# Opposition Brief — Bank of Nova Scotia v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2179%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1106

## Text

Office- Supreme Court,
FILED "
G NOV 27 1964
i
No. 84-329 | AMOR STEVES,
| CLERK

—

On the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

BANK OF NOVA SCOTIA, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

GLENN L. ARCHER, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

MICHAEL L. PAUP

ROBERT E. LINDSAY

ALAN HECHTKOPF
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the lower courts’ enforcement of a grand jury
subpoena issued to petitioner was proper despite petition-
er’s Claim that compliance with the subpoena would violate
foreign law and a foreign judicial decision.

2. Whether a fine of $25,000 per day imposed as a con-
tempt sanction to coerce petitioner’s compliance with the
grand jury subpoena was civil in nature.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ecu abe bhesssss cbncHinseacsews l
ee a a, ea kh ees kw anake'a l
Ne cane ke bes eek ekekesenes |
ES AEE a ean a eee eae eee 7
a ks ew ew eae es 18
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino,
re awa ee us 13
California Bankers Ass'n v. Shultz,
cane en wes 9
Chase Manhattan Bank, In re, 297 F.2d
ek cn ig 0 6 6.0.0 10, 14

Grand Jury Proceedings (Bank of Nova Scotia I),
In re, 691 F.2d 404, cert. denied, 462 U.S.
RE ede ke cake eee cineess 4, 8, 13, 14

Grand Jury Proceedings (Field), In re,
532 F.2d 404, cert. denied, 429 U.S.

Ri SOR aT ee, ee rr 14-15
Ings v. Ferguson, 282 F.2d 149 ............ 10, 14
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 ...........005- 17
Shillitani v. United States, 384 U.S.

NEE SR oer eee See eee 15

Societe Internationale Pour Participations
Industrielles v. Rogers, 357 U.S.
See eck eke es We EN Sy 6 6 CSW ORS ¥O4 8 ee 10, 11, 12

IV

Page
Cases—Continued:
United States v. First National Bank,

3 fb errr er er 10, 13, 14
United States v. First National City Bank,

CoS | er ere errr ree 14
United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48 .......... 14
United States v. Ryan, 402 U.S. 530 .......... 12
United States v. Vetco, Inc., 644 F.2d

1324, cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098 ......... 11, 15
Westinghouse Electric Corp. Uranium Litigation,

) @ ia y 6 Sereerr Tyr Per ie 15

Miscellaneous:

Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations
Law of the United States (1965) ..... 7, 13, 14, 15

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-329
BANK OF NOVA SCOTIA, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-28a) is
reported at 740 F.2d 817. A prior opinion of the court of
appeals (Pet. App. Ic-3c) is reported at 722 F.2d 657.
Orders of the district court (Pet. App. 1b-17b, Id-3d, le-2e,
1f-2f, and 1g-2g) are unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 14, 1984, and the petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on August 31, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Petitioner challenges orders of the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Florida holding it in civil
contempt for failing to comply with prior orders of the

(1)

2

court enforcing a federal grand jury subpoena and imposing
a fine of $1,825,000.

Petitioner is a Canadian banking corporation headquar-
tered in Toronto (Pet. App. 2a). On March 4, 1983, its office
in Miami, Florida, was served with a grand jury subpoena
issued by the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Florida (ibid.). The subpoena required petitioner
to produce financial documents pertaining to two individu-
als and three companies from its branches in the Bahamas,
the Cayman Islands, and Antigua (ibid.).' In a letter dated
March 23, 1983, to the Assistant United States Attorney
handling the grand jury proceedings, counsel for petitioner
requested, inter alia, “ ‘a sworn statement regarding the
nature of the evidence sought by the subpoena and its
relation to the investigation’ ” (id. at 3b). On March 29,
1983, one of petitioner’s agents appeared before the grand
jury and declined to produce the subpoenaed documents
(ibid.).

On April 4, 1983, petitioner filed a motion to quash the
subpoena, contending that compliance with the subpoena
would violate the bank secrecy laws of the Bahamas and the
Cayman Islands (Pet. App. 2a-3a). On April 27, 1983, the
district court denied petitioner’s motion and ordered peti-
tioner to comply with the subpoena by May 31, 1983 (id. at
1g-2g). The district court also directed the government “to
provide any reasonable assistance” to the petitioner, “espe-
cially in dealing with the foreign governments,” but ex-
pressly held that the government was not required to for-
ward letters rogatory (id. at 2g).

7

€

'Petitioner determined that there were no documents responsive to
the subpoena at its Antigua branch, and thus that aspect of the sub-
poena is not at issue. Pet. App. 2a n.1.

3

During May 1983, petitioner did not attempt to comply
with the district court’s order by searching for subpoenaed
documents (Pet. App. 3a). Instead, petitioner spent its time
making numerous requests of the government to send let-
ters rogatory and to show the materiality and necessity of
the subpoenaed documents to the grand jury investigation
(ibid.). The government repeatedly responded that it was
willing to furnish any requested assistance short of showing
materiality and necessity or sending letters rogatory (ibid.).

Petitioner’s only effort to comply with the court’s order
during May consisted of the filing on May 27, 1983, of a
petition with the Grand Court of the Cayman Islands, in
which it sought permission to disclose documents called for
by the subpoena (Pet. App. 3a, 4b). The Cayman court
denied the petition on May 31, 1983, and ordered petitioner
not to produce the subpoenaed documents (id. at 5b). Peti-
tioner never appealed this order to the Court of Appeals in
Jamaica (id. at 4a, 5b).

On June |, 1983, the district court conducted a hearing at
which petitioner again requested the court to direct the
government to make a showing of the materiality and
necessity of the subpoenaed documents to the grand jury
investigation and to issue an order containing findings of
materiality and necessity (Pet. App. 5b). At the same time,
however, petitioner’s counsel expressed uncertainty as to
whether the requested showing and findings would satisfy
the Cayman court (id. at 5b-6b). The government, “declin-
ing to lay open its entire grand jury in\«stigation for the
purpose of proceeding in the foreign court,” again expressed
willingness to provide any assistance short of making the
showing requested by petitioner or sending letters rogatory
(id. at 6b).

On October 10, 1983, the district court issued an order in
which it concluded that “the government has done all that it
is required to do by law and by this Court’s order of April

4

27, 1983 in connection with the enforcement of its subpo-
ena” and that “(tJhere can be no doubt that the Bank must
comply with the subpoena” (Pet. App. 2f). Thus, the court
directed petitioner to comply with the subpoena by October
17, 1983, or face a contempt hearing on October 21, 1983
(ibid.). Well before this time, petitioner knew, as a result of
litigation relating to a different grand jury subpoena, that
the Eleventh Circuit had rejected its claims that it was
entitled, by virtue of the conflict between the enforcement
of the subpoena and the requirements of foreign bank
secrecy laws, to a showing of materiality or the issuance of
letters rogatory before being compelled to produce subpo-
enaed records; petitioner also knew that this Court had
declined review of these issues. Jn re Grand Jury Proceed-
ings (Bank of Nova Scotia I), 691 F.2d 1384 (11th Cir.
1982), cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1119 (1983).

Petitioner’s only effort to locate any documents either in
the Bahamas or the Caymans between June |, 1983, and the
scheduled contempt hearing was an October 14, 1983,
search of petitioner’s office in Nassau, which produced no
documents (Pet. App. 4a). Petitioner produced only one
document during the seven months foliowing the issuance
of the subpoeiia (ibid.).

The district court held a contempt hearing on October 20,
1983 (Pet. App. le). In an order issued that day, the court
determined that, “[a]s of Octoder 20, 1983, there is clear and
convincing evidence that the Bank has not turned over the
subpoenaed materials and thus, the Court finds the Bank in
contempt of the order of October 10, 1983” (ibid.). The
court also made a supplemental finding, dated October 24,
1983, that petitioner had not exercised good faith in its
efforts to comply with the subpoena (id. at 2d). The court
imposed a fine of $25,000 per day, to take effect on October
26, 1983, and to remain in effect until the sooner of peti-
tioner’s purging itself of civil contempt by complying with

ef

5

the October 10 order or the expiration of the grand jury (id.
at 2e). Petitioner appealed from the order of contempt, and
the court of appeals stayed the accrual of the fine from
October 25, 1983, until November 14, 1983 (id. at 4a).

On November 11, 1983, the Attorney General of the
Bahamas issued an order allowing petitioner to produce
those subpoenaed documents that might be located in the
Bahamas (Pet. App. 4a). The Attorney General concluded
that the Bahamian bank privacy statute did not prohibit
disclosure because petitioner’s Bahamian branches did not
have an account relationship with the subjects of the sub-
poena (ibid.). Thus, on November 14, 1983, just before the
court of appeals lifted the stay of the fine, petitioner pro-
duced several documents from its Bahamian branches and
asserted that there were no other documents in the Bahamas
(id. at 4a-Sa). The Assistant United States Attorney in-
sisted, however, that other Bahamian documents were still
missing (id. at 5a). Although petitioner disagreed, it subse-
quently produced numerous additional documents from its
Bahamian branches (id. at S5a-9a).

On November 11, 1983, the Grand Court of the Cayman
Islands reconsidered petitioner's application for permission
to disclose the subpoenaed documents but again refused to
grant such authority (Pet. App. Sa). However, on November
17, 1983, pursuant to Section 3(2)(b)(iv) of the Confidential
Relationship (Preservation) Law of 1976 (as amended in
1979) (the Cayman bank secrecy statute), the Governor of
the Cayman Islands authorized the disclosure of the subpo-
enaed documents (Pet. App. 5a). On that same day, peti-
tioner produced all of the documents called for by the
subpoena from its Cayman branch (ibid.). At that time, the
government again informed petitioner that a substantial
number of documents from the Bahamian branches still
had not been produced (ibid.). Petitioner did not complete
the production of Bahamian documents until January 25,
1984 (id. at 6a-9a).

—————

6

The court of appeals heard oral argument on petitioner’s
appeal from the contempt order on December 12, 1983 (Pet.
App. 8a). Thereafter, the court remanded the case to the
district court for further proceedings but retained jurisdic-
tion over the case (id. at Ic-3c). One reason for the remand
was to permit the district court to consider the significance
of informal procedures developed through an exchange of
letters between the governments of the United States and
the Cayman Islands, which were alleged to have afforded a
means by which the government could have obtained the
subpoenaed documents (id. at 8a n.7).

At a hearing on February 14, 1984, the district court
received evidence concerning the “letter agreements”
between the United States and the Cayman Islands, known
as the “Gentlemen’s Agreement” (Pet. App. 9b-12b). The
district court determined that the Gentlemen’s Agreement
was not binding on the United States and that, even if it
were, it did not require the government to resort to the
procedures under the agreement in this case (id. at 15b).
Thus, on February 28, 1984, the district court issued an
order in which it held that enforcement of the subpoena in
this case was proper and directed entry of judgment against
petitioner in the amount of $1,825,000 — a fine of $25,000
per day from the date that the court of appeals lifted the stay
of the fine through the date on which petitioner completed
production of all documents called for by the subpoena
(Pet. App. 1b-17b).

Petitioner then appealed the imposition of the fine (Pet.
9). The court of appeals consolidated that appeal with
petitioner’s pending appeal from the contempt order and
affirmed both of the district court’s orders (Pet. App. la-
28a). The court of appeals agreed with the district court’s
finding that petitioner had failed to exercise good faith in its
efforts to comply with the subpoena, adding that the “flurry
of activity undertaken by the Bank to discover documents

7

after the trial court entered its order of contempt cannot
save the Bank from the consequences of its previous exten-
sive pattern of delay” (id. at 15a). The court of appeals
rejected petitioner’s contention that the government was
required to demonstrate the relevance of the documents
sought (id. at 13a) and held that the district court had
properly analyzed this case under the balancing test of the
Restatement (Second) of Foreign Relations Law of the
United States (1965) [hereinafter cited as Restatement]
(Pet. App. 16a-20a). The court of appeals also held that
“(t]he gentlemen’s agreement procedure is a far cry from
constituting a substantially equivalent alternative to a
grand jury subpoena” (id. at 23a). The court emphasized
that the Gentlemen’s Agreement was not even applicable to
cases such as this one, in which the United States is concur-
rently investigating tax and narcotics offenses (id. at 22a-
23a). The court of appeals further noted that the procedures
under the agreement had not, in any event, resulted in the
expeditious production of bank records (id. at 23a n.21).
The court summed up its conclusions as follows (id. at
27a-28a (citations omitted)):

The district judge in this case was extremely patient.
He gave the Bank ample chances to comply with the
subpoena. But the Bank was just sloppy in its search.
The remedy for violation of the district court’s order is
civil contempt. The imposition of a coercive fine is not
improper * * * and will be reversed only for an abuse
of discretion. * * * The order of contempt and the fine
in this case did not constitute an abuse of the district
court’s discretion.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner urges this Court to address the question
whether “a neutral non-party witness [may] be held in civil
contempt for abiding by foreign criminal laws and judicial
decisions barring the production of documents located
abroad when an effective alternative means of securing the

8

same documents on a government-to-government basis
exists” (Pet. i). As it did in Bank of Nova Scotia v. United
States, 462 U.S. 1119, in which this Court denied a petition
for a writ of certiorari on June 13, 1983, petitioner contends
(Pet. 9) that the decision below conflicts with principles
enunciated by this Court and other courts of appeals. Peti-
tioner also contends (Pet. 15-16) that the decision of the
court below solicits “international lawlessness” and thus
represents a departure from the accepted and usual course
of judicial proceedings requiring this Court’s intervention.

Contrary to petitioner’s argument, the decision below is
not in conflict with any decision of this Court, and the
courts of appeals are in basic agreement on the appropriate
analytic framework to employ in cases of this sort. More-
over, the record in this case does not support petititoner’s
contentions and does not raise the question petitioner seeks
to have reviewed. Accordingly, review by this Court is not
warranted.

a. Two principal premises underlying the question posed
by petitioner are contrary to the record in this case. First,
petitioner was not held in contempt and fined “for abiding
by foreign criminal laws and judicial decisions” (Pet. 1).
Petitioner bases its entire argument on the bank secrecy law
of the Cayman Islands, conveniently ignoring the fact that
virtually the entire fine in this case was attributable to
petitioner’s failure to produce documents located in the
Bahamas (Pet. App. 16a n.14).? But the bank secrecy law of
the Bahamas did not bar petitioner’s production of subpo-
enaed records located in that country (id. at 4a), and peti-
tioner knew that fact three days before the contempt fine

2Of the total fine, only $100,000 is attributable to days on which
petitioner was found to be in contempt for its failure to produce
documents located in both countries. Thereafter, the fine continued
mounting solely because of petitioner’s failure to conduct a diligent
search of its Bahamian branches (Pet. App. |4a-1 5a).

9

began to accrue (see page 5, supra). Thus, a determination
that the fine was proper does not require consideration of
the impact of the law of the Cayman Islands on petitioner’s
ability to comply with the subpoena.3

Second, this is not a case in which “an effective alterna-
tive means of securing the same documents on a government-
to-government basis exists” (Pet. i). As both the district
court and the court of appeals determined (Pet. App. 22a-
23a & n.21, 15b), the “Gentlemen’s Agreement” between the
United States and the Cayman Islands did not bind the
United States, had proven to be ineffective as a means of
obtaining bank documents, and was not even available in
this case because the grand jury investigation concerned tax
offenses as well as narcotics offenses. Thus, the factual
predicate for petitioner’s argument is totally lacking.¢

3For the same reason, the briefs of amici curiae filed in support of the
petition address irrelevant issues by focusing solely on the asserted
conflict between the laws of the United States and the Cayman bank
secrecy statute.

‘The question posed by petitioner also assumes that petitioner is a
“neutral” non-party. But it is hardly clear that a bank in petitioner’s
position should be viewed as a completely neutral entity. This Court has
recognized that banks are not “ccnscripted neutrals” in transactions
involving negotiable instruments and that they derive significant bene-
fits from such transactions. California Bankers Ass'n v. Shultz, 416
U.S. 21, 48-49 (1974). It goes without saying that other types of transac-
tions with their customers are beneficial to banks as well. Bank secrecy
laws of tax havens such as the Cayman Islands undoubtedly attract
business for offshore banks. Indeed, as the court of appeals stated (Pet.
App. 1!7a), “{t]he Cayman Islands * * * sees preservation of bank
secrecy as vital to the expansion of the Island’s principal industry—
banking and off-shore finance.” As a beneficiary of the expansion of
that industry, a bank doing business in the Caymans would have an
obvious commercial interest in resisting compliance with a grand jury
subpoena and advancing the notion that the bank secrecy laws of that
country are an absolute bar to compliance with such a subpoena.

10

b. Petitioner contends (Pet. 11-15) that the decision of
the court of appeals conflicts with this Court’s decision in
Societe Internationale Pour Participations Industrielles v.
Rogers, 357 U.S. 197 (1958), and with the decisions of the
Second and Seventh Circuits in Jn re Chase Manhattan
Bank, 297 F.2d 611 (2d Cir. 1962); Ings v. Ferguson, 282
F.2d 149 (2d Cir. 1960); and United States v. First National
Bank, 699 F.2d 341 (7th Cir. 1983). Petitioner’s contention
lacks merit. The decision below is not in conflict with
Societe Internationale or First National Bank, and Chase
Manhattan Bank and Ings do not represent the current state
of the law in the Second Circuit.

In Societe Internationale, a Swiss holding company was
seeking to recover assets that had been seized by the Alien
Property Custodian under the Trading with the Enemy Act.
This Court held that the district court had properly ordered
production of Swiss records pursuant to the government’s
discovery request, despite the plaintiff/Swiss-holding-
company’s claim that Swiss law limited its ability to satisfy
the production order because those producing the records
would have been exposed to possible criminal sanctions
under Swiss law (357 U.S. at 204-206). Petitioner relies (Pet.
11-12) on the Court’s further holding that dismissal of the
holding company’s complaint was not an appropriate sanc-
tion for failure to comply with the discovery request in light
of the fact that the holding company had unquestionably
made good faith efforts to comply with the production
order and because the holding company had certain consti-
tutionally protected rights to maintain the suit (357 U.S. at
208-213). But the Court made it clear that the district court
had discretion to impose lesser sanctions (357 U.S. at 213).°

5For example, the Court recognized that in the absence of complete
disclosure, the district court might be justified in drawing inferences
adverse to the holding company as to particular events (357 U.S. at
213).

11

Accordingly, as recognized in United States v. Vetco, Inc.,
644 F.2d 1324, 1329 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098
(1981), Societe Internationale “did not erect an absolute bar
to summons enforcement and contempt sanctions when-
ever compliance is prohibited by foreign laws.”

In the instant case, unlike Societe Internationale, there
has been no alleged taking of petitioner’s property. Nor, in
light of the consent to disclosure ultimately received by
petitioner from the Caymans, has petitioner demonstrated
that it faced a genuine risk that compliance with the sub-
poena would subject it to criminal sanctions. Moreover,
the district court expressly found (Pet. App. 13b, 2d), and
the court of appeals agreed (id. at 14a), that petiticaer did
not make a good faith effort to comply with the subpoena.
Nearly all of petitioner’s efforts were devoted to trying “to
obtain from the goverment what it was clearly not entitled
to receive; a showing of materiality and necessity and the
issuance of letters rogatory” (ibid.).’? Although petitioner
sought the permission of the Grand Court of the Cayman
Islands to comply with the subpoena, it did not appeal the
Cayman court’s denial of its petition — a litigation decision
that stands in marked contrast to the vigor with which it has
pressed its arguments in the courts of this country.’ More-
over, petitioner apparently did not attempt to obtain

‘Furthermore, given the importance attached by the Cayman Islands
to its banking industry (see note 4, supra), it is by no means clear that
that country’s government would consider it appropriate to prosecute a
bank for disclosing records in a case such as this one.

’Petitioner notes (Pet. 15 n.14) that there is a conflict among the
circuits on the question whether the government should be required to
demonstrate the relevancy and materiality of information sought by a
grand jury subpoena. Petitioner does not, however, seek resolution of
this asserted conflict.

’Petitioner argues (Pet. 13) that an appeal would have been pointless
because it did not have information as to materiality necessary under
the Cayman statute and had no basis for challenging the legal standard

12

authorization to disclose from the Governor of the Cayman
Islands until it was faced with the $25,000 per day fine.°
Thus, petitioner’s position is significantly different from
that of the plaintiff in Societe Internationale, and the deci-
sion of the court of appeals is not in conflict with Societe
Internationale.'©

for releasing bank records. But petitioner points to no authority sug-
gesting that it would have been fruitless to attempt to persuade the court
of appeals in Jamaica to adopt a balancing test and defer to the superior
interests of the United States in this case.

%In light of the importance attached by the Cayman Islands to iis
banking industry, petitioner’s situation in this case was analogous to
that of a foreign company “in a most advantageous position to plead
with its own sovereign for relaxation of penal laws or for adoption of
pians which will at the least achieve a significant measure of compliance
with the production order.” Societe Internationale, 357 U.S. at 205.

\ONor is the decision below in conflict with any other decision of this
Court. Petitioner cites (Pet. 12) United States v. Ryan, 402 U.S. 530,
534 (1971), for the proposition that sanctions may not be imposed ona
witness who has made a good faith effort to comply with a subpoena but
is unable to do so for fear of criminal prosecution by a foreign govern-
ment. Ryan does not state that proposition. In that case, the respondent
had moved to quash a subpoena duces tecum requiring the production
of records located in Kenya on the ground that Kenyan law forbade the
removal of the records. The district court denied the motion and
ordered the respondent to seek from the Kenyan government permis-
sion to remove the documents from Kenya and, in the event that
permission was denied, tu grant United States agents access to the
documents in Kenya. This Court held that the district court’s order was
not an appealable temporary injunction. In reaching that conclusion,
the Court pointed out that a valid subpoena requires a good faith effort
to comply, noted that respondent had asserted that compliance with the
subpoena would violate Kenyan law, and read the district court’s order
as doing nothing more than informing “respondent before the event of
what efforts the District Court would consider sufficient attempts to
comply with the subpoena.” Significantly, this Court expressed no
opinion whether the district court was required to accept as a sufficient
attempt unsuccessful efforts to obtain permission to remove the docu-
ments from Kenya.

Although petitioner does not expressly seek review of the issue, it also
contends (Pet. 14.n.13) that the court of appeals “misapprehended the

13

Nor is the decision below in conflict with United States
v. First National Bank, supra. In that case, arising out of an
IRS summons enforcement proceeding seeking informa-
tion pertaining to the IRS’s collection efforts, the court
expressly recognized that a foreign bank secrecy law did not
automatically bar a domestic court from compelling pro-
duction of bank records (699 F.2d at 345). The court held,
however, that under the balancing test of Section 40 of the
Restatement, the summons in that case ought not to be
enforced (699 F.2d at 345). The court distinguished, on a
number of factual grounds, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision
in In re Grand Jury Proceedings (Bank of Nova Scotia 1),
691 F.2d 1384 (1982), cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1119 (1983), on
which the courts below relied in this case. The Seventh
Circuit pointed to, inter alia, the following distinctions: the
court of appeals in Bank of Nova Scotia [had the benefit of
findings of fact by the district court, including a finding that
the Bank had not made a good faith effort to comply with
tire subpoena; the information in Bank of Nova Scotia I was

teaching of this Court in Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376
U.S. 398 (1964).” However, the act of state doctrine considered in
Sabbatino is plainly inapplicable here because the courts below did not
sit in judgment on any acts of the government of the Cayman Islands
done within its own territory. See Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at 416. Rather,
the courts below determined that petitioner did not make a good faith
effort to obtain the consent of a foreign government. Furthermore,
whatever the merits of petitioner’s legal arguments as to the separation
of powers and act of state doctrines, the government did not in this case
“seek[] to use judicial power as a tool to achieve a political objective,
such as the alteration or subversion of domestic law in friendly foreign
countries” (Pet. 14n.13). The government's objective here was simply to
obtain evidence needed for the grand jury investigation. Any possible
effect of enforcement of the subpoena at issue on a foreign government's
policy decisions was purely incidental. As this Court pointed out in
Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at 423, “it cannot of course be thought that ‘every
case or controversy which touches foreign relations lies beyond judicial
cognizance.’ Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 211.”

14

sought by a grand jury rather than by the civil tax collector;
Bahamian law permitted disclosure with the customer’s
consent, while the Greek law at issue in First National Bank
did not; and the power of a Bahamian court to permit
disclosure did not appear to be as strictly limited as that ofa
Greek court (699 F.2d at 346-347). Although the govern-
ment does not agree that all of these factual distinctions
advanced by the Seventh Circuit justify the result it
reached,!'! First National Bank is similarly distinguishable
from the instant case. Thus, there is no legal conflict requir-
ing this Court’s resolution.

Petitioner’s assertion that there is a conflict between the
Eleventh Circuit and the Second Circuit is erroneous. The
Second Circuit has receded from its position in Jn re Chase
Manhattan Bank, supra, and Ings v. Ferguson, supra, that
principles of international comity preclude enforcement of
a subpoena that might require the subpoenaed party to
violate foreign law. See United States \. First National
City Bank, 396 F.2d 897, 901-905 (2d Cir. 1968). Like the
Seventh Circuit in United States v. First National Bank,
supra, and the Eleventh Circuit in the instant case, the
Second Circuit employed the balancing test of Section 40 of
the Restatement in its analysis in First National City Bank
(396 F.2d at 902).

The Restatement’s test also has been adopted by the
Fifth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits, and no circuit employs a
contrary test. See In re Grand Jury Proceedings (Field), 532

''\For example, there is no meaningful distinction between the
national interest in grand jury investigations and IRS investigations. As
this Court recognized in United States v. Powell, 379 U.S. 48, 57
(1964), the investigative function of the IRS is essentially the same as
that of the grand jury. And, of course, the collection of taxes is essential
to the financial integrity of this country. Jn re Grand Jury Proceedings
(Field), 532 F.2d 404, 408 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 940 (1976).

15

F.2d 404, 408 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 940 (1976);
United States v. Vetco, Inc., 644 F.2d at 1330; In re West-
inghouse Electric Corp. Uranium Litigation, 563 F.2d 992,
997 (10th Cir. 1977). Accordingly, there is no merit to
petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 13) that this Court should
review the appropriateness of looking to the Restatement’s
balancing test for the resolution of cases such as this one.

2. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 16-18) that the assess-
ment of the fine in this case was punitive and that the fine
was imposed without petitioner’s being accorded rights to
which it would have been entitled in a criminal contempt
proceeding. But the record clearly establishes that the fine
was properly imposed to coerce pesitioner to comply with
the grand jury subpoena.

The district court set out the objective of its October 20
contempt order in no uncertain terms (Pet. App. 2e): “The
crux of what this Court seeks in this order is the submission
of the subpoenaed materials to the grand jury and not the
punishment of the Bank.” The order provided that peti-
tioner could purge itself of civil contempt by “complying
with this Court’s order of October 10, 1983” (ibid.). The
October 10 order required petitioner “to comply with sub-
poena duces tecum 83-1 served on the Bank on March 4,
1983 no later than October 17, 1983” (id. at 2f). Thus,
petitioner had a full opportunity to purge itself of contempt
and avoid the fine by simply producing the subpoenaed
records, and the contempt order and the fine imposed in this
case therefore were unquestionably civil in nature. See Shil-
litani v. United States, 384 U.S. 364, 368-370 (1966). !2

'21f immediate compliance with the subpoena had been impossible
despite the taking in good faith of all reasonable steps to comply,
petitioner could have sought relief from the district court. It did not seek
such relief while the fine was running. Moreover, as the court of appeals
determined (Pet. App. 14a-15a), the record establishes that petitioner’s
delay in the production of documents pursuant to the subpoena was far

16

Petitioner nevertheless contends that the fine was puni-
tive because it was assessed for a period of time after peti-
tioner had “complied” with the contempt order (Pet. 17-18).
Petitioner reads that order as merely requiring it to end its
assertion of foreign law as a bar to compliance with the
subpoena. Thus, petitioner argues that it “complied” with
the order once it stopped asserting that foreign law pre-
cluded the production of subpoenaed documents and it
produced the Cayman documents. Petitioner’s reading of
the contenipt order is untenable. Under the plain terms of
that order and the October 10 enforcement order, nothing
less than production of all of the subpoenaed documents
(the Cayman documents and the Bahamian documents)
would have sufficed to purge petitioner of contempt.

Petitioner also argues (Pet. 18) that the purpose of coerc-
ing it to produce documents was satisfied by December 5,
1983, when it had produced all documents from its Baham-
ian branches except copies of four vouchers pertaining to
certificates of deposit that had been redeemed in April 1979;
these vouchers were turned over to the government on
January 25, 1984 (Pet. App. 9a). Petitioner asserts (Pet. 18)
that by December 5, neither the government, petitioner, nor
the district court had any reason to believe that any of
petitioner’s evidence had not been produced.

The continuing need for a coercive fine after December 5
is an entirely fact-bound issue, and petitioner has not
advanced any sound reason why this Court should review

from excusable. Petitioner did not perform a diligent search upon
receipt of the district court’s enforcement order. And until the fine
started to accrue, petitioner ignored numerous warnings from the
government that its production of Bahamian documents was incom-
plete, and it failed to search for records in obvious places. In short, the
coercive effect of the fine was unquestionably necessary to obtain
petitioner's compliance with the subpoena and the court’s enforcement
order.

17

the factual determinations of the two courts below. See
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613, 623 (1982). In any event, in
claiming that a fine was unnecessary, petitioner ignores the
record. At the December 12, 1983, oral argument before the
court of appeals, the government disagreed with petitioner's
assertion that it had fully complied with the subpoena (Pet.
App. 8a n.7). Moreover, petitioner had reason to know that
its production was incomplete. Each of the vouchers was
one of the copies included in a four-part form whose parts
were separated and independently routed through the Bank
(id. at 9a n.8). Petitioner’s personnel should have been
familiar with the Bank’s own procedures and forms. Thus, it
should have been obvious to Bank personnel that submis-
sions before January 25, 1984, lacked these vouchers. While
petitioner attempts to minimize the significance of the
vouchers (Pet. 18), each is the only document of a four-part
form on which a “paid” stamp appears (Supp. C.A. Br. for
the United States 30). Thus, these documents were neces-
sary to present a complete series of transactions regarding
the certificates of deposit to which they pertained. At any
rate, whatever the importance of these documents, peti-
tioner was under an obligation to produce them, and its
failure to exercise due diligence to find them manifested a
continuing failure to take the district court’s enforcement
order seriously.

Further evidencing petitioner's continuing failure to take
the district court’s enforcement order seriously even after
December 5, 1983, was petitioner’s failure to send a repre-
sentative to appear before the grand jury. On December 9,
the Assistant United States Attorney informed petitioner
that a Bank employee was needed to appear before the
grand jury on December 20, 1983, to authenticate docu-
ments that had been produced (Pet. App. 8a). Petitioner
waited until December 19 to notify the employee who was

to appear (ibid.). Because of this delay, the witness’s
appearance before the grand jury had to be rescheduled for
January 24, 1984 (ibid.).

It is clear from petitioner’s conduct throughout this pro-
ceeding that, absent a coercive fine, there was no assurance
that petitioner would fully comply with the subpoena.
Thus, the fine in this case was not punitive, and its imposi-
tion does not raise any issue requiring review by this Court.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

a

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

GLENN L. ARCHER, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

MICHAEL L. PAUP

RoBeERT E. LINDSAY

ALAN HECHTKOPF
Attorneys

NOVEMBER !1984

DOJ-1984-11

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2179%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
