# Opposition Brief — Toledo, Peoria & Western Railroad v. Illinois Department of Transportation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1880%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 470 U.S. 1051

## Text

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1984

TOLEDO, PEORIA & WESTERN RAILROAD COMPANY
a Corporation, PETITIONER

STATE OF ILLINOIS, DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION; JOHN D. KRAMER; J. E.
HARLAND; and ALLEN AUSTIN, RESPONDENTS

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Neil F. Hartigan
Attorney General

Roy E. Frazier, Jr.
Assistant Attorney General
Springfield, Illinois

*Richard E. Quinn
Special Assistant
Attorney General
227 N. E. Jefferson Street
Peoria, Illinois 61602
(309) 674-1133

January 1985 2

YP

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Table of Authorities oe 1-2
Summary of Argument avs 3-4
Argument a 5-22
Conclusion a 22°23
Appendix se é 24-41
Hicks v. State, 32 Ill.
Ct.Cl. 529 (1978) oe « 24-29

Orr Construction Co. v.
State, 30 I11.Ct.Cl. 266
(1975) a 29-41

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page
Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978). . 5
Black v. Chicago B & Q R.R. Co.,
237 Ill. 500 86 N.E 1065 (1909) » «ah
Edleman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651
(1974) : a
Edwardsville v. County of Madison,
251 I11. 265 96 N.E. 238 (1911) » « big 38
Ex Patre Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908) ..7
Florida Department of State v.
Treasure Salvors, Inc., 458 U.S.
670 (1982) se « @
G. H. Sternberg Co. v. Bond, 30
I11.App.3d 874, 333 N.E.2d 261
(5th Dist. 1975) + Be
Gordon v. Dept. of Transportation,
109 I111.App.3d 1071, 441 N.E.2d
904, 65 I111.Dec. 589 (2d Dist. 1982). . 16
Harris v. Board of Supervisors,
105 Ill. 445 (1883) o« of
Hicks v. State, 32 I11.Ct.Cl.
529 (1978) ew oe
Larson v. Domestic and Foreign
Commerce Corp., 337 U.S. 682 (1949) .. 7,8,9,

10
Liebman v. Board of Governors of
State Colleges & Universities, 79
I1l.App.3d 89, 398 N.E.2d 305, 34
I11.Dec. 630 (lst Dist. 1979) eo « &8

iii aeiaiiaa ti elille

Orr Construction Co. v. State, 30
EidbcheecGae cee tania .

Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527
(1981) °

Pennhurst State School and Hospital
v. Halderman, U.S. , 104 S.
Ct. 900 (1984) °

Poe v. Department of Transportation,
32 Or.App. 493. 600 p.2d 939 (1979).

Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979).

Sass v. Kramer, 72 I1l1l.2d 485, 381
N.E.2d 975, 21 111.Dec. 528 (1978) .

Seifert v. Standard Paving Co., 64
I11.2d 109, 355 N.E.2d 537 (1976) °

S. J. Groves and Sons v. State, 93

I1l1l.2d 397, 444 N.E.2d 131, 67 Ill.

Dec. 92, App. dismissed 103 S.Ct.
3103 (1983)

OTHER
42 U.S.C. sec. 1983
Const. Art. 1 sec. 2 (1970)

I11.Rev.Stat., ch. 37 sec. 439.1
et seg

I11.Rev.Stat., ch. 121, sec. 9-127
I11.Rev.Stat., ch. 121, sec. 4-508

1912 Op.Atty.Gen. 1077

16

RR ee ta meas Ie oe et rn > —

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision of the Seventh Circuit in this
case is in accordance with recent decisions of
this court on the issue of sovereign immunity
of the states. Such immunity was not
abrogated by Congress with enactment of the
Civil Rights Act of i871.

This case is an action against the State of
Illinois, not against the named individuals,
Since the issue is the state's own interest in
real property. Therefore, the legal fiction
which permits civil rights suits against
officials as distinct from the state is not
applicable.

With respect to Petitioner's Fourteenth
Amendment claim, issues of state law are
controlling. The Petitioner assumes the state
can abandon its interest in real property, and
that the Illinois Court of Claims cannot

provide a remedy. These are untrue, or, at

best questionable, assumptions which should

not be used as a basis for action by this

court.

I. THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT IS IN

ACCORDANCE WITH PRONOUNCEMENTS OF THIS

COURT.

The Petitioner asks this Court to decide,
once again, whether the Civil Rights Act, 42-
U.S.C. sec. 1983, abrogates the constitutional
immunity enjoyed by the State of Illinois
pursuant to the Eleventh Amendment to the
Constitution. This Court has repeatedly held,
as did the Seventh Circuit, that it does not.
Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979); Alabama
v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978); Edelman v.
Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974). The rule was
recently restated in Pennhurst State School
and Hospital v. Halderman, _U.S. _ _—s_,104
S.Ct. 900 (1984).

The Petitioner suggests that the Seventh
Circuit “confuses the constitutional immunity
issue with the statutory “person” issue and
treats the two questions as one." (Petition

p. 28). Petitioner ignores the fact that, as

set forth in this Court's analysis in the

Edelman and Quern cases, the two questions are
one. The State and its agencies are entitled
to constitutional immunity unless that
immunity is waived either by an act of the
State or an act of Congress. Because Congress
in enacting sec. 1983 did not override the
traditional sovereign immunity of the states,
the states are not statutory persons.

There can be little question that this is a
Suit against the State of Illinois. While
three state officers are nominally defendants,
along with the Illinois Department of
Transportation, it is clear that the relief
sought is against the State, not against the
officers.

In 1956 the State of Illinois acquired from
Plaintiff a possessory interest in certain
real estate, paying the full appraised value
of the fee interest. The Plaintiff in this
suit seeks a ruling that the State has, by its

action or inaction, forfeited its right to

that possessory interest. The whole purpose
of the suit is to determine what, if any,
right the State retains with respect to the
property. This is not a case subject to the
doctrine of Ex parte Young, 209 U.S. 123
(1908). The individual state officers have no

interest in the property, nor can they

transfer any interest held by the State absent
specific statutory authority to do so. In
fact, it is questionable whether, in their
official capacity, they have any authority to

quiet title in the Plaintiff as originally

directed by the district court. (See section

II B, infra). The trial court recognized this
fact in its order of June l, 1983. (Petition,
p. A-45-46).

The Petitioner suggests the principles of
sovereign immunity do not prevent a federal
Court's initial inquiry concerning the
validity of the Plaintiff's claim to title.
This is an argument initially rejected by this

court in Larson v. Domestic and Foreign

Commerce Corp., 337 U.S. 682 (1949). As
stated by the Court in Larson, such an
argument confuses the doctrine of sovereign
immunity with the requirement that a plaintiff
state a cause of action. 337 U.S. at 692.
The court has recently had occasion to
reexamine the principle in Florida Department
of State v. Treasure Salvors, Inc., 458
U.S.670, 102 S.Ct. 3304 (1982). Therein, both
Justice Stevens' plurality opinion and Justice
White's separate opinion rejected a court of
appeals holding which was in accordance with
the argument made by Petitioner in this case.
As observed by Justice White, it is equivalent
to asserting that suits against a state are
permitted by the Eleventh Amendment if the
result is that the state loses. 458 U.S. at
703.

In Florida Department of State it was
observed that the state had no colorable claim
to the property in question. The same cannot

be said in the case at bar, as the only

documentary evidence shows the State of
Illinois has a permanent easement for highway
purposes with respect to the land in question.
Petitioner seeks to have that easement
extinguished and would have the federal court
find jurisdiction on the basis that the
easement has been abandoned, notwithstanding
the State's repeated and vigorous denials of

the abandonment.

II. THE ISSUE OF WHETHER THE EXISTENCE OF A
STATE COURT OF CLAIMS DEFEATS FEDERAL
JURISDICTION OVER FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT PROPERTY CLAIMS IS NOT RIPE FOR

DECISION IN THIS CASE

Apparently as an alternative to its sec.
1983 claim, the Petitioner asserts federal
jurisdiction on the basis of the Fourteenth
Amendment. The Petitioner acknowledges that,
as set out in this court's opinions in Parratt

v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981) and in Larson

v. Domestic and Foreign Commerce Corp., 337
U.S. 682 (1949), the existence of an adequate
state Court of Claims remedy defeats federal
jurisdiction in a Fourteenth Amendment
property claim case. The petitioner reasons,
however, that where a Court of Claims remedy
is inadequate federal jurisdiction should
attach to vindicate plaintiff's Fourteenth
Amendment right.

The difficulty with Piaintiff's argument is
that it assumes, first, that Illinois law
permits a state agency to abandon an interest
in land, and second, that the state Court of
Claims remedy is inadequate. Both are issues
cf state law on which there is no authority to
support Plaintiff's position, and which the
lower courts in this case have failed to

consider.

10

A. THE ILLINOIS COURT OF CLAIMS AFFORDS

PLAINTIFF DUE PROCESS

Other than the bare allegations of the
Plaintiff's Complaint that it could not attain
a complete remedy in the Illinois Court of
Claims pursuant to the Court of Claims Act,
I11l.Rev.Stat. Ch. 37, sec. 439.1 et seq.
(1981), there has been no showing whatsoever
on the part of the Plaintiff that it has been
denied due process. There was no finding by
the district court of a denial of due process.
The trial court did mention in its September
4, 1981 order, with reference to Defendants'
contention that a remedy may be had in the
Court cf Claims, that "it is far from certain
that that is a valid position." However, the
trial court found that it did not need to
determine whether the Court of Claims accorded
due process, as the existence of a state
remedy did not bar the federal action.

(Petition p. A-20). The lower court

1l

considered no evidence and made no ruling on

whether the Illinois Court of Claims Act, and
the procedures therein, would provide
Plaintiff with due process in accordance with
the State and United States Constitutions.

The Court of Claims Act has previously been
held to be constitutional. Seifert v.
Standard Paving Company, 64 I11.2d 109, 355
N.E.2d 537 (1976). In addition, as a matter
of law it is clear that several of the
conclusions in Plaintiff's complaint with
respect to the jurisdiction of that court, and
the availability of a remedy to Plaintiff
there, are incorrect. In fact, it appears,
after a thorough review of the Court of Claims
jurisdiction, that the remedies available in
that forum are greater than those which have
been accorded to the Plaintiff in the federal
court.

The Plaintiff contends in his Complaint
that “the maximum amount that can be awarded

to any claimant is $100,000 regardless of the

12

loss sustained and the Court of Claims lacks
equity jurisdiction.” (Complaint, p. 4).
While it is true that the Court of Claims
lacks general equity jurisdiction, it can and
does grant equitable relief in certain
instances. For example, in Hicks v. State, 32
I11.Ct.Cl. 529 (1978), the court exercised
such equitable power to reform a deed, after
discussing its jurisdiction to do so.

Further, the Court of Claims can entertain a
Declaratory Judgment action. Orr Construction
Company v. State, 30 I11.Ct.Cl. 266 (1975).
Court of Claims use of such equitable remedies
has been approved by the Circuit courts of the
state. G. H. Sternberg Company v. Bond, 30
I1l1.App.3d 874, 333 N.E.2d 261 (5th Dist.
1975)); Liebman v. Board of Governors of State
Colleges and Universities, 79 I11.App.3d 89,
398 N.E.2d 305, 34 I111.Dec. 63 (lst Dist.
1979). A similar action could have
adjudicated the rights of the parties in the

present case, just as the federal court has

13

done. The Court of Claims, in addition to
adjudicating the rights of the parties to the
property in dispute, could have granted the
Plaintiff a money judgment for invasion of its
property rights. The federal court could not.
The Plaintiff contends that awards in the
Court of Claims are limited to $100,000. But,
while it is true that tort claims in the Court
of Claims limit a claimant to $100,000 in
recovery, the limit on tort awards would not
necessarily apply to the Plaintiff's claim for
the alleged taking of its property. Further,
there is apparently no limit on the court's
jurisdiction to order the return of specific
property, within its jurisdiction to hear "all
claims against the State founded upon any law
of the State of Illinois...". I11.Rev. Stat.
Ch. 37, Sec. 439.8(a). The Illinois
Constitution provides that property shall not
be taken without due process. Const. Art. l

sec. 2. (1970). This is surely a law of the

14

State pursuant to which the Court of Claims
should have jurisdiction.

The Plaintiff also claims the Court of
Claims Act is unconstitutional by reason of
the fact that it does not accord to Plaintiff
all the procedures which would be available to
it in federal court. Again, there is no
evidence in the record as to the procedures of
the Court of Claims. However, it is
elementary that a litigant need not be
accorded the full protection of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure in order to be
accorded due process of law. Parratt v.
Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981). The Plaintiff in
this case has not shown that it has been
denied the opportunity to make a claim against
the State, provide evidence on its own behalf,
and have its claim decided fairly and
impartially by an unbiased decisionmaker. The
lower court in this case effectively refused
to hear any such argument, and simply

discounted the numerous State authorities

15

which have upheld the Court of Claims Act and
ruled that its jurisdiction is exclusive with
respect to claims such as Plaintiff's. E.g.
S. J. Groves and Sons v. State, 93 I1l1.2d 397,
444 N.E.2d 131, 67 I11.Dec. 92, appeal
dismissed, 103 S. Ct. 3103 (1983); Gordon v.
Department of Transportation, 109 I11.App.3d
1071, 441 N.E.2d 904, 65 I11.Dec. 589 (1982);
Sass v. Kramer, 72 I11.2d 485, 381 N.E.2d 975,
21 111.Dec. 528 (1978).

If there is a legitimate question as to
whether the Court of Claims has jurisdiction
to provide Plaintiff with a remedy in this
case, that is a question to be determined by
the legislature and courts of the State of
Illinois, not by federal courts. Plaintiff
should, at least, be required to seek his
remedy in the Court of Claims, and only upon a
finding by that forum of its inability to
provide Plaintiff with complete relief
(assuming Plaintiff were to prove its claim)

should the Plaintiff be allowed to claim, in

16

essence, that the Illinois Court of Claims Act

is unconstitutional as applied to it.

B. UNDER ILLINOIS LAW, THE DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION CANNOT ABANDON AN
INTEREST IN REAL PROPERTY WITHOUT

COMPENSATION.

The Plaintiff's position, and the premise
upon which the above arguments are made, is
that common law principles of abandonment
apply to the Defendant State. Defendants
submit that such an assumption is unwarranted,
and that common law principles of abandonment
have been changed by statute with respect to a
property interest held by the State or its
agencies.

The authority to dispose of property of the
state is vested in the General Assembly and,
in the absence of statutory authorization, a
department, board, or commission lacks power

to dispose of any interest in such property.

17

I
+ ; *
a
"4
7
- ‘
‘
,
4
ey
,
.
d
'
‘
;
-
l ' :
ra ’
.
:
.
‘
°
‘
é
7
»
a ~! Pa ee
LS aca ot as alae oa mei tat met
+ ace = eet a dS oy noe ah sath ee ro i
: = sl - — ee ‘ ——-

= ee Ua a et — : . ba ee ti ao oe ates ge os RTT Ta : ; -

Edwardsville v. County of Madison, 251 Ill.
265, N.E.238 (1911); Harris v. Board of
Supervisors, 105 Ill. 445 (1883); 1912 Op.

Atty. Gen. 1077. There are currently two

statutes which deal with the vacation, sale or
exchange of highway lands or properties by the
State. One of them, I11.Rev.Stat. Ch. 121,
sec. 9-127, concerns the title to highways
"vacated under or by virtue of any Act of this
State or by the highway authority authorized
to vacate" highways. The other, I11.Rev.Stat.
Ch. 121, Sec. 4-508, provides:

"4-508.(a) Except as provided in
paragraph (c) of this Section, and
subject to written approval of the
Governor, the Department may dispose of,
by public sale, at auction or by sealed
bids, any land, rights or other
properties, real or personal, acquired
for but no longer needed for highway
purposes or remnants acquired under the
provisions of Section 4-501, provided
that no such sale may be made for less
than the fair appraised value of such
land, rights, or property.

"(b) except as provided in paragraph (c)
of this Section, and subject to the
written approval of the Governor, the
Department may echange any land, rights
or property no longer needed for highway
purposes, or remnants, acquired under the

18

provisions of Section 4-501 of this Code
for equivalent interests in land, rights
or property needed for highway pruposes.
Where such interests are not of
equivalent value cash may be paid or
received for the difference in value.”

Subsection (c) of the statute concerns
disposition of residential property and is not
relevant to the current matter.

Section 9-127 clearly shows that highway
right of way is to be vacated only by an Act
of the State or in a manner authorized by the
highway department. Section 4-508 clearly
provides that an interest in real property may
be disposed of only with approval of the
governor and for cash or property of
equivalent value. Neither provision allows
the department to simply walk away and abandon
an interest in a piece of property which has
some considerable value to the State. Thus,
the department, as an agency of the State,
cannot, by mere non-use, abandon a property
interest of value to the State without the

express authorization of the General Assembly,

19

which has sole authority to dispose of State
owned property. Defendant Kramer herein, as
Director of the Department of Transportation,
cannot quiet title to property in Plaintiff
without approval of the governor or
legislature.

The proposition that the State cannot
abandon property absent authorization by the
legislature is one which has not been decided
by the courts of Illinois. However, it is not
unprecedented. In Poe v. Department of
Transportation, 32 Or.App. 493, 600 P.2d 939
(1979), the Oregon Appellate Court decided
that, where the state legislature had provided
a statutory scheme for the Simposition of
highway department property, the department
could not abandon property without following
the scheme, no matter how indefinite it may
be. Similarly, in this case the Illinois
legislature has provided a statutory scheme
for the disposition of property no longer

needed for highway purposes, so the department

20

cannot abandon an interest in property without
following that scheme.

The principle that the State cannot abandon
property absent specific authorization by the
legislature is also supported by the rule that
a statute of limitations does not run against
the State. It was a principle of English
common law, later adopted by the courts of
this country, including those of the State of
Illinois, that title to property by adverse
possession cannot be gained as against the
sovereign. Black v. Chicago B&QR. R.
Company, 237 Ill. 500, 86 N.E. 1065 (1909).
Thus, one who possesses and uses property of
the State without authorization or right for a
period of twenty years cannot gain title to
the property by adverse possession. Such a
rule would be of little use if that same
individual could, merely by claiming that the
State's lack of use of the property
constituted abandonment, claim title to it as

abandoned property. A much more logical, and

21

‘ecco 4

consistent, rule would be that the State does
not lose title to an interest in property by
non-use or abandonment absent some affirmative
official act on the part of the State showing
its clear intention to give up its interest.
Such a rule is particularly suitable where, as
in Illinois, the legislature has provided a
means of disposition of unused or unneeded
property.

Once again, this is a question of state
law, which shouid be determined by the courts
of the State of Illinois, not by a federal
court which must assume a decision against the
interest of the state in order to uphold its

own jurisdiction.

CONCLUSION

This honorable court should deny the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in this case
because the constitutional issues raised by

the Petitioner are points that are well

22

=

settled by recent opinions of this court. The
decision of the Seventh Circuit is in
accordance with these recent decisions.
Further, a proper discussion of and decision
in this case would necessarily require the
discussion of at least two matters which are
strictly questions of state law and which
should be decided by the State of Illinois and
its courts. The District Court chose to
ignore the issues of state law in order to
maintain its own jurisdiction. The Apellate
Court reversed. The Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Neil F. Hartigan
Attorney General

Roy E. Frazier, Jr.
Assistant Attorney General
Springfield, Illinois

Richard E. Quinn
Special Assistant

Attorney General
227 N. E. Jefferson Street
Peoria, Illinois 61602
Telephone: (309) 674-1133

23

APPEROI 2

529

Motion to dismiss is hereby granted and said cause
dismissed.

(No. 74-CC-0847—Claim denied.)

ALuI£ Hicks and Erma E. Hicks, Claimant, v. STATE OF
ILLINOIS, Respondent.

Opinion filed December 22, 1978.

JURISDICTION—Equity and reformation of deeds. The Court of Claims
has limited equitable powers, including authority to enter an award reform-
ing a deed, but such an award would still require some legislative action to
carry out the award.

HOLDERMAN, J.

Claimants seek herein to reform a aeed conveying
certain real estate to the State of Illinois by adding an
exception reserving to them the oil, gas and other min-
erals under said land. No request has been made for an
award for damages, though they do ask that they have
such other relief as the Court deems proper.

On the hearing, no evidence of any money dam-
ages was introduced and therefore the claim was nar-
rowed to sole request that this Court reform the deed.

The evidence shows that on or about May 15, 1972,
Claimants discussed the sale of their property with one
Roger Hazlett, a representative of a firm having a con-
tract with the State to acquire or purchase property for
the State. Claimants testified that they told Hazlett
that they would sell the surface of their f )-acre farm
near Dolan Lake, but that they had leased the coal to
Amax Coal Company for 20 years. Claimants testified
that on or about June 5, 1972, Hazlett returned to their
farm and gave them a check for $28,000.00. Hazlett
brought a deed with him and Hicks and his wife signed
it. Claimants state that Hazlett told them he had

24

530

excluded the minerals rights from the sale of the sur-
face. In fact, the deed did not exclude the minerals
rights.

Hazlett was called as a witness by Claimants. He
testified that he was employed by David Sullivan Land
Services, Inc., which had a contract with the Illinois
Department of Conservation. He stated that on May
15, 1972, he offered Claimants $26,000.00 for their pro-
perty, but that no agreement was made. Hazlett testi-
fied that on May 15, Mr. Hicks told him that he wanted
to retain the minerals. Hazlett advised
Hicks that he would see if there could be a conveyance
without the minerals.

Hazlett further testified that the State would not
accept a deed to the surface only, and that on June 5,
1972, he returned home and read the deed to Mr. Hicks
in its entirety. Hazlett stated that in his opinion, Mr.
Hicks understood that he was conveying both the sur-
face and the mineral rights. The consideration for the
purchase had been increased from the original amount
of $26,000.00 to $28,000.00. Hazlett said he told Mr.
Hicks that the State would not accept a conveyance of
the surface only.

Two issues are before this Court. The first is
whether or not this Court has jurisdiction to reform the
deed as requested by Claimants. The second is whether
the Claimants have proved that there was fraud in the
procurement of the deed.

Claimants argue that unless this Court takes
jurisdiction, they will be without remedy. They point
out that they had originally brought suit in the Circuit
Court of Hamilton County, Illinois, but that the case
was dismissed, based on Ch. 127, Sec. 801, which pro-
vides:

25

531

“§801. Immunity of State as defendant or party in
Court.

Except as provided in ‘an Act to create the Court of
Claims, to prescribe its powers and duties, and to
repeal an Act herein named,’ filed July 17, 1945, as
amended, the State of Illinois shall not be made a
defendant or party in any Court.”

Section 4 of Article 13 of the Illinois Constitution of
1970 provides:

“Except as the General Assembly may provide by
law, sovereign immunity in this State is abolished.”

The Circuit Court of Hamilton County was correct
in dismissing the Claimant’s case against the State.
But the question remains, has the legislature granted
jurisdiction tv this Court to entertain a claim to reform
a deed? In arguing that the Court has jurisdiction to
entertain such a claim, Claimants point out that the
Illinois Constitution of 1970 provides, in part, that:

“every person shall find certain remedy in the laws for all injuries and
wrongs he receives to his person, privacy, property or reputation.”

It is generally held that the Court of Claims has
limited jurisdiction and has only such powers as are
conferred on it by the legislature. See, 33A Jil. Law &
Practice, Ch. 7, §142. The State refers the Court to
Taylor v. Michigan, 360 Mich. 146, 103 N.W.2d 769,
where the Michigan Court of Claims held that it did not
have jurisdiction to hear a declaratory judgment ac-
tion or to reform a contract. The State also cites Blue
Water Excavating Co. v. State, 144 N.W.2d 630, and
Montgomery v. State, 328 N. Y.S.2d 189, where the New
York Court of Claims held that it had jurisdiction to
hear claims for money only, with its equitable powers
limited solely to those set forth in the Act or incidental
to enforcement of a claim for money judgment.

26

‘3 i (> yp att mare top PEG att 45-48

} “77 4

“4 é
eats five trl as grt? RNs 63.3) |
By a a of) Goi vw) Pout) ol & Te, 9 . Pc 7
4 fir > de Enid 1% #3 ,* df) J = ane 4
Jed Pyrie “wi ie Vale ee ek 7 heads 4
Lf fapu ! ,° ae > on z a) , 44 Far
‘
™ P ,% 4 rare >| pIAIe en 1 410 4 ii
2 , at a? we Bike ~ » Sey?
bi pw GF, ¢ oo mre piv
‘ 4 ot fl id << A ee i;
j A 4 |
’ - nl 4 ¥ al tar ste ria ery De e271 £771
u rs - 5. ga 4 ¢ - Geo! net
- “a. « { we m [tL Cc , She yu Si ; yr) ithe
= 4 bd : ie a _*
¥ ow me 71ND Meigs? WAI Fs vets > 2 Se ei 4
«
7 ' f 2 ; tad, «4
0 od’ = M ‘ie 4 ti ¥ 7 iW be ‘ a 5 oth 4 a J a ee A
Joy. Rak bt * _ an rts Hise. Me fete fs a rLt-er re) &

o¢ scans
ei: eat? 6
pag See BEA abe 4
| vest ec ei 2A BGs “ ELE othe
BY at welieibernd] Ged shieds bled acu ae

+= eS widesurye ati dale Sahin qeateee 7

Pi bo
~—esnyalshe B Leon 2 gartiipe yl a¥8G

rele hese “is 6 inepee a atenie: af Jo Wert
oa. Vad Sy Cotes | =pioW
Vee abs ogra
aod ae
eptth be est

wen de! aiid at sath eee elton Soaclamt]

7, 7

532

However, as Claimants point out, there is Illinois
authority to the contrary. In Struve v. State of Illinois,
14 Ill. App. 3d 1092, 303 N.E.2d 32, suit was brought in
the Circuit Court to determine whether the terms of a
lease between the State and the Plaintiff were being
violated. No claim was made for money damages. The
defendants moved to dismiss the case on the grounds
that such an action was one against the State, and was
for the Court of Claims. The Court said:

“We agree with the contention of the defendants that the plaintiffs
dispute should be submitted to the Illinois Court of Claims. Section 8 of the
“Court of Claims Act” [Ill. Rev.Stat. Ch. 27, Para. 439.8(b)], relates the
jurisdiction of the Court of Claims and provides that the Court shall have
jurisdiction to hear and determine:

‘(b) All claims against the State founded upon any contract entered into
with the State of Illinois.’

Regardless of the relief sought, the plaintiff has made a claim against the
State, founded on a contract. These claims should be resolved in the Court of
Claims...”

Claimants also cite Sternberg Co. v. Langhorne
Bond, Director of the Department of Transportation,
30 Ill. App. 3d 874, 333 N.E.2d 260. There, plaintiffs
sought and obtained a temporary injunction against
the Department. On appeal, the Court reversed, hold-
ing that the action was a suit against the State of
Illinois, which the Circuit Court was without jurisdic-
tion to entertain. The Court said:

“The holding does not mean the plaintiff, if wronged, is without
remedy. Plaintiff may avail itself af any remedy provided in the Court of
Claims. Allen v. State, 2 Ill. Ct. Cl. 404, New Era Construction v. State, 6 Ill.
Ct. Cl. 88 and Fuhrer v. State, 22 Ill. Ct. Cl. 144. It is clear that the jurisdic-
tion of the Court of Claims is not limited to money claims, and that one may
pursue remedies in the Court of Claims other than for recovery of a sum of

money. Plaintiff can also raise any fraud as a defense in any action by the
State or the insurance company on the bond.”

Recently, in Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v.
State, this Court held that it had jurisdiction to enter a
declaratory judgment, construing an insurance policy.

27

533

The history of the Court of Claims, as described in
“The Illinois Court of Claims: A Study of State Liabil-
ity,”’ published by the University of Illinois Press,
lends further support to this view.

The Constitution of 1870 applied the principle of
sovereign immunity, and only in the General Assem-
bly could one seek relief for wrongs for which the State
was responsible. In 1877, a Claims Commission was
created to hear “all unadjusted claims of all persons
against the State of Illinois... according to the princi-
ples of equity and justice...”

In 1903, the Claims Commission was abolished
and the Court of Claims established with jurisdiction
identical to that of the Claims Commission.

In 1917, the old Court of Claims was abolished and
a new one established “to hear and determine all
claims and demands, legal and equitable, liquidated
and unliquidated, ex contractu and ex delictu, which |
the State, as a sovereign Commonwealth, should in
-quity and good conscience discharge and pay.” (em- .
phasis supplied)

In 1945, the present “Court of Claims Act’ was -
passed. We note that the first three provisions relating _
to the Court’s jurisdiction speaks in broad terms:

“A. Allclaims against the State founded upon any law of the State. . .;

B. All claims against the State founded upon any contract... withthe ©
State...;

C. Allclaims against the State for damages in cases sounding in tort..

We have found no Illinois authority that limits the
Court’s jurisdiction to cases involving monetary dam-
ages. While this is the usual redress sought, what is
there says that we can recommend to the legislature
the payment of damages arising out of deed procured

28

534

by fraud, but we cannot recommend that the legisla-
ture reform the deed itself. Such a conclusion is within
the expressions of the foregoing Appellate Court deci-
sions, and within the spirit for which the Court was
established.

We believe that this Court does possess limited
equitable powers including authority to enter an award
reforming a deed. It must be remembered that such an
award would still require some legislative action to
carry out the award, and that in so holding, the Court
does not imply that it has general equitable powers.

Having decided that we have jurisdiction to enter
an award reforming the deed herein question, we must
next determine whether Claimants have established
the right to reformation.

We have carefully reviewed the record herein, and
conclude that Claimants have failed to meet their
burden of proving that they were mislead by the agent
negotiating the purchase of their property.

It is therfore ordered that this claim be denied.

29

266

Ch. 15, Sec. 210.10, Ill.Rev.Stat., 1973, to request a replacement warrant may
file an action in the Court of Claims for payment.

PER CuRIAM.

(No. 6777—Declaration of rights awarded.)

Orr CONSTRUCTION Company, Claimant, vs. STATE OF
ILLINOIS, DEPARTMENT OF PuBLIC WORKS AND BUILDINGS,
Respondent.

Opinion filed February 3, 1975.
Harry M. Brostorr, Attorney for Claimant.

Witutiam J. Scorr, Attorney General; Saut R.
WEXLER and Martin A. SOL, Assistant Attorneys Gen-
eral, for Respondent.

Contrracts—ambiguity. In construing construction contract, “may” does
not mean “shall” and it is not so construed.

Same—same. If contract is subject to more than one reasonable interpre-
tation, the doubt must be resolved against the party who prepared the contract
and chose the language.

Same—same. Clear and unambiguous language of written contract must
override custom and usage of one of the parties.

Same—damages. Where state improperiy required contractor to use ma-
terial not required by contract, contractor was entitled to damages sustained.

HOLDERMAN, J.

This claim is founded upon a contract entered into by
the respondent with the claimant, a general contractor,
for the construction of a particular section of Illinois
Route 57 Highway in Fayette County.’

The facts are not in dispute. The issues, under which

claimant’s five-count complaint seeks damages in the
,

'The contract is described by the Department of Public Works and Build-
ings as FAI Route No. 57, Project 1-57-3 (73) 134, Section 26 (1A, 1B-1, 2A,
2B-1 Fayette County. Job No. 97-133-68.

30

267

sum of $572,408.12, arise out of a dispute in the
interpretation of “Special Provisions” in the contract
entitled, “Removal and Replacement of Silty Topsoil
Materials”.

This court is called upon to resolve the legal issues
by making a judicial interpretation of the contract pro-
vision in dispute. Hence, without any objections from the
respondent, we granted claimant’s motion to render a
declaratory judgment in this cause pursuant to $57.1 of
the Civil Practice Act. The parties voncede that a dec-
laration of their respective rights under the disputed
provision of the contract which they request this court to
construe may obviate the necessity for further litigation
on the question of damages.

Both parties have informed the court that, if the
legal question is decided in favor of the claimant, there is
a possibility that the parties hereto in conference may
reach a settlement on the amount of claimant’s damages
making it unnecessary to go to trial on that factual issue.
Conversely, if the ruling is favorable to the respondent,
there would be no need for further proceedings in this
cause.

As essential prologue to our interpretation of the
disputed section of the contract, we restate the undis-
puted pertinent facts. On January 24, 1969, the claimant
submitted its sealed propogal for contract with the re-
spondent under which claimant would construct the fol-
lowing: certain mainline grading and drainage for future
pavement and ramps, as Well as frontage roads, drainage
structures, fencing, seeding, clearing and other work; a
triple barrel box culvert; and two steel bridges. This
contract, as bid upon, was prepared and drafted solely by
respondent. It consists of: (a) Plans, (b) Standard Speci-

31

268

fications for Road and Bridge Construction and (c) Spe-
cial Provisions (which supplement the Standard Specifi-
cations.)

The Special Provisions (on page 3 of the contract)
provide, in relevant part:

REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT OF SILTY TOPSOIL MATERIAL:
Within the following station limits, and, as shown on the cross sections, the
silty topsoil horizon is to be removed and replaced with suitable material.

This silty material shall be removed to a depth sufficient to provide a
minimum thickness of 24 inches of suitable material between the bottom of
the subbase and the remaining soil. The minimum depth of excavation shall be
six (6) inches. The width of excavation shall extend beneath the pavement and
the stabilized portions of the shoulders. The excavated material may be used in
embankments greater than two feet in height and placed in alternate layers
with suitable material. The height of embankment is to be measured from
original ground to bottom of subbase. (Emphasis supplied to the keyword
“may”.)

The silty material as well as material excavated from ditches or other
excavations which has an A-4 classification (HRB classifications) and a silt
content greater than 50% shal! not be placed in embankments less than two (2)
feet in height.

It is hereby understood and agreed that the final determination as to the
materials to be removed and replaced wil! be made by the Engineer in the field
and the plan quantity for Earth Excavation adjusted accordingly.

(Here the contract contains a table listing 21 areas in both the northbound
and southbound pavement, from station number to station numbers, in which
the silty topsoil material was to be removed and replaced.)

Standard Specifications Section 202.03 (p. 31) in
relevant part provides as follows:

“Unless otherwise provided in the plans or specifications, unstable and
unsuitable material shall be disposed of by the contractor at his expense,
outside the limits of the right of way.”

Claimant, in preparing its bid for the contract, un-
derstood the above quoted special provisions and stand-
ard specifications to mean: (1) that the silty topsoil ma-
terial between the indicated stations was unsuitable
material and was to be removed and replaced with suit-
able material; (2) that the unsuitable material was to be
disposed of by the contractor at his expense; (3) that, at

Be.

269

the contractor’s election, he could use the unsuitable
material for fill in embankments greater than two feet in
height, provided claimant placed it in alternate layers
with suitable material; and (4) that, notwithstanding the
quantity for such excavation shown on the plans, the
determination of what was silty material to be removed
and replaced would be made by the State’s Engineer and
the plan quantity for excavation would be adjusted ac-
cordingly.

Claimant, relying on this understanding of the lan-
guage of (3) above, determined that it could furnish a
suostantially lower bid by not using said unsuitable
material in embankments over two feet high, but rather
by disposing of it and providing and using suitable ma-
terial in the embankments. Accordingly, claimant deter-
mined and submitted its bid on that basis; namely, on
claimant’s election to dispose of the silty topsoil material
and to use, instead, suitable borrow material in the
embankments.

Thereafter, the claimant, having submitted the
lowest bid, was awarded the job. Accordingly, on Febru-
ary 24, 1969, claimant entered into the aforesaid con-
tract with the respondent. Except for the insertions of
claimant’s bid prices, this contract is exactly the same as
that drafted by respondent for submission to all contrac-
tors for bidding.

Claimant commenced work on the job. During the
course of the work, respondent’s field engineer ordered
claimant to use said excavated silty material in em-
bankments of two feet or higher, contending that the
election to use said materials sosted with respondent.
Claimant protested this interpretation of the Special
Provisions; informed the respondent that the election to
use said excavation in the embankments rested with the

33

270

claimant; that his proposal had not been based on such
re-use; and apprised respondent that its order would
necessitate substantial additional expense not provided
for in its bid. Respondent, nevertheless, ordered claimant
to use this material. Claimant complied under protest.

The issue thus presented to the court is, whether the
election to use the silty topsoil (unsuitable material)
rests with the claimant contractor or with the State’s
Engineer. The correct answer depends upon whether the
grant of discretion by the word “may” in the following
sentence from the “Special Provisions” supra, is ad-
dressed to the contractor to respondent’s field engineer:

“The excavated material may be used in embankments greater than two
feet in height and placed in alternate layers with suitable material.”

The court takes notice that all of the other four
sentences in the same paragraph from which the above
sentence is lifted, are obviously all addressed to the
contractor, and speak directly to him. They instruct him
as to what he shall or may do, viz.

[1] The silty material shall be removed toadepth................
(2) The minimum depth of excavation shall be 6 inches.

{3} The width of excavation shall extend beneath the pavement .....
[4] The excavated material may be used in embankments ..........
[5] The height of embankments is to be measured from ............

Respondent admits that the sentences we have
numbered 1, 2, 3 and 5 from the paragraph in question
speak to the contractor.

Respondent contends, however, that only one of the
sentences in the paragraph [the sentence we numbered 4]
speaks to the engineer, and grants him discretion
whether to use the excavated material in embankments
over two feet. The language of this paragraph plainly
gives no support to respondent’s contention.

Nor does the language elsewhere in the contract. We

34

271

find that, where the contract does give an election or
judgment to respondent’s engineer, there is an explicit
reference to him. For example, at page 4 of the contract,
under “Filling Existing Wells”:

5. .. . The material of this portion of the fill, its manner of placement
and compaction is subject to the approval of the engineer. . .

8. The balance of the hole is to be filled with sand, embankment mate-
rial, or other soil approved by the engineer; it shall be placed in lifts and
compacted as directed by the engineer. (Emphasis added.)

Again, following page 18 of the contract, at Special
Provisions — “Steady Burning Barricade Lights”:

_ . . The contractor shall replace all batteries on a group basis at 45 days
or such other intervals as may be specified by the engineer. (Emphasis added.)

Unlike any of the foregoing provisions, the sentence
in dispute (“The excavated material may be used in
embankments greater than two feet . . .”] contains no
such explicit reference to the engineer. It logically fol-
lows that no such reference was intended.

The disputed language, it seems to use, is plain and
unambiguous. It tells the contractor he has the choice;
that he “may” use the excavated material. Plainly, it
does not tell him he “may” use the excavated material if
the State so decides, an interpretation which would still
place the election with the contractor. Equally plain, the
language contains no explicit directions or reference to
the engineer. We must disagree with respondent’s con-
tention that none is needed. If the intention had been, as
respondent contends, it would have said: the contractor
shall use the excavated material if the engineer so de-
cides.

“May” does not mean “shall” and it is not so
construed in private contracts. Northwestern Traveling
Men’s Association v. Crawford, 126, Ill. App. 468, 480
(1906) aff'd. 226 Ill. 57.

33

272

In support of its position, respondent points to 94 in
the quoted section of the Special Provisions, which reads:

“It is hereby understood and agreed that the final determination as to the
materials to be removed and replaced will be made by the Engineer in the field
and the plan quantity for earth excavation adjusted accordingly.” (Emphasis
added.)

This paragraph relates to the first paragraph and
merely places the final determination of what is to be
removed with respondent’s engineer. It is apparent, that
this authority was given to the engineer to prevent the
contractor from performing excessive excavation, with a
resulting excessive cost to the State, inasmuch as the
compensation to the contractor for excavation was on a
cubic yard basis. Our interpretation as to the intent and
purpose of the above 44 is further supported by the
closing clause of that paragraph: “... and the plan
quantity for earth excavation adjusted accordingly.” If
there were any question as to the interpretation of this
paragraph, the closing clause eliminates it. The closing
clause makes it clear that the authority of the engineer
in this paragraph is solely to determine and control, for
the protection of the State, the quantity of unsuitable
material to be excavated, and it informs the contractor
that payment would be made on the basis of the actual
quantity excavated, as determined by the engineer, and
not based on the plan quantity of excavation (the quan-
tity shown on the plans). To give this paragraph any
other interpretation, we believe, would emasculate and
give no’meaning to the words, “and the plan quantity for
earth excavation adjusted accordingly’.

We do not see any inconsistency, as respondent sug-
gests, in the language of the two paragraphs in question.
The first one says that the contractor may use excavated
material. The other says that the field engineer shall
make the final determination as the quantity of materi-
als to be removed and replaced. |

36

273

Even if we could in good conscience find that there is
more than one reasonable interpretation of the language
in question, the doubt must be resolved against the
respondent, since the respondent prepared the contract
and chose the language. This venerable rule of contract
construction, firmly established in Illinois, is restated in
ILL.P. Contracts §221 as follows:

“Words which are ambiguous or of doubtful construction are to be con-
strued most strongly against the party who prepared the contract, for the
reason that he chose the language and is responsible for the ambiguities in
his own expression.

“This rule obtains nct only in grants, but extends in principle to all other
engagements and undertakings; and in construing reservations or conditions
inserted in a contract for the benefit of the party who makes them, where there
are clauses which are doubtful or ambiguous, that construction will be adopted
which is least favorable to the party making them.”

Repondent’s brief does not address itself to the “re-
solve-doubts-against-the draftsman” rule. Rather, it
suggests that the intent of the disputed language in the
contract is better understood by (1) reading the contract
as a whole and (2) taking judicial notice of a “custom and
usage” of which the claimant allegedly had or should
have had prior knowledge, viz., “The State has for many
years followed the custom of utilizing the silty material
in embankments as much as possible for economic rea-
sons.” [Departmental Report p. 4.]

Commenting on the last contention first, we believe
that it would have been a simple matter for the respond-
ent to have stated the aforesaid custom in its contract,
which is so explicit on countless other matters of much
less importance. If such a provision had been stated in
the written contract, the claimant would not have been
misled in submitting his bid, and this claim would not
have arisen.

We have carefully examined the authority respond-
ent cites in support of its claim that custom should

37

274

override the clear and unambiguous language of a writ-
ten contract. We believe it would be unconscionable for
this court to announce such a rule in the case before us.
Such a rule would permit other bidders in the future to
be deceived by what purports to be a complete written
contract in plain language on which both parties may
rely. Here the specific language of the contract clearly
distinguishes the case at bar from the rule on which
respondent relies in Chicago Bridge & Iron Co. v. Reli-
ance Insurance Co., 46 Ill. 2d 522, 264 N.E. 2d 134
(1970).

We must reject respondent’s argument that “custom
and usage” should control our interpretation of this con-
tract, a contention that is contrary to the rules stated in
I.L.P. Contracts, §211 “Custom and usage” and the au-
thority of Mulliner v. Bronson, 14 Ill. App. 355 in which
the court said:

“. . . the accustomed mode of dealing between parties in many prior
transactions, can not be sustained, for such a private and special custom could
not control the express words of the contract.”

Turning now to respondent’s argument that a dif-
ferent meaning of the contract may be gleaned from
reading the contract as a “whole” to the end that we
would hold with U.S. Trust Co. of N.Y. v. Jones, 414 Ii.
265, Ill. N.E. 2d 144 (1953), that

“In construing a written instrument, its letter should be controlled by its
spirit and purpose, bearing in mind that the terms employed are servants and
not masters of an intent, and are to be interpreted so as to subserve, and not to
subvert, such intent.”

Respondent then states its conclusion that, “the in-
tent of this contract is to give complete and final super-
vision to the State. Nowhere within the document does
any contrary intent exist.” In pursuing respondent’s
thesis, we started with the disputed provision in which
we found that the word “may” clearly gives the election

38

275

to the contractor and not the State’s engineer. We then
examined the rest of the contract in a futile search for
other language that might change our conclusion.

We have previously reported our analysis of the
Special Provisions and concluded that 44 on page 3, the
only part of these provisions on which respondent relies,
merely places the determination of the quantity of that
material which is to be removed and replaced, with the
engineer in the field; and directs that the plan quantity
for each excavation be adjusted accordingly. Thus, the
only authority delegated to the engineer by said {4 is
limited to the quantity of silty topsoil to be removed (and
replaced). Accordingly, %4’s expressly circumscribed
grant of authority to the engineer bears no relevant
relationship to the use or non-use of the silty material.
Our conclusion inescapably follows that the word “may”
in 42 grants to the contractor the sole option to use the
silty topsoil in embankments over two feet, or not to use
it as claimant determines.

This close textual analysis necessitates our agreeing
with claimant’s interpretation of the contract and is only
confirmed by reading the provisions as an entirety.

Finally, we come to that part of the “whole” contract
on which respondent further attempts to support its case,
the Standard Specifications. In this regard, respondent
refers to selected sections therein, some of which are
skillfully paraphrased to imply what respondent no doubt
wishes it had actually said. Others are irrelevant to the
issue here. We find it significant that respondent fails to
mention perhaps the most relevant and important provi-
sion of all, i.e., the opening sentence of the Special
Provisions which declares:

The following Special Provisions supplement the “Standard Specifications

. . .” and in case of conflict with any part or parts of said specifications, the
said Special Provisions shall take precedence and shal! govern.

39

276

This provision not only destroys any support for
respondent’s contentions, but respondent has failed to
show any significant conflict between the Special Provi-
sions and the Standard Specifications. Moreover, if it be
assumed arguendo that there is a conflict, the contract
itself defines the manner of resolution. The Special Pro-
visions take precedence. These we have held, as a matter
of law, clearly support claimant’s interpretation of the
contract, and we find no material or significant ambigui-
ties that would require us to support our conclusion on
the “resolve doubts against the draftsman” rule.

This court has held in a line of cases over many years
that, when the State is responsible for such matters as
delays, changes of plans, lack of coordination of prime
contractors, or faulty plans, an award will be made for
the increased costs incurred, as a result, by claimant
contractors.

In Arcole Construction Company v. State of Illinois,
11 C.C.R. 423, (1941), the government-prepared plans
and specifications, including a “typical cross-section” of
underground conditions, contained a material misrepre-
sentation which caused the contractor to be misled to his
damage. The court held the contractor entitled to recover
for these damages. The thrust of Arcole applies here. For,
whether the focus be on physical condition or right to
election, the State has misled the bidder equally.

In the case at bar, the contract clearly prescribed
that the contractor “may use excavated material”. Noth-
ing in the contract required the claimant to use exca-
vated material. The engineer in the field had no right tu
compel the contractor to use excavated material in place
of suitable material. Clearly, the field engineer only had
final determination as the amount of unsuitable material

40

277

to be removed and replaced, and not as to the re-use of
the unsuitable material to be removed and replaced.

For all of the foregoing reasons, this court declares
that the election to use or not to use the silty topsoil in
embankments greater than two feet in height rested
with the claimant, and that claimant is entitled to the
damages which resulted from being ordered by the re-
spondent, notwithstanding claimant’s protests, to use
said materia! in embankments greater than two feet in
height.

This declaration of rights is the only relief sought by
the parties in this opinion. If the parties cannot agree
and enter into a joint stipulation as to the actual amount
of claimant’s damages, pursuant to this opinion, further
litigation will be necessary on the questions of fact.

(No. 75-CC-575—Claimant awarded $600.00.)

GUARANTY Crepit Corporation, Agents for Seven Drask
Broruers, Claimant, vs. State or ILLIno1s, DEPARTMENT OF
Pus.ic Arp, Respondent.

Opinion filed February 4, 1975.
GUARANTY CREDIT CoRPORATION, Claimant, pro se.

Wiuram J. Scort, Attorney General; Martin A.
So.., Assistant Attorney General, for Respondent.

Contracts—lapsed appropriation. When the appropriation from which a
claim should have been paid has lapsed, the Court will enter an award for the

amount due claimant.

Per CuRIAM.

41

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1880%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
