# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Japan Air Lines Co. v. Abramson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1832%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 470 U.S. 1059

## Text

84-939 :

Office - supreme Court, US

i DEC 12 i090
Lad ® STEVAS
_ bE 2K
IN THE pe
Supreme Court of the United States
OctoBer Term, 1984
Japan Arr Lines Co., Lep.,
Petitioner,
v.

StanLey ABRAMSON,

Respondent.

—————— ———
em ——

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Georce N. Tompkins, Jr.
Counsel for Petitioner

Japan Air Lines Co., Ltd.
1251 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10020
(212) 757-6870

pee

Questions Presented

Some or all of the questions presented by this Petition
may be addressed by the Court when deciding Saks v. Air
France, 724 F.2d 1383 (9th Cir.), cert. granted,
U.S. ——, 105 S.Ct. 80 (U.S. Oct. 1, 1984) (No. 83-1785),
although not specifically set forth in the Air France Peti-
tion.

1. Does the Warsaw Convention apply whenever the trans-
portation is “international” as provided in Article 1 or
is it the occurrence of an ‘accident” within the meaning
of Article 17 that determines when the provisions of
the Warsaw Coivention apply to a claim for damages
by a passenger?

2. Is the cause of action provided to passengers by Article
17 of the Warsaw Convention exclusive and preemptive
of all common law or other causes of action for per-
sonal injury where the Warsaw Convention applies to
the transportation?

3. Where it is determined that the “bodily injury” for
which damages are claimed by a passenger was due to
a pre-existing natural ailment and was not due to an
“accident” within the meaning of Article 17 of the
Warsaw Convention, may the passenger nevertheless:

(a) pursue other causes of action against the air
carrier ;

(b) and, if so, without being subject to the limita-
tion on recoverable damages provided by the War-
saw Convention as supplemented by the Montreal
Agreement?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Prenied - oi. eee
zane 6 Suite 3.050550... eee ees
ER NH. RS Pit
PORIGOR oircisecsiicrinnbinaa
Srenky Wevetee8 osicccckcccceia Gee
Statement of the Qee0 nck scioscns aes
Reasons for Granting the Writ _2..0000.0.000 022. eeeeeeeeeeeoe ee

bE SS File es as

lil

TsaBLE oF AUTHORITIES
Cases: PAGE

Abramson v. Japan Air Lines Co., Ltd., 587 F. Supp.
1099 (D.N.J. 1983), af’d m part and rev'd in part,
AR) an ae 1,2

Benjamms v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913
(2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979) ....5, dn, $

Block v. Compagnie Nationale Air France, 386 F.2d 323
(5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 392 U.S. 905 (1968) ...... 8

Boehringer-Mannheim Diagnostics, Inc. vy. Pan Ameri-
can World Airways, Inc., 737 F.2d 456 (5th Cir.),
appeal docketed, No. 84-804 (U.S. Nov. 16, 1984) _... 5,8

Husserl v. Swiss Air Transport Co., Ltd., 351 F. Supp.
702 (S.D.N.Y. 1972), aff’d, 485 F.2d 1240 (1973) _...5, dn

In Re Aircrash in Bali, Indonesia on April 22, 1974, 684

| 5,9
In Re Mexico City Air Crash of October 31, 1979, 708
F.2d 400 (9th Cir. 1983) .............2.......... ia hdphdnascatins 5, 9, 10

Komlos v. Compagnie Nationale Air France, 111 F.
Supp. 393 (S.D.N.Y. 1952), rev’d, 209 F.2d 436 (2d
a EI EERE ce dn

Lautore vy. United Airlines, Inc., 16 Av. Cas. (CCH)
17,944 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), aff'd mem., 688 F.2d 816 (2d

Tee ckieteniecernunsnicunapn 8
Noel v. Linea Aeropostal Venezolana, 247 F.2d G77 (2d

Cir.), cert. dented, 355 U.S. 907 (1957) .......00.200..... dn
Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

I alc ccchsnncbaannesonnncaely Oy Oy LO

Saks v. Air France, 724 F.2d 1383 (9th Cir.), cert.
granted, - U.S. ——, 105 S.Ct. 80 (U.S. Oct. 1,
Teens scccaiewacsebnvcntemsnccrenese i

iv
PAGE

Trans World Airiiwnes, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp.,
464 U.S. ——, 104 S.Ct. 1776 (1984) oo. 11

Upton v. Iran National Airlines Corp., 450 F. Supp.
176 (S.D.N.Y. 1978), aff'd mem., 603 F.2d 215 (2d
2 Ne BRAT UCN Me EEOC T ERI ere tee TREAD, 8

Statutes and Other Authorities:

Agreement CAB 18900, approved by CAB Order E-
23680, 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966) W000. 2n

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Re-
lating to International Transportation by Air, Oc-
tober 12, 1929. 49 Stat. 3000 (1934), T.S. No. 876;

137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in 49 U.S.C. §1502 note
i, ge Ea lin Airs Be et ea OR AEN OMB ARMS passim

Or. CR ok 2
Ua: Coo 3n

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroper TrerRM, 1984

JAPAN Arr Lines Co., Ltp.,
Petitioner,
Va

STANLEY ABRAMSON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner Japan Air Lines Co., Ltd. (hereinafter JAL)!
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-
cuit entered in this case on September 14, 1984.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Cireuit is reported at 739 F.2d 130 (3d Ci.

1 Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of the Supreme Court Rules, Petitioner
states that it has the following subsidiaries: Hotel Nikko Saipan,
Ine.; JAL Card Co., Ltd.; Airport Ground Service Co., Ltd.;
Nikko Trading Co., Ltd.; Hotel Nikko Annupuri Co., Ltd.; Japan
Air Lines Development Co., Ltd.; Airport Motor Service Co., Ltd. ;
JAL Maintenance Service Co., Ltd.; JAL Creative Systems Co..
Ltd.; Japan Air Lines Hotel Co., Ltd.; International In-Flight
Catering Company; Japan Aireraft Paint Co., Ltd.; Airport
Ground Power Co., Ltd.; Southwest Airlines Co., Ltd.; Japan
Creative Tours Co., Ltd.; and Osaka Airport Transport Co., Ltd.

2

1984) and is printed in the Appendix to this Petition at
pages la-10a. The opinion of the United States District
Court for the District of New Jersey is reported at 587
F. Supp. 1099 (D.N.J. 1983) and is printed in the Appen-
dix at pages 1la-21a.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Cireuit was entered on July 19, 1984. A
timely Petition for Rehearing was denied by Order of the
Court of Appeals entered on September 14, 1984.° The
jurisdiction of the Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

Treaty Involved

This case involves the Convention for the Unification of
Certain Rules Relating to International Transportation by
Air, October 12, 1929. 49 Stat. 3000 (1934), T.S. No. 876,
137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in 49 U.S.C. §1502 note (1°70)
(hereinafter referred to as the Warsaw Convention or
simply the Convention).®

The pertinent provisions of the Warsaw Convention are
printed in the Appendix at pages 25a-3la.

2 See the Appendix hereto at page 24a.

> Also involved is a 1966 intercarrier agreement, commonly re-
ferred to as the Mentreal Agreement. Agreement CAB 18900,
approved by CAB Order E-23680, 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966). The
Montreal Agreement supplements certain provisions of the Warsaw
Convention, including the limitation of liability in Article 22
thereof. The full text of the Montreal Agreement and the CAB
Order approving same are printed in the Appendix at 32a-39a.

3

Statement of the Case

This is an action* for personal injuries allegedly sus-
tained by respondent Stanley Abramson while a passenger
on board JAL fiight No. 005 from New York to Tokyo
on August 23, 1982. At the time Mr. Abramson boarded
the JAL flight he suffered from a pre-existing medical
condition diagnosed as a paraesophageal hiatal hernia.
The condition periodically manifested itself by severe
attacks.

Mr. Abramson experienced another attack of his condi-
tion during the flight. He aileges that his wife requested
that JAL provide him with a place to lhe down so that
he could employ a “self-help” remedy to alleviate the
attack. The crux of Mr. Abramson’s complaint is that a
JAL stewardess informed him that there was no space
available on the aireraft to lie down even though there
were empty seats in the first class section. He alleges that
he was therefore unable to alleviate his attack which ag-
gravated his hiatal hernia condition.

It is undisputed that Mr. Abramson’s passenger ticket,
pursuant to which he was travelling on the JAL flight,
provided for “international transportation” within the
meaning of Article 1(2) of the Warsaw Convention. The
circumstances under which a carrier may be liable to its
passengers for damages as the result of bodily injury sus-
tained during the course of international transportation
are specified in Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention,
which creates the cause of action for such injury “if the
accident which caused the damage so sustained took place
on board the aircraft...” App. 26a.

* Respondent commenced this action in the Superior Court in
and for the County of Essex, New Jersey. The action was timely
removed to the United States District Court for the District of
New Jersey where jurisdiction was predicated on ‘liversity of
citizenship pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1332.

4

Prior to trial, JAL moved for summary judgment dis-
missing the complaint. In granting JAL’s motion, the Dis-
trict Court found that the alleged aggravation of Mr.
Abramson’s hiatal hernia condition was not an “accident”
within the meaning of Article 17 of the Convention and,
consequently, held that JAL was not liable for his alleged
injuries. The District Court premised its decision on the
cor ct finding that the absence of an “accident” precludes
liability regardless of how an action is founded or de-
nominated, provided that the action is for bodily injury
sustained on board the aircraft during “international trans-
portation”. App. 1la-17a.

The Court of Appeals correctly affirmed the District
Court’s finding that Mr. Abramson’s attack was not an
“accident” within the meaning of Article 17 of the Con-
vention but erroneously held that the absence of an “ac-
cident” precluded the application of any of the other pro-
visions of the Warsaw Convention to respondent’s claims.
The Court of Appeals reinstated respondent’s common law
claims against JAL and remanded the action to the Dis-
trict Court for further proceedings holding that “since
these claims are based on loeal law, it follows that the
Convention’s $75,000 limit [is] inapplicable.” App. 10a.

The Court of Appeals premised its decision on the mis-
apprehension that the occurrence of an “accident” is the
condition precedent to the application of the Warsaw Con-
vention to a personal injury claim arising during interna-
tional transportation. The decision represents the first
time that any court in the United States has held the
Warsaw Convention inapplicable to an action against an
air carrier for “bodily injury” sustained by a passenger
“on board the aireraft” where the relevant passenger ticket
provides for “international transportation” as defined in
Article 1(2) of the Warsaw Convention.

In rendering its deeision the Court of Appeals erro-
neously relied upon laiguage of the District Court opin-

-

5

ion in Husserl v. Swiss Air Transport Co., 351 F. Supp.
702, 706 (S.D.N.Y. 1972), aff’d, 485 F.2d 1240 (2d Cir. 1973),
to the effect that the Warsaw Convention does not ex-
clusively regulate the relationship between passenger and
carrier in international transportation. The Husserl case,
however, effectively was overruled with respect to the ex-
clusivity issue by Benjamins v. British European Airways,
572 F.2d 913 (2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1114
(1979), which held that the Warsaw Convention creates
the exclusive cause of action for personal injuries inelud-
ing death sustained during international transportation.®

By disregarding the mandatory nature of Article 1 and
holding that the occurrence of an “accident” is the condi-
tion precedent to the applicability of the Convention’s pro-
visions to a personal injury claim arising during interna-
tional transportation, the Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit is in direct conflict with decisions of other Circuits
which hold that the causes of action provided by the War-
saw Convention are exclusive. See Boehringer-Mannheim
Diagnostics, Inc. v. Pan American World Airways, Inc.,
737 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir.), appeal docketed, No. 84-807 (U.S.
Nov. 16, 1984); Benjamins v. British European Airways,
572 F.2d 913 (2d Cir. 1978), vert. dented, 489 U.S. 1114
(1979) ; Reed v. Wiser, 855 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
434 U.S. 922 (1977). See also In Re Mexico City Air Crash
of Ociober 31, 1979, T08 F.2d 400, 414 (9th Cir. 1983) ;
In Re Aircrash in Balt, Indonesia on April 22, 1974, 684
F.2d 1201, 1311 (9th Cir. 1982).

5 Benjamins expressly overruled Noel v. Linea Aeropostal Vene-
zolana, 247 F.2d 677 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 355 U.S. 907 (1957)
and Komlos v. Compagnie Nationale Air France, 111 F. Supp. 393
(S.D.N.Y. 1952), rev’d, 209 F.2d 436 (2d Cir. 1953), both of which
were relied upon by the Husserl Court to support its decision. 572
F.2d at 919.

6
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted to resolve a direct conflict
among the Cireuit Courts of Appeals on the exelusivity
of the rights and remedies provided to a passenger for
bodily injury occurring during the course of “international
transportation” as defined in the \Varsaw Convention. This
conflict arises from differing interpretations of Article 17
of the Warsaw Convention by the Cireuit Courts of
Appeals.

In this case, the Court of Appeals for the Third Cireuit
held correctly that the recurrence of » pre-existing natural
ailment (hiatal hernia) is not a “bodily injury” caused by
an “accident” within the meaning of Article 17 of the
Warsaw Convention. However, the Court of Appeals also
held, erroneously, that while respondent had no claim for
damages pursuant to Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention,
he nevertheless may pursue his claim for damages on other
theories of recovery based upon local law and his claim will
not be subject to the $75,000 limitation of liability provided
by Article 22 of the Warsaw Convention as supplemented
by the Montreal Agreement.

The basic error of the Court below in reaching this
holding was in determining that if there is no “accident”
within the meaning of Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention,
none of the provisions of the Warsaw Convention applies
to the claim for damages. The application of the Warsaw
Convention depends, however, upon the nature of the trans-
portation involved and not upon the oeeurrence of an “ac-
cident” within the meaning of Article 17. This is mani-
festly clear from the plain language of Article 1 of the
Warsaw Convention which states:

(1) This convention shall apply to all international
transportation of persons, baggage, or goods performed
by aircraft for hire.

49 Stat. 3014.

————

7

“International transportation” is defined in Article 1(2)
to mean:

any transportation in which, according to the contract
made by the parties, the place of departure and the
place of destination, whether or not there be a break
in the transportation or a transshipment, are situated
either within the territories of two High Contracting
Parties, or within the territory of a single High Con-
tracting Party, if there is an agreed stopping place
within a territory subject to the sovereignty, suzerainty,
mandate or authority of another power, even though
that power is not a party to this convention.

49 Stat. 3014.

In holding that respondent’s claim for bodily injury is
not governed exclusively by the provisions of the Warsaw
Convention, the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
has placed itself in direct conflict with prior decisions of
the Courts of Appeals for the Seeond and Fifth Cireuits,
although apparently in agreement with the Court of the
Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit.

In Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 079 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
434 U.S. 922 (1977), the Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit held that the provisions of the Warsaw Conven-
tion, when applicable, apply to employees of an air carrier
in the same manner as they apply to the air carrier. In so
holding, the Second Circuit recognized that the signatories
to the Warsaw Convention clearly intended “to establish
a uniform body of world-wide liability rules to govern in-
ternational aviation, which would supersede with respect
to international flights the scores of differing domestic
laws, leaving the latter applicable only to the internal
flights of each of the countries involved”. 555 F.2d at 1090.
Thus, to permit plaintiffs to sue airline employees for
damages ontside the parameters of the Warsaw Conven-
tion would thwart the fundamental purposes of the War-
saw Convention. As the Second Cireuit stated:

8

If this method of circumventing the Convention’s lia-
bility limitation is accepted, not only will the purpose
of defining the limits of the carrier’s obligations be
circumvented, but in the process the Convention’s most
fundamental objective of providing a uniform system
of liability and litigation rules for international air
disasters will be abandoned as well. It is difficult to
imagine an interpretation more at odds with the ae-
knowledged purposes of the Convention than tha‘ for
which appellees press.

555 F.2d 1092.

In Benjamins vy. British Luropean Airways, 572 F.2d
913 (2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979), the
Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit held that Article
17 creates the cause of action for wrongful death and that
it is “the universal source of a right of action” to the
exclusion of any liability under any statute or common
law. 572 F.2d at 918-9.

It is the established rule in the Second Cirenit that the
Warsaw Convention exclusively governs claims for injuries
sustained during international air transportation as de-
fined in the Convention. See Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 1079,
1090 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 922 (1977); Lautore
v. United Airlines, Inc., 16 Av. Cas. (CCH) 17,944 (S.D.
N.Y. 1981), aff'd mem., 688 F.2d 816 (2d Cir. 1982); Upton
v. Iran National Airlines Corp., 450 F. Supp. 176, 178
(S.D.N.Y. 1978), aff’d mem., 603 F.2d 215 (2d Cir. 1979).

The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cireuit recently has
held “that the Warsaw Convention creates the cause of
action and is the exclusive remedy,” preempting state law
in the areas governed by the Warsaw Convention. Boeh-
ringer-Mannheim Diagnostics, Inc. v. Pan American World
Airways, Inc., 737 F.2d 456, 458 (Sth Cir.), appeal docketed,
No. 84-807 (U.S. Nov. 16, 1984). See also Block vy. Com-
pagnie Nationale Air France, 386 F.2d 323 ( oth Cir. 1967),
cert. denied, 292 U.S. 905 (1968).

9

The Ninth Cireuit, while agreeing with the Second and
Fifth Cireuits that the Warsaw Convention creates the
cause of action, does not appear to regard the Warsaw
Convention cause of action as being exclusive to all other
remedies available under state or local law. See In Re
Mexico City Air Crash of October 31, 1979, 708 F.2d 400,
414 n.25 (9th Cir. 1983); In Re Aircrash in Bali, Indonesia
on April 22, 1974, 684 F.2d 1301, 1311 n.8 (9th Cir. 1982).
In direct conflict with the Third Circuit’s holding in this
case, however, the Ninth Cireuit has held that state law
is preempted by the Warsaw Convention to the extent
that state law would prevent the application of the Con-
vention’s limitation of liability. In Re Aircrash in Bali,
Indonesia on April 22, 1974, 684 F.2d 1301, 1308 (9th Cir.
1982).

The exclusivity of the cause of action provided to pas-
sengers by the Warsaw Convention is clear from the lan-
guage of the Convention itself. Thus, Article 24 states
thai:

(1) In the eases covered by articles 18 and 19
[eargo, baggage and delay] any action for damages,
however founded, can only be brought subject to the
conditions and limits set out in this convention.

(2) In the cases covered by article 17 [damages
for “death or wounding ... or any other bodily in-
jury”] the provisions of the preceding paragraph shall
also apply, without prejudice to the questions as to
who are the persons who have the right to bring suit
and what are their respective rights.

49 Stat. 3020 (emphasis added).

In addition to creating the cause of action in Article 17,
the Warsaw Convention also establishes uniform rules re-
lating to presumption of liability (Articles 17, 18, 19 and
26), standards of liability (Articles 20 and 25), burden
of proof (Article 20), limitations of liability (Article 22),

10

contractual limitations of liability (Article 23), actions
against the estate of the tortfeasor (Article 27), jurisdic-
tion (Article 28), statute of limitations (Article 29) and
liability where more than one carrier is involved in the
transportation (Article 30). App. 26a-3la. See In Re
Mexico City Aircrash of October 31, 1979, 708 F.2d 400,
412-14 (9th Cir. 1983). The natural consequence of the
Third Circuit’s decision in the instant case would be the
abrogation of these uniform rules in the absence of a find-
ing that an “accident” occurred within the meaning of
Article 17.

Where the signatories to the Convention intended that
domestic law apply to a particular matter, the rules of
the Convention expressly so state: Article 21 (contribu-
tory negligence), Article 24(2) (standing of and allocation
among survivors), Article 25 (fault equivalent to wilful
misconduct or dol), Article 28 (procedure) and Article 29
(running of the statute of limitations). App. 27a-31a.

No provision of the Warsaw Convention reserves to pas-
sengers any right of action based upon any domestic or
local law where the provisions of the Warsaw Convention
apply to the transportation during the course of which it
is claimed “bodily injury” occurred and fur which damages
are claimed. Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 922 (1977).

The correct interpretation and the one which is con-
sistent with the intention of the signatories and the ob-
jectives of the Convention is that the provisions of the
Convention apply exclusively whenever the claim for dam-
ages is based upon a “bodily injury” alleged to have been
sustained during the course of “international transporta-
tion” within the scope of Article 1 of the Convention. In
holding that the Warsaw Conveution does not apply where
there is no “accident” within the meaning of Article 17,
the Court of Appeals for the Third Cireuit has made a
basie error which must be corrected. Otherwise, the entire

11

basis for the application of the provisions of the Warsaw
Convention to claims for damages arising from interna-
tional transportation will be altered, contrary to the ex-
press intent of the signatories to the Convention. Thus, the
very universal, world-wide and exclusive application of
the provisions of the Convention conceived and intended
by its drafters and signatories will be destroyed and the
morass of complex and conflicting domestic laws sought
to be avoided by the Convention will be reinstated.

Recently, while affirming the judgment of the Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, the Court corrected an
erroneous interpretation of the Warsaw Convention in or-
der to ensure the implementation of the purposes of the
Convention, the understanding of its signatories and its
international implementation since 1929. Trans World Air-
lines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 464 U.S. ——, 104 S.Ct.
1776 (1984). This case calls as well for the Court to correct
an incorrect interpretation by the court below of the same
Convention in order to preserve, from the viewpoint of
the United States, the same objectives.

The question of the exclusivity of the cause of action
created by Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention should
be decided by the Court in order to resolve the conflict
between the Circuit Courts of Appeals on this question
and to ensure the continued vitality of the application of
the uniform world-wide liability rules established by the
Warsaw Convention to the exclusion of all domestic laws
dealing with such matters. If upheld, the decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit will serve to defeat
this underlying purpose of the Warsaw Convention.

12

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Grorce N. Tompkins, Jr.
Counsel for Petitioner

Japan Air Lines Co., Ltd.
1251 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10020
(212) 757-6870

Of Counsel:

Convnon & ForsytH
Desmonp T. Barry, JR.
Evcene MassaMILLo

New York, New York
December 12, 1984

13

Certificate of Service

I hereby certify that I have, this 12th day of December,
1984 served the foregoing Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
upon respondent by depositing same in a United States
mail box at 1251 Avenue of the Americas, New York, New
York 10020 with first class postage prepaid, addressed to
Peckar & Abramson, counsel of record for respondent, at
their respective post office address, 223 Moore Street,
Hackensack, New Jersey 07601.

December 12, 1984

/s/ Grorce N. Tompkins, Jr.

George N. Tompkins, Jr.
Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

Table of Contents to Appendix

PAGE
Opinion of Court of Appeals ~............0...2.2.2222.2......-- la
Opinion of District Court 2.2.2 lla
Memorandum and Order of District Court dated

IN ts HII si vecschlecasuisnckacssicsactinisbnilonndnncinnhuspienensotense 18a
Memorandum of District Court dated September

aaa an acdc aha peaeahigaecuinlesitill 21a
Judgment of Court of Appeals ~............0..2.002..0....... 22a
Order Denying Petition for Rehearing .................. 24a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules
Relating to International Transportation by Air,
October 12, 1929. 49 Stat. 3000 (1934), T.S. No.
876, 137 L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in 49 U.S.C. §1502
I Neti ica sic neacighcdabnashggsipnnnseienoctanelabentntads 25a

CAB Order B-23680, 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966) .... 32a

Agreement CAB 16000 .......................c.cceecssceccsncnesesenes 36a

Opinion of Court of Appeals

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For tHE Turrp Crirocurr

Docket No. 83-5750

STANLEY ABRAMSON,
Plaintiff-A ppellant,
vs.

Japan Arr Lines, Co., Lrp.,

Defendant-A ppellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Submitted May 22, 1984
Decided July 19, 1984

OPINION

Before: GartuH and Suovitrer, Circuit Judges, and NEAHER,
District Judge (Hon. Edward R. Neaher, United

States District Court for the Eastern District of
New York, sitting by designation).

Suoviter, Circuit Judge.
I.
Facts and Procedural History

Stanley Abramson, plaintiff in the district court, appeais
from the entry of summary judgment for the defendant,

la

2a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

Japan Air Lines Co., Ltd. (JAL). The relevant facts are
not disputed for purposes of the appeal.

On August 23, 1982, Abramson and his wife were pas-
sengers on JAL flight No. 005 from New York to Tokyo,
Japan, with an intermediate stop in Anchorage, Alaska.
Shortly after take-off from Anchorage to Tokyo, Abram-
son suffered an attack from a pre-existing paraesophageal
hiatal hernia. Abramson had been under medical care for
this condition for approximately six years, but he did not
inform JAL of this condition before the flight. Abramson
had been hospitalized in June of the preceding year with
internal bleeding, and surgery on an elective basis had
been recommended to alleviate the condition.

According to Abramson, he can alleviate an attack by
a “self-help” remedy of lying down, massaging his stomach
from side to side, and, on occasion, by self-induced vomiting.
Abramson’s wife testified that she asked a JAL stewardess
for a place where he could lie down and employ his “self-
help” remedy, but was advised there were no empty seats.
Discovery revealed, however, that there were nine empty
seats in the first class section.

Plaintiff alleges that without the opportunity to employ
“self-help”, his condition worsened and he was hospitalized
upon arriving in Tokyo. Subsequently, he contracted pneu-
monia and, on the advice of a Japanese physician, returned
immediately to the United States where he underwen:
surgery to correct his hernia condition.

Plaintiff's complaint, filed in New Jersey state court
and removed to federal court by the defendant, alleged
in Count I that the negligent conduct of JAL and its em-
ployees aggravated his hiatal hernia. Abramson relies on
the statement of a physician that had Abramson been able
to employ his “self-help” remedy it would have been sue-
cessful and would have prevented the pneumonia and ob-
viated the need for immediate surgery. In Count I, plain-
tiff alleged that under the terms of the Warsaw Convention

3a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

and the Montreal Agreement JAL is liable without proof
of fault. In Count III, plaintiff alleged that the willful
misconduct of JAL and its employees caused his injuries,
entitling him to punitive damages.

The district court entered summary judgment for the
defendant. The district court held there was no genuine
issue of material fact with respect to the Warsaw Conven-
tion claim. It ruled that Article 17 of the Convention
creates a cause of action only for injuries proximately
caused by some “accidcut” on board the plane, and on
the basis of the facts preseuted there was no “accident”.
The court did not consider whether there was a genuine
issue of material fact with respect to Abramson’s state
law claims, because it held that “[t]he absence of an ‘ac-
cident’ precludes liability, both compensatory and punitive,”
under the state law negligence and willful misconduct
claims. App. at 236a.’

On appeal, Abramson argues that the incident alleged
constitutes an “accident” under the Warsaw Convention,

1The district court’s order granting summary judgment was
entered September 26, 1983 before plaintiffs papers in opposition
were filed. Apparently the district court was unaware the parties
had stipulated to adjourn the return date of the motion to October
11, 1983. The court treated plaintiffs subsequent explanation letter
as a motion to alter or amend the judgment, and denied the motion
on October 11, 1983. In its memorandum accompanying that order,
the court referred to the documents filed by Abramson in opposi-
tion to summary judgment, and stated that “[hjad all these
materials been submitted in time for consideration before the court
ruled on the motion, they would have failed to raise a genuine issue
of material fact since they provide no fact basis on which a finding
of an ‘accident’ could be predicated.” App. at 240a. Appellant filed
a timely notice of appeal from both district court orders.

We do not condone what appears to have been the parties’ ‘n-
formal procedure for adjournment without approval by the dis-
trict court. However, since the district court considered and treated
the arguably late documents as part of the summary judgment
record, and since we agree with the district court that they would
not alter the result, we consider this appeal on the full record
before the district court.

4a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

and that the district court erred in holding that the Warsaw
Convention precludes alternative bases for recovery in the
absence of an accident.

Il.
Applicability of the Warsaw Convention

The parties are in agreement that the flight in question
was in international transportation. The circumstances
under which a carrier may be liable to its passengers in
international transportation are specified in Article 17 of
the Warsaw Convention, a treaty of the United States:

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in
the event of the death or wounding of a passenger or
any other bodily injury suffered by a passenger, if
the accident which caused the damage so sustained
took place on board the aircraft or in the course of
any of the operations of embarking or disembarking.

49 Stat. 3018 (emphasis added).’ The district court gave
summary judgment on the Warsaw Convention claim. It
found: “Nothing in [the deposition testimony] so much
as remotely suggests the occurrence on the flight of any
event that could rationally be regarded as an ‘accident’
from which plaintiff’s claimed injury resulted.” App. at
240a.

The Warsaw Convention does not itself define the term
“accident”. This court addressed the definition of “acci-
dent” within the meaning of Article 17 of the Warsaw
Convention in DeMarines v. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines,
580 F.2d 1193 (3d Cir. 1978). We held that the district

?The Warsaw Convention is the popularly used name for the
Convention for the Clarification of Certain Rules Relating to
International Transportation by Air, adhered to by the United
States June 27, 1934, 49 Stat. 3018, TS No. 876, as modified by the
Montreal Agreement, 49 U.S.C. § 1502.

da
Opinion of Court of Appeals

court’s charge to the jury as follows presented the correct
legal standard for determining the occurrence of an acci-
dent:

An accident is an eveut, a physical circumstance, which
unexpectedly takes place not according to the usual
course of things. If the event on board an airplane is
an ordinary, expected, and usual occurrence, then it
cannot be termed an accident. To constitute an acci-
dent, the occurrence on board the aircraft must be
unusual, or unexpected, au unusual or unexpected hap-

pening.

Id. at 1196. Accord Warshaw v. Trans World Airlines, 442
F. Supp. 400 (E.D. Pa. 1977).

Abramson argues that although JAL did not cause his
hiatal hernia injury, the alleged aggravation of the injury
by JAL’s acts and omissions constituted an “unusual or
unexpected happening within the definition of DeMarimes.
He attempts to analogize JAL’s refusal to aid him as an
unusual occurrence tantamount to other occurrences treated
as “accidents”, such as the following: terrorist attacks,
Evangelinos v. Trans World Airlines, 550 F.2d 152 (3d
Cir. 1977) (in banc); hijackings, Krystal v. British Over-
seas Airways Corp., 403 F. Supp. 1322, 1323 (C.D. Cal.
1975) ; and bombings, Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 1079 (2d Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 922 (1977).

We are not persuaded that the situations are analogous.
In none of those cases was the injury suffered during the
course of a routine and normal flight, as here. In the ab-
sence of proof of abnormal external factors, aggravation
of a pre-existing injury during the course of a routine and
normal flight procedure). See also MacDonald vy. Air
the meaning of Article 17. See Warshaw vy. Trans World
Airlines, 442 F. Supp. at 413 (no “accident” where plain-
tiff’s respiratory infection became aggravated during the

6a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

flight, resulting in permanent hearing loss in one ear, be-
cause of a change in cabin pressure which is part of the
normal flight should not be considered an “accident” within
Canada, 439 F.2d 1402, 1405 (1st Cir. 1971) (plaintiff’s
fall while standing in baggage claim area was not an “ac-
cident” because it was equally reasonable to suppose that
some internal condition was the cause of the fall).

Nor do we find any support for Abramson in the Ninth
Circuit’s recent position, which conflicts with DeMarines
and Warshaw, that hearing loss resulting from cabin de-
pressurization is within the Warsaw Convention because
it is an injury “proximately caused by the risks inherent
in air travel,” Saks v. Air France, 724 F.2d 1383, 1384 (9th
Cir. 1984). The injury Abramson suffered, unlike a hear-
ing loss from cabin depressurization, is not a risk either
associated with or inherent in aircraft operation. In any
event, we are bound by this court’s legal interpretation in
DeMarines.

In DeMarines, we expressed “grave doubts” that a find-

ing that an accident occurred would have been legally sup-
portable when ‘he evidence at most supported a finding
that pressure change during the flight caused plaintiff's
injury “[a]bsent testimony indicating that the plane’s
cabin pressure change was the result of some ‘unusual or
unexpected happening’”. 580 F.2d at 1197-98. This case
presents an even more attenuated claim.
_ We agree with the district court that the alleged acts
and omissions of JAL and its employees during the routine
flight on which Abramson was a passenger do not consti-
tute an “accident” for which the Warsaw Convention im-
poses liability on the carrier. Thus, judgment for defen-
dant on the Warsaw Convention claim was properly en-
tered.

7a
Opinion of Court of Appeals
II.

Exclusivity of the Warsaw Convention

The district court failed to reach Abramson’s negligence
and willful misconduct claims under the apparent belief
that these claims were precluded by the Convention’s ex-
clusivity of remedy. The district court held:

The allegations of negligence, or of willful failure,
ete., add nothing to the claim, the first because liability,
when it exists, arises without regard to negligence and
the second because it had meaning only to support
punitive damages, which are not recoverable unless
there is a right to recover compensatory damages. The
absence of an “accident” precludes liability, both com-
pensatory and punitive.

App. at 236a.

JAL argues that “the express language of Article 24 of
the Warsaw Convention establishes that its terms exclu-
sively govern this action against JAL.” Brief for Appellee
at 13. We do not read the provision that way. Article 24
states:

(1) In the cases covered by articles 18 and 19 [cargo,
baggage and delay] any action for damages, however
founded, can only be brought subject to the conditions
and limits set out in this convention.

(2) In the cases covered by article 17 [bodily injury]
the provision of the preceding paragraph shall also
apply, without prejudice to the questions as to who
are the persons who have the right to bring suit and
what are their respective rights.

49 Stat. at 3020, reprinted in 49 U.S.C.A. § 1502 (emphasis
added). Since we have already concluded that Abramson’s
injury was not covered by Article 17 because there was no

8a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

“accident”, Article 24(2) does not by its express terms
limit maintenance of actions brought under local law.

All the other courts considering this issue have similarly
concluded that the Warsaw Convention’s limitation and
theory of liability is exclusive when it applies (1.e., when
there is an accident), but it does not preclude alternative
theories of recovery. Instead, as the court said in Husserl
v. Swiss Air Transport Co., 351 F. Supp. 702 (S.D.N.Y.
1972), aff'd, 485 F.2d 1240 (2d Cir. 1973), where plaintiff
filed claims under the Warsaw Convention and for breach
of contract of safe carriage and negligence:

[T]he Convention does not “exclusively regulate” the
relationship between passengers and carrier on an in-
ternational flight, but rather sets limits on and renders
uniform certain of the aspects of that relationship... .
Thus, it would seem to follow that if the Convention
“applies”, it applies to limit—not eliminate—liability ;
if it does not apply, it leaves liability to be established
according to traditional common law rules.

351 F. Supp. at 706 (emphasis added). In a later proceed-
ing in the same case, the court again reviewed the ques-
tion whether the Warsaw Convention remedies were both
exclusive and preclusive and concluded that injuries which
are not covered by the scope of Article 17 of the Conven-
tion “may give rise to causes of action not subject to any
of the conditions or limits of the Warsaw system.” Husserl
v. Swiss Air Transport Co., 388 F. Supp. 1238, 1246 (S.D.
N.Y. 1975).

Other courts, after finding the Warsaw Convention in-
applicable, have permitted maintenance of claims brought
on other grounds. See Schmidkunz v. Scandinavian Air-
lines System, 628 F.2d 1205, 1207 (9th Cir. 1980) (reaching
plaintiff’s negligence claim after disposing of her Warsaw
Convention claim) ; Martinez Hernandez vy. Air France, 545

9a
Opinion of Court of Appeals

F.2d 279, 284 (1st Cir. 1976) (holding that a passenger
injured after disembarkation, when Article 17 is inappli-
cable, is left “to remedies of local law’), cert. denied, 430
U.S. 950 (1977) ; Hill v. United Airlines, 550 F. Supp. 1048,
1054 (D. Kan. 1982) (holding “we find nothing in the
Warsaw Convention to bar a lawsuit for damages as a
result of the alleged intentional tort”). See also In re Air-
crash m Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d 1301, 1311 n.8 (9th Cir.
1982) (Warsaw Convention “has never been read to limit
plaintiffs to a cause of action arising thereunder, but rather
to limit the recovery in suits for injury”).

The cases cited by JAL to support its argument for
exclusivity are not to the contrary. They merely hold that
where the Warsaw Convention applies it is exclusive. See
Molitch v. Irish International Airlines, 436 F.2d 42, 43-44
(2d Cir. 1970); Block v. Compagnie Nationale Air France,
386 F.2d 323, 326 (Sth Cir. 1967). JAL also relies on the
court’s statement in In re Air Crash Disaster at Warsaw,
Poland, 535 F. Supp. 833, 844-45 (E.D.N.Y. 1982), aff'd,
705 F.2d 85 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. , 104 S. Ct. 147
(1983), that the Warsaw Convention exclusively governs
all claims for damages arising out of the injury or death
of a passenger in international flight, thereby precluding
a wrongful death action under state law. That statement,
however, must be read in the context there, an airplane
crash which is the archetypical “accident” where the Con-
vention’s terms specifically apply.

Thus, both the language of Articles 17 and 24 of the
Warsaw Convention and the case law precedent lead us
to conclude that the district court erred in failing to reach
plaintiff’s negligence and willful misconduct claims after
correctly finding there was no “accident” under the Warsaw
Convention.

10a
Opinion of Court of Appeals
IV.

Conclusion

JAL has asked us to affirm the order granting summary
judgment even if the rights of the parties are not governed
exclusively by the Warsaw Convention. It argues that as
a matter of law it had uo duty to provide Abramson with
a place to lie down under the circumstances of this case.
That issue, as well as the question of whether there is a
genuine dispute of material fact with respect to Abramson’s
state law negligence and willful misconduct claims, should
be addressed in the first instance by the district court. If
there is such a fact question, then of course summary judg-
ment would be precluded. Since these claims are based
on local law, it follows that the Convention’s $75,000 limit
would be inapplicable.

In summary, we have concluded that the occurrence that
allegedly aggravated plaintiff's condition was not an “ac-
cident” within the terms of Article 17 of the Warsaw Con-
vention and that the claim brought under the Warsaw
Convention was properly dismissed. However, the district
court erred in failing to reach the state law claims. When
the Warsaw Convention is inapplicable to the claim raised,
it does not serve as a bar to alternative theories of re-
covery. Accordingly, we will affirm the entry of summary
judgment for defendant on Count II of the complaint, and
we will vacate the entry of summary judgment for defen-
dant on Counts I and III and remand this case to the
district court for further proceedings pursuant to this
opinion.

A True Copy:
Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

lla

Opinion of District Court

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District or NEw JERSEY
Civ. 82-4374

StanLeEY ABRAMSON,
Plaintiff,
vs.

Japan Arr Lines, Co., Lrp.,
Defendant.

This is a suit for personal injury claimed to have been
sustained by the plaintiff while a passenger on one of
defendant’s aircraft on a commercial flight that had left
Kennedy Airport in New York, flown to Anchorage, Alaska,
and had left there headed for Tokyo, Japan. There were
to be later stops down to Hong Kong and eventual return
to New York. The ticket for the flight was evidently part
of a tour organized by ABC Tours in Union, New Jersey.

It comes before the court on defendant’s motion to
dismiss the complaint for failure to state a claim, Rule
12(b)(6), and in the alternative for a partial summary
judgment that defendant’s liability is limited to $75,000
under the Warsaw Convention as modified by the Montreal
Agreement and tariffs for international flights for which
a point in the United States is a point of origin, destina-
tion, or agreed stopping place.

The factual account, which appears from the deposition
testimony of plaintiff and his wife is brief and obviously
not in dispute. They had purchased tickets for an air tour
to the Far East, with Japan Airlines as the air carrier.
They left from Kennedy on a non-stop flight of some 6.5

12a
Opinion of District Court

to 7 hours, to Anchorage, Alaska, where they stayed per-
haps an hour. The plane then left for the remaining hop
to Tokyo, Japan, the first tour stop.

About a half-hour to one-hour after takeoff from Alaska,
plaintiff began to feel a discomfort which he attributes to
a hiatus hernia which had developed some 5 or 6 years back,
and which had been managed by avoiding spices and the
like, by taking digestive aids such as Maalox, but which
had occasionally “acted up” with no discernable pattern.
Except for one instance, in June of the year before, he
had managed each episode by moving about, lying down,
getting up a bubble of “gas”, and, on occasion deliberately
causing himself to vomit. The exception in June of the
year before was an occasion when these efforts resulted
in some internal bleeding for which he was hospitalized
and treated without surgery. He was told after that in-
cident that surgery to repair the hernia should be con-
sidered on an elective basis.

On the flight, when his condition flared up, he was not
able to achieve relief. His wife asked a stewardess if there
was some place on the plane where plaintiff could lie down,
but was told there was not because all seats were filled.
He tried to lie down on the two seats he and his wife had,
but the space was too narrow. He could not lie down in
an aisle because passengers walking about could step on
him. One or the other must have made some request,
though neither recalls it, or perhaps it was radioed ahead
as a precaution, but there was a wheelchair waiting for
plaintiff at the airport in Tokyo. They were transported
by bus with their baggage to their hotel, checked in, but
plaintiff could not relieve his discomfort.

A physician was called and plaintiff was taken to a Tokyo
hospital. After examination and treatment, it was recom-
mended that the couple return to New York for medical
treatment. This was done (at some extra expense as they
had left their tour group), and surgery was performed to

13a
Opinion of District Court

repair the hiatus hernia. There has been no recurrence
since.

The complaint is in three counts. The first is grounded
on negligence in failing to have a place on board the plane
to lie down. The second asserts liability without fault
under the Warsaw Conventicn. The third asserts wilfull
and wanton conduct in failing to provide a space to lie
down, as a basis for punitive damages.

Suit was filed in Superior Court of New Jersey and re-
moved here for diversity jurisdiction, 28 USC §1332.

A letter order by the Magisirate after a status conference
in May directed that the purser on board the flight be made
available for depositions; and that all fact discovery be
completed by August 15, 1983. It required plaintiff’s ex-
perts reports (if any) to be served no later than August
15th, and defendant’s experts reports to be served not
later than September 15th.

Another paragraph directed that the substantive law of
New Jersey was to apply in the case unless one party or
the other filed a motion returnable not later than July 15,
1983 to show why the substantive law of another jurisdic-
tion should apply. There has been no such motion.

The motion to dismiss rests on matters outside the plead-
ings, such as plaintiff’s airline ticket, his and his wife’s
deposition. The court considers these proof matters, and
so is required by Rule 12(b) to treat the motion as one
for summary judgment.

Applicable law

In the Second Circuit, the rule was laid down that a
claim like the present one is for a federal cause of action
under 28 USC §1331 because it is created by the Warsaw
Convention. Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572
F.2d 9183 (CA-2, 1978), cert. den. 439 U.S. 1114. On that
principle, diversity of citizenship loses meaning, and the

l4a
Opinion of District Court

substantive law of the forum state would not be binding
under Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).

In this Cireuit, the U.S. Court of Appeals has noted the
decision of the Second Circuit, but has noi decided the
point, De Marines v. KLM, etc., 580 F.2d 1193 at pages
1200-1201 (CA-3, 1978).

The provisions of the Montreal Agreement carry the sug-
gestion that substantive law of the forum State may be
looked to in certain instances specified. For example the
approved tariff allowing recovery up to US $75,000. in-
cludes legal fees and costs, except that in case of a claim
brought in a State where provision is made for separate
award of legal fees and costs, the limit shall be the sum
of US $58,000 exclusive of legal fees and costs.

The Warsaw Convention is a treaty ratified by the United
States. The Montreal Agreement draws force from the
tariffs filed with and approved by the Civil Aeronautics
Board, under federal law, and so both are part of the law
of New Jersey, the forum State, by virtue of Art VI of
the U.S. Constitution as “the Supreme law of the land”,
which all judges are duty bound to apply, any law of
the State to the contrary notwithstanding.

Thus, the matter may be looked at as a situation in which
the law of the forum State has been modified by paramount
law to some extent or other.

The closest analogy of recent years is that of the law of
defamation. The substantive law on the subject is the
law of the several States, yet, beginning with New York
Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) and continuing
through Gertz v. Welch, 418 U.S. 323 (1974), the law of
all the States has been modified by the provisions of the
First Amendment, applied to the States through the Four-
teenth. See Prager v. American Broadcasting Co.,
F.Supp. (D-N.J., 1983) and cases cited, particularly
Kotlhkoff, 89 N.J., (1982) ; Maressa, 89 N.J. 176 (1982) and
Lawrence, 89 N.J. 451 (1982), showing that New Jersey’s

lda
Opinion of District Court

highest court continues to treat defamation law as State
law with the modifications imposed by paramount law,
as integrated into it.

This structure is underscored by the recognized applica-
bility of privilege rules of the forum State in respect to the
media, see N.J. Ev. Rule 27 (1977) and N.J.S.A. 2A :84A-
21.1 et seq. (1980). The Pennsylvania “shield law” was
also applied in Steaks Unlimited v. Deaner, 623 F.2d 264
(CA-3, 1977).

Fed. Ev. Rule 501 carries no media shield law or privi-
lege, but it does provide that in civil actions where State
law supplies the rule of decision on an element of a claim
or defense, the matter of privilege is determined by the
State law. This confirms the nature of defamation law as
being State law, modified to the extent that paramount law
prevails and so becomes part of the tenor of the State law.

Since no motion was filed returnable not later than July
15, 1983 as the Magistrate’s letter order required, the ap-
plicable law is taken as New Jersey law as modified by
the paramount law of the Wars:w Convention and the
federal tariff filed with and approved by the Civil Aero-
nautics Board.

Conclusions

De Maries v. KLM, etc., 580 F.2d 1193 (CA-3, 1978),
and Warshaw v. Trans World Airlines, 442 F. Supp. 400
(D-Pa, 1977) state so much of the applicable law as is
pertinent here because, being part of the paramount law
modifying and integrated into the local law of every State,
it is necessarily uniform. Both are in agreement that under
Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention, the cause of action
against the air carrier was created and its nature, as
modified by the tariffs under the Montreal Agreement, is
one of a special absolute liability standard, subject to the
US $75,000 limit, for injuries proximately caused by some
“accident” on board the plane.

l6a
Opinion of District Court

The DeMarimes case lays down the law for this circuit
that defines what an “accident” is in this sense. Applied
here, the factual record utterly fails to show any kind of
“accident”, or to suggest that the flight, as such, was other
than an uneventful flight.

The allegations of negligence, or of wilfull failure, etc.,
add nothing to the claim, the first because liability, when
it exists, arises without regard to negligence and the second
because it has meaning only to support punitive damages,
which are not recoverable unless there is a right to recover
compensatory damages. The absence of an “accident” pre-
cludes liability, both compensatory and punitive.

There is no fact question here, as there was in DeMarines,
supra, about delivery of the ticket. The deposition testi-
mony shows the ticket was delivered, and a photocopy ex-
pressly referring to the Warsaw Convention was an exhibit
there and on this motion.

In sum, the plaintiff’s deposition testimony, corroborated
by his wife’s, is that he boarded the international flight with
the physiological defect of a hiatus hernia which, in his
own experience, could “act up” into an acute condition of
varying degrees of intensity wherever he was and under
unpredictable conditions. There is nothing to suggest that
anything on or about the flight had any proximate cause
relation to the unfortunate experience that developed. He
has been on many commercial flights since the condition
first manifested itself, and it never flared up before during
a flight. He informed no one at the airline of his hernia
before boarding; he consulted no physician before going
on the flight. No medical or other expert proof of any
kind is presented to meet the motion tending to show any
kind of factual basis for a jury to make a finding that
there was an “accident”, much less proximate cause.

An airline passenger may experience any of a countless
number of painful occurrences while on a flight, which have
nothing to do with where the person is at the time. A kidney

17a
Opinion of District Court

stone can bring about the most excruciating and torturing
discomfort even though never experienced before, any-
where, anytime. A gall bladder attack can occur without
external cause or warning anytime, anywhere. So, also,
with appendicitis. And so with many other human ills.
The mere happening of one of these malfunctionings of
the human organism on board a commercial airline flight
governed by the Warsaw Convention and Montreal Agree-
ment tariffs is not actionable unless an “accident” on the
flight is the proximate cause.

There being ne genuine issue on any material fact, and
defendant being entitled to jndgment as a matter of law,
summary judgment will be eutered against plaintiff and
in favor of defendant.

September 26, 1983

s/ Vineent P. Biunno, U.S.D.J.

lsa

Memorandum and Order of District Court
dated October 11, 1983

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District or New Jersey
Civ. 82-4374

StanLey ABRAMSON,
Plaintiff,
vs.

Japan Air Lines Co., Lrp.,
Defendant.

Defendant’s motion for summary judgment had been no-
ticed, and was called, for September 26, 1933. No papers
of any kind were submitted or filed in opposition.

When no one answered the call, the court ordered the
matter decided under Rule 78, without oral argument. Its
written ruling was issued and final judgment entered in
favor of defendant and against plaintiff. The reasons are
fully explained in the ruling.

Later in that week the court received a letter from
plaintiff's attorney to the effect that private arrangements
had been made between the attorneys to adjourn the hear-
ing to October 11, 1983. No word of this had ever been
sent to the court, even informally, and no consent order or
other order for adjournment had ever been requested, sub-
mitted or approved. The letter itself was informal and
not of record, and the court entered a memorandum treat-
ing it as a motion to alter or amend the judgment already
entered, with argument set for October 11, 1983.

In support of his position, plaintiff filed an affidavit of
plaintiff's wife, a “To Whom it May Concern” letter from
a physician (neither sworn to nor certified in lieu of oath

19a

Memorandum and Order of District Court
dated October 11, 1983

under the statute), a copy of the deposition of the purser
on the flight, and another set of copies of the depositions
of plaintiff and his wife, which were already in the record
as part of defendant’s moving papers.

As noted in the ruling, plaintiff's deposition testimony
disclosed that he had developed a “hiatus hernia” a num-
ber of years before, that it oceasionally “acted up” in an
entirely unpredictable fashion, that he did not consult his
physician before the flight on the subject, that he did not
inform anyone connected with the airline about his latent
condition, and that while he had been able to relieve his
distress on occasions when the condition acted up, this had
not been the case in June of the year before when his
failure to relieve his distress had caused a hospitalization
at Overlook Hospital to control some consequent internal
bleeding.

None of this is denied in the opposing papers. In fact,
the new affidavit of plaintiff’s wife wholly ignores the ex-
perience of June of the year before as though it had never
happened.

The “To Whom It May Concern” letter cannot be con-
sidered because it is not under oath or certified in lieu of
oath. Even absent this defect, it would not serve to raise
a genuine issue of material fact. The physician is not
identified as a physician consulted for diagnosis or treat-
ment and so the “history” recited would not be acceptable
for consideration under Fed. Ev.Rule 803(4). The history
he recites is not shown to have been provided by the plain-
tiff, and it significantly omits any reference to the hos-
pitalization at Overlook Hospital. Thus, the opinion given,
if relevant at all, would not be admissible because the facts
it assumes are at odds with plaintiff's own sworn testimony.
There is no effort to provide data from the regular physi-
cian, from the records at Overlook, or from the physician
and hospital in New York where the later corrective sur-
gery was performed.

20a

Memorandum and Order of District Court
dated October 11, 1983

Similarly, the deposition testimony of the purser dis-
closes no genuine issue of material fact. Nothing in it so
much as remotely suggests the occurrence on the flight of
any event that could rationally be regarded as an “accident”
from which plaintiff’s claimed injury resulted. At the end
of that transcript there are some sheets of what appear
to be basic first aid instructions in case of vomiting. Not
only is there no reference in the transcript to identify that
document, but on its face it cautions against allowing a
person so afilicted to lie down on his back.

Had all these materials been submitted in time for con-
sideration before the court ruled on the motion, they would
have failed to raise a genuine issue of material fact since
they provide no fact basis on which a finding of an “acci-
dent” could be predicated.

Finally, piaintiff argues in the brief that defendant can-
not claim application of the Warsaw Convention because
the notice printed, as it appears on the coupon, is in less
than 10 point type. In response, defendant observes that
the coupon is only part of the entire ticket, and that on
the airline ticket itself the notice is printed in 10 point type.
At argument, plaintiff could not say that he had evidence
to show that the notice on the ticket itself was in less than
10 point type.

ORDER

For the reasons stated above, it is on this 11th day of
October, 1983 Orverep that plaintiff's motion to alter or
amend the judgment be and the same hereby is denied.

s/ Vincent P. Biunno, U.S.D.JJ.

2la

Memorandum of District Court
dated September 29, 1983

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District or New JERSEY
Civ. 82-4374

STANLEY ABRAMSON,
Plaintiff,
vs.

Japan Air Lines Co., Lrp.,
Defendant.

Plaintiff’s attorney has written the court to report that
at some undisclosed time before September 26, 1983 both
sides agreed to an adjournment of defendant’s motion from
that date to October 11, 1983 and a stipulation was drawn
and circulated. Relying on this, plaintiff filed opposition
papers on September 27th, the last day for a motion re-
turnable on October 11, 1983.

Nothing of this came to the court’s attention. Hearing
dates cannot be adjourned by stipulation of the parties,
oral or written. An order is necessary.

The court called the case, there was no response, and
having no papers in opposition, decided the motion under
Rule 78 (without oral argument).

The letter request is also irregular. It will be treated as
a motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59(e),
and hearing on the question is set for October 11, 1983 at
10 AM. The letter is attached for the record.

September 29, 1983
s/ Vincent P. Biunno, U.S.D.J.

22a

Judgment of Court of Appeals
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHe Turrp Circvir
No. 83-5750

ABRAMSON, STANLEY,
Appellant

vs.

JAPAN AIRLINES
(D.C. Civil No. 82-4374)

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Present:

Gartu and Suiovirer, Circuit Judges and
Neauer, District Judge*

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the
United States District Court for the District of New Jersey
and was submitted under Third Cireuit Rule 12(6) on May
22, 1984.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said Dis-
trict Court, entered September 28, 1983, as made final by
its order entered October 13, 1983, be, and the same is

* Hon. Edward R. Neaher, United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, sitting by designation.

23a
Judgment of Court of Appeals

hereby affirmed insofar as it entered judgment for defen-
dant on Count II. It is further ordered and adjudged that
the judgment of the said District Court on Counts I and III
of plaintiff's complaint is hereby vacated and the cause
remanded for further proceedings consistent with the opin-
ion of this Court.

ATTEST

/s/ Satty Mavos
Clerk

July 19, 1984

Certified as a true copy and issued in lieu
of a formal mandate on September 24, 1984.

Test: /s/ M. Exizapetru Frercuson
Chief Deputy Clerk, United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit.

24a

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHE Tuirp Circuit
No. 83-5750

STANLEY ABRAMSON,
Appellant,
v.

Japan Arruines Co., Lop.,
Appellee.

Present:

GartH and Swiovirer, Circuit Judges, and
NeaHer, District Judge*

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellee, Japan Air-
lines Co., Ltd., in the above-entitled case having been sub-
mitted to the judges who participated in the decision of
this court, and no judge who concurred in the decision
having asked for rehearing, the petition for rehearing is
denied.

By the Court,

/s/ Nicuouas K. Siovirer
Circuit Judge

Dated: September 14, 1984

* Hon. Edward R. Neaher, United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, sitting by designation.

25a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air, October 12,
1929. 49 Stat. 3000 (1934), T.S. No. 876, 137
L.N.T.S. 11, reprinted in 49 U.S.C. §1502 note (1970).

Chapter I
Scope-Definitions
Article I

(1) This convention shall apply to all international
transportation of persons, baggage, or goods per-
formed by aircraft for hire. It shall apply equally
to gratuitous transportation by aircraft performed by
an air transportation enterprise.

(2) For the purposes of this convention the expres-
sion “international transportation” shall mean any
transportation in which, according to the contract
made by the parties, the place of departure and the
place of destination, whether or not there be a break
in the transportation or a transshipment are situated
either within the territories of two High Contracting
Parties, or within the territory of a High Contracting
Party, if there is an agreed stopping place within a
territory subject to the sovereignty, suzerainty, man-
date or authority of another power, even though that
power is not a party to this convention. Transporta-
tion without such an agreed stopping place between
territories subject to the sovereignty, suzerainty, man-
date, or authority of the same High Contracting Party
shall not be deemed to be international for the pur-
poses of this convention.

49 Stat. 3014.

26a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

Chapter IIT
Liability of the Carrier
Article 17

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in
the event of the death or wounding of a passenger or
any other bodily injury suffered by a passenger, if the
accident which caused the damage so sustained took
place on board the aircraft or in the course of any of
the operations of embarking or disembarking.

49 Stat. 3018.
Article 18

(1) The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained
in the event of the destruction or loss of, or of dam-
age to, any checked baggage or any goods, if the oe-
currence which caused the damage so sustained took
place during the transportation by air.

(2) The transportation by air within the meaning
of the preceding paragraph shall comprise the period
during which the baggage or goods are in charge of
the carrier, whether in an airport or on board an air-
craft, or, in the case of a landing outside an airport,
in any place whatsoever.

(3) The period of the transportation by air shall
not extend to any transportation by land, by sea, or
by river performed outside an airport. If, however,
such transportation takes place in the performance of
a contract for transportation by air, for the purpose
of loading, delivery or transshipment, any damage is
presumed, subject to proof to the contrary, to have

27a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

been the result of an event which took place during
the transportation by air.

49 Stat. 3019.
Article 19

The carrier shall be liable for damage occasioned by
delay in the transportation by air of passengers, bag-
gage, or goods.

49 Stat. 3019.
Article 20

(1) The carrier shall not be liable if he proves that
he and his agents have taken all necessary measures
to avoid the damage or that it was impossible for him
or them to take such measures.

(2) In the transportation of goods and baggage the
carrier shall not be liable if he proves that the dam-
age was occasioned by an error in piloting, in the
handling of the aircraft, or in navigation and that, in
all other respects, he and his agents have taken all
necessary measures to avoid the damage.

49 Stat. 3019.
Article 21

If the carrier proves that the damage was caused by
or contributed to by the negligence of the injured per-
son the court may, in accordance with the provisions
of its own law, exonerate the carrier wholly or partly
from his liability.

49 Stat. 3019.

28a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

Article 22

(1) In the transportation of passengers the liability
of the carrier for each passenger shall be limited to
the sum of 125,000 frances. Where, in accordance with
the law of the court to which the case is submitted,
damages may be awarded in the form of periodical
payments, the equivalent capital value of the said pay-
ments shall not exceed 125,000 francs. Nevertheless,
by special contract, the carrier and the passenger may
agree to a higher limit of liability.

49 Stat. 3019.

Article 23

Any provision tending to relieve the carrier of lia-
bility or to fix a lower limit than that which is laid
down in this convention shall be nul! and void, but
the nullity of any such provision shall not involve the
nullity of the whole contract, which shall remain sub-
ject to the provisions of this convention.

49 Stat. 3020.

Article 24

(1) In the cases covered by articles 18 and 19 any
action for damages, however founded, can only be
brought subject to the conditions and limits set out
in this Convention.

(2) In the cases covered by article 17 the provisions
of the preceding paragraph shall also apply without
prejudice to the questions as to who are the persons
who have the right to bring suit and what are their
respective rights.

49 Stat. 3020.

29a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

Article 25

(1) The carrier shall not be entitled to avail him-
self of the provisions of this convention which exclude
or limit his liability, if the damage is caused by his
wilful misconduct or by such default on his part as,
in accordance with the law of the court to which the
case is submitted, is considered to be equivalent to
wilful misconduct.

(2) Similarly the carrier shall not be entitled to
avail himself of the said provisions, if the damage is
caused under the same circumstances by any agent of
the carrier acting within the scope of his employment.

49 Stat. 3020.

Article 26

(1) Receipt by the person entitled to the delivery of
baggage or goods without complaint shall be prima
facie evidence that the same have been delivered in
good condition and in accordance with the document
of transportation.

(2) In case of damage, the person eatitled to de-
livery must complain to the carrier forthwith after the
discovery of the damage, and, at the latest, within 3
days from the date of receipt in the case of baggage
and 7 days from the date of receipt in the ease of
i goods. In ease of delay the complaint must be made
at the latest within 14 days from the date on which
the baggage or goods have been placed at his disposal.

(3) Every complaint must be made in writing upon
the document of transportation or by separate notice
in writing dispatched within the times aforesaid.

hecietehatiatiaiaeaeaaiitiiemaiil

30a

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

(4) Failing complaint within the times aforesaid,
no action shall lie against the carrier, save in the case
of fraud on his part.

49 Stat. 3020.
Article 27

In the case of the death of the person liable, an ac-
tion for damages lies in accordance with the terms of
this convention against those legally representing his
estate.

49 Stat. 2020.
Article 28

(1) An action for damages must be brought, at the
option of the plaintiff, in the territory of one of the
High Contracting Parties, either before the court of
the domicile of the carrier or of his principal place
of business, or where he has a place of business through
which the contract has been made, or before the court
at the place of destination.

(2) Questions of procedure shall be governed by the
law of the court to which the case is submitted.

49 Stat. 3020.
Article 29

(1) The right to damage shall be extinguished if an
action is not brought within 2 years, reckoned from
the date of arrival at the destination, or from the date
on which the aircraft ought to have arrived, or from
the date on which the transportation stopped.

3la

Convention for the Unification uf Certain Rules Relating
to International Transportation by Air

(2) The method of calculating the period of limita-
tion shall be determined by the law of the court to
which the case is submitted.

49 Stat. 3021.
Article 30

(1) In the case of transportation to be performed
by various successive carriers and falling within the
definition set out in the third paragraph of article 1,
each carrier who accepts passengers, baggage or goods
shall be subject to the rules set out in this convention,
and shall be deemed to be one of the contracting par-
ties to the contract of transportation insofar as the
contract deals with that part of the transportation
which is performed under his supervision.

(2) In the case of transportation of this nature, the
passenger or his representative can take action only
against the carrier who performed the transportation
during which the accident or the delay occurred, save
in the case where, by express agreement, the first car-
rier has assumed liability for the whole journey.

(3) As regards baggage or goods, the passenger or
consignor shall have a right of action against the first
carrier, and the passenger or consignee who is entitled
to delivery shall have a right of action against the
last carrier, and further, each may take action against
the carrier who performed the transportation during
which the destruction, loss, damage, or delay took
place. These carriers shall be jointly and severally
liable to the passenger or to the consignor or con-
signee.

49 Stat. 3021.

32a

31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966)
[Docket No. 17325; Order No. E-23680]

LIABILITY LIMITATIONS OF WARSAW CONVEN-
TION AND HAGUE PROTOCOL

Orper Approvinc AGREEMENT

Adopted by the Civil Aeronautics Board at its office in
Washington, D.C., on the 13th day of May, 1966.

The Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Re-
lating to International Transportation by Air, generally
known as the Warsaw Convention, creates a uniform body
of law with respect to the rights and responsibilities of
passengers, shippers, and air carriers in international air
transportation. The United States became a party to the
Convention in 1934, and eventually over 90 countries like-
wise became parties to the Convention.’ On November 15,
1965, the U.S. Government gave notice of denunciation of
the Convention, emphasizing that such action was solely
because of the Convention’s low limits of liability for per-
sonal injury or death to passengers. Pursuant to Article 39
of the Convention this notice would become effective upon
6 months’ notice, in this case, May 15, 1966. Subsequently,
the International Air Transport Association (IATA) made
efforts to effect an arrangement among air carriers, for-
eign air carriers, and other carriers (including carriers not
members of IATA) providing the major portions of inter-
national air carriage to and from the United States to in-
crease the limitations of liability now applicable to claims

1 The Convention was amended by the Protocol signed at Hague
in 1955 which has never been ratified by the United States. The
Convention (subject to certain provisions) limits carriers’ liability
for death or injury to passengers in international transportation
to 125,000 gold francs, or approximately $8,300. The Protocol,
subject to certain provisions, provides for liability limitations of
approximately $16,600.

33a
31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966)

for personal injury and death under the Convention and
the Protocol. The purpose of such action is to provide a
basis upon which the United States could withdraw its
notice of denunciation.

The arrangement proposed has been embodied in an
agreement (Agreement CAB 18900) between various air
carriers, foreign air carriers, and other carriers which has
been filed with the Board pursuant to section 412(a) of
the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 and Part 261 of the
Board’s economic regulations and assigned the above-desig-
nated CAB number.

By this agreement, the parties thereto bind themselves
to include in their tariffs, effective May 16, 1966, a special
contract in accordance with Article 22(1) of the Coven-
tion or the Protocol providing for a limit of liability for
each passenger for death, wounding, or other bodily in-
jury of $75,000 inclusive of legal fees, and, in case of a
claim brought in a State where provision is made for sep-
arate award of legal fees and costs, a limit of $58,000 ex-
elusive of legal fees and costs. These limitations shall be
applicable to international transportation by the carrier
as defined in the Convention or Protocol which includes
a point in the United States as a point of origin, point of
destination, or agreed stopping place. The parties further
agree to provide in their tariffs that the Carrier shall not,
with respect to any claim arising ou‘ of the death, wound-
ing, or other bodily injury of a passenger, avail itself of
any defense under Article 20(1) of the Convention or the
Convention as amended by the Protocol. The tariff provi-
sions would stipulate, however, that nothing therein shall
be deemed to affect the rights and liabilities of the Carrier
with regard to any claim brought by, on behalf of, or in
respect of any person who has willfully caused damage
which results in death, wounding, or other bodily injury
of a passenger.

lll

34a
31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966)

The carriers by the agreement further stipulate that
they will, at time of delivery of the tickets, furnish to each
passenger governed by the Convention or the Protocol and
by the special contract described above, a notice in 10 point
type advising international passengers of the limitations
of liability established by the Convention or the Protocol,
or the higher liability agreed to by the special contracts
pursuant to the Convention or Protocol as described above.
The agreement is to become effective upon approval by
this Board, and any carrier way become a party to it by
signing a counterpart thereof and depositing it with the
Board. Withdrawal from the agreement may be effected
by giving 12 months’ written notice to the Board and the
other Carrier parties thereto.

As indicated, the decision of the U.S. Government to
serve notice to denounce the Convention was predicated
upon the low liability limits therein for personal injury
and death. The Government announced, however, that it
would be prepared to withdraw the Notice of Denunciation
if, prior to its effective date, there is a reasonable prospect
for international agreement on limits of liability for inter-
national transportation in the area of $100,000 per pas-
senger or on uniform rules without any limit of liability,
and if pending such international agreement there is a pro-
visional arrangement among the principal international
air carriers providing for liability up to $75,000 per pas-
senger.

Steps have been taken by the signing carriers to have
tariffs become effective May 16, 1966, upon approval of this
agreement, which will increase by special contract their
liability for personal injury or death as described herein.
The signatory carriers provide by far the greater portion
of international transportation to, from, and within the
United States. The agreement will result in a salutory in-
crease in the protection given to passengers from the in-
creased liability amounts and the waiver of defenses under

eT

35a
31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966)

Article 20(1) of the Covention or Protocol. The U.S.
Government has concluded that such arrangements warrant
withdrawal of the Notice of Denunciation of the Warsaw
Convention. Implementation of the agreement will permit
continued adherence to the Convention with the benefits to
be derived therefrom, but without the imposition of the
low liability limits therein contained upon most interna-
tional travel involving travel to or from the United States.
The stipulation that no tariff provision shall be deemed to
affect the rights and liabilities of the carrier with regard
te any claim brought by, on behalf of, or in respect of any
person who has willfully caused damage which results in
death, wounding or other bodily injury of a passenger
operates to diminish any incentive for sabotage.

Upon consideration of the agreement, and of matters re-
lating thereto of which the Board takes notice, the Board
does not find that the agreement is adverse to the public
interest or in violation of the Act and it will be approved.

Accordingly, pursuant to the provisions of the Federal
Aviation Act of 1958 and particularly sections 102, 204(a)
and 412 thereof:

It is ordered, That: 1. Agreement “AB 18900 is ap-
proved.

This order will be published in the Freperat Reoisrer.

By the Civil Aeronautics Board.

[SEAL] Harotp R. Sanperson,
Secretary.

[F.R. Doc. 66-5494; Filed, May 15, 1966 8:49 a.m.]

36a

Agreement CAB 18900

CAB Form 263
(Rev. 1-76)

AGREEMENT

The undersigned carriers (hereinafter referred to as
“the Carriers”) hereby agree as follows:

1. Each of the Carriers shall, effective May 16, 1966,
include the following in its conditions of carriage, includ-
ing tariffs embodying conditions of carriage filed by it with
any government:

“The Carrier shall avail itself of the limitation of
liability provided in the Convention for the Unifica-
tion of Certain Rules Relating to International Car-
riage by Air signed at Warsaw October 12th, 1929, or
provided in the said Convention as amended by the
Protocol signed at The Hague September 28th, 1955.
However, in accordance with Article 22(1) of said
Convention, or said Convention as amended by said
Protocol, the Carrier agrees that, as to all interna-
tional transportation by the Carrier as defined in the
said Convention or said Convention as amended by
said Protocol, which, according to the Contract of
Carriage, includes a point in the United States of
America as a point of origin, point of destination, or
agreed stopping place

(1) The limit of liability for each passenger for death,
wounding, or other bodily injury shall be the sum
of US $75,000 inclusive of legal fees and costs,
except that, in case of a claim brought in a State
where provision is made for separate award of
legal fees and costs, the limit shall be the sum of
US $58,000 exclusive of legal fees and costs.

—

37a
Agreement CAB 18900

(2) The Carrier shall not, with respect to any claim
arising out of the death, wounding, or other bodily
injury of a passenger, avail itself of any defense
under Article 20(1) of said Convention or said
Convention as amended by said Protocol.

Nothing herein shall be deemed to affect the rights
and liabilities of the Carrier with regard to any claim
brought by, on behalf of, or in respect of any person
who has wilfully caused damage which resulted in
death, wounding, or other bodily injury of a passen-
ger.”

2. Each Carrier shall, at the time of delivery of the
ticket, furnish to each passenger whose transportation is
governed by the Convention, or the Convention as amended
by the Hague Protocol, and by the special contract de-
scribed in paragraph 1, the following notice, which shall
be printed in type at least as large as 10 point modern
type and in ink contrasting with the stock on (i) each
ticket; (ii) a piece of paper either placed in the ticket
envelope with the ticket or attached to the ticket; or (iii)
on the ticket envelope:

“ApvicE TO INTERNATIONAL PASSENGER ON
Limitation oF LiaBILity

Passengers on a journey involving an ultimate desti-
nation or a stop in a country other than the country
of origin are advised that the provisions of a treaty
known as the Warsaw Convention may be applicable
to the entire journey, including any portion entirely
within the country of origin or destination. For such
passengers on a journey to, from, or with an agreed
stopping place in the United States of America, the
Convention and special contracts of carriage embodied

38a
Agreement CAB 18900

in applicable tariffs provide that the liability of
[certain | gs
{(name of carrier) and certain other] carriers parties
to such special contracts for death of or personal in-
jury to passengers is limited in most cases to proven
damages not to exceed US $75,000 per passenger, and
that this liability up to such limit shall not depend on
negligence on the part of the carrier. For such passen-
gers travelling by a carrier not a party to such special
contracts or on a journey not to, from, or having an
agreed stopping place in the United States of America,
liability of the carrier for death or personal injury
to passengers is limited in most cases to approximately
US $10,000 or US $20,000.
The names of Carriers parties to such special con-
tracts are available at all ticket offices of such carriers
and may be examined on request.

Additional protection can usually be obtained by
purchasing insurance from a private company. Such
insurance is not affected by any limitation of the car-
rier’s liability under the Warsaw Convention or such
special contracts of carriage. For further information
please consult your airline or insurance company rep-
resentative.”

3. This Agreement shall be filed with the Civil Aero-
nautics Board of the United States for approval pursuant
to Section 412 of the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, as
amended, and filed with other governments as required.
The Agreement shall become effective upon approval by
said Board pursuant to said Section 412.

4. This Agreement may be signed in any number of
counterparts, all of which shall constitute one Agreement.

* Either alternative may be used.

39a
Agreement CAB 18900

Any Carrier may become a party to this Agreement by
signing a counterpart hereof and depositing it with said
Civil Aeronautics Board.

5. Any Carrier party hereto may withdraw from this
Agreement by giving twelve (12) months’ written notice
of withdrawal to said Civil Aeronautics Board and the
other Carriers parties to the Agreement.

ee eee eee eee
SERRE HERERO OEE OOOO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1832%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
