# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clements v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1741%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1110

## Text

—

; cn OS,
De -OL® Office-Supreme Court, USF!
FILLED i

|

ae eae NOV 17 mee

ALEXANDER |
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE §NITED SGatoe™

October Term, 1984

RICHARD CLEMENTS,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

we Ne Ne Se SS SY

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PARKER, BRUNNER & HAMILTON
John C. Hamilton

1100 Hazlitt Building

120 W. LaSalle Avenue
South Bend, IN 46601

(219) 234-4149

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

KELLY LEEMAN

1300 E. Broadway
Logansport, IN 46947
(219) 722-3881

QUESTION PRESENTED
Given this Court's recognition of the
"due process entrapment defense" in

Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484

(1976), and given the fact that inferior
federal courts, including the court below
in this case, have struggled with deciding
when and where the due process defense
controls, should this Court review the
defense and attach to it standards that
will enhance predictability of when the

defense should and should not apply?

PARTIES INVOLVED

The parties involved in this petition
are Richard Clements, petitioner and
defendant below, and John A. Belzer, Jr.
and John Evans, defendants below, and
the United States of America, respondent
and plaintiff below.

Mr. Hamilton, one of petitioner's
counsel, represented John A. Belzer, Jr.,
by appointment, through the appeal for
to the Seventh Circuit. Before agreeing
to represent Mr. Clements on this peti-
tion Mr. Hamilton personally informed Mr.
Belzer that he could join in this peti-
tion. Mr. Belzer stated clearly that he

did not wish to do so.

ii.

INDEX
Pages
Question Presented i
Parties Involved ii
Index iii-iv
Citations V-vi
Opinion Below 5
Jurisdiction 2
Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved 2-3
Statement of the Case 3-10
1. Proceedings Below 3-4
2. Statement of Facts 4-10
Counterfeiting in 1982
The Government Becomes Aware
The Investigation
The Conspiracy Underway
The Search Warrant and
Changed Facts
3. The Seventh Circuit's
Decision 10-13

The Defendants' Position
The Appellate Court's Reaction

iii.

INDEX (Cont.)
Pages

Reasons for Granting the Writ 13-21

This Court Should Review the
"Outrageous Conduct" Standard
Heretofore Used in Due Pro-
cess Entrapment Cases Be-

cause it is Vague, Inherently
Subjective and, Finally, [n-
spires, Rather than Limits, a
Multiplicity of Trial Court
Issues and Consequent Appellate
Litigation.

Conclusion 22

Ve

CITATIONS

Cases

Hampton v. United States,

425 U.S. 484 (1976) ‘

People v. Isaacson,

44 _N.Y.2d 511,

406 N.Y.S.2d

714, 378 N.E.2d 78 (1978)

Rochin v. California,

342 U.S. 165 (1952)

Sherman v. United States,
356 U.S. 369 (1958)

Sorrells v. United States,

387 U.S. 435 (1952)

United States

v. Jannotti,

673 F.2d 578 (3rd Cir. 1982),
cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1106 (1983)

United States

703 F.2d 1004
1983)

United States

707 F.2d 1460
cert. denied,
(1984)

United States

411 U.S. 423,

United States

726 F.2d 1Ligl

Vv. Kaminski,
(7th Cir.
15-16,

v. Kelly,
(D.C. CiF.),
104 S.Ct. 264

v. Russell,
431-32 (1932)

v. Thoma,
(7th CiP.), cert.

Pages
13-14, 15
17

17

14, 16
14, 16

16

18-20, 21
is, 2:

15

denied, 104 S.Ct. 2683 (1984) 19-20,

CITATIONS (Cont.)

Statutes:

U.S. Const. amend. i

U.S. Const. amend. IV as Shy
U.S. Const. amend. V a, a,
18 U.S.C. 371
18 U.S.C. 471
18 U.S.C. 474

Miscellaneous:

Gershman, Entrapment, Shocked
Consciences, and the Staged
Arrest, 66 Minn. L.Rev. 567
(1982)

Note, Entrapment as a Due
Process Defense: Developments
After Hampton v. United States,
57 Ind. L.J. 89 (1982)

se

Pages

17

17

NO. 84-

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1984

RICHARD CLEMENTS,
Petitioner,
Ve

UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA,

Ne Nee Ne Oe SS ee Se Se SS

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Richard Clements prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit in this case.

OPINION BELOW
The decision of the court of appeals
(App. A, infra, la ~ 37a) is reported at

743 F.2d 1213.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals
(App. B, infra, 38a - 39a) was entered on
September 18, 1984 and a suggestion for
hearing in banc was denied on October 18,
1984 (‘pp.- C, infra, 40a - 4la).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Fifth Amendment to the
United States Constitution provides, in
part,

No person shall be. . .deprived
of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law. ...

2. The Fourth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides,

The right of the people to
be secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against un-
reasonable searches and seizures
shall not be violated; and no
Warrants shall issue but upon pro-
able cause, supported by Oath or
affirmation, and particularly
describing the place to be searched,
and the persons or things to
be seized.

2.

3. The defendants were charged below
with violation of the following statutes:
18 U.S.C. §§371, 471, 474. Those stat-
utes are set forth below. (App. D, infra,
42a - 45a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Proceedings Below.

On March 4, 1983 John A. Belzer, Jr.,
Harold Clements, Richard Clements and
John Evans were charged in a five count
indictment filed in the United States
District Court, Northern District of
Indiana (South Bend Division) with con-
spiracy to commit, and the commission ot.
various acts constituting or relating to
counterfeitiig. Specifically they were
charged with conspiracy to violate 18
U.S.C. §§ 471 and 474 as proscribed in
18 U.S.C. § 371, and several violations
of 18 U.S.C. § 474. (ibid.).

3.

During trial the indictment against
Harold Clements was dismissed. As to the
other defendants the jury found Richard
Clements guilty of three of the five
counts and the other defendants guilty
on all counts.

All remaining defendants appealed to
the United States Circuit Court for the
Seventh Circuit, and, on September 18,
1984, that court affirmed the judgment.
John Belzer filed a suggestion that the
case be heard by the Seventh Circuit in
bane on October 1, 1984. Treating the
suggestion as a petition for rehearing as
well as a request for in banc hearing,
the Seventh Circuit denied it on Octo-
ber 18, 1984. (App. C, infra, 40a-45a).

2. Statement of Facts.

Counterfeiting in 1982

During the summer of 1982 a James

Farthing traveled from Indiana to Florida
4.

to purchase some counterfeit currency
from John Belzer and John Evans. No pur-
chase took place because of the bills’
poor quality. (App. A, infra, 3a). Bel-
zer and Evans attempted to produce coun-
terfeit material in Indiana. They used
various items of equipment which they

had purchased in that state. (ibid.).

Richard Clements’ involvement in the
venture began with his providing $5,000
to partially finance the venture. (Id.,
3a-4a). While Clements knew Farthing,
he did not know Belzer or Evans until a
trip to Florid® in February, 1983.

(Tr. 731, 1237).

The counterfeiting venture in 1982
failed. After several weeks of effort
Farthing, Belzer and Evans abandoned the
project. Belzer and Evans returned to

Florida. Clements had the equipment

5.

hauled away and stored in a trailer.
(App. A, infra, 4a).

In early December, Clements contacted
Farthing about producing counterfeit
currency. He expressed interest in hav-
ing the other actors (Belzer and Evans)
return to Indiana and participate. (id.,
5a).

The Government Becomes Aware

Sometime before December 1982, the
Secret Service learned that Farthing was
involved in a counterfeiting operation.
By December it knew that Farthing had
been arrested on Indiana state drug
charges. (ibid.).

An agent of the Secret Service con-
tacted Farthing in late January, 1983.
The agent obtained Farthing'’s agreement
to assist the Service in an investigation
of Belzer, Evans and Clements in return

for help with his state charges. (id.,

5a-6a).

The Investigation

The Secret Service gave Farthing tape
recording equipment. On February l,

1983 and for several days thereafter,
Farthing initiated or engaged in several
telephone conversations with Clements,
Evans and Belzer. During those conver-
sations, Farthing promoted the idea of
counterfeiting currency in Indiana. (App.
A, infra, 6a-8a). None of the future
defendants was opposed to the idea of
counterfeiting, but Farthing was required
to persuade Belzer and Evans to leave
Florida to do so; both men resisted the
idea of traveling to Indiana to do the
work. (id., 8a).

Farthing did at length prevail. In
the process he promised Belzer and Evans
that they would receive $500 each at the
outset, that Clements would finance the

operation and that Clements would drive
7

them from Florida to Indiana. (App. A,
infra, 8a).

The Conspiracy Underway

Clements did drive to Florida where
he first met the two men. On February
10, Clements, Belzer and Evans began the
drive to a slaughterhouse on Harold
Clements' farm. It was there that the
counterfeiting was to take place, the
equipment in Clements possession having
been moved there. (id., 8a-948).

While the three men were on their way,
the Secret Service rented a graphic arts
camera and delivered it to the slaughter-
house. Clements, Belzer and Evans arri-
ved at the farm on Saturday, February ll.
The next day, Sunday, the effort to coun-
terfeit began. At the outset Farthing
taught Belzer and Evans how to operate

he graphic arts camera. (id., 9a-10a).

Farthing visited the slaughterhouse
8.

nearly every day. He supplied the Secret
Service with daily status reports on tne
operation. (App. A, infra, 9a-1l0a).

The Search Warrant and Changed Facts

The Secret Service obtained a search
warrant on Monday, February 14, 1983.
In the meantime, at Belzer's and Evans'
request, on Wednesday, February 16, in
the company of a Secret Service agent,
Farthing bought additional printing sup-
plies, including green tinted paper.
Later that day he delivered the material
to the slaughterhouse. (id., 10a; Tr.
247-48, 668-69, 671-73, 736, 778, 780-821,
1279-80; Belzer Exh. E).

A completed counterfeit bill ($20.00)
-- that is, with a front and back -- was
not produced until later in the day on
Thursday, February 17, 1983. (Tr. 165-66,
220-21, 704-05).

The Secret Service and others executed
9.

the search warrant at 10:00 or 11:00 p.m.
on Friday, February 18, 1983. (App. A,
infra, 10a; Tr. 169, 324, 877).

3. The Seventh Circuit's Decision.

The Defendants’ Position

The primary claim by all the defen-
dants on appeal was that, while there was
evidence that each was predisposed to
commit offenses which involved counter-
feiting, the government's actions were
such that,

(a) their rights to due process
under the United States Con-
stitution were violated; and

(b) their convictions should be
reversed on the basis of the
court's authority and duty
to supervise its processes.

The defendants’ positions were based
on contentions that the Secret Service
became so involved in the criminalizing
process that it instigated and underwrote

a crime that, without its involvement,

10.

would and could never have occurred. As
an essential part of their position the
defendants argued that the Secret Ser-
vice's act of waiting for four days be-
fore executing the search warrant vio-
lated their rights under the Fourth
Amendment.

During that four day wait, defendants
contended,

(a) the government's informant
Supplied them with printing
Supplies and green tinted
paper,

(b) the defendants began to pro-
duce completed counterfeit
currency one day before the
search occurred.

As a result, the facts on which the war-
rant was issued necessarily were changed
-- in one case by the acts of the Secret

Service's own agent.

The Appellate Court's Reaction

The Seventh Circuit ruled that the
Secret Service's actions did not con-

ll.

stitute "outrageous government conduct
in violation of the due process clause"
and did not present the court with a
basis for exercise of its supervisory
powers. (App. A, infra, 28a).

As to the Secret Service's handling
of the search warrant and its bearing on
the due process claim, the court ruled
that defendants failed to show that the
government agents intended to do wrong
by waiting. (id., 30a-3la). The court
implicitly suggested in the process that
government agents, armed with a search
warrant, could wait as long as needed for
the subjects of the future search to
create the contraband the search was in-
tended to recover. (id., 3la-32a).

Having addressed the defendants'
Fourth Amendment argument on the merits,
the court concluded that it need not de-
cide that executing the warrant on the

12.

ee ee ey ey w > seein x nN
oe ee a ee eee ee eee ee ee ee eS ee eee ee eee ew Te

changed facts referred to made it in-
valid. The court based its conclusion
on the ground that the only way such in-
validity could be preserved is by a
motion to suppress evidence. The court
went on to state, however, that even
were improper execution of a search
warrant relevant to a due process argu-
ment, where, as in this case, it was not
Shown that the government "intentionally
manipulated or abused the judicial pro-
cess," its conduct would not provide
sufficient basis for reversal. (App. A,
infra, 35a-37a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court Should Review the "Out-
rageous Conduct" Standard Hereto-
fore Used in Due Process Entrapment
Cases Because it is Vague, Inher-
ently Subjective and, Finally, In-
Spires, Rather than Limits, a Mul-
tiplicity of Trial Court Issues

and Consequent Appellate Litigation.

In Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S.

484, 492-94, 497, 499 (1976) this Court
13.

acknowledged that the due process clause
might invalidate the conviction of a
defendant who, because he was predis-
posed to commit crime, could not rely on
the "common law" defense of entrapment

recognized in Sorrells v. United States,

287 U.S. 435, 451 (1932).

As is well known, Sorrells embodied

what was to become a continuing debate on
whether evaluation of "common law" en-
trapment was to be done by an objective
or by a subjective standard. id., 451-52,
458-59. The objective standard, pro-

posed by Justices Roberts in Sorrells,

id., 454-55, 457-59, and Frankfurter in

Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369,

382-85 (1958), among others, called for a
weighing of the government's actions.
According to this view the moral worth
and intent of the defendant was irrele-

vant. The theory that succeeded was the
14.

subjective standard. It made the defen-

dant's character and intent a condition

| precedent to determining whether an en-

trapment occurred. If evidence support-
ed the fact finder's conclusion that the
defendant was predisposed, the entrap-

ment defense was not available to him --
presumably no matter what the government
might have done to bring him to the dock.

See, Hampton v. United States, supra,

425 U.S. 484, 488-90.

No doubt it was the implicit radical-
ism of the conclusion just expressed
("if predisposed, the government can do
anything") that compelled recognition of

the due process defense in United States

v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 431-32 (1973)

and Hampton. However, after more than

eight years of lower courts' straining to
define what conduct calls the defense into

play, e.g., United States v. Kaminski,

15.

703 F.2d 1004, 1009 (7th Cir. 1983) ("The
Supreme Court has not yet given any con-
tent to the principle that governmental
misconduct may bar prosecution even ab-
sent any other deprivation of defendant's

constitutional rights."); United States

v. Jannotti, 673 F.2d 578, 606 (3ra Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1106 (1983)

(". . edelineation of the conduct cir-
cumscribed by the due process defense is,
at best, elusive."), it seems appropri-
ate for this Court to clarify the situa-
tion.

If the Court wishes to layer an addi-
tional, wholly subjective, standard on-

to the Sorrells-Sherman type of situa-

tion, already governed by, at least, a
partially subjective test, it should say
so. Then lower courts need not strain to
find precedent for the conclusions they

16.

|
|
,
;
|
|

reach in response to claims of due pro-

cess violations.

On the other hand, it seems not im-
possible to establish a set of objective
criteria by which government conduct in
the course of intrusive or pre-emptive
investigations can be measured. The New
York Court of Appeals did so as it con-
strued its due process clause. People

v. Isaacson, 44 N.Y.2d 511, 521-22, 406

N.Y.S.2d 714, 719-20, 378 N.E.2d 78,
83 (1978). Commentators have urged in

the context of cases similar to this one
that a Rochin "shocks the conscience"}

"standard" need not be used. Note,

Entrapment as a Due Process Defense:

Developments After Hampton v. United

States, 57 Ind. L.J. 89, 102-13 (1982);

Gershman, Entrapment, Shocked Consciences,

and the Staged Arrest, 66 Minn. L.Rev.

567, 596-611 (1982).

1. Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165,
172 (1952).

17.

The case before this Court demonstra-
tes the need for order and predictability.
No doubt consistent with an inherent bias
in favor of predictability, the appellate
courts are attempting to give substance
to the terns "outrageous conduct.”

One appellate court has concluded that
the requisite level of outrageousness is
not established unless “coercion, vio-
lence or brutality to the person" is
shown. “Flagrant misconduct on the part
of the police” is not enough. United
States v. Kelly, 707 F.2d 1460, 1476
& n. 13 (D.C. Cir.) cert. denied, 104
S.Ct. 264 (1983) (Ginsburg, J., in sep-
arate opinion).

On the other hand the Seventh Circuit
has added the word “truly” to bring some
definition to the problem. Due process
will not provide a defense unless the
official conduct is “truly outrageous.”

18.

However, the "truly outrageous" standard
might be avoided in a due process entrap-
ment case if violation of an independent
constitutional right can be shown, In

United States v. Kaminski, Supra, 703

F.2d 1004, 1009, the court said,

Assuning no independent consti-
tutional right has been violated,
governmental misconduct must be
truly outrageous before due pro-
cess will prevent conviction of
a defendant.

In United States v. Thoma, 726 F.2d 1191

(7th Cir.) cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 2683
(1984), the defendant, taking his cue

from Kaminski, argued that his indepen-

dent right under the First Amendment had
been violated in the course of govern-
mental misconduct and therefore the "truly
outrageous standard” should not apply to
his due process entrapment defense. In
response the court acknowledged t.¢

argument,

19.

We. . .agree that if the
Government violated this
{constitutionally protected]
right in the course of in-
vestigating defendant, then
the "truly outrageous" stan-
dard would not be applicable.
Id., 1198.

It was, of course, this language in

Kaminski and Thoma that inspired the

Fourth Amendment argument below. If the
defendants’ Fourth Amendment rights had
been violated by a delay during which the
facts were changed (in part by the Govern-
ment itself), and during which at least
one crime, counterfeiting $20 bills, was
effected, then by its own standard the
Seventh Circuit would be compelled to use
some standard other than “truly out-
rageous." What that standard might be
remains at this point unknown.

What has just been said might be dis-
missed as nothing more than carping by
disappointed defense counsel. That is

not .ts intent.
20.

What Kelly, Kaminski and Thoma as well

as the other cases cited earlier reflect,
is disagreement, confusion and what
appears to be an utter lack of definition
as inferior courts attempt to cope with a
standard that is no standard at all.

On the contrary, the words "outrageous
conduct” appear to be achieving nothing
more than formless litigation in every
case where the government's actions
appear in any way to be intrusive and
where the defendant might be found to be
predisposed. That description applies to
a good number of cases flowing through

the federal system.

21. s

CONCLUSION

After more than eight years of form-
lessness and its effects, it is time for
this Court to review the bases on which
the due process entrapment defense will
lie. The “outrageous conduct" formula is
subjeccive, incapable of definition, and,
because it inspires litigation rather
than governing it, is cost ineffective.

A writ should issue in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

PARKER. BRUNNER & HAMILTON
John C. Hamilton

1100 Haziitt Building

120 W. LaSalle Avenue
South as) IN 46601

al as -414

cr for Petitioner
Of Counsel:
KELLY LEEMAN

1300 E. Broadway
Logansport, IN 46947
(219) 722-3881

November 1984

APPENDIX A
Opinion of the Court of Appeals
of

September 18, 1984

la
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Seventh Circuit

Argued May 31, 1984
Decided September 18, 1984

Nos. 83-2130, 83-2146, 83-2175
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
Ve

JOHN A. BELZER, JR., JOHN M. EVANS
and RICHARD CLEMENTS,

pefendants-Appellants

Before:
POSNER and FLAUM,
Circuit Judges
and

GORDON , *
Senior District Judge
* The Honorable Myron L. Gordon, Senior

District Judge for the Eastern District
of Wisconsin, is sitting by designation.

2a

FLAUM, Circuit Judge. This is an appeal

following a jury trial in which the
defendants were convicted of violating
federal counterfeiting laws. The defen-
dants' main argument on this appeal is
that the government's undercover opera-
tion leading to their arrests was so
outrageous as to violate fundamental
principles of due process. We disagree,

and we affirm the convictions.

“ ee eee oe eres

3a
I

During the summer of 1982, James
Farthing traveled from Indiana to Florida
to purchase counterfeit currency from the
defendants John Evans and John Belzer.
He did not make the purchase, however,
because the quality of the bills was poor.
Later that summer, Farthing, Evans, and
Belzer decided to make counterfeit cur-
rency together. They bought a printing
press from an Indiana company, as well as
an arc light plate burner, a vacuum table,
a platemaker, paper, and various printing
supplies. Shortly thereafter, they de-
termined that they needed $5,000 more to
finance their counterfeiting operation,
and began to search for someone to pro-"
vide them with this amount.

At the same time, the defendant Rich-

ard "Pete" Clements was looking for a

4a
source of counterfeit currency. Through

mutual acquaintances, it was arranged
for Clements to provide Farthing, Evans
and Belzer with $5,000. Clements sup-
plied the money, requesting that in re-
turn he get as much counterfeit currency
as he could.

Evans, Belzer and Farthing then began
to attempt to produce counterfeit cur-
rency in a garage in Indiana. However,
they had difficulty operating the print-
ing press and were unable to produce
bills of high quality. After several
weeks they abandoned the project. At
this point, sometime in November 1982,
Evans and Belzer returned to Florida,
and Clements had the equipment hauled

away and stored in a trailer.

1. Clements, the only defendant who
testified at trial, disputed this ver-
sion of the facts. He stated that he
gave the $5,000 to an acquaintance as a
loan to help finance a vending machine
business.

5a
In early December 1982, Clements con-

tacted Farthing about the possibility of
renewing the counterfeiting effort. Dur-
ing December and January, the two had
several more discussions about this sub-
ject. During these aiscussions, Clements
expressed an interest in having Belzer
and Evans return to Indiana to resume the
counterfeiting.

In late January 1983, Farthing was
contacted by United States Secret Service
Agent Lawrence D. Haas, Jr. The Secret
Service had received a tip from a con-
fidential informant several months ear-
lier, informing it that Farthing was in-
volved in a counterfeiting operation.

In December 1982, the Secret Service had
learned that Farthing had been arrested
on drug charges in Indiana. Thus, in
late January 1983, Haas and Farthing dis-

cussed the possibility of Farthing

6a
assisting the Secret Service in an under-
cover investigation of Belzer, Evans,
and Ciements. Farthing agreed to assist
the Secret Service, and in return Haas
promised to make Farthing's cooperation
known tc the Indiana authorities invol-
ved in Farthing'’s drug prosecution. Haas
Supplied Farthing with equipment for tape
recording phone conversations, and re-
quested that he contact Clements, Belzer
and Evans about resuming their counter-
feiting operation.

On February 1, 1983, Farthing made the
first of many tape recorded phone calls
to the defendants. In a conversation
with Clements, he suggested that they
plan another attempt at counterfeiting,
and Clements agreed. The two men then
began to discuss the details of the oper-
ation. At this time, Clements indicated

that he would be willing to travel to

7a
Florida to pick up Belzer and Evans and
bring them back to Indiana.

On February 2, Evans phoned Farthing,
returning a call Farthing had made to him
earlier. They discussed the counter-
feiting operation. Farthing told Evans
that they would be purchasing additional
equipment and thus would be able to make
counterfeit bills of better quality than
those they had made previously. Evans
then indicated that he could make counter-
feit money, and that he would be willing
to try again. During the next few days,
Evans and Farthing had several more phone
conversations in which they discussed
counterfeiting. During one of these dis-
cussions, Evans stated that he and Belzer
in the past had made counterfeit currency
that was not high quality, but that had

“passed.” Tr. at 571.

8a

During several other phone conversa-
tions with Farthing, Evans showed some
resistance to traveling to Indiana. He
stated that he and Belzer would prefer
to run the counterfeiting operation in
Florida. At several points, Evans in-
dicated that they might withdraw from the
scheme altogether. Farthing also spoke
with Belzer, who also stated that he did
not want to leave Florida. Ultimately,

however, Farthing was able to persuade

Evans and Belzer to travel to Indiana.
In so doing, he promised them that they
would receive $500 each up front, that
all the money to finance the operation
would be supplied by Clements, and that
Clements would travel to Florida and
drive them back to Indiana.

On February 10, Clements met Belzer
and Evans in Florida and the three men

set out for Indiana. While they were

9a

traveling, the Secret Service rented a
graphic arts camera and brought it to a
Slaughterhouse located on a farm that was
owned by Clements'’s brother, which is
where the counterfeiting operation was to
take place. This camera is used to make
photographic negatives which are then
used to make offset printing plates, and
it is available commercially. The other
counterfeiting equipment had already been
set up in the slaughterhouse.

Clements, Evans, and Belzer arrived at
the fasm on February 11, and the counter-
feiting operation began the following day.
Throughout the next week, Belzer and
Evans worked on producing the counterfeit
currency, with Belzer primarily responsi-
ble for making the printing plates and
Evans primarily responsible for operating
the printing press. Farthing was not

actively involved in the day-to-day

10a
operation, though he did visit the

slaughterhouse nearly every day. In
addition, Farthing instructed Evans and
Belzer on operating the graphic arts
camera, and he supplied them with some
light sensitive tape used in platemaking.

During this time, Farthing was supply-
ing the Secret Service with daily status
reports on the counterfeiting operation.
On February 14, the Secret Service sought
and received a search warrant for the
Slaughterhouse. On February 16, before
the warrant was executed, Farthing pur-
chased additional printing supplies that
had been requested by Evans and Belzer,
and delivered them to the defendants. On
February 18, pursuant to the warrant
issued several days earlier, the Secret
Service entered the slaughterhouse and
arrested the defendants.

The defendants were charged with five

lla
counts of violating federal counterfeit-
ing laws, 18 U.S.C. §§ 471, 474 (1982),
and with conspiracy to violate federal
law, 18 U.S.C. § 371 (1982). The case
proceeded to a trial before a jury on
April 18, 1983. The defendants' primary
defense was that they had been entrapped
or that they had been denied due process
of law because of governmental misconduct.
The jury returned guilty verdicts against
Belzer and Evans on all five counts, and
against Clements on three of the counts,
acquitting him on the other two. The
defendants’ post-trial motions were
denied, and each was sentenced to prison.
Evans for five years and Belzer and
Clements for three. This appeal follow-

ed.
II.

The defendants have not argued en-

trapment on this appeal, conceding that

12a

there was sufficient evidence of their
predisposition to counterfeit to support
the jury's verdict. Thus, their primary
argument is that the government under-
cover operation leading to their arrests
violated their rights to due process of
law and that therefore their convictions
should be vacated. In addition, they
contend that the government's four-day
delay in executing its search warrant
violated their constitutional rights,
and that this is another reason that
their convictions should be vacated.-

As an alternative to their contention

>. Clements has also argued that the
district court denied him a jury drawn
from a fair cross-section of the commun-
ity, because it excused the only member
of the jury panel who resided in his
county. Clements has not claimed, how-
ever, that the process used to derive the
panel was in any way unfair. In view of
this, and because tne district court had
a proper reason for excusing the prospec-
tive juror - his exposure to pre-trial
publicity - we reject Clements’ argument.

Tn

l3a

that their rights were violated, the
defendants argue that the government's
conduct in this case compels us to vacate
the defendants' convictions in the exer-
cise of our supervisory powers over the
administration of criminal justice.

A. The Undercover Operation

In United States v. Russell, 41l U.S.

423, 431-32 (1973), the Supreme Court
Stated that "we may some day be present-
ed with a situation in which the conduct
of the law enforcement agents is so out-
rageous that due process principles would
absolutely bar the government from in-
voking judicial processes to obtain a
conviction." Several years later, in

Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484

(1976), five justices of the Supreme
Court reaffirmed the principle that
criminal defendants may present a defense

based on outrageous governmental miscon-

l4a
duct, regardless of the defendant's pre-
disposition to commit the crime charged.
This circuit also has recognized the

existence of such a defense. See, e€-g.,

United States v. Kaminski, 703 F.2d

1004, 1009 (7th Cir. 1983).

The due process defense, however, has
been invoked successfully only on a few
occasions. As this court has noted:

[A]n examination of the post-
Hampton cases decided by the
courts of appeals indicates
that due process grants wide
leeway to law enforcement
agencies in their investigation
of crime. Assuming that no
independent constitutional
right has been violated, govern-
mental misconduct must be truly
outrageous before due process
will prevent conviction of

the defendant.

Id. at 1009. The defendants argue that
the Secret Service's conduct in investi-
gating their counterfeiting activity was

"truly outrageous." We disagree.

15a
The defendants' main argument is that

the government "manufactured" the counter-
feiting crime of which they were con-
victed. According to the defendants, the
crime would not have occurred but for the
government's participation, through its
informant, Farthing. Specifically, the
defendants complain that Farthing induced
them to resume the counterfeiting efforts
that they already had abandoned, and
furthermore that without the supplies and
expertise that he provided, they would
not have been able to produce counterfeit
bills of sufficient similitude to real
currency to constitute a violation of
federal counterfeiting laws. See,

United States v. Johnson, 586 F.2d 395,

397-98 (5th Cir. 1978) (discussing the
requirement under 18 U.S.C. § 474 that

counterfeit currency resemble genuine

currency), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 926

16a
(1979).

Turning first to the defendants' claim
of inducement, this court recently stated
that "[w]lhen a defendant is predisposed
to commit the offense due process cannot
be violated by Government induce-

ment. .. ." United States v. Thoma,

726 F.2d 1191, 1199 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 104 S. Ct. 2683 (1984). We have
not stated, however, that the inducement
offered by the government cannot be con-
sidered in determining whether the govern-
ment's conduct is so outrageous as to
warrant the invocation of our supervisory

3

powers. Assuming that it can be, it

3. Because in the exercise of our
Supervisory powers we focus on the actions
of the government rather than on the
defendant, we can imagine a situation
where the nature of the government in-
ducement should be considered in assess-
ing the outrageousness of the govern-
ment's conduct, even though the defendant
is predisposed to commit the crime char-
ged. In this case, for example, if the
Secret Service, through Farthing, had
(Footnote continued on following page)

17a
is nevertheless clear that the govern-
ment's inducement in this case was pro-
per. This is not a case in which the
government's inducement to commit the
crime was “exceedingly generous," see

United States v. Jannotti, 673 F.2d 578,

600 (3d Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 457

U.S. 1106 (1982) or in some other way

excessively coercive. See, Greene v.

United States, 454 F.2d 783 (9th Cir.

1971) (government agent used veiled
threats to induce crime). In fact, the
government did not even initiate the
counterfeiting operation. Not only had
there been a prior counterfeiting attempt

involving alli of the defendants just be-

2. (continued) made a credible threat of
violence toward one of the defendants
and/or his family members if he refused

to assist in the counterfeiting operation,
we would be abdicating our responsibility
if we did not consider this fact in assess-
ing the defendants' outrageous conduct
claim.

18a
fore the government's intervention, but
it was the defendant Clements who first
contacted Farthing about resuming the
operation. Farthing, working undercover,
did induce the already predisposed team
of Evans and Belzer to continue their
counterfeiting, but the small amount
offered to them hardly gives rise to an
outrageous government conduct claim.
"(T]he offer of a reasonable inducement
[is a] proper means of investigating

crime." United States v. Kaminski, 703

F.2d at 1009.
The defendants also complain that the
government provided them with supplies

and expertise that were indispensable to

4 It is
4. There is some indication in the re-
cord that Farthing may have paid for some
of the supplies himself, or that he may
have been reimbursed by Clements and not
the Secret Service for some of his ex-
penses. Whether this lessens the govern-
ment's degree of involvement in the
(Footnote continued on next page)

their counterfeiting operation.

19a

government may supply some items of value
toward the perpetration of the criminal

enterprise. See, e.g., United States v.

Leja, 563 F.2d 244 (6th Cir. 1977)
(government supplied legally obtainable
chemicals to illegal drug manufacturers),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1108 (1978); United

States v. Gonzales, 539 F.2d 1239 (9th

Cir. i976) (government agents were
"actively involved in purchasing ink
and other supplies, as well as a func-
tioning press," in support of counter-

feiting operation). Cf. Hampton v.

United States, 425 U.S. 484 (1976)

(government supplied actual contraband
whicn defendant was convicted of sell-
ing). Here, the supplies and equipment

provided by Farthing were all commer-

4. (continued) counterfeiting operation
for purposes of az outrageous government
conduct claim is a question we need not
address, in view of our holding.

20a
cially available, and could have been

purchased by the defendants themselves.
Moreover, Farthing provided only one of
several pieces of equipment necessary to
the counterfeiting operation, and only a
portion of the necessary supplies. Under
these circumstances, the government's
degree of involvement in supplying the
means to commit the crime falls short of
being considered outrageous.

With regard to the expertise provided
by Farthing, the defendants point to
their earlier bungled counterfeiting
attempt as evidence that they could not
have produced passable counterfeit bills
without his help. However, the record
indicates that Farthing had very little
to do with the actual production of the
counterfeit bills; all he did was in-
struct the defendants on operating the

graphic arts camera. This was not such

2la
a complex task that they probably could

not have done it without his help. See,

United States v. Twigg, 588 F.2d 373,

381 (3d Cir. 1978) (outrageous govern-
ment conduct found where government agent
provided all knowledge of chemistry nec-
essary to manufacture illegal drug; de-

fendants had no knowledge of chemistry).

5. The defendants rely heavily on Twigg
which is the only court of appeals de-
cision since Hampton to vacate a con-
viction on the basis of outrageous gov-
ernment conduct. In Twigs the Third Cir-
cuit found that the Drug Enforcement
Agency was excessively and thus imper-
missibly involved in the illegal manu-
facture of methamphetamine. Twi is
distinguishable from the case before us
because in Twi the government agents
and their informant originated the idea
of establishing an illegal methampheta-
mine laboratory, and the informant was
"completely in charge” of the production
process and supplied all the laboratory
expertise. United States v. Twigg, 588
F.2d at 380-81. In addition, we note
that there is a significant question as
to whether Twi is still good law in the
Third Circuit. See, United States v.
Beverly, 723 F.2d 1l, 12 (3d Cir. 1983)
(per curiam).

22a
The defendants did have some experience

counterfeiting, and, according to Evans's
own statement, in the past had produced
counterfeit bills that had “passed.”
Under these circumstances, it was cer-
tainly permissible for Farthing to pro-
vide the defendants with some technical
expertise to facilitate their counter-

feiting. See, United States v. Reifsteck

535 F.2d 1030, 1035 (8th Cir. 1976)
(actual printing of counterfeit bilis

done by government agents); United States

v. McGrath, 494 F.2d 562 (7th Cir. 1974)

(government agents supervised actual
printing of counterfeit bills).

Even considering all of the govern-
ment's actions together, rather than
separately, we are not persuaded that the
government can be said to have "manufac-

tured" the defendants’ crime. The de-

fendants have conceded that there was

23a

sufficient evidence for the jury to find
them predisposed to counterfeit. While
we recognize that a person who is pre-
disposed to commit a crime might choose
not to act on that predisposition, see

Note, Entrapment as a Due Process De-

fense: Developments After Hampton v.

United States, 57 Ind. L.J. 89, 126-29

(1982), or in unusual circumstances

might be unable to commit the crime,
courts have never required prosecutors to
prove to a high degree of certainity that
a predisposed defendant in a particular
case actually would have committed the

crime even without the government's in-

tervention. Cf. United States v. Kaminski
703 F.2d at 1008 ("there is no infallible
means of divining a defendant's predis-
position after the fact"). Here, the
Secret Service intercepted a counter-

feiting operation that at the time was,

24a
if not ongoing, at least fairly likely
to be revived successfully. On the
facts of this case, we reject the defen-
dants' claim that the government "manu-
factured" the crime of which they were
convicted.

In addition to arguing that the Sec-
ret Service “manufactured” their crime,
the defendants complain of the manner in
which the investigation was conducted.
Specifically, they claim that the Secret
Service agents had "an overriding desire
to obtain a conviction as an end in itself
and to create a crime rather than pursue
legitimate law enforcement goals of pre-
venting further crime.” Clement's Br.
at 20. In addition to reiterating the
claims that we have already rejected,
the defendants support this argument by

pointing to the government's use of "a

known counterfeiter and convicted felon"

25a
as an informant, and to "intentionally
- « « deceptive and dishonest acts" com-
mitted by Farthing in the course of his
undercover work. Clements's Br. at 17,
20.

We can reject these claims without
extensive discussion. "[A]rtifice and
stratagem, including the use of paid in-
formants whose employment is made neces-
sary by the investigation, may be con-
stitutionally resorted to to uncover and
identify those engaged in criminal en-

terprises." United States v. Cuomo, 479

F.2d 688, 692 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

414 U.S. 1002 (1973). See also ynited

States v. Russell, 411 U.S. at 436

("there are circumstances when the use
of deceit is the only practicable law
enforcement technique available”). As

this court has stated, "Undercover pol-

ice work in general, and the use of men

26a
such as [the informant] in specific, is
an unattractive business, but that is
the nature of the beast... ." United

States v. Kaminski, 703 F.2d at 1010.

Here, we find nothing outrageous in the
use of Farthing or in the perpetration
of a few deceptive acts and statements
in the furtherance of the investigation.
The defendants also argue that the
Secret Service's undercover investigation
was particularly outrageous because it
was unnecessary. They claim that the
government could have prevented them from
counterfeiting by simply monitoring any
activity around the printing press, a
large, rather immobile piece of equip-
ment, or by investigating their previous

counterfeiting attempt and prosecuting

them for that. However, it is not clear

27a
to us that either of these choices would
have been effective or even feasible.
More important, we are not inclined to
second-guess the executive branch con-
cerning its choice of law enforcement
techniques. While we hesitate to say
that the government's available alterna-
tives can never be relevant to a court's
consideration of an outrageous govern-
ment conduct claim, we are mindful of
the Supreme Court's admonition that the
federal judiciary should not exercise a
""chancellor's foot' veto over law en-
forcement practices of which it [does]

not approve." United States v. Russell,

28a

411 U.S. at 435.°

Here, we find nothing
outrageous about the government's choice
of law enforcement techniques. Hence,
we reject the defendants’ claim that the
government's undercover investigation
constituted outrageous government con-
duct in violation of the due process
clause, or that it provides us with a
basis for the exercise our supervisory

powers to vacate the defendants’ con-

victions.

6. Many courts explicitly have ex-
pressed their disapproval of the under-
cover law enforcement practices being
challenged in cases before them, while
at the same time upholding the constitu-
tionality of those practices. See e.
United States v. Beverly, 723 F. F.2d L "13
(3d Cir. 1983); United States v. Garrett,
716 F.2d 257, 275 n.10 (5th Cir. 1983);
United States v. Kelly, 707 F.2d 1460,
1477 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S.
Ct. 264 (1983); United States v. Leja,
563 F.2d 244, 246 (6th Cir. 1977), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 1108 (1978).

29a
B. The Search Warrant

The defendants have also challenged
the government's execution of its search
warrant. Specifically, they claim that
the government agents sought a warrant
and then purposely delayed its execution
until they were sure that the defendants
had produced counterfeit currency of
sufficient similitude to real currency
to constitute a violation of federal law.
They further object to the fact that
during the four-day interval between the
procurement of the warrant and its exe-
cution, Farthing provided them with more
printing supplies. They contend that
the government's handling of the search
warrant amounted to outrageous govern-
ment conduct, particularly in combina-
tion with the rest of the undercover in-

vestigation. Alternatively, they argue

30a
that the delayed execution of the search
warrant amounted to an independent vio-
lation of their fourth amendment rights,
because the facts forming the basis on
which the warrant was issued were changed
before it was executed. They claim not
that this violation of their rights re-
quired the suppression of evidence at
trial ~-- they are foreclosed from argu-
ing this because they did not raise it
at trial -- but that it “is itself inde-
pendent and most compelling evidence of
the constitutional misconduct that in-
fected all parts of this prosecution."
Belzer's Reply Br. at 2.

We do not find that the government's
delayed execution of the search warrant
makes its conduct in this case “outra-
geous." Although the defendants have

suggested that the Secret Service manip-

3la
ulated the judicial process by obtaining
a search warrant and then waiting to exe-
cute it until they were sure that the
defendants had committed a crime, they
failed at trial to elicit any evidence
concerning the reasons for the govern-
ment's conduct. Thus, there is an inade-
quate record to support their manipula-
tion theory. Moreover, on the facts of
this case it appears that there was no
reason for the government to have manipu-
lated the judicial process. We do not
see what advantage the government would
have gained by seeking a search warrant
before it was prepared to execute it.
While one can imagine a situation where
law enforcement officials obtain a war-
rant as quickly as possible before circum-
stances giving rise to probable cause

have a chance to change, this is not such

32a

a case. Probable cause in this case was
present as long as the defendants’ oper-
ation in the slaughterhouse was in exis-
tence, a situation that the Secret Ser-
vice was monitoring closely. Thus, the
real question is not why the government
delayed execution of the warrant, but why
it sought a warrant as early as it did.

The most obvious explanation is that
the Secret Service obtained the warrant
before realizing that the defendants had
not yet produced any counterfeit bills
of sufficient quality to pass as genuine
bills. Once they had this realization,
they decided to postpone execution of
the warrant until they would have a pro-
per basis for arresting the counterfei-
ters. According to this theory, the
government was perhaps a bit inept, but

not manipulative. Although our theory

33a
may be incorrect, the defendants have
done nothing to contradict it. In short,
the defendants are alleging that the
government's handling of the search war-
rant amounted to outrageous governmental
conduct, and yet they have failed to
make a factual showing that in securing
or executing the warrant, the government
intentionally manipulated or abused the
judicial process. In the absence of such
a record, we will not find outrageous
governmental conduct on the basis of the
Secret Service's delay in executing the
search warrant.

Nor will we find outrageous govern-
mental conduct on the basis of Farthing's
furnishing of supplies to the defendants
after the search warrant was issued.
Farthing was responding to the defen-

dants' request for him to replenish their

34a
depleted stock of supplies. To refuse
their request might have seemed unusual,
in light of his previous willingness to
assist them, and thus might have jeopar-
dized his cover. Allowing the Secret
Service in this case to continue to
assist the defendants even after ob-
taining a search warrant for their pre-
mises admittedly tends to underscore
the somewhat active role that law en-
forcement officials are permitted to
play in criminal enterprises that they
are investigating. However, this lati-
tude that we permit law enforcement of-
ficials clearly is an accepted feature
of our jurisprudence, as we have already
discussed. Given that is was permissible
for the government to furnish the defen-

dants with materials used in their coun-

terfeiting operation, we find that the

35a
fact that some of these materials were
furnished after the government obtained
its search warrant makes no difference
for purposes of this appeal.
Finally, we turn to the defendants’
Claim that the delay rendered the search

warrant defective and that thus their

fourth amendment rights were violated.
We recognize that there is at least a
question as to whether the warrant became

defective because of the delay. Compare

United States v. Bedford, 519 F.2d 650,

655 (3d Cir. 1975) (warrant must be ex-
ecuted within “reasonable time” after
issuance; reasonableness “functionally
measured in terms of whether probable
cause still existed at the time the war-

rant was executed"), cert. denied, 424

U.S. 917 (1976) with United States ex rel.

Beal v. Skaff, 418 F.2d 430, 433 (7th Cir.

1969) ("a ‘stale warrant,’ the execution

36a
of which is unduly delayed by the police
in order to assure the seizure of the
goods sought, is invalid”). However, we
need not decide that question. If the
warrant was defective, the proper remedy
would have been the suppression of evi-
dence seized pursuant to the warrant, a
remedy which the defendants chose not to
pursue. Although it is possible that the
improper execution of a search warrant
might be relevant to a claim of govern-
ment misconduct, as the defendants con-
tend, we find on the facts of this case
that even if the search warrant was de-
fective, in the absence of a showing that
the government intentionally manipulated
or abused the judicial process, the

government's conduct does not provide a

sufficient ground for vacating the

37a
the defendants’ convictions.”
The defendants’ convictions are

affirmed.

7- In United States v. Kaminski, 703
F.2d 1004, 1009 (7th Cir. 1983) and
United States v. Thoma, 726 F.2d 1191,

(7t r. 1984), cert. denied, 104
S. Ct. 2683 (1984), this court indicated
that if in the course of its investiga-
tion, the government violates the de-
fendants’' constitutional rights, the
"truly outrageous” standard would not
be applicable. We hold today that the
government's handling of the search
warrant does not invalidate the defen-
dants’ convictions, even under a stan-
dard less permissive than the “truly
outrageous” standard.

APPENDIX B
Judgment of the Court of Appeals
of

September 18, 1984

38a
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

September 18, 1984
Before
HON. RICHARD A POSNER, Circuit Judge
HON. JOEL M. FLAUM, Circuit Judge

HON MYRON L. GORDON, Senior District
Judge*

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Nos. 83-2130, 83-2146
83-2175

JOHN A. BELZER, JR., JOHN

M. EVANS, and RICHARD

CLEMENTS,
Defendants-Appellants.

ee ee ee

Appeal from the United States
District Court for the Northern
District of Indiana, South Bend
Division

No. 83 CR 2

Judge Allen Sharp

* The Honorable Myron L. Gordon, Senior
District Judge for the Eastern District
of Wieconsin, is sitting by designation.

39a

This cause was heard on the record of
the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Indiana, South Bend
Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS
ORDERED AND ADJUDGED by this Court that
the judgment of the said District Court
oe this cause appealed from be, and the

same is hereby AFFIRMED, in accordance

with the opinion of this Court filed this

date.

APPENDIX C
Order of the Court of Appeals
of

October 18, 1984

40a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

October 18, 1984
Before
HON. RICHARD A POSNER, Circuit Judge
HON. JOEL M. FLAUM, Circuit Judge

HON. MYRON L. GORDON, Senior District
Judge*

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Nos. 83-2130, 83-2146
83-2175

JOHN A. BELZER, JR., JOHN

M. EVANS, and RICHARD

CLEMENTS,
Defendants-Appellants.

eNO SS Se

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN
DISTRICT OF INDIANA, SOUTH BEND
DIVISION

NO. 83 CR 2

Judge Allen Sharp

* The Honorable Myron L. Gordon, Senior
District Judge for the Eastern District
of Wisconsin, is sitting by designation.

4la
ORDER
On consideration of the petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing

in banc filed in the above-entitled

cause by Defendant-Appellant John A.
Belzer, Jr., no judge in active service
has requested a vote thereon, and all of
the judges on the original panel have
voted to deny a rehearing. Accordingly,
IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid
petition for rehearing be, and the same

is hereby, DENIED.

APPENDIX D

Excerpt from 18 U.S.C.
371 and 18 U.S.C. 471 and
18 U.S.C. 474

42a m
Section 371, Title 18 of the United
States Code, provides in part,

If two or more persons conspire
either to commit any offense
against the United States, or to
defraud the United States, or any
agency thereof in any manner or
for any purpose, and one or more
of such persons do any act to
effect the obje¢t of the conspiracy,
each shall be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more
than five years, or both

Section 471, Title 18 of the United
States Code, provides,

Whoever, with intent to de-
fraud, falsely makes, forges,
counterfeits, or alters any
obligation or other security of
the United States shall be fined
not more than $5,000 or imprisoned
not more than fifteen years, or
both.

Section 474, Title 18 of the United
States Code, provides,

Whoever, having control, custody,
or possession of any plate, stone,
or other thing, or any part there-
of, from which has been printed,
or which may be prepared by dir-
ection of the Secretary of the
Treasury for the purpose of print-
ing, any obligation or other

43a

security of the United States,
uses such plate, stone, or other
thing, or any part thereof, or
knowingly suffers the same to be
used for the purpose of printing
any such or similar obligation or
other security, or any part there-
of, except as may be printed for
the use of the United States by
order of the proper officer
thereof; or

Whoever makes or executes any
plate, stone, or other thing in
the likeness of any plate de-
signated for the printing of such
obligation or other security; or

Whoever sells any such plate,
stone, or other thing, or brings
into the United States any such
plate, stone or other thing,
except under the direction of the
Secretary of the Treasury or other
proper officer, or with any other
intent, in either case, than that
such plate, stone, or other thing
be used for the printing of the
obligations or other securities
of the United States; or

Whoever has in his control,
custody, or possession any plate,
stone, or other thing in any manner
made after or in the similitude
of any plate, stone, or other
thing, from which any such obli-

44a

gation or other security has
been printed, with intent to

use such plate, stone or other
thing, or to suffer the same

to be used in forging or counter-
feiting any such obligation or
other security, or any part
thereof; or

Whoever has in his possession
or custody, except under auth-
ority from the Secretary of the
Treasury or other proper officer,
any obligation or other security
made or executed, in whole or
in part, after the similitude
of any obligation or other
security issued under the au-
thority of the United States,
with intent to sell or otherwise
use the same; or

Whoever prints, photographs,
Or in any other manner makes
or executes any engraving, photo-
graph, print, or impression in
the likeness of any such obliga-
tion or other security, or any
part thereof, or sells any such
engraving, photograph, print, or
impression, except to the United
States, or brings into the United
States, any such engraving, photo-
graph, print, or impression,
except by direction of some prop-
er officer of the United States; or

45a

Whoever has or retains in his
control or possession, after a
distinctive paper has been adopted
by the Secretary of the Treasury
for the obligations and other se-
curities of the United States,
any similar paper adapted to the
making of any such obligation or
other security, except under the
authority of the Secretary of the
Treasury or some other proper
officer of the United States --

Shall be fined not more than
$5,000 or imprisoned not more
than fifteen years, or both.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1741%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
