# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Knobeloch v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2084%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 470 U.S. 1006

## Text

84-1241.

Office - Suoreme Court, U.S.
FILED

DEC 12 1004

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.
CLERK

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

ROBERT KNOBELOCH, Petitioner,
V

. =

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

MR. PAUL STORMENT, JR.
STORMENT & READ

8019 Forsyth

St. Louis, MO 63105
(618) 274-9514

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER,
ROBERT KNOBELOCH

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. SHOULD THE EVIDENCE SEIZED IN A
WARRANTLESS SEARCH OF A HOTEL ROOM BE
SUPPRESSED WHEN THE GOVERNMENT AGENTS
KNEW THE LOCATION OF THE CONTRABAND
BEFOREHAND AND THE GOVERNMENT AGENTS
CREATED THE ALLEGED EXIGENCIES PURPORTED

TO JUSTIFY THE SEARCH?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented i
Table of Cases and Autnorities iii
Petition 1
Opinion Below 3
Jurisdiction 3
Statement of the Case 4
Reason for Granting the Writ 15
Conclusion 27
Appendix A-}

ii

TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

HOFFA V. UNITED STATES, 385 U.S. 293, 87
S.Ct. 408, 17L.Ed. 2d 374 (1966)

KATZ V. UNITED STATES, 389 U.S. 347, 88
s.Ct. 507, 19 L.Ed. 2d 576 (1967)

RAKOS V. ILLINOIS, 439 U.S. 128, 99 S.Ct.
421, 582 L.Ed. 2d 387 (1978)

RIOS V. ANDERSON, 533 F.2d 1210 (D.C.
Cir. 1976)

STORER V. CALIFORNIA, 376 U.S. 483 (1964)

UNITED STATES V. BLAKE (1980) 632 F.2d
731

UNITED STATES V. BRAND, 566 F.2d 1312
(5th Cir. 1976)

UNITED STATES V. BULMAN, (11th Cir. 1982)
667 F.2d 1374

UNITED STATES V. DAVIS, 423 F.2d 924
(Sth Cir. 1970)

UNITED STATES V. HACKETT, 638 F.2d 1179
(9th Cir. 1980)

UNITED STATES V. JACKSON, 588 F.2d 1046
(6th Cir. 1979)

UNITED STATES V. MUNIE, 534 F.2d 695
(6th Cir. 1976)

UNITED STATES V. RUBIN, 472 F.2d 262
(3rd Cir. 1973)

iii

WOLF V. COLORADO, 338 U.S. 25, 69 S.Ct.
1359, 93 L.Ed. 1782 (1949)

WONG SUN V. UNITED STATES, 371 U.S. 471,
83 S.Ct. 407, 9 L.Ed. 2d 441 (1963)

2t Usewces Beart (83 17 and §846

iv

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

ROBERT KNOBELOCH, Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Robert Knobeloch, res-
pectfully prays that a writ or certiorari
issue to review the judgment and opinion
of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit.

The appeal to the Eighth Circuit
was taken from a ruling and judgment
entered on a finding of guilt on a two-
count Indictment filed against Robert

1

Knobeloch. Judgment followed a bench
trial had in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District in
Missouri, Eastern Division, on February
6, 1984. The defendant appealed the
Magistrate's ruling and trial court's
ruling denying defendant's Motion to
Suppress.

The District Court ruled that there
were present at the time of the arrest
sufficient exigent circumstances in order
to justify the warrantless search of the
defendant's hotel room, and hence, the
seizure of the evidence therein, and
upheld the denial of che Motion to

Suppress.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
was filed on October 29, 1984, and is
attached hereto and made a part of the

appendix.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
was entered on October 29, 1984. The

jurisdiction of the Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The defendant, Robert Knobeloch, was
co-defendant on a two-count Indictment
filed against William Hahn and Robert
Knobeloch. Count I alleged that Knobe-
loch and Hahn knowingly and willfully
conspired to distribute cocaine in
violation of 21 U.S.C. §841(a) (1) and
§846. Count II alleged Knobeloch
possessed cocaine with the intent to
distribute in violation of 21 U.S.C. §841
ia) (1h.

Defendant pled not guilty to both
charges and filed a Motion to Suppress
and other pre-trial motions on November
2, 1983. On November 10, 1983, all pre-
trial matters were assigned to United
States Magistrate Robert D. Kingsland.

On November 15, 1983, a hearing was had
in regard to defendant's Motion to

Suppress before Magistrate Kingsland.

4

Timothy A. Brunholtz, special agent
for the Department of Justice, testified
he was assigned to the St. Louis District
Office in March of 1982. (Mot. Tr-4)

He stated on March 30, 1982, he was pre-
sent at the Howard Johnson Motel in St.
Louis with other agents. (Mot. Tr-5)
Brunholtz stated that he, an informant
and Officer Zambo were to conduct a drug
transaction with a Mr. Hahn. (Mot. Tr-6)
Brunholtz stated Zambo took out room 114
in order to take delivery of cocaine.
(Mot. Tr-7)

After their arrival, Mr. Hahn told
the agents the delivery would have to
take place in two transactions instead
of one. (Mot. Tr-8) Brunholtz testified
Hann came to room 114, delivered a quan-
tity of cocaine and was arrested. (Mot.
Tr-9) Hahn told the agents the name of

the other party to this transaction was

5

Bob Knobeloch. (Mot. Tr-11) Brunholtz
Stated he knew Knobeloch was in the
building and may have been in room 317.
(Mot. Tr-i12) Room 317 proved to be
vacant. (Mot. Tr-13) Brunholtz and
other police officers went to room 308,
knocked and said they were the maid
service. (Mot. Tr-14) The agents
identified themselves as Federal agents
and tried to open the door with a pass
key. (Mot. Tr-14) The door was bolted,
and they entered forcibly. (Mot. Tr-14)
They found Mr. Knobeloch in the room,
and then patted him down to search for
weapons finding bags of cocaine and other
evidence. (Mot. Tr-16) Brunholtz stated
he didn't think they had time to get a
warrant. (Mot. Tr-18)

On cross-examination, Brunholtz
stated he was aware the drug deal would

transpire in either room 308 or one of

6

the rooms they chose. (Mot. Tr-20) He
stated he knew Hahn was going to have
drugs with him in room 308. (Mot. Tr-22)
Brunholtz stated Hahn was notified to
come to room 114 so that the arresting
officers could come in through the first
floor sliding door. (Mot. Tr-33)
Brunholtz stated he knew it was a good
likelihood that another person other
than Hahn would be involved in the
transaction. (Mot. Tr-24) Brunholtz
said no one would have gotten out of
room 308 if an officer was posted out-
Side. (Mot. Tr-26)

Brunholtz stated at the time of
Hahn's arrest since Knobeloch couldn't
have known the deal had gone bad, they,
the agents, had no reason to suspect
Knobeloch would destroy the evidence.
(Mot. Tr-26) He stated between the time

they first knocked down room 308 and

7

finally got in was around 45 seconds to
one minute. (Mot. Tr-27) He stated
they entered the room without a warrant
and without consent. (Mot. Tr-28)
Brunholtz stated he could have arranged
to have a warrant issued the day before.
(Mot. Tr-29) He didn't believe anyone
was going to be injured nor was he in
hot pursuit. (Mot. Tr-30) He stated the
defendant had the evidence seized in his
pocket and did not appear ready to dis-
pose of any evidence. (Mot. Tr-31)
Brunholtz testified he entered the room
to protect the destruction of evidence.
(Mot. Tr-32)

The defendant testified he is 33
years old and resides in Mascoutah,
Illinois. (Mot. Tr-41) Knobeloch
Stated while he wes in room 308, he did
not know that any drug sale had gone
bad. (Mot. Tr-42) He stated while

8

AAA nee

A ehtien

ete WHaetlby wr BUR wn fn Ww “a

Mr. Hahn was gone, he was sitting on the
bed in room 308 reading a magazine.
(Mot. Tr-42) He stated he heard a voice
saying maid service and he refused it.
(Mot. Tr-43) He stated the men who
forced the door down announced they were
agents at the same time they broke the
door down. (Mot. Tr-43) He stated he
did not destroy nor attempt to destroy
any evidence. (Mot. Tr-44)

On December 30, 1983, Magistrate
Robert D. Kingsland recommended the
Motion to Suppress be denied. Judge
William L. Hungate adopted the Magis-
trate's recommendations in an Order
dated January 23, 1984.

A trial was had before United States
District Judge William L. Hungate. The
defendant first moved to waive the jury
and his motion was allowed. (Tr-3)

The Government called William Hahn.

9

5 aeons

4
}
;
i
a
+

(Tr-10) Hahn stated he had agreed to
testify against the defendant Knobeloch,
and the Government agreed to file no
other charges against him. (Tr-11) Hahn
stated that on March 20, 1982, an infor-
mant asked him about getting some
cocaine. (Tr-12)

On March 30, 1982, at around 11:00
a.m., Yahn called Knobeloch, who was to
Supply the cocaine, to come over to the
Howard Johnson's Motel in St. Louis.
(Tr-19) Hahn stated Knobeloch came into
room 308 and showed him the drugs. (Tr-
20) Hahn stated he later got a call from
the informant. (Tr-21) Hahn stated he
told Knobeloch to go to room 317. (Tr-
21) The informant called and said the
buyer was going to take out room 114, and
the exchange would take place there.
(Tr-23) Hahn said the police asked him
where the rest of the drugs were, and he

10

enlitittates iedar Dd Pee AI aa ta a>

told them it was with Bob Knobeloch.
(Tr-24)

On cross examination, Hahn testified
the Government informant knew another
person was to be involved in the trans-
action at the motel. (Tr-35) Hahn
stated the informant had called him on
the phone in room 308 the day before, and
the informant knew Hahn was going to be
in room 308. (Tr-35) Hahn stated it
would be customary for a person buying
cocaine to test it for purity, and that
the money would have to be counted, and
that all of this would take time. (Tr-
36) Hahn stated after he was arrested he
couldn't have warned Knobeloch. (Tr-37)
He stated 25 minutes elapsed between the
time he was arrested, and the time the
agents went to Knobeloch's room. (Tr-38)

St. Louis Police Officer Robert
Zambo testified one of his informants

11

advised him around March 20, 1982, that
a purchase of cocaine might take place.
(Tr-44) Zambo testified in conformity
with Agent Brunholtz regarding the facts

of the purchase and arrest of both

parties. (Tr-46-52)

On cross-examination, Zambo stated
he Knew that Mr. Hahn was not going to
Supply the cocaine, and that another

person was to be involved. (Tr-59)

Zambo knew Hahn had rented room 308 at
least one day before the exchange took
place. (Tr-60) Zambo stated he knew

; beforehand that the source of the cocaine
might be in room 308. (Tr-61)

: Gus Kolilis, police officer, was
assigned to Howard Johnson's on March 30,
1982. (Tr-72) He testified that on that
day Mr. Hahn was taken into custody in
room i114. (Tr-74) Kolilis testified in

conformity with Brunholtz regarding how

12

room 317 was searched and how room 308
was broken into. (Tr-76)

On cross-examination, Kolilis stated
on March 30, 1982, Zambo briefed him on
the transaction, and that Mr. Hahn was
going to be one of the participants.
(Tr-86) At the time of the arrest of
Hahn, Zambo told Kolilis that the other
party might be in room 308 or 317.
(Tr-90) Over objection, Kolilis testi-
fied that if on March 29, 1982, the
officers in charge had had knowledge that
the contraband would have been present in
room 308, the obtaining of a search
warrant would have been preferable to the
manner in which they handled the arrest.
(Tr-94) Kolilis stated he knew the only
way Knobeloch could get out of the room
was through the front door or a third
story window. (Tr-98) He stated that
when they broke the door down, Knobeloch

13

was not attempting to destroy any

evidence. (Tr-99)

14

abate de ee

MIE a IO a le 3 ce”

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals
found the defendant lacked standing to
assert any right to privacy and that the
exigent circumstances justified a
warrantless search ofthe room the defen-
dant occupied and the seizure of the
evidence there.

The Fourth Amendment disallows
unreasonable searches and seizures and
assures that people may be secure in
their "persons, houses, papers and
effects." This right to privacy may not
be capriciously invaded by agents of the
state nor the Federal Government. Wolf

v. Colorado (1949) 338 U.S. 25, 69 S.Ct.

1359, 93 L.Ed. 1782. The thrust of the
protection is that the evidence seized
by an illegal search is excludable in a
federal prosecution and the fruit of the
search may not be admitted against the

15

Ozh ag Se as haa

ed hee Wa re

a

SARS es Wee ER, tein oe Me ee

defendant. United States v. Davis, 423

F.2d 924 (5th Cir. 1970); Wong Sun v.

United States, 371 U.S. 471, 83 S.Ct.

407, 9 L.Ed. 2d 441 (1963).
The extent and breadth of a person's
"reasonable expectation of privacy" was

delineated in Katz v. United States, 389

U.S. 347, 88 S.Ct. 507, 19 L.Ed. 2d 576
(1967). The genesis of "reasonable
expectation" has generally followed the
criteria of an actual expectation by the
person, one which society views as

reasonable and legitimate. Katz, infra.

while a person in a motel room does not
have a legitimate expectation of privacy
in regard to his conversations which may
be overheard in adjoining rooms, United

States v. Jackson, 588 F.2d 1046 (1979),

he can reasonably expect protection from
invasive physical trespass into the room

itself. Rakos v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128,

16

et eee ed Oa WA Sine

99 S.Ct. 421, 582 L.Ed. 2d 387 (1978);

United States v. Blake (1980) 632 F.2d

731. The Court below apparently held
that since the defendant, Robert Knobe-
loch, did not rent the rooms in question,
but merely occupied them, he, therefore,
had no standing to assert any right to
privacy argument. Knobeloch had per-
mission to be in the rooms in question
and had a key given to him by the co-
defendant who had rented both rooms. As
a hotel or motel room can be the object
of protection as well as a home, the
defendant was entitled to the same ex-
pectation of privacy as a home occupier.

Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293,

87 S.Ct. 408, 17 L.Ed. 2d 374 (1966).

As the court said in Katz, infra., and

reiterated in United States v. Jackson

at 1502, the right to privacy protects

people, not places.

17

S
-

rae

Based upon all the reasoning above,
the defendant, Robert Knobeloch had a
right to privacy expectation, and he had
standing to assert it as a lawful occu-

pier of the motel room. Rakos v.

Illinois, infra.

Since the defendant had a valid
right to privacy, the next question was
whether or not the warrantless search
executed and its fruits should be
Suppressed. A warrantless searck is
presumed to be unlawful and can survive
only by being brought within one of the
exceptions to tne rule that a search may
only be carried out pursuant to a search

warrant. Storer v. California, 376

U.S. 483 (1964); Rios v. Anderson, 533

P.2@ 2210 (0.C. Cir. 1976)
The burden of proof as to any ex-
ception to justify a warrantless search

is upon the Government. United States v.

18

Munie, 534 F.2d 695 (6th Cir. 1976) The
common reasons for a warrantless entry
and search onto the premises protected by
the Fourth Amendment are to prevent in-
jury and to halt a crime in progress.

United States v. Brand, 566 F.2d 1312

(Sth Cir. 1976)
The Government will cite United

States v. Hackett, 638 F.2d 1179, (9th

Cir. 1980) for the proposition that exi-
gent circumstances existed before break-
ing into the defendant's room. The

tests under United States v. Rubin, 472

F.2d 262 (3rd Cir. 1973) will also be
cited supporting the Government's case.
Under Rubin and its progeny, the
first consideration in a warrantless
search is the urgency of the situation
and the amount of time necessary to ob-
tain a warrant. The agents and policemen
involved in this transaction were

19

experienced and had participated in many
other investigations. The magistrate in
his recommendation stated the agents had
no way of knowing where the transaction
was to take place. This was not true.
Officer Brunholtz stated he knew co-
defendant Hahn was using room 308, and he
knew Hahn was going to have drugs in room
308. (Mot. Tr-21-22) The agents knew it
was going to be either in room 308 or as
it turned out a room which they chose in
order to facilitate the arrest, that is
room 114. (Mot. Tr-23) The magistrate
also stated the officers had no way of
knowing a third man, Mr. Knobeloch, was
to be involved. That finding was in
error. Brunholtz testified he knew
another person was likely to be involved.
(Mot. Tr-24) Officer Zambo, who was in
charge of the investigation, knew another
man was to be involved with the delivery.

20

(Tr-59) Zambo knew Hahn had let room 308
the day before the arrest and knew the
source of the cocaine might be in room
308. Officer Kolilis stated on the day
of the arrest Zambo told him of another
party to the sale who might be in room
308 or 317. (Tr-90)

In regard to the time necessary to
obtain a warrant and the urgency in-
volved, every witness for the Government
stated room 308 was the center for Mr.
Hahn and the cocaine. The police knew at
least 24 hours ahead of time of the
existence of another party, and that the
co-derendant Hahn was going to have drugs
in room 308. The urgency in regard to
the needing of the warrant after the
arrest of Mr. Hahn was created by the
Government's own nonfeasance in procuring
a warrant. Based upon probable cause, a
warrant could have been readily issued

21

the day defore or the morning of the
transaction. Brunholtz testified a
warrant should have been obtained. (Mot.
Tr-29) Kolilis stated that a search
warrant would have been preferable to
knocking the door Gown. (Tr-94) The
Government's failure to procure a readily
obtainable warrant should not be allowed
to trammel the right of privacy expecta-
tion of the defendant.

The second circumstance to examine
in a warrantless search is the of*ticers
reasonable belief evidence is about to be
destroyed. None of the Government wit-
nesses testified they believed evidence
was about to be destroyed when they broke
down the door into room 308. Brunholtz
testified Knobeloch could not have known
that Hahn had been arrested. (Mot. Tr-
27) The officers who arrested Knobeloch
both stated Knobeloch was not attempting

22

to dispose of any evidence although it
could have been done relatively easily.
As the defendant was on a third floor
room with only one way out, the evidence
could not have reasonably been feared to
be removed from the room.

The Rubin test of danger to the
police guarding the site is clearly in
the defendant's favor, as no evidence was
put on by the Government regarding this
aspect and this test of exigency clearly
fails.

There was no evidence in the case
that Knobeloch knew the police were on
"his trail" as per Rubin. Hahn testified
he was supposed to return to room 308 to
pick up the second part of the delivery.
There was no undue delay up to the arrest
of Knobeloch, as Hahn was arrested almost
immediately upon making the delivery.

All witnesses testified a normal trans-

22

al ea i

action takes several minutes to test the
drugs and count the money. Until the
agents knocked on the door, Knobeloch
stated he had been sitting on the bed
reading a magazine. (Mot. Tr-42) The
exigency which is supposed to allow a
warrantless search should not be one
created by the police. The defendant had
no other way out of the motel room

except through the door which the offi-
cers broke down. The officers could have
been posted, and the defendant would have
been apprehended.

The fifth test under Rubin regarding
the ready destructibility of the evidence
favors the Court's ruling, however, in
light of other criteria, the argument
in favor of not finding an exigency
overwhelms the destructibility argument.

In summary, there was not an exi-

gency of circumstances which would

24

validate a warrantless search. The
officers knew of an additional party to
the transaction other than Hahn. They
were aware the day before that another
party would be supplying the drugs to
Hahn. They were aware Hahn had let room
308. By their own choice, they changed
the probable site of the delivery in
order to facilitate the arrest thereby
insuring the other party would end up in
room 308 with contraband they knew would
be there. There was no evidence of
reasonable belief that any drugs were
about to be destroyed. There was no
testimony that Knobeloch knew something
was awry in regard to the transaction
or that the police were on his trail.
The defendant had the right to
assert an expectation of privacy. The
Government had at least one day in which
to obtain a warrant for the room which

25

they knew was going to be involved in the
transaction. The exigency of circum-
stances, even if found to exist which
petitioner asserts does not, should be
found to be one of the Government's
creation and not one that they can rely
on. The evidence seized should have been
Suppressed, as the search of the room

and entry into room 308 were illegal.

United States v. Mann (D.C. Texas 1978)

462 F.Supp. 933; United States v. Bulman

(11th Cir. 1982) 667 F.2d 1374.

26

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant this Peti-
tion for Certiorari because the Court
has held that an individual has no right
of expectation of privacy in a hotel room
in contravention of the 11th Circuit

case, United States v. Bulman (1982) 667

F.2d 1374. This Court should delineate
the standard of expectation of privacy in
a hotel room. Further, an exigency of
the warrantless search created by Federal
drug agents and adequate time and reason
should be used as a sword in order to
obviate the necessity of a valid search
warrant under the rubric of exigent cir-
cumstances as the 9th Circuit has decided

in United States v. Blake (1980) 632 F.2d

T3T.

For all the reasons cited above,
petitioner respectfully prays that this
Court enter an Order allowing

27

Jie 3605 Se a

petitioner's Writ of Certiorari.

Res tfully submitted

STORMENT & READ
8019 Forsyth
St. Louis, MO 63105
(618) 274-9514

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER,
ROBERT KNOBELOCH

28

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff/Appellee,

Vv.

ROBERT KNOBELOCH,
Defendant/Appellant.

No. 84-1417-EM
United States Court of Appeals,
Eighth Circuit
Before BRIGHT, JOHN R. GIBSON and FAGG,

Circuit Judges.

JOHN R. GIBSON, Circuit Judge

1. Opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

filed on October 29, 1984.

Robert Knobeloch was convicted in a
bench trial of knowingly and willfully
possessing and conspiring to possess,
with intent to distribute, cocaine, in
violation of 21 U.S.C. $$ 341 (a) (1) and
846 (1982). The sole issue raised on
appeal is whether the district court!
erred in denying Knobeloch's motion to
Suppress a quantity of cocaine seized
from him in a motel room. We affirm the
ruling of the district court and the
convictions.

Two undercover agents had planned
a drug transaction with William Hahn,
who was then renting room 308 in a
Howard Johnson's Motor Lodge. On the
morning set for the exchange, however,

Hahn announced that the delivery would

"The Honorable William L. Hungate,
United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of Missouri.

take place in two installments instead

of one. Within thirty minutes, he went
to room 114 of the same motel to meet the
agents; he was arrested there while
counting the money after turning over the
first half of the cocaine. Hahn identi-
fied Knobeloch as his Source to whom he
was to take the money before receiving
the remainder of the cocaine, but he
declined tolead the officers to Knobeloch
or to call Knobeloch to assure him the
transaction was progressing satisfactor-
ai. Police officers, based on earlier
conversation as to where the transaction
might take place, went first to room 317.
It was vacant so they went to room 308,
knocked and said they were with the maid
service. The officers unsuccessfully
attempted to use a passkey and, upon
hearing noises within, forced the door

open, arrested Knobeloch and seized

A-3

cocaine from his person.

The district judge, following the
recommendation of a magistrate to whom
certain pretrial motions had been
referred, denied Knobeloch's motion to
Suppress the cocaine, finding that exi-
gent circumstances justified the offi-
cers' warrantless entry into the motel
room. This determination is subject to
the clearly erroneous standard of review.

United States v. Wentz, 686 F.2d 653,

657 (8th Cir. 1982); United States v.

Jones, 635 F.2d 1357, 1360 (8th Cir.
1980).

The evidence demonstrates that Hahn,
upon his arrest, told the agents that
Knobeloch expected him back immediately

with the money. Since Hahn refused to

“The district court also held that
Knobeloch lacked standing to challenge
the constitutionality of the search, but
the government does not defend on that
ground on appeal.

A-4

call Knobeloch to reassure him, the
agents believed that Knobeloch would
Suspect that the deal had gone sour
before they would have time to obtain a
search warrant. When they found no one
in room 317 and heard a scurrying in room
308 after identifying themselves as
federal agents, they feared that the
cocaine would be destroyed. Upon enter-
ing they found Knobeloch standing near
the bathroom door, and the cocaine was
on his person.

In United States v. Palumbo, 735

F.2d 1095 (8th Cir. 1984), we were pre-
sented with similar circumstances in
which officers feared that one drug
dealer's failure to return promptly
(because of arrest) would alert the
partner that something was amiss. We
there stated: "We believe that the

officers’ fear that Palumbo would become

A-5

Suspicious and destroy the cocaine was
reasonable, and created an exigency
sufficient to justify the warrantless
entry and arrest." Id. at 1097. Under
the facts here, a fear of destruction of
the evidence was equally reasonable and
sufficient to constitute exigent circum-
Stances justifying the officers" actions.
Knobeloch argues vigorously that the
urgency here was created by the police
since the agents knew that another person
was likely to be involved in the drug
transaction and knew that activities
would center around room 308, where
Knobeloch was arrested, because Hahn had
rented it the day before the transaction.
Knobeloch also asserts that no government
witness testified tec a belief that
evidence was about to be destroyed and
that the arresting officers in fact
testified that Knobeloch was not

A-6

attempting to dispose of evidence when
they seized him. He argues that the

time lapse between the arrest of Hahn and
the arrival of the officers at room 308
was insufficient to have given him warn-
ing that something had gone wrong and
that since there was only one way out of
the room, officers could have been
posted.

There is evidence, however, that the
agents believed they could not make a
sufficient showing of probable cause
prior to the first delivery of drugs by
Hahn. Until they knew at least that the
transaction would be conducted in two
parts, they had no reason to suspect that
Hahn's drug source would be present in
the Howard Johnson's at that time, even
though they could suspect his general
existence.

We cannot conclude that the district

A-7

.
a
e
a
7

l a

.. court was clearly erroneous in its
finding of exigent circumstances. The
possibility tnat Knobeloch would take
warning from the delay in Hahn's return
and the scurrying heard by the officers
while outside room 308 justified a fear
that evidence would be destroyed.
Palumbo requires that we uphold the
district court in denying the motion to
suppress.

The conviction of Knobeloch on
both counts is affirmed.
A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_2084%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
