# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Todd v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2280%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1189

## Text

NO.

* % * KX KX *

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

* XK KD *

TERM

* *X KX KX KX KK

LARRY WELDON TODD,

Petitioner

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent

* * KKK KK

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FROM THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

* XK KK *

WALTER E. WILSON
Attorney at Law
507 North Lee
Odessa, Texas 79761
915/332-8221
ATTORNEY FOR LARRY WELDON TODD

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

QUESTION ONE:

Have the district court and the appellate
court in the instant case so far departed from the
accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings
as to call for an exercise of this Court's power of
supervision when it is shown by the record of
this case that the district court and the appellate
court have failed to reasonably construe, failed to
give any effect to, or judicially enlarged Acts of
Congress, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1(b) and 16 U.S.C.
3371 et seq. which, with proper construction,

would exonerate the accused?

i ai ii |

QUESTION TWO:

Has the Court of Appeals decided an import-
ant federal question in a way in conflict with
applicable decisions of this Court when it decided
that Petitioner's motion to dismiss indictment,
motions for directed ‘verdict, and motion for
judgment of acquittal had not raised an issue of
ex post facto judicial construction as defined in
the opinion of this Court rendered in Bouie v.

City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 8&4 S.Ct. 1697,

12 L.Ed.2d 894, thereby becoming in direct

conflict therewith?

QUESTION THREE:

Has the Court of Appeals' decision that
"Since the claim of an ex post facto violation was
not urged in district court, this court may only
consider it on appeal if it constituted plain error
under Rule 52(b), Fed.R.Cr.P.", decided an
important question of federal law which has not
been, but should be decided by this Court in
that by the rendition of such decision, the
appellate court has imposed an impossible and
illogical burden upon the accused, by ruling
that he should be able to foresee and raise in
the trial court an unforeseeable judicial con-

struction?

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

APPELLANT:
ATTORNEY:

APPELLANT:
ATTORNEY:

APPELLEE:
ATTORNEY:

LARRY WELDON TODD
Walter E. Wilscn

JAMES CLYDE SHORT, JR.
Bill G. Alexander

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Christopher Nuechterlein

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW i-ili
LIST OF ALL PARTIES iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Vi-Vviii
OFFICIAL AND "JNOFFICIAL
REPORTS OF OPINIONS DELIVERED
IN COURTS BELOW ix
STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS
AND STATUTORY PROVISION
CONFERRING JURISDICTION X-xXii
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND ALL STATUTES INVOLVED Xli- Xili
PREAMBLE 1-2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3-6
ARGUMENT AMPLIFYING REASONS
RELIED UPON FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT
Ba QUESTIONS ONE AND TWO 7-16
7 QUESTION THREE 17-26
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 26
APPENDICES
1. OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS A1-26

2. VERBATUM QUOTATIONS B1-16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Bouie v. City of Columbia,
378 U.S. 347,
84 S.Ct. 1697,
12 L.Ed.2d 894 (1964)

Chapman v. California,
87 S.Ct. 824,
386 U.S. 18,
17 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967)

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts,
388 U.S. 130,
18 L.Ed.2d 1094,
87 S.Ct. 1975 (1967)

Douglas v. Buder,
412 U.S. 430,
93 S.Ct. 2199,
37 L.Ed.2d 52 (1973)

Huff v. United States,
192 F.2d 911 (Sth Cir. 1951)

Johnson v. Zerbst,
304 U.S. 458, 464,
58 S.Ct. 1019, 1923,
82 L.Ed. 1461

Jordan v. DeGeorge,
341 U.S. 223, 230,
71 S.Ct. 703, 707,
95 L.Ed. 886 (1951)

Lanzetta v. New Jersey,
306 U.S. 451, 453,
59 S.Ct. 618, 619,
83 L.Ed. 888

Marks v.United States,
430 U.S. 188,
97 S.Ct. 990,
51 L.Ed.2d 260 (1977)

vi

Page

a, m8. GS. 7,
12-14, 15,
17, 20, 21,
22, 23, 24

20-21

19

14

12

19

14, 15

McBoyle v. United States,
283 U.S. 25, 27,
51 S.Ct. 340, 341,
75 L.Ed. 816

Pierce v. United States,
314 U.S. 306, 311,
62 S.Ct. 237, 239,
86 L.Ed. 226.

Silber v. U.S.,
370 U.S. 717,
8 L.Ed.2d 798,
82 S.Ct. 1287

Sykes v. United States,
373 F.2d 607, CCA 5,
1966, cert. denied,
87 S.Ct. 1172

United Brotherhood, C.J.
v. United States,
330 U.S. 395, 412,
91 L.Ed. 973, 987,
67 S.Ct. 775

United States v. Atkinson,
297 U.S. 157, 160,
80 L.Ed. 555, 557,
56 S.Ct. 391

U. S. v. Brown,
555 F.2d 407 (Sth Cir. 1977)

United States v. Campanale,
518 F.2d 352 (9th Cir. 1975)

United States v. Cardiff,
344 U.S. 174, 176-177,
73 S.Ct. 189, 190,
97 L.Ed. 200

Vii

18

17

18

18

15

12

United States v.Harris,
347 U.S. 612, 617,
74 S.Ct. 808, 812,
98 L.Ed. 989

Constitution of the United States,

Article 1, Section 9, Clause 3

Constitution of the United States,

Amendment V

Constitution of the United States,

Amendment XIV, Section 1

28 U.S.C. 1254(1)

18 U.S.C. 371

18 U.S.C. 29

18 U.S.C. 43

18 U.S.C. 52

16 U.S.C. 3371, 3372, and 3373

16 U.S.C. 742j-1(a) & (b)

16A Am Jur 2d,
Constitutional Law, §635

Wright, Federal Practice and
Procedure: Criminal 2d,
Sections 851-856

Vili

a a

13, 14

xi, 5, Bl

xiii, 5, 8,
15, 19, Bl

xili, 5,
Bl-2

xii

xiii, 3, 9,
12, B2

xiii, 3,
B16

xiii, B2-6
iii, Xii,
xili, 6, 17,
20, B15

= = FF
3, 8-9,
B7-14

i, Xi, xiii,

3-5, 8-11
B14-15

21

22

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS
DELIVERED IN COURTS BELOW

The following pertinent documents have been
reproduced and are set forth in Appendix A.

Rs INDEX PAGE 5 from the
PROCEEDINGS RECORD

2. ORDER denying Petitioner's
Motion for Judgment of Acquittal

3. JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/
COMMITMENT ORDER - October 6,

4. ORDER denying Petitioner's
Motion for Reduction of Sentence

vu

AMENDED JUDGMENT AND
PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER -
January 13, 1984

6. OPINION of the Court of Appeals

~)

ORDER denying Petitioner's Petition

for Rehearing and Petition for Rehearing

En Banc

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS

The Judgment and _ Probation/Commitment
Order rendered by the Honorable Lucius D.
Bunton, United States District Judge for the
Western District of Texas, Midland-Odessa,
Division, was rendered on October oS, 1963,
and was amended on January 13, 1984. This
documentation is attached hereto as a part of
Appendix A.

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals
rendered on June 14, 1984, and the Order deny-
ing Petitioner's Petition for Rehearing and Petition
for Rehearing En Banc, dated August 3, 1984,
are also reproduced in Appendix A.

The statements of the grounds on which the
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked are as

follows:

1. The district court and the appellate court in
the instant case have so far departed from the
accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings

as to call for an exercise of this Court's power of

x

supervision when it is shown by the record of
this case that the district court and the appellate
court have failed to reasonably construe, failed to
give any effect to, or judicially enlarged Acts of
Congress, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1(b) and 16 U.S.C.
3371 et seq. which, with proper construction,

would exonerate the accused.

2. The Court of Appeals has decided an import-
ant federal question in a way in conflict with
applicable decisions of this Court when it decided
that Petitioner's motion to dismiss indictment,
motions for directed verdict, and motion for
judgment .f acquittal had not raised an issue of
ex post facto judicial construction as defined in
the opinion of this Court rendered in Bouie v.

City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 84 S.Ct. 1697,

12 L.Ed.2d 894, and has thereby become in direct

conflict therewith.

3. The Court of Appeals' decision that "Since
the claim of an ex post facto violation was not
urged in district court, this court may only

consider it on appeal if it constituted plain error

xi

Te

under Rule 52(b), Fed.R.Cr.P.", has decided
an important question of federal law which has
not been, but should be decided by this Court
in that by the rendition of such decision, the
appellate court has imposed an impossible and
illogical burden upon the accused, by ruling
that he should be able to foresee and raise in
the trial court an unforeseeable judicial con-

struction.

STATUTORY PROVISION
CONFERRING JURISDICTION

Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this
Honorable Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1):

"By writ of certiorari granted upon
the petition of any party to any civil
or criminal case, before or after rend-
ition of judgment or decree. . . "

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND ALL STATUTES INVOLVED

These citations pertain to all constitutional
provisions and statutes involved in this case.

The pertinent text is set forth in Appendix B.

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
ARTICLE 1, SECTION 9, CLAUSE 3.

¢ xii

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
AMENDMENT V.

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
AMENDMENT XIV, SECTION 1.

18 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
SECTION 371.

18 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
SECTION 43.

16 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
SECTIONS 3371, 3372, 3373.

16 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
SECTIONS 742j-1(a) & (b).

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE,
18 U.S.C.A. 52.

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE,
18 U.S.C.A. 29.

Xiii

PREAMBLE

LARRY WELDON TODD, Petitioner for writ of
certiorari, respectfully prays that this Honorable
Supreme Court respond to his plea for justice.

All are taught from childhood to have faith in
a judicial system which bases its decisions on logic
and that the function of the United States Supreme
Court is to uphold the Constitution.

The legal profession and the court system are
often criticized by the news media and by laymen
because, too often, the rights of an individual are
ignored. This situation occurs because of the
enormity of the caseload and the inability of the
courts to hear each individual cane upon a case
by case basis. Therefore, the courts are forced
to hear only cases involving the masses or touch-
ing upon some tremendous social issue. Often
there is no one to hear the individual's complaint
and his right to be heard is ignored.

This failure of the system to hear the com-

plaints of individual persons creates contempt,

despair, and loss of faith in the judicial system,
and makes a mockery of justice.
Again, Petitioner prays that this Honorable

Court hear his plea.

C a, WELDON TOSD

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The government indicted and tried LARRY
WELDON TODD, hereinafter called TODD, and
others for conspiring (under 18 U.S.C. 371) to
violate the LACEY ACT AMENDMENTS (16 U.S.C.
3371, et seq.) by engaging in commercial activity
dealing in wildlife that had been illegally taken by
the use of an airborne helicopter in violation of
the AIRBORNE HUNTING ACT, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1.

Prior to trial, TODD filed a motion to dismiss
the indictment and during trial filed motions for
directed verdict. At the conclusion of the trial
and the return of the jury's verdict of guilty,
TODD moved for a judgment of acquittal under
Rule 29, FRCrP. In each instance, the requested
relief was denied. TODD appealed and in the
Court of Appeals raised the issue of the ex post
facto application of the LACEY ACT and the AIR-
BORNE HUNTING ACT as they had been uniquely
and unforeseeably construed by the district court.

The record reflects that JAMES CLYDE

SHORT, JR., hereinafter called SHORT, helicopter

=

pilot and co-conspirator, was found by the
Court of Appeals to have a valid permit to hunt
coyotes from the air. TODD purchased coyote
pelts from SHORT to be taken in the future.
TODD'S reasonably intelligent construction of the
AIRBORNE HUNTING ACT is that 16 U.S.C.
742j-1(a) narrowly and precisely prohibits the
hunting of any animal, etc. from an airborne
aircraft, while Section (b) narrowly and precisely
provides that Section (a) shall NOT apply if such
person holds a permit issued by any state, there-
fore facially declaring that it shall NOT be a crime
TO TAKE a deer or any other animal if the taker
holds a permit. (All emphasis herein is added
unless the contrary is indicated. )

The district court, by denial of TODD'S
motion for dismissal of the indictment, denial of
his motions for directed verdict, and motion for
judgment of acquittal, construed 16 U.S.C. 742j-1
to mean that, regardless of the fact that SHORT
had a permit under 16 U.S.C. 742j-1(b), an offer
to take someone airborne hunting would be a

criminal act. ‘lhe Court of Appeals for the first

ofe

time in the case found SHORT had a permit
under Section (b), but gave it no effect except
as a basis of SHORT'S guilty knowledge. The
LACEY ACT, both before the amendment dated
November 16, 1981, and after, narrowly and
precisely deals with TAKEN game and further
provides that TAKEN game must have been
ILLEGALLY TAKEN. Thus, the construction
and enlargement by the district court of the
LACEY ACT to include wildlife TO BE TAKEN in
the future and the Court of Appeals' failure to
give any effect to the license or permit of SHORT
was complained of in the appellate court as being
in violation of the constitutional rights of TODD
by failing to give him fair notice of this construc-
tion and by becoming thereby ex post facto in

violation of the UNITED SYLATES ‘CONSTITUTION,

Article 1, Section 9, Clause 3, the FIFTH AMEND-

MENT, and the FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.

The appellate court has ruled that TODD did
not raise the ex post facto issue in the district
court and that the ex post facto construction issue

did not warrant consideration under the plain error

oS—

doctrine, Rule 52(b), FRCrP. It thereby ruled
that TODD should have foreseen the unforeseeable
and imposed upon him an impossible burden.

After the rendition of the Court of Appeals'
ruling, Petitioner filed a petition for rehearing in
which he again specifically pointed out the errors
of construction, the judicial enlargement, and ex
post facto application of same, and the exoneration
of the accused which should have resulted from
the finding of the appeals court of the license or
permit held by SHORT. The petition for rehear-
ing was denied.

TODD now appeals to this court praying
that this Court will grant the writ of certiorari,
reverse the courts below and acquit Petitioner,
or remand this cause for further consideration
in the appropriate lower court in the light of the
decisions of this Court in Bouie and other cases

discussed, infra.

ee

ARGUMENT AMPLIFYING REASONS RELIED UPON
FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

QUESTIONS ONE AND TWO:

BOTH THE DISTRICT COURT AND COURT OF
APPEALS IN THE INSTANT CASE HAVE SO FAR
DEPARTED FROM THE ACCEPTED AND USUAL
COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS TO CALL
FOR THE SUPERVISION OF THE UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT and BOTH THE DISTRICT
COURT AND COURT OF APPEALS HAVE DECIDED
AN IMPORTANT FEDERAL QUESTION IN A WAY
IN CONFLICT WITH APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT.

"No one may be required at peril of life, lib-
erty or property to speculate as to the meaning of
penal statutes. All are entitled to be informed as
to what the State commands or forbids." Lanzetta

v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453, 59 S.Ct. 618,

619, 83 L.Ed. 888, McBoyle v. United States, 283

U.S. 25, 27, 51 S.Ct. 340, 341, 7 L.Ed. 816;

United States v. Cardiff, 344 U.S. 174, 176-177,

73 S.Ct. 189, 190, 97 L.Ed. 200, Pierce v. United

States, 314 U.S. 306, 311, 62 S.Ct. 237, 239, 86

L.Ed. 226. cf. Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378

U.S. 347, 84 S.Ct. 1697, 12 L.Ed.2d 894 (1964).
It is a tenet of our jurisprudence that "crim-

inal statutes which fail to give due notice that an

oJo

act has been made criminal before it is done are
unconstitutional deprivations of due process of

law." Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223, 230,

71 S.Ct. 703, 707, 95 L.Ed. 886 (1951).
Petitioner contends that both the district
court and the appellate court have, WITHOUT
FAIR NOTICE, in violation of his right to due
process of law as guaranteed him in the Fifth
Amendment to the Constitution, judicially enlarged
and expanded, retroactively, the clear, precise,
and narrow meaning of two statutes: 16 U.S.C.

742j-1 and 16 U.S.C. 3371, et seq. (AIRBORNE

HUNTING ACT and LACEY ACT of November 16,

1981, respectively).

The government, in its zeal to obtain a fel-
ony conviction of the accused, has successfully
urged upon the courts an illogical construction of
the two statutes. The government's position is
that TODD conspired to violate the LACEY ACT
(i.e., to commercially deal in wildlife which was to
be TAKEN by illegal means) and that the ILLEGAL
TAKING of said wildlife was accomplished by

the use of a helicopter piloted by an alleged

-8-

co-conspirator, SHORT, contrary to the AIR-

BORNE HUNTING ACT. 18 U.S.C. 371 (the
conspiracy statute) provides that if two or more
persons conspire to commit an offense against
the United States and one or more persons do
any act to effect the object of the conspiracy,
each shall be fined not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned not more than 5 years or both, but
if the objective crime of the conspiracy is a
misdemeanor, then the punishment shall be for
a misdemeanor. As overt acts, the government
alleged that TODD issued two checks payable to
SHORT and also made some offers to others to go
HUNTING. The government's case, for example,
did NOT prove that TODD offered to sell anyone
any "TAKEN" wiidlife or engaged in conduct
dealing in "TAKEN" wildlife. Under 16 U.S.C.
3371(i) the term "TAKEN" means CAPTURED,
KILLED, or COLLECTED. The evidence was,
therefore, insufficient to support a conviction
of conspiracy to violate the LACEY ACT. If
the conspiracy charged had been to violate the

AIRBORNE HUNTING ACT, the evidence was

=9-

apparently sufficient to convict TODD of a misde-

meanor, ASSUMING that SHORT had no license or
permit.

SHORT did not testify and TODD raised the
issue of the license or permit held by SHORT to
legally take wildlife which had been issued by the
State of Texas. The government has conceded
and the appellate court has found that SHORT did
in fact, have the required license or permit. /
Therefore, both the district court and the appel-
late court have construed the permit section of
the statute, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1(b), wherein it
states "this section SHALL NOT APPLY if a per-
son holds a license or permit issued by any state

"to have no effect whatsoever. (emphasis
added) This. ruling was first made by the
district court in its refusal to grant Petitioner's
motions for directed verdict and his motion for
judgment of acquittal in which he generally raised

the ex post facto issues. The appellate court's

FN1. BEFORE THIS JUDICIAL FINDING OF A DIS-
PUTED FACT ISSUE BY THE COURT OF
APPEALS, TODD HAD RAISED THE ISSUE
AS AN INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE POINT.

-10-

construction of the statute is found in its ruling

that while SHORT held a permit to hunt coyotes,
its only effect was to prove the guilty knowledge
of SHORT. Neither the trial court nor the appel-
late court considered the precise and narrow
meaning of the permit exception and if it might
even apply to the facts of this case. 16 U.S.C.
742j-1(b) clearly and unambiguously grants and
gives to the helicopter pilot an unfettered exemp-
tion from the sanctions set forth in 742j-1(a).
The statute, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1(b) as enacted by
Congress, granting the exemption to hunt wildlife
while airborne, narrowly, precisely, and specif-
ically provides: "This section [16 U.S.C. 742j-1
(a)] shall NOT apply if such person .. . is
operating under a license or permit of, any State

" Had Congress intended for the exemption
to apply only to wildlife authorized by the license
or permit (such as coyotes), it should have so
specifically provided in order to put Petitioner on
FAIR NOTICE that his contemplated conduct in

allegedly offering hunts from the air for other

animals was to be illegal. Because Congress did

«jt.

not specifically provide that it would be illegal
TO TAKE from the air, in an airborne aircraft,
any other animals, such as deer, when such per-
son had the required license or permit, it must
be presumed that such TAKING would be legal.
Therefore, because SHORT had ‘the license or
permit, which the government conceded and the
appellate court found, under a proper construc-
tion of said Act there was no CRIME that TODD
agreed to commit in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371,
of which he has been convicted. Further, there
was no illegal game or wildlife to be commercially
sold in violation of the LACEY ACT. Therefore,
the application by the Court of Appeals of the

rule announced in Huff v. United States, 192

F.2d 911 (‘5th Cir. 1951) and United States v.

Campanale, 518 F.2d 352 (9th Cir. 1975), in

support of its decision, DOES NOT APPLY as
there was no objective crime for the continuing
conspiracy to bring to completion.

This Court in Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378

U.S. 347, 84 S.Ct. 1697, 12 L.Ed.2d 894 (1964)

has specifically held:

St

"The basic principle that a criminal statute
must give fair warning of the conduct that
makes it a crime has often been recognized by
this Court. As was. said in United States v.

Harriss, 347 U.S. 612, 617, 74 S.Ct. 808,
812, 98 L.Ed. 989, 'The constitutional re-
quirement of definiteness is violated by a
criminal statute that fails to give a person of
ordinary intelligence fair notice that his con-
templated conduct is forbidden by the statute.
The underlying principle is that no man shall
be held criminally responsible for conduct
which he could not reasonably understand to
be proscribed'."

"It is true that in the Connally and Lan-
zetta cases, and in other typical applications
of the principle, the uncertainty as to the
statute's prohibition resulted from vague or
overbroad language in the statute itself, and
the Court concluded that the statute was ‘void
for vagueness’. The instant case seems dis-
tinguishable, since on its face. . (the statute
under question). . was admirably narrow and
precise; .. . . The thrust of the distinction,
however, is to produce a potentially greater
deprivation of the right to fair notice in this
sort of case, where the claim is that a statute
precise on its face has been unforeseeably
and retroactively expanded by judicial con-
struction, than in the typical 'void for vague-
ness' situation. When a statute on its face is
vague or overbroad, it at least gives a poten-
tial defendant some notice, by virtue of this
very characteristic, that a question may arise
as to its coverage, and that it may be held to
cover his contemplated conduct. When a
statute on its face is narrow and precise,
however, it lulls the potential defendant into
a false sense of security, giving him no
reason even to suspect that conduct clearly
outside the scope of the statute as written
will be retroactively brought within it by
judicial construction."

«tie

"There can be no doubt that a deprivation
of the right to fair warning can result not
only from vague statutory language but also
from an unforeseeable and retroactive judicial
expansion of narrow and precise statutory
language."

"The fundamental principle that '‘'the re-
quired criminal law must have existed when
the conduct in issue occurred,' (citation omit-
ted) must apply to bar retroactive criminal
prohibitions emanating from courts as well as
_from legislatures. If a judicial construction of
a criminal statute is ‘unexpected and indefen-
sible by reference to the law which had been
expressed prior to the conduct in issue,’ it
must not be given retroactive effect." (cita-
tion omitted)

The construction of the acts in question by
the district court and the appellate court was and
is clearly in error. Obviously, this construction
was not reasonably foreseeable by the appellant
or any other reasonably intelligent person, and
the denial of his claim of ex post facto relief by
the appellate court is in direct conflict with this

court's decisions in Bouie, supra; U.S. v. Harris,

347 U.S. 612, 74 S.Ct. 808, 98 L.Ed. 989 (1954);

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, supra; Marks v.United

States, 430 U.S. 188, 97 S.Ct. 990, 51 L.Ed.2d

260 (1977); and Douglas v. Buder, 412 U.S. 430,

93 S.Ct. 2199, 37 L.Ed.2d 52 (1973).

-34-

"(A)n unforeseeable judicial enlargement of
a criminal statute, applied retroactively, oper-
ates precisely like an ex post facto law such
as Art. 1, sec. 10, Cin this case Art. 1,
sec. 9, cl. 3) of the Constitution forbids.
If a state legislature is barred by the Ex Post
Facto clause from passing such a law, it must
follow that the State Supreme Court is barred
by the Due Process Clause from achieving
precisely the same result by judicial con-
struction." Boule, supra, at 353, 354,
84 S.Ct. at 1703 and quoted in U. S. v.
Brown, 555 F.2d 407, (5th Cir. 1977).

Persons have a right to fair warning of that
conduct which will give rise to criminal penalties.
That right is protected against judicial action by
the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment.

Marks v. United States, supra.

CONCLUSION

Therefore, the supervision of this Court is
called upon to rectify the clear error of the courts
below that departed from the usual and accepted
course of judicial proceedings by failing to prop-
erly construe the acts in question. Further
supervision of the Court is necessary as it relates
to the failure of the Court of Appeals to consider
the claimed error of the trial court in refusing the

motion to dismiss indictment, motions for directed

«ii.

verdicts, and motion for judgment of acquittal as

it relates to the issue of post-trial judicial enlarge-
ment or expansion of a narrowly and precisely
worded statute. It is submitted that counsel for
the accused and the courts were without the nec-
essary guidance because this Court has not ruled
on the necessary way or manner of bringing an
ex post facto unforeseeable judicial expansion
decision of a lower court's construction of a penal
statute to the attention of the appellate court.

For this reason, the Court should grant the
writ of certiorari and clarify, amplify, and estab-
lish the procedural steps to be taken to properly
bring before the Court the issue of an unforesee-

able ex post facto judicial enlargement question.

«it-

ARGUMENT AMPLIFYING REASONS RELIED UPON

FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

QUESTION THREE:

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS DECIDED AN
IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW, i.e.,
THAT A CLAIMED ERROR OF EX POST FACTO
JUDICIAL CONSTRUCTION IN VIOLATION OF
CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS CAN BE CONSIDERED
ONLY UNDER THE PLAIN ERROR DOCTRINE AND
IF IT IS HARMLESS, DISREGARD IT, WHICH HAS
NOT, BUT SHOULD BE, DECIDED BY THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT.

In the instant case, the Court of Appeals has

decided that TODD, under the logic of Sykes v.

United States, 373 F.2d 607, CCA 5, 1966, cert.

denied, 87 S.Ct. 1172, in failing to present the
ex post facto judicial expansion or enlargement
construction question to the trial court, failed to
preserve his error and that the appellate court
could only consider same under the plain error
rule set forth in 52(b) FRCrP, 18 U.S.C. This
ruling, in and of itself, violates or is contrary to
the reasoning in precedents of this Court as they
apparently apply to Bouie-type situations created

by an unforeseeable event.

The error committed in this case is so obvi-
ous and plain that the Court of Appeals should

have noticed it sua_ sponte. Silber v. U.S.,

370 U.S. 717, 8 L.Ed.2d 798, 82 S.Ct. 1287:
"While ordinarily we do not take note of errors
not called to the attention of the Court of Appeals
nor properly raised here, that rule is not without
exception. The Court has 'the power to notice a
"plain error" though it is not assigned or spec-

ified .' United Brotherhood, C.J. v. United

States, 330 U.S. 395, 412, 91 L.Ed. 973, 987, 67
S.Ct. 775. 'In exceptional circumstances, espe-
cially in criminal cases, appellate courts, in the
public interest, may, of their own motion, notice
errors in which no exception has been taken, if
the errors are obvious, or if they otherwise seri-
ously affect the fairness, integrity, or public

reputation of judicial proceedings.' United States

v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157, 160, 80 L.Ed. 555,

557, 56 S.Ct. 391."
The decision of the Court of Appeals in this
case places an impossible burden on the accused

to foresee and object to the unforeseeable. In

«18

the Court of Appeals, Petitioner in his motion for

rehearing again raised the ex post facto issue
and specifically pointed out to the Court that its
judicial finding of the fact that SHORT had the
required license or permit had exonerated him
from guilt. The denial of the motion for rehear-
ing is also complained of in this proceeding. The
rulings by the appellate court, in and of them-
selves, deny Petitioner due process of law in vio-
lation of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution.
The decision of the Court of Appeals effectively
states that, by not raising the question presented
in the trial court balow, Petitioner waived the.
claim of ex post facto judicial construction. This

Court has held in Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts,

388 U.S. 130, 18 L.Ed.2d 1094, 87 S.Ct. 1975
(1967) ". . . It is clear that even constitutional
objections may be waived by a failure to raise
them at a proper time . . . (citation omitted) but
an effective waiver must, as was said in Johnson

v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464, 58 S.Ct. 1019,

1923, 82 L.Ed. 1461 be one of a ‘known right or

privilege'."

=19~

In this case, Petitioner has attempted, with

every procedural device within his knowledge and
command, to bring to the courts' attention the
obvious errors that were being committed. The
errors committed by the courts below are certainly
substantial and injurious to Petitioner and the
courts' rulings on same were, are, and continue
to be, erroneous. They are of such a nature as
to seriously affect the fairness, integrity, or
public reputation of judicial proceedings. The
obviously erroneous judicial construction of the
two acts in question has been held sufficient to
CONVICT TODD of the crime of conspiracy and
shall deprive TODD of his liberty for one year
and cost him a $10,000 fine. If ever an error
was "PLAIN" as set forth in Rule 52(b), FRCrP,
18 U.S.C., and unforeseeable as set forth in
Bouie, supra, it is apparent in the instant
case and should have been considered under
Rule 52(b).

In Chapman v. California, 87 S.Ct. 824,

386 U.S. 18, 17 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967), this Court

announced that "there are some _ constitutional

-20-

rights so basic to a fair trial that their infraction
can never be treated as harmless error." 87

S.Ct. at 827-828.

CONCLUSION

There are several categories of ex post facto
deprivations of constitutional rights generally seen
in the case law.” The three basic categories are:

Ri A statute which punishes as a crime
an act previously committed; and

2. Criminal statutes so vague that reason-
ably intelligent persons would be required to
speculate as to their meaning; and

3. Clear, precise, and narrow statutes
given an unforeseeable judicial interpretation
which expands the statute to punish an act of
an accused person.

On the above three categories, much has been
decided wy this Court concerning the first two.

The third category is specifically defined and dis-

tinguished in Bouie, supra. This Court has not

FN2. For a detailed categorization, see 16A AmJur2d,

§635 at pgs 585-586.

-21-

written on the implications of Bouie, supra, and
more particularly, has not yet concerned itself
with the relationship of this third category of
ex post facto deprivation to the plain error rule.

As discussed in Wright, Federal Practice and

Procedure: Criminal 2d, Sec. 851-856, pgs 294-

344, and specifically in Section 855, pg 330, after
discussing the types of constitutional violation of
rights which the courts have held to require auto-
matic reversal: "In which category other constitu-
tional violations fall cannot be definitely known
until the Surpeme Court has spoken about them."
This statement also applies to the application of
the plain error rule to a Bouie-type ex post facto
deprivation of rights -- a "potentially greater"
deprivation than that posed by merely vague
statutes or post dated ones. FAIR NOTICE is the
gravamen of the error. In the face of an unfore-
sceabie, potentially greater deprivation of con-
stitutional rights of the appellant herein, the
Court of Appeals has applied the plain error rule
as though the Bouie category ex post facto

problem were one of the other two categories

-22-

wherein it can be said that an accused has had at
least some notice that the statute may be applied
against him. Here, as in all Bouie situations, the
Petitioner had no notice, i.e., the interpretation
of a statute against him was unforeseeable, and
therefore it is notoriously and monstrously unfair
to apply a rule requiring him to preserve error at
the trial level in the district court. The Court of
Appeals has held that Petitioner must foresee the
unforeseeable. With the greatest respect to the
Court of Appeals, the lack of guidance from this
Court has caused them to apply an illogical and
unfair rule to Petitioner, and to do so in a deci-
sion which wanders and wallows in superficial
phraseology about the plain error rule. The
Court of Appeals almost appears to consciously
avoid the real questions: Was the trial court's
interpretation unforeseeable? If so, how could it
be fair to require its urging in the trial court?
If not, was the deprivation so great that the
question could be raised in the Court of Appeals,
and, procedurally, how do you raise the point, if

NOT done so in the present case?

-23-

The appeal court's decision deals with the
first of the three types of ex post facto depriva-
tions which were raised at trial. It is submitted
that the Court of Appeals fell into error in
attempting to apply those rules set down by this
Court to a Bouie situation, wherein those rules
are inappropriate and inapplicable. If Bouie were
amplified and explained by this Court, at least
insofar as is required to set up guidelines for the
application of the plain error rule as it relates to
unforeseeable, expansive, judicial interpretation
of a statute, then the error in this case will be
corrected, and perhaps those in the future better
avoided.

It is, therefore, respectfully submitted tha*
appropriate guidelines for applying the plain error
rule to Bouie ex post facto deprivations be estab-
lished by this Court.

It is submitted that because of the unfore-
seeability of the adverse finding inherent in a
Bouie situation, the Court of Appeals should first
determine whether Bouie applies, i.e., whether

the judicial construction is actually urforeseeable.

-24-

Then, if not, the plain error rule should be

applied as in other cases. If so, then this Court
should rule that an accused always be permitted to
raise for the first time on appeal an unforeseeable
judicial construction. Such a guideline, if applied
below, would have freed Petitioner, and if applied
henceforth, will help to avoid the illogical and
dangerous constitutional deprivations resulting
from application of the plain error rule to Bouie
situations where it cannot possibly produce a fair
result.

It is, therefore, respectfully prayed that
this Court decide this important question of
federal law which has not been, but should be
decided by this Court.

WHEREFORE, Petitioner prays that this Court
grant his application for a writ of certiorari; and
upon a hearing hereof, the Court reverse the
decision of the courts below and acquit Petitioner;
OR, in the alternative, that this Court reverse
and remand this case to the proper court for
further proceedings consistent with this Court's

decisions.

-25-

Respectfully submitted,

WALTER E. LSON, Attorney at law
507 North Lee, Odessa, Texas 79761
915/332-8221 Texas Bar No. 21729000
ATTORNEY FOR LARRY WELDON TODD

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this LES aay of
September, 1984, a true and exact copy of the
foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari on behalf
of Larry Weldon Todd, has been mailed to:

Mr. Christopher Nuechterlein, Attorney
Wildlife & Marine Resources Section
Land & Natural Resources Division

U. S. Department of Justice

Room 639, Todd Building

550 - llth Street, N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20530

WALTER E. WILSON

-26-

EXCERPT FROM DOCKETING SHEET:

7: CR-83-0021-04
US V BELL ET AL

PROCEEDINGS

PAGE 5

09/13/83

31 Motion to dismiss filed (MOT#29) (Counts
1,4) (Filed Motion to dismiss indictment. )
(Dkt'd 09/22/83).

Motion to dismiss denied (MOT#29) (Dkt'd
09/22/83).
09/14/83

Motion made in open court for judgment of
acquittal (MOT#30) (Counts 1,4) (Dkt'd
09/22/83).

Motion for Judgment of acquittal denied
(MOT#30) (Dkt'd 09/22/83).

Al

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
MIDLAND-ODESSA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA )
VS. ) MO-83-CR-21
LEE MILTON BELL, KARL )

DOUGLAS BROSIG, JAMES

CLYDE SHORT, JR., and

LARRY WELDON TODD
ORDER

On this date came on to be considered Defend-
ants' Motion for a Judgment of Acquittal in the
above-styled cause, and this Court, after fully
considering this Motion, is of the opinion that
this motion is without merit.

Accordingly,

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that Defendant's
Motion for a Judgment of Acquittal Notwithstand-
ing the Verdict is DENIED.

SIGNED and ENTERED this the Ist day of
October, 1983.

/s/ Lucius D. Bunton
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A2

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
MIDLAND-ODESSA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.
DEFENDANT: LARRY WELDON TODD

Docket No. MO 83 CR 21 (4)

JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the attorney for the government
the defendant appeared in person on this date:
October 6, 1983

COUNSEL: WITH COUNSEL, Walter Wilson
PLEA: NOT GUILTY

FINDING & There being a verdict of guilty by
JUDGMENT: jury trial on September 15, 1983.
Defendant has been convicted and
charged of the offense(s) of On or
about August, 1981 and continuous-
ly thereafter up to and including
July 26, 1983 defendant committed
offenses against the United States
in violation of the Lacey Act, 16
USC §3372(a)(1), 3373(1)(B) and
the Airborne Hunting Act, 16 USC
$741j-1 and 18 U.8.C., §371.

SENTENCE The court asked whether defendant

OR had anything to say why judgment
PROBATION should not be pronounced. Because
ORDER: no sufficient cause to the contrary

was shown, or appeared to the
court, the court adjudged the
defendant guilty as charged and
convicted and ordered that: The

A3

COMMITMENT
RECOMMEN-
DATION:

defendant is hereby committed to
the custoy of the Attorney General
or his authorized representative
for imprisonment for a period of
One (1) year and pay a $10,000
committed fine.

The court orders commitment to the
custody of the Attorney General
and recommends, defendant is to
contact the U.S. Marshals Office
in Midland, Texas by 10:00 A.M.
on October 24, 1983 to ascertain
where he is to voluntarily commit
himself.

/s/ Lucius D. Bunton
LUCIUS D. BUNTON
October 6, 1983

A4

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
MIDLAND-ODESSA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
VS. NO. MO-83-CR-21(4)
LARRY WELDON TODD

ORDER

Came on this day for consideration Defend-
ant LARRY WELDON TODD's Motion for Reduction
of Sentence, filed pursuant to Rule 35 of the
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. The Court
continues to be of the opinion that the sentence
imposed was just and proper under the facts of
the case; accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that Defendant's Motion for
Reduction of Sentence be and is hereby DENIED.

In response to Defendant's request for clari-
fication of whether he was sentenced for the com-
mission of a felony or a misdemeanor, the Court
hereby informs him that the sentence imposed falls
under a felony designation.

SIGNED and ENTERED this 13th day of

January, 1984.

/s/ Lucius D. Bunton
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A5

etn wt

2 eke Ahan abate ee

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
MIDLAND-ODESSA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA vs.
DEFENDANT: LARRY WELDON TODD
Docket No. MO 83 CR 21 (4)

AMENDED
JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the attorney for the government
the defendant appeared in person on this date:
October 6, 1983.

COUNSEL: WITH COUNSEL, Walter Wilson
PLEA: NOT GUILTY

FINDING & There being a verdict of guilty by
JUDGMENT: jury trial on September 15, 1983.
Defendant has been convicted and
charged of the offense(s) of on or
about August, 1981 and continuous-
ly thereafter up to and including
July 26, 1983 defendant committed
offenses against the United States
in violation of the Lacey Act, 16
USC §3372(a)(1), 3373¢d)(1)(B)
and the Airborne Hunting Act, 16
USC §741j-1 and 18 U.S.C., §371.

SENTENCE The court asked whether defendant

OR had anything to say why judgment
PROBATION should not be pronounced. Because
ORDER: no sufficient cause to the contrary

was shown, or appeared to the
court, the court adjudged the
defendant guilty as charged and
convicted and ordered that: The

A6

COMMITMENT
RECOMMEN-
DATION:

defendant is hereby committed to
the custoy of the Attorney General
or his authorized representative
for imprisonment for a period of
One (1) year and pay a $10,000.00
committed fine.

The court orders commitment to the
custody of the Attorney General
and recommends, defendant is to
contact the U.S. Marshals Office
in Midland, Texas by 10:00 A.M.
on October 24, 1983 to ascertain
where he is to voluntarily commit
himself.

/s/ Lucius D. Bunton
LUCIUS D. BUNTON
January 13, 1984

AZ

(eeaeesieeee i sinaiedineei

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-1748

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff- Appellee,
versus

LARRY WELDON TODD and
JAMES CLYDE SHORT, JR.,

Defendants-Appeliants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western [strict of Texas

( June 14, 1984 )

Before GOLDBERG, RUBIN and REAVLEY, Circuit
Judges.

REAVLEY, Circuit Judge:

Larry Todd and James Short appeal their con-
victions for conspiracy, in violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 371 (1976), to violate the Lacey Act, 16 U.S.C.
§§ 3372(a)(1), 3373(¢d)(1)B) (Supp. 1981), which
prohibits the sale of wildlife taken or possessed in
violation of federal law -- here, The Airborne
Hunting Act, 16 U.S.C. 742j-1 (1976). Short
appeals his convictions for substantive violations

of the Lacey Act and the Bald Eagle Protection

A8

Act, 16 U.S.C. § 668(a) (1976). Both appellants
challenge the sufficiency of the evidence and con-
tend that their convictions under the Lacey Act
violated the constitutional prohibition of ex post
facto laws since the alleged conspiracy began prior
to amendments to the Act enhancing the penalties
for its violation. We affirm the decision of the
district judge except as to Short's substantive
violation of the Lacey Act in Count II of the

indictment.
es.

Todd, a gunshop owner, offered hunters a
package arrangement for airborne hunts of wild-
life. The package included a guaranteed, trophy-
size animal, transportation by helicopter, a guide
(Short), use of guns provided by Todd, and
services of a taxidermist. The cost of a hunt
ranged from $1,000 to $5,000, depending on the
type and number of game animals sought.

One hunter testified that on January 22, 1982,
he went on a hunt with Short, killing a barbado
sheep, for which pleasure he paid $600. Another

hunter on the same trip admitted killing a young

A9

eagle, either golden or bald, a mule deer, and a
javelina. Because these animals were not trophy-
size he was not required to pay a fee for the hunt
but agreed to pay $250 for expenses. A gun
belonging to Todd was used on the hunt. Both
hunters testified on behalf of the government in
exchange for reduced sentences for violations of
the Lacey and Airborne Hunting Acts.

On April 1, 1982, Todd offered an airborne
hunt for elk, mule deer, and antelope to another
hunter. This conversation was captured on tape
and played to the jury. There was evidence of
other offers of hunts. In October or November
1981, for example, Todd offered a hunter an air-
borne hunt of whitetail deer, mule deer, big horn
sheep, and possibly mountain lion or cougar for
a price of $2,000. These events may have
occurred prior to the November 16, 1981 effective
date of the amendments to the Lacey Act enhanc-
ing the penalties for its violation. See 16 U.S.C.
§ 3373.

Todd and Short were each convicted of con-

spiracy to violate the Lacey Act and sentenced to

Al0

one year imprisonment and a $10,000 committed
fine. Short was convicted of a substantive viola-
tion of the sac Act, for which he received a
sentence of six months imprisonment, to run con-
secutively to the sentence for conspiracy, and a
$5,000 fine; he was also convicted of violating the
Bald Fagle Protection Act, for which he received
a suspended sentence of one year imprisonment.
II.

Todd and Short argue that their convictions

under the Lacey Act violated the constitutional

prohibition against ex post facto laws, U.S.

Const., art. I, § 9, cl. 3, and the Due Process
Clause of the Fifth Amendment. The conspiracy
began prior to November 16, 1981, the effective
date of the amendments enhancing the penalties
for violation of the Lacey Act. 16 U.S.C. § 3373.
Appellants maintain that their convictions were
void since the agreement to violate the Act ante-
dated the amendments. We disagree.

The former version of the Lacey Act, which
dates back to 1900, made illegal the transportation,

receipt, acquisition, or purchase of wild mammals

All

or birds "killed, taken, purchased, sold or other-
wise possessed in any manner contrary to any Act
of Congress .. . State [law] . . . or foreign
{law}]." 18 U.S.C. § 43, amended by 16 U.S.C.
§§ 3371, 3372, 3373 (Supp. V 1981). The act
imposed a penalty of not more than a $500 fine or
six months imprisonment. Id. The 1981 amend-
ments proscribed essentially the same conduct as
the prior version, 16 U.S.C. §§ 3372(a)(1)), (2),
but enhanced the penalty for violations. 16 U.S.C.
§ 3373. For knowing violations in which the
market value of the animals killed exceeded $350,
the amendments imposed a penalty not to exceed a
$20,000 fine or five years imprisonment. 16 U.S.C.
§ 3373(d)(1). For knowing violations involving
animals with a market value less than $350, the
amendments imposed a maximum penalty of a
$10,000 fine and one year imprisonment. Id.
§ 3373(d)(2).

The ex post facto clause applies to any law

that imposes punishment for an act which was
not criminal at the time it was committed or that

aggravates a crime making it greater than it was

Al2

ee

when it was committed. See Marks v. United

States, 430 U.S. 188, 192, 97 S.Ct. 990, 993

(1977); United States v. Mann, 517 F.2d 259, 269

(Sth cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1087

(1976). Since the amendments to the Act enhance
the penalty for its violation, prosecution of acts
occurring prior to its effective date under the

new felony provisions would violate the ex post

facto prohibition.

Since the claim of an ex post facto violation

was not urged in district court, this court may
only consider it on appeal if it constituted plain
error under Rule 52(b), Fed. R. Cr. P. Sykes

v. United States, 373 F. 2d 607, 612 (5th Cir.

1966), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 977 (1967). Plain

error is that which is "so obvious that failure to
notice it would 'seriously affect the fairness,
integrity, or public reputation of the judicial

proceedings.' " United States v. Brown, 634

F.2d 819, 829 (5th Cir. 1981), quoting United

States v. Musquiz, 445 F.2d 963, 966 (5th Cir.

1971); 3A C. Wright, Federal Practice and Proce-

dure § 856 at 340 (1982). Whether an appellate

A13

court should take notice of error not raised in the
district court must be determined on the basis of

the facts of the particular case. United States

v. Jones, 673 F.2d 115, 119, (5th Cir. 1982);

3A C. Wright, supra.

The specific error complained of here is that
the district judge failed to give proper instruc-
tions to the jury regarding the dates of the
alleged acts constituting the conspiracy, so that
the jury considered evidence of hunts or offers
of hunts occurring prior to the 1981 amendments
in reaching a guilty verdict. This court address-

ed a similar question in United States v. Brown,

555 F.2d 407 (5th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435

U.S. 904 (1978). There, several police officers
were accused of racketeering and conspiracy to
violate the racketeering act in a scheme spanning
a period of two decades. The scheme involved
numerous individuals and many of the acts took
place prior to the effective date of the Organized
Crime Control Act of 1970, which made racketeer-
ing illegal. The district judge did not advise the

jury of the effective date of the act or that it

Al4

must find evidence of a conspiracy of which the
accused was a member after the effective date of
the Act. Thus, the appellants were indicted and
tried for conduct which occurred prior to the
enactment of the statute which made it unlawful.
This court therefore found the convictions con-
stitutionally defective.

In Brown the conspiracy provisions of the act
were applied retroactively in the indictment and in
the jury instructions, thereby allowing appellants
to be convicted for acts that were innocent before
the law was passed. Id. at 420. By contrast,
the indictment in the case before us alleges only
two overt acts by the appellants that occurred
prior to the effective date of the Lacey Act
amendments; all of the other acts occurred during
the effective period of the amendments. ! Most of
: The indictment alleges the following overt acts.
Only items (b) and (e) occurred prior to the
effective date of the Act.

a. The Acts described on Count II through IV

of this indictment are incorporated herin by

,eference, and constitute overt acts.

b. In or about November 1981 LARRY WELDON
TODD, defendant, issued a check for

Al5

eS ee ee ee

the evidence focused on events that occurred
within the effective date of the amendments. The
record includes a tape recording of Todd making
an offer of an airborne hunt in April 1982. Wit-
nesses testified that Short took them on an air-
borne hunt in January 1982. Unlike Brown the
record here clearly establishes violations of the
amended act by the appellants during the relevant

time period. In light of this evidence we cannot

$9,000 to JAMES CLYDE SHORT, JR.,
defendant.

c. In or about December 1981 LARRY WELDON
TODD, defendant, issued a check for
$15,000 to JAMES CLYDE SHORT, JR.,
defendant.

d. In or about April 1982 LARRY WELDON
TODD, defendant, offered to Bruce Young
an airborne hunting trip for $2500 and
$3000. ,

e. In or abo at October 1981 LARRY WELDON
TODD, defendent, offered Brooks Harmon,
Jr., an airborne hunting trip for several
thousand dollars.

f. In or about November 1981 KARL DOUGLAS
BROSIG, defendant, had a conversation
with Jerry Taylor.

g. During the period of this conspiracy KARL
DOUGLAS BROSIG, defendant, did taxj-
dermy work on game animals killed by *
individuals.

Al16

say that failure to give the jury instruction was

so deficient as to result in the likelihood of a
grave miscarriage of justice or circumstances that
seriously affect the fairness, integrity, or public
reputation of judicial proceedings. See United

States v. Jones, 673 F.2d at 119.

Furthermore, (a conspiracy is a _ continuing
crime; it is not completed at the time the agree-
ment was entered. 18 U.S.C. § 371 (1976); Huff

v. United States, 192 F.2d 911, 914-15 (5th Cir.

1951). We have held that "where a crime is still
being carried on and continued after the date
when the act becomes effective," a statute impos-
ing a greater penalty for conspiracy does not
violate the constitutional prohibition of ex post
facto laws. Huff, 192 F.2d at 915. Accord

United States v. Campanale, 518 F.2d 352, 365

(9th Cir. 1975). In this case the conspiracy
clearly continued past the effective date of the
amendments enhancing the penalty.
III.
Todd and Short also claim that the evidence is

insufficient to sustain their convictions under any

Al7

eT eT TT

of the counts in the indictment. "It is not neces-
sary that the evidence exclude every reasonable
hypothesis of innocence or be wholly inconsistent
with every conclusion except that of guilt, pro-
vided a reasonable trier of fact could find that
the evidence establishes guilt beyond a reasonable

doubt." United States v. Bell, 678 F.2d 547, 549

(5th Cir. 1982) (en banc).
A.

Both Todd and Short contend that the evidence
is insufficient to establish a conspiracy. To prove
a conspiracy, the government must show beyond a
reasonable doubt that a conspiracy existed, that
the appellants had knowledge of it, and that with
this knowledge they voluntarily became a part of

it. United States vy. Bankston, 603 F.2d 528, 531

(5th Cir. 1979). In this case the testimony of
witnesses who participated in the conspiracy pro-
vided direct evidence of its existence. The
government produced a taped telephone convers-
ation in which Todd offered to provide an airborne
hunt of wildlife. Witnesses testified that Short

conducted a hunt in January 1982. Jurors could

A18

have reasonably inferred that the use of Todd's
gun on the hunt conducted by Short in January
provided evidence of a conspiracy between the
two. They may reasonably have inferred that
Short was the guide who conducted the hunts
offered by Todd. We hold that there was suffi-
cient evidence to support the jury finding of
guilty as to the conspiracy charge.
B.

Todd and Short also contend that the govern-
ment failed to establish the ‘wo essential elements
of the Lacey Act: (1) that they knowingly pro-
moted airborne hunts of wildlife, and (2) that the
wildlife had a market value in excess of $350. To
warrant felony punishment the government must
prove that each appellant knew that wildlife with
a market value of $350 was taken in violation of
state or federal law. 16 U.S.C. § 3373(da)(1)(B).
The government need not prove that the appel-
lants knew of the existence of the Lacey Act
itself, only that they knew of the illegal nature of

the game. S. Rep. No. 123, 97th Cong., Ist

Sess. 11, reprinted in 1981 U.S. Code Cong. &

A19

Admin. News 1748, 1758.. Todd testified that he
knew that hunting from a helicopter was a viola-
tion of federal law. Short's knowiedge may be
inferred from the totality of the circumstances of

the case. See United States v. Fonseca, 490 F.2d

464, 470 n.5 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S.

1072 (1974). Short had a permit to hunt coyotes
from the air and had extensive experience as a
hunter. From these facts the jury could reason-
ably have inferred that Short was aware that
hunting animals from an aircraft violated federal
law. We see no deficiency in the proof of this
element.
C.

The appellants also contend that the govern-
ment failed to establish that the game taken had
a market value in excess of $350. On the January
1982 hunt one hunter paid a fee of $600 and killed
a barbado sheep, which does not qualify as wild-
life under Texas law, see Tex. Parks & Wild.
Code § 63.001 (Vernon 1976), and therefore does
not constitute a violation of the Lacey Act. See

16 U.S.C. § 3372(a). The other hunter paid only

A20

$250 to cover the expenses of the hunt since the
eagle, deer, and javelina were not of sufficient
size to qualify as trophies under the terms of the
guaranty. Appellants therefore maintain that the
$350 market value was not established.

We have no difficulty with the convictions for
conepiracy to violate the Lacey Act. Under the
conspiracy charge the government is only requir-
ed to prove that at least one overt act was taken
by one of the conspirators in futherance of the
conspiracy; it need not prove that the substantive

offense was consummated. United States v.Jacobs,

451 F.2d 530, 539-40 (Sth Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 405 U.S. 905 (1972). Both Todd and
Short offered airborne hunts of wildlife at prices
ranging from $1,000 to $5,000. A commercial
arrangement whereby a professional guide offers
his services to obtain wildlife illegally is an offer
to sell wildlife. S. Rep. No. 123, 97th Cong.,

lst Sess. 12, reprinted in 1981 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News at 1759. The best indication of
the value of the game "sold" in this manner is

the price of the hunt. The evidence thus estab-

A21

Ase: «odie ee di mn ay Se? nd

lishes that the appellants conspired to take game
with a market value exceeding $350.
D.

Short was convicted of a substantive violation
of the Lacey Act. To establish such a violation,
the government must prove that the market value
of the animals taken exceeded $350. 16 U.S.C.
§ 3373(d)(1). The only evidence the government
offered as to the actual value of the game taken
was the price of $1,200 quoted in the offer by
Short and the $250 amount actually paid for the
hunt by the hunter who killed the wildlife. The
government argues that this proof is adequate to
Support the conviction inasmuch as one hunter
paid $600 for the hunt, even though he did not
kill wildlife; and the hunt was part of a commer-
cial operation, the target of the felony provision
of the Act. See S. Rep. No. 123, 97th Cong.,

lst Sess. 11, reprinted in 1981 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News at 1759.
We cannot agree. It is true that, had one of
the animals been large enough to mount as a

trophy, the proof would have supported a value

A22

of $1,200. Nonetheless, the statute requires
proof of the value of the wildlife actually taken.”
The government offered no evidence that the
value of the dead eagle, deer, or javelina
exceeded $350. Consequently, we hold that the
evidence was insufficient to support Short's con-*
viction under the substantive violation of the
Lacey Act. That conviction is reversed.
IV.

We affirm the conviction of Larry Todd on
count I of the indictment and affirm the conviction
of James Short on Counts I and III. The govern-

ment failed to prove a felony violation of the Lacey

2 Criminal Penalties

(1) Any person who --

(B) violates any provision of this chapter
(other than section 3372(b) of this title)
by knowingly engaging in conduct that
involves the sale or purchase of, the offer
of sale or purchase of, or the intent to sell
or purchase, fish or wildlife or plants with
a market value in excess of $350,

knowing that the fish or wildlife or plants were
taken, possessed, transported, or sold in viol-
ation of, or in a manner unlawful under, any
underlying law, treaty or regulation, shall be
fined not more than $20,000 or imprisoned for
not more than five years or both.

A23

eo tne aw area tl

Ph

Oe ees

a

Act against James Short under count II. Double

jeopardy bars his retrial. Burks v. United States,

437 U.S. 1, 10-11, 98 S.Ct. 2141, 2147 (1978).
The sentences imposed on Short are vacated and
we remand the case for resentencing of Short on
counts I and III of the indictment. The district
court, upon resentencing, may impose no more
than a maximum sentence of one year and six
months imprisonment, together with no greater
than $15,000 fine.

AFFIRMED as to Larry Weldon Todd; AFFIRMED
IN PART and REVERSED IN PART as to James
Clyde Short, Jr. and REMANDED FOR RESEN-
TENCING.

Aza é

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-1748

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee ,

versus

LARRY WELDON TODD and
JAMES CLYDE SHORT, JR.,

Defendants-Appellants.

~~

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas

ON PETITIONS FOR REHEARING AND
SUGGESTIONS FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 06/14/84, 5Cir., 198, F.2d )
(August 3, 1984)

Before GOLDBERG, RUBIN and REAVLEY,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petitions for Rehearing are DENIED and no
member of this panel nor Judge in regular active
service on the Court having requested that the
Court be polled on rehearing en banc, (Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local Rule 35)
the Suggestions for Rehearing En Banc are
DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Thomas M. Reavley
United States Circuit Judge

A25

*

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
Article 1, Section 9, Clause 3.

Bill of attainer and ex post facto laws

No Bill of Attainer or ex post facto Law shall
be passed.

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
AMENDMENT V.

No person shall be held to answer for a
capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on
a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury,
except in cases arising in the land or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the same offence to be twice
put in jeoparty of life or limb; nor shall be com-
pelled in any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or pro-
perty, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without
just compensation.

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES,
AMENDMENT XIV, Section 1.

All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,
are citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges
or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

Bl

or property, without due process of law; nor deny
to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

18 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
Section 371.

If two or more persons conspire either to
commit any offense against the United States, or
to defraud the United States, or any agency
thereof in any manner or for any purpose, and
one or more of such persons do any act to effect
the object of the conspiracy, each shall be fined
not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than
five years, or both.

If, however, the offense, the commission of
which is the object of the conspiracy, is a misde-
meanor only, the punishment for such conspiracy
shall not exceed the maximum punishment provided
for such misdemeanor. June 25, 1948, c.645, 62
Stat. 701.

18 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
Section 43.

(a) Any person who--

(1) delivers, carries, transports, or ships,
by any means whatever, or causes to be deliv-
ered, carried, transported, or shipped for
commercial or noncommercial purposes or sells
or causes to be sold any wildlife taken, trans-
ported, or sold in any manner in violation of
any Act of Congress or regulation issued there-
under, or

(2) delivers, carries, transports, or ships,
by any means whatever or causes to be deliv-
ered, carried, transported, or shipped for
commercial or noncommercial purposes or sells
or causes to be sold in interstate or foreign
commerce any wildlife taken, transported, or

B2

: sold in any manner in violation of any law or
regulation of any State or foreign country; or

(b) Any person who-

(1) sells or causes to be sold any products
manufactured, made, or processed from any
wildlife taken, transported, or sold in any man-
ner in violation of any Act of Congress or
regulation issued thereunder, or

(2) sells or causes to be sold in interstate
or foreign commerce any products manufac-
tured, made, or processed from any wildlife
taken, transported, or sold in any manner in
violation of any law or regulation of a State or
a foreign country, or

(3) having purchased or received wildlife
imported from any foreign country or shipped,
transported, or carried in interstate commerce,
makes or causes to be made any false record,
account, label, or identification thereof, or

: (4) receives, acquires, or purchases for
commercial or noncommercial purposes any wild-
life--

(A) taken, transported, or sold in viola-
tion of any law or regulation of any State or
foreign country and delivered, carried,
transported, or shipped by any means or
method in interstate or foreign commerce, or

(B) taken, transported, or sold in viola-
tion of any Act of Congress or regulation
issued thereunder, or

(5) imports from Mexico to any State, or
exports from any State to Mexico, any game
mammal, dead or alive, or part or product
thereof, except under permit or other author-
ization of the Secretary or, in accordance with
any regulations prescribed by him, having due
regard to the requirements of the Migratory

B3

Birds and Game Mammals Treaty with Mexico
and the laws of the United States forbidding
importation of certain live mammals injurious to
agriculture and horticulture;

shall be subject to the penalties prescribed in
subsections (c) and (d) of this section.

(c)(1) Any person who knowingly violates, or
who, in the exercise of due care, should know
that he is violating, any provision of subsection _
(a) or (b) of this section may be assessed a civil
penalty by the Secretary of not more than $5,000
for each such violation. Each viglation shall be
a separate offense. No penalty shall be assessed
unless such person is given notice and opportun-
ity for a hearing with respect to such violation.
Any such civil penalty may be compromised by the
Secretary. Upon any failure to pay the penalty
assessed under this paragraph, the Secretary may
request the Attorney General to institute a civil
action in a district court of the United States for
any district in which such person is found or
resides or transacts business to collect the pen-
alty and such court shall have jurisdiction to hear
and decide any such action. In hearing such ac-
tion, the court shall have authority to review the
violation and assessment of the civil penalty de
novo.

(2) Any employee .uithorized by the Secre-
tary to enforce the provisions of this section, or
any officer of the customs, shall have authority to
execute any warrant to search for and seize any
wildlife, product, property, or item used or
possessed in violation of this section with respect
to which a civil penalty may be assessed pursuant
to paragraph (1) of this subsection. Such wild-
life, product, property, or item so seized shall be
held by such employee pending disposition of pro-
ceedings by the Secretary involving the assess-
ment of a civil penalty pursuant to paragraph (1)
of this subsection; except that the Secretary may,
in lieu of holding such wildlife, product, prop-
erty, or item, permit such person to post a bond

B4

ie tl

or other security satisfactory to the Secretary.
Upon the assessment of a civil penalty pursuant
to paragraph (1) of this subsection for any non-
willful violation of this section, such wildlife,
product, property, or item so seized may be
proceeded against in any court of competent
jurisdiction and forfeited to the Secretary for
disposition by him in such manner as he deems
appropriate. The owner or consignee of any
such wildlife, product, property, or item so
seized shall, as soon as ‘practicable following
such seizure, be notified of that fact in accord-
ance with regulations established by the Secretary
or the Secretary of the Treasurer. Whenever
any wildlife, product, property, or item is seized
pursuant to this subsection, the Secretary shall
move to dispose of the civil penalty proceedings
pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection as
expeditiously as possible. If, with respect to
any such wildlife, product, property, or item so
seized, no action is commenced in any court of
competent jurisdiction to obtain the forfeiture of
such wildlife, product, property, or item within
thirty days following the disposition of proceed-
ings involving the assessment of a civil penalty,
such wildlife, product, property, or item shall
be immediately returned to the owner or the
consignee in accordance with regulations promul-
gated by the Secretary.

(d) Any person who knowingly and willfully
violates any provision of subsection (a) or (b) of
this section shall, upon conviction, be fined not
more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than
one year, or both.

(e) Any wildlife or products thereof seized
in connection with any knowing and willful viola-
tion of this section with respect to which a pen-
alty may be imposed pursuant to subsection (d)
shall, upon conviction of such violation, be for-
feited to the Secretary to be disposed of by him
in such manner as he deems appropriate. Any
other property or item so seized may upon
conviction, in the discretion of the court, be

B5

forfeited to the United States or otherwise dis-
posed of. The owner or consignee of any such
wildlife, product, property, or item so _ seized
shall, as soon as_ practicable following such
seizure, be notified of that fact in accordance
with regulations established by the Secretary or
the Secretary of the Treasury. If no conviction
results from any such alleged violation, such
wildlife, product, property or item so seized in
connection therewith shall be immediately returned
to the owner or consignee in accordance with
regulations promulgated by the Secretary, unless
the Secretary, within thirty days following the
final disposition of the case involving such
violation, commences’ proceedings under sub-
section (c) of this section.

(f) For the purpose of this section, the
term--

(1) "Secretary" means the Secretary of
the Interior;

(2) "person" means any individual, firm,
corporation, association, or partnership;

(3) "wildlife" means any wild mammal,
wild bird, amphibian, reptile, mollusk, or
crustacean, or any part, egg, or offspring
thereof, or the dead body or parts thereof,
but does not include migratory birds for
which protection is afforded under the Migra-
tory Bird Treaty Act, as amended;

(4) "State" means the several States, the
District of Columbia, the Commonwealth’ of
Puerto Rico, American Samoa, the Virgin
Islands, and Guam; and

(5) "taken" means captured, _ killed,
collected, or otherwise possessed.

As amended Dec. 5, 1969, Pub.L. 91-135, § 7(a),
83 Stat. 279.

B6

ois ooo ol town *

uit a tn

16 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
Sections 3371, 3372, 3373

Section 3371. Definitions

For the purposes of this chapter:

(a) The term "fish or wildlife" means any wild
animal, whether alive or dead, including without
limitation any wild mammal, bird, reptile, amphib-
ian, fish, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod,
coelenterate, or other invertebrate, whether or
not bred, hatched, or born in captivity, and
includes any part, product, egg, or offspring
thereof.

(b) The term "import" means to land on, bring
into, or introduce into any place subject to the
jurisdiction of the United States, whether or not
such landing, bringing, or introduction constitutes
an importation within the meaning of the customs
laws of the United States.

(c) The term "Indian tribal law" means any
regulation of, or other rule of conduct enforce-
able by, any Indian tribe, band, or group but
only to the extent that the regulation or rule
applies within Indian country as defined in section
1151 of Title 18.

(d) The terms "law," "treaty," "regulation,"
and "Indian tribal law" mean laws, treaties, reg-
ulations or Indian tribal laws which regulate the
taking, possession, importation, exportation,
transportation, or sale of fish or wildlife or
plants.

(e) The term "person" includes any individual,
partnership, association, corporation, trust, or
any officer, employee, agent, department, or
instrumentality of the Federal Government or of
any State or political subdivision thereof, or any
other entity subject to the jurisdiction of the
United States.

B7

(f) The terms "plant" and "plants" mean any
wild member of the plant kingdom, including roots,
seeds, and other parts thereof (but excluding
common food crops and cultivars) which is indig-
enous to any State and which is either (A) listed
on an appendix to the Convention on International
Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and
Flora, or (B) listed pursuant to any State law that
provides for the conservation of species threat-
ened with extinction.

(g) The term "Secretary" means, except as
otherwise provided in this chapter, the Secretary
of the Interior or the Secretary of Commerce, as
program responsibilities are vested pursuant to
the provisions of Reorganization Plan Numbered 4
of 1970 (84 Stat. 2090); except that with respect
to the provisions of this chapter which pertain to
the importation or exportation of plants the term
means the Secretary of Agriculture.

(h) The term "State" means any of the several
States, the District of Columbia, the Common-
wealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam,
Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, and
any other territory, commonwealth, or possession
of the United States.

(i) The term "taken" means captured, killed,
or collected.

(j) The term "transport" means to move, con-
vey, carry, or ship by any means, or to deliver
or receive for the purpose of movement, convey-
ance, carriage, or shipment.

(Pub.L. 97-79, § 2, Nov. 16, 1981, 95 Stat. 1073.)

Section 33:%. Prohibited acts

(a) Offenses other than marking offenses

It is unlawful for any person-

B8

(1) to import, export, transport, sell,
receive, acquire, or purchase any fish or wildlife
or plant taken or possessed in violation of any
law, treaty, or regulation of the United States or
in violation of any Indian tribal law;

(2) to import, export, transport, sell,
receive, acquire, or purchase in interstate or
foreign commerce-

(A) any fish or wildlife taken, possessed,
transported, or sold in violation of any law or
regulation of any State or in violation of any
foreign law, or

(B) any plant taken, possessed, trans-
ported, or sold in violation of any law or
regulation of any State;

(3) within the special maritime and territorial
jurisdiction of the United States (as defined in
section 7 of Title 18)-

(A) to possess any fish or wildlife taken,
possessed, transported, or sold in violation
of any law or regulation of any State or in
violation of any foreign law or Indian tribal
law, or

(B) to possess any plant taken, possessed,
transported, or sold in violation of any law or
regulation of any State;

(4) having imported, exported, transported,
sold, purchased, or received any fish or wildlife
or plant imported from any foreign country or
transported in interstate or foreign commerce, to
make or submit any false record, account, label,
or identification thereof; or

(5) to attempt to commit any act described in
paragraphs (1) through (4).

B9

(a) Marking offenses

It is unlawful for any person to import, export,
or transport in interstate commerce any container
or package containing any fish or wildlife unless
the container or package has previously been
plainly marked, labeled, or tagged in accordance
with the regulations issued pursuant to paragraph
(2) of section 3376(a) of this title.

(Pub.L. 97-79, § 3, Nov. 16, 1981, 95 Stat. 1074.)

Section 3373. Penalties and sanctions

(a) Civil penalties

(1) Any person who engages in conduct pro-
hibited by any provision ,»of this chapter (other
than section 3372(b) of this title) and in the
exercise of due care should know that the fish
or wildlife or plants were taken, possessed,
transported, or sold in violation of, or in a manner
unlawful under, any underlying law, treaty, or
regulation, may be assessed a civil penalty by the
Secretary of not more than $10,000 for each such
violation: Provided, That when the _ violation
involves fish or wildlife or plants with a market
value of less than $350, and involves only the
transportation, acquisition, receipt of fish or
wildlife or plants taken or possessed in violation
of any law, treaty, or regulation of the United
States, any Indian tribal law, any foreign law, or
any law or regulation of any State, the penalty
assessed shall not exceed the maximum provided
for violation of said law, treaty, or regulation, or
$10,000, whichever is less.

(2) Any person who violates section 3372(b) of
this title may be assessed a civil penalty by the
Secretary of not more than $250.

(3) For purposes of paragraphs (1) and (2),

any reference to a provision of this chapter or
to a section of this chapter shall be treated as

B10

including any regulation issued to carry out any
such provision or section.

(4) No civil penalty may be assessed under this
subsection unless the person accused of the viola-
tion is given notice and opportunity for a hearing
with respect to the violation. Each violation shall
be a separate offense and the offense shall be
deemed to have been committed not only in the
district where the violation first occurred, but
i also in any district in which a person may have
taken or been in possession of the said fish or
wildlife or plants.

£16 ie lage st ihe alain eh hdl ide

(5) Any civil penalty assessed under this
subsection may be remitted or mitigated by the
Secretary.

Dit AD tit St AB oI ag BEY

(6) In determining the amount of any penalty
assessed pursuant to paragraphs (1) and (2), the
Secretary shall take into account the nature, cir-
cumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited
act committed, and with respect to the violator,
the degree of culpability, ability to pay, and such
other matters as justice may require.

PAA. a

(b) Hearings

Hearings held during proceedings for’ the
: assessment of civil penalties shall be conducted in
accordance with section 554 of Title 5. The admin-
istrative law judge may issue subpenas (sic) for
the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the
production of relevant papers, books, or docu-
ments, and may administer oaths. Witnesses
summoned shall be paid the same fees and mileage .
that are paid to witnesses in the courts of the
United States. In case of contumacy or refusal to
obey a subpena (sic) issued pursuant to this
paragraph and served upon any person, the
district court of the United States for any district
in which such person is found, resides, or trans-
acts business, upon application by the United
States and after notice to such person, shall have
jurisdiction to issue an order requiring such

Bll

person to appear and give testimony before the
administrative law judge or to appear and produce
documents before the administrative law judge, or
both, and any failure to obey such order of the
court may be punished by such court as a con-
tempt thereof.

(c) Review

Any person against whom a civil penalty is
assessed under this section may obtain review
thereof in the appropriate district court of the
United States by filing a notice of appeal in such
court within thirty days from the date of such
order and by simultaneously sending a copy of
such notice by certified mail to the Secretary.
The Secretary shall promptly file in such court
a certified copy of the record upon which such
violation was found or such penalty imposed, as
provided in section 2112 of Title 28. If any per-
son fails to pay an assessment of a civil penalty
after is has become a final and unappealable order
or after the appropriate court has entered final
judgment in favor of the Secretary, the Secretary
may request the Attorney General of the United
States to institute a civil action in an appropriate
district court of the United States to collect the
penalty, and such court shall have authority to
review and decide any such action. In hearing
such action, the court shall have authority to
review the violation and the assessment of the
civil penalty de novo.

(d) Criminal Penalties
(1) Any person who-

(A) Knowingly imports or exports any fish
or wildlife or plants in violation of any pro-
vision of this chapter (other than section
3372(b) of this title), or

(B) violates any provision of this chapter
(other than section 3372(b) of this title) by
knowingly engaging in conduct that involves

B12

the sale or purchase of, the offer of sale or
purchase of, or the intent to sell or pur-
chase, fish or wildlife or plants with a market
value in excess of $350,

knowing that the fish or wildlife or plants were
taken, possessed, transported, or sold in violation
of, or in a manner unlawful under, any under-
lying law, treaty or regulation, shall be fined not
more than $20,000, or imprisoned for not more that
five years, or both. Each violation shall be a
separate offense and the offense shall be deemed
to have been committed not only in the district
where the violation first occurred, but also in
any district in which the defendant may have
taken or been in possession of the said fish or
wildlife or plants.

(2) Any person who knowingly engages in con-
duct prohibited by any provisions of this chapter
(other than section 3372(b) of this title) and in
the exercise of due care should know that the fish
or wildlife or plants were taken, possessed, trans-
ported, or sold in violation of, or in a manner
unlawful under, any underlying law, treaty or
regulation shall be fined not more that $10,000, or
imprisoned for not more than one year, or both.
Each violation shall be a separate offense and the
offense shall be deemed to have been committed
not only in the district where the violation first
occurred, but also in any district in which the
defendant may have taken or been in possession
of the said fish or wildlife or plants.

(e) Permit sanctions

The Secretary may also suspend, modify, or
cancel any Federal hunting or fishing license,
permit, or stamp, or any license or permit
authorizing a person to import or export fish or
wildlife or plants (other than a permit or license
issued pursuant to the Magnuson Fishery Con-
servation and Management Act [16 U.S.C.A. §1801
et seq.]), or to operate a quarantine station or
rescue center for imported wildlife or plants,

B13

issued to any person who is convicted of a crim-
inal violation of any provision of this chapter or
any regulation issued hereunder. The Secretary
shall not be liable for the payments of any com-
pensation, reimbursement, or damages in
connection with the modification, suspension, or
revocation of any licenses, permits, stamps, or
other agreements pursuant to this section.

(Publ. L. $7-79, §4, Nov. 16, 1981, 95 Stat. 1074.

16 UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED,
Sections 742j-1(a) & (b)

Airborne hunting--Prohibition; penalty

(a) Any person who--

(1) while airborne in an aircraft shoots or
attempts to shoot for the purpose of capturing
or killing any bird, fish, or other animal; or

(2) uses an aircraft to harass any bird,
fish, or other animal; or

(3) knowingly participates in using an air-
craft for any purpose referred to in paragraph

(1) or (2);

shall be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned
not more than one year, or both.

Exemption; report of State to Secretary

(b)(1) This section shall not apply to any
person if such person is employed by, or is an
authorized agent of or is operating under a license
or permit of, any State or the United States to
administer or protect or aid in the administration
or protection of land, water, wildlife, livestock,
domesticated animals, human life, or crops, and
each such person so operating under a license
or permit shall report to the applicable issuing

B14

” tc a i i it i ts nil te ti, Ne ie ene

authority each calendar quarter the number and
type of animals so taken.

(2) In any case in which a State, or any
agency thereof, issues a permit referred to in
paragraph (1) of this subsection, it shall file with
the Secretary of the Interior an annual report
containing such information as to the Secretary
shall prescribe, including but not limited to--

(A) the name and address of each per-
son to whom a permit was issued;

(B) a description of the animals autho-
rized to be taken thereunder, the number
of animals authorized to be taken, and a
description of the area from which the ani-
mals are authorized to be taken;

(C) the number and type of animals
taken by such person to whom a permit was
issued; and

(D) the reason for issuing the permit.

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE,
18 U.S.C.A.

Rule 52. Harmless Error and Plain Error

(a) Harmless Error. Any error, defect,
irregularity or variance which does not affect
substantial rights shall be disregarded.

(b) Plain Error. Plain errors or defects
affecting substantial rights may be noticed
although they were not brought to the attention
of the court.

B15

FEDERAL RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE,
18 U.S.C.A.

Rule 29.

(a) Motion before Submission to Jury. Motions
for directed verdict are abolished and motions for
judgment of acquittal shall be used in their place.
The court on motion of a defendant or of its own
motion shall order the entry of judgment of acquit-
tal of one or more offenses charged in the indict-
ment or information after the evidence on either
side is closed if the evidence is insufficient to
sustain a conviction of such offense or offenses.
If a defendant's motion for judgment of acquittal
at the close of the evidence offered by the
government is not granted, the defendant may
offer evidence without having reserved the right.

(b) Reservation of Decision on Motion. If a
motion for judgment of acquittal is made at the
close of all the evidence, the court may reserve
decision on the motion, submit the case to the
jury and decide the motion either before the jury
returns a verdict or after it returns a verdict of
guilty or is discharged without having returned
a verdict.

(c) Motion after Discharge of Jury. If the
jury returns a verdict of guilty or is discharged
without having returned a verdict, a motion for
judgment of acquittal may be made or renewed
within 7 days after the jury is discharged or
within such further time as the court may fix
during the 7-day period. If a verdict of guilty
is returned the court may on such motion set
aside the verdict and enter judgment of acquittal.
If no verdict is returned the court may enter
judgment of acquittal. It shall not be necessary
to the making of such a motion that a similar
motion has been made prior to the submission
of the case to the jury.

As amended Feb. 28, 1966, eff. July 1, 1966.

B16

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2280%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
