# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pugh v. Florida

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0501%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 847

## Text

rc ALEXANDER L STEVAS,
a OLERK

95-141

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
TERM, 1985

No.

WILLIAM HOWARD PUGH,

Petitioner,

v.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE 4TH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA

William M. Winkel, Esq.
P.O. Box 2153

Palm Beach, Florida
33480

Counsel for Petitioner

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
TERM, 1985
NO.

WILLIAM HOWARD PUGH,
Petitioner,
Vv.
THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE 4TH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where a law enforcement officer who
is the affiant in the affidavit of probable
cause is, by his superiors, intentionally
told lies or falsified facts and affiants'
superiors cause affiant to unknowingly or
with reckless disregard of the falsity of

said facts, swear that said facts are true,
ee

iii i

is such a search warrant ever subject to
challenge?

2. Whether the trial court erred in
refusing to consider Petitioner's allega-
tions of misrepresentation in the warrant

affidavit.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented l
Table of Authorities 4
Jurisdictional Statement 5
Constitutional Provisions

Involved 6
Statement of the Case

1. Facts 8

2. The Federal Question 10

Argument

1. The Instant Cas2 Presents
A Question of "Substantial
Significance" That Has Not
Previously Been Decided By
This Court 13

2. Fourth Amendment Rights
Require Judiciai Review
Of The Truth Of An Affi-
davit Supporting A
Search Warrant 15

3. The Evidence Produced In
Violation Of The Petition-
er's Fourth Amendment Rights
Significantly Prejudiced
His Case 16

4. The Law Enforcement Offic-
ials Fabricated Facts To

Support Their Suspicions. 19
Conclusions 23
Appendix 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S.

108 (1964) 15
Brinegar v. United States,

KE U.S. 160 (1949) 15

Franks v. Delaware, 438
v.02. 1.2

Jenkins v. State, 385 So.
a. 1980) 9

Rinse vw. U.3., dea Ff... 26
398 (1960) 23

Leon v. United States, 104 S.Ct.
3405 (1984) 19

Ma v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643

(1961) 14
Spinelli v. United States,

393 U.S. 410 (1969) 15

Weeks v. United States,
se 2 | ) 14

a

United States Constitution
Article I, §9 16

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
on the basis that a right, privilege or im-
munity is claimed under the United States
Constitution, and the decision in the Court
below was against the right, privilege or
immunity.

1. The judgment in the Court below was
filed on April 3, 1985, and entered
May 8, 1985.

2. A motion for rehearing was filed on
April 16, 1985 and a response thereto filed
April 19, 1985. The order denying the
motion to rehear was filed May 8, 1985.

No order extending the time within which
to petition for Certiorari has been granted
3. The statutory provision believed to
confer jurisdiction on this Court tv review

judgment by Writ of Certiorari is 28 U.S.C.

§1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Constitutional provision which the
case involves is the Fourth Amendment to the
United States Constitution, which reads as
follows:

The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against un-
reasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no
warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by oath
or affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched,
and the persons or things to be
seized.

This provision is found in Volume I, page
XLVIII of the Official Edition.

The case further involves the Fourteenth
Amendment of the United States Constitution,
Section I, which reads as follows:

All persons born or in the United
States, and subject to the juris-
diction thereof, are citizens of

the United Stat.s wherein they re-
side. No state shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the priv-
ileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any
state deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any per-
son within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

This provision is found in Volume I, page.

XLIX of the Official Edition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Facts: The Petitioner was originally
charged with trafficking in cannabis in ex-
cess oi 100 pounds. However the State re-
duced the charge to attempted trafficking
in cannabis in excess of: 100 pounus and
Petitioner plead no contest to the reduced
charge specifically reserving his right to
appeal the denial of his motion to suppress
as the Court, State and Petitioner agreed
that motion to suppress was dispositive of
the case.

The Petitioner appealed the denial of his
motion to suppress on the grounds that the
trial court erred in refusing to hear cer-
tain evidence at a suppression hearing. The
denial of Petitioner's motion to suppress
was affirmed on appeal by the Fourth Dis-
trict Court of Appeal of the State of
Florida. The Fourth District Court of
Appeal filed Its decision on April 3, 1985.

-

The decision was a per curiam affirmance,
without citation or opinion. The Supreme
Court of Florida has no jurisdiction under
the Florida Constitution to review district
court of appeal's per curiam affirmance.

Jenkins v. State.

According to the affiant in the affidavit
used to establish probable cause for the
issuance of the search warrant cannabis was
being smuggled from Petitioner's residence.

A search warrant was obtained by law en-
forcement officials and used to seize a
boat, automobile, personal effects and
cannabis, which were the subject of Peti-
tioner's motion to suppress. The trial
court refused to hear evidence offered at
the suppression hearing to impeach the
veracity, reliability and probative value
of the affidavit used to establish probable
cause for the issuance of the search

warrant.
a

385 So.2d 1356 (Fla. 1980)
othe

2. The Federal Question: The federal

question sought to be reviewed was first
raised at the suppression hearing. Peti-
tioner filed his memorandum in support of
his motion to suppress. See Appendix D,
pages 4-13 wherein the memorandum proffers
the sworn testimony of law enforcement
officers which was before the trial court in
the form of sworn depositions. The sworn
testimony of Lt. Murphy, Lt. Jones, Sgt.
York, #nd Agent Hilson which was proferred
demonstrates the falsehoods, the disregard
of the truth, the unreliability and irrele-
vant nature of the affidavit. It is inter-
esting to note that Lt. Jonec in his depo-
sition stated:
..if it was left up to me to

get a search warrant, I don't think

I could have gotten a search warrant

on what I seen...Appendix D, pages

8 and 9

and he was on surveillance with Agent

Hilson.

ya

At the suppression hearing the trial court
stated at page 17 of Appendix E:

...Well, I don't believe you can
attack a search warrant by showing
that some of the facts are false.
You can only attack it by showing
that the affiant falsified those
facts, that...that the facts that
the affiant set forth he knew were
false.

At page 30 of Appendix E the Court stated:

...The validity and the truth of

the affidavit is whether the affiant
told the truth as to what he put in
the affidavit and not as to whether
the people who reported to him were
telling the truth or not, so I'll
sustain the objection.

Again at page 73 of Appendix E the Court
rules:

Now we're having a hearing on the
motion to suppress at this time and
that's what I'm--and you are proceed-
ing with it and when you're through
with--with your presentation of evi-
dence then I'll hear any evidence the
State wants to present and then I'll
hear any rebuttal evidence you want to
present, then I'll be glad to hear argu-
ment on--on the motion. I-I-I think

we are having a hearing, I don't know
--I'm not gonna have a hearing within

a hearing. I don't know what--what
you're trying to do. I mean why can't
we do this orderly, I mean the normal
usual way to hear a motion to suppress.

eEBun

——aaa

At pages 3, 4 and 74 of Appendix E Peti-

tioner proferred testimony which the trial
court refused to hear.

If the false, unreliable and immaterial
portions of the affidavit are excluded there
is no remaining content upon which to base

a search warrant.

-12-

ee tii

ARGUMENT

The Petitioner offers the following argu-
ment in support of allowance of the writ:
l.
THE INSTANT CASE PRESENTS A QUESTION OF
"SUBSTANTIAL SIGNIFICANCE" THAT HAS NOT
PREVIOUSLY BEEN DECIDED BY THIS COURT

This Court in Franks v. Delaware” held

that a warrant may be attacked on the
grounds that the issuing judge was misled

by information provided in the affidavit
that the affidavit knew was false or would
have known was false except for his reckless
disregard of the truth.

It is a self-evident truth that Justice

cannot condone the doing of something in-
directly that it will not allow to be done
directly. Therefore where the affiant to

an affidavit is fed falsehoods, false infor-
mation and told that evidence was reliable

“438 U.S. 154

io

ee

when in truth it was not and this false, un-
reliable information is knowingly fed to the
affiant by law enforcement officers who know
that the magistrate will thereby be duped
and issue a search warrant, such a warrant
must be voided and the fruits of the search
be excluded; to decide otherwise makes the
court an accessory to unlawful activity.
Inherent in the above outlined situation

is to make the judiciary the puppet of ad-
ministration with police state overtones.

This Court in Weeks v. United States”

and Mapp v. Ohio’, required the exclusion

from federal and state courts, respectively,
of evidence seized in violation of the
Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.
That Amendment prohibits "unreasonable

searches" and declares that "...no warrants
shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by oath or affirmation...". Ex-

3932 U.S. 383 (1914)
4367 U.S. 643 (1961)

-14-

tensive judicial consideration has been

given to the allegations of an affidavit
necessary to establish probable cause”.

In accordance with Florida practice and
Rule 4l1(e) of the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure, an aggrieved person may move to
suppress evidence on the ground that there
was not probable cause for believing the ex-
istence of the grounds on which the warrant
was issued. Reason dictates that a deter-
mination of probable cause would involve
the exploration of the accuracy as well as
the sufficiency of the allegations in a
supporting affidavit.

Il.

FOURTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS REQUIRE JUDI-

CIAL REVIEW OF THE TRUTH OF AN AFFI-

DAVIT SUPPORTING A SEARCH WARRANT.

Inherent in our judicial system is the

-spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410
(1969); Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108
(1964); Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S.
160 (1949)

H3-

aa aa

principal that truth and the seeking of the
truth is best served in the crucible of our
adversary system. Ex parte proceedings were
so abhorrent to our forefathers that they
placed specific prohibitions against bills
of attainer in our Constitution®.

The pre-search proceeding is ex parte
of necessity and if Petitioner is denied his
right to a full and fair hearing forbidding
a probe into the truthfulness of the affi-
davit he can never challenge the truthful-
ness, reliability or probative value of the
evicence presented at the ex parte hearing
wherein the search warrant is issued.

Er.

THE EVIDENCE PRODUCED IN VIOLATION

OF THE PETITIONER'S FOURTH AMEND-

MENT RIGHTS SIGNIFICANTLY PREJU-

DICED HIS CAUSE.

In the affidavit for the search warrant
6

United States Constitution, Article I,
§9

wliin

issued on January 27, 1983, five (5) facts

were alleged to establish probable cause.

Of those five facts, it is submitted that
none provided a basis for the belief that
physical evidence connected with trafficking
in cannabis might be found in the searched
premises:

a. Fact One - Garbage Pickups:

The controlled garbage pickups are of
no probative value as the Petitioner at the
suppression hearing below offered to produce
evidence Lt. Murphy didn't know who put the
garbage in front of Petitioner's house (See
Appendix D, page 4). Petitioner testified
at the suppression hearing in the trial
court that he was out of the State of
Florida during the month of August (See
Appendix E, page 77).

b. Fact Two - Surveillance:

The affiant lied about a Mako boat and
Petitioner's control of said boat. The

affiant only saw an empty dock and on one
37.

occasion a different boat named the Sea
Angel (See Appendix E, pages 24 and 25).

Affiant never saw any illegal activity
and neither did anyone else (See Appendix E,
pages 24 and 57).

c. Fact Three - Confidential Informers:

According to Lt. Murphy there were sev-
eral informers whose reliability was not
stated nor was the time when they gave
their information to Lt. Murphy established
(See Appendix E. pages 26-30). And more
importantly, the proffer would have shown
that there was never anytime established
regarding the time when the condifential
informers supposedly received their informa-
tion. The affidavit doesn't establish this
important time frame (See Appendix D, page
6).

d. Fact Four - The BOLO:

Agent Hilson said he had no reason to
believe the BOLO concerned Petitioner (See

Appendix E, page 48).
-18-

e. Fact Five - Becker:

The supposed fact of the Becker friend-
ship in the affidavit is totally untrue (See
Appendix D, pages 13 and 14).

The trial court's refusal to hear the
evidence proferred at the suppression hearing
bore on issues central to the sufficiency of
the affidavit for the application of a
search warrant and it was an error for the
trial court not to hear and consider the pro-
ferred testimony.

IV.

THE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICIALS FAB-

RICATED FACTS TO SUPPORT THEIR SUS-

PICIONS. _

The case of the United States v. Leon’

emphasizes what has always been the law,
that mere suspicion on the part of law en-
forcement officers is not a sufficient
ground for the issuance of a search warrant.
The Leon case makes it clear that ignor-

‘104 $.Ct. 3405 (1984)
a.

ance of the law will not excuse violations
of the Fourth Amendment, no matter what the
officer's subjective good faith:

We emphasize that the stan-

dard of reasonableness we adopt

is an objective one. Many objec-

tions to a good-faith exception

assume that the exception will

turn on the subjective good

faith of individual officers...

The objective standard we adopt

...requires officers to have a

reasonable knowledge of what the

law prohibits?®.

It is clear, therefore, that law enforce-
ment officers are charged with knowing the
difference between probable cause and rea-
sonable suspicion.

In the instant case the entire affidavit
is based on suspicion:

a. The garbage pickups were made on
suspicion. Petitioner proffered Lt. Murphy's
testimony (See Appendix E, pages 15-18) in
regard to the garbage pickup. The testimony
of Lt. Murphy would have been that he didn't

know whether the garbage came from Petition-
5

Ibid. ror

er's house (See Appendix D, page 4).

b. The affiant, Agent Hilson testified
he only saw an empty dock and on one occasion
a boat different from Petitioner's (See
Appendix E, pages 25 and 62). The surveil-
lance he reported on January 27, 1983 is all
based on suspicion. Affiant says some of
his information came from Officer Battey.
Affiant further testifies Battey only told
him of his (Battey's) suspicions (See Appen-
dix E, page 57).

c. In regard to the confidential infor-
mers the testimony was they (note more than
one) saw suspicious" activities (See Appen-
dix E, page 27).

d. The BOLO is all suspicion and no sub-
stance as earlier demonstrated herein.

e. The Becker friendship is false and
provided false grounds to add to the affi-
davit. Petitioner was not allowed to ques-
tion Lt. Murphy in his regard and proferred

to the trial judge that Lt. Murphy had told
att «

Judge Harper, the judge who signed the
search warrant, that there was no connection
between Petitioner and Becker (See Appendix

E, page 98 and Appendix D, page 14).

92.

CONCLUSIONS

It is respectfully submitted that if the
'

Fourth Amendment is to succeed in its stated
purpose of protecting the "right of the
people to be secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures...,"' a review of the
validity of an affiant's allegations in
addition to their sufficiency is required, in
accordance with carefully reasoned opinions

such as King v. U.s.?

in which the court con-
cluded, "The constitutional requirenent of
an oath or affirmation would be effectively
eroded away if fictitious oaths were per-
mitted. "10
It is respectfully submitted that every
material misstatement and false assertion
should require exclusion of the evidence

obtained as a result of false information.

7282 F. 2d 398 (1960)
10inia., p. 399

«23-

Such exclusion is necessary to deter law
enforcement officers from setting up the
Magistrate with falsehoods and in order to
adequately preserve constitutionally guar-
anteed rights against unreasonable searches
and seizures.

In view of the importance of the issues
presented in this case, granting of the Writ
Of Certiorari is indicated.

In view of the foregoing, the issuance
of a Writ Of Certiorari is earnestly soli-

cited.

Res ea sub be)

William M. Winkel

Counsel for Petitioner

-24-

LY IRN. Cah low a tn dank me

APPENDIX
Attached

ITEM

A/ ORDER PER CURIAM AFFIRMED 5/8/85
Fourth District Court of Appeal
State of Florida

B/ ORAL ORDER Denying Defendant's
Motion to Suppress 6/17/83
Circuit Court, Nineteenth Judicial
Circuit of Martin County, Florida

APPENDIX

Filed with the Clerk of the United
State Supreme Court

ORDER PER CURIAM AFFIRMED 5/8/85

AFFIDAVIT OF PROBABLE CAUSE
SEARCH WARRANT

DEFENDANT'S MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT
OF DEFENDANT'S MOTION TO SUPPRESS

a se

E TRANSCRIPT OF AMENDED MOTION TO
SUPPRESS HEARING

I HEREBY CERTIFY that copies of the
above have been filed with the Clerk of the

United ates Supreme Court this 9Q ¥ day
of f 985.
QS NS i
; dA

—_—_

WILLIAM M. WINKEL, ESQ.

Counsel for Petitioner

=25~

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA

FOURTH DISTRICT JANUARY TERM 1985
WILLIAM HOWARD PUGH. CASE NO. 83-2534
Appellant,
Vs. NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME
EXPIRES TO FILE RE-
STATE OF FLORIDA, HEARING PETITION
AND, IF FILED, DIS-
Appellee. POSED OF.
th ab ate ea ae ie ae ba wae /

Decision filed April 3, 1985

Appeal from the Circuit Court
for Martin County;
C. Pfeiffer Trowbridge, Judge.

William M. Winkel of Winkel &
Sims, West Palm Beach for
Appellant.

Jim Smith, Attorney General,
Tallahassee, and Joan Fowler
Rossin, Assistant Attorney
General, West Palm Beach, for
Appellee.

PER CURIAM. -
Affirmed.

APPENDIX A/
; oe 2

AMSTEAD, C.J., DOWNEY and WALDEN, J.J.,
concur.

IN THE DISTRICT COUR OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
FOURTH DISTRICT
WILLIAM HOWARD PUGH,
Appellant,
Vv. CASE NO. 83-2534
STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

May 8, 1985
BY ORDER OF THE COURT:

ORDERED that Appellant's April 16,

1985 Motion for Rehearing is denied.

APPENDIX A/
2 Of 2

I hereby certify the foregoing is a
true copy of the original court order.
P~

LYDE L. HEATH,
CLERK

cc: William M. Winkel, Esq.
Joan Fowler Rossin, Ass't Att.General

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
NINETEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
MARTIN COUNTY, FLORIDA
CASE NO. 83-77
STATE OF FLOIRDA,
Plaintiff,
Vox

WILLIAM HOWARD PUGH,

Defendant.

AMENDED MOTION TO SUPPRESS HEARING

This case came before the court for
hearing on June 17, 1983, before Honor-
able C. Pfeiffer Trowbridge, Circuit
Judge, at the Martin County Courthouse,
Stuart, Florida.

Appearances were as follows:

FOR THE STATE: FOR THE DEFENDANT:
David Morgan William M. Winkel
Assistant State 249 Royal Palm Way
Attorney P. O. Box 2153
Stuart, Florida Palm Beach,Florida
33494 | 33480

APPENDIX B/

1 of 3

pression to the issuing magistrate that they
have used confidential informants in the past
on other matters, they didn't say how the
informants got the information, they didn't
say when the informant saw these acts, it
could've been ten years ago. It's all un-
trustworthy and I would submit to this court
that it can either suppress the evidence or
grant to this defendant a--a further hearing
to establish the truth or the untruth of the
statements in that affidavit of probable
cause.

Thank you.

THE COURT: Okay, from a legal standpoint
the court's of the opinion that the affida-
vit is sufficient to support the issuance of
the search warrant and from a factual stand-
point there is no evidence that the affiant
deliberately lied or acted with reckless
disregard for the truth.

The warrant in my opinion covers the pre-
mises and the curtilage, including vehicles

APPENIX B/
i ae

thereon or any boats tied to docks within
the curtilage and so the court's going to
deny the motion to suppress.

Is that all that we have or is there any
other motion that you've got that we have to
dispose of?

MR. WINKEL: Your Honor has recommended
that I make a written motion for the return
of these items?

THE COURT: Weil, I haven't recommended
anything. I've told you I'm not going to
hear that today and not gonna hear that
until you file the motion on it. Is that

all that we...

APPENDIX B/
3 of 3

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0501%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
