# Opposition Brief — Kohn Beverage Co. v. Teamsters' Local No. 348

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2450%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1017

## Text

B4a-1356

CASE NO.
IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

\

October Term, 1985
THE KOHN BEVERAGE COMPANY
Petitioner
Vv.
, TEAMSTERS LOCAL NO. 348, et al

Respondents

RESPONSE TO PETITIONER'S WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

William B. Gore

503 Centran Building
Akron, OH 44308
(216) 434-7167

Attorney for Respondent

RESPONSE TO QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. The Court of Appeals correctly
determined that the collective bargaining
agreement between Kohn and Teamsters

Local 348 required payment of contributions
for all employees of the unit, irregardless

of union membership.

II. The Court of Appeals correctly
refused to apply estoppel principles
against the Local 348 Health and Welfare
Fund and the Central States Pension Fund
because Kohn failed to establish the

necessary and essential elements.

PARTIES:

Pursuant to Rule 34.1(b), Rules of

the Supreme Court, the parties to this

action are listed below:

Petitioner,

Respondents,

The Kohn Beverage Company
1065 Jenkins Boulevard
Akron, OH 44306

(216) 724-1233

International Brotherhood of
Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Ware-
housemen and Helpers of
America, Local Union 348

272 West Market Street
Akron, OH 44303

(216) 693-5300

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Response to Questions Presented
for Review . «© «© «© © © © © ee @

POSCAGG. «© © © se ts tee 8 8&6
Table of Contents. . . «+2 2 « «
Table of Authorities ......
Statutes ..« s+ es es ee ee @ fb
Opinions Below ...«.«++s+e«e .
Statement of Case. . ..... >

Reasons for Denying Petitioner's
Writ of Certiorari .......

Certificate of Service .....

Appendices . «+.+«+s+*se#s8#s8e8 © «@ «

iii ,

: i
» Se
- iii
-iv-v
+: Je
- vii
- 1-4
-5-24
- 28

a? J
ee

i
”
re ¥
hd

oe,

. ¢

7

i

7 as

—
7
Saag .

Ss sid =

fa
x

.
Y)

+

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Audit Services, Inc. v. Rolfson,
641 F.2d 757 (9th Cir. 1981) ...

Central States v. Central Transport
698 F.2d 802 (6th Cir. 1983),
cert. granted, U.S. °

——

104 S.Ct. 3531 (1984)... ...-s.

Continental Baking Co., 99 NLRB 777,
30 LRRM 1119 (1952). . . « « «© «

Crosset Lumber Co. v. United States,
87 F.2d 930 (8th Cir. 1937)... .

Dickerson v. Colgrove, 100 U.S. 578
(1879) . > > > . . > . . > . > > >

Employer-Teamsters Joint Council
No. 84, Health and Welfare Fund
v. Weatherall Concrete, Inc.,
468 F. Supp 1167 (S.D.W.V.
AO7Bde w we eee eeeneee ee

Farmer v. ARA Services, 660 F.2d 1096
(6th Cafe 1981). . . . . os . . . .

Hodgins v. Central States, 624 F.2d 760
(6th Cir. 1980). . . . . . . . . .

Knoll _v. Phoenix Steel Corp., 465 F. 24
1128 (3rd Cir. 1972), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1126 (1973) ...

iv

Page

19

19

20-21

22-22

2

O

avers Tor 7
r Pe wre a _e ey ary a. ;
wee ea io) o |

=

Manning v. Wiscombe, 498 F.2d 1132
CAGGR Cae. 2900) « © © © © © 8 @

Markt v. Ro-Mart, Inc., 471 F. Supp.
1292 (N.D. Cal. 1979). >. >. . . . >.

Moglia v. Geoghegan, 403 F.2d 110
(2nd Cir. 1968), cert. denied,
3964 8.8. BAD CASGOd. « © we we wees

NLRB v. General Motors, 373 U.S. 734
(1963) . . >. >. .* . >. . . . . . . >.

NLRB v. Hershey Foods, 513 F.2d 1083
(9th Cir. 1975). . >. . . . . . . >.

Phillips v. Kennedy, 542 F.2d 52
(8th Cir. 1976). >. >. > . >. . . >. >.

Radio Officers Union v. NLRB, 347 U.S.
1? (1954). . . . . . . . . . . . .

Reiherzer v. Shannon, 581 F.2d 1266
(7th Cir. 1970). . . . . . . . . .

Rosen v. Hotel and Restaurant Employees,
637 F.2d 592 (3rd Cir. 1981)...

Scheuer v. Central States Pension Fund,
394 F. Supp. 193 (£.D. Wis. 1975,
aff‘d. 570 F.2d 347 (7th Cir.
nee 6.4 6 6 & Ss © 6686 6 6 @'8

Scott County v. Advance-Rumley Thresher
Co., 288 F. 739 (8th Cir. 1923). .

Thurber v. Western Conference of
Teamsters Pension Plan, 542 F.2d
2206 (90h Cae. 3976) «© © © © wo 2 @

16-17

11-12

11-12

16

12

15

15

15

20

17-18

STATUTES

Page

Employee Retirement Income Security
Act, as amended, §§502, 515.
29 USC $§$§1132, 1145. .~. . « « «© - 2

Labor Management Relations Act, as
amended, §8(a) (3). 29 USC §158
TS) 43) « we ee ll ee ll lt lh Eee

Labor Management Relations Act,
as amended, §8(b)(3) 29% USC
ee Fo oe & > Sa ere en ee a

Labor Management Relations Act,
as amended, §9(a). 229 USC §159(a)

OV

Labor Management Relations Act,
as amended, §9(b). 29 USC §1_9(b) 6

Labor Management Relations Act,
as amended, §301(a). 29 USC §185
(a). e oe e © e ° e © e e e e ° e 2

Labor Management Relations Act,

as amended, §302(c)(5)(B). 29
USC §186(c)(5)(B). .. .... 17

vi

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals is re-
ported at 749 F.2d 315 and is found in
Appendix "A" at p. | - The judgment of
the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Ohio was unpublished

and is also in Appendix "A" at |

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals was
entered on November 26, 1984. No peti-

tion for rehearing was filed.

vii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On February 29, 1981, Kohn Beverage
Company (Petitioner) and Teamsters Local 348
executed a collective bargaining agreement
(Agreement). The Agreement required Peti-
tioner to make contributions for each employee
to the Teamsters Local 348 Health and Welfare
Fund (Respondent) and Central States Southeast
and Southwest Areas Pension Fund (Respondent).
On September 1, 1981, 29 of Petitioner's em-
ployees staged a work stoppage, and on
September 3, 27 employees were terminated and
subsequently replaced by non-union employees.

When the non-union employees attempted
tc join the unicn pursuant to the union shop
clause in the Agreement, they were denied
membership by Local 348 Secretary-Treasurer,

Dan Darrow. Darrow, who was trustee and

administrator of Respondent told the employees
that they would not be eligible for benefits
from the Health and Welfare or Pension Funds.
Petitioner subsequently provided alternate
health and pension benefits to the non-union
employees.

On October 26, 1982, Respondent filed
a complaint pursuant to the Labor Management
Relations Act (LMRA). 29 USC §185(a) and the
Employee Retirement and Income Security Act.
29 USC §§1132(a), 1145. Respondent alleged
violation of the Agreement and failure by
Petitioner to contribute to the employee
benefit plans. Respondent sought to enjoin
violations of the Agreement and benefit plans
and to recover unpaid contributions, interest,
costs and attorney fees.

After trial on March 10, 1983, the
District Court filed findings of fact and
conclusions of law granting judgment for
Petitioner. The District Court held that

Petitioner was not required to contribute

=2-

to the funds for non-union employees and,
alternatively, Respondents were estopped by
Darrow's statements to the new employees
from recovering the delinquent contributions.
Respondent appealed to the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals, which on November 26, 1984
issued an opinion reversing the District
Court. The Sixth Circuit held that the Agree-
ment applied to all employees of the bargain-
ing unit, irregardless of union membership.
The Court of Appeals ruled that the District
Court erred in holding that the union shop
clause alone limited Petitioner's obligation
to make contributions on behalf of union
members. In addition, the Sixth Circuit
ruled that the District Court's factual
findings relating to Petitioner's estoppel
defense were clearly erroneous. The Appeals
Court held that it is clear that Petitioner
had not established the elements of estoppel.
It is the Decision of the Court of

Appeals rendered on November 26, 1984 that

Petitioner presently seeks review through
a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Supreme Court. Respondent maintains that
the Writ must be denied because the Sixth
Circuit's Decision does not present novel
questions or involve issues that are in

conflict among the Circuit Courts.

i = a o
cr hc The
«

as a

ee

_—

,7 =

— : re i ‘rk -

Na)

ae! oe

PI eae ee pr i _* mat!
Ca ag

i

“a = ae ne Lae te = .

es —

REASONS FOR DENYING PETITIONER'S WRIT

OF CERTIORARI

I. THERE ARE NO NOVEL QUESTIONS CONCERNING
COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENTS AND
LABOR RELATIONS.

Respondent's original action in District
Court was based on the express provisions of |
an ordinary collective bargaining agreement.
See Appendix “B" at p.l-3. The Agreement in-
cluded a standard recognition clause (Art. I)
and a typical union security provision (Art.
VI). Article XIV required Petitioner to
contribute to the Health and Welfare Fund
“for each employee covered by this Agreement.”
Similarly, Article XVII required employer
contributions to the Pension Fund “for each
regular employee covered by this Agreement.”
Article II defined the Agreement's use of the

term “Employee” to include the various job

classifications within the unit.

7 ‘
= 9p,

alll Naceal _
a a

The Sixth Circuit decided that, absent
contrary language, collective bargaining
agreements cover all employees of the bar-
gaining unit. Under the Court's interpreta-
tion of the Agreement, Petiticner was required
to make contributions to the Funds on behalf
of all unit employees, not just union members.
The Sixth Circuit's position embodies funda-
mental principles of labor relations and is
well supported by case law, including Central

States v. Central Transport, 698 F.2d 802

(6th Cir. 1983), cert. granted, U.S. ,
104 s.Ct. 3531 (1984).

A. COLLECTIVE BARGAINING PRINCIPLES
REQUIRE THAT AGREEMENTS COVER ALL
EMPLOYEES OF THE UNIT.

The LMRA grants unions the right to be
selected as the exclusive representative of
all employees in an appropriate unit for the
purpose ci collective baregsiaing. 29 USC
§159(a). The exclusive representative has a
duty to negotiate with the employer to reach

an agreement that will benefit all unit em-

ployees. 29 USC §158(b(3). The union then has

=6-

on aon ce os yu oye

| Boe - ee ee
ss. . ae ee we
—" 7

i

be mnt sebaaas

was also an action brought by a widow to
compel payments from a pension fund. The
Trust was funded by employer contributions
but not on the basis of a collective bargain-
ing agreement or any other written agreement.
LMRA §302(c)(5)(B) prohibits payments from a
union-employer trust fund unless there is a
written agreement between the parties speci-
fying the basis upon which the payments are
made. 29 USC §186(c)(5)(B). The Funds invoked
§302 as a defense but the widow argued that
they should be estopped from denying benefits
on that ground. In Moglia the Second Circuit
refused to apply estoppel principles because
estoppel could not provide the written agree-
ment, the essential element. Moglia does not
hold that estoppel cannot be applied against
health and welfare and pension plans.

Thurber v. Western Conference of

Teamsters Pension Plan, 542 F.2d 1106 (9th

Cir. 1976) was a suit brought by an employee

seeking benefits under an Employer-Employee

-i7-

ci
ay,

a i ee

pension plan. In Thurber the plaintiff em-

ployee had permitted his union membership

to lapse, thereby creating a break in service.
The Circuit Court found that under the agree-
ment, the employer was not required to make
contributions for the purpose of “curing”
breaks in service. The Ninth Circuit ruled
that the pension fund could not legally re-
quire a retroactive contribution from the
employer. Moreover, it would also be illegal
for the fund to pay benefits to the plaintiff
on the basis of illegal retroactive contri-

butions. The Thurber Court did not hold that

estoppel could not be applied against the
pension fund. It held that the doctrine of
estoppel cannot be invoked to compel an
illegal act.

There is simply no authority supporting
Petitioner's claim that the Courts of Appeal
are split over whether estoppel principles
can be applied against health and welfare
and pension funds. All of Petitioner's
citations involve suits seeking benefit pay-
ments from pension plans. None of the cases

-18-
ee

C7
et ™~ >) “a
a om

> > . . = i | ; os r
ly

ae

- i
a

ee

involve delinquent contributions due under

the express terms of a collective bargaining
agreement. None of the cases involve health
and welfare plans. Estoppel principles are
applied against health and welfare and pen-
sion plans, if the requisite elements are ful-

filled.

B. PETITIONER'S ESTOPPEL DEFENSE
FAILED BECAUSE IT DID NOT
ESTABLISH THE NECESSARY ELEMENTS.

The proper function of estoppel is to

prevent fraud and to promote the ends of

justice. Dickerson v. Colgrove, 100 U.S.

$78 (1879). The party claiming an estoppel
must show the conduct giving rise to the
estoppel and its good faith reliance thereon.
The claiming party must prove an ignorance of
the real facts and that its injury was caused
by the conduct of the other party. Crosset

Lumber Co. v. United States, 87 F.2d 930 (8th

Cir. 1937). The application of estoppe!

must depend upon the circumstances of each

-19-

§
:
3
+
5
a
3
:

pane ae

particular case. Scott County v. Advance-

Rumley Thresher Co., 288 F. 739 (8th Cir.

1923). Applying the essential elements of
estoppel to this case, the Sixth Circuit
properly rejected Petitioner's estoppel
defense.

The Court of Appeals held that the
estoppel defense failed because Petitioner
had actual knowledge of the Agreement. Peti-
tioner knew of its obligation to make contri-
butions to the funds. This position is

supported by Employer - Teamsters Joint

Council No. 184 Health and Welfare Fund v.

Weatherall Concrete, Inc., 468 F. Supp. 1167

(S.D.W.V. 1979). In Weatherall the Court

refused to apply estoppel principles because
it could not be said that the claiming party
was without knowledge of the true facts.

Weatherall was an action seeking to

recover deficient contributions to union
trust funds. The Plaintiffs charged that

contributions were being made, but not in

=-20-

ee AM RE eR PLETE

" bicahinit't

4

teat an Oe ee Re OE ar tat AA Dee

roids 8

3
y
¢
x

the amounts required by the collective bar-
gaining agreement. The employer defended by
invoking the doctrine of estoppel. The Dis-
trict Court rejected this defense because
the employer had reason to know the exact
amount due in contributions.

The Weatherall Court found that the

employer had signed and received a copy of
the collective bargaining agreement. The
agreement set forth the rates at which the
employer was to contribute to the fund. On
this basis, the Court held that the employer
had constructive, if not actual, knowledge
that contributions were not being made in
accordance with the agreement. With this
knowledge the employer could not avail it-
self of the estoppel doctrine.

The Sixth Circuit also ruled .that
Petitioner could not maintain an estoppel
defense because its "reliance" on Darrow's
representations was not reasonable. The

Circuit Court ruled that Petitioner had

=-2i1»,

_-_. ee
Th @ he
ala as 7

ie

ae oe Cw ~——-
a al

4

‘Central States first learned it had been named a plaintiff in the

case on January 4, 1983. and, after petitioning the court, filed an
amended complaint on March 4. 1983, alleging essentially the same
) allegations as the original complaint.

Qe

—

1 5 f 1 oy i i nt ' ; > a
= : a a ae i 7 ’ Chena to v1
- en -_ 1 . _ ' & a ia
, 2 a a ; : —_ - : =
: —— a) : . -
ni won, 4
i A x =4 _— a ,
_ _ : > rr ie a : >
of ify : Ags . —— De Ys 7 - = 7 a 7
| 7 —. Se Ca »
: ar is): i _ . coe Ade
ee = _ = - Pied i -
aw was » es # ne - ve
7 C rn io . - i
| Fe err
: _ >= D ' - - o . - s\
hot =“ fT i eh

» Ah eS phe, a : me a wa

— Py i a 1 -

- - a ee ee

is ee bes kh tee. 4 ee " . |

a : = a el
/ +

/-_ =,
,, 18 Pe
gare oft o
t= ‘a lol ee
; 9 wt ; i. juan oui i

ares
awe "

—e 7

- pant ai has
~~ ee
; ma),

in

—

,

)

Nus. $3-3663 etc. Health & Welfare Fund v. Kohn, etc. 3

statements to the new employees from recovering the delin-
quent contributions. Additionally, the district court held that
Kohn was entitled to a credit for payments made to the

‘ Health and Welfare Fund in late August 1981 for the em-

ployees terminated September 3. Plaintiffs appeal.?

Il.

Plaintiffs contend that the district court erred in construing
the collective bargaining agreement and benefit plans to
require Kohn to contribute to the plans for union members
only. The construction of collective bargaining agreements
and employee benefit plans is a question of law fully review-
able by this court. Central States, Southeast and Southwest
Arcas Pension Fund v. Central Transport, Inc., 698 F.2d 802,
805 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. granted, —— U.S. —, 104 S. Ct.

2The respective trust agreements define, by reference, Kohn’s
obligation ta contribute to the trusts in terms of Kohn’s obligations

’ under the collective bargaining agreemeit. Therefore, the inquiry
> relative to both the LMRA claims and ERISA claims is identical,

and jurisdiction is appropriately premised on 29 U.S.C. § 185(a). Sce
Laborers Health and Welfare Trust Fund v. Kaufman & Broad of
Northern California, 707 F.2d 412, 416 n4 (9.4 Cir. 1983). The district
court apparently made no determination as io whether plaintiffs prop-
erly brought this action “on behalf of their members,” nor whether
plaintiffs were “participants.” “beneficiaries,” or “fiduciaries” within

+ the purview of 29 U.S.C. §§ 1002(7), (8), (21), 1132(a), (e). Whether

plaintiffs properly state claims cognizable undcr ERISA was not
raised by the parties and has no effect on our determination of issues
raised in this appeal; therefore, we express no opinion as to whether
plaintiffs properly state a claim pursuant to 29 U.S.C. $1132(a). See
Pressroom Unions-Printers League Income Security Fund v. Con-
tinental Assurance Co., 700 F.2d 889 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, —— U.S.
—, 104 S. Ct. 148 (1983); Local 807 Labor-Management Pension
Fund v. Qwens Trucking, Inc., 585 F. Supp. 616 (E.D. N.Y. 1984);

) Sirty-Five Security Plan v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Greater

New York. 583 F. Supp. 380, 383 (S.D. N.Y. 1984); Margaret Hall
Foundation, Inc. v. Atlantic Financial Management, Inc., 572 F. Supp.

> 1475, 1485 (D. Mass. 1983); Employees Savings Plan of Mobil Oil

Corporation v. Vickery, 99 F.R.D. 138. 140-41 ($.D. N.Y. 1983); Rosen-
thal v. Ann Service Corp., 571 F. Supp. 1229, 1230 n.1 (S.D. N.Y. 1983);
Amalgamated Tidustrial Union Local 44-4 Health and Welfare Fund

"Vv. Webb, 562 F. Supp. 185 (N.D. Ill. 1983). However, sce Fentron
JIndustries, Inc. v. National Siiopmen Pension Fund, 674 F.2d 1300,

1395 (9th Cir. 1982).

= 3a

4. Health & Welfare Fund \. Kolin, ete. Nos. $3-3663 ete.

3531 (1984); Muckey v. National Football Leaguc, 543 F.2d
606, 612 (Sth Cir. 1976), cert. dismissed, 434 U.S. 801 (1977).

The collective bargaining agreement requiredt Kohn to con-
_ tribute to the Health and Welfare Fund “for each employee
_ covered by this Agreement,” Article XIV, and to the Pension
| Fund “for each regular employee covered by this Agreement,”
’ Article XVII. Article II of the agreement provided that
“[t]he term ‘Employees’, as used in this Agreement shall in-
_ elude Driver-Salesmen, Special Drivers, Swing Drivers, Over-
_ the-Road Drivers, Helpers and Warehousemen, Garage Me-
chanics and Garage Maintenance employees.” The agree-
ment included a recognition clause and a union shop clause.*

Several factors guide a determination of the scope of
coverage of a collective bargaining agreement. This court
has construed a definition of emplovees by job classification
to require coverage by the collective bargaining agreement
of all employees within those classifications, regardless of
union membership. Central States v. Central Transport, 698
F.2d at 804-05. The presence in the agreement of a recogni-
tion clause designating the union as the exclusive bargaining

ey ee aE

YO le Re nt alee ag rca te.

3 Article I provided:

The employer recognizes the Union as the sole and exclusive
bargaining agent on behalf of all employees of the Employers, as
hereinafter defined in Article II, with respect to wages, hours,
and all other terms or conditions of employment.

Article VI provided:

: It shall be a condition of employment that all employees of the
Employers covered by this Agreement, who are members of
the Union in good standing on the effective date of this Agree-
ment, shall remain members in good standing by the pay-
ment of membership dues and those who are not members on
the effective date of this Agreement shall, on the thirty-first
(31) day following the effec :ve date of this Agreement, become
and remain members in good standing in the Union by payment
of membership dues. It shall also be a condition of employ-
ment that all employees covered by this Agreement and hired
on or after its effective date shall on the thirty-first (31) day
following the beginning of such employment, become and re-
main members in good standing in the Union by payment of
membership dues.

-4-

5
5

2
q
‘

L.

—N pe ee PN re — ee

iat dh ee ee atin,

Ot se AY nes Was ON Gt gcc i shat ie Sat

Se ber Vd OO: D+ set Dg lane ite gee hate tie e

;

Nos. 83-3663 ete. Health & Welfare Fund vy. Kohn, etc. 5

agent for all employees indicates that fringe benefit contri-
butions are required for both univn and non-union members.
Audit Services, Inc. v. Rolfson, 641 F.2d 737, 761 (9th Cir.
1981); Manning v. Wiscombe, 498 F.2d 1311, 1313 (10th
Cir. 1974). The absence of language distinguishing union
and non-union employees indicates that the agreement covers
all employees. Carpenters and Millwrights Health Benefit
Trust Fund v. Gardineer Dry Walling Co., 573 F.2d 1172,
1177 (10th Cir. 1978). See Cincinnati Bengals, Inc. v.
Thompson, 553 F. Supp. 1011, 1014 (S.D. Ohio 1983).

The district court based its interpretation of the agreement
on the presence of the union shop clause. However, union
shop clauses have been construed to require only payment
of union dues and not union membership. NLRB v. Hershey
Foods Corp., 513 F.2d 1083, 1085-86 (9th Cir. 1975); Markt
v. Ro-Mart, Inc., 471 F. Supp. 1292, 1296 (N.D. Cal. 1979).
See NLRB v. Gold Standard Enterprises, Inc., 679 F.2d 673,
677 (7th Cir. 1982). See also Woelke & Romero Framing,
Inc. v. NLRB, 456 U.S. 645, 665 (1982). Further. to con-
true the term “employees” to mean union members would
render the language of the union shop clause surplusage.
The union shop clause required “that all emplovees covered
by this agreement . . . become and remain members in good
standing in the Union. . . .” This language suggests that
“employees covered by this agreement” may exist prior to
and apart from union-member employees. The district court
interpreted the term “employees” to mean “union-member
employees.” This construction effectively interprets the union
shop clause to require union members to become union mem-
bers, and renders the clause meaningless. “A contract will
not be construed so as to reject any words as surplusage if
they reasonably can be given meaning.” Union Investment
Company v. Fidelity & Deposit Company of Maryland, 549
F.2d 1107, 1110 (6th Cir. 1977).

The district court erred in interpreting the agreement as
applying only to union members. The agreement recognized

=5 |
:

WU Health & Welfare Fund v Kohn, etc. Nos. 83-3668 ete.

Paragraph (1) of 29 U.S.C. § 1103(c) provides that:

Kxcept as provided in paragraph (2), (3), or (4) or
subsection (d) oi this section, or under sections 1342 and
1344 of this title (relating to termination of insured
plans ), the assets of a plan shall never inure to the benefit
of any employer and shall be held for the exclusive pur-
poses of providing benciits to participants in the plan and
their beneficiaries and defraying reasonable expenses of
administering the plan.

Paragraph (2)(A)(ii) provides an exception to the general
prohibition expressed in paragraph (1).

In the case of a contribution . . . made by an employer to
a multiemployer plan by a mistake of fact or law (other
than a mistake relating to whether the plan is described
in section 401(a) of Title 26 or the trust which is part of
such plan is exempt from taxation under section 501(a)
of Title 26), paragraph (1) shall not prohibit the return
of such contribution or payment to the employer within
6 months after the plan administrator determines that the
contribution was made by such a mistake.

The statute places the dctermination as to whether a
mistaken contribution was made in the hands of the benefit
plan administrator. Peckham vy. Board of Trustees of Inter-
national Brotherhood of Painters and Allied Trades Union and
Industry National Pension Fund, 719 F.2d 1063, 1066, modi-

éEmployers who pay mistaken contributions have no right of
action or entitiement to a refund. Kann v. Keystone Resources, Inc.,
575 F. Supp. 1084, 1091 (W.D. Penn. 1983): R. V. Cloud Co., Inc. v.
*Western Conference of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund, 566 F. Supp.
1426, 1431 (N.D. Cal. 1983); Hardy v. National Kinney of California,
Inc., 565 F. Supp. 1027, 1050 n.1 (N.D. Cal. 1983); Crown Cork and
Seal Company, Inc. v. Teamsters Pension Furd of Philadelphia and
Vicinity, 549 F. Supp. 307, 311-12 (E.D. Penn. 1982), aff’d, 720 F.2d 661
(3d Cir. 1983); Martir v. Kelclorn, Inc., 546 F. Supp. 889, 894 (N.D.
Ill. 1982). Contra Ethridge y. Masonry Contractors, Inc., 536 F. Supp.
365, 368 (N.D. Ga. 1982); E. M. Trucks, Inc. v. Central States, 517
F. Supp. 1122, 1124 (D. Minn. 1981). :

-19-

Nos. $3-3663 etc. IJealth & Welfare Fund v. Kohn, etc. 11

fied, 724 F.2d 100 (10th Cir. 1983); Hardy v. National Kinney
of California, Inc., 571 F. Supp. 1214, 1215 (N.D. Cal. 1983).
“The trustees’ action is conclusive unless arbitrary or capri-

+ . cious, not supported by substantial evidence, or erroneous on a

question of law.” Peckham, 719 F.2d at 1066. See also Van
Gunten, 672 F.2d at 587. The district court does not appear to
have followed this standard, but instead reviewed the admini-
strator’s decision de novo. However, under our deferential
standard of review, the trustee’s decision cannot be deemed
arbitrary or without support.

The collective bargaining agreement provides only that con-
tributions be made “for each employee covered by this Agree-
ment.” The Health and Welfare Fund Plan provides that
“[t]he insurance of a covered person shall automatically ter-
minate . . . [a]s of the last day of the insurance month in
which the covered person ceases to be engaged in full-time
active employment. . . .” The Health and Welfare Fund as-
serts that as long as the employees were on the payroll through
September 3, they were covered by the plan, and, therefore,
Kohn was obligated to contribute to the Fund for those em-
ployees. In the absence of a clear rule to the contrary, the
trustee’s decision that no mistaken contributions were made is
not arbitrary or contrary to law. Therefore, Kohn was required
to contribute for the employees terminated September 3 as
well as those hired to replace them.

Finally, plaintiffs claim that the district court erred in re-
fusing to enter judgment against Kohn for contributions owed
as a result of the reinstatement in arbitration of three termin-
ated employees. The district court declined to enter judgment
until the appeals process was complete. The effect of the arbi-
tration proceedings may be addressed by the district court in
calculation of plaintiffs’ damages.

Therefore, the judgment of the district court is REVERSED
and Remanpep for further proceedings consistent with this
opinion.

-lji-

let ee a a a
—_ yy = Oe a oe

0

ce

ea -

DOWD, J. Filed: 2/25/83

UNT'TED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT Or OdIO
EASTERN DIVISION

Teamsters Local
348 Health and
Welfare Fund,

CASE NO. C82-2938A

et al.
Plaintiffs
: FINDINGS OF FACT
vs. AND CONCLUSIONS
: OF LAW
The Kohn Beverage
Company :
Defendant :

This case was tried to the Court
on March 10, 1983. Based upon the trial
testimony and the exhibits introduced
into evidence, the Court finds the
following facts:

l. Jurisdiction of this Court is
founded upon §30l(a) of the Labor
Management Relations Act of 1947, as
amened 29 U.S.C. §185(a}, §502 of the

Emoloyee Retirenent Incone Security Act

=} 2«

of 1974 (29 U.S.C. $1132, hersainafter
referreai to as ERISA) and $306 of the
Multi Enployer Pension Plan Amendments
Act of 1980 (§515 ERISA) and 28 U.S.C.
§1332.

2. The plaintiff, Teamsters Local
348 Health and Welfare Fund is a multi
employer employee benefit plan within
the meaning of §3(1), (2), (3), and
(37), §502 and $515 of ERISA as amended
by the Multi Employer Pension Plan
Amendments Act of 1980 (29 U.S.C. §1002
(lL), (2), (3) and (37), §1132 and §306,
PL 96-364) and brings this action on
behalf of the trustees, participants,
and beneficiaries of said plan.

3. Plaintiff Central States
Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension
Fund is a Multi Employer Benefit Plan
within the meaning of §3(1),(2),(3) ana

(37), 5392 ani $315 of FRISA as arrnds4

=} 3- ‘nv

tia os

¢ oy

the Central States, Sontheast anl
Southwest Areas Pension Funi the
sun of Forty-six Dollars (3545.00)
per weex for each regular employee
covered by this Agreement.

Fftfective June 1, 1981, the
Employer shall increase said
contribution to Fifty-one Dollars
($51.00) per week For each regular
employee covered by this Agree-
ment.

Effective June l, 1982, the
Employer shall continue to pay the
sum of Fifty-one Dollars ($51.00)
per week as contribution to said
fund for each regular employee
covered by this Agreement plus any
increase in contributions as same
are negotiated in the National
Master Freight Agreement."

"ARTICLE XIV: HEALTH AND WELFARE

The Employers agree to contribute
to the Teamsters Local No. 348
Health and Welfare Fund the
following amounts for each
employee covered by this
Agreement:

Effective January 1, 1981, and
January 1, 1982, and January

1, 1983, a sum not to exceed a
maximum of ten percent (103%)
increase in monthly contributions;
it being understood that effective
January 1, 1980, the sum of One
Hunired Eighty-Five Dollars
($135.09) nar month is the
eanttibutioa fisurr whish i:

=) 7 ~ - : -
haceaia, LL mara aa age: seat

.

‘ — r > -_> ; : :
FQ Wain + a), ore s Tat. 929

-20-

herein, is a party wit aa
Fanloyec, as define’ here2ira.”

Article I, Section 1 of the Trust
Agreement defines “emplover"” as follows:

"Employer - The term ‘Employer’
as used herein shall mean any
employer who is bound by a
collective bargaining agreement
with the Union, or any employer
not presently a party to such
collective bargaining agreement
who satisfies the requirements
for participation as established
by the Trustees and agrees to
be bound by this Agreement."

Article I, Section 3(a) defines
"employee" as follows:

"(a) A person who is employed
under the terms and conditions

of a collective bargaining agree-
ment entered into between an
Employer as herein defined and a
Union as herein defined, and on
whose behalf payments are required
by such collective bargaining
agreement or apolicable law to be
made to the Fund by the Enployer

14. Section 3.92(a) of the Plan

defines “covered employnent"” as follows:
“(a) Any enployment of an Envloves
for which contributions to the

Pansion 7 911 are Baits or area

-2i-

requiced to be made on his be2nalf

shall be considered Covered

Employment if such contributions

are in accordance witn tne rules

and regulations of this Plan and

Trust Agreement."

15. Article I, Section l, of the
Amended and Restated Agreement and
Declaration of Trust of the Teamsters
Local No. 348 Health and Welfare Fund
defines "Employer" as follows:

"SECTION 1 - EMPLOYER

The term "Employer" as used
herein shall mean:

(a) Any individual, firm,
association, partnership,

or corporation who has duly
executed and/or is bound by

the Collective Bargaining
Agreement with the Union and

in accordance therewith agrees
to participate in ani contribute
to the Trust Fund herein created
and provided for. Any Employer
who contributes to the Trust
Fund created hereunder shall,

by the act of contribduting,
become a party to this Agreement
whether or not any such
contributing Employer has signed
this Agreement or a counterpart
thereof,

(+) Tae 7AiL39" tS tea @s*

x >

solaly to the extant, that its
acts in the canacity of ana
Enployer of its Employess on
whose behalf it makes
contributions to the Trust Fund
in accordance with the Collective
Bargaining Agreement.

(c) The Trustees to the extent
that they act in the capacity

of an Employer of their Employees
on whose behalf they make
contributions to the Trust Fund
in accordance with the Collective
Bargaining Agreement.

(ad) The Employers as defined
herein shall, by the making of
payments to the Trust Fund
pursuant to the Collective
Bargaining Agreement, be
conclusively deemed to have
accepted and be bound by this
Agreement and Declaration of
Trust."

16. Article I, Section 2, defines
"Employees" as follows:

"SECTION 2 - EMPLOYEES

The term "Employees" as used
herein shall mean ani incluie
members of a Collective
Bargaining Unit represented by
the Union who are eligible to
particinate in and receive the

' penefits of the Health anj
Welface Plan and Trust in
ancoridance with this Agcreeneank,
Tn agaition, “ia ter. TEanl sass

shall mean ant iaclade Full-time,
regular enoloyees of Euoloyers
who are not menabers of said
Collective Baragaing Unit of the
Union, of the Union and of the
Trustees. Self-enployed
individuals, pursuant to Section
401(c)(1) of the Internal

Revenue Code, shall be considered
employees. However, not to exceed
10% of the participants."

17. Article I, Section 3, defines
"Union" as follows:

"SECTION 3 - UNION

The term "Union" as used herein

shall mean Teamsters Local No.

348 and its successor."

18. Article I, Section 8, defines
"Emoloyer Contributions" as follows:

"SECTION 8 - EMPLOYER
CONTRIBUTIONS

The term "Employer Contributions"
as used herein shall mean payments
made to the Trust Fund by an
Employer."

19. Article I, Section 15,
defines "Beneficiary" as follows:

"SECTION 16 - BENEFICIARY

a ‘. ~~, . ™ & > ° . oe 8 6s" i sie x
1nm2 cer: wus ae ar mts é . %
* »37308 7:34 743.2 So ca “soierr

—-24-

or by the terms of the Health and
Welfare Plan created pursuant to
this Agreement, who is or may
become entitled to receive a
benefit."

20. Article II, Section 2,
provides in part:
"SECTION 2 -—- EMPLOYER

CONTRIBUTIONS
TO FUND

Each Employer shall contribute
and pay into the Fund the
amount specified in accordance
with the applicable Collective
Bargaining Agreement entered
into with the Union. . .Upon
payment of contributions to the
Trustees, all responsibilities
of the Employer for each
contribution shall cease, and
the Employer shall have no
responsibilities for the acts
of the Trustees, nor shall an
Employer be obligated to see to
the application of any funds

or property of the Trust or to
see that the terms of the

Trust have been complied with."

21. On September 1, 1981,
approximately 29 employees of Kohn
Beverage engaged in an unauthorized work
stoppage. Subsequently, Kohn Beverage,
after advising the subject employees

-25-

that if they did not return to work they
would be fired, on September 2 and 3
proceeded with the termination of the
aformentioned employees.

22. As a result of the strike,
all but two of those employees were
terminated on September 3, 1981.

23. Between September 3, 1981,
and October 1, 1981, the defendant, Kohn
Beverage Company hired a number of
employees to replace the terminated
employees. These new employees were
hired as drivers, salesmen,
warehousemen, and helpers, and in terms
of wages, conditions, and hours of
employment, were treated identically to
their predecessors. .

24. The defendant Kohn Beverage
Company, has not not made any
contributions to the Teamsters Local 348

Health and Welfare fund or the Central

-26<

States Southeast and Southwest Areas
Pension Fund on behalf of any of the
non-union replacements hired after
September 1, 1981, to replace the
discharged employees as described above.

25. The Defendant Kohn Beverage
Company has continued to make payments
to the Central States Pension Fund and
the Teamsters Local Health and Welfare
Program for the two employees who did
not participate in the illegal work
stoppage and were not terminated.

26. At the end of September,
pursuant to the collective bargaining
agreement, the new employees of Kohn
attempted to join the local union.
However, the employees were informed by
Dan Darrow, Secretary Treasurer of Local
348, that the new employees would not be
allowed to join the Local Union.

-27-

27. On October 15, 19£1, several
of the new employees of Kohn Beverage
personally went to the Local 348
headquarters and met with Dan Darrow.
At the meeting, the new employees were
told by Dan Darrow that they would not
be permitted to join the Union, that
they would not be permitted to
participate in the local Union's health
and welfare program, nor in any of the
benefits provided by Teamsters Local
348, including the Pension Program
provided by the Central States Pension
Fund.

28. In addition to being the
Secretary Treasurer of the Teamsters
Local 348, Dan Darrow is also a trustee
and administrator of the Local 348
Health and Welfare Fund. Darrow has
held the position of trustee with the
Local Health and Welfare fund for a

-28-

period of twenty years. Additionally,
Darrow held the position of
administrator of the Local 348 health
and welfare fund for approximately
fifteen years.

29. As administrator of the fund,
Darrow had the duty to supervise the
running of the fund, the negotiating of
the contribution rates within the
contracts, collecting the funds, and
. supervising the payment of claims.

30. Dan Darrow is not an employee
of Central States Southeast and
Southwest Pension Funds. However, Mr.
Darrow negotiated the Pension Plan into
the collective bargaining agreement with
Kohn Beverage, collected funds for the
pensior plan and assisted employees in
their application for membership in the
plan and provided information about the
plan to local members. Additionally,

=%Gu

Dan Darrow, initiated suit on behalf of
the Central States Southeast and
Southwest Areas Pension Fund in the
present action and is the only
individual who ever dealt with Kohn
Beverage on behalf of Central States.

31. After Mr. Darrow informed the
employees on October 15, 1981, that they
would not be permitted to participate in
the Local Health and Welfare program nor
the pension program provided by Central
States, the employees returned to Kohn
Beverage Company, and subsequently, Kohn
Beverage provided for its new employees,
a hospitalization and medical coverage
plan with the Aetna Insurance Company,
and also amended the Kohn Beverage
Company Money Purchase Pension Plan and
Trust to permit the participation in
said Pension Plan by all employees of
the Kohn Beverage Company.

-30<

32. The non-union replacement
employees hired during the period
September 3, 1981, to October 1, 1981
were not covered employees under the
collective bargaining agreement, the
participation agreement, the Central
States Revised and Amended Trust
Agreement, the Central States Plan, or
the health and welfare declaration of
trust.

33. Dan Darrow acted with
apparent authority on behalf of both the
Local 348 Health and Welfare Fund and
Central States Southeast and Southwest
Pension Fund.

34. The defendant, Kohn Beverge
Conia. took a credit for the payments
it made to the Local Health and Welfare
Fund for the month of September, for the
employees it terminated on Septmber 3,

1981.

aS}«

35. Three of the discharged
employees were reinstated to their
employment by an arbitrator's decision.
The defendant, Kohn Beverage Company,
filed suit to vacate those awards. At
this time a court has confirmed the
awards of the arbitrators, however, an
appeal has been taken from the court's
decision.

36. The plaintiffs have failed to
exhaust administrative remedies as
provided by the collective bargaining
agreement.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The collective bargaining
agreement between the parties does not
require the payment of funds to the
Local Health and Welfare Fund or the.
Central States Pension Fund for

employees who are not union members.

-32-

2. The plaintiffs, Teamsters
Local 348 Health and Welfare Fund and
the Central States Southeast Southwest
Pension Fund are estopped from asserting
an action to recover for the non payment
of funds by the employer, Kohn Beverage.

3. The plaintiffs, Teamsters
Local 348 Health and Welfare Fund and
Central States Southeast and Southwest
Areas Pension Fund are not entitled to
recover payments allegedly due by the
defendant Kohn Beverage Company for
non-union employees hired subsequent to
September 3, 1981.

4. The plaintiff Trustees of the
Central States Southeast and Southwest
Areas Pension Fuad and the Local 348
Health and Welfare Fund are not required
to exhaust administrative remedies set
forth in the collective bargaining

agreement. See Robbins v. Prosser's

=33<

Moving & Storage Co., 700 F. 2d 433 (8th

Cir. 1983).

5. The defendant, Kohn Beverage
Company, was entitled to take credit for
the September payments made to the Local
Health and Welfare Fund, on behalf of
the employees who were terminated on
September 3, 1981. No where in the
agreement is it found that the employer
is required to make contributions on
behalf of employees who fail to work any
day of the month. Although the
employees had not yet been terminated,
they were terminated on September 3, and
failed to work any day in September.

6. As for the terminated
employees whose arbitration proceedings
are pending on appeal, the Court
refrains from making any ruling as the
state court proceedings have not yet

been terminated and the Court does not

-34-

find it proper to enter a decision in
regard to the pending state court
actions.

MEMORANDUM OF OPINION

The plaintiff argues that the
defendant, Kohn Beverage, is required to
make payments to both the Local 348
Health and Welfare Fund and to the
Central States Southeast and Southwest
Areas Pension Fund for the non-union
replacement employees hired subsequent
to September 3, 1981. The plaintiffs
argue that the definition of employee
contained in the collective bargaining
agreement, applicable to the parties,
requires that payments be made on behalf
of employees who are both union and
non-union members, as job function
rather than union membership is the test
to determine whether or not an employee

-35-

is covered under the Pension and Health
and Welfare Plans.

The defendant, Kohn Beverage,
argues that the collective bargaining
agreement applicable to the parties only
requires that payments be made on behalf
of employees who are also union members,
and in that the replacement employees
hired subsequent to September 3, 1981,
were denied union membership payments
are not required to the Local Health and
Welfare Fund or the Central States
Pension Fund'on behalf of the non-union
employees.

Article II of the collective
bargaining agreement defines "employees"
as driver salesmen, special drivers,
swing drivers, over the road drivers,
helpers, and warehousemen, garage
mechanics and garage maintenance
employees." There is no question that

=36=

the replacement employees hired
subsequent to September 3, 1981 worked
as driver salesmen, helpers and
warehousemen as described in Article II
of the collective bargaining agreement.
The defendant, however, argues that
Article VI of the Collective Bargaining
Agreement, setting forth the union shop
clause, requiring as a condition of
employment that all employees of the
employer covered by the agreement become
members of the union within 30 days of
being hired, further defines the term
"employees" as requiring union
membership.

The plaintiffs cite a number of
cases in support of the proposition that
an employer is required to make payments
to health and welfare funds and pension
funds for employees who are non-union

members. See Audit Services, Inc. v.

a3 Fe

Rolfson, 641 F. 2d 757 (9th Cir. 1981);

Markt v. Ro-Mart, Inc., 471 F. Suop.

1292 (N.D. Cal. 1979); Manning v.

Wiscombe, 498 F. 2d 1311 (10th Cir.

1974); Central States Southeast &

Southwest Areas Pension Fund vs. Central

Transport, Inc., 698 F. 2d 802 (6th Cir.

1983).

The Court notes that the above
cases, cited by the plaintiff, were
decided on the basis of the language
contained in the collective bargaining
agreements and trust agreements
applicable to the parties. Accordingly,
each case and the applicable agreements
must be reviewed individually to
determine the proper definition of
"employee" as contemplated by the
parties. Thus the Court must review the
collective bargaining agreement and
other relevant documents to determine

-38-

whether contributions are required to be
made to the Local Health and Welfare
Fund and the Central States Pension Plan
on behalf of the non-union employees by
Kohn Beverage.

Upon review of the cases cited by
the plaintiff, the Court finds that the
present case is distinguishable from the
cases cited by the Plaintiff. In Audit

Services, Inc., the trust agreement of

the pension fund specifically stated
that contributions were required whether
an employee is "union, non-union,
permanent or temporary." Thus, the
trust agreement specifically included

non-union members. In Markt v. Ro-Mart,

the collective bargaining agreement
required that payments be made on behalf
of each and every employee.

Furthermore, the trust agreement defined
the term "employees" as "members of said

-39-

union and/or, employees who are eligible
under Union rules and regulations for
insurance or employees who perform, or
any employer who is a party to the
collective bargaining agreement with the
union work which is under the

jurisdiction of the union." In Manning,

the Court found that the collective
bargaining agreement recognized the
union as the bargaining representative
of all employees employed by the
employer in a situation in which the
employer employed large numbers of union
and non-union employees.

In the present case, the
collective bargaining agreement requires
that all individuals become members of
the union within 30 days after being
hired. Additionally, the agreement does
not require the employer to make
contributions on behalf of employees to

-40-

the health and welfare and pension funds
until after 30 days after hire. The
contract requires as a condition of
employment that all employees become
members of the union. There is no
clause either in the collective
bargaining agreement or in the trust
agreements which specifically identifies
employees as including both union and
non-union members.

Article 1.06(a) of the Central
States Pens‘on Plan indicates that
contributions need not be made until at
least 30 days have passed since the
employee has been on the employer's
payroll. Accordingly, the pension plan
defines an employee as a person who has
been on the payroll for at least 30 days.
This is consistent with the fact that an
employee may not become a member of the
union until 30 days after he has been on

-4)]-

the payroll. In Markt, supra, at 1296,
the Court noted that contributions were
required to be made on behalf of
employees at the time they were hired,
indicating that both union and non-union
employees were covered by the collective
bargaining agreement

While the Court is aware of the
decision in Markt, holding that the
Union Shop Clause contained in the
Collective Bargaining Agreement in that
case did not add to the definition of
the term "employee", the Court, upon
reviewing the present agreement, finds
that the Union Shop Clause further
defines the term "employee" as
contemplated by the parties and only
reguires that contributions be made to
the Local Health and Welfare Fund and
the Pension Plan on behalf of Union
members.

-42-

Although the agreement defines
"employees" in the terms of job
description, the agreement further
requires that all individuals become and
remain union members. Obviously, this
was also the view adopted by Dan Darrow,
the individual who negotiated the
clauses into the collective bargaining
agreement, when he informed the new Kohn
employees that they would not be
entitled to any benefits pursuant to the
collective bargaining agreement.

Accordingly, the Court finds that
the collective bargaining agreement
requires that the employer only need
contribute for employees who are also
union members.

The @atendent ad4itionally
requests that this court find that the
plaintiffs be estopped from asserting
their claim to the unpaid contributions.

~~

Upon review of the record, the Court
finds that the plaintiffs" actions
require that they be estopped from
asserting a claim to the unpaid
contributions.

At the time Dan Darrow tatoceed
the new employees of the Kohn Beverage
Company that they would not be entitled
to participate in either the Local
Health and Welfare Fund or the Central
States Pension Fund, he was acting with
apparent authority on behalf of both the
Local Health and Welfare Fund and the
Central States Pension Fund.

Dan Darrow had been a trustee of
the Local Health and Welfare Fund for a
period of 20 years. Additionally,
Darrow had been the administrator of the
Local Health and Welfare Fund for
approximately 15 years. Darrow had the
duty to supervise the running of the

-44-

fund, the negotiating of the
contribution rates with the contracts,
collecting the funds, and supervising

the payment of claims. See Rosen v.

Hotel and Restaurant Emp., 637 F. 2d

592, 595 N.7 (3rd Cir. 1981).

As for the Central States Pension
Fund, although Darrow was not a trustee
or employee of the Pension Plan, he was
the only person with whom Kohn Beverage
had dealt with respect to the Plan. Mr.
Darrow negotiated the pension plan into
the collective bargaining agreement,
collected funds for the pension plan and
assisted employees in their application
for membership in the plan and vrovided
information about the plan to local
members. Mr. Darrow identified himself
as a liason between the employees and
Central States (Tp. at 104).
Additionally, Mr. Darrow also attempted

o45~.

wu

to initiate suit on behalf of the
Central States Pension Plan in the
present case, indicating his belief that
he was acting as an agent of Central
States.

The Court finds that Central
States enabled and authorized Darrow to
act on behalf of Central States to the
extent that Kohn Beverage could
reasonably interpret that Darrow was
acting on behalf of Central States.
Thus, although Darrow was not a trustee
or employee of Central States, the
defendant Central States clothed Darrow
with sufficient authority to bind
Central States on the basis of apparent
authority. °

Accordingly, the Court finds that
Dan Darrow acted with apparent authority
to bind both the Local Health and

Welfare Fund and the Central States

é46<

Pension Fund, when he informed the new
Kohn employees that they would not be
eligible for venefits either under the
Local Health and Welfare Fund or the
Central States Pension Fund.

Four elements must be present in
order to assert the doctrine of estoppel.
These include:

(1) The party to be estopped

must be apprised of the facts;

(2) the party to be estopped must

have intended to impart a

reasonable belief that reliance

was expected; (3) the victim

of the misrepresentation must

be ignorant of the true facts;

and (4) the victim must have

relied to his detriment.

Thurber v. Western Conference of

Teamsters Pension Plan, 542 F. 2d 1106,

1108 (9th Cir. 1976).

While the Court notes that a
number of courts are hesitant to apply
estoppel principles to cases involving
benefit eligibility in certain
circumstances, the Court finds that the

o47J=-

use of estoppel in the present case is

justified. See Scheuer v. Central

States Pension Fund, 358 F. Suop. 1332

(E.D. Wis. 1973).

In Rosen, supra, at 598, the court

held:

The sui generis nature of the
pension agreement. . . should
not immunize it from the
equitable principles that govern
similar agreements. The rising
ethical standards in business
relations which the estoppel
doctrine is designed to enforce
are no less needed in the
administration of pension
CuRGS. « «

As Darrow was acting with apparent
authority on behalf of both the Local
Health and Welfare Fund and the Central
States Rension Plan, knowledge of the
particular facts in regards to the
present action can be imparted to both.

Dan Darrow denied the new Kohn
employees request to join the union and
also informed them that they would not

-48-

b. eligible for benefits pursuant to the
Local Health and Welfare Fund or the
Central States Pension Plan. Dan Darrow
intended that his conduct be acted upon
or at least coulée reasonably forsee
action would be taken in reliance upon
his refusal to allow the new Kohn
employees to join the union or to join
the Local Health and Welfare Fund or the
Pension Plan. Upon the new Kohn
Beverage employees return to the
defendant Kohn Beverage Company, the
defendant, faced with a rather unique
and difficult situation, in reliance
upon Dan Darrow's conduct, formed a new
Health and Welfare Plan for the new Kohn
employees and also a new Pension Plan.
Kohn Beverage in reliance upon Darrow's
assertions that the new employers would
not be covered, and without knowledge

otherwise, relied upon Darrow's

-49-

statements by creating and contributing
to a new health welfare pension plans.
In light of the Court's earlier
determination that the contract does not
require the payment of funds on behalf
of non-union employees to the Local
Health and Welfare Fund or the Central
States Pension Plan, the employer, —
Dan Darrow's refusal to admit the new
Kohn employees to either the Union, the
Local Health and Welfare Fund or the
Central States Pension Plan could not be
held to know that the defendants were
eligible to participate in such plans.

Accordingly, in light of the
foregoing, the Court finds that the
plaintiffs are estopped from asserting
a claim to recover unpaid contributions.

The plaintiffs assert that the
defendant, Kohn Beverage Company, was
not entitled to a credit for the

-50-

September payments made to the funds on
behalf of the employees who were
subsequently terminated. Upon review of
the evidence, the Court finds no clause
requiring that payment is necessary for
employees who are merely on the payroll
on the first day of the month. The
terminated employees in the present case
failed to show up at work any day in
September and were terminated on
September 2, and 3, 1931.

Accordingly, the Court finds that
the defendant is entitled to take a
credit for the payments made on behalf
of those individuals to the Local Health
and Welfare fund and Pension Fund.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

David D. Dowd, Jr.
U.S. District Judge

-5l-

-

ie :
a o- =.) he ine

APPENDIX "B"

The Agreement executed February 20,
1981 provided, in part, as fcilows:

ARTICLE I: RECOGNITION

The employer recognizes the Union as the
sole and exclusive bargaining agent on be-
half of all employees of the employers, as
hereinafter defined in Article II, with re-
pect to wages, hours, and all other terms
or conditions of employment.

ARTICLE ITI: EMPLOYEES DEFINED-EXTENT
OF BARGAINING UNIT

The term “employees", as used in this
Agreement, shall include Driver-Salesmen,
Special Drivers, Swing Drivers, Over-the-
Road Drivers, Helpers and Warehousemen,
Garage Mechanics and Garage Maintenance
employees.

ARTICLE VI: UNION SHOP CLAUSE

It shall be a condition of employment that
all employees of the employers covered by
this Agreement, who are members of the Union
in good standing on the effective date of
this Agreement, shall remain members in good
standing by the payment of membership dues
and those who are not members on the effec-
tive date of this Agreement shall, on the
thirty-first (31st) day following the
effective date of this Agreement, become

and remain members in good standing in the
Union by payment of membership dues. It

@j<-

shall also be a condition of employment
that all employees covered by this Agree-
ment and hired on or after its effective
date shall on the thirty-first (3lst) day
following the beginning of such employment,
become and remain members in good standing
in the Union by payment of membership dues.

ARTICLE XIV: HEALTH AND WELFARE

The employers agree to contribute to the
Teamsters Local No. 348 Health and Welfare
Fund the following amounts for each employee
covered by this Agreement:

Effective January 1, 1981 and January 1,
1982 and January 1, 1983, a sum not to
exceed a maximum of ten percent (10%) in-
crease in monthly contributions; it being
understood that effective January 1, 1980,
the sum of One Hundred Eighty-Five Dollars
($185.00) per month is the contribution
figure which is presently being made by

the employer to tine Teamsters Local No. 348
Health and Welfare Fund for each individual
affected employee.

The employer shall continue to pay contri-
butions for employees for a period of three
(3) months if the employee is absent because
of illness or off-the-job injury or layoff.
The employer shall continue to pay contri-
butions for a period of six (6) months if
the employee is absent because of: an on-the-
job injury.

The employer shall remit all contributions
by the 10th Gay of each month for that month.
Late contributions shall be subject to a ten
percent (10%) late charge ...

o20

+

ARTICLE XVII: PENSION

Effective June 1, 1980, the employer shall
contribute to the Central States, Southeast
and Southwest Areas Pension Fund the sum of
Forty-Six Dollars ($46.00) per week for

each regular employee covered by this Agree-
ment.

Effective June 1, 1981, the employer shall
increase said contribution to Fifty-One
Dollars ($51.00) per week for each regular
employee covered by this Agreement.

Effective June 1, 1982, the employer shall
continue to pay the sum of Fifty-One Dollars
($51.00) per week as contribution to said
fund for each regular employee covered by
this Agreement plus any increase in contri-
butions as same are negotiated in the
National Freight Agreement.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2450%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
