# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Texas Farm Bureau v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2136%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1106

## Text

™ 7 a !
& 4. = & 76 >. Supreme Court, US

FILED
AUS 18 1984
ALEXANDER L. STEVAS:
No. CLERK I
In The

Supreme Court
of the United States

October Term, 1984

TEXAS FARM BUREAU,
Petitioners,
US.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

PEELER WILLIAMS, JR.*
3804 Castle Drive
Waco, Texas 76710

HuGu W. Davis, JR.
8300 Calmont, No. 412
Fort Worth, Texas 76116

*Counsel of Record

SOUTHWESTERN LAW PRESS — DALLAS, TEXAS 75208 — (214) 748-6022

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. By holding the debt-equity question to be one of law
and reversing the District Court’s judgment on the ver-
dict, has the Court of Appeals departed from the princi-
ples established by this Court in Commissioner v. Duber-
stein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960) and Pullman Standard v. Swint,
456 U.S. 273 (1982)?

2. By applying de novo a twelve factor “laundry list”
developed for transactions between stockholders and
profit corporations to a case involving non-profit affil-

_iated corporations has the Court of Appeals substituted
its own fact-findings for those of the District Court and
jury to the extent that this Court’s supervision is
required?

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Pages
88h ee Oe gd) yy OY 9 i
pg Shy 8 yy |. iv
es asd a Sean dan Kkak ov kWER EKO 1
es Sr Ga des hag ya bs bi xecdae sk avusdssays 2
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED.............. 2
jyoes SS gl 6 yf @) |_| RR 3
I. FACTS OF THE TRANSACTION ............ 3
(RP TSA 6. 50). ¢. F re 5
REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........ 5)
CR lak sin anatatssaancawas 11
eg ey Os 9) 6 | 12
eae Pica ks Awan decha sGitdnsa ceeds A-1
ES RR SR Ay es i eS ee ne i In A-17
SS a ER SG SA iC 0 SN i SARS aR A-20

eee ee eth cae idade chins sian bens A-21

iv

Table of Authorities

Cases: Page
A. R. Lantz Co. v. United States, 424 F.2d 1330 ....... 6
Brake and Electric Sales Corp. v. U.S..,

kA Re Ck 6 ee aes ee epee ys 6
Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278........ v.,6,7
Diamond Bros. Co. v. Comm’r, 322 F.2d 725............ 6
Electronic Modules Corp. v. U.S., 695 F.2d 1367 ....... 6
Estate of Mixon v. U.S., 464 F.2d 394 .... 2.0.2.0... 6.8
Falkoff v. Comm’r., 604 F.2d 1045 ..................... 6
Fin Hay Realty Co. v. U.S., 398 F.2d 694 .............. 6
Frank Lyon Co. vy. US., 435 US. S61 ................. 10
Gilbert v. Comm'r., 262 F.2d 512 ............-.....55 6
John Kelley Co. v. Comm’r., 326 U.S. 521.............. 7
Lundgren v. Comm’r., 376 F.2d 623 .......... Se gee 6
Matter of Uneco, Inc., 532 F.2d 1204 ................... 6
Pullman Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273....... v, 3, 6,8
Ragland Investment Co. v. Comm’r., 435 F.2d 118 .... 6
Road Materials, Inc. v. Comm’r., 407 F.2d 1121 ....... 6
Saunders v. Comm'r., 720 F.2d 871 .................... 9
Sayles Finishing Plants, Inc. v. U.S., 399 F.2d 214.... 6
Scriptomatic, Inc. v. U.S., 555 F.2d 364 ................ 6
Slappey Drive Industrial Park v. U:S..,

SE Se ake Poe casas Les 6,8
ee I SNE MR i ost 5 o's x ss cn aeubaccesk es 7

Williams v. Comm’r., 627 F.2d 1032.................... 6

Vv

Table of Authorities (Continued)

Cases: Page
STATUTES:

SIE ao ch nce ecxs sags chdeveeebis ee ee 2,5
PS IED 5... Sc kn sic connec sue eaereaee cute ne 4
I cas coke sins vain savaeecauausen eee 4
Be A ME ne vag vy cdadeindcavietchee ee 2,5

MUNG MND as kk Se 2.5

No.

In The

Supreme Court
of the Hnited States

October Term, 1984

TEXAS FARM BUREAU,
Petitioners,
Us.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Respondent.

Petition For A Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

The Texas Farm Bureau, a non-profit corporation
under the laws of the State of Texas, petitions for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A, infra, pp.
A-1-A-16) is reported at 725 F.2d 307 (1984). A further opin-
ion issued by the Court of Appeals with the Order denying

»
—

Appellee’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for
Rehearing En Bane (App. D, infra, pp. A-21-A-24) is re-
ported at 732 F.2d 437 (1984). The District Court wrote no
opinion and is therefore not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (App. C, infra,
p. A-20) was entered on the 21st day of February, 1984.
The Order of the Court of Appeals denying Appellee’s
Motion for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En
Bane (App. D, infra, pp. A-21-A-. 1) was entered May 21,
1984. No stay of issuance of the mandate was sought or
ordered. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. $1254 (1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
1. 26 U.S.C. $166, Bad debts, provides in relevant part:

(a) General rule.

(1) Wholly worthless debts. There shall be allowed
as a deduction any debt which becomes worthless
within the taxable vear.

(2) Partially worthless debts. When satisfied that
a debt is recoverable only in part, the Secretary or his
delegate may aliow such debt, in an amount not in
excess of the part charged off within the taxable
vear, as a deduction.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This case arises from the Internal Revenue Commis-
sioner’s disallowance of a bad debt deduction which Peti-
tioner Texas Farm Bureau (“TFB”) sought to take in its
1970 fiscal year. Most of the subsidiary facts were undis-

puted, while the ultimate questions were heavily
contested.

I. FACTS OF THE TRANSACTION

The underlying facts, gleaned largely from stipula-
tions, may be summarized as follows: Petitioner TFB is a
non-profit corporation under Texas law. Its primary pur-
pose is to provide a variety of goods and services to people
engaged or interested in agriculture, generally through a
number of non-profit affiliates established and managed
by TFB over the years. TFB and its affiliates are exemp-
ted from ordinary corporate income tax by 26 U.S.C.
§501(cX5), but must pay tax on unrelated business income
under 26 U.S.C. §511. Operating funds for TFB come from
individual membership dues and from management fees
charged to the affiliates. Transactions between TFB and
its affiliate, the Texas Agricultural Marketing Develop-
ment Association (“TAMDA”) are the basis of this suit.

TAMDA was formed to provide cooperative marketing
services to its members, mainly in the livestock business
and related areas. TAMDA’s Board of Directors has
always been the same as TFB’s. Individual members of
TAMDA must belong to TFB. TAMDA has no capital
stock and reiies on member dues and funds advanced
from TFB to meet operating and organizational expenses.
Relevant portions of the contract between TFB and
TAMDA appear in footnote 2 of the Court of Appeals
opinion, 725 F.2d n.2 at 309, Appendix A infra,
pp. A-3-A-4.

TFB advanced a total of $166,946.02 to TAMDA
according to a schedule set out in the Court of Appeals
opinion, 725 F.2d at 309, Appendix A, infra, p. A-.
Promissory notes bearing 7 percent interest with no fixed
maturity date were given for $50,000 of the 1967 advance.
The remainder of the advances were carried on TAMDA’s

4

by TFB over the years. TFB and its affiliates are exemp-
ted from ordinary corporate income tax by 26 U.S.C.
§501(c\5), but must pay tax on unrelated business income
under 26 U.S.C. §511. Operating funds for TFB come from
individual membership dues and from management fees
charged to the affiliates. Transactions between TFB and
its affiliate, the Texas Agricultural Marketing Develop-
ment Association (“TAMDA”) are the basis of this suit.

TAMDA was formed to provide cooperative marketing
services to its members, mainly in the livestock business
and related areas. TAMDA’s Board of Directors has
always been the same as TFB’s. Individual members of
TAMDA must belong to TFB. TAMDA has no capital
stock and relies on member dues and funds advanced
from TFB to meet operating and organizational expenses.
Relevant portions of the contract between TFB and
TAMDA appear in footnote 2 of the Court of Appeals
opinion, 725 F.2d n.2 at 309, Appendix A infra,
pp. A-3-A-4.

TFB advanced a total of $166,946.02 to TAMDA
according to a schedule set out in the Court of Appeals
opinion, 725 F.2d at 309, Appendix A, infra, p. A-4.
Promissory notes bearing 7 percent interest with no fixed
maturity date were given for $50,000 of the 1967 advance.
The remainder of the advances were carried on TAMDA’s
beoks as accounts payable and on TFB’s books as
accounts receivable, with no specified interest rate. A
schedule of repayment was not established for the ad-
vances. TAMDA made a $3,060 payment to TFB in
October 1966 on the advances, but no other during the
period in question.

TFB charged TAMDA no management fee until 1968.

a a eT Te mle

)

In that fiscal year, $73,400 was assessed of which
TAMDA paid $25,466.72. TFB wrote the remainder off as
uncollectible. These amounts are not in question in this
suit.

On its fiscal 1970 tax return, TFB deducted as an uncol-
lectible bad debt $164,118.13, representing unrepaid
TAMDA advances for fiscal 1961 through fiscal 1970.
There was no litigation between TAMDA and TFB and
TAMDA functioned throughout this period.

Il. LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

On audit. the Commissioner of Internal Revenue

denied the deduction, concluding that the advances did
not create debt within the meaning of 26 U.S.C. §166, but
were rather in the nature of contributions to capital.
TFB paid the assessed deficiency, fruitlessly claimed for
refund and then brought suit under 28 U.S.C. §§1346(a)(1)
and 26 U.S.C. §7422 in the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas.

REASUN FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1. To resolve a conflict among the Circuit Courts of
Appeal concerning the legal nature of and appropriate
standard of appellate review for the debt-equity question.

ARGUMENT

In the case at bar, the District Court jury found that the
Texas Farm Bureau (“TFB”) had properly claimed its bad
debt deduction under 26 U.S.C. § 166 for the amounts
advanced to its affiliate. The Court of Appeals reversed
the judgment based on the fact-findings, holding the debt-
equity issue presented to be a question of law, reviewable
under the broad de novo standard of appellate review. 725
F.2d 307 (5th Cir. 1984), App. A, infra, pp. A-1-A-16. TFB

6

contends that the Court of Appeals decision is erroneous
because the proper analysis for this type of question is
that indicated by this Court’s decisions in Commissioner
v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 273 (1960), and Pullman Standard
v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982), inter alia, and followed by
the majority of the Circuit Courts of Appeals: debt-equity
controversies ultimately present a question of fact, sus-
ceptible of jury resolution and properly reviewable only
under the deferential standard of review accorded the
trial court’s fact-findings.

Review of this case by this Court would resolve the
conflict in approach and analysis of this important ques-
tion and provide much needed guidance for the federal
courts, taxpayers and the government. Currently only the
Third, Fifth and Eleventh (following pre-1981 precedent)
Circuits consistently treat debt-equity as a legal matter.'
Ninth Circuit precedent is conflicting,* while the
remainder of the federal appellate courts as well as the
U.S. Claims Court treat debt-equity as a question of fact.°

| Fifth Circuit other than the case at bar, see, e.g., Estate of Mixon v.
U.S., 464 F.2d 394 (5th Cir. 1972); Slappey Drive Industrial Park v.
U.S., 561 F.2d 572 (5th Cir. 1977) 3rd Circuit: Fin Hay Realty Co. v.
U.S. 398 F.2d 694 (3rd Cir. 1968); Scriptomatic, Inc. v. U.S., 555 F.2d
364 (3rd Cir. 1977). The panel opinion’s citation of Diamond Bros.
Co. v. Commissioner, 322 F.2d 725 (3rd Cir. 1963), 725 F.2d n.9 at 312
(App. A, infra, n. 9 p. Al0) appears to be out of date.

¢ Compare Lundgren v. Comm’r, 376 F.2d 623 (9th Cir. 1964) with A.
R. Lantz Co. v. U.S., 424 F.2d 1330 (9th Cir. 1970).

’ Federal Circuit: Electronic Modules Corp. v. U. S., 695 F.2d 1367
(1982);
lst Circuit: Brake and Electric Sales Corp. v. U. S. 287 F.2d 426
(1961);
2nd Circuit: Gilbert v. Comm’r., 262 F.2d 512 (1958);
4th Circuit: Road Materials, Inc., v. Comm’r, 407 F.2d 1121 (1969);
6th Circuit: Ragland Investment Co. v. Comm’r, 435 F.2d 118 (1970);
7th Circuit: Falkoff v. Cumm’r, 604 F.2d 1045 (1979);
8th Circuit: Matter of Uneco, Inc., 532 F.2d 1204 (1976);
10th Circuit: Williams v. Comm ’r, 627 F.2d 1032 (1980);
see also Sayles Finishing Plants, Inc. v. U.S., 399 F.2d 214 (Ct. C1.
1968).

Authority from this Court’s decisions supports the
majority rule. In John Kelley Co. v. Commissioner, 326
U.S. 521 (1946), the decision treated a common variant of
debt-equity (interest versus dividends) as a question of
fact, properly determined by the Tax Court and not the
reviewing Court of Appeals. Further, on at least one occa-
sion, this Court has implicitly assumed that the bad debt
deduction poses questions for the trier of fact. U.S. v.
Generes, 405 U.S. 93, 104 (1972). In the landmark case of
Commissioner v. Duberstein, cited above, this Court was
confronted with a government proposed paradigmatic
“factor” test highly analogous to the Fifti Circuit test in
this case, as a means to determine whether a transaction
was or was not a gift under the Tax Code. Mr. Justice
Brennan, writing for the majority at 363 U.S. 288-289,
rejected the argument that this gave rise to a question of
law:

The conclusion of whether a transfer amounts to a
gift is one that must be reached on consideration of
all the factors . . . Decision of the issue presented in
these cases must be based ultimately on the applica-
tion of the fact-finding tribunal’s experience with the
mainsprings of human conduct to the totality of the
facts of each case. The non-technical nature of the
statutory language, the close relationship of it to the
data of practical human experience and the multipli-
city of relevant factual elements with their various
combinations, creating the necessity of ascribing the
proper force to each, confirm us in our conclusion

that primary weight in this area must be given to the
conclusions of the trier of fact.

Appellate review is specificaily addressed at 290-291:

One consequence of this is that appellate review of
determinations in this field must be narrow. Where a

8

jury has tried the matter upon correct instructions,
the only inquiry is whether it cannot be said that
reasonable men could reach differing conclusions...
The rule itself applies also to factual inferences from
undisputed basic facts . . . as will on many occasions
be presented in this area.

That this holding has a much broader application than
the meaning of “gift” cannot be doubted. The Sixth Cir-
cuit has held that Duberstein directly controls appellate
review of debt-equity cases. See Ragland Investment
Company v. C.I.R., 435 F.2d 118 (6th Cir., 1970) at 119-
120, which, like John Kelley Co., cited above, concerned

interest versus dividends.

More recently, this Court cited Duberstein in its discus-
sion of the primacy of the fact-finder’s role in determining
issues involving intent. Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456
U.S. 273, 288 (1982). While agreeing that the debt-equity
question ultimately involves the intent of the parties, see
Estate of Mixon v. United States, 464 F.2d 394, 407 (1972),
the Fifth Circuit has consistentiy sidestepped the ulti-
mate factual nature of the intent inquiry via a dichotomi-
zation into and “subjective intent,” id., the former of
which appears to be the sum of the twelve factor Mixon
paradigm and the latter merely a factor, generally to be
disregarded as self-serving. See generally Estate of
Mixon, supra, Slappey Drive Industrial Park v. United
States, 561 F.2d 572 (5th Cir. 1977) and others cited in the
appellate opinion.

Petitioner TFB’s position throughout the course of this
lawsuit has been that creation of “debt”, like “gift”, is
controlled by the intent of the parties and that even in a
situation, as here, where there are numerous “undisputed
basic facts,” Duberstein, supra, the ultimate inference —

9

debt or equity, loan or contr‘bution to capital — remains
factual, based on “the fact tinding tribunal’s experience
with the mainsprings of human conduct,” id., and was
properly determined by the jury in the District Court.

Despite this line of authority above and its dominating
position in the majority of the Circuits, and despite its
own holdings that other debtor-creditor relationships
present questions of fact,‘ and despite the fact that this
was a case of first impression involving transactions
between two non-profit corporate affiliates, the Fifth Cir-
cuit treated the debt-equity issue as one of law and re-
versed the District Court and the verdict. The opinion on
motion for rehearing makes clear that advances between
non-profit entities such as in this case and advances from
a shareholder to an ordinary profit-seeking corporation
are to be subjected to the same standard, which how-
ever, is apparently factually distinct, as a matter of law,
from other types of debtor-creditor relationships (Motion
denying Rehearing, 732 F.2d 437 at 438. App. D, infra, pp.
A-21-A-22). This apparent rule that a corporate debt-
equity question is a law question and that non-corporate
debtor-creditor relationship questions are fact questions
is seriously flawed. If consistently followed, the factual or
legal nature of the question and thus breadth of appellate
review hinge not upon the substance of the transaction,
“the totality of the facts of each case,” Duberstein at 289,
but rather upon the legal status of the parties involved.
Despite the Court of Appeals’ Mixon-factor analysis of
the objective factors of the case, ultimately what emerges
is a decision based on form rather than substance. Such
decisional rules have always been disapproved by this

' See e.g.. Saunders v. Commissioner, 720 F.2d 871 at 873 (Sth Cir.
1983).

10

Court. See, e.g., Frank Lyon Co. v. United States, 435
U.S. 561, 573 (1978).

An additional difficulty with the Court of Appeals deci-
sion is the lack of a-meaningful rationale for treating the
question as a matter of law. While citing four cases to the
contrary, the panel opinion merely proclaims that:

Courts generally bear responsibility for applying
debt-equity factors; characterization of an advance
as either debt or contribution to capital presents
primarily a question of law. (725 F.2d at 311-312,
App. A, infra, p. A-10).
and then proceeds to selectively analyze the Mixon fac-
tors, downplaying some, emphasizing others and ruling
others out as irrelevant. 725 F.2d at 312-314, App. A, infra,
pp. A-10-A-15.

This is not statutory or constitutional construction or
any other traditional question of law analysis. There is no
question presented that “bad debt” has any other than an
ordinary meaning. This is simply a Court of Appeals re-
deliberating a set of subsidiary facts and substituting
its own findings for those of the District Court jury
without benefit of witnesses, live testimony and an oppor-
tunity to judge credibility. This was precisely what this
Court rejected in John Kelley Co., Duberstein and Swint.
This is precisely the error the majority of Circuits have
avoided in treating debt-equity as a question of fact, and
giving appropriate deference to the fact-finder’s conclu-
sions. TFB respectfully submits that the Fifth Circuit
improperly reversed this case.

11

CONCLUSION

Resolution of this question would provide a greater
degree of certainty and uniformity in the law of taxation
across this country. It would be an inestimable service to
the taxpayers and litigators of this country. For the fore
going reasons, then, Petitioner Texas Farm Bureau
respectfully requests that review of this case be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ob ie Wires

Peeler Williams, Jr.
Attorney at Law

ugh W. Davis, Jr.
Attorney at Law

12

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that service of this document has
been made in accordance with United States Supreme
Court Rule 28 by placing four copies of same in an enve-
lope, first class, postage paid, properly addressed to:

Mr. Glen L. Archer, Jr.

Assistant Attorney General

Tax Division

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530
and by placing three copies of same in an envelope, first
class, postage paid, properly addressed to:

Honorable Rex E. Lee

Solicitor General

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

and depositing the above with the United States Postal

Service. Vb ‘wv AM, ie

Peeler Williams, Jr.
Attorney for Petitioner

Autvsrag I9E7

A-1

APPENDIX A

TEXAS FARM BUREAU,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.
UNITED STATES of America,
Defendant-Appellant.

No. 82-1355.

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

Feb. 21 1984.

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc
Denied May 21, 1984.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Western District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, GOLDBERG and
POLITZ, Circuit Judges.

GOLDBERG, Circuit Judge:

With Congress’ dedicated cultivation, the tax code has
prospered and thrived, achieving a rate of growth that
tillers of non-legislative soil would be hard-pushed to
match. Despite the code’s phenomenal size and detail,
courts must still contend with a particularly persistent
and pesterous ambiguity. The problem lies not in separ-
ating the seed from the chaff, but in telling debt from
equity.

Debt-equity questions commonly involve a corporation
and its shareholders — the issue being whether monies
advanced by the shareholder to the corporation consti-
tute a loan or a contribution to capital. Because classifi-

ee

A-2

cation of such advances as either debt or equity can pro-
duce significant tax consequences, courts frequently
have to go beyond the form and into the substance of the
particular transaction. As a consequence, courts have
developed a set of factors to which they look in resolving
debt-equity controversies.

Today we deal with a close cousin of the debt-equity
ambiguity. This case poses the same, * loan versus con-
tribution to capital” question present in the shareholder-

corporation context. We must decide whether advances
by one non-profit corporation to another separate, yet
closely linked non-profit corporation constitute loans or
contributions to capital. The government disagrees with
the contributing corporation s characterization of the
transaction as a loan and the corporation’s deduction of
the unrepaid advances as a bad debt. Fortunately, the
precedent derived from debt-equity cases supplies an
effective pesticide to eliminate ambiguity in the instant
case. Taking guidance from past judicial solutions to
debt-equity puzzles, we conclude that the advances in
question constituted contributions to capital and not
loans.

i. FACTS

Taxpayer, the Texas Farm Bureau (“TFB”) is a non-
profit corporation, organized and existing under the laws
of the State of Texas. TFB’s primary purpose is to provide
goods and services, including educational benefits, polit-
ical lobbying services, life and property insurance, and
product marketing services, to people engaged or inter-
ested in agriculture. These services are generally pro-
vided through several TFB affiliates which TFB has
established over the years. TFB generates funds for its

Se Te em

A-3

operations through individual membership dues and
management fees charged to its affiliates. This case
involves transactions between TFB and one of its affil-
iates, Texas Agricultural Marketing Development Asso-
ciation (““TAMDA”).

Incorporated in 1961 pursuant to the Cooperative Mar-
keting Act of the State of Texas,' TAMDA was created to
furnish cooperative marketing services for its members
who produce livestock and other agricultural goods.
From its inception TAMDA’s board of directors has con-
sisted of individuals holding corresponding offices on
TFB’s board. Membership in TFB constitutes a prerequi-
site for membership in TAMDA. Formed with no capital
stock, TAMDA has relied on membership fees of $5.00 per
member and advances from TFB to meet operating and
organizational expenses.

The advances from TFB were made pursuant to an
April 26, 1961, agreement between TFB and TAMDA
(“the agreement’). The agreement was signed on behalf

Currently codified at Tex.Agric.Code. Ann. §52.001 et seq. (Vernon
1982).

- The agreement (as read into the record) provided, in pertinent part:
In consideration of the premises | sic] promises and of the mut-
ual covenants herein contained, the parties hereto agree to as
follows: Farm Bureau agrees and covenants as follows: (a) To
provide any and all managerial and clerical services necessary
for the conduct of business of the association; (b) To furnish all
facilities necessary for the operation of the association; (¢) Such
facilities shall include but are not limited to office space, office
furniture and equipment, files, filing cabinets, telephone service,
local and long distance, stationery, postage and supplies; (d) To
use its good offices, influence and prestige in promoting the
general welfare of the association and to cooperate with the
association in carrying on any informational or educational pro-
grams designed and intended to promote the association; (e) Not
to incur any indebtedness or create any obligations on behalf of

A-4

of each party by J. H. West, president of both organiza-
tions. It provided that TFB would supply all manage-
ment and clerical services for TAMDA. In return,
TAMDA agreed to reimburse TFB for expenditures made
on TAMDA’s behalf and to pay TFB “reasonable man-
agement fee.”’* The following schedule sets out the yearly
totals of TFB’s advances to TAMDA:

Fiscal Year Amount Advanced
Ending by Texas Farm

October 31 Bureau Cumulative Total
1961 $ 1,398.10 $ 1,398.10
1962 1,482.37 2.88.47
1963 3,133.97 6,014.44
1964 3,399.35 9,413.79
1965 6,461.77 9,413.79
1966 1,690.41 17,875.56
1967 65,128.85 82,694.82
1968 0 82,694.82
1969 80,000.00 162,694.82
1970 4,251.20 166,946.02

the association, neither implied or otherwise, unless specifically
authorized by the association in writing; (f) To be covered at all
times in the implementation of this management agreement by
the provisions, spirit and intent of the articles of that corporation
and bylaws of the association.

Number 2. The association [TAMDA] agrees and covenants
as follows: (a) Subject only to the conditions hereof and on pres-
entation of itemized account of expenditures and expenses
incurred by Farm Bureau on behalf of and in the interest of the
association, the association shall reimburse Farm Bureau for
such expenditures and expenses within 30 days of the close of its
fiscal year; (b) Pay a reasonable management fee to Farm Bureau
as may be mutually agreed to between the association and the
Farm Bureau from time to time.

This agreement shall take effect on date of execution and shall
continue in full force and effect from such date until the end of the
current fiscal year of the association and from year to year
thereafter.

Record, Vol. II, pp. 72-73.

3 TFB did not charge TAMDA management fees during the period
from 1961 through 1967. In 1968, TFB charged a management fee of
$73,400. Of this amount TAMDA paid $25,466.72 and TFB wrote off
the remaining $48,933.28 as uncollectable. None of that amount is
included in the advances in question in this lawsuit.

A-5

Promissory notes, bearing a7 percent interest rate but
with no fixed maturity dates, evidenced $50,000 of the
1967 advance.‘ The notes are not part of the record, how-
ever, as they have been either lost or destroyed. The par-
ties never established any fixed repayment schedule, and
TAMDA never paid any interest on the notes.

Other than the $50,000 advance in the 1967 fiscal year,
none of the advances made to TAMDA were evidenced by
a note, bond, or other obligation. Furthermore, the par-
ties made no provision for payment of interest on any of
this ““nonevidenced indebtedness.” Except for the partial
payment of a management fee assessment? and a $3,000
payment made October 26, 1966, TAMDA made no pay-
ments towards the management fees or in repayment of
advances.

TFB advanced TAMDA an additional $84,351.20 dur-
ing the 1969 and 1970 fiscal years, despite a 1968 write off
of $48,933.28 in management fees owed by TAMDA.
Then, in its return for fiscal 1970, TFB deducted as an
uncollectible bad debt $164,118.13, representing unre-
paid TAMDA advances made from 1961 through 1970.
No court action by TFB against TAMDA preceded the
write-off. TAMDA never ceased to do business during the
1969-1970 period and was operating at the time of trial.

On audit, the Commissioner of Internal Revenue
denied the bad debt deduction. Taking the position that
the $164,118.13 in advances constituted contributions to
capital that did not become wholi._: worthless in 1970, he
concluded that the advances did not create a bona fide

' The $65,128.85 advanced during the 1967 fiscal year included
$50,000 furnished to establish a custodial account, as required by
the United States Packers and Stockyard Act. 7 U.S.C. §§ 181-229.

See supra, n. 3.

A6

debt. Accordingly, the Commissioner assessed deficien-
cies. TFB paid the amounts assessed and, following
denial of its refund claims, sued for a refund in district
court.®

Il. PROCEDURE BELOW AND ISSUES
»ON APPEAL

The case was tried before a jury. At the close of TFB’s
case the government moved for a directed verdict. The
government argued that because the parties’ stipulations
resolved any conflict regarding “operative facts,” the
court should determine as a matter of law whether the
advances constituted debt or contributions to capital.
The court denied the motion. Subsequently, the jury
returned a verdict in favor of the taxpayer, finding that
the advances were loans, that TFB held a reasonable
expectation of repayment when the advances were made,
and that 98% of the debts became worthless in fiscal year
1970. The court denied a government motion for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict or, in the alternative,
for a new trial.

On appeal, the government argues that the trial court
erred in submitting to the jury the issue of whether the
advances constituted capital contributions or loans.
Rather, as a question of law, the issue should have been
decided by the court. In addition, the government con-
tends that given the stipulated facts, the court erred in
not holding the advances to be capital contributions.

* The suit seeks a refund for the years 1967, 1968 and 1970. Although
I.R.C. § 501(cX5) exempts TFB from the regular corporate income
tax, the organization remains subject to tax on unrelated business
income under !.R.C. §511. TFB’s bad debt deductions eliminated its
1970 unrelated business income liability and generated net operat-
ing loss carrybacks to 1967 and 1968.

A-7

Ill. ANALYSIS

As we noted above, the issues in this case closely cor-
respond with those.arising in common debt-equity cases
— cases involving advances from a shareholder to a cor-
poration. Loan transactions between a corporation and
its shareholders require special scrutiny primarily
because of the lender/shareholder’s dual interest in the
corporation. See Tomlinson v. 1161 Corporation, 377 F.2d
291, 296 (5th Cir. 1967). One manifestation of this dual
interest is that, depending on how an advance is struc-
tured, the lender’s ownership of stock may, in itself, effect
a return of capital. Allowing the lender to write off what
is essentially an equity interest as a bad debt produces a
deduction that corresponds with no real loss.

The advance in the case at bar, however, did not run
from shareholder to corporation. Rather, TFB, one non-
profit corporation made advances to TAMDA, aseparate
non-profit corporation. Nevertheless, the circumstances
here move us to drawn an analogy to profit corporations
and their shareholders.In this case, one of the parties
seeks tax advantages through the same technique used
by shareholders and profit corporations — proclaiming
in words but not in deeds that money put into the corpora-
tion constitutes debt rather than capital contributions.
TFB holds a substantial interest in TAMDA — one com-
parable to the interest of shareholders in a profit corpora-
tion. Specifically, TAMDA was formed to meet the needs
of certain of TFB’s members. Record, Vol. 1, p. 229; Trial
Transcript, p. 26. The same individuals sit on both boards
of directors. TAMDA’s members, the analogs of share-
holders in a profit corporation, are a subgroup of TFB’s
members. To the extent that the TFB advances meke up

A-8

part of TAMDA’s financial structure, and to the extent
that TAMDA’s members benefit financially from TAM-
DA’s success a portion of TFB’s membership also bene-
fits. Therefore, TFB’s functioning as an organizational
proxy for its members, possesses an interest in TAMDA
very similar to an equity or shareholder interest.

[1] Given such an interest, the transaction at issue
demands the kind of scrutiny regularly given debt-equity
controversies. In resolving such controversies courts
have looked to the circumstances surrounding the pur-
ported loan transaction. Attempts to make this process
more rational and consistent have produced a list of spe-
cific factors commonly relevant to debt-equity determi-
nations.’ They are:

(1) the names given to the certificates evidencing
the indebtedness;

(2) the presence or absence of a fixed maturity date;

(3) the source of payments;

(4) the right to enforce payment of principal and
interest;

(5) participation in management flowing as a
result;

(6) the status of the contribution in relation to regu-
lar corporate creditors;

(7) the intent of the parties;

' The struggle to exterminate debt-equity ambiguities has a long
history. See, e.g.. Slappey Drive Industrial Park v. United States,
561 F.2d 572d (5th Cir. 1977); Estateof Mixon v. United States, 464
F.2d 394 (5th Cir. 1972). Diilin v. United States, 433 F.2d 1097 (5th
Cir. 1970); Tyler v. Tomlinson, 414 F.2d 844 (5th Cir. 1969); Berko-
witz v. United States, 411 F.2d 818 (5th Cir. 1969(; Curry v. United
States, 396 F.2d 630 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S.967,.89 S.Ct. 401,
21 L.E.2d 375 (1968); Tomlinson v. 1661 Corp. 377 F.2d 291 (Sth Cir.
1967); United States v. Snyder Bros. Co., 367 F.2d 980 (Sth Cir. 1966):
Montclair, Inc. v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 318 F.2d 38
(5th Cir. 1963); Rowan v. United States, 219 F.2d 51 -{Sth Cir. 1955).

A-9

(8) “‘thin; or adequate capitalization;
(9) identity of interest between creditor and
stockholder;
(10) source of interest payments;
(11) the ability of the corporation to obtain loans
from outside lending institutions;
(12) the extent to which the advance was used to
acquire capital assets; and
(13) the failure of the debtor to repay on the due date
or to seek a postponement.

Estate of Mixon v. United States, supra, 464 F.2d at
402.

Many of these factors are relevant in this case.
Rather than being tailored only to contrast debt with
equity in profit corporations, most of the factors focus
on the definition of debt under the tax code." They
transcent the differences between a shareholder’s
equity interest and TFB’s interest in TAMDA. While
we exclude consideration of certain factors in this case
because of the particulars of the transaction, such
would be the procedure in most debt-equity cases. Even
with respect to traditional debt-equity cases, consider-
ation of the factors requires not a simple counting pro-

* Judge Brown described the function of the factor analysis in Tom-
linson v. 1661 Corporation, sv ora.:
In the course of determining whether a particular transaction
creates a valid and subsisting “indebtedness” within the statutory
meaning, this court has in the past analyzed the pertinent facts of
the transaction in connection with certain criteria considered to be
controlling. Generally, these criteria are designed to disclose the
real nature of the transaction in question — that is whether it
exhibits the characteristics of a bona-fide loan to the corporation
which is expected, indeed, may be compelled, to be repaid in full at
some future date, or whether as a formalized attempt to achieve the
desired tax result while lacking in necessary substances, it merely
parades under the false colors of such a transaction.
377 F.2d at 295.

A-10

cess, but an evaluation. Tyler v. Tomlinson, supra, 414
F.2d at 848, Slappey Drive Ind. Park v. United States,
supra, 561 F.2d at 581. Depending on the particular facts
of a case, different factors come to the fore. Slappey, 561
F.2d at 581; Curry v. United States, supra, 396 F.2d at
633-34.

A. Debt or Capital Contributions —

A Question of Law
Courts generally bear responsibility for applying

debt-equity factors; characterization of an advance as
either deot or contribution to capital presents primar-
ily a question of law.° Estate of Mixon v. Uniied States,
supra, 464 F.2d at 402; see also Slappey Drive Indus-
trial Park, supra, 561 F.2d at 582, n. 17; Tyler v. Tom-
linson, 414 F.2d at 850. We perceive no reason to
deviate from this general rule under the facts of the
instant case.

[2] The only exception to debt-capital contribution
determination as a matter of law arises when a court
must rely on the parties’ subjective intent, factor
number seven. Issues of intent pose questions of “pure
fact.” Bryam v. United States, 705 F.2d 1418 (5th Cir.
1983}; see also Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 USS.
273, 102 S.Ct. 1781, 72 L.Ed.2d 66 (1982). But, reliance
on subjective intent and the submission of the debt-
capital contribution question to a jury becomes neces-
sary only when a court’s analysis of other, objective
factors fails to provide clear signals. The Mixon court
stated that where “the objective facts of the case are
ambiguous and dc not result in a clear manifestation of

® Contra, see Electronic Modules Corp. v. United States, 695 F.2d
1367, 1371 (Fed.Cir. 1982); Sayles Finishing Plants, Inc. v. United
States, 399 F.2d 214,218, 185 Ct. Cl. 196 (1968); Diamond Bros. Co. v.
Commissioner, 322 F.2d 725, 730 (3rd Cir. 1963); Gilbert v. Commis:
sioner, 262 F.2d 512,513 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 359 U.S. 1002,79S.Ct.
1139, 3 L.Ed.2d 1030 (1959).

‘ A-11
objective intent, then subjective intent is relevant on
the issue.”” Mixon, supra, 464 F.2d at 407. The court,
thouzh, in Tyler v. Tomlinson, supra, 414 F.2d 844,
pointed out that reliance on subjective intent should
indeed be the exception.

'Tax law requires that creditorship have genuine
existentiality (citation omitted). This requires more
than a declaration of intention to create an
indebtedness and more than the existence of corpo-
rate paper encrusted with the appropriate nomencla-
ture captions.

If appellants mean to say that a mere showing of an
intent to create an indebtedness and the existence of
something called “notes” is sufficient to take their
case to the jury, we must disagree. If that were true,
every debt-equity case would require a jury verdict
no matter how transparent the attempt at tax avoi-
dance. We, therefore, look not to mere labels or to the
self-serving declarations of the parties, but to the
more reliable criteria of the circumstances surround-
ing the transaction.

414 F.2d at 850.

TFB argues that the instant case falls within the
exception where consideration of subjective intent is
necessary. Maintaining that the facts stipulated to in the
trial court left substantial ambiguity as to the import of
the relevant, objective, debt-equity factors, TFB argues
that the issue of intent was properly submitted to the
jury. Determination of this first issue, therefore, requires

an analysis of the relevant, objective factors surrounding
TFB’s advances te TAMDA.

B. Debt or Capital Contributions
the Objective Factors

Turning to that analysis, we note that three factors
point weakly towards debt. Factor one, the names given

A-12

to the certificates evidencing the indebtedness, suggests
debt with respect to $50,000 of the advances. “Notes”
evidenced that amount of the $166,946.02 total.'!” This
indicator has little force, however. After the original
notes were either lost or destroyed,'! the parties never
issued new notes to replace them. In addition, of the
twelve “objective” Mixon factors, factor one has the larg-
est subjective content. The parties’ decision to call the
certificates “notes” sheds little light on the transaction’s
real substance. In any case, to the limited extent that
factor one indicates debt, we find other factors
overriding.

Factor nine, identity of interest between creditor and
shareholder, also weighs lightly in the instant analysis. It
applies specifically to the situation where shareholders
have advanced funds to their corporation. The focus is on
whether a contributing shareholder owns the same por-
tion of the company’s stock as he does of the purported
debt. If “proportionality” exists, how the contributor
breaks down the advance between debt and equity will
not affect control of the company. See Slappey Drive Ind.
Park v. United States, supra, 561 F.2d at 583. In such
circumstances tax considerations may well be the prim-
ary force in the contributor’s characterization of the
transaction. Strictly speaking, the factor does not apply
to the case at bar, one involving an advance between two
non-profit corporations. The underlying notion of iden-
tity of interest does have relevance, however. A complete
identity of interests would exist between TFB as creditor
and TFB as representative of TAMDA’s members if the

“TFB advanced $114,198.13 without a note or other indicia of
indebtedness.

'! See supra, p. 309.

A-13

two organizations had identical memberships. Because
TAMDA’s members comprise only a subgroup of TFB’s
members, symmetry of interests is incomplete. The factor
thus cuts somewhat in favor of a finding of debt. But,
even its limited significance fades in the light of the other
factors.

Next we observe that the agreement between TFB and
TAMDA established a fixed due date for repayment of
the advances. Again, however, the circumstances of this
ciuse negate this factor’s importance. Although the
agreement between TAMDA and TFB required repay-
ment of the advances within 30 days of the close of each
year, that provision was a dead letter. TFB advanced
money to TAMDA year after year, despite TAMDA’s
failure to comply with the repayment provision.
Moreover, the very limited outside financial resources of
TFB,'2 coupled with the complete identity between the
two organizations’ board of directors, makes illusory the
notes’ payment on demand provisions. See Tyler v. Tom-
linson, supra, 414 F.2d at 849.

Turning to the remaining, relevant factors,'*’ we find
that they unwaveringly indicate that the advances were
not debt. TAMDA’s dependence on its earnings to repay
TFB’s advances is one illustration. The only documented
nonearnings source for repayment of TFB lay in dues

\2 See infra, p. 313.

'83Two of the Mixon factors have no bearing on the instant case.
Factor five. whether the source of the advances took an increased
management role in the recipient, cuts neither way because of the
complete identity among management personnel in TAMDA and
TFB. No increase in management role was possible for TFB. Ability
to obtain loans from outside lending institutions, factor eleven,
provides no help either. Unless TFB or its individual members
guaranteed the debt, TAMDA never attempted to secure credit from
outside sources.

A-14

paid by TAMDA’s members. But, given a yearly dues
income of only $3,000,:* , TAMDA would have to look
elsewhere to repay TFB — i.e., to the commissions it
charged for marketing services. Record Vol. I, p. 104. The
dependence on membership dues also raises the factor of
inadequate capitalization. With such limited resources,
TAMDA could hardly have been more tinly capitalized.

TFB’s “right to enforce payment of principal and inter-
est’’ was only a mirage. The agreement signed at TAM-
DA’s inception gave TFB a contractual right to repay-
ment. In actuality, however, repayment fell within
TAMDA/TFB management discretion. The complete
overlap in the boards of TFB and its affiliate precluded
any arms-length relationship — any realistic expectation
that a demand for payment would be made or legal
enforcement actions would be taken. TFS stipulated in
the trial court that it never took “formal collection
actions” against TAMDA despite TAMDA’s repeated
failures to meet the annual due dates. Record, Vol. I, p.
104. In addition, the advances were de facto subordinated
to TAMDA’s corporate debt. TAMDA failed to meet its
obligations to TFB while still meeting all of its obliga-
tions to other creditors.

TAMDA’s use of the advances also leads us to conclude
that they were not debt. TAMDA spent the advances on
basic operating costs such as rent, supplies, travel, etc.
While the advances were not used to obtain capital
assets, the organization wholly depended on the advan-
ces to begin functioning. Purchase of such “necessary
first assets” points us away from a finding of debt. Slap-

'* TAMDA had 600 members during the relevant period, each member
paying $5 in annual dues.

A-15

pey Drive Industrial Park, supra, 561 F.2d at 583.

A particularly important indicator in distinguishing
debt from capital contributions focuses on interest pay-
ments. As this court stated in Curry v. United States,
supra, 396 F.2d 634, “ a true lender is concerned with
interest.” In this case, the agreement under which TFB
advanced $114,118.13 did not call for payment of interest.
Even with respect to the interest-bearing $50,000 notes,
TAMDA never made a single interest payment. Failure
to insist on interest payments clearly demonstrates that
TFB was not concerned with interest income. Rather like
an equity holder, TFB cared more about the continued
operation and growth of TAMDA. See id.; Estate of
Mixon v. United States, supra, 464 F.2d at 409.

IV. CQNCLUSION

[3] Slappey Drive, supra, articulated the essential dif-
ference separating lenders and holders of an equity inter-
est: “shareholders place their money ‘at the risk of the
business’ while lenders seek a more reliable return.” 561
F.2d at 581, see also Midland Distributors, Inc. v. United
States, 481 F.2d 730, 733 (5th Cir. 1973); Dillin v. United
States, supra, 433 F.2d at 1103. Self-serving assertions
that payment was expected cannot be substituted for
some concrete demonstration of the actual existence of
such expectations. We have analyzed the laundry list of
objective factors relevant to whether the relationship at
issue was one of a debtor or creditor. We can find no
maimed creditor. The absence of fixed, realistic dates for
repayment, the failure to provide for meaningful
enforcement mechanisms, the dependence of TAMDA
upon its earnings to repay the advances, the de facto
subordination of the TFB debt to other debt, t he use of the

A-16

advances for initial operating expenses, and the lack of
emphasis on interest cut strongly against the notion that
the advances were debt. Analysis of these factors shows
us the true and unambiguous nature of TFB’s advances
to its affiliate. TFB hoped to profit by its relationship
with TAMDA and furnished the capital to keep it going.
No other scenario can be reeled out. The district court
erred in not finding that the advances were, as a matter of
law, contributions to capital.

The problem of distinguishing debt from capital con-
tributions has been with us and will likely remain with us
for a long time. Primary reliance upon subjective indica-
tions of intent is simply not an effective way of resolving
that problem. In aland of hard economic facts, we cannot
root important decisions in parties’ pious declarations of
intent. Awarding the government its rightful harvest, we
hold that TFB’s advances to TAMDA were not loans and
therefore were not deductible as bad debts. The ruling of
the district court is,

REVERSED.

A-17
APPENDIX 6

In the United States District Court
for the Western District of Texas
Waco Division

Texas Farm Bureau, Plaintiff
Vv.
United States of America, Defendant

Civil No. W-79-CA-120
FINAL JUDGMENT

The above-styled cause was tried before the Court anda
jury on March 15 and 16, 1982, and the jury returned its
verdicts as follows:

1. D» you find that the advances which Texas

Farm Bureau made to, or paid on behalf of, TAMDA
were in the nature of a loan or an investment?

Answer “Loan” or “Investment.”

Answer: “Loan”’.

If your answer to Question 1 was “Investment,”
do not answer the remaining questions. If your
answer to Question | was “Loan,” then answer
Question 2.

2. Do you find that, at the time Texas Farm Bur-
eau made the advances, there was a reasonable ex-
pectation that TAMDA would repay the advances?

Answer “Yes” or “No.”
Answer: “Yes”.

If your answer to Question 2 was “No,” do not
answer the remaining questions. If your answer to
Question 2 was “Yes,” then answer Question 3.

3. Do you find that the advances were bona fide
debts which became worthless, in whole or in part,

A-18

in the fiscal year of Texas Farm Bureau which ended
October 31, 1970?

Answer “Yes” or “No.”
Answer: “Yes’”’.

If your answer to Question 3 was “No,” do not
answer Question 4. If your answer to Question 3 was
“Yes,” then answer Question 4.

4. What percentage of the advances do you find
were bona fide debts which became worthless in the
fiscal year ending October 31, 1970?

Your answer should be a percentage from 0 to 100
percent.

Answer: 98%.

On the basis of the foregoing jury verdicts, it is
hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED as
follows:

1. That Texas Farm Bureau recover from the Uni-
ted States of America the sum of $14,801.82 as an
overpayment of federal income taxes and assessed
interest for its fiscal year ended October 31, 1967,
consisting of $11,673.74 tax and $3,128.04 assessed
interest;

2. That Texas Farm Bureau recover from the Unit-
ed States of America the additional sum of $5,418.77
as an overpayment of federal income taxes and
assessed interest for its fiscal year ended October 31,
1968, consisting of $3,904.13 tax and $1,514.64
assessed interest;

3. That Texas Farm Bureau recover from the
United States of America the additional sum of
$74,916.01 as an overpayment of federal income
taxes and assessed interest for its fiscal year ended
October 31, 1970, consisting of $59,083.95 tax and
$15,832.07 assessed interest;

4. That, in addition to the cumulative amount of
$95,136.60 awarded in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 above,

A-19

Texas Farm Bureau recover interest from the United
States of America on the above cumulative amount
from the date of payment by Texas Farm Bureau,
with such interest to run at the annual rates estab-
lished under Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.); and

5. That each party bear its own costs.
ENTERED THIS 8th day of April, 1982.

Lucius D. Bunton

AAR OoeA Sao ee Re Se a ee ee ee eee ee ee

Approved As to Form:
Johnny D. Mixon

POP eee COO eeC CC Cee Cee ee ee eee ee eee eee

JOHNNY D. MIXON

Attorney, Tax Division
Department of Justice

Room 5B31, 1100 Commerce Street
Dallas, Texas 75242

(214) 767-0293

ATTORNEY FOR UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Peeler Williams, Jr.

PEELER WILLIAMS, JR.
Attorney at Law

3804 Castle

Waco, Texas 76710

ATTORNEY FOR TEXAS FARM BUREAU

A-20
APPENDIX C

In the
United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit

No. 82-1355
D. C. Docket No. W-79-CA-120
Texas Farm Bureau, Plaintift-Appellee,
versus
United States of America, Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Western District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, GOLDBERG and
POLITZ, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT
This cause came on to be heard on the record on appeal

and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment in
this cause be, and the same is hereby, reversed;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the plaintiff-
appellee pay to the defendant-appellant the costs on
appeal, to be taxed by the Clerk of this Court.

February 21, 1984
ISSUED AS MANDATE: June 4, 1984

A-21

APPENDIX D

In the United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit
No. 82-1355.
Texas Farm Bureau,
Plaintiff-Appellee
v.
United States of America,
Defendant-Appellant.
Appeal from the United States District Court
For the Western District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND
SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING

EN BANC
(Opinion February 21, 1984, 5 Cir.,
1984, 725 F.2d 307)

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, GOLDBERG and
POLITZ, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Appellee seeks rehearing on the basis that the Court’s
holding in this case, that the “debt versus contribution to
capital” issue presents primarily a question of law, con-
flicts with existing Fifth Circuit authority. While we do
not agree with this centention, we pause briefly to fit the
holding in this case more securely into the Circuit’s
jurisprudence.

Between the time this case was argued and the time
that the panel decided it, Saunders v. Commissioner of
Internal Revenue, 720 F.2d 871 (5th Cir. 1983) was
decided. Saunders involved funds distributed by an edu-

A-22

cational trust established by an employer-corporation for
the benefit of its employees’ children. In that case, the
Court affirmed a Tax Court finding that the funds dis-
tributed by te trust were taxable income to the corpora-
tion’s employee. Applying the “clearly erroneous” stan-
dard of,review, the Court stated that, “[w]hether a
certain transaction creates a creditor-debtor relationship
is a question of fact for the trier of fact,” and that,
‘{iJntent is the determinative factor.” Appellee argues
that Saunders is inconsistent with the panel’s holding in
this case. Our view of the two cases, however, suggests
otherwise.

[1,2] Although both cases pose the general question of
whether a debtor-creditor relationship has been created,
they arise from two different and discrete factual con-
texts. In the debt versus equity area, involving transac-
tions between a corporation and an entity with an inter-
est in that corporation, this Court has developed a set of
objective factors to aid courts in making the determina-
tion whether the particular transaction creates debt.
Slappey Drive Ind. Park v. U.S., 561 F.2d 572, 582 (5th
Cir. 1977); Estate of Mixon v. United States, 464 F.2d 394,
402 (5th Cir. 1972); Montclair, Inc. v. Commissioner of
Internal Revenue, 318 F.2d 38 (5th Cir. 1963). Further-
more, decisions of this Court establish beyond peradven-
ture that in the Fifth Circuit debt-equity determination is
ordinarily a question of law to be decided by the court.
Slappey Drive Ind. Park, supra, 561 F.2d at 582, n. 17;
Estate of Mixon, supra, 464 F.2d at 402; Tyler v. Tomiin-
son. 414 F.2d 844, 850 (5th Cir. 1969). Although in some
situations intent may play an important role in debt-
equity determinations, Estate of Mixon, supra, 464 F.2d

A-23

at 407, courts look to intent only when other relevant,
objective factors regarding the transaction fail to clearly
indicate either debt or equity. Id.; Tyler v. Tomlinson,
supra, 414 F.2d 844.

[3] In deciding this case, we carefully analyzed the facts
surrounding the relevant transaction and concluded
that, despite certain differences, the transaction closely
resembled a transaction between a corporation and its
shareholder. We concluded that, consistent with the
general rule in the area of debt-equity, intent should not
be determinative. An analysis of the transaction’s rele-
vant, objective factors unambiguously indicated that
Texas Farm Bureau had made a contribution to capital to
its offspring corporation and not a loan. In Saunders on
the other hand, the Court made no such analogy be:ween
the transaction at issue and the debt-equity sicuation.
Tyler v. Tomlinson, supra, and its progeny were nowhere
mentioned; rather, intent was declared to be determina-
tive. Thus Fifth Circuit law, with respect to distinguish-
ing debt from compensation, is different from the law
with respect to distinguishing debt from contributions to
capital. However, the court’s choice in Saunders not to
place primary reliance upon a “legal evaluation” of objec-
tive factors, does not affect the long line of precedent in
the debt-equity area.

For the same reasons that Saunders is distinguishable,
we find that this case is not controlled by Byram v. Unit-
ed States, 705 F.2d 1418 (5th Cir. 1983). In that case, the
Court held that “the purpose for holding proverty ...is a
question of intent and motive” and “as such, it is a ques-
tion of pure fact.” Jd. at 1423. The facts in Bryam called
for distinghishing “capital assets” from assets held

A-24

“primarily for sale to customers in the ordinary course of
[the taxpayer’s] trade or business.”! This is a wholly
different task from the one in the case at bar. The very
words, “purpose for holding property” suggests that
intent and motive should be pivotal in making the neces-
sary determination. Conversely, there is nothing about
the task of distinguishing debt from equity that necessar-
ily calls for consideration of subjective belief. A party
could earnestly believe that a certain advance to a corpor-
ation fits the party’s individualized notion of “debt,” but
that notion might range far from a definition of debt
derived from business community norms or from the law.

Finally, in distinguishing this case from Saunders and
Byram, we pause to reaffirm our conviction that the hol-
dings of Tyler v. Tomlinson, supra, Estate of Mixon,
supra and Slappey Drive Ind. Park, supra, remain solidly
entrenched as law in this Circuit. Our high technology
age has yet to produce an accurate, dependable means for
determining a man’s subjective beliefs. At least until
such a development occurs, reliance on more objective
types of evidence is generally desirable. This Court has
chosen this latter path with respect to resolving debt
versus equity controversies. We need not under the facts
of this case, deviate from letter or logic of that precedent.

The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED, and no
member of this panel nor judge in regular active service
on the court having requested that the court be polled en
banc (Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local

Rule 35), the Szggestion for Rehearing En Banc is
DENIED.

i 25 U.S.C. §1221.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2136%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
