# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Balair, Ltd. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0518%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 902

## Text

Office Supreme Court, us. |

85-163.) FILED

Ne. JUL 29 1985
CLERK
IN THE |

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1985

Bauatr, Lrv., et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ef al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

LAURENCE A. SHORT
Amy LOESERMAN KLEIN*
Dae C. ANDREWS

Snort, Kiew & Karas, P.C.
Suite 303

1101 Thirtieth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20007
(202) 342-3000

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Where it has been held that the United States vio-
lated an international treaty, and where other nations
bound by the same international obligations interpret
them to create private causes of action when violations
occur, was it error to dismiss a private suit against
the United States on the grounds that sovereign im-
munity bars such a suit unless explicitly waived by

treaty language?

il
LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners in this case are:

Balair, Ltd.

Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft

Iberia, Linea Aereas de Espana

Koninklijke Luchtvaart Maatschappij
N.V. (KLM Royal Dutch Airlines)

Scandinavia Airlines System

Swissair, Swiss Air Transport
Company, Ltd., and

Union de Transport Aeriens

No parents, subsidiaries or affiliate companies of any
petitioner are publicly traded in the United States
or are otherwise owned in any measure by United
States citizens.

Respondents in this case are:

The United States of America
Donald D. Engen

Administrator

Federal Aviation Administration

Additional parties

The following parties were plaintiffs in the district
court, appellants in the court of appeals, but have not
joined in the petition for certiorari:

Finnair O.Y.

Linee Aeree Italiane (Alitalia)

Societe Anonyme Belge D’Exploitation
de la Navigation Aerienne (SABENA)

iii

The following governments appeared as amici curiae
in support of petitioners before the court of appeals:

The Government of Belgium

The Federal Republic of Germany
The Government of Spain

The Government of Switzerland

The following governments filed notes verbale in
support of petitioners with the U.S. Department of
State which were incorporated as appendices in the
above-referenced amici curiae brief:

The Government of France
The Government of The Netherlands
The Government of Italy

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I FUMIO: sb ccakakuacneddcdeancancaakess i
I oc ve ectbu 05s san eoekekcasehanwes il
EO BE on ck 0c teen ne casdunddacasecss Vv
SED cu. cada cwhbeneccehese eeeacumeeenn 2
EE Wick Subaxhaas Keke ee Vas end eaeeceuetenes 2

Statutory PRovIsIoNS AND REGULATORY ORDERSINVOLVED 2
rawenamee em Wee GA cn kc vn cnc cocceccavacceucas 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............... 5

I. The Case Presents Important International Comity
Issues Which Should Be Decided By This Court. 6

II. The Issue of Whether Cort v. A:w Applies to Alle-
gations Concerning Waivers of Sovereign In-

munity Should Be Decided By This Court ...... 8
NIE c's heKndcsndx Renee ecenouieas pane eer ee 11
IE hk Sa dn idui ns 6ekw5ndbussieeeeeaane rans la

ee eacdenkh hs cau eee 3a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CasEs: Page
Bolt v. Hood, SBT Uae. GIS CUBGB) on ccc cnccccccesces 7
Bock v. Perkins, 139 U.S. 628 (1891) ............000. 7
British Caledonian Airways Ltd. v. Bond, and Balair
AG v. Bond, 665 F.2d 1153 (D.C. Cir. 1981) ..... 4,6
California v. Sierra Club, 451 U.S. 287 (1981) ........ 9
Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281 (1979) ........ 9
Cont ©. Mam, Ge Ute Ge CRC 5 os ks cccecccniccss 6, 8, 9
Kolovrat v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187 (1961) ............ 7
Patentas v. United States, 687 F.2d 707 (3d Cir. 1982). 6,9
Santovincenzo v. Egan, 284 U.S. 30 (1931) .......... 7
Wheeldin v. Wheeler, 373 U.S. 647 (1963) ........... 7
STATUTES:
ee a. OE VA a backend Dae eee 2,7
eS had vec decaususes ea terse canees me
TREATIES :

Article 33, Convention on International Civil Aviation
(The Chicago Convention), 61 Stat. 1180, 15 U.N.
ot Ee Sart SS eee yy ye 4

MISCELLANEOUS:

Federal Aviation Administration, Department of
Transportation, ‘‘Special Federal Aviation Regu-
lation No. 40; Operation of Model DC-10 Air-
planes in the United States Prohibited’? (SFAR-
40), June 6, 1979, 44 Fed. Reg. 33396 (1979) .... 2,3, 4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1985

No.

Baar, Lup., et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, e¢ al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Balair, Ltd., Deutsche Lufthansa Aktiengesellschaft,
Iberia, Linea Aereas de Espana, Koninklijke Lucht-
vaart Maatschappij N.V. (KLM Royal Dutch Air-
lines), Scandinavia Airlines System, Swissair, Swiss
Air Transport Company, Ltd., and Union de Trans-
ports Aeriens (hereafter, the foreign air carriers)
petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit in this case.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

Neither the Judgment of the court of appeals, set
forth in Appendix A, nor the Memorandum and Order
of the district court, set forth in Appendix B, is
reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on April 30, 1985. The jurisdiction of th. Court is
invoked under 28 U.s.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND
REGULATORY ORDERS INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 1331

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction
of all civil actions arising under the Constitution,
laws, or treaties of the United States.

28 U.S.C. § 1350

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction
of any civil action by an alien for a tort only,
committed in violation of the law of nations or
a treaty of the United States.

Federal Aviation Administration, Department of
Transportation, “Special Federal Aviation Regu-
lation No. 40; Operation of Model DC-10 Air-
planes in the United States Prohibited” (SFAR-
40), June 6, 1979, 44 Fed. Reg. 33396 (1979)

Section 1. Contrary provisions of Parts 91, 121
and 129 of the Federal Aviation Regulations not-
withstanding, no person may land or takeoff any
Model DC-10 airplane within the United States,
except as authorized under §2 or otherwise au-
thorized by the Administrator.

3

Section 2. This regulation does not apply to a
foreign registered Model DC-10 airplane which,
at the time this regulation takes effect, is en route
to a place in the United States or is at a place
within the United States. These airplanes may
depart from the airport at which they are located,
or at which they arrive, for a place outside the
United States, using the most direct, feasible
route, and without passengers or cargo on board.

This Special Federal Aviation Regulation is
effective until amended or terminated by the Ad-
ministrator.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 25, 1979 American Airlines flight 191, a
DC-10 series 10 aircraft, crashed shortly after takeoff
at Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. After
initial investigation the Administrator of the Federal
Aviation Administration (hereafter, the FAA), on
June 6, 1979 issued Special Federal Aviation Regu-
lation No. 40 (hereafter, SFAR-40). SFAR-40 pre-
eluded the takeoff and landing within the United States
of any DC-10 aircraft, regardless of series and re-
gardless of country of registry.

Almost simultaneously the countries of registry for
the foreign air carriers’ DC-10 aircraft issued their
own grounding orders. Unlike the FAA order, none
of the other grounding orders purported to ground
aircraft certificated by another sovereign nation. All
DC-10 airworthiness certificates were reinstated by the
governments of the foreign air carriers by June 21,
1979. SFAR-40 was not rescinded until July 13, 1979.

Shortly after SFAR-40 was issued two cases were
filed in the United States Court of Appeals for the

ci ae

4

District of Columbia Circuit challenging the legality
of the scope of the FAA’s grounding order. In British
Caledonian Airways Ltd. v. Bond, and Balair AG v.
Bond, 665 .F.2d 1153 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (hereafter,
Balair I), the court of appeals held that the FAA’s
issuance of SFAR-40 violated Article 33 of the Chi-
cago Convention,’ the relevant aviation bilateral agree-
ments, and section 1102 of the Federal Aviation Act
of 1958, as amended, 49 U.S.C. § 1502, insofar as it
purported to bar aircraft duly certificated by other
nations from U.S. airspace. 665 F.2d 1159-1168.

The foreign air carriers’ complaint in the instant
case seeks damages relating to the period after the
relevant European governments had reinstated all DC-
10 airworthiness certificates but before the United
States finally rescinded the unlawful SFAR-40 order.
Pursuant to Government motion, the district court
dismissed the action under Rule 1 4)(1) of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure on the following
grounds:

Plaintiffs do not contend that the Agreements
contain specific language waiving the govern-
ment’s sovereign immunity frem suit for viola-
tions of their provisions; rather they assert that
the Court must scrutinize the international regu-
latory scheme to determine whether a cause of
action for damages is required by implication.

We do not accept plaintiffs’ assertion.

Appendix B, infra, pages 8a-9a.

1The Convention on Internationa! Civili Aviation (The Chicago
Convention), opened for signature, December 7, 1944, 61 Stat.
1180, 15 U.N.T.S. 295, T.I.A.S. No. 1591 (ratified by the United
States August 9, 1946).

5)

A notice of appeal was filed on April 27, 1984. At
the appellate level the governments of Belgium, Ger-
many, Spain, Switzerland, France, The Netherlands
and Italy all expressed the view, either as amici curiae
or in notes verbale transmitted to the United States
Department of State, that dismissal was improper and
that suits such as the present one were intended to
exist against any signatory nation that breached its
international aviation obligations as defined in the rele-
vant international compacts. The amici curiae brief
and accompanying notes verbale also apprised the
court of appeals that analogous causes of action would
lie in European courts if European governments vio-
lated the treaty and bilateral agreement provisions at
issue, and that no European government could avail
itself of a defense such as governmental sovereign
immunity to secure the dismissal of such a suit. On
April 30, 1985, the e urt affirmed the district court’s
Memorandum and Order without opinion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Petitioners know of no other case raising the precise
issue raised here, that is, whether the intended bene-
ficiaries of self-executing treaties and international
agreements may have a cause of action for damages
resulting from an established violation by a signatory
nation of its international covenants where ‘‘sovereign
immunity” is not waived on the face of the treaty.
All other nations that have expressed an opinion as
to this issue have urged that a right to recover was
intended to exist where the international obligations
here involved are violated by any signatory. The
ease therefore raises important issues of international
comity.

6

The failure of the trial court to utilize the prin-
ciples set forth by this court in Cort v. Ash, 422
U.S. 66 (1975), to determine legislative intent con-
cerning the issue of waiver of sovereign immunity,
and the court of appeals’ affirmance of that dismissal,
were in error and in direct conflict with a decision
of the Third Circuit in Patentas v. United States, 687
F.2d 707 (3rd Cir. 1982).

I. The Case Presents Important International Comity
Issues Which Should Be Decided By This Court

The foreign air carriers have urged throughout this
proceeding that a private cause of action exists in
their favor under the relevant treaty and bilateral
agreement provisions when a signatory nation breaches
its international obligations. The governments of Bel-
gium, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, France, The
Netherlands and Italy all viewed this matter as im-
portant enough to compel them to present their views
to the court of appeals either as amici curiae or in
notes verbale communicated officially to the U.S. De-
partment of State. All of the governments that have
expressed a view have agreed with the foreign air
carriers’ contention that causes of action such as this
were intended to be created under the international
aviation regulatory regimen, were created, and bind
the United States when it violates the law to the same
extent that all other signatories would be bound when
and if they violate the law.’

? To this list can be added the United Kingdom as well, since it
took the same position in an amicus curiae brief filed in Balair I.
See Brief of the United Kingdom at page 12, D.C. Cir. Docket
Nos. 79-1662 and 79-1737. The U.S. State Department has officially

7

The trial court’s refusal on jurisdictional grounds
to hear and decide the issues raised by the foreign
air carriers and the respective European governments
was error that requires this Court to assert jurisdic-
tion.’ If the review sought by this petition is not
granted, a direct international conflict as to the cor-
rect interpretations to be given to the relevant treaty
and bilateral agreement provisions will result since
the interpretation of the United States government
and the courts below is at odds with all other inter-
pretations that have been expressed in this proceeding
by other signatory nations. Such an international con-
flict should not be allowed to occur. As this Court has
held, (1) a treaty ‘‘contemplates reciprocity with re-
spect to... rights and privileges... .’’ Santovincenzo
v. Egan, 284 U.S. 30, 36 (1931), and (2) “the meaning
given [to treaties] . .. by the departments of gov-
ernment charged with their negotiation and enforce-
ment is [to be] given great weight .. .’’ Kolovrat
v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187, 194 (1961). The lower courts’

remained silent during this proceeding and has not indicated its
position concerning the intended meaning of the international
agreements at issue.

3’ The lower court’s dismissal pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 12(b)(1) was clearly error. The district court had
statutory authority to hear and to decide the allegations raised
in the foreign air carriers’ complaint pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331
and 1350. This Court has repeatedly held that where there is such
statutory authority and ‘‘the right . . . to recover under [a] com-
plaint will be sustained if the Constitution and laws of the United
States are given one construction and will be defeated if they are
given another . . . the district court has jurisdiction.’’ Bell v.
Hood, 327 U.S. 678, 685 (1946). See also Wheeldin v. Wheeler,
373 U.S. 647, 649 (1963); Bock v. Perkins, 139 U.S. 628, 630
(1891).

8

disposition of the foreign air carriers’ complaint ac-
corded no weight to the views of other signatory na-
tions and did so in a manner that defeats any goal
of reciprocity with respect to rights and privileges.

This judicial abstention in the light of the inter-
national implications raised by the instant case pro-
vides ample cause for this Court to issue the requested
writ.

II. The Issue of Whether Cort vy. Ash Applies to Allegations
Concerning Waivers of Sovereign Immunity Should Be
Decided By This Court

The foreign air carriers urged below that judicial
analysis under the test articulated by this Court in
Cort v. Ash, supra, and its progeny would show that
the U.S. government waived any sovereign immunity
defense when it agreed as a signatory nation to be
bound by the terms of the relevant treaty and inter-
national agreement provisions.* The lower court’s fail-
ure to employ a Cort v. Ash analysis requires review
by this Court since it diverges 180 degrees from the
only other circuit court precedent on the issue of sov-

*The first three prongs of the Cort v. Ash test are directly
relevant in the treaty context:

First, is the plaintiff ‘‘one of the class for whose especial
benefit the statute was enacted,’’ . . . —that is, does the statute
create a federal right in favor of the plaintiff? Second, is
there any indication of legislative intent, explicit or implicit,
either to create such a remedy or to deny one? .. . Third,
is it consistent with the underlying purpose of the legislative
scheme to imply such a remedy for the plaintiff?

422 U.S. at 78. The fourth prong of Cort v. Ash, concerning
whether the cause of action is in an area traditionally relegated
to the states of the union, is of necessity satisfied in the treaty

context.

9

ereign immunity, and since it ignores the importance
of the issues underlying the theory of implied waiver
of sovereign immunity in the international context.

This Court has held that the principles set forth in
Cort v. Ash “‘present the relevant inquiries to pursue
in answering the recurring question of implied causes
of action.’’ California v. Sterra Club, 451 U.S. 287,
293 (1981). See also Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441
U.S. 281, 316-17 (1979). The lower courts’ failure to
apply Cort v. Ash to questions concerning waiver of
sovereign immunity was not only out of step with the
teachings of this Court, but conflicted directly with
the only other circuit court decision known to the for-
eign air carriers that has ever addressed the applica-
bility of Cort v. Ash principles to the sovereign im-
munity issue. In that case, Patentas v. United States,
687 F.2d 707 (3rd Cir. 1982), the Third Circuit used
a Cort v. Ash analysis to determine whether there was
an implied waiver of sovereign immunity under the
Ports and Waterways Safety Act of 1972, 33 U.S.C.
§§ 1221-1232. The courts’ refusal to follow the Patentas
holding here results in a conflict in circuits on the
issue of the applicability of the Cort v. Ash criteria
to the issue of legislative intent regarding sovereign
immunity.

In point of fact, the present case presents an even
more compelling basis for a Cort v. Ash analysis than
did Patentas. Patentas raised issues of sovereign im-
munity waivers in the purely domestic context. By
contrast, this ease involves the implied waiver of sov-
eign immunity in an international context, where dif-
ferent governments have agreed, each under its own
jurisprudential system, to be bound by the same inter-

10

national aviation rules. In that context the argument
is stronger that waiver can be found even in the face
of textual silence. This is, egain, evidenced by the fact
that every other nation that has been heard on the
subject has indicated that the right to recover as-
serted by the foreign air carriers was intended to exist
when the agreements at issue were entered into, irre-
spective of the fact that such a right was not explicitly
provided for. Given this fact it is particularly egre-
gious for this country, after violating its international
obligations, to now claim that idiosyneracies of its own
jurisprudence not only bar the assertion of such a
right, but jurisdictionally bar its courts from even
analyzing whether the right could have been intended
to exist.

oe vind tlre bat nc 5 tlh in OG oe

11

CONCLUSION

The foreign air carriers submit that for all of the
foregoing reasons a writ of certiorari should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

LAURENCE A. SHORT
AMY LOESERMAN KLEIN*
Date C. ANDREWS

SHort, Kier & Karas, P.C.
Suite 303

1101 Thirtieth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20007
(202) 342-3000

Attorneys for Petitioners

Balair, Ltd.

Deutsche Lufthansa
Aktiengesellshaft

Iberia, Linea Aereas de Espana

Koninklijke Luchtvaart
Maatschapmj N.V. (KIM Royal
Dutch Airlines)

Scandinavia Atrlines System

Swissair, Swiss Atr Transport
Company, Ltd. and

Union de Transports Aeriens

* Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1984

No. 84-5285

Civil Action No. 83-03093

Baar Ltp., a Foreign Corporation, et al., Appellants
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ef al.

[United States Court of Appeals For the District of
Columbia Cireuit FILED APR 30 1985
George A. Fisher Clerk]

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Columbia

Before WricHt, Circuit Judge, MarKey,* Chief
Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit, and ScaLia, Circuit Judge.

* Sitting by designation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 291(a) (1982).

2a

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record on
appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia and was briefed and argued by
counsel. The court has fully considered the issues pre-
sented; they occasion no need for an opinion. See D.C.
Cir. R. 13(¢).

This court is in agreement with the result reached
by the District Court, generally for the reasons stated
in its Memorandum and Order filed March 1, 1984,
reproduced in Joint Appendix at 29-35.

On consideration of the foregoing, it is ORDERED and
ADJUDGED by this court that the judement of the
District Court from which this appeu. was taken is
hereby affirmed.

It is FuRTHER ORDERED by this court, sua sponte,
that the Clerk shall withhold issuance of the mandate
herein until seven days after disposition of any timely
petition for rehearing. See D.C. Cir. R. 14, as amended
on November 30, 1981 and June 15, 1982. This instruc-
tion to the Clerk is without prejudice to the right
of any party at any time to move for expedited issu-
ance of the mandate for good cause shown.

Per Curiam
For the Court
/s/ Grorce A. FISHER

George A. Fisher
Clerk

3a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 83-3093

Bauatr, Lrp., e¢ al.,
Plaintiffs,
v.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, e¢ al.,
Defendants.

[Filed Mar 11984 Clerk, U.S. District Court
District of Columbia]

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

The plaintiffs in this action are ten European air
earriers who operate foreign-registered MeDonnell
Douglas DC-10 aircraft between airports in their re-
spective countries and airports located in the United
States. Defendants are the United States of America
and J. Lynn Helms, Administrator of the Federal
Aviation Administration (FAA).

The genesis of this action is the issuance by the FAA
on June 6, 1979 of “Special Federal Aviation Regu-
lation No. 40’? (SFAR 40). Issued in the aftermath
of the crash on May 25, 1979 of a United States reg-
istered DC-10 airplane upon take off from Chicago’s
O’Hare International Airport, SFAR 40 prohibited
the operation within the airspace of the United States
of all Model DC-10 airplanes, including those regis-.
tered by foreign aviation authorities. SFAR 40 re-

4a

mained in effect until its rescission by the FAA on
July 13, 1979.

Prior to its rescission, the legality of SFAR 40
was challenged by several of the plaintiffs in suits
brought before the Court of Appeals of the District
of Columbia Circuit. These plaintiffs contended that
in issuing SFAR 40 the Administrator of the FAA
had violated the provisions of several international
agreements (Agreements) to which their respective
countries and the United States were parties as well
as section 1102 of the Federal Aviation Act of 1958,
49 U.S.C. § 1502 (1976). The Court of Appeals ruled
in favor of the plaintiffs and set aside the action of
the FAA.’ British Caledonian Airways Ltd. v. Bond,
665 F.2d 1153 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

The present action was brought by the plaintiffs
solely to recover damages sustained as a result of the
issuance of SFAR 40. Plaintiffs allege that SFAR 40
barred their DC-10 aircraft from transporting pas-
sengers and property into and out of the United States
causing them damages in excess of $100,000,000. Plain-
tiffs base the jurisdiction of the Court upon 28 U.S.C.
§ 1331 (Supp. V 1981) and 28 U.S.C. § 1350 (1976).’

The order of the court setting aside the action of the FAA
came after the rescission of SFAR 40 by the FAA. The Court
rejected the government’s argument that the suit had become moot
stating that the plaintiffs had sought judicial review while SFAR
40 was still in effect and that there was a reasonable expectation
that the plaintiffs would be subject te the same action again.
British Caledonian Airways, 665 F.2d at 1158.

2 Plaintiffs expressly disclaim reliance on either 28 U.S.C. § 1346
(a)(2) (Supp. V 1981), the Tucker Act, or 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b)

5a

Before the Court is the motion of defendants to
dismiss plaintiffs’ complaint for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1).
Defendants assert that money damages cannot be
awarded in a suit against the United States absent a
waiver of sovereign immunity. Defendants contend
that neither the jurisdictional provisions relied upon
by the plaintiffs nor the Agreements between the
United States and the countries wherein the plaintiffs
are located provide any basis for an award of money
damages against the United States. Defendants claim
this result is unaffected by the inclusion of the Ad-
ministrator of the FAA as a defendant inasmuch as
a suit for damages against the Administrator is, in
effect, a suit against the United States. Plaintiffs op-
pose the motion.

For the reasons given below, defendants’ motion to
dismiss plaintiffs’ complaint is granted.

We begin our analysis with a few general principles
governing the doctrine of sovereign immunity. As the
Supreme Court stated in United States v. Sherwood,
312 U.S. 584, 586 (1941), as a sovereign the United
States ‘‘is immune from suit save as it consents to
be sued ... and the terms of its consent to be sued
in any court define that court’s jurisdiction to enter-
tain the suit.” Reaffirming that principle the Court
in United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392, 399 (1976),
noted that ‘‘except as Congress has consented to a
cause of action against the United States, ‘there is no

(1976), the Federal Terts Claim Act, as bases for this Court’s
jurisdiction. See, Plaintiffs’ Response In Opposition To Defend-
ants’ Motion To Dismiss at 2-3.

6a

jurisdiction ... to entertain suits against the United
States.’’’ (Quoting United States v. Sherwood, 312
U.S. at 587-88 (1941).)

The Supreme Court has indicated that ‘‘fa] waiver
of sovereign immunity ‘cannot be implied but must be
unequivocally expressed,’ ’’ United States v. Mitchell,
445 U.S. 535, 538 (1980), quoting United States v.
King, 335 U.S. 1, 4 (1969), and that the ‘‘limitations
and conditions upon which the Government consents
to be sued must be strictly observed “and exceptions
thereto are not to be implied.’’ Soriano v. United
States, 352 U.S. 270, 276 (1957). Thus, unless an
express waiver of sovereign immunity to a suit for
damages can be found in either 28 U.S.C. § 1331 or
1350 or the Agreements alluded to above, this Court
does not have jurisdiction to entertain plaintiffs’ suit.

The first jurisdictional provision relied upon by
plaintiffs, 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (Supp. V 1981), provides
district courts with jurisdiction over ‘‘all civil actions
arising under the Constitution, laws, or treaties of the
United States.” On its face section 1331 does not em-
power district courts to hear civil actions brought
against the United States. Indeed, courts have con-
sistently held that section 1331 does not waive the
federal government’s sovereign immunity to suit. See,
e.g., Beale v. Blount, 461 F.2d 1133, 1138 (5th Cir.
1972); Kester v. Campbell, 652 F.2d 13, 15 (9th Cir.
1981), cert. dented, 454 U.S. 1146 (1982) ; B.K. Instru-
ment, Inc. v. United States, 715 F.2d 713, 724 (2d Cir.
1983). Unless the plaintiffs can point to another pro-
vision specifically waiving the government’s sovereign
immunity to suit for money damages, the Court does

7a

not have jurisdiction under section 1331 to hear plain-
tiffs’ claims.°

The second jurisdictional provision cited by plain-
tiffs is 28 U.S.C. $1350 (1976). It states that the
district courts will have ‘“‘original jurisdiction of any
civil action by an alien for a tort only, committed in
violation of the law of nations or a treaty of the
United States.’’ Like section 1331, this section does
not contain an explicit waiver of the government’s
sovereign immunity. The issue of whether section 1350
permits district courts to hear suits for money damages
against the United States based on alleged treaty vio-
lations was addressed by the Court of Appeals of the
District of Columbia Cireuit in Canadian Transport
Co. v. United States, 663 F.2d 1081 (D.C. Cir. 1980).
We find that case controlling.

In Canadian Transport the plaintiffs alleged, inter
alia, that the Coast Guard’s refusal to permit the
entry of their ship into the port of Norfolk, Virginia
violated treaty obligations of the United States. The
plaintiffs argued that a suit for money damages
against the United States was available under sec-

3 An example of a provision which may be used in conjunction
with section 1331 to confer jurisdiction on district courts of suits
against the United States is 5 U.S.C. § 702 (1982). That section,
which is part of the Administrative Procedures Act, contains an
explicit waiver of the government’s immunity from suits ‘‘seeking
relief other than money damages and stating a claim that an agency
or an officer or employee thereof acted or failed to act in an of-
ficial capacity or under color of legal authority ... .’’ Since
plaintiffs’ suit seeks money damages section 702 is unavailing.
Plaintiffs have not identified any provision which waives the gov-
ernment’s immunity from suits seeking money damages.

8a

tion 1350. After reviewing section 1350, the Court of
Appeals phrased the issue before it as follows:

Because nothing in the language of this statute
indicates that the United States has waived its
sovereign immunity from tort suits for treaty
violations, the District Court’s decision dismissing
this cause of action must be affirmed unless ap-
pellants can show another basis for concluding
that sovereign immunity has been waived.

Id. at 1092.

The plaintiffs in Canadian Transport argued that
the treaty itself was a waiver of sovereign immunity.
Plaintiffs brought to the attention of the court general
language in the treaty which granted their ships and
cargo secure passage into ports and rivers in the
United States. The court rejected plaintiffs’ argu-
ments stating:

Nothing in the quoted language indicates that
the United States has agreed to be held liable in
damages if the treaty is violated. In the absence
of specific language in the treaty waiving sov-
ereign immunity of the United States, the treaty
must be interpreted in accord with the rule that
treaty violations are normally to be redressed out-
side the courtroom.

Id.

The holding of Canadian Transport impels us to
conclude that Section 1350 does not empower plaintiffs
to maintain their suit in this Court for money dam-
ages against the United States. Plaintiffs do not con-
tend that the Agreements contain specific language

9a

waiving the government’s sovereign immunity from
suit for violations of their provisions; rather they
assert that the Court must scrutinize the international
aviation regulatory scheme to determine whether a
eause of action for damages is required by implication.

We do not accept plaintiffs’ assertion. We are not
at liberty to infer from the Agreements an intention
on the part of the United States to subject itself to
suit for money damages based on a violation of their
provisions. We reiterate that, absent an unequivocal
and express waiver of sovereign immunity, a suit for
money damages against the United States may not be
maintained in this Court. Since plaintiffs have not
alerted the Court to “‘specific language in the Agree-
ments waiving the sovereign immunity of the United
States,’’ we do not have jurisdiction of plaintiffs’ suit.
Canadian Transport Co., 663 F.2d at 1092 (emphasis
added).*

* Plaintiffs place great reliance on American I'l Group, Inc.
v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 493 F. Supp. 522 (D.D.C. 1980). In
that case the Court found that Iran had waived its sovereign
immunity by virtue of a provision in a treaty between it and
the United States. That provision stated:

No enterprise of either High Contracting Party .. . shall
... Claim or enjoy, either for itself or its property, immunity
therein from taxation, suit, execution of judgment or other
liability to which privately owned and controlled enterprises
are subject therein.

Id. at 523, quoting Article XI, paragraph 4 of the Treaty of
Amity, Economie Relations, and Consular Rights Between the
United States of America and Tran. Despite its reliance on Amert-
can Int’l Group, plaintiffs have not brought forth any provision
in the Agreements resembling the above-quoted provision. Without

10a

Accordingly, it is this lst day of March, 1984,

ORDERED that defendants’ motion to dismiss plain-
tiffs’ complaint be, and the same is hereby, GRANTED.

/s/ Howarp F.. Corcoran
Judge

similarly explicit language in the Agreements waiving the gov-
ernment’s immunity to suit, American Int’l Group does not sup-
port plaintiffs’ position.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0518%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
