# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Illinois v. Fogel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1798%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1053

## Text

84-8940

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Petitioner,
vs.

THOMAS FOGEL,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPELLATE COURT OF
ILLINOIS, FIRST DISTRICT

NEIL F. HARTIGAN
Attorney General
State of Illinois
188 West Randolph Street
Suite 2200
Chicago,Illinois 60601

Attorneys for Petitioner.

RICHARD M. DALEY
State's Attorney
County of Cook
500 Richard J. Daley Center
Chicago, Illinois 60602
MICHAEL E. SHABAT, *
KEVIN SWEENEY,
Assistant State's Attorneys
Of Counsel.
*Attorney of Record

(312) 443-5496

a wv

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
he

Whether this case involves an issue
also presented in the pending case of
Oklahoma v. Castleberry (No. 83-2126, cert.
granted, No. 5, 1984).

y

Whether the automobile exception to
the search .warrant requirement applies to
the search of a vehicle which has just been
parked and left by a suspect.

11

TABLE OF CONTENTS PAGE

Ed”, 1

Opinions Below .

De ke bebe Sete eases 4
Constituional Provision Involved....... 5
ee Seem COBO... wc ccc ccc cee. 6
Reasons for Granting the Writ.......... 9
Ms
THIS CASE PRESENT AN ISSUE

AL3© INVOLVED IN OKLAHOMA V.
CASTLEBERRY, NOW PENDING BEFORE

THIS COURT

111i

if.

THE AUTOMOBILE EXCEPTION TO
THE SEARCH WARRANT REQUIREMENT
APPLIES TO THE SEARCH OF A
VEHICLE WHICH HAS JUST BEEN
PARKED AND LEFT BY A SUSPECT....

Le ee eee ae
Appendices

A-- Opinion of the Appellate
Court of Illinois, first District
in People v. Thomas’ Folgel
(Unpublished Order, No. 83-1517,
a. Den Aa ae cweeesenas

B-- Order of the Illinois
Supreme Court denying leave to
appeal in People v. Thomas Fogel
(No. 60572, October 2, 1984).....

22

la

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Caese:
Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 US. 433,

96 S.Ct. 2523, 37 L.Ed.706 (1973)......... 14,16
Caldwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 583,

94 S.Ct. 2464, 41 L.Ed.2d 325 (1974)...... 15
Castleberry v. State, 678 P.2d 720

(ORLA. CLAM. L9IGE).. ccc cccccccccencsesecses 10
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42,

90 S.Ct. 1975, 26 L.Ed.2d 419 (1970)...... 14,17
Colorado v. Bannister, 449 U.S. l,

101 S.Ct. 42, 66 L.Ed.2d 1 (1980)......... 14,15
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S.

443,91 S.Ct. 2022, 29 L.Ed.2d 564 (1971).. 18
Michigan v. Thomas, 458 U.S. 259,

102 S.Ct. 3079, 73 L.Ed.2d 750 (1982)..... 14

Oklahoma v. Castleberry, (No. 83-2126,
cert. granted, Nov, 3, 1984)... ccccececees 9

Texas v. White, 423 U.S. 67,
96 S.Ct. 304, 46 L.Ed.2d 209 (1975)...... 14,15

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1,
97 S.Ct. 2476, 53 L.Ed.2d 538 (1977) ... 16

United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798,
102 S.Ct. 2157, 72 L.Ed.2d 572 (1982).4

Statute:
Ill. Rev. Stat. 1971, ch. 38, sec.108-3.. 20
1

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1984

STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,
vs.

THOMAS FOGEL,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPELLATE COURT OF
ILLINOIS, FIRST DISTRICT

Petitioner, the State of Illinois,
respectfully prays that a Writ Of Cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the Appellate Court of Illinois,
First District, which was entered on June

29, 1984.

Aen ae > en

OPINION BELOW

The unpublished opinion and order of
the Appellate Court of Illinois, First
District is reproduced as Appendix A to
this Petition. The order of the Illinois
Supreme Court denying leave to appeal from
that decision is reproduced as Appendix B

to the Petition.

JURISDICTION

The opinion, order and judgment of the
Appellate Court of Illinois, First District
was entered on June 29, 1984. The order of
the Illinois Supreme Court denying leave to
appeal from that decision was entered on
October 2, 1984. This Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari is filed within 60 days of
that date. United States Supreme Court
Rule 20(1). The jurisdiction of this Court

in invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AT ISSUE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION - FOURTH AMENDMENT:

The right of the People to be secure
in their persons, houses, papers and ef-
fects, against unreasonable searches and
seizures, shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable
cause, supported by Oath or affirmation,
and particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the person or things to be

seized.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Certain police officers discovered 68
pounds of marijuana during a search of the
automobile of respondent Thomas Fogel.
After a hearing on respondent's motion to
suppress, the trial court suppressed that
evidence. (R. 58) The Appellate Court of
Illinois, First District, affirmed the
order suppressing evidence and the Illinois
Supreme Court denied leave to appeal.
(Appendices A and 8B) The State of
Illinois now seeks review by this Court.

On December 27, 1982, Chicago Police
Officer Robert Smith obtained a_ search
warrant for respondent's person and for
respondent's house in Glenview, Illinois.
(R. 69) The affidavit for the warrant
recited that a reliable informant had

helped respondent carry two large bags of

marijuana from the trunk of a car into the
house. (R. 70-71)

On the afternoon of December 28,
Officer Smith and other Chicago Police
officers arrived at respondent's house.
Respondent was not there, but a man inside
the house refused entry to the officers, so
they had to force their way in. (R. 18-19)
The officers searched the house for an hour
and a half, but discovered nothing. (R.
20)

As the officers were finishing their
search, respondent and his wife arrived at
the door of the house. The officers stop-
ped them, and saw that respondent's car,
which had not been present when the of-
ficers arrived, was parked 20 to 25 feet
away in the driveway. (R. 21-22, 25)
Respondent was searched, and two bags of

marijuana and a bag on cocaine were re-

covered from his briefcase. (R. 22-23)
$2,865 in cash was recovered from the purse
of respondent's wife. (R. 28)

Officer Smith then took the keys to
the car from respondent and searched the
vehicle. (R. 25) In the trunk he found
two large plastic trash bags filled with
marijuana. (R. 25-26)

After laboratory test results were
returned, respondent was charged with
possession of marijuana with intent to
deliver and with possession of cocaine.
(R. 75-77) The trial court suppressed the
evidence recovered from the trunk of re-
spondent's automobile, and the State ap-

pealed from that decision. (R. 95)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN ISSUE
ALSO INVOLVED IN OKLAHOMA V\V.
CASTLEBERRY, NOW PENDING BEFORE
THIS COURT.

On November 5, 1984, this Court grant-
ed certiorari in a case involving the same
question as that presented in this matter.

Oklahoma v. Castleberry, (No. 83-2126,

cert. granted, Nov. 5, 1984). That ques-

tion is whether the automobile exception to
the search warrant applies when police
officers arrest a suspect outside a parked
car and the officers have probable cause to
search the vehicle.

In Castleberry, the officers, acting

on a tip, arrested a suspect on drug

charges. At the time of the arrest the
suspect threw a small object into the
interior of his parked autombile and locked
the car door. The officers, using the
suspect's keys, searched the interior of
the automobile and the trunk, and recovered
narcotics. The Oklahoma Court of Criminal
Appeals ruled that a warrant had been
necessary to justify a search of the auto-

mobile. Castleberry v. State, 678 P.2d 720

(Okla. Crim. 1984). This Court accepted
jurisdiction, partly in order to decide if
the search fell within the automobile ex-
ception to the search warrant require-
ment.

This Illinois case present similar
facts and legal issues. Here also the
police officers encountered a suspect
outside his parked autombile. Here also
the officers lawfully arrested the suspect

and used the suspect's keys to search the
10

ee ewe ew

trunk of the vehicle. Here also contra-
band was recovered from the truck. Here
also the state reviewing Court held that
the search of the trunk was unlawful as it
had been performed without a warrant.
Therefore, certiorari may be granted
in this case without consuming a large
amount of this Court's scare time and
resources. This case could either be

consolidated with Castleberry or be given a

summary disposition after Castleberry is

decided.

11

II.

THE AUTOMOBILE EXCEPTION TO
THE SEARCH WARRANT REQUIREMENT
APPLIES TO THE SEARCH OF A
VEHICLE WHICH HAS JUST BEEN
PARKED AND LEFT BY A SUSPECT.

It is clear that under the automobile
exception to the search warrant requirement
the police may perform a warrantless search
of a vehicle they have stopped on a high-
way. It is less clear whether that ex-
ception can apply to a parked automobile.
This Court should grant certiorari in order
to resolve this important Fourth Amendment
issue.

Here, the police were performing a
lawful search of respondent's house when
respondent unexpectedly drove up in his
automobile and parked it. The officers,
who had a search warrant for respondent's

12

person, searched respondent and found
cocaine and marijuana. At that point the
officers had both probable cause to arrest
respondent and probable cause to search the
automobile. Using respondent's keys, the
officers searched the trunk and recovered
68 pounds of marjuana.

After the officers had arrested re-
spondent, there were two things they could
have done with respondent's automobile.
The first would have been to impound the
vehicle pending an application for a search
warrant. The second was to perform an
immediate search of the vehicle. The
decisions of this Court indicate that the
officers acted correctly in deciding to
make an immediate search. Under the auto-
mobile exception to the search warrant
requirement, officers with probable cause

to search a vehicle may perform an im-

13

mediate search, and do not have to impound
the vehicle and apply for a warrant.
Numerous decisions of this Court hold
that when police officers encounter an
automobile and have probable cause to
search, they may search the vehicle without

a warrant. Michigan v. Thomas, 458 U.S.

259, 102 $.Ct. 3079, 73 L.Ed.2d 750 (1962);

United States v. Ross, 456 U.S. 798, 102

§.Ct. 2157, 72 L.Ed.2d 572 (1982); Colorado

v. Bannister, 449 U.S. 1, 101 S.Ct. 42, 66

L.Ed.2d 1 (1980); Texas v. White, 423 U.S.
67, 92 S.Ct. 304, 46 L.Ed.2d 209 (1975);

Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 US. 433, 93 S.Ct.

2523, 37 L.Ed.706 (1973); Chambers v.

Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, 28
L.Ed.2d 419 (1970).

Thus there is a well established
automobile exception to the search warrant
requirement. Usually that exception is

applied to moving vehicles stopped by the
14

police on a highway, but the exception is
not restricted to such cases. In the

Bannister decision a warrantless search of

an automobile was held valid, even though
the vehicle was standing at a gas station

when the officer approached it. Colorado

v. Bannister, 449 U.S. 1, 101 S.Ct. 42, 66

L.Ed.2d 1 (1980). In White the automobile
exception to the search warrant requirement
was applied after a vehicle was stopped at
a drive-in window of a bank. Texas v.
White, 423 U.S. 67, 96 S.Ct. 304, 46 L.Ed.

2d 209 (1975). In Caldwell, a warrantless

exterior search of an automobile was held
proper after the car had been towed from a

public parking lot. Caldwell v. Lewis,

417 U.S. 583, 94 S.Ct. 2464, 41 L.Ed.2d 325
(1974). And in Cady a warrantless search
of an automobile was held valid after the

vacant vehicle had been towed following an

15

accident. Cady v. Dombrowksi, 413 U.S.

433, 93 S.ct. 2523, 37 L.Ed.2d 706 (1973).

By those standards the search in this
case fell within the automobile exception
to the search warrant requirement. The
officers did not enter into respondent's
property to search his automobile, but
instead entered to execute a lawful search
warrant for the house. The officers to
not seek out respondent's car, but instead
the vehicle unexpectedly arrived at the
scene. The officers did not have probable
cause to search the automobile until short-
ly before that search was performed. The
automobile exception to the search warrant
requirement exists because of the inherent
mobility of vehicles and because of the
diminished expectation of privacy which

surrounds them. United States v. Chadwick,

433 U.S. 1, 12, 97 S.Ct. 2476, 2484, 53

16

L.Ed.2d 538, 549 (1977). But, as stated in

Chadwick, that exception applies even after

the vehicle had been immobilized. There-
fore when police officers unexpectedly
encounter an automobile and have probable
cause to search it, they may ferform a
immediate search even if the vehicle is
parked and the owner had stepped out of it.

Such a search is reasonable under the
Fourth Amendment because impounding the
vehicle pending an application for a war-
rant would involved a greater intrusion on
the owner's privacy rights than an im-
mediate search. As this Court said in

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 52, 90

S.Ct. 1975, 1981, 26 L.Ed.2d 419 (1970)

For constititional pur-
poses, we see no difference
between on the one had seizing
and holding a car before pre-
senting the probable case to a
magistrate and on the other hand
carrying out an immediate search

17

without a warrant.

If the officers had impounded respondent's
automobile pending an application for a
warrant, the car would either have been
towed or the police would have posted guard
on it, probably overnight. This would
have created a greater intrusion on re-
spondent's privacy rights than the war-
rantless search. Therefore, a warrantless
search was reasonable under the circum-
stances of this case.

It is true that in the Coolidge deci-

sion four justices of this Court indicated
that police officers may not enter onto a
suspect's property to search an automobile
when there is time and opportunity to seek

a Warrant. Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403

U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct. 2022, 29 L.Ed.2d 564
(1971). Here, however, the officers did

not enter into respondent's property to

18

search his vehicle, but to execute a lawful
warrant to search respondent's house and
person. The automobile was not present
when the officers arrived, but appeared
without warning while the officers were
searching the house. After the officers
first saw the automobile, they could have
obtained a warrant only after impounding
at.

The fact that the officers did obtain
a search warrant for respondent's house and
person shows that the officers were not
trying to evade the search warrant require-
ment. Moreover, the officers were justi-
fied in not seeking authority to search
respondent's automobile at the time they
applied for the warrant. Although the
informant had seen respondent removing a
large quantity of marijuana from the car

the previous day, when the officers applied

19

for the warrant they had no information
indicating that nay contraband was still in
the vehicle. (R. 70-71) Also, neither
the affidavit nor anything else in the
record indicates that the informant sup-
plied a description of the automobile. (R.
70-71) The application for the warrant had
to give both a specific description of the
place to be searched and information indi-
cating that evidence was presently to be
found there. Ill. Rev. Stat. 1971, ch.
38, sec. 108-1. When Officer Smith applied
for a search warrant, such information was
not available concerning respondent's auto-
mobile.

But after respondent was searched and
placed under arrest, there was probable
cause to search his vehicle. The large
quantity of marijuana seen by the informant

had not been found in the house. The

previous day respondent had transported the
20

marijuana to the house in his car, and
respondent had just arrived at the house in
his car again. Smaller quantities of
cocaine and marijuana were found on re-
spondent's person, and several thousand
dollars were found in his wife's purse.
Thus the officers searched respondent's
automobile as soon as they acquired pro-
bable cause to believe that it contained
contraband.

Here the officers, after they acquired
probable cause, searched an automobile
which had just been parked and left by
respondent. This Court should accpet
jurisidiction in order to resolve the
important question of whether the auto-
mobile exception to the search warrant

requirement applies to such searches.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the State
of Illinois respectfully requests that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment of the Apellate Court of Illinois,

First District.

Respectfully submitted,

NEIL F. HARTIGAN
Attorney General
State of Illinois
188 West Randolph Street
Suite 2200
Chicago, Illinois 60601

Attorneys for Petitioner.

RICHARD M. DALEY
State's Attorney
County of Cook
500 Richard J. Daley Center
Chicago, Illinois 60602
MICHAEL E. SHABAT, *
KEVIN SWEENEY,
Assistant State's Attorneys
Of Counsel.*
*Counsel of Record
(312) 443-5496

22

«ot antl

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the Appellate Court of
Illinois, First District in People v.

Thomas Fogel, (Unpublished Order, No.

83-1517, June 29, 1984).

June 29, 1984
83-1517

IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

PEOPLE OF THE
STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Appeal from the

Circuit Court of
Cook County.

vs.

Honorable
Paul A. O'Malley.
Judge Presiding.

THOMAS FOGEL,
Defendant~-Appellee.

~_—_— OO —— i—~—

ORDER DISPOSING OF APPEAL
UNDER SUPREME COURT RULE 23

The defendant was charged with unlaw-
ful possession with intent to deliver more
than 500 grams of marijuana recovered from
his automobile trunk, possession of less
than 30 grams of cocaine recovered from his
person, and possession with intent to de-

liver between 30 and 500 grams of mari-

la

Juana also recovered from his person. His
pretrial motion to suppress the evidence
obtained from the search of his automobile
trunk was sustained. The State has ap-
pealed that ruling, asserting that the
search of the defendant's automobile trunk
was justified.

At the hearing, the State introduced
as evidence a complaint for a search war-
rant and the search warrant itse1r.+ In the
complaint the arresting police officer
stated that an informant, who previously
had proved to be reliable, told him that he
helped carry two large plastic bags from
the defendant's car to his house. Inside
the defendant's house, the informant saw

that the bag contained marijuana; he also

1 Although there was some question
raised later at the hearing as to whether
the complaint was admitted as an exhibit,
we find that it was properly admitted and
that it is part of the record on appeal.

2a

smoked the substance, which the defendant
told him was marijuana. The search warrant
then issued for the defendant and his
house.

The arresting officer, who was the
only witness at the hearing, testified that
he and three other officers went to the
house with the warrant and entered forcibly

because a man in the house would not let

. : , 2 .
him inside. A van, which never was search-

ed, was parked in the driveway. After
police searched the premises for about one
and one-half hours and found nothing, the

defendant and his wife returned home in an

2 About 18 hours elasped between the
time the informant saw the alleged mari-
juana at the defendant's house and when the

house actually was searched by the police.

3a

eee

automobile. As the defendant and his wife
entered the house, the police confronted
defendant and found plastic bags with what
appeared to be marijuana and cocaine inside
the briefcase defendant was carrying.
They also found nearly $3,000 in the purse
of defendant's wife. He next took the de-
fendant's keys and went to the automobile.
He unlocked the car door and found nothing
inside the car, including the glove com-
partment; however, when he opened the trunk
with the keys, he found two large plastic
bags which apparently contained marijuana.
A this point, although the defendant had
already been arrested, his wife and the
other man who was in the house were not
taken into custody. The police learned
that the car which was in the driveway
about 25 feet from the house was registered

to the defendant and his wife.

4a

In ruling that the evidence seized in
the search of the defendant's automobile
trunk was inadmissible, the trial judge
concluded that a warrant should have been
obtained. In part, he found no exigent
circumstances to justify such a warrantless
search. He particularly emphasized that 10
to 15 minutes elapsed from the time the
defendant was searched until the trunk was
opened, that it was not clear at the time
of the search that the defendant owned the
car, and that the van in the driveway never
was searched.

We must affirm the ruling of the trial
judge. Initially, we note that the search
warrant extended only to the defendant's
person and his house. Although the police
could have requested a warrant for the
automobile as well, no mention whatsoever
was made in any automobile in the warrant,

even though the complaint for the warrant
5a

specifically stated that the informat had
said that the two bags of marijuana were
carried from an “auto" to the defendant's
house. Thus, once the defendant left the
car and was arrested inside the house, the
police had no justification for seizing his
car keys, going outside to the car and
opening the automobile trunk. No danger
existed to the police or to the public, and
so the search clearly was not authorized as
incidential to arrest. Further, no evi-
dence of any crime of its fruits was in
plain view inside the car to justify a
seizure. Also, the car itself was not a
nuisance that first had to be removed from
a public area and then searched. Here,
another vehicle already parked outside the
defendant's house was never’ searched.
Nothing in their search of the house or in

the defendant's arrest gave the police

6a

additional grounds to suspect that con-
traband was in the car. The police did
not learn until after, they already had
arrested the defendant, taken the keys, and
searched the parked automobile that the car
actually belonged to the defendant and his
wife. Thus, we cannot say that the trial
judge's ruling that the warrantless search
was illegal was manifestly erroneous. (See
People v. Clark, (1982), 92 I11.2d 96, 440
N.E.2d 869; People v. Jones, (1977), 45
Ill. App.3d 307, 359 N.E.2d 856!) Al-
though the State contends that the search
was justified by the exigent circumstances
that the contraband could have been de-
stroyed if the police withdrew to obtain a
warrant, we will not disturb the trial
judge's ruling on this basis either.
Because the car itself was parked and

locked on a private driveway, and the

7a

contraband was hidden from view in the
trunk, there was minimal danger that a
stranger might take the car or break into
it and remove or destroy the evidence. The
defendant himself already had been taken
into custody. Although his wife or the
other man in the house might have had
access to the car (even though a set of
keys had been seized), one of the officers
could have remained to watch the parked
car,” while the others left to request a
search warrant for the car from the judge.
Clearly, time was not the essence here; the
police did not even search the car until 10
to 15 minutes after they initially seized

the drugs and arrested the defendant. And

there was no indications that obtaining

3 However, the caselaw suggests that
immobilizing the vehicle until a warrant
was obtained would have been improper.
See People v. Peter (1973), 55 I11.2d 443,

8a

303 N.E.2d 398.

another search warrant would have been
particularly inpractical for the police.
Thus, the circumstances were not so extreme
as to justify the police in effectively
eliminating the search warrant requirement,
and thereby usurping the judicial function
of determining whether probable cause
existed to search the automobile. See

Collidge v. New Hampshire (1971), 403 U.S.

443, 29 L.Ed.2d 565, 91 S.Ct. 2022. See
also, Cady v. Dombrowski (1973), 413 US.

433, 37 L.Ed.2d 706, 93 S.Ct. 2523.
According, the judgment of the circuit

court is affirmed.

SULLIVAN, J. MEJDA, P.J. and LORENZ,J.,

concur.

9a

APPENDIX B

Order of the Illinois Supreme Court
denying leave to appeal in People v.
Thomas Fogel (No. 60572, October 2, 1984).

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT
JULEANN HORNYAK, CLERK
Supreme Court Building
Springfield, Illinois 62706
(217) 782-2035

October 2, 1984

Hon. Richard M. Daley

Cook County State's Attorney
Criminal Appeals Section

574 Richard J. Daley Center
Chicago, Illinois 60602

No. 60572 - People State of Illinois,
petitioner, vs. Thomas Fogel,
respondent. Leave to appeal,
Appellate Court, First District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the

petition for leave to appeal in the above

cited cause.

The mandate of this Court will issue

to the Clerk of the Appellate Court on

October 23, 1984.

10a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1798%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
