# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lennon v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2527%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1100

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

JOSEPH R. LENNON,
Petitioner,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OLNEY G. WALLIS
2813 West T. C. Jester
Houston, Texas 77018
(713) 956-1300

Counsel for Petitioner
March 1985

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc—5606 Parkersburg—Houston, Texas 77036-—223-3003

I

QUESTION PRESENTED

When, in a criminal prosecution for interstate trans-
portation of a security taken by fraud, the actual inter-
state transportation is accomplished by an innocent agent,
that interstate transport must, at a minimum, have been
reasonably foreseeable by the accused for a violation of
18 U.S.C. section 2314, paragraph one, to occur.

II

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED .........-.----+ee+seeeeeee 1
THE OPINION BELOW ............--sceeeccccecoee: 2
JURISDICTION .........-cecceecccccerccececeecceee 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............-. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........--- mnihomaas 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........--- 10
COREE | os oc vv cdi n tae bhai esc senses seans> 18
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ........--- cee eeeeeee: 18
APPENDIX A—Second Opinion of the Court of Appeals
Dated January 11, 1985 ...........--- A-1

APPENDIX B—Initial Opinion of the Court of Appeals
Dated October 31, 1984 ...........+--. B-1

Ili

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942) ............ 5
eB 14
mane O. Ua Son US. CAE CI9EZ) ...n 2. cc cnn ccnes: 11,12
Palsgraf v. Long Island R.R., 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99
ec cnvveees 15
me a, Soe Wie, BOW CIOTT) ww cece cc ccc sees. 13
Ruthenburg v. U.S., 245 U.S. 480 (1918) .............. 13
U.S. v. Berlin, 472 F.2d 13 (9th Cir. 1973) ........... 11,13
a ie a ee COED cnc cuvecceess 14
U.S. v. Kelly, 569 F.2d 928 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied,
ee a i deni ueks seb nedareereres 16,17
U.S. v. Kenofskey, 243 U.S. 440 (1917) ............... 13
U.S. v. Ludwig, 523 F.2d 705 (8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
SEO Was PEP TEPIO) ic vccccvcccnss 2 na ree 11, 16,17
U.S. v. Muni, 668 F.2d 87 (2nd Cir. 1981) ............ 15
U.S. v. Sheridan, 329 U.S. 379 (1946) ................ 12, 14,17

UNITED STATES STATUTES

a a nn bubukoasscncs's 16,17
UT ono cccsvavcce 1, 3, 8,9, 10, 11, 13
i as cc psu hho be6 dé sepesvvevvas 14
os, occ ccckbcctvebciceedenees 11
ee ss een ccceervervevedessces passim
ee 2

a a

ve)
&
ee
®
%
o
>
NN

NO. _

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984
kK

JOSEPH R. LENNON,
Petitioner,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Joseph R. Lennon respectfully requests that
a writ of certiorari issue to review an opinion and judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit, which reversed and remanded Petitioner’s
conviction of eight (8) counts of an indictment alleging
interstate transportation of certain check proceeds ob-
tained by fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. section 2314
and 18 U.S.C. section 2(b).

2

THE OPINION BELOW.

The initial opinion of the Court of Appeals is not
reported and is reproduced as an Appendix to this peti-
tion at page B-1. Both Petitioner and the United States
of America filed timely petitions for rehearing, and the
original opinion of the Court of Appeals was withdrawn
and replaced by the opinion reproduced as an Appendix
to this petition at page A-1. This opinion is reported in
751 F.2d 737.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals
wore entered on January 11, 1985. Both the petitioner’s
and the United States of America’s petitions for rehear-
ing were overruled by the Court on January 11, 1985.

Petitioner invokes the Court’s certiorari jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C. section 1254(1). Filing of this petition
was accomplished within sixty (60) days of the Court
of Appeals’ opinion, judgment, and order overruling the
petitions for rehearing and was therefore timely under
Rules 20.1 and 20.4 of this Court.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Title 18, United States Code, section 2314, provides
in relevant part as follows:

“Whoever transports in interstate or foreign com-
merce any goods, wares, merchandise, securities or
money of the value of $5,000 or more, knowing the
same to have been stolen, converted or taken by
fraud... .

“Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or im-
prisoned not more than ten years, or both.”

3

Title 18, United States Code, section 2, provides in
relevant part as follows:

“(b) Whoever willfully causes an act to be done
which if directly performed by him or another would
be an offense against the United States, is punish-
able as a principal.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On January 27, 1983, a Federal grand jury in the
Southern District of Texas indicted Petitioner, Joseph R.
‘ Lennon, for eight (8) counts of willfully causing the
interstate transportation of certain check proceeds ob-
tained by fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. seciion 2314
(paragraph 1) and 18 U.S.C. section 2(b). Lennon pled
not guilty and was convicted by a jury on all eight
counts in the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of Texas, Houston Division, the Honorable
Judge Carl O. Bue, Jr., presiding.’

Lennon timely appealed his conviction and sentence
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit. Several issues, including the subject of this Peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari, were raised in the appeal.
On October 31, 1984, the Fifth Circuit rejected Peti-
tioner’s position on the question here presented, but re-
versed and remanded the case for a new trial because
the Trial Court’s jury instruction erroneously permitted
the jury to convict without finding that the fraudulently-

1. Judge Bue sentenced Lennon on Count 1 to imprisonment for
four years and imposed a consecutive five-year period of probation
and a cumulative fine of $70,000 on the remaining counts.

4

obtained property transported in interstate commerce ex-
ceeded $5,000 in value.’

Both Lennon and the Government filed Petitions for
Rehearing. On January i1, i985, the Fifth Circuit with-
drew ari replaced its earlier opinion delivered on Oc-
tober 31, 1985. The new opinion, after reciting the appro-
priate paragraph of 18 U.S.C. section 2314, again re-
jected Petitioner’s position on the questior. here presented
and again reversed and remanded the case t's a new trial
on the grounds previously enunciated in the opinion of
October 31, 1985. Both Petitions for Rehearing were
overruled on that same date.

During 1971 Lennon was employed by Charter Inter-
national Oil Company, a Texas corporaticn, as the man-
ager for crude oil purchasing (Tr. 429). Charter Inter-
national Oil operated a refinery in Houston, and initially
Lennon’s primary function was to obtain crude oil for
the refinery (Tr. 428). In 1974, largely as a result of the
Arab oil embrago and the new Federal energy regulations,
Charter International became obliged to obtain crude
oil from spot market purchases (Tr. 746, 821). Milton
Jones, then President of Southwest Petrochem, Inc., a
Texas corporation, had found an available supply of crude
oil for resale to Charter International (Tr. 29). During
the late summer or early fall of 1974, Lennon on behalf
of Charter International, met with Jones and agreed to
purchase crude oil from Petrochem (Tr. 36). As a con-

2. In rejecting Petitioner's argument on the question here pre-
sented, the Fifth Circuit stated that Lennon was convicted under
paragraph 2 of 18 U.S.C. section 2314. In fact, Lennon was convicted
under paragraph 1 of 18 U.S.C. section 2314. This oversight was the
subject of Lennon’s Petition for Rehearing.

5

dition, Lennon requested that Petrochem pay him per-
sonally twenty cents per barrel. Jones agreed (Tr. 36).°

On this sale, Petrochem paid a twenty-cent-per-barrel
“commission” to H&L Enterprises, a general partnership
formed under Texas law between Lennon and his friend
and business associate, James Harrigan (Tr. 66). Charter
and Petrochem continued to do business and Petrochem
continued to pay “commissions” to H&L Enterprises until
1975 when, due to market conditions, the transactions

stopped.

Crude oil sales between Petrochem and Charter Inter-
national resumed in late 1976 (Tr. 68). By this time
Dennis Van Mathew negotiated on behalf of Petrochem
and H. L. “Buddy” Mayes represented Charter Inter-
national (Tr. 351; 750). Although there is no evidence
of specific discussions between Lennon and Jones after
the 1974 meeting, Jones purportedly talked to Lennon
about the “commission” payments many times, and it was
Jones alone who decided whether a “commission” would
be paid and, if so, how much (Tr. 209).‘ Petrochem
again paid commissions to H&L and later to Harlen Trad-
ing Company, a Texas corporation with shares owned by
Lennon and Harrigan, in amounts varying from less than
ten cents to twenty cents per barrel (Tr. 75-97).

3. The evidence at trial concerning this meeting was hotly con-
tested. Mindful, however, of the standard of review under Glasser
v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942), we will not belabor the Court
with the evidentiary dispute on this point.

4. In fact, the commissions paid to H&L and Harlen in the sub-
stantive counts of the indictment were ten cents per barrel or less
(Exhibits SP 34.1-4; SP 35.1-5; SP 36.1-6; SP 37.1-3; SP 39.1-3;
SP 40.1-3; SP 41.1-3; SP 43.1-5).

aati i il |

6

Each of the sales between Petrochem and Charter was
subject to regulations promulgated by the Federal Energy
Administration, later the Department of Energy. Thus,
if Charter resold the crude oil purchased from Petrochem,
Charter’s resale price could not exceed its own cost plus
its “margin” (that is, the profit that historically had been
earned on similar transactions).°

Petrochem was likewise subject to FEA regulation,
under which it could not pass on any “commission” pay-
ments in its sales price to Charter (Tr. 198-200).

During 1978, Charter International formed Charter
Crude Oil Company, a wholly-owned subsidiary (Tr. 43).
Upon its formation, Charter Crude assumed responsibility
for acquiring all of the crude oil for the refinery as well
as all crude oil purchased for resale (Tr. 430). Lennon,
Mayes. and the ‘rest of their department were transferred
to Charter Crude upon its formation, and Lennon was
appointed an executive vice-president.

These dealings were highly profitable for both Charter
and Petrochem. Charter paid Petrochem less for crude
oil than the price it was paying other suppliers (Tr. 753).

The eight sales alleged in the indictment occurred
during 1978 and 1979. On each occasion Petrochem hand
delivered its invoices from Petrochem’s Houston office to
Charter’s Houston office. Once Charter received the in-

5. Charter’s profit margin was calculated on a monthly account-
ing period, rather than on individual sales. Thus, during the latter
part of any given month, Charter might have been required by the
energy regulations to resell crude oil for less than its cost-plus-margin,
or even at a loss, in order to comply with federal law. The penalty
for non-compliance was a refund of the excess profits to the pur-
chaser. (Tr. 490; 630).

7

voice, the invoice was reviewed and approved by Lennon’s
department at Charter. Following approval, each invoice
was sent to the Accounting Department, located in a
separate building, which issued a check for payment (Tr.
713). Each of the eight checks was drawn on an cut-of-
state bank, a circumstance neither known, nor reasonably
foreseeable, to Lennon.’

When each check was prepared, Petrochem picked it
up at the Charter offices in Houston (Tr. 723), and hand
delivered each check for deposit to Petrochem’s Houston
bank (Tr. 498).

Upon receipt of each check by Petrochem’s bank, a
bank officer first called Charter’s bank to advise that the
check had been received for deposit and would be pre-
sented personally for payment. Each check was then
sent by special courier to Charter’s out-of-state bank
and presented for payment (Tr. 499).

After each check was accepted by Charter’s bank, the
funds were wire transferred to a correspondent bank in
Dallas, which bank in turn wired the funds to Petrochem’s
Houston bank. Once Petrochem’s bank received the funds,
Petrochem was notified that the funds were available
(Tr. 501). In the normal course of business, Charter’s
out-of-state banks returned the paid checks to the post
office box of Charter International or Charter Crude in

6. The government adopted the legal position both at trial and
on appeal that transporting in interstate commerce as used in para-
graph one of 18 U.S.C. section 2314 is the “lynchpin” of federal
jurisdiction and that knowledge or reasonable foreseeability of the
interstate transport is not required. Mayes, who worked in Charter’s
crude oil purchasing department longer than Lennon, and in fact,
replaced Lennon after his resignation, testified he did not know
whether the Charter checks were drawn on Texas or out-of-state
banks (Tr. 724).

8

Houston. The special handling of each check effected col-
lection in approximately the same time as would have
been required between two local Houston banks (Tr. 528).

On each of the eight sales, which were the subject of
the indictment, Petrochem issued a “commission” check
from its Houston bank payable to either H&L Enterprises
of Harlen Trading. Each of these checks was then hand
delivered to either Harrigan or Lennon in Houston (Tr.
83-93). Each “commission” check was in turn deposited in
a Houston bank account of either H&L Enterprises or
Harlen Trading (Exhibits SP 34.2; 35.2; 36.2; 39.2;
40.2; 41.2; 43.4).

Lennon resigned from Charter in June 1979 to work
for another company. Lennon never told Charter about
the payments to H&L Enterprises or Harlen Trading
(Tr. 943). After Lennon left Charter, the volume of
sales from Petrochem to Charter Crude increased (Tr.
21%).

All of the trial witnesses either were, or had been,
Houston residents.

Since Lennon did not personally transport the Charter
checks in interstate commerce, the case was submitted
to the jury ostensibly under the theory that he “willfully
caused” the Charter checks to be transported in interstate
commerce. 18 U.S.C. section 2(b) and section 2314,
paragraph 1. Over timely defense objection, the Trial
Court charged the jury:

“Now, in a prosecution under section 2314 of
Title 18 for transporting in interstate commerce
checks which have been taken by fraud, it is not
necessary that the defendant know or intend that
the checks would be transported in interstate com-

9

merce so long as he set in motion a series of events
which in the normal course resulted in such trans-
portation. Such a normal course of events occurs
whenever a check drawn on an out-of-state bank
travels across state lines in the process of collection
and arrives for payment at the bank on which it is
drawn.” (Tr. 1073-74).

On appeal Lennon contended inter alia, that, at a
minimum, sustaining his conviction should legally require
either knowledge or reasonable foreseeability of such inter-
state transportation. The Court of Appeals rejected that
contention. In the October 31, 1984, opinion the Court
concluded that since 18 U.S.C. section 2314, paragraph 2,’
contains a “causing” provision, the reference to section
2(b) was mere surplusage, and proof of knowledge or
reasonable foreseeability was not required. The Court
further rejected Petitioner’s argument that “cause” under
the mail fraud statute, 18 U.S.C. section 1341, requires
knowledge or reasonable foreseeability that the mails will
be used; likewise, so should “willfully causing” transport
in interstate commerce. The Court of Appeals concluded
the purpose of the mail fraud statute is to prevent the
use of the mails to facilitate schemes to defraud, while
the purpose of section 2314 is aimed at the evils of theft,

7. 18 U.S.C. section 2314, paragraph two, provides in pertinent
part as follows:

“Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any scheme
or artifice to defraud or for obtaining money or property by
means of false or fraudulent pretenses, representations, or prom-
ises, transports or causes to be transported, or induces any
person to travel in, or to be transported in, interstate commerce
in the execution or concealment of a scheme or artifice to de-
fraud that person of money or property having a value of $5,000
or more;

“Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more
than ten years or both.

10

fraud and counterfeiting. Thus the word “cause” requires
knowledge or reasonable foreseeability only in the mail
fraud statute. (emphasis added)

Lennon’s Petition for Rehearing pointed out that he
was prosecuted under paragraph one, rather than para-
graph 2, of section 2314, which does not contain the
word “cause.”

On January 11, 1985, the Court of Appeals withdrew
its October 31, 1984, opinion. The Court again rejected
Lennon’s argument that “wiliful causation” requires knowl-
edge or reasonable foreseeability.

Citing paragraph 1 of section 2314, the correct para-
graph, the Court of Appeals then concluded that since
section 2314* contains a “causing” provision similar to
section 2(b), the reference to section 2(b) in the indict-
ment was surplusage and the government was not re-
quired to prove knowledge or reasonable foreseeability.

Lennon’s conviction was reversed and remanded on
other grounds.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted because there is a con-
flict among Circuits. Interstate transportation by an in-
nocent agent of a security taken by fraud requires knowl-
edge or reasonable forseeability by the accused of that
interstate transport for a violation of 18 U.S.C. section
2314 to occur. Moreover, the absence of definitive

8. Section 2314 contains five separate paragraphs, each criminaliz-
ing certain conduct. Only paragraph one of section 2314 was involved
in this case, and paragraph one does not contain the word “cause.”
Inclusion of section 2(b) was essential to the prosecution’s theory.

11

standards defining when, or if, knowledge or reasonable
foreseeability of such transportation in interstate com-
metce is required presents a recurring problem appro-
priate for resolution in this case.

In U.S. v. Berlin, 472 F.2d 13 (9th Cir. 1973), a
Dyer Act prosecution,’ the Ninth Circuit determined
that selling a car known to be stolen followed by any
subsequent interstate transportation by an innocent pur-
chaser was not a violation of the Dyer Act. Although the
government contended that such interstate transportation
was reasonably foreseeable, the Court held:

“Since interstate automobile transportation is now
commonplace, this construction would seem to ren-
der every sale of a stolen car a federal offense. Sec-
tion 2(b) does, as appellants contend, have over-
tones of agency, and in our judgment, the willful
causation to which it refers must be purposeful rather
based simply on reasonable foreseeability.”

Contrary to the Berlin opinion, the Eighth Circuit in
U.S. v. Ludwig, 523 F.2d 705 (8th Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1076 (1976), has determined that a
prosecution under section 2314, paragraph one, and
section 2(b), does not include the element of reasonable
foreseeability. In the Ludwig case, two stolen checks
drawn on a Missouri bank were deposited by a con-
federate of the thief in another Missouri bank. Unbe-
knownst to the accused, or his confederate, the depository
bank mailed the stolen checks in its collection process

9. This Court has recited the legislative history of the Dyer Act
(18 U.S.C. section 2312) and the National Stolen Property Act
(18 U.S.C. section 2314, paragraph 1) as authority for the interpreta-
tion of each statute. This Court has further stated that the purpose
of both statutes is the same. McElroy v. U.S., infra.

12

to a correspondent bank in Illinois. In affirming a con-
viction under paragraph one of section 2314, the Eighth
Circuit concluded that the government should not have
to prove that the interstate transport was in any way
reasonably foreseeable.

This Court has impliedly recognized the conflict
among Circuits regarding what proof is necessary to
sustain a conviction for interstate transportation, when
that interstate transportation is effected by an innocent
agent. In McElroy v. U.S., 455 U.S. 642 (1982) at p.
653, ftnt. 16, this Court noted:

“Some Circuits have even indicated that the statu-
tory phrase ‘interstate commerce’ is coextensive with
congressional authority under the commerce clause

”

This Court has never adopted that proposition, nor
should it do so now. Petitioner does not argue that
Congress lacked the authority to pass a statute of such
sweeping dimensions, but rather, that it has not done so
in section 2314.

This Court has also observed the congressional poli-
cies for a federal criminal statute, such as section 2314
and specifically the reasons for its passage. In U.S. v.
Sheridan, 329 U.S. 379 (1946), this Court noted that
congress contemplated coming to the aid of the states in
deterring and punishing criminals who utilize interstate
commerce to make a successful getaway. McElroy v.
U.S., supra, pointed out that federal authority might be
necessary to fully investigate the offense and compel wit-
nesses from other states to testify. None of those cir-
cumstances are present in this case. The witnesses and

13

documents were all local. The happenstance of Charter
banking out-of-state did not allow Petitioner to utilize
interstate commerce to make a getaway. None of the poli-
cies requiring federal intervention are present in this
case. Obviously, the lack of these circumstances, standing
alone, does not preclude proscription of our facts from
section 2314, paragraph one and section 2(b). Such
absence does, however, demonstrate the need for a
rational doctrine to restrict the application of section
2314. See, e.g., Rewis v. U.S., 401 U.S. 808 (1971),
(holding that the Travel Act, in conjunction with section
2(b), which prohibits willfully causing interstate travel
to promote an unlawful activity, requires more than a
showing of reasonable foreseeability by the manager of
a gambling facility that he will be patronized by out-of-
state customers).

As the Court further noted in the Rewis case, an ex-
pansive Travel Act would have been recognized by Con-
gress to over extend limited federal police resources.

18 U.S.C. section 2314, paragraph 1 and section 2(b),
as they apply to this case, provide:

“Whover (willfully causes to be transporied) in

interstate . . . commerce any .. . securities. . .
of the value of $5,000 or more, knowing the same
to have been . . . taken by fraud . . . (s)hall be

fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more
than ten years, or both.”

Although U.S. v. Berlin, supra, required “willful cau-
sation” to be purposeful, the concept of causation has
been addressed on may occasions in interpreting the mail
and wire fraud statutes. U.S. v. Kenofskey, 243 USS.
440 (1917); Ruthenburg v. U.S., 245 U.S. 480 (1918);

14

and U.S. v. Giles, 300 U.S. 41 (1937). All dealt with
the concept of causation and have interpreted conduct
from which the use of the mails was reasonably foresee-
able to have “caused” the mails to be used as required in
the mail fraud statute (18 U.S.C. section 1341). Simi-
larly, in Kann v. U.S., 323 U.S. 88 (1944), this Court
again reiterated in the context of a federal mail fraud
prosecution that

“While there may be some question as to whether
the defendants may be said to have “caused” the
mailing of the checks, we think it a fair infer-
ence that these defendants who drew, or those
who cashed, the checks believed that the banks
which took them would mail them to the banks on
which they were drawn, and assuming the Peti-
tioner participated in the scheme, their knowledge
was his knowledge.”

The Court of Appeals’ opinion rejected the mail or wire
fraud case definitions of “causation” cited by Petitioner
and concluded that since the purpose of section 2314
was to prevent fraud and not to regulate interstate com-
merce, and since the purpose of the mail fraud statute
was to prevent use of the mails in furtherance of fraudu-
lent schemes, only that “cause” used in the mail fraud
statute requires the element of reasonable foreseeability.
Petitioner fails to appreciate how a different legislaiive
intent can change the meaning of the word “cause,” nor
does it follow that “willfully causing” requires a lesser
scienter than “causing.”

In U.S. v. Sheridan, supra, the defendant was charged
under section 2314 with transportation in interstate com-
merce of forged checks. Each of the checks, drawn on
a nonexistent Missouri bank account, was cashed or de-

15

posited in Michigan banks, who in turn sent the checks
to Missouri for acceptance. In concluding that Sheridan
caused the interstate trannsportation, this Court stated:

“Certainly he knew the checks would have to be
sent to the Missouri bank for collection. Given the
proven forgery and uttering, no other conclusion
would be possible. Necessarily, too, it would follow
he intended the paying bank to send the checks there
for that purpose. He knew they must cross state lines
to be presented. One who induces another to do
exactly what he intends, and does so by defrauding
him, hardly can be held not to cause what is done.”
... 329 US. at 391.

This doctrine of foreseeability is perhaps best enunci-
ated in the civil tort doctrine of proximate cause enunci-
ated by Justice Benjamine Cardoza in Palsgraf vy. Long
Island R.R., 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99 (1928). The
criminal concept of causation, and the rationale of knowl-
edge or reasonable foreseeability has been well articulated
in U.S. v. Muni, 668 F.2d 87, 89-90 (2nd Cir. 1981):

“When a person is to be held civilly or ctiminally
responsible for causing an act, a mechanical chain of
events test, applying ‘but for’ reason would unduly
expand the scope of consequences for which he
would be responsible. Both the criminal and the civil
law have circumscribed the range of consequences
by considering an act to have been caused not simply
when it was a physical consequence of the person’s
conduct but when, in addition, the actor either knew
the consequences would occur or its occurrence was
reasonably foreseeable. By invoking an objective
test of reasonable foreseeability, the law avoids both
a premium on ignorance and a vast range of liability
for remote and unlikely physical consequences.”
(footnotes omitted)

16

As is readily apparent from the Trial Court’s charge in
this case, a simple “but for” test was applied to the inter-
state element of Petitioner’s charge. Paradoxically, will-
fully causing transportation in interstate commerce under
this “but for” reasoning imposes criminal liability without
knowledge or reasonable foreseeability of the interstate
transport. The civil tort concept of duty requires reason-
able foreseeability before imposing civil liability. It follows
that we may impose a dollar judgment against a defend-
ant only after finding that the injury imposed by his
conduct was reasonably foreseeable. We may, however,
extract years of his life under federal criminal liability
if a simple “but for” test is met.

U.S. v. Ludwig, supra, imposes criminal liability under
a mechanical “but for” test and should be overruled.

As an additional grounds for rejecting the argument of
Petitioner’s that a prosecution such as this one should
minimally require reasonable foreseeability of the inter-
state transport, the Court of Appeals relied on U.S. v.
Kelly, 569 F.2d 928, 934 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied,
439 U.S. 829 (1978). Kelly was, in fact, a prosecution
for interstate transport under section 2(a).*°

In the Kelly case, Kelly’s confederates, unknown to
him, transported stolen property across state lines. The
Fifth Circuit rejected Kelly’s argument that interstate
transportation under such circumstances required knowl-
edge or reasonable foreseeability by the accused. Such a
rule has deep roots in the common law, and is to be dis-
tinguished from Petitioner’s case, where the interstate

10. 18 U.S.C. section 2(a) provides: “Whoever commits an offense
against the United States or aids, abets, counsels, commands, induces
or procures its commission, is punishable as a principal.”

17

transport was accomplished by an innocent agent. In the
Kelly case, the interstate transport was accomplished by
a member of the criminal enterprise. The common law
felony murder rule is exemplary of a section 2(a)
violation.

Article 2314 hangs precariously ciose to the abyss of
becoming a general criminal statute proscribing stealing,
converting, or taking by fraud any goods, wares, merchan-
dise, securities or money having a value of $5,000
or more.

The practical effect of failing to require at least reason-
able foreseeability in cases where the interstate transport
is accomplished by an innocent agent, coupled with this
Court’s interpretation of interstate commerce as encom-
passing more than travel across state lines, as enunciated
in U.S. v. Sheridan, supra, abrogates the element of trans-
porting in interstate or foreign commerce from section
2314. This clearly was not the intent of Congress. This
Court is respectfully requested to reject the reasoning in
U.S. v. Ludwig, supra, and provide a minimal standard
of reasonable foreseeability when the transport in inter-
state commerce is accomplished by an innocent agent.

This case was a case of first impression for the Fifth
Circuit regarding the question presented; although not
recognized as such. In view of the conflict among Circuits,
and further in view of the extension of the National Stolen
Property Act far beyond the application intended by Con-
gress, it is requested that the decision below should be
reviewed by this Court.

18
CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, Petitioner, Joseph R.
Lennon, respectfully suggests that his Petition for the Writ
of Certiorari should be granted.

2813 West T. C. Jester
Houston, Texas 77018
(713) 956-1300

Counsel for Pe....oner

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Petition
for Writ of Certiorari has been served upon the Solicitor
General, Department of Justice, Washington, D.C. —-
in accordance with Rule 28, Title 28, U.S.C.A. e
having been mailed, first class doe
of March, 1985.

LNEY LIS

A-l
APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOF THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-2713

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JOSEPH R. LENNON,
Defendant-Appellant.

I

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas

(January 11, 1985)
Before RUBIN, REAVLEY and TATE, Circuit Judges.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge:

The opinion delivered on October 31, 1984 is with-
drawn and is replaced by the following.

Joseph Lennon was convicted by a jury of eight counts
of causing the interstate transportation of certain check

A-2

proceeds obtained by fraud in violation of 1% U.S.C.
§§ 2, 2314 (1982). We reverse and remand.

Lennon was employed by Charter International Oil
Company and Charter Crude Oil Company, Texas cor-
porations and subsidiaries of Charter Oil Company, Inc.,
a Florida corporation, to supply Charter’s oil refinery in
Houston approximately 70,000 barrels of crude oil per
day. To meet part of this demand, Lennon agreed on
behalf of Charter to purchase crude oil from Southwest
Petrochem, Inc. in late summer or early fall of 1974.
As a condition to making the contract, Lennon demanded
that Petrochem pay him, personally, twenty cents for each
barrel he purchased for Charter. Charter neither was
apprised of nor consented to the kickback arrangement.

These dealings proved to be profitable to all par-ies
for a number of years. Charier received a large portion
of its needed crude oil at a cost below the average t was
paying other suppliers. Petrochem had a steady buyer
that accounted for the vast majority of its revenues.
Pursuant to the kickback agreement, Lennon received
from Petrochem numerous checks that totaled approxi-
mately $1,193,000. The last kickback payment was made
in March 1979, and Lennon shortly thereafter resigned
from Charter. After Lennon’s departure from Charter,
Petrochem continued to sell crude oil to Charter but
never made any more kickback payments to Lennon or
anyone at Charter.

Charter initiated each sale of crude oil by a prepay-
rent to Petrochem. Charter’s checks were drawn on
various banks located in Florida, Massachusetts, and
Illinois. Petrochem deposited the checks in a Houston
bank, which sent the checks directly to the out-of-state

A-3

bank for collection. Petrochem then used those funds to
purchase the crude oil from its supplier and to pay Lennon
the kickback.

Petrochem paid Lennon the kickbacks by checks made
to H & L Enterprises, a general partnership formed under
Texas law between Lennon and his friend and business
associate James Harrigan; to Harlen Trading Company,
Inc., a Texas corporation with shares owned by Lennon
and Harrigan; and to LATCO, an assumed business name
of Lennon. The kickback checks were all drawn upon
and deposited in Texas banks.

Lennon presented evidence through the testimony of
Harrigan that the moneys paid to H & L, Harlen, and
LATCO were not kickbacks to Lennon. According to
Harrigan’s testimony, the money was paid to Harrigan
through Harlen, H & L, and LATCO as a commission
for his own services to Petrochem.

An additional factor to be considered is the regulation
of the oil industry during the 1970’s and early 1980's
by the federal government. Under these regulations, the
price of crude oil aud certain refined oil products were
regulated on a cost-plus margin basis. The margin was
set on a unit basis but was averaged monthly with no
carryover. In other words, a reseller of crude oil or a
refiner of regulated products could charge purchasers
only an amount equal to its cost, expenses, and a certain
margin for profit. Although the profit might vary from
barrel to barrel, the average margin during a given
month could not exceed a certain amount. If the maximum
average margin was not obtained in a particular month,
the unrealized profit was lost and could not be recaptured
by exceeding the set margin in the next month.

A-4

In this case all of Petrochem’s crude oil sales were
subject to the price regulations. Approximately sixty to
seventy percent of each barrel of crude oil Charter pur-
chased was refined into unregulated products. As to the
crude oil it resold, Charter did not obtain the maximum
profits allowed by the regulations during any month from
May 1978 to March 1979, when the violations by Lennon
affected Charter’s profits.

The grand jury returned an indictment charging Lennon
with eight counts of violating 18 U.S.C. §$2, 2314
(1982). Specifically, the indictment charged Lennon with
causing eight checks issued in 1978 and 1979 by Charter
payable to Petrochem to be transported in interstate
commerce and knowing that certain proceeds of the
checks were taken by fraud. The indictment listed the
eight checks by date, amount, check number, and place
of origin, and it charged that Lennon’s purpose was to
obtain money in excess of $5,000. At trial, the United
States presented evidence of the exact amount of the
kickback included in each of the eight checks, which
varied from a low of $12,234.50 to a high of $27,373.00.

The issues on appeal are: one, whether the applicable
statutory provisions, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2(b), 2314 (1982),
require knowledge or reasonable foreseeability that money
obtained by fraud will be transported in interstate com-
merce; two, whether the trial court improperly instructed
the jury on “causing” under section 2314; three, whether
the trial court improperly instructed the jury on fraud
under section 2314; four, whether there was sufficient
evidence to support a finding of fraud; five, whether,
for section 2314 to apply, all the property transported
in interstate commerce must have been obtained by fraud;
six, whether the indictment was defective for failing to

A-5

allege that certain proceeds exceeded $5,000 as required
by section 2314; and seven, whether the trial court’s jury
instruction on the elements of section 2314 was improper.

1. Knowledge or Reasonable Foreseeability

Section 2314, the so-called National Stolen Property
Act under which Lennon was convicted, provides in part:

Whoever transports in interstate or foreign com-
merce any goods, wares, merchandise, securities or
money, of the value of $5,000 or more, knowing
the same to have been stolen, converted or taken
by fraud...

Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprison-
ed not more than ten years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982). Numerous circuits have held
that section 2714 does not require knowledge or reason-
able foreseeability of interstate transport of the money
obtained by fraud. United States v. Strauss, 443 F.2d
986, 988 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 851, 92 S.Ct.
87, 30 L.Ed.2d 90 (1971); United States v. Mingoia,
424 F.2d 710, 713 (2d Cir. 1970); United States v.
White, 451 F.2d 559 (6th Cir. 1971); United States v.
Ludwig, 523 F.2d 705, 706-08 (8th Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1076, 96 S.Ct. 861, 47 L.Ed.2d 86
(1976); United States v. Masters, 456 F.2d 1060, 1061
(9th Cir. 1972). Furthermore, this circuit has held that
knowledge or reasonable foreseeability of interstate trans-
port is not required to convict under another paragraph
of section 2314, which contains similar interstate trans-
port wording as the paragraph under which Lennon was
convicted. United States v. Kelly, 569 F.2d 928, 934

A-6

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 829, 99 S.Ct. 105,
58 L.Ed.2d 123 (1978). Lennon has cited no new au-
thority or reason that has not previously been considered
and rejected why this court should not follow other cir-
cuits and Kelly.

Lennon argues further that knowledge or reasonable
foreseeability of interstate transport is required when
the indictment and charge include, as here, the substance
of 18 U.S.C. §2(b) (1982). Section 2(b) provides:

Whoever willfully causes an act to be done which
if directly performed by ‘zim or another would be
an offense against the United States, is punishable
as a principal.

Section 2(b) applies generally to all federal criminal
statutes and prohibits one from causing another to do
any act that would be illegal if one did it personally.
See, e.g., United States v. Gleason, 616 F.2d 2, 20 (2d
Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1082, 100 S.Ct. 1037,
62 L.Ed.2d 767 (1980). Section 2314, however, also
contains a “causing” provision similar to section 2(b)
which specifically prohibits one from causing another to
transport money obtained by fraud in interstate commerce.
See, e.g., United States v. Ludwig, 523 F.2d 705, 706
& n.2 (8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1076, 96
S.Ct. 861, 47 L.Ed.2d 86 (1976). Although we do not
accept the government’s contention that the “causing”
under section 2(b) reaches activity not within the “caus-
ing” of section 2314, neither do we agree with Lennon’s
contention that by reference to section 2(b) in the in-
dictment, the government shouldered a burden of proving
knowledge or reasonable foreseeability of interstate trans-
port. If there is a difference, it has no bearing on this

A-7

case and the reference to “causing” in section 2(b) is
mere surplusage to be ignored. See United States v. Lyons,
706 F.2d 321, 324 & n.1 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

A final basis for Lennon’s argument is that “cause”
under the mail fraud statute, 18 U.S.C. § 1341 (1982),
requires knowledge or reasonable foreseeability that the
mails will be used in commission of the fraud, and that
therefore “cause” under section 2314 should as well.
Lennon overlooks, however, the different purposes under-
lying the statutes. “[S]ection 2314 is aimed at the evils
of theft, fraud, and counterfeiting and not at the regu-
lation of interstate transportation. Suppression of move-
ment of the fruits of theft and fraud is only the means to
the end of suppressing theft and fraud themselves.”
United States v. Roselli, 432 F.2d 879, 891 (9th Cir.
1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 924, 91 S.Ct. 883, 27
L.Ed.2d 828 (1971). On the other hand, the purpose
of the mail fraud statute is to prevent the use of the mails
to facilitate schemes to defraud. Parr v. United States,
363 U.S. 370, 389, 80 S.Ct. 1171, 1182, 4 L.Ed.2d
1277 (1960). Because interstate commerce is a means
to an end for section 2314 and prohibiting unlawful use
of the mails is the end of the mail fraud statute, it is
perfectly reasonable that only the mail fraud statute re-
quires knowledge or reasonable foreseeability.

2. Jury Instruction on Causing

Lennon contends that the trial court committed revers-
ible error by instructing the jury:

Now, in a prosecution under Section 2314 of
Title 18 for transporting in interstate commerce
checks which have been taken by fraud, it is not
necessary that the defendant know or intend that the

A-8

checks would be transported in interstate commerce
so long as he set in motion a series of events which
in the normal course resulted in such transportation.
Such a normal course of events occurs whenever a
check drawn on an out-of-state bank travels across .
state lines in the process of collection and arrives for
payment at the bank on which it is drawn.

Lennon first urges that the instruction was incorrect be-
cause it directed a verdict on the element of causing the
checks to be transported in interstate commerce. For ex-
ample, in United States v. Johnson, 718 F.2d 1317 (Sth
Cir. 1983), the court held that the trial court erred by
instructing the jury that a particular document was a
security, an essential element of the crime. In this case,
however, the challenged instruction never addressed the
checks at issue. Rather, the trial correctly explained to
the jury the meaning of “cause” in section 2314 as
announced in Pereira v. United States, 347 U.S. 1, 8-10,
74 S.Ct. 358, 363, 98 L.Ed. 435 (1954).’

3. Jury Instructions on Fraud

Lennon argues that the jury instructions regarding fraud
were incorrect. The trial court charged:

In order to find that the checks listed in the indict-
ment were “taken by fraud” within the meaning of
the statute you must find that the defendant know-
ingly and willfully and with specific intent partici-
pated in a scheme to defraud his employer, Charter.

1. Assuming that the instruction was a correct statement of the
law, Lennon next argues the instruction was improper because it
failed to require the jury to find that Lennon knew or reasonably
foresaw that the money obtained by fraud would be transported in
interstate commerce. This argument, however, has already been
rejected.

A-9

You can find this to be the case only if you find:

(1) that the defendant benefited in his own right
from business transactions that he caused his em-
ployer to engage in;

(2) that the defendant had a duty to disclose
material information to his employer;

(3) that the defendant failed to disclose this in-
formation to his employer; and

(4) that the defendant’s failure to disclose this
information to his employer caused some detri-
ment to his employer to the extent that, had it
been known, the information would have likely
caused the employer to alter its business practice.

Information is “material” whenever an employee
has reason to believe the information would lead a
reasonable employer to change its business conduct.

This instruction was based on United States v. Ballard,
663 F.2d 534 (Sth Cir. 1981). Although Ballard was a
mail fraud prosecution, the instruction was not limited to
the particular means of the fraud or directed to the peculi-
arity of a particular crime. The instruction was correct.

4. Sufficiency of Evidence on Fraud

Lennon argues that there was no evidence to establish
that Charter was defrauded as required by section 2314.
The government presented evidence from which the jury
could have concluded that Lennon defrauded Charter of
money. First, Lennon extracted ten to twenty cents per
barrel from Petrochem that could, and should, have bene-
fited Charter by decreasing the cost of the crude oil.
Second, lower costs would have increased profits. Third,
the price control regulations would not have prevented

A-10

this increase in its profits, because most of Charter’s
refined products were not regulated and, on the regulated
products, Charter was never able to obtain the monthly
average maximum per barrel profit.

Lennon next argues that there was no evidence of
fraud, because the goverument never presented evidence
that Charter suffered detriment in the amount of $5,000
or more for each count. Section 2314, however, requires
proof only that the property taken by fraud and trans-
ported in interstate commerce have a value of $5,000 or
more, 18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982); United States v. Free-
man, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied,
450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348, 67 L.Ed.2d 334 (1981),
and that the defrauded party suffer some tangible detri-
ment of value, United States v. Smith, 686 F.2d 234,
239-40 (Sth Cir. 1982). Section 2314 does not require
the defrauded party to suffer detriment in the amount of
$5,000 or more.* The government carried its burden by
presenting evidence from which the jury could have found
that Charter did suffer some indeterminate detriment for
each kickback check and that the kickback payments to
Lennon exceeded $5,000.

5. Transportation of the Fraudulently Obtained Property

Another issue raised by this case is whether section
2314 requires that all the property transported in inter-
state commerce be taken by fraud or merely that, of the

2. Ordinarily, the amount of the detriment suffered by the de-
frauded party will in fact be equal to the value of the transported
property. Here, however, because it is impossible to prove what
Charter would have done had it known of the kickback scheme, the
amount of Charter’s detriment is not necessarily the amount of the
kickback transported in interstate commerce.

A-11

transported property, at least $5,000 be obtained by
fraud.

Here, the government presented evidence establishing
that sums in the millions of dollars were transported in
interstate commerce only part of which was obtained by
fraud. For section 2314 to apply, property transported
in interstate commerce having a value of $5,000 must
have been obtained by fraud; this does not mean that all
the property transported in interstate commerce have
been obtained by fraud. See 18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982);
United States v. Freeman, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (Sth
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348,
67 L.Ed.2d 334 (1981). Therefore, the government met
its burden.

6. Defective Indictment

Lennon urges that the indictment was defective, be-
cause it alleged that “certain proceeds” were taken by
fraud and did not allege that the proceeds exceeded
$5,000 as required by section 2314. An indictment is
sufficient if “it, first, contains the elements of the offense
charged and fairly informs a defendant of the charge
against which he must defend, and, second, enables him
to plead an acquittal or conviction in bar of future prose-
cutions for the same offense.” Hamling v. United States,
418 U.S. 87, 117, 94 S.Ct. 2887, 2907, 41 L.Ed.2d 590
(1974). Furthermore, an indictment’s validity is ascer-
tained from a reading of it as a whole and is determined
by practical, not technical considerations. United States
v. Willis, 583 F.2d 203, 207 (Sth Cir. 1978).

Here, the indictment is sufficient under the above stand-
ard. First, each count of the indictment alleges that

A-12

Lennon’s purpose was to defraud Charter of money in
excess of $5,000 and that “certain proceeds” were taken
by fraud. If read as a whole and in a practical manner,
the indictment alleged all the elements of the crime and
fairly apprised Lennon of the charge against him.

7. Jury Instruction on Elements of Section 2314

The jury instruction on the elements of section 2314
stated:

Therefore, there are three essential elements which
must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt in order
to establish the offense proscribed by the law as
applicable to this case:

First: that the defendant willfully transported or
caused to be transported, in interstate commerce,
checks as described in the indictment;

Second: that such checks had a value in excess
of $5,000; and

Third: that at the time of the transportation the
defendant knew the checks were obtained or taken
by fraud.

Lennon contends that the indictment materially differed
from the trial court’s instructions to the jury and that the
instructions permitted the jury to convict upon findings
shy of what section 2314 requires. Because we agree
with Lennon on the latter contention, we need not discuss
the former one.

Lennon objected to the instruction on the elements of
section 2314 at trial, arguing that the instruction given
would allow the jury to ‘convict if it found merely that
the checks from Charter to Petrochem exceeded $5,000.

A-13

Lennon specifically requested that the jury instructions
include words to the effect that the portion of such checks
taken by fraud must have exceeded $5,000. The govern-
ment disagreed and insisted that the instruction was cor-
rect. According to the government, the whole check from
Charter to Petrochem was obtained by fraud, because
embedded in those checks were kickbacks obtained by
fraud. Furthermore, the government argued that there
was no problem with the instruction tactually, because
all of the kickbacks exceeded $5,000. We disagree with
the government.

Under the above instruction, the jury could have con-
victed Lennon by finding that the checks from Charter to
Petrochem exceeded $5,000 and that any part of the
checks was obtained by fraud. This is significant because
of the defendant’s evidence that Harrigan arranged the
payments and that lesser amounts, if any, were taken by
Lennon. The jury could have found that the checks from
Charter to Petrochem exceeded $5,000, that most of the
moneys that the government characterized as kickbacks
were actually proper commissions paid to Harrigan, and
that some amount out of each larger check, possibly less
than $5,000, was obtained by fraud.

Section 2314 clearly requires that the fraudulently ob-
tained property transported in interstate commerce exceed
$5,000. 18 U.S.C. § 2319 (1982); United States v. Free-
man, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied,
450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348, 67 L.Ed.2d 334 (1981).
The jury instruction erroneously permitted the jury to find
that Lennon violated section 2314 by causing fraudulently
obtained property having a value of less than $5,000.

A-14

Lennon’s conviction is REVERSED. The cause is re-

manded. The petitions for rehearing are overruled. Man-
date shall issue forthwith.

B-1
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-2713

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff- Appellee,

versus

JOSEPH R. LENNON,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas

(October 31, 1984}
Before RUBIN, REAVLEY and TATE, Circuit Judges.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge:

Joseph Lennon was convicted by a jury of eight counts
of causing the interstate transportation of certain check
proceeds obtained by fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§§ 2, 2314 (1982). We reverse and remand.

B-2

Lennon was employed by Charter International Oil
Company and Charter Crude Oil Company, Texas cor-
porations and subsidiaries of Charter Oil Company, Inc.,
a Florida corporation, to supply Charter’s oil refinery in
Houston approximately 70,000 barrels of crude oil per day.
To meet part of this demand, Lennon agreed on behalf of
Charter to purchase crude oil from Southwest Petrochem,
Inc., in late summer or early fall of 1974. As a condition
to making the contract, Lennon demanded that Petro-
chem pay him, personally, twenty cents for each barrel
he purchased for Charter. Charter neither was apprised
of nor consented to the kickback arrangement.

These dealings proved to be profitable to all parties for
a number of years. Charter received a large portion of its
needed crude oil at a cost a little below the average it
was paying other suppliers. Petrochem had a steady buyer
that accounted for the vast majority of its revenues. Pur-
suant to the kickback agreement, Lennon received from
Petrochem numerous checks that totaled approximately
$1,193,000. The last kickback payment was made in
March 1979, and Lennon shortly thereafter resigned
from Charter. After Lennon’s departure from Charicr,
Petrochem continued to sell crude oil to Charter but never
made any more kickback payments to Lennon or anyone
at Charter.

Charter initiated each sale of crude oil by a prepayment
to Petrochem. Charter’s checks were drawn on various
banks located in Florida, Massachusetts, and Illinois.
Petrochem deposited the checks in a Houston bank, which
sent the checks directly to the out-of-state bank for collec-
tion. Petrochem then used those funds to purchase the
crude oil from its supplier and to pay Lennon the kick-
back.

—-_——=|®

——s

ae, me

B-3

Petrochem paid Lennon the kickbacks by checks made
to H & L Enterprises, a general partnership formed under
Texas law between Lennon and his friend and business
associate James Har-igan; to Harlen Trading Company,
Inc., a Texas corporation with shares owned by Lennon
and Harrigan; and to LATCO, an assumed business name
of Lennon. The kickback checks were all drawn upon
and deposited in Texas banks.

Lennon presented evidence through the testimony of
Harrigan that the moneys paid to H & L, Harlen, and
LATCO were not kickbacks to Lennon. According to
Harrigan’s testimony, the money was paid to Harrigan
through Harlen, H & L, and LATCO as a commission for
his own services to Petrochem.

An additional factor to be considered is the regulation
of the oil industry during the 1970’s and early 1980's by
the federal government. Under these regulations, the price
of crude oil and certain refined oil products were regu-
lated on a cost-plus margin basis. The margin was set on
a unit basis but was averaged monthly with no carryover.
In other words, a reseller of crude oil or a refiner of re-
gulated products could charge purchasers only an amount
equal to its cost, expenses, and a certain margin for profit.
Although the profit might vary from barrel to barrel, the
average margin during a given month could not exceed a
certain amount. If the maximum average margin was not
obtained in a particular month, the unrealized profit was
lost and could not be recaptured by exceeding the set
margin in the next month.

In this case all of Petrochem’s crude oil sales were
subject to the price regulations. Approximately sixty to
seventy percent of each barrel of crude oil Charter pur-

B-4

chased was refined into unregulated products. As to the
crude oil it resold, Charter did not obtain the maximum
profits allowed by the regulations during any month from
May 1978 to March 1979, when the violations by Lennon
affected Charter’s profits.

The grand jury returned an indictment charging Len-
non with eight counts of violating 18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 2314
(1982). Specifically, the indictment charged Lennon with
causing eight checks issued in 1978 and 1979 by Charter
payable to Petrochem to be transported in interstate com-
merce and knowing that certain proceeds of the checks
were taken by fraud. The indictment listed the eight
checks by date, amount, check number, and place of
origin, and it charged that Lennon’s purpose was to
obtain money in excess of $5,000. At trial, the United
States presented evidence of the exact amount of the
kickback included in each of the eight checks, which
varied from a low of $12,234.50 to a high of $27,373.00.

The issues on appeal are: one, whether the applicable
statutory provisions, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2(b), 2314 (1982),
require knowledge or reasonable foreseeability that money
obtained by fraud will be transported in interstate com-
merce; two, whether the trial court improperly instructed
the jury on “causing” under section 2314; three, whether
the trial court improperly instructed the jury on fraud
under section 2314; four, whether there was sufficient
evidence to support a finding of fraud; five, whether, for
section 2314 to apply, all the property transported in
interstate commerce must have been obtained by fraud;
six, whether the indictment was defective for failing to
allege that certain proceeds exceeded $5,000 as required
by section 2314; and seven, whether the trial court’s jury
instruction on the elements of section 2314 was improper.

B-5

1. Knowledge or Reasonable Foreseeability

Section 2314, the so-called National Stolen Property
Act under which Lennon was convicted, provides in part:

Whoever, having devised or intending to devise
any scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining
money or property by means of false or fraudulent
pretenses, representations, or promises, transports or
causes to be transported, or induces any person to
travel in, or to be transported in interstate commerce
in the execution or concealment of a scheme or
artifice to defraud that person of money or property
having a value of $5,000 or more...

Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprison-
ed not more than ten years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982). This court has held that sec-
tion 2314 does not require knowledge or reasonable fore-
seeability of interstate transport of the money obtained
by fraud. United States v. Kelly, 569 F.2d 928, 934
(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 829, 99 S.Ct. 105,
58 L.Ed.2d 123 (1978). Lennon has cited no new au-
thority or reason why Kelly should be overruled that has
not previously been considered and rejected.

Lennon argues further that knowledge or reasonable
foreseeability of interstate transport is required when the
indictment and charge include, as here, the substance of
18 U.S.C. § 2(b) (1982). Section 2(b) provides:

Whoever willfully causes an act to be done which
if directly performed by him or another would be an
offense against the United States, is punishable as a

principal.

B-6

Section 2(b) applies generally to all federal criminal
statutes and prohibits cne from causing another to do
any act that would be illegal if one did it personally. See,
e.g., United States v. Gleason, 616 F.2d 2, 20 (2d Cir.
1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1082, 100 S.Ct. 1037, 62
L.Ed.2d 767 (1980). Section 2314, however, also con-
tains a “causing” provision similar to section 2(b) which
specifically prohibits one from causing another to trans-
port money obtained by fraud in interstate commerce.
See, e.g., United States v. Ludwig, 523 F.2d 705, 706
(8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1076, 96 S.Ct.
861, 47 L.Ed.2d 86 (1976). Although we do not accept
the government’s contention that the “causing” under
section 2(b) reaches activity not within the “causing” of
section 2314, neither do we agree with Lennon’s conten-
tion that by reference to section 2(b) in the indictment,
the government shouldered a burden of proving knowledge
or reasonable foreseeability of interstate transport. If there
is a difference, it has no bearing on this case and the
reference to “causing” in section 2(b) is mere surplusage
to be ignored. See United States v. Lyons, 706 F.2d 321,
324 & n.1 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

A final basis for Lennon’s argument is that “cause”
under the mail fraud statute, 18 U.S.C. § 2341 (1982),
requires knowledge or reasonable foreseeability that the
mails will be used in commission of the fraud, and that
therefore, “cause” under section 2314 should as well.
Lennon overlooks, however, the different purposes under-
lying the statutes. “[S]Jection 2314 is aimed at the evils
of theft, fraud, and counterfeiting and not at the regula-
tion of interstate transportation. Suppression of movement
of the fruits of theft and fraud is only the means to the
end of suppressing theft and fraud themselves.” United

B-7

States v. Roselli, 432 F.2d 879, 891 (9th Cir. 1970),
cert. denied, 401 U.S. 924, 91 S.Ct. 924, 27 L.Ed.2d
828 (1971). On the other hand, the purpose of the mail
fraud statute is to prevent the use of the mails to facilitate
schemes to defraud. Parr v. United States, 363 U.S. 370,
389, 80 S.Ct. 1171, 1182, 4 L.Ed.2d 1277 (1969). Be-
Cause interstate commerce is a means to an end for sec-
tion 2314 and prohibiting unlawful use of the mails is the
end of the mail fraud statute, it is perfectly reasonable
that only the mail fraud statute requires knowledge or
reasonable foreseeability.

2. Jury Instruction on Causing

Lennon contends that the trial court committed revers-
ible error by instructing the jury that:

Now, in a prosecution under Section 2314 of Title
18 for transporting in interstate commerce checks
which have been taken by fraud, it is not necessary
that the defendant know or intend that the checks
would be transported in interstate commerce so long
as he set in motion a series of events which in the
normal course resulted in such transportation. Such
a normal course of events occurs whenever a check
drawn on an out-of-state bank travels across state
lines in the process of collection and arrives for pay-
ment at the bank on which it is drawn.

Lennon first urges that the instruction was incorrect be-
cause the instruction directed a verdict on the element of
causing the checks to be transported in interstate com-
merce. For example, in United States v. Johnson, 718
F.2d 1317 (5th Cir. 1983), the court held that the trial
court erred by instructing the jury that a particular docu-
ment was a security, an essential element of the crime.

B-8

In this case, however, the challenged instruction never
addressed the checks at issue. Rather, the trial correctly
explained to the jury the meaning of “cause” in sec-
tion 2314 as announced in Pereira v. United States, 347
U.S. 1, 8-10, 74 S.Ct. 358, 363, 98 L.Ed.2d 435 (1954).*

3. Jury Instructions on Fraud

Lennon argues that the jury instructions regarding fraud
were incorrect. The trial court charged:

In order to find that the checks listed in the in-
dictment were “taken by fraud” within the meaning
of the statute you must find that the defendant know-
ingly and willfully and with specific intent partici-
pated in a scheme to defraud his employer, Charter.

You can find this to be the case only if you find:

(1) that the defendant benefited in his own right
from business transactions that he caused his em-
ployer to engage in;

(2) that the defendant had a duty to disclose
material information to his employer;

(3) that the defendant failed to disclose this in-
formation to his employer; and

(4) that the defendant’s failure to disclose this
information to his employer caused some detri-
ment to his employer to the extent that, had it
been known, the information would have likely
caused the employer to alter its business practice.

1. Assuming that the instruction was a correct statement of the
law, Lennon next argues the instruction was improper because it
failed wo require the jury to find that Lennon knew or reasonably
foresaw that the money obtained by fraud would be transported in
interstate commerce. This argument, however, has already been
rejected.

B-9

Information is “material” whenever an employee
has reason to believe the information would lead a
reasonable employer to change its business conduct.

This instruction was based on United States v. Ballard,
663 F.2d 534 (Sth Cir. 1981). Although Ballard was a
mail fraud prosecution, the instruction was not limited
to the particular means of the fraud or directed to the
peculiarity of a particular crime. The instruction was
correct.

4. Sufficiency of Evidence on Fraud

Lennon argues that there was no evidence to establish
that Charter was defrauded as required by section 2314.
The government presented evidence from which the jury
could have concluded that Lennon defrauded Charter of
money. First, Lennon extracted ten to twenty cents per
barrel from Petrochem that could, and should, have bene-
fited Charter by decreasing the cost of the crude oil.
Second, lower costs would have increased profits. Third,
the price control regulations would not have prevented
this increase in its profits, because most of Charter’s
refined products were not regulated and, on the regulated
products, Charter was never able to obtain the monthly
average maximum per barrel profit.

Lennon next argues that there was no evidence of
fraud, because the government never nresented evidence
that Charter suffered deiriment in the amount of $5,000
or more for each count. Section 2314, however, requires
proof only that the property taken by fraud and trans-
ported in interstate commerce have a value of $5,000 or
more, 18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982); United States v. Free-
man, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

B-10

450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348, 67 L.Ed.2d 334 (1981),
and that the defrauded party suffer some tangible detri-
ment of value, United States v. Smith, 686 F.2d 234,
239-40 (Sth Cir. 1982). Section 2314 does not require
the defrauded party to suffer detriment in the amount of
$5,000 or more.? The government carried its burden by
presenting evidence from which the jury could have found
that Charter did suffer some indeterminate detriment for
each kickback check and that the kickback payments to
Lennon exceeded $5,000.

5. Transportation of the Fraudulently Obtained Property

Another issue raised by this case is whether section
2314 requires that all the property transported in inter-
state commerce be taken by fraud or merely that, of the
transported property, at least $5,000 be obtained by fraud.

Here, the government presented evidence establishing
that sums in the millions of dollars were transported in
interstate commerce only part of which was obtained by
fraud. For section 2314 to apply, property transported
in interstate commerce having a value of $5,000 must
have been obtained by fraud; this does not mean that all
the property transported in interstate commerce have
been obtained by fraud. See 18 U.S.C. § 2314 (1982);
United States v. Freeman, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (5th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348,
67 L.Ed.2d 334 (1981). Therefore, the government met
its burden.

2. Ordinarily, the amount of the detriment suffered by the de-
frauded party will in fact be equal to the value of the transported
property. Here, however, because it is impossible to prove what
Charter would have done had it known of the kickback scheme,
the amount of Charter’s detriment is not necessarily the amount of
the kickback transported in interstate commerce.

EI ie ta oD ed NRE) PI he AT ae ta Se

Se a)

B-11

6. Defective Indictment

Lennon urges that the indictment was defective, be-
cause it alleged that “certain proceeds” were taken by
fraud and did not allege that the proceeds exceeded
$5,000 as required by section 2314. An indictment is
sufficient if “it, first, contains the elements of the offense
charged and fairly informs a defendant of the charge
against which he must defend, and, second, enables him
to plead an acquittal or conviction in bar of future prose-
cutions for the same offense.” Hamling v. United States,
418 U.S. 87, 117, 94 S.Ct. 2887, 2907, 41 L.Ed.2d 590
(1974). Furthermore, an indictment’s validity is ascer-
tained from a reading of it as a whole and is determined
by practical, not technical, considerations. United States
v. Willis, 583 F.2d 203, 207 (Sth Cir. 1978).

Here, the indictment is sufficient under the above
standard. First, each count of the indictment alleges that
Lennon’s purpose was to defraud Charter of money in
excess of $5,000 and that “certain proceeds” were taken
by fraud. If read as a whole and in a practical manner,
the indictment alleged all the elements of the crime and
fairly apprised Lennon of the charge against him.

7. Jury Instruction on Elements of Section 2314

The jury instruction on the elements of section 2314
stated:

Therefore, there are three essential elements which
must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt in order
to establish the offense proscribed by the law as
applicable to this case:

First: that the defendant willfully transported or
caused to be transported, in interstate commerce,
checks as described in the indictment;

B-12

Second: that such checks had a value in excess
of $5,000; and

Third: that at the time of the transportation the
defendant knew the checks were obtained or taken
by fraud.

Lennon contends that the indictment materially differed
from the trial court’s instructions to the jury and that the
instructions permitted the jury to convict upon findings
shy of what section 2314 requires. Because we agree
with Lennon on the latter contention, we need not dis-
cuss the former one.

Lennon objected to the instruction on the elements of
section 2314 at trial, arguing that the instruction given
would allow the jury to convict if it found merely that
the checks from Charter to Petrochem exceeded $5,000.
Lennon specifically requested that the jury instructions
include words to the effect that the portion of such checks
taken by fraud must have exceeded $5,000. The govern-
ment disagreed and insisted that the instruction was cor-
rect. According to the government, the whole check from
Charter to Petrochem was otained by fraud, because
embedded in those checks were kickbacks obtained by
fraud. Furthermore, the government argued that there
was no problem with the instruction factually, because
all of the kickbacks exceeded $5,000. We disagree with
the government.

Under the above instruction, the jury could have con-
victed Lennon by finding that the checks from Charter
to Pctrochem exceeded $5,000 and that any part of the
checks was obtained by fraud. This is significant because
of the defendant’s evidence that Harrigan arranged the
payments and that lesser amounts, if any, were taken

LS

B-13

by Lennon. The jury could have found that the checks
from Charter to Petrochem exceeded $5,000, that most
of the moneys that the government characterized as
kickbacks were actually proper commissions paid to
Harrigan, and that some amount out of each larger check,
possibly less than $5,000, was obtained by fraud.

Section 2314 clearly requires that the fraudulently
obtained property transported in interstate commerce
exceed $5,000. 18 U.S.C. § 2319 (1982); United States
v. Freeman, 619 F.2d 1112, 1118 (Sth Cir. 1980),
cert. denied, 450 U.S. 910, 101 S.Ct. 1348, 67 L.Ed.2d
334 (1981). The jury instruction erroneously permitted
the jury to find that Lennon viclated section 2314 by
causing fraudulently obtained property having a value
of less than $5,000.

Lennon’s conviction is REVERSED and REMANDED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2527%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
