# Opposition Brief — Dean v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0480%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 1005

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED

(2) OCT 91 1985

No. 85-109 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

KATHRYN DEAN, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

SIDNEY M. GLAZER
Attorney

Department of Justice
| Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

“BEST AVAILABLE COPY & °

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the district court failed to make sufficiently
detailed voir dire inquiries concerning prospective jurors’
attitudes about race, welfare benefits, and the testimony of
law enforcement officers.

2. Whether the district court erred in admitting evidence
of petitioner’s involvement in similar crimes.

(I)

Opinion below
Jurisdiction

Statement

Argument

Conclusion

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aldridge v. United States,

ay Oo ia de a os oon «0
Ham v. South Carolina, 409 U.S. 524 .....
Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589 ...........

Rosales-Lopez v. United States,

fs GE Say re
United States v. Bailleaux, 685 F.2d 1105 ..
United States v. Baldwin, 607 F.2d 1295 ...

United States v. Beechum, 582 F.2d 898,

cert. denied, 440 U.S. 920 ..............

United States v. Gustafson, 728 F.2d 1078,
cert. denied, No. 83-1931

SOU TEI og wp gab eisvviecccccoccese

United States v. Jardina, 747 F.2d 945,
cert. denied, No. 84-6232

en walee aad 6 b0 46 0be%
United States v. Johnson, 618 F.2d 60 ....
United States v. Jones, 722 F.2d 528 ......

(II)

eeeeoeeveeeveeeeevee eeeeeeeeeeeeneeeee

eoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ee @

IV

Page

Cases—Continued:
United States v. Spaar, 748 F.2d 1249 .......... 6
United States v. Toomey, 764 F.2d 678 ....... 4,6
United States v. Vadino, 680 F.2d 1329 ........ 6

Statute and rules:

eS ee eS Te Eee Te eT CC ET Te Tee l
Pas Oe A Os ED ns no kc oS aK EeS ato obese 4

Fed. R. Evid. :
SE hv veec td eon Raaneebeh ee séeuasean 7

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1985

No. 85-109
KATHRYN DEAN, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTiORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-13) is
unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on May
23, 1985. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
July 19, 1985. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT
Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California, petitioner was con-
victed of theft of government property, in violation of 18
U.S.C. 641. She was sentenced to two years’ imprisonment
‘and a $10,000 fine. She was also ordered to pay $7000 in
restitution. The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. 1-13).

(1)

2

1. The evidence at trial, summarized in the opinion of the
court of appeals (Pet. App. 2-3), established that between
June 1982 and September 1983 petitioner received and
cashed 24 federal welfare checks that were fraudulently
issued by Willette Hutcherson, a county welfare agency
employee (id. at 2). The checks, issued under the Aid to
Families with Dependant Children (AFDC) program,
totaled almost $15,000. Petitioner asserted, as her sole
defense, that she had received a call from an unidentified
person at the welfare office who told her that she was
entitled to the checks as retroactive benefits under a pre-
viously denied welfare application (id. at 2; Tr. 338-340).
However, petitioner had no children, had not applied for
AFDC benefits, and returned one-third of the proceeds
from each check to Hutcherson (id. at 2-3; Tr. 100, 330,
399-400).

2. Prior to trial, petitioner submitted 176 proposed voir
dire questions (Pet. App. 3). Appr: “imately 30 of the ques-
tions addressed the prospective ors’ attitudes toward
blacks. Other questions addressed their attitudes toward
the offense charged and the credence they would give to the
testimony of law enforcement officers. The district judge
denied petitioner’s specific requests, but asked questions on
some of the issues raised by petitioner’s proposed questions.
Among his questions, he asked whether the prospective
jurors had observed “anything whatever about the defend-
ant, which in any way, however subtly, might prejudice
[them]” (id. at 6; Tr. 42). He also asked whether there was
“anything in the nature of the offense charged” that affected
their impartiality (see id. at 8; Tr. 43).

During the trial, the district judge admitted evidence,
over petitioner’s objection, that petitioner had filed false
claims for prescription drugs (Pet. App. 9). He also admit-
ted testimony, over petitioner’s objection, that petitioner’s

3

activities were part of a much larger welfare fraud scheme
(id. at 11).

3. The court of appeals, applying an abuse of discretion
standard, held that the district judge conducted an adequate
voir dire (Pet App. 4-9). Relying on Rosales-Lopez v.
United States, 451 U.S. 182. (1981), it first concluded that
the judge was not obligated to conduct special questioning
concerning racial prejudice (Pet. App. 5). The court
observed that this case involved neither special circumstan-
ces nor reasonable possibility of racial prejudice (ibid.). It
suggested that the “better practice” might be to conduct
special questioning when the defendant is a member of a
racial minority (id. at 6), but held that the failure to do so
did not constitute reversible error (ibid.). The court also
noted that the district judge had asked, in general terms,
whether the jurors were in any way prejudiced against peti-
tioner (ibid.).

The court of appeals next suggested that the district judge
should have honored petitioner’s request for special ques-
tioning concerning potential bias in favor of law enforce-
ment testimony, but it concluded that the failure to do so in
this case did not constitute reversible error (Pet. App. 8).
The court noted that only one law enforcement officer
testified, his credibility was not disputed, and his testimony
did not conflict with petitioner’s testimony (ibid.). It further
ruled that the district court’s inquiry into juror prejudice
concerning the “offense charged” eliminated any need to
honor petitioner’s specific requests for voir dire on juror
attitudes toward welfare fraud (id. at 9).

Turning to the evidentiary challenges, the court con-
cluded that the district judge did not abuse his discretion in
admitting evidence indicating that petitioner had filed false
prescription drug claims with her former employer (Pet.
App. 9-11). The court observed that the probative value
of the evidence was not substantially outweighed by its

4

prejudicial effect (id. at 10-11). The court likewise affirmed
the district judge’s admission of testimony indicating that
petitioner's activities were part of a larger welfare fraud
scheme (id. at 11-13).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends (Pet. 9-23) that the trial court erred in
failing to make a more detailed inquiry into juror attitudes
about race, welfare benefits, and the weight to be given
testimony of law enforcement officers. She also renews her
challenges to the admission of evidence indicating petition-
er’s involvement in other wrongful activity. These argu-
ments were properly rejected by the court of appeals.

1. “Because the obligation to impanei an impartial jury
lies in the first instance with the trial judge, and because he
must rely largely on his immediate perceptions, federal
judges have been accorded ample discretion in determining
how best to conduct the voir dire.” Rosales-Lopez v.
United States, 451 U.S. 182, 189 (1981) (plurality opinion);
see Ham v. South Carolina, 409 U.S. 524, 528 (1973);
Aldridge v. United States, 283 U.S. 308, 310 (1931). The
court may conduct the voir dire itself or allow the parties to
conduct it. Fed. R. Crim. P. 24a). In all events, it has “ ‘a
broad discretion as to the questions to be asked.’ ” Rosales-
Lopez, 451 U.S. at 189 (quoting Aldridge, 283 U.S. at 310).
Absent a showing of particularized need for a specia! line of
questioning, there is no abuse of discretion in refusing to
ask specific questions during the voir dire examination,
even though the questioning might theoretically aid the
defendant in exercising peremptory challenges. See, e.z.,
Unite.’ States v. Toomey, 764 F.2d 678, 682 (9th Cir. 1985)
(the trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to
inquire as to jurors’ attitudes toward narcotics); United
States v. Jones, 722 F.2d 528, 529-530 (9th Cir. 1983)
(absent a showing of a reasonable possibility of prejudice,
the trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to

5

inquire whether jurors were biased against defense of
coercion).

a. These general principles apply in the case of voir dire
requests directed toward racial or ethnic bias. In Rosales-
Lopez, a majority of the Court agreed that there is a consti-
tutional obligation to make specific inquiries concerning
racial bias only when racial issues are “ ‘inextricably bound
up with the conduct of the trial,’ ” 451 U.S. at 189 (quoting
Ristaino v. Ross, 424 U.S. 589, 597 (1976)); see 451 U.S. at
194-195 (Rehnquist, J., concurring in the result).' Peti-
tioner failed to show that racial issues are present in the
instant case. Significantly, this case involves theft of
government property rather than an interracial crime. As
the court of appeals observed (Pet. App. 5), this case, like
Rosales- Lopez, simply involves government prosecution of
a minority defendant and raises no “special circumstances”
or reasonable possibility of racial prejudice. Contrary to
petitioner’s contention (Pet. 13), there is no reason to
assume that a jury will be influenced by racial prejudice
simply because a black defendant is tried for welfare fraud.
Moreover, the district judge addressed the possibility of
racial prejudice by asking the veniremen if they observed

‘In Rosalez-Lopez, a defendant of Mexican descent was charged with
smuggling aliens into the United States. He contended that the trial
court committed reversible error in denying his request for a voir dire
examination of prospective jurors avout racial or ethnic prejudice. This
Court rejected the contention, indicating that the federal courts must
make such an inquiry where “the external circumstances of the case
indicate a reasonable possibility that racial or ethnic prejudice will
influence the jury’s evaluation of the evidence.” 451 U.S. at 192-193
(White, J.). Because the defendant in Rosales-Lopez failed to demon-
strate special circumstances and the trial court eliminated the possibility
of undisclosed racial prejudice through its other inquiries, this Court
held that the trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to make
the requested inquiries concerning ethnic bias. 451 U.S. at 194; id. at
194-195 (Rehnquist, .1., concurring in the result).

6

anything about petitioner “which in any way, however
subtly, might prejudice” them against her. See Pet. App.
5-6.

b. The district judge also acted within his discretion
in refusing to inquire into the prospective jurors’ possible
bias respecting testimony from law enforcement officers. As
petitioner herself acknowledges (Pet. 19-20), the need for
such an inquiry depends upon the facts of each case. The
failure to conduct such an inquiry cannot constitute revers-
ible error where, as here, there was no dispute concerning
the credibility of the single law enforcement officer who
testified. See, e.g., United States v. Vadino, 680 F.2d 1329,
1336-1337 (11th Cir. 1982); United States v. Spaar, 748
F.2d 1249, 1253-1254 (8th Cir. 1984); see also United States
v. Baldwin, 607 F.2d 1295, 1298 (9th Cir. 1979). Indeed, as
the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. 8), the officer’s tes-
timony did not significantly conflict with petitioner’ testi-
mony.

c. Likewise, the district court acted within its discretion
in refusing to ask petitioner’s requested questions concern-
ing the prospective jurors’ attitudes toward welfare fraud.
Even assuming that a trial court should inquire into juror
attitudes toward the crimes charged, the district judge sub-
stantially fulfilled petitioner’s request by asking “whether
there was ‘anything in the nature of the offense charged’ ”
that might prejudice the jurors against petitioners (Pet.
App. 8-9). See Aldridge, 283 U.S. at 310 (recognizinz the
trial judge’s “broad discretion as to the questions to be
asked”); United States v. Toomey, 764 F.2d at 682.

2. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 24-27) that the district
court erred in admitting evidence of petitioner’s other
wrongful conduct and evidence indicating that her iliega!
activities were part of a larger welfare fraud scheme. These
claims are insubstantial. v

7

a. The government offered testimony from Mikela
Turner-Stroud, petitioner’s fellow employee at Blue Cross
Insurance Company (Pet. App. 9-10; Tr. 207). The witness
testified, among other matters, that petitioner had admitted
submitting false drug prescription claims to Blue Cross
during the time that she was cashing AFDC checks (Tr.
266-268).

The district judge did not abuse his discretion in permit-
ting this testimony. Evidence of prior wrongful conduct is
admissible to prove motive, knowledge, or intent (Fed. R.
Evid. 404(b)), although the evidence may be excluded if its
probative value is substantially outweighed by the danger of
unfair prejudice (Fed. R. Evid. 403). That determination
rests within the discretion of the district court. See, e.g.,
United States v. Jardina, 747 F.2d 945, 952 (Sth Cir., 1984),
cert. denied, No. 84-6232 (Mar. 18, 1985); United States v.
Gustafson, 728 F.2d 1078, 1082-1084 (8th Cir. 1984), cert.
denied, No. 83-1931 (Nov. 5, 1984); United States v. Bail-
leaux, 685 F.2d 1105, 1110-1112 (9th Cir. 1982).

Petitioner claimed, as her sole defense, that she did not
intentionally engage in welfare fraud because she thought
that the AFDC checks were properly issued to her. Turner-
Stroud’s testimony, demonstrating petitioner’s similar fraud-
ulent activities contemporaneous with the welfare fraud,
was thus relevant to prove intent. The court could reason-
ably conclude that its probative value outweighed the pos-
sibility of unfair prejudice.* Furthermore, the district judge

?The Ninth Circuit has suggested that such evidence, at least when
involving crimes, should be “clear and convincing.” See United States
v. Bailieaux, 685 F.2d 1105, 1109-1110 (9th Cir. 1982). The court of
appeals, citing Bailleaux, agreed with the district court that the evidence
was admissible (Pet. App. 10-11). The evidence, a specific admission
from petitioner to a fellow employee, had clear and convincing proba-
tive value. Notably, other courts do not require evidence admitted

8

did not err in failing to give a cautionary instruction con-
cerning Turner-Stroud’s testimony since none was re-
quested (Pet. App. 11).

b. Petitioner also challenges (Pet. 26-27) the court’s
admission of testimony from FBI Agent Jason Moulton
indicating that petitioner’s activities were part of a large-
scale welfare fraud scheme. See Pet. App. 11-13; Tr. 289.
That brief discussion of the larger scheme was necessary to
explain the government’s grant of prosecutorial immunity
to Turner-Stroud. The judge gave a cautionary instruction
explaining the purpose of the testimony (Pet. App. 12-13).
The instruction is presumed effective to remedy any poten-
tial prejudice. See, e.g., United States v. Johnson, 618 F.2d
60, 62 (9th Cir. 1980). Thus, the court of appeals correctly
rejected petitioner’s contention of reversible error.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

SIDNEY M. GLAZER
Attorney

OcTOBER 1985

under Rule 404(b) to meet a “clear and convincing” probity standard.
See United States v. Jardina, 747 F.2d at 952; United States v. Bee-
chum, 582 F.2d 898, 913 (Sth Cir. 1978) (en banc), cert. denied, 440 U.S.
920 (1979); but see United States v. Gustafson, 728 F.2d at 1083.

DOJ-1985-10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0480%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
