# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gibson v. Boeing Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1733%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1110

## Text

: Orice Suoreve Jourt, UR |

84-gsll | FILED
MOY ic 1984
ALEXANDER t STEVAS,
No. i
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

H.G. GiBson, J. SCOTT KENNEDY,
and GARY N. BANKS, Petitioners,

Via

THE BOEING COMPANY, a corporation;
THE NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD
and JAMES KING, Chairman;
THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,
and J. LYNN HELMS, Administrator, Respondents

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH COURT

LANDON GERALD DOWDEY
310 Metropolitan Square
655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 872-1997

THOMAS D. BEATTY

601 East Bridger Avenue
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101
(702) 382-2721

Counsel to petitioners

3

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

This is a defamation action brought by
three airline pilots against The Boeing
Company for statements which blamed a near
fatal six mile dive of a Boeing 727 on
plaintiffs' unprofessional conduct. The
pilots also made claims against the Na=
tional Transportation Safety Board (NTSB)
and Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
for damages under subsections (g)(1) (C)
and (D) of the Privacy Act (5 USC §522a).

The questions raised by the summary
judgments for Boeing and the government
agencies are these:

1. Is the communication of "a written
report to the NTSB," where it becomes a
public record, protected by an absolute

governmental immunity or privilege?

ii

2. Is summary judgment as to the “mal-
ice" necessary to overcome a qualified
privilege appropriate prior to any dis-
covery being allowed plaintiffs and not-
withstanding their pending, unanswered
interogatories, doCument requests, and two
affidavits of counsel invoking Fed R. Civ.
P. 56(f£)?

3. Are plaintiffs' claims under sub-
sections (g)(1)(C) and (D) of the Privacy
Act sufficient if they concern a "record"
as defined in subsection (a)(4), or must
such claims relate also to a "system of
records" as defined in subsection (a) (5)?
Also, does the failure of defendant agen-
cies to incorporate investigation materi-
als about this accident i» the "system of
records" they maintain for aircraft ac-

cident investigations bar this action?

iii

4. Is the exercise of this Court's
certiorari jurisdiction unreasonably
burdened by successive summary disposi-
tions which fail to elucidate important
legal issues involved or deal adequately
with a complicated state of facts which
has given rise to a national controversy

Over air safety?

The caption of the case contains the names
of all parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS ‘*
Page

Opinions Below . .. «+ e+e es »« ‘ 2
Jurisdiction o e e es . . es ° a e e . 8 2
Statutory Provisions Involved. ... . 3
Statement of the Case. . . « « « « « « 4

"The Plane That Fell Out of the

Sky"--according to the complaint . 5

Alleged publications by Boeing

agents e e es e e oe e e e ° o e a e 7

Privacy Act allegations. ..... 8

Discovery sought and suspended .. 10
Reasons for Granting the Writ. .... 13
Conclusion e o e o eo o e o ° e eo e e @ 38

Table of Authorities

Cases
Albright v. United States. ......- 30
BQn@ VW. SRONCEE. «© «© © se we oe © wo ew ew « 2G
Bose Corporation v. Consumers Union 22, 28
Butz Vv. ECOMOMU. « « © © © © © e@ © o@ «
moeens ©. Beme GC H.¥. «© ss ws we we ww 8
Cnaemen 7. MABA « © «© se ee we woe oe sw 85
CLI@EZERSON VV. IRS « « « « © « «© 3Oy 31, 35
Delome v. Union Barge Line Co. .... 15

vi Table of Contents Continued

Dun & Bradstreet v. Greenmoss

Builders, Inc. . ...-s.
Elder v. Holland ......
Engelmohr v. Bache .... .

Garter-Bane Co. v. Munsingwear

Gersh v. Ambrose .....«-.

Greenmoss Builders, Inc. v. Dun &

Bradstreet, Inc. ... -

Handi Investment Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp

Page

22
21

20-21

Harlow v. Fitzgerald... .
RnOx WV. DICK « « « © © © @ «@
Londrigan v. FBI ....« «

Loudin v. Mohawk Airlines, Inc.

Maple Island Farm v. Bitterling.

Nixon v. Fitzgerald. ....

Parrish v. Board of Commissioners.

Program Engineering v. Triangle

PUDLAGCOCIONB « 2 2© 8 ©
Texas Partners v. Conrock Co.

Timberland v. Bank of America. .

United States v. Johns Manville Corp.

Washington v. Cameron... .

Statutes

Fourteenth Amendment to the

18
21

22
26
14
21
24

19-20

Constitution of the United States.

Department of Transportation
1966 . e e « e . e o . e

Federal Aviation Act of 1958

49 USC
§1441 . e . e , ° © 7 e

§1421 et seq. .

Privacy Act of 1974, 5 USC §552a

febt@s . se« se es 6b &

15
14
26

24
26
23
23
26

15

Table of Contents Continued

(a)(5) . .
(e)(1l) ..
(e) (4). .
(@) (5) « « «

(e) (6) .
(e)(7) .
(g)(1)(C). .
(g) (1) (D). .

Transportation Safety Act of 1974,

49 USC

SaeeetGs + « ss « 6 & oe se « UGK,
Saseste) «ws ws se we eee eee es
pawwerey 6 4 6 «+ 6 © 8 6 8 8 ee
lf Si oe a oe oe ee ee ee eee
io a ee ee ae ae oe ee ee ee ee

Rules of Court

52(a). .
36 s 6 *
56(e). .
56(f). .

Fed. R. Civ. P.
Form 2(a).

Other Authorities

Federal Register, July 4, 1977... .

OMB Guidelines for Implementation of
The Privacy Act 40 FR 28948,
40 FR 28964. -_ . o cm . . . . . eo o

William L. Reynolds and William R.
Richman, "An Evaluation of Lim-
ited Publication in the United
States Courts of Appeal: The

34

35

viii Table of Contents Continued

Price of Reform," 48 U. Chi.
Le Rev. 573. . . . . . . - . . . n 37

Retatement of Torts, 2d (1977)

§598 . . °° e . o . . . . . . . o . 21

No.
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1984

H.G. Gibson, J. Scott Kennedy and
Gary N. Banks, petitioners

Ve

The Boeing Company, The National Trans-
portation Safety Board, James King,
The Federal Aviation Administration

and J. Lynn Helms, respondents

PEVITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The petitioners, H.G. Gibson, J. Scott
Kennedy and Gary N. Banks respectfully
pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit entered in this proceeding

on April 9, 1984.

2
Opinions Below

The memorandum opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Cir-
cuit appears in the appendix to this peti-
tion (A 1) but is not and will not be re-
ported under that Court's Rule 21l(c) and
the panel's finding. No opinion was rend-
ered by the District Court for the Dis-
trict of Nevada. Its findings of fact and
conclusions of law and grant of summary
judgment thereon are set out in the ap-

pendix (A 9, A 17, A 18, & A 25)

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit was entered April 9,
1984. A timely petition for rehearing and

rehearing en banc was denied July 20,

1984. This Court, upon application filed
herein on October 12, 1984 entered an

order on October 18, 1984 extending the

3
time for filing a petition for writ of
certiorari in this case to and including
November 16, 1984. This Court has juris-

diction under 28 USC §210l(c).

Statutory Provisions Involved

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, Pub. L.

85-726, Title VII, §701, August 23, 1958,
72 Stat. 781, as amended by Pub. L. 87-
810, 1, 2, Oct. 15, 1962, 76 Stat. 921,
codified to 49 USC 1441 is set out in the

appendix (A 81). Transportation Safety Act

of 1974, Pub. L. 93-633, Title III,

January 3, 1975, 88 Stat. 2166, codified
to 49 USC 1901 et seq. is set out in the

appendix (A 83). Privacy Act of 1974, Pub.

L. 93-579, December 31, 1974, 88 Stat.
1897, as amended by Pub. L. 94-183,
December 31, 1975, 89 Stat. 1057, codified
to 5 USC 552a is set out in the appendix
(A 93).

4
Statement of the Case

Petitioners, a professional flight
deck crew employed by Trans World
Airlines, allege in their complaint that
on April 4, 1979 they were operating a
Boeing 727 near Flint, Michigan.
"Unexpectedly, and for reasons unknown to
plaintiffs," the aircraft “fell from an
altitude of approximately 39,000 feet in a
spiral dive to near 5000 feet before
plaintiffs were able to regain control and
avert a crash which most certainly would
have taken the lives of 82 passengers and
a flight crew of seven” (A 29).

Controversy has raged around the cause
of this near calamity ever since the crew
safely landed their crippled aircraft at
Detroit over four years ago. As recently
as July 14 of last year CBS did an hour

long documentary on “The Plane That Fell

Out of the Sky.”

5

A jury trial of the issues was pre-
vented by entry of summary judgment for
defendants last year in plaintiffs' then
two year old lawsuit against Boeing, the
NTSB and the FAA. No discovery had been
permitted in the case up to that time, so
the record for review is limited to the
complaint, affidavits, exhibits, and the
discovery requests plaintiffs were denied.

"The Plane That Fell Out of the Sky"--
according to the complaint*

After reciting the circumstances of
the spiral dive as set out above and the
commencement of NTSB and FAA investiga-
tions, the complaint alleges "defendant
NTSB turned over to an interested party,

namely defendant Boeing, the conduct of

*Although the complaint is not set out
in the appendix to this petition,
Significant paragraphs are quoted in
plaintiffs‘ excerpted interrogatories
which are reproduced in the appendix.

6
most of its investigative and testing
functions, knowing full well that said de-
fendant had a strong economic and public
relations incentive to shift any blame for
the spiral dive away from themselves and
onto the pilots of the aircraft." Boeing,
the complaint goes on, “conducted its in-
vestigations and tests so as to support
its claim that safety factors built into
the 727 are so extensive that the spiral
dive could not possibly have been precip-
itated by any mechanical or structural,
manufacturing or design defect in its
aircraft. To this end its investigation
attempted to explain away, as causative
factors, (1) all noticeable defects,
damaged and defective parts discovered
after the aircraft landed in Detroit; (2)
laboratory tests...and (3) other technical
defects and deficiencies too numerous to

mention (A 32-33).

4

"Defendant Boeing then went beyond its
assigned task as investigator of facts and
scientific tests, and without waiting for
all the evidence and tests to be finished,
Stated as conclusions: (1) The cause of
the upset was some unauthorized cockpit
procedure engaged in by the flight deck
crew; (2) had the crew taken prompt and
appropriate action after their aircraft
began to roll, they could have regained
control easily; and (3) the last second
recovery from the spiral dive and preven-
tion of a major air disaster was fortui-
tous and due to circumstances for which
the crew was only minimally responsible"

(A 33-34).

Alleged publications by Boeing agents

The complaint alleges that the fore-

going assertions by Boeing "(1) were pub-

8
lished through its many agents, servants
and employees, and in a written report to
defendant NTSB where it became a part of
the public record and widely circulated
through official and aircraft industry
channels and in the public media; (2) are
false and based on theories unsupported by
fact and discredited by tests; (3) were
published with knowledge of their falsity
or with reckless disregard for their
truth, or negligently; (4) went beyond the
scope of prescribed practice in NTSB and
other scoident investigations in that the
stated conclusions were premature and
amounted to a prejudgment before all the
evidence was in; and (5) went beyond the

purpose of the inquiry in that the con-

clusions were motivated by an attempt to ‘

side-track any meaningful investigation of
the airworthiness of the Boeing 727, the

most widely used commercial aircraft in

ee

9

service today" (A 34-35).

Privacy Act allegations

The complaint alleges, paraphrasing
the language of subsections (e)(6) and
(g)(1)(C) and (D) of the Privacy Act (5
USC §522a), that defendant agencies failed
to “maintain records concerning the indi-
viduals involved with such accuracy, rele-
vance, timeliness, and completeness as is
necessary to assure the fairness of any
determination relating to the qualifica-
tions, character, rights or opportunities
of, or benefits to, the individual that
may be made on the basis of such record."
In consequence, defendant FAA, "determined
and published through official and air-
craft industry sources and to the public
media, the groundless’ assertion that
plaintiff had intentionally erased the

cockpit voice recorder in order to conceal

10
information about their conduct respecting
the spiral dive" (A 43).

Similarly, influenced by their own
improperly maintained records, defendant
NTSB “determined and published through
official and aircraft industry sources and
to the public media" Boeing's groundless
assertions of crew responsibility for
losing control of the aircraft they were

piloting (A 45-46).

Discovery sought and suspended

A few months after commencement of
this action, plaintiffs served a number of
interrogatories and document requests on
defendants which inquired, for the most
part, about specific allegations of the
complaint and answer (A 29-48).

Shortly thereafter, the Court issued
an order (A 26-27) suspending Boeing's ob-

ligation to respond to plaintiffs" out-

li

Standing interrogatories and document re-
quests until 30 days after disposition of
the "motion to dismiss" Boeing planned to
file. Plaintiffs had agreed to this sus-
pension upon the written representation of
Boeing's counsel that the intended motion
"raises legal issues unrelated to the dis-
covery requested of my client" (A 64).

Boeing's proposed "motion to dismiss"
became a "motion for summary judgment"
when it was filed. Its stated grounds were
limited, however, to the defense of "ab-
solute privilege" for its "written report
to defendant NTSB" which it attached to
its motion together with affidavits show-
ing its transmittal and receipt. Plain-
tiffs responded, treating the motion as
one to strike that claim only (A 66).

To illustrate, without benefit of dis-
covery, some of the disputes which re-

volved around the "Boeing report," plain-

12
tiffs filed a then recent article from a
professional journal which reviewed, in
summary form, the history of the Flight
841 investigation (A 49).

Boeing then filed a reply memorandum,
and with it “proposed findings of fact and
conclusions of law" which greatly expanded
the breadth of its summary judgment mo-
tion. Most notably, it proposed that the
Court find in its favor "whether the
privilege is considered absolute or con-
ditional” (A 15, 67-68).

Faced with this radical expansion of
issues, plaintiffs filed an affidavit of
counsel under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(f) ex-
plaining in detail why plaintiffs could
not respond to defense affidavits without
discovery (A 64).

When the summary judgment motion fin-

ally came on for hearing some fifteen

13
months later--the delay.w~being caused en-
tirely by Court-initiated postponements (A
77-78) --plaintiffs' counsel reexecuted and
refiled the same Rule 56(f) affidavit
three days before arqument (A 75).

A few days thereafter, the District
Court endorsed the findings of fact, con-
clusions of law and summary judgment
proposals submitted by defendants with no
Change other than striking out the word
"proposed." Defendants' proposals, having
been submitted some seventeen months ear-
lier, before either of the Rule 56(f) af-
fidavits were filed, took no notice of
them nor of the plaintiffs' outstanding

discovery requests (A 9-25).
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The failure to apply fundamental

Gistinctions between absolute and quali-

14
fied immunities! to the investigative
role of the National Transportation Safety
Board is a disservice to that important
federal news making agency and the many
segments of the public who deal with ‘¢

constantly. 2

laAbsolute immunities of officials
other than the President of the United
States “extend only to acts in performance
of particular functions." Nixon v. Fitz-
gerald U.S. _, 73 L. Ed. 349, 363, 367
(1982). “Moreover, in general, our cases
have followed a ‘'functional' approach to
immunity law. We have recognized that the
judicial, prosecutorial, and legislative
functions require absolute immunity. But
this protection has extended no further
than its justification would warrant."
Harlow v. Fitzgerald U.S. _, 73 L. Ed.
396, 406 (1982).

Qualified immunity is the norm for ex-
ecutive officials generally, including
governors and members of the President's
cabinet. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, _ U.S. _,
71 L. Ed. 396, 403 (1982); Butz v. Ec-
onomu, 438 U.S. 478, 508 (1978).

2The Court of Appeals was concerned,
however, with pleading diversity of citi-
zenship as a paraphrase of the Fourteenth
Amendment ("a citizen of the United States
and a resident of the State of Nevada")
instead of in the conclusory language of
(footnote 2 continued on page 17)

15

The NTSB is an anomaly among federal
agencies; for its accident investigation
function is concerned solely with public
advocacy of transportation safety, a mat-
ter over which it exercises no adjudica-
tory or rule making authority.

49 uUSC §1903(a)(1) authorizes’ the
Board to “investigate or cause to be in-
vestigated...and determine the facts, con-
ditions, and circumstances and the cause
Or probable cause or causes of any...air-

craft accident" or other transportation

2(continued)

Fed. R. Civ. P. form 2(a). This concern
found its way into the Court's memorandum
(A 1-2). “Standing alone, an allegation
that a party is a resident of a certain
state is not a sufficient allegation of
his citizenship in that state" (empahsis
added), Delome v. Union Barge Line Com-
pany, 444 F.2d 225 at 233 (5th Cir. 1971);
but coupled with United States citizen-
ship, it meets the state citizenship test
of the Fourteenth Amendment and confers
diversity jurisdiction. Maple Island Farm
v. Bitterling, 196 F.2d 55 at 57-58 (8th
Cir. 1952), a case argued successfully by
Warren E. Burger, the present Chief Just-
ice.

16
accident (A 86). In subsection (a)(2) it
is authorized to “report on the facts,
conditions and circumstances of each ac-
cident...and cause such reports to be made

available to the public” (A 87) 3

3In subsection (a)(3), NTSB is di-
rected to “issue periodic reports” to
other government agencies and interested
persons “recommending and advocating mean-
ingful responses to reduce the likelihood
of recurrence of transportation accidents
similar to those investigated by the
Board...." The remaining paragraphs of
subsection (a), insofar as they relate to
accident investigations, list similar re-
commending activities and in paragraph (6)
the NTSB is authorized to "establish by
regulation requirements binding on persons
reporting accidents subject to the Board's
investigatory jurisdiction under the sub-
section.” The Federal Aviation Act of
1958, as amended (A 81), confers almost
identical functions on the NTSB in 49 USC
§1441(a).

In aid of these purposes (and some
others unrelated to accident investiga-
tion), the Board, under 49 USC §1903(b)
(1), may delegate its authority to any
Board member, administrative law judge,
officer or employee. Persons so dele-
gated may hold hearings, administer oaths
and require the attendance of witnesses
and production of documents by subpoena
"as such officer or employee deems advis-
able” (A 88).

17

But the NTSB adjudicates no rights and
promulgates no rules in connection with
the exercise of its accident investigation
functions. Its determination of “probable
cause” has no legal or administrative con-
sequences and under 49 USC §144l(e) and
1903(2) is not even admissable in evidence
in any other proceeding (A 90). NTSB re-
commendations for improvement in air safe-
ty regulations have no authority beyond
their persuasiveness to the Secretary of
Transportation--the responsibe air safety
rule making agency under 49 USC §1421 et
seq---who is entirely free to accept or
reject NTSB suggestions. 49 USC §1906 (A
92). Thus NTSB "determinations" are essen-
tially “publications” by an agency having
no function beyond reporting the results
of what is presumably its own independent
investigation.

In furtherance of this purpose, it has

18

an affirmative duty under 49 USC §1905 to
make available to the public, subject to
certain limited exceptions, “Copies of any
communications, document, investigation,
Or other report, or information received
or sent by the Board, or any member or
employee of the Board” (A 91).

Ever since the NTSB was established by
the Department of Transportation Act of
1966,4 it has exercised its recommending
function with respect to accident investi-
gations side by side with certain quasi-
judicial functions it inherited from the
old Civil Aeronautics Board.5

Impressed by CAB's “quasi-judicial and

4act of October 15, 1966, Pub. L.
No. 89-670, 80 Stat. 931.

SThus it reviews on appeal, under 49
USC §1903(a)(9){A), licensing certificate
decisions of the Secretary of Transporta-
tion; and, inherited from other sources,
under 49 USC §1903(a)(9)(B), it reviews
appeals from licensing decisions by the
Commandant of the Coast Guard (A 88).

I ee

19
quasi-legislative powers” respecting the
economic regulation of air carriers, a New

York trial court in 1964 held in Loudin v.

Mohawk Airlines, Inc.© that a witness at

a public hearing on the cause of an air-
craft accident before the Civil Aeronau-
tics Board was protected by an absolute
privilege. The Court failed to notice,
however, that CAB's accident investigation
function was no longer related to any air
safety rule making authority after the
Federal Aviation Action of 1958 trans-

ferred that responsibility to the newly

644 Misc. 2d 926, 255 NYS 2d 302 (S.
Ct., N.¥. County, 1964), modified, 24
AD2d. 447, 260 NYS 2d 809 (S. Ct., Appel-
late Division, First Department, 1965), on
remand, 58 Misc. 1035, 297 NYS 2d 630
(where it is pointed out, 297 NYS 2d at
632, that the claimed defamation was based
on sworn testimony of a witness at a pub-
lic hearing).

20

formed Federal Aviation Administration. /
The absence of a functional analysis
in Loudin has caused it to drop out of
sight in subsequent decisions. Loudin was
described by the Supreme Court of Washing-
ton (the highest court of defendant Boe-
in,‘s home state) as “one isolated case”
which, in 1966, it refused to follow in

Engelmohr v. Bache.8 There it was held

that a witness before an administrative
body appointed by the Securities and Ex-
change Commission to study rules governing
national securities exchanges did not have
the benefit of absolute privilege. The
Court explained, "We do not want to depart
from the established policy in this coun-

try.”

Tact of August 23, 1958, Pub. L.
85-726, 72 Stat. 731, §701, House Report
No. 2360, 1958 U.S. Code Cong. & Adm.
News, p. 3746-3748.

866 Wash. 2d 103, 401 P.2d 346, 348
(1965), cert. denied 382 U.S. 950.

21

Engelmohr v. Bache has since been fol-

lowed in Virginia (1967),% Maryland
(1981),19 and most recently in Nevada
(1983).11 «Its principle has found its

way into the 1977 Restatement of Torts 2d,

Comment e to §598:

Testimony offered before inves-
tigating committees, commissions and
other bodies properly authorized to
conduct investigations is conditional-
ly privileged unless the investigation
is a judicial or a legislative pro-
ceeding, in which case the testimony
is absolutely privileged....

Into which of these categories do NTSB
proceedings fit? Mass media coverage of
transportation disaster investigations--
Or near disasters such as here involved--

gives daily emphasis to the importance of

9Flder v. Holland, 208 va. 15, 155
SE 2d 369 (1967).

l0Gersh v. Ambrose, Md. , 434
A.2d 547 (1981).

1lknox v. Dick __ Nev. __, 665 P.id
267, 270 (1983).

22
an authoritive answer to this now unset-
tled question.

2. To the extent that the ruling below
may be said to rest on the establishment
of a qualified immunity or privilege, it
fails to meet the special standards of ap-
pellate review respecting determinations
of “malice” in defamation cases recently

announced by this Court in Bose Corp. v.

Consumers Union of U.S., Inc. US P

No. 82-1246, decided April 30, 1984.

Also involved is the applicability of
the "malice" standard in a non-media de-
famation case now pending before the Court

in Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss

Builders, Inc., No. 83-18, to review the

holding of the Supreme Court of Vermont

sub nom. Greenmoss Builders, Inc. v. Dun &

Bradstreet, Inc., 46 A.2d 414 (1983).

Is the "independent examination of the

whole record" mandated by Bose excused by

23
petitioners’ alleged inaction in pressing
their discovery demands during "the
lengthy time between Boeing's motion for
summary judgment and the hearing on the
motion" (A 6)?

Traditionally, and in the Ninth Cir-
cuit, the effect of filing a motion for
summary judgment is to suspend the "gen-
eral right to discovery," and until snch
motion is resolved, discovery may be pur-
sued by a party, according to Rule 56(e),
only to the extent that the “court may
permit affidavits to be supplemented or
opposed by depositions, answers to inter-
rogatories or further affidavits" (empha-
sis added).12 The appropriate way to

seek permission for discovery during the

l2vimberlane Lumber Co. v. Bank of
America, 549 F.2d 597, 602 (9th Cir.
1976); United States v. Johns-Manville
Corporation, 237 F. Supp. 893 (E.D. Pa.
1965).

24
pendency of a summary judgment motion is
by filing a Rule 56(f) affidavit, although
some courts, including the Ninth Circuit,
sometimes allow Rule 56(f) discretion to
be invoked by motion.13 Although a Rule
56(f) affidavit is not a motion (as the
Court's memorandum describes it), fil-
ing it has the effect of invoking the full
range of the court's discovery discretion
under Rule 56(e):
The District Court, by the terms of
Rule 56(f), [has] the options of re-
fusing to grant summary judgment,
ordering a continuance to permit af-
fidavits to be secured or discovery to
be conducted, or entering ‘such other
order as [is] just'.14
Since the chief impediment to a response

on the merits according to the affidavit

here involved was the stipulation and

l3program Engineering, Inc., v. Tri-
angle Publications, Inc. 634 F.2d 1188,
1193 (9th Cir. 1980).

l4nondrigan v. FBI, 670 F.2d 1164,
1175 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

25

Order suspending Boeing's obligation to
respond to pending interrogatories and
document requests (A 71)--on the precise
issues upon which it was seeking summary
judgment (A 33-37)--an order permitting
"discovery to be conducted" on these is-
sues was plainly the relief plaintiffs
sought.15 aA separate motion, seeking
this same relief, would not only be re-
dundant; it would encourage a practice
specifically disapproved.

When it appears on a Rule 56(f) ap-

15The affidavit stated (A 71-72)
"Plaintiffs are therefore unable at this
time, without discovery, to present by af-
fidavit or otherwise facts essential to
justify their opposition to defendants'
motion[s] for summary judgment" (emphasis
added). After outlining specific issues
that needed development (A 72-73) it con-
cludes, "plaintiffs respectfully request
the court not to try this case on affi-
davits, deny the pending motions for sum-
mary judgment and set the case down for
trial on the merits at the earliest op-
portunity after completion of discovery"
(A 74, emphasis added).

26

plication that answers to interrogatories
"might be relevant" to the issues on a
pending motion for summary judgment, a
stay order making it unnecessary to answer
them must be vacated and the applicants
"allowed further discovery."16 "A _ de-
fendant who has failed to answer relevant
and timely interogatories is, as least
normally, in no position to obtain summary
judgment. "17

Of course, a different case would be
presented if plaintiffs had been dilatory

in pursuing discovery. But the record in

this case affirmatively establishes plain-

l6éHandi Investment Co. v. Mobil Oil
Corp.,, 550 F.2d 543, 547 (9th Cir. 1977).
See also Washington v. Cameron, 411 F.2d
705, 710, (D.C. Cir. 1969).

l7Bane v. Spencer, 393 F.2d 108, 109
(lst Cir. 1969) cert. denied 400 U.S. 866.
The same is true of document requests.
Parrish v. Board of Commissioners, 533
F.2d 942, 948 (5th Cir. 1976) cited with
approval in Texas Partners v. Conrock Co.,
685 F.2d 1116 at 1119 (9th Cir. 1982).

ata ie Art eo “Garten

27

tiffs' diligence. The long delay in hear-

ing the motions to dismiss or for summary
judgment--and ruling on plaintiffs' Rule
56(f£) affidavit--was occasioned entirely

by month to month sua sponte postponements

by the district judge (A 77-78).

In an effort to expedite hearing of
these motions, counsel for all parties
Stipulated that they might be heard by a
magistrate. But the Court refused to ap-
prove the stipulation (A 77). To suggest
that another application to the Court--to
obtain discovery during the pendency of
Summary judgment motions--would receive a
more expeditious response than the Rule
56(f) affidavit is a more hopeful specula-
tion than the record in this case war-
rants.

The interrogatories which plaintiff-
appellants served shortly after the com-

mencement of this action and other ma-

28

terialsl!74 provide as high a degree of
issue specificity as is possible for a
legal standard as subjective as "actual
maiice," a concept which is, moreover,
undergoing rapid modification and change
as the Court's current docket testifies.

On such issues, as Bose explains, "the

rule of independent review" by appellate

17asee

(a) the high degree of issue
specificity in the interrogatories
plaintiffs wanted answered (A 28);

(b) the context of a continuing
national controversy over Boeing's
disparagment of plaintiffs' profes-
sional conduct exemplified in a tech-
nically detailed article from a
professional journal attached as an
exhibit to plaintiffs' opposition to
summary judgment (A 44);

(c) the conflict between Boeing
affidavits and testimony in other re-
lated litigation (A 72-73);

(d) the conflict between’ the
federal agency denial of a."“system of
records" with a federal register
publication describing a "system of
records" in which records of this ac-
cident were required to be maintained
(A 106); and

(e) a deposition in related
litigation showing a_ breakdown in
govenment record keeping (A 78).

ea
;

29
courts "cannot be delegated to the trier
of fact" (Slip Op. at 14). Summary judg-
ment appeals, which are ordinarily a

matter of de novo appellate review in any

event, certainly cannot dispose of such a
sensitive matter by delegation to lower
court "discretion." This is doubly
improper in this case since the suspicion
that attaches to “mechanical adoption of
the successful attorney's *suggested'
findings" in a Rule 52(a) appeal is
“equally applicable to a Rule 56 appeal,"
requiring the court to scrutinize such
rulings with special care.18

3. The Court below held: “The Privacy
Act mandates certain requirements for gov-
ernment documents organized in ‘systems of
records'.... [T]he official files of the

incident in this case were not organized

l8Garter Bare Co. v. Munsingwear,
Inc., 650 F.2d 975, 980 (9th Cir. 1980).

30
in this fashion, and so fall outside the
plain language of the statute. But at
least two other circuits, applying the
same "plain language” test, have held
otherwise.
The District of Columbia Circuit in

Albright v. uU.S.19 held that "no re-

cord” in subsection (e)(7)--set out at A
98--is not restricted by its c encement
(A 96) describing the kind of agencies to
which it was applicable as those that
maintain "a system of records,” the terms
being separately defined by subsections
(a) (4) and (a)(5) in the Act (A 93).

In Clarkson v. 1RS29 the Eleventh

Circuit reexamined and followed Albright

as to subsection (e)(7); but declined, out
of concern for statutory objectives, to ex-

tend the Albright rationale to subsections

19631 F.2d 915 (D.C. Cir. 1980).
20678 F.2d 1368 (llth Cir. 1982).

31

(e)(1) and (e)(5), set out at A 96, 97.

(g) (1) (Cc), A 99, and (e)(6), A 97-98,
here involved, have nothing to do with
"retrievability” within a “system of rec-
ords.” The somewhat similarly worded sub-
section (e) (5), for example, is limited to
"records...used by the agency in making
any determinations about an individual.”

Its purpose, according to Clarkson is “to

minimize, if not eliminate, the risk that
an agency will make an adverse determina-
tion about an individual” based on faulty
data. But when the risk of an adverse de-
termination has become the fact of one,
retrieval is no longer an issue and (g)
(1) (C) comes into play. (e)(6) is simi-
larly unconcerned with indexing method-
Ology. It is directed to “disseminating
any record about an individual to any per-
son.” If the defendant agency has dissemi-

nated a record of poor quality to the pub-

32
lic, what difference does it make that the
broadcast record is not part of a "system
of records"?

Paragraph (C) of subection (g)(1) is
by its terms expressly directed at adverse
determinations which result from the
failure to maintain “any record” with suf-
ficient accuracy, timeliness and com-
pleteness. By what logic, therefore, can a
cause of action applicable to "any record”
be read to extend only to “any record--
contained in a system of records”?

The negative response of the system
respecting records of this accident is no
defense and calls for an explanation.
Within three hours after this accident FAA
investigators were busy interviewing Cap-
tain Gibson in his hotel room (A 51). A
few days later, "FAA and NTSB revealed to
the press the discovery that the cockpit

voice recorder had been erased"--a cir-

33
cumstance which, despite its sinister im-
plications to an uninformed public, should
have little or no significance in a pro-
fessional investigation. Such recorders
"work on a 30-minute, continually erasing
cycle, and the incident occurred some 45
minutes before the flight landed" (A 52).
Two years later, after this action was
filed, the “investigation” was still in
progress and still drawing national TV
coverage for the NTSB.

In this context, how should the Court
receive the affidavit of FAA's assistant
chief counsel that after a search of the
system in which records of this notorious
investigation belong, “there are no such
records contained in the system"? Such a
response raises far more questions than it
answers. To the obvious question of “why?”
must be added some highly specific inqui-

ries about defendants’ complaince with the

34
Privacy Act.

Subsection (e)(4), A 97, requires an-
nual publication in the Federal Register
of a detailed description of all systems
of records maintained by an agency. Ac-
cording to the published description of
defendants’ "General Aviation Aircraft Ac-
cident System" (A 106), it should contain
"reports of accident investigation,” "en-
gineering analysis, witness statements,
investigations analysis” cad “pictures of
the accident scene" concerning the 841
incident. One of the routine uses of the
system is "to identify and monitor airmen
involved in accidents,” and the data is
retrievable "by name, date of birth, and
sex, social security numbers, airmen num-
bers and accident numbers." If any part of
this description is incorrect, defendants
have violated subsection (e)(4) of the

Privacy Act. If the description is correct

35

but the information is not retrievable as
proclaimed, then defendants have violated
subsection (e) (5) of the Privacy Act.21l

Furthermore, since the missing data
played a part in a determination of prob-
able cause adverse to plaintiffs, such
utilization itself required integration of
all supporting data into defendants’ sys-
tem.22 The negative response of defend-
dants' system also raises questions about
evasions of the Privacy Act through sub-
dividing or organizing a system "so that
information which would otherwise have
been subject to the Act is no longer sub-
ject to the Act. For example...a separate
index file to retrieve records by

name."23

2lchapman v. NASA, 682 F.2d 526,
528-530 (llth Cir. 1982).

22tbid.

230mB Guidelines, 40 F.R. at 28963,
quoted in Clarkson v. IRS, 678 F.2d 1368
(llth Cir. 1982), p. 1377, note 15.

36

4. The exercise of this Court's cer-
tiorari jurisdiction is seriously burdened
by the assertion of what amounts to dis-
cretionary review authority by three prior
tribunals--an administrative agency and
two courts--who, in the name of expedi-
tion, have denied evidentiary hearings
without adequate explanation of their
reasons.

Despite the notoriety of this case,
the flight deck crew have been repeatedly
denied access to any public forum where
they could explain their own conduct and
cross-examine the faceless Boeing experts
who have charged them with unprofessional
conduct.

Each time they have been denied a
forum, denial has been based on the de-
sireability of "summary proceedings."
Thus, in the name of expedition, they were

denied participation (over a dissent) in

=

37

the NTSB proceedings (A 57); then, under
the rubric of "summary judgment," they
were denied a jury trial in their defama-
tion action--without being allowed any
discovery. Finally, in the name of ex-
pedition, these prior denials have been
summarily approved by an appellate court
in a legal memorandum that cannot be
published.

Summary dispositions of this kind give
neither the appearance nor do they yield
the substance of quality decisions, es-
pecially in the cumulative effect of add-
ing one summary procedure to another. See
Professors Reynolds and Richman article
reaching these conclusions, "An Evaluation
of Limited Publication in the United
States Courts of Appeals: The Price of

Reform, 48 U. Chi. L. Rev. 573, 584.

There is an ancient common law remedy:

more jury trials and fewer trials on af-

38
fidavits. This case perfectly illustrates
the point. Three denials of a public forum
have not quieted suspicions but fired
them, and what was said by Learned Hand in

Bozant v. Bank of N.¥., 156 F.2d 787, 790

(2d Cir. 1946) is peculiarly applicable
here.

In conclusion we cannot avoid ob-
serving that the case is another mis-
taken effort to save time by an at-
tempt to dispose of a complicated
state of facts on motion for summary
judgment. This is especially true when
the plaintiff must rely for his case
on what he can draw out of the de-
fendant....It appears to be somewhat
difficuit to persuade the district
courts of this, but we are satisfied
that it is true.

CONCLUSION
This Court should therefore grant the
writ of certiorari. After review the case

should be reversed and remanded for a

thorough exploration of the issues through

ee Ce ee

39
discovery, after which defendants’ summary
judgment motions may be considered in
light of the data uncovered in the dis-

covey process.

LANDON DOWDEY

Counsel to petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385017_1733%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
