# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hebert v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0184%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 818

## Text

gk ——— eee”

en

NO.

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

ROYCE DAVID HEBERT,
Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

GERALD H. GOLDSTEIN

RALPH A. LOPEZ

GOLDSTEIN, GOLDSTEIN & HILLEY
29th Floor Tower Life Building
San Antonio, Texas 78205

Attorneys for Petitioner,
ROYCE DAVID HEBERT

a a A REE I DR EE acs
Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc_—5606 Parkersburg—Houston, Texas 77036—223-3003

I

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHAT STANDARD SHOULD BE APPLIED TO
REVIEW A WARRANT CONTAINING INFOR-
MATION GAINED FROM AN ADMITTEDLY
ILLEGAL PRIOR SEARCH OF THE SAME PREM-
ISES: THE FRANKS “REDACTION” ANALY-
SIS APPLIED BY THIS COURT IN USS. V.
KARO OR THE “ATTENUATION” ANALY-
SIS UTILIZED BY THIS COURT IN SEGURO
V. U.S.?

WHETHER THE FRUITS OF A RESIDENTIAL
SEARCH SHOULD BE ADMITTED WHERE A
SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE SEARCH
WARRANT AFFIDAVIT FOR THOSE PREM-
ISES WAS COME AT BY THE EXPLOITATION
OF A PRIOR, {LLEGAL, WARRANTLESS
SEARCH OF THOSE SAME PREMISES, THAT
SAME DAY?

Ul
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 2.5 .cscsiessecsccadsatens

¥ Se OR Pe eee i oe acdsee eek emaaee
(SEED DPE «2 kc bad k a ceed he ee eee aa
FURROR REAM +2 bbe knee neh saeaees dened eta eeen
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED .........
SEATEDERING 0F TRS GAMES 50 <6 05h se deccaias sadkane

THE WARRANT TO SEARCH HEBERT’S RESI-
DENCE WAS BASED UPON AFFIANT BRAZIEL’S
SURREPTITIOUS, WARRANTLESS ENTRY UPON
TEEID PREM Sivns 5555055050 OFLC

SURREPTITIOUS, WARRANTLESS ENTRY NOT
MENTIONED IN AFFIDAVIT ............00s00e.

FRUITS OF ILLEGAL SEARCH OF PRIVATE RESI-
DENCE UTILIZED AS PROBABLE CAUSE TO OB-
TAIN WARRANT FOR SUBSEQUENT SEARCH OF
BEANE GARE ROD 606 0-0000655% kao eae

1. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THIS COURT’S ANALYSIS IN SEGURA V.
CNITED STATE 05.6 ckicdcgeaee eee eee

THIS COURT HAS SUGGESTED SOMETHING
MORE THAN SIMPLE FRANKS ANALYSIS IS
EEEMEE? 2 500i shea deiwnssakane beeen.

WHAT TEST TO APPLY: “REDACTION” VS. “AT-
TENUATION” AMALQOUB. oiaccseindccckones css

2. EVEN IF THE FRANKS’ “REDACTION” ANAL-
SIS WERE APPROPRIATE, THE TRIAL COURT’S
EXORCISM WAS INSUFFICIENT TO REMOVE
RED RMMEINE 26 60328 bb cde Cea E eee

CONCEAIIN n0005c06euues cake nan ere eee

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeats, Fs. COO cs oo oc vranc ink

Ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Brown v. Illinois, 442 U.S. 590, 600 (1975) .............
Dunnaway v. New York, 422 U.S. 200 (1975) ..........
Fixwell v. Wainwright, 492 F.2d 480 (Sth Cir. 1974) ....
Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491 (1983) ............0555.
Franks v. Delaware, 42% U.S. 154 (1978)...............
Oliver v. U.S., 104 S.Ct. 1735, 1742-3, n.12 .............
Segura v. United States, 468 U-S. , 82 L.Ed.2d 599

SUE cb sa mceantasdseccedeepecesadcscccsccsescses
U.S. v. Cruz, 581 F.2d 535 (Sth Cir. 1978) .............
US. v. Davis, 423 F.2d 974 (Sth Cir. 1970) ............
U.S. v. Karo, 468 US. , 82 L.Ed.2d 530 (1984) ....
US'S. v. Parker, 772 F.2d 179 (Sth Cir. 1983) ...........
Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963) ........

NO.

N THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

ROYCE DAVID HEBERT,
Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Royce David Hebert, the Petitioner herein, prays that
a Writ of Certiorari, issue to review the Judgment and
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit entered in this cause February 11, 1985.

OPINION BELOW

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at
753 F.2d 1301 and is printed as Appendix “A” hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
on February 11, 1985 and the mandate returned on

2

March 5, 1985. Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of
this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) by timely filing
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeals.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment provides: “The right of the
people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers,
and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures,
shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation,
and particularly describing the place to be searched, and
the persons or things to be seized”.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Course of Proceedings and Disposition in Court
Below:

On May 3, 1983, Petitioner ROYCE DAVID HE-
BERT was charged in a four count indictment with
conspiring to distribute [Count One], aiding and abetting
the distribution [Count Two] and unlawfully distri-
buting [Count Four] marijuana.

Prior to trial, Petitioner Hebert moved to suppress
all evidence seized from his Austin, Texas home (evi-
dence which served as the only basis implicating Hebert
in this offense) arguing that same was the fruit of a
prior illegal warrantless search of those same premises.

Although agreeing that the prior warrantless entry of
his property by DEA Agent Braziel constituted a “severe
invasion” of Hebert’s premises, the District Court, after
hearing on his Motion, denied same.

3

Consequently, Hebert entered a plea of guilty to one
count of conspiracy [21 U.S.C. § 841(a)(1)], reserving
his right to appeal the District Court’s denial of his
motion to suppress. On March 23, 1984, Appellant was
found guilty and sentenced to five years incarceration
and a $15,000 fine. On the 11th day of February, 1985,
the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed Appellant
Hebert’s conviction. While agreeing with the District
Court that Agent Braziel’s entry on the premises was
illegal, the Court below concluded that the warrant was
based on sufficient probable cause and Agent Braziel’s
prior illegal observations constituted “only a small part
of the information presented to the magistrate”.

Appellant timely files this Application for Certiorari,
seeking review by this Court.

STATEMENT OF RELEVANT FACTS

CONTESTED SEAKCH

On November 2, 1982, Federal, State and local offi-
cers searched Appellant Hebert’s residence at 1713 Syl-
van Drive, Austin, Texas, seizing the only evidence
implicating Hebert in this offense [Rec. Vol. X, p. 10-11].

It is this search, based upon a warrant obtained and
executed by DEA Agent Richard Braziel, that is the
subject of this appeal.

THE WARRANT TO SEARCH HEBERT’S RESI-
DENCE WAS BASED UPON AFFIANT
BRAZIEL’S SURREPTITIOUS, WAR-

RANTLESS ENTRY UPON
THOSE PREMISES

Agent Braziel’s sworn affidavit to search Hebert’s
Sylvan Drive property recited observations Braziel ob-

4

tained by surreptitiously entering upon those same resi-
dential premises the day before.

“The surveillance observed Aaron Maxwell, a Black
male, exit JoJo’s restaurant [sic] and enter the blue
and white 1977 Chevrolet . . . and drive it to 1713
Sylvan Drive, in Austin, Texas, a few blocks from
the JoJo’s restaurant [sic]. S/A Braziel observed
the vehicle pull into the garage and the garage
door then closed. S/A Braziel further heard a car
trunk lid being opened. Further, $/A Braziel heard
a noise like heavy objects being thrown in a trunk
of a vehicle, after which the trunk lid slamed [sic].
The garage door opened and blue and white Chev-
rolet bearing 1984 Texas License plate PCQ658,
driven by Aaron Maxwell backed out of the garage.”
[Rec. Vol. X, p. 144].

SURREPTITIOUS, WARRANTLESS ENTRY
NOT MENTIONED IN AFFIDAVIT

However, what was not mentioned in the affidavit
provided to the Magistrate is that Agent Braziel ac-
complished these observations only by surreptitiously
entering Hebert’s residential property, “creeping up” next
to Hebert’s house and pressing his nose and ear against
the garage door. [Rec. Vol. X, at 55].

From this distance, with his nose pressed up to the
garage door, Agent Braziel testified he “heard the trunk
lid open on the vehicle”, what he believed to be
“ . . heavy object being thrown into the trunk” and
smelled what he said was the “odor of marijuana coming
from the . . . garage door” [Rec. Vol. X, p. 55].

5

FRUITS OF ILLEGAL SEARCH OF PRIVATE
RESIDENCE UTILIZED AS PROBABLE
CAUSE TO OBTAIN WARRANT FOR
SUBSEQUENT SEARCH OF THAT
SAME ABODE

As a result of what Agent Braziel allegedly heard and
smelled while the Chevrolet was at the Sylvan Drive
address he ordered the arrest of Allen Granger, who
was observed leaving the restaurant parking lot in that
same Chevrolet which Aaron Maxwell had driven from
the residence on Sylvan Drive [Rec. Vol. X, pp. 56-71].
Agent Braziel stated that after Granger’s arrest he could
detect the same “strong odor of marijuana coming from
the ‘vehicle’ in which Granger was arrested” [Rec. Vol.
X, pp. 56-7, 102]. This statement was in turn included
in Braziel’s affidavit as part of the probable cause asserted
for the warrant to search Hebert’s house on Sylvan Drive
[Rec. Vol. II, p. 145].

Again, what Agent Braziel did not mention in his
affidavit for a warrant to search Hebert’s residence is
the fact that the probable cause for arresting Granger
in the first place was based in large part upon Agent
Braziel’s illegal observations at those same premises.

Here, Granger’s arrest in the Chevrolet automobile
was based, in substantial part, upon the fruits of the
prior illegal, surreptitious entry of Hebert’s Sylvan Drive
residence and the fact that Braziel overheard what he
believed to be the loading of the vehicle’s trunk and
smelled what he believed to be marijuana emanating
from the garage where the Chevrolet was located. The
government then utilized the fruits of that arrest as
probable cause to re-enter and search that same residence.

6
MOTION TO SUPPRESS

Prior to trial Hebert moved to suppress the evidence
discovered as a result of the search of his Sylvan Drive
residence on November 2, 1982 [Rec. Vol. V, p. 111],
arguing that Agent Braziel’s initial warrantless activities
in the bushes next to Hebert’s garage door the day be-
fore constituted an illegal search and that without the
fruits of this initial illegality or the stale information
recited in the affidavit, probable cause to search the resi-
dence was lacking [See: Rec. Vol. V, pp. 105-109].

After hearings on the Motion to Suppress, the Trial
Court concluded that when Agent Braziel surreptitiously
entered Hebert’s residential property “at night” and
listened at the garage door, “pressing his nose to that
door”, same “constituted an invasion of the curtilage
of that property sufficient to constitute a search without
a warrant” [Rec. Vol. I, p. 15], noting that:

“The curtilage of a private home is given a greater
privacy expectation than an ordinary building or
automobile. . . . These facts present a severe invasion
of privacy.” (emphasis supplied) District Court’s
Order [Rec. Vol. I, p. 15].

As a remedy for this “severe invasion” of Hebert’s
privacy the trial Court applied a Franks v. Delaware
analysis and “struck from the affidavit” only the “state-
ment in the affidavit regarding the three thuds heard

1. See: Fixell v. Wainwright, 492 F.2d 480 (Sth Cir. 1974) and
U.S. v. Davis, 423 F.2d 974 (Sth Cir. 1970) where the Court held
a government agent’s nighttime entry into an unfenced yard sur-
rounding a private residence constituted a “severe invasion of pri-
vacy”. And see: Oliver v. U.S., 104 S.Ct. 1735, 1742-3, n. 12, where
this Court reaffirmed it’s “recognition that the curtilage remains
within the protection of the Fourth Amendment”’.

7

by Agent Braziel” while pressed against Hebert’s garage
door [Rec. Vol. I, p. 15].

The trial Court left undisturbed, however, Braziel’s
recitation that “[A]t the time of [Granger’s] arrest Agent
Braziel noticed the odor of marijuana coming from
Granger’s vehicle” [Rec. Vol. I, p. 13], even though
there could be little question that Braziel’s decision to
arrest Granger in that vehicle was based in substantial
part on the fact that Braziel had heard what he believed
to be the loading of the auto’s trunk and smelied what
he believed to be the same odor of marijuana while that
vehicle was inside Hebert’s garage.

In effect the trial court allowed Braziel to utilize as
support for a warrant to search a private residence, in-
formation gained as the result of an arrest which itself
was based in substantial part upon a prior illegal entry
of that very same residence that same day.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
THIS COURT’S ANALYSIS IN SEGURA V.
UNITED STATES:

THIS COURT HAS SUGGESTED SOMETHING
MORE THAN SIMPLE FRANKS
ANALYSIS IS NEEDED

In determining whether a search warrant for residen-
tial premises has been tainted by an admittedly illegal,
prior, warrantless search of those same premises, the
proper test is whether the prior illegal intrusion contri-
buted “in any way to the discovery of the evidence seized
under the warrant”. Segura v. U.S. 468 U.S.___, 82 L. Ed.

8

2d 599 (1984). Such an “attenuation” test looks to
whether the warrant search “was a means sufficiently
distinguishable to purge the evidence of any taint arising
from the entry”. Segura v. U.S., 468 U.S.___, 86 L.Ed.2d
at p. 614. See also: Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590, 600
(1975); Dunnaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1975);
Florida v. Royer, 103 S.Ct. 1319, 1328 (1983).

In applying such an “attenuation” analysis, this Court
has looked to the purposefulness of the officer’s conduct.
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. at p. 600 [listing the “purpose
and flagrancy of the official misconduct” as a factor];
U.S. v. Dunnaway, Supra; U.S. v. Parker, 722 F.2d 179
(Sth Cir. 1983); U.S. v. Cruz, 581 F.2d 535 (Sth Cir.
1978) en banc [the information was discovered as a
result of a search having no purpose other than their
discovery].

There can be little doubt as to Agent Braziel’s purpose
in iliegally entering the curtilage of Hebert’s residence.
It was to obtain information.

WHAT TEST TO APPLY: “REDACTION”
VS. “ATTENUATION” ANALYSIS

A serious question in need of resolution is what test
courts should apply when information obtained from
a prior illegal entry is utilized to secure a warrant to re-
enter and search those same premises: the Franks “re-
daction” analysis applied by the Court in Karo or the
“attenuation” analysis utilized by the Court in Segura.

Three days before the decision in Segura, this Court
in U.S. v. Karo, 468 U.S. 530, 82 L.Ed.2d 530 (1984)
applied a Franks v. Delaware “redaction” analysis to

9

excise from a warrant information obtained by officers
from the prior illegal monitoring of an electronic tran-
sponder placed within a home. U.S. v. Karo, Supra, at
p. 544.

“That information [from the beeper], which was
included in the warrant affidavit, would also in-
validate the warrant for the search of the house if
it proved to be critical to establishing probable
cause for the issuance of the warrant. However, if
sufficient untainted evidence was presented in the
warrant affidavit to establish probable cause, the
warrant was nevertheless valid.” U.S. v. Karo, Supra,
at p. 544.

However, the Court took pains to note that the “moni-
toring of a electronic device such as a beeper is, of
course, less intrusive” than a search. (emphasis supplied)
U.S. v. Karo, Supra, at p. 541.

Conversely, the prior illegality here, just as that in
Segura constituted a prior illegal entry onto private
premises.

The police in Segura had illegally entered an apart-
ment the day before a search warrant was obtained
and executed for those premises. Unlike the instant facts,
the affidavit there did not contain any information
obtained as a result of the initial entry. Thus, the Court
could have used the “redaction” analysis from Franks
v. Delaware to sustain the validity of the search con-
ducted pursuant to the warrant.

Instead, the Court, citing Wong Sun v. United States,
371 U.S. 471 (1963), focused upon whether the search
warrant was a means sufficiently distinguishable to purge
the evidence of any taint arising from the prior entry,

10

Segura, Supra, at p. 608. The Court ultimately concluded
that suppression of the fruits of the search conducted
pursuant to a warrant was unnecessary because “the
illegal entry into [defendants’] apartment did not con-
tribute in any way to discovery of the evidence seized
under the warrant.” The Court observed:

“None of the information on which the warrant
was secured was derived from or related in any
way to the initial entry into petitioners’ apartment;
the information came from the agents well before
the initial entry. No information obtained during the
initial entry or occupation of the apartment was
needed or used by the agents to secure the warrant.
It is therefore beyond dispute that the information
possessed by the agents before they entered the
apartment constituted an independent source for
the discovery and seizure of the evidence now chal-
lenged. This evidence was discovered the day follow-
ing the entry, during the search conducted under
a valid warrant; it was the product of a search,
that search, wholly unrelated to the prior entry.
The valid warrant search was a ‘means sufficiently
distinguishable’ to purge the evidence of any ‘taint’
arising from the entry.” Segura v. U.S., Supra, 82
L.Ed.2d at p. 614.

It would be difficult to argue seriously that Agent
Braziel’s illegal observations at the Sylvan Drive residence
the day before he included same in his warrant affidavit
“did not contribute in any way to the discovery of evi-
dence seized under the warrant”, Segura v. U.S.,—~—
Supra, at p. 614.

The warrant to search Hebert’s residence is not “at-
tenuated” from, but rather is substantially based upon ©
the prior illegal entry of that same residence, on that

11

same day. Agent Braziel’s purpose in entering those
premises was to gain information regarding the Chevro-
let vehicle he had seen enter the garage. It was what
Braziel heard and smelled while the car was inside that
caused him to stop that vehicle and it was what he
smelled at the time he arrested its occupants that he
related to the Magistrate as probable cause to re-enter
and search Hebert’s residence. The sequence of these
events are inextricably intertwined with the Agent’s initial
illegal entry of those premises. The fruits of these per-
adventures should have been suppressed. This Court
should grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

2. EVEN IF THE FRANKS’ “REDACTION”
ANALYSIS WERE APPROPRIATE, THE
TRIAL COURT’S EXORCISM WAS IN-
SUFFICIENT TO REMOVE THE TAINT.

As a remedy for what the trial Court below described
as a “severe” invasion of Hebert’s privacy, that Court
excised the portion “regarding the three thuds heard by
Agent Braziel”.

If, as both Courts below suggest, the eavesdropping
at the garage door constituted a “severe invasion of
[Hebert’s] privacy”, then the only other information that
was acquired by these officers which could have possibly
ripened into probable cause was the odor of marijuana
emanating from Granger’s car after he was arrested.

However, arrest was based upon Agent Braziel’s be-
lief that marijuana was secreted in Granger’s vehicle.
Granger’s car was seized because of what Agent Braziel
had heard and smelled while eavesdropping at petitioner’s
garage door.

12

“Q. Why did you decide to stop and arrest Mr.
Granger in the Chevrolet automobile?

A. Based on everything I just got through saying
I felt like the vehicle was loaded with marijuana
and no surveillance officers saw anything re-
moved from the trunk of the car.”

Therefore, Granger’s arrest and the subsequent smell
of marijuana from the Chevrolet are the direct fruit
of Braziel’s prior “severe invasion of privacy” of petition-
ers home. Accordingly, it should not serve as probable
cause to re-enter and search the same residence with a
warrant.

To do so would allow officers to lift an illegal search
by its own bootstraps, converting a prior illegal, war-
rantless search into probable cause to issue a warrant
for the same residence.

Properly redacted, the affidavit did not set forth prob-
able cause for a search of either 1713 Sylvan Drive or
Granger’s car.

It is clear that the trial court properly excised the
portion of the affidavit “regarding the three thuds heard
by Agent Braziel.” However, at a minimum, the trial
court should as well have excised that portion of the
affidavit which recites that Agent Braziel smelled the
odor of marijuana emanating from the trunk of the car
in which Granger was arrested; that arrest being the
direct and temporally proximate result of a prior war-
rantless illegal search of the very premises which the
officers sought to reenter and search.

Agent Braziel should not have been allowed to utilize
as support for a warrant to search this private residence

13

information gained as a result of an arrest which was
itself based in substantial part upon a prior illegal entry
of that same residence. The fruits of that search should
have been suppressed. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be granted.

CONCLUSION

There is a serious question in need of resolution as
to what test courts should apply when information ob-
tained from a prior illegal entry is utilized to secure a
warrant to re-enter those same premises. The recent
decisions of the Honorable Court are in conflict. A Writ
of Certiorari should issue to review the Judgment and
Opinion of the Fifth Circuit and resolve this dispute.

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD H. GOLDSTEIN

RALPH A. LOPEZ

GOLDSTEIN, GOLDSTEIN & HILLEY
29th Floor Tower Life Building
San Antonio, Texas 78205

GERALD H. GOLDSTEIN
Texas Bar #08101000

Attorneys for Petitioner,
ROYCE DAVID HEBERT

14

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three copies of the foregoing
Petition for Writ of Certiorari have been mailed to the
U.S. Attorney’s Office, Western District of Texas, on this
the 3d day of May, 1985.

GERALD H. GOLDSTEIN

A-1
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES of America,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.
Clifford J. ANTONE,
Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES of America,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.

Royce David HEBERT,
Defendant-Appellant.

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

|
|
UNITED STATES of America, :
|

Mikal Habeeb AMUNY,
Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES of America,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
Vv.

Aaron MAXWELL,
Defendant-Appellant.

Nos. 84-1299, 84-1302, 84-1308 and 84-1315.
United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
February 11, 1985.

Pursuant to their pleas, defendants were convicted in
the United States District Court for the Western District

A-2

of Texas, James R. Nowlin, J., on marijuana conspiracy
charges, and they appealed. The Court of Appeals, Gee,
Circuit Judge, held that: (1) probable cause existed for
warrantless arrests of certain defendants at restaurant;
(2) district court had a sufficient factual basis to accept
certain defendant’s guilty pleas; (3) defendant, whose
fingerprints were found only on a spiral-ring notebook in
the house, lacked standing to contest search of the house
which was found to have contained marijuana; and (4)
search warrant was based on sufficient probable cause
even without evidence supplied by DEA agent’s illegal
entry into house; thus, trial court’s redaction of the search
warrant and ruling admitting the evidence obtained in the
search of defendant’s residence were correct.

Affirmed.

Edward C. Prado, U.S. Atty., Sidney Powell, Archie
Carl Pierce, Asst. U.S. Attorneys., San Antonio, Tex., for
plaintiff-appellee.

Charles R. Burton, Michael Tigar, Amanda Birrell,
Austin, Tex., for Antone.

Gerald H. Goldstein, Ralph A. Lopez, San Antonio,
Tex., for Hebert.

Dick DeGuerirt; Houston, Tex., for Amuny.

Michael Kennedy, Joseph Calluori, New York City,
for Maxwell.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Western District of Texas.

Before GEE, REAVLEY and RANDALL, Circuit
Judges.

GEE, Circuit Judge:

A-3

The appellants, Clifford J. Antone, Mikal Habeeb
Amuny, Aaron Maxwell, and Royce Hebert, were indicted
on charges relating to marijuana possession and distribu-
tion. After the district court denied their pretrial motions
to suppress evidence, the appellants each pleaded guilty
to one count of conspiracy, reserving their rights to appeal
the district court’s rulings to this Court. We hold that the
district court’s rulings were correct and affirm the appel-
lants’ convictions.

The charges against the appellants in this case arise
from the same factual background. Each appellant, how-
ever, advances different arguments in this appeal. Our
opinion therefore first presents a summary of the facts of
the case and then separately analyzes each appellant’s
claims.

I. Facts

During late October 1982, United States Customs
Officer David Harrison received information from a con-
fidential informant who had previously provided Harrison
with information that led to six arrests and five convic-
tions on marijuana charges. The informant stated that
Allan Granger and a person named Randy were to meet
Clifford Antone and Mikal Amuny in Austin, Texas to
obtain a quantity of marijuana. The informant also said
that the marijuana was to be flown to Austin, but that he
did not know where the plane was to land.

Officer Harrison immediately relayed this information
to Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Agent Rich-
ard Braziel in Austin. Agent Braziel called Robert Nester-
off, a narcotics officer with the Texas Department of Pub-
lic Safety, and asked him to conduct surveillance of

A-4

Antone’s and Amuny’s residences and of a club operated
by Antone. Nesteroff did so, but observed nothing out of
the ordinary.

On November | the informant told Officer Harrison
than Granger was in the Austin area and that the mari-
juana had arrived there. The informant stated that Gran-
ger was to meet Antone and Amuny at 7:00 that evening
to receive the marijuana, adding that Granger was driving
a white and blue Chevrolet Monte Carlo with Texas
license number PCQ-658. Harrison relayed this informa-
tion to Braziel. Braziel, who had been investigating An-
tone and Amuny since 1979, knew from another reliable
informant that Antone usually conducted drug transac-
tions in the parking lots of Jo-Jo’s and Denny’s restau-
rants located at the intersection of Oltorf Street and Inter-
state 35 in Austin and that Antone used a black or His-
panic male to make the pick up and delivery.

Agent Braziel and several other agents established sur-
veillance of the residences of Antone and Amuny and of
the Jo-Jo’s and Denny’s restaurants. Between 7:00 and
7:30 p.m., Braziel saw Antone in the Jo-Jo’s parking lot
standing next to a black Lincoln Continental registered to
Amuny and talking with an unidentified black male. A
second black male, later identified as appellant Aaron
Maxwell, climbed out of a Chevrolet pickup camper and
walked over to Antone and the unknown man. The three
men talked briefly, and Antone and the unknown man
then left in the Lincoln. Maxwell followed in his camper,
and the two vehicles arrived at Antone’s house a short
time later.

Officer Nesteroff had been watching Amuny’s residence, ~
where a blue Oldsmobile was parked. At about 7:00 p.m.,
a Buick registered to Amuny arrived. Shortly thereafter,

A-5

Maxwell arrived in the camper, parked, and drove away
in the blue Oldsmobile. Maxwell drove first to one of
Antone’s nightclubs, then to Jo-Jo’s restaurant. Mean-
while, the agents at Antone’s residence observed Amuny’s
Buick parked on the wrong side of the street and blocking
Antone’s driveway. Antone and Amuny got into the Buick
and drove to Jo-Jo’s. Agents at Jo-Jo’s spotted Granger's
Monte Carlo at Jo-Jo’s at this time.

Ten minutes later, Maxwell left in Granger’s Monte
Carlo and drove to a nearby convenience store where he
made a brief telephone call. He then drove to a house at
1713 Sylvan Drive that the agents believed to be a “stash
house” for marijuana. Royce Hebert was the owner of this
house. Maxwell drove into the garage, closing the garage
door behind him. Agent Braziel. pursuing the car on foot,
ran beside the house and hid in bushes near the garage.
Braziel heard “thuds” of something heavy being put into
the trunk of the car and then heard the trunk lid slammed.
The garage door opened and Maxwell drove the car away.
Braziel then approached the garage and was able to smell
marijuana when he put his nose close to the door.

Maxwell drove Granger’s car back to Jo-Jo’s and went
inside. After a few minutes Granger left the restaurant,
got into his car, and drove away. The agents followed
Granger to the first traffic light on an access road to the
interstate and blocked his car. As the agents approached
his car, they noticed a strong odor of marijuana. The
agents arrested Granger and later obtained a warrant to
search Granger’s car. The search disclosed 56 pounds of
marijuana in the trunk.

Meanwhile, other agents arrested Antone, Amuny, and
Maxwell as they were leaving the restaurant. The agents

A-6

also obtained a search warrant for the house on Sylvan
Drive. The search of that house disclosed a basement full
of marijuana and that the two upstairs bedrooms were
being used for growing, drying, and packaging marijuana.
The agents also found several firearms in the master bed-
room and scales and marijuana processing equipment in
the hall closet. The agents found over 800 pounds of
marijuane in the house, along with numerous documents
and ledgers indicating marijuana buyers, amounts pur-
chased, and prices.

After the appellants’ arrest, a grand jury returned a
three-count indictment against them, which was _ super-
ceded by a four-count indictment. This indictment
charged the appellants with distribution of marijuana,
possession of marijuana with intent to distribute, and con-
spiracy to distribute and to possess with intent to dis-
tribute marijuana. The appellants made several pretrial
evidentiary motions, which the district court denied. The
appellants then entered into plea agreements under which
they pleaded guilty to one count of conspiracy and pre-
served their rights to appeal the district court’s rulings
on their pretrial motions. The district court accepted the
appellants’ guilty pleas, sentenced each appellant to five
years imprisonment, and fined each $15,000.

II. Discussion of Appellants’ Cases
A. Appellant Clifford J. Antone

Antone appeals from the district court’s ruling that the
agents had sufficient probable cause to arrest him at Jo-
Jo’s without a warrant and the court’s refusal on that
basis to suppress his arrest and the search of his person.
made incident to the arrest. Antone also argues that he

anise eas ected 0snisa

A-7

pleaded guilty involuntarily and that the district court had
an insufficient factual basis upon which to accept his

guilty plea.

1. Warrantless Arrest

[1,2] Antone contends that the agents lacked probable
cause to arrest him at Jo-Jo’s without a warrant. Probable
cause to arrest exists when the facts and circumstances
within the knowledge of the arresting officer are sufficient
to cause a person of reasonable caution to believe that
an offense has been or is being committed. United States
v. Woolery, 670 F.2d 513, 515 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,
459 U.S. 835, 103 S.Ct. 78, 74 L.Ed.2d 75 (1982). The
probable cause issue must be analyzed under the “totality
of the circumstances” as to whether there is a “fair prob-
ability” that a crime is occurring. Illinois v. Gates, 462
USS. 213, 103 S.Ct. 2317, 2332, 76 L.Ed.2d 527 (1983);
United States v. Marbury, 732 F.2d 390, 395-96 (Sth
Cir. 1984). The probable cause requirement does “not
demand any showing that such a belief is correct or more
likely true than false.” Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S. 730,
103 S.Ct. 1535, 1543, 75 L.Ed.2d 502 (1983).

[3] The facts of this case indicate that the agents had
probable cause to arrest Antone and to conduct a search
incident to the arrest. Before Antone’s arrest, the agents
had received specific and detailed information concerning
the marijuana transaction from informants who had pro-
vided reliable information in the past. The informants
told the agents when, where, and how the transaction
would occur. The agents’ surveillance corroborated the
informants’ tips. These facts, viewed in the totality of the
circumstances, established probable cause. See United
States v. Cisneros-Mireles, 739 F.2d 1000, 1002-03 (Sth

A-8

Cir. 1984); United States v. Mendoza, 722 F.2d 96, 101-
02 (Sth Cir. 1983).

2.- Factual Basis of Guilty Plea

Antone next contends that the district court erred in
accepting his guilty plea because the government failed
to establish a sufficient factual basis of his guilt. Antone
argues that the facts the government offered show merely
that Antone was in the Jo-Jo’s restaurant at the time the
alleged criminal activity occurred, adding that the district
court had no basis to conclude that he understood the
charges against him at the time he pleaded guilty because
the district court did not inform him of the “esoteric na-
ture of the conspiracy count.”

[4,5] These contentions are meritless. To support a
guilty plea, the prosecutor must present evidence to the
subjective satisfaction of the district court which indicates
that a defendant actually committed the offense to which
he is pleading guilty. United States v. Davila, 698 F.2d
715 (Sth Cir. 1983). At the re-arraignment hearing (at
which the district court accepted the appellants’ guilty
pleas), the prosecutor set forth the facts he expected the
evidence at trial to show and read pertinent portions of
the indictment. He stated that he would introduce evi-
dence to show that the agents observed Antone talking
with a black male in Jo-Jo’s parking lot on the evening
of November 1 and that the agents observed Amuny
and Antone drive together from Antone’s residence to
Jo-Jo’s that evening. The prosecutor also stated that he
would show that personal documents belonging to Antone
were found in the agents’ search of the house on Sylvan
Drive and that the agents found a beeper device on An- —
tone’s person and a corresponding beeper in the house.

A-9

Finally, the prosecutor stated that eight telephone calls
were made from July 1 to October 16, 1982, between a
phone used by Allan Granger and Antone’s residence or
the beeper found on Antone at the time of his arrest. The
prosecutor’s presentation of these facts provided the dis-
trict court with a sufficient basis on which to conclude
that Antone was guilty of the offense to which he was
pleading guilty.’

In addition, the district court followed the dictates of
Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure to
the letter at Amntone’s sentencing hearing in assessing
whether Antone understood the charge against him and
the significance of his guilty plea. See United States v.
Araiza, 693 F.2d 382, 384 (Sth Cir. 1982). The court
specifically asked Antone whether he had committed the
offenses charged, and Antone answered, “Yes, sir.” The
court then asked Antone: “That’s what you are pleading
guilty to?” and Antone again replied “Yes, sir.” Moreover,
Antone was represented by two competent and experi-

1. In addition, each defendant was present when the indictment
was read in open court. Count One, to which the defendants pleaded
guilty, stated in pertinent part:

On or about November Ist, 1982, in the Western District of
Texas and diverse other places to the grand jurors unknown
Defendants Clifford J. Antone, Mikal Habeeb Amuny, Allan
Joseph Granger, Royce David Hebert also known as Roy Sneed,
and Aaron Maxwell unlawfully, willfully, knowingly did combine,
conspire, confederate and agree together and with each other to
distribute and possess with intent to distribute marijuana, a
Schedule 1 controlled substance contrary to Title 21, United
States Code, Section 841(a)(1) and in violation of Title 21,
United States Code, Section 846.
Thereafter the court addressed each in identical terms regarding the
charge. Antone’s colloquy with the court was as follows:
THE COURT: Mr. Antone, is that what you did?
MR. ANTONE: Yes, sir.
THE COURT: That’s what you are pleading guilty to?
MR. ANTONE: Yes, sir.

A-10

enced criminal trial attorneys during this phase of the
proceedings. Nothing in the record indicates that Antone
failed to understand the charges against him. See United
States v. Dayton, 604 F.2d 931, 938 (Sth Cir. 1979) (en
banc), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 904, 100 S.Ct. 1080, 63
L.Ed.2d 320 (1980).

3. Voluntariness of Antone’s Plea

[6] Antone’s final contentions concern the voluntari-
ness of his guilty plea and alleged government misconduct.
Antone contends that the government deceived him by
stating that only Royce Hebert had standing to object to
the search of the house on Sylvan Drive. Because of this
“misrepresentation,” Antone argues, he believed that the
evidence seized in the search of the house could be used
against him at trial. Therefore, Antone contends, he
pleaded guilty involuntarily. Antone also claims that the
government violated its plea agreement with him by pro-
viding Texas authorities with information that they used
to levy a sales tax on the marijuana transactions in which
Antone took part.

These contentions are meritless. The record discloses
no action or misrepresentation by the government that
prevented Antone from establishing his standing to con-
test the search. See Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 133-
34, 99 S.Ct. 421, 425-26, 58 L.Ed.2d 387, 394-95
(1978). Furthermore, the record indicates that Antone
had no reasonable expectation of privacy in the house.
Finally, the record contains no evidence regarding the
Texas tax authorities on Antone’s alleged tax liability.
This issue is therefore not properly before us.

A-11

B. Appellant Mikal Habeeb Amuny

Amuny argues on appeal that the agents lacked prob-
able cause to arrest him at JoJo’s restaurant and that
the district court had an insufficient factual basis upon
which to accept his guilty plea.

1. Warrantless Arrest

Amuny contends, as did Antone, that the agents lacked
probable cause to arrest him as he left Jo-Jo’s restaurant.
Amuny’s argument is identical to Antone’s on this point.
For the reasons stated in the discussion of Antone’s
argument on this issue, we hold that the district court
correctly ruled that the agents had sufficient probable
cause to arrest Amuny without a warrant.

2. Factual Basis of Guilty Plea

[7] Amuny also contends that the district court had
an insufficient factual basis on which to accept his guilty
plea. As we have noted earlier, the prosecutor must pre-
sent evidence sufficient to provide the district court with
a basis to conclude to the court’s subjective satisfaction
that a defedant is guilty of the offense to which ke is
pleading guilty before the court can accept the guilty
plea. United States v. Davila, 698 F.2d 715 (Sth Cir.
1983). Here, the prosecutor’s summary of evidence to be
presented at trial (which Amuny quotes and adopts as
his statement of what the evidence would have shown)
indicates that the district court had ample facts to satisiy
itself of Amuny’s guilt. These facts included evidence of
Amuny’s fingerprints, personal belongings, and trans-
action records found in the house on Sylvan Drive and
testimony concerning Amuny’s association with the other
defendants. The district court did not err in accepting
Amuny’s guilty plea.

A-12

C. Appellant Aaron Maxwell

The sole issue that Maxwell raises on appeal is whether
the district court properly denied his motion to suppress
evidence taken from the house on Sylvan Drive. After
Maxwell’s arrest and indictment, he sought to challenge
the agents’ search of the house. Maxwell contends that he
had standing to contest this search and that the magistrate
lacked probable cause to issue the warrant. In ruling on
Maxwell’s motion to suppress, the district court concluded
that Maxwell had no standing to object to the search. The
court also ruled that the agents’ affidavit supporting their
request for a search warrant contained sufficient facts to
establish probable cause and to justify the magistrate’s
issuance of a search warrant.

[8-10] We conclude that the district court correctly
ruled that Maxwell lacked standing to contest the search
of the house on Sylvan Drive. A defendant has the burden
of establishing his right to contest a search or seizure of a
person or property. United States v. Salvucci, 448 US.
83, 86, 100 S.Ct. 2547, 2549-50, 65 L.Ed.2d 619, 624-
25 (1980). To establish standing to contest a search, the
defendant must show that he had a “legitimate expecta-
tion of privacy” in the area search. Rakas v. Illinois, 439
U.S. 128, 143, 99 S.Ct. 421, 430, 58 L.Ed.2d 387, 401
(1978). A defendant’s legitimate presence on the searched
premises, without more, is insufficient to establish stand-
ing. Id. at 142-43, 99 S.Ct. 430, 58 L.Ed.2d at 400-01.

[11] Under the standard the Supreme Court has set
forth, Maxwell has no standing to contest the search of
the house. The agents found no clothes or personal be-
longings of Maxwell’s in the house. Maxwell’s fingerprints -
were found only on a spiral-ring notebook in the house.

A-13

The only evidence Maxwell presented to the district court
in support of his contention were Maxwell’s own affidavit
and an affidavit of Royce Hebert. The district court’s con-
clusion that Maxwell had no legitimate expectation of
privacy in the house and that Maxwell therefore lacked
standing to contest the search was correct. See United
States v. Briones-Garza, 680 F.2d 417, 420 (Sth Cir.),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 916, 103 S.Ct. 229, 74 L.Ed.2d
181 (1982). The probable cause issue is discussed in the
next segment of our opinion.

D. Appellant Royce Hebert

After his arrest and indictment, Hebert mcved to sup-
press all evidence seized from the house on Sylvan Drive,
which was his residence. Hebert argued that Agent Bra-
ziel’s entry onto the premises without a warrant when
Maxwell drove into the garage tainted the search of the
house conducted after the agents had obtained a warrant.
Because of this taint, Hebert contends, the district court
was required to suppress the evidence seized in the search
as a “fruit of the poisonous tree.”

The district court agreed that Braziel’s entry onto the
premises was illegal. The court, however, refused to sup-
press the evidence, ruling that even absent Braziel’s ob-
servations sufficient probable cause existed to justify the
issuance of the search warrant. The court therefore used
the remedy the Supreme Court authorized in Franks v.
Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98 S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2d
667 (1978), and “purged the taint” by redacting the
portions of the agents’ affidavit that related to Braziel’s
illegal entry. On appeal, Hebert contends that the district
court’s redaction remedy was insufficient to purge the
evidence of the taint of Braziel’s illegal entry and that
the court should have suppressed the evidence.

A-14

{i2, 13] A court should interpret a search warrant
and its supporting probable cause in a realistic and com-
monsense manner. United States v. Maestas, 546 F.2d
1177, 1180 (5th Cir. 1977). Viewing the search war-
rant involved here in this manner, we conclude that the
watrant was clearly based on sufficient probable cause
even without the evidence supplied by Braziel’s illegal
entry. The affidavit the agents submitted to the magi-
strate to support their request for a search warrant set
out numerous facts in great detail; Agent Braziel’s ob-
servations constitute only a small part of the information
presented to the magistrate. The district court’s redaction
of the search warrant and the court’s ruling on the ad-
missibility of the evidence obtained in the search of
Hebert’s residence were correct.

For the reasons stated, we conclude that the district
court’s evidentiary rulings and the court’s acceptance of
the appellants’ guilty pleas were correct. The judgment
of the district court is therefore

AFFIRMED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0184%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
