# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tri-State Motor Transit Co. v. Interstate Commerce Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0014%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 472 U.S. 1027

## Text

84-1518 | TLE D

{ CLERK

‘WAR 25 1985

US.

AS,

IN THE |

Supreme Court of the Uritted States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

TRI-STATE MOTOR TRANSIT CO., AND
AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS, INC.,

and

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS
OF AMERICA,

m Petitioners,
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION AND
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

and

THE DENVER & RIO GRANDE WESTERN
RAILROAD COMPANY,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM S. BUSKER GEORGE KAUFMANN

KENNETH E. SIEGEL (Counsel of Record)
2200 Mill Road—Room 823 ROBERT J. HIGGINS
Alexandria, VA 22314 JOSEPH E. KOLICK, JR.
(703) 838-1857 2101 L Street, N.W.

Attorneys for Washington, D.C. 20037

_ Tri-State Motor Transit (202) 785-9700

Co.,and American Trucking Attorneys for

Associc tions, Inc. International Brotherhood
\ of Teamsters, Etc.

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® «GE co

QUESTION PRESENTED

For over forty years railroads (and railroad affiliates)
have been granted motor carrier operating authority
other than that which is auxiliary to and supplemental
of rail service only if the applicant can establish “special
circumstances” negativing any disadvantage to the pub-
lic from the fact that it is a railroad. The Motor Carrier
Act of 1980 and the Staggers Rail Act of 1980 amended
the Interstate Commerce Act to a substantial extent, but
retained the statutory provisions on which the “special
circumstances” doctrine was held to rest. The question
presented is:

Is the Interstate Commerce Commission empowered to
abandon the “special circumstances” doctrine, thereby
permitting unrestricted entry of railroads 1»io motor
carrier operations, although this Court has held, in a
series of decisions culminating in American Trucking
Assns. v. U.S., 364 U.S. 1, that this doctrine is a Con-
gressional mandate under the Interstate Commerce Act?

(i)

ii

\
PARTIES IN THE COURT BELOW

—

cri-State Motor Transit Company
American Trucking Associations, Inc.

International Brotherhood of Teamsiers, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen and Helpers of America

The Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad Company
Interstate Commerce Commission
United States of America

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ts ty yy | | ca i

PARTIES IN THE COURT BELOW ........ oo... ii

I a ssanedslondhinmnsocinnnions 1

CGE A A Ce ee 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED |... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........................0..0..00000.00.. 2
A. The Histery of and Statutory Basis for the

“Special Circumstances” Doctrine _.................... 3

ee secctsicnccusecuweonene 8

1. Proceedings Before the Commission .............. 8

2. Proceedings Before the Court of Appeals.... 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 10

I. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
A SERIES OF DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
AND WITH A LONGSTANDING, UNAL-
TERED CONGRESSIONAL POLICY ............ 10

II. THE QUESTION IS IMPORTANT TO THE
ECONOMIC HEALTH OF THE MOTOR CAR-

II: calorilaidiacchsictunsiiastiscebebianioeensiosatoau 17
a 18
ESTEE ve Oc - la
TERE Pe SO 8a
SSL eee 9a
SRN ables siicudlinkdeeiucconasess l4a
IES STL EES A a OP 19a
SEES IS EEA 28a

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
American Trucking Assns. v. U.S., 355 U.S. 141
Cy Se nd emeeiinecenniiall 6, 8, 13, 14, 16
American Trucking Assns. v. U.S., 364 U.S. 1
2 BE LG ECS a passim
B-H Transfer Co. v. United States, 420 U.S. 968
TID ccahscschenissnslentinnietasaeaianssttahieaeniiicl tea teteiielaiititabitinanan 15

Ex parte MC-156, Applications for Motor Car-
rier Operating Authority by Railroads and Rail
Affiliates, 132 M.C.C. 378 (1982), affirmed, 722
F.2d 1243 (C.A. 5), cert. den., 53 U.S.L.W. 3324

CD a scassennccacrtat aici iain lead talidtahaalenpiiaeattbaiinaniated passim
Kansas City S. Transport Co., Inc., Com. Car. Ap-

plication, 10 M.C.C. 221 (1938) ............................. 11, 12
Labor Board v. Insurance Agents, 361 U.S. 477

I i i ia urabetisatinabiinbaconse 16
Pennsylvania Truck Lines, Inc.-Control-Barker, 1

M.C.C. 101 (1986)............. CAE iene ee EET a 11
Rock Island M. Transit Co.-Purchase-White Line

M. Frt., 40 M.C.C. 457 (1946) .............................. 5, 6
United States v. Rock Island Co., 340 U.S. 419

I cane sine Silat snl iciantaliceitiiabieinadel 6, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17

STATUTES AND RULES:

Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §§ 10101 et

seq.

49 U.S.C. § 10101(a) (1) (A) —........................ 7,11,15
ID © pinciicnscnnindecenncanentnns 2
cs ticrinidlisaaibilanicich 6
§ 10922(b) (2) (B) __... eS allman 6
$11844(e) .. ........... AS Ses PEAS passim

Judicial Code:

4 SR |, : ea ees 2
a Ne 2
cect, laters 2

Motor Carrier Act of 1935, Pub. L. No. 255, Ch.
498, 49 Stat. 453 (1935) :

[| ff | See “ 5

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Motor Carrier Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-296,
I ad passim

Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-448, 94
Stat. 1895 (1980) ........ AE ERS RO ESE Be passim
United States Supreme Rule 17.1(¢) 000.000.0000. 11

MISCELLANEOUS

I I a 28a
Motion to Affirm U.S. Sup. Ct. No. 74-515 2.000000... 15

Notice of Proposed Policy Statement, 46 F.R.
RR a eae ee ee Oe EL en aT 7

Railroad Deregulation Act of 1979: Hearings on
S. 796 Before the Senate Subcommittee on Sur-
face Transportation of the Sen. Comm. on Com-
merce, Science and Transportation, 96th Cong.,
"y % €:. 3% | ee 17

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anitrd States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984
No.

TrRI-STATE Motor TRANSIT Co., AND
AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS, INC.,

and

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS
OF AMERICA,

. Petitioners,
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION AND
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

and

THE DENVER & Rio GRANDE WESTERN
RAILROAD COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Interstate Commerce Commission
Review Board is not reported and is reproduced in the
appendix at pp. 9a-13a, infra. The final opinion of the
Interstate Commerce Commission is not reported and is
reproduced at pp. 14a-17a, infra. The opinion of the
Court of Appeals denying a petition for review of that
decision is reported at 739 F.2d 1373, and is reproduced
at pp. la-7a, infra.

2

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was issued on
August 3, 1984 and a timely petition for rehearing and
suggestion for rehearing en banc filed by the respondent
agency was denied on October 26, 1984. (P. 8a, infra).
On January 15, 1985 Justice Blackmun signed an order
extending the time for filing this petition to March 25,
1985. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1). The Court of Appeals had jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. §§ 2321 and 2342(5).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Interstate Commerce Act, 49
U.S.C. § 10101 et seg., as amended by the Motor Carrier
Act of 1980, P.L. 96-296, 94 Stat. 793, and the Staggers
Rail Act of 1980, P.L. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895. The per-
tinent provisions are reproduced at pp. 18a-27a, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition grows out of the decision of the Inter-
state Commerce Commission (“ICC” or “Commission” )
to grant the Denver & Rio Grande Western Railroad
(“DRGW”) authority to conduct a nationwide general
commodities trucking operation. That decision repre-
sented a particularized application of a policy shift an-
nounced in a rulemaking proceeding, Ex Parte MC-
156, Applications for Motor Carrier Operating Author-
ity by Railroads and Rail Affiliates, 1832 M.C.C. 978
(1982). affirmed, 722 F.2d 1243 (C.A. 5), cert. den., 53
U.S.L.W. 3324 (1984), wherein the Commission aban-
doned the “special circumstances doctrine” which had
limited rail affiliated motor carriers to operations “aux-
iliary to or supplemental of” the company’s rail opera-
tions unless the company could demonstrate special cir-
cumstances justifying an exception to the general rule.
The decision in Ex Parte MC-156 will be referred to
hereafter as “the Policy Statement.” The court below

—_— «

concluded that the Commission was empowered to aban-
don the special circumstances doctrine and grant un-
restricted trucking authority to rail carriers on the same
basis as any other applicant. The correctness of that
holding is the issue presented by this case. In order to
put that issue in context, we shall first describe the his-
tory and statutory basis for the doctrine, and we shall
then set forth the proceedings in this litigation.

A. The History of and Statutory Basis for the “Specia’
Circumstances” Doctrine

1. In its Policy Statement the ICC correctly character.
ized the doctrine at issue in this case as follows:

The “special circumstances” doctrine requires the
restriction to incidental rail service of motor carrier
operating authority issued to railroads or rail affil-
iates in licensing proceedings unless special circum-
stances are shown that unrestricted authority is re-
ouired to fulfill a compelling public need for service
not being offered by independent motor carriers.
The aim of the doctrine is to prevent rail domina-
tion of motor carrier markets. [132 M.C.C. 978,
emphasis added]

The Policy Statement also described the origins and
statutory underpinnings of the doctrine:

The “special circumstances” doctrine has its ori-
gins in the earliest days of the Commission’s regula-
tion of motor curriers. The underlying policy
against granting unrestricted motor carrier operat-
ing authority to railroads or their affiliates origi-
nated in the motor-rail acquisition and control sec-
tion 213(a)(1) of the Interstate Commerce Act as
amended by the Motor Carrier Act of 1935. This
legislation prohibited a railroad from acquiring or
merging with a motor carrier “unless * * * the
transaction * * * [would] promote the public inter-
est by enabling the [rail] carrier * * * to use serv-
ice by motor vehicle to public advantage in its opera-

4

tions and not unduly restrain competition.” Pur-
suant to this statutory language, the Commission
restricted motor operations resulting from rail-
motor acquisitions proceedings to those auxiliary or
supplemental to rail service. See Pennsylvania
Truck Lines, Inc.—Control—Barker, 1 M.C.C. 101
(1936). The rationale for this policy was to pro-
tect the nascent motor carrier industry from anti-
competitive control by the more mature railroads
with their dominant size and great financial re-
sources. Id. at p. 112.

Although there was no express statutory require-
ment for doing so, this principle was extended to
motor carrier licensing proceedings under sections
207 and 209 of the act. See Kansas City S. Trans-
port Co., Inc., Com. Car. Application, 10 M.C.C. 221,
240-41 (1938) (The Commission found that the mo-
tor carrier applicant’s affiliation with a railroad re-
quired imposition of specific auxiliary-to-rail restric-
tions). The basis for this was both the Commis-
sion’s interpretation of the acquisition section 213
(a) (1), and the requirements of the Declaration of
Policy of the Motor Carrier Act of 1935, which pro-
vided that the Commission was—

to regulate transportation by motor carriers in
such manner as to recognize and preserve the
inherent advantages of, and foster sound eco-
nomic conditions in, such transportation and
among such carriers in the public interest; pro-
mote adequate, economical, and efficient service
by motor carriers, * * * improve the relations
between, and coordinate transportation by and
regulation of, motor carriers and other car-
iia ae

The “special circumstances” doctrine itself was a
departure from the strict requirement of imposing
auxiliary-to-rail restrictions on motor carrier au-
thority issued to railroads or rail affiliates in li-
censing proceedings. The doctrine allowed issuance
of unrestricted authority where the rail-affiliated ap-

:

5

plicant could show a “compelling need” for its serv-
ice by demonstrating (1) that a grant of unre
stricted authority would not result in undue re-
straint of competition, and (2) that the public in-
terest requires the proposed operation which was not
being furnished by independent motor carriers. See
e.g., Rock Island M. Transit Co.—Purchase—White
Line M. Frt., 40 M.C.C. 457 (1946). [182 M.C.C.
980-981, footnote omitted]

2. The Rock Island case was the ICC’s first major de-
cision on this subject after the pertinent language of
§ 213(a) (1) of the 1935 Motor Carrier Act was reen-
acted as § 5(2) (b) of the 1940 Interstate Commerce Act,
54 Stat. 906. The ICC there stated:

The reenactment of Section 213 as part of Sec-
tion 5... without any change suggesting any dis-
satisfaction with our established administrative con-
struction thereof must be taken as a definite ap-
proval thereof, which speaks strongly against any
Significant departure therefrom in the future. [40
M.C.C. 457, 468-469]

And in Rock Island the ICC succinctly explained the
meaning of the doctrine:

In other words, a railroad applicant for authority
to operate as a common carrier by motor vehicle,
though required to do no more than prove, as any
other applicant, that its service is required by public
convenience and necessity, has a special burden...
by reason of the very circumstance that it is a rail-
road. Where it fails to show special circumstances
negating any disadvantage to the public from this
fact, a grant of authority to supply motor service
other than service auxiliary to and supplemental of
train service is not justified. [40 M.C.C. at 474.]

The foregoing “special burden” formulation was quoted
with approval by this Court in affirming the Rock Island
decision (United States v. Rock Island Co., 340 U.S. 419,

re eT ea ae

6

428-429, n.4), and again in American Trucking Assns. v.
U.S., 355 U.S. 141, 151 (“ATA I’).

In ATA I the Court affirmed the grant to a railroad
subsidiary of authority to supply motor service which
was not auxiliary to and supplemental of train service
because special circumstances had been shown, but
stressed

that the underlying policy of 5(2)(b) must not be-
divorced from proceedings for new certificates under
§ 207. Indeed, the Commission must take “cogni-
zance” of the National Transportation Policy and
apply the Act “as a whole.” [3855 U.S. at 151-152]

And, in American Trucking Assns. v. U.S., 364 U.S. 1
(“ATA II’’), this Court held that the Commission had
committed an error of law by issuing unrestricted motor
carrier operating authority without finding that special
circumstances justified such a grant. Jd. at 6-15. The
ATA II decision is fully discussed at pp. 11 to 14, infra.

3. In 1980 Congress enacted two statutes which
amended the Interstate Commerce Act’s regulation of
motor carriers (the Motor Carrier Act of 1980) and of
railroads (the Staggers Rail Act of 1980). In general,
as the court below observed, these amendments adopted
a “deregulatory approach” (p. 7a, infra). Specifically,
the 1980 Motor Carrier Act eased restrictions on entry
into the trucking industry by eliminating altogether cer-
tain of the substantive requirements for an operating
license, by liberalizing the remaining requirements, and
by shifting the burden of proof to those opposing an ap-
plication for operating authority. See 49 U.S.C. §§ 10922
(b) (1) and (b) (2) (B), (pp. 24a-25a, infra). The Motor
Carrier Act amendments also evinced a new congressional
emphasis on intermodal operations. The Act expressly
declared that national transportation policy is to “pro-
mote intermodal transportation.” 49 U.S.C. § 10101 (a)

7

(2) (I) (pp. 19a-20a, infra). However, the amendments
preserved the portion of the Nationa! Transportation Pol-
icy which directs that the Act be so administered “as to
recognize and preserve the inherent advantage of each
mode of transportation”, 49 U.S.C. § 10101(a) (1) (A) (p.
19a, infra). Likewise unchanged was § 5(2)(b) of the
1940 Act (now 49 U.S.C. §11344(c), p. 27a, infra)
which, as we have seen, permits railroad acquisition of
motor carriers only when the acquisition “* * * will en-
able the rail carrier to use motor carrier transportation
to public advantage in its operations * * *.”

In Ex Parte MC-156, the ICC issued a Policy State-
ment wherein it concluded “that the ‘special circum-
stances’ doctrine should be eliminated from motor car-
rier licensing proceedings.” (132 M.C.C. at 987). The
ICC asserted that “[t]he ‘special circumstances’ doctrine
is not a viable policy under the newly revised Interstate
Commerce Act.” (Heading, id.) It observed that at “the
heart of [the 1980 Motor Carrier Act] is the mandate
for eased regulatory entry requirements offering ‘in-
creased opportunities for new carriers to get into the
trucking business and for existing carriers to expand
their services’[; the] new licensing provisions at 49
U.S.C. 10922 and 10923 markedly reduce the burden of
proof of those seeking motor carrier authority and sub-
stantially increase the burden of proof of those opposing
the issuance of motor carrier authority.” Also, the
“Staggers Rail Act of 1980 endorses more competitive,
less restricted rail operations and stresses minimized
federal control over the rail transportation system.”

1 The Policy Statement issued in a proceeding which was initiated
by the ICC by a Notice of Proposed Policy Statement (46 F.R.
50423) in which the ICC sought public comment on the “continued
viability” of the “special circumstances” doctrine in light of the
1980 amendments. Comments were received from motor carrier and
rail carrier interests, shippers, freight forwarders and the United
States Department of Transportation. See 132 M.C.C. at 978.

as |

8

(Id.) The ICC opined that ATA I and ATA II no longer
have “precedential value” because (1) the “special cir-
cumstances” doctrine did not establish an absolute bar
to the licensing of rail affiliates to perform non-rail-
related motor service, and (2) after those decisions “cir-
cumstances and the transportation legislation have
changed markedly.” (Jd. at 988.) The ICC asserted that
“the special circumstances doctrine is an agency ‘created
and transformed’ doctrine’ and as such is not “immu-
table’ but “must change with the changing realities of
the economy and the industries regulated by the Commis-
sion.” (Jd., emphasis added. )

B. The Instant Litigation
1. Proceedings Before The Commission

On April 8, 1988, DRGW applied to the ICC for truck-
ing authority to haul general commodities nationwide.
Pursuant to the Commission’s modified approval proce-
dures, ICC Review Board No. 1 tentatively granted
DRGW’s application. Tri-State contested that action on
two grounds: first, the grant would harm Tri-State’s
overall operations contrary to the public interest; and
second, the application was fatally defective because
DRGW failed to demonstrate “special circumstances”
justifying authority for unrestricted motor carrier op-
erations, that is, motor service not incidental and auxil-
iary to DRGW’s rail service.

In a decision served September 8, 1983, the ICC Re-
view Board affirmed the tentative grant of unrestricted
motor carrier authority. The license was approved on
the view that “a railroad need no longer demonstrate
‘special circumstances’ in order to obtain unrestricted
motor carrier authority,” citing the Commission’s Policy
Statement in Ex Parte MC-156. (P. 11a, infra). Tri-State
appealed the Review Board’s decision. In addition, peti-
tioners ATA and the IBT filed petitions to intervene and
for administrative review, contending that the Review

9

Board’s grant to DRGW should be overturned because
the Commission’s blanket abandonment of limitations on
the authority of railroads to engage in motor carriage
was contrary to law.

The Commission’s final decision first denied ATA’s
and the IBT’s petitions to intervene, stating that the
attack on the validity of the elimination of the “special
circumstances” doctrine “would unduly broaden the is-
Sues raised in this proceeding.” (P. 15a, infra). Second,
on the basis of its prior Policy Statement, the Commission
rejected the argument that unrestricted trucking author-
ity could not be granted to a rail carrier absent a show-
ing of “special circumstances” (P. 16a, infra).

2. Proceedings Before The Court Of Appeals

Tri-State and ATA petitioned for review of the ICC’s
decision in the court below. The IBT, which represents
Tri-State employees, intervened in support of that peti-
tion. DRGW intervened on the side of the ICC and the
United States in support of the agency decision.

Before the Court of Appeals, the Commission argued
that the Court was without jurisdiction to entertain pe-
titioners’ challenge to its failure to require a showing of
“special circumstances” because the correctness of that
decision was reviewable only on direct appeal from the
rulemaking proceeding in which the Commission first
announced its intention to abandon the “special circum-
stances” doctrine; that the doctrine of collateral estoppel
barred litigation of that issue by petitioners below; and
that the 1980 amendments to the Interstate Commerce
Act justified the Commission’s policy shift. The Court of
Appeals rejected the Commission’s attack on its jurisdic-
tion (p. 4a, n.2, infra), and found it unnecessary to
reach the Commission’s collateral estoppel argument.
(P. 2a, n.1, infra). On the merits, the Court of Appeals
acknowledged that in American Trucking Assns. v. U.S.,

rs

10

364 U.S. 1, this Court had held that “Congress has ex-
pressed a strong general policy against railroad invasion
of the motor field,” and that this policy prohibited the
Commission from granting general trucking authority to
rail carriers absent a finding of “special circumstances.”
(P. 6a, infra, quoting 364 U.S. at 6 and 15). Nonethe-
less, the Court concluded that “when the Act is read as
a whole, including the 1980 amendments, the ICC had
proper authority to find that the special circumstances
doctrine should no longer be recognized.” (P. 6a, infra).
On that basis, the Court of Appeals affirmed the ICC’s
order.

Although it had achieved total success by the Court’s
affirmance, the Commission petitioned for rehearing and
rehearing en banc, contending that the case should have
been decided in its favor on either jurisdictional or col-
lateral estoppel grounds. After directing and receiving a
response from the petitioner below, the Court of Ap-
peals denied the Commission’s petition. (P. 8a, infra).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH A
SERIES OF DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND
WITH A LONGSTANDING, UNALTERED CON-
GRESSIONAL POLICY

A. The court below declared that the “central issue
fin the Fifth Circuit], and here, is whether the special
circumstances doctrine, which was created by the ICC,
has been recognized by the Supreme Court to be statu-
torily required.” (P. 4a, infra). The Eighth Circuit
(like the Fifth Circuit on review of the Policy State-
ment) answered that question in the negative, and ac-
cordingly concluded that the ICC was authorized to aban-
don that doctrine. The issue thus defined is “central”

2 Although the point is not decisive herein, we note that the
observation that the doctrine “was created by the ICC” is, in our
view, correct only with respect to licensing. The restriction on

11

also in considering whether the judgment below should
be reviewed, because if the Court of Appeals was wrong,
it “has decided a federal question in a way in conflict
with applicable decisions of this Court.” (U.S. Sup. Ct.
Rule 17.1(c)). We therefore shall show that the court
below has misinterpreted this Court’s governing deci-
sion; analysis and holdings in those cases made clear that
the “special circumstances” doctrine embodies a Congres-
sional policy. (Indeed, years ago, the ICC itself so ac-
knowledged in a submission to this Court, quoted at
pp. 14a-l5a, infra). The most revealing of this Court’s
decisions is American Trucking Assns. v. U.S., 364 U.S. 1
(“ATA II’), which we therefore discuss in some detail.

At the outset of his analysis for a unanimous Court,
Chief Justice Warren began: “Both the Commission and
this Court have recognized that Congress has expressed
a strong general policy against railroad invasion of the
motor carrier field,” referring to the National Transpor-
tation Policy, 54 Stat. 899, and the proviso to § 5(2) (b)
of the Interstate Commerce Act. (364 U.S. at 6, emphasis
added. )

The Court observed:

The Commission long ago concluded that the policy
of the transportation legislation requires that the

railroad acquisitions of motor carriers first appeared in the proviso
to §213(a) of the 1935 Act. Commissioner Eastman’s subsequent
description of the 1935 legisiative process, quoted in Rock Island
at 340 U.S. 431-432, n.9, made clear that this proviso was intended
to confine such acquisitions to those which would be used by the
acquiring carrier in its railroad operations. Pennsylvania Truck
Lines, Inc.-Control-Barker, 1 M.C.C. 101 (1936), in which Mr.
Eastman joined, implemented that Congressional decision. See
p. 4, supra, and 340 U.S. at 433, n.11. See also Pennsylvania
Truck Lines, Inc., 5 M.C.C. 9 (1937). It was, however, the ICC
which initially extended the doctrine to licensing proceedings,
in the Kansas City Southern case, 10 M.C.C. 221, described at
p. 4, supra. The doctrine was ratified by Congress with respect to
both acquisitions and licensing proceedings by the 1940 Act, and
thereby became Congressional policy as to both.

SN

ai a a I

12

standards of § 5(2) (b)—then § 213(a) of the Motor
Carrier Act of 1935, 49 Stat. 555—be followed as a
general rule in other situations, notably in applica-
tions for common carrier certificates of convenience
and necessity under § 207. Kansas City Southern
Transport Co., Common Carrier Application, 10
M.C.C. 221 (1938). And this Court has confirmed
the correctness of the Commission’s conception of its
responsibilities under both § 5(2)(b) and § 207. See
United States v. Rock Island Motor Transit Co., 340
U.S. 419; United States v. Texas & Pacific Motor
Transport Co., 340 U.S. 450; Interstate Commerce
Comm’n V. Parker, 326 U.S. 60. The Court has also
taken cognizance of the congressional confirmation of
the Commission’s policy by the 1940 re-enactment in
§ 5(2) (b) of the provisions of § 213(a), after some
of the pertinent Commission decisions had been spe-
cifically called to Congress’ attention. See United
States v. Rock Island Motor Transit Co., supra, at
432. [364 U.S. at 6-7, emphasis added] *

Thus, “the policy of oppositi.n to railroad incursions
into the field of motor carrier service” (364 U.S. at 7)
was plainly viewed as Congress’ policy. So, too, in ap-
proving the Commission’s implementation of that policy
to restrict “certificates issued to rail carriers or their
affiliates in order to insure that the service rendered
thereunder shall be no more than that which is auxiliary
to or supplemental of train service,” the Court said:

If a trucking service can fairly be so characterized,
it is clear enough that there is compliance with the
mandate of § 5(2)(b) that the carrier should be able
“to use service by motor vehicle to public advantage
in its operations.” But if, on the other hand, the
motor transportation is essentially unrelated to rail
service, the railroad parent is invading the field of

3In Rock Island, the Court expressly identified Kansas City
Southern Transport Co., supra, as one of the cases “which were
specifically called to Congress’ attention prior to the enactment of
the 1940 Act.” 340 U.S. at 432 and n.10.

13

trucking, and, under normal circumstances, the Na-
tional Transportation Policy is thereby offended.
[364 U.S. at 9, emphasis in original]

The Court reaffirmed its holdings in AJA IJ that the
public interest may sometimes be promoted by not im-
posing the “auxiliary and supplemental” restrictions on
motor carrier subsidiaries of railroads, but that this ex-
ception has only a narrow scope:

We there observed that the mandatory provisions
of §5(2)(b) do not appear in § 207, and approved
the Commission’s policy of not attaching auxiliary
and supplemental restrictions where “special circum-
stances” prevail. We concluded:

“We repeat . . . that the underlying policy of
§5(2)(b) must not be divorced from proceed-
ings for new certificates under § 207. Indeed,
the Commission must take ‘cognizance’ of the
National Transportation Policy and apply the
Act ‘as a whole.” But... we do not believe that
the Commission acts beyond its statutory author-
ity when in the public interest it occasionally de-
parts from the auxiliary and supplementary lim-
itations in a § 207 proceeding.” 355 U.S., at
151-152. [364 U.S. at 11]

Because the ICC had granted to a railroad subsidiary
motor carrier authority without attaching “auxiliary and
supplemental” restrictions, and without making a finding
of “special circumstances,” this Court set aside the ICC’s
decision, saying:

[W]e do not believe that the policy of the Act allows
the Commission to authorize service by Pacific Motor,
limited only to points on the Southern Pacific line,
simply because General Motors [the shipper] wants
a contract carrier operation. If that desire of Gen-
eral Motors, in combination with the policy of the
Act, disables a railroad subsidiary from obtaining
the business, that is simply the result of the National
Transportation Policy. This consequence, we believe,

14

does not meet the compelling public interest standard
established by [A7'A J]. A contrary conclusion would
open the door to approval of over-the-road contract
trucking by railroad subsidiaries to most, if not vir-
tually all, major destinations, and hence would
greatly attenuate the safeguards which have been
painstakingly erected to prevent railroad domination
of trucking. Appellees say that these safeguards are
no longer needed, because independent trucking is no
longer an “infant industry.” This is an immaterial
argument in this forum. We do not condemn the
wisdom of the Commission’s action. We simply say
that the transportation legislation does, and that the
pardoning power in this case belongs to Congress.
[364 U.S. at 15, emphasis added]

The Court concluded:

Thus the decision of the District Court must be re-
versed, because we conclude that the Commission fell
into error of law. [364 U.S. at 15] *

The proposition that the “special circumstances” doc-
trine is merely a matter of agency policy simply cannot
be reconciled with either the reasoning of the ATA II]
opinion, or the result in that case. There was a time
when the ICC, too, understood the correct meaning of this
Court’s decisions. It represented to this Court at the
1974 Term:

It has long been established that the Congressional
“policy of opposition to railroad incursions into the
field of motor carrier service’ (American Trucking
Associations, Inc. v. United States, 364 U.S. 1, 7)
usually limits any motor carrier service performed
by a railroad affiliate or subsidiary to service auxil-
iary or supplemental to its rail service. See United
States v. Rock Island Motor Transit Co., 340 U.S.

*The Court remanded the case to the ICC to consider whether
the record would support a finding that there exist special circum-
stances warranting an unrestricted certificate. (364 U.S. at 15-17.)

i ceaeeeeeenaneiennitiiemanaiammaaieianeemiiiel

15

419. An unrestricted certificate, authorizing motor
service unrelated to the railroad parent’s rail serv-
ice and in competition with independent ‘truckers,
may be granted only where “special circumstances”
prevail.®
The meaning of the cited opinions has not changed in
the intervening years.

B. The ICC and the court below relied on the 1980
amendments to the Interstate Commerce Act as justify-
ing the abandonment of the “special circumstances” doc-
trine. But Congress did not in that legislation exercise
its “pardoning power” (364 U.S. at 15) to ease the re-
strictions on the motor carrier operations of railroads
and their subsidiaries. That portion of the National
Transportation Policy “which articulates the congres-
sional purpose that the Act be ‘so administered as to
recognize and preserve the inherent advantages’ of ‘all
modes of transportation’” (364 U.S. at 6), remains in
the Act as 49 U.S.C. §10101(a)(1)(A). (P. 19a,
infra). So too, what was §5(2)(b) of the Interstate
Commerce Act (364 U.S. at 6-7, 9, 11) is retained as 49
U.S.C. § 11344(c). (P. 27a, infra).

The new licensing standards established by 49 U.S.C.
§§ 10922 and 10923 do not affect the result. To be sure,
these “markedly reduce the burden of proof of those
seeking motor carrier authority and substantially in-
crease the burden of proof of those opposing the issu-
ance of motor carrier authority”.* But careful ‘examina-
tion of the ICC’s formulation of the “special circum-
stances” doctrine in Rock Island, which this Court has
twice approved, see pp. 5-6, supra, makes clear that this
change does not affect its statutory underpinnings. By

5 Motion to Affirm, p. 3 in No. 74-515, B-H Transfer Co. v. United
States (emphasis added). The motion to affirm was granted, 420
U.S. 968.

* Ez Parte MC-156, 132 M.C.C. at 979.

16

virtue of the new licensing provisions, a railroad appli-
cant, in common with all others, is relieved of the obli-
gation to prove “that its service is required by public
convenience and necessity” (340 U.S. at 428, n.4; 355
U.S. at 151). But the new licensing provisions do not
affect the railroad applicant’s “special burden” imposed
“by reason of the very circumstance that it is a railroad
* * * to show special circumstances negativing any dis-
advantage to the public from this fact * * *.” (Jd.) That
burden, which derives from provisions of the Interstate
Commerce Act which were not changed, remains because,
however desirable the change might appear to the ICC,
“Congress’ policy has not yet moved to this point.” Cf.
Labor Board v. Insurance Agents, 361 U.S. 477, 500."

7A railroad spokesman, testifying in general support of an early
version of what became the Staggers Rail Act, discussed the “special
circumstances” doctrine, and criticized as a significant “omission”
the failure of the bill to overturn that doctrine.

Walter G. Treanor, senior vice-president-law of The Western
Pacific Railroad Company, testified :

Insofar as the bill [S. 796] is concerned, we have only one
concern of omission, although we understand the reason for it
at this time, and this is that this bill does not propose to strike
down the artificial restraints that are in the present statute on
the railroads becoming total transportation companies. .. .
[Als a direct consequence of legislative and administrative
restrictions, the railroads with a few notable exceptions are
generally effectively foreclosed from engaging in common car-
rier motor services except where such services are structured
so as to be strictly auxiliary of, and supplemental to, the exist-
ing rail lines. Statutory limitations presently set forth in 49
U.S.C. (Transportation) 11344 require special, and debilitat-
ing, findings before any railroad is permitted to effect a merger
with, or control of, a motor carrier. Although there do not
exist any similar statutory restrictions with regard to railroad
applications to obtain a Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity to commence a new motor carrier operation, the
Interstate Commerce Commission, at least until very recently,
has as a matter of policy imposed similar restrictions in certifi-
cation cases. We are very much encouraged by the [ICC’s)

17

II. THE QUESTION IS IMPORTANT TO THE ECO-
NOMIC HEALTH OF THE MOTOR CARRIER
INDUSTRY

In Rock Island, this Court succinctly stated the eco-
nomic reason why the “auxiliary and supplemental” lim-
itation on railroad motor carrier operations was in fur-
therance of the National Transportation Policy:

[O]therwise the resources of railroads might soon
make over-the-road truck competition impossible, as
unregulated truck transport, it was feared, might
have crippled some railroads. Motor transportation
then would be an adjunct ‘o rail transportavion, and
hoped-for advancements in land _ transportation
from supervised competition between motors and
rails would not materialize. The control of the bulk
of rail and motor transportation would be concen-
trated in one type of operation. Complete rail domi-
nation was not envisaged as a way to preserve the
inherent advantages of each form of transporta-
tion. [340 U.S. at 432-433, footnote omitted]

If the decision below is permitted to stand, the way
for rail domination of land transportation will have been
cleared. Despite substantial significant changes in the
trucking and railroad industries (to which Congress re-
sponded with the 1980 amendments) the power of the
railroads to dominate the motor carrier field if their
entry is unrestricted is undiminished. They possess vast

recent loosening of such restrictions in non-merger cases but
legislative changes are necessary if this program is to have
any assurances of continuation into the future.

Railroad Deregulation Act of 1979: Hearings on S. 796 Before the
Senate Subcomm. on Surface Transportation of the Sen. Comm. on
Commerce, Science and Transportation, 96th Cong., lst Sess. 221,
223-224 (Part I, 1979) (emphasis added.)

No subsequent change was made in § 11344 to meet Mr. Treanor’s
ob’ ‘ion. But the ICC has given that which Congress withheld.

18

economic resources which enable them to undertake motor
carrier operations where to do so would serve their cor-
porate objectives. For example, the four largest United
States transportation companies, ranked by assets, are
railroads; the largest trucking company ranks twenty-
first. Seven railroad corporations have assets of more
than $1 billion (including three with assets of more than
$10 billion) ; only one trucking company has more than
$1 billion in assets. (See Table I, p. 28a, infra). Rank-
ing these transportation companies by annual operating
revenues likewise illustrates the superior economic power
of the railroads: the top fifteen include four railroads,
but no trucking company. Those four railroads each earn
over $3 billion annually, while the largest trucking com-
pany earns only $1.3 billion. (See Table II, p. 29a, infra.)

The Commission now believes that unrestricted com-
petition by railroads in the motor carrier field is desir-
able and has abandoned the “special circumstances” re-
strictions to accomplish tha. result. We submit that the
Commission has thereby committed an error of law, and
that the court below should have so held. See pp. 10-
16, supra. But whatever doubt there may be on that
score, it cannot be gainsaid that the decision below por-
tends a drastic transformation of the motor carrier in-
dustry and of rail-motor competition generally. For this
reason, too, plenary review of the decision below is
clearly warranted.

19

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM S. BUSKER GEORGE KAUFMANN
KENNETH E. SIEGEL “Counsel of Record)

2200 Mill Road—Room 823 ROBERT J. HIGGINS

Alexandria, VA 22314 JOSEPH E. KOLICK, JR.

(703) 838-1857 2101 L Street, N.W.
Attorneys for Washington, D.C. 20037

Tri-State Motor Transit (202) 785-9700

Co.,and American Trucking Attorneys for

Associations, Inc. International Brotherhood

of Teamsters, Etc.

APPENDICES

la
APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-2564

TRI-STATE MOTOR TRANSIT Co., and
AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS, INC.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, |
Respondents.

THE DENVER AND RIO GRANDE
WESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY,
Intervenor/ Respondent.

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND
HELPERS OF AMERICA,

Intervenor.

Submitted May 17, 1984
Decided Aug. 3, 1984

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc
Denied Oct. 26, 1984

Before LAY, Chief Judge, FLOYD R. GIBSON, Senior
Circuit Judge, and FAGG, Circuit Judge.

2a

LAY, Chief Judge.

Tri-State Motor Transit (Tri-State) contested the ap-
plication before the Interstate Commerce Commission
(ICC) of unrestricted motor carrier operations for the
Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad Co. American
Trucking Associations, Inc. (ATA) and the International
?rotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and
ielpers of America (Teamsters) unsuccessfully sought
to intervene before the ICC in opposition of the applica-
tion. Tri-State, ATA, and the Teamsters now ask this
court to set aside ICC’s grant to Denver/Rio Grande of
unrestricted motor carrier operations. We affirm the order
of the ICC.*

1ICC and Denver/Rio Grande argue that Tri-State et al. are
estopped from challenging the Commission’s order on the basis of
collateral estoppel. ATA and the Teamsters very well may be
estopped from such a challenge based on their participation in a
similar challenge of the same issue before the Fifth Circuit.
American Trucking Ass’ns, Inc. v. I.C.C., 722 F.2d 1243 (5th Cir.
1984). Additionally, Tri-State may be estopped because of its
privity with ATA; Tri-State is a member of the Association. West-
ern Coal, Traffic League v. I1.C.C., 735 F.2d 1408, at 1411 (D.C. Cir.
1984), supports this view. Since we approve the grant of the cer-
tificate, we need not pass on the estoppel argument.

We also find no abuse of discretion in the ICC’s denial of inter-
vention for ATA and the Teamsters in the ICC proceeding. The
decision whether to grant a petition to intervene before the ICC
is governed by statute, 49 U.S.C. § 10922(b) (7), and by regulation,
49 C.F.R. § 1112.4. The latter states that intervention “may” be
granted so long as it does not unduly disrupt or broaden the issues
raised in the proceeding. In denying leave to intervene, the ICC
stated :

The ATA and Teamsters had the opportunity to appear when
this proceeding was commenced and prior to the decision by the
Review Board. They did not choose to do so. Furthermore, the
apparent purpose of intervening in this proceeding is to attack
the validity of the elimination of the “special circumstances”
doctrine. This would unduly broaden the issues raised in this
proceeding contrary to our rules of practice [49 C.F.R. 1112.4]
and in effect constitutes a collateral attack on Ex Parte No.

ee en Nee ne

or ils etn tT Oe

8a

The unrestricted motor carrier operations granted to
Denver/Rio Grande allows the railroad to engage in un-
limited trucking operations. Historically, the ICC re
stricted rail-affiliated motor carriers to operations “auxil-
iary to or supplemental of” the rail operations of the com-
pany, unless the particular rail-affiliated trucking com-
pany could demonstrate special circumstances justifying
an exception to the general rule. This general rule and
exception thereto was known as the “special circumstances
doctrine,” and required that motor carrier operating au-
thority for railroads be restricted to incidental rail service
unless unrestricted authority was required to fulfill a com-
pelling public need for service not being offered by inde-
pendent motor carriers. The purpose of the special cir-
cumstances doctrine was to prevent rail domination of
motor carrier markets.

In 1982 the ICC abrogated the special circumstances
doctrine in Ex Parte No. MC-156, Applications for Motor
Carrier Operating Authority by Railroads and Rail A ffili-
ates, 182 M.C.C. 978 (1982). This decision was made in
light of amendments to the Interstate Commerce Act—
the Motor Carrier Act of 1980 and the Staggers Rail Act
of 1980. The ICC concluded that, in light of the 1980
amendments, a rail-affiliated trucking company no longer
needs to prove special circumstances to justify an un-
restricted grant of authority. ATA and the Teamsters un-
successfully challenged the ICC decision before the Fifth
Circuit. American Trucking Associations v. I.C.C., 722
F.2d 1243 (5th Cir. 1984). The Fifth Circuit concluded
that the ICC was within its authority when it abolished

MC-156. As such, petitioners raise no issues that can properly
be considered here. We will deny the petitions of ATA and
Teamsters to intervene. Petitioners’ interests will not be prej-
udiced inasmuch as their concerns will be addressed by the
Court of Appeals [for the Fifth Circuit].

Interstate Commerce Commission Decision No. MC-166474 (Sub-
No. 1) (Nov. 8, 1983). We find no error in this ruling.

4a

the special circumstances doctrine, noting especially the
changes in the trucking and rail industries and the Inter-
state Commerce Act. |

On appeal to this court, Tri-State, ATA, and the Team-
sters argue that the Interstate Commerce Act precludes
the ICC from removing all special limitations on the
licensing of railroads to engage in motor transportation.
Therefore, contends Tri-State et al., the ICC was without
authority to remove the special circumstances doctrine
from its licensing procedure, and the Fifth Circuit was in
error in affirming the ICC decision.’

The Fifth Circuit extensively reviewed the history of
the special circumstances doctrine in its opinion. See 722
F.2d at 1244-47. The central issue there, and here, is
whether the special circumstances doctrine, which was
created by the ICC, has been recognized by the Supreme
Court to be statutorily required. Prior to the passage of
the Motor Carrier Act of 1935, the trucking industry was
economically unstable and dominated by ease of competi-
tive entry. The special circumstances rule arose from the

2The ICC argues that, considering the Fifth Circuit’s affirm-
ance of Ex Parte No. MC-156, this court does not have jurisdiction
to review a subsequent challenge on the substantive validity of an
agency’s rules. This argument is based on the Hobls Act, which
provides that a party aggrieved by a rule, regulation, or final order
of the ICC must file a petition for judicial review within sixty days.
28 U.S.C. §§ 2342, 2344. We agree that this rule now precludes an
attack on the procedure by which the policy was adopted. How-
ever, we hold that the Hobbs Act does not bar judicial review on the
substantive validity of the rule, even if more than sixty days have
elapsed since its issuance. As the District of Columbia and Fifth
Circuits have noted, “administrative rules and regulations are cap-
able of continuing application; limiting the right of review of the
underlying rule would effectively deny many parties ultimately af-
fected by a rule an opportunity to question its validity.” Texas
v. United States, 730 F.2d 409, 415 (5th Cir. 1984) (quoting Func-
tional Music, Inc. v. FCC, 274 F.2d 543, 546 (D.C. Cir. 1958), cert.
denied, 361 U.S. 813, 80 S.Ct. 50, 4 L.Ed.2d 60 (1959) ).

ee

5a

Act itself and was intended to protect the motor trans-
portation system from over competition.

The explicit Congressional restriction on rail-affiliated
trucking companies was the enactment of high barriers to
rail companies’ acquisition of trucking companies. Motor
Carrier Act of 1935, § 213(a), currently at 49 U.S.C.
§ 11344(c).* The implicit Congressional restriction was
recognizing and preserving “the inherent advantages” of
each mode of transportation. Motor Carriers Act of 1935,
§ 202(a), currently at 49 U.S.C. §10101(a). In con-
trast to the acquisition provisions, the licensing provisions
did not provide for any restrictions on rail companies’
operations of trucking companies. However, the ICC in-
terpreted the acquisition provisions of § 11344(c) to mean
that not only could railroads not acquire, but that they
could not operate as unrestricted trucking companies. The
ICC additionally interpreted the National Transportation
Policy’s requirement of preserving the inherent advan-
tages of each mode as support for protection of the infant
trucking industry from the railroads. In J.C.C. v. Parker,
326 U.S. 60, 65 S.Ct. 1490, 89 L.Ed. 2051 (1945), and
later in United States v. Rock Island Co., 340 U.S. 419,
71 $.Ct. 382, 95 L.Ed. 391 (1951), the Supreme Court
affirmed the ICC’s power to restrict the licensing of rail-
affiliated trucking companies.

The ICC modified its restrictions on the licensing of
trucking operations for rail companies in Rock Islard
Motor Transit Co. Common Carrier Application, 63 M.C.C.
91 (1954). The ICC held that unrestricted authority

3 Section 11344(c) provides in pertinent part:

When a rail carrier, or a person controlled by or affiliated with
a rail carrier, is an applicant and the transportation involves a
motor carrier, the Commission may approve and authorize the
transportation only if it finds that the transaction is consistent
with the public interest, will enable the rail carrier to use motor
carrier transportation to public advantage in its operations, and
will not unreasonably restrain competition.

6a

could be granted to a rail-affiliated trucking company if
the rail affiliate could prove that the grant would not
restrain competition and that the public interest required
the proposed service. This policy was the “specia! circum-
stances” exception and the Supreme Court affirmed its use
in American Trucking Associations v. United States, 355
U.S. 141, 78 S.Ct. 165, 2 L.Ed.2d 158 (1957). The Su-
preme Court noted that the licensing and acquisitions sec-
tions were interpretive brothers, and stated that “the
Commission must take ‘cognizance’ of the National Trans-
portation Policy and apply the Act ‘as a whole.’” Jd. at
151-52, 78 S.Ct. at 171.

In American Trucking Associations v. United States,
364 U.S. 1, 80 S.Ct. 1570, 4 L.Ed.2d 1527 (1960), the
ICC. had granted operating licenses to a trucking com-
pany that was a wholly owned subsidiary of a railroad.
ATA challenged the grant, claiming that the ICC did not
properly apply the special circumstances doctrine. The
Supreme Court agreed, finding that “[b]oth the Commis-
sion and this Court have recognized that Congress has
expressed a strong general policy against railroad in-
vasion of the motor field,” id. at 6, 80 S.Ct. at 1574, and
concluding that the ICC had deviated from this policy by
granting operating authority to a railroad subsidiary
without finding special circumstances. Jd. at 15, 80 S.Ct.
at 1578.

Tri-State now urges that the principles of American
Trucking are violated by the ICC’s grant of operating
licenses to the Denver/Rio Grande. We must disagree.
The ICC was charged by the Supreme Court with apply-
ing the Act “as a whole.” We believe that when the Act
is read as a whole, including the 1980 amendments, the
ICC had proper authority to find that the special circum-
stances doctrine should no longer be recognized.

Specifically, the amendments established “a new Federal
policy which is designed to promote a competitive and

ae

7a

efficient motor carrier industry.” H.R. Rep. No. 1069,
96th Cong., 2d Sess. 14 (1980). The legislation mandated
eased regulatory entry requirements in order to increase
“opportunities for new carriers to get into the trucking
business and for existing carriers to expand their serv-
ices.” Jd. at 3. Moreover, Congress found that “today
most transportation is competitive and many Government
regulations affecting railroads have become unnecessary
and inefficient.” H.R. Rep. No. 1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess.
79, reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3978,
4111. See generally American Trucking Associations v.
I.C.C. 722 F.2d 1243, 1249-52 (5th Cir. 1984) (detailing
the deregulatory approach of the 1980 amendments). We
therefore agree with the ICC and the Fifth Circuit ATA
decision, id., that the showing required under the special
circumstances doctrine of compelling necessity for un-
restricted authority for rail-affiliated motor carriers has
no place in the procompetitive licensing regulations of the
revised Interstate Commerce Act.

For the above reasons, the decision of the ICC is af-
firmed.

8a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

September Term, 1984
No. 83-2564

TrRI-STATE Motor TRANSIT Co., and
AMERICAN TRUCKING ASSOCIATIONS, INC.,
Petitioners,
vs.

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR REVIEW OF ORDER OF THE
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

Respondents’ petition for rehearing en banc has been
considered by the Court and is denied.

Petition for iehearing by the panel is also denied.

October 26, 1984

APPENDIX C
Service Date
Sep. 8, 1983

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

DECISION
No. MC-166474 (Sub-No. 1)

THE DENVER AND RIO GRANDE WESTERN RAILROAD
COMPANY EXTENSION—POINTS IN THE UNITED STATES
(Denver, CO)

Decided: August 26, 1983

Applicant seeks a certificate authorizing the operations
described in the appendix. The evidence has been con-
sidered under the modified procedure. Tri-State Motor
Transit Co. opposes the application.

Applicant holds no existing authority from this Com-
mission. It argues that a grant of the proposed authority
will enhance the competitive environment and will pro-
mote a safe and sound intermodal transportation system.

The application is supported by 27 shippers. They are
The John Sexton Co., Morton Salt Division of Morton
Thiokol, Inc., The Quaker Oats Company, and Gee Co.,
all of Chicago, IL; Packaging Corporation of America of
Evanston, IL; Grain Processing Corporation of Musca-
tine, IA; F. Korbel and Brothers of Guerneville, CA;
American Timber Products, Inc., of Oklahoma City, OK;
Nobel/Sysco Food Services Co., Association Grocers of
Colorado, Inc., Keebler Company and McKesson Wine
and Spirits Co., all of Denver, CO; American Excelsior
Corp. of Arlington, TX; Alpine Lumber Co. and Husky
Oil Company of Englewood, CO; Pacific Coast Produc-
er’s of Santa Clara, CA: Slaughter Brothers, Inc. and
Lennox Industries, Inc., of Dallas, TX; Alamaden Vine-
yards of San Jose, CA; The Dorris Lumber & Mouldings

10a

Co. and Western Bark Sales, Inc., of Sacramento, CA;
Trammell Crow Distributions Corporation and National
Distribution Systems of Clearfield, UT; Gonzalez & Com-
pany, Inc., of Gonzalez, CA; Gerber Products Company
of Fremont, MI; American Forest Products Co., and
United Vinters Inc., of San Francisco, CA. Collectively,
shippers require service on a wide variety of commodi-
ties including air conditioners, foods and food products,
boxes, pulpwood and paper products, cleaning compounds,
plastic articles, wines, lumber and lumber products and
appliances. All of the shippers have described the com-
modities to be transported, the volume to be tendered
applicant, and problems with existing service. Repre-
sentative origin and destination points are shown by most
of the shippers. Others indicate customers are located
throughout the 48 contiguous States. A number of ship-
pers require insulated equipment, while several require
high cube van equipment. A large number of shippers
support the instant application in order to shift trans-
portation services from rail to motor common carriage.
Shippers currently using motor common carriers gen-
erally express a need to have additional equipment avail-
able and an opportunity to use a carrier with a more
competitive rate structure.

Tri-State holds authority to transport general commodi-
ties between points in the United States, operates 1,164
tractors and 2,585 trailers, and contends that a grant of
this application would have a detrimental effect upon its
operations. Tri-State, in 1982, generated approximately
$64 million in revenue which assertedly would be subject
to diversion by a grant of the application. Protestant
claims that the diversion of any meaningful portion of
this traffic would have a disastrous effect upon its opera-
tions; it suffered a loss of $799.00 in 1982. Tri-State
notes that its traffic was down 20 percent in 1982, that it
currently had idle equipment throughout its system, and
it attributes this decrease in business to the more liberal

he en AOR Lh aires.

lla

entry policy of the Commission. Further diversion and
lack of traffic, we are told, will result in further closing
of terminals and additional layoffs in personnel. It be-
lieves that the application should be denied in view of
applicant’s failure to provide “special circumstances”.

On the record before us, we find that applicant has
met its threshold burden. A representative showing is
all that is required, and the specific commodities, origins
and destinations named are sufficiently representative of
the authority sought by the 27 supporting shippers.

Tri-State has not shown that a grant of authority to
applicant would harm its overall operations to an extent
injurious to the public interest. So long as it provides
reasonable service and competitive rates, there is no rea-
son to assume that its traffic would be diverted by appli-
cant. Furthermore, Tri-State has done little to show that
a grant of the application would be inconsistent with the
public convenience and necessity, merely citing poten-
tially divertible traffic and revenues from increased
competition. This factor, in and of itself, cannot, under
the Motor Carrier Act of 1980, be made the basis for a
denial of authority otherwise adequately supported by the
record.

Finally, contrary to protestant’s contentions, a rail-
road need no longer demonstrate “special circumstances”
in order to obtain unrestricted motor carrier authority.
Motor Carrier Operating Authority—Railroads, 132
M.C.C. 978 (1982).

We find:

Performance by applicant of the service described in
the appendix will serve a useful public purpose, re-
sponsive to a public demand or need. Applicant is fit,
willing and able properly to perform the granted service
and to conform to statutory and administrative require-
ments. This action will not significantly affect either

12a

the quality of the human environment or conservation of
energy resources. An appropriate certificate should be
granted.

It is ordered:

The application is granted to the extent set forth in the
appendix. Operations may begin only following the serv-
ice of a certificate and upon compliance with the follow-
ing requirements set forth in the Code of Federal Regu-
lations: insurance (49 CFR 1043), designation of process
agent (49 CFR 1044), and tariffs (49 CFR 1310).

Compliance with these requirements must be made
within 90 days after the date of service of this decision
or the grant of authority shall be void.

By the Commission, the Review Board, Members Carle-
ton, Parker, and Krock.
AGATHA L. MERGENOVICH
Secretary
[SEAL]

13a

APPENDIX

Authority to conduct the following operations will be
issued in an appropriate document. This decision does
not constitute authority to operate.

To operate as a common carrier, by motor vehicle, in
interstate or foreign commerce, over irregular routes,
transporting general commodities (except classes A and
B explosives, household goods, and commodities in bulk),
betwen points in the United States (except Alaska and
Hawaii).

14a
APPENDIX D
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
DECISION
No. MC-166474 (Sub-No. 1)

Service Date
Nov. 15, 1983

THE DENVER AND RIO GRANDE WESTERN RAILROAD
COMPANY, EXTENSION—POINTS IN THE UNITED STATES
(Denver, CO)

Decided: November 8, 1983

We have considered the application and the record in
this proceeding, the appeal filed by protestant Tri-State
Motor Transit Co., the petitions to intervene filed by
American Trucking Associations, Inc. (ATA) and the
International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen and Helpers of America (Teamsters),
and applicant’s reply.

The ATA and Teamsters here renew their challenge to
the legality of the elimination of the “special circum-
stances” doctrine in Ex Parte No. MC-156, Motor Carrier
Operating Authority—Railroads, 182 M.C.C. 978 (1982).

1 The “special circumstances” doctrine allowed a departure from
the requirements of imposing auxiliary-to-rail restrictions on motor
carrier authority issued to railroads or rail affiliates in licensing
proceedings. The doctrine allowed issuance of unrestricted author-
ity where the rail affiliated applicant could show a “compelling
need” for its service by demonstrating (1) that a grant of unre-
stricted authority would not result in undue restraint of competi-
tion, and (2) that the public interest requires the proposed opera-
tion which was not being furnished by independent motor car-
riers. Ex Parte No. MC-156, supra, at 981. The doctrine was elimi-
nated to make it easier for railroads and rail affiliates to obtain
unrestricted motor carrier authority.

eee Se

CRE PE PON id TA? non SoG

Poe A CLE De Clg hE EE, peat, TE

Ok Cette aC OR,

tt RENN IER ELS AMEE AE DALE NGOS

fee PA AO

15a

This issue is pending before the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in American Trucking
Associations, et al. v. I.C.C., et al., No. 83-4039. They
contend that they should be allowed to intervene in this
proceeding in order to “maintain the integrity of the
licensing procedures” of this Commission and compliance
with “the regulatory scheme set forth by Congress in the
Interstate Commerce Act.”

The ATA and Teamsters had the opportunity to ap-
pear when this proceeding was commenced and prior to
the decision by the Review Board. They did not choose
to do so. Furthermore, the apparent purpose of inter-
vening in this proceeding is to attack the validity of the
elimination of the “special circumstances” doctrine. This
would unduly broaden the issues raised in this proceeding
contrary to our rules of practice [49 C.F.R. 1112.4.] and
in effect constitutes a collateral attack on Ex Parte No.
MC-156. As such, petitioners raise no issues that can
properly be considered here. We will deny the petitions
of ATA and Teamsters to intervene. Petitioners’ inter-
ests will not be prejudiced inasmuch as their concerns will
be addressed by the Court of Appeals.

By decision served September 8, 1983, the Review
Board granted applicant’s request to transport general
commodities (except classes A and B explosives, house-
hold goods, and commodities in bulk), between points in
the United States (except Alaska and Hawaii). The
Board held that a railroad need no longer demonstrate
“special circumstances” in order to obtain unrestricted
motor carrier authority, citing Ex Parte No. MC-156,
supra.

Protestant does not challenge whether applicant has
met the criteria of 49 U.S.C. 10922 or established a need
for the proposed service. Rather, it contends that the
authority should not be granted since applicant failed
to establish “special circumstances.” Protestant is con-

16a

cerned that the granting of this application will result
in the filing of similar applications by other rail carriers
and their affiliates while the review of Ex Parte No. MC-
156 is pending in Court. It requests us to (1) issue a
notice or order that, pending final decision by the Court,
applications filed under Ex Parte No. MC-156 will be
held in abeyance or not accepted for filing until further
order; or (2) attach a condition limiting any certificates
granted in those proceedings to the lesser of (a) a term
of one year from its issuance, or (b) reconsideration of
the proceeding based on the final decision by the Court.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has not issued a
stay of the rules in Ex Parte No. MC-156 pending its
review of that proceeding. Accordingly, there is no legal
impediment to rendering a decision in this application
proceeding. We see no valid reason to either hold this
case or other similar cases in abeyance or to impose a
condition on the certificates to be issued. Ex Parte No.
MC-156 is quite clear that a railroad need no longer dem-
onstrate “special circumstances.” Therefore, we will not
reverse the Review Board decision. For reasons stated
above, protestant’s attack on the validity of the elimina-
tion of the “special circumstances” doctrine constitutes an
inappropriate issue to consider here.

The Review Board correctly found that applicant has
established a need for the proposed service. The applica-
tion is supported by 27 shippers which require service for
a wide variety of commodities throughout the 48 con-
tiguous states. Those using motor carriers expressed a
need to have more service available. Only one protestant
opposed the application. Protestant did not show that a
grant of the application would be inconsistent with the
public convenience and necessity.

The grant of the requested authority will allow im-
proved and innovative service through the combined use
of piggyback, motor, and rail service by one carrier. In
addition to promoting intermodal service, the granted au-

ai

Rabati: a Dnt ue sata Pes ¢ weal

17a

thority should afford shippers a new and efficient service
option.

It is ordered:

The petitions to intervene of the American Trucking
Associations, Inc., and the International Brotherhood of
Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of
America are denied.

Protestant’s appeal is denied because the findings of
the Review Board are in accordance with the evidence
and the applicable law.

The application is granted to the extent set forth in
the appendix. Operations may begin only following the
service of a certificate and upon compliance with the
following requirements set forth in the Code of Federal
Regulations: insurance (49 CFR 1043), designation of
process agent (49 CFR 1044), and tariffs (49 CFR
1310).

Compliance with these requirements must be made
within 90 days after the date of service of this decision
or the grant of authority shall be void.

This decision will take effect 25 days from its date
of service.

By the Commission, Division 1, Acting as an Appellate
Division, Commissioners Andre, Taylor, and Sterrett.
Commissioner Taylor is assigned to this Division for the
purpose of resolving the votes. Since there was no tie
in this matter, Commissioner Taylor did not participate.

AGATHA L. MERGENOVICH
Secretary
[SEAL ]

18a

APPENDIX

Authority to conduct the following operations will be
issued in an appropriate document. This decision does
not constitute authority to operate.

To operate as a common carrier, by motor vehicle, in in-
terstate or foreign commerce, over irregular routes,
transporting general commodities (except classes A and
B explosives, household goods, and commodities in bulk),
between points in the United States (except Alaska and
Hawaii).

19a
APPENDIX E

The pertinent provisions of the Interstate Commerce
Act as amended by the Motor Carrier Act of 1980, P.L.
96-296, 94 Stat. 793, et seg. and the Staggers Rail Act
of 1980, P.L. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895 et seq. are as follows:

§ 10101. Transportation policy

(a) Except where policy has an impact on rail car-
riers, in which case the principles of section 10101a of
this title shall govern, to ensure the development, co-
ordination, and preservation of a transportation system
that meets the transportation needs of the United States,
including the United States Postal Service and national
defense, it is the policy of the United States Government
te provide for the impartial regulation of the modes of
transportation subject to this subtitle, and—

(1) in regulating those modes—

(A) to recognize and preserve the inherent
advantage of each mode of transportation;

(B) to promote safe, adequate, economical,
and efficient transportation;

(C) to encourage sound economic conditions
in transportation, including sound economic
conditions among carriers;

(D) to encourage the establishment and main-
tenance of reasonable rates for transportation,
without unreasonable discrimination or unfair
or destructive competitive practices;

(E) to cooperate with each State and the of-
ficials of each State on transportation matters;
and

(F) to encourage fair wages and working
conditions in the transportation industry;

(2) in regulating transportation by motor car-
rier, to promote competitive and efficient transpor-

20a

tation services in order to (A) meet the needs of
shippers, receivers, passengers, and consumers; (B)
allow a variety of quality and price options to meet
changing market demands and the diverse require-
ments of the shipping and traveling public; (C)
allow the most productive use of equipment and
energy resources; (D) enable efficient and well-
managed carriers to earn adequate profits, attract
capital, and maintain fair wages and working con-
ditions; (E) provide and maintain service to small
communities and small shippers and intrastate bus
services; (F) provide and maintain commuter bus
operations; (G) improve and maintain a sound,
safe, and competitive privately owned motor carrier
system; (H) promote greater participation by mi-
norities in the motor carrier system; and (I) pro-
mote intermodal transportation; and

(3) in regulating transportation by motor carrier
of passengers (A) to cooperate with the States on
transportation matters for the purpose of encourag-
ing the States to exercise intrastate regulatory juris-
diction in accordance with the objections of this sub-
title; (B) to provide Federal procedures which en-
sure that intrastate regulation is exercised in ac-
cordance with this subtitle; and (C) to ensure that
Federal reform initiatives enacted by the Bus Regu-
latory Reform Act of 1982 are not nullified by State

regulatory actions.
(b) This subtitle shall be administered and enforced
to carry out the policy of this section.
§1010la. Rail transportation policy

In regulating the railroad industry, it is the policy of
the United States Government—

(1) to allow, to the maximum extent possible,
competition and the demand for services to establish
reasonable rates for transportation by rail;

2la

(2) to minimize the need for Federal regulatory
control over the rail transportation system and to
require fair and expeditious regulatory decisions
when regulation is required;

(3) to promote a safe and efficient rail trans-
portation system by allowing rail carriers to earn
adequate revenues, as determined by the Interstate
Commerce Commission ;

(4) to ensure the development and continuation
of a sound rail transportation system with effective
competition among rail carriers and with other
modes, to meet the needs of the public and the na-
tional defense;

(5) to foster sound economic conditions in trans-
portation and to ensure effective competition and
coordination between rail carriers and other modes;

(6) to maintain reasonable rates where there is
an absence of effective competition and where rail
rates provide revenues which exceed the amount
necessary to maintain the rail system and to attract
capital;

(7) to reduce regulatory barriers to entry into
and exit from the industry;

(8) to operate transportation facilities and equip-
ment without detriment to the public health and
safety ;

(9) to cooperate with the States on transportation
matters to assure that intrastate rezulatory jurisdic-
tion is exercised in accordance with the standards
established in this subtitle;

(10) to encourage honest and efficient manage-
ment of railroads and, in particular, the elimination
of noncompensatory rates for rail transportation;

(11) to require rail carriers, to the maximum ex-
tent practicable, to rely on individual rate increases,

22a

and to limit the use of increases of general appli-
cability ;

(12) to encourage fair wages and safe and suit-
able working conditions in the railroad industry;

(13) to prohibit predatory pricing and practices,
to avoid undue concentrations of market power and
to prohibit unlawful discrimination;

(14) to ensure the availability of accurate cost
information in regulatory proceedings, while mini-
mizing the burden on rail carriers of developing
and maintaining the capability of providing such
informaticn ; and

(15) to encourage and promote energy conserva-
tion.

Added Pub.L. 96-448, Title I, §101(a), Oct. 14, 1980,
84 Stat. 1897.

§ 10505. Autherity to exempt rail carrier transportation

(a) In a matter related to a rail carrier providing
transportation subject to the jurisdiction of the Inter-
state Commerce Commission under this subchapter, the
Commission shall exempt a person, class of persons, or a
transaction or service when the Commission finds that
the application of a provision of this subtitle—

(1) is not necessary to carry out the transporta-
tion policy of section 10101a of this title; and

(2) either (A) the transaction or service is of
limited scope, or (B) the application of a provision
of this subtitle is not needed to protect shippers
from the abuse of market power.

(b) The Commission may, where appropriate, begin
a proceeding under this section on its own initiative or
on application by the Secretary of Transportation or an
interested party.

23a

(c) The Commission may specify the period of time
during which an exemption granted under this section
is effective.

(d) The Commission may revoke an exemption, to the
extent it specifies, when it finds that application of a
provision of this subtitle to the person, class, or trans-
portation is necessary to carry out the transportation
policy of section 10101la of this title.

(e) No exemption order issued pursuant to this sec-
tion shall operate to relieve any rail carrier from an
obligation to provide contractual terms for liability and
claims which are consistent with the provisions of section
11707 of this title. Nothing in this subsection or section
11707 of this title shall prevent rail carriers frorn of-
fering alternative terms nor give the Commission the
authority to require any specific level of rates or services
based upor the provisions of section 11707 of this title.

(f) The Commission may exercise its authority under
this section to exempt transportation that is provided
by a rail carrier as a part of a continuous intermoda!
movement.

(a) The Commission may not exercise its authority
under this section (1) to authorize intermodal ownership
that is otherwise prohibited by this title, or (2) to re
lieve a carrier of its obligation to protect the interests
of employees as required by this subtitle. Pub.L. 95-473,
Oct. 17, 1978, 92 Stat. 13861; Pub.L. 96-448, Title II,
§ 213, Oct. 14, 1980, 94 Stat. 1912.

§ 10922. Certificates of motor and water common car-
riers

(a) Except as provided in this section and section
10930(a) of this title, the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission shall issue a certificate to a person authorizing
that person to provide transportation subject to the ju-
risdiction of the Commission under subchapter ITI of

24a

chapter 105 of this title as a water common carrier if
the Commission finds that—

(1) the person is fit, willing and able—

(A) to provide the transportation to be au-
thorized by the certificate; and

(B) to comply with this subtitle and regula-
tions of the Commission; and

(2) the transportation to be provided under the
certificate is or will be required by the present or
future public convenience and necessity.

(b) (1) Except as provided in this section, the Inter-
state Commerce Commission shall issue a certificate to
a person authorizing that person to provide transporta-
tion subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission under
subchapter II of chapter 105 of this title as a motor
common carrier of property if the Commission finds—

(A) that the person is fit, willing, and able to
provide the transportation to be authorized by the
certificate and to comply with this subtitle and reg-
ulations of the Commission; and

(B) on the basis of evidence presented by persons
supporting the issuance of the certificate, that the
service proposed will serve a useful public purpose,
responsive to a public demand or need;

unless the Commission finds, on the basis of evidence
presented by persons objecting to the issuance of a cer-
tificate, that the transportation to be authorized by the
certificate is inconsistent with the public convenience and
necessity.

(2) In making a finding under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, the Commission shall consider and, to the
extent applicable, make findings on at least the following:

(A) the transportation policy of section 10101 (a)
of this title; and

25a

(B) the effect of issuance of the certificate on
existing carriers, except that the Commission shall
not find diversion of revenue or traffic from an ex-
isting carrier to be in and of itself inconsistent with
the public convenience and necessity.

(i) (1) Not later than 180 days after the date of en-
actment of this subsection, the Commission shall—

(A) eliminate gateway restrictions and circuitous
route limitations imposed upon motor common car-
riers of property; and

(B) implement, by regulation, procedures to proc-
ess expeditiously applications of individual motor
carriers of property seeking removal of operating
restrictions in order to—

(i) reasonably broaden the categories of prop-
erty authorized by the carrier’s certificate or
permit ;

(ii) authorize transportation or service to in-
termediate points on the carrier’s routes;

(iii) provide round-trip authority where only
one-way authority exists;

(iv) eliminate unreasonable or excessively
narrow territorial limitations; or

(v) eliminate any other unreasonable restric-
tion that the Commission deems to be wasteful
of fuel, inefficient, or contrary to the public
interest.

* - a o
(k) A motor common carrier of property may deliver
to or receive from a rail carrier a trailer moving in
trailer-on-flat-car service at any point on the route of the
rail carrier if the motor carrier is authorized to serve
the origin and destination points of the traffic.

26a

Pub.L. 95-473, Oct. 17, 1978, 92 Stat. 1409; Pub.L. 96-
296, §§ 5(a), 6, 34(a), July 1, 1980, 94 Stat. 794, 796,
825; Pub.L. 96-454, §10(a), Oct. 15, 1980, 94 Stat.
2021; Pub. L. 97-261, §§ 6(a)-(c), (g), 7, 8, Sept. 20,
1982, 96 Stat. 1103, 1107, 1108.

§ 10923. Permits of motor and water contract carriers
and freight forwarders

(a) Except as provided in this section and section
10930 of this title, the Interstate Commerce Commission
shall issue a permit to a person authorizing the person
to provide transportation subject to the jurisdiction of
the Commission under subchapter II or III of chapter
105 of this title as a motor contract carrier or water
contract carrier, respectively, or to provide service sub-
ject to that jurisdiction under subchapter IV of chapter
105 as a freight forwarder, if the Commission finds
that—

(1) the person is fit, willing, and able—

(A) to provide the transportation or service
to be authorized by the permit; and

(B) to comply with this subtitle and regula-
tions of the Commission; and

(2) the transportation or service to be provided
under the permit is or will be consistent with the
public interest and the transportation policy of sec-
tion 10101 of this title.

(e) A motor contract carrier of property may deliver
to or receive from a rail carrier a trailer moving in
trailer-on-flat-car service at any point on the route of
the rail carrier if the motor carrier is authorized to
serve the origin and destination points of the traffic.

Pub.L. 95-473, Oct. 17, 1978, 92 Stat. 1410; Pub.L. 96-
258, §1(9), June 3, 1980, 94 Stat. 426; Pub.L. 96-296,
§§ 10(a) (2), (3), 34(b), July 1, 1980, 94 Stat. 799, 800,

27a

825; Pub. L. 97-261, §13(a), Sept. 20, 1982, 96 Stat.
1114,

§ 11344. Consolidation, merger, and acquisition of con-
trol: general procedure and conditions of ap-
proval

a * * *

(ec) The Commission shall approve and authorize a
transaction under this section when it finds the transac-
tion is consistent with the public interest. The Commis-
sion may impose conditions governing the transaction.
When the transaction contemplates a guaranty or as-
sumption of payment of dividends or of fixed charges
or will result in an increase of total fixed charges, the
Commission may approve and authorize the transaction
only if it finds that the guaranty, assumption, or increase
is consistent with the public interest. When a rail car-
rier, or a person controlled by or affiliated with a rail
carrier, is an applicant and the transaction involves a
motor carrier, the Commission may approve and au-
thorize the transaction only if it finds that the transac-
tion is consistent with the public interest, will enable the
rail carrier to use motor carrier transportation to public
advantage in its operations, and will not unreasonably
restrain competition. When a rail carrier is involved in
the transaction, the Commission may require inclusion of
other rail carriers located in the area involved in the
transaction if they apply for inclusion and the Commis-
sion finds their inclusion to be consistent with the public
interest.

- + a *

Pub.L. 95-473, Oct. 17, 1978, 92 Stat. 1486; Pub.L. 96-

448, Title II, § 228(a)-(c), Oct. 14, 1980, 94 Stat. 1931;

Pub.L. 97-261 § 21(f), (g), Sept. 20, 1982, 96 Stat. 1123.

28a

APPENDIX F

THE FIFTY LARGEST TRANSPORTATION COMPANIES

(Source: Fortune Magazine, June 11, 1984, pp. 188-189)

TABLE I—TRANSPORTATION COMPANIES RANKED

ACCORDING TO ASSETS
Rail

Company Rank Assets
Santa Fe Southern Pacific 1 $11.4B
Burlington Northern 2 $10.9B
CSX 3 $10.8B
Norfolk Southern 4 $ 8.2B
Illinois Central Gulf RR 15 $ 1.9B
Chicago & North Western Transportation 19 $ 1.3B
Chicago Milwaukee St. Paul & Pacific RR 25 $ 1.0B
Rio Grande Industries 32 $ .8B
Kansas City Southern Industries 34 $ .7B

Motor

Company Rank Assets
McLean Industries 21 $ 1.1B
Consolidated Freightways 27 $ .9B
Roadway Services 30 $ .8B
Yellow Freight System 39 $ .6B
Overnite Transportation 43 $ .2B
Arkansas Best 44 $ .2B
Carolina Freight 45 $ .2B
American Carriers 47 $ .1B

29a

TABLE II—TRANSPORTATION COMPANIES RANKED
ACCORDING TO OPERATING REVENUES

Motor Operating
Company rank Revenue
Santa Fe Southern Pacific 1 $6.3B
CSX 4 $5.7B
Burlington Northern 6 $4.5B
Norfolk Southern 11 $3.1B
Illinois Central Gulf RR 25 $ .9B
Chicago & North Western Transportation 28 $ 9B
Kansas City Southern Industries 42 $ .4B
Chicago Milwaukee St. Paul & Pacific RR 44 $ .4B
Rio Grande Industries 46 $ .3B
Rail Operating
Company Rank Revenue
Consolidated Freightways 16 $1.3B
Roadway Services 19 $1.2B
Yellow Freight System 22 $1.1B
McLean Industries 30 $ .8B
Arkansas Best 36 $ .5B
Overnite Transportation 47 $ .38B
Carolina Freight 48 $ .3B
American Carriers 50 $ 3B

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_0014%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
