# Opposition Brief — Dean v. Duckworth

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1897%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1214

## Text

Office-Supreme Court,
FILED
~ JAN 25 1985
(3) ALEXANDER L. STEVAg,
No. 84-1008 on

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

KEITH DEAN and CORNELIUS HARPER
Petitioners,
vs.
JACK DUCKWORTH,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

LINLEY E. PEARSON
Attorney General of Indiana

David A. ARTHUR
Deputy Attorney General

Office of Attorney Genera’
219 State House
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 232-6332

Attorneys for Respondent

Central Publishing Company. Inc. Indianapolis, IN 46206

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Seventh Circuit correctly followed
decisions of this Court in concluding that there was no
denial of rights under the Sixth Amendment when counsel
jointly represented co-defendants who presented
interwoven alibis as their only defense and against whom
the evidence of guilt is identical.

2. Whether the Seventh Circuit correctly found
sufficient evidence of guilt based upon positive
identification by the victim.

3. Whether the Seventh Circuit correctly found no
denial of the right to a speedy trial when all delays (except
two weeks) were at the request of Petitioners’ counsel and
with the knowledge of Petitioners and their parents.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page:

Questions Presented for Review ................... i
Ree iin wice 6 aascvinsdxavasbavcaunnous iv
IE OE IN SIN i ovo cikbcccbecsceiceanbeceean 1
Bin I I hn ok oo 6k bcd cbusdakecntoss 1
B. Course of Proceedings Below ............... 2
C. Statement of the Facts...............eee00- 2

Reasons for Disallowance of the Writ

I. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECT-
LY FOLLOWED DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT IN CONCLUDING
THAT THERE WAS NO DENIAL OF
RIGHTS UNDER THE SIXTH
AMENDMENT WHEN COUNSEL
JOINTLY REPRESENTED CO-
DEFENDANTS WHO PRESENTED
INTERWOVEN ALIBIS AS THEIR
ONLY DEFENSE AND AGAINST
WHOM THE EVIDENCE OF GUILT
1D SEER PUAS cbr akdcectnapeundnas’

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECT-
LY FOUND SUFFICIENT EVI-
DENCE OF GUILT BASED UPON
POSITIVE IDENTIFICATION BY
FER VOCUS cicseccicceeicesieten

ii

III.

Conclusion

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECT-
LY FOUND NO DENIAL OF THE
RIGHT TO A SPEEDY WHEN ALL
DELAYS (EXCEPT TWO WEEKS)
WERE AT THE REQUEST OF
PETITIONERS’ COUNSEL AND
WITH THE KNOWLEDGE OF
PETITIONERS AND THEIR
PESO cctecsrwbwsdcgecescesisece

tne ates eee eoee ee ensceneeaeeeeeeocaesveveee see

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Pages:
Barker v. Wingo, 407 U.S. 514 (1972) ............... 9,10
Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980) ............ 5,6,7
Dean v. State, 433 N.E.2d 1172 (Ind. 1982) ......... 2
Dean v. State, 441 N.E.2d 457 (Ind. 1982) .......... 2
Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978) ......... 5
United States v. Mandell, 525 F.2d 671 (7th Cir. 1975),
cert. denied 423 U.S. 1049 (1976) ............... 6
Statutes:
1

nile eg a, fg SAREE OO OTT Oy Pia ry Che Ore

iv

No. 84-1008
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

KEITH DEAN and CORNELIUS HARPER
Petitioners,
vs.
JACK DUCKWORTH,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Respondent Jack Duckworth, Superintendent, Indiana
State Prison, respectfully prays this Court deny issuance of
a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit (hereafter Seventh Circuit),
thereby refusing to review the decision entered by that
Court in cause numbers 83-1664 and 83-1765 (consolidated)
on July 31, 1984.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Nature of the Case

This petition arises from a decision of the Seventh Circuit
reversing an order granting relief by way of habeas corpus
in an action filed under 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

B. Course of Proceedings Below

Petitioners were found guilty of kidnap, rape, and
robbery, and were sentenced to terms of life, twelve years,
and not less than ten years nor more than twenty-five years
(R.139-40). Petitioners appealed their convictions and
sentences to the Supreme Court of Indiana, which Court
unanimously affirmed on April 14, 1982. Dean v. State, 433
N.E.2d 1172 (Ind. 1982). The opinion was supplemented on
November 12, 1982, because the issue of sufficiency of the
evidence was not directly addressed in the first opinion.
Dean v. State, 441 N.E.2d 457 (Ind. 1982).

The petition for writ of habeas corpus was filed on July 9,
1982, in the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Indiana, South Bend Division. The District
Court found eight of the nine issues raised to be “wholly
without merit,” but granted relief on the issue of conflict of
interest on the part of trial counsel for petitioners.

Respondent appealed from the decision of the District
Court and petitioners cross-appealed. The Seventh Circuit
consolidated the appeals.

After oral argument the Seventh Circuit issued its
opinion reversing the District Court as to its grant of relief
on the issue of conflict of interest and affirmed the District
Court as to denial of relief on the other grounds raised.

The petitioners sought rehearing, with a suggestion for
rehearing en banc. Rehearing was denied on October 22,
1984.

C. Statement of the Facts

The prosecutrix left a restaurant for home shortly after
midnight of September 12, 1977 ( Transcript of state court
proceedings [hereafter “R”], p. 798). Two individuals in a
car pulled into her driveway and asked for directions
(R.800). After she returned to her own car, the driver
pulled a “very large gun” and ordered her out of her car

2

(R.800-01). Each of the individuals had a weapon (R.802).
After being driven some distance from her home, the
prosecutrix was raped in the back seat of the car (R.805).
Fifteen dollars was stolen from her purse (R.803).
Following the rape, the prosecutrix climbed into the front
seat, between the two, because she was less likely to be shot
there (R.805).

The entire incident lasted more than an hour (R.807),
along well-lighted streets (R.915-16), with the prosecutrix
in the front seat of the car with both assailants for part of
the drive (R.805) from where she could observe from a very
close distance and from where she could see the face of each
at all times (R.837). The identification of the petitioners in
court was unhesitating and positive (R.809-10). All pre-
trial identifications were positive (R.907-08). The only
persons ever identified as the assailants are the petitioners
(R.972-73).

The alibi presented by petitioners—each of whom
testified at trial—was that each was at his own home at the
time of the crimes. Each claimed to remember the
particular date because Harper had been in a fight on a
school bus and had a “busted mouth” and swollen lip
(R.1129, 1166). This was sought to be supported by several
other witnesses (R.983, 1011, 1016, 1033, 1059, 1069-70,
1086, 1092). The evidence as to the fight was presented not
only to support the alibi, but also to show the “inaccuracy”
of the positive identification, as the prosecutrix observed no
swollen lip on either of her attackers. To counter this
presentation, the State called the principal of Harper’s
high school. He established the date of the school bus
incident as September 7, 1977 (R.1196, 1200), five days
orior to the crimes. Since the injury took four or five days to
heal (R.1129), the swelling was gone by the time of the
crimes.

Prior to trial, each petitioner was given an ex parte
polygraph examination by trial counsel (R.548). The
results showed that one of the petitioners knew something

3

about the incident and were inconclusive as to the other
(R.548). Prior to trial, the results were discussed with the
petitioners (R.576), and with the parents or guardians of
the petitioners (R.575). Prior to trial, counsel held sixteen
conferences with petitioner Harper’s father and six
conferences with petitioner Dean’s grandmother (R.531-

32).

Immediately prior to trial, the following colloquy
occurred:

BY THE COURT:

oF OP ©

er Fr

Which of you is Cornelius Harper?
I am.

Stand by the microphone. You are Cornelius
Harper?

Yes.

In this cause, you and your co-defendant, Keith
Dean, who is present in Court are each
represented by the same attorney. There is a
possibility when two defendants charged with the
same offense are represented by the same
attorney that a conflict could develop because
your defense and that of your co-defendant might
be different. That may not be this case. In any
event, are you satisfied that both you and your co-
defendant can be represented by the same
attorney?

Yes.

You waive any possible conflict that might
develop in that regard?

I don’t understand your question.

Are you stating now in Court that you are
satisfied that your defense and your co-
defendant’s defense are similar or the same and
can be handled by one attorney?

Yes.

Of Keith Dean:
Q. Are your answers the same or different?
A. They are the same.

(R.772).

REASONS FOR DISALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT
I.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY
FOLLOWED DECISIONS OF THIS COURT IN
CONCLUDING THAT THERE WAS NO DENIALOF
RIGHTS UNDER THE SIXTH AMENDMENT WHEN
COUNSEL JOINTLY REPRESENTED
CO-DEFENDANTS WHO PRESENTED
INTERWOVEN ALIBIS AS THEIR
ONLY DEFENSE AND AGAINST WHOM THE
EVIDENCE OF GUILT IS IDENTICAL

The Seventh Circuit followed the standard set by this
Court:

In order to establish a violation of the Sixth
Amendment, a defendant who raised no objection
at trial must demonstrate that an actual conflict
of interest adversely affected his lawyer’s
performance. Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335,
348 (1980).

In the present case, no issue was raised until well after trial.
Compare Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978).

“Conflict” denotes hostility, collision, competition,
encounter, opposition, incompatibility, strife, antagonism,
inconsistency. Conflict is absent in this case.

Petitioners rely upon two «reas to show the claimed
conflict—pre-trial polygraph examinations and the alibi.

The polygraph examinations and results are not in
evidence. The results were characterized by trial counsel as
indica.ing that one petitioner knew something about the in-
cident and were inconclusive as to the other (R.548).

5

After the pre-trial polygraph examination results were
received by counsel, they were discussed with both Dean
and Harper (R.576). Counsel talked to the parents about the
possibility and effect of any conflict resulting from joint
representation (R.575, 576-78). Petitioners were kept
advised as to all aspects of their case, including evidence,
witnesses, jury, and their own testimony (R.615). Prior toa
change in lead counsel due to surgery, representation of
new lead counsel was fully discussed with petitioners
(R.596). Despite this full knowledge of all aspects of the
case—including the polygraph results—neither petitioners
nor their parents expressed concern about a potential
conflict. When there is no suggestion of a potential conflict,
the courts assume that the lawyer and his clients knowingly
accept whatever conflict may exist. Cuyler v. Sullivan,
supra, at 347; United States v. Mandell, 525 F.2d 671, 675-
77 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied 423 U.S. 1049 (1976).

Petitioners suggest in their petition that counsel may
have been precluded from rigorously cross-examining the
petitioner who had some knowledge. This would have been
foolhardy for counsel (even separate counsel) since
petitioners’ alibis were interwoven. Further, despite
evidentiary proceedings with trial counsel on the stand at
petitioners’ behest, no inquiry was made along these lines.
Having had the opportunity to produce evidence of the
asserted reluctance or inability to probe one of petitioners,
and petitioners having produced no evidence on point, one
can only conclude that no such evidence exists.

The interwoven, joint alibi consisted of petitioners
claiming to be together at the home of friends through the
evening, eventually splitting up each to go to hisown home.
The alibis were not identical because each petitioner
claimed to be in his own home at the time of the crimes.
However, these alibis were supported through testimony of
petitioners and several other witnesses as to the events
earlier. The date was “remembered” by all witnesses
because Harper was allegedly in a fightonaschool bus that
afternoon. Dean described that fight in some detail.
Petitioners and their witnesses also testified to Harper’s
“busted” or swollen lip, not only to support their alibi but

6

also to mount a joint attack on the identification by the
prosecutrix, since the swelling was considerable and she
observed no such swelling. In fact, the school bus incident
was days before the crimes and the swelling was gone by
the time of those crimes.

Further, it must be kept in mind that the evidence
against petitioners is identical. The prosecutrix
immediately and positively identified both petitioners as
her assailants. These are the only two persons whom she
ever identified.

Based upon these facts, the Seventh Circuit correctly
applied the standard set in Cuyler v. Sullivan.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY
FOUND SUFFICIENT EVIDENCE OF
GUILT BASED UPON POSITIVE
IDENTIFICATION BY THE VICTIM

Petitioners assert that the Seventh Circuit failed or
refused to consider what they contend to be strong evidence
of innocence. On the contrary, the Seventh Circuit
considered all of the evidence and thereupon upheld the
convictions. The “evidence” cited by petitioners consists of
some ex parte polygraph examinations conducted after
trial, and certain statements from the brother of one of the
petitioners.

The alleged confession of Richard Pickett and Larry
Harper was not an admission at all. Except for the fact that
the persons making the claim were not the convicted
parties, the claims are little different from the common
defense in many rape cases that the victim consented. This
defense was never raised at trial, and the mere fact of the
timing of the claim (together with the family relationship
as between Larry and Cornelius Harper) makes the story
unbelieveable. That the petitioners could sit in jail
awaiting trial for over five hundred days before the brother
of one of them would come forward with the “truth”
stretches credulity beyond its limits. The attempt to secure

7

the release of Keith Dean and Cornelius Harper by such a
ruse cannot be allowed. That the victim noted the elder
Harper and Pickett as resembling her attackers is not
unexpected. There is no doubt some family resemblance
between the Harpers. It must be kept in mind that the
victim positively identified only two people, the petitioners,
as her attackers. She identified these two immediately and
positively. Despite seeing several persons who had
appearances “similar” to her attackers, the victim
identified only petitioners as her attackers.

The polygraph results are inadmiszible in Indiana.
Further, the State had no opportunity to be present at the
examinations and to determine the conditions under which
they were administered. Finally, there is no indication of
the examinations administered by petitioners’ original
counsel, and if a court were to determine this case based
upon results of inadmissible tests, all of such results should
be in the record.

Innocence is not irrelevant; it is not present in this case.
The victim positively identified petitioners as her
attackers. She identified only the petitioners as her
attackers. The alibi defense presented by the petitioners
was spurious. The evidence of guilt is very strong. All of the
facts point to the guilt of the petitioners, and no admissible
fact points to their innecence. This Court should therefore
deny issuanee of a writ.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY
FOUND NO DENIAL OF THE RIGHT
TO A SPEEDY TRIAL WHEN ALL DELAYS
(EXCEPT TWO WEEKS) WERE AT THE
REQUEST OF PETITIONERS’ COUNSEL AND
WITH THE KNOWLEDGE OF PETITIONERS
AND THEIR PARENTS

The Sixth Amendment guarantees a defendant a right to
a speedy trial. However, the constitutional guarantee is not
an inflexible rule expressed in terms of days or months.
One cannot view a speedy trial claim by looking at a

8

calendar. Instead, one must inquire into the function of the
right in terms of the particular context and case. Barker v.
Wingo, 407 U.S. 514, 522(1972). There are four factors to be
considered: (1) length of delay; (2) reason for delay; (3)
defendant’s assertion of the right; and, (4) prejudice to the
defense function. Barker, at 530. The test is not based upon
merely counting days. The four factors must be weighed
together, along with any other relevant circumstance.
Barker, at 533.

Petitioners assert that the time was excessive and that no
accounting was made of the reasons for delay. These two
complaints are both answered by reference to the
testimony of J. Michael Katz and James E. Daugherty,
petitioners’ trial counsel. The delays were—except for a
two-week period—attributable to the defense. Delays were
caused by waiting for a requested transcript of the hearing
resulting in waiver of juvenile jurisdiction (R.534-35),
depositions (R.535-37), and eye surgery of defense counsel
(R.538, 541). No motion for speedy trial was ever made
(R.586). No motion was made because the prosecution was
ready to go to trial since the filing of the charges, but the
defense was not ready (R.586-88). The only objection made
was to a continuance from April 16, 1979, to April 30, 1979,
which continuance was based upon a congested court
calendar (R.95). Therefore, contrary to the contention of
petitioners, the delays not only are accounted for but are
attributable to the defense. The issue of prejudice likewise
must be resolved against the petitioners because the
reasons for the delays were so that the defense could be
prepared.

Petitioners’ claim of prejudice arises from the fact that
one of them “grew into” the description allegedly given by
the prosecutrix shortly after the crimes. Balancing this is
the fact that there was (1)stipulation (R. 1097) and (2) direct
testimony (R.1162) as to the height and weight of Keith
Dean on the date of the crimes and within six months
thereafter. The point was the subject of so much testimony
that reference to all of the pages in the transcript where
defense counsel dwelled upon this point is virtually
impossible. It was the center of the defense (R.601-03).

9

Defense counsel saw the issue in March of 1978, more than
one year prior to trial, and got a jail official to measure
Dean’s height at that time, and convinced the State to
stipulate as to that measurement.

Petitioners hang their hat primarily upon the
“prejudice” resulting from the growth of one of them. Going
into the consideration of the existence of prejudice is the
question of whether the right to a speedy trial was asserted.
Petitioners urge a totally different approach and contend
that the right was never waived, but the issue in Barker is
assertion rather than waiver. This is so because the failure
to assert the right will make it difficult for a defendant to
prove he was denied a speedy trial. Barker, at 532. This is
so, in part, because assertion of the right is evidence of the
existence of prejudice. Barker, at 531. In Barker, the
defendant hoped to take advantage of the delays. Barker, at
534-35. In the instant case, petitioners took advantage of
their delays by preparing their case, and therefore to assert
the right would have been foolhardy on their part as their
own trial counsel testified (R.586-88).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully urged that
the petition for a writ of certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

LINLEY E. PEARSON
Attorney General of Indiana

David A. ARTHUR
Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondents

10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1897%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
