORITIES ........ccccccccccccccccees ili
OPIMIONS BELOW 2... ccc cc ccc ccc ce cece cenenecccnes 1
ZUETION on ccc cccncdancesneussveusavasens o4 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS IN-
I nn co du n ve sen ah hake ee oN es ORR TASS 2
GQTATEMENT 20... ccccccccccswsccccccccsesenssseese 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........-+++++: 5
1. The Decision Below Effectively Nullified Genesis’
Statutory Right To A Full And Fair Hearing .... 5

2. The Decision Below Failed To Follow Those ‘udi-
cially Approved Standards For Determining Li-
censee Performance And Instead Created An

Irrebutable Presumption In Favor Of Renewal ... 8
COROT RINNE on cnc cecncnsnstenccenceecuweses seuss 11
APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Order of June 4, 1985 (denying suggestion for rehearing

ee PERO PTET CCT TT eee TT er te la
Judgement of March 29, 1984 (affirming the order of the
Federal Communications Commission) .......-.--: 2a

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Memorandum Opinion and Order, released March 20,
1984 (denying the application for review of the Decision
of the Review Board) ............ sc ecee cece cecees da

Decision of the Review Board, released April 4, 1983 . 9a

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945). ..
Beebe v. FRC, 61 F.2d 914 AE ee eae

Office of Communication of the United Church of Christ v.

FCC, 359 F.2d 994 (D.C. Cir. 1966) .............
STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

MN ED ccc cca ccnncccncccce,

Communications Act of 1934, as amended,
yak os 65 ok 55650564 dain vsvnncnnce
Ee a sv k basco ncks tee:

PO ID nose cecccecccce.....
en re

Page

6
7

iv

Table of Authorities Continued

ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS AND REPORTS:
Broadcast Communications, Inc., 97 FCC 2d 61 (1984)
Broadcast Communications, Inc., 93 FCC 2d 1162 (Rev.
Seva Gc uks bee eess eu ReA Pee ae es
Cowles Broadcasting, Inc., 86 FCC 2d 993 (1981) ....
Cowles Florida Broadcasting, Inc., 60 FCC 2d 372
(1976), recon. den. 62 FCC 2d 953 (1977) ........
Formulation of Policies Relating to the Broadcast Re-
newal Applicant, Stemming from the Comparative
Hearing Process (Notice of Inquiry), 88 FCC 2d 120
PEE cnc AVR Kabs Shek eee Anee SeKeehabhanbauns
New Mexico Broadcasting Co., Inc., 88 FCC 2d 1469
EE Kk ua Uaan ee hee Khde Sede pares enw iiaKs
Report and Order on Deregulation of Radio, 84 FCC 2d
968, recon. denied, 87 FCC 2d 797 (1981) ........

Page

© OO

~l

IN THE
Supreme Court of the GQnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-____

GENESIS BROADCASTING LIMITED,
Petitioner,
V.
- FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND BROADCAST COMMUNICATIONS, INC.
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Genesis Broadcasting Limited* respectfully petitions for
a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment of the Court of Appeals appears in the
Appendix to this petition (App. B). Suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc was denied by Order entered June 4, 1985. The
Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Federal Communi-

*Genesis Broadcasting Limited has no parent, subsidiary or affili-
ated companies.

cations Commission, reported at 97 FCC 2d 61 (1984), also
appears in the Appendix to this petition (App. C).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit was entered on March 29,
1985 (App. B). A timely suggestion for rehearing en banc
was denied on June 4, 1985 (App. A). The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 47 U.S.C. § 402(j) and 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

United States Code, Title 47:

Section 301 - License for Radio Communication or
Transmission of Energy

It is the purpose of the this Act, among other things, to
maintain the control of the United States over all the chan-
nels of radio transmission; and to provide for the use of such
channels, but not the ownership thereof, by persons for
limited periods of time, under licenses granted by Federal
authority, and no such license shall be construed to create
any right, beyond the terms, conditions, and periods of the
license ....

Section 304 - Waiver by Licensee

No station license shall be granted by the Commission
until the applicant therefor shall have signed a waiver of any
claim to the use of any particular frequency or of the elec-
tromagnetic spectrum as against the regulatory power of
the United States because of the previous use of the same,
whether by license or otherwise.

Section 309-Action Upon Applications; Form of and
Conditions Attached to Licensees

* * *

(e) If, in the case of any application to which subsection (a)
of this section applies, a substantial and material question of
fact is presented or the Commission for any reason is unable
to make the finding specified in such subsection, it shall
formally designate the application for hearing on the ground
or reasons then obtaining. . . . Any ‘.earing subsequently
held upon such application shall be a full hearing in which
the applicant and all other parties in interests shall be
permitted to participate. The burden of proceeding with the
cntroduction of evidence and the burden of proof shall be
upon the applicant, except that with respect to any issue
presented by a petition to deny or a petition to enlarge the
issues, such burdens shall be as determined by the
Commission.

STATEMENT

This petition seeks review of a judgment (App. B) affirm-
ing an order of the Federal Communications Commission
(App. C) denying the application of comparative challenger
Genesis and granting the application of incumbent broad-
caster, BCI for renewal of license for station WOJO, Evan-
ston, I[llinois.'

Petitioner Genesis is comprised of two local citizens, who,
in 1976, filed an application to supplant BCI as the operator
of WOJO because of their dissatisfaction with the minimal
broadcast service being provided by that station to its com-
munity of license. Genesis filed its application under the
belief that it would be awarded those full hearing rights
guaranteed to all comparative applicants under Section

‘Broadcast Communications, Inc., 97 FCC 2d 61 (1984).

309(e) of the Communications Act, 47 U.S.C. § 309(e), and
Ashbacker Redio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945).

The Commission’ order granting BCI renewal was based
on the FCC’ conclusion that the incumbent's past broadcast
record at WOJO was substantial and that the licensee there-
fore deserved a renewal expectancy. The Commission’ find-
ing of substantial performance was made despite the follow-
ing evident ary facts:

(1) During the relevant license period, WOJO, the only
fulltime station operating in Evanston, a zity of over
80,000 people, broadcast exactly one puki ~ «ffairs pro-
gram addressing the ascertained problems and needs
of its community of license. Even that program was
broadcast only intermittently one-half hour per week.
J. A. 24°

(2) The station did virtually nothing to initiate news or
public affairs programming. In fact, BCI maintained no
news staff at the station. J. A. 154. Not surprisingly, as
a result, WOJO'’s broadcast of news and public affairs
placed it at or near the bottom compared to all of the
stations operating in its service area. J.A. 67, 87.

(3) Testimony from Evanston public officials, as well as
from other Evanston residents, established that WOJO
virtually ignored and was totally indifferent to the
needs and interests of its community of license. J.A.
123-124, 129-133, 182.

The Presiding Administrative Law Judge adequately
summed up BCI’ license term performance at WOJO when
he made the following conclusion:

*Citations to “J.A.” refer to the Joint Appendix in the court of
appeals.

BCI did not demonstrate that the quality of its pro-
gramming was superior or even substantial. On a quan-
titative basis, it is evident that the station generally
performed in the just acceptable range. J.A. 188.

Faced with the incumbent broadcaster's record of mini-
mal service, and recognizing Genesis’ structural com-
parative strengths, the FCC manufactured a “substantial”
broadcast record for the renewal applicant. The Commis-
sion offered excuses for WOJO’s programming failures,
while, ai the same time, it reviewed the record for anything
it could find which could be cited in support of a finding of
above average performance. The Commission’ result-ori-
ented decision focused on some non-broadcast civic ac-
tivities engaged in by the station (many of which occurred
prior to the commencement of the relevant license period),
decade old positive statements from individuals who did not
submit evidence at the hearing, and the broadcast of re-
ligious.services to meet ascertained local needs.

Genesis appealed the Commission's order to the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.
Principal among the numerous errors cited by Genesis as
the basis for its appeal was the Commission’ failure to
follow its own enunciated renewal standards, which it had
formerly declared it would rely on in determining the pres-
ence or absence of a renewal expectancy.

The court affirmed the Commission without issuing an
opinion. Genesis timely filed a suggestion for rehearing en

banc, which was also denied without opinion on June 4,
1985.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Decision Below Effectively Nullified Genesis’ Stat-
utory Right To A Full and Fair Hearing.

Repeatedly, over the years, courts have noted with disap-
proval the FCC's attempts to set up an operational bias in

favor of incumbent licensees and the consequential erection
of a presumption of renewal that is inconsistent with those
full hearing Ashbacker rights guaranteed to challengers to
renewal applicants under Section 309(e) of the Communica-
tions Act.* Even in those cases where they have affirmed the
Commission’ licensing decisions, courts have warned the
Commission that its comparative renewal process should
not be permitted to degenerate into an irrebutable pre-
sumption of renewal,* and that the Commission “may not
use renewal expectancies of incumbent licensees to shortcir-
cuit the comparative hearing.”

Still, the FCC has disfavored implementation of the full
hearing Ashbacker requirement of Section 309(e) of the Act
to comparative renewal proceedings. The Commission has
gone so far as to recommend to Congress that Section 309 of
the Act be amended to provide for a two-tiered approach to
broadcast licensing renewals.° In the absence of that re-
quested Congressional relief, the Commission has, on its
own, on an ad hoc basis, set itself to repealing the full

>Committee for Community Access v. FCC, 737 F.2d 74 (D.C. Cir.
1984); Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, 598 F.2d 37 (D.C.
Cir. 1978), reh. en bane denied and modified, 598 F.2d 58, cert.
dismissed, 447 U.S.-957 (1979) (“Cowles I”); Citizens Communica-
tions Center v. FCC, 447 F.2d 1201 (D.C. Cir. 1971), clarification
granted, 463 F.2d 822 (1972); Greater Boston Television Corporation
v. FCC, 444 F.2d 841 (D.C. Cir. 1970).

‘Eg., Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, 683 F.2d 503
(D.C. Cir. 1982), cert. den., 103 S.Ct. 1774 (1983) (“Cowles IT”).

Fidelity Television Inc. v. FCC, 515 F.2d 684, 709 (D.C. Cir. 1975)
(Bazelon, C.J.) (voting for rehearing en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S.
926 (1975).

°Formulation of Policies Relating to the Broadcast Renewal Appli-
cant, Stemming from the Comparative Hearing Process (Notice of
Inquiry), 88 FCC 2d 120, 121 n. 1 (1981).

wna 2 ane de aaa ee

hearing requirement of Section 309(e) of the Act in com-
parative renewals.

The Commission has attempted to accomplish this task
through adoption of a licensing approach which, on its face,
appears eminently reasonable, but, which in practice, is so
heavily weighed in favor of incumbent broadcasters that it
amounts to a fraud on the comparative challenger and on the
listening public. The instant case provides ample documen-
tation that, at the Commission, the “tacit presumption that
the incumbent licensee is to be preferred over competing
applicants” still reigns supreme.

Under Section 309(e) of the Communications Act, the
burden of proof (as well as the burden of proceeding) in a
renewal hearing is on the renewal applicant to demonstrate
that grant of its renewal will serve the public interest.*
Thus, in the instant case, it was BCI which had the statu-
tory obligation to provide affirmative evidence demonstrat-
ing that its programmii g was responsive to those needs
which existed in its community of license.” Genesis had no
obligation to demonstrate unmet needs.

BCI failed to meet its statutory burden. Although BCI
claimed in its written hearing exhibits that it had addressed
the ascertained problems and needs of its community
through its programming, its witnesses could not answer
the simplest questions concerning when and how these
needs and problems were addressed. Jorge Infanto, the
individual offered by BCI to sponsor its programming ex-

‘Cowles I, supra, 598 F.2d at 41.

“See Beebe v. FCC, 61 F.2d 914, 915 (D.C. Ct. App. 1932); Office of
Communication of the United Church of Christ v. FCC, 359 F.2d 994,
1007 (D.C. Cir. 1966).

%See New Mexico Broadcasting Co., Inc., 88 FCC 2d 1469, 1473
1982).

hibits, candidly admitted that he knew virtually nothing
about the programming broadcast by WOJO during the
relevant license term, including to what extent that pro-
gramming was responsive tc community problems. J.A.
142-149, 160-167. Despite repeated requests by Genesis,
BCI failed to offer any other individual who would provide
information as to the station’s non-entertainment program-
ming during the relevant license period. J.A. 144-146,
150-151, 163-164.

Despite BCI’s failure to meet its Section 309(e) burden,
the Commission, nevertheless, credited it with providing
responsive programming and granted it a renewal expec-
tancy.'’ Clearly, the Commission was legally incorrect in its
assessment, as BCI could not properly receive a renewal
expectancy for programming which it could not even show
was responsive to the problems and needs of its community
of license. The Commission in effect, reversed the Section
309(e) burden and, contrary to law, obligated Genesis to
demonstrate why WOJO’s license should not be renewed.
The court of appeals judgment affirming the Commission's
licensing approach permits the Commission to continue its
illegal policy under which renewal is assumed rather than
demonstrated on the record, contrary to the explicit terms
of the FCC's authorizing statute.

2. The Decision Below Failed To Follow Those Judicially
Approved Standards For Determining Licensee Perfor-

mance And Instead Created An Irrebutable Presumption
In Favor Of Renewal

Because the issuance of a broadcast license does not
confer any proprietary interest in that license, a license

“Broadcast Communications, Inc., 93 FCC 2d 1162, 1164-65 (Rev.
Bd. 1983) App. C at 6a-8a.

annie ee

Oo aeclen paiely

entails no right of renewal." The public interest standard of
the Communications Act does, however, recognize a
“renewal expectancy,” which, under limited circumstances,
permits the Commission to attach some weight to the fact of
incumbency when considering an application for renewal in
a comparative hearing.

A “renewal expectancy” may not be based upon the fact of
incumbency per se. To the contrary, the awarding of an
expectancy, as well as its strength, depends on the merit of
the renewal applicant’s past broadcast record. According to
the Commission, an incumbent broadcaster may expect to
receive a legitimate renewal expectancy only when, at the
very least, its performance has been “substantial”. Substan-
tial performance has been defined as being “sound, favora-
ble and substantially above a level of mediocre service which
might just minimally warrant renewal.”'* When an incum-
bent has rendered substantial, but not superior service, the
“expectancy” takes the form of a comparative preference
weighed against other comparative factors. However, an
incumbent rendering minimal service receives no prefer-
ence at all.’* Minimal performance consists of performance
of all statutory obligations and minimal, although adequate
attention to the issues confronting the licensee’s community,

"47 U.S.C. §§ 301, 304.

"Cowles Florida Broadcasting, Inc., 62 FCC 2d 953, 955-956
(1977), vacated and remanded sub nom. Central Florida Enter-
prises, Inc. v. FCC, 598 F.2d 37 (D.C. Cir. 1978), reh. en banc denied
and modified, 598 F.2d 58, cert. dismissed, 441 U.S. 957 (1979).

’Cowles Broadcasting, Inc., 86 FCC 2d 933, 1012 (1981), aff'd sub
nom. Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, 683 F.2d 503 (D.C.
Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 103 S. Ct. 1774 (1983).

10

primarily, and service area outside of its community,
secondarily. “*

In permitting the establishment of a renewal expectancy,
the court of appeals relied upon the Commission’s commit-
ment that such an expectancy would be factored in for the
benefit of the public, not for incumbent broadcasters, and
that where “the denial of a license renewal would not under-
mine renewal expectancy in a way harmful to the public
interest, then renewal expectancy [wJould not be in-
voked.””° It is clear that, in this case, the Commission has
failed to honor its commitment. In view of WOJO’s license
term broadcast performance, described above, it can hardly
be reasonably argued that the refusal to award a renewal
expectancy to WOJO would harm the listening public.
WOJO’s performance was no more than adequate. Under
the Commission’s own standards, such a record should have
resulted in a finding of “minimal,” rather than “substantial”
performance, with no renewal expectancy being awarded to
the incumbent broadcaster.

The Commission’s decision to grant renewal based on the
existence of such an expectancy is one step further in the
emasculation of the Commission’s renewal standards and
the deterioration of the comparative licensing process into
precisely the sort of irreversible presumption in favor of
renewal that earlier courts had warned against. The court of
appeals judgment in this case to defer to the Commission
permits the FCC to continue to redefine downward the level
of broadcast service required for the awarding of a renewal

See Report and Order on Deregulation of Radio, 84 FCC 2d 968,
989 n. 53, recon. den., 87 FCC 2d 797 (1981), affd in part and
remanded in part sub nom. Office of Communication of the United
Church of Christ v. FCC, 707 F.2d 1413 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

°Cowles II, supra, 683 F.2d at 510.

(ban Wall ADA RNR IIA PARTE IE 9 1B: LALO SIR bts La REMI Py ite RNB i ee

Ae ile abs ie Shei

eles eA 4b ek ee

11

expectancy. The consequences of that judgment will not be
felt by Genesis alone, for it cannot help but lead to the
dimunition of broadcast service nationally, as broadcasters
recognize that the “competitive spur” previously provided
through the prospect of competing applicants at renewal
time has been effectively removed.

Pursuant to the terms of Section 402(b) of the Communi-
cations Act, the District of Columbia Circuit has exclusive
jurisdiction over appeals from licensing decisions and orders
of the FCC. The fact of that exclusive jurisdiction rules out
the possibility of a conflict of circuits in Commission ad-
judications, a major basis for granting writs of certiorari.
However, in view of the leading role played by the District of
Columbia Circuit in the review of decisions of the FCC, this
case calls for the exercise of supervisory power by this
Court to ensure that the judgment of the court below does
not depart from the norms of judicial review.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert Bennett. Lubic*
Robert L. Olender
Lee J. Peltzman
Aaron Shainis
BARAFF, KOERNER, OLENDER
& HOCHBERG, P.C.
2033 M Street, N.W.
Suite 203
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 452-8200

Counsel for Petitioner
Genesis Broadcasting Limited
*Counsel of Record

September 3, 1985

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1154

GENESIS BROADCASTING LIMITED
. Vv.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

JUN 4 1984

BEFORE: Robinson, Chief Judge, Wright, Tamm, Wald,
Mikva, Edwards, Ginsburg, Bork, Scalia and Starr, Circuit
Judges, and Davis, Circuit Judge, United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit

ORDER

Appellant’s suggestion for rehearing en banc, filed May 13,
1985, has been circulated to the full Court and no member has
requested the taking of a vote thereon. Upon consideration of
the foregoing, it is

ORDERED, by the Court en banc, that the suggestion is
denied.

Per Curiam
FOR THE COURT
GEORGE A. FISHER, CLERK

BY: Robert A. Bonner
Chief Deputy Clerk

2a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-1154

GENESIS BROADCASTING LIMITED,
Appellant
V.
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION,
Appellee
BROADCASTING COMMUNICATIONS, INC.,
Intervenor

Filed MAR 29 1985

APPEAL FROM AN ORDER OF THE FEDERAL
COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION.
Before: WALD, EDWARDS, and DAVIS*, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on a notice of appeal from an
order of the Federal Communications Commission, and was
argued by counsel. While the issues presented occasion no
need for an opinion, they have been accorded full consideration

*Of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, sitting by
designation pursuant. to 28 U.S.C. § 291(a).

3a

by the Court. See Local Rule 13(¢c). On consideration of the
foregoing, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED, by this Court, that the order
of the Federal Communications Commission on appeal herein is
hereby affirmed. It is

FURTHER ORDERED, sua sponte, that the Clerk shall
withhold issuance of the mandate herein until seven days after
disposition of any timely petition for rehearing. See Local Rule
14, as amended on November 30, 1981 and June 15, 1982. This
instruction to the Clerk is without prejudice to the right of any
party at any time to move for expedited issuance of the man-
date for good cause shown.

Per Curiam

For The Court

: George A. Fisher
Clerk

da

APPENDIX C

Before the
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

FCC 84-99
95194

a

In re Applications of

BROADCAST COMMUNICATIONS, INC. BC Docket No. 81-157
Evanston, Illinois File Nos. BRH-85

For Renewal of Main, Auxiliary, and BRSCA-206
Sub-Carrier Authorization

Licenses of Station WOJO (FM)

Evanston, Illinois

GENESIS BROADCASTING LIMITED BC Docket No. 81-158
Evanston, Illinois File No. BPH-10386

For Construction Permit

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
Adopted: March 15, 1984 Released: March 20, 1984

By the Commission:

1. The Commission has before it: (a) an Application for
Review of the Review Board's Decision herein' filed May 4,
1983, by Genesis Broadcasting Limited (Genesis); (b) an Ap-
plication for Review of the Review Board's Decision herein filed
May 4, 1983, by Broadcast Communications, Inc. (BCI); (¢) an
Opposition to (a) filed June 17, 1983, by BCI; (d) an Opposition

'93 FCU 2D 1162 (1983).

a oe

ee ene

Da

to (b) filed June 17, 1983, by Genesis; and (e) a Consolidated
Opposition to (a) and (b) filed June 17, 1983, by the Chief, Mass
Media Bureau.

2. We have determined that BCI should not receive a prefer-
ence for its proposed Spanish language programming. The
record evidence demonstrates that there is a substantial
amount of Spanish lang... ze programming in Station WOJO's
service area during the day,” but that at night WOJO serves an
area not served by other Spanish language stations.* Although
Evanston, Illinois has two daytime-only AM stations and one
non-commercial educational F'M station, Station WOJO is the
only fulltime commercial station licensed to Evanston and thus
provides the only local (Evanston) commercial radio service at
night. There is an obvious need for both the specialized pro-
gramming proposed by BCI and the general market program-
ming proposed by Genesis. Therefore, neither applicant is due
a preference for its proposed programming.‘

*See paras. 28 and 29 of the Initial Decision, 98 FCC 2d 1176, 1184-86
(1982).

‘Station WOJO would provide the only Spanish language radio service at
night to an area of 833 square miles in which 116,000 Hispanics live. See BCI
Exhibit 17, pp. 5-7. Evanston, which is BCI's city of license, has a population
of 80,113, of which 1,715 persons are Hispanic.

‘Uur action herein is consistent with our award of a substantial preference
to American International Development, Inc. (AID) for its proposed Spanish
language programming in American International Development, Inc.
(AID), 75 FCC 2d 67, 96, 107 (ALJ 1979), affirmed, 86 FCC 2d 808, 818
(1981). AID was an applicant for a new FM station to be licensed to Phoenix,
Arizona, which was already being served by several stations with general
market formats. In AJD we found that a significant Hispanic population
resided both in Phoenix and within the rest of AID's proposed 1 mV’m
contour and that there was a dearth of Spanish language programming in the
Phoenix area. In the case now before us, BCI's community of license is
Evanston, Illinois, which has about 1,700 Hispanics out of a total population
of about 80,000. Thus, there is only a small Hispanic population in Evanston.
Further, Station WONX, a daytime-only commercial radio station licensed to
Evanston, is a Spanish language station. Lastly, we note that WOJO is the
only fulltime broadcast station assigned to Evanston.

6a

3. Except for our determination that BCI should not receive
a preference for its specialized programming, we concur in all
significant respects with the Review Board’s decision herein.
Thus, we agree that BCI’s past broadcast record was substan-
tial as defined by Cowles Broadcasting, Inc.,*° and therefore
deserves a significant comparative preference or what is
termed a “renewal expectancy,” which outweighs Genesis inte-
gration and diversification preferences. We also concur with
the Board’s assessment of a moderate demerit against Genesis
for exhibiting carelessness in filing and prosecuting its applica-
tion through the hearing process.® Therefore, BCI is the clear
winner in this proceeding.

4. However, Genesis has raised arguments concerning BCI’s
past broadcast record which warrant further comment. Gene-
sis claims that BCI has provided truly minimal service to the
residents of Evanston, Illinois. Several individuals, including
two Evanston aldermen, stated that Station WOJO was not
responsive to Evanston’s needs and interests because too much
of its programming was in Spanish and directed to audiences
residing mostly outside of Evanston. Without making any spe-
cific reference to Station WOJO, a third alderman expressed his
interest in having a station in Evanston which would broadcast
a significant amount of English language programming, while a
fourth alderman stated that Evanston needed more locally-
oriented programs. None of the aldermen’s statements ex-
plained whether their comments related to the license term
being examined in this proceeding (7.e., 1973-1976) or the

586 FCC 2d 933, 1006 (1981), affirmed sub nom., Central Florida Enter-
prises, Inc. v. FCC, 683 F.2d 503 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

*In its Application for Review, BCI argues that the Review Board erred
when it failed to overrule the Presiding Judge's refusal to add a basic dis-
qualifying issue against Genesis for neglecting to report the filing of a
criminal complaint against Mr. Renken, who is Genesis’ President, as re-
quired by Section 1.65 of our Rules. This argument is now moot. The hearings
have been completed and BCI has proven itself to be the winner based on the
existing record. There is no reason to conduct further hearings to determine
whether Genesis should have lost by a wider margin than the present record
indicates.

Ta

degree to which they were familiar with Station WOJO’s pro-
gramming.’ Further, none of the foregoing witnesses identified
any local public issues which might have been omitted by the
licensee. Other testimony praised WOJO for its public service
to Hispanics in Evanston and the Chicago metropolitan area.
The subjective preferences of various witnesses, both pro and
con, do not provide a basis for altering the conclusion that BCI’s
past broadcast record was substantial and thus merits a signifi-
cant comparative preference in this proceeding. In this re-
spect, paragraph 4 of the Review Board’s Decision summarizes
the portion of the evidentiary record which provides a basis for
an objective analysis of the licensee’s broadcast record.

5. Further, Genesis argues that BCI fell short of broadcast-
ing the amount of news and public affairs programs it stated it
would broadcast during the relevant license term of 1973 to
1976. In its 1973 renewal application, BCI proposed to provide
21.49 percent of its overall programming in the following non-
entertainment categories: news, 5 percent; public affairs, 1.49
percent, and all “other” programs (exclusive of entertainment
and sports), 15.0 percent. In its 1976 renewal application, BCI
initially computed the following percentages of its program-
ming as constituting nonentertainment programs presented
during the composite week: news 4.1 percent; public affairs,
0.3 percent, and all “other” programs, 14.0 percent, for a total
of 18.4 percent. BCI recomputed those percentages most re-
cently in October 1981, explaining that it had misread some of
the programming logs in previous computations. These most
recent figures are: news, 5.3 percent; public affairs, 0.3 per-
cent; and “other” programs, 15.3 percent for a total of 20.9
percent nonentertainment programming.* Although Genesis
appears to be relying upon the initial 1976 computations, it has
not demonstrated that the most recent figures are not reliable.
Like the Review Board, we accept the most recent computa-
tions as accurate. Thus, BCI did not broadcast the amount of

7One alderman stated that he was not familiar with WOJO’s programming.
*See paras. 32-35 of the Initial Decision, 93 FCC 2d 1176, 1186-87.

8a

public affairs it proposed, but exceeded the amount of news and
“other” programming it had initially planned to air. Further,
BCI has given an adequate explanation as to why it broadcast
so few public affairs programs, namely, that certain entities
which produced those programs discontinued producing
them.’

6. We find that there is no significant discrepancy between
BCI’s proposed (21.49 percent) and performed nonentertain-
ment programming, whether one relies on the original (18.4
percent) or the most recent (20.9 percent) computations for
BCI’s composite week. Further, whether one utiliz~s the orig-
inal or the most recent computations for BCI’s composite week,
BCI exceeded the average and median percentages of nonen-
tertainment programming broadcast during the composite
week by the other commercial FM stations serving the Chicago
area.'° Just as we compared similarly situated television licen-
sees in Cowles Broadcasting, Inc.,"' we find it more meaningful
in measuring BCI’s performance to compare similarly situated
FM stations than to compare all radio stations in the Chicago
market.”

7. ACCORDINGLY, IT IS ORDERED, That pursuant to
Section 1.115(g) of the Commission’s Rules, the Application for
Review of the Review Board’s Decision herein filed May 4,
1983, by Genesis Broadcasting Limited IS GRANTED to the
extent indicated in this Memorandum Opinion and Order and
IS DENIED in all other respects, the Application for Review
of the Review Board’s Decision herein filed May 4, 1983, by
Broadcast Communications, Inc. IS DENIED, and the Review
Board Decision, FCC 83R-24, released April 4, 1983, IS MOD-
IFIED as reflected herein.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

William J. Tricarico
keiaaeadaiie Secretary
%See BCI Ex. 23, p. 205.
See the chart in paragraph 36 of the Initial Decision, supra.
"86 FCC 2d 993, 1006-07 (1981).
See para. 36, note 10 of the Initial Decision, supra.

9a

Appendix D

Before the

Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

FCC 83R-24

3262

In re Applications of

BROADCAST COMMUNICATIONS,
INC.

Evanston, Illinois

For Renewal of Main Auxiliary
and

Sub-Carrier Authorization
Licenses of Station WOJO (FM),
Evanston, Illinois

GENESIS BROADCASTING
LIMITED
Evanston, Illinois

For Construction Permit

BC Docket No. 81-157
File Nos. BRH-85
BRSCA-206

BC Docket No. 81-158
File No. BPH-10386

APPEARANCES

Brian M. Madden and Stanley B. Cohen for Broadcast
Communications, Inc.; Aaron Shainis and Robert L. Olender
for Genesis Broadcasting Limited; and Norman Goldstein and
Charles W. Kelley for the Chief, Mass Media Bureau, Federal

Communications Commission.

DECISION

Adopted: March 25, 1983 Released: April 4, 1983.

Board Chairman Marino for the Review Board:

10a

1. This comparative renewal case began when Broadcast
Communications, Inc., licensee of Station WOJO(F'M) in Evan-
ston, Illinois sougi senewal after its 1973 to 1976 license term.
A competing application for Station WOJO’s FM channel was
filed by Genesis Broadcasting Limited leading to a trial type
comparative hearing in 1981. In his Initial Decision, FCC
82D-61, released August 26, 1982, Administrative Law Judge
Kuhlmann selected Station WOJO(FM) as the best com-
parative applicant. Genesis was awarded a slight to moderate
preference for participation of ownership in management,
which was overcome by (1) a moderate demerit assessed
against Genesis for carlessness in prosecuting its application,
(2) Station WOJO’s substantial preference for proposing spe-
cialized programming utilizing a Spanish language format, and
(3) a very slight renewal expectancy preference for WOJO’s
past performance. I.D., at para. 69. Our review of the Initial
Decision is guided by the standards set out by the Commission
in Cowles Broadcasting, Inc., 86 FCC 2d 993 (1981), which was
affirmed by the Court in Central Fiorida Enterprises, Inc. v.
FCC, 683 F.2d 508, 51 RR 2d 1405 (D.C. Cir. 1982). See also
Radio Station WABZ, Inc., 90 DCC 2d 818 (1982); Simon
Geller, 90 DCC 2d 250 (1982). After considering the record in
the light of the briefs and exceptions filed October 22, and
November 15, 1982, and the oral argument held January 6,
1983, the Review Board has concluded that the ALJ’s findings
of fact are substantially complete and accurate. Therefore,
except as modified or amplified in this Decision, those findings
are adopted. We affirm the ALJ’s renewal of Station
WOJO(FM)’s license but our reasoning differs somewhat, es-
pecially with respect to the station’s past performance which
we find to be substantial for the reasons set out below, paras.
4-14. Other major points which have been briefed/and which
are discussed below concern WOJO’s proposed specialized pro-
gramming, paras. 15-18; diversification of mass media, paras.
19-20; participation of ownership in management, paras. 21-23;
and Genesis’ demerit for carelessness, paras. 24-25.

2. Background. Station WOJO(FM), which began indepen-
dent operation on February 1, 1947, has carried foreign lan-

lla

guage and other specialized programs, often on a brokered
basis, since 1956. BCI exh. 2, p. 5. From 1953 through 1981, the
licensee of Station WOJO(FM) was also the licensee of an AM
Station in Evanston. Jd. English language news and public
service offerings were broadcast on both the AM and FM
stations although little, if any, of the broadcasting was dupli-
cated. In the early 1970's, Station WOJO(F'M) was authorized
to provide a city grade signal, the highest quality of service,
over all of the Chicago city limits, in addition to Evanston. In
1971 it was granted authority to employ a dual city identifica-
tion as Evanston-Chicago. /d., at P. 6. At the beginning of the
1973-1976 license term in question, the proportion of foreign
language programming on Station WOJO(F'M) had increased
to 53% of all of its programming, predominately composed of
Spanish language presentations. Jd. While Station
WOJO(FM)’s application for renewal was pending, Edward
Wheeler, one of the founders of the station and the individual
responsible for the station’s daily operation through the
1973-1976 license term, died on November 25, 1977. After his
death, control of the corporation reverted to the other stock-
holders in proportion to their ownership interests. These prin-
cipals substantially increased the time devoted to Spanish pro-
gramming so that by 1979 all foreign language programming,
more than 23 hours per day, was in Spanish. /d., at p. 7. By
February 1980, all brokerage arrangements were terminated.
Id.

3. Subsequent to the filing of the applications in this proceed-
ing, the Commission altered its regulatory policies toward AM
and FM radio. See, Report and Order on Deregulation of
Radio, 84 FCC 2d 968 (1981), recon. denied 87 FCC 2d 797
(1981), review pending sub nom. Office of Communications of
the United Church of Christ v. FCC, Case No. 81-1032 (D.C.
Cir. filed January 14, 1981). These new policies are applicable to
all new facilities applications and to those portions of renewal
applications which relate to future proposals. 84 FCC 2d at
1012-13. However, Station WOJO’s past performance record

12a

will be evaluated in accordance with pre-radio deregulation
policies. See Simon Geller, supra, 90 FCC 2d at 252.

4. Past Programming: During the 1973-1976 license period,
Station WOJO(F'M) presented 5.3% news, 0.3% public affairs,
and 15.3% all other non-entertainment programming. I.D.,
para. 34, These percentages do not include additional news,
public affairs and informational matters which were broadcast
by the station on its brokered non-English programming but
not logged separately I.D. para. 39. In this regard, Enrique S.
Lopez, who provided two hours of brokered Spanish program-
ming daily (Tr. 643) and was typical of the Spanish language
brokers (Tr. 644-45), testified that 60% of his programming was
entertainment and 40% was news, information, and public
service announcements. Tr. 650. The ABC Entertainment
Network News provided Station WOJO(F'M) 5 minutes news
per hour on the half hour except during those hours when the
foreign language news was regularly broadcast. I.D. para. 39.
Community problems, needs and interests considered by the
licensee to be most significant were dealt with on “Shape of
Today,” a thirty-minute program aired Sunday mornings from
8:30 to 9:00, feat: ring interviews with local community leaders
and on a number of !ocal religious services broadcast on Station
WOJO(F'M). See 1. D., para. 37; BCI Exh. 23, pp. 9-10. Various
foreign language programs that were part of its brokered for-
mat also contained information that helped meet the needs of
the group being served. I.D., para. 38. Finally, during the
composite week of December 7-13, 1975, Station WOJO(FM)
broadcast 576 public service announcements responsive to
community problems. BCI Exh. 23, p. 10; I.D., at para. 33.

5. Since 1961, Station WOJO(F'M) has been continually as-
sisted in providing programming responsive to the needs of the
community by an Advisory Board which meets annually. I.D.,
at para 40. The Board is composed of community leaders in
Evanston and its environs including the mayor, city manager,
police chief, librarian, and superintendent of schools of Evan-
ston as well as professors from Northwestern University, lo-

13a

cated in Evanston, and leaders of the religious, publishing, and
business communities. BCI Exh. 23, pp. 25, 100, 140, 172.

6. In his Initial Decision the ALJ concluded that WOJO(F'M)
fell short of the amount of news and public affairs programming
indicated in its 1973 renewal application where it proposed 5%
news, 1.49% public affairs, and 15% all other non-entertain-
ment programmin. I.D. at para. 41. In fact, WOJO only fell
below its 1973 proposal for public affairs programming and
exceeded its promises concerning news and all other non-
entertainment programming. Prior to the hearings, WOJO
responded to a Commission staff inquiry that it had broadcast
certain public affairs programs at the beginning of the license
term but was forced to discontinue the programs after the local
groups providing such programs quit producing them for vari-
ous reasons. BCI Exh. 23, p. 205. It noted, however, that since
it first began operations, it had broadcast public affairs pro-
grams substantially exceeding Commission guidelines. Jd. It
also pointed out that certain of its foreign language program-
ming such as “Hellenic Interlude,” a Greek program, had re-
ceived community awards for public service in a dinner at-
tended by leaders honoring the fifteenth anniversary of the
airing of the program. /d., at p. 206. The stipulated testimony
of six Evanston residents who did not speak or understand
Spanish was submitted along with the testimony of a former
station employee that was critical of the station’s past perfor-
mance. I.D. at paras. 42, 43. Station WOJO(FM) was awarded
avery slight renewal perference by the ALJ because it did little
to initiate news or public affairs programming, relying instead
on station programming provided by the station brokers, I.D..,
at paras. 68, 69.

7. Station WOJO contends that it is entitled to a stronger
preference for its past performance during the 1973-1976 li-
cense term than was awarded by the ALJ. (Br. p. 36) It also
argues that the ALJ erred in not allowing it to place into
evidence the past performance of Station WOJO(FM) under
the direction of its present principals who took over the man-
agement of the station on the death of Edward Wheeler subse-

l4a

quent to the 1973-1976 license term. Genesis, on the other
hand, contends in its exceptions that BCI is not entitled to any
perference as a renewal applicant.

8. We agree that the broadcast record for Station WOJO(F'M)
during the 1973-1976 license term was substantial and thus we
need not reach the question whether the ALJ erred in refusing
to allow WOJO’s post 1973-1976 record into evidence. As noted
in Cowles, supra, and Radio Station WABZ, Inc., 90 FCC 2d
818, 51 RR 2d 1507(1982) a substantial record, sound, favorable
and substantially above a level of mediocre service which might
just minimally warrant renewal, gives rise to a renewal expec-
tancy which in turn warrants a preference in comparative
renewal proceedings. 90 FCC 2d at 839-40, 51 RR 2d at 1525. A
substantial performance can be demonstrated by any type of
showing reasonably related to demonstrating service over and
above what would be considered minimal. Here, we believe
such a showing was made. Quantitatively, as reflected by its
composite week, Station WOJO(FM) devoted nearly 21% of its
broadcast time to non-entertainment programming, which
compares favorably with the amount of like time broadcast by
the renewal applicant in Radio Station WABZ, Inc., supra,
where the Commission characterized the licensee’s record as
superior. 90 FCC 2d at 839-40, 51 RR 2d at 1525. And this total
omits the non-entertainment programming included in its non-
English programming which would in reality substantially in-
crease the amount of broadcast time Station WOJO(F'M) de-
voted to non-entertainnent programming. This record can be
contrasted with Simon Geller, 90 FCC 2d 250, 51 RR 2d 1019
(1982), where the licensee devoted less than 1% of its broadcas*
time to non-entertainment programming and no renewal ex-
pectancy was awarded. 90 FCC 2d at 264-265, 271, 51 RR 2d
1032, 1038. Moreover, although much of the non-entertainment
programming on the brokered programs is not included in the
statistics above, the amount still exceeds the average and
median percentages of the other commercial FM stations serv-
ing the Chicago area. I.D. aat para. 36. News and public affairs
programs were broadcast in both English and Spanish. BCI

15a

Exh. 23, p. 19; Tr. 650. In addition to the half hour program
“Shape of Today,” produced locally, Station WOJO(FM) broad-
cast live a number of local religious services. BCI Exh. 23, pp.
9-10. Moreover, Station WOJO(F'M) broadcast a substantial
number of public service announcements. I.D. at para 33.

9. The principal ingredient of a licensee’s obligation to oper-
ate his station in the public interest is the diligent, positive, and
continuing effort to discover and fulfill the tastes, needs, and
desires of its service area for broadcast service. See WPIX,
Inc., 68 FCC 2d 381, 400, 43 RR 2d 278, 303 (1978), paraphras-
ing from the Programming Policy Statement, 44 FCC 2303,
2316 (1960). Here, the record evidence reflects that WOJO has
diligently and continuously taken steps to ensure that it is
responsive to its service area’s needs and tastes. Thus, since
1961, it has met annually with a Community Advisory Board
composed of all types of community leaders concerning Station
WOJO(F M)’s programming. BCI Exh. 23, pp. 97, 137, 168, 200.
The 1973 annual report to the Advisory Board revealed that
Station WOJO(FM) was helping the administration and stu-
dents of Loyola Academy apply for and operate a 10 watt
educational FM station at the Academy, .. aking substantial
donations of funds and equipment for this small educational
station which had no access to public funds (?d., at p. 31); it had
successfully solicited funds necessary to bring a small Greek
child from Greece to Chicago for needed medical attention to
permanently correct a heart defect (id., at p. 32); and it had
attempted unsuccessfully with the cooperation of Station
WBBM-TV(CBS) to present a Spanish audio to go along with
the video of the television station’s evening news (id., at p. 33).
The experiment with Station WBBM-TV was discontinued
after 3 1/2 months because it was too cumbersome and resulted
in a slight decrease in the amount of news aired by Station
WOJO(F'M). Jd., at pp. 13, 33. Moreover, the report indicated
that Station WOJO(F'M) and its sister AM station were the only
outlets carrying Big Ten Conference (7.e., Northwestern) foot-
ball and basketball games in the Chicago area, which has the
heaviest concentration of Big Ten alumni (7d., at pp. 35, 146).

l6a

Station WOJO(FM) continued to carry the broadcasts because
of the public interest in the games, notwithstanding that the
expense of keeping them on the air exceeded the revenues they
brought in (?d., at p. 146).

10. During the Community Advisory Board meeting for the
year 1973, Board Member Dayton Grafman, vice-president at
the National College of Education, praised Station WOJO(FM)
for recognizing that there were a large number of Spanish
speaking people in the Chicago area who needed radio facili-
ties. Jd., at p. 97. And one of the station employees announced
that Station WOJO(F'M) had been given the top rating in FM
Spanish broadcasting by eleven judges of the annual “Spanish-
- American Radio and TV Festival.” Jd. One of the other Board
Members, James C. McLeod, professor emeritus, History and
Literature of Religions Northwestern University, praised the
station highly for its participation in community affairs. /d.,
And Board Member Randolph R. Tomlinson, Editor and Pub-
lisher, The North Shore Examiner, Evanston’s only Black
newspaper (id., at p. 205), stated that he was fimiliar with
Spanish and that he listened to the Spanish programming on
Station WOJO(F'M) and found the quality to be excellent. /d.,
at p. 97.

11. During the 1974 meeting, Board Member Ruben Cruz,
columnist, Chicago Sun-Times, stated that the Spanish lan-
guage programming aired on Station WOJO(FM) was of high
quality and it served a necessary purpose. /d., at p. 137. It was
expressed at that time that Station WOJO(F'M) appeared to be
the principal Spanish-language outlet serving the Chicago
metropolitan area and that such programming would therefore
probably be increased. Jd. The 1976 report to the Community
Advisory Board revealed that Station WOJO(FM) once again
carried the high school football and basketball tournaments
and aired a presentation of the Award of Merit Trophy by
Sports Illustrated magazine to a local high school athlete. /d.,
at p. 180. Moreover, Station WOJO(FM) broadcast the Accion
Rapida column of the Chicago Tribune as a public service to the
Spanish-speaking. population and supplied broadcast equip-

17a

ment to students of a local high school to use in preparing a
weekly public affairs program. WOJO(FM) Id., at p. 181.

12. Once the Advisory Board was aware that a competing
application could be filed against Station WOJO(FM) at re-
newal time, the Board, without solicitation, demonstrated its
support for the station by unanimously passing a motion to
prepare a resolution supporting the continuation of the man-
agement of Station WOJO(F'M). /d., at pp. 200-201. In our view,
the above facts reflect a pronounced and abiding public spirited
commitment on the part of Station WOJO(FM) to its service
area.

13. In awarding only a slight renewal preference for Station
WOJO(F'M) past performance, the ALJ was apparently pri-
marily concerned that the station’s broadcast day was limited
for initiating its own news and public affairs programming
because of the significant amount of broadcast time purchased
by brokers who then determined the station’s programming.
Genesis also disparages Station WOJO(FM)’s past perfor-
mance on the basis that much of its programming was
“brokered” and that its total percentage of public affairs pro-
gramining was low relative to the other stations in the market.
We disagree with both of these assessments. An analysis of a
licensee's relative responses to the important needs and tastes
of its service area should focus on the licensee's overall program
service rather than on isolated aspects of programming such as
the source of certain programs or the program format used to
treat such needs and tastes. See WPLX, Inc., supra at 400, 43
RR 2d at 304. The record as reflected by the evidence con-
cerning the Community Advisory Board meetings establishes
that the community leaders believed the non-English program-
ming to be meritorious. Also the record reveals that Station
WOJO(F'M) exercised adequate controls on the brokers. Bu-
reau Reply Br. 8-10. Thus, it required participating programs
to include public service announcements and newscasts (BCI
Exh. 23, at pp. 39-40) and limited the amount of advertising
that could be broadcast. /d., Tr. 651. We also recognize that the
Commission encourages time brokerage since such a source of

18a

programming has the potential to notably increase available
program alternatives for audience segments whose demands
would otherwise be left unmet. See Policy Statement on Part-
Time Programming, 82 FCC 2d 107, 108, 48 RR 2d 763, 764
(1980). This is particularly true for foreign language audiences
whose preferred programming is unlikely to attract a sizable
cross-over audience. /d., at p. 120, 48 RR 2d at 772. The
Commission has emphasized that licensees should not be dis-
couraged from exploring programming alternatives that ap-
pear to reflect accurately both consumer wants and competi-
tive incentives. /d.

14. With respect to the limited amount of public affairs
programming reflected by the composite week performance, it
appears that a number of locally produced public affairs pro-
grams were aired at the beginning of the license term but were
discontinued for reasons beyond the control of the licensee.
BCI Exh. 28, p. 205. Had these existing programs continued to
be broadcast, Station WOJO(F'M) would have met or exceeded
its public affairs proposals contained in its 1973 renewal ap-
plication. In any event, statistics for the composite week are
not the only means of determining a licensee's performance (see
WPIX, Inc., supra at 401, 43 RR 2d at 305). Station
WOJO(FM) has made pronounced and abiding efforts to be
responsive to its service area as shown by its formation of one of
the first Community Advisory Boards in the country. Thus, we
need not rule on Genesis’ exception that the ALJ improperly
excluded the AM stations from his computations in comparing
BCI’s news and public affairs programming. Finally, with re-
spect to the stipulated testimony concerning Station
WOJO(F'M)’s community reputation, we simply note that while
there were very few individuals who understandably were
critical of the foreign language programming since tiiey did not
speak or understand Spanish, there were other Spanish-speak-
ing individuals who praised the station for providing informa-
tion in Spanish relating to special needs of the Hispanic com-
munity. See Stipulated Testimony. Moreover, although one of
the station’s former employees was critical of its past perfor-

19a

mance, even he acknowleged that the amount of news broad-
cast over Station WOJO(F'M) was about average with that of
other area stations. Tr. 638. On balance, we conclude that
Station WOJO’s past performance demonstrates a positive and
dedicated commitment to serving its service area, which we
characterize as sound, favorable, and substantial. Station
WOJO(FM) is therefore entitled to a strong preference for its
past programming. See Cowles Broadcasting, Inc., 86 FCC 2d
993, 1017, 49 RR 2d 113, 1160, affirmed sub nom. Central
Florida Enterprise, Inc. v. F.C.C., supra; WPIX, Inc., supra
at 406, 43 RR 2d at 310.

15. Specialized Programming Issue. Because Station WOJO
(FM) proposes a specialized format of programming for His-
panics in its service area while Genesis proposes general mar-
ket programming of jazz and rock music, the issues in this
proceeding were enlarged to consider the relative need for
these different types of programming throughout Station
WOJO(F'M)’s service area. Memorandum Opinion and Order,
FCC 81M-2120, released July 15, 1981. WOJO proposes to
broadcast and currently broadcasts, in Spanish twenty-three
and one-half hours out of its twenty-four hour day. The findings
of the Initial Decision, which are undisputed, reveal that more
than 560,000 Hispanics live within Station WOJO (FM)’s serv-
ice contour, 1,715 of whom reside in Evanston. I.D., at para 29.
Twenty-seven percent speak only Spanish and another fifty-
three percent speak primarily Spanish. /d., at para. 27. There
are fifty-five commercial radio stations which place a signal
over Station WOJO(F'M)’s service area, fifteen of which provide
some amounts of Spnish language programming. /d., at para
28. None of the stations, however, provides coverage compara-
ble to that of Station WOJO(FM) either in terms of the total
amount of broadcast hours or the size of the service area. Jd., at
para. 29. While varying amounts of Spanish language program-
ming are available during the day, the ALJ’s findings show that
during nighttime hours, Station WOJO(FM) provides the only
Spanish radio service to an area of 833 square miles in which
116,000 Hispanics live. Jd., at para. 30. Station WOJO(FM)

20a

also provides a second nighttime Spanish voice for 753 square
miles containing another 370,000 Hispanics. Jd. Genesis will
not broadcast any Spanish programming. /d., at para. 31. A
substantial preference was awarded by the ALJ for Station
WOJO(FM)’s format, premised on its demonstration that a
substantial percentage of the Hispanic population receive and
would continue to receive their only Spanish service at night
and that many others would receive their second nighttime
service in Spanish from WOJO. Jd., at para. 64.

16. Genesis argues that WOJO is not entitled to any prefer-
ence for its proposed programming. (Br. 28). It points to the
large number of stations in the market which provide Spanish
language programming, and urges that there is no special need
for more of such programs. It also argues that there is an
absence of any need for Hispanic Programming in Evanston
since only 1,715 Hispanics out of a total population of 80,113
people live there. Finally, it argues that a comparison of pro-
posed programming is repugnant to the public interest, citing
F.C.C. v. WNCN Listeners Guild, 450 U.S. 582 (1981) for the
proposition that a programming preference here is of dubious
legality.

17. We conclude that the ALJ was correct in awarding a
substantial preference under this issue. The purpose of a spe-
cialized programming inquiry is to ensure that a proposal
which responds to truly unmet needs will be considered in our
licensing procedures. See George E. Cameron, Jr. Communi-
cations, 71 FCC 2d 460, 465-466, 45 RR 2d 689, 694 (1979).
Where the proposed programming is available in reasonable
amounts, a preference will not be given. See Flint Family
Radio, Inc., 69 FCC 2d 38, 42-43 (Rev. Bd. 1977) cited with
approval in George E. Cameron Jr. Communications, supra.
Here, there is definitely a need within the service area for
Station WOJO(FM)’s proposed format since denial of its ap-
plication would leave approximately 116,000 Hispanics without
any nighttime Spanish language programming and another
370,000 with only one nighttime voice. This would be a signifi-
cant loss since twenty-seven percent of Hispanics in the Chi-

2la

cago metropolitan area speak only Spanish. Moreover, there is
some indication in the record that a substantial percentage of
Hispanics did not grow up in the Continental United States and
thus have greater informational needs than do the English-
speaking population at large, particularly since many of the
Hispanics are frequently handicapped by low educational lev-
els. Tr. 522. See American International Development, Inc.,
75 ECC 2d 67, 96, 107 (ALJ 1979), affirmed 86 FCC 2d 808, 818
(1981), where an applicant received a substantial preference for
its proposal to provide the only nighttime Spanish language
programming.

18. Genesis’ exceptions do not undermine the ALJ's reasons
for awarding a substantial preference under this issue. The fact
that there are many stations providing daytime Spanish lan-
guage programming is not relevant here since the preference
was awarded for providing a much needed nighttime service.
Nor are we persuaded that the relatively low number of His-
panics residing in Evanston should be dispositive in disallowing
a preference, as urged by Genesis. Denial of credit on this basis
would in effect negate the credit due Station WOJO(FM) for
providing the only nighttime Spanish voice to 116,000 individu-
aJs as well as deny Hispanics in Evanston a station which
served their needs and tastes. We do not believe that such a
result would be consistent with the public interest, particularly
since there are more than fifty other stations providing a signal
over Station WOJO(F'M)’s service area. Moreover, the record
contains evidence that the Hispanic community in Evanston
needs Station WOJO(FM) to provide information in Spanish
relating to its special needs. See Stipulated Testimony of Yolan-
da Salgado, a member of the Board of Associacion Latino de
Evanston. In any event, the Commission’s new regulatory
thrust is to permit licensees in markets where there are a large
number of stations to be more specialized in their program
offerings. See Deregulation of Radio, supra at 988-989; see also
F.C.C. v. WNCN Listeners Guild, supra. Genesis’ reliance on
WNCN is misplaced since the applicant in this case has se-
lected its own specialized format and made the type of showing

22a

entitling WOJO to a substantial comparative preference for its
Spanish language programming.

19. Diversification of Control of the Media of Mass Com-
munications. Genesis and WOJO’s principals no longer own
any other media interests. Subsequent to designation and two
months prior to the hearing, the owners of Station WOJO(F'M)
sold their AM station in Evanston. The ALJ declined to at-
tribute the AM station to WOJO’s owners for diversification
purposes, noting that Genesis was fully aware of the change
before the hearing. Both applicants were found by the ALJ to
be equal under the diversification criterion. Genesis excepts to
the Initial Decision’s failure to take common ownership of
WOJO(FM) and the AM station into account under this
criterion.

20. We agree with Genesis that the AM station was at-
tributable to WOJO for comparative diversification purposes.
A party to a comparative hearing is not allowed to improve its
comparative position after a fixed date beyond which it is no
longer permitted to amend as of right. See WHW Enterprises,
Inc., 89 FCC 2d 799, 813, 51 RR 2d 409, 419 (Rev. Bd. 1982).
After that point, competing proposals are generally considered
to be fixed to ensure that the hearing proceeds in an orderly
and timely fashion. Jd. Here, there was no unequivocal com-
mitment to divest prior to the fixed date. Thus, recognition of
the divestiture of the AM station would be unfair to Genesis
which prepared its case premised on the comparative position
of the applicants prior to designation for hearing. See Muncie
Broadcasting Corp., 89 FCC 2d 123, 130, 51RR 2d 46, 52 (Rev.
Bd. 1982). Genesis is therefore entitled to a substantial prefer-
ence under the diversification criterion. See Nuance Corp., 85
FCC 2d 412, 420, 49 RR 2d 147, 154 (Rev. Bd. 1981). Consistent
with the approach set forth in Cowles Broadcasting, Inc.,
supra, the weight to be accorded to Genesis’ diversification
preference will be determined in the overall comparative eval-
uation of the applicants.

23a

21. Participation of Ownership in Management. Genesis is
made up of two stockholders. Both propose to work full time at
the station in managerial positions. I.D., paras. 9, 12. Both live
or have lived in Evanston and have some broadcast experience.
Id., at paras. 10-12. Neither has been active in Evanston
community activities. Jd., at paras. 52-53. Genesis’ 20% stock-
holder is a minority female. Jd., at para. 12. Station WOJO has
four stockholders; three of whom, owning voting power over
96.5% of the stock, propose to work at the station in managerial
positions. Jane D. Hall, a 55.6% stockholder and a resident of
an adjacent community to Evanston, will work full time; her
husband, a 4.5% shareholder, will work approximately 30
hours per week; and Letitia Wheeler, the executrix of the
estate of Edward A. Wheeier, who votes 35.4% of the shares,
proposes to spend 35 hours per week at the station. Jd., at
paras. 5-8. Mrs. Wheeler is a non-resident of Evanston. /d., at
para. 8. All three currently work at the station in managerial
positions and both Mrs. Hall and Mrs. Wheeler are active in
Evanston community affairs. Jd., at paras. 49, 51. Genesis was
awarded more quantitative full-time integration credit by the
ALJ who remarked that this was somewhat offset by the facts
that 91% of WOJO’s stock is voted by women, that Genesis’
stockholders have no managerial broadcast experience, and
that Genesis 80% stockholder, Henry C. Renken, has been
fired several times from broadcast stations. Genesis was there-
fore awarded only a slight-to-moderate preference for its par-
ticipation proposal.

22. Genesis argues in its exceptions that it is entitled to a
substantial preference, based primarily on the quantitative
full-time proposals of both applicants: 100% v. 55.6%. It ar-
gues, too, that Mrs. Wheeler is entitled to only 17.7% part-
time integration credit since under her husband’s will half of
the stock she votes will go to her children. Finally, Genesis
claims that it was error to consider the absence of managerial
experience and Mr. Renken’s broadcas. employment history as
detractions from its integration proposal. On the other hand,

24a

WOJO claims that neither applic. _.t is entitled to 2 preference
under this criterion.

23. We conclude that Genesis is entitled to a moderate prefer-
ence for its integration proposal. In our view, Genesis is en-
titled to 100% full-time integration credit to WOJO’s 55.6% full
time and 22.2% substantial time. See Van Buren Community
Service, 87 FCC 2d 1018, 1021, 50 RR 2d 115, 118 (Rev. Bd.
1981) (proposal to work 30 hours per week considered substan-
tial time). We will not credit Mrs. Wheeler with the full 35.4%
of the stock she now votes since there is no indication in the
record that the terms of Mr. Wheeler's will—under which she
would get only 17.7% of the stock—will not be performed. In
reaching our determination that the preference is a moderate
one, we have taken into account that the amounts of time
proposed by Mrs. Wheeler and Mr. Hall differ very little from
full time and that WOJO’s proposal is more qualitatively en-
hanced because of its principals’ managerial broadcast experi-
ence and Mrs. Hall and Mrs. Wheeler's involvement in Evan-
ston community affairs. Genesis, of course, has the advantages
of its greater quantitative credit, the local residence of its
principals and the minority and female status of its 20% prin-
cipal. We will not fault Mr. Renken for his checkered broadcast
employment history as did the ALJ vsecause of the in-
completeness of the record. Nor do we hold that the absence of
managerial broadcast experience detracts from Genesis’ inte-
gration proposal. See New Continental Broadcasting Co., 88
FCC 2d 830, 848, 50 RR 2d 1117, 1131 (Rev. Bd. 1981). As was
the case with diversification, the weight to be accorded Genesis
for its participation preference will be determined in the overall
comparative evaluation of the applicants.

24. Carelessness and Certification Isswes. Genesis was as-
sessed a moderate demerit under carelessness and certification
issues. The carelessness issue related to Genesis’ errors in
providing accurate information about three matters: the em-
ployment experience of Henry Renken; an EEO plan for the
station which describes the station’s past practices which was
inapplicable here since Genesis had no previous station; and the

25a

views reported for various community leaders in its ascertain-
ment survey. The certification issue involved the use of a pre-
signed certification page in filing an amendment to Genesis’
application. This act was contrary to the representation on the
certification page that the signatory has reviewed the submis-
sion, 7.e., the amendment, before signing the certification
page. There was no evidence of concealment or misrepresenta-
tion and the omissions concerning the EEO plan and precer-
tification matters were not decisionally significant. The ALJ
held that these matters resulted from inattention and care-
lessness. But, the omissions relating to Renken’s employment
history were decisionally significant since they reflected on his
past broadcast employment record, which the ALJ found to be
poor. And Renken deliberately chose not to report all of his job
changes since he felt that such reporting changes would delay
resolution of the proceeding. This behavior was characterized
by the ALJ as exhibiting bad a Genesis excepts to the
imposition of the demerit.

25. After some reflection we affirm the ALJ on these mat-
ters. Omissions may be excused if they are not deliberate or
decisionally significant and there is no intent to mislead or
conceal. See Merrimack Valley Broadcasting, Inc., 52 RR 2d
1210, 1220 (Rev. Bd. 1982). Perhaps both we and the ALJs have
come to tolerate too much sloppiness in the preparation and
prosecution of applications, especially where there is no intent
to deceive. See, e.g.. HLD&M Communications, Inc., FCC
83R-18, released March 17, 1983, para. 8. Here we concur with
the ALJ that the pattern of carelessness, inattentiveness, and
poor judgment displayed by the applicant (who sought credit
for his broadcast experience) is something that should not be
encouraged. See Radio Station WABZ, Inc., supra, at 827.
Such carelessness engenders protracted litigation and unduly
wastes limited hearing resources. As the ALJ pointed out the
record evidence is clear that the omissions concerning Ren-
ken’s employment history were deliberate and not inadvertent.
Moreover, the information was of potential decisional signifi-
cance since the parties argued at hearing over Renken’ al-

26a

legedly poor broadcast record. We agree with the ALJ,
however, that there is no evidence to establish that Renken
intended to deceive the Commission; rather, his actions appear
to have been motivated by poor judgment. A moderate demerit
will be imposed against Genesis on these matters and will be
considered together with all the other relevant comparative
factors.

26. Other Matters. Genesis excepts to the ALJ’s failure to
add two issues it sought (a) whether WOJO exercised sufficient
control over its brokered programs; and (b) whether WOJO
made good faith efforts to carry out its non-entertainment
programming set out in its 1973 renewal application. We will
deny Genesis’ exceptions. The Board has reviewed the ALJ's
Memorandum Opinion and Order denying the requested issues
(FCC 81M-2120, released July 15, 1981) and concludes that it
adequately and persuasively sets forth sufficient reason why
the requested issues should be denied. See also the Bureau's
Br. 8-11. Further discussion on this matter is unnecessary.
WOJO also claims that the ALJ erred in not adding a reporting
issue, and in not expanding the carelessness issue, against
Genesis based on further reporting omissions. These excep-
tions, too, will be denied as being of no decisional significance
since a moderate comparative demerit was assessed against
Genesis and the derelictions, even if proven, would merely be
cumulative.

27. Overall Comparative Evaluation; Several recent com-
parative renewal cases mentioned above, para. 1, establish that
primary significance is accorded a broadcaster's past perfor-
mance since that factor affords the strongest and most reason-
able basis for determining whether the public will be served by
license renewal. A broadcaster who renders meritorious serv-
ice can reasonably be confident of renewal. Thus, anincumbent
with substantial past performance is awarded a comparative
preference, the weight of which may overbalance the factors of
diversification and participation which are usually decisive in
comparative proceedings involving only initial licensing. See
Cowles Broadcasting, Inc., supra, at 1015. In affirming the

27a

Cowles decision, the Court cautioned that relevant factors “are
all to be weighed, all at once, all with an eye toward the public
interest. Nothing is removed from the scales until the balance
is struck.” Central Florida Enterprises, Inc. v. FCC, supra,
683 F.2d at 507 n. 16. Like the ALJ we will now weigh all the
relevant factors. Based on our own review of its past perfor-
mance we have found that Station WOJO is entitled to a strong
preference. Moreover, we agree with the ALJ that WOJO is
also entitled to a substantial preference for its proposed format
of Spanish language programming which appears to have
evolved from its past experiences and the wide area coverage of
its station. Genesis on the other hand is entitled to a substan-
tial preference for diversification and a moderate preference for
participation, which in the present context, are of lesser com-
parative significance than WOJO’s preferences. Its preferences
are further diminished by the demerit which the ALJ correctly
awarded for carelessness. Together, Genesis’ preferences are
not sufficient to outweigh WOJO’s preferences for pas* and
proposed programming service.

28. ACCORDINGLY, IT IS ORDERED, That the applica-
tion of Broadcast Communications, Inc. for renewal of the
main, auxiliary, and sub-carrier authorization licenses for Sta-
tion WOJO(FM), Evanston, Illinois (File Nos. BRH-85 &
BRSCA-206) ARE GRANTED, and the application of Genesis
Broadcasting Limited (File No. BPH-10386) IS DENIED.

Joseph A. Marino
Chairman, Review Board
Federal Communications Commission

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0681%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
