# Opposition Brief — Lucas v. Daniel International Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0096%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1137

## Text

ce Supreme oan TS

No. 84-1631 ol ey

N AS;
CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 19384

STEVEN WALTER LUCAS,
Petitioner,
vs.

DANIEL INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

HENDREN AND ANDRAE

JoHN H. HENDREN
(Counsel of Record)

KELLY Poo.

GERALD E. ROARK
The Monroe House
235 East High Street, Suite 210
P. O. Box 1069
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
(314) 636-8135

Attorneys for Respondent

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Supreme Court of Missouri’s opinion
in Lucas v. Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d
820 (Mo. banc 1984), reversing and remanding the matter
for a new trial, and subsequent Order overruling a motion
for rehearing, constitutes a “final judgment”, which is
required to petition the Supreme Court of the United States
for certiorari.

2. Whether the Supreme Court of Missouri’s opinion
in Lucas v. Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d
820 (Mo. banc 1984), and subsequent Order overruling a
Motion for Rehearing, rests upon an independent and ade-
quate nonfederal ground which supports the judgment.

3. Whether the issues in the instant case present
special and important questions sufficient to warrant the
issuance of a writ of certiorari.

4. Whether the Supreme Court of Missouri afforded
petitioner due process, as secured by the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution, when it
allowed to be filed and subsequently considered petition-
er’s Motion for Rehearing which contained petitioner’s
Constitutional considerations.

5. Whether the Supreme Court of Missouri exceeded
its review power when it reversed and remanded a civil
judgment on the basis of instructional error, as provided
for under state law, when said instructional error was not
expressly presented to or expressly decided by the trial
judge.

6. Whether the Supreme Court of Missouri may re-
verse and remand a civil judgment in Lucas v. Daniel In-
ternational Corporation, 682 S.W.2d 820 (Mo. banc 1984),
to be consistent with the companion case of Sanders v.
Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d 803 (Mo. banc
1984), which was decided by the same Court on the same
day as the instant action.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..0oo......occccccccecececececcesesecsceeeee I
AA CP PT airs nscsssetnsnecstccccsenncecinacs III
CP I hii eiinuhlocpecucaee 1
FT sich ts cisinstantnspahitcen hd daanid cia ae 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
TEE «UE WOT esticonsich Satperietcseceseasisiceecnzeucsictsiinatsblasii 2
STAT Mmeee se CO Tei CAB iii cc ceseeecen 4
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT o...----ccccccesss-0-0 5
I. Preliminary Statement 220000000 5
II. Lucas Opinion Is Not a Final Judgment ........ 6
III. Lucas Opinion Rests on Adequate and Inde- :
pendent State Grounds 20200000000. eee cececccceeee 9
IV. No Special or Important Questions Are Pre-
UII sssciciccintdgiaiactibiiaecceduie tear: 10
V. Petitioner Received Due Process Considera-
NER EDIT Og VN ES IR OE 11
VI. Plair: Error May Be Considered on Appeal ...... 12
CPTI | aiinsincigncccstiilitainstsinndgeainicaien abanadmmcaa i ae: 14
COREE Ae CO VI na accscctnttistssctrcnein 14
APPENDIX

(Supreme Court of Missouri’s Opinion in Sanders
v. Daniel International Corporation) _................. Al

III

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 429 U.S. 469 (1975) 8
Dept. of Mentul Hygiene v. Kirchner, 380 U.S. 194

I tieseaieia apecsicaetbedhciiesiebecieintsinnhnaetinnondiiinrnanndsaisameienmniitivanenioe 11
Durley v. Mayo, 351 U.S. 277 (1956), reh’g denied, 352

IE IE ettitnce-cesindircebibtsiniaininiitearssocinencnnaensstinianiamannsooni 9
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945) ............-........-..2-.+2- 9
Houston v. Moore, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 433 (1818) ........ 8
Kennett v. Akers, 564 S.W.2d 41 (Mo. banc 1978) ........ 13
Loftus v. Illinois, 333 U.S. 804 (1948) .....22022 eee 9
Lucas v. Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d

820 (Mo. banc 1984) ~...........022.0222.. 1, 1,5, 6, 7,9, 10, 13
Market St. Ry. Co. v. Railroad Commission, 324 U.S.

548 (1945), reh’g denied, 324 U.S. 890 (1945) ........ 7
Murdock v. Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590 (1874) ... 9
New York v. Cathedral Academy, 434 U.S. 125 (1977) 7
O'Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982) -.000.. ee 7-8

Pettus v. City of St. Louis, 242 S.W.2d 723 (Mo. 1951) 13
Richfield Oil Corp. v. State Bd. of Equalization, 329

ED dels sieceblicnsuipiienaconsnaiaiineeeitaiewtssbeesniammceenintneuses 7
Sanders v. Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d

BE II IIE BIPIIIED abnidecensovnsasaceansonnccecaenhonsesanen 1, 5, 7,9, 10
standard Oil Co. v. Missouri, 224 U.S. 270 (1912) ........ 11

Statutes

yl BS | | SE S| 5} ate eee 2
. Seen pee. ev. . teat. (1878) —.............................. 2
mre Mi PW, MO, CUT I annnnnccisnstnieee 12,13

28 U.S.C. § 1257 (1), (2) and (3) (1976) .ncceeeecccccccseee+- 2,6

IV

Court Rules
Pe a, I is ss anesnosesnnacienecaanie 3
ne a sscasoeaeianumalanemanean 3
ae ee On ES a 4,13

No. 84-1631
In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

STEVEN WALTER LUCAS,
Petitioner,
vs.

DANIEL INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

Respondent, Daniel International Corporation respect-
fully submits that the Petition for a writ of certiorari to
the Supreme Court of the State of Missouri should be de-
nied.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Missouri is found
at Lucas v. Daniel International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d
820 (Mo. banc 1984), and is set out at Appendix Al in
Petitioner’s Petition.

Petitioner’s Request for Rehearing and Order Denying
same is set out at Appendix A7 in Petitioner’s Petition.

JURISDICTION

Respondent disagrees with Petitioner’s Jurisdictional
Statement in that this Court’s interpretation of 28 U.S.C.
§ 1257 (1), (2) and (3) prohibits the granting of a writ
of certiorari.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In addition to the Constitutional and Statutory Pro-
visions set forth by Petitioner at pages 2-5 of his Petition,
Respondent believes that the following Provisions are to be
considered.

1. Section 477.010, Missouri Revised Statutes (1978),
provides:

The supreme court shall have the power to direct
the form of writs and process; and to promulgate gen-
eral rules for all courts of the state. No such forms
or rules shall abridge, enlarge or modify the substan-
tive rights of any litigant nor be contrary to or in-
consistent with the laws in force for the time being.

2. Section 506.030, Missouri Revised Statutes (1978),
provides:

If any part of this code shall be found to be in con-
flict or discordant with other parts of this code or
with other statutes relating to civil procedure, the
supreme court shall have power to promulgate rules
necessary to harmonize the same so as to promote the
orderly administration of justice. No such rule shall
abridge, enlarge or modify the substantive rights of
any litigant. Such rules shall be effective until super-
seded by legislative enactment.

3

3. Rule 83.02 of the Missouri Rules of Court provides
as follows:

A case in which an opinion has been filed in a
district of the Court of Appeals may be transferred to
this Court by order of a majority of the participating
judges, regular and special, on their own motion or on
applicatior: of a party, because of the general interest
or importance of a question involved in the case, or for
the purpose of reexamining the existing law. Applica-
tion by a party for such transfer shall be filed within
15 days of the date upon which the opinion is filed.

4. Rule 83.09 of the Missouri Rules of Court provides
as follows:

This Court on its own motion, or an application of
a party, may transfer to this Court from any district
of the Court of Appeals a case in which no opinion has
been filed, such transfer to be for any of the reasons
stated in Rule 83.02 or for the purpose of equalizing
the work load of the appellate courts. Any party re-
questing such transfer shall file an application in this
Court within 10 days after the filing of the transcript
on appeal in the appropriate Court of Appeals district.
In connection with the consideration of an application
for transfer under this rule, this Court may order the
transcript of the record forwarded to it. Applications
for transfer filed pursuant to this rule shall not affect
the time for filing briefs unless this Court so orders.
In the event of transfer under this rule, briefs already
filed in the Court of Appeals shall be considered as
having been filed in this court and briefs not yet filed
in the Court of Appeals on the date of the order of
transfer shall be filed directly in this Court within
the time prescribed for filing briefs where no transfer
is ordered.

4

5. Rule 84.13 of the Missouri Rules of Court provides
as follows:

(a) Preservation of Error in Jury Tried Cases.
Apart from questions of jurisdiction of the trial court
over the subject matter and questions as to the suf-
ficiency of pleadings to state a claim upon which relief
can be granted or a legal defense to a claim, no allega-
tions of error shall be considered in any civil appeal
from a jury tried case except such as have been pre-
sented to or expressly decided by the trial court.

(b) Materiality of Error. No appellate court shall
reverse any judgment unless it finds that error was
committed by the trial court against the appellant
materially affecting the merits of the action.

(c) Plain Error may be Considered. Plain errors
affecting substantial rights may be considered on ap-
peal, in the discretion of the court, though not raised
or preserved, when the court finds that manifest in-
justice or miscarriage of justice has resulted therefrom.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In addition to the Statement of the Case set forth by
Petitioner at pages 6-9 of his Petition, Respondent believes
that the following material from the record should be con-
sidered in order to have a complete picture of the facts in
this matter.

1. In Respondent’s Motion for a New Trial, at para-
graph number 6, Respondent objected to Jury Instruction
No. 7.

2. Jury Instruction No. 7 is the instruction which con-
tained the term “maliciously” which had to be defined.

5

3. Instruction No. 5 which defined the term “mali-
ciously” was the instruction which was declared improper
in the case of Sanders v. Daniel International Corporation,
682 S.W.2d 803 (Mo. banc 1984).

4. Counsel for petitioner and respondent in the in-
stant action were also opposing counsel in Sanders v. Dan-
iel International Corporation.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

8
Preliminary Statement

Petitioner’s attempt to state the questions to be pre-
sented under Rule 21.1 is defective, because the questions
are not stated in the terms and circumstances of the case.

The Supreme Court of Missouri did not exceed “the
scope of its review power over civil judgments under state
law” or violate “its own court rules” as stated.

As discussed under Part VI, infra, Missouri Statutes,
Court Rules and case precedent all support the decision and
manner by which the decision in Lucas v. Daniel Interna-
tional Corporation, 682 S.W.2d 820 (Mo. banc 1984), was
reached. No incorrect standards governing the decision or
review were used by the Supreme Court of Missouri.

No special or important questions for review appear
on the surface or even lurk in the background of this case
and none of the parameters of Rule 17.1 have been or can
be distilled from the record of this case.

6

II.

The Supreme Court’s Opinion Is Not a Final
Judgment for Purposes of Certiorari

Petitioner seeks to invoke the jurisdiction of this Court
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (1), (2) and (3). See Petition,
page 2. Section 1257 provides as follows:

Final judgments or decrees rendered by the highest
court of a State in which a decision could be had,
may be reviewed by the Supreme Court as follows:

(1) By appeal, where is drawn in question the
validity of a treaty or statute of the United States and
the decision is against its’validity.

(2) By appeal, where is drawn in question the
validity of a statute of any state on the ground of its
being repugnant to the Constitution, treaties or laws
of the United States, and the decision is in favor of
its validity.

(3) By writ of certiorari, where the validity of a
treaty or statute of the United States is drawn in
question or where the validity of a State statute is
drawn in question on the ground of its being repugnant
to the Constitution, treaties or laws of the United
States, or where any title, right, privilege or immunity
is specially set up or claimed under the Constitution,
treaties or statutes of, or commission held or authority
exercised under, the United States.

In order for this Court to accept jurisdiction over the in-
stant matter, it must first consider the “threshold” ques-
tion as to whether the decision handed down by the Su-
preme Court of Missouri in Lucas v. Daniel International
Corporation, 682 S.W.2d 820 (Mo. banc 1984), constitutes

7

a “final judgment”. New York v. Cathedral Academy, 434
US. 125, 128, n.4 (1977).

A state court judgment, to be within appellate juris-
diction of the United States Supreme Court, must be
final in two senses: It must be subject to no further re-
view or correction in any other state tribunal, and it must
be an effective determination of the litigation and not of
merely interlocutory or intermediate steps therein; it must
be the final word of the final court. Market St. Ry. Co.
v. Railroad Commission, 324 U.S. 548, 551 (1945), reh’g
denied, 324 U.S. 890 (1945). Can it be said that there is
nothing more to be decided or that there has been an
effective determination of the litigation? Richfield Oil
Corp. v. State Bd, of Equalization, 329 U.S. 69, 72 (1946).

The Supreme Court of Missouri reversed and re-
manded Lucas for retrial on the basis of instructional error.
Lucas, 682 S.W.2d at 821. Lucas was reversed and re-
manded to be consistent with another opinion which was
handed down by the Supreme Court of Missouri on the
same day. See Sanders v. Daniel International Corpora-
tion, 682 S.W.2d 803 (Mo. banc 1984); “© xders is also set
out at Al of this brief. The sole issue addressed by the
Lucas decision was instructional error.

Respondent admits that the decision handed down by
the Supreme Court of Missouri was rendered by the high-
est court in the State. However, there has not been an
“effective determination of the litigation” since the matter
was remanded for a new trial. When a state Supreme
Court remands the case for trial, its decision is not final
as an effective determination of the litigation and the
United States Supreme Court does not have jurisdiction
to review the matter. O’Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430,

8

430 (1982); Houston v. Moore, 16 U.S. (3 Wheat.) 433, 434
(1818).

This Court has recognized four exceptions to the sit-
uation wherein a case is remanded for trial and the state
court decision is final for purposes of review. Cox Broad-
casting Corp. v. Cohn, 429 U.S. 469 (1975).

[I]n the first two categories considered below, the
federal issue would not be mooted or otherwise af-
fected by the proceedings yet to be had because those
proceedings have little substance, their outcome is
certain, or they are wholly unrelated to the federal
question. In the other two categories, however, the
federal issue would be mooted if the petitioner or ap-
pellant seeking to bring the action here prevailed on
the merits in the later state-court proceedings, but
there is nevertheless sufficient justification for im-
mediate review of the federal question finally de-
termined in the state courts.

Cox, 429 U.S. at 478-79.

Petitioner has failed to put forth any type of argu-
ment or cite this Court to any authority which would place
this Petition squarely within one of the aforementioned
exceptions.

Petitioner’s cause of action survives in the Circuit
Court of Pettis County, Missouri. Petitioner asserts that
Fourteenth Amendment protection extends to Judgments.
If this is the case, then this Court would have to entertain
petitions for writ of certiorari for every State Court Judg-
ment that is or will be reversed and remanded.

9

III.

The Supreme Court of Missouri’s Opinion Rests Upon
an Independent and Adequate Non-Federal Ground

This Court has consistently stated that it will only
review decisions from the highest State Court where it
affirmatively appears from the record that a Federal ques-
tion was presented to that court. Further, that a decision
on the Federal question was necessary to the determina-
tion of the cause. Where a State Court decision might have
been either on a State ground or on a Federal ground and
the State ground is sufficient to sustain a judgment, the
United States Supreme Court will not undertake to review
the State Court’s judgment. Durley v. Mayo, 351 U.S. 277,
281 (1956), reh’g denied, 352 U.S. 856 (1956). Stated
succinctly, this court will not review judgments of State
Courts that rest on adequate independent State grounds.
Murdock v. Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590, 636 (1874);
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945); Loftus v. Illinois,
333 U.S. 804 (1948).

A review of the opinion handed down by the Supreme
Court of Missouri in Lucas reveals that it is based entirely
on State substantive law and a change thereof. Lucas was
reversed and remanded to be consistent with an opinion
that was handed down by the Supreme Court of Missouri
on the same day, the companion case of Sanders v. Daniel
International Corporation, 682 S.W.2d 803 (Mo. banc
1984). Sanders and Lucas arose out of the same set of
facts and circumstances. In the Sanders opinion, the Su-
preme Court of Missouri reviewed and discussed the law
of malicious prosecution and modified the requirements
thereof.

10

The modification in Sanders resulted in a change in
Missouri’s common law definition of malice as it relates
to a malicious prosecution action.

This modification in the common law was the entire
basis for the Sanders decision and subsequent basis for the
Lucas decision. It cannot be argued that either the Sanders
or Lucas opinion rested on substantial Federal grounds.

Petitioner’s alleged Federal grounds rest in the fact
that he was denied Constitutional considerations due to
the Supreme Court of Missouri reversing and remanding
the Lucas matter on an instructional error that was not
presented or preserved for appeal. As discussed under
Part VI, infra, the Supreme Court of Missouri may con-
sider errors although those errors were neither presented
to nor preserved for appeal. This Court is asked to review
a decision handed down by the Supreme Court of Missouri
which was based entirely upon the common law of Mis-
souri and a change thereto. Accordingly, this Court should
not assert jurisdiction and entertain this Petition for cer-
tiorari.

IV.

The Instant Case Does Not Present Special or
Important Questions Which Warrant the
Issuance of a Writ

This Court has delineated the classic questions con-
sidered proper for review by writ of certiorari. (Rule 17,
Supreme Court Rules). While these categories are not
' controlling in determining whether this Court will hear
a case, they do provide guidance for those litigants seek-
ing an avenue of review. None of the enumerated con-
siderations set out in Rule 17 are present in the instant
case.

11

It is the duty of petitioner to show to this Court that
this Court has jurisdiction over the instant case. Dept.
of Mental Hygiene v. Kirchner, 380 U.S. 194 (1965). Peti-
tioner has failed to cite this Court to any authority which
conflicts with the decision of the Supreme Court of Missouri.
As discussed in Part III, supra, petitioner has not put forth
a substantial Federal question which would justify the
granting of a writ. Certainly, no novel issues concerning
the interpretation of Federal laws are set forth in this case
which would require the ultimate resolution by this Court.

The instant case is an example of precisely the type
of case this Court intended to refrain from reviewing when
it drafted Rule 17.

¥.

The Supreme Court of Missouri Considered
Petitioner’s Due Process Claims

Petitioner asserts that he was denied due process be-
cause he was not given notice and opportunity to be heard.
These “onstitutional considerations were first presented to
the Court in petitioner’s motion for rehearing. (See pages
A7 through AQ of petitioner’s brief). The Supreme Court
of Missouri, without opinion, overruled petitioner’s motion
for rehearing.

Petitioner cites this Court to the case of Standard Oil
Co. v. Missouri, 224 U.S. 270 (1912), which requires notice
and opportunity to be heard, due process considerations.
By allowing petitioner to file his motion for rehearing and
subsequently considering said motion, the Supreme Court
of Missouri did exactly what is required by the Standard
Oil decision, to-wit: The Court allowed petitioner his
notice and opportunity to be heard.

12

VI.

The Supreme Court of Missouri May Consider
Errors Not Preserved for Appeal

Petitioner asserts that the Supreme Court of Missouri
has exceeded its review power when it reverses and re-
mands a civil judgment on the basis of instructional error
when said instructional error was not expressly presented
to or expressly decided by the trial judge.

Section 512.160, RSMo 1978, sets forth the type of ques-
tions which may be considered by an Appellate Court on
appeal in the State of Missouri. The relevant portions of
Section 512.160, for the purposes of the instant matter, are
set forth as follows:

2. No Appellate Court shall reverse any judgment,
unless it believes that error was committed by the trial
court against the appellant, and materially effecting
the merits of the action.

3. The Appellate Court shall examine the tran-
script on appeal and, subject to the provisions of sub-
sections 1 and 2 of this section, award a new trial or
partial new trial, reverse or affirm the judgment or
order of the trial court, or give such judgment as such
court, ought to have given, as to the Appellate Court
shall seem agreeable to all. Unless justice requires
otherwise the court shall dispose finally of the case
on appeal and no new trial shall be ordered as to issues
in which no error appears.

As petitioner asserts, the general rule is that in order
for a question to be presented to the appellate court, said
question must have been presented to and expressly decided
by the trial judge. There is one notable exception to this

13

general principle which is specifically set out in the Mis-
souri Rules of Court. (Rule 84.13, Missouri Rules of Court).
Specifically, Rule 84.13(c) provides as follows:

(c) Plain Error may be Considered. Plain errors
affecting substantial rights may be considered on ap-
peal, in the discretion of the court, though not raised or
preserved, when the Court finds that manifest injustice
or miscarriage of justice has resulted therefrom.

Petitioner asserts that by considering an instructional
error not properly preserved, the Supreme Court of Mis-
souri violated the terms and provisions of Section 512.160,
Mo, Rev. Stat., 1978. This is simply not the case.

Under statutes authorizing Appellate Courts to give
such judgments as trial courts should have given, plain
errors affecting substantial rights may be considered on
appeal, though not preserved for review. Pettus v. City of
St. Louis, 242 S.W.2d 723 (Mo. 1951). This case illustrates
how Rule 84.13 and Section 512.160 are intertwined and
consistent with one another.

It is difficult to conceive what would be more preju-
dicial than an instruction which incorrectly states the law
as to the definition of the requisite intent necessary to have
committed the tort of malicious prosecution. The law in
Missouri is clear that an error in an instruction is pre-
sumed to be prejudicial and should be reversed if it affects
the merits of the action. Kennett v. Akers, 564 S.W.2d 41,
48 (Mo. banc 1978). An incorrect definition of the requisite
intent affects the merits of the action.

By virtue of Section 512.160 and Rule 84.13, the Su-
preme Court of Missouri had the statutory authority to
reverse and remand Lucas for trial on the basis of instruc-
tional error.

14

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, respondent respectfully sub-
mits that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Su-
preme Court of the State of Missouri should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

HENDREN AND ANDRAE
JoHN H. HENDREN
(Counsel of Record)
KELLY POOL
GERALD E. ROARK
The Monroe House
235 East High Street, Suite 210
P. O. Box 1069
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102
(314) 636-8135
Attorneys for Respondent

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that three true
and correct copies of the foregoing were mailed, postage
prepaid, this 13th day of May, 1985, to Mr. Richard G.
Callahan, Rost & Callahan, 109 East High Street, Jefferson
City, Missouri 65101.

JOHN H. HENDREN

Al

APPENDIX
(Filed December 18, 1984)
SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

EN BANC
Robert A. Sanders, )
Respondent, )
v. ) No. 65529
Daniel International Corporation, _)
Appellant. )

Appeal From the Circuit Court of Phelps County
Honorable Weldon W. Moore, Judge

This case involves a malicious prosecution action
brought by respondent, Robert A. Sanders. At trial, the
jury returned a verdict in favor of respondent, awarding
him $100,000 in actual damages and $250,000 in punitive
damages. We ordered the cause transferred after the
Southern District affirmed the judgment. We reverse and
remand.

The criminal prosecution forming the basis for this
malicious prosecution action was a misdemeanor case in
which respondent was charged with the attempted theft
of tools and gauges valued over fifty dollars. Respondent
was one of seven persons charged with that crime. The
information was sworn to by the prosecutor following a
conversation in his office with a:ents of appellant, Daniel
Internationa] Corporation. The prosecutor dismissed the
[2] misdemeanor action because he believed that insuf-
ficient evidence existed to proceed with the trial. Re-
spondent then filed this action for malicious prosecution.

A2

I

At the time the information was filed, appellant was
engaged in the construction of a nuclear power plan [sic] in
Callaway County, Missouri for Union Electric Company.
The construction project required more than 2,700 workers,
and the company had crews working day and night shifts.
Union Electric owned all the tools used on the job, and
pursuant to a contract appellant was responsible for and
controlled the purchase, allocation and use of all the tools.
The individual workers did not bring their own tools
onto the job site. Appellant issued individual tool boxes
to each worker, and the workers were allowed to keep
their tool boxes in larger “gang boxes” assigned to each
crew. The crew foreman kept each gang box locked.
Additional tools could be checked out from a “tool room”
and were to be returned to the tool room at the end of
the day.

Prior to December 1978, tool theft and tool hoarding
had been a recurring and expensive problem. Posted
on the fence surrounding the job site were signs warning
that persons caught removing tools from the project would
be subject to prosecution. Pinkerton security furnished
personne] to control perimeter access to the job site.

Respondent was «© member of Crew 52, a night-shift’
pipefitting crew consisting of a foreman and eight crew
members. On the morning of December 20, 1978, a day-
shift pipefitting crew, Crew [3] 5, reported to work and
discovered that its gang box had been broken into. The
lock on the gang box had been cut with a pair of bolt
cutters. A quick investigation revealed that a member
of Crew 52, Gus Groves, had checked out bolt cutters
from the tool room on the previous night. In the presence
of Superintendent Terry Heers, security guards opened

A3

the Crew 52 gang boxes with a master key. At the top
of one of the gang boxes was a set of welding gauges,
the hoses of which had been cut recently. These cuts
matched the other ends of the hoses that remained in
the Crew 5 gang box. Also present in a Crew 52 gang
box was a pair of welding leathers belonging to a member
of Crew 5.

Heers directed that an inventory be made of the
tools in the Crew 52 gang boxes. The gang boxes and
the individual tool boxes that were inside the gang boxes
were emptied and all of the tools of a particular kind
were put in a pile for inventory purposes. Some of the
tools in the gang boxes were in individual tool boxes
and some were not.

Next, Heers discussed the situation with Service Man-
ager Gary Warblow and with Assistant Project Manager
Wallace Sykora. They decided to go to the sheriff’s office
to discuss the problem. The sheriff sent Warblow and
Heers to the prosecutor’s office, where they met with
Callaway County Prosecutor Gene Hamilton. Hamilton
testified that Warblow and Heers initially asked him about
the possibility of search warrants for the houses of seven
members of Crew 52, and he told them that search war-
rants were not possible because (1) the seven people
resided outside of Callaway County and the warrant would
be limited to that county; and (2) there was [4] no
showing that tools had been taken from the plant or that
they were actually located in their houses. He said that
no probable cause existed to search their houses. After
a conversation lasting approximately a half hour, Heers
and Warblow, at the suggestion of the prosecuting at-
torney, signed a blank complaint against respondent.
Hamilton then filed an information upon which an arrest

A4

warrant was issued. On February 15, 1979, Hamilton
dismissed the charges against Sanders.

II

Appellant raises a number of issues on appeal. First,
we must address appellant’s argument that respondent
failed to establish all of the elements of the tort of malicious
prosecution, particularly the requisite “malice.” This in-
volves examining whether MAI 16.01 (1981) correctly
defines malice for a malicious prosecution. MAI 16.01
provides, in part, that malice is “the doing of a wrongful
act intentionally without just cause or excuse.” Also in-
volved is a determination of whether this same instruction
should be used when instructing the jury on punitive dam-
ages in a case involving a malicious prosecution.

Actions for malicious prosecution have never been
favorites of the law. There is almost universal agreement
that sound public policy dictates that the law should en-
courage the uncovering and prosecution of crime. Any
“policy that discourages citizens from reporting crime or
aiding in prosecution would be undesirable and detrimental
to society in general.” Cates v. Eddy, 669 P.2d 912, 917-18
(Wyo. 1983). Courts have always recognized that
“(mJalicious prosecution is an action which tends to dilute
the [5] public policy of encouraging persons having knowl-
edge of possible crimes to cooperate with public officers.”
Seelig v. Harvard Cooperative Society, 1 Mass.App. 341,
296 N.E.2d 825 (1973). See also Bonzo v. Kroger Grocery
& Baking Co., 344 Mo. 127, 125 S.W.2d 75 (1939); Muza
v. Cash Bargain Lumber Co., 586 5.W.2d 403, 406 (Mo.
App. 1979). The nature of this cause of action, therefore,
has led courts to require strict proof of each element of
the tort. See L. Green, Judge and Jury 338 (1930). See
also Higgins v. Knickmeyer-Fleer Realty & Investment

AS

Co., 335 Mo. 1010, 74 S.W.2d 805 (1934); Hunter v.
Karchmer, 285 S.W.2d 918 (Mo. App. 1955); Bellington v.
Clevenger, 228 S.W.2d 817 (Mo. App. 1950). In a federal
circuit court opinion, for example, Justice Washingtor
noted that: “[ijn trials of actions of this nature, it is
of infinite consequence to mark with precision, the Jine to
which the law will justify the defendant in going, and
will punish him if he goes beyond it.” Munns v. De
Nemours, 17 Fed. Cas. 993, 995 (C.C.D. Pa. 1811) (No.
9,926). The Virginia Supreme Court recently espoused
this same attitude when it held that such actions “have
been circumscribed by limitations more stringent than
those applied to most other tort actions.” Bain v. Phillips,
228 S.E.2d 576, 581 (Va. 1976). Numerous commentators
also have expressed this sentiment, including Lord Holt
more than a hundred years ago, Martin Newell at the
turn of the century, and Prosser and Keeton during our
own era. See N. Newell, Newell on Malicious Prosecution
21 (1892); W. Prosser, & W. Keeton, Prosser & Keeton on
the Law of Torts 870-71, 882 (1984). See also Stewart v.
Sonneborn; 98 U.S. 187 (1978); Alexander v. Petty, 35
Del.Ch. 5, [6] 108 A.2d 575, 577 (1954); Miller v. Penn-
sylvania R. Co., 371 Pa. 308, 89 A.2d 809, 810 (1952);
Penton v. Canning, 57 Wyo. 390, 118 P.2d 1002, 1004-05
(1941); 52 Am. Jur.2d Malicious Prosecution § 81, at
187-89; 54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 3, at 954. We
believe that this public policy coupled with current crime
rates mandates that we reexamine the element of malice
in a malicious prosecution as it is defined for the jury in
our present MAI 16.01.

A person suing on a theory of malicious prosecution
must plead and prove six elements: (1) the commence-
ment of a prosecution against the plaintiff; (2) the in-
stigation by the defendant; (3) the termination of the

A6

proceeding in favor of the plaintiff; (4) the want of
probable cause for the prosecution; (5) the defendant’s
conduct was actuated by malice; and (6) the plaintiff
was damaged. S. Greenleaf, II Greenleaf on Evidence
§§ 449-59 (2nd ed. 1844). See also Stafford v. Muster,
582 S.W.2d 670, 675 (Mo. banc 1979). We focus our at-
tention on the fifth and crucial element of malice; and,
because malice also justifies a punitive damage award, we
must address the connection between the type of malice
necessary to establish liability and that which is necessary
to sustain an award of punitive damages.

The word “malice” connotes a culpable mental state,
but the term lacks any uniform definition. In a well-
researched opinion in 1917, the Arizona Supreme Court
observed that “[t]here are different kinds and degrees
of malice as well as the nature of the evidence going to
prove its existence.” Griswold v. Horne, 19 Ariz. 56, 165
P. 318, 323 (1917). Indeed, one eminent scholar [7] com-
mented that the term is so “slippery” that it should be
banished from the law. Ames, “How Far an Act May
Be A Tort Because of the Wrongful Motive of the Actor,”
18 Harv. L. Rev. 411, 422 n.1 (1905). We have retained
the term and, not surprisingly, the different kinds and
degrees of malice have often been confused throughout
the development of the law in Missouri. The result is
that we now utilize a single definition of malice and it
is highly questionable whether it properly describes either
the malice required to sustain a malicious prosecution or
that required to sustain punitive damages in a malicious
prosecution.

In general, the law recognizes three degrees of malice.
First, there is malice in its universal sense as understod
in the popular mind, which means “ill will, spite, personal
hatred, or vindictive motives.” Peasley v. Puget Sound

A7

Tug & Barge Co., 13 Wash.2d 485, 125 P.2d 681, 689 (1942).
Such malicious conduct is founded in ill will, “and is evi-
denced by an attempt to vex, injure, or annoy another.”
Davis v. Hearst, 160 Cal. 143, 116 P. 530, 537 (1911). See
also 54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 41, at 1004. This
type of malice is commonly referred to as “malice in fact”
or “actual malice.”

A second degree of malice is malice in its legal sense.
The definition of legal malice has a broader meaning than
the popularly understood definition of malice in fact.
Malice in its enlarged legal sense embraces any improper
or wrongful motive—that is, malo animo. See S.S. Kresge
Co. v. Ruby, 348 So.2d 484, 489 (Ala. 1977); Brodie v.
Hawaii Auto Car Deal. Ass’n, 2 Hawaii App. 316, 631 P.2d
600, 605 (1981), rev'd on other grounds, 655 [8] P.2d 863
(Haw. 1982); Owens v. Kroger Co., 430 So.2d 843 (Miss.
1983); Peasley v. Puget Sound Tug & Barge Co., supra, at
689. See generally 54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 41,
at 1004. Some courts also have included within legal
malice conduct which is so reckless or wantonly and will-
fully in disregard of one’s rights that a trier of fact could
infer from such conduct bad faith or malo animo. See e.g.,
Richter v. Neilson, 11 Cal. App.2d 503, 54 P.2d 54 (1936);
Hugee v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 376 Pa. 286, 101 A.2d 740
(1954); Lewis v. Williams, 618 S.W.2d 299 (Tenn. 1981);
Yelk v. Seefeldt, 35 Wis.2d 271, 151 N.W.2d 4 (1967).
Although he incorrectly termed it “malice in law”, Newell
aptly defined this type of malice as something less than
malice in fact and “simply .. . a general wickedness or
intent on the part of a person; a depraved inclination to
do harm, or to disregard the rights or safety of mankind
generally.” W. Newell supra, at 239.

Third, there is “malice in law.” This degree of malice
is properly defined as a wrongful act done intentionally

A8

without just cause or excuse. See generally 54 C.JS.
Malicious Prosecution § 42, at 1005. The law imputes
malice “to a wrongdoer from the mere intentional doing
of a wrongful act to the injury of another without legal
justification or excuse.” Freezer v. Miller, 163 Va. 180,
176 S.E. 159, 168 (1934). See also Connelly v. White, 122
Iowa 391, 98 N.W. 144, 145 (1904). For example,

[i]f one gives a perfect stranger unaware a blow with
a deadly weapon likely to produce death, he does it
of malice, because he does it intentionally without just
cause or legal excuse. If he maims cattle without
knowing whose they are, if he poisons a well of drink-
ing water without knowing who is likely to drink of it,
he does it of malice, because [9] it is a wrongful act
and done intentionally without any legal justification
or excuse. This is the malice of the law—a malice of
pleading and proof made necessary by definitions of
offenses against the law or the exigencies of the case.
It is established by a conclusive legal presumption,
and proof of malice in fact is not required.

Griswold v. Horne, supra, at 323. An all-too-often unrec-
ognized difference exists between this type of malice in
law and malice in its legal sense. The former rests upon
a legal presumption independent of any proof concerning
a defendant’s mental state, while the latter requires either
direct or indirect proof of a mental state somewhat less
culpable than malice in fact. See generally L. Frumer
& M. Friedman, 4E Personal Injury § 1.02[3] at 31 (1984).

The weight of authority clearly indicates that a ma-
licious prosecuticn action can be supported only by either
actual or legal malice. Malice in law is insufficient. A
plaintiff must establish that the defendant acted either
with ill will toward the plaintiff or from any other im-

AQ”

proper motive. Treatise writers are in general agreement
that, at the very least, an improper or wrong motive is
essential. Justice Holmes, for example, commented upon
the relevancy of a defendant’s moral condition in such
suits:

Such a limitation would stand almost alone in the law
of civil liability. But the nature of the wrong is
peculiar, and, moreover, it is quite cynsistent with
the theory of liability here advanced that it should be
confined in any given instance to actual wrongdoing
in a moral sense.

O. Holmes, The Common Law Tradition 113 (M. Howe ed.
1963). Over one hundred years later, Prosser and Keeton
wrote:

[10] The plaintiff has the burden of proving that the
defendant instituted the proceeding “maliciously.”
This unfortunate word, which has so much vexed the
kindred law of defamation, requires no less in the way
of definition here. It means something more than the
fictitious “malice in law” which has been developed
in defamation cases as a cloak for strict liability. There
must be “malice in fact.” At the same time it does
not necessarily mean that the defendant was inspired
by hatred, spite or ill will; and there is authority that
if his purpose was otherwise a proper one, the ad-
dition of the incidental fact that he felt indignation
or resentment toward the plaintiff will not make him
liable. As in the cases of qualified privilege in defa-
mation, the courts seem to have looked to the primary
purpose behind the defendant’s action. If he is found
to have acted chiefly to give vent to motives of ill
will, “malice” is established.. But it is found also
where his primary purpose was merely something

Al0

other than the social one of bringing an offender to
justice ...

W. Prosser & W. Keeton, supra, at 882-83. Other similar
expressions may be found concerning the required type of
malice.

Ordinarily, in order to constitute malice supporting
an action for malicious prosecution, there must be
malus animus, denoting that the person who instituted
the original proceeding was actuated by wrong motives.

54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 42, at 1004-05. See also
T. Cooley, A Treatise on the Law of Torts 184 (1879); F.
Pollock, A Treatise on the Law of Torts, 183, 392 (1894);
52 Am. Jur.2d Malicious Prosecution § 46, at 214. These
authorities illustrate that while ill will, hatred or spite
may not be necessary to establish the cause of action, the
plaintiff must prove that the defendant was at least actu-
ated by an improper or wrongful motive.

[11] Decisions from numerous state courts are no less
forceful in asserting that more than malice in law is
needed to establish the elements of a malicious prosecution.
Some courts require actual malice, while other courts hold
that malice in its legal sense is sufficient. The Arizona
Supreme Court has held that “in this sort of action it is
absolutely essential to its existence that malice in fact as
distinguished from malice in law be present.” Griswold
v. Horne, supra, at 323. The North Dakota Supreme Court
has held that legal malice is sufficient to support the
action, and then it defined legal malice as “any unjusti-
fiable motive.” Kolka v. Jones, 6 N.D. 461, 71 N.W. 558,
562 (1897). The highest court of Virginia has also held
that “‘[t]he malice which is an essential element of an
action for a malicious prosecution is actual malice, or malice
in fact, and its existence must be proven as any other fact.”

All

Freezer v. Miller, supra, at 168. The court further defined
actual malice as “malus animus, i.e., a wrong motive or
purpose.” Id. at 169. With the exception of all but a few
state courts,’ including Missouri, the overwhelming ma-
jority of decisions require ill will or some improper or
wrongful motive. See e.g., National Security Fire & Casu-
alty Co. v. Bowen, 447 So.2d 133, 140 (Ala. 1983); Griswold
v. Horne, supra; Albertson v. Raboff, 46 Cal.2d 375, 295
P.2d 405, 410 (1956); Suchey v. Stiles, [12] 155 Colo. 363,
394 P.2d 739, 741 (1964); Smith v. Globe Ford, Inc., 39
Conn. Supp. 27, 467 A.2d 1262, 1266 (1983); Stidham v.
Diamond State Brewery, Inc., 41 Del. 330, 21 A.2d 283, 285
(1941); Ammerman v. Newman, 384 A.2d 637, 640-41 (D.C.
1978); Erp v. Carroll, 438 So.2d 31, 40 n.3 (Fla. App. 1983) ;
Iowa Mutual Ins. Co. v. Gulf Heating & Refrig. Co., 184
So.2d 705, 706 (Fla. App. 1966); Brodie v. Hawaii Auto
Ret. Gas Deal. Ass’n, supra; Berlin v. Nathan, 64 Ill.App.3d
940, 381 N.E.2d 1367, 1372 (1978); Carbaugh v. Peat, 40
Ill.App.2d 37, 189 N.E.2d 14, 19 (1963); Satz v. Koplow,
397 N.E.2d 1082, 1083 (Ind. App. 1979); Foltz v. Bock, 89
Kan. 381, 131 P. 587 (1913); Illinois Central R. Co. v.
Anderson, 206 Ky. 600, 268 S.W. 311, 312 (1925); O’Connor
v. Hammond Police Dept., 439 So.2d 558, 561 (La. App.
1983); Coleman v. Kroger Co., 371 So.2d 1186, 1189 (La.
App. 1979); Glover v. Fleming, 36 Md.App. 381, 373 A.2d
981, 983 (1977); Sottile v. DeNike, 20 Mich. App. 468, 174
N.¥".2d 148 (1969); Owens v. Kroger Co., supra, at 847;
Harvill v. Tabor, 240 Miss. 750, 128 So.2d 863, 864-65

1. See Meraz v. Valencia, 28 N.M. 174, 210 P. 225 (1922);
_ Brown v. Guaranty Estates Corp, 239 N.C. 595, 80 S.E.2d 645,
651 (1954); Eaves v. Broad River Elec. Cooperative, Inc., 277
S.C. 475, 289 S.E.2d 414, 416 (1982). An examination of these
opinions and their adoption of a malice in law standard indicates
a similar problem presently before this Court. Cf. Stanford v.
A. F. Messick Grocery Co., 143 N.C. 449, 55 S.E. 815 (1906);
Margolis v. Telech, 239 S.C. 232, 122 S.E.2d 417 (1961).

Al2

(1961); Miller v. Watkins, 653 P.2d 126, 131 (Mont. 1982);
Hackler v. Miller, 79 Neb. 209, 114 N.W. 274 (1907); Martin
v. City of Albany, 42 N.Y.2d 13, 364 N.E.2d 1304, 396
N.Y.S.2d 612 (1977); Rogers v. Barbera, 170 Ohio St. 241,
164 N.E.2d 162, 165 (1960); Fleet v. May Dept. Stores,
Inc., 262 Or. 592, 500 P.2d 1054, 1059 (1972); Hugee v.
Pennsylvania R. Co., supra; Curley v. Automobile Finance
Co., 343 Pa. 280, 23 A.2d 48 (1941); Nagy v. McBurney,
120 R.I. 925, 392 A.2d 365, 367-68 (1978); Huntley v. Har-
berts, 264 N.W.2d 497 (S.D. 1978); Stringer v. Cross, 564
S.W.2d 121 (Tex. Civ. App. 1978); Creelman v. Svenning, 1
[13] Wash.App. 402, 461 P.2d 557 (1969); Consumers
Filling Station Co. v. Durante, 79 Wyo. 237, 333 P.2d 691,
699-700 (1958); Meyer v. Ewald, 66 Wis.2d 168, 224 N.W.2d
419, 422 (1974). See also Ga. Code § 51-7-2 (1982).

Some of these courts hold that legal malice also en-
compasses conduct which is “wrongful and willfully done,
with a consciousness that is not according to law or duty.”
Wiggin v. Coffin, 29 Fed. Cas. 1157, 1159 (C.C.D. Me. 1836)
(No. 17,634). See also Lunsford v. Dietrich, 9 So. 308, 310
(Ala. 1891); Nyer v. Carter, 367 A.2d 1375, 1378-79 (Me.
1977); Kolka v. Jones, supra, at 562; Margolis v. Telech,
supra, Care must be taken to distinguish this type of
malice from negligence:

Malice is distinguishable from mere negligence in
that it arises from absence of purpose. The character-
istic of negligence is inadvertence or an absence of an
intent to injure. This does not imply that the act was
done involuntarily or unconsciously, but merely that
the person doing it was not conscious that the act
constituted a want of reasonable care. If so conscious
the act becomes malicious. The books agree that the
prosecution need not have been prompted by malevo-
lence or any corrupt design, nor necessarily involve

Al13

spite or hatred toward the person accused. It is enough
if it be the result of any improper or sinister motive
and in disregard of the rights of other... , or if done
willfully and purposely ... But to constitute malice
there must have been (1) a motive or purpose, and
(2) it must have been an improper one.

Jenkins v. Gilligan, 108 N.W. 237, 238 (Iowa 1906) (cita-
| tions omitted). In short, the conduct must be such that a

jury could infer and find an improper motive. Amother

court opined that “[wJhile it is a fact that a willful and

wanton disregard for the [14] fact may be the basis for
| malice, such wanton and willful conduct must be of such
| a nature and character as to evince a hostile or vindicative
| motive.” Yelk v. Seefeldt, supra, at 8. (Emphasis added).
The defendant’s act is deemed improper because the de-
fendant is consciously doing an act which he knows society
regards as reprehensible. These opinions, therefore, dem-
onstrate that the requisite legal malice is established when
the defendant willfully institutes a criminal proceeding
while -onscious that such an action is wrong or unlawful.
The defendant must either proceed with an improper or
wrongful motive or consciously act with such wanton dis-
regard for the rights of others that a jury may, but need
not, infer from such conduct in improper motive.

Contrary to the weight of authority, Missouri has
retained a malice in law standard for the definition of
malice in malicious prosecution actions. “The element of
malice in malicious prosecution is defined as the inten-
tional doing of a wrongful act without legal justification.
It may be inferred from the absence of probable cause
and does not necessarily involve hatred or ill will.”
Parthenopoulos v. Maddox, 629 S.W.2d 563, 571 (Mo. App.
1981). See also Muza v. Cash Bargain Lumber Co., 586
S.W.2d 403, 406 (Mo. App. 1979); Palermo v. Cottom, 525

Al4

S.W.2d 758, 765 (Mo. App. 1975). - This is essentially the
definition found in MAT 16.01:

The term [“malice”] [“malicious”] [‘maliciously” ]
as used in this [these] instruction[s] does not mean
hatred, spite or ill will, as commonly understood, but
means the doing of a wrongful act intentionally with-
out just cause or excuse.

[15] Although Missouri has dubbed and titled this defini-
tion “legal malice,” it is in fact what we have described
as “malice in law.” The instruction does not require the
jury to find that the defendant acted with an improper
purpose. Indeed, this is nothing more than the common
generic definition of an intentional tort:

[i]t is a general rule of the common law that a
cause of action arises whenever one person, by an
act not in the exercise of a lawful right, causes loss or
does damage to another with an intent, either actual
or constructive, to produce such harm, witout just
or lawful excuse or justifiable cause or occasion.

74 Am. Jur.2d, Torts § 18, at 635. Prosser and Keeton
explain that this definition was intended for use in such
cases where a “cloak for strict liability” was intended.
W. Prosser & W. Keeton, supra, at 882. The two examples
are defamation suits and suits for false arrest or imprison-
ment.? The Minnesota Supreme Court has appropriately
noted that “[t]he malice which is the essential element
of malicious prosecution is not, like the malice essential

2. See generally Harper, “Malicious Prosecution, False Im-
prisonment and Defamation,” 15 Tex. L. Rev. 157, 164-65 (1937);
54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 41, at 1004. See e.g., Griswold
v. Horne, supra, David v. Hearst, supra; Hudson v. Garner, 22
Mo. 423, 433 (1856); Helming v. Adams, 509 S.W.2d 159 (Mo.
‘App. 1974); McGill v. Walnut Realty Co., 148 S.W.2d 131 (Mo.
App. 1941); Ullrich v. New York Press Co., 23 Misc. Rep. 169,
50 N.Y.S. Supp. 788 (1898).

Al5

in libel, slander, and false imprisonment, a mere fiction

of the law; it is a state of mind to be proven as a fact.”

Hanowitz, v. Great Northern Ry. Co., 122 Minn. 241, 142
N.W. 196, 197 (1913) (emphasis added). Not surprisingly,
therefore, the few states, including Missouri, adopting this
malice in law standard for malicious prosecution actions
have been singled out for [16] criticism. See 54 C.J.S.
Malicious Prosecution, § 42, at 1005; Freezer v. Miller,
supra, at 168, n.8.

The malice in law standard in Missouri can be traced
to two early decisions Goetz v. Ambs, 27 Mo. 28 (1858)
and Hill v. Palm, 38 Mo. 13 (1866). Goetz involved award-
ing punitive damages in an assault case, and the Court
equated malice with an intentional tort. Goetz v. Ambs,
supra, at 33. In Hill, the Court without reasoning or
discussion approved an instruction in a malicious prosecu-
tion action which was a combination of malice in fact
and malice in law, thereby permitting recovery to be based
on the lesser, malice in law. The instruction was as fol-
: lows:

' There are two kinds of malice; malice in fact, and |
| malice in law. The former, in common acceptation,
means ill-will against a person; the latter, a wrongful
act done intentionally. If, therefore, the jury believes
from the evidence that the defendant caused plaintiff
to be arrested for larceny . . ., and that the defendant
was moved thereto by ill-will against the plaintiff,
or that the prosecution was wrongfully instituted by
the defendant ... the jury must find for the plaintiff.

Hill v. Palm, supra, at 15. The Hill instruction was fol-
lowed in Sharpe v. Johnston, 59 Mo. 557 (1875). In Sharpe,
the jury was instructed that “[m]Jalice means a wrongful
act done intentionally without legal justification or ex-
cuse.” Id. at 571.

;
|
i ciciaiaiiciaseaiaaiisiliisaias

Al6

The Court in these early cases erroneously assumed
that the definition of malice could be culled from defama-
tion cases where malice served as a cloak for strict liability.
The only citation supporting the instruction in Goetz is
to a federal circuit court opinion. Goetz v. Ambs, supra,
at 33. In that federal decision, however, Justice Story
was interpreting a federal criminal [17] statute, and he
relied heavily upon the language in Bromage v. Prosser,
4 Barn & C. 247 (1825). United States v. Taylor, 28
F. Cas. 31 (D. Mass. 1837) (No. 16,442). Bromage involved
a defamation action and Judge Bayley held that malice
was implied from the publication of false words in a case
not involving privileged communications. Bromage, v.
Prosser, supra, at 256. “[I]f the matter is slanderous,
malice is implied, it is sufficient to prove publication;
the motive of the party publishing are never gone into.”
Id. at 256. According to Bayley, this type of malice was
defined as “a wrongful act, done intentionally, without
just cause or excuse.” Id. at 255. In Sharpe, the prevail-
ing party supported the malice instruction by a citation
to Buckley v. Knapp, 48 Mo. 158 (1871). Sharpe v. John-
ston, supra, at 561. Buckley, however, involved the same
kind of action as Bromage and the Court affixed malice
where there was a mere publication of false words. Knapp,
supra, at 161. See also Barber v. St. Louis Post Dispatch,
3 Mo. App. 377, 386 (1877).

The majority of Missouri cases involving malicious
prosscution merely recite this malice in law standard
without describing the state of mind sufficient to sustain
the cause of action. See e.g., Burris v. North, 640 Mo. 426
(1877); Callahan v. Caffarata, 39 Mo. 136, 143-44 (1866);
Brant v. Higgins, 10 Mo. 451 (1847). The opinions gen-
erally acknowledge that malice is an essential element of
the tort. See e.g., Frampton v. Bieber, 204 S.W. 728 (Mo.

Al7

1918); Sharp v. Johnston, supra, at 575; Casperson v.
Sproule, 39 Mo. 39, 42-43 (1866); Laylor v. Byrne, 51 Mo.
App. [18] 578, 580 (1892); McGarry v. Missouri Pacific
Ry. Co., 36 Mo. App. 340, 346 (1889). They most frequently
find malice in the lack of probable cause rather than in the
actor’s state of mind.* See e.g., Hoene v. Associated Dry
Goods Corp., 487 S.W.2d 479 (Mo. 1972); Keenoy v. Sears
Roebuck & Co., 642 S.W.2d 665 (Mo. App. 1982); Hupp v.
North Hill Lincoln-Mercury, Inc., 610 S.W.2d 349 [19] (Mo.
App. 1980); Muza v. Cash Bargain Lumber Co., supra;

3. The rationale behind these decisions is that the facts
which establish the lack of probable cause may also allow the
jury to draw the inference that the defendant had a culpable
mental state. See e.g., Lambert v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 280
Or. 123, 570 P.2d 357, 363 (1977). Unfortunately, a certain
amount of confusion surrounds the statement that “malice may
be inferred from the lack of probable cause,” as Justice Linde
of the Oregon Supreme Court explains:

I have no doubt that the same evidence may prove that a
defendant lacked probable cause to prosecute the plaintiff
and also acted with malice. But it is a different proposi-
tion that the jury may infer malice “from the lack of
probable cause,’ when the latter conclusion may arise from
non-malicious causes such as negligence. While the second
phrasing [that the lack of probable cause may be sufficient
evidence of malice] may have originated merely as elliptical
shorthand for the first, its effect is to invite the jury to find
“malice” whenever they find that the defendant initiated
the prosecution of plaintiff without probable cause.

Id. at 365 (Linde, J., concurring). See also Wills v. Noyes, 29
Mass. (12 Pick) 324, 326 (1832). A number of Missouri cases
suggest that malice may be inferred from a lack of probable
cause; these opinions, however, do not accurately reflect the law
that malice may be inferred from the facts which establish the
lack of probable cause:

[MJalice is not an inference of law from the want of prob-
able cause. Malice, however, need not be proved by direct
and positive testimony, but may be inferred from the facts
which go to establish the want of probable cause; and this is
all that is meant when it is said that malice may be in-
ferred from the want of probable cause.

Sharpe v. Johnston, supra, at 575-76. See also Christian v. Hanna,
supra, at 43. We, therefore, discourage courts from using the
“elliptical” phrase that malice may be inferred from a want of
probable cause.

Al8

Palermo v. Cottom, supra; Boquist v. Montgomery Ward &
Co., 516 S.W.2d 769 (Mo. App. 1974); Witt v. Kroger Co.,
392 S.W.2d 15 (Mo. App. 1965).

Some opinions, however, suggest that the state of
mind embodied in a legal malice standard is required to
establish liability for malicious prosecution. A number
of cases suggest implicitly that the plaintiff must establish
that the defendant was actuated by either ill will or any
improper motive. See e.g., Randol v. Kline’s Inc., 322 Mo.
746, 18 S.W.2d 500, 507 (1929); Peck v. Chouteau, 91 Mo.
138, 3 S.W. 577, 580 (1887); Stocking v. Howard, 73 Mo.
25, 27 (1880); Pritchett v. Northwestern Mutual Life Ins.
Co., 228 Mo. App. 661, 73 S.W.2d 815, 819 (1934); Van
Nort v. Van Nort, 16 S.W.2d 642, 645 (Mo. App. 1929);
Christian v. Hanna, 58 Mo. App. 37, 43 (1894); Trauer-
man v. Lippincott, 39 Mo. App. 478, 486-87 (1890); Staley
v. Turner, 21 Mo. App. 244, 251 (1886); Meysenberg v.
Engelke, 18 Mo. App. 346, 349-50 (1885). OGne opinion
suggests that malice is established when the defendant
acts recklessly, unreasonably and im gross disregard for
one’s rights when instituting a proceeding. Foster v. Chi-
cago, B. & Q. R. Co., 321 Mo. 1202, 14 S.W.2d 561, 570
(1928).

Our courts, after having the case submitted on MAI
16.01 or one of its predecessors, in many instances have
justified the finding of the jury by saying that the lan-
guage in MAI 16.01 reflects the commonly expressed defi-
nition of willfulness. In a case interpreting the phrase
“the intentional doing of a wrongful act without just cause
or excuse,” the Court explained that the [20] term “in-
tentionally done” refers to the fact that the “defendant
knew that it was wrong, knew that he had no just cause
or excuse for so doing, and hence did it willfully and
wantonly and in reckless disregard of the rights of the

Al19

other party.” McNamara v. St. Louis Transit Co., 182 Mo.
676, 81 S.W. 880, 882 (1904). This same interpretation
of the language of MAI 16.01 exists in numerous other
cases. See e.g., Jones v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 186 S.W.
2d 868, 876 (Mo. App. 1945); Pritchett v. Northwestern
Mut. Life Ins. Co., supra, at 819; Christian v. Hanna, supra,
at 43; Trauerman v. Lippincott, supra, at 486. The con-
cept of willfulness cannot properly be read into the lan-
guage in MAI 16.01 post trial because nothing in the
instruction requires that the defendant act willfully. See
generally Freezer v. Miller, supra, at 168-69. Decisions con-
struing the language in MAT 16.01 to include a willfulness
component seem all the more questionable in light of other
cases suggesting that the legal malice standard purportedly
reflected in the instruction does not require that the de-
| fendant acted willfully or wantonly. See e.g., Brown v.
\ Sloan’s Moving & Storage Co., 296 S.W.2d 20, 26 (Mo.
1956).

The case at bar leaves us no choice but to clarify the
element of malice in malicious prosecution actions. In
so doing we resolve the misunderstanding that has plagued
this state’s law for many years. We can no longer in good
| conscience sanction the use of MAI 16.01. The instruction
|

reflects a definition of malice in law and does not indicate

to the jury that the defendant had to have acted with

the requisite culpable mental state. In the past the jury
| has been told that malice exists when the defendant does
[21] a “wrongful act intentionally without just cause.”
The “wrongful act” “without just cause” is committed
| when the defendant acts without probable cause, an en-
. tirely separate element of the tort. All that has remained
for the jury to determine is that the defendant act “in-
tentionally.” To a jury this suggests, as counsel for respon-
dent argued in closing argument, that the initiation of the

ee ee

A20

prosecution was “not an accident.” This fails to recognize
the distinction between intention and malice. Intention
refers to the defendant’s intent to commit the act which
causes the harm. See e.g., Cover v. Phillips Pipe Line Co.,
454 S.W.2d 507, 512-13 (Mo. 1970). The type of intent
embraced in the concept of malice is quite different:

The tort of malicious prosecution is an intended wrong,
not only in the sense that the defendant, by his de-
liberate and voluntary act, invaded the plaintiff's
interest but in the sense that he intended the wrongful
result. This means that he must have committed the
acts complained of primarily for the purpose of harming
the plaintiff.

F. Harper & F. James, Jr., I The Law of Torts § 4, at 320
(1956). There must be intent to cause the harm and not
merely to commit the act which causes the harm. The
effect of MAI 16.01 is to place a premium on the absence
of probable cause thereby relegating malice to a mere legal
fiction, a legal inference or presumption. This is contrary
to the weight of authority and we believe was never in-
tended by your prior decisional law.

MAI 16.01 is further misleading because it states that
malice “does not mean hatred, spite or ill will.” Hatred,
spite or ill will is necessary to establish malice in fact.
Even courts [22] rejecting a malice in fact standard,
however, hold that hatred, spite or ill will does not neces-
sarily have to be proven. See e.g., Lampert v. Judge &
Dolph Drug Co., supra, at 1098; Palermo v. Cottom, supra,
at 765 Beatty v. Puritan Cosmetic Co., supra, at 819;
Christian v. Hanna, supra, at 43. See also Iowa Mutual
Ins. Co. v. Gulf Heating & Refrig. Co., 184 So.2d 705, 706
(Fla. App. 1966); Stanford v. A. F. Messick Grocery Co.,
supra, at 817; Huntley v. Harberts, supra, at 501. By in-

A21

forming the jury that malice does not mean hatred, spite
or ill will instead of informing the jury that malice does
not necessarily mean hatred, spite or ill will, MAI 16.01
goes one step further in suggesting to a jury that mere
intent to do an act that the law subsequently classifies
as wrongful is sufficient.

In Haswell v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 557 S.W.2d
628 (Mo. bane 1977), this Court discussed adopting the
Restatement definition of malice for malicious prosecution
of civil proceedings. The passing years, the ever increasing
problem of crime, and the need for effectively carrying out
the public policy of urging citizens to aid in the prosecu-
tion of crime now mandates that we reach a different result
with respect to malicious prosecution actions arising from
a criminal proceeding. The Restatement of Torts (Second)
§ 668 (1965) provides: ‘To subject a person to liability
for malicious prosecution, the proceedings must have been
initiated primarily for a purpose other than that of bringing
an offender to justice.” This definition, while not re-
quiring proof of malice in fact, will require proof of legal
[23] malice and bring Missouri back into step with the
majority of jurisdictions.

Having held that MAI 16.01 improperly defines the
element of malice in malicious prosecution actions, MAI
23.07 (1981) should be modified so as to incorporate the
Restatement definition We believe that respondent
should be afforded a new trial to determine whether or
not appellant acted with the degree of malice necessary
to sustain the cause of action. Zimmerman v. Associates
Discount Corp., 444 S.W.2d 396 (Mo. banc 1969).

4. The second paragraph of MAI 23.07 should be amended
as follows: “Second, in so doing defendant acted primarily for a
purpose other than that of bringing an offender to justice and
acted without reasonable grounds, and.” The term “reasonable
grounds” still requires definition. MAI 16.05 (1981).

A22

Ill

_ Two reasons suggest that MAI 16.01 can no longer
be used to instruct the jury on punitive damages in a
malicious prosecution action." First, MAI 16.01 is inade-
quate to instruct the jury on even the required mental
state for liability. A higher degree of malice should be
required to justify punitive damages. Second, the weight
of authority indicates that actual malice or something akin
to actual malice is generally necessary to justify a puni-
tive damage av ard in malicious prosecution cases.

[24] Under current Missouri law, the malice in law
standard for liability in a malicious prosecution also is
used to satisfy the type of conduct necessary for punitive
damages. Ruth v. St. Louis Transit Co., 98 Mo. App.
1, 71 S.W. 1055, 1060 (1903), and Carp v. Queen Ins.
Co. 203 Mo. 295, 101 S.W. 78, 97 (1907), suggested that
actual malice was needed to support a punitive damage
award in a malicious prosecution action. In Foster v.
Chicago B. & Q. R. Co., supra, at 572, however, the Court
held that the type of malice necessary for liability was
also sufficient to justify punitive damages. See Dye v.
Loewer, 94 S.W.2d 948, 953 (Mo. App. 1936). The Court
apparently based its decision upon a Missouri case involv-
ing punitive damages in another form of action and upon
a United States Supreme Court case. It should be noted
that the United States Supreme Court case relied upon
in Foster required some willful conduct or reckless indiffer-
ence to the rights of others, and “[t]he tort is aggravated

5. The jury was instructed under MAI 10.01 that if ap-
pellant’s conduct was “willful, wanton, or malicious,” then it
could also assess punitive damages against appellant. The Notes
on Use to MAI 10.01 indicate that “malicious” must be defined
for the jury, and that definition is found in MAI 16.01. Conse-
quently, because the definition of malice described by MAI 16.01
is insufficient to justify awarding punitive damages, we again
focus our attention on 16.01.

A23

by the evil motive, and on this rests the rule of exemplary
damages.” Milwaukee & S.P. R. Co. v. Arms, 91 USS.
489, 493 (1876). The misapplied rule announced in Foster
found its way into the mainstream of our law without
a full and accurate consideration of the issue.

The standard expressed by MAI 16.01 and approved
in Foster conflicts with the prevailing view that punitive
damages should not be awarded in a malicious prosecution
action unless the defendant’s mental state reflects some-
thing akin to actual malice. Some courts, of necessity,
demand the presence of actual malice because of their
requirement that actual malice is necessary to establish
liability. Commentators generally observe that to [25]
justify punitive damages there must be “personal ill will
or oppressive conduct in the prosecution.” W. Prosser
& W. Keeton, supra, at 888. Another source suggests
that there must be actual malice “‘or where the proceedings
complained of were commenced under circumstances of
oppression, wantonness, or a reckless disregard of plain-
tiff's rights.” 54 C.J.S. Malicious Prosecution § 114, at
1106.

Many courts have held that actual malice is “required
to support an award of punitive damages in an action
for malicious prosecution.” Annot., 94 A.L.R.3d 791, 795
(1979). One observer notes that “[m]any states require
proof of malice more in the lay sense of personal hatred,
spite or ill will.” G. Douthwaite, Jury Instructions on
Damages in Tort Actions 437 (1981). Courts either require
a higher degree of culpability before awarding punitive
damages than they do for liability or they require more
stringent proof of malice for punitive damages than for
liability. See e.g., Adams v. Whitefield, 290 So.2d 49 (Fla.
1974); Jones v. Gwynne, 306 S.#.2d 574 (N.C. App. 1983),
cert. denied, Jones v. McArnold’ Corp., 310 S.E.2d 292

i

A24

(1984); Stanford v. A. F. Messick Grocery Co., supra, at
817-18; Rogers v. Barbera, supra, at 164-65; Lee v. South-
land Corp, 219 Va. 23, 244 S.E.2d 756, 759 (1978); Giant
of V ginia, Inc. v. Pigg, 207 Va. 679, 152 S.E.2d 271 (1967).
In First National Bank of St. Mary’s v. Todd, 283 Md.
251, 389 A.2d 371 (1978), the Maryland court acknowledged
that the majority rule is that actual malice was necessary
to justify awarding punitive damages. Id. at 373-74. See
also Rizza v. Gill, 24 Conn.Sup. 256, 189 A.2d 794 (1963);
Ross v. Kerr, 30 [26] Idaho 492, 167 P. 654, 656 (1917):
Mardelli v. Stamberg, 44 N.Y.2d 500, 406 N.Y.S.2d 443,
377 N.E.2d 975 (1978); Sparrow v. Vermont Savings Bank,
95 Vt. 29, 112 A. 205, 207 (1921); McFarland v. Skaggs
Co., Inc., 678 P.2d 298, 302-04 (Utah 1984). It should
also be noted that a number of jurisdictions indirectly
require actual malice in malicious prosecutions through
their general policy of requiring actual malice for all puni-
tive damage awards.®

MAT 16.01 does not express adequately the degree
of culpability required for punitive damages in malicious
prosecution cases. The public policy surrounding mali-
cious prosecutions dictates that we follow the majority rule
that actual malice is required for punitive damages in
a malicious prosecution action. We believe that the defini-
tion of malice set forth in the treatise co-authored by
our brother Blackmar articulates the correct standard
and suggests the form of a proper instruction: “An act
or a failure to act is ‘maliciously’ done, if prompted or

6. See generally A.B.A., Model Jury Instructions For Busi-
ness Tort Litigation 34 (1980); J. D. Ghiardi & L. J. Kircher,
Punitive Damages: Law and Practice § 5.04, p. 18 (1984); W.
Prosser & W. Keeton, supra, at 10-11; K. Redden, Punitive Dam-
ages (1980); L. A. Stein, Damages and Recovery: Personal In-
jury and Death Action 369 (1972); 25 C.J.S. Damages § 123, at
1141-43. See also Restatement of Torts (Second) § 908.

A25

accompanied by ill will, or spite, or grudge, either toward
the injured person individually, or toward all persons in
one or more groups or categories of which the injured
person is a member.” E. Devitt & C. Blackmar, 3 Federal
Practice and Instructions § 85.11, at 121 (3rd ed. 1977).

To the extent that either our prior cases or MAI
16.01 conflicts with the degrees of malice we have found
necessary to [27] support malicious prosecution and puni-
tive damages therein, they can no longer be followed.
The need to encourage citizen assistance and participation
in the enforcement of our criminal laws compels this long
overdue reexamination of the law of malicious prosecution.

The cause is reversed and remanded for retrial con-
sistent with this opinion.

WARREN D. WELLIVER, Judge

Higgins, Billings and Donnelly, JJ.,
concur; Blackmar, J. concurs in result
in separate opinion filed; Rendlen,
C.J., dissents in separate opinion
filed; Gunn, J. dissents in separate
opinion filed.

A26

(Filed December 18, 1984)

SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI
EN BANC

ROBERT A. SANDERS, )
‘Respondent, )

vs. ) No. 65529

DANIEL INTERNATIONAL CORPORA- )
TION, )
)

Appellant.

OPINION CONCURRING IN RESULT

I agree that the judgment should be reversed and
the case remanded for new trial.

Judge Welliver soundly traces the history of malicious
prosecution actions in Missouri, and convincingly demon-
strates that the instruction approved as MAI 16.01, proceed-
ing from the law applied in defamation cases “does not
require the jury to find that the defendant acted with
an improper purpose.” I agree that more rigorous standard
should be applied to malicious prosecution cases.

The extensive quotations in the principal opinion sim-
ply show that other courts have struggled with the prob-
lems inherent in suits for malicious prosecution and related
actions, but give very little guidance to counsel as to
the kind of instruction which will be approved. The sev-
eral expressions are not wholly [2] consistent. Inasmuch
as this Court freely prescribes instructions to be used
in civil cases, I believe that we should do so in this one.
The Court, with the help of the MAI Committee, may
of course make future revisions and amendments as may
be necessary or desirable.

A27

L.

If Judge Gunn is correct in his conclusion that plaintiff
failed to make a submissible case under the presently
prevailing law there would be no need to go into detail
about appropriate instructions for future cases. I am in-
clined to believe, however, that the jury could have found
that the defendant’s agents led the prosecutor to believe
that they could produce evidence to support charges against
each of the seven suspects, with reference to their individ-
ual tool boxes when the agents knew that the tools had
been commingled before any inventory was taken. Prose-
cutor, now judge, Hamilton testified as follows:

CROSS-EXAMINATION

Q Okay. What information was it that they had
given you for probable cause to believe that Robert
Sanders and the other 6 crew members had committed
the crime of attempted theft?

A Well, they indicated that the tools from the
tool box that had been broken into were found in
the gang number 52 gang box and also in the individual
boxes in that gang box. And these were the 7 individ-
uals whose names were given to me as being on crew
number 52.

+ a *

REDIRECT EXAMINATION

Q@ Mr. Hamilton, if there had been stolen tools
in each of the individual tool boxes, you could have
proceeded with the trial [3] and prosecuted them
without confessions; isn’t that true?

*- * *

A28

A If there had been stolen tools that were iden-
tifiable in each of the individual tool boxes, I think
that’s correct. .

Q You could have proceeded and then you
wouldn’t have needed the confessions?

A That’s right.

The portions of the witness’s examination quoted by
Judge Gunn do not destroy the effect of this testimony.

There would remain, under the new standard proposed
in the principal opinion, the question of the intent of
the defendant’s agents. I agree with the statement in
the principal opinion that “conduct which is so reckless
or wantonly and willfully in disregard of one’s rights that
a trier of fact could infer from such conduct bad faith
or malo animo” is within the concept of legal malice.
The plaintiff should have the opportunity for a new trial
under the revised standard. There is also the possibility
of additional evidence and of argument about the per-
missible inferences from all the evidence directed to the
revised standard.

II.

Although I do not disagree with the statement in
Restatement of Torts (Second) § 668 (1965), that “To
subject a person to liability for malicious prosecution, the
proceedings must have been initiated primarily for a pur-
pose other than that of bringing an offender to justice,”
this statement hardly serves as a definition [4] of malice
and I do not believe that it should be the subject of
a verdict-directing instruction or an essential definition.
The instructions, rather, should speak in affirmative terms
as to what the plaintiff must show. Section 668 speaks
of the conduct which will not give rise to liability but

A29

is silent as to the showing which the plaintiff must make.
I believe that it would serve the purpose of revised Mis-
souri law as enunciated in the principal opinion if MAI
23.07 were left intact and if an instruction in the following
terms were substituted for the required definition of “ma-
liciously,” now found in MAT 16.01, in malicious prosecution
cases:

The term “maliciously” as used in this (these)
instruction(s) means acting intentionally with an im-
proper or wrongful motive, or consciously acting with
wanton disregard for the rights of others.

Just as with MAI 16.01, the definition could be built into
MAI 23.07 or made the subject of a separate instruction.

If this were done then juries would be appropriately
instructed as to the mental state required of the defendant.
No longer would we have a situation in which the defense
of malice “does not indicate to the jury that the defendant
had to have acted with the requisite culpable mental state.”
There may be speculation regarding the appropriateness
of the continued use of MAI 16.01 in other actions in
which malice is in issue. It would be inappropriate for
us to extend our present holding to cases other than ma-
licious prosecution cases, but counsel might consider a
conservative approach in the definition of malice, in [5]
possibly anticipating further reexamination of the prevail-
ing standard.

I also agree that there is a need to modify the present
MAI 10.01 as to the allowance of punitive damages in
malicious prosecution cases. Although it might have been
thought that a verdict for the plaintiff in a malicious
prosecution case necessarily connoted entitlement to puni-
tive damages, in the discretion of the jury, there is clear
precedent for a contrary holding in Rustici v. Weidemeyer,

A30

4
673 S.W.2d 762 (Mo. banc 1984), which held that a defen-
dant might recover actual damages in a claim for false
arrest without being entitled to submit punitive damages.

The instruction recommended in the principal opinion’
is unduly restrictive, and does not give plaintiffs the alter-
natives, found in the model from which it was taken
of demonstrating that the defendant’s act was “wantonly”
or “oppressively” done. I would hesitate to hold that
a plaintiff must necessariiy demonstrate “personal hatred,
spite or ill will.” The focus rather should be on a purpose
of causing harm. I would commend for malicious prosecu-
tion cases an instruction in lieu of the present MAT 16.01,
in the following language:

If you find the issues in favor of plaintiff, and
if you believe the conduct of defendant as submitted
in Instruction Number ........ (here insert number of
plaintiff’s verdict directing instruction) was willful
or wanton and was wrongfully done for the purpose
of causing injury, then in addition to any damages
to which you find plaintiff entitled under Instruction
Number ......... (here insert [6] number of plaintiff's
damage instruction), you may award plaintiff an addi-
tional amount as punitive damages in such sum as
you believe will serve to punish defendant and to
deter him and others from like conduct.

This plaintiff, under the evidence, should have the
opportunity to submit the issue of punitive damages under
the revised instruction. I cannot say that a jury could
not find a wrongfui intent to cause injury.

For the reasons stated, I concur in the result reached
by the principal opinion.

1. 3 Devitt and Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and In-
structions, 3d Ed., § 85.11.

A31

Inasmuch as these views do not commend the support
of a majority of the Court, counsel will have to proceed
as best they can in the framing of instructions, with no
assurance my suggestions will be ultimately approved.
This task is difficult when counsel are not required to
make specific objections to the substance of instructions,
and so lawyers will have to get along as best they can in
the position in which the majority opinion leaves them.

CHARLES B. BLACKMAR, Judge

A32

(Filed December 18, 1984)

SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI
EN BANC

ROBERT A. SANDERS, )
Respondent, )
Vv. ) No. 65529
DANIEL INTERNATIONAL CORPORA- )
TION, )
)

Appellant.

DISSENTING OPINION

I respectfuliy dissent and would reverse the judgment
of the trial court for the reasons set forth in the dissenting
opinion of Judge Gunn. However, I feel it important
to provide guidance for the Bench and Bar in this and
similar cases and accordingly if retrial is necessary I sub-
scribe to the jury instruction forms suggested in the sepa-
rate opinion of Judge Blackmar concurring in result.

ALBERT L. RENDLEN, CHIEF JUSTICE

A33

(Filed December 18, 1984)

SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI
EN BANC

ROBERT A. SANDERS,
Plaintiff-Respondent-
Cross-Appellant,
vs.
DANIEL INTERNATIONAL CORPORA-
TION,

No. 65529

Defendant-Appellant-
Cross-Respondent.

wee eee Se”

DISSENTING OPINION
On the facts of the case, I would reverse the judgment.

As the majority opinion recites, the second element
of a cause for malicious prosecution is the instigation of
proceedings by the defendant. To impose liability, the
institution of prosecution must be in the form of some
affirmative action by way of advice, encouragement, pres-
sure, or otherwise. Palermo v. Cottom, 525 S.W.2d 1758,
763 (Mo.App. 1975). There is no liability for merely re-
porting the truth, Rustici v. Weidemeyer, 673 S.W.2d 762,
767 (Mo. banc 1984), or merely giving information which
leads to a prosecution. Palermo v. Cottom, supra. That
is what happened here.

An examination of the record in the light most favor-
able to the plaintiff leads to the same conclusion as ex-
pressed in Judge Flanigan’s concurring opinion when the
case was before the Southern [2] District: “There is
nothing in the record to indicate that either Warblow

A34

or Heers bore an actual hatred or malice towards Sanders
and it is doubtful that even a most charitable view of
the evidence would support a finding that either of them
intentionally lied to the prosecutor.” There is no evidence
that Warblow or Heers acted for any purpose other than
that of bringing to justice those responsible for the taking
of missing tools. Defendant must necessarily rely on his
witness, Prosecuting Attorney Hamilton. Hamilton indi-
cated that he misinterpreted or misunderstood some of
the information given him by defendant. The crucial mis-
understanding concerned the ability of defendant to pro-
vide the prosecutor with an inventory of the specific stolen
tools, indicating from which individual tool box each tool
was recovered. Hamilton subsequently learned that this
was not possible for two reasons. First, a number of
the tools could not be identified with any precision. Sec-
ond, defendant had placed all the toois from each crew
member’s tool box into a single large pile, thereby foreclos-
ing the possibility of an inventory from each worker’s
tool box. The prosecutor testified that he was not inten-
tionally misled concerning these facts:

Q. Based upon what you were told then and what
you later learned through the various aspects of
the investigation you conducted, were the facts
as given you on December 20 by Mr. Warblow
and Mr. Heers substantially correct?

A. The facts were substantially correct.

Q. Okay. Now, you don’t feel then, Mr. Hamilton,
that you were misled in any way by the facts
thet were given you?

A. No, I don’t think I was intentionally misled. I
think I misinterpreted some things.

[3] Q.

A.

A.

A35

Well, any misinterpretation was on your part and
not on the basis of what they told you?

All I can say is what they told me. And my
interpretation was something different than we
later found the facts to be.

Well, but that—any misinterpretation of that kind
would have been misinterpretation on your part
and not on what they told you;—

That’s correct.

He testified further as follows:

Q.

A.

©

©

Were you able to do—did they indicate they
wanted something done, if possible?

Well, yes, they were concerned about the matter.
What else, then, did you tell them?

I indicated that based on what they had told me—
the information that they had given me, that
charges for attempted stealing—that we did have
probable cause for that.

Okay. Now, at any time in this, Mr. Hamilton,
was there any urging or pressing or anything of
that kind from the Daniel’s people for you to
file these charges?

No. There was concern, obviously, but it was
my decision to file the charges.

You understood they wanted something done?
Right.

But did you understand that they wanted it done
within the framework of the law?

A36

A. That’s my understanding.

Q. And they didn’t ask you to overreach or go ahead
with something that you didn’t feel should be
done?

A. No, it’s a good thing that they didn’t.
[4] Q. Okay. Why do you say that?

pe wouldn't have done it under those circumstances
at all.

The strongest inference possible from ali the witnesses
is that defendant’s employees may have unintentionally
contributed to a misunderstanding on the part of the prose-
cutor concerning the facts surrounding the theft. Such
conduct is insufficient to make a case for malicious prose-
cution.

The following statement from La Font v. Richardson,
119 S.W.2d 25 (Mo.App. 1938), is appropriate: “when it
is shown that the prosecuting witnesses consult the prose-
cuting attorney in good faith, and communicate to him
all the ascertainable facts, and acting on his advice institute
the criminal proceedings . . . they should be exonerated.”
Id. at 29. This language pertains to the instant case.
Here, it was the prosecutor who suggested that Heers
and Warblow sign the blank complaint. The defendants
were not the parties who initially suggested the institution
of proceedings. They had only sought a search warrant
to aid in the solution of the crimes of theft. Their sug-
gestion was rejected by the prosecutor. Thus, there is
no issue of probable cause confronting this Court. See
Moad wv. Pioneer Finance Co., 496 S.W.2d 794 (Mo. 1973)
in which Judge Higgins gives full explanation to the essen-
tial element of probable cause in malicious prosecution
and finds, inter alia, that mere dismissal of a complaint

‘ sii ceti

A37

does not create “any inference of want of probable cause”
nor ‘rebut the prima facie case of probable cause. Id. at
799.

[5] I cannot translate the prosecutor’s suggestion of
prosecution and subsequent dismissal of charges into suf-
ficient evidence to support an action of malicious prosecu-
tion.

The sum and substance of the facts of this case lead
to the plain and single conclusion that there is no evi-
dentiary support for a malicious prosecution action.

Additionally, in this case, the definition of “malice”
makes no difference. There simply was no malice here
by any definition.

GEORGE F. GUNN, JR., Judge

i

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0096%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
