# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kopczynski v. Jacqueline

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0084%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1136

## Text

\

94-1618 ™ Pres]

APR 10 1985
| ALEXANDER STEVaa
eee: CLERK
No.
In the Supreme Court
OF THE

United States

OcroBER TERM 1984

Gary Aan Kopczynsk1,
Petitioner,

VS.

THE JACQUELINE, DocuMENTATION No. 519060,
Her Enetnet, Tackie, APPURTENANCES,
Erc., 1n Rem,

Szawarp Marine Services, Inc.,
et al.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI — JONES
ACT CLAIM FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NINTH CIRCUIT

JEFFREY A. KopozynskI
1025 N. Brand Boulevard,
Suite 310
' Glendale, California 91202
Telephone (818) 500-1631

Attorney for Petitioner
Gary Alan Kopczynsks

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc., Law Printers. (213) 742-6600.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Occupational Safety and Health Act has
jurisdiction to regulate the working conditions of employees
aboard uninspected vessels? Or, whether, under Section
4(b) of the O.S.H. Act, the regulatory authority of the
Coast Guard in Maritime matters preempts O.S.H.A.’s
statutory authority to regulate a hazard aboard a vessel
not addressed by the Coast Guard?

More specifically, in the instant case, whether the De-
fendants, Seaward Marine Services, violation of Title 29,
C.F.R. Chapter 17, Safety and Health Standards for Mari-
time Employment, Subsection 1915.44, (subsequently re-
designated 1915.74) “access to vessels” preeludes the im-
position of comparative negligence on Plaintiff as per 45
U.S.C. § 51, et seq., (the Federal Employer’s Liability Act)
as incorporated by 46 U.S.C. §§ 688, et al. (the Jones Act).

Prior to deciding the questions presented hereinabove, a
preliminary question regarding the interpretation of Sec-
tion 4(b)(1) of the O.S.H. Act, 29 U.S.C. § 653(b)(1)
(1982), is necessary to determine whether Section 4(b) (1)
requires an actual exercise of delegated statutory aathor-
ity. If so, then the absence of an actual exercise of regu-
latory authority, i.e., the regulation of boarding or depar-
ture procedures pertaining to uninspected vessels, would
necessitate the applicability of O.S.H.A. regulations to
prevent a twilight zone of nonregulated activities.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented .......... 226... cece ete eens i
ND ees csi. aaa ea ldee es 1
I oS Sar a UO, nes sik Weare 1
I ces nas he rts eae ey eo pe Ye Bark eee 2
I coy rie ne edn es Go ges eee lp Bama 4
Se ce 2a ante by sani Beata gods 7
PN ions cca Jap eee pase eee ee vomeeee A-1
APPENDIX
A. Opinion of The United States Court of Appeals,
for the Ninth Circuit, No. 83-6108, 83-6152: D.C.
We, Gr OD, ois oe Shee kn cens ees Helin A-1
Bi Coan aa eee 6 ea ae, B-1
C. Donovan v. Red Star Marine Services, Inc., 739
F.2d 774 (2nd Cir. 1984) Complete Text.......... C-1
D. Plaintiff’s marked for Exhibit as No. 62, Code of
Federal Regulations, Title 29, Chapter XVII,
Occupational Safety and Health Administration,
Sabsections 1915.4— Definitions and 1915.74 —
SI i a i IN ci D-1

E. Plaintiff's marked for Exhibit as No. 62, Code of
Federal Regulations, Title 32, Section XII —
Contractor Industrial Labor Relations, Subsec-
tion 12-000 — Scope of Section, Subsection 12-501
— Safety and Health Regulations and Subsection
12-502 — Applicability ......................... E-1

F. Plaintiff’s marked for Exhibit 63 as Cal/OSHA

Regulations, Section 3273 — Duty to Provide Safe
Working Place

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

is

Statutes
Federal Employers Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. §$ 51, et

pid Act, The, 46 U.S.C. §688 ............. 2, 3
Occupational Safety and Health Act, 1970, 29 U. s. 0. A.
§ 653(b)(1) (1982) ...... } eee SS

Title 29, Code of Federal Dendietions Cason 17,
Safety and Health Standards for Maritime Employ-
ment, §§ 651-678, Subsection 1915.44(195.74) ...... 4,5

Case

Donovan v. Red Star Marine Services, Inc. 739 Fed.2d
OI NG ED WV nec nce ces c vs cca errr. |

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

Ocroser Term 1984

Gary ALan Kopcozynsk1,
Petitioner,
vs.

Tue Jacquetine, Documentation No. 519060,
Her Enornz, Tacxiz, APPURTENANCES,
Erc., 1x Rem,

Szawarp Martnz Senrvices, Inc.,
et al.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI — JONES
ACT CLAIM FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NINTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
is reported at 742 F.2d 555 (1984).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit was made and entered on September 11, 1984, and
a copy therof is appended to this Petition in the Appendix.
Further, the order of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Cireuit denying a Petition for Rehearing was made and
entered on January 10, 1985, and a copy thereof is appended
to this Petition in the Appendix.

The statutory basis for the Federal Court jurisdiction is
based on 46 U.S.C. §§ 688, et al., and 45 U.S.C. $6 51, et seq.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).
STATEMENT

The trial of this case involved the following facts. Plain-
tiff, Gary Alan Kopezynski, was employed by Seaward
Marine Services as a Diver/Tender. His duties as a Diver/
Tender included specifically, working aboard the vessel,
The Jacqueline, and performing all duties aboard the Jac-
queline, as well as those duties directly connected to the
cleaning operations of the Jacqueline and Seaward Marine
Services.

On August 25, 1981, the Jacqueline was moored to the
fuel dock in San Diego Harbor. At this point in time,
Plaintiff was assisting in the refueling operations of said
vessel. This included, though was not limited to, emptying
certain 55 gallon drums of fuel and/or hydraulic oil that
had been stored on the decks of the Jacqueline.

At the time of the incident giving rise to the original com-
plaint, due to the tide, the aft-work deck of the Jacqueline
was six to eight feet below the surface level of the dock.

At periods of low or mean tide, due to the discrepancy
between the aft-work deck of the Jacqueline and the surface
level of the dock, the customary means of access between
the aft-work deck of the Jacqueline and the dock involved
climbing up onto the safety railing of the Jacqueline and
lifting oneself out onto the surface of the dock. No gang-
ways, ladders or Jacob ladders were provided by the De-
fendants to assist Plaintiff in the performance of his duties.

Plaintiff, while involved in the off loading procedure, was
standing on the safety rail of the vessel when he slipped
and fell, thereby suffering the injuries complained of.

Plaintiff could not have carried out his orders to off load the
55 gallon drums without standing on the rail. This was a
customary procedure when the tide caused the aft-work deck
to be lower than the surface level of the dock.

On February 5, 1982, Plaintiff filed a complaint against
the Defendant under the laws of admiralty, as modified
by the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, for the injuries resulting
from the shipboard accident occurring on August 25, 1981.

The case was tried on June 21, 1983, before a jury in the
United States District Court, Southern District of Cali-
fornia. A jury verdict was returned for Plaintiff on
July 12, 1983, in the amount of: $692,308.00 — compensa-
tory damages; $55,301.00— maintenance and cure; and,
$325,000 — punitive damages. The compensatory dam-
ages, however, were reduced by 35% for comparative negli-
gence of Plaintiff.

Notice of Appeal was filed by the Defendants on August 8,
1983, and Notice of Cross-Appeal by Plaintiff was filed on
August 19, 1983, appealing from the judgment, and orders
entered by the trial court.

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals Ninth
Cireuit upheld the applicability of comparative negligence
and reversed the award of punitive damages, finding them
. licabl

4

ARGUMENT
A Petition for Rehearing was made by Plaintiff/Ap-
pellant on the issue of the applicability of comparative neg-
ligence wherein the Defendants violated the Federal Em-
ployers Liability Act (FELA) as incorporated by the Jones
Act.

Section 53 of the FELA provides in part:

“No such employee (of a common carrier by rail-
road) who may be injured or killed shall be held to
have been guilty of contributory negligence in any
case where the violation of such common carrier of
any statute enacted for the safety of employees con-
tributed te the injury or death of such employee.”

The OSHA shipyard employment regulations, more speci-
fically, 29 C.F.R. 4 1915.74, promulgated under the authority
of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, 29 U.S.C. §§
651-678 provides in part that:

“The employer shall not permit employees to board
or leave any vessel, except a barge or river towboat,
until the following requirements have been met: (1)
Whenever practicable, . gangway of not less than 20
inches walking surface, of adequate strength, main-
tained in safe repair and safely secured shall be used.
If a gangway is not practicable, a substantial straight
ladder, extending at least 36 inches above the upper
landing surface and adequately secured against shift-
ing or slipping shall be provided. When conditions are
such that neither a gangway nor a straight ladder can
be used, a Jacobs ladder meeting the requirements of
paragraph (d)(1) and (2) of this section may be used.”

The Defendants stipulated in the Pretrial Conference
Order to being in violation of the requirements hereinabove
set forth. Further, the testimony of crew members and

ee |

5

supervisors directly involved with the Jacqueline confirms
the absence of any gangway, ladder, Jacobs ladder or simi-
lar appliance to be used in safely entering or leaving the
Jacqueline.

The Defendants, however, have argued that the above
cited safety regulations are not applicable to this case.
They argue that Title 29, Code of Federal Regulations was
enacted to protect individuals employed as longshoremen
and not seamen. Further, although Plaintiff performed
many duties for the Defendants while employed by them,
because he was designated a seaman, he is not entitled to
the same health and safety protections afforded other em-
ployees in the same maritime industry performing the same
duties.

In addition to denying the applicability of OSHA regula-
tions at trial, the Defendants argued that: Because the
United States Coast Guard retains regulatory power over
the working conditions of seamen; and, because The
Jacqueline is an uninspected vessel, no specific Coast Guard
regulations are applicable to the case herein.

The issue as to the applicability of the safety statutes
and the preclusion of any consideration of Plaintiff's com-
parative negligence was raised at several times during the
pretrial proceedings and at the trial of this case. Prior to
trial, Plaintiff’s counsel moved the Trial Court In Limine,
to preclude the Defendants from raising the issue of com-
parative negligence based on their violation of safety stan-
dards applicable to Plaintiff. The trial court denied the
motion. During the trial, Plaintiff attempted to introduce
evidence regarding the applicability of these safety statutes
and said evidence was precluded by ruling of the trial court.
At the close of Plaintiff's case in chief, Plaintiff on July 6,
1983, made a Motion for a Directed Verdict on the issues of
contributory negligence. Said motion was denied. During

6

the presentation of jury instructions, Plaintiff’s counsel
requested that jury instructions Numbers 74, 75 and 76 be
given to the jury. These instructions relative to the applic-
ability and existence of safety statutes were denied. Fin-
ally, after final argument, Plaintiff’s counsel again objected
to the issue of comparative negligence going before the
jury. The Trial Judge, by this time aware of Plaintiff’s
position, nevertheless instructed the jury on the issue of
comparative negligence.

If Federal OSHA is divested of jurisdiction to regulate
the working conditions of seamen abroad uninspected ves-
sels, there will be no governmental agency regulating the
safety of employees aboard said vessels. Further, if Fed-
eral OSHA is divested of jurisdiction to regulate the work-
ing conditions of seamen aboard uninspected vessels, this

may result in numerous unnecessary injuries and even
deaths.

If the present Ninth Circuit decision in this matter re-
garding the Coast Guard jurisdiction is allowed to stand
and interpreted to mean that OSHA has no jurisdiction
with respect to uninspected vessels, a twilight zone of non-

regulation will exist into which will fall unprotected em-
ployees.

The seriousness of the present situation is supported by
the facts and judicial reasoning behind the case of Donovan
v. Red Star Marine Services, Inc., 739 Fed. 2d 774 (2nd Cir.
1984), a copy of which is appended hereto. This case was
decided just four weeks after the instant case, arose out of
facts and circumstances similar yet, reached a different
conclusion. In said case, the Court upheld the applicability
of OSHA regulations to uninspected vessels. The Court
found that the Coast Guard does not exercise and has not
exercised any statutory authority vis-a-vis the work place
of employees aboard uninspected vessels. Red Star, supra,

ed ee

7

at 777. The Court further found that, in spite of numerous
requests by the Coast Guard to obtain additional grants
of authority from Congress in order to regulate more com-
prehensibly the uninspected fleet, the Coast Guard is limited
to regulation of life-saving and firefighting equipment, back-
fire flame control, ventilation, the reporting of casualties
and the licensing of operators. Red Star, supra, at 777.

Finally, reviewing Supreme Court Rules, Rule 17, Con-
siderations Governing Review on Certiorari, it is stated
that the first reason important enough for the Supreme
Court to consider granting a review is “(a) When a Federal
Court of Appeals has rendered a decision in conflict with
the decision of another Federal Court of Appeals on the
same matter ;”.

In the instant case, we have this very same situation. It
is our belief that the Second Circuit has correctly analyzed
both sides of the issue. The opinion therein was based on
well documented evidence and accurately reflects the mag-
nitude of the problem and the only plausible solution.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that this Petition should be granted.
Dated: April 2, 1985

Jerrrey A. Kopczynski

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

OPINION

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GARY ALAN KOPCZYNSKI,
Plaintiff-Appellee/Cross-Appellant,
v

THE JACQUELINE, Documentation Number 519060,
Her Engine, Tackle, Appurtenances, etc.,
In Rem; SEWARD MARINE SERVICES, INC.,
a California Corporation,
SEAWARD MARINE SERVICES, INC.,
a Virginia Corporation,

ABC DOE CORPORATION, WENDY WEBBER,
JIM WALKER and TIM ORSAC,
individually, In Personam,
Defendants-Appellants/Cross-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of California
The Honorable Edward J. Schwartz, Presiding
Argued and submitted July 3, 1984

FILED SEPTEMBER 11, 1984
PHILLIP B. WINBERRY
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Nos. 83-6108, 83-6152
D.C. No. CV 82-0123-S(T)

Before: ANDERSON, TANG, and FERGUSON, Circuit
Judges. J. BLAINE ANDERSON, Circuit Judge:

Gary Kopezynski brought an admiralty action against
Seaward Marine Services for injury he sustained while
employed as a crew member on The Jacqueline. Claims
were brought for negligence under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.
§ 688, unseaworthiness, maintenance and cure, and punitive

A-2

damages. The jury found in Kopezynski’s favor on all but
the unseaworthiness claim. Seaward appeals claiming that
punitive damages are not recoverable under the Jones Act.
Kopezynski cross-appeals asserting that his Jones Act
award should not have been reduced by the amount of his
comparative negligence; the district court should have
found The Jacqueline unseaworthy as a matter of law; and
attorney’s fees should have been awarded as an item of
maintenance and cure. We affirm on all issues except the
district court’s award of punitive damages, which we re-
verse.

I
BACKGROUND

Kopezynski was employed by Seaward as a “diver/
tender” on The Jacqueline. The Jacqueline is a converted
World War II landing craft used in connection with ship
husbandry, in particular cleaning and maintaining ships’
hulls. Kopezynski’s duties included underwater inspection
and operation of hull scrubbing equipment, assisting other
divers, operation of the various specialized machinery on
The Jacqueline, and performance of seaman’s duties on
the vessel such as piloting and maintenance.

On August 25, 1981, The Jacqueline was moored at the
Shell Fuel Dock in San Diego Harbor. Kopezynski was
assisting in refueling operations. This task included emp-
tying 55-gallon drums containing hydraulic oil and other
fuel into the ships’ tanks. Once empty, the drums were
man-handled back onto the dock.

On the day of refueling, the tide was exceptionally low.
This placed the aft work deck, from which the operation
took place, six to eight feet below the dock. Due to the
transfer of oil from the drums, oil was on the deck, creating
slippery working conditions. Either to off-load a drum or
to get up on the dock, Kopezynski stood on the safety rail-

A-3

ing located four feet above the deck. He slipped, straddled
the rail, and injured his back. Using the safety railing to
step off of the vessel was a common practice of The Jac-
queline’s crew.

At first being considered a harbor worker, Kopezynski
received over $17,000 in longshoremen’s benefits over a 10-
month period. On February 5, 1982, Kopezynski filed this
action. His complaint sought redress based on the mari-
time rights of seamen, and his workers’ compensation bene-
fits were terminated four months later.

The trial was held in June and July of 1983. On July 12,
the jury returned special verdicts finding Seaward neg-
ligent, awarding $450,000 in compensatory damages to Kop-
ezynski after his 35% comparative negligence was taken
into account; it awarded $55,301 on the maintenance and
cure claim; and it concluded that Seaward had acted
wantonly and maliciously and granted $325,000 in punitive
damages. The jury did not find the vessel unseaworthy.
The court entered judgment accordingly.

It
ANALYSIS
A. Comparative Negligence
Kopezynski contends that the district court should not
have reduced his compensatory damage award under the
Jones Act by the amount the jury found him to be com-
paratively negligent, 35%. We disagree.

The Jones Act provides:

Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury in the
course of his employment may, at his election, main-
tain an action for damages at law, with the right of
trial by jury, and in such action all statutes of the
United States modifying or extending the common-law

A4

right or remedy in cases of personal injury to railway
employees shall apply ....

46 U.S.C. § 688. The relevant statutes governing personal
injury suits by railway employees, and thus incorporated
into the Jones Act, are found in the Federal Employer’s
Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. $§ 51-60. See, e.g., Nygaard v. Peter
Pan Seafoods, Inc., 701 F.2d 77, 79 (9th Cir. 1983).

The general rule in personal injury actions brought in
admiralty (both under the Jones Act and general maritime
law) and under the FELA is that contributory negligence is
not a complete bar to recovery but it does operate to reduce
the amount of the damage award. 45 U.S.C. §53; see
Socony-Vacuum Oil Co. v. Smith, 305 U.S. 424, 428-429
(1939); DuBose v. Matson Navigation Co., 403 F.2d 875,
878 (9th Cir. 1968).

Section 53 of the FELA also provides that contributory
negligence, or more appropriately in today’s terms, com-
parative negligence, may not be considered “in any case
where the violation by [the employer] of any statute en-
acted for the safety of employees contributed to the injury
or death of such employee.” See Kernan v. American Dredg-
ing Co., 355 U.S. 426, 485 (1958) (citing Coray v. Southern
Pacific Co., 335 U.S. 520, 524 (1949)). Kopezynski argues
that Seaward’s violation of certain safety regulations con-
tributed to his injury, and therefore his comparative negli-
gence should not have reduced his damage award.

Surprisingly, there is little case law construing the effect
of § 53 in maritime personal injury action. In one of the few
cases that addressed the issue, the court stated that if a
maritime employer violated safety statutes analogous to the
Safety Appliances and Boiler Inspection Acts, 45 U.S.C. §§
1-43, which clearly apply to § 53’s proviso, see Coray, 335
U.S. at 524, then the seaman’s negligence will not reduce
the damage award. Neal v. Saga Shipping Co., 8.A., 407

nee

A-5

F.2d. 481, 485-486 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 986
(1969). The court concluded, however, that the injured
party was a longshoreman to whom the Jones Act did not
apply. In another case the court reserved the question be-
cause it found no violation of a safety statute occurred.

B-R Dredging Co. v. Rodriguez, 564 S.W.2d 693, 695 (Tex.
1978). Finding the regulations proffered by Kopcezynski to
be inapplicable, we also reserve the the issue of how and
when the violation of a safety statute or regulation might
preclude consideration of an injured seaman’s comparative
negligence in a Jones Act cause.

Kopezynski argues that Seaward violated two sets of
related regulations : the OSHA Shipyard Employment Reg-
ulations governing the use of gangways or ladders for ac-
cess to a vessel, 29 C.F.R. § 1915.74; and the Defense
Acquisition Regulations, 32 C.F.R. § 12-501, which provide
that the OSHA Shipyard Regulations are applicable to
defense contractors.

The district court correctly found these regulations do
not govern the operation of The Jacqueline. The OSHA
Shipyard Employment Regulations were promulgated
under the authority of the Occupational Safety and Health
Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 651-678, and the Longshoreman’s and
Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. §§ 901-950.

The Occupational Safety and Health Act provides that:

Nothing in this chapter shall apply to working condi-
tions of employees with respect to which other Federal
agencies . . . exercise statutory authority to prescribe
or enforce standards or regulations affecting occu-
pational safety or health.

29 U.S.C. §653(b)(1). The Coast Guard is the primary
federal agency which exercises authority over the working
conditions of seamen. 14 U.S.C. § 2.

A-6

In turn, the LHWCA’s scope is limited. It protects the
rights of “employees” which are defined as a:

longshoreman or other person engaged in longshoring
operations, and any harbor worker including a ship
repairman, ship builder, and ship breaker, but such
term does not include a master or member of any crew
of any vessel, or any person engaged by the master to
load or unload or repair any small vessel under 18 tons
net.

33 U.S.C. §902(3).

The Shipyard Employment Regulations themselves rec-
ognize this limited scope:

This part does not apply to matters under the control
of the United States Coast Guard within the scope of
Title 52 of the Revised Statutes and Acts supplemen-
tary or amendatory thereto ... including, but not
restricted to, the master, ship’s officer, crew members,
design, construction and maintenance of the vessel, its
gear and equipment....

29 C.F.R. § 1915.2(b).

Kopezynski is a crew member of The Jacqueline and
brought this action based on his status as a seaman. The
regulations governing the safety of habor workers and
longshoremen do not apply. See Donovan v. Texaco, Inc.
720 F.2d 825, 826-829 (5th Cir. 1983) ; Taylor v. Moore-Mc-
Cormack Lines, Inc., 621 F.2d 88, 92-93 (4th Cir. 1980) ;

Clary v. Ocean Drilling & Exploration Co., 609 F.2d 1120,
1122 (5th Cir. 1980).

B. Maintenance and Cure

Kopezynski contends that as a matter of law the district
court should have granted him attorney’s fees in conjunc-

tion with his maintenance and cure award. We are not
persuaded.

Saw sat A oe 00

A-7

Maintenance and cure is the obligation of a ship-owner
to care for a seaman injured during the course of maritime
employment. See Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369 U.S. 527, 531-
532 (1962) ; Crooks v. United States, 459 F.2d 631, 632-633
(9th Cir. 1972). In Vaughan, the Supreme Court heid that
attorney’s fees incurred in order to secure a maintenance
and cure award may be recovered in addition to the usual
items such as medical care, food, and lodging. Here, the
district court followed the approach of the circuit courts
that have construed the scope of Vaughan and interpret it
to allow attorney’s fees only when the failure to provide
maintenance and cure was arbitrary, recalcitrant or un-
reasonable. Icandela v. American Dredging Co., 659 F.2d
11, 15 (2d Cir. 1981) ; Gaspard v. Taylor Diving & Salving
Co., 649 F.2d 372, 375 (5th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S.
907 (1982) ; see Vaughan, 369 U.S. at 530-531. We approve.

In an instruction and special interrogatory, the district
court requested the jury to decide whether Seaward was
“willful and arbitrary in failing to pay maintenance and
cure,” to which it responded in the answer to the interrog-
atory, “No.” We see no reason to disturb that finding.
Kopezynski originally received workman’s compensation
benefits as a longshoreman or harbor worker. Four months
after Kopezynski filed this action as a seaman under the
Jones Act, the benefits were terminated. The jury could
have reasonably concluded that the failure to provide
further maintenance and cure once the benefits were ter-
minated was not unreasonable due to the uncertain nature
of Kopezynski’s status.

C. Unseaworthiness

In its answer to a special interrogatory, the jury found
that The Jacqueline was not unseaworthy. Kopezynski
contends that the district court should have directed i
verdict in his favor on this issue; the jury instructions

A38

regarding the law of unseaworthiness were inadequate ; and
the district court erroneously excluded evidence pertaining
to this claim. We find these contentions to be without merit.

At the outset, we note that Kopyezynski is not entiled to
independent recoveries for his negligence and unseaworth-
iness claims. 1B Benedict on Admiralty, § 21 at 3-3 (1983).
Comparative negligence principles apply to each theory, id.,
§ 25 at 3-92, so his compensatory remedy would be the same
under either claim. There may, however, be a distinction
between the two theories in the area of punitive damages, as
discussed in the next section. We therefore discuss
Kopezynski’s argument on this issue, even though his claim
is under general principles moot because Seaward does not
question the propriety of Kopezynski’s compensatory dam-
age award.

Kopezynski failed to move for judgment notwithstanding
the verdict, so we will not pass on the question whether a
directed verdict was mandated by the evidence. 5A Moore’s
Federal Practice, J 50.12 at 50-108 (1984).

Kopezynski’s attack on the jury instructions consists of
the conclusory statement that they were “inadequate” for
such a complex area of the law. First, Kopzynski did not
object to the court’s failure to give the instructions he pro-
posed. He therefore lost his right to raise this issue on
appeal. Fed. R. Civ. P. 51; see Robert Waikiki U-Drive,
Inc. v. Budget Rent-A-Car, Inc., 732 F.2d 1403, 1410 (9th
Cir. 1984). Second, Kopezynski’s conclusory contention of
“inadequacy” does not provide us with a sufficient basis on
which to review the instructions. Objections to jury instruc-
tions must be specific, see F ed. R. Civ. P. 51, and so should
claims of error in that respect be on appeal.

Last, Kopezynski argues that the district court errone-
ously excluded evidence of the regulations discussed earlier.
As stated, they are not applicable.

A-9

D. Punitive Damages

On cross-appeal, Seaward contends that as a matter
of law the district court should not have awarded punitive
damages. This presents a novel question in this circuit and
we agree with Seaward that such damages are not recover-
able in this case.

Initially, it must be emphasized that we are presented
only with the question whether punitive damages are
recoverable under the Jones Ac*. As just discussed, the
jury did not find that The Jacqueline was unseaworthy
under general maritime law and we see no reason to disturb
that conclusion. Therefore, we offer no opinion on whether
punitive damages may be recovered on an unseaworthiness
claim. See Dyer v. Merry Shipping Co., 650 F.2d (5th
Cir. 1981) (Fifth Circuit concluding that a finding of unsea-
worthiness may support a punitive damage award) ; Holmes
v. J. Ray McDermott & Co., 734 F.2d 1110, 1118 (5th Cir.
1984) (willful failure to pay maintenance and cure can
support punitive damage award); cf. Note, Punitive Dam-
ages in Admiralty, 18 Hastings L.J. 995, 1002 (1967) (puni-
tive damages based on unseaworthiness claim not avail-
able).

We have discussed how the Jones Act incorporates by
reference the standards of the FELA. Prior to enactment
of the Jones Act in 1920, it had been established that only
compensatory damages were available in FELA actions.
Michigan Central Railroad Co. v. Vreeland, 227 U.S. 59,
71-72 (1913) ; Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway Co. v.
McGinnis, 228 U.S. 173, 175-176 (1913) ; see Kozar v. Chesa-
peake and Ohio Railway Co., 449 F.2d 1238, 1240-1243 (6th
Cir. 1971).

We find this limitation of recovery applicable to this
case. In Merry Shipping, the Fifth Circuit recognized that
punitive damages may not be available under the Jones

A-10

Act because under it recovery is limited to “pecuniary”
losses, even though the court did hold that an unseaworthi-
ness claim may support such an award. 650 F.2d at 626.
This circuit also limits Jones Act damage awards to pecu-
niary osses. Nygaard v. Peter Pan Seafoods, Inc., 701 F.2d
77, 80 (9th Cir. 1983). Punitive damages are non-pecuniary.
Under our precedent, therefore, they may not be awarded
on a claim of negligence based on the Jones Act. Any
argument that they should be available ought to be ad-
dressed to Congress. See id. (citing DoCarmo v. F. V.
Pilgrim I. Corp., 612 F.2d 11, 13 n.3 (1st Cir. 1979), cert.
denied, 446 U.S. 956 (1980)). In reaching this result, we
find support in a persuasive article discussing the legislative
history and case law of the Jones Act. Dahlquist, Punitive
Damages Under the Jones Act, 6 Maritime Lawyer 1-36
(1981).

ITI.
CONCLUSION
We affirm the judgment in all respect except the punitive
damage award, which we reverse.

AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED
and REMANDED IN PART.

APPENDIX B

ORDER

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GARY ALAN KOPCZYNSKI,
Plaintiff-Appellant/Cross-Appellant,

vs.

THE JACQUELINE, Documentation Number 519060,
Her Engine, Tackle, Appurtenances, etc.,
In REM, SEAWARD MARINE SERVICES, INC.,
a California Corporation,
SEAWARD MARINE SERVICES, INC.,
a Virginia Corporation,

ABC DOE CORPORATION, WENDY WEBBER,
JIM WALKER and TIM ORSAC,
individually, In Personam,
Defendants-Appellants/Cross-Appellees.

FILED JANUARY 10, 1985
PHILLIP B. WINBERRY
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Nos. 83-6108, 83-6152
D.C. No. CV 82-0123-S(I)

Before: ANDERSON, TANG, and FERGUSON, Circuit
Judges.

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted to
deny the petition for rehearing and to reject the sugges-
tion for a rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for
en banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has requested

a vote on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R.
App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion
for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

The motion of Barbara Munden to file an amicus curiae
is DENIED.

The motion to stay issuance of the mandate is DENIED.

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT: OF APPEALS
For tue Seconp Crecuit

Cal. No. 727, 728 — August Term 1983
(Argued : Februray 9, 1984 Decided: July 10, 1984)
Docket Nos. 83-4158, 4168

Raymonp J. Donovan, SecrEtaBy oF Lasor,
Petitioner/Cross-Respondent,

Vs.

Rep Starz Marine Services, Inc.,
Respondent/Cross-Petitioner.

Before:
Van GraaFEILAND and Tress, Circutt Judges,
and Rez, Chief Judge*.

Cross-petitions by the Secretary of Labor and Red Star
Marine Services, Inc., from a final order of the Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Review Commission, in an action
by the Secretary against Red Star for violation of 29
C.F.R. § 1910.95. The Commission held that, although the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration had ob-
tained valid ex parte warrants to inspect the tugboat
STAMFORD, it did not have jurisdiction over the working

conditions of “seamen,” aboard uninspected vessels.

Affirmed in part, Reversed in part, and Remanded.

JamEs E. Cuup, Attorney, United States Department
of Labor (Francis X. Lilly, Deputy Solicitor of Labor ;
Frank A. White, Associate Solicitor for Occupational
Safety and Health; Dennis K. Kade, Counsel for Ap-
pellate Litigation; Shelley D. Hayes, Attorney, Wash-
ington, DC, of counsel), for Petitioner/Cross-Respon-

dent.

*The Hon. Edward D. Re, Chief Judge, United States Court of

International Trade, sitting by designation.

0-2 |

James M. Kenny, New York, New York (McHugh,
Leonard & O’Conor, New York, New York, of counsel),
for Respondent/Cross-Petittioner. j

:
5

Re, Chief Judge:

By cross-petitions, both parties appeal from a final order
of the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
(Commission) which held that, although the Occupational i
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA obtained a valid
ex parte warrant, it did not have jurisdiction over the F
working conditions of “seamen” aboard an “uninspected
vessel.” In general terms, this case presents a jurisdic- i.
tional conflict between two federal agencies, OSHA and
the Coast Guard.

The two questions presented are: (1) whether OSHA 4
has jurisdiction over the “working conditions” of employees
aboard uninspected vessels' operating on navigable waters,
or whether the Coast Guard, a sister federal agency, had
“actually exercised” its authority over the working con-
ditions of employees aboard uninspected vessels operating
on navigable waters; and (2) whether the ex parte warrants j
obtained by OSHA in this case were valid.

Since we hold that OSHA has jurisdiction over the work-
ing conditions of employees aboard uninspected vessels,
and that the ex parte warrants were valid, we remand the
case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

1Chapter 1 of 46 Code of Federal Regulations and the recent
amendments to Title 46, United States Code, enacted by Pub. L.
98-89, 97 Stat. 500 (1983), classify vessels according to factors such
as weight, purpose, and method of propulsion. One type of vessel
classified pursuant to Title 46 is an “uninspected vessel,” which is
a term used to denote that it is not subject to the Coast Guard’s
inspection and Certification authority. 46 U.S.C. § 2101(43). :

C-3

The Facts

Red Star Marine Services, Inc. (Red Star) operates a
tugboat and marine towing service along the eastern sea-
board of the United States. Its fleet includes the tugboat
“STAMFORI ,” which was inspected by an OSHA Com-
pliance Officer on the 27th and 29th of May, 1980. The
inspection, prompted by an employee complaint, was con-
ducted pursuant to an ex parte warrant issued by a United
States Magistrate after Red Star had refused the Com-
pliance Officer’s request to inspect the tugboat for safety
and health violations. As a result of that inspection, the
Secretary of Labor, the statutory head of OSHA, cited Red
Star with violations of the Occupational Safety and Health
Act of 1970, 84 Stat. 1590, 29 U.S.C. § 651, et. seq., (1982)
(OSH Act). In particular, the Secretary alleged violation
of 29 C.F.R. § 1910.95, in that, Red Star had failed to pro-
vide protection against excessive noise levels, and had failed
to administer a continuing bearing conservation program.

The Administrative Proceedings

Red Star contested the Secretary’s allegations and pur-
sued the available administrative remedies. Subsequent to
the first hearing, in a decision dated July 13, 1982, the
OSHA Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) upheld the Sec-
retary’s actions, and rejected Red Star’s contentions that
OSHA lacked jurisdiction, and that the warrants were
invalid. Red Star petitioned the Commission for discre-
tionary review. On review, the Commission upheld the
validity of the warrants, and remanded, for reconsidera-
tion by the ALJ, the question of jurisdiction in light of
Dillingham Tug & Barge Corp., ___--_- _ OSAHRC
, 10 O.S.H. Cas. (BNA) 1859, 1982 O.S.H. Dec.

(CCH) 7 26,166 (1982). In Dillingham, the Commission
found that “the Coast Guard has prescribed, and it enforces,
regulations that govern the working conditions of seamen
aboard both inspected and uninspected vessels operating

C-4

on navigable waters.” Id. at ___, 10 O.S.H. Cas. (BNA)
at 1861, 1982 O.S.H. Dec. (CCH) at 32,996. Hence, since
“section 4(b)(1) precludes the Secretary from enforcing
the OSH Act with respect to [the] working conditions” of
“seamen” aboard vessels operating on the navigable waters,
the Commission held that the Coast Guard had exclusive
jurisdict 1. Id. at , 10 O.S.H. Cas. (BNA) at
1860,1° 0O.S.H. Dec. (CCH) at 32,995.

Pursuant to the remand order, a second hearing, which
consisted largely of the testimony of a Coast Guard
officer, was held on February 9, 1983. Based upon that
testimony, the regulations found in 46 C.F.R., Chapter I,
and the Commission’s decision in Dillingham, the ALJ
reversed his prior decision, and held that since the Coast
Guard had jurisdiction, OSHA could not enforce its
regulations in this case. Since the Commission did not act
upon the Secretary’s petition for discretionary review of
the decision on remand, on June 23, 1983, by operation
of section 12(j) of the OSH Act, 29 U.S.C. § 661(i), the
ALJ’s decision became a final order of the Commission.

Pursuant to sections 11(a) & (b) of the OSH Act, 29
U.S.C. §§ 660 (a) (b) (1982), the Secretary seeks judi-
cial review of the determination that OSHA does not have
jurisdiction over the working conditions of “seamen”
aboard uninspected vessels. Red Star, by cross-petition,
seeks review of that part of the Commission decision which
upheld the validity of the ex parte warrant.

Standard of Review

The OSH Act applies to all employment performed in
workplaces located within the several states; the District
of Columbia; Puerto Rico; the Virgin Islands; Samoa,
Guam, Wake and Johnston Islands; the Trust Territory of
the Pacific Islands; and on the Outer Continental Shelf
lands. Section 4(a), 29 0.S.C. § 653(a). Unless engaged in

ee ee ny

C-5

the field of nuclear or atomic energy, a private employer
is not exempt from the OSH Act. The only exception is
when a sister federal agency is vested with the statutory
authority to prescribe or regulate occupational safety or
health matters within its purview. Section 4(b)(1), 29
U.S.C. § 653(b) (1).

In this case, the Commission vacated OSHA’s citation
of the STAMFORD for noncompliance with its occupa-
tional noise regulation, on the ground that the Coast Guard
comprehensively regulates the working conditions of em-
ployees aboard uninspected vessels on navigable waters.
In Marshall v. Northwest Orient Airlines, Inc., 574 F.2d 119
(2d Cir. 1978), this Court considered the question of the
exemption pursuant to section 4(b)(1), and held that it is
a mixed question of “law and fact.” Zd. at 122.

The applicable standard of review for questions of fact
is specified in section 11(a) of the OSH Act, 29 U.S.C.
§ 660(a), which provides that the findings of the Commis-
sion “if supported by substantial evidence on the record
considered as a whole, shall be conclusive.” Jd. As to
questions of law, however, the court is free to determine
whether the Commission’s legal conclusion is “in accord-
ance with law.” 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(a). It is, of course, the
function of the court to ascertain the meaning of the
pertinent legislation, and to give effect to the legislative
purpose. Nevertheless, judicial authority teaches that,
even in cases of statutory interpretation and application,
appropriate weight must be given to the interpretation of
a statute by the agency charged with its administration.
Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16-17 (1965). Accord Tyson
v. Maher, 523 F.2d 972, 974 (2d Cir. 1975). This standard
has been followed by other circuits in an occupational
health and safety context. See Dunlop v. Rockwell Inter-
national, 540 F.2d 1283, 1289-90 (6th Cir. 1976) (deferring
to the Commission’s construction of the Act despite the

ce ee oe ee

C-6

Secretary’s contrary view). Accord GAF Corp. v. OSHRC,
561 F.2d 913, 915 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (deferring to administra-
tive interpretation of OSHA regulations when the Secre-
tary and the Commission agreed).
Jurisdiction

The first question presented requires the interpretation
of section 4(b)(1) of the OSH Act, 29 U.S.C. § 653(b) (1)
(1982). This section provides that:

Nothing in this chapter shall apply to working
conditions of employees with respect to which other
Federal agencies, and State agencies acting under
section 2021 of Title 42, exercise statutory authority
to prescribe or enforce standards or regulations af-
fecting occupational safety or health.

Id.

The Commission agrees that a correct interpretation of
section 4(b)(1) requires an actual exercise of delegated
statutory authority. We differ with the Commission, how-
ever, on the issue of whether the Coast Guard has actually
exercised the authority conferred. Thus, the question
presented does not involve an ordinary question of fact,
but rather, the interpretation and application of the stat-
utes and regulations applicable to the authority and re-
sponsibilities of the Coast Guard.

It is undisputed by the parties that the Coast Guard
possesses extensive statutory authority, and is the agency
primarily responsible for maritime safety. Section 2 of
Title 14 provides that the Coast Guard “shall administer
laws and promulgate and enforce regulations for the pro-
motion of safety of life and property on and under the
high seas and waters subject to the jurisdiction of the
United States covering all matters not specifically dele-
gated by law to some other executive department ... .”

ne tnt Canine andere

ree - |

C-7

Id. Numerous sections of Title 4€ of the United States
Code also grant specific authority to the Coast Guard.
See, e.g., 46 U.S.C. §§ 3301-18 (governing inspection of
vessels). The proposition that Congress intended the
Coast Guard to be primarily responsible in the area of
maritime safety is suported by the legislative history of
the recent amendments to Title 46, H.R. Rep. No. 338,
98th Cong., 1st Sess., reprinted im 1983 U.S. Code Cong.
& Ad. News 924.

It is equally clear, however, and also undisputed by the
parties, that the Coast Guard does not exercise and has
not exercised any statutory authority to regulate noise
hazards aboard uninspected vessels such as the STAM-
FORD. In fact, the Coast Guard has historically viewed
its autherity to regulate uninspected vessels as limited to
the regulation to regulate uninspected vessels as limited to
the regulation of life-saving and fire fighting equipment,
backfire flame control, ventilation, the reporting of ca-
sualties and the licensing of operators. In the past, the
Coast Guard had made several attempts to obtain addi-
tional grants of authority from Congress in order to
regulate more comprehensive the uninspected fleet. See,
e.g., Marine Safety Program: Hearings on H.R. 3486 before
the Subcomm. on Coast Guard and Navigation of the
House Comm. on Merchant Marine and Fisheries, 98th
Cong., 1st Sess. 466-68 (1983) (statement of Admiral
James C. Gracey, Commander, U.S. Coast Guard). Indeed,
in his testimon; before the House Subcommittee on Coast
Guard and Navigation, Admiral Gracey, Commandant
of the Coast Guard, specifically requested addition-
al authorities over uninspected vessels: “We .. . need
some statutory authority [to regulate uninspected vessels].
We don’t have that now.” Jd. at 467. Congressional
inaction on this suggestion, most notably the failure to
provide additional authority to regulate towing vessels,
clearly evidences an unwillingness to expand the Coast

0-8

Guard’s authority over the uninspected fleet. Hence, it
cannot be questioned that there is a significant distinction
between “uninspected” vessels and “inspected and certifi- |
cated” vessels, in that the regulations affecting “inspected

and certificated” vessels are more numerous, extensive, |

and pervasive than those affecting “uninspected” vessels.

Notwithstanding an exhaustive search, we have been

unable to discover any provision in the United States .
Code, or the Code of Federal Regulations, which ad- .
dresses the Coast Guard’s authority to regulate noise
hazards above uninspected vessels. We do, however, take
judicial notice of the fact that the Coast Guard has issued
recommendations on the control of excessive noise in
Navigation and Vessel Inspection Circular 12-82, dated )
June 2, 1982. It is important to note that this circular was .
promulgated after the events which led to this litigation,
and, by its terms, was directed toward inspected and not |
uninspected vessels.

Thus, we are faced with the question whether, under
section 4(b) of the OSH Act, the regulatory authority of |
the Coast Guard in maritime matters preempts OSHA’s )
statutory authority to regulate a hazard aboard a vessel )
not addressed by the Coast Guard. )

Although not in issue, the Secretary concedes that the
pervasive regulations by the Coast Guard of safety and .
health matters aboard inspected vessels eliminates or |
excludes OSHA’s jurisdiction over those vessels.? The

In accordance with a “Memorandum of Understanding” signed :
by the Commandant of the Coast Guard and the Assistant Secretary
for Occupational Safety and Health, Department of Labor, the
Secretary has taken the position, that “the Coast Guard has issued
comprehensive standards and regulations concerning the working
conditions of seamen aboard inspected vessels,” and that OSHA
may not enforce its regulations with respect to “seamen” aboard
inspected vessels.

aaa

C-9

Secretary, however, maintains that the Coast Guard has
not “comprehensively exercised,” within the meaning of
section 4(b), statutory authority as to the working condi-
tions, particularly noise hazards, of “seamen” aboard un-
inspected vessels. The Secretary contends that compre-
hensive regulation is required to justify an industry-wide
exemption from OSHA regulation. On the other hand,
Red Star contendes that the Coast Guard has exercised
jurisdiction over some matters affecting the health and
safety of its “seamen” aboard the STAMFORD, an unin-
spected vessel, and that preemption may occur even though
the Coast Guard has chosen to regulate less stringently than
OSHA.

Were this to be a case of first impression, it would seem
clear that noise is a “working condition” within the plain
meaning of section 4(b)(1), and that the Coast Guard
has not “exercised” statutory authority over noise aboard
uninspected vessels. It would follow, therefore, that the
OSHA regulations would apply. Similar issues, however,
have been presented to a number of circuit and district
courts which have not interpreted section 4(b)(1) con-
sistently.

In Marshall v. Northwest Orient Airlines, Inc., supra,
this Court held that section 4(b)(1) was not intended “to
eliminate OSHA’s jurisdiction merely on the basis of
hypothetical conflicts,” nor “designed to provide whole-
sale exceptions for entire industries.” Jd. at 122. Accord-
ingly, this Court held that “a sister agency must actually
be exercising a power to regulate safety conditions in
order to preempt OSHA.” Jd. (emphasis in original).

Other circuits have agreed with the interpretation that
the term “exercise,” as used in section 4(b)(1) of the Act,
requires an actual, concrete assertion of regulatory
authority as opposed to a mere possession of authority.

C-10

Furthermore, the decisions teach that section 4(b)(1) was
not intended to create industry-wide exemptions based on
isolated or narrow exercises of statutory authority. In
Southern Ry. Co. v. OSHRC, 539 F.2d 335 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 429 U.S. 999 (1976), the Fourth Circuit demon-
strated that this. view of section 4(b)(1) was indeed the
intent of Congress. Id. at 336-37. See also Southern Pacific
Transp. Co. v. Usery, 539 F.2d 386, 390 (5th Cir. 1976),
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 874 (1977); Baltimore & Ohio B.R.
Co. v. OSHRC, 548 F.2d 1052, 1054 (D.C. Cir. 1976). We
agree that the term “exercise,” as used in section 4(b) (1)
of the Act, requires more than isolated regulations peri-
pherally affecting the working condition of employees.

Red Star cites authority for the proposition that, be-
cause of pervasive regulation by the Coast Guard of work-
ing conditions on board vessels in navigation, there is,
for “seamen,” an industry-wide exemption from OSHA
regulation. We reject this contention. First, the authorities
relied upon are distinguishable, and, furthermore, most
of the opinions cited did not address the considerable varia-
tion in the pervasiveness of Coast Guard regulation be-
tween inspected and uninspected vessels.

In Donovan v. Texaco, Inc., 720 F.2d 825 (5th Cir. 1983),
the question was whether section 11(c) of the OSH Act
could be enforced as to “seamen.” Although the Fifth
Cireuit deferred to the Commission’s opinion in Dilling-
ham, which held that OSHA lacked jurisdiction over the
working conditions of “seamen” aboard uninspected ves-
sels, it also found an actual conflict with the Coast Guard’s
scheme of regulation. The court held that “the parallel
but divergent protective plan of 11(c) would be precisely
the sort of duplication [by sister federal agencies] that
the Congress meant to forbid by enacting Section 4(b) (1)
of OSHA.” Id. at 829.

C-11

The Texaco opinion was based in part on an earlier
Fifth Cireuit opinion, Clary v. Ocean Drilling ¢ Exzplora-
tion Co., 609 F.2d 1120 (5th Cir. 1980), which not only
deferred to Commission precedent, but also based its de-
cision on a ground independent of section 4(b)(1), Clary
involved a Jones Act suit in which the plaintiff alleged
he was injured as a result of several violations of OSHA
regulations. These violations, he argued, constituted neg-
ligence per se. The court examined those regulations and
concluded that they were intended to cover only certain
specific situations, and did not apply to the situation which
occasioned the plaintiff’s injury. 7d. at 1122.

In support of its position, Red Star also refers to the
following language quoted from Taylor v. Moore-McCor-
mack Lines, Inc., 621 F.2d 88 (4th Cir. 1980) :

The Coast Guard has responsibility for the safety of
“seamen” under the regulations issued by it, whereas
the Department of Labor, under OSHA, has statutory
responsibility for the safety of longshoremen at work
under regulations issued by it. The respective re-
sponsibilities, thus established, are exclusive. This
exclusivity is expressly declared in connection with
longshoring; it is implicit so far as seamen are con-
cerned.

Id. at 93. In Taylor, the question was whether certain
Coast Guard regulations applied to “longshoremen,” not
whether OSHA regulations applied to “seamen” aboard
uninspected vessels. Again, the court did not consider the
void or lacunae which existed by virtue of the lack of
pervasive Coast Guard regulation of working conditions
of employees aboard uninspected vessels. Hence, Taylor
cannot be said to have precedential authority.

Finally, Red Star relies on the following quotation from
Barger v. Mayor & City Council of Baltimore, 616 F.2d

C-12

730 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 834 (1980): “In 29
C.F.R. § 1910.5(b), the Labor Department placed outside
the reach of the regulations employees whose occupa-
tional safety and health are within the statutory jurisdic-
tion of other federal agencies. The Coast Guard is em-
powered to lay down health and safety rules for Jones
Act seamen... .” Jd. at 732. It is clear that 29 C.F.R.
§ 1910.5(b) is simply a restatement of section 4(b)(1) of
the OSH Act. It does not in any way alter our view that
mere possession of statutory authority is insufficient to
preempt OSHA, and that section 4(b)(1) requires an
actual, concrete exercise of that authority. We, therefore,
hold that noise aboard an uninspected vessel is a working
condition which is not regulated by the Coast Guard.

We realize that our holding is contrary to the opinion
expressed by the Commission in Dillingham. In preclud-
ing OSHA jurisdiction in Dillingham, the Commission re-
jected the distinction between inspected and uninspected
vessels, and justified its view on the basis of the few
Coast Guard regulations that applied to uninspected ves-
sels.

In our view, isolated Coast Guard regulations, such as
the load line statute, 46 U.S.C. § 88, do not constitute an
exercise of statutory authority by the Coast Guard, within
the meaning of section 4(b)(1), sufficient to oust OSHA
of jurisdiction to regulate working conditions for employ-
ees aboard uninspected vessels.

While the regulations cited by the Commission in Dil-
lingham are safety regulations which pertain to the “sea-
worthiness” of vessels and the safety of those aboard,
they only incidentally regulate the working conditions of
employees. Examples of safety regulations only incidental
to the regulation of working conditions are: regulations
on the use of petroleum gas, 46 C.F.R. 4 25.45-1; ven-

C-13

tilation requirements, 46 C.F.R. § 25.40-1; backfire flame
control, 46 C.F.R. § 25.35-1; and fire extinguishers, 46
C.F.R. § 25.30. Other regulations merely govern qualifica-
tions for a particular employment, for example, the man-
ning requirements found in 46 C.F.R. § 157, and not the
working conditions of that employment.

It would do violence to the clear intent of Congress to
hold that these instances of Coast Guard regulation of
working conditions aboard uninspected vessels would serve
to deny an entire class of employees the protection of
major safety legislation such as the OSH Act. There can
be no doubt that it was the intent of Congress “to assure
so far as possible every working man and woman in the
Nation safe and healthful working conditions... .” 29
U.S.C. § 651(b). Accord Marshall v. Western Electric, Inc.,
565 F.2d 240, 245 (2d Cir. 1977). It is also beyond ques-
tion that section 4(b)(1) of the OSH Act should be in-
terpreted and applied “to achieve the maximum protection
for the industrial workers of the Nation.” Southern Ry.
Co., 539 F.2d at 338. As recognized by the Supreme Court
of the United States, Congress has historically been es-
pecially protective of “seamen”:

{[Wlorkers at sea have been the beneficiaries of ex-
traordinary legislative solicitude, undoubtedly prompt-
ed by the limits upon their ability to help themselves.
The statutes of the United States contain elaborate
requirements with respect to such matters as their
medicines, clothing, heat, hours and watches, wages
and return transportation to this country if destitute
abroad.

Southern Steamship Co. v. NLRB, 316 U.S. 31, 39 (1942)
(citation omitted). That this solicitude is longstanding
may be noted from many of the provisions of Title 46,
Subtitle II, Part G, 46 U.S.C. §§ 10101-11507 (Supp. 1983),

C-14

entitled “Merchant Seamen Protection and Relief,” which
date back well over a century.

To agree with the views expressed by Red Star would
result in this Court mandating the status quo. As a prac-
tical matter, this would mean that neither OSHA nor the
Coast Guard would exercise authority over the uninspected
vessel fleet, to the detriment of those employees exposed
to the hazard of excessive noise.

In light of the extensive tradition of congressional con-
cern for mariners, Congress could not have intended that
employees aboard uninspected vessels be deprived of the
protections accorded the vast majority of American workers
by the OSH Act, and those protections offered employees
aboard inspected and certificated vessels. It is clear that
the Coast Guard’s regulation of uninspected vessels is
limited to only a few areas. Consequently, it cannot be
said that it is exercising jurisdiction sufficient to regulate
comprehensively the working conditions of employees
aboard uninspected vessels.

Since the Coast Guard is not exercising statutory author-
ity within the meaning of section 4(b)(1) of the OSH Act,
we hold that OSHA possesses statutory authority to regu-
late the working conditions of employees aboard uninspect-
ed vessels. Hence, OSHA may regulate noise hazards
aboard uninspected vessels.

Ez Parte Warrant

The second question presented requires that we deter-
mine whether the Secretary was empowered to obtain the
ex parte warrant which authorized the OSHA Compliance
Officer to inspect the STAMFORD. The Secretary contends
that the version of regulation 1903.4, which was in effect
at the time the STAMFORD was inspected, authorized
OSHA to obtain ex parte warrants. Red Star’s assertion

C-15

that the Secretary was not authorized necessitates an
examination of the history of this regulation.

To effectuate the strong congressional policy that every
person employed in the United States be afforded a safe
working environment, the Secretary of Labor, as statutory
head of OSHA, was expressly granted the authority to
enter and inspect workplaces for occupational hazards
“during regular working hours and at other reasonable
times. . . .” Section 8(a), 29 U.S.C. § 657(a)). Section
8(g)(2), 29 U.S.C. § 657(g) (2), of the OSH Act also author-
izes the Secretary to promulgate rules and regulations
necessary to implement this statutory authority.

In 1971, proposed regulation 1903.11, predecessor of regu-
lation 1903.4, was promulgated pursuant to section 8(g).
Pursuant to the regulation, a compliance officer was to
report the employer’s denial of voluntary access to the
Area Director, who was to consult with both the Regional
Administrator and the Regional Solicitor for the purpose
of “promptly seek[ing] appropriate compulsory process.”
36 Fed. Reg. 8,376, 8,378 (May 5, 1971). -The proposed
regulation was subsequently renumbered and adopted, con-
taining a minor alteration which directed the compliance
officer to “take appropriate action, including compulsory
process, if necessary.” Jd. at 17,851 (Sept. 4, 1971) (current
version at 29 C.F.R. § 1903.4 (1983)).

Subsequent to the adoption of regulation 1903.4, OSHA
issued a series of Compliance and Field Operations Man-
uals. These manuals, which provide guidance to OSHA
compliance officers in enforcing the OSH Act, contained
explicit provisions to the effect that inspection warrants
would be obtained in appropriate circumstances without
advance warning to the affected employer. For example,
2(i) of the original 1972 version of the manual stated that:
“Te]xcept in unusual circumstances ..., there shall be no

C-16

advance warning to the employer of the fact either that a
warrant has been secured or that inspection will take place
pursuant to the warrant.” In 1976, the manual was amended
and excluded 2(f), which dealt with situations where a
compliance officer did not have to obtain permission to
inspect, but, retained 2(i) with one modification, the term
“compulsory process” was substituted for that of “war-
rant.”

In Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978), the
issue before the Supreme Court was the constitutionality
of OSHA’s practice of nonconsensual warrantless inspec-
tions made pursuant to regulation 1903.4. The Court held
that, although no serach warrant or other process is ex-
pressly required by the OSH Act, OSHA’s practice of
compelling compliance by nonconsensual warrantless in-
spections violated the Fourth Amendment. Id. at 324.

Since the present case deals with an inspection pursuant
to an ex parte warrant issued by a United States magis-
trate, and not a nonconsensual warrantless inspection held
unconstitutional in Barlow’s, an extended discussion of the
validity of warrantless inspections is not required. See
Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967) and See v.
Seattle, 387 U.S. 541 (1967).

However, in Barlow’s the Supreme Court, in comment-
ing on the alternatives to nonconsensual warrantless in-
spections, appeared to interpret the words “compulsory
process,” as contained in 29 C.F.R. § 1903.4 (1977), as not
including ex parte warrants. See 436 U.S. at 318. These
comments by the Supreme Court, pertaining to whether
compulsory process includes ex parte warrants, are gener-
ally conceded by federal courts to be dicta. Nevertheless,
in Cerro Metal Products v. Marshall, 467 F.Supp. 869 (E.D.
Pa. 1979), aff’d, 620 F.2d 964 (3d Cir. 1980), the district
court found that the Supreme Court’s comments in Bar-

Aaa Sak SEER NE

C-17

low’s properly interpreted regulation 1903.4, and held that
the Secretary was not empowered to seek ex parte warrants.
Id. at 872. On December 22, 1978, in response to a prelim-
inary injunction issued in the Cerro Metal case, and while
the Cerro Metal proceedings were still pending, the Secre-
tary published a regulation which amended 29 C.F.R.
§ 1903.4. See 43 Fed. Reg. 59,838 (Dec. 22, 1978). The
regulation which amended 29 C.F.R. § 1903.4 expressly
provided that “compulsory process” included the seeking
of ex parte warrants, 29 C.F.R. § 1903.4(d). The Secretary
published this regulation without meeting the notice and
comment provisions of the Federal Administrative Pro-
cedure Act 5 U.S.C. § 553, pursuant to the exemption for
“interpretative rules and statements of policy.” Id. (d) (2).

In Cerro Metal, however, District Judge Pollak ruled
that since the amendment of December 22, 1978 would
“substantially affect[ ] the rights of those over whom the
agency exercises authority,” it was actually a substantive
regulation, and, therefore, was invalidly promulgated. Id.
at 879-80 (quoting Pickus v. United States Board of Parole,
507 F.2d 1107, 1114 (D.C. Cir. 1974)). A panel of the Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit, with Chief Judge Seitz
dissenting, affirmed. The majority opinion stated that the
district court correctly distinguished between interpretative
and legislative rules, and found that the regulation in ques-
tion was a legislative rule “masquerading” as an interpre-
tative rule. 620 F.2d at 981. This view was followed by the
Fifth Circuit in Donovan v. Huffines Steel Co., 645 F.2d
288, 289 (5th Cir. 1981), aff’g mem. Marshall v. Huffines
Steel Co., 438 F.Supp. 995 (N.D. Tex. 1979), and Smith
Steel Casting Co. v. Donovan, 725 F.2d 1032, 1034 (4th Cir.
1984). Red Star cites these cases and contends that they
express the correct view.

The Secretary, on the other hand, contends that regula-
tion 1903.4 was always intended to include authority to seek

C-18

ex parte warrants; that the Supreme Court’s comments in
Barlow’s were non-binding dicia; and that, in the alterna-
tive, the December 22, 1978 regulation effectively clarified
the confusion caused by the Supreme Court’s dicta in
Barlow’s.

Upon careful review of this important question, we are
persuaded by the contentions of OSHA, and disagree with
Red Star on several grounds. Furthermore, we feel that
both the majority opinion of the Court of Appeals and the
District Court in Cerro Metal misinterpreted the Supreme
Court’s discussion of regulation 1903.4 in Barlow’s. In
Barlow’s, the Supreme Court only held that OSHA’s prac-
tice of nonconsensual warrantless inspections violated the
Fourth Amendment. It did not hold that OSHA did not
have the statutory authority to seek ex parte warrants.
Indeed, in footnote 15 of the Barlow’s opinion, the Court
stated: “Insofar as the Secretary’s statutory authority is
concerned, a regulation expressly providing that the Secre-
tary could proceed ex parte to seek a warrant or its equiva-
lent would appear to be as much within the Secretary’s
power as the regulation currently in force and calling for
‘compulsory process.’” Jd. at 320 n.15. Furthermore, in
discussing the alleged threat that obtaining warrants would
pose upon the efficient administration of OSHA, the
Supreme Court stated that “the Secretary should never
have adopted [regulation 1903.4], particularly when the
Act does not require it.” Jd. at 319. The confusion stems
from the Court’s interpretation of the words “compulsory
process” as not including ex parte warrants. Clearly, these
comments were non-binding dicta, and we disagree with
the view that it was integra’ to the Supreme Court’s hold-
ing. See Cerro Metal, 467 F.Supp. at 876. While we, of
course, agree that the dicta of the nation’s highest Court
merits the greatest deference, we also heed the admonition
of Chief Justice Marshall that:

C-19

general expressions, in every opinion, are to be taken
in connection with the case in which those expressions
are used. If they go beyond the case, they may be
respected, but ought not to control the judgment in a
subsequent suit, when the very point is presented for
decision. .. .

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 264, 399 (1821),
quoted in, Re, Stare Decisis, 79 F.R.D. 509, 512 (1978).
Accordingly, we respectfully decline to follow the Supreme
Court dicta since upon plenary consideration, a different
result is warranted.

We agree with the view expressed by Chief Judge Seitz
in his dissent in Cerro Metal that “the phrase ‘compulsory
process’ in § 1903.4 is certainly broad enough to encom-
pass ex parte warrants [and that,] the ordinary meaning
of that phrase includes ex parte warrants.” 620 F.2d at
983 (Seitz, C.J., dissenting). We also agree that dropping
2(f) from the 1976 manual only meant that a compliance
officer must first seek the owner’s permission before in-
specting the premises. It did not mean that the use of ex
parte warrants was not contemplated by the 1976 manual.
This is supported by the retention of 2(i) in subparagraph
(8), pertaining to the element of surprise, which repre-
sented a fall-back position in case warrants were required.
Indeed, as stated by Chief Judge Seitz, the Supreme
Court’s .wcta in Barlow’s when “[vJiewed in light of

_ [OSHA’s] litigation strategy . . . makes sense.” Id. at

1984,

Other circuits which have faced this problem have held
that OSHA had the authority to seek ex parte warrants,
but indicate that the 1978 amendment was necessary for
the Secretary to continue to seek them. For example, in
Rockford Drop Forge Co. v. Donovan, 672 F.2d 626 (7th
Cir. 1982), Rockford challenged OSHA’s ex parte inspec-

C-20

tion of its premises, claiming that it had no power to
obtain an ex parte warrant since the 1978 amendment was
invalid due to noncompliance with section 4(b) of the
Administrative Procedure Act. In holding both the war-
rant and the amendment valid, the court stated that the
Secretary “took advantage of the Supreme Court’s sug-
gestion” when it promulgated the 1978 amendment, and
that the 1978 amendment was “approved in advance” by
the Supreme Court. Jd. at 630. Similarly, the Tenth
Circuit in Marshall v. W & W Steel, Inc., 604 F.2d 1322
(10th Cir. 1979), held that since the 1978 amendment was
an interpretative rule, OSHA had the authority to obtain
an ex parte warrant in that case. Jd. at 1325-26.

Although we are of the opinion that it was not neces-
sary for the Secretary to amend regulation 1903.4 in order
to seek ex parte warrants, we do believe that the Secre-
tary’s 1978 action is indicative of the position that he has
taken consistently and merits discussion. While it is un-
fortunate that Congress has provided little guidance in
distinguishing interpretative from substantive rules, the
case law in this circuit looks to whether a rule “changed
existing rights and obligations.” Lewis-Mota v. Secretary
of Labor, 469 F.2d 478, 482 (2d Cir. 1972); Noel v. Chap-
man, 508 F.2d 1023, 1030 (2d Cir.) cert. denied, 423 U.S.
824 (1975) ; Viacom Int'l Inc. v. FCC, 672 F.2d 1034, 1042
(2d Cir. 1982). Only rules that do not change “existing
rights and obligations” are considered interpretative.

In our view, at the time the 1978 amendment was pub-
lished, the Secretary was authorized by statute and regu-
lation to seek the ex parte warrants, and the sole effect
of the 1978 amendment was to dispel the uncertainty
caused by the dicta in Barlow’s. The 1978 amendment was
therefore nothing more than what it purported to be, an

C-21

interpretative rule and statement of policy which had
no substantive effect on the Secretary’s administrative
authority and responsibility under the statute. Nor did
it alter the rights and duties of any person affected by
the OSH Act. This view was expressed by the Ninth Cir-
cuit in Stoddard Lumber Co., Inc. v. Marshall, 627 F.2d
984, 990 (9th Cir. 1980), and by the Western District of
Virginia, which held that the Secretary had always main-
tained the position that “compulsory process” included
ex parte warrants. Matter of Establishment Inspection
of Seaward Int’l. Inc., 510 F.Supp. 314, 317 (W.D. Va.
1980), aff'd mem. sub nom Marshall v. Seaward Int’l Inc.,
644 F.2d 880 (4th Cir. 1981).

It is manifest that the Secretary, despite the perhaps
infelicitous rewording of the manuals, had no intention to
relinquish or renounce the authority to seek ex parte
warrants. These changes were made simply to accommo-
date the procedure of compelling nonconsensual warrant-
less inspections, found unconstitutional in Barlow’s, by
replacing “warrant” with the broader and more inclusive
words, “compulsory process.” Thus, we find that, “com-
pulsory process,” as used by the Secretary in the regula-
tion and in subsequent revisions of the manual, was al-
ways intended to encompass both the seeking of ex parte
warrants, and actions to compel compliance with the non-
consensual warrantless inspections declared unconstitu-
tional in Barlow’s.

Hence, we hold that pursuant to its statutory authority
and regulations, OSHA was authorized to seek ex parte
inspection warrants at the time the STAMFORD was
inspected, and that the ex parte inspection warrants ob-
tained by OSHA in this case were valid.

C-22
Conclusion

In view of the foregoing, it is the holding of the court
that noise is a “working condition,” and, since the Coast
Guard is not exercising jurisdiction over the working con-
ditions of employees aboard uninspected vessels operating
on navigable waters, OSHA may exercise its jurisdiction.
Therefore, that part of the order on appeal which states
that OSHA does not have jurisdiction, is Reversep.

Since we also hold that the ez parte warrants obtained
by OSHA in this case were valid, that part of the order on
appeal which states warranties were valid, is ArrimMep.

The case is Remanvep for further proceedings consis-
tent with this opinion.

APPENDIX D

Title 29 — Labor
§ 1915.74

use of such guards is made impracticable by the work ac-
tually in progress.

(c) When employees are working around open hatches
not protected by coamings to a height of 24 inches or around
other large openings, the edge of the opening shall be
guarded in the working area to height of 36 to 42 inches,
except where the use of such guards is made impracticable
by the work actually in progress.

(d) When employees are exposed to unguarded edges of
decks, platforms, flats, and similar flat surfaces, more than
5 feet above a solid surface, the edges shall be guarded by
adequate guardrails meeting the requirements of § 1915.71
(j) (1) and (2), unless the nature of the work in progress or
the physical conditions prohibit the use or installation of
such guardrails.

(e) When employees are working near the unguarded
edges of decks of vessels afloat, they shall be protected by
personal flotation devices, meeting the requirements of
§ 1915.154(a).

(f) Sections of bilges from which floor plates or gratings
have been removed shall be guarded by guardrails except
where they would interfere with work in progress. If these
open sections are in a walkway at least two 10-inch planks
placed side by side, or equivalent, shall be laid across the
opening to provide a safe walking surface.

(g) Gratings, walkways, and catwalks, from which sec-
tio:1s or ladders have been removed, shall be barricaded
with adequate guardrails.

$1915.74 Access to vessels.

(a) Access to vessels afloat. The employer shall not
permit employees to board or leave any vessel, except a

D-2

barge or river towboat, until the following requirements
have been met:

(1) Whenever practicable, a gangway of not less than 20
inches walking surface of adequate strength, maintained in
safe repair and safely secured shall be used. If a gangway
is not practicable, a substantial straight ladder, extending
at least 36 inches above the upper landing surface and
adequately secured against shifting or slipping shall be
provided. When conditions are such that neither a gangway
nor a straight ladder can be used, a Jacob’s ladder meeting
the requirements of paragraphs (d)(1) and (2) of this sec-
tion may be used.

(2) Each side of such gangway, and the turn table if
used, shall have a railing with a minimum height of ap-
proximately 33 inches measured perpendicularly from rail
to walking surface at the stanchion, with a mild rail. Rails
shall be of wood, pipe, chain, wire or rope and shall be kept
taut at all times.

(3) Gangways on vessels inspected and certificated by
the U.S. Coast Guard are deemed to meet the foregoing
requirements, except in cases where the vessel’s regular
gangway is not being used.

(4) The gangway shall be kept properly trimmed at all
times.

(5) When a fixed tread accommodations ladder is used,
and the angle is low enough to require employees to walk
on the edge of the treads, cleated duckboards shall be laid
over and secured to the ladder.

(6) When the lower end of a gangway overhangs the
water between the ship and the dock in such a manner that
there is a danger of employees falling between the ship and
the dock, a net or other suitable protection shall be rigged
at the foot of the gangway in such a manner as to prevent
employees from falling from the end of the gangway.

D-3

(7) If the foot of the gangway is more than oue foot away
from the edge of the apron, the space between them shall
be bridged by a firm walkway equipped with railings, with a
minimum height of approximately 33 inches with midrails
on both sides.

(8) Supporting bridles shall be kept clear so as to permit
unobstructed passage for employees using the gangway.

(9) When the upper end of the means of access rests on
or flush with the top of the bulwark, substantial steps prop-
erly secured and equipped with at least one substantial
handrail approximately 33 inches in height shall be pro-
vided between the top of the bulwark and the deck.

(10) Obstructions shall not be laid on or across the
gangway.

(11) The means of access shall be adequately illuminated
for its full length.

(12) Unless the construction of the vessel makes it im-
possible, the means of access shall be so located that drafts
of cargo do not pass over it. In any event, loads shall not

be passed over the means of access while employees are on
it.

(b) Access to vessels in drydock or between vessels.
Gangways meeting the requirements of paragraphs (a)
(1), (2), (9), (10), (11) of this section shall be provided
for access from wingwall to vessel or, when two or more
vessels, other than barges or river towboats, are lying
abreast, from one vessel to another.

(c) Access to barges and river towboats. (1) Ramps
for access of vehicles to or between barges shall be of ade-
quate strength, provided with side boards, well maintained
and properly secured.

D4

(2) Unless employees can step safely to or from the
wharf, float, barge, or river towboat, either a ramp in
accordance with the requirements of paragraph (a)(7) of
this section shall be provided. When a walkway is impracti-
cable, a substantial straight ladder, extending at least 36
inches above the upper landing surface and adequately
secured against shifting or slipping, shall be provided.
When conditions are such that neither a walkway nor a
straight ladder can be used, a Jacob’s ladder in accordance
with the requirements of paragraph (d) of this section may
be used.

(3) The means of access shall be in accordance with the
requirements of paragraphs (a) (9), (10), and (11) of this
section.

(d) Jacobs ladders. (1) Jacob’s ladders shall be of the
double rung or flat tread type. They shall be well main-
tained and properly secured.

(2) A Jacob’s Jadder shall either hang without slack from
its lashings or be pulled up entirely.

§ 1915.75 Access to and guarding of dry docks and marine
railways.

The provisions of this section shall apply to ship repair-
ing, shipbuilding and shipbreaking.

(a) A gangway, ramp or permanent stairway of not less
than 20 inches walking surface, of adequate strength, main-
tained in safe repair and securely fastened, shall be pro-
vided between a floating dry dock and the pier or bulkhead.

(b) Each side of such gangway, ramp or permanent
stairway, including those which are used for access to wing
walls from dry dock floors, shall have a railing with a mid
rail. Such railings on gangways or ramps shall be approxi-
mately 42 inches in height; and railings on permanent
stairways shall be not less than approximately 30 or more

D-5

than approximately 34 inches in height. Rails shall be of
wood, pipe, chain, wire, or rope, and shall be kept taut at all
times.

(c) Railings meeting the requirements of paragraph (b)
of this section shall be provided on the means of access to
and from the floors of graving docks.

(d) Railings approximately 42 inches in height, with a
mid rail, shall be provided on the edges of wing walls of
floating dry docks and on edges of graving docks. Sections
of the railings may be temporarily removed where neces-
sary to permit line handling while a vessel is entering or
leaving the dock.

(e) When employees are working on the floor of a float-
ing dry dock where they are exposed to the hazard of falling
into the water, the end of the dry dock shall be equipped
with portable stanchions and 42 inch railings with a mid
rail. When such a railing would be impracticable or ineffec-
tive, other effective means shall be provided to prevent men
from falling into the water.

(f) Access to wing walls from floors of dry docks shall
be by ramps, permanent stairways or ladders meeting the
applicable requirements of § 1915.72.

(g) Catwalks on stiles of marine railways shall be no
less than 20 inches wide and shall have on at least one side
a guardrail and midrail meeting the requirements of
§ 1915.71(j) (1) and (2).

§ 1915.76 Access to cargo spaces and confined spaces.

The provisions of this section apply to ship repairing,
shipbuilding and shipbreaking except that paragraph
(a) (4) of this section applies to ship repairing only.

APPENDIX E

1 JULY 1976 12:1
SECTION XII
CONTRACTOR INDUSTRIAL LABOR RELATIONS

12-000 Scope of Section. This Section (i) deals with gen-
eral policies regarding contractor industrial labor relations,
so far as they relate to Government contracts, (ii) sets forth
certain pertinent labor laws and requirements, indicating in
connection with each its applicability and any procedures
thereunder; and (iii) prescribes the contract clauses with
respect to each labor law or requirement. Labor standards
and clauses which are applicable only to construction con-
tracts are treated separately in Section XVII, Part 7.

12-000
ARMED SERVICES PROCUREMENT REGULATION

1 JULY 1976 12:19
CONTRACTOR INDUSTRIAL LABOR RELATIONS

Part 5— Safety & Health Regulations for Ship Repair-
ing & Shipbuilding

12-501 Safety and Health Regulations. The Secretary of
Labor has promulgated Safety and Health Regulations for
Ship Repairing and Shipbuilding pursuant to the authority
of Public Law 85-742, 72 Stat. 835 (approved August 23,
1958) amending section 41 of the Longshoremen’s and
Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (33 U.S.C. 941). These
regulations are set forth in Title 29, Code of Federal Regu-
lations, Subtitle B, Part 1501 and Part 1502.

12-502 Applicability. These regulations apply to ship
repair and shipbuilding or related work, as defined therein,
performed within the Federal maritime jurisdiction on the
navigable waters of the United States, including any dry
dock or marine railway.

E-2

12-503 Contract Clause. The Master Contract for the
Repair and Alteration of Vessels (DD ASPR Form 731)
includes a clause entitled “U.S. Department of Labor Safe-
ty and Health Regulations for Ship Repairing” directing
the attention of the contractor to the applicability of these
regulations. Similar clauses should be izciuded in shipbuild-
ing and ship conversion. couiracts.

12-514 Administratiecz and Enforcement. The responsibi-
lity for compliance with the U.S. Department of Labor
Regulations is placed upon employers, any of whose em-
ployees are engaged in any ship repair, shipbuilding, or
related employment aboard any vessel upon the navigable
waters of the United States, including any dry dock or
marine railway. Consequently, prime contractors or sub-
contractors, or both, may be responsible for compliance
with these regulations. Insofar as the Government is con-
cerned, the responsibility for the administration and en-
forcement of these regulations is with the U.S. Department
of Labor. Contractors or employees who inquire concerning
applicability or interpretation of the foregoing regulations
shall be advised that rulings concerning such matters fall
within the jurisdiction of the U.S. Department of Labor and
shall be given the address of the appropriate field office of
the Bureau of Labor Standards of the U.S. Department of
Labor.

12-504
ARMED SERVICES PROCUREMENT REGULATION

APPENDIX F

GENERAL INDUSTRY SAFETY ORDERS

TITLE 8 § 3273
(Register 79, No. 29 — 7-21-79) (p. 432.69)

3273. Working Area.

(a) Permanent floors and platforms shall be free of dan-
gerous projections or obstructions, maintained in good re-
pair, and reasonably free of oil, grease, or water. Where
the type of operation necessitates working on slippery
floors, such surfaces shall be protected against slipping by
using mats, grates, cleats, or other methods which provide
equivalent protection. Where wet processes are used drain-
age shall be maintained and false floors, platforms, mats,
or other dry standing places provided.

(b) Permanent roadways, walkways, and material stor-
age areas in yards shall be maintained free of dangerous
depressions, obstructions, and debris.

(c) Platforms, runways, ramps, or other elevated work-
ing levels, except catwalks, that are 30 inches or more above
the floor, ground, or other working area shall be no less
than 2 feet wide and have no less than 6% feet clear head-
room. In existing installations where an overhead hazard
exists due to clearances of less than 6% feet above ramps,
runways, platforms, or other elevated work areas, such
work area shall be relocated and the obstruction removed.
If these procedures are impracticable, a suitable warning
shall be placed near the obstruction to notify employees of
its presence. Where the nature of the hazard is such that
padding will increase safety, it shall be insta led.

(d) Catwalks shall be no less than 18 inches wide and
have 6144 feet clear headroom. When installed along in-
clined conveyors, crane booms, etc., where because of
structural or load conditions it is unreasonable to comply
with basic ramp standards, catwalks may have a slope
exceeding 18 degrees.

F-2

EXCEPTIONS: (1) When required location dictates, a
catwalk may have less overhead clearance if a warning and
padding are provided as in (c).

(2) In bowling alleys at pin-spotting and pin-setting ma-
chines, catwalks shall be no less than nominal 8 inches wide
and provided with an adequate handrail if the sides are not
protected by another structure.

‘(e) Where the type of process or operation, exclusive of
repair and maintenance, is such that there are hazards to
employees from materials falling through platform or run-
way openings, the openings shall be limited to a size that
prevents materials falling through the openings.

(f) Where platform or runway gratings are used as
work areas during repair or maintenance, there shall be
provided at such areas suitable safeguards to prevent tools
or materials falling on employees below. Such safeguards
may be netting suspended below the work area, canvas,
planking on the surface of the grating, or barricaded or
sheltered areas below the work area.

(g) Where it is necessary to lubricate or adjust prime
movers, machines, or equipment, which extends below the
floor line, sufficient work spaces shall be provided for the
safe performance of the work.

(h) Permanently installed prime movers, machines, and
equipment shall be located and guarded so that transported
material does not strike either the moving parts of ma-
chines or the employees at their operating positions.

(i) Machines or equipment shall be located and guarded
so that the product, waste stock, or material being worked
or processed does not endanger employees.

(j) Where machinery or equipment is installed in a pit
and there are shear hazards between the pit edges and parts
of the machine or equipment, skirt guards shall be installed
to remove such hazards, or such other device used to pro-
vide equivalent protection.

A at
= \
ae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0084%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
