# Opposition Brief — Bowen v. Oklahoma

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0178%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 473 U.S. 911

## Text

JUN 27 PAGE 3

-
C...
©
> |
adhd
a |
co
=<
—
—*
—
=<
—_
Fg)
benched
cS

Supreme Court, WS.
2 ee ee

os,
LY JUN 7 1985

No. 84-1741 {
ALEXANDER L. STEVAS

CLERK

—

ene

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

CLIFFORD HENRY BOWEN,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Respondent.

RESPONSE IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL C. TURPEN
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

ROBERT A. NANCE *
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
DEPUTY CHIEF, FEDERAL DIVISION

ROBERT W. COLE
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, OK 73105 ’
(405) 521-3921

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

* Counsel of Record June, 1985

No. 84-1741

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

CLIFFORD HENRY BOWEN,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Respondent.

RESPONSE IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL C. TURPEN
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF OKLAHOMA

ROBERT A. NANCE *
ASSISTANT ‘ATTORNEY GENERAL
DEPUTY CHIEF, FEDERAL DIVISION

ROBERT W. COLE
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-3921
ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

* Counsel of Record June, 1985

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the Due Process Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment requires the
State to reveal to the Defendant inves-
tigatory leads which are deadends, even
in the absence of a request by the De-

fendant.

2. Whether an experienced criminal
defense lawyer calling twelve alibi wit-
nesses in the first stage of a capital
murder case, but calling no witnesses
nor making any argument in the sentenc-
ing stage deprived the Defendant of ef-

fective assistance of counsel.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
OQueations Pregented 1. « 6 ss ee 8 i
Taeee ae: Cee & 6S 8 Ks ee Oe Se

Opinion and Judgment
DOLAVOEOG -DOAOW bs cos the 4 we ee 1

Jurisdiction * a es e e m . es - a * e 2

Constitutional Provisions
ang Statutes Involved « . «sess s « 2

Statement of the Casé ...+s-«sss 3
A. Preomeducal BRietoty ..«s + + 3
B. Statement of the Facts ... +
Summary of the Argument ....... 16

Why the Writ of Certiorari
BHOULG Ge DORiGG -..46.4 sw den een

I.

THE REJECTED INVESTIGATORY
LEAD COMPLAINED OF BY THE DE-
FENDANT WOULD NOT HAVE CREATED
A REASONABLE DOUBT REGARDING
HIS GUILT AND NEED NOT HAVE
BEEN PROVIDED BY THE PROSECU-
TION IN THE ABSENCE OF A _ RE-
Gee 6 See ee ee ee eae a ee

Il.
DEFENDANT'S ATTORNEY GAVE HIM
CONSTITUTIONALLY EFFECTIVE AS-
SIiGTAMGe Bi TRANG. «2+ s ts ew st ee se

eee ae ee a ne ce ee ce ee ee

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Cited

Bowen v. State of Oklahoma,

No. P-81-315 .. 2 «© « « « @ e@

Daugherty v. State,
640 P.2d 558 (Okl. Cr.

oy ee ee et ae eee oe ee oe ae

Hall v. State,
é' 650 P.2d 893 (Okl.Cr.
Rees s 6. oe et ae -ehe

Irvin v. State,
617 P.2d 588 (Okl.Cr.
Beee) «sé © oe «se. © *

Moore v. Illinois,
606 0.8; 7e6- 12974). « &-<

Strickland v. Washington,
U.S. , 104 S. Ct.
__, 80 L. Ed. 24 674
(29e? «0 * a 51s wD
30, 31-32,
United States v. Agurs,
427 0.8. 97 (1976) . «6 «

Unit# States v. Chronic,
U.S. , 104 S. Ct.
__ , 80 L. Ed. 2d 657
[Beeel «és Blac we ee

United States v. Glick,
710 F.2d 639
(16008 Ceti 2eeel «6 «6 « «

38,

20,

Page

* l
o a
« 20
« 36
22, 23
27, 29
39, 40
19,
23, 24
s iee
. =a

iv
Statutory Provisions Cited
26 GuhsOi§ ABS? nk ee 2
21 0.8.Supp.1980, § 701.7 . « « « « « 3

Constitutional Provisions Cited

United States Constitution,
Bae meen: a 6 6 @ © 8@ © 6 2

United States Constitution,
Fourteenth Amendment, § 1... . 3

sate mama ae

No. 84-1741

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

CLIFFORD HENRY BOWEN,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
Respondent.

RESPONSE IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Respondent, State of Oklahoma,
respectfully presents this as its Re-
sponse in Opposition to the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari filed herein.

OPINION AND JUDGMENT DELIVERED BELOW
The Oklahoma Court of Criminal Ap-

peals' opinion in Bowen v. State of

Oklahoma, No. F-81-315, was rendered on

November 30, 1984. The Oklahoma Court

2
of Criminal Appeals denied the Petition-
er's Motion for Rehearing on March 8,

1985.

JURISDICTION
The Petitioner invokes jurisdiction

of this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The following provisions of the
United States Constitution are applica-
ble to this case.

The Sixth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides as follows:

"In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right to a
speedy and public trial,,by an im-
partial jury of the State and dis-
trict wherein the crime shall have
been committed, which district shall
have been previously ascertained by
law, and to be informed of the na-
ture and cause of the accusation; to
be confronted with the witnesses
against him; to have compulsory pro-
cess for obtaining witnesses in his
favor, and to have the Assistance of
Counsel for his defence."

3

The Fourteenth Amendment, § l, to
the United States Constitution provides
as follows:

“SECTION 1. All persons born or
naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the State wherein they
reside. No State shall make or en-
force any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, with-
out due process of law; nor deny to
any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Procedural History
Clifford Henry Bowen, hereinafter
Defendant, was convicted on March 13,
1981, after jury trial in the District
Court of Oklahoma County, State of Okla-
homa, in that court's Case No. CRF-80-
3397 of three counts of First Degree
Murder under 21 0O.S.Supp.1980, § 701.7.

The jury sentenced the Defendant to die

4
in each count. The trial court over-
ruled the Defendant's Motion for New
Trial, and Amended Motion for New Trial
on May 7, 1981, and judgment and sen-
tence were imposed on that date.

The Defendant perfected his direct
appeal to the Oklahoma Court of Criminal
Appeals, in that court's Case No. F-81l-
315, and that court remanded the case to
the trial court for an evidentiary hear-
ing on the Defendant's second Motion for
New Trial. The trial judge, the Honor-
able Raymond Naifeh, conducted an evi-
dentiary hearing on that motion on Sep-
tember 29-30, 1983, and submitted Find-
ings of Fact and Conclusions of Law on
October 26, 1983. Thereafter, the De-
fendant filed a supplemental appellate

brief in the Court of Criminal Appeals.

B. Statement of the Facts
On July 5, 1980, during the evening

hours, a group of guests at the Guest

5

House Inn assembled by the pool. Mary
Chilton. a night office clerk at the mo-
tel, worked until 10:00 p.m., and then
joined her friends at pool side (Tr.
289). Later that evening, she notice a
man who was not a guest at the motel
(Tr. 292), standing at the concession
stand, leaning upon the candy machine
(Tr. 311). It was part of her duties to
keep intruders off the premises (Tr.
292).

Harold Behrens, ondietendine: of the
Petitioner and one of the individuals at
pool side, placed his hand upon the
shoulder of Ray Peters, who is one of
the decedents, said “see you tomorrow,"
and left via the concession area (Tr.
294). Such physical contact upon part-
ing company was not Behrens’ normal
practice (Tr. 422). Then, Mary Chilton

also left by way of the concession area.

16
This area is very well Jit by flood-
lights from the roofline (Tr. 234, 312),
lights on the ceiling of the vending ma-
chine area (Tr. 232, 298-99), and light
from the vending machines’ themselves
ees Bet) All of the above-mentioned
lights were on (ir. 298). Mary Chilton
walked within three feet of the man and
looked right at him (Tr. 295). She had
no trouble seeing the Defendant's face
‘ey See pg te In addition, Mary Chilton
had a good view of the Defendant when
she was sitting at the pool side (Tr.
308). She gave an accurate description
of the Defendant's height, weight, and
physical stature (Tr. 307). The Defen-
dant had a pale complexion (Tr. 317).
This was substantiated by others (Tr.
355). Mary Chilton "memorized" the De-
fendant's face (Tr. 13), and there was

no doubt in her mind that the Defendant

7

Oe nse antes mone
‘

was the man that she saw at the conces-
sion stand (Tr. 293, 295, 326).

Carrie Pitchford, her husband, and
her daughter also were pool side (Tr.
331). The family left the pool area at
1:30 a.m. and went to their room (Tr.
332). While her husband and her daugh-
ter went to bed immediately, Carrie did
not. She thought about going back out
and twice looked out the window to see
if any of the women were still by the
pool (Tr. 333). She looked out a third
time and saw a large, pale complected
man, subsequently identified as_~ the
Defendant, leaning upon a machine at the
concession stand (Tr. 335). The Defen-
dant looked straight up at Carrie Pitch-
ford so that she could see his full face
(Tr. 336). She viewed the Defendant for
"one full minute or more." (Tr. 354.)
The lighting was very good; it was simi-

lar to a stage (Tr. 339, 349). Carrie

8

Pitchford had not been drinking that
evening (Tr. 343). She had no trouble
seeing the Defendant's features (Tr.
339), and there was no doubt in her mind
that the Defendant was the man whom she
had seen that evening (Tr. 336). As
soon as Carrie laid down, she heard gun-
fire, jumped up, and saw one of the de-
cedents slump in his pool side chair
(Te. 337).

The manager of the motel noticed an
individual in the concession area (Tr.
359). The description of the individual
and his attire were substantially the
same as the description given by other
witnesses. The manager also saw a car
with womeone sitting in it (Tr. 360).
The manager and his wife heard "fire-
crackers" and then noticed an individ-
ual, with a red cap in his hand, shoot-
ing a gun (Tr. 361). The manager sum-

moned the police (Tr. 363). As this was

Se

9
being done, a car exited the motel park-
ing lot at a high rate of speed (Tr.
364).

When the police arrived, they found
three men sitting at a pool side table,
all of whom had at least two gunshot
wounds (Tr. 209). Six .45 caliber spent
casings were found, as well as one lead
projectile (Tr. 210). At 2:30 ealie,
photographs of the scene were taken, and
the lighting of the premises, with the
assistance of two flashlights, was ade-
quate with which to take photographs
(Fe... .220).. There were floodlights upon
the roofline (Tr. 234), lighting upon
the ceiling of the vending machine area
(Tr. 232), lighting from the vending
machines themselves (Tr.237), and light-
ing from the motel sign (Tr. 237). The
lighting was so good that the photog-

rapher stated that "I could load my

10
camera, read my settings, read the tape
measure" (Tr. 235).

On July 6, an autopsy was performed
upon all three bodies. The death of Ray
Peters was caused by two gunshot wounds
to the head which resulted in extensive
lacerations and a brain hemorrage (Tr.
£94) « Loose gunpowder was found upon
the body; therefore, the gun was dis-
charged within two feet of the body (Tr.
+ FS Lawrence Evans had three gunshot
wounds inflicted by hollow point bullets
(Tr. 256-57). The cause of death was
the wounds (Tr. 260). Marvin Nowlin had
two gunshot wounds which caused his
death (Tr. 268). Pathological symptoms
of drug use were found in Peters and
Nowlin (Tr. 271). All of the cartridges
were fired from the same gun (Tr. 279).
Hollow point bullets were used to caused

greater damage upon impact (Tr. 283).

Maitre?

11

In an effort to connect’ Harold
Behrens, a co-defendant, with the Defen-
dant and to provide a motive, the testi-
mony of two additional witnesses was
introduced. In 1975, David McBride
supervised the organized crime detail of
the Oklahoma City Police Department.
Harold Behrens, an ex-police officer,
was asSigned to participate in the sur-
veillance of Jerry Ray James and the
Defendant (Tr. 405). During the later
stages of the investigation, Harold
Behrens resigned from the police depart-
ment (Tr. 408). Immediately after the
resignation, Jerry James and the Defen-
dant disappeared from Oklahoma City (Tr.
409).

Jack Zumwalt testified that he lived
with and was lover of Harold Behrens
(Tr. 421). Harold Behrens made his liv-
ing selling drugs and supported Jack

Zumwalt while they lived together (Tr.

a

12

421). It was not the custom of Harold
Behrens to have physical contact with
people upon parting their company, as he
had done on the early morning hours of
July 6 (Tr. 422). Ray Peters worked for
Harold Behrens as a drug dealer (Tr.
423). In June, Ray Peters had been ar-
rested in Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, for
driving under the influence and drug
charges. Harold Behrens was afraid that
Ray Peters would become an _ informant
(Te. 424). After Jack Zumwalt heard of
Ray Peters' death, he asked Harold
Behrens why Ray Peters and not Jim
Powell, another drug seller. , Harold
Behrens replied, "because we need Jim."
(Tr. 425.)

An arrest warrant was issued for the
Defendant, and Officer Cook went to
Tyler, Texas, to serve it (Tr. 432).
The Defendant was advised of his rights

(Tr. 433). The Defendant was questioned

Pent TaN Si PR Nii

13
about a number of people, but when he
was asked if he knew Harold Behrens, he
glanced down and said no (Tr. 436).

The Defendant presented an alibi de-
fense. He presented numerous witnesses
who claimed that on the evening in ques-
tion, the Defendant was at a rodeo in
Tyler, Texas. The Defendant took the
stand in his own behalf and admitted
that he had two prior felony convictions
(Tr. 546). He claimed that on July 5,
he was not in Oklahoma City (Tr. 549).
He claimed that he has made his living
Since 1971 by gambling and supplemented
that income through the purchase = and
Sale of jewelry and real estate (Tr.
548, 522). The Defendant stated that he
had psoriasis and was told to get as
much sun as possible to remedy the mala-
dy, and consequently, that he had a sun-

tan (Tr. 549). The Defendant further

14
alleged that he knew nothing about guns
(Tr. 552).

Officer Harrison was called to tes-
tify for the defense. The officer stat-
ed that Mary Chilton initially identi-
fied a photograph of another, namely
William Simmons, as the assailant. The
officer attempted to secure an arrest
warrant for Simmons. Upon cross-exami-
nation of Officer Harrison, he revealed
that Mary Chilton never made a positive
identification of Simmons as the assail-
ant (Tr. 654), and that at an in-person
lineup, Mary Chilton said that Simmons
looked like the man but definitely was
not him.

The State produced rebuttal wit-
nesses. The arresting officer stated
that upon arrest the Defendant was
light-complected and did not have a tan

(Tr. 575-76). This was confirmed by

other witnesses (Tr. 580, 583). It was

15

also revealed that there is an airstrip
within four minutes of the rodeo where
the Defendant allegedly was (Tr. 577),
and that a flight from Tyler, Texas, to
the Oklahoma City downtown airpark would
only take between 30-35 minutes (Tr.
581). Records of in and out flights are
not kept, and less than one tank of gas
would be required for the round trip.
It is only 13 minutes from the Guest
House Inn to the downtown airpark (Tr.
584), so that the entire trip would take
less than one hour,

Williams Simmons testified. He is
only 5'8" and 180 pounds, which is a
much smaller frame than the one on the
assailant (Tr. 593). To rebut the pre-
sumption raised by the Defendant that he
knew nothing about guns, it was revealed
that on July 7, 1977, in Plano, Texas, a
search warrant was procured for a home

in which the Defendant resided along

Jian

16
with his wife and another (Tr. 587).
The Defendant was arrested and a search
uncovered an arsenal of weapons (Tr.
587-88).

The Defendant was found guilty of
three counts of Murder in the First
Degree. After the second stage of
trial, the jury determined that three
aggravating circumstances existed and
set the punishment for each count at

death.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Petitioner was not denied due pro-
cess of law in his trial for murder be-
cause the prosecution failed to disclose
information of an investigatory deadend.
At one point, police officer inves-
tigated a man named Lee Crowe, who was
Similar in stature to the Defendant.
However, two eyewitnesses identified the

Defendant rather than Lee Crowe as the

17

man present at the scene of the shoot-
ings. In addition, Crowe had an alibi.
Further, Crowe's fingerprints were not
found near the scene of the crime, nor
were .45 caliber shell casings found at
the crime matched with those which Crowe
had fired as a police officer at a fir-
ing range in South Carolina. The Defen-
dant made no request for exculpatory
evidence prior to trial. The fact that
police at one point inquired regarding
Lee Crowe but later abandoned the in-
quiry when it became clear witnesses
identified the Defendant rather’ than
Crowe in no way creates a reasonable
doubt as to Defendant's guilt, and,
therefore, that evidence is not material
in the constitutional sense.

The Defendant's trial counsel was an
experienced criminal defense lawyer with
30 years' experienced who had previously

been a prosecuting attorney. In the

18
defense case, coutisel presented 12 alibi
witnesses, attempting to show that the
Defendant was not in Oklahoma City at
the time of the murders. Instead, coun-
sel tried to show that Defendant was in
Tyler, Texas, at or near the time of the
shootings. When the jury returned a
guilty verdict for the offenses of gun-
ning down three men in cold blood while
they sat around a motel swimming pool,
it became clear that the alibi defense
did not persuade the jury. In light of
that failure to persuade the jury, coun-
sel made the tactical decision to do
nothing in the sentencing phase. Coun-
sel had successfully used this tactic in
another case. By doing so, counsel
hoped to secure a modification to life
imprisonment should his client be sen-
tenced to die. In any event, the Defen-
dant did not have genuine mitigating

evidence to offer. Even at this late

19
date, no such mitigating evidence is of-
fered to this Court.
WHY THE WRIT OF
CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED

I. THE REJECTED INVESTIGATORY LEAD COM-

PLAINED OF BY THE DEFENDANT WOULD

NOT HAVE CREATED A REASONABLE DOUBT

REGARDING HIS GUILT AND NEED NOT

HAVE BEEN PROVIDED BY THE PROSECU-

TION IN THE ABSENCE OF A REQUEST.

The Defendant concedes that this is
a case in which no request for exculpa-
tory material was made by his trial
counsel. Unless the failure of the
prosecution to provide the information
now complained of deprived the Defendant
of a fair trial, there was no constitu-

tional violation requiring that the ver-

dict be set aside. United States v.

Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 108 (1976). Evalu-
ating the supposediy withheld evidence
in the context of the entire record, the
omitted evidence is only material if it

created a reasonable doubt that did not

20
otherwise exist. Necessarily, only the
withholding of material evidence is con-

stitutional error. Agurs, supra, 427

ee ee ee See, Hall _v. State, 650
P.2d 893, 897 (Okl.Cr. 1982) (where no
request for exculpatory evidence likeli-
hood suppressed evidence would result in
acquittal must be more than a reasonable
probability).

The Lee Crowe lead relied upon by
the Defendant was a false lead initially
checked by police but later discarded
when eyewitnesses at the scene identi-
fied the Defendant as the man who had
laid in wait prior to executing the vic-
tims. Lee Crowe was never identified by
any witness as being anywhere near the
motel's swimming pool at which the three
victims were shot to death. Quite the
comida, seule witnesses positively iden-
tified the Defendant as the man _ who

waited near the motel concession area

21

for others to leave the pool side party
immediately before the three men were
shot to death with hollow-point' .45
caliber bullets. Neither did the .45
caliber automatic shell casings found at
the scene of the triple murder match the
-45 caliber shell casing Crowe had ex-
pended on the police firing range in
South Carolina. See attached Affidavit
of Detectives Cook and Horn, Appendix A.
Finally, police secured a fingerprint
card for Lee Crowe, and compared it with
the fingerprints found at the crime
scene with negative results. See Appen-
dix A.

\
This Court's case of Moore v. Illi-

nois, 408 U.S. 786 (1972), presents an
almost identical factual situation. In
Moore, two eyewitnesses identified the
defendant as the man who shot a bartend-
er following an altercation in a Chicago

area bar. In addition, a bartender in

22
another bar identified a man known to
him as "Slick" as having made statements
tnat he had shot a bartender in Lansing,
sllinois. It was reliably determined
that the defendant Moore was both the
shooter and the man who admitted the
shooting, but that he was not "Slick."
The police assigned a lieutenant to find
"Slick" without success. In that case,
this Court stated:
"We know of no constitutional re-
quirement that the prosecution make
a complete and detailed accounting
to the defense of all police inves-
tigatory work in a case. Here, the
elusive '‘'Slick' was an early lead
the police abandoned when eyewit-
nesses to the killing and witnesses
to Moore's presence at the Ponderosa

Gere: iTOGee. «4 6-47 Moore v. Illi-
nois, 408 U.S. at 795.

In Moore, the Court concluded that in
light of all of the evidence, the wit-
nesses' misidentification of the defen-
dant Moore as "“Slick" was not material
to the issue of guilt. Id., 408 U.S. at

797. The Court came to this conclusion

a a

el ie eealie tal te a a

23
even considering the fact that Moore had
raised an alibi defense that he was
working aS a waiter in a country club
about 50 miles from the scene of the
shooting at the time the murder oc-
curred. Id., 408 U.S. at 790-91.

In light of Agurs and Moore, it is
Clear that the early investigatory lead
of Lee Crowe was not material to the
Defendant's guilt or innocence. te. .42
clear from eyewitnesses to the scene
that the Defendant, not Crowe, was the
shooter. Both witnesses Chilton and
Pitchford selected Defendant positively
from photo arrays also containing Lee
Crowe. Both specifically ruled out
Crowe. It is also clear that the Defen-
dant was tied to Harold Behrens, who was
present at the scene and who uncharac-
teristically pointed out Ray Peters by
placing his hand on his shoulder to in-

dicate to the shooter who his victim

24
was. The fact that the police early on
investigated, but rejected, Lee Crowe as
a suspect creates no reasonable doubt
regarding the Defendant's guilt. The
Constitution does not require disclosure
of improper or trivial information which
"might" affect the jury's deliberation.
It only requires disclosure of evidence
which might give rise to a legitimate

doubt on the issue of guilt. United

States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. at 108-09. .

II. DEFENDANT'S ATTORNEY GAVE HIM CON-
STITUTIONALLY EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE
AT TRIAL.

The Defendant now claims that he was .
denied constitutionally effective coun-

sel by his trial attorney's failure to

file certain motions and to challenge

AT aie”

the evidence of one eyewitness. He fur-
ther complains about counsel's failure
to call the co-defendant, Harold

Behrens, to testify that Behrens did not

25

know him and did not hire him for the
assassination-style killing. He further
challenges counsel's failure to more ef-
fectively rebut the prosecution's "“air-
plane theory" as well as failure to re-
ensue certain instructions and failure
and object to certain comments of the
prosecutor in closing argument. The De-
fendant further challenges his counsel's
failure to submit evidence or argument
in the sentencing phase of the trial.

As an initial matter, the Constitu-
tion does not require criminal defense
counsel to pursue all plausible lines of

defense. United States v. Glick, 710

F.2d 639, 644 (10th Cir. 1983). Where
the Defendant's planned alibi defense
has failed, he is, in hindsight, at-
: tempting to try his attorney by elevat-
ing everything that appellate counsel
might have done differently to the level

of a constitutional failure. This Court

asi

\

26
condemned the “distorting effects of

hindsight" in Strickland v. Washington,

_ U8 ,» 16 &. Ce. . , @ ts Oe.
2d 674, 694 (1984), in stating that
counsel's adequacy must be _ evaluated
based upon counsel's perspective at the
time. The Court also noted that there
are countless ways to provide effective
assistance in any given case. Even the
best criminal defense attorneys would
not defend a particular client in the
same way. Id., 80 L. Ed. 2d at 695.
Further, the Court recognized that coun-
sel is strongly presumed to have render-
ed adequate assistance and made all sig-
nificant decisions in the exercise of
reasonable professional judgment. Id.,
80 L. Ed. 2d at 695.

In discussing the reliance upon rea-
sonable professional judgment, this

Court in Strickland stated:

27

". . - As the Court of Appeals con-
cluded, strategic choices made after
thorough investigation of law and
facts relevant to plausible options
are virtually unchallengeable; and
Strategic choices made after less
than complete investigation are rea-
sonable precisely to the extent that
reasonable professional judgments
support the limitations on investi-
gation. ..." Id., 80 L. Ed. 2d at
695.

As in Strickland, many of the decisions

of counsel in the present case were
strategic choices of an experienced
criminal defense lawyer made in the ex-
ercise of reasonable professional judg-
ment.

For instance, counsel could have
challenged the fact that eyewitness Mary
Chilton had undergone hypnosis prior to
trial. However, Mary Chilton had given
identical testimony before hypnosis, and
a harsh attack on Chilton would have

blunted counsel's attempts to portray

28
the eyewitnesses as honest, but mistak-
en, witnesses. Further, Carrie Pitch-
ford, the other eyewitness, independent-
ly corroborated Mary Chilton without
herself being hypnotized. It is only
speculation to say what co-defendant
Harold Behrens would have testified had
he beer called. Behrers was convicted
and sentenced to life for his role in
the Guest House Inn murders. The deci-
sion not to challenge certain statements
of the prosecutors in closing arguments
were doubtless strategic as well, Par-
ticularly, where the prosecutor's por-
trayal of the Defendant as a profession-
al hit man was supported by the evidence
that he had lain in wait until most po-
tential witnesses had left the pool side
party and he could murder the three re-
maining men with ammunition available in
his .45 caliber automatic pistol. It

was entirely reasonable from the facts

29
demonstrated at trial to say that the
Defendant, who gunned down Ray Peters
and two potential witnesses, in cold
blood at 2:00 a.m., was conducting a
professional “hit.” Extended argument
over the point could only serve to rein-
force the idea in the mind of the jury.
Further, trial counsel had presented a
dozen alibi witnesses, attempting to
place the Defendant in Texas at the time
of the triple murder in Oklahoma City.
Unnecessary argument over prosecutor's
closing remarks could only serve to de-
tract from the force of the alibi testi-
mony. These matters were clearly stra-
tegic made by trial counsel with over 30
years' experience and, as _ such, are

"virtually unchallengeable.” Strickland

v. Washington, 80 L. Ed. 2d at 695.

The Defendant fails on the second

prong of the test announced by the Court

30

in Strickland v. Washington, supra. In

that case, this Court stated:

", . . The defendant must show that
there is a reasonable probability
that, but for counsel's’ unprofes-
sional errors, the result of the
proceeding would have been differ-
ent. A reasonable probability is a
probability sufficient to undermine
confidence in the outcome." Id., 80
L. Ed. 2d at 698.

The only prejudice the Defendant now
identifies to help the Court make the

determination necessary under Strickland

is found on page 24 of the Petition,
where the Defendant claims as prejudice
that he was an innocent man who was 300
miles away from the scene of the crime,
but yet was convicted. However, this
"prejudice" is merely a reassertion of
his alibi defense. The State presented
its eyewitnesses placing the Defendant
at the scene of the triple murder, while
the Defendant presented alibi witnesses
attempting to place him in Texas at the

time of the murders in Oklahoma City.

Gatien es € ttn weet edt An a

31
It cannot be said that the confidence in
the outcome of a criminal trial is in
doubt where a jury must choose, as a
matter of fact and evidence, between two
competing and inconsistent accounts of
the truth. To permit such jury deci-
sions to constitute "prejudice" would

emasculate not only Strickland, but also

the jury system.

Even given Defendant's asserted er-
rors of his trial counsel, there is no
reasonable possibility of a different
result in the guilt phase of his trial.
None of the asserted errors would have
changed the balance which caused. the
jury to credit the eyewitnesses' placing
him at the scene of the murder rather
than the alibi witnesses attempting to

place him in Texas. Strickland makes

clear that the point of the adversarial
system is to produce a just result.

Strickland v. Washington, 80 L. Ed. 2d

32

at 692-93. The point of the adversarial
system is not to contention for the sake
of contention, but instead is to produce
a just result through vigorous but fair
advocacy on both sides. In this sense,
Defendant's trial counsel was more than
adequate and the result was just.

The Defendant departs from the

teachings of Strickland v. Washington,

supra, in his criticism of trial coun-
sel's failure to put on evidence or make
argument during the punishment phase of

the trial. Strickland teaches us that

the adequacy of counsel's’ performance
must be evaluated from conduct from the
counsel's perspective at the time, giv-
ing that conduct a strong presumption
that it falls within the wide range of

reasonable professional assistance.

Id., 80 L. Ed. 2d at 694-95. From coun-

sel's perspective at the time of trial,

it became clear when the jury returned a

33

verdict of guilt that the alibi defense
had failed. This meant that the jury
either disbelieved the alibi witnesses
Or believed the State's "airplane the-
ory." If further mean; that the jury
found the Defendant guilty, beyond a
reasonable doubt, of laying in wait to
shoot three men to death with .45 cali-
ber hollow-point bullets. From coun-
sel's perspective at that point, he made
a strategic decision almost brilliant in
its simplicity.

What appears at first to be a trou-
bling failure of counsel is, in fact, a
cunning tactical decision. Given the
fact the jury returned a guilty verdict
on three counts of First Degree Murder,
it was almost sure from the underlying
circumstances that they would return
some, if not all, of the aggravating
circumstances sought by the State.

These aggravating circumstances’ were

34
that the Defendant created a risk of
death to more than one person (Tr. 694-
95), that the murder was committed for
purposes of avoiding or preventing law-
ful arrest or prosecution, that the mur-
der was especially heinous, atrocious or
cruel (Tr. 695), or that there was a
probability the Defendant would commit
criminal acts of violence and would con-
stitute a continuing threat to society
(Tr. 696). At the same time, none of
the standard mitigating circumstances
applied to the Defendant. See Appendix
B, copy of trial court's instructions on
minimum mitigating circumstances. Even
now, in the Petition for Writ of Certio-
rari, the Defendant offers the Court no
hint or clue of what evidence in mitiga-
tion would have been appropriate. Thus,
it becomes clear that the Defendant had,
and continues to have, no mitigating

evidence to offer. The murder involved

35
was one of deliberate assassination of
three men, shot down in cold blood.

This Court noted in United States v.

Chronic, ee . 2a: 8, Se. a

80 L. Ed. 2d 657 (1984), the following:
"Of course, the Sixth Amendment does
not require that counsel do what is
impossible or unethical. If there
is no bona fide defense to. the
charge, counsel cannot create one
and may disserve the interests of
his client by attempting a useless
clereace. «... {¢@., 90 &. Bd. 24
at 666, n. 19.

First, counsel had no duty to do what

was impossible or unethical in manufac-

turing nonexistent mitigating evidence.

Further, if counsel did nothing and yet

his client was sentenced to life, his

client would have been well served by
counsel's decision not to attempt the
useless charade of presenting mitigating
evidence. On the other hand, if, as

actually happened, his client was sen-

tenced to death, his strategic decision

36
to do nothing might appear to an appel-
late court to be ineffective assistance
and might result in modification by the
Court of Criminal Appeals from the death
penalty to life imprisonment. Such a
result would be highly likely in light
of the law in Oklahoma prejudice in the
second stage of a bifurcated proceeding
can only result in modification, if nec-

essary, but not reversal. Irvin v.

State, 617 P.2d 588, 599 (Ok1.Cr. 1980).
In the case at bar, Mr. Burger has
been engaged in the practice of law for
over 30 years. His practice consists
largely of cases in the field of cCrimi-
nal law. He also has ee employed as a
county prosecutor. He has tried in ex-
cess of three dozen murder cases. He is
well seasoned in the area of criminal
law and has had considerable experience
with cases similar to this one. The

failure to present a case during the

37
second stage of trial is a trial strate-
gy which Mr. Burger has used quite suc-
cessfully in the past. In the case of

Daugherty v. State, 640 P.2d 558 (Okl.

Cr. 1982), Mr. Burger was the trial
counsel. At trial, the defendant was
convicted of murder in the first degree.
During the penalty stage, the defendant
was sentenced to life imprisonment de-
spite the fact that no opening statement
was made, no evidence was presented, and
only a perfunctory closing argument was
made. See Appendix C, copy of counsel's

closing argument in Daugherty. Ee .- ie

obvious that this is a trial strategy
which has been used successfully by Mr.
Burger in the past. With nothing of
substance to offer in mitigation, trial
counsel relied on his proven strategy.
Thus, wuste Mr. Burger had nothing

in mitigation to offer during the sen-

tencing phase, he elected to do nothing

38
in the hope that his inaction might save
his client's life on appeal where no ef-
fective action could save it at triai.
However, even before this Court, the
Defendant is unable to show any preju-
dice in the sense of a reasonable proba-
bility of different result had his trial
counsel made any other tactical deci-
sion. Instead, on page 28 of the Peti-
tion, the Defendant cites to Justice
Brennan's footnote number 2 in Strick-
land for the proposition that some de-
nial of counsel constitutes error with-
out any showing of prejudice. However,
this attempt wrenches Justice Brennan's
thinking out of context, particularly in
the case where, as here, trial counsel's
decision was a tactical one based upon
the absence of mitigating evidence and
the hope of modification by the Court of
Criminal Appeals. To permit reversal

because of such deliberate tactics of

39
trial counsel would be to ignore Strick-
land's requirement that the defendant
show genuine prejudice as a result of
his counsel's activities.

In light of the facts and circun-
stances at the time, Defendant's counsel
had nothing in mitigation to offer and
rested his approach, by strategic deci-
sion, in a hope of modification by the
Court of Criminal Appeals, oor this
Court, if the jury returned the death
penalty. In a sense, where defense
counsel had nothing of substance to of-
fer, it is perhaps the most competent
thing he could have done under the cir-
cumstances. The Defendant herein has
not rebutted the strong presumption of
adequate assistance and exercise of rea-
sonable professional judgment, nor has

he met the Strickland burden of showing

a likely possibility the result would
have been different under any conceiv-

able course his trial counsel could have

40
taken. Therefore, his counsel was
clearly adequate within the tests set

out by this Court in Strickland v. Wash-

ington.

CONCLUSION
For reasons set out above, the State
of Oklahoma respectfully requests this
Court to deny the writ of certiorari
herein.
Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL C. TURPEN
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF er,

ae

ROBERT A. NANCE *
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
DEPUTY CHIEF, FEDERAL DIVISION

fobert W Cok

ROBERT W. COLE
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

112 State Capitol Building
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-3921

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0178%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
