# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Parish of St. Bernard v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0647%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 1070

## Text

‘

co 2 QP!) supreme Court, v.s.

NO.

Aye 29 1985
SOSERILE ASP ANIOL, JR

TLERK

jn the h
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1985

THE PARISH OF ST. BERNARD, ET AL,
Defendants-Petitioners,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiffs-Respondents.

PETITION OF THE PARISH OF JEFFERSON AND
JEFFERSON PARISH COUNCIL FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
(CONSOLIDATED CASES NOS. 83-3557,
83-3760 and 84-3082)

VOLUME 1

GERARD M. DILLON, Appeal Counsel
KEVIN O’BRYON

H. A. VONDENSTEIN, Parish Attorney
DILLON & CAMBRE

HAMMETT, LEAKE & HAMMETT
Attorneys for Defendants-Petitioners,
Parish of Jefferson and Jefferson
Parish Council

Suite 1920 - 1555 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112-3797
Telephone No. (504) 586-1157

ae a ee ee
A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres Sit., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is the Government! entitled under a subrogation
theory to recover from a community the amounts paid by
the Government for flood insurance claims and adjusters’
fees on account of flood damages to properties in the
community??

1 United States of America.

2 Defined in the National Flood Insurance Act (NFIA) as being
‘A State or political subdivision thereof which has zoning and building
code jurisdiction over a particular area having special flood hazards’. 42
U.S.C. §4003 (a) (1).

3 This case is one of several, pending in various parts of the coun-
try. wherein the Government is seeking recovery from states,
municipalities and counties for amounts paid by it under the National
Flood Insurance Prograia (NF IP) on account of flood damages and is the
first case to decide the said question which is now one of. national
importance.

are:

ii
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The only parties, still remaining in the proceedings,

United States of America

Federal Emergency Management Agency
State of Louisiana

Parish of St. Bernard

Police Jury of the Parish of St. Bernard
Parish of Jefferson

Jefferson Parish Council

Pontchartrain Levee District

Jefferson Levee District

West Jefferson Levee District

Lake Borgne Basin Levee District
Burk & Associates

Fireman's Fund Insurance Company

reer

en ce eee

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Question Presented For Review ...........cccccccccceccesssesscesseseeee i
Parties to the Proceeding ................cccccccccccsssssscescessesscesseees ii
Table of Contents ............................. ES ee eT iii
GE iv
Opinions of Courts Below ................cccccccccccccssscssssscescesseeees l
Statement of Jurisdiction ..................c.ccccccccccsccsscssccsscscosseee 1
Statutes and Regulations Involved ..............cccccccscesceeeceeees 1
a. . sscnannnbsnnnsduanoensomsanins 2
Basis for Jurisdiction in District Court ...0........0..ccccccccseeee 5
a naa sacha annsababesamnadnniie 5
haa isk 5 sks acca cl cacbbinkcunenesibaounmanshandntsdanediiie 12
SE ie Po eee oe Ne REE 13
i aside ens coudmatonenniecniiinannabonl A-1
iin ced ns ctnhasinnadiknshsnaibins scbcansbdion A-32

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

City of Milwaukee v. Illinois and Michigan,

451 U.S. 304, 101 S.Ct. 1784, 68 L.Ed.2d 114 ............. 8
Crescent Wharf, Etc. v. Barracuda Tanker Corp.,

Ce I Fe FO wrvcteiaecssikcini th csernriinentinsnscsmeieverccesecoeees 7
Drewett v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co.,

a, Fee ee SIREN prterenensgteniscintncnnteriqreccseniccenennennnsnnncsess 7
Insurance Co. of N.A. v. Gee,

I I IE ics can cahisnnmmantinannenansyapenaceessasnnssees 12
McCullough v. Seamans,

Te ig UIE BRI, LE cicncnccescasecorsoencssccccnondsnsnsnecescees 7
Mohasco Corp. v. Silver,

447 U.S. 807, 100 S.Ct. 2486, 65 L.Ed.2a 532 ........... 12
Olinkraft, Inc. v. Anco Insulation, Inc.,

ith, PAM, SPS GG BOE w.nccncscsccsnccccccesecccccececconcsnsccscees 11
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. U.S.

I I I TO a ec cerenssiinagbonnnesipennnaneniocnnins 12
Pennhurst State Sch. & Hospital v. Halderman,

452 U.S. 1, 101 S.Ct. 1531, 67 L.Ed.2d 694 ................. 9

Pennsylvania National Mutual Cas. Ins. Co. v. Barnett,
5B Cir., 445 F.2d 578 ............cccccsccsssssscesessensesssseasensessosensees 7

State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. v. Sentry Indemnity Co.,
Re, Peme, TR TR BIB oisencennsccsscecscsececcsecssvnscoscncsnsccenes 11

Till v. Unifirst Federal S. & L. Ass’n.,
i I er ME iitansiecccnenisictisnnnsiennissosinssanceesincnancnnntd 6,8

Vv
Table of Authorities (continued)

Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington,

445 U.S. 560, 99 S.Ct. 2479, 61 L.Ed.2d 82 ........00000.... 9
Town of Falmouth, Mass., Bd. of Selectmen v. Hunter,

SPs SRO hay, URE IIA: SOD nin ssisastiaeniginnesishntntion titirnneiaitinnni 10
Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis,

444 U.S. 11, 100 S.Ct. 242, 62 L.Ed.2d 146 ................ 10
United States v. Larionoff,

431 U.S. 864, 97 S.Ct. 2150, 53 L.Ed.2d-48 .......000... 12
United States v. St. Bernard Parish,

Fe i ee sciecddtaiicsirdastiolibiliniannaiin snncthccedninnssegnas nae 1
United States v. Standard Oil Co.,

Ee Es, GHW MIs II bcc. caccincesaccsarconedceenmnastbonanenias 7
STATUTES
FR Ee nvenneeonoomeriarecic teiesienr Enero < 4
5 RES WER PPS oReNer a rere | 5
ikl naccliadtasasunmnuibvedilahintisinapbeninnnsiloaes 1
Ae I ON isis nsnacccnnisnsnsbskdcariticbndincsenenpsnnaanbons 5
I i icascvciknsicsscineassncncucébecsascuvsacinasbatipebaiena’ 6
Oe IN iii ietenenitincenincciensinsshnwnciainidubchasees 10
aE ali lanickitcdescinitnsthcarscsecceinindcincesiedinens 2,7,8
iiss chnccvnincssescncevdncnckecvsseensincideanemes 2,7
GE Tee IE OEE GED oc ceeccvcncseccsncncesccescscisscecinsestonse 2,8
42 U.S.C. $410G6(a) and (b) ................cccccccccscssccsstssnscscceeess 2,6
OT iarrcticsbeteniesi chs sacessnccrvecrssecntece reasoned 2,8
44 C.F.R. §61.13 Appendix A ........ Soasaliensaink clicbdincieeiabdadadle 2,6

ie

1
NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

THE PARISH OF ST. BERNARD ET AL,
Defendants-Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiffs-Respondents.

OPINIONS OF COURTS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit in United States v. St. Bernard Parish
is reported in 756 F.2d at page 1116. the “ORDER AND
REASONS" of the District Court is in the appendix hereto.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The opinion and decree of the Court of Appeal was
rendered on April 8, 1985 and was entered on the same
date. A petition for rehearing and a suggestion for rehear-
ing in banc were filed on April 22, 1985 and were denied by
orders of the Court, dated June 7, 1985 and entered on June
10, 1985. The Court has jurisdiction of this petition for cer-
tiorari under the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §2101/c).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The following statutes and regulations, all of which
are set out verbatim in the appendix hereto, are involved in

this case:

42 U.S.C. §4012(c)

42 U.S.C. §4013(a)

42 U.S.C. §410 a)(b)

44 C.F.R. §61.13 and appendix thereto
42 U.S.C. §4053

42 U.S.C. §4072

44 C.F.R. 59.24

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
(i) Course of Proceedings and Disposition in Courts Below

The Government filed this action on behalf of the
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the
Federal Insurance Administration (FIA), the present and
former administrators of the National Flood Insurance
Program (NFIP), demanding recovery from defendants, in-
cluding Jefferson Parish and the Jefferson Parish Council
(hereinafter collectively ‘‘Parish’’), of damages in the
amount of $76,389,642.81 allegedly for flood insurance
claims and adjusters’ fees paid by plaintiff on account of
the May 3, 1978 and April 12-13, 1980 floods in the
metropolitan New Orleans area and prior floods.* Man-
datory injunctive relief was also sought ordering the Parish
to (a) enforce the base flood elevation requirements for the
new development mandated for communities participating
in the NFIP, (b) implement and enforce standards to insure
that proposed development in flood-prone areas is not ap-
proved unless the proposed plans call for adequate

4 Plaintiff's amended complaint, Article 129 (81-1810 NR 191). In
addition, damages in the sum of $17,238,478.14 are demanded for
similar payments on account of the floods of April 24-25, 1982 and
December 4-5, 1982 (83-2007 NR 1).

3

drainage to reduce exposure to flood hazards, are consis-
tent with the need to minimize flood damage within the
flood-prone area, and require that all public utilities and
facilities are located and contracted to minimize or
eliminate flood damage, (c) implement and enforce stan-
dards to insure that proposed construction in flood-prone
areas is not approved unless it is designed and adequately
anchored to prevent flotation, collapse or lateral movement
of the structure, is to be constructed with materials and
utility equipment resistant to flood damage, and is to be
constructed by methods and practices that minimize flood
damage, and (d) comply with and enforce all other re-
quirements of the National Flood Insurance Act (NFIA)
and the regulations promulgated thereunder. Parish filed
an alternative motion to strike or to dismiss the Govern-
ment’s demand for alternative relief? and, also, a motion
for summary judgment.® Although no specific ruling was
made by the District Court on the alternative motion to
strike or to dismiss, the District Court partially granted
and denied the motion for summary judgment.’ To the ex-
tent that the motion was granted Parish moved for entry
of judgment pursuant to FRCP 54 (b); and in accordance
with the direction of the Court judgment was entered in
favor of the Parish and against the Government dismissing
the Government’s contract claim, insofar as the complaint
seeks monetary damages but not insofar as the complaint
seeks specific performance, and the Government’s claim to
abate a ‘‘public nuisance”.8 The Government appealed

5 81-1810 NR 20.
6 81-1810 NR 131.
7 81-1810 NR 274.

881.1810 NR 191.

4

from this judgment. Parish filed in the Court of Appeals an
application under 28 U.S.C. §1292(b) for an appeal from the
interlocutory order partially denying the motion for sum-
mary judgment, which was initially denied but was granted
upon a motion for reconsideration thereof.? :

aE

A panel of the Court of Appeals found ‘‘that subroga-
tion is available to the United States to the extent permit-
ted by Louisiana law’’ and ‘“‘that the United States may
pursue any available common law right of recovery against
the parish defendants so as to recover for any property the
parishes owned and insured under the NFIP”’, and dismiss-
ed the remaining claims of the Government. Parish timely
filed a petition for rehearing and a suggestion for rehearing
in banc, both of which were denied.

ee

(ii) Statement of Facts

The Complaint alleges that on or about October 1,
1971 Parish entered the regular phase of the NFIP; that
subsequent thereto thousands of residents of Jefferson
Parish obtained flood insurance coverage through that pro-
gram, and that on May 3, 1978 and again on April 12-13,
1980 substantial flooding occurred which caused damages |
to homes and businesses, covered under the NFIP, |
throughout the Parish, as a resu!t whereof the Government :
was required to pay $76,389,642.81 in flood insurance
claims and adjusters’ fees. It is contended that these flood
damages and the resultant flood insurance claims are the
direct and proximate result of willful and negligent acts
and omissions of Parish and other defendants in the action.
Recovery is sought from Parish under several legal

9Miscellaneous Docket No. 83-9103 of the Court of Appeals.

carta naeinataieaeteacea lal

theories:

(a) By electing to enter the NFIP Parish con-
tracted to adopt and enforce land use and con-
trol measures consistent with the requirements
of the NFIP and failed to do so, thus breaching
a contract,

(b) Due to certain willful and negligent acts and
omissions Parish and other defendants are
liable in tort for the resulting flood damage,
and

(c) The activities of Parish and other defendants
have caused recurrer* flooding, consituting a
public nuisance under Federal Common Law,
which the Government seeks to abate. [This
theory has ven abandoned (Government’s
brief in Court of Appeals, p. 20, fn 19)].

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN DISTRICT COURT

The District Court has jurisdiction over the subject
matter of this matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1345.

ARGUMENT
Purpose of the NFIP

Although as expressed in the decision of the Court of
Appeals the NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE ACT OF
1968 (42 U.S.C. §4001 et seq.) was enacted to provide
previously unavailable flood insurance protection to pro-
perty owners in flood prone areas, ‘‘the principal purpose in
enacting the Program was to reduce, by implementation of
adequate land use controls and flood insurance, the
massive burden on the federal fisc of the ever-increasing

———————oOorremeoaou—__"

6

federal flood disaster assistance.”’!9 Till v. Unifirst Federal
S. & L. Ass'n., 5 Cir., 653 F.2d 152, 159. After 1973 the con-
tinued participation of a community in a flood-prone area
in the Program cannot be categorized as voluntary, in-
asmuch as the failure of a community in such an area to
join or continue in the Program thereafter would have
resulted in its financial suicide due to the harsh remedies
imposed upon such a community by the 1973 amendment
to the Act, namely, the complete cessation of Federal finan-
cial assistance to such a community and the curtailment of
any loans to it or its citizens by Federally regulated or in-
sured banking or other financial institutions. 42 U.S.C.
§4106 (a) and (b).

The Parish of Jefferson joined the Program in
December, 1971. The form of Flood Insurance Policy con-
taining the subrogation clause, was not published in the
Federal Regulations until 1976. 44 C_F_R. $61.13, Appendix
A.

A determination as to whether Congress in enacting
the NFIA intended to vest in the Administrator of the Pro-
gram the power to adopt a regulation authorizing the
remedy of subrogation against a participating community,
such as, the Parish of Jefferson, should be made only after
due consideration of the foregoing facts.

- 10 Pwo of the purposes of the Act, declared by Congress, were to
‘*(3) require States or local communities, as a condition of future Federal
financial assistance, to participate in the Flood Insurance Program and
to adopt adequate flood plain ordinances with effective enforcement pro-
visions consistent with Federal standards to reduce or avoid future flood
losses; and (4) require the purchase of flood insurance by property
owners who are being assisted by Federal programs or by Federally
supervised, regulated or insured agencies or institutions in the acquisi-
tion or improvement of land or facilities located or to be located in iden-
tified areas having special flood hazards.’ 42 U.S.C. §4002(b) (3/4).

7
The Prerequisites for the Recoupment Remedy

Absent statutory authorization or fraud on the part
of the party from whom recovery is sought, which is not
alleged in this case, the recoupment remedy under a
subrogation theory or otherwise is not available to the
Government. United States v. Standard Oil Co., 332 U.S.
301, 67 S.Ct. 1604; McCullough v. Seamans, D.C. Ca., 348
F.Supp. 511; Pennsylvania National Mutual Cas. Ins. Co. v.
Barnett, 5 Cir., 445 F.2d 573; Crescent Wharf, Etc. v. Bar-
racuda Tanker Corp., 9 Cir., 696 F.2d 703.

Absence of Statutory Authorization

The NFIA allows the Secretary (Administrator) to
‘‘provide by regulation for general terms and conditions of
insurability which shall be applicable to properties eligible
for flood insurance under Section 4012 of this Title’’,!! in-
cluding specified terms and conditions and, also, ‘‘any
other terms and conditions relating to insurance coverage
or exclusion which may be necessary to carry out the pur-
poses of this chapter.’’ 42 U.S.C. §4013(a). The reliance of
the Court of Appeals on Drewett v. Aetna Casualty & Sure-
ty Co., 5 Cir., 539 F.2d 496, in support of its conclusion that
the above quoted provisions of the statute authorize the
adoption of a subrogation remedy is totally misplaced.
Drewett simply involved a situation where a property
owner who applied for and obtained insurance while a flood
was in progress could not recover under the “‘loss-in-
progress” principle of insurance law. This related solely to
‘‘insurance coverage or exclusion"’, as distinguished from a
remedial right, such as, subrogation.

11 49 USC. 4012%c).

8

Congress specifically provided in the Act for certain
remedial rights in the form of judicial actions. 42 U.S.C. §§
4053 and 4072; Till v. Unifirst Federal S. & L. Ass’n., supra,
653 F.2d at page 160. Further, the NFIA “‘spoke directly
to (the) question” with respect to the other remedies
available thereunder, !2 namely, suspension from eligiblity
from participation in the N FIP,!3 cessation of Federal
financial assistance to them and curtailment of any loans
to their citizens by Federally regulated or insured banking
or other financial institutions. Having thus addressed the
problem, Congress proscribed the application of Federal
Common Law in order to permit the assertion of claims for
reimbursement under the doctrine of subrogation. As
stated by this Court in City of Milwaukee (451 U.S. at pp.
313-314, 101 S.Ct. at p. 1791):

‘‘We have always recognized that Federal
Common Law is ‘subject to the paramount
authority of Congress.’ (Citation omitted). It
is resorted to ‘in absence of an applicable Act
of Congress,’ and because the Court is com-
pelled to consider federal questions ‘which
cannot be ansered from Federal Statutes
alone’. (Citations omitted).”’

If Congress had intended the Government to have a
tort remedy under a subrogation theory or otherwise
against a community participating in the NFIP, “it knew
how to do so and (would have done) so expressly’”’ and

12 City of Milwaukee v. Illinois and Michigan, 451 U.S. 304, 315,
101 S.Ct. 1784, 1791, 68 L.Ed.2d 114; Till v. Unifirst S. & L. Ass'n.
supra.

13 The authority of the Secretary of Housing and Urban Develop-
ment to adopt and promulgate the regulation to this effect (44 C.F.R.
59.24) is clearly evident in 42 U.S.C. $4012(c).

9

unambiguously. Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S.
560, 572, 99 S.Ct. 2479, 2487, 61 L.Ed.2d 82; Pennhurst
State Sch. & Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 17, 101
S.Ct. 1531, 1540, 67 L.Ed. 694. In Pennhurst this Court
said:

Unlike legislation enacted under § 5,
however, legislation enacted pursuant to the
spending power is much in the nature of a
contract: in return for federal funds, the
States agree to comply with federally impos-
ed conditions. The legitimacy of Congress’
power to legislate under the spending power
thus rests on whether the State voluntarily
and knowingly accepts the terms of the ‘’con-
tract.’’ See Steward Machine Co. v. Davis,
301 U.S. 548, 585-598, 57 S.Ct. 883, 890-896,
81 L.Ed.2d 1279 (1937); Harris v. McRae,
448 U.S. 297, 100 S.Ct. 2671, 65 L.Ed.2d 784
(1980). There can, of course, be no knowing
acceptance if a State is unaware of the condi-
tions or is unable to acertain what is ex-
pected of it. Accordingly, if Congress intends
to impose a condition cn the grant of federal
moneys, it must do so unambiguously. Cf.
Employees v. Department of Public Health
and Welfare, 411 U.S. 279, 285, 93 S.Ct.
1614, 1618, 36 L.Ed.2d 251 (1973); Edelman
v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 94 S.Ct. 1347, 39
L.Ed.2d 662 (1974). By insisting that Con-
gress speak with a clear voice, we enable the
States to exercise their choice knowingly,
cognizant of the consequences of their
participation.

Surely, the NFIA does not clearly and unambiguously in-
form communities that by virtue of their participation in
the NFIP they are subjecting themselves to tort actions

10

via a subrogation theory.14

Having specifically limited the remedy against such
participa 1g communities, Congress preculded the
fashioning of a tort remedy against them by means of the
adoption of a regulation that would permit the assertion of
that type of remedy. This is consistent with the reasoning
of this Court in Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v.
Lewis, 444 U.S. 11, 19-20, 100 S.Ct. 242, 247, 62 L.Ed.2d
146, wherein it said:

[4] We view quite differently, however,
the respondent’s claims for damages and
other monetary relief under § 206. Unlike §
215,, § 206 simply proscribes certain con-
duct, and does not in terms create or alter
any civil liabilities. If monetary liability to a
private plaintiff is to be found, it must be
read into the Act. Yet it is an elemental
canon of statutory construction that where a
statute expressly provides a_ particular
remedy or remedies, a court must be chary of
reading others into it. ‘‘When a statue limits
a thing to be done in a particular mode, it in-
cludes the negative of any other mode.”

It would have been unconscionable for Congress to
have enacted legislation whereunder premiums for flood in-
surance would have charged by the Government to people
of a “community” 15 and to provide in the same statute

14 The FIA, apparently recognized the limitations on its sanc-
tions and remedies under the NFIA, as evidenced by Town of Falmouth,
Mass., Bd. of Selectmen v. Hunter, D.C. Mass., 427 F.Supp. 26, wherein
the town sought an injunction to prohibit its suspension from the NF IP.

15 Although the NFIA /42 U.S.C. §4003(a/1)/ narrowly defines

11

that upon payment to those same people of the amounts of
damages, sustained by them as a result of unusual torren-
tial rains to which their communities might be subjected as
a result of God’s will, for the reimbursement by them to the
Government of the precise amounts paid to them by the
Government, plus more./® In essence, this is what the
Government is asking the Courts to decree to be by im-
plication the intent of Congress in enacting the N FIA.!7
Needless to say, the Parish has no funds to reimburse the
Government for the losses other than taxes collected from
the people of the ‘‘“community”’; and any reimbursement to
the Government would essentially by forthcoming from its
policyholders to which it sold insurance. This illustrates
the absence of any intent on the part of Congress to provide
a subrogation remedy to the Government for recoupment
of any losses under the NFIA. The failure of Congress to
specify a remedy of subrogation against participating com-
munities, strongly indicates its intention to proscribe such
a remedy. Therefore, the Secretary (Administrator) was
powerless to create by regulation a remedy which Congress

(footnote 15 continued)

community “as a State or political subdivision thereof’, the broader
definition of the word is set forth thusly in Webster's Third New Inter-
national Dictionary, Unabridged:

“a: STATE, COMMONWEALTH b: the people living in a par-
ticular place or region and usu. linked by common interests; broad-
ly: the region itself: any population cluster”

16 Adjusters’ fees and expenses.

17 This would be contrary to the established insurance doctrine
that an insurer, paying a loss, is not subrogated for recovery of the
amount thereof from its own insured. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co.
v. Sentry Indemnity Co., La. App., 316 So.2d 185, 188; Olinkraft, Inc.
v. Anco Insulation, Inc., La. App., 376 So.2d 1301, 1303.

12

did not intend to provide; and the Government cannot
assert such a remedy.against the defendants in this case.
United States v. Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864, 873, 97 S.Ct.
2150, 2156, 53 L.Ed.2d 48; Mohasco Corp. v. Silver, 447
U.S. 807, 825, 100 S.Ct. 2486, 2497, 65 L.Ed.2d 532; Jn-
surance Co. of North America vs. Gee, 2 Cir., 702 F.2d 411,
414; Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. U.S., 9 Cir., 664 F.2d 1133,
1136.

PRAYER

WHEREFORE, the premises considered, petitioners
pray that a writ of certiorari issue herein directing the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit to
send up to Your Honors the record of the case aforesaid, to
the end that the same may be examined by said Court and
that Your Honors may remand the case with instructions
or take the whole case and pronounce judgment thereon,
which said judgment your petitioners pray should be a
reversal of the judgment of the Court of Appeals, making
available to the Government a subrogation remedy, and
the entry of a judgment dismissing all «f the plaintiff's
demands against your defendants-petitioners.

GERARD M. DILLON, Appeal Counsel
KEVIN O’BRYON

H. A. VONDENSTEIN, Parish Attorney
DILLON & CAMBRE

HAMMETT, LEAKE & HAMMETT
Attorneys for Defendants-Petitioners,
Parish of Jefferson and Jefferson

Parish Council

Suite 1920 - 1555 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112-3797
Telephone No. (504) 586-1157

i cteeehatalegianeeeh ieee pa ben

13
CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregiong petition
were this day mailed to the attorney of record for piaintiff-
respondent, United States of America, and to all other
counsel of record in these consolidated cases.

eh
New Orleans, Louisiana. August EB: _, 1985

GERARD M. DILLON

7 eee re

A-1
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES of America,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.

PARISH OF ST. BERNARD, Police Jury of the Parish of
St. Bernard, Lake Borgne Basin Levee District, Fosco
Enterprises, Inc., Travelers Insurance Co., Parish of Jeffer-
son and Jefferson Parish Council, Regent Development
Corp., Jefferson Levee District, Pontchatrain Levee
District, Joseph F. Varisco, Jr., and Terry Tedesco, Inc.,
Defendants-Appellees.

UNITED STATES of America,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.
The PARISH OF JEFFERSON, et al.,
Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 83-3557, 83-3760 and 84-3082.
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

April 8, 1985.

United States brought suit against Louisiana public
and private defendants, alleging that the parish defendants
had caused massive flood damage by violating their con-
tractual and regulatory obligations to adopt and enforce
flood control measures consistent with the parishes’ par-
ticipation in the national flood insurance program. The
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Louisiana, at New Orleans, Adrian G. Duplantier, J.,
granted defense motions for summary judgment on several
claims, and an interlocutory appeal was taken. The Court

a

A-2

of Appeals, Brown, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) national
flood insurance program did not form a contract between
participating communities and the United States; (2) no im-
plied right of action was available to the United States
under the national flood insurance program; (3) United
States was not entitled to an injunction to force the
parishes to bring into compliance all areas located in flood
plains that were in violation of the federal regulations, as
it would not be a proper use of judicial power to force
parishes to do what they could decide to avoid doing by
simply withdrawing from NFIP; (4) subrogation was,
however, available to the United States to the extent per-
mitted by Louisiana law; and (5) United States could pur-
sue any available common law right of recovery against the
parish defendants so as to recover for any property the
parishes owned and insured under the NFIP.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded.

Jerre S. Williams, Circuit Judge, filed an opinion con-
curring in part and dissenting in part.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana.

Before BROWN, WILLIAMS, and GARWOOD, Cir-
cuit Judges.

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge:
I. Overview

In this exceptionally complicated consolidated ac-
tion we are presented with what is apparently a question

A-3

of first impression under the National Flood Insurance Pro-
gram (NFIP). The United States Government seeks
recovery of over $100 millien from various Louisiana public
and private defendants. The district judge granted the
defendants’ motions for summary judgement on several of
the government’s claims. After various procedural
maneuvers, both sides sought, and we granted, an in-
terlocutory appeal to resolve the correctness of the district
court’s summary disposition.

After briefing, an extended oral argument, and a
diligent search of the record, we affirm the district court’s
opinion dismissing the United States’ express contractual
claim. Since the government abandoned its public nuisance
claim on appeal, its dismissal is not before us. We further
hold that no implied right of action is available to the
United States under the NFIP. We also find that injunc-
tive relief would be ineffectual and accordingly dismiss the
government's claim on this ground. However, we do find
that subrogation is available to the United States to the ex-
tent permitted by Louisiana law. We further hold that the
United States may pursue any available common law right
of recovery against the parish defendants so as to recover
for any property the parishes owned and insured under the
NFIP.

II. Case History

The United States instituted two civil actions on
behalf of the Federal Emergency Management Agency
(FEMA) and the Federal Insurance Administration (FIA),
the present and former administrators of the NFIP: (i) No.
81-1808 against the Parish of St. Bernard, the Police Jury
of St. Bernard, the Lake Borgne Levy District, the State of

A-4

Louisiana, and various home builders, engineers, and
surveyors; and (ii) No. 81-1810 against Jefferson Parish,
the Jefferson Parish Council, Firemen’s Insurance Fund
Company, La Fourche Basin, Pontchatrain Levy District,
Jefferson and West Jefferson Levy District, Burk and
Associates, and other developers, builders, engineers, and
surveyors. The two actions were eventually consolidated.
After much jockeying for position, discovery was stayed
pending the resolution of the legal availability of the claims
filed by the United States.

In its actions the United States alleged that the
parish defendants caused massive flood damage by
violating their contractual and regulatory obligations to
adopt and enforce flood control measures consistent with
the parishes’ participation in the NFIP. The government
sought recovery in contract and implied contract. The
United States also contended that the defendants were
liable to the United States as subrogee under the policies
of the property owners who had been insured and paid in
full by the NFIP. The government further claimed that the
defendants’ actions (or inaction) constituted a public
nuisance under Louisiana law. However, as above mention-
ed, the government later abandoned any public nuisance
claim.

The government sought recovery of the money paid
to the insured property owners, an injunction for the
specific performance of all obligations required from the
parishes under the NFIP, and prospective injunctive relief
requiring the parish and levy district defendants to imple-
ment and enforce the flood control measures in order to
minimize future damage.

A-5

The parish defendants filed motions for summary
judgment. On June 29, 1983, the district court entered an
order granting the parishes’ motions insofar as the govern-
ment’s complaint sought recovery in contract. The district
court’s order denied the United States’ summary judgment
motion for specific performance as a remedy for breach of
the alleged contract between the parishes and the United
States. The district court alsc refused to grant the govern-
ment’s summary judgment motion on the availability of
subrogation. | Thus, over the objection of the United
States, the district court entered partial final judgments
dismissing the governement’s public nuisance ¢laim as to
all defendants and dismissing the portions of the United
States contractual claims insofar as they sought compensa-
tion from the parishes.

On July 28, 1983, in response to the defendant’s mo-
tions, the district court amended its order to reflect that
the partial denial of the parishes’ motions presented ques-
tions of law appropriate for interlocutory appeal under 28
U.S.C. § 1292(b). Meanwhile, the government filed two new
actions, No. 83-2077 and 83-2078, against Jefferson Parish
and the Levy District defendants, and St. Bernard Parish
and the Levy District defendants, to recover for flood in-
surance claims paid in 1982. In these suits the government
did not name any non-governmental entities as detendants.
These actions were subsequently consolidated with the
prior actions.

1 In another portion of its order which is not presently before us,
the district court rejected the c laim of Firemen’s Insurance Fund Com-
pany that the indemnity policy issued by it to Jefferson Parish did not
provide coverage for liability on the claims brought against the parish
by the United States and declined to dismiss Firemen’s from the case
or grant it summary judgment.

Son

A-6

On August 10, 1983, we denied the parish defen-
dants’ application for interlocutory appeal. The United
States then moved for reversal of the partial final summary
judgments which had been entered against it in appeals
No. 83-3557 and 83-3760.

On February 1. 1984, upon a motion for reconsidera-
tion, we reversed our prior ruling and granted the defen-
dants leave to pursue an interlocutory appeal. We
simultaneously deferred consideration of the government’s
motion for summary reversal and requested a full briefing
on the merits of the government’s appeals from the partial
dismissal of the public nuisance claims and the contractual
claims insofar as they concerned recovery of the United
States’ payments under the insurance policies. All appeals
were consolidated for briefing and argument.

III. The NFIP

The National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, was
enacted by Title XIII of the Housing and Urban Develop-
ment Act of 1968 Public Law 90-448, August 1, 1968, to
provide previously unavailable flood insurance protection
to property owners in flood prone areas.” 42 U.S.C. § 4001
et seq.

Dissatisfied with the lack of commitment being
made to the prgram by the municipalities to which in-
surance was available, Congress added additional incen-
tives for communities to participate in the NFIP. Con-
gress’ persuasive stick - used as an aid to the insufficient

2 Mudslide protection was added to the program by the Housing
and Urban Development Act of 1969, Public Law 91-152 (December 14,
1969). Flood related erosion protection was added to the program by the
© 50d Disaster Protection Act of 1973, Public Law 93-234 (December 31,
1973).

A-7

pa ayy carrot - was the Flood Disaster Protection Act of
1973.

To qualify for the sale of federally subsidized flood
insurance, a community was required to adopt and submit
as part of its application, flood plain management regula-
tions. These regulations were designed to reduce or avoid
future flood damages.

However, the 1968 Act required a risk study to be
undertaken for each community before it could become
eligible for the sale of flood insurance. Since this require-
ment resulted in a delay in providing insurance protection,
Congress established an Emergency Flood Insurance Pro-
gram to permit the early sale of insurance in flood prone
communities. The emergency program did not affect the re-
quirement that a community adopt adequate flood plain
management regulations; it only permitted insurance to be
sold before a study was conducted to determine actual risk
premium rates for the particular community. The emergen-
cy program still required the charging of actual risk
premium rates for all new construction, substantial im-

3 See, Texas Landownders’ Rights Association v. Harris, 453
F.Supp. 1025, 1030 (D.D.C.1978). Congress was concerned because
many communities decided it was better to remain outside the program
and avoid paying any insurance premiums so long as they were able to
collect federal disaster relief. The 1973 Act required the purchase of
flood insurance on or after March 2, 1974, as a condition to receiving any
form of federal or federally related financial assistance for the acquisi-
tion or construction of insurable buildings and mobile homes within and
identified special flood, mudslide, or flood related erosion hazard area
located within any community participating in the program. The Flood
Disaster Protection Act also requires that on or after July 1, 1975, or
one year after a community has been formally notified by the Director
of the Flood Insurance Program of its identification as a commmunity
containing one or more special flood hazards, no such federal finar.cial
assistance shall be provided unless the ~oramunity in which the area is
located is then participating in the program.

A-8

provements, and high lir:?.s of coverage on existing struc-
tures when a flood insurance rate map became effective.

To qualify for flood insurance, a community was re-
quired to apply for the entire area within its jurisdiction.4
The program requires the community ta designate an agen-
cy or official with responsibility, authority, and means to
implement the specific requirements of the program and to
make an annual report concerning the community’s par-
ticipation in the program.. The regulations provide that a
community is subject to suspension from the NFIP for
failure to implement adequate flood plain management
regulations. During a suspension, no flood insurance may
be sold or renewed.

Thus, the Act contemplates the participation of both
the federal agency charged with the program’s oversight
and the local community government charged with im-
plementing the agency’s flood plain regulations. Under the
regulations, however, ultimate responsibility for communi-
ty compliance remains with the Agency since it has the
power to suspend any municipality for lack of compliance
with the NFIP.

IV. Resolution of the Issues
[1] Many of the general principles applicable to

the judicial interpretation of flood insurance policy provi-
sions have been established by prior decision. Federal law

4 Individual property owners may not purchase flood insurance
unless they live in a municipality which has entered the prgam. To
achieve Congress’ goal of preventing widespread flood damage through
prophylactic land use restrictions, an individual who voluntarily com-
plies with the regulations still cannot obtain the benefit of the program
without local government action.

A-9

governs disputes over coverage arising under the National
Flood Insurance Act of 1968. West v. Harris, 573 F.2d 873,
880-81 (5th Cir.1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 946, 99 S.Ct.
1424, 59 L.Ed.2d 635 (1979). When such disputes arise,
they are resolved under federal law ‘“‘by drawing upon stan-
dard insurance law principles.’’ Jd. at 881; Drewett v. Aet-
na Casualty & Surety Co., 539 F.2d 496, 498 (5th Cir.1976).
See Hanover Building Materials v. Guiffrida, 748 F.2d
1011 (5th Cir.1984). Given the importance and complexity
of this case, we discuss each disputed issue separately.

(a) No Express Contract Created

[2, 3] The United States urges that the many letters
exchanged between the communities and the agencies
charged with implementing the NFIP establish an express
contract. In brief, the government reasons that legislation
enacted pursuant to the spending power is in the nature of
a contract: in return for federal funds, the communities
agreee to comply with federally imposed conditions. Pen-
nhurst State Schools v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 17, 101
S.Ct. 1531, 1539, 67 L.Ed.2d 694 (1981); United States v.
Marion County School District, 625 F.2d 607, 609 (5th
Cir.1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1980, 68
L.Ed.2d 298 (1981). We believe that Pennhurst is
dispositive of the government’s contract claim. The clear
holding of Pennhurst is that a ‘“‘contract”’ can arise only
when the state knowingly and voluntarily accepts Con-
gress’ terms.

There can, of course, be no knowing accep-
tance if a state is unaware of the conditions
or is unable to ascertain what is expected of
it. Accordingly, if Congress intends to im-
pose a condition on the grant of federal

A-10

moneys, it must do so unambiguously (cita-
tions omitted). By insisting that Congress
speak with a clear voice, we enable the States
to exercise their choice knowingly, cognizant
of the consequences of their participation.

Pennhurst, 451 U.S., at 17, 101 S.Ct. at 1539. Congress fail-
ed to make clear in either the statute or regulations that
participation in the NFIP created a contract. As a result,
the parishes could have no knowing understanding that
they would be subjected to almost unlimited liability in ac-
tions for monetary damages under the statute by joining
the program. We sustain the district court’s decision that
the NFIP does not form a contract between participating
communities and the United States.

(b) No Implied Right of Action

The theory of impiied private action is, of course,
basically a matter of statutory construction. Transamerica
Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 444 U.S. 11, 15, 100
S.Ct. 242, 245, 62 L.Ed.2d 146 (1979); Belluso v. Turner
Communications Corp., 633 F.2d 393, 395 (5th Cir.1980).
For over half a century federal courts readily allowed plain-
tiffs to imply private causes of action. See, e.g., Superinten-
dent of Insurance v. Bankers Life and Casualty Co., 404
U.S. 6, 92 S.Ct. 165, 30 L.Ed.2d 128 (1971); Texas & P.R.R.
v. Rigsby, 241 U.S. 33, 36 S.Ct. 482, 60 L.Ed. 874 (1916).
The Supreme Court began to reverse this trend in Cort v.
Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed.2d 26 (1975).°

° In more recent cases the Supreme Court has looked almost ex-
clusively to congressional intent - The Cort v. Ash criteria being treated
as indicia of that intent. Transamerican Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v.
Lewis, 444 U.S. 11, 100 S.Ct. 242, 62 L.Ed.2d 146 (1979); Touche Ross
& Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560, 99 S.Ct. 2479, 61 L.Ed.2d 82 (1979).

A-il

In response to the United States argument that we
should imply a private right of action under the NFIP, we
need go no further than our opinion in Till v. Unifirst
Federal Savings & Loan Association, 653 F.2d 152, 154
(5th Cir.1981). In Till, we were asked to read the language
and history of the NFIP as affording a cause of action not
explicitly provided for by Congress. We analyzed the NFIP
under the factors of Cort v. Ash: (1) whether the plaintiff is
one of a class for whose special benefit the statute was
enacted; (2) whether there is an indication of legislative in-
tent to create or deny such remedy; (3) whether such a
remedy would be inconsistent with the underlying
legislative purpose; and (4) whether the cause of action is
one traditionally relegated to state law. Cort v. Ash, supra,
422 U.S. at 78, 95 S.Ct. at 2088. As we noted in Till,
though, in interpreting federal statutues, Cort and its pro-
geny have all focused upon the ‘‘ultimate issue’ of whether
is was Congress’’ intent - either explicit or implicit - to
create a private remedy or to deny one. Jill at 154.6

(footnote 5 continued)

Since deciding Cort v. Ash, the Supreme Court has become even more
reluctant to imply new private causes of action for damages. See Mid-
dlesex County Sewerage Authority v. National Sea Clammers Associa-
tion, 453 U.S. 1, 101 S.Ct. 2615, 69 L.Ed.2d 435 (1981); Northwest
Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers Union of America, 451 U.S. 77, 101
S.Ct. 1571, 67 L.Ed.2d 750 (1981); Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff
Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 101 S.Ct. 2061, 68 L.Ed.2d 500 (1981);
California v. Sierra Club, 451 U.S. 287, 101 S.Ct. 1775, 68 L.Ed.2d 101
(1981).

6 As the court observed in Touche Ross & Co. v. Edward S.
Redington, 442 U.S. 560, 576, 99 S.Ct. 2479, 2489, 61 L.Ed.2d 82 (1979),
the central inquiry remains whether Congress intended to create, either
expressly or by implication, a private cause of action. Indeed, the first
three factors discussed in Cort - the language and focus of the statutue,

A-12

Cort v. Ash, supra, 422 U.S. at 78, 95 S.Ct. at 2088. See
California v. Sierra Club, 451 U.S. 287, 101 S.Ct. 1775,
1779, 68 L.Ed.2d 101 (1981); Rogers v. Frito Lay, Inc., 611
F.2d 1074, 1078 (5th Cir.1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 889,
101 S.Ct. 246, 66 L.Ed.2d 115 (1980).

[4, 5] Our quest for Congress’ intent must being with
the Supreme Court’s warning that in cases where the
statutes and legislative history are silent on the question of
private remedy, “implying a private right of action on the
basis of congressional silence is a hazardous enterprise, at
best.”” Touche Rosse & Co. v. Redington, supra, 422 U.S. at
571, 99 S.Ct. at 2486. Clearly, the principal purpose in enac-
ting the NFIP was to reduce through the implementation
of adequate land use controls and the availability of sub-
sidized flood insurance, the massiv and ever increasing bur-
deon of federal flood disaster assistance.’ Nowhere in an

(footnote 6 continued)

its legislative history, and its purpose, see 422 U.S. at 78, 95 S.Ct. 2080,
2087, 45 L.Ed.2d 26 - are ones traditionally relied upon in determining
legislative intent.

7 In 1968, House iieport No. 1585 discussed the purposes and
need for a flood insurance program. It stated as follows:

Heavy losses over the years from hurricanes in the coastal areas
and from storms in inland areas of the nation dramatize the lack
of insurance protection against flood damage. Insurance protec-
tion against the risk of destruction cause by tornadoes and other
natural catastrophies is generally available, but it is not available
against the risk of flocd ioss.

Communities along the sea coast or .n a river basin become
completely immobilized following a major flood. Usually they
must depend on the federal government and voluntary relief agen-
cies to provide various forms of assistance. Some state and local
governments have limited programs to assist flood stricken areas,

A-13

examination of the language of the NFIP and its legislative
history can we find evidence that Congress had any intent
to allow a private cause of action, either expressly or by
implication.

While the Supreme Court in Touche Ross refused to
imply a private cause of action partly because other sec-
tions of the same Act expressly provided for private
remedies, we find applicable what was obviously the main
thrust of the Court’s reasoning: ‘‘when Congress wished to
provide a private damages remedy, it knew how to do so
and did so expressly.’’ Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington,
supra, 442 US. at 572, 99 S.Ct. at 2487. Thus, as we found
in Till, where the statue by its terms grants no private
rights to any identifiable class and nrescribes no conduct
as unlawful, further inquiry is foreciused. We follow Till
and hold that no cause of action may be implied under the
NFIP.

(c) No Injunctive Relief Available

6, 7] It is black letter law that an injunction wil! not
issue when it would be ineffectual. Under the NFIP a com-

(footnote 7 continued)

but disaster relief from all of these sources is inadequate to pro-
vide for the necessary restoration of heavily damaged areas. These
facts underline the need for a program which will make insurance
against flood damage available, encourage persons to become
aware of the risk of occupying the flood plains, and reduce the
mounting federal expenditure for disaster relief assistance.
H.Rep.No. 1585, 90th Cong.. 2d Sess., reprinted in [1968]
U.S.Code Cong. & Adm.News 2873, 2966-67.

For further evidence of the interest of Congress in reducing the burden
of federal funds through land use controls and insurance, see Senate
Report No. 93-583, 93rd Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted in [1973] U.S.Code
Cong. & Adm.News 3217, 3218-20, 3223.

A-14

munity may withdraw, or it may be suspended by the agen-
cy, if it is not in compliance with the regulations governing
flood plain construction and management. Nonetheless, the
gevernment seeks an injunction to force the parishes to
bring into compliance all areas located in flood plains that
are in violation of the regulations. The government also
seeks a prospective injunction to keep the communities
from engaging in future violations.

We can perceive no utility in such a course. Requir-
ing a community to do acts which it may voluntarily
choose to avoid is not a proper exercise of judicial power.
In no way is community participation in the NFIP re-
quired. Deciding to join or remain under the program is a
decision left solely by the statute to the local community.
This remians true even after Congress created additional
incentives to secure more widespread community participa-
tion. As a result, it is not a proper use of judicial power to
force the parishes to do what they may decide to avoid do-
ing by simply withdrawing from the program.

Similarly, requiring a community to undertake ex-
pensive reconstruction projects to bring itself into com-
pliance with the NFIP is fruitless when the agency already
possesses the power to suspend any community which is in
violation. We certainly agree with the government that a
community must be in compliance to remain in the pro-
gram. However, that is not equivalent to saying we must
force a community to comply by means of an injunction.
While we can speculate upon the reasons the United States
would like to have the court provide such injunctive relief,
suffice it to say that we decline to make it available because
the agency already had the power to suspend the parishes
until they comply with the flood plain regulaticns.

A-15
(d) Availability of Subrogation

We perceive two inquiries to be dispositive of the
United States’ claim as to the availability of subrogation.
Fizst, we must consider Congress’ intent in enacting the
NFIP. Second, we must examine the validity of the regula-
tions promulgated by the agency pursuant to Congress’
directions.

We first had occasion to consider Congress’ intent
several years ago in Drewett v. Aetna Casualty and Surety
Co., 539 F.2d 496, 497 (5th Cir.1976). The plaintiff in
Drewett argued that because the statue creating the NFIP
anticipated premiums which were lower than the actuarial
cost of insuring property in flood prone areas (the dif-
ference being subsidized by the federal government, see 42
U.S.C. §§ 4014 and 4015), it was inappropriate to apply
general insurance law principles, which were originally
developed to apply to profit seeking insurance companies.

We held Drewett’s contention to be without merit.
As we stated in the context of the NFIP as it was then
operated:

[T]he flood insurance program is ad-
ministered with cooperation between the
federal government and private insurance
companies; the private companies carry
some of the risk, although the federal govern-
ment stands ready to reinsure and reimburse
excessive losses. 42 U.S.C. § 4017, 4041-84.
The Program also requires ongoing actuaria!
studies to help set the premiums to be charg-
ed, 42 U.S.C. § 4014. The eventual goal of the
Program is to discourage building in flood
prone areas by raising, over time, the

A-16

premiums actually charged to equal the ac-
tuarial cost of flood insurance. See U.S. Code
Cong. & Adm. News (1968) at 2969, reprin-
ting House Report No. 1585, 90th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1968).

In short, although the Program offers
subsidized flood insurance, it is designed to
operate much like any private insurance com-
pany and eventually to eliminate the sub-
sidy. Because the Program's exposure to
claims and its premiums are required to be
estimated in accordance with standard in-
surance practices, and because private in-
surers carry part of the risk, it is clear that
Congress did not intend to abrogate stan-
dard insurance law principles which affect
such estimates and risks. Nothing in the
statue or regulations promulgated under it,
see 24 C.F.R. Part 1909-18, requires
otherwise.

Drewett at 498 (emphasis added).

We can perceive no reason the NFIP should be seen
as operating differently now that the federal government
has displaced private insurance companies. The actuarial
studies required for the assessment of risk premiums re-
mains the same. Indeed, the agency has long had the choice
of operating the program privately or publicly. The reeson
the NFIP is now operated entirely by the government is
because studies convencingly showed this would achieve
greater economy.

As to the second inquiry - the validity of the agency
regulations issued to implement the NFIP - it must be
noted that the insurance policy used by the government is
the same policy issued to property owners when private
companies were employed as agents for the government

A-17

under the NFIP. When the government assumed the
responsibilities formerly performed by the private com-
panies, the agency published the insurance policy in the
Code of Federal Regulations. It has been published there
ever since. Nonetheless, defendants in these cases contend
that the inclusion of the policy's subrogation clause is an
unwarranted assumption of power by the agency outside
the scope of congressional intent now that the United
States operates the program. This, of course, is a very hard
road for the defendants to travel since Congress delegated
to the agency the responsibility for writing the regulations
under which the NFIP would operate.

[8, 9] The standards by which federal regulations are to be
judged were well stated in New York Foreign Freight For-
warders and Brokers Association v. The Federal Maritime
Commission, 337 F.2d 289, 295 (2d Cir.1964), cert. denied,
390 U.S. 910, 914, 85 S.Ct. 893, 902, 13 L.Ed.2d 797. 800
(1965). The court observed that: (1) a regulation is presump-
tively valid, and one who attacks it has the burden of show-
ing its invalidity; and (2) a regulation or administrative
practice is ordinarily valid unless it is (a) unreasonable or
inappropriate or (b) plainly inconsistent with the statute.

Thus, our scope of review of the agency issued
regulations is limited. Such judicial restraint in the assess-
ment of administrative regulations is rooted in a realistic
view of the legislative process. Legislation cannot under-
take to deal with every situation. Accordingly, Congress
creates an administrative agency so that experts who are
familiar with the task Congress has identified can address
the problems in all their intricacies. The Supreme Court
carefully explained the necessary and proper function of
agency rulemaking in American Trucking Associations,

|

A-18

Inc. v. United States, 334 U.S. 298, 73 S.Ct. 307, 97 L.Ed.
337 (1953). In that case the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion had issued rules prohibiting short-term or trip leasing
by motor carriers. The court held that promulgation of the
rules was within the Commission’s power - despite the
absence of specific reference to leasing practices in the
Motor Carrier Act.

All urge upon us the fact that nowhere in the
Act is there an express delegation of power
to control, regulate or effect leasing prac-
tices, ana it is further insisted that in each
separate provision of the Act granting
regulatory authority there is no direct im-
plication of such power. Our function,
however, does not stop with a section-by-
section search for the phrase ‘‘regulation of
leasing practices’ amoung the literal words
of the statuory provisions. As a matter of
principle, we might agree with appellant's
contention if we thought it a reasonable
canon of interpretation that the draftsmen of
acts delegating agency powers, as a practical
and realistic matter, can or do include
specific consideration of every evil sought to
be corrected. But no great acquaintance with
practical affairs is required to know that
such prescience, either in fact or in the minds
of Congress, does not exist. National Broad-
casting Company v. United States, 319 U.S.
190, 219-20, 63 S.Ct. 997, 1010-11, 87 L.Ed.
1344; Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor
Relations Board, 313 U.S. 177, 193-94, 61
S.Ct. 845, 852, 85 L.Ed. 1271. Its very
absence, moreover, is precisely one of the
reasons why regulatory agencies such as the
Commission are created, for it is the fond
hope of their authors that they bring to their

OOOO ee

A-19

work the expert’s familiarity with industry
conditions which members of the delegating
legislatures cannot be expected to possess.
United States v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co.,
323 U.S. 612, 65 S.Ct. 471, 89 L.Ed. 499.

American Trucking, 344 U.S. at 309-10, 73 S.Ct. at 314-15.
Similar thoughts on the judicial restraint necessary when
assessing agency regulations were expressed more recently
by the Supreme Court in American Union Transport, Inc.
v. United States, 257 F.2d 607, 612 (D.D.C.), cert. denied,
358 U.S. 828, 79 S.Ct. 46, 3 L.Ed.2d 67 (1958). The Court
focused on ‘‘[t]he great complexity of our economy [which]
induced Congress to place...the regulation[s] in specialized
agencies with broad powers.’’ The Supreme Court em-
phasized that we must be ‘“‘slow to interfere with the con-
clusions of such agencies when [their regulations 8 recon-
ciliable with statutory directions.”’

[10] As to the task of reconciling regulations with
their statutory authorization, courts give great deference
to the interpretation given the statute by the officers or
agency charged with its administration. Udall v. Tallman,
380 U.S. 1, 16, 85 S.Ct. 792, 801, 13 L.Ed.2d 616, 625
(1965). ‘To sustain the Commission’s application of this
statutory term, we need not find that its construction is the
only reasonable one, or even that it is the result we would
have reached had the question arisen in the first instance
in judicial proceedings.’’ Une.nployment Compensation
Commission v. Aragon, 329 U.S. 143, 153, 67 S.Ct. 245, 91
L.Ed. 136, 145 (1946). See also, Gray v. Powell, 314 U.S.
402, 62 S.Ct. 326, 86 L.Ed 301 (1941); Universal Battery
Co. v. United States, 281 U.S. 580, 583, 50 S.Ct. 422, 423,
74 L.Ed. 1051, 1054 (1930). ‘‘Particularly is this respect
due when the administrative practice at stake ‘involves a

Ee

A-20

contemporaneous construction of a statute by the men
charged with the responsibility of setting its machinery in
motion, of making the parts work efficiently and smoothly
while they are yet untried and new.””’ See Udall v. Tallman,
380 U.S., at 16, 85 S.Ct. at 801, citing Power Reactor Co.
v. International Union of Electrical, Etc., 367 U.S. 396,
408, 81 S.Ct. 1529, 1635, 6 LEd.2d 924, 932 (1961).

[11] Defendants in these cases rely upon the surely
correct proposition that the power of an agency when ad-
ministering a federal statute and prescribing regulations is
not the power to make law. Manhattan General Equipment
Co. v. Commissioner, 297 U.S. 129, 56 S.Ct. 397, 80 L.Ed.
528 (1936). We believe the defendant’s hornbook restate-
ment of the law to be as accurate as it is inapposite. The in-
quiry before us is nothing more than the reasonableness of
including subrogation as part of Congress’ scheme to
employ insurance principles as a cost saving mechanism in
lieu of direct disaster relief appropriations. We would be
disputing with the sophists if we doubted for a moment
that:

government is a practical affair intended for
practical men. Both officers, lawmakers and
citizens naturally adjust themselves to any
long continued action of the Executive
Department - on the presumption that
unauthorized acts would not have been
allowed to be so often repeated as to
crystallize into a regular practice. That
presumption is not reasoning in a circle but
the basis of a wise and quieting rule that in
determining the meaning of a statute or the
existence of a power, weight shall be given to
the usage itself - even when the validity of
the practice is the subject of investigation.

A-21

See Udall v. Tallman,380 U.S., at 17, 85 S.Ct. at 801-802,
citing United States v. Midwest Oil Co., 236 U.S. 459,
472-73, 35 S.Ct. 309, 312-13, 59 L.Ed. 673, 681 (1915). We
hold that the agency’s adoption of the insurance policy
formerly issued by private companies with its inclusion of
a subrogation clause was within the framework con-
templated by Congress and that the United States may
pursue subrogation.

(e) Parish Liability to Suit and the
Availability of a Common
Law Remedy®

[12, 13] It is settled law that the parishes are not pro-
tected from suit by the eleventh amendment. As the
Supreme Court observed in County of Lincoln v. Luning,
133 U.S. 766, 767, 10 S.Ct. 363, 363, 33 L.Ed. 766. (1889),
“the Eleventh Amendment limits...jurisdiction only as to
suits against a state.’’ It has been the clear rule since the
time of Chief Justice Marshall that ‘“‘the Eleventh Amend-
ment...is of necessity limited to those suits in which the
state is a party on the record.’”’ Osborn v. The Bank of the
United States, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 738, 857, 6 L.Ed. 204
(1824).

[14, 15] Since the elventh amendment constitutes no
bar to a suit against the parishes, our next inquiry is
whether Louisiana law allows such a suit. The doctrine of
sovereign immunity has been abandoned in Louisiana.
However, this does not mean a parish raay be sued for any

8 We are aware, of course, that Louisiana is not a common law
state. Nonetheless, some term is needed to identify the causes of action
outside the NFIP and Louisiana insurance law. We use common law as
such a descriptive moniker here.

A-22

cause. Parish liability is limited by the step-child of the old
doctrine of sovereign immunity - the public duty doctrine.
This doctrine, adopted in Louisiana, was well stated in
Stewart v. Schmieder, 386 So.2d 1351, 1357 (La.1980).

The rule of official responsibility, then, ap-
pears to be this: that if the duty which the of-
ficial authority imposes upon an officer is a
duty to the public, a failure to perform it, or
an adequate or erroneous performance, must
be a public, not an individual injury, and
must be redressed, if at all, in some form of
public prosecution. On the other hand, if the
duty is a duty to the individual, then a
neglect to perform it, or to perform it proper-
ly, is an individual wrong, and may support
an individual action for damages. ‘The
failure of a public officer to perform a public
duty can constitute and indivdcual wrong on-
ly when some person can show that in th+
public duty was involved also a duty to
himself as an individual, and that he has suf-
fered a special and peculiar injury be reason
of its non-performance.”’

[16] The parishes’ adoption of flood control measures
and their responsibility for inspecting and maintaining
defenses against the possibility of rising flood waters does
no impel the automatic application of the bar of the public
duty doctrine. Louisiana case law permits the conclusion
that the parishes can be found liable after trial for the
breach of what may be perceived to be at first glance as a
public duty. Bacile v. Parish of Jefferson, 411 So.2d 1088
(La.App.1981); Jones v. City of Baton Rouge, 388 So.2d
737 (La.19%80); McCloud v. Parish of Jefferson, 383 So.2d
477 (La.App.1980); Broussard v. Parish of Jefferson, 375
So.2d 722 (La.App.1979); Lewis v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.,

A-23

342 So.2d 244 (La.App.1977); Jackson v. Parish of East
Baton Rouge, 331 So.2d 64, 65 (La.App.1076); Contranchis
v. Parish of Jefferson, 299 So.2d 513 (La.App.1974); Toppi
v. Arbour, 119 So.2d 621 (La.App.1960).

[17] Of course, it is a fundamental principle of in-
surance law that an insurer may not sue its own insured on
the insurance policy. The law has recognized, however, that
there may be causes of action by an insurer outside the
policy, i.e. fraud. It is with understanding that we now con-
sider the United States’ claim as to the availability of com-
mon law remedies.

This circuit, along with others, has recognized that
the government has a common law right to recoupment.
Jacquet v. Westerfield, 569 F.2d 1339, 1345 (5th Cir.1978);
Woods v. United States, 724 F.2d 1444, 1448 (9th
Cir.1984); United States v. Mead, 426 F.2d 118, 124 (9th
Cir.1970); United States v. Silliman, 167 F.2d 607, 610 (3d
Cir.1948), cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825, 69 S.Ct. 48, 93 L.Ed.
379 (1948). However, an inextricable part of any decision as
to the availability of a common law remedy must focus
upon not only what remedies were intended by Congress in
passing the NFIP, but also upon what remedies were
foreclosed.

Thus, although in Jacquet v. Westerfield we held
that the power to disqualify food stamp recipients on ac-
count of fraud was “‘inherent in the effective administra-
tion of such a program,” at issue in Jacquet was a dis-
qualification regulation. It is with this background that we
said ‘“‘[njot only is recoupment an appropriate ad-
ministrative tool, but the government also has a common
law right to recoup value fraudulently obtained from it.’

A-24
Jacquet at 1346.

In Mount Sinai Hospital of Greater Miami, Inc. v.
Weinberger, 517 F.2d 329, 338 (5th Cir.1975), cert. denied,
425 U.S. 935, 96 S.Ct. 1665, 48 L.Ed.2d 176 (1976), we
made the observation that ‘“‘[t]he recoupment right does
not always fit consistently and logically into the statutory
system, but the alternative of no right to recoup produces
even more severe incongruities.”’ Thus, thought the general
principle is, as we observed in United States v. Bellard, 674
F.2d 330, 333 (5th Cir.1982), that the courts are reluctant
to find legislative enactments in derogation of the common
law, this general rule cannot be viewed as a talisman; it
must be tempered by the specifics of the program adopted
by Congress. Accordingly, the availability of common law
remedies is primarily a hunt for a species of congressional
intent.

In our search of Congress’ intent in enacting the
NFIP we cannot escape the conclusion that it would be in-
congrous for the same body which did not contemplate ex-
press or implied contractual remedies against the defen-
dants to have intended that the full panoply of common law
actions remain available against the same defendants. It is
not reasonable for us to conclude that Congress would have
thought that the parishes would have voluntarily entered
a program such as the NFIP - which involved many restric-
tion upon land use - if they thought they were going to be
subject to massive tort liabilities. It is unreasonable to
argue, as the United States seemingly does, that the NFIP,
a program designed to lessen the massive public outlay for
federal disaster assistance, could be foisted in its entire
cost onto the very people Congress was trying to protect
from the prohibitive cost of flooding.

Wks an, Pelli ae AO A Ls Atte 8 tomer

A-25

{18] Our decision that Congress did not intend to
allow recovery from the defendants under the whole of com-
mon law torts, however, is not tantamount to saying that
no action can lie against the parishes for the value of the
property the parishes owned and insured under the NF IP.
Moreover, since under standard insurance law principles
the United States as an insurer cannot sue the parishes as
its insureds under the NFIP policies, any action against
the parishes concerning parish property insured under the
NFIP is extremely limited. Although actions for fraud
have traditionally been recognized at common law as a
means of recovery from insureds by their insurers, we do
not say at this early stage of litigation - prior to any real
discovery having occured - that this will be the only non
subrogation action available by the United States against
the parishes. It is only with this understanding of the very
narrow nature of the causes of action available. to the
United States against the parishes for the value of the pro-
perty owned and insured under the NFIP that we give the
green light to the United States to pursue common law
remedies against the parishes. Suffice it to say since none
of the claims that may be articulated in subrogation ac-
tions against the parishes are available to the United
States as an insurer, any action by the United States
against the parishes for the value of the property which the
parishes insured under the NFIP must not be in violation
of the fundamental principle of insurance law that an in-
surer cannot sue its insured. To this limited extent express-
ed in our opinion, a common law remedy is available to the
United States against the parishes.

V. Conclusion

By way of summation, we affirm the district court's

A-26

summary disposition of the United States’ express con-
tract and public nuisance claims. We further hold that the
United States is not entitled to pusue an implied right of
action or injunctive relief under the NFIP. However,
subrogation, and any applicable causes of action at com-
mon law which do not violate fundamental insurance law
principles for recovery of the value of the property the
parishes owned and insured under the NFIP, remain
available.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART,
and REMANDED.

JERRE S. WILLIAMS, Circuit Judge, concurring in
part and dissenting in part:

I concur in all of my brother Brown’s opinion for the
Court in this case with the exception of IV(a) in which he
conlcudes that the conditional grant in aid program did not
create a contract between the federal government and the
local governmental entities. This conclusion is contrary to
a long line of established Supreme Court authority. The
1866 Supreme Court case of McGee v. Mathis, 71 U.S. (4
Wall.) 143, 155, 18 L.Ed 314 said: “It is not doubted that
the grant by the United States to the State upon condi-
tions, and the acceptance of the grant by the State con-
stituted a contract. All the elements of a contract met in
the transaction - competent parties, proper subject-matter,
sufficient consideration, and consent of minds. This con-
tract was binding upon the State.” In our own controlling
case on this issue, United States v. Marion County School
Dist., 625 F.2d 607 (5th Cir.1980), we quoted the McGee
case at 609 n. 4. The Marion County case involved contrac-
tual assurances by the school district of compliance with

A-27

the prohibitions against racial discrimination in the Civil
Rights Act in the operation of federally funded schools. At
p. 609, our ruling was specific:

As the Supreme Court has long recognized,
the United States may attach conditions to a
grant of federal assistance, the recipient of
the grant is obligated to perform the condi-
tions, and the United States has an inherent
right to sue for enforcement of the recipient's
obligation in court. E.g., Rex Trailer Co. v.
United States, 350 U.S. 148, 151, 76 S.ct.
219, 221, 100 L.Ed. 149 (1956); United States
v. San Francisco, 310 U.S. 16, 31, 60 S.Ct.
749, 757, 84 L.Ed. 1050 (1940); Cotton v.
United States, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 229, 231, 13
L.Ed. 675 (1850); Dugan v. United States, 16
U.S. (3 Wheat.) 172, 181, 4 L.Ed. 362 (1818).

The same principle is stated in Pennhurst State
School & Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 17, 101 S.Ct.
1531, 1540, 67 L.Ed.2d 694 (1981), the case relied upon by
the majority opinion for the contrary result. In the
paragraph immediately preceding the paragraph quoted in
the majority opinion, the Supreme Court gives the follow-
ing recognition to the nature of a conditional grant as a
contract:

Unlike legislation enacted under § 5,
however, legislation enacted pursuant to the
spending power is much in the nature of a
contract: in return for federal funds, the
States agree to comply with federally impos-
ed conditions. The legitimacy of Congress’
power to legislate under the spending power
thus rests on whether the State voluntarily
and knowingly accepts the terms of the ‘“‘con-
tract.’’ See Steward Machine Co. v. Davis,
301 U.S. 548, 585-598, 57 S.Ct. 883, 890-896,
81 L.Ed.2d 1279 (1937); Harris v. McRae,

Re

A-28

448 U.S. 297, 100 S.Ct. 2671, 65 L.Ed.2d 784
(1980).

The conditions the United States Government plac-
ed upon the grant in this case were clear and precise. Ob-
viously the government knew that it was undertaking large
financial obligations in supplying flood insurance to the
citizens of the Parishes. It insisted upon conditions which
would substantially cut down on that liability. The condi-
tions which the Parishes were alleged to have breached
were two in number. First, they failed to implement and en-
force the specific land use and control requirements which
they had obligated themselves to enforce. As a result, a
number of buildings were built below the flood level eleva-
tion requirements which the Parishes promised to meet. Se-
cond, even more specifically, the Parishes failed to carry
out unequivocal promises concerning the extablishment of
adequate drainage systems involving pumps, canals,
levies, and culverts. The United States further charges
that the Parishes failed to keep drainage pumps in proper
repair so that they would operate in situations involving
flood emergencies.

These failures had to do with specific promises which
the Parishes were required to make to be entitled to obtain
for themselves and their citizens the flood insurance protec-
tions under the National Flood Control Act and the Flood
Disaster Protection Act. I concede, of course, that the
Court in Pennhurst did state that Congress must intend to
impose clearly and unambiguously the conditions on the
grant. Of course, the clearness and certainty come from the
administrative requirements established under congres-
sional authorization rather than requirements in the
statute itself. Virtually all conditional grants by the

ee

eo PEA iy het i = et

tenancies

A-29

federal government occur through an administrative pro-
cess that establishes the specific conditions and creates the
contract under the general grant of authority from the Cun-
gress. Congress does not write the contract, nor does it sign
it. The administrator writes the contract and signs it on
behalf of the government.

It cannot be said in this case, in the words of Pen-
nhurst, that a local governmental entity was ‘‘unaware of
the conditions or [was] unable to ascertain what [was] ex-
pected of it.’’ The conditions were clear and precise, and a
contract was created under this conditional flood insurance
program. A contract is the normal and usual outgrowth of
a conditional grant of federal largesse, and there is no
reason to treat this case as an exception.

Admittedly the more serious question is not whether
a contract was created, but whether the local government
bodies can be held liable for the consequential damages
arising from their failures to carry out the contract provi-
sions. These failures ultimately resulted in the federal
government having to pay large flood insurance claims
which, the federal government asserts, would not have
arisen if the Parishes had carried out their contract obliga-
tions. Of course, upon trial the federal government would
have to prove that the failure of the Parishes to carry out
these contract obligations caused the damages. But there
is absolutely nothing in the law of contracts, governmental
or otherwise, giving the Parishes any privileged position
with respect to liability for consequential damages for
breach of contract. If the government can establish the link
in causation, the Parishes are liable under the most elemen-
tary common-law principles. 5 Corbin, CONTRACTS §§
997, 998.

A-30

The fact that federal monies were not paid directly to
the Parishes but were paid through flood insurance claims
to the citizens of the Parish does not alter the nature of the
case. In Grove City College v. Bell, US. , 104
S.Ct. 1211, 1216, 79 L.Ed.2d 516 (1984), the Supreme Court
recognized that the College benefitted by a federal aid pro-
gram even though all funds were paid directly to the
students. The Court found that the College, therefore, was
subject to the conditions attached to the receipt by the
students of the federal financial assistance under the Civil
Rights Act. The Court specifically recognized that the
federal disbursements to the students benefitted the Col-
lege through relieving it of financial burdens which it would
otherwise have to bear in the absence of the federal
assistance. Precisely the same considerations are ap-
plicable where it was to the obvious benefit of the Parish to
obtain federal flood control insurance for its citizens. The
contract existed, and its legal consideration from the point
of view of the Parish was the interest of the Parish in ob-
taining for its citizens the subsidized federal flood control
program.

Finally, I stress that I am in full agreement with the
conclusion of the Court, in IV(c) of the opinion, that the
government is not entitled to specific performance to en-
force the contract in the future. The contract was without
duration. The sanction for continuing violation of the con-
tract by the Parishes was suspension from the program. 24
C.F.R. § 1909.24. The Parishes are not required by law to
continue in the program. They can drop out at any time.
See Guardians Ass'n v. Civil Service Comm. of the City of
New York, US. , 103 S.Ct. 3221, 3229, 77
L.Ed.2d 866 (1983). Thus there is no legal right to force
them through a specific performance decree to continue to

A-31

abide by the contract. This conclusion, however, does not
in any way affect the liability of the Parishes for damages
to the United States Government while the contract has
been in effect. The federal government is entitled to under-
take to prove its case with respect to those damages. The
district court erred in granting a partial summary judg-
ment against such federal claims. I must dissent because
this Court affirms the partial summary judgment which
was erroneously granted on this issue.

A-32
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 83-3557 & 83-3760

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellants,
versus
THE PARISH OF ST. BERNARD, ET AL.,
Defendants-Appellees.

* * * * * * ca * * * * * *

No. 84-3082

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus
THE PARISH OF JEFFERSON, ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellants.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND SUGGESTION
FOR REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion 4/8/85, 5 Cir. 198__, F.2d )
(June 10, 1985)
Before BROWN, WILLIAMS and GARWOOD, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM: of Defendants-Appellees Parish of Jeffer-
son, et al.

ey

A-33

(Appendix B continued)

(.~) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no member
of this panel nor Judge in regular active service on the
Court having requested that the Court be polled on rehear-
ing en banc, (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and
Local Rule 35) the Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is
DENIED.

( ) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and the Court
having been polled at the request of one of the members of
the Court and a majority of the Circuit Judges who are in
regular active service not having voted in favor of it,
(Federal Rules of Appellate Precedure and Local Rule 35)
the Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is also DENIED.

( ) A member of the Court in active service having re-
quested a poll on the reconsideration of this cause en banc,
and a majority of the judges in active service not having
voted in favor of it, rehearing en banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

United States Circuit Judge

A-34

APPENDIX C
U.S.A. CIVIL ACTION
VS. NO. 81-1808
PARISH OF ST. BERNARD, SECTION “H”’
ET AL. ‘consolidated with
U.S.A. CIVIL ACTION NO.
VS. 81-1810

PARISH OF JEFFERSON, ET AL
ORDER AND REASONS

Plaintiff, United States of America, filed two similar
civil actions against various defendants. In Civil Action
81-1808 the defendants are the Parish of St. Bernard, the
Police Jury of the Parish of St. Bernard, the Lake Borgne
Basin Levee District, the State of Louisiania, and various
home builders and surveyors. In Civil Action 81-1810, the
defendants are the Parish of Jefferson and its insurer,
Fireman’s Fund Insurance Co., Jefferson Parish Council,
(Fireman’s Fund also insures the Council), the Lafourche
Basin, Pontchartrain, Jefferson and West Jefferson Levee
Districts, and various homebuilders, surveyors, and a
design engineer. Travelers Inusrance Co. is also joined as
a defendant in the Jefferson Parish suit, as insurer of one
of the builders, Regent Development Corp. The two suits
have been consolidated.

Jurisdiction over suits commenced by the United
States is conferred by 28 U.S.C. 1345.

The complaints allege that the two Louisiana
parishes and their respective governing bodies chose to
participate in the National Flood Insurance Program, pur-

A-35

suant to the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, 42
U.S.C. §4001 et seg. Thousands of residents in each parish
thus became eligible for and purchased federally subsidized
flood insurance coverage. On May 3, 1978, and again on
April 12 and 13, 1980, and on other prior occasions covered
by the flood insurance program, substantial flooding oc-
cured which caused damages to insured property in both
parishes. The United States, -laiming that it paid more
than $17,000,000 in St. Bernard Parish and more than
$76,000,000 in Jefferson Parish in flood claims and ad-
justers’ fees, seeks a variety of relief, including damages,
specific performance, and injunctive relief.

. The United States seeks to recover from the various
defendants upon an array of legal theories:

(a) the parishes and their governing bodies, .by
electing to enter the National Flood In-
surance Program, contracted to adopt and
enforce land use and control measures con-
sistent with the requirements of the National
Flood Insurance Program and failed to do so,
thus breaching the contracts;

(b) by certain willful and negligent acts and
omissions, all defendants are liable in tort for
the resulting flood damage; and

(c) the activities of defendants have caused
recurrent flooding, constituting a public
nuisance under federal common law, which
plaintiff seeks to abate.

The National Flood Insurance Program was initiated

A-36

with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of
1968, which made available federally subsidized flood in-
surance to those communities willing to participate in the
program. Legislation in 1973 provided increased incentives
to participate in the flood insurance program, including
denial of federal financial assistance in flood-prone areas
which did not participate in the flood insurance program
and, in participating communities, denial of federally-
related financing of construction or acquisition of property
not covered by flood insurance. 42 U.S.C. §4106(a)(b).

The findings and declaration of purpose of the Na-
tional Flood Insurance Act reveal several areas of Congres-
sional concern: to relieve the personal hardships and
economic distress caused by flooding without increasing
the burden of disaster relief programs, to share the risk of
flood losses, to foster a unified national program for flood
plain management, to guide future development away from
fleod prone areas, and to encourage continuing studies of
flood hazards. 42 U.S.C. §4001, 4002.

The Act provides for jurisdiction in the United
States district courts of any action to contest the denial of
a claim for flood insurance benefits. 42 U.S.C. §4072. The
Act also provides that, as a condition for eligibility for
government-supported flood insurance, communities shall
adopt sound land use policies designed to minimize flood
damage. 42 U.S.C. §4072. The Act also provides that, as a
condition for eligibility for government-supported flood in-
surance, communities shall adopt sound land use policies
designed to minimize flood damage. 42 U.S.C. §4022, 4102.
Regulations provide in detail the land use measures to be
adopted. Failure to ‘adopt such measures may result in
suspension of the community from the flood insurance pro-

ia A ai A ANN SONA Ait an.

A-37

gram. 44 C.F.R. 59.24. The result of such suspension would
be inability of property owners in those parishes to obtain
flood insurance or to obtain financing from institutions
regulated by or controlled by the federal government.
Neither St. Bernard nor Jefferson Parish has been suspend-
ed from eligibility in the program.

The cases were referred to a magistrate (28 U.S.C.
636(b)) for consideration of various motions to dismiss or
for summary judgment. The magistrate filed a ‘Finding
and Recommendation’’, to which various objections were
filed, with supporting memoranda. The court heard oral
argument thereon, and for the oral reasons announced in
open court, supplemented by these written reasons, the
floowing order was entered:

The Motions to Dismiss or for Summary Judgment
filed on behalf of various defendants, seeking to dismiss the
contract claim were granted insofar as the complaint seeks
specific performance.

The motions of various defendants to dismiss or for
summary judgment insofar as the complaint seeks
recovery in tort were denied.

The motions of various defendants to dismiss or for
summary judgment insofar as the complaint seeks to abate
a ‘‘public nusiance’’were granted. !

1 Three other motions were decided but are not dealt with herein:
the oral reasons being complete: the motion to dismiss insofar as a third
party claim is sought to be asserted against the Corps of Engineers, the
motion of Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. to dismiss or for summary judgment,
and the motion of defendant Krebs for summary judgment.

A-38
BREACH OF CONTRACT

The United States seeks damages and specific perfor-
mance under a breach of contract theory from Jefferson
Parish, St. Bernard Parish and their respective governing
bodies. It is undisputed that there is no written contract
between the parties by virtue of the parishes’ participation
in the NFIP and, if so, whether the government has a
remedy for its breach.

The United States relies upon a number of
documents in support of its contract claim in its opposition
to the motions for summary judgment. Under the National
Flood Insurance Act, the adoption of adequate land use
and control measures by local governments is a condition
precedent to entry into the flood insurance program, 42
U.S.C. 4022. The governing body of each defendant parish
passed a resolution indicating its intent to participate in
the NFIP. Thereafter, the parishes were told that various
land use and control measures were required by regulations
promulgated under the Act. The parish governing bedies in
turn adopted ordinances to comply with the regulations.
Passage of these resolutions and ordinances, together with
the government’s subsidization of the flood insurance pro-
gram, is sufficient evidence to conlcude that an implied
contract exists between the parties and that the parishes
were aware of and understood their obligations under the
contract.

Also at issue is what remedies are available for
breach of contract by the parishes. We emphasize that our
analysis is based on a cause of action sounding in contract
and not a cause of action arising under the National Flood

A-39

Insurance Act. For this reason a Cort v. Ash” analysis is
inapplicable. Moreover, we construe Cort v. Ash as ap-
plicable only to a determination of whether private parties
(not the United States) have an implied right of action
under a statute.

It has frequently been held that the United States
may employ common law remedies to enforce conditions at-
tached to the dispersal of federal benefits. See Penhurst
State School and Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1 (1981),
United States v. San Francisco, 310 U.S. 16 (1940), and par-
ticularly the following from United States v. Marion Coun-
ty School District, 625 F.2d 607, 609 (5th Cir. 1980):

It is settled law that the United States
has authority to fix the terms and conditions
upon which its money allotments to state
and other governmental entities should be
disbursed. Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 569, 94
S.Ct. 786, 789, 39 L.Ed.2d 1 (1974); King v.
Smith, 392 U.S. 309, 333, 88 S.Ct. 2128,
2141, 20 L.Ed2d 118 (1968); Ivanhoe Irriga-
tion District v. McCracken, 257 U.S. 275,
295, 78 S.Ct. 1174, 1185, 2 L.Ed.2d 1313
(1958); Oklahoma v. Civil Service Commis-
sion, 230 U.S. 127, 143, 67 S.Ct. 544, 553, 91
L.Ed. 794 (1947). As the Supreme Court has
long recognized, the United States may at-
tach conditions to a grant of federal
assistance, the recipient of the grant is
obligated to perform the conditions, and the
United States has an inherent right to sue
for enforcement of the recipient’s obligation
in court. E.g., Rex Trailer Co. v. United
States, 350 U.S. 148, 151, 76 S.Ct. 219, 221,

2 422 U.S. 66 (1975)

A-40

100 L.Ed 149 (1956); United States v. San
Francisco, 210 U.S. 16, 31, 60 S.Ct. 749, 757,
94 L.Ed. 1050 (1940); Cotton v. United
States, 52 U.S. (11 How.) 229, 231, 13 L.Ed.
375 (1850); Dugan v. United States, 16 U.S.
(8 Wheat.) 172, 181, 4 L.Ed. 362 (1818).

Congress can of course nullify the government’s
right to sue to enforce a contract under the federal common
law, but, ‘‘as the Supreme Court has repeatedly emphasiz-
ed, courts are entitled to conclude that Congress has done
so only if the evidence of Congress’ intent is extremely,
even unmistakably, clear. Id at 611.

However, if the United States imposes a conditicn
upon federal funds, it must do so unambiguously. Penhurst
State School and Hospital v. Halderman, supra. Here the
documents show that the conditions imposed on the
parishes were unambiguous, and the parishes did not com-
municate to the government a lack of understanding of
their obligations under the Act.

The United States seeks to enforce the conditions of
the NFIP through both specific performance and reim-
bursement of the funds expended to satisfy flood insurance
claims made under policies issued to residents of Jefferson
and St. Bernard Parish. These two remedies are distinct
and are discussed separately.

No case has been called to our attention wherein the
United States was granted the right of reimbursement as
a remedy for breach of contract. The defendant parishes
were not the direct recipients of federal funds; the govern-
ment seeks reimbursement from the parishes for funds paid

2h th ania OV

A-41

to individual residents of the parishes, as damages for
breach of contract. We conclude that it was not Congress’
intent to permit reimbursement from the parishes under
such circumstances. Neither Congress nor the parish
governing bodies foresaw that there would be such an ex-
treme remedy for either a negligent or intentional breach of
the contract. Certainly had they foreseen that they might
be liable for flood losses and expenses related thereto, the
parishes would never have decided to participate in the pro-
gram. The lack of foreseeability is supported by the
documents submitted by the United States, which evidence
no indication that the government would seek to enforce
compliance with the NFIP regulations by means of reim-
bursement of monies expended to satisfy flood insurance
claims. For these reasons, the government’s damage claims
for reimbursement for funds expended on flood insurance
claims based on breach of contract are dismissed. .

However, we conclude that the United States has
stated a cause of action for specific performance against
the parishes and their governing bodies. The government's
right to seek specific performance to enforce contractual
obligations has been consistently recognized. Unlike the in-
stant case, in which the citizens of the parishes received the
benefit of the NFIP, United States v. San Francisco, supra
and United States v. Marion County School District, both
involved specific performance against local agencies which
were the direct recipients of federal benefits of obligations
attached to their receipt. That distinction, however, is not
significant. We conclude that Congress did not intend that
the government should be powerless to compel the parishes
and their governing bodies to perform obligations clearly
undertaken by them as a condition precedent to the issuing
of flood insurance policies to the citizens of the parishes.

A-42

We do not at this time decide what form the remedy
of specific performance may take. Such relief, however, is
not precluded by the Tenth Amendment. The parish gover-
ning bodies voluntarily decided to participate in this pro-
gram, albeit that the United States used certain financial
incentives to make the program more attractive to local
communities. When local governing bodies voluntarily
commit themselves to participation in a federal program,
they cannot urge that the Tenth Amendment prohibits the
United States from compelling them to satisfy their obliga-
tions under the contract. See Texas Landowners Rights
Association v. Harris, 453 F.Supp. 1025 (D.D.C. 1978). We
conclude that the plaintiff has stated a cause of act’»n for
specific performance of the contracts between it and the
two parishes.

TORT CLAIM

The second claim urged by the government is premis-
ed on the theory that it has a right of subrogation, either
by operation of law or conventionally, to any claim which
an insured homeowner may have had against the various
defendants with respect to the flood damages sustained by
the homeowner. The insurance policies all contained the
following subrogation clause:

“In the event of any payment under this
policy, the Insurer shall be subrogated to all
the Insured’s rights of recovery therefor
against any party, and the Insurer may re-
quire from the Insured an assignment of all
rights of recovery against any party for loss
to the extent that payment therefor is made
by the Insurer.’ 44 CPR §61.13, App. (A)(1),
General Conditions, ‘‘T’’; App. A(2), General
Conditions, ‘‘U.”

A-43

It is well settled under Louisiana law that a
homeowner may assert a cause of action against any party,
public or private, allegedly responsible for damage due to
flooding. See, e.g., Eschete v. City of New Orleans, 258 La.
134, 245 So.2d 383 (La. 1971); North Forest Homeowners’
Assoc. v. Homecraft Corp., 407 So.2d 450 (La. App. ist Cir.
1981); McCloud v. Parish of Jefferson, 383 So.2d 477 (La.
App. 4th Cir. 1980). See also Stewart v. Schmeider, 386
So.2d 1351 (La. 1980); Mobley v. Rego, 412 So.2d 1143 (La.
App. 2d Cir. 1982). Additionally, there is no question that
a determination as to whether the United States is
subrogated to that right of the homeowner is an issue con-
trolled by federal law, because, as the Fifth Circuit held in
West v. Harris, 573 F.2d 878 (5th Cir. 1978), federal com-
mon law, in the absence of a Congressional statute, must
govern all rights and obligations under NFIP policies.
Subrogation is unquestionably one of those rights and
obligations.

With regard to the tort claim, the sole issues in
dispute are: (A) is there a federal common law right to
subrogation?; (B) if so, has that right been preempted by
the NFIP?; and (C) are any tort claims prescribed?

Defendants’ assertions notwithstanding, the right of
subrogation is well established in federal jurisprudence.
See Continental Casualty Co. v. Canadian Ins. Co., 605
F.2d 1340 (5th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 929 (1980);
United States v. Bender Welding & Machine Co., 558 F.2d
761 (5th Cir. 1977); Department of Revenue of the State of
New Mexico v. United States, 408 F.2d 574 (10th Cir.
1969). Defendants rely upon United States v. Standard Oil
Co., 332 U.S. 301 (1947), in which the Supreme Court held
that in the absence of legislation providing a right of

A-44

recovery, the government could not recover from a tort-
feasor the amounts expended for an injured soldier’s
hospitalization and for his compensation during disabiliy.
But in Bender, supra, at 765, the Fifth Circuit clearly ex-
plained that Standard Oil was not controlling precedent on
issues dealing with subrogation: “United States v. Stan-
dard Oil of California, 322 U.S. 301, 67 S.Ct. 1604, 81 L.Ed.
2067 (1947), was not a subrogation case, and reliance on the
denial of recovery to the Government in that case is
misplaced.”

Having determined that there is a generally recogniz-
ed common law right to subrogation, we also conclude that
the NFIP has not preempted the application of those
federal common law principles. The Supreme Court in City
of Milwaukee v. Illinois and Michigan, 451 U.S. 304 (1981),
stated that the key to this decision ‘“‘[is] whether the
legislative scheme ‘[speaks] directly to the question’...not
whether Congress [has] affirmatively proscribed the use of
federal common law.”’ In the NFIP, Congress has not affir-
matively proscribed the use of federal common law for
issues concerning subrogation; neither has it spoken direct-
ly to the question. In fact, far from preempting the prin-
ciples of subrogation, specific provisions of the NFIP ap-
pear to support its applicability. In particular, 42 U.S.C.

§4013 provides that the Secretary of Housing of Urban
Development? “‘shall...provide by regulation for general
terms and conditions of insurability which shall be ap-
plicable to properties eligible for flood insurance coverage.”

3 All duties imposed by this section on the Secretary of Housing
and Urban Development have been transferred to the Director of the
Federal Emergency Management Agency by § 202 of Reorganization
Plan No. 3 of 1978, set out in Appendix II of Title 5 of the United States
Code.

A-45

Following the mandate of this section, the Secretary placed
the subrogation clause quoted above in the ‘Standard
Flood Insurance Policy’’ forms, which clause is simply one
of those terms or conditions of insurability. See 44 C.F.R.
§61.13, App. A(1), General Conditions, ““T’’; App. A(2),
General Conditions, ‘‘U’’. Also, several sections of the
NFIP, including 42 U.S.C. §§ 4011, 4017, 4046 and 4051-6,
show that Congress contemplated that the Secretary would
encourage and arrange for the involvement of private in-
surers; it is undisputable that subrogation clauses are a
common part of insurance policies issues by private
insurers.

Defendants’ position that preemption has occurred is
based on Till v. Unifirst S. & L. Assn., 653 F.2d 152 (5th
Cir. 1981). The Till court held that the NFIP did not imply
a right of action for monetary damages on behalf of a pro-
perty owner-borrower against a federally insured savings
and loan association which allegedly failed to follow certain
guidelines under the Act. The court reasoned that, since
the ‘“‘Cort v. Ash test’’ for implied rights of action was
becoming increasingly stringent and since may ad-
ministrative remedies were set up to handle ‘‘wayward”’
savings and loans, administrative remedies should be
exclusive:

Once again we are asked to find from
the language and history of a federal statute,
an implied cause of action not explicitly pro-
vided for by Congress. The standards which
such a cause of action must meet before it
may be implied have become increasingly
more stringent.

A-46

In this case, the Federal Home Loan
Bank Board (FHLBB) has the authority to
issue cease and desist orders against ap-
pellees’ officers, to terminate unsafe or un-
sound practices, to impose administrative
remedies, including monetary penalties, and
to require affirmative action to prevent or
correct violations. Existence of this ad-
ministrative scheme of enforcement is strong
evidence that Congress intended the ad-
ministrative remedy to be exclusive.

Id. at 157 and 160.

The Till decision is notable only in that it is one of the
few cases discussing substantive rights under the NFIP; in
no way does it deal with the present issue. Till did not in-
volve subrogation. More importantly, the issue in Till was
whether a right of action should be implied from a statute
when that right did not otherwise exist. In the instant
situation, the Cort v. Ash analysis is not relevant, since the
question is not whether a right of subrogation can be im-
plied form the statute, but rather, whether the statute
preempts the well established common law principle of
subrogation. Retaining a right of action under the City of
Milwaukee test, used in this case is far less stringent than
establishing a right of action under Cort v. Ash, used in
Till.

Another issue related to the tort claim is the conten-
tion by several defendants that the government’s claim has
prescribed. We adopt the magistrate’s handling of that
issue:

[T]he United States asserts that if it

was assigned a claim before the state statute
of limitations expired, then the United

a

A-47

States was thereafter subject to the federal
statute of limitations for negligence actions,
which is three years. 28 U.S.C. §2415(b). The
United States claims that if it paid a claim
within one year of the date flooding occurred,
it then became subject to the three year
federal statute of limitations for negligence
actions and that this action was timely filed.

It is well settled that asignment to the
United States will not revive a claim which
has already been barred by a state statute.
Guaranty Trust Co. v. United States, 304
U.S. 126, 141-142; 58 S.Ct. 758, 793; 82
L.Ed.2d 1224 (1938). However, in the case of
an assignment before the state statute of
limitations has run, the case will not be bar-
red until the federal statute has run. United
States v. Summerlin, 310 U.S. 414, 60 S.Ct.
1019; 84 L.Ed. 1283 (1940); United States v.
Nashville Chattanooga, St. Louis Ry Co., 118
U.S. 120, 125; 6 S.Ct. 1006, 1008; 30 L.Ed. 81
(1886). Therefore, the Court must consider
whether the claims assigned to the United
States were barred by a state statute before
their assignment and, if not, whether the
federal statute had run before this action
was filed.

The applicable state limitations period
for flood damages is one year. Young v. In-
ternational Paper Company, 155 So. 231, 179
La. 803 (La. 1934). Assignment of the claims
for flood damage occurred at the time the
United States paid the claims of its insureds.
State Farm Fire and Casualty Co. v. Sentry
Indemnity, 346 So.2d 1331 (3rd Cir. La. App.
1977). Because the floods out of which the
claims of the United States arose occurred at

A-48
various times and flood damage claims were
paid at various times, it is impossible to
determine on the present record whether all
the United States claims are prescribed.

However, it can be determined that all
claim derived from flooding which occurred
more than four years prior to the filing of the
compalaint are prescribed, since the relevant
state statute of limitations, one year, as well
as the relevant federal limitations period,
three years, would have expired. This action
was filed May 1, 1981.

Therefore, any tort claim derived from flooding
which occurred prior to May 1, 1977, is prescribed. Certain
other claims may be prescribed, but this can be determined
only after further facts are developed, and not at this stage
of the case.

PUBLIC NUISANCE CL4'™

We dismiss the final claim upon which the govern-
ment seeks relief, based upon its allegation that all defen-
dants have caused recurrent flooding, constituting a public
nuisance under federal common law. We do so upon the fun-
damental ground that the United States lacks ‘‘standing”’
to abate the alleged nuisance, conceding arguendo that
under federal common law or state law the aggrieved pro-
perty owners or the state could abate the nuisance.

An inquiry concerning a plaintiff's standing to sue
centers around the question of ‘‘whether the litigant is en-
titled to have the court decide the merits of the dispute or
of particular issues.” Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 498
(1975). When the United States “‘stands’’ as the party-

A-49

plaintiff, a federal court will consider the merits of the ac-
tion if the government has a sufficient interest at stake.
See United States v. New Orleans Pac. Ry. Co., 248 U.S.
507 (1919); United States v. Waller, 243 U.S. 452 (1917).
The types of interest which have been held sufficient by the
Supreme Court were recently discussed by the First
Circuit:

We recognize that the United States
may sometimes sue without statutory
authority or a pecuniary interest, see SEC v.
United States Realty & Improvement Co.,

310 U.S. 434, 60 S.Ct. 1044, 84 L.Ed. 1293
(1940); United States v. New Orleans Pac.
Ry., 248 U.S. 507, 518, 39 S.Ct. 175, 63 L.Ed.
888 (1919); In re Debs, 158 U.S. 564, 586, 15
S.Ct. 900, 39 L.Ed. 1092 (1895). But in this
case there is no national issue of great mo-
ment or urgency, no fraud on the United
States, and no fiduciary duty owed to an in-
dividual such as would justify suit simply
under the aegis of constitutional grant and
congressional exercise of power.
Ruotolo v. Ruotolo, 572 F.2d 336, 339 (1st Cir. 1978). See
also Comment, “Protecting the Public Interest:
Nonstatutory Suits by the United States’, 89 Yale L.J.
118 (1978).

Although the precise issue of the United States’
standing to bring suit to abate a public nuisance causing
intra-state flooding has not been litigated, several courts
have discussed a somewhat analogous situation in the con-
text of a nuisance action for pollution control. See United
States ex rel. Scott v. United States Steel Corp., 356
F.Supp. 556 (N.S. Ill. 1973); United States v. Ira S. Bushey
& Sons, Inc., 346 F.Supp. 145 (D. Vt. 1972); United States
v. Lindsay, 357 F.Supp. 784 (E.D.N.Y. 1973). A thorough

A-50

discussion of the issue is contained in the United States
Steel decision:

Apparently the United States
Supreme Court has never explicitly held that
the government of the United States has
standing to abate a common law nuisance on
behalf of its residents. However, in New
York v. State of New Jersey, et al., 256 U.S.
296, 41 S.Ct. 492, 65 L.Ed. 937 (1921) the
Supreme Court stated that the Federal
government had the undoubted right to in-
tervene to protect the navigable waters from
pollution (256 U.S. at p. 308, 41 S.Ct. 492).
See also Wyandotte Transportation Co. v.
United States, 389 U.S. 191, 88 S.Ct. 379, 19
L.Ed.2d 407 (1967). The Federal government
clearly has a proprietary interest in the
navigable waters of Lake Michigan which is
bounded by four states. It also has an in-
terest in establishing a “uniform rule of deci-
sion”’ by enforcing a Federal common law.
Cf. State of Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, et
al., 406 U.S. at p. 105 n. 6, 92 S.Ct. 1385.
Hence, since the Federal government could
intervene in this litigation, we find and con-
clude that it has a sufficient independent in-
terest to file it. Acc, United States of
America v. Ira S. Bushey & Sons, Inc., et al.,
346 F.Supp. 145 (D.Vt.1972); United States
of America v. Reserve Mining Co., et al.
(D.Minn. Nov. 30, 1972).

356 F.Supp. at 558.

Unquestionably, that court’s decision hinged on the fact
that the pollution involved a navigable body of water
bounded by several states. Other public nuisance ‘‘pollu-
tion’’ cases, while not specifically mentioning standing,

A-51

have also stressed this interstate connexity requirement in
finding that the United States could not assert a cause of
action of public nuisance when only intrastate effects were
alleged in the pleadings.4 See, e.g., Reserve Min. Co. v.
EPA, 514 F.2d 492 (8th Cir. 1975). As the Eighth Circuit
stated in Reserve Min. Co.:

We reject the federal common law of
nuisance as a basis for relief. As forumulated
in Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91,
92 S.Ct. 1385, 31 L.Ed.2d 712 (1972), and
Texas v. Pankey, 441 F.2d 236 (10th Cir.
1971), federal nuisance law contemplates, at
a minimum, interstate pollution of air or
water. The United States, while invoking
this doctrine, alleges only that Reserve’s
discharge ‘‘significantly endangers the
health of all those persons living in the vicini-
ty of the defendant’s taconite ore processing
operations.”’

Id. at 520-1.

We conclude that in the present case, the United
States does not have standing to assert a public nuisance
claim, since no national interest is at stake. The flooding at
issue occurred totally within the borders of Louisiana. Not-
withstanding that the flooding could indirectly affect tax-
payers throughout the United States, because the govern-
ment must pay NF iP insureds, no direct interstate interest
is implicated.

The government relies for ‘“‘standing’’ on United

4 Several courts have held that the pollution need not be literally
interstate if pollution has occurred is navigable waterways. See, e.g.,
United States v. Solvents Recovery Serv.. Etc., 496 F.Supp. 1127 (D.
Conn. 1980); United States v. Ira S. Bushey, supra.

A-52

States v. Ray, 423 F.2d 16 (5th Cir. 1970), in which the
United States brought an action to enjoin private construc-
tion atop coral reefs on the outer continental shelf. The
private developers were plainning to creat independent
‘nations’ on the reefs, claiming that the reefs were subject
to colonization by them since they had discovered the reefs.
Not surprisingly, the Fifth Circuit determined that the
United States had the ‘‘exclusive right for purposes of ex-
ploration and exploitation of the reefs’ since the reefs
belonged to the public as a whole, id. at 22; and the govern-
ment had an “important interest to protect in preventing
the establishment of a new sovereign nation within four
and one-half miles of the Florida Coast,” id. at 23.f

The facts in Ray, quite unlike those in the instant
case, present one of the strongest situations imaginable for
standing by the United States. In Ray, because the object
of the threatened harm was a “‘public thing’’ beyond state
territorial waters and controlled by the United States
government for the good of all citizens, the United States
was the proper party to prevent exploitation of the reefs by
private developers. This case, by contrast, involves a pure-
ly local matter, an action for which could be brought
against the alleged tortfeasors by any threatened private
citizen and/or state or local governmental entity; the con-
tinual flooding endangers ‘cds under specific, private
ownership.

Although we conclude that the government lacks
standing, we nevertheless discuss the related and intert-
wined issue of whether under federal common law there ex-
ists a right to abate the type of public nuisance alleged in
the complaint.

A-53

The United States Supreme Court has recently
outlined three situations in which federal common law
exists:

Rather, absent some congressional
authorization to forumulate substantive
rules of decision, federal common law exists
only in such narrow areas as those concerned
with the rights and obligations of the United
States, interstate and international disputes
implicating the conflicting rights of States
or our relations with foreign nations, and ad-
miralty cases. In these instances, our federal
system doesn not permit the controversy to
be resolved under state law, either because
the authority and duties of the United States
as sovereign are intimately involved or
because the interstate or international
nature of the controversy makes it inap-
propriate for state law to control.

Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, 451 U.S. 630,
641 (1981).

Obviously, there is no contention here that this is an ad-
miralty case, but the government does attempt to justify
the application of federal common law under both the “‘in-
terstate’’ and the “rights and obligations of the United
States” areas.

It is difficult to follow the argument that the instant
case involves an ‘‘interstate’’ dispute ‘‘implicating the con-
flicting rights of the States.”’ Jd. All of the alleged wrongful
acts, and the consequences resulting therefrom, occurred
within the borders of Louisiana. The government asserts
that the economic effects of the flooding are interstate in
nature, because taxpayers throughout the country may be

A-54

required to subsidize losses in the NFIP. According to the
government's analysis, federal common law would apply to
any circumstance in which the United States has a
substantial monetary interest.

Such an expansive interpretation of federal common
law clearly conflicts directly with the Supreme Court’s
teaching that the instances of federal common law must be
“few and restricted.’’ Wheeldin v. Wheeler, 373 U.S. 647,
651 (1963). Examples of the types of ‘‘interstate disputes”
appropriate for federal common law are interstate pollu-
tion, Illinois v. Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972), and in-
terstate water or boundary disputes, Hinderlider uv.
LaPlata River & Cherry Ditch Co., 304 U.S. 92 (1938). Cer-
tainly, this case is not in the same category.

The government also contends that federal common
law is justified on the basis of the ‘‘narrow [area]...concern-
ed with the rights and obligations of the United States.”’
Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, supra. Two of
the leading cases establishing such common law are Clear-
field Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S. 363 (1943) (rights
and duties of United States on commercial paper it issues
pursuant to federal law), and United States v. Little Lake
Misere Land Co., 412 U.S. 580 (1973) (because land acquisi-
tion was one arising from and bearing heavily upon federal
regulatory program, federal law would govern). Both of
these cases involved the rights and obligations of the
United States in proprietary transactions in which unifor-
mity was a necessity. While this category of federal com-
mon law is not limited to proprietary transactions to which
the United States government is a party, there must at
least be a strong federal interest coupled with the need for
uniformity. See, e.g. Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln

A-55
Mills of Ala., 353 U.S. 448 (1957).

The government points to two cases which, relying
on the Clearfield analysis, have determined that federal
common law governs disputes concerning coverage of
NFIP policies. See West v. Harris, 573 F.2d 873 (5th Cir.
1978); Beverly v. Macy, 702 F.2d 931 (11th Cir. 1983). The
West court held:

poe tee

In sum, federal law controls disputes over
the coverage of insurance policies issued pur-
suant to the National Flood Insurance Act of
i 1968 regardless of whether the district court
exercises jurisdiction under 42 U.S.C.A. §
4053 or under 28 U.S.C.A. § 1332. Congress
has undertaken to establish a comprehensive
flood insurance program under the control of
; the Department of HUD to achieve policies
national in scope, and the interest in unifor-
mity of decisions compels the application of
federal law. As a result, a prevailing plaintiff
is not entitled to recover the penalty and at-
torney’s fees provided by Louisiana.
Nothing in the decisional law of this circuit
or in the provisions of the insurance policy
| points to a contrary conclusion.

| 573 F.2d at 881-2.

tee ete

~ $B cP NAEO AR 2 ve

The instant situation does not fit into the ‘‘narrow”’
Clearfield area. There is simply no strong federal interest in
isolated flooding. The government is correct that interstate
ramifications are not a prerequisite for application of Clear-
field common law, but such a factor is a consideration go-
ing to the degree of interest. As the Clearfield Court itself
noted:

The issuance of commericial paper by

A-56

the United States is on a vast scale and tran-
sactions in that paper from issuance to pay-
ment will commonly occur in several states.
The application of state law, even without
the conflict of laws rules of the forum, would
subject the rights and duties of the United
States to exceptional uncertainty. It would
lead to great diversity in results by making
identical transactions subject to the vagaries
of the laws of the several states. The
desirability of a uniform rule is plain.
318 U.S. at 367.

In Clearfield, the Court realized that thousands of transac-
tions would occur daily, often involving more than one
state in the same transaction.

More importantly, the federal common law of
nuisance which the government attempts to assert in this
case is not closely related to the purported statutory in-
terest, as was the situation in Clearfield and its progeny. In
those cases, uniformity was required because they involved
issues ‘“‘bearing heavily upon a federal...program.’’ United
States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co., supra, at 592. For
example, in West v. Harris, supra, the Fifth Circuit deter-
mined that Congress, through the NFIP, had established a
“comprehensive flood insurance program...to achieve
policies national in scope’’; thus, all issues concerning
rights and obligations pursuant to an NFIP policy should
be determined by a uniform body of law. We decline to app-
ly that to the present case, involving only local flooding.

Finally, the Clearfield cases are distinguishable in
that, in those cases, if the federal common law sought to be
asserted was not accepted as the applicable law, then the

A-57

United States had no other method by which to insure that
its interests were protected. In this case, the United States
is able to force compliance with the NFIP by injunctive
relief and, in the event flooding has occurred due to the
negligence of contractors or municipalities, by a suit in tort
through subrogation to the homeowners’ rights. ©

A finding in this case that the federal common law of
nuisance not be applied is compatible with the principle
that federal common law is to be invoked “‘restrictively’’.
City of Milwaukee v. Illinois and Michigan, supra, at 313.

This result also draws support from those cases
discussing federal common law with regard to pollution. As
stated previously, several courts have determined that the
nuisance action for pollution could only be asserted if in-
terstate effects were alleged. See, e.g., Reserve Min. Co. v.
Epa, supra; Committee for Jones Falls Sewage System v.
Train, 539 F.2d 1006 (4th Cir. 1976).

July 8, 1983

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0647%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
