# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arvanis v. Noslo Engineering Consultants, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1760%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1191

## Text

$2°640' [om ee ome 0
| FILED
No. : WY 23 1984

— ETSI,

CLERK

In the .
Supreme Court of the Anited States

Ocroser TERM, 1984

JOHN V. ARVANIS, d/b/a INDUSTRIAL CONTRAC-
TORS and BAER ELECTRIC CO., INC.,
Petitioners,
vs.

NOSLO ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS, INC., NOSLO
ENGINEERING CORPORATION, AND THE UNITED
STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
ONITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

SamveL S. McHarp

Stuart R. Lerstern

Donovan S. Rosertson

Katz, McAnprews, DurKEE, BALcH
& Lersrern, P.C.

P. O. Box 66

Rock Island, IL 61204-0066

Ricuarp W. McCarruy

Kiocxau, McCartuy, Evutison & RInpen
P. O. Box 1279

Rock Island, IL 61204-1279

Attorneys for Petitioners, Joun V.
Arvanis, d/b/a InpustriaL ConTRACTORS
and Barer Exectric Co., Inc.

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

ry

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the United States of America may be sued

pursuant to the Miller Act, 40 U.S.C. § 270a-270e (1976),
and the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b)
(1976), for its failure to secure a Miller Act bond prior to
awarding a federal construction contract to a prime con-

tractor who subsequently defaulted without paying the
subcontractors.

INDEX

PAGE
Question BOCNRRE ncnnuiisimnaniiaaen i
Opinions Bebe sccisnnnncsssicicanivbieiaenadeiiieaimmisaiaas 1
SUPIBTCEI —sesisnvisemssssnsenieessiitiinamitivcieocinhgianiaamiaainiiiies 2
Sinton TAVOIVOE esissiissricnnicicsmmmnecsisammnamammins 2
Statement GF TRG scinicimincoumniennemedone 2,3
Reasons for granting the Wit ............ccssccssssssssssecsseees 4,7
COMCIRSEOR §—exenseseserssentecnsnnnaieaieaanapaiemaameaan 16
APpenEK B cesccsssvssissrecsnsenissecesnceeiammaemnnamadaaialadl la
APDOREEE DB ciisicrnssiviniineennndtaneaeeee 7a
ApMeRiK © cccisinisissnnininaiisemgmamaaa ana 21a

Append D .csssssssssicisessnneeeiaaaaaadia 23a

ili

CITATIONS
CasEs PAGE

Arvanis vy. Noslo Engineering Consultants Inc.,
ee ae Be, Be TAOS ceive cceninsssenssendbvbinsacsonne 5,6

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Union Trust Co., 95
U.S. App. DC 189, 221 F.2d 62, aff'd per curiam
sub. nom. United States v. Union Trust Co.,

300 U.S. 907, 100 L.Ed. 796, 76 S.Ct. 192 (1955) 10

Equitable Surety Co. v. McMillan, 234 U.S. 448,

08 L.Ed. 1394, 34 S.Ct. 803 (1913) ........eeeseees 5
Hylin v. United States, 715 F.2d 1206 (7th Cir.
SIIE (o- -iebinaisndiieliathasedstiniainnineeinnbitbseditniibasisiommtanantiosereseen 13

Indian Towing Co. v. U.S., 360 U.S. 61 (1955) .... 7,9

Pippin v. Chicago Housing Authority, 78 ITll.2d
204, 399 N.E.2d 596, 35 Ill.Dec. 121 (1979) ........ 12

United States for the Use of Hill v. American
Surety, 200 U.S. 197, 50 L.Ed. 487, 265 S.Ct.

SI ica it ia inshemientyniesionselhdicvasiabtananbihiantninstinnss 5
United States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea
Rio Grandense (VARIG), ........ if eee , 81 L.
I TIES lincacdinssinchetiniaiilillcieicanieisanannsusen 7,10,13
United States of America vy. Yellow Cab Co., 340
ial ical dahaeaecnniiiveniien 7,8
STATUTES:
Miller Act (40 U.S.C.) :
Sa ecsaldumiiinnilnint 4,11
TI a csiec ahr seniasespnlankdabiviesheemnnisenems 23a, 26a

Federal Tort Claims Act (28 U.S.C.):
EERSTE ere ee eee eee 3

In THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Ocroser TERM, 1984

No.

JOHN V. ARVANIS, d/b/a INDUSTRIAL CONTRAC-
TORS and BAER ELECTRIC CoO., INC.,
Petitioners,
vs.

NOSLO ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS, INC., NOSLO
ENGINEERING CORPORATION, AND THE UNITED
STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

John J. Arvanis, d/b/a Industrial Contractors and Baer
Electric Co., Inc., an Lllinois corporation, petition for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in this
case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court (App. A. infra, pp.
la-6a) is not officially reported. The opinion of the Court
of Appeals (App. B, infra, pp. 7a-20a) is reported at 739
F.2d 1287.

a

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals denying peti-
tioners’ Request for a Rehearing was denied on August
27, 1984 (App. C, mfra, pp. 21a-22a). The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

40 U.S.C. Section 270(a) and 270(b) and 28 U.S.C.
Section 1346(b), as set forth in Appendix D, infra,
pp. 23a-26a.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Respondent, Noslo Engineering Consultants, Inc. (‘‘No-
slo”), was the prime contractor for the construction of a
“noise attenuator” at the Rock Island, Lllinois, United
States Army Arsenal. Petitioners, John V. Arvanis (“Ar-
vanis”) and Baer Electric Company, Ine. (“Baer”) were
subeontractors. Unbeknownst te them, Nosio failed to
obtain a payment bond, as required under the “Miller Act.
Noslo also failed to complete the project or pay the two
subeontractors for the materials and services they had
supplied, and subsequently filed for bankruptey. Arvanis
and Baer then filed essentially identical suits against No-
slo and the United States, each seeking to recover the
full amount of his damages ($105,080.00 for Arvanis and
$30,464.00 for Baer) from each defendant.’ Noslo failed
to answer, and default judgments were entered. The claims
against the government were dismissed on grounds of
sovereign immunity and lack of subject matter jurisdic-
tion.

‘ Although never formally consolidated before the Dis-
trict Court, the two cases were treated jointly. The cases
were consolidated on appeal.

— ae

Arvanis and Baer appealed to the United States Court
of Appeals for the 7th Cireuit the District Court’s deci-
sion dismissing their three-count Amended Complaint
against the United States. Count III was based on the
Federal Tort Claims Act (“FTCA”), 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b),
and aileged that the government was negligent in failing
to require Noslo to post a Miller Act payment bond. Count
IV, premising jurisdiction on the Miller Act, 40 U.S.C.
§ 270a-170e (“Miller Act”), and 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (federal
question jurisdiction), also alleged a failure te require
the puyment bond. Count V again claimed to base juris-
diction on § 1331 and the Miller Act, and alleged both
that the government was negligent in failing to retain
sufficient progress payments and should thus be lable to
the subcontractors and that petitioners should be compen-
sated out of the $50,000.00 retainage which the government
did hold. On appeal, petitioners argued that the suits
were improperly dismissed as the United States had im-
plvitly waived sovereign immunity under the Miller Act
or the FTCA, or both.

On August 27, 1984, the petitioners’ Motion for Rehear-
ing with Suggestions for Rehearing en banc. in the United
States Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit was denied.

a eon

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

SSEEEREeEnIREeiee

I,

THE REFUSAL OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT TO
FIND THAT THE MILLER ACT WAIVES SOVER.
EIGN IMMUNITY AND PERMITS THE SUIT AT BAR
HAS IMMEDIATE IMPORTANCE BEYOND THE
PARTICULAR FACTS AND PARTIES INVOLVED IN
THIS CASE.

Section 270a of the Miller Act permits suits against
the United States such as those filed by petitioners in
the cases at bar. That section provides in part as follows:

“Before any contract, exceeding $25,000 in amount,
for the construction .. . of any . . . publie work of
the United States is awarded to any person, such
person shail furnish to the United States the follow-
ing bonds, which shall become binding upon the award
of the contract ...:

“(1) A performance bond with a surety or sureties
satisfactory to the officer awarding such contract,...

“(2) A payment bond with a surety or sureties
satisfactory to such officer for the protection of all
persons supplying labor and material in the prosecu-
tion of the work provided for in said contract for
the use of each such person. .. .” (Emphasis added. )

Unlike private construction projects, no mechanic’s or
materialmen’s liens can be attached to the public buildings
or grounds of the United States. This creates two prob-
lems:

(1) “[PJotential subcontractors would be very re-
luctant to participate if they had nothing better than

—_

the status of a general creditor of the prime contrac-
tor to secure payment,” Arvanis v. Noslo Engineering
Consultants, Inc., 739 F.2d 1287, 1289 (1984), and
would thus be subject to great losses at the hands of
insolvent or dishonest contractors; and

(2) The insecurity resulting from the absence of
a lien to secure payment has a substantial tendency
to drive up the prices at which labor and materials
would be furnished on public projects. Equitable
Surety Co. v. McMillan, 234 U.S 448, 58 L.Ed. 1394,
34 S.Ct. 803 (1913).

As the Court of Appeals recognized, “[T]he answer to
the[se] problem[s] was the Miller Act.” Arvanis v. Noslo
Engineering Consultants, Inc., 739 F.2d 1287, 1289 (1984).
The Congressional intent was clearly to substitute the
obligation of a payment bond for the security which might
c horwise be obtained by attaching a lien to the property
of an individual thus ensuring that subcontractors on fed-
eral projects are protected to the same extent as they
would be if constructing the improvement for a private
individual under like circumstances. The purpose of the
law is further em,’ >sized in its title, which declares that
it is:

“For the protection of persons furnishing materials
and labor for the construction of public works.”

Despite this clear legislative intent, despite recognition
of the problems which this Act was clearly intended to
answer, and despite the liberal construction of the Act
applied by this Court, (See, e.g., United States for the
Use of Hill v. American Surety, 200 U.S. 197, 50 L.Ed.
437, 265 S.Ct. 168 (1905)), the Court below strained the
words and clear meaning of the Act to provide not only

—

=—

that the Act does not answer the very problems which
it seeks to redress but also to hold that there exists a
“cap in the statute” between the rights given to subcon-
tractors and the remedy provided.

The Court below interpreted the Miller Act to “place
no affirmative obligation on the government, and says ab-
solutely nothing about what happens when the contractor
fails to furnish the bond.” Arvanis v. Noslo Engineering
Consultants, Inc., 739 F.2d 1287, 1290 (1984). Appellants
respectfully disagree and direct this Court’s attention to
the plain words of the statute and their ofdinary mean-
ing. “Before any contract is awarded to any person, such
person shall furnish to the United States ... a payment
bond .. .”

Congress was clearly dictating simple, non-discretionary
instructions to government employees acquiring goods or
services for a public works project:

“Unless and until you receive a bond to secure pay-
ment to subcontractors, do not award any contract to
a contractor!”

The statute clearly places the obligation on the govern-
ment to award a contract only after a payment bond has
been furnished. Furthermore, only the government,
through its contracting officers, has the power to “award
a contract for the construction of any public work.” To
state that “there is no provision for the contingency that
both the contractor and the government contracting of-
ficer will ignore the bonding requirement” begs the ques-
tion, strains the clear language of the Act and under-
mines the entire purpose of the statute. There is no
digeretionary function involved but rather a simple and
direct duty owed.

—

=

The obvious and natural remedy for the right created
is to permit suit under the Miller Act by the laborers
and materialmen to the same extent as if the government’s
contracting officer had required the bond prior to award-
ing the contract. To state that laborers and materialmen
who have relied on the bonding requirements imposed by
the Act are “hapless” and either intended by Congress
(or carelessly permitted) to be “left holding the bag”
on a federal construction project is to turn the principals
of judicial construction on their ear. 739 F.2d at 1288.

Faced with two possible constructions of the statute,
one which reaches a just result in accord with the ex-
press purpose of the Act and the other which reaches a
universally conceded unjust result at odds with the intent
of the law, the court should opt for the just result. “A sub-
contractor who fulfills his part of the bargain should not
suffer either because the prime contractor defaulted” or
because the government contracting officer improperly
awarded a contract without obtaining the payment bond
required by the Miller Act. Jd. at 1293.

II,

THE DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW IS IN
DIRECT CONFLICT WITH ESTABLISHED PRINCI-
PLES OF FEDERAL LAW, AS ELUCIDATED IN
THIS COURT’S DECISIONS IN /NDIAN TOWING CO.
v. U.S., 360 US. 61 (1955), UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA v. YELLOW CAB CO., 340 U.S. 543 (1950),
AND UNITED STATES vy. S.A. EMPRESA DE VIA-
CAO AEREA RIO GRANDESE (VARIG), ....++ US.
osenees , 81 L, Ed.2d 660 (1984).

The Seventh Cireuit Court of Appeals rejected appel-
lants’ arguments supporting the imposition of liability on
the United States under the FTCA for failure to require

pom Sens

a Miller Act bond before awarding and proceeding on the
public works construction project. In doing so, the Court
premised its decision on the following three reasons:

1. “The absence of any persuasive analogy with
private conduct.” Id. at 1292.

2. “It would allow appellants to achieve by indi-
rection a result which they could not reach directly
under the Miller Act.” Jd.

3. The “good Samaritan” rule, as set forth in Sec-
tion 324A of the Restatement of Torts (Second) was
not applicable because “it isn’t even clear that the
United States undertook any duty,” Id. at 1291, be-
cause the reliance by appellants was not justified and
because Section 324A was “primarily applicable to
situations in which defendant has undertaken to pro-
vide services that are necessary for a third party’s
physical safety.” Id.

Petitioners respectfully contend that these reasons are
incorrect and misguided.

The lower Court’s application of the “analogy with
private conduct” rationale is artificial and strained. As
the lower Court recognized, the FTCA was designed pri-
marily to remove the sovereign immunity of the U.S.
from suits in tort and, with certain specific exceptions,
to render the U.S. liable in the same way a private indi-
vidual would be under like circumstances. Indian Towing
Co. v. U.S., 350 U.S. 61 (1955). The Supreme Court has
often recognized that the FTCA waives the government’s
immunity from suit in sweeping language in favor of an
injured party. See, e.g., United States of America v. Yel-
low Cab Co., 340 U.S. 543 (1950). Based on this under-

ty i a

= a

standing, the Court of Appeals in the instant case initially
proceeded with a thoughtful analysis and rejected the
“simple syllogistic analysis” adopted by three other cir-
cuits because that analysis merely assumes the answer.
739 F.2d at 1290. The Seventh Circuit further correctly
rejected the “uniquely governmental function” argument
likewise rejected by the Supreme Court in Indian Towing
Company v. United States, 350 U.S. 61 (1955), and cor-
rectly adopted the Indian Towing approach of “focus(ing)
on the behavior involved, not the legal labels applied, and
then look(ing) for analogies with private conduct.” 739
F.2d at 1290. The Court, however, became myopic in ap-
plying that test.

Indian Towing, 350 U.S. 61 (1955), involved a claim
under the FTCA for damages to cargo aboard a ship
that ran aground due to the alleged negligent operation
of a lighthouse by the Coast Guard. The government ar-
gued that the Act contained an implied exception from
liability for “uniquely governmental functions.” In re-
jecting that argument, the Supreme Court held.

“The government reads the statute as if it im-
posed liability to the same extent as would be im-
posed on a private individual ‘under the same cir-
cumstances.’ But the statutory language is ‘under
like circumstances.’” Id. at 64.

The Court of Appeals in the case at bar concedes that
the government’s argement herein “bears some similarity
to that rejected in Indian Towing Co. v. United
States .. .” 739 F.2d at 1290, n3. Clearly, the compar-
able conduct on which to focus in the case at bar is con-
struction of improvements on real estate. Private indi-
viduals do it. If they carelessly fail to require their
prime contractor to post a bond as part of the contract

—_

prior to commencing construction, private individuals are
subject to mechanic’s and materialmen’s liens. Similarly,
the government is liable if it fails to secure a Miller Act
bond from its prime contractor because those bonds were
intended by Congress to ensure that subcontractors on
federal projects are protected to the same extent as they
would be im constructing the improvement for a private
individual under like circumstances.

Despite this avowed focus and analysis, the Court in
the case at bar erred in application and reverted to the
application of the rejected uniquely governmental func-
tion approach as follows:

“Similarly, there is nothing uniquely governmental
about construction contracts, but it is true that fed-
eral contracts are unique, and that the Miller Act
with its bonding requirement applies only to fed-
eral contractors. Thus, it is true that no Miller
Act question could arise under state law.” 793 F.2d
at 1290, n.3.

Additionally, in the case of Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.
Union Trust Co., 95 U.S. App. DC 189, 221 F.2d 62, aff'd
per curiam sub. nom. United States v. Union Trust Co.,
350 U.S. 907, 100 L.Ed, 796, 76 S.Ct. 192 (1955), and in
the very recent decision in United States v. S.A. Em-
presa de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense (VARIG), ........
ite sana 81 L.Ed.2d 660 (1984), the Supreme Court re-
lied on Indian Towing and rejected the “uniquely gov-
ernmental function” approach applied herein. In Lastern,
supra, two planes suffered a mid-air collision while at-
tempting to land, allegedly as a result of the negligence
of air traffic controllers, The Supreme Court summarily
affirmed the decision to permit suit against the govern-
ment, rejecting the uniquely governmental function ap-

J

—

proach and holding that the nature of the air traffic con-
trollers’ function was such that liability under the law
of the state where the accident occurred would be im-
posed on the government under like circumstances. This
reasoning was cited with approval in VARIG, supra,
which is distinguished from the case at bar because
VARIG deals with the “discretionary function exception
which was never raised in this case because the govern-
ment, by the terms of the Miller Act, is not permitted
the discretion to award a contract to a contractor who
fails to secure a payment bond;? rather, the award of
the contract is predicated on the contractor having a
bond. Once again, under the Miller Act there is no dis-
cretionary function involved but rather a simple and
direct duty owed. Therefore, proper application of the
Indian Towing rationale which is on all fours with the
case at bar results in reversal of the lower Court’s deci-

sion.

Secondly, the rationale that to permit the suit at bar
under the FTCA allows appellants to achieve by indirec-
tion a result which they could not reach under the Miller
Act simply assumes the answer to the question posed
by the Seventh Cireuit. Analysis of the language and
intent of both the FTCA and the Miller Act indicates
they are proper vehicles to redress the very result which
the Court of Appeals and the District Court repeatedly,
and apologetically, refer to as “unjust.” 739 F.2d 1293.
Once again this Court should be guided by the beacon
of Indian Towing, where this Court held:

*“Before any contract, exceeding $25,000 in amount,
for the construction ... of any ... public work of the
United States is awarded to any person, such per-
son shall furnish to the United States the following
bonds .. .” 40 U.S.C. §270(a).

= =

“The broad and just purpose which the statute was
designed to effect was to compensate the victims of
negligence in the conduct of governmental activities
in circumstances like unto those in which a private
person would be liable and not to leave just treat-
ment to the czprice and legislative burden of indi-
vidual private laws.” Indian Towing, 350 U.S. at
68-69.

In sum, had the United States performed the duty
delegated to it by the Miller Act by the simple expedient
of insuring that the required bonds had been obtained,
this litigation would be unnecessary and the injustice
referred to by the two lower courts would not have been
done. In balancing the burden to the government in ex-
ercising its duty to require statutory bonds against the
burden upon hapless subcontractors who are left “hold-
ing the bag”, this Court must tip the scale in favor of
the subcontractors.

Third, the rejection of the “good Samaritan” rule’ is
unfounded as to the duty owed to subcontractors by the
government.* The Miller Act clearly imposes an affirma-

*The “good Samaritan” rule is found in the Restate-
ment of Torts (Second) § 324A and is adopted as a rule
of substantive law in Illinois. See, e.g., Pippin v. Chica-
g0 Housing Authority, 78 Ill.2d 204, 399 N.E.2d 596, 35
Ill.Dee. 121 (1979). Under this theory, the United States,
knowing that a third party (the subcontractor) would
be affected by its direct dealings with the prime contrac-
tor, had gratuitously undertaken a duty of care towards
the subcontractor, and can be held liable for a breach
of that duty.

*In another decision of the Seventh Cireuit Court of
Appeals regarding the “good Samaritan” doctrine, the
Court held, in a divided decision, that a cause of action
existed under the FTCA when a regulatory agency’s

ion

tive duty on government contractors to secure payment
bonds for subcontractors before awarding contracts, as
explained in the first section of this Petition. Failure
to do so subjects the government to the same liability
as would be imposed under state law on private indi-
viduals in like circumstances.

Further, the lower Court improperly rejected the “good
Samaritan” doctrine based on a fact-finding of unjusti-
fied reliance. At this stage no facts have been deter-
mined. Thus, this conclusion is not justified by the rec-
ord. Furthermore, the Court’s characterization of appel-'
lants’ conduct as “passive reliance” is grossly unfair and!
inaccurate. Contrary to the Court’s assumption, assist-
ing in construction of a complex government project such
as the noise-attenuator on the Rock Island Arsenal is
strikingly similar to navigating around submerged rocks.
Obviously, the captain could have weighed anchor and

* (Continued)

negligent enforcement of safety regulations increased the
risk of harm to third persons and proximately caused an
injury. Hylin v. United States, 715 F.2d 1206 (7th Cir.

of action stated in the complaint should be held to prop-
erly state a cause of action against the government.

a om

waited out the storm or radioed to determine if the
lighthouse was working in the Indian Towing case. In
the case at bar, the Court suggests that the appellants
could have inquired of the contracting officer whether a
payment bond had been posted. However, the subcon-
tractors are familiar with the requirement that before
they can enter into a sensitive government defense in-
stallation to work on a substantial construction contract,
the government must award a contract, Furthermore,
subcontractors know that as a prerequisite to the award,
the government must have obtained the Miller Act pay-
ment bond to secure payment of subcontractors. Until
those two steps have been completed, no mechanic or ma-
terialman should be allowed onto the installation to com-
mence construction under the contract.

The Court of Appeals in the case at bar improperly
rejected the “good Samaritan” doctrine because Section
324a was primarily applicable to provide services that
are necessary for a third party’s physical safety. How-
ever, the case cited as the “classic example” of the fed-
eral government’s liability for damages caused by the
misfeasance of government employees’ conduct is Indian
Towing, which involved a claim for damaged cargo, not
personal safety. Additionally, it should be emphasized
that a finding of the applicability of that doctrine to
the case at bar is not indispensable. Here, the duty im-
posed arises expressly from the Miller Act or by fair
implication from the combination of the Miller Act, the
FTCA and the Illinois Mechanics Lien Act.

Furthermore, the lower Court attempts to distinguish
Indian Towing, supra, from VARIG, supra, by noting
that the Supreme Court in VARIG emphasized that

—

FAA rules, regulations, certifications and spot checks
were, by Congressional emphasis, intended only “to pro-
mote safety in air transportation, not to insure it.”
VARIG, supra, 81 L.Ed.2d at 679; 739 F.2d at 1291, n.4.
To openly suggest as the Court of Appeals does that,
“perhaps the Miller Act likewise does no more than en-
courage government contracting officers to insist that con-
tractors obtain Miller Act bonds” (739 F.2d 1291, n.4)
flies directly in the face of the express Congressional
purpose of insiring that subeontractors on federal pro-
jects are protected to the same extent as they would be
if constructing the improvement for a private individual
under like circumstances, a purpose strikingly analogous
to the FTCA. As further proof of the insurance feature,
the Miller Act bond requirement, which also requires a
performance bond, is designed to insure that the project
will be properly completed so that the taxpayers’ money
will not be wasted as it was in the case at bar.

inst I ciate

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

November 1984

Respectfully submitted.

Samus. S. McHarp

Stuart R. Lerstern

Donovan 8S. Rospertson

Katz, McAnprews, Durker, BALcH
& Lerstern, P.C.

P. O. Box 66

Rock Island, IL 61204-0066

Ricnarp W. McCartruy

Kiockau, McCartuy, Exviison & RINDEN
P. O. Box 1279

Rock Island, IL, 61204-1279

Attorneys for Petitioners, Jonn V.
Arvanis, d/b/a InpustriAL Con TRACTORS
and Barr Execrric Co., Inc.

== 1a —

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

No. 82-4025

Joun V. Arvanis, d/b/a InpustriaL ConTRACTORS,
Plaintiff,
v.

Nosto ENGINEERING ConsuLTANTS, Inc., NosLo ENGINEER-
inc Corporation and the Unirep States Or AMERICA,
Defendants,

and
No. 82-4026

Barer Exectric Co. Inc., an Illinois Corporation,
Plaintiff,
v.

Nosto ENGINEERING ConsuLTaNts, Inc., Nosto ENGINEER-
inc Corporation and the Unirep States Or AMEriIcA,
Defendants.

ORDER
(FILED MAR 22 1983)

This case is once again before the Court, now on the
United States’ motion to dismiss Count V of the amended
complaints of Plaintiffs Arvanis and Baer. Initially, it
should be noted that Defendant, United States of Ameri-
ca, in its Motion for Relief from Order, claims that it was
not served with a motion to amend or an amended com-
plaint by Plaintiff Baer. The docket sheet to the Baer
case indicates that both the motion and the amended
complaint were filed. Since the issues in both cases are

=

identical and the Court can see no prejudice to the Defen-
dant, the Motion for Relief from Order is denied and this
Order will apply to both cases.

Previously, Counts Ili and IV of the amended com-
plaints were dismissed by this Court (see docket entry
dated Jan. 19, 1983) and, for the following reasons, Count
V is now dismissed. Count V seeks recovery on the same
basis as Counts III and IV but alleges in addition, that
the United States is holding a retainage fund to which
Plaintiffs are entitled and the United States failed to
retain as much money under their contract with Noslo
as they should have considering the circumstances of the
case.

The United States has moved to dismiss Count V based
on alternative arguments. First, if Count V is treated as
a tort claim, Defendants argue that Plaintiff has failed
to meet the jurisdiction requirements of the Federal
Torts Claim Act and, even if these requirements have
been met, the Court has rejected this theory of recovery
in its prior order. Alternatively, if Count V is considered
a contract claim, as Defendant believes it should, the
Count must be dismissed based on several Court of
Claims rulings to that effect.

Plaintiff argues that the tort-contract issue need not
be resolved because this case is based on federal question
jurisdiction and the implicit waiver of soverign immunity
contained within the Miller Act. Furthermore, Count V
ean be distinguished from those Counts simply alleging
negligence against the United States for failure to re-
quire a bond, but not alleging the existence of a retainage
fund. y

4

The Court finds that the motion to dismiss should
be granted based on its previous ruling (see Order
dated Dec. 6, 1982). Jurisdiction for Count V is based
on the Miller Act (40 U.S.C. §270) and on federal
question jurisdiction (28 U.S.C. $1331). In the previ-

a a ean Goeth ak Albina

—_ “on

ous ruling, it was held that neither of these statutes
expressly waived the sovereign immunity of the United
States from suits filed against it. The fact that a re-
tainage is alleged to have been held by the government
does not act to waive that immunity. A ruling to the
contrary would create a distinction between those situ-
ations where a retainage is held and those where it is
not, a distinction that is not to be found in any of the
cited statutes.

A case that is closely analogous to the present situ-
ation was United States Fidelity and Guarantee Com-
pany, et al. v. United States, 201 Ct. Cl. 1, 475, F.2d
1377 (1973) (USFG). There the subcontractors were
attempting to recover for nonpayment of bills by the
prime contractor. The fund provided by the surety’s
payment bond, as required by the Miller Act, was in-
sufficient to pay all the subcontractors. Thus, those that
had not been paid instituted a suit against a retainage
fund held by the United States. The Court examined
the standing of the subcontractors to bring suit against
the United States and, in so doing, reviewed the two
most important Supreme Court opinions on this issue.
In the first of these cases, United States v. Munsey
Trust Company, 332 U.S. 234 (1947), the Court decided
whether the United States or a payment bond surety
had superior right to a retained fund held by the gov-
ernment. The Court held that while the surety did have
a right to the fund, the United States could offset from
the fund amounts owed to the government from the prime
contractor for work previously done. In the course of its
opinion, the Court held “laborers and materialmen do not
have enforceable rights against the United States for
their compensation”. Munsey, 332 U.S. at 241.

The later case of Pearlman v. Reliance Insurance Com-
pany, 371 U.S. 132 (1962), diseussed the issue of whether
the contractors trustee in bankruptcy or a Miller Act
surety had superior rights in a retainage fund held by

pe eae

the government. The Court held that the surety, having
paid the laborers and materialmen, was entitled to the
benefit of all the rights necessary to reimburse it for its
payment. The Court stated:

“, . . the Government had a right to use the retained
fund to pay laborers and materialmen; that the
laborers and materialmen had a right to be paid out
of the fund; that the contractor, had he completed
his job and paid his laborers and materialmen, would
have become entitled to the fund; and that the surety,
having paid the laborers. and materialmen, is entitled
to the benefit of all these rights to the extent neces-
sary to reimburse it.”

In comparing these two cases, the Court in USF'G made
the following observation:

“It is a short step from Pearlman to infer that if
the subcontractors have rights to which the surety
may be subrogated, then the subcontractors should
be able to assert their rights directly, which is in
complete conflict with the language in Munsey, as
recognized by Justice Clark’s concurring opinion in
Pearlman.

The dilemma may be resolved in a number of ways,
but the most apparent might be by noting that the
Court in Pearlman stated that the surety was en-
titled to the benefit of all the rights of the laborers
and materialmen whose claims it paid and those of
the contractor whose debts it paid. The surety then
is subrogated to the rights of the contractor who
could sne the Government since it was in privity of
contract with the United States. The surety is like-
wise subrogated to the rights of the laborers and
materialmen who might have superior equitable
rights to the retainage but no right to sue the Defen-
dant. If this interpretation of Pearlman is adopted
then Munsey is in complete harmony with it and the

ee

—

Pearlman decision is of no aid to these subcontrac-
tors.”

The Court finds that this is a proper interpretation
of the holdings of these two cases. In this way the sub-
contractor would have equitable rights which would be
superior to those of other claimants to a fund. Yet, as
noted by the Munsey Court, the subcontractor could not
take action directly against the United States to recover
on such funds. There has been no case in which a sub-
contractor has recovered directly against the United
States based on a retainage fund. The only Supreme
Court cases dealing with this issue have weighed the
competing claims of private parties to the fund.

The holding of USFG was examined and upheld by the
Court of Claims in United Electric Corp. v. United States,
647 F.2d 1082 (Ct. Cl 1981), cert. denied 454 U.S. 863.
The Court in United Electric felt compelled to review
the USFG decision in light of Kennedy Electric Co. Inc.
v. United States Postal Service, 508 F.2d 954 (10th Cir.
1975).

In Kennedy, the Plaintiff was a subcontractor on a
federal postal facility project. As with this case, there
had been no Miller Act bonds furnished, the prime con-
tractor subsequently went bankrupt, and the Postal Ser-
vice held funds retained during the life of the contract.
The Court held that Kennedy had an equitable right to
the retainage and could enforce its rights directly against
the Postal Service. The Tenth Circuit distinguished USFG
by stating: ;

“We do not have a standing question. Our suit is
against an independent establishment having the
power to sue and be sued.”

Consequently, while many of the facts in Kennedy
are identical to those presented in this Cour*, the critical

cil cis

issue of standing to sue was not addressed. However,
this was precisely the issue in United Electric and the
Court, affirming USFG, ruled that a subcontractor had
no standing to sue the United States for compensation
due.

Accordingly, the Court must dismiss the case based
on the present law on this issue, even though the Court
does not believe this to be a totally equitable result. A
subcontractor should be able to rely on the Miller Act
and be assured that a bond will be furnished.

Notwithstanding, IT IS ORDERED that the motion to
dismiss is GRANTED and the complaint is DISMISSED.

ENTERED: March 22nd, 1983.

/s/ Michael M. Mihm
Michael M. Mihm

United States District Judge

aan FQ a

APPENDIX B

Joun V. Arvanis, d/b/a InpusrriaL ConTRACTOors,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.

Nosto Encineertna Consuitants, Inc., Nosto ENGINEER-
inc Corporation, and the Unrrep Srates Or America,

Defendants-Appellees.

Barer Execrric Co. Ixc., an [llinois Corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.

Nosto Enotxeerinc Consvuxitants, Ixc., Nosto ENGINEER-
inc Corporation and the Unrrep States Or America,

Defendants-Appellees.
Nos. 83-1670, 83-1766

Jnited States Court of Appeals,
Seventh Circuit.

Submitted July 2, 1984.*
Decided July 31, 1984.
Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc
Denied Aug. 27, 1984.

* After preliminary examination of the briefs, the
court notified the parties that it had tentatively concluded
that oral argument would not be helpful to the court in
this case. The notice provided that any party might file
_-” a “Statement as to Need of Oral Argument.” See Rule
34(a), Fed.R.App.P.; Cireuit Rule 14(f). No such state-
ment having been filed, the appeal has been submitted
on the briefs and record.

—

Subcontractor brought action against government to
recover payment on federal construction project after
prime contractor had defaulted without paying and with-
out obtaining payment bond. The United States District
Court for the Central District of Illinois, Michael M.
Mihm, J., dismissed the claims, and subcontractor ap-
pealed. The Court of Appeals held that: (1) requirement
of Miller Act for public contractors to obtain perform-
ance and payment bonds placed no affirmative obligation
on the government and thus could not provide basis for
s*’yeontractor’s claim, and (2) government was not liable
under Federal Tort Claims Act for failing to ensure that
the payment bond was posted.

Affirmed.

1. United States — 67(1), 74%

Requirement of Miller Act that public contractors ob-
tain performance and payment bonds places no affirmative
obligation on the government to ensure that the bonds
have been obtained and thus provides no basis upon
which subcontractor may bring suit against the govern-
ment for payment when prime contractor has failed to
obtain bonds and has defaulted without paying the sub-
contractor. Miller Act, § 2(b), 40 U.S.C.A. § 270b(b);
28 U.S.C.A. § 1331.

2. United States — 78(8)

Government was not liable under Federal Tort Claims
Act to subcontractor on federal construction project for
negligently failing to ensure that prime contractor had
obtained payment bond where subcontractor could have
inquired of contracting officer whether payment bond had
been posted and thus could not be said to have reason-
ably relied on government’s ensuring that the bond had
been posted and where there was no persuasive analogy
with private conduct upon which government’s liability
could be based. 28 U.S.C.A. § 1346(b).

7
:
3
4
|
:
7
4
4
;
4
|
4

a

3. United States — 74144

Subcontractor could not bring action against govern-
ment against retainage fund to recover payment on
federal construction project on which prime contractor
had defaulted without obtaining payment bond and with-
out paying subcontractor where there was no evidence
that the retainage fund had not been expended to com-
plete the project.

Samuel S. MeHard, Katz, McAndrews, Durkee, Balch
& Lefstein, Rock Island, Ill, Richard W. McCarthy,
Koleckau, McCarthy, Ellison, Rinden & Hartsock, Rock
Island, Ill., for plaintiffs-appellants.

Gerald D. Fines, U.S. Atty., Springfield, Ill., L. Lee
Smith, Asst. U.S. Atty., Peoria, Ill, Major Thomas G.
Bowe, Headquarters Dept. of Army, DAJA-Ltd., Wash-
ington, D.C., for defendants-appellees.

Before BAUER, CUDAHY and ESCHBACH, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM.

The ultimate question we are asked to decide is who
is left holding the bag when a prime contractor on a
federal construction project fails to obtain a Miller Act
payment bond and then defaults without paying his sub-
contractors. We conclude that the answer is the hapless
subcontractor, not the United States.

.

On a private construction project, mechanic’s and
materialmen’s liens secure payment of the subcontractors.
Such devices are obviously unavailable on a government
project; sovereign immunity bars lens against govern-
ment property. Equally obvious, potential subcontractors
would be very reluctant to participate if they had nothing
better than the status of a general creditor of the prime

oe

contractor to secure payment. The answer to this problem
was the Miller Act, 40 U.S.C. §§ 270a-270d, 49 Stat. 793
(1935) (as amended). Section 270a provides that the
prime contractor must post a payment bond to guarantee
payment of the subcontractors. Section 270b provides
that if not paid, the subcontractor may sue on the bond
in federal district court.

Defendant Noslo Engineering Consultants, Inc. was
the prime contractor for the installation of a “noise
attenuator” at the Rock Island, [Illinois United States
Army arsenal. Plaintiffs-appellants John V. Arvanis and
Baer Electric Co., Inc. were subcontractors. Unbeknownst
to them, Noslo failed to obtain a payment bond. Noslo
also failed to complete the project or pay the two sab-
contractors for the materials and services they had sup-
plied, and subsequently filed for bankruptcy. Arvanis
and Baer then filed essentially identical suits against
Noslo and the United States, each seeking to recover the
full amount of his damages ($105,080 for Arvanis and
$30,464 for Baer) from each defendant.’ Noslo failed to
answer, and default judgments were entered. The claims
against the government were dismissed on grounds of
sovereign immunity and lack of subject matter juris-
diction.

Arvanis and Baer appeal from the district court deci-
sion dismissing their three-count amended complaint
against the United States. Count III was based on the
Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA), 28 U.S.C. § 2671
et seq., and 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b), and alleged that the
government was negligent in failing te require Noslo
to post a Miller Act payment bond. Count IV, premising
jurisdiction on the Miller Act and 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (fed-
eral question jurisdiction), also alleged a failure to re-
quire the payment bond. Count V again claimed to base

? Although never formally consolidated before the dis-
trict court, the two cases were treated jointly. The cases
have been consolidated on appeal.

a

—lla—

jurisdiction on § 1331 and the Miller Act, and alleged
both that the government was negligent in failing to
retain sufficient progress payments and should thus be
liable to the subcontractors, and that plaintiffs should
be compensated out of the $50,000 retainage which the
government did hold.? On appeal, plaintiffs continue to
argue that the suits were improperly dismissed as the
United States had implicitly waived sovereign immunity
under the Miller Act or the Tort Claims Act, or both.

* The original identical five-count complaints were filed
April 14, 1982. Counts I and II alleged fraud and breach
of contract against Noslo Engineering, and were premised
on diversity jurisdiction. Noslo never appeared, and a
default judgment for the full amount of the claim (pre-
sumably uncollectible) was entered early in the proceed-
ings; Noslo is not involved in this appeal. Counts III,
IV, and V were directed at the United States, and the
only jurisdictional basis cited was the Miller Act. Count
III alleged negligence on the part of the federal con-
tracting officer who failed to insist on the posting of a
Miller Act payment bond. Count IV alleged an ora! con-
tract between the United States and the subcontractors;
this count was voluntarily dismissed. Count V argued
unjust enrichment. The government argued that the Miller
Act did not waive sovereign immunity, and that any
recovery would have to be based on the Federal Tort
Claims Act. The case proceeded on both Miller Act and
FTCA theories, and was dismissed on December 7, 1982
for lack of jurisdiction under either the Miller Act or
the FTCA. On December 17, 1982, plaintiffs requested
leave to amend the complaints to conform to the issues
actually heard and decided. Leave to amend to substitute
the three new counts was granted on January 31, 1983,
and new Counts III and IV were simultaneously dis-
missed. After briefing on the new Count V (the retainage
issue), it too was dismissed on March 22, 1983. Plaintiffs
then filed the present timely appeal.

—i

II.
Count IV: Negligence Under the Miller Act

[1] Appellants argue that the Miller Act requires the
government to insist that its contractors furnish Miller
Act payment bonds. This is incorrect. The statute re-
quires only that contractors obtain performance and pay-
ment bonds. The statute places no affirmative obligation
on the government, and says absolutely, nothing about
what happens when tle contractor fails to furnish the
bond. The Act grants a very narrow and specific right
to those in appellants’ position: the right to sue on the
bond (if there happens to be one) “in the name of the
United States for the use of the person suing.” 40 U.S.C.
§ 270b(b). (The United States is thus aligned on the
plaintiff’s rather than the defendants’ side by the equa-
tion, providing an additional reason for concluding that
the United States cannot prfperly be a defendant in a
Miller Act suit.) There is clgarly no waiver of sovereign
immunity here. There does’ seem to be a gap in the
statute; there is no provision for the contingency that
both the contractor and the government contracting
officer will ignore the bonding requirement. However, this
is not a ga, that we can fill with a remedy—especially
in view of the very narrow remedy actually granted by
the statute. No citation is needed to reject appellants’
suggestion that 28 U.S.C. § 1331 waives sovereign im-
munity. It merely gives the district court jurisdiction to
hear federal claims that are not otherwise barred.

Count IIT: Negligence Under the Tort Claims Act

[2] Three other circuits presented with a Tort Claims
Act suit against the United States for failure to require
a Miller Act bond have given the argument short shrift,
deciding it on the basis of a simple syllogism. The
FTCA provides that the government may be sued in
tort only in “circumstances where the United States, if a
private person, would be liable to the claimant in accor-

Aelia OE ae ode oe

— 13a —

dance with the law of the place where the act or omission
occurred.” 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b) (1976). Because the Miller
Act deals with federal contracts, a private party could
never be in a position to require a Miller Act bond, and
thus of course could never be liable for failure to require
the bond. In the absence of such lability, the analogy
required for governmental liability under the FTCA
never comes into play.’ McMann v. Northern Pueblos En-
terprises, Inc., 594 F.2d 784 (10th Cir. 1979); Devlin
Lumber and Supply Corp. v. United States, 488 F.2d 88
(4th Cir. 1973); United States v. Smith, 324 F.2d 622
(Sth Cir. 1963). This Circuit has not previously been
faced with the question.

We think the syllogistic analysis assumes the answer
to the question at issue. It should be possible to define
governmental action in almost any situation narrowly
enough to render it “uniquely governmental” (e.g., no
private party could negligently drive a truck carrying the
U.S. mail). The better approach is to focus on the be-
havior involved, not the legal labels applied, and then

*The argument bears some similarity to that rejected
in Indian Towing Company v. United States, 350 U.S.
61, 76 S.Ct. 122, 100 L.Ed. 48 (1955). The Coast Guard
voluntarily undertook to operate a _ lighthouse on
Chandeleur Island. The light was out, and a barge owned
by plaintiff ran aground and was wrecked. The Supreme
Court held that plaintiff could maintain a negligence
suit under the Tort Claims Act. While lighthouse opera-
tion was done only by the Coast Guard, there is nothing
uniquely governmental about this service. At other times
and places (e.g., England) lighthouses have been privately
maintained, financed by fees from shipping companies
desiring the service. Similarly, there is nothing uniquely
governmental about construction contracts, but it is true
that federal contracts are unique, and that the Miller
Act with its bonding requirement applies only to federal
contractors. Thus it is true that no Miller Act question
could arise under state law.

=

look for analogies with private conduct. For example,
private parties in many situations are required by con-
tract or by state law to obtain bonds—and often fail to
do so.

Appellants argue that Illinois has adopted the “good
Samaritan” rule as set forth in Section 324A of the
Restatement of Torts (Second). Under this theory, the
United States, knowing that a third party (the subcon-
tractor) would be affected by its direct dealings with the
prime contractor, had gratuitously undertaken a duty of
care towards the subcontractor, and can be held liable for
a breach of that duty. Appellants specifically argue that
this case is analogous to United Scottish Ins. Co. v.
United States, 692 F.2d 1209 (9th Cir. 1982), in which
the United States was held liable under the FTCA for
injuries resulting from an airplane crash; Federal Avia-
tion Administration (FAA) inspectors were negligent
in certifying that the aircraft met fire safety standards.
The government argued that there was no private activity
analogous to an FAA inspection. The Ninth Circuit,
applying the good Samaritan (Section 324A) doctrine,
found liability for a voluntarily assumed, negligently
performed duty to third parties (passengers) who were
in no position to do anything other than rely on FAA
safety inspections. The Supreme Court, however, unani-
mously reversed in this and a companion case, S.A.
Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense (Varig Airlines)
v. United States, 692 F.2d 1205 (9th Cir. 1982). United
States v. S.A. Empresa de Viacao Aerea Rio Grandense
(Varig Airlimes), ........ abe vsinis , 104 8.Ct. 2755, 81 L.Ed.
2d 660 (1984).*

*The case was decided on the “discretionary function”
exception to the FTCA. The Court explicitly did not
reach the argument that the FAA inspections were
purely governmental activity having no counterpart in
private conduct. Indian Towing was distinguished in that :
the government there had expressly disavowed any “dis- .
eretionary function” argument. While Varig Airlines
nevertheless casts some doubt on the reasoning of Indian

ee

— l5a —

Even without the Varig reversal, we would find appel-
lants’ good Samaritan argument foreclosed. In Jones Vv.
United States, 703 F.2d 246 (7th Cir. 1983), this Cireuit
had an opportunity to explore the ramifications of See-
tion 324A, and it is not necessary to repeat the analysis
here. Suffice it to say that we concluded that 324A was
primarily applicable to situations in which defendant
has undertaken to provide services (e.g. inspection or
repair services) that are necessary for a third party’s
physical safety, and which the third party is unable to
undertake for himself—due either to lack of expertise
or an inability to discern or discover hidden hazards.
Reliance by the third party is usually required.’ In Jones,

* (Continued)

Towing, the situations are factually distinguishable. The
Coast Guard had publicly opted to operate the lighthouse
and published its location on navigation charts and “light
lists,” and it is customary to keep such lights in continu-
ous rather than intermittent working order. According
tc the Supreme Court in Varig Airlines, FAA safety in-
spections are made on a spot check basis, most inspections
are delegated to industry personnel, and the goal is
“promoting safety”, not insuring it.” The FAA inspection
statute is thus largeiy hortatory. Perhaps the Miller Act
likewise does no more than encourage government con-
tracting officers to insist that contractors obtain Miller
Act bonds.

The Varig Airlines decision is also arguably limited
to the regulatory context. However in another part of
the opinion, the Court contrasts the situation presented
with the “common law torts” that the legislative history
indicates the Tort Claims Act was designed to encompass.
See Dalehite v. United States, 346 U.S. 15, 73 S.Ct. 956,
97 L.Ed. 1427 (1953). While failure to require a Miller
Act bond is not an omission made in the course of regula-
tion, neither is it a garden variety tort.

‘Indiana Towing provides the classic example of this
paradigm. See Jones, supra, n. 10 at 251, for a furthed
discussion of this case in the context of Sections 323 and
524A of the Restatement.

— léa —

we concluded that the United States was not liable for a
slip and fall accident on a sidewalk adjacent to a United
States Post Office. While postal employees routinely
swept the walk clear of gravel, this gratuitous under-
taking—although public-spirited—was not “necessary” for
anyone’s safety (and in no way worsened the situation),
and plaintiff was in as good a position as anyone else
to determine the safety of the walk. For similar reasons,
we reject appellants’ arguments under § 324A. First, it
isn’t even clear that the United States undertook any
duty. It merely executed a contract (in retrospect, ill-
advised) with Noslo. Even assuming that the subsequent
effect of that contract on the subcontractors amounts
to the sort of affirmative assumption of duty contem-
plated by § 324A (the real problem here being non-
feasance or a lack of supervision by the government,
while the good Samaritan doctrine refers to misfeasance
—by one who needn’t have acted at all), appellants need
not have passively relied on the government to protect
their rights. Unlike the barge captain in Jndian Towing,
plaintiffs were not forced to navigate around submerged
rocks. They could have inquired of the contracting officer
whether a payment bond had been posted. Any subcon-
tractor is now certainly well-advised to do so.

In the absence of ary persuasive analogy with private
conduct, we conclude that appellants cannot maintain a
Tort Claims action against the United States. We also
note an additional reason for rejecting the Tort Claims
approach: it would allow appellants to achieve by in-
direction a result that they could not reach directly under
the Miller Act.®

©The government also argues that Count III could be

dismissed for failure to exhaust (or invoke) administra-
tive remedies. Section 2675(a) of Title 28 provides that
a tort claim against the United States shall not be in-
stituted unless the claimant has first presented his claim
to the appropriate federal agency and the claim has been

a a a

ash thar Ke BP Rives ht

— 17a —

Count V: The Retainage

{3] The argument that the United States is liable
because it “should have” paid closer attention to the
prime contractor’s problems and withheld more of the
progress payments is easily dismissed. Appellant argues
only Miller Act and federal question jurisdiction for this

* (Continued)

finally denied by the agency. The claimant may construe
a failure to rule on the administrative claim within six
months as a final denial. Section 2401(b) of Title 28
provides that a tort claim is barred unless plaintiff pre-
sents his claim to the agency within two years after the
claim accrues, or unless suit is commenced within six
months after the final agency denial.

Plaintiff Arvanis filed a complaint with the agency on
December 29, 1982. While we don’t know exactly when
the claim accrued, Noslo did not become the prime con-
tractor until January 8, 1981, less than two years earlier.
The filing of the administrative claim was thus timely,
but it was not filed until after the district court had
already dismissed the original complaint dealing with
the same claims. While there is an apparent reversal
of the proper order for filing administrative claims and
civil actions, there is an interesting twist here in that
the complaint was not instituted as a tort claim. The
tort claims procedures of 28 U.S.C. § 2671 et seq. are thus
arguably inapplicable. Plaintiff Arvanis thought he was
filing suit under the Miller Act, which contains no refer-
ence to tort claims procedures; the only problem is that
the Miller Act provides no basis for jurisdiction over
the United States. It was the district court that con-
ceptualized the case as a tort claim, and decided it on
that basis. By the time plaintiff did file a complaint
under the FTCA (the amended complaint of January
31, 1983), the administrative claim had been filed, but
there was no final denial and six months had not yet
passed. The ciaim was thus premature—but then, having
been granted leave to amend his complaint, plaintiff
could not very well have delayed an additional five
months waiting for either a denial or inaction. As it
happened, the claim was denied March 21, 1983, the day

— 18a —

claim, and we have already concluded that neither statute
waives sovereign immunity. It might be possible to frame
the claim in a manner that would fall within the FTCA;
under state law, a party that negligently failed to super-
vise some activity under its control might well be liable
to another party injured thereby. However, such an ex-
pansive reading of the Tort Claims Act would swallow
up sovereign immunity; in almost any situation, the
government “might have” done a better job of keeping
track of its affairs. In any event, a successful claim for
monies not retained would be just the sort of direct raid
ov the treasury that provides the classic argument for
sovereign immunity. Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731, 67
S.Ct. 1009, 91 L.Ed. 1209 (1947). A narrow exception to
sovereign immunity is made for suits seeking injunctive
relief for the very reason that no claim on the treasury
is involved. See Larson vy. Domestic and Foreiqn Com-
merce Corp., 337 U.S. 682, 69 S. Ct. 1457, 93 L.Ed. 1628
(1948); Clark vy. United States, 691 F.2d 837 (7th Cir.
1982).

* (Continued)

before the entire case was finaily dismissed, and Arvanis
filed the denial with the district court on April 7, 1983,
the same ed he filed his notice of " «r

Fortunately we do not need to decide whether the
district judge was without jurisdiction to decide the case
on the basis of what he recognized to be a tort claim
incorrectly denominated a Miller Act claim, or whether
plaintiff should (or could) have stalled on amending
his complaint. The case is adequately disposed of on
review of the grounds actually reached by the district
court. (Besides, plaintiff is now time-barred from filing
a new suit if this one is dismissed on procedural grounds,
and plaintiff should be assured that the outcome would
not have been different had the procedural history been
less ambiguous.)

There is no indication in the record that plaintiff Baer
ever filed an administrative complaint. Again, given the
jurisdictional confusion, we will decide the case on the
grounds reached by the district court.

—

The argument for allowing a claim against the retain
age is thus superficially more attractive. By hypothesis
there is a separate fund—aside from the general treasury
—to which plaintiff can look for payment. That was part
of this court’s rationale in allowing suit in Schlafly v.
Volpe, 495 F.2d 273 (7th Cir. 1974) (suit brought to com-
pel the expenditure of authorized, yet frozen, federal
highway funds). In this situation, the separate fund
argument evaporates upon closer inspection. Presumably
the progress payments are still retained because of the
lack of progress on the project. The record indicates
that the noise attenuator was unsatisfactory upon in-
stailation, and Noslo failed to fix it within the additional
90 days allowed. It seems likely that any retainage would
be (has been?) expended in an effort to obtain a func-
tioning noise attenuator, and this brings us back to a
direct claim against the treasury. Perhaps this is why
plaintiffs cite no cases in which a subcontractor has suc-
cessfully laid claim to the retainage.’

‘In United Electric Corp. v. United States, 647 F.2d
1082 (Ct.CL), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 863 (1981), the sub-
contractor sued the government (after the surety refused
to pay on the Miller Act bond, which was allegedly in-
adequate anyway), alleging that the government had
negligently failed to comply with the Miller Act, thus
creating an equitable lien against the retainage, which was
more t equate to cover the subcontractor’s claim.
The court concluded that the subcontractor lacked stand-
ing to pursue the claim in the Court of Claims (there
was no privity of contract with the government), but
described this outcome “not a happy result,” and stressed
that the government might voluntarily make payment
and had a moral obligation to do so if funds remained
after the contract was completed.

— Ha —

OL

The result is, as the district court put it, unjust. A
subcontractor who fulfills his part of the bargain should
not suffer because the prime contractor defaulted, and
the government contracting officer had not insisted on
compliance with the Miller Act. We agree that there is a
practical problem (how widespread we do not know) that
is not addressed by the Miller Act, but that is a problem
that can only be addressed, and redressed, by Congress.

The judgment of the district court dismissing the
amended complaint is

AFFIRMED.

le

— "oo
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604
August 27, 1984.
Before

Hon. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Circuit Judge
Hon. RICHARD D. CUDAHY, Circuit Judge
Hon. JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Circuit Judge

JOHN V. ARVANIS,
d/b/a, INDUSTRIAL CONTRACTORS,
Plaintiff-A ppellant,
No. 83-1670 v.

NOSLO ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS, INC.,
NOSLO ENGINEERING CORPORATION,
and the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendants- A ppellees.

BAER ELECTRIC CO., INC.,
an Illinois Corporation, °
Plaintiff-Appellant,
No. 83-1766 v.

NOSLO ENGINEERING CONSULTANTS, INC.,
NOSLO ENGINEERING CORPORATION,
& THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for
the Central District of Illinois,
Rock Island Division.

Nos. 82 C 4025, 82 C 4026
Michael M. Mihm, Judge.

és

ORDER
(Received—Aug 30 1984)

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc filed in the above-entitled
cause by appellants, no judge in active service has re-
quested a vote thereon, and all of the judges on the orig-
inal panel have voted to deny a rehearing. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid petition for re-
hearing be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

See on

ea is

— Ba —
APPENDIX D

Miller Act (40 U.S.C.):
Section 270a. BONDS OF CONTRACTORS FOR

PUBLIC BUILDINGS OR WORKS;
WAIVER OF BONDS COVERING
CONTRACT PERFORMED IN
FOREIGN COUNTRY.

(a) Before any contract, exceeding $25,000 in amount,
for the construction, alteration, or repair of any public
building or public work of the United States is awarded
to any person, such person shall furnish to the United
States the following bonds, which shall become binding
upon the award of the contract to such person, who is
hereinafter designated as “contractor”:

(1) A performance bond with a surety or sureties
satisfactory to the officer awarding such contract, and
in such amount as he shall deem adequate, for the
protection of the United States.

(2) A payment bond with a surety or sureties
satisfactory to such officer for the protection of all
persons supplying labor and material in the prose-
eution of the work provided for in said contract for
the use of each such person. Whenever the total
amount payable by the terms of the contract shall
be not more than $1,000,000 the said payment bond
shall be in a sum of one-half the total amount payable
by the terms of the contract. Whenever the total
amount payable by the terms of the contract shall
be more than $1,000,000 and not more than $5,000,000,
the said payment bond shall be in a sum of 40 per
centum of the total amount payable by the terms of
the contract. Whenever the total amount payable by
the terms of the contract shall be more than $5,000,000
the said payment shall be in the sum of $2,500,000.

—_—

(b) The contracting officer in respect of any contract
is authorized to waive the requirement of a performance
bond and payment bond for so much of the work under
such contract as is to be performed in a foreign country
if he finds that it is impracticable for the contractor to
furnish such bonds.

(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit
the authority of any contracting officer to require a per-
formance bond or other security in addition to those, or
in eases other than the cases specified in subsection (a)
of this action.

(d) Every performance bond required under this sec-
tion shall specifically provide coverage for taxes imposed
by the United States which are collected, deducted, or
withheld from wages paid by the contractor in carrying
out the contract with respect to which such bond is fur-
nished. However, the United States shall give the surety
or sureties on such bond written notice, with respect to
any such unpaid taxes attributable to any period, within
ninety days after the date when such contractor files a
return for such period, except that no such notice shall
be given more than one hundred and eighty days from
the date when a return for the period was required to
be filed under the Internal Revenue Code of 1954. No suit
on such bond for such taxes shall be commenced by the
United States unless notice is given as provided in the
preceding sentence, and no such suit shall be commenced
after the expiration of one year after the day on which
such notice is given.

Section 270b. SAME; RIGHTS OF PERSONS
FURNISHING LABOR OR ©
MATERIAL.

(a) Every person who has furnished labor or ma-
terial in the prosecution of the work provided for in such
contract, in respect of which a payment bond is furnished
under section 270a of this title and who has not been paid

a | a ee

— 25a —

in full therefor before the expiration of a period of ninety
days after the day on which the last of the labor was
done or performed by him or material was furnished or
supplied by him for which such claim is made, shall have
the right to sue en such payment bond for the amount,
or the balance thereof, unpaid at the time of institution
of such suit and to prosecute said action to final execu-
tion and judgment for the sum or sums justly due him;
Provided, however, That any person having direct con-
tractual relationship with a subcontractor but no contrac-
tual relationship express or implied with the contractor
furnishing said payment bond shall have a right of action
upon the said payment vond upon giving written notice to
said contractor within ninety days from the date on which
such person did or performed the last of the labor or
furnished or supplied the last of the material for which
such claim is made, stating with substantial accuracy the
amount claimed and the name of the party to whom the
material was furnished or supplied or for whom the labor
was done or performed. Such notice shall be served by
mailing the same by registered mail, postage prepaid, in
an envelope addressed to the contractor at any place he
maintains an office or conducts his business, or his resi-
dence, or in any manner in which the United States
marshal of the district in which the public improvement is
situated is authorized by law to serve summons.

(b) Every suit instituted under this section shall be
brought in the name of the United States for the use of
the person suing, in the United States District Court for
any district in which the contract was to be performed
and executed and not elsewhere, irrespective of the
amount in controversy in such suit, but no such suit
shall be commenced after the expiration of one year after
the day on which the last of the labor was performed or
material was supplied by him. The United States shall
not be liable for the payment of any costs or expenses
of any such suit.

satin

Federal Tort Claims Act (28 U.S.C.):
Section 1346. UNITED STATES AS DEFENDANT.

(b) Subject to the provisions of chapter 171 of this
title, the district courts, together with the United States
District Court for the District of the Canal Zone and the
District Court of the Virgin Islands, shall have exclusive
jurisdiction of civil actions on claims against the United
States, for money damages, accruing on and after Janua-
ry 1, 1945, for injury or loss of property, or personal
injury or death caused by the negligent or wrongful act
or omission of any employee of the Government while
acting within the scope of his office or employment, under
circumstances where the United States, if a private per-
son, would be liable to the claimant in accordance with
the law of the place where the act or omission occurred.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1760%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
