# Opposition Brief — Aguilar v. County of Los Angeles

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0052%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1125

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, US.
(‘y)

gy FILEDL
5 tO
MAY 8 1985
No. 84-1569
ALEXANDER L STEVAS,
TlEenK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1984

fh).
Vv

BARDOMIANO AGUILAR and ROSA AGUILAR, hus-
band and wife, suing pursuant to C.C.P. § 376, and suing
individually,
Petitioners,
Vv.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES, etc., et al.,
Respondents.

ra’
Vv

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT —_=-

fy.
Vv

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

tf).
Vv

GOLMAN AND von BoL_scHWwING
Bowne, Jones, Brinces, MUELLER
& O’KEere
Grerves, Martin, Stern & RicHLanp
Martin STEIN
Counsel of Record
9601 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 508
Beverly Hills, California 90210
(213) 859-7811

Attorneys for Respondent County of
Los Angeles

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRENTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

QUESTION PRESENTED

In a medical malpractice action brought by the parents
of a minor child to recover for medical expenses and lost
services resulting from alleged prenatal injuries suffered
by the child, the following issue is presented:

Whether the District Court correctly exercised its
discretion in ordering Petitioners’ action dismissed,
pursuant to Rule 19, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
upon determining that Petitioners’ child was an indis-
pensable party whose joinder would defeat federal diver-
sity jurisdiction, and whether the Ninth Cireuit Court of
Appeals correctly affirmed the order of dismissal under
the circumstances?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Pages

Introduction _ 1
Reasons For Denying The Writ:

I. The Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals’ Holding
That Jaime Aguilar Had An Interest Relating
To The Subject Of The Action Which Might Be
Impaired By Virtue Of The California Doc-
trine Of Collateral Estoppel, Had He Not Been
Joined In The Federal Action, Comports With
The Letter And Spirit Of Rule 19(a), Federal
Rules Of Civil Procedure. 3

II. The Ninth Cireuit’s Holding That The District
Court Did Not Abuse Its Discretion In Ordering
Petitioners’ Federal Action Dismissed Was Be-
yond Question Correct Under The Equity And
Good Conscience Test Provided By Rule 19(b),
Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure. 14

A. All issues Presented In The Instant Action
Were Fully Capable Of Litigation In (In-
deed, Were More Properly Litigable In) A
State Forum. 16

B. Failure To Join Jaime Aguilar Would Have
Exposed Respondent To The Threat Of Mul-
tiple Litigation And The Risk Of Inconsist-
ent Relief. 17

C. The Absent Jaime Aguilar Had An Interest
Which Might Have Been Prejudiced If He
Was Not Joined In The Federal Proceeding. 18

D. The Interests Of The Courts And The Public
In Complete, Consistent And Efficient Set-
tlement Of Controversies Were Best Served
By Dismissal Of The Federal Action. W019

Conclusion ........ 22

rn |

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Pages
CASES :
Armstrong v. Armstrong, 15 Cal.3d 942 (1976) .......... 7, 12, 13

Bakia v. County of Los ‘cach 687 F.2d 299 (9th

Cir. 1982) sida aideinly hs cas i tel ale alain ea 2
Bernhard v. Bank of America, 19 Cal.2d 807 (1942) — 6
Biaby v. Bixby, 50 F.R.D. 277 (S.D.TI1L. 1970). eee
Block v. Sun Owl Corporation, 335 F.Supp. 190 (W.D.

Okla. 1971) 17
Borer v. American Airlines, Inc., 19 Cal.3d 441

(1977) 8, 12, 13
Broussard v. Columbia Gulf Transmission Company,

ae ae eee toe Coe, TO) 21
Clenmer v. Hartford Insurance Co., 22 Cal.3d 865

(1978) 6,7
Cortez v. County of Los Angeles, 96 F.R.D. 427

(C.D. Cal. 1983) ) 11,13
Faitz v. Ruegg, 114 Cal.App.3d 967 (1981) 21

Fouke v. Schenewerk, 197 F.2d 234 (Sth Cir. 1952) ..... 20

Haas v. Jefferson National Bank of Miami Beach,

442 F.2d 394 (Sth Cir. 1971) 17, 20
Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 88 L.Ed. 246

(TF rw seantyinsteaamepasrme nine ne eens eon ara monte at ere 2
Jamison v. Memphis Transit Management Company,

ee ee ee 17
Kaiser Foundation Hospitals v. Superior Court,

254 Cal.App.2d 327 (1967) 11, 12, 13

Lopez, et al. v. Martin Luther King, Jr. Hospital,
t al., 97 F.R.D. 24 (C.D.Cal. 1983)
4, 5, 10, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19

Potomac Electric Power Co. v. Babcock & Wilcox
Co., 54 F.R.D. 486 (D.Md. 1972) 16, 17, 18

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Prestenback v. Employers’ Ins. Co., 47 F.R.D. 163
Pe eS ee 15

Provident Trademens Bank & Trust Co. v. Patterson,
390 U.S. 102, 19 L.Ed.2d 936 (1968) 2, 3, 15, 18, 19, 20, 22

Ruddock v. Ohls, 91 Cal.App.3d 271 (1979) —..11, 12, 13
Schutten v. Shell Oil Company, 421 F.2d 869 (Sth

Cir. 1970) 17
Sea-Land Services v. Gaudet, 414 Us. 573, 39 L.Ed.

2d 9 (1974) 9, 12, 13
Secrest v. Pacific Electric Ry. Co., 60 Cal.App.2d

746 (1943) 9, 12, 13
Shields v. Barrow, 58 U.S. (17 How.) 1380, 15 L.Ed.

158 (1854) J, 4
Teitelbaum Furs, Inc. v. Dominion Ins. Co., 58 Cal.

en LD heir: 7
Todhunter v. Smith, 219 Cal. 690 (1934) IAG SIC 6
Walsh v. Centeio, 692 F.2d 1239 (9th Cir. 1982) 2
Wood v. Herson, 39 Cal. App.3d 737 (1974) cen 6
Zaragosa v. Craven, 33 Cal.2d 315 (1949) il

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Code of Civ. Proce. § 376 21

Rule 19, Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure 2, 3, 6
Rule 19(a), Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure.............. 3, 4, 6,
14, 19
Rule 19(b), Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure ........... 3, 14, 15,
16, 17

ill calli

No. 84-1569
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1984

a
Vv

BARDOMIANO AGUILAR and ROSA AGUILAR, hus-
band and wife, suing pursuant to C.C.P. § 376, and suing
individually,

Petitioners,

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES, etce., et al.,
Respondents.

ray
Vv

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Q-

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

4).
ot

Respondent County of Los Angeles respectfully re-
quests that this Court deny the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, seeking review of the Ninth Circuit’s opinion
in this case. That opinion is reported at 751 F.2d 1089.

)-
Vv

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners have failed to identify any cogent reasons
why their Petition for Writ of Certiorari (‘‘Petition’’)

1

2

should be granted by this Court. Indeed, there are none.
The Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals’ decision is wholly
consistent with the principles articulated by this Court in
Provident Trademens Pank & Trust Co. v. Patterson,
390 U.S. 102, 19 L.Ed.2d 936 (1968) and the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s own decisions in cases such as Bakia v. County of
Los Angeles, 687 F.2d 299 (9th Cir. 1982) and Walsh v.
Centeio, 692 F.2d 1239 (9th Cir. 1982), with respect to the
proper application of Rule 19, Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

The Ninth Cireuit was required to and did correctly
determine the applicable California state law regarding
the principles of collateral estoppel which formed the
predicate for both the District Court’s and its own deter-
mination that dismissal of Petitioners’ federal action was
mandated because of a missing indispensable party, Peti-
tioners’ son, Jaime Aguilar, who could not be joined with-
out defcating the District Court’s diversity jurisdiction.
In arguing otherwise, Petitioners request that this Court
exercise its discretionary jurisdiction without considera-
tion of an important governing criteria. As stated by this
Court in Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 237, 88 L.Ed.
246 (12/4), “ordinarily we accept and therefore do not
review, save in exceptional cases, the considered deter-
mination of questions of state law by the federal appellate
courts.’’ Since no exceptional circumstances are shown in
the instant case and for other reasons to be examined in
detail below, the Petition should be denied.

°

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals’ Holding
That Jaime Aguilar Had An Interest Relating To
The Subject Of The Action Which Might Be Im-
paired By Virtue Of The California Doctrine Of
Collateral Estoppel, Had He Not Been Joined In
The Federal Action, Comports With The Letter
And Spirit Of Rule 19(a), Federal Rules Of Civil
Procedure.

In this Court’s landmark decision of Shields v. Bar-
row, 98 U.S. (17 How.) 130, 139, 15 L.Ed. 158 (1854), in-
dispensable parties were defined as

‘‘[p]ersons who not only have an interest in the con-
troversy, but an interest of such a nature that a final
decree cannot be made without either affecting that
interest, or leaving the controversy in such a condi-
tion that its final termination may be wholly incon-
sistent with equity and good conscience.’”!

Rule 19(a) defines the persons who are needed for
a just adjudication of an action as follows:

“A person ... whose joinder will not deprive the
court of jurisdiction over the subject matter of the
action shall be joined as a party in the action if (1) in
his absence complete relief cannot be accorded among

i As Mr. Justice Harlan more recently declared in Provident
Trademens Bank & Trust Co. v. Patterson, supra, 390 U.S.
102, 124, 19 L.Ed.2d 936, the generalizations of Shields “are
still valid today, and they are consistent with the requirements
of Rule 19... . Indeed, the . . . Shields definition states, in
rather different fashion, the criteria for decision announced in
Rule 19(b).””

those already parties, or (2) he claims an interest
relating to the subject of the action and is so situated
that the disposition of the action may (i) as a prac-
tical matter impair or impede his ability to protect
that interest or (ii) leave any of the persons already
parties subject to a substantial risk of incurring
double, multiple, or otherwise inconsistent obligations
by reason of his claimed interest... .”

As recently explained by the Court in Lopez, et al.
v. Martin Luther King, Jr. Hospital, et al., 97 F.R.D. 24
(C.D.Cal. 1983), at p.28, a decision heavily relied on by
both the Ninth Cireuit and the District Court:

‘Rule 19 provides an aralytical framework for
the Court in considering the necessity of joinder, and
is subdivided into two parts. Subdivision (a) defines
those persons who should be joined if at all feasible.
If joinder is not feasible, then subdivision (b) is ap-
plied to resolve the question of whether the action
should proceed without that party. This is a two-
step analysis—the issues involved im the subdivision
(b) determination are not reached until the Court
determines first whether non-joinder would, under
(a)(1) prevent the Court from according complete
relief to the parties present, or under (a)(2), impair
the absentee’s interest or prejudice the persons al-
ready parties by subjecting them to a risk of double
or inconsistent obligations. Bakia v. County of Los
Angeles, 687 F.2d 299, 301 (9th Cir. 1982).”

Whether tested by the principles articulated in Shields
or the criteria set forth in Rule 19(a), the Ninth Circuit
and the District Court correctly determined that Jaime
Aguilar was a person who should have been joined since
(a) he had an interest relating to the subject of this ac-
tion; and (b) disposition of the action in his absence may,
as a practical matter, have impeded or impaired his abil-
ity to protect his interest.

eee

£
:

Petitioners’ contention that their child had no such
impairable interest (Pet., pp. 22-29) should be rejected for
the reasons expressed by the Court in Lopez, et al. v. Mar-
tin Luther King, Jr. Hospital, supra, 9i F.R.D. at pp. 29-30:

“Plaintiffs construe the ‘interest’ permitted un-
der rule 19(a)(2) much too narrowly. The Court
recognizes that the alleged interest must be some-
thing more than a financial interest or an interest
of convenience. However, the Rule does not require
a ‘legal’ interest; it merely requires ‘an interest re-
lating to the subject of the action.’ Whether this in-
terest exists must be determined from a _ practical
perspective, not through the adoption of strict legal
definitions and technicalities. To be sure, the parents’
and the child’s substantive legal rights differ. How-
ever, ‘the concept of substantive severability is no
longer the guiding star of the joinder problem.’ . . .
Instead, the Court must consider all the relevant
circumstances in classifying the interest at stake.

‘‘Plaintiffs’ construction of the interest require-
ment in this case ignores the practical consequences
to the child if the judgment in the federal action is
adverse to the parents. Plaintiffs assert that since
the child has no legal interest in this litigation, there
is no danger that any issues resolved herein will be
decided for purposes of the child’s state court action.
This analysis places the cart before the horse. The
relevant inquiry is, if there is a possibility that col-
lateral estoppel will be applied by the California
court, then it is axiomatic that the child has an in-
terest in this action... .’’

As recognized by the Court in Lopez, supra, and the
Ninth Circuit here, Jaime Aguilar’s absence from the in-

stant action subjected him to potential prejudice if the
concept of collateral estoppel were applied to defeat his

claim in state court.

6

The doctrine of collateral estoppel is a component of
the doctrine of res judicata. Todhunter v. Smith, 219
Cal. 690, 695 (1934), explains:

“The doctrine of res judicata has a double aspect. A

former judgment operates as a bar against a second

action upon the same cause, but in a later action upon

a different claim or cause of action, it operates as an

estoppel or conclusive adjudication as to such issues

in the second action as were actually litigated and
determined in the first action.’”’ (Emphasis in origi-
nal.)?

Collateral estoppel may properly be invoked when it
appears in a later proceeding that there was a former
proceeding in which the identical issues were raised and
decided, that there was a final judgment on the merits in
the first proceeding, and that the party against whom the
plea of collateral estoppel is asserted was a party, or in
vrivity with a party, to the prior adjudication. Clemmer
v. Hartford Insurance Co., 22 Cal.3d 865, 874 (1978);
Bernhard v. Bank of America, 19 Cal.2d 807, 813 (1942).

Since identical issues of fact and law were presented
in both the federal and state actions and since a final
judgment might eventually have been entered in this ac-
tion had the District Court permittted the present parties
to continue with the lawsuit, the doctrine of collateral
estoppel would unquestionably have applied to any judg-
ment entered in this action if it could be said tuat the

2 The doctrine of collateral estoppel serves important pub-
lic policies pertinent to the application of Rule 19. “It seeks
to curtail multiple oo causing vexation and expense to
the parties and wasted effort and expense in judicial adminis-
tration.” Wood v. Herson, 39 Cal.App.3d 737, 745 (1974);
original emphasis.

Petitioner parents herein and their minor son were in
privity. The law in California could clearly so provide,
as we now explain.

In its traditional sense, privity denotes a mutual or
successive relationship to the same rights of property or
such an identification in interest of one person with an-
other as to represent the same legal rights. Clemmer v.
Hartford Insurance Co., supra, 22 Cal.3d 865, 876; Teitel-
baum Furs, Inc. v. Dominion Ins. Co., 58 Cal.2d 601, 604
(1962). Here, in suing for the personal injuries sustained
by their child, Petitioners necessarily represented their
own and their child’s mutual interests—financial, familial
and otherwise. That this is so is strongly suggested by
the following decisions.

1. In Armstrong v. Armstrong, 15 Cal.3d 942 (1976),
the California Supreme Court held that children were col-
laterally estopped to relitigate issues settled in a suit
involving their mother. In that case, two children sued
their father for past child support and misappropriation
of their trust assets; they complained of a property settle-
ment agreement, executed by their parents and incorpo-
rated into an interlocutory decree of divorce, which pro-
vided for child support of $125 per month, to be offset
by payments made to the children from a trust previously
established for them by a grandparent.

Agreeing it was improper for the father to reduce
his support obligation by resorting to the children’s trust
fund, the Supreme Court nevertheless denied the chil-
dren’s right to collaterally attack the judgment. Holding
that the children were bound by the divorce judgment, the
Court stated (at pp. 951-952):

‘‘The doctrinal reach of the res judicata bar extends
. . . to those persons ‘in privity with’ parties [cita-
tion]. As has been said, in considcring application
of the doctrine, courts examine the practicalities of
the situation and attempt to determine whether plain-
tiffs are ‘sufficiently close to the original case to
afford application of the principle of preclusion’ [ci-
tation]. We have previously held that privity exists
where the person involved is .. . ‘so identified in
interest with another that he represents the same
legal right.’ [Citations.] In the present case, plain-
tiffs’ mother was entrusted with their care and cus-
tody and was a proper representative of their in-
terests. ... For this reason, we conclude that plain-
tiffs are bound by the judgment in the divorce action
to which their mother was a party.”’

2. In Borer v. American Airlines, Inc., 19 Cai.3d 441

(1977), the California Supreme Court established that, in
suing for medical expenses and lost services resulting
from injury to their minor offspring, the parents effec-
tively acted as a representative of their child. The Cali-
fornia Supreme Court explained (id. at 452):

“While the parent lives, however, the tangible aspects
of the child’s loss can be compensated in the parent’s
own cause of action. As put by Stainback, J., in
Halberg v. Young, supra, 41 Hawaii 634, 640... ,
‘where a parent has been injured by the negligent
act of another the parent will recover from the other
full damage which he has sustained, including such
inability, if any, to properly care for his children, and
thus the parent’s ability to carry out his duty to sup-
port and maintain the child has not, in a legal sense,
been destroyed or impaired by the injury to him.’
(Suter v. Leonard, supra, 45 Cal.App.3d 744, 748.)”

3. The identity of interests (i.e., privity) between an

injured plaintiff-spouse-parent and his or her heirs was

authoritatively established by this Court in Sea-Land
Services v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573, 39 L.Ed.2d 9 (1974).
There, plaintiff’s husband won a personal injury action,
collected on his judgment and then died. Plaintiff then
brought a wrongful death action. While this Court held
the former recovery did not bar suit by decedent’s wife,
the doctrine of collateral estoppel was applied to preclude
relitigation of those matters previously decided: “[N]on-
parties may be collaterally estopped from relitigating is-
sues necessarily decided in a suit brought by a party who
acts as a fiduciary representative for the beneficial inter-
est of the nonparties.” 414 U.S. at p. 595; fn. omitted.
And “when a decedent brings his own personal-injury ac-
tion during his lifetime and recovers damages for his lost
wages he acts in a fiduciary capacity to the extent that
he represents his dependents’ interests in that portion of
his prospective earnings which, but for his wrongful death,
they had a reasonable expectation of his providing for
their support.” 414 U.S. at p. 594; fn. omitted.

With respect to the identical liability issue to be tried
in the second lawsuit, this Court observed (id. at pp. 594-
595) :

“Since the decedent’s recovery of any future wages
will normally be dependent upon his fully litigating
that issue, we need not fear that applying principles
of collateral estoppel to preclude decedent’s depend-
ents’ claim for a portion of those future wages will
deprive the dependents of their day in court.”

4. Secrest v. Pacific Electric Ry. Co., 60 Cal.App.2d
746 (1943), first established the California rule. In a com-
prehensive exposition of the governing law, the Court ex-
plained (at p. 750):

10

“‘Tf a judgment in favor of the injured party
would have the effect of barring the cause of action
for wrongful death, it seems obvious that a judgment

adverse to him would a fortiori have the same effect.
999

After discussing the pertinent policy considerations,
the Court adopted the view, represented by the weight of

authority, that collateral estoppel would apply, holding
as follows (at p. 751):

“TW hen the identical issues joined by the plead-
ings in the action for wrongfui death were determined
adversely to plaintiffs in the prior personal injury
action ... the defense of estoppel by judgment must
be sustained. Because, the decision of the court in
the prior action ‘negatives the existence of conditions
which would charge the defendant with responsibility
for the death.’ ”

The reason the Court adopted this rule was as fol-
lows (at p. 750) :

“e. . such a judgment, if rendered on the issues

raised in the death action, strikes at the very founda-

tion of the cause of action, since it negatives the ex-

istence of conditions which would charge the defend-
ant with responsibility for the death.” (Court’s
emphasis. )

5. Finally, based on decisions such as those discussed
above, the Court in Lopez, et al. v. Martin Luther King,
Jr. Hospital, supra, 97 F.R.D. 24, expressly determined
that the California doctrine of collateral estoppel might
indeed preclude the minor child from relitigating the issue
of a defendant’s negligence in the state court action. In
terms dispositive of the issue presented here, the Court
stated:

“In light of the expanded application of privity
for purposes of collateral estoppel, it is clear that the

11

child might be barred from relitigating the issue of
defendants’ negligence in the state court action. Cer-
tainly the child is ‘sufficiently close’ to the present
proceeding to justify application of the doctrine. The
same attorney is litigating both actions. The mother,
a party to this action, is the child’s guardian ad litem
in the state court action. Plaintiffs’ claim that the
liability issues in the two cases differ is not well
founded. For successful recoveries, both actions re-
quire the proof of defendants’ negligence in connec-
tion with the perinatal care of the child....” Lopez,
97 F.R.D. at p. 31.

In response to these highly persuasive (indeed con-
trolling) cases, Petitioners primarily rely on inapplicable
decisions of other jurisdictions whose law is not control-
ling here. (Pet., pp. 28-29.) The only California deci-
sions cited by Petitioners (i.e., Kaiser Foundation Hos-
pitals v. Superior Court, 254 Cal.App.2d 327 (1967); Rud-
dock v. Ohls, 91 Cal.App.3d 271 (1979); and Cortez v.
County of Los Angeles, 96 F.R.D. 427 (C.D.Cal. 1983) )
furnish them no support, as we uow explain.

The Kaiser case held that a decedent’s child is not
collaterally estopped by a judgment adverse to the de-
cedent because the child’s cause of action for wrongful
death is a separate cause of action, not derivative from
the decedent’s cause of action. The holding in Kaiser is
wrong and was properly rejected by both the District
Court and the Ninth Circuit for at least three reasons:

(a) Kaiser is directly contrary to the California
Supreme Court decision in Zaragosa v. Craven, 33 Cal.2d
315 (1949), which it fails to cite. In Zaragosa, the Court
categorically rejected the rationale employed by Kaiser,
holding that even separate and independent causes of

12

action are subject to a collateral estoppel defense. On
this point, the Court categorically stated (id. at 321):

“The fact that the cause of action for injuries to the

wife is different from the cause of action for injuries

to the husband is here immaterial.”

(b) Katser is also contrary to the principles enunci-
ated in Armstrong, Borer and Sea-Land.

(ec) Finally, Katser was properly rejected because
it utterly fails to distinguish Secrest.’ Specifically, Kaiser’s
only reference to Secrest is in a footnote stating that
Secrest “is distinguishable ... on the facts.” J¢d>-at- 334
fn. 2. However, Secrest cannot be dealt with so simply
and it is no wonder that three justices of the California
Supreme Court voted to grant a hearing in Kaiser.

Petitioners’ reliance on the Court of Appeal decision
Ruddock v. Oils, supra, 91 Cal.App.38d 271, is also mis-
placed because it is distinguishable on public policy
grounds. In Ruddock, the Court held that, in the absence
of joinder, the right of a minor child to establish the
parent-child relationship was not foreclosed under the
doctrines of res judicata or collateral estoppel by a prior
judgment between the mother and alleged father in a
marital dissolution action. The Court noted that, in ‘‘con-
trast to enforcement of a child’s right of a present or
past support obligation, the establishinent of the parent-
child relationship is the most fundamental right a child

4 It will be recalled that the theoretical basis for Kaiser was
squarely rejected in Secrest, supra, 60 Cal.App.2d at 751:
“(When the identical issues joined by the pleadings in the
action for wrongful death were determined adversely to plain-
tiffs in the prior personal injury action, . . . the defense of
estoppel by judgment must be sustained.” .

13

possesses to be equated in importance with personal lib-
erty and the most basic of constitutional rights.” Jd. at
277-278; emphasis added. Evidencing concern that these
fundamental rights of the minor might be jeopardized by
broad application of the bar of collateral estoppel, the
Court concluded the doctrine was inapplicable because
the minor’s interests might not have been properly pro-
tected by the mother in the prior litigation, i.e., the Court
held that, where paternity rights are concerned, a parent
is not necessarily in ‘‘privity” with his or her child. Jd.
at 278.

In contrast to Ruddock, Petitioners cannot establish
that a personal-injury cause of action equates to a funda-
mental right, nor have they shown the existence of any
public policy consideration which might have caused the
California courts to refuse to apply the doctrine of col-
lateral estoppel to the child’s action, had the instant fed-
eral action been decided adversely to Petitioners’ inter-
ests. Nor have Petitioners referred to a single fact sug-
gesting that the minor’s interests would not have been
fully and forcefully represented in the federal action.

The Court in Cortez, relying substantially on both
Kaiser and Ruddock, held that a minor could not be col-
laterally estopped by his parents’ litigation of a cause
of action brought pursuant to California Code of Civil
Procedure section 376. But, as we have shown those de-
cisions are not in conformity with controlling California
authority. Thus, for a similar reason, Cortez was prop-
erly rejected by the Ninth Cireuit and should be rejected
by this Court also.

In light of such compelling decisions such as Arm-
strong, Borer, Sea-Land, Secrest and Lopez, there was, at

14

the very least, a clear potential that, should this lawsuit
have proceeded in the absence of Jaime Aguilar and an
adverse judgment entered against his Petitioner parents,
prejudice to his interests in the state litigation would
likely have resulted. The point is that, in pursuing this
federal action, Petitioners, in effect, represented the
minor’s interest in attempting to establish Respondent’s
liability; therefore, any adjudication of liability may well
have been binding on the minor in his state court action
and, thus, his action could potentially have been effec-
tively barred.4 Thus, the Ninth Circuit’s determination
of the issue was clearly correct and should not be dis-
turbed by this Court.

IT.

The Ninth Circuit’s Holding That The District
Court Did Not Abuse Its Discretion In Ordering
Petitioner’s Federal Action Dismissed Was Be-
yond Question Correct Under The Equity And
Good Conscience Test Provided By Rule 19(b),
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Having determined that joinder of Jaime Aguilar
was desirable under the criteria articulated in Rule 19(a)

4 In determining whether a person should be joined under
Rule 19(a), it is not necessary that the District Court determine
to a certainty that disposition of the federal action will impair
or impede the person’s ability to protect his interests. Instead,
all that is necessary is that it be determined that “ . . . disposi-
tior. of the action may ... as a practical matter impair or im-
pede his ability to protect that interest... .’’ Rule 19(a) (2) (i),
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; emphasis added. As ob-
served by the Court in Lopez, supra, 97 F.R.D. at p. 31, “The
existing potential that the child will be estopped from reliti-
gating important issues critical to his action in the state court
satisfies the impairment requirement.”

15

(2), the District Court was required to order joinder un-
less joinder would have deprived it of subject matter jur-
isdiction. Since, here, joinder would have defeated the
District Court’s subject matter jurisdiction, it was re-
quired to apply the equity and good conscience test of
Rule 19(b) to determine whether the action could pro-
ceed in the absence of the minor or whether dismissal
should be ordered. Prestenback v. Employers’ Ins. Co.,
47 F.R.D. 163, 165-166 (D.C.La.1969).

Rule 19(b) required the District Court to balance
equitable considerations in determining if the action could
fairly proceed without the joinder of the absent person
alleged to be an indispensable party. As explained by Mr.
Justice Harlan in Provident Trademens Bank & Trust
Co. v. Patterson, supra, 390 U.S. 102, 109-111; 19 L.Ed.2d
936, Rule 19(b) suggests four interests that must be ex-
amined in each case:

‘‘Wirst, the Plaintiffs have an interest in having a
forum. Before the trial, the strength of this interest
obviously depends upon whether a satisfactory alter-
native forum exists . . . Second, the defendant may
properly wish to avoid multiple litigation, or incon-
sistent relief, or sole responsibility for a liability he

shares with another. ... [§] Third, there is the in-
terest of the outsider whom it would have been de-
sirable to join... .[f] Fourth, there remains the

interest of the courts and the public in complete, con-

sistent, and efficient settlement of controversies.”

Analysis of these four factors, as applicable in the
context of this case, provides overwhelming support for
the Ninth Circuit’s and the District Court’s determina-
tions that this action could not properly proceed absent
the joinder of Jaime Aguilar.

16

A. All Issues Presented In The Instant Action
Were Fully Capable Of Litigation In (Indeed,
Were More Properly Litigable In) A State
Forum.

The issues presented to the District Court in this
medical malpractice action were fully litigable in a state
forum, particularly in that action still pending in the Los
Angeles Superior Court, No. C 462798, as Jaime Aguilar
v. County of Los Angeles, etc., et al. The issues in that
action, with the exception of the type of damages sought,
are identical to those in the instant case: Both actions
involve the alleged malpractice committed on Jaime Agui-
lar; one of the named plaintiffs is the same in both pro-
ceedings, i.e., Rosa Aguilar suing in an individual ¢a-
pacity in District Court and in a representative capacity
in the state proceeding; and the County of Los Angeles
and its employees were named as defendants in both mat-
ters.

The availability of a state forum has been properly
a decisive factor in eases where dismissal was ordered
pursuant to Rule 19(b). In Potomac Electric Power Co.
v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 54 F.R.D. 486, 491 (D.Md. 1972),
the Court observed:

‘Of all the pragmatic considerations to be weighed
by this Court, the one that stands out most strikingly
in this case is the fact that the plaintiffs have avail-
able to them, and in fact have already filed suit in
another forum. If the motions to dismiss are granted
because of a lack of complete diversity of citizenship,
plaintiffs are not left without a remedy. They may
in such event proceed with the suit that has been
brought in the Cireuit Court for Baltimore County
aud which presents the same claims against the same
defendants. .. .”

17

See also Haas v. Jefferson National Bank of Miami Beach,
442 F.2d 394, 399-400 (5th Cir. 1971) [same as Potomac];
Schutten v. Shell Oil Company, 421 F.2d 869, 875 (5th
Cir. 1970) [same]; Jamison v. Memphis Transit Manage-
ment Company, 381 F.2d 670, 676 (6th Cir. 1967) [same].

By pursuing their remedy in a state forum, Petition-
ers will be able to join all interested parties without suf-
fering an iota of prejudice. Block v. Sun Oil Corporation,
335 F.Supp. 190, lyo (W.D. Okla. 1971); Bixby v. Bixby,
50 F.R.D. 277, 281 (S.D.Ill. 1970). Accordingly, the Ninth
Circuit correctly held that the District Court did not err
in dismissing the federal action.

B. Failure To Join Jaime Aguilar Would Have
Exposed Respondent To The Threat Of Mul-
tiple Litigation And The Risk Of Inconsist-
ent Relief.

To the extent it might ultimately have been held that
a determination in Respondent’s favor in the federal ac-
tion was not binding on the minor, Respondent might have
been forced to relitigate the same issue of liability in the
state forum, notwithstanding a victory in federal court.
See Block v. Sun Oil Corporation, supra, 335 F.Supp. 190,
196 [‘‘A multiplicity of litigation may result and, thus,
the efforts of more than one court may be devoted to what
at present appears to be a single controversy’’]. Under
these circumstances, it would also be possible that even
if Respondent obtained a favorable judgment in the
present action, it could still suffer an adverse judgirent
in the pending state court action. The potential inequity
of such inconsistent adjudications was properly avoided
by the District Court’s order. In Potomac Electric Power

18

Co. v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., supra, 54 F.R.D. 486, 492,
the Court noted:

‘‘(T here is at the present time a risk that the in-
surers could re-litigate the issues presented here, or
at a very minimum, require the defendants to come
iuto another court and prove that principles of res
judicata or collateral estoppel did apply in any sub-
sequent action. If the action were to proceed with
all parties named as plaintiffs, this possibility would
be effectively removed. Therefore, the first factor
in [Rule 19] subdivision (b) also indicates that Royal
[insurance company] should be regarded as indispen-
sable here, and that the action should be dismissed.”
(Emphasis in original.)

See also:

Lopez, et al. v. Marlin Luther King, Jr. Hospital, et
al., supra, 97 F.R.D. at p. 32 [‘‘The risk that the de-
fendants herein would be subjected to multiple liti-
gation or inconsistent judgments is not only great,
but in fact is a reality. Defendants are presently
engaged in two lawsuits which derive from the same
exact set of facts and require consideration of the
same legal issues. Thus, multiple litigation already
exists. The defendants have a strong interest in
being involved in one action rather than two, and
would be better off in a single action where the lia-
bility issues will be decided consistently as to all
plaintiffs.”}.

C. The Absent Jaime Aguilar Had An Interest
Which Might Have been Prejudiced If He
Was Not Joined In The Federal Proceeding.

In Provident Trademens Bank & Trust Co. v. Patter-
son, supra, 390 U.S. 102, 110, 19 L.Ed.2d 936, this Court
explained the factor of prejudice to the absent party in the
following terms:

19

“‘Of course, since the outsider is not before the court
he cannot be bound by the judgment rendered. This
means, however, only that a judgment is not res
judicata as to, or legally enforceable against, a non-
party. (Fn. oniitted.) It obviously does not mean
either (a) that a court may never issue a judgment
that, in practice, affects a nonparty or (b) that (to the
contrary) a court may always proceed without con-
sidering the potential effect on nonparties simply
because they are not ‘bound’ in the technical sense.
(F'n. omitted.) Instead, as Rule 19(a) expresses it,
the court must consider the extent to which the
judgment may ‘as a practical matter impair or impede
his ability to protcct’ his interest in the subject imat-
ter... .’’ (Emphasis addeu.

Under the formulation given this factor by this Court
in Provident Trademens Bank & Trust Co., it is readily
apparent that, even if a determination in the present
action might not have been binding against Jaime Aguilar
through application of the principles of res judicata, as a
practical matter, an adverse judgment would still have
severely prejudiced his interest, particularly if the doe-
trine of collateral estoppel were applied against him in
the state action brought in his behalf. See Lopez, supra,
97 F.R.D. at p. 33. This potential result was properly
avoided by the District Court’s order. Thus, the Ninth
Cireuit correctly affirmed the order of dismissal for this
reason as well.

D. The Interests Of The Courts And The Public
In Complete, Consistent And Ffficient Settle-
ment Of Controversies Were Best Served By
Dismissal Of The Federal Action.

One of the most compelling reasons justifying the
District Court’s order of dismissal and the Ninth Circuit's

20

affirmance of that order, in favor of the state court action
was to settle this controversy in a single proceeding. This
overwhelmingly serves the interests of the litigants, absent
parties, the judiciary and the public. It also provides a
means for settling this controversy consistently, efficiently
and sensibly. In Provident Trademens Bank & Trust Co.,
supra, 390 U.S. 102, 111, 19 L.Ed.2d 936, this Court ob-
served:

“[T]here remains the interest of the courts and the
public in complete, consistent, and efficient settlement
of controversies. We read the Rule’s third criterion,
whether the judgment issued in the absence of the
non-joined person will be ‘adequate,’ to refer to this
public stake in settling disputes by wholes, whenever
possible, for clearly the plaintiff, who himself chose
both the forum and the parties defendant, will not be
heard to complain about the sufficiency of the relief
obtainable against them... .”’

This interest was also recognized in Fouke v. Schene-
werk, 197 F.2d 234, 236 (5th Cir. 1952), where the Court
stated:

‘There is no reason in this case for a court of
equity to strain hard to find a way to adjudicate the
merits of this controversy in the absence of intcrested
parties whose presence was readily obtainable... .
The decision of this controversy is governed by the
local law of Texas; and the courts of Texas are open
to the plaintiffs and fully competent to acquire juris-
diction in rem if not in personam.’’ \

See also:

Haas v. Jefferson National Bank of Miami Beach,
supra, 442 F.2d 394, 399 [It seems evident to us
that the absence of Glueck in this litigation would,
of necessity, result in less than a complete settle-
ment of this controversy. . .. [T]here is no

21

semblance of a guarantee that a judgment on
Haas’ terms would settle the whole dispute gen-
erated by the facts here.’’].

Broussard v. Columbia Gulf Transmission Company,
398 F.2d 885, 888 (5th Cir. 1968) [‘‘If the dis-
trict court were to hear the case on the merits,
its decision would merely begin rather than con-
elude litigation. .. . By any combination or per-
mutation, ... a reversal of the district court’s
dismissal would engender further litigation, i.e.,
multiplicity of suits.’’].

In the instant case, it is undeniable that al] the dam-
age claims based on Jaime Aguilar’s alleged injury could
not have been litigated in this federal action. This is so
because Jaime Aguilar’s parents are only authorized
(Code of Civ. Proce. §376)> to recover a portion of the
damages which might ultimately be recoverable if liability
is established; Jaime sought the remainder in the state
court proceeding. ‘hus, it was absolutely impossible for
complete relief to be afforded in the present lawsuit. In
marked contrast, the entire controversy can be litigated
among all interested parties in a single state court pro-
ceeding. Thus, it would have made no sense to allow Pe-
titioners’ unexplainable choice of an entirely unsatisfac-
tory federal forum to take precedence over the rights of

5 California Code of Civil Procedure § 376 provides in per-
tinent part that the parents of an injured minor child may re-
cover “such damages . . . as under all of the circumstances of
the case may be just.” This statute has been construed to per-
mit an action by the parents to recover for certain forms of
detriment occasioned by the minor’s injury, such as medical
expenses, earning capacity loss and lost services. The parents’
action is an alternative to recovery by the minor, who may also
sue to recover damages for all the forms of detriment result-
ing from his injury. See Faitz v. Ruegg, 114 Cal.App.3d 967,
971-972 (1981), and cases cited therein.

22

all interested parties to participate and be heard in a
single, dispositive suit.

—~O

CONCLUSION

Petitioners have identified no basis for invoking this
Court’s discretionary jurisdiction. The decision of the
Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals was correct and fully con-
sistent with the principles articulated by this court in
Provid:nt Trademens Bank & Trust Co. v. Patterson,
supra, 390 U.S. 102. The Ninth Circuit’s determination of
relevant California law regarding the doctrine of collat-
eral estoppel as it impacts on a Rule 19 dismissal issue,
hardly warrants this Court’s intervention.

For the foregoing reasons the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GOLMAN AND von BoLscHWING
Bonne, JoNES, Bripces, MUELLER
& O’ KEEFE
Greines, Martin, Stern & RICHLAND
Martin STEIN
Counsel of Record
9601 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 508
Beverly Hills, California 90210
(213) 859-7811

Attorneys for Respondent County of
Los Angeles

ee ee ee rae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0052%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
